About Piatto Ristorante (Galleria)

4925 West Alabama
Houston, TX 77056
View Larger Map

Piatto Ristorante is owned and operated by John Marion Carrabba of the famed Carrabba family, who created the menu from recipes passed down through four generations. The home-style Italian food found at Piatto Ristorante pleases the palate, as well as touches the heart. John personally oversees all details, making sure that his guests have a fantastic culinary experience. Piatto Ristorante offers full-service catering, private banquet rooms, box lunches and delivery at both locations, Piatto Galleria and Piatto Royal Oaks.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday: 11:00am - 9:00pm
Tuesday - Thursday: 11:00am - 9:30pm
Friday: 11:00am - 10:00pm
Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Sunday: 5:00pm –8:30pm

Cross Street:
Post Oak Boulevard

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 871-9722

Website:
http://www.piattoristorante.com/

Catering:
We are a full-service caterer that not only provides food, but anything else you may need – from bartenders and servers to valet and decor.

Parking Details:
You are welcome to use our complimentary valet or use the parking garage located behind the restaurant!

Executive Chef:
John M. Carrabba

Private Party Facilities:
Our private dining space can seat up to 32 and is perfect for corporate events, wine tastings, birthday parties, bridal showers or any other special occasion. Please contact us if your event calls for a buyout and we'll be glad to discuss details.

Private Party Contact:
John: 7138719722

Additional:
Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

  • Piatto Ristorante (Galleria)
  • White Bean Soup
  • Linguine With Clams
  • Linguinie Kikarillo
  • lasagna
  • Eggplant Parmesean
  • Salmon Special
Piatto Ristorante (Galleria)
White Bean Soup
Linguine With Clams
Linguinie Kikarillo
lasagna
Eggplant Parmesean
Salmon Special

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Piatto Ristorante (Galleria) Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Lunch
Houston
Italian
Houston
Great for Lunch
Houston
1 More
Italian
Houston
Best Restaurants in Galleria / Uptown ›

Special Occasion (29)
Good for Groups (28)
Great for Lunch (28)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (20)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Romantic (14)
Hot Spot (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Kid-friendly (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Late-night Find (2)
Sort By:
Newest
335 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

It's always nice of the owner to come by ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

It's always nice of the owner to come by and greet customers at the table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Piatta's has been fantastic every time I ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Piatta's has been fantastic every time I have eaten there. It's definitely a top favorite of mine!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant location is very convenie ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

The restaurant location is very convenient for business lunches. The food is always a treat, I have the lasagna and it's my favorite. Service is impeccable, but ask for the olive oil dipping sauce with the bread since they only will bring you whipped garlic butter. It can be a little crowded, sometimes it can be noisy and hard to hear the conversation.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great food for reasonable price. Great ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Great food for reasonable price. Great service. Love the mussels and pasta.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great dinner spot! Unbelievable homemade ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great dinner spot! Unbelievable homemade recipes that will you leave you very satisfied!! I definitely recommend this place for delicious Italian food.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our Lunch ran late but they had no probl ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Our Lunch ran late but they had no problem with us staying late.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Haven't eaten in Piatto for a long time ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Haven't eaten in Piatto for a long time and decided to give it a try. We were meeting friends. They all had veal dishes which everyone liked. I had the stuffed shrimp over orzo and it was very good as well. It was a Sunday night so it was very quiet. Service was good, and the ambiance was perfect for all of us to visit and enjoy each othe's company. We will definitely go back. Their garlic bread, which they serve as part of the meal was yummy.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a good time. The service was grea ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We had a good time. The service was great and we love the food there. Great calimari and asparagus with crab. My husband loves the pork chop. It was quiet that night and all of us could actually have a conversation. That's a real bonus. This is a favorite of ours.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was so good and the service was won ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Food was so good and the service was wondering, will go back again. One of my favorites!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bad food!!!

vip
 (México)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Bad food!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

Great food and service! The stuffed shri ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Great food and service! The stuffed shrimp and angel hair pasta was the best!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Too loud and it wasn't even crowded. I o ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Too loud and it wasn't even crowded. I ordered a veggie pizza but got a sausage & pepperoni pizza. I didn't want our host to know so I just went with it. We also thought that we were ripped all by ordering the "house " Cabernet and it was $15 a glass when there were other wines much cheaper. We will not be going back there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value3

The atmosphere was friendly and the serv ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

The atmosphere was friendly and the service was attentive. The food was very good especially the asparagus and crabmeat appetizer. We will make it a regular stop for dinner.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Food and Exceptional Service

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

We had a bachelorette dinner party here, so we were actually the loud ones! The restaurant itself is not very loud, but it is very spacious and open, which I love! The food was absolutely outstanding! They were even very accommodating towards our vegetarian guests. The service was magnificent. They went well out of their way to ensure we were having a good time and that our needs were being met. The staff was so great and very friendly! The owner, Johnny M Carrabba, even came out to make sure everything was going smoothly. All in all, we couldn't have asked for anything better and we will definitely be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Foodie Heaven

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

If you love Italian and want a wonderful dining experience this is the place. Their lightly fried asparagus topped with crab meat and lemon butter is to die for...I get it every time I eat here! You will not be disappointed!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never disappoints

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

This restaurant has been around for years. Can always count on a quality meal with excellent service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

In the past I have had good experiences ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

In the past I have had good experiences at Piatto. This was not one of them. The waiter did not ask if I needed anything else with my food, Parmesan cheese, pepper or anything… Also he never came back to fill my glass or ask if I needed anything.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

Crowded Mother's Day

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Besides the tables and chairs all being crammed too close together (my only negative comment), the food, service, and hostess were all outstanding! We visited on Mother's Day 2016 and had the expected crowded restaurant, but we were seated within 10 minutes of our reservation. The place is obviously Italian, but only one of our group of 6 ordered pasta - I ordered grilled pork chops, wife ordered crab cake and salad, Mom ordered a filet. All the food was delicious, especially loved the flavor on the pork chops and spiciness of the crab cake.

