About Piedmont Restaurant

401 Foster Street B-2
Durham, NC 27701
View Larger Map

Piedmont in Durham, NC features adventurous and seasonal cooking, inspired by all that the Piedmont region has to offer. Local farm-grown ingredients are intensified using avant-garde methods; classic dishes are reimagined with an inventive spirit. The results are deeply flavorful, comforting, and often ethereal. Piedmont’s craft cocktails, local beers, and versatile wine list complete the modern farm-to-table experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary Southern, Contemporary American, Organic

Hours of Operation:
Brunch:
Sunday: 10:30AM - 2:00PM

Dinner:
Monday-Saturday: 5:30PM - 10:00PM
Sunday: 5:30PM - 9:00PM

Cross Street:
Seminary Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 683-1213

Website:
http://www.piedmontrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Street parking is available on Foster and Seminary Streets.

Additionally, a free parking lot is available across from the restaurant during dinner hours.

Executive Chef:
Gregory Gettles

Private Party Facilities:
We are happy to help you plan your private party events. Please contact the restaurant to discuss our private party options further.

Currently, our mezzanine level accommodates 40 guests or less. For events with more than 40 guests, a buyout of the entire restaurant is required.

Each private dining event has a custom menu from our Executive Chef. Therefore, pricing varies based off of the menu and selections. Please contact the restaurant to discuss your needs.

Private Party Contact:
Anna Morris: (919) 683-1213

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
http://piedmontrestaurant.com/events/

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 5:30PM - 5:45PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Piedmont Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Local Ingredients (30)
Creative Cuisine (28)
Fit for Foodies (26)
See All
Notable Wine List (19)
Special Occasion (19)
Good for a Date (18)
Seasonal (17)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Romantic (13)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Healthy (12)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Authentic (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Worth the Drive (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Tasting Menu (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Organic (7)
Cozy (7)
Fun (6)
Casual (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Business Meals (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Vegan (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Great for Lunch (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Family Style (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1098 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Good was fantastic, great drinks, great ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined a day ago

Good was fantastic, great drinks, great service, and great atmosphere. It's our second time here and both were memorable experiences. Must have for foodies. I'm a chef at the umstead hotel and I am beyond happy every time I leave this restaurant. Put it on your must have list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I tried the tasting menu, which at the t ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined 5 days ago

I tried the tasting menu, which at the time featured Squash. I thought the dishes were just ok. I also did their wine pairing. I liked only 1 of the 4 wines. I did not think the pairings were very good. I also thought the size of the wine pours was skimpy, especially the wine for the main course. My wife ordered a specialty drink and the vegetarian entree and had a better experience.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

I have been to Piedmont five or six time ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 15, 2017

I have been to Piedmont five or six times now, and it never disappoints. This time around, I decided to do the winter prix fixe menu, which was fantastic. Still one of the best restaurants in Durham.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food was excellent. I made a reserva ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The food was excellent. I made a reservation and yet even though the restaurant wasn't crowded we were upstairs. I also ask for acup of soup that was on the prefixe menu sndyhe wsitress said it couldn't be served separately. She didnt even go ask. This didn't seem an out of the ordinary request. We did really enjoy our unique dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Piedmont never disappoints! Perfect serv ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Piedmont never disappoints! Perfect service, great atmosphere, fun menu. One of the Triangle's very best.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Seasonal, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Phenomenal farm to table, if your tastes ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Phenomenal farm to table, if your tastes are from Chicago or New York, or if you're Anthony Bourdain, looking for "No Reservations: Durham ", this is the spot you need. Farm to table literally means from the farm in Hillsborough to 10 mins away (and is owned by the same team that owns the restaurant). In closing, if you think you're a foodie in the Triangle and you haven't been to Piedmont, you should maybe thinker on the subject of self-awareness.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

A group of friends (8) went to Piedmont ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 14, 2017

A group of friends (8) went to Piedmont on Saturday evening. Our table was ready, staff was friendly and helpful but the bar and kitchen was extremely slow. It took about 45 minutes to get our drinks and dinner was served 2 hours after we arrived. Appetizers were good; most of the group ordered the steak entrée and it was overcooked. It was busy that night and this all may have been an anomaly but it was most disappointing.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

This was our second time at the Piedmont ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 11, 2017

This was our second time at the Piedmont. We have never been disappointed. The food is excellent and servers are friendly.

