About Piedmont Restaurant

401 Foster Street B-2
Durham, NC 27701
View Larger Map

Piedmont in Durham, NC features adventurous and seasonal cooking, inspired by all that the Piedmont region has to offer. Local farm-grown ingredients are intensified using avant-garde methods; classic dishes are reimagined with an inventive spirit. The results are deeply flavorful, comforting, and often ethereal. Piedmont’s craft cocktails, local beers, and versatile wine list complete the modern farm-to-table experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary Southern, Contemporary American, Organic

Hours of Operation:
Brunch:
Sunday: 10:30AM - 2:00PM

Dinner:
Monday-Saturday: 5:30PM - 10:00PM
Sunday: 5:30PM - 9:00PM

Cross Street:
Seminary Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 683-1213

Website:
http://www.piedmontrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Street parking is available on Foster and Seminary Streets.

Additionally, a free parking lot is available across from the restaurant during dinner hours.

Executive Chef:
Gregory Gettles

Private Party Facilities:
We are happy to help you plan your private party events. Please contact the restaurant to discuss our private party options further.

Currently, our mezzanine level accommodates 40 guests or less. For events with more than 40 guests, a buyout of the entire restaurant is required.

Each private dining event has a custom menu from our Executive Chef. Therefore, pricing varies based off of the menu and selections. Please contact the restaurant to discuss your needs.

Private Party Contact:
Anna Morris: (919) 683-1213x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
http://piedmontrestaurant.com/events/

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 5:30PM - 5:45PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Piedmont Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Durham
Fit for Foodies
Durham
Best Restaurants in Durham ›

fit for foodies (125)
special occasion (83)
neighborhood gem (64)
See All
romantic (53)
notable wine list (50)
good for groups (33)
great for brunch (25)
hot spot (21)
late-night find (9)
vibrant bar scene (9)
great for lunch (5)
scenic view (2)
kid-friendly (2)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
971 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Friday Nite Dining

Dined 5 days ago

Our previous dining experiences at Piedmont have always been noteworthy but last night's dinner was superb! The house martini and lemon drop cocktails were excellent as were the fried oysters and softshell crab. The oyster aioli and softshell tempura batter set the appetizers apart. The waiter provided solid recommendations as well as tastings for our wine selections, a veredejo with the black drum and a burgundy for the rabbit leg confit. The black drum and confit did not disappoint. We finished with very different but delicious desserts, a seasonal strawberry sorbet and a classic chocolate chess pie. We enjoy the creative and casual dining at Piedmont and Friday night was no exception.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, good vib, uses local farms, ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

Great food, good vib, uses local farms, close to downtown Durham and locally owned. What more does a person have to say.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We went to Piedmont to celebrate a colle ...

Dined 6 days ago

We went to Piedmont to celebrate a collection of special occasions and they made the entire experience wonderful. Anna (whose official title I don't actually know, come to think of it) was incredible- amazingly accommodating, friendly, approachable, and professional. Thank you Anna!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Fresh menu featuring fresh food. Servic ...

Dined 6 days ago

Fresh menu featuring fresh food. Service (Will) was excellent. Overall a very nice experience.

food5
ambience3
service5
value3

We went to Piedmont before attending an ...

Dined 6 days ago

We went to Piedmont before attending an event at the DPAC, therefore we were there relatively early (6:30) The food was excellent as was the service. I had a fish dish and my husband had a steak. Simply adorned decor. There was only a few tables occupied while we dined so the noise level was fine. I can imagine it would be a bit loud when the restaurant is full. Wines covered an excellent spectrum of prices and styles. Would to again. Parking was a bit of a challenge.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

The scallops were really tasty, as was t ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

The scallops were really tasty, as was the spare ribs!

food2
ambience5
service5
value1

Piedmont for four

Dined on May 15, 2016

Piedmont has great service, a nice ambiance, and a great location. The food is certainly above average in spots, but we did not find that the quality matched the pricing strata that they occupy. I almost never notice how much meals cost and am certainly not upset spending $300 for a dinner for four. But in this case the experience we had was just average enough to make me notice that the meal plus a well-deserved tip came to $300 which did not feel right. We shared three small plates, and four entrees (some duplicates), four deserts and and a bottle of wine. So it was a complete meal for $75 per person, which is far from outrageous. But I would have expected more of the food to have been more impressive than it was. One of the entrees in particular - a pork dish - turned out to be simply pulled pork with a modicum of greens mixed in. This was disappointing, and the rest of us ended up sharing our entrees with that person. The menu did not indicate that it was what most people would call barbeque. The only thing missing - albeit a pretty big thing - is for Piedmont to step it up a level on the creativity and quality of the small plates and entrees. It has all of the other ingredients to be a place I would go back to again and again.

Tags: neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Building & space lack intimacy and it is ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

Building & space lack intimacy and it is somewhat noisy and echo-ey, even without a full house. Food was great, but if feels a bit like a dining hall. For comparison, take a look at Acme in Carborro....both do similarly fine things with food, but their space wins hands down.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Enjoyed a very nice meal for Mother's Da ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Enjoyed a very nice meal for Mother's Day. Staff was responsive and helpful .

