About Piedmont Restaurant

401 Foster Street B-2
Durham, NC 27701
View Larger Map

Piedmont in Durham, NC features adventurous and seasonal cooking, inspired by all that the Piedmont region has to offer. Local farm-grown ingredients are intensified using avant-garde methods; classic dishes are reimagined with an inventive spirit. The results are deeply flavorful, comforting, and often ethereal. Piedmont’s craft cocktails, local beers, and versatile wine list complete the modern farm-to-table experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary Southern, Contemporary American, Organic

Hours of Operation:
Brunch:
Sunday: 10:30AM - 2:00PM

Dinner:
Monday-Saturday: 5:30PM - 10:00PM
Sunday: 5:30PM - 9:00PM

Cross Street:
Seminary Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 683-1213

Website:
http://www.piedmontrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Street parking is available on Foster and Seminary Streets.

Additionally, a free parking lot is available across from the restaurant during dinner hours.

Executive Chef:
Gregory Gettles

Private Party Facilities:
We are happy to help you plan your private party events. Please contact the restaurant to discuss our private party options further.

Currently, our mezzanine level accommodates 40 guests or less. For events with more than 40 guests, a buyout of the entire restaurant is required.

Each private dining event has a custom menu from our Executive Chef. Therefore, pricing varies based off of the menu and selections. Please contact the restaurant to discuss your needs.

Private Party Contact:
Anna Morris: (919) 683-1213x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
http://piedmontrestaurant.com/events/