Tags: Authentic, Tasting Menu, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another great meal! Everything was outst ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Another great meal! Everything was outstanding. Our whole group was unanimous. Piedmont is a gem! Our go to restaurant in the triangle !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Small portions. Nothing special about t ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Small portions. Nothing special about the food. The restauarant was not crowded and the food was mediocre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

The carrot was interesting.

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The carrot was interesting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Well intentioned. Wine pairings were sp ...

vip
 (Leipzig)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Well intentioned. Wine pairings were spot on. One course was cold, but quickly rectified. Next course was cold too, but we didn't want to be 'those diners'. Service was good. We probably will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

We celebrated Christmas Eve at the resta ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We celebrated Christmas Eve at the restaurant and greatly enjoyed the environment, creative food and service. We had celebrated our anniversary earlier in the week at Chef and the Farmer and wanted to experience John May's farm to table approach--we were very impressed and will be back for sure!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was very good and our waiter wa ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 24, 2016

The food was very good and our waiter was very attentive. Unfortunately a very long delay between the delivery of our appetizers and our entrees, with nothing but a simple "sorry" offered by our waiter as compensation. This delay was very unexpected as the restaurant was not full.

Portions were a bit small given the prices.

Overall a decent but somewhat disappointing experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Great food, great wine and great service ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Great food, great wine and great service! The staff goes the extra mile to make sure everything is perfect!

Tags: Fun, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Cozy, Organic, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Meal of 2016

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Best Meal of 2016

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful dinner out with friends. Innov ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Wonderful dinner out with friends. Innovative dishes with lots of flavor. We let the sommelier pair us up with wines. That was a great move ! Very cool, understated venue. We will be back !

Tags: Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Cozy, Authentic, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love Piedmont. Have been there often and ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Love Piedmont. Have been there often and never disappoints. Creative food, local flair, great location downtown, top-notch service. We bring friends here all the time.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Organic, Great for Brunch, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Healthy, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My boyfriend and I came for a date night ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 18, 2016

My boyfriend and I came for a date night and enjoyed the evening so much. The food and service were fantastic! Everyone seemed to really care about the kind of service given. The food was phenomenal. We enjoyed each course for what it was. There were nice surprise flavors in a lot of the food that matched so well but were also unexpected in a lot of ways. I would love to dine at Piedmont again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We informed the staff when we arrived th ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 17, 2016

We informed the staff when we arrived that it was a special occasion. They treated us wonderfully from the moment we arrived. Food was excellent and inventive. The staff was professional, informative, and attentive with out hovering. We had a wonderful experience. Highly recommend.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Fun, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Family Style, Seasonal, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Nice atmosphere for small group get-toge ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Nice atmosphere for small group get-together. Food was tasty, but quite expensive for the small portions you get. Was hoping for a little more and left not full. Staff at the restaurant were very pleasant and helpful.

Tags: Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Casual, Local Ingredients, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Everyone was happy with their meals....I ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Everyone was happy with their meals....I had the pork shoulder, which was divine....the chicken was enjoyed, as was the prime rib steak. Our friends had beets as a first course and thought that excellent as well. Wait staff were friendly and accommodating. Very convenient to the Carolina Theater.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

An incredible find in Durham. The new e ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 17, 2016

An incredible find in Durham. The new epitome of farm to table. Our server, also, well versed in the menu enough to permit my girlfriend to enjoy a gluten free vegan dinner. Really spectacular. We will be back soon !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I'm sorry to say we found it to be overr ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 16, 2016

I'm sorry to say we found it to be overrated. The service was very good, and the menu was creative, but the food itself was mediocre, especially for the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

The food was good but the soup portion w ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 15, 2016

The food was good but the soup portion was comically small (served in a large bowl but,was only a small creamer size serving that got cold immediately because it did not even reach the edge of the bowl when poured).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Our experience was outstanding. 5 people ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Our experience was outstanding. 5 people for a business dinner and everyone was in agreement...the restaurant is innovative, doting and delicious. When you mix a great staff with great food and great wine, how can you go wrong? Finishing up with some wonderful deserts and a great bottle of champagne from their extensive offering made for a wonderful evening. Piedmont is special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Ate here with a friend before going to a ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Ate here with a friend before going to a show at The Carolina Theater. The Brussels Sprouts snack was absolutely delicious. I had the scallops which were also yummy. There were more on the plate than I expected, always a nice surprise. Great fun and inventive cocktails.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We attended the Whiskey Dinner. Never w ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 7, 2016

We attended the Whiskey Dinner. Never would have thought of a food pairing for Whiskey.

