About Piedmont Restaurant

401 Foster Street B-2
Durham, NC 27701
View Larger Map

Piedmont in Durham, NC features adventurous and seasonal cooking, inspired by all that the Piedmont region has to offer. Local farm-grown ingredients are intensified using avant-garde methods; classic dishes are reimagined with an inventive spirit. The results are deeply flavorful, comforting, and often ethereal. Piedmont’s craft cocktails, local beers, and versatile wine list complete the modern farm-to-table experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary Southern, Contemporary American, Organic

Hours of Operation:
Brunch:
Sunday: 10:30AM - 2:00PM

Dinner:
Monday-Saturday: 5:30PM - 10:00PM
Sunday: 5:30PM - 9:00PM

Cross Street:
Seminary Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 683-1213

Website:
http://www.piedmontrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Street parking is available on Foster and Seminary Streets.

Additionally, a free parking lot is available across from the restaurant during dinner hours.

Executive Chef:
Gregory Gettles

Private Party Facilities:
We are happy to help you plan your private party events. Please contact the restaurant to discuss our private party options further.

Currently, our mezzanine level accommodates 40 guests or less. For events with more than 40 guests, a buyout of the entire restaurant is required.

Each private dining event has a custom menu from our Executive Chef. Therefore, pricing varies based off of the menu and selections. Please contact the restaurant to discuss your needs.

Private Party Contact:
Anna Morris: (919) 683-1213x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
http://piedmontrestaurant.com/events/

Restaurant Photos

Goat Lady Dairy custard, pepper jam, roasted okra, pistachio pesto, popcorn
Pork chop, field peas, romesco, pickled coriander, tomato BBQ, potatoes, pea tendrils
Amuse bouche – Breakfast radish, smoked olive oil gel and powder; shrimp toast, mole crème fraîche; pork rillettes, ricotta
Striped Bass
North Carolina Catfish
Pan-seared scallops, caramelized onion, bacon jam, shiitake mushrooms, rosemary cream
Fried chicken livers, celery seed, dill, pickled garlic, buttermilk powder
Pasture-raised chicken ballotine, roasted heirloom pumpkins, Anson Mills sea island red peas, hakurei turnips, carrot top pistou, natural jus
Sunflower salad – petals, heart, seeds, butternut squash, mustard frill, edlerflower vinegar
Spice-Crusted North Carolina Flounder
Pan-seared Scallops
Frozen Chocolate Mousse, Peanut Butter Ice Cream, Brittle & Bark
Pine-Cured Carolina Trout Dip, Blini, Creme Fraiche, Apple, Roe
Sticky Date Cake
Smoked Carolina Trout Dip, Horseradish, Loaf Crostini
Sorghum Pork Belly, Red Cabbage Agrodolce, Sweet Potato Puree, Pickled Peanuts
Coulotte, Garlic-Confit Potatoes, Brussels, Spiced Jus
Pan-Seared Scallops, Fire-Roasted Carrots, Oregano & Pecan Pistou
Heirloom Pumpkin Soup, Nc Crab, Truffle Oil, Creme Fraiche
Risotto, Butternut Squash, Beet Carpaccio, Wilted Kale
Sticky Date Cake with Salted Caramel Ice Cream and Dulce de Leche
Cucumber Vichyssoise
Coconut Cake With Almond Crisp And Bittersweet Chocolate Sorbet
Sweet Pea And Mint Lune Pasta With Braised Lamb Neck
Roasted Beets And Compressed Watermelon
Lamb
Blue Devil
Almond Financier Cake with Fig Ice Cream
Painted Hills' Coulotte, Sweet Potato & Bacon Hash, Roasted Brussel Sprouts
Painted Hills' Coulotte with sweet potato and smoked bacon hash
Roasted Beets, Compressed Watermelon Salad
Chilled Cauliflower Soup
Coulotte With Sweet Potato And Smoked Bacon Hash
Pasta With Spinach And Brocolli
Profiteroles
Chartucerie Plate
Salad
NC Flounder with Cauliflower Puree, Apple & Frisee
Caprese Salad
Tomato Salad with Fennel
brioche french toast
Warm Radishes
Lamb Ribs
Chicken & Egg
Arugula with Grapefruit and Cherry Tomatoes
Tak Soi and Baked Egg
Sweet Potato Soufflé & Butter Pecan Ice Cream
Quiche
Egg Piedmont
Crepe
Crispy Chicken Skin And Pickled Carrots

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 5:30PM - 5:45PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Piedmont Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Durham
Fit for Foodies
Durham
Neighborhood Gem
Durham
Best Restaurants in Durham ›

fit for foodies (108)
special occasion (75)
neighborhood gem (61)
See All
notable wine list (43)
romantic (39)
good for groups (36)
great for brunch (28)
hot spot (20)
great for lunch (6)
vibrant bar scene (6)
late-night find (4)
kid-friendly (2)
scenic view (1)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
983 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our server asked if we were celebrating ...