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Four of us had dinner for celebrating a ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Four of us had dinner for celebrating a special occasion, and we enjoyed it very much. The food was interesting and we ate several things that were new to us. The flavors were all great, and it was such fun to have some new tastes. The service was really nice- we asked several questions and the server even went to find out more information when she didn't have the answer. It was a really nice experience in every way!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value1

Wonderful, but overpriced, food.

Dined on April 18, 2016

We loved dining at the Piedmont. Beautifully presented dishes, delicious food. Anna Morris, the assistant manager is a lovely young woman who took time to visit with us. Our server, Troy, was attentive without hovering, which is an art! We did feel that the prices did not match the amount of food offered, but the chef's excellence DID match the description of the dishes we ordered. We left still hungry, but when our wallets are fatter, we will return and order a fuller course!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Always great to dine with one of the tri ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

Always great to dine with one of the triangles best chefs. Thank you for a truly wonderful night and making us feel so special as we celebrated our anniversary.

food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Dinner. Value.

Dined on April 9, 2016

Was attending film festival. Visited last year. Food great. Not so this year. Pricey. $35,steak? Tough Limited menu. Not great choices. More on unusual side. Salty mashed potatoes. Last year more appealing menu. Sent friends for first time. Were disappointed also. Will not return.

food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place for cocktails and appetizers.

Dined on April 5, 2016

LOVE the cocktails here. They are unique and reasonably priced. The service here is outstanding. I recommend the pretzels with mustard dipping sauce - a great salty compliment to the cocktails.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Creative use of space. Food and beverage ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

Creative use of space. Food and beverage experience was a cool take on Southern Dishes.

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Quaint feel, Great brunch!

Dined on March 27, 2016

Went for Sunday brunch with a party of 6. Had a reservation and were seated immediately upstairs. Loved the decor and feel of the place; the upstairs was nice and quiet and could easily seat larger parties. The brunch menu is limited, but the options they had were all delicious! I would recommend getting anything with the homemade tater tots and if you're okay with interesting/seasonal vegetable choices the veggie benedict and veggie casserole were both excellent. Can't go wrong with the brunch plate either. My one criticism was that the cinnamon rolls were a bit dry and didn't have very much icing, but they were still good. The fresh squeezed juices were all good too! Would definitely go back for brunch again!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A great birthday dinner

Dined on March 25, 2016

I was looking for a good restaurant that really embodied the foodie scene in Durham for my birthday. I don't eat out at nice places very often, so I wanted to make this count. Our waiter was very nice, helpful, and knowledgeable about the menu when we had questions. The rabbit confit was excellent and very memorable. I had the chicken entrée while my boyfriend had the steak. Both were out of this world good and used unique, local, and sustainable ingredients. Our cocktails were yummy too. Will definitely visit again!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

Wonderful experience

vip
Dined on March 21, 2016

The food was delicious and the service was superb. I'm grateful to the staff for assuring that we were able to finish dinner in time to see the concert scheduled for Carolina Theater. The only negative was that the ribeye steak ordered by one in our party was ordered "medium rare" but was served "medium to medium well". The food prices were a little high for the portion size and the wine offerings tended to be a little pricey as well. But overall it was a wonderful experience and we would go there again if we attend an event at the Carolina Theater.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4

Wonderful produce, delicious brunch item ...

Dined on March 20, 2016

Wonderful produce, delicious brunch items. We also had some amazing alcoholic beverages. Not incredibly expensive.

food1
ambience4
service4
value2

Very Disappointed

Dined on March 20, 2016

Went with friends recently for brunch. I ordered the ham, mushroom and cheese omelet with "house made tater tots" and it was very disappointing. The tater tots were over cooked and almost burnt and the omelet was small with two pieces of mushroom and two bites of ham and almost no cheese. The entire meal sat is a pool of grease. After reading their website and looking over their menu this was not at all what I expected!

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and service. The wine lis ...

Dined on March 20, 2016

Excellent food and service. The wine list is outstanding. We asked for assistance with making our selection and received well informed input from the wine manager.

food4
ambience2
service3
value2

Good first visit...

Dined on March 15, 2016

First time here was all-in-all a good experience. Not a real warm and cozy dining room but more of an efficient feel. Food was very good and beautifully presented. I guess my only disappointment was that $80 for my wife and me seemed pretty high despite the quality of the food. This was one beer, one fried oyster appetizer, one pork chop entree, and we split a bottle of wine with another couple. I realize good food is not inexpensive to buy, prep, and serve so perhaps I need to stay home and do it my way for less, or recognize that good/great food costs more and not whine about paying for it. I will eventually try this place again - perhaps for lunch as a comparison. Don't let my rantings about price obscure my praise for the food, though, it was very good.