Restaurant Photos

Goat Lady Dairy custard, pepper jam, roasted okra, pistachio pesto, popcorn - Piedmont Restaurant, Durham, NC
Pork chop, field peas, romesco, pickled coriander, tomato BBQ, potatoes, pea tendrils - Piedmont Restaurant, Durham, NC
Amuse bouche – Breakfast radish, smoked olive oil gel and powder; shrimp toast, mole crème fraîche; pork rillettes, ricotta - Piedmont Restaurant, Durham, NC
Fried chicken livers, celery seed, dill, pickled garlic, buttermilk powder - Piedmont Restaurant, Durham, NC
Pan-seared scallops, caramelized onion, bacon jam, shiitake mushrooms, rosemary cream - Piedmont Restaurant, Durham, NC
Pasture-raised chicken ballotine, roasted heirloom pumpkins, Anson Mills sea island red peas, hakurei turnips, carrot top pistou, natural jus - Piedmont Restaurant, Durham, NC
Sunflower salad – petals, heart, seeds, butternut squash, mustard frill, edlerflower vinegar - Piedmont Restaurant, Durham, NC
Striped Bass - Piedmont Restaurant, Durham, NC
North Carolina Catfish - Piedmont Restaurant, Durham, NC
Spice-Crusted North Carolina Flounder  - Piedmont Restaurant, Durham, NC
Pan-seared Scallops - Piedmont Restaurant, Durham, NC
Pine-Cured Carolina Trout Dip, Blini, Creme Fraiche, Apple, Roe - Piedmont Restaurant, Durham, NC
Frozen Chocolate Mousse, Peanut Butter Ice Cream, Brittle & Bark - Piedmont Restaurant, Durham, NC
Sticky Date Cake - Piedmont Restaurant, Durham, NC
Pan-Seared Scallops, Fire-Roasted Carrots, Oregano & Pecan Pistou - Piedmont Restaurant, Durham, NC
Smoked Carolina Trout Dip, Horseradish, Loaf Crostini - Piedmont Restaurant, Durham, NC
Risotto, Butternut Squash, Beet Carpaccio, Wilted Kale - Piedmont Restaurant, Durham, NC
Heirloom Pumpkin Soup, Nc Crab, Truffle Oil, Creme Fraiche - Piedmont Restaurant, Durham, NC
Sorghum Pork Belly, Red Cabbage Agrodolce, Sweet Potato Puree, Pickled Peanuts - Piedmont Restaurant, Durham, NC
Coulotte, Garlic-Confit Potatoes, Brussels, Spiced Jus - Piedmont Restaurant, Durham, NC
Sticky Date Cake with Salted Caramel Ice Cream and Dulce de Leche - Piedmont Restaurant, Durham, NC
Sweet Pea And Mint Lune Pasta With Braised Lamb Neck - Piedmont Restaurant, Durham, NC
Coconut Cake With Almond Crisp And Bittersweet Chocolate Sorbet - Piedmont Restaurant, Durham, NC
Roasted Beets And Compressed Watermelon - Piedmont Restaurant, Durham, NC
Cucumber Vichyssoise - Piedmont Restaurant, Durham, NC
Lamb - Piedmont Restaurant, Durham, NC
Blue Devil - Piedmont Restaurant, Durham, NC
Almond Financier Cake with Fig Ice Cream - Piedmont Restaurant, Durham, NC
Painted Hills' Coulotte, Sweet Potato & Bacon Hash, Roasted Brussel Sprouts - Piedmont Restaurant, Durham, NC
Roasted Beets, Compressed Watermelon Salad - Piedmont Restaurant, Durham, NC
Painted Hills' Coulotte with sweet potato and smoked bacon hash - Piedmont Restaurant, Durham, NC
Chilled Cauliflower Soup - Piedmont Restaurant, Durham, NC
Coulotte With Sweet Potato And Smoked Bacon Hash - Piedmont Restaurant, Durham, NC
Salad - Piedmont Restaurant, Durham, NC
Profiteroles - Piedmont Restaurant, Durham, NC
Pasta With Spinach And Brocolli - Piedmont Restaurant, Durham, NC
Chartucerie Plate - Piedmont Restaurant, Durham, NC
Chicken & Egg - Piedmont Restaurant, Durham, NC
Sweet Potato Soufflé & Butter Pecan Ice Cream - Piedmont Restaurant, Durham, NC
Tomato Salad with Fennel - Piedmont Restaurant, Durham, NC
NC Flounder with Cauliflower Puree, Apple & Frisee - Piedmont Restaurant, Durham, NC
Caprese Salad - Piedmont Restaurant, Durham, NC
Tak Soi and Baked Egg - Piedmont Restaurant, Durham, NC
Warm Radishes - Piedmont Restaurant, Durham, NC
Arugula with Grapefruit and Cherry Tomatoes - Piedmont Restaurant, Durham, NC
brioche french toast - Piedmont Restaurant, Durham, NC
Lamb Ribs - Piedmont Restaurant, Durham, NC
Quiche - Piedmont Restaurant, Durham, NC
Egg Piedmont - Piedmont Restaurant, Durham, NC
Crepe - Piedmont Restaurant, Durham, NC
Crispy Chicken Skin And Pickled Carrots - Piedmont Restaurant, Durham, NC

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 5:30PM - 5:45PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Piedmont Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Durham
Best Restaurants in Durham ›

Fit for Foodies (24)
Local Ingredients (22)
Creative Cuisine (22)
See All
Good for a Date (20)
Special Occasion (20)
Notable Wine List (18)
Romantic (16)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Seasonal (15)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Authentic (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Worth the Drive (9)
Healthy (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Organic (7)
Fun (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Business Meals (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Casual (4)
Cozy (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Vegan (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Historic (1)
Great Beer (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
1047 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Piedmont is for foodies, especially thos ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 3 days ago

Piedmont is for foodies, especially those who favor local ingredients. Everything the three in our party had was inventive, well-prepared, and well-presented. The carrot bisque was a perfect appetizer. The sweet potato gratin was not your grandmother's version. It was a thin cake-like layer topped with an assortment of roasted vegetables, each perfectly done. Highly recommended.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We had a spectacular dinner before (and ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 5 days ago

We had a spectacular dinner before (and again after!) a show at DPAC this week. The wine, food and service were out of this world! The series of appetizers we ordered, each one an artfully plated creation of local ingredients, took us longer to enjoy than anticipated (we had a LOT of great conversation about each ingredient!) As a result we were late for the show!