Dined 4 days ago

Our server asked if we were celebrating a special occasion. We told him that we were celebrating our 53rd wedding anniversary. We and the couple with us received complimentary glasses of wine. They also accommodated a vegan diet. The servers were very attentive to our needs. I would return on another occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent meal, friendly waiter and nice ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Excellent meal, friendly waiter and nice ambiance. A fun evening. Will be returning to Piedmont.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great cocktails (with great names)! Grea ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Great cocktails (with great names)! Great food (I usually don't choose the vegetarian option but I did!....and I really enjoyed my meal). We were running a little late and, when I called to check if it would be okay for us to be a little late, I was told "no problem."... which helped all of us relax and enjoy our meal more. My wife had mahi mahi.... and that dish was probably the most spectacular meal of on the table.

Tags: fit for foodies
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

staggeringly awful. terrible service. ...

vip
Dined on June 14, 2016

staggeringly awful. terrible service. inedible food. 4 of 5 of us couldn't eat the entrée, 3 of 5 of us couldn't eat the appetizer. 1 of the party will and does eat anything so I think it could be scored as a 100% fail rate. don't eat here. there are much better places in durham, CH, Raleigh. and the people/culture are arrogant and unwelcoming. no adults in charge as far as we could tell. this place is a waste of good real estate. the staff should all seek other career paths as food and service are not their calling. awful....I think I may have mentioned that this place is simply awful.

food3
ambience4
service4

too salty sometimes.

vip
Dined on June 11, 2016

too salty sometimes.

food5
ambience4
service5

Food and service are great. Excellent ba ...

vip
Dined on June 11, 2016

Food and service are great. Excellent bar and creative cocktails.

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Very enjoyable evening at the Piedmont R ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Very enjoyable evening at the Piedmont Restaurant. Excellent meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious

Dined on June 11, 2016

Loved every course we had for Triangle Restaurant Week. The short rib may have been the best I've ever had. This is not an exaggeration.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

Declining

vip
Dined on June 9, 2016

Has been one of our Triangle favorites, brought friends to introduce them to the restaurant, but service missed important details and food was not as good as in the past. Maybe restaurant week was a factor in overall decline of the experience.

food2
ambience3
service2

What a disappointment. Last year I had a ...

vip
Dined on June 4, 2016

What a disappointment. Last year I had a great meal at Piedmont and was looking forward to returning. The meal started same as last time with a ridiculously long wait to get a drink to the table. At least 15 minutes from sitting down to having a drink. Last year things improved immediately and we had a great meal with good service thereafter. Not so last night. Service never improved. It was unapologetically slow and unpleasant. As for the food, selections from the very limited menu in all categories ranged from pretty good to awful. My son enjoyed the soft shell crab appetizer and ribeye steak entree. 2 guests had the pulled pork which was good but very salty. Fried Oysters were ok, smoked fish spread was bad, pretzels with fondue were tasty but greasy. Scallops were terrible - rubbery and salty. Much lauded tilefish entree was not good and way over complicated. Surprisingly, 2 guests wanted dessert so we experienced a tasty chocolate chess pie (probably the best thing I tasted all meal) and the lemon hibiscus cheesecake, which was among the worst desserts I have tasted. I am sorry to experience such a disappointing meal at Piedmont. Last year we had a slow start with drinks and service but things got better in a hurry with a great meal. Last night things started out slow and never improved. The food scene in Durham is way too good to put up with a meal like we experienced.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Friday Nite Dining

Dined on May 20, 2016

Our previous dining experiences at Piedmont have always been noteworthy but last night's dinner was superb! The house martini and lemon drop cocktails were excellent as were the fried oysters and softshell crab. The oyster aioli and softshell tempura batter set the appetizers apart. The waiter provided solid recommendations as well as tastings for our wine selections, a veredejo with the black drum and a burgundy for the rabbit leg confit. The black drum and confit did not disappoint. We finished with very different but delicious desserts, a seasonal strawberry sorbet and a classic chocolate chess pie. We enjoy the creative and casual dining at Piedmont and Friday night was no exception.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, good vib, uses local farms, ...