Tags: fit for foodies
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Vegetarian friendly (kinda)

Dined on March 15, 2016

I am mostly vegan and my wife still eats seafood. She had a great meal, but my plate of various preparations of cauliflower for 20.00 was disappointing on two fronts. First, there was no alternative protein of any kind, and second, because of the first issue, the serving of vegetables was more in line with a small plate than an entree priced at 20.00.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful food - Server was especially w ...

Dined on March 13, 2016

Wonderful food - Server was especially wonderful giving my friend and I lots of time to visit for a great Sunday brunch. The french toast was incredibly different from any other french toast I have had, however the texture and flavor were amazing.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Good first visit

Dined on March 12, 2016

Went with friends and we had a delightful time trying the imaginative starters and enjoying the scrumptious main courses. Wine was also good. Dessert menu was not so inspiring so we went elsewhere in the neighborhood for that.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Every person in party of 5 was singularl ...

vip
Dined on March 11, 2016

Every person in party of 5 was singularly impressed with their meal and the knowledgeable and attentive service. The wait staff was unfazed by one person's need for both gluten-free and dairy-free. The presentation was appealing and I am so happy to have re-discovered Piedmont.

food5
ambience3
service4
value3

A real gourmet treat

Dined on March 10, 2016

The presentation of the food is overly artistic. A pile of salad sat off center in a bowl that was three times as large as it needed to be, but tasted great. Some may object to only getting four scallops in their main dish but they were perfectly seared and accompanied by brussell sprouts and an interesting grain to mke for a filling dish.

food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Uneven

Dined on March 9, 2016

We love Piedmont, but regret that its sometimes excellence is uneven. A few weeks ago three of us dined there and the two who ordered fish (two different dishes) agreed that they had never eaten fish so perfectly cooked and flavored. (I consider fish, along with salad, to be a barometer a fine restaurant - both are very hard to do perfectly). Everything else we ordered was "merely" terrific. On the other hand, a few nights ago I once again ordered fish and while fine it was a little overdone - just what one expects from an ok restaurant. Piedmont, you have genius, but you need consistency. Service is always careful and delightful.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Really wonderful food

Dined on March 8, 2016

I would highly recommend the Piedmont. Our meal was filling and delicious! The portions were large and decadent. Their pork fritters were amazing! Will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent Meal

Dined on March 6, 2016

Creative menu. Outstanding chef. The service was very attentive and helpful. Will go back...many times

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Had a nice brunch selection, everyone en ...

Dined on February 28, 2016

Had a nice brunch selection, everyone enjoyed their entree. The service was very good drinks were refreshed frequently. It was a very pleasant experience.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Right up there with Chef and the Farmer

Dined on February 27, 2016

Each dish was an innovative, tasty twist on locally produced food. The meal was absolutely delicious. A hidden gem in my Durham backyard.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great anniversary meal at Piedmont

Dined on February 18, 2016

My mate and I dined for our anniversary before attending at DPAC show. One of the features of the night, Triggerfish, was prepared very well, cooked just the right amount with right amount of garnishments that added while not overwhelming the fish flavor, which many places have difficulty pulling off. The wait staff was sensitive to our schedule to make it to the show on time, and all in all was a superb dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Absolutely fabulous! Great food, origina ...

vip
Dined on February 18, 2016

Absolutely fabulous! Great food, original preparations and combinations, well presented.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Lovely, delicious experience!

Dined on February 15, 2016

My husband and I went to Piedmont for Valentine's Day and had a wonderful meal. There were plenty of choices, the food was beautifully presented (in pottery or wooden bowls), and it was all scrumptious. We ate upstairs which turned out to be even more intimate and quieter than the main area downstairs. Our server was polite, responsive, but not intrusive. All in all, this was a great dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5

The short ribs are always the best optio ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

The short ribs are always the best option. The chicken entree is good but comes in a small portion. Overall good drink selection and service.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place!

Dined on February 14, 2016

Piedmont is my favorite restaurant in Durham. Everything I've had there is delicious--even when I order something I usually don't love just to branch out, they find a way to prepare it perfectly. Service is great--it's the kind of place where they won't look down their noses at you if you don't know what all the fancy words on the menu mean. Definitely recommend!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

One and done

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

We went to Piedmont for Valentines Day this year to try something new. We ordered the charcuterie platter ($16) - what a ripoff! The platter consists of 2 slices of pickled carrot, 3 pickled beet tops, one beef rillete, 2 slices of head cheese, 2 cubes of cornbread and 4 tiny pieces of cheese. We ordered the vegetarian entree (cauliflower steaks with a cauliflower couscous and cumin fritters). The first time they brought it out, the stems were still very tough; we told the server, who took them back to the kitchen. She brought new plates back out, and these were better. The bill came to $70 , which I thought was high, considering we drank water, didn't have dessert and had a vegetarian entree. I don't think there was sufficient value for price paid or a sufficiently interesting menu to warrant a return trip for us.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Rock steady restaurant

Dined on February 14, 2016

Have never been disappointed here. Very warm friendly, unobtrusive staff

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, lackluster dessert

Dined on February 13, 2016

Great appetizers and entrees. Desserts leave something to be desired - I wish we had gone somewhere else for that part.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.