The staff was nonplused as we headed for the theatre, leaving our (carefully selected bottle) wine and main course to be boxed and enjoyed later. After the show we reappeared to take home boxes, but the staff re-fired the main courses, reassembled the beautiful plates, and uncorked the bottle without ever blinking! We were off again on an inspiring culinary adventure, one that we look forward to repeating soon.

Many thanks to the chef, sommelier and all the gracious staff at the Piedmont!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A superb farm to table restaurant. Wond ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 6 days ago

A superb farm to table restaurant. Wonderful creative food, and amazing and sophisticated wine list, just a great casual foodie restaurant. One of the very best in the area.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

An exquisite gastronomic experience! suc ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 26, 2016

An exquisite gastronomic experience! such a creative menu and absolutely delicious! We will return at every opportunity.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Piedmont is just a special place. The fo ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Piedmont is just a special place. The food, the service, the wine list and the ambiance come together perfectly. The plating is beautiful and imaginary and the tastes go beyond. Had a group of 5 Saturday night and everyone was in agreement. What an enjoyable evening. Can't wait to come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

6 of us gathered for dinner before a sho ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 18, 2016

6 of us gathered for dinner before a show at DPAC, We were seated upstairs in the loft area. A very attractive atmosphere in former Body or car repairs hope, great ambience.

Extremely good service with all of our questions answered about ingredients and suggestions of wine. I had the trout was wonderfully prepared, several had pork and also loved their chosen dish. Thank you for a great start to our evening.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Piedmont has been numerous changes in th ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Piedmont has been numerous changes in the past couple of years. The food has been "hit or miss". We dined with friends this past week and were extremely disappointed. The beef tartare was not very good and the meal proceeded to get worse. The Lamb was unedible to the point where the server insisted that she get our table other choices. The replacement dish was Red Drum and the fish was not fresh, redfish that is not fresh is not easy to prepare. such an oily fish to begin with.

The server was awesome and the attention was exceptional. great wine!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value2

We had not been to Piedmont for 5 months ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We had not been to Piedmont for 5 months. Our waiter let us know there is a new chef. I always enjoyed the food at Piedmont. This time I thought the food was good, but too many ingredients with very rich tastes. I had the skate and couldn't finish it because it was too rich. The salad also had a lot going on. Our waiter was great! Very personable. The wine list was good with affordable choices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Really enjoyed our appetizer of scallops ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Really enjoyed our appetizer of scallops and terrine, and both entrees (tilefish and pork shoulder) Everything was beautifully presented, with sauces and accouterments that accented the dishes. I had notified the restaurant that it was my husband's birthday, and they gave us each a complimentary glass of Prosecco. Altogether a lovely evening.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Spectacular food! The tasting menu is gr ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Spectacular food! The tasting menu is great and a very good deal. Especially when paired with drinks! We unfortunately had really bad service which is quite unusual for Piedmont

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

We have been to piedmont before, but thi ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 7, 2016

We have been to piedmont before, but this was particularly memorable -- the sommelier helped us pick the perfect wine -- and the food was on point. We will be back soon.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was excellent, especially the ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Everything was excellent, especially the food. The restaurant was rather too noisy but we sat upstairs where it is a little quieter. The only bad thing is the airconditioning, which is not only too cold but draughty if you happen to sit near the vent

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

We were fans of John May from his work a ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 3, 2016

We were fans of John May from his work at Chef and the Farmer. Our recent experience at Piedmont shows that he is, if anything, even better. My wife, who needs to follow a vegan diet for health reasons, requested that the chef use his judgment to create a 2-course (plus dessert) meal for her. Her meal was truly amazing, as was mine (the Prix Fixe sweet potato extravaganza -- I eat vegan at home, but enjoy other foods when we dine out). And all the staff provided impeccable service. We plan to go back often (Thursdays works best for us -- we don't know if the staff would be able to accommodate another vegan free-wheeling on nights when the restaurant is packed to the rafters).

Tags: Casual, Open Kitchen, Vegan, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Menu selection-awful Service -awful (ple ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Menu selection-awful

Service -awful (please don't keep bothering us while we're trying to enjoy our meal and have a conversation)

The food portions are poultry-and I don't mean that in a good way either! I couldn't eat my entree. It was awful!

