About Pickwick & Frolic

2035 E. 4th Street
Cleveland, OH 44115
View Larger Map

Opened September 6, 2002, Pickwick & Frolic Restaurant and Club, “Home to Hilarities 4th Street Theatre” is Cleveland’s most unique dining and entertainment venue featuring;

A 185 seat Restaurant offering American rustic cuisine made from scratch; a 125 seat Frolic Cabaret hosting dinner and show packages, and a variety of live performances; Kevin’s Martini Bar and Taproom, an intimate Lounge featuring the latest and most innovative martinis in town, plus an all new Champagne Bar; and the 400 seat Hilarities 4th Street Theatre presenting the best in live, national, stand-up comedy from across the country!As with all aspects of this exciting complex, no expense was spared to ensure the highest level of guest comfort. Everything from its unique décor, custom made seating, and select lighting, to the air circulation, have been developed with guest comfort in mind. Pickwick & Frolic is a unique experience that you will not find anywhere in Cleveland, and perhaps, in the country

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: 7 Days, 4:00pm - Close

Cross Street:
Between Prospect and Euclid Avenues

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(216) 241-7425

Website:
http://www.pickwickandfrolic.com/

Entertainment:
Pickwick & Frolic is all about fun, and nothing says fun like the assortment of entertainment options offered at Pickwick.

Catering:
Food and drink go hand in hand with good times to build wonderful memories! Think about any special occasion or holiday and there is certain to have been good food involved somehow!

Parking Details:
MVP Valet at E.4th and Prospect $8.00 515 Garage at Euclid & E.6th $5 with any purchase** 5:30 pm – 2:30 am Mon.-Fri. All Day Sat. and Sun. **Excluding special events as dictated by the standard parking garage at the 515 parking facility. Special events can and will include: Cavs games, concerts, St. Patrick’s Day, etc. On these days, parking will be $8. The guest MUST INFORM THE ATTENDANT THEY ARE GOING TO PICKWICK UPON ARRIVAL or the discount cannot be applied.

Public Transit:
The Regional Transit Authority Routes and Schedules, http://www.riderta.com/

Executive Chef:
Michael Thompson

Private Party Facilities:
Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate outing, Pickwick & Frolic can accommodate all your special event needs.

Private Party Contact:
Courtney Fidler: 8448526328

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Pickwick & Frolic
  • Pickwick & Frolic
  • Pickwick & Frolic
  • Pickwick & Frolic
Pickwick & Frolic
Pickwick & Frolic
Pickwick & Frolic
Pickwick & Frolic

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Pickwick & Frolic Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Hot Spot
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Hot Spot
Cleveland
Best Restaurants in Downtown Cleveland / E. 4th Street ›

Good for Groups (33)
Special Occasion (32)
Great for Outdoor Dining (27)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (27)
Hot Spot (24)
Vibrant Bar Scene (18)
Late-night Find (17)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Romantic (13)
Scenic View (11)
Great for Lunch (10)
Kid-friendly (8)
Great for Brunch (7)
Good for a Date (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Casual (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
People Watching (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Fun (5)
Cozy (4)
Wood Oven (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Business Meals (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Authentic (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Healthy (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Live Sports (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Great Beer (1)
Private Room (1)
Vegan (1)
Live Music (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
Newest
230 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was horrible

vip
 (New England)
·Dined 3 days ago

Food was horrible

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

We had a wonderful dinner, with excellen ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined 4 days ago

We had a wonderful dinner, with excellent food, ambiance and service. We look forward to returning for dinner and seeing a show. I would highly recommend!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Wood Oven, Private Room, Vegan, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Live Music, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Fun, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Gluten Free Options, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I celebrated our 6th anni ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

My husband and I celebrated our 6th anniversary at Pickwick and Frolic this past weekend. We were seated right away, had excellent service and enjoyed our meal. The atmosphere is really quite nice in this restaurant and we will return. Our kind waiter treated us to a complimentary slice of cheesecake to celebrate our special date. It's the little things!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The 2 of us always get the prime rib whe ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

The 2 of us always get the prime rib when we eat there which is always good. This time a couple people joined us, 3 of us ordered something different and none of us liked it but the 4th still got the prime rib and it was good. It won't stop us from going again since we still like the atmosphere and like to stop for drinks, plus we live close

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

One of our favorite places to go. Always ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

One of our favorite places to go. Always have great food, service and love the decor

Tags: Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Not worth any money! Stay away if you li ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Not worth any money! Stay away if you like flavor or have taste buds...

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

Was my first time on 4th Street. We ate ...

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Was my first time on 4th Street. We ate early. No crowd. Waiter was a nice kid but not knowledgeable about the menu.