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

Great food, good vib, uses local farms, close to downtown Durham and locally owned. What more does a person have to say.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We went to Piedmont to celebrate a colle ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

We went to Piedmont to celebrate a collection of special occasions and they made the entire experience wonderful. Anna (whose official title I don't actually know, come to think of it) was incredible- amazingly accommodating, friendly, approachable, and professional. Thank you Anna!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Fresh menu featuring fresh food. Servic ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Fresh menu featuring fresh food. Service (Will) was excellent. Overall a very nice experience.

food5
ambience3
service5
value3

We went to Piedmont before attending an ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

We went to Piedmont before attending an event at the DPAC, therefore we were there relatively early (6:30) The food was excellent as was the service. I had a fish dish and my husband had a steak. Simply adorned decor. There was only a few tables occupied while we dined so the noise level was fine. I can imagine it would be a bit loud when the restaurant is full. Wines covered an excellent spectrum of prices and styles. Would to again. Parking was a bit of a challenge.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

The scallops were really tasty, as was t ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

The scallops were really tasty, as was the spare ribs!

food2
ambience5
service5
value1

Piedmont for four

Dined on May 15, 2016

Piedmont has great service, a nice ambiance, and a great location. The food is certainly above average in spots, but we did not find that the quality matched the pricing strata that they occupy. I almost never notice how much meals cost and am certainly not upset spending $300 for a dinner for four. But in this case the experience we had was just average enough to make me notice that the meal plus a well-deserved tip came to $300 which did not feel right. We shared three small plates, and four entrees (some duplicates), four deserts and and a bottle of wine. So it was a complete meal for $75 per person, which is far from outrageous. But I would have expected more of the food to have been more impressive than it was. One of the entrees in particular - a pork dish - turned out to be simply pulled pork with a modicum of greens mixed in. This was disappointing, and the rest of us ended up sharing our entrees with that person. The menu did not indicate that it was what most people would call barbeque. The only thing missing - albeit a pretty big thing - is for Piedmont to step it up a level on the creativity and quality of the small plates and entrees. It has all of the other ingredients to be a place I would go back to again and again.

Tags: neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Building & space lack intimacy and it is ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

Building & space lack intimacy and it is somewhat noisy and echo-ey, even without a full house. Food was great, but if feels a bit like a dining hall. For comparison, take a look at Acme in Carborro....both do similarly fine things with food, but their space wins hands down.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Enjoyed a very nice meal for Mother's Da ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Enjoyed a very nice meal for Mother's Day. Staff was responsive and helpful .

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Four of us had dinner for celebrating a ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Four of us had dinner for celebrating a special occasion, and we enjoyed it very much. The food was interesting and we ate several things that were new to us. The flavors were all great, and it was such fun to have some new tastes. The service was really nice- we asked several questions and the server even went to find out more information when she didn't have the answer. It was a really nice experience in every way!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value1

Wonderful, but overpriced, food.

Dined on April 18, 2016

We loved dining at the Piedmont. Beautifully presented dishes, delicious food. Anna Morris, the assistant manager is a lovely young woman who took time to visit with us. Our server, Troy, was attentive without hovering, which is an art! We did feel that the prices did not match the amount of food offered, but the chef's excellence DID match the description of the dishes we ordered. We left still hungry, but when our wallets are fatter, we will return and order a fuller course!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Always great to dine with one of the tri ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

Always great to dine with one of the triangles best chefs. Thank you for a truly wonderful night and making us feel so special as we celebrated our anniversary.

food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Dinner. Value.

Dined on April 9, 2016

Was attending film festival. Visited last year. Food great. Not so this year. Pricey. $35,steak? Tough Limited menu. Not great choices. More on unusual side. Salty mashed potatoes. Last year more appealing menu. Sent friends for first time. Were disappointed also. Will not return.

food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place for cocktails and appetizers.

Dined on April 5, 2016

LOVE the cocktails here. They are unique and reasonably priced. The service here is outstanding. I recommend the pretzels with mustard dipping sauce - a great salty compliment to the cocktails.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Creative use of space. Food and beverage ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

Creative use of space. Food and beverage experience was a cool take on Southern Dishes.

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Quaint feel, Great brunch!

Dined on March 27, 2016

Went for Sunday brunch with a party of 6. Had a reservation and were seated immediately upstairs. Loved the decor and feel of the place; the upstairs was nice and quiet and could easily seat larger parties. The brunch menu is limited, but the options they had were all delicious! I would recommend getting anything with the homemade tater tots and if you're okay with interesting/seasonal vegetable choices the veggie benedict and veggie casserole were both excellent. Can't go wrong with the brunch plate either. My one criticism was that the cinnamon rolls were a bit dry and didn't have very much icing, but they were still good. The fresh squeezed juices were all good too! Would definitely go back for brunch again!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

So disappointing. Normally I love this p ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

So disappointing. Normally I love this place but they are struggling. The service was outrageously slow. Servers were very kind about it though...seemed to be kitchen issue. Food was blah. Several other meals there have been exceptional but this was awful. Raw oatmeal dumped on top of bland fish. Only redeeming part was great wine list.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A great birthday dinner