And considering the above, the price was obscene!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

Consistently special This is my third t ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Consistently special

This is my third time at The Piedmont and I now consider it my favorite restaurant in Durham. It was my birthday and everyone went out of their way to make me feel special.

This last dinner was on a Saturday and the place was bustling with all different times of dinners - large groups, four tops with 2 couples, a father and son, a family, friends, couples - of all different ages. Dinner was fantastic! The food tastes as good as it looks, and it is beautifully presented on special plates. The entire staff is friendly and eager to help - an asset.

I have had the quail starter every time I've been there, and the vegetables and dip very surprising and flavorful. I had the scallop starter as a main plate and would have had that as a main course with more scallops, as they were delicious. My husband's swordish was so tasty he left nothing on his plate. The cheesecake dessert had a pumpkin puree, ginger crumbles and a non-cloying toffee that perfectly finished our meal.

The restaurant environment is a nice combination of bustling but personal, with a noise level that lively but you can easily hear the person you are dining with. I did overhear the 4 people next to us -clearly foodies - talking about their food and saying "perfect" and "amazing". I love this place!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Fun, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Authentic, Business Meals, Organic, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had NC Swordfish and my husband had Du ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 28, 2016

I had NC Swordfish and my husband had Duck breast. Both were delicious. The service was prompt, and our wait person was attentive. The restaurant was not crowded.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The feast began with the eyes! Beautifu ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 27, 2016

The feast began with the eyes! Beautiful presentation followed with amazing flavor. Staff was attentive to our time constraints. What's not to love?!?!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We had booked the mezzanine for our daug ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 27, 2016

We had booked the mezzanine for our daughters wedding rehearsal dinner. The Piedmont could not have been more accommodating to our ever changing guest list (which including infants and children) and our last minute appeal to come 30 minutes early. They were eager and happy to help us whatever the request. We were not only greeted warmly, but had wonderful table service as well. There were 14 in our party and every meal, without exception, was off the charts delicious! Everyone was served at the same time and each dish was prepared to perfection! Not one person was disappointed, as all our empty plates could attest. It was a special evening for our family, made even more memorable by the Piedmont. We recommend this restaurant highly!!!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and really cool restaurant.

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Great food and really cool restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Beautiful restaurant with a very sophist ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Beautiful restaurant with a very sophisticated menu.

The service was just the best you could espect, from the beginning until the end.

The food was very good and healthy, very conceptual.

No fake flavors just the taste of prime, selected fresh ingredients.

The Chef must have a big passion for realness and for good food.

A very pleasant experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, service. A little pricey, b ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Great food, service. A little pricey, but the experience is worth it. Always worth the visit.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

LOVED our dinner experience... had a bea ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 14, 2016

LOVED our dinner experience... had a beautiful piece of tilefish with an excellent marsanne-viognier blend from Napa that the manager recommended. The staff was extremely welcoming and helpful... definitely a Durham gem! Will most definitely return.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food quality & choices were a huge disap ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Food quality & choices were a huge disappointment. Have eaten here 2 other times ( about 8 months ago).... new chef/not a fan

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value2

Great wine, great service, great sommeli ...

vip
 (London)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Great wine, great service, great sommelier

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Our previous 2 meals at Piedmont were ex ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Our previous 2 meals at Piedmont were excellent, over a year ago. Now Piedmont has changed, not for the better. The food is limited in choice with heavy emphasis on grains, bland and rather so-so. My brisket was a dry hunk of tasteless meat, not at all what brisket should be. (After mentioning it for benefit of the chef, it was removed from the final bill.) The fish choices were shark or drum, chose the drum, and it was just OK. The wine list is still very good, as is service. Menu prices do not represent good value at all.