Companion's crab cakes were very good. My cornmeal crusted walleye was greasy and tasted overly fishy and underdone. Overall, they seemed more interested in being a comedy theater than a restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Had never dined at pick wick and frolic ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Had never dined at pick wick and frolic before though I had been to hilarities many times. The service was very prompt and the food was excellent. Will definitely go back again.

Tags: Casual, Hot Spot, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always eat here when we are coming do ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

We always eat here when we are coming down for comedy. Pickwick easily competes with all the fancy places on E4th. Even Michael Symon can't make a better scallop. Amazing rotisserie, gourmet pizza. Nice chops. You should go!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We sat outside and watched the people wa ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

We sat outside and watched the people walking by. Happy hour drinks were great and the service was great. The worst part of the night - having to pick from so many great choices of dinner!

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We have been going to Pickwick since its ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

We have been going to Pickwick since its inception. At this point, it always feel like home. Have enjoyed many meals in the relaxing restaurant with good servers, brunch, good times in the 60's-style bar, laugh at MANY comedy shows and fun at other shows such as burlesque, mysteries, Sinatra late shows, etc. The owner is one of the nicest people we have ever met, and we are so glad he got the whole 4th Street thing going.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Late-night Find, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

would definitely recommend this restaura ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

would definitely recommend this restaurant ..the food was great ,the service was great and quick..the Waiter we had was very attentive and quick we would definitely come back again..

Tags: Casual, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The ambiance was exceptional! Our waiter ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

The ambiance was exceptional! Our waiter was very on top of things and the manager took the time to give us a tour of the facility.....thoroughly enjoyed ourselves!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great view to people watch on outdoor pa ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Great view to people watch on outdoor patio. Awesome food, drinks and service everytime. Love this place!!!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We were in Cleveland for a short trip, w ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

We were in Cleveland for a short trip, we picked the restaurant based on the review in the Cleveland Magazine in the hotel. The food was excellent, but the service was not good. Our waiter did not ask if we wanted another drink, he did not inquire if the the food good, and it took 15 minutes to get another glass of water from a different server and we had to ask twice for our bill.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

The restaurant was quite full due to loc ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

The restaurant was quite full due to local events. We sat for about 10 min without any service. The waiter arrived and took our drink orders. These were not delivered for about 10 min. We are now 20 min into the evening. We told the waiter that we were going to the Paul McCartney concert. He finally came to take our dinner order 10 min later. He failed to ask if we needed bread, drinks, or anything else. The bread finally arrived and the meal came about 15 min later. My take on the evening is that the waiter did not really care about taking care of us. He did not offer meal suggestions, drink specials, or anything that could enhance the experience. Wish this could have been better for our party of 6.

Tags: Good for Groups, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Went here for dinner before Paul Mc Cart ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Went here for dinner before Paul Mc Cartney concert. It's terrific that you can book a reservation from 4:00 PM on. The food is terrific, and the staff is friendly, courteous, and helpful. We will be going back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server Jonathan was great. Ask him t ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Our server Jonathan was great. Ask him to make you a craft cocktail!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Dinner was ok. My first serving of the W ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Dinner was ok. My first serving of the Walleye was not cooked, sent it back and second one was good. Was offered free drinks but couldn't stay as we had a show to go to at House of Blues. Felt they should have adjusted our bill instead and they didn't. Have been ther before and was good. Maybe just a off night

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Pickwick and Frolic is our favorite Clev ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Pickwick and Frolic is our favorite Cleveland. Any time we are in we make plans to go there. The food is always top notch, and the service is the best around.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I enjoy coming to Pickwick and Frolic. W ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

I enjoy coming to Pickwick and Frolic. We met up here before an Indians game. We all ate all of our food, and that is difficult with young adults. There was a total of 8 of us, and we all were able to pick our favorites. Love the portions and the taste is great!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not very good I'm sad to say. The waiter ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Not very good I'm sad to say. The waiter had a glass shatter and sprayed water all over the table and myself. After this he was not very attentive to the table needs. When he came towards the end of my meal, I told him I wanted the rest of my food to GO and he apparently wasn't listening because he immediately piled plates from other tables on top of my food and went and dispersed of the rest of my food. I then brought this to his attention when he came back to the table and his response was "oooookay".....and he then walked off. He later came back and attempted to offer me a desert in stead. After informing him I did not want that he came back with the check and stated he took $5 off of the meal......This was accepted.......but considering the water exploding on me then him throwing half my meal away. ....I figured comping my meal should've been the least you could have done.....That's what most places would have done after that kind of experience. . Df