Dined on March 25, 2016

I was looking for a good restaurant that really embodied the foodie scene in Durham for my birthday. I don't eat out at nice places very often, so I wanted to make this count. Our waiter was very nice, helpful, and knowledgeable about the menu when we had questions. The rabbit confit was excellent and very memorable. I had the chicken entrée while my boyfriend had the steak. Both were out of this world good and used unique, local, and sustainable ingredients. Our cocktails were yummy too. Will definitely visit again!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

Wonderful experience

vip
Dined on March 21, 2016

The food was delicious and the service was superb. I'm grateful to the staff for assuring that we were able to finish dinner in time to see the concert scheduled for Carolina Theater. The only negative was that the ribeye steak ordered by one in our party was ordered "medium rare" but was served "medium to medium well". The food prices were a little high for the portion size and the wine offerings tended to be a little pricey as well. But overall it was a wonderful experience and we would go there again if we attend an event at the Carolina Theater.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4

Wonderful produce, delicious brunch item ...

Dined on March 20, 2016

Wonderful produce, delicious brunch items. We also had some amazing alcoholic beverages. Not incredibly expensive.

food1
ambience4
service4
value2

Very Disappointed

Dined on March 20, 2016

Went with friends recently for brunch. I ordered the ham, mushroom and cheese omelet with "house made tater tots" and it was very disappointing. The tater tots were over cooked and almost burnt and the omelet was small with two pieces of mushroom and two bites of ham and almost no cheese. The entire meal sat is a pool of grease. After reading their website and looking over their menu this was not at all what I expected!

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and service. The wine lis ...

Dined on March 20, 2016

Excellent food and service. The wine list is outstanding. We asked for assistance with making our selection and received well informed input from the wine manager.

food4
ambience2
service3
value2

Good first visit...

Dined on March 15, 2016

First time here was all-in-all a good experience. Not a real warm and cozy dining room but more of an efficient feel. Food was very good and beautifully presented. I guess my only disappointment was that $80 for my wife and me seemed pretty high despite the quality of the food. This was one beer, one fried oyster appetizer, one pork chop entree, and we split a bottle of wine with another couple. I realize good food is not inexpensive to buy, prep, and serve so perhaps I need to stay home and do it my way for less, or recognize that good/great food costs more and not whine about paying for it. I will eventually try this place again - perhaps for lunch as a comparison. Don't let my rantings about price obscure my praise for the food, though, it was very good.

Tags: fit for foodies
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Vegetarian friendly (kinda)

Dined on March 15, 2016

I am mostly vegan and my wife still eats seafood. She had a great meal, but my plate of various preparations of cauliflower for 20.00 was disappointing on two fronts. First, there was no alternative protein of any kind, and second, because of the first issue, the serving of vegetables was more in line with a small plate than an entree priced at 20.00.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful food - Server was especially w ...

Dined on March 13, 2016

Wonderful food - Server was especially wonderful giving my friend and I lots of time to visit for a great Sunday brunch. The french toast was incredibly different from any other french toast I have had, however the texture and flavor were amazing.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Good first visit

Dined on March 12, 2016

Went with friends and we had a delightful time trying the imaginative starters and enjoying the scrumptious main courses. Wine was also good. Dessert menu was not so inspiring so we went elsewhere in the neighborhood for that.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Every person in party of 5 was singularl ...

vip
Dined on March 11, 2016

Every person in party of 5 was singularly impressed with their meal and the knowledgeable and attentive service. The wait staff was unfazed by one person's need for both gluten-free and dairy-free. The presentation was appealing and I am so happy to have re-discovered Piedmont.

food5
ambience3
service4
value3

A real gourmet treat

Dined on March 10, 2016

The presentation of the food is overly artistic. A pile of salad sat off center in a bowl that was three times as large as it needed to be, but tasted great. Some may object to only getting four scallops in their main dish but they were perfectly seared and accompanied by brussell sprouts and an interesting grain to mke for a filling dish.

food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Uneven

Dined on March 9, 2016

We love Piedmont, but regret that its sometimes excellence is uneven. A few weeks ago three of us dined there and the two who ordered fish (two different dishes) agreed that they had never eaten fish so perfectly cooked and flavored. (I consider fish, along with salad, to be a barometer a fine restaurant - both are very hard to do perfectly). Everything else we ordered was "merely" terrific. On the other hand, a few nights ago I once again ordered fish and while fine it was a little overdone - just what one expects from an ok restaurant. Piedmont, you have genius, but you need consistency. Service is always careful and delightful.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Really wonderful food

Dined on March 8, 2016

I would highly recommend the Piedmont. Our meal was filling and delicious! The portions were large and decadent. Their pork fritters were amazing! Will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.