Seating was at a group table upstairs. Distillery representatives were informative but fun (with swag). Lots of surprises e.g., parsnip fizz was amazing! Service was excellent and food pairings were fairly adventurous. Our after dinner cocktail was unexpected and paired paired well with the whiskey cake with black tea and lavender ice cream.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Piedmont is for foodies, especially thos ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Piedmont is for foodies, especially those who favor local ingredients. Everything the three in our party had was inventive, well-prepared, and well-presented. The carrot bisque was a perfect appetizer. The sweet potato gratin was not your grandmother's version. It was a thin cake-like layer topped with an assortment of roasted vegetables, each perfectly done. Highly recommended.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We had a spectacular dinner before (and ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 1, 2016

We had a spectacular dinner before (and again after!) a show at DPAC this week. The wine, food and service were out of this world! The series of appetizers we ordered, each one an artfully plated creation of local ingredients, took us longer to enjoy than anticipated (we had a LOT of great conversation about each ingredient!) As a result we were late for the show!

The staff was nonplused as we headed for the theatre, leaving our (carefully selected bottle) wine and main course to be boxed and enjoyed later. After the show we reappeared to take home boxes, but the staff re-fired the main courses, reassembled the beautiful plates, and uncorked the bottle without ever blinking! We were off again on an inspiring culinary adventure, one that we look forward to repeating soon.

Many thanks to the chef, sommelier and all the gracious staff at the Piedmont!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A superb farm to table restaurant. Wond ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 30, 2016

A superb farm to table restaurant. Wonderful creative food, and amazing and sophisticated wine list, just a great casual foodie restaurant. One of the very best in the area.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

An exquisite gastronomic experience! suc ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 26, 2016

An exquisite gastronomic experience! such a creative menu and absolutely delicious! We will return at every opportunity.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Piedmont is just a special place. The fo ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Piedmont is just a special place. The food, the service, the wine list and the ambiance come together perfectly. The plating is beautiful and imaginary and the tastes go beyond. Had a group of 5 Saturday night and everyone was in agreement. What an enjoyable evening. Can't wait to come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

6 of us gathered for dinner before a sho ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 18, 2016

6 of us gathered for dinner before a show at DPAC, We were seated upstairs in the loft area. A very attractive atmosphere in former Body or car repairs hope, great ambience.

Extremely good service with all of our questions answered about ingredients and suggestions of wine. I had the trout was wonderfully prepared, several had pork and also loved their chosen dish. Thank you for a great start to our evening.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Piedmont has been numerous changes in th ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Piedmont has been numerous changes in the past couple of years. The food has been "hit or miss". We dined with friends this past week and were extremely disappointed. The beef tartare was not very good and the meal proceeded to get worse. The Lamb was unedible to the point where the server insisted that she get our table other choices. The replacement dish was Red Drum and the fish was not fresh, redfish that is not fresh is not easy to prepare. such an oily fish to begin with.

The server was awesome and the attention was exceptional. great wine!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value2

We had not been to Piedmont for 5 months ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We had not been to Piedmont for 5 months. Our waiter let us know there is a new chef. I always enjoyed the food at Piedmont. This time I thought the food was good, but too many ingredients with very rich tastes. I had the skate and couldn't finish it because it was too rich. The salad also had a lot going on. Our waiter was great! Very personable. The wine list was good with affordable choices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Really enjoyed our appetizer of scallops ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Really enjoyed our appetizer of scallops and terrine, and both entrees (tilefish and pork shoulder) Everything was beautifully presented, with sauces and accouterments that accented the dishes. I had notified the restaurant that it was my husband's birthday, and they gave us each a complimentary glass of Prosecco. Altogether a lovely evening.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Spectacular food! The tasting menu is gr ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Spectacular food! The tasting menu is great and a very good deal. Especially when paired with drinks! We unfortunately had really bad service which is quite unusual for Piedmont

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

We have been to piedmont before, but thi ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 7, 2016

We have been to piedmont before, but this was particularly memorable -- the sommelier helped us pick the perfect wine -- and the food was on point. We will be back soon.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was excellent, especially the ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Everything was excellent, especially the food. The restaurant was rather too noisy but we sat upstairs where it is a little quieter. The only bad thing is the airconditioning, which is not only too cold but draughty if you happen to sit near the vent

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.