Tags: Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

Menu was creative and well presented. My ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Menu was creative and well presented. My black drum was excellent and perfectly cooked. Wait staff was attentive, friendly but not overly familiar. Atmosphere, upstairs, was great and we could carry a good conversation without straining. We are looking forward to our next visit. Chef can flat out cook.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely amazing and creative food. Al ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Absolutely amazing and creative food. Although not an inexpensive night out, absolutely worth it. Both times I have gone to Piedmont, I have been blown away but the quality and flavors

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our experience was not good. We have eat ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Our experience was not good. We have eaten at Piedmont several times and it is hit or miss and last night was a miss! Very very limited menu. Fish we ordered was mediocre and honestly not cooked enough. Drinks we order were excellent . We left the restaurant feeling disappointed with the cost for what we received. With so many great consistent restaurants in Durham we will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

The service was rather slow, but the dri ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 23, 2016

The service was rather slow, but the drinks and food were excellent. A dinner for 5 took about 2.5-3 hours including apps, drinks, dinner and dessert.

Tags: Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

Overall the meal was very good. The food ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Overall the meal was very good. The food was high quality and made with fresh ingredients and the server was knowledgeable and polite. The only downside is that two of the menu items we wanted were sold out for the evening and given the somewhat limited menu, it really cut down on our options.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Our server Joeseph was very patient and ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Our server Joeseph was very patient and extremely accommodating with our wine demands, bottles, pouring etc.

This was my second visit on a week.

Butter beans and pork belly was my favorite dish followed very closely by cobia fish perfectly prepared.

Chef John is at the top of his game. A great evening and will be back soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

What to say about a very average experie ...

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on September 17, 2016

What to say about a very average experience with above average expectation and pricing? The butter bean appetizer was served with a piece of pork belly that was meatless fat. The steak was tasteless. Chicken was very tasty and unusual blend of a chicken sausage and breast wrapped in bacon. Staff seemed insincere and frayed at the edges. The menu is limited, which is great if all is well executed. I would not recommend this restaurant to anyone else.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

blending of flavors and presentation of ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 15, 2016

blending of flavors and presentation of food was amazing. great ambience. there was a vegan option for the vegetarian dish, which was based on eggplant. my wife, although a vegetarian, isn't the biggest eggplant fan so our server explained that the chef would be happy to make a vegetarian dish without eggplant, and even asked us what ingredients/spices she would like to accent/highlight. So she enjoyed a custom chef creation for her entree! also, server was great bringing us complementary sparkling wine upon hearing that it was our anniversary. a great example of durham's awesome culinary scene!

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good wine list. Outstanding butterbeans. ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Good wine list. Outstanding butterbeans. We were served a total of four dishes of quail that were so salty they were inedible. The rest of our dishes were meh

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value3

Absolutely perfect evening. The food was ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 7, 2016

Absolutely perfect evening. The food was spectacular and innovative. The chef and staff were very engaged. The sommelier is a wizard with the seriously long wine list, the champagne offerings alone are amazing. This was our second time with the new, highly touted chef, and this time was a business dinner with some serious foodies from across the nation. My guests were also quite pleased with the cuisine, the staff and the ambience in general. Highly recommend Piedmont.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We visited with six people and tried the ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 2, 2016

We visited with six people and tried the majority of the locally-sourced appetizers and entrees on the small menu. All sparkled with a dazzling array of flavors and textures; each component of the plate clearly the product of love x creativity x expertise. Consequently, some of the dishes verged on busy with flavors. Servings are modest. The wine list is extensive, yet with limited options below $50. Piedmont is a great destination for special outings where dazzling the palette is the objective and the budget is $$$.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Really an all around great and delicious ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 1, 2016

Really an all around great and delicious experience. Yummy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The food was fantastic, particularly the ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 31, 2016

The food was fantastic, particularly the quail starter, the chicken entree, and the chocolate caramel dessert. Fun ambience and just the right noise level. Terrific experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

This was one of many meals we've had at ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 28, 2016

This was one of many meals we've had at Piedmont over the last four years. Since it was a Sunday night in late August, the restaurant wasn't very crowded and we had excellent service. I ordered the prix fix tomato-centered meal and my husband had the quail and the smoked clams with a chocolate dessert. While we enjoyed almost everything, we did find the portion a wee bit light.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Love the location, our second time in. S ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Love the location, our second time in. See I e was great both times. Would recommend for Sunday brunch, that's all we've been for.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.