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Never given a bad review for anywhere be ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Never given a bad review for anywhere before but felt this was necessary. Made reservations for four and bought tix for the comedy show after. Celebrating our wedding anniversary with family. Service was horrible, never received our salads ordered and watched nearby tables get bread and drinks from our server before we did. The main course was delivered before the bread and again never received the salads. The prime rib was like from a ponderosa steakhouse, except without the flavor. The other plates were not anything to write home about. We were all finished eating before the server even offered to bring drink refills. We literally had four empty glasses sitting on the table when asked if we were finished and needed anything else. She was more interested in hanging around the server station in the middle of the restaurant than serving us. Even when I told her to take the salad off the bill and she offered to comp my one drink, the bill was still like $130 not counting the tickets. Sorry, but there are so many better choices in Cleveland for comparable cost and way way better service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

I'd been here before,but this was my fri ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

I'd been here before,but this was my friend from NYC first time. Loved it.Eating outside reminded him of "the village". Food was delicious. Really enjoyed Sinbad. An evening well spent.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We met my husband's cousin at Pickwick b ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

We met my husband's cousin at Pickwick because she was visiting with her family from Ann Arbor, MI. and staying in downtown CLE. We hadn't seen them in years and never met their 3 kids. Had to pick a restaurant that had a somewhat kid-friendly menu and that had great food for adults too. Pickwick fit the bill and was a great selection. Hope to get back for another great dining experience.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time to dine here . Was pleasantl ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

First time to dine here . Was pleasantly surprised at food choices , wine list was nice and "house wine was excellent for price .

Waiter friendly and attentive. Manager very hospitable ... gave mini tour of building and history . Nice venue . Will definitely be back.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

My husband and I were attending a show a ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

My husband and I were attending a show at Hilarities' and elected to have dinner prior to the show. Jersey was our server and he was very attentive and professional. We had been here for dining several times in the past, and kind of forgot how good it was. Our dinner plans will include dinner here again. I had the spaghetti squash (although not a vegan) and it was outstanding. My husband said the chocolate mousse was the best he's ever had.

Thanks for a great night out!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great view of the action on E 4th. Excel ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Great view of the action on E 4th. Excellent food. Great waiter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was average at best. We waited ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The food was average at best. We waited an hour and 20 minutes for wood fired pizza's that were soggy and gross when we got them. We have been here several times due to going to Hilarities, but will find somewhere to eat before the show from now on.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

We purchased tickets to see the headline ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We purchased tickets to see the headliner at Hilarities Comedy Club & enjoyed the restaurant at the same location. The venue on the street was entertaining and convenient access to the comedy club. The Salmon was very good. And I recommend the beet salad. Both were light fair and tasted very good. After we had appetizers, drinks, salads & entree. We both ate for under a hundred dollars.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Plenty to see and do all in one building ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Plenty to see and do all in one building. The food has always been excellent. Several sections with different ambiance. . Wish it was open weekend days during summer. We hang out on that block every weekend and have lunch somewhere else while wishing we could eat at Pic Wick instead but not open early enough

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We went to see Frank Caliendo on Sunday ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We went to see Frank Caliendo on Sunday evening, and he was fantastic. With that being said, the dinner was O.K., good, but not spectacular as I had hoped. My scallops were somewhat bland and the risotto was on the gummy side. The spinach resting atop the risotto was wilted with no flavor. My husband's walleye dish was good, but he stated the cornmeal topping was a bit dry. Overall, the meal was so-so, but the entertainment was superb.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

The food quality is improved and it's gr ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The food quality is improved and it's great fun to dine outside on east 4th Street - especially on the weekend and before/ after an Indians game!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We loved the concept - and it turned out ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We loved the concept - and it turned out that the space, food, and service were an excellent choice - though they offer outdoor dining, we sat inside with huge Windows looking at the busy restaurant-row pedestrian street outside.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Went here before an Indians game. The re ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Went here before an Indians game. The restaurant is really nice. Everything that our group ordered was delivered as promised. However, there was a slip up with the bread/rolls. They were delivered just as we were about to finish our meal. I also requested anchovies for the Caesar salad, that did not happen. Overall it was a nice meal, just needs a bit of fine tuning.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Had scallops with risotto. Very good.

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Had scallops with risotto. Very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great night. We went there for a combin ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Great night.

We went there for a combination of my daughter's birthday and to be downtown for the Cavs Final Game 7. Considering the absolute chaos downtown that night, I must say that the staff, waiters, everyone, was on their A game. We needed our food fairly quick, squeezed in a birthday cake, and were able to hang out at the bar afterwards. It went great. Everyone was taking it in stride and the staff was calm and well organized.

We will go back again and hopefully when we can enjoy and appreciate it more next time.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We were there for game 7 of the NBA fina ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We were there for game 7 of the NBA finals. Family in town from NYC commented on the excellent food. And Chris, our server, was attentive, responsive, and very personable. I love the Art-Deco

themed interior.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One pizza is large enough for two people ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

One pizza is large enough for two people! Staff was very friendly. Would go back for sure

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Awesome meal and service!

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Awesome meal and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.