There is parking across the street at the galleria parking lot, but we chose to free valet - with couple dollar tip to park and a buck for pick up. A bit hard to locate on navigation in cars or by smart phone, so ask the restaurant for detailed directions.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

great restaurant

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Food was fabulous great single and family restaurant. Service was great & wonderful family owned restaurant! Great location in Galeria area/Houston. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was great but food hit or miss

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We started with the asparagus crab appetizer which was fantastic. Drinks were good (long island and wine). Always fun to have the owners and/or the people that were on the wall in pictures come by. All staff were very friendly. Place is small(which isn't bad in its self) the issues came around when we had to have the neighbor table move over just so we could squeeze by to get one of the seats. Salads were not very good even though I did enjoy it being on a cold plate. My wife had the gnocchi which she did not like and I had the Mezzaluna which was excellent. Our friend had one of the fish and ate it all so I assume it was good. Overall place is good just wish we had more room and 100% of us would have enjoyed our dinner. Probably give it another try in a couple months.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Always dependable

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Piatto is always dependable good; the service and food are great - the owners frequent the tables to make sure everything is fine; I particularly enjoy the grandmother stopping by our table. Service was efficient and timely, our meals were hot and delicious. The restaurant is very comfortable and I consider a hidden gem, being that it is located on the ground floor of a parking garage. Lots of regulars.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I've been eating here for over 13 years ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 4, 2016

I've been eating here for over 13 years and I've never been disappointed. I tend to be creature of habit and order the asparagus appetizer and chicken Marsala. I always ask for Enrique who is the best waiter and can make a great Washington Appletini. I appreciate that the owner makes it a point to drop by the tables to check on you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Consistent

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

We've eaten here a few times and it's awesome; especially love the asparagus appetizer. Our server was very attentive and it was a really nice meal.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Like the little things....

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 25, 2016

Piatto is always a reliable favorite. I really appreciate that John Carrabba came up himself and thanked us. You can tell he is a great restaurant owner! Our server was great also!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Dinner was great.

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Dinner was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Always can depend on a great meal in ple ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

Always can depend on a great meal in pleasant surroundings. Can't go wrong with fried asparagus with crab. We'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Piatto's is the perfect Italian hidden gem

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on March 17, 2016

Piatto's was the perfect Italian hidden gem in Houston for my employee team building dinner. It was close to our office and no one had ever been. This restaurant was fantastic. It offered a great selection of appetizers and entrees. The food was fantastic and so was the service. We had an opportunity to meet the owner and he was equally delightful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The owners are great, but the food, not so great!

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on March 11, 2016

The service was excellent and so was the bread, but everything else was just okay. Out of the five of us, none liked what was ordered. My husband's fish lacked sauce; my shrimp were tasteless paired with very salty bacon; my cousin only took a few bites of her pasta; my son's chicken was just ordinary etc. The restaurant was basically empty and there is good reason. Even when the price is modest for that area, the food has to taste GOOD!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

That Special Evening Out

 
 (Caribbean)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

For a great evening with spouse or a small group of friends, Piatto's is the place. They always find a way to make you feel special and make the evening special. The owner is usually onsite; if not, you may see his mother, who is a real treat to visit with. This is their only location, which means to us that they focus on making it the best dining experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I always get the asparagus appetizer and ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on February 25, 2016

I always get the asparagus appetizer and chicken Marsala. Delicious!!! Great service. Our waiter Enrique can make a great Washington Appletini.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This restaurant is family run and they l ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

This restaurant is family run and they love food John Boehner chatted with us at the table we enjoyed our meal the wine was delightful and the lasagna was better than our previous night's meal my pizza was adequate I would say that this is a good Italian restaurant not a pizza joint

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The P in Piatto's Stands for Perfect!

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on February 19, 2016

I simply love this restaurant. I'm happy from the moment I enter. The staff is fabulous, and the food's simply perfect---it CONSISTENTLY delights me. We are so grateful to have this restaurant to supply our comfort food in such a great location.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and staff! Definitely goi ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Excellent food and staff! Definitely going back again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great place!

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

This place was delicious! The service was incredible and the food was absolutely amazing. They were out of the bottle of wine we asked for and instead they brought us a different wine but charged us for the bottle we asked for. Our waiter was happy to recommend many appetizers and entrees. I would definitely recommend this place for date nights. There are far too many tables for the small restaurant so I wouldn't recommend for a large party. Overall a wonderful experience, and we will definitely be back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Lovely Lunch Spot

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on February 8, 2016

Heard lots of great things about this place and all seem to be true! It was a lovely lunch in a super-convenient location.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Stale dessert

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on January 30, 2016

Dinner was very good but why was my take home dessert (lemon puffs) so stale! It was a inedible and immediately discarded

How could the kitchen, manager or owner let that

sell that!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

Terrific food as always. Just amazing

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on January 27, 2016

Terrific food as always. Just amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious! Great quality and service.

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on January 27, 2016

Delicious! Great quality and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food gone down hill

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on January 25, 2016

The asparagus with lump crab was definitely canned as there was not a lump to be found and was watery. The Piatto chicken breasts were tiny and over cooked. I didn't check with the others as we were meeting my son's girlfriend for the first time as was kind of embarrassed about the food. Oh and only three tables were occupied.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Fantastic food. Great selection of wines.

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on January 24, 2016

Love your restaurant. Great place for a birthday dinner or just dinner with friends. The food is very tasty.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.