Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM

Piatanzi

4.4
301 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Italian
Perfect For:
  • Neighborhood Gem
  • Good for Anniversaries
  • Fit for Foodies
Piatanzi is the creation of husband and wife team, Pete and Maggie Lukes.
We love to travel, and to eat! We have found that our most enjoyable and memorable dining experiences have been where we were able to order many small plates with just a few perfect bites of food, that we could share. Sharing food and experiences together made our connections to one another as a family stronger and more meaningful.
Piattini means "small plates" in Italian. Our fabulous creations are crafted from the finest, freshest ingredients; Organic, farm-raised, and locally sourced. We offer gluten- free options for 90% of our menus.
Food and drink brings people together, which brings community together. We hope that Piattini will become a favorite neighborhood spot in which community can gather and enjoy delicious meals, share some wine and savor good company.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Italian, Contemporary Italian, Wine Bar
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Sunday - Saturday: 11:00 AM- 2:00 PM
Mid-Day Menu: Sunday - Saturday: 2:00 PM- 5:00 PM
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00 PM- 9:00 PM, Friday - Saturday: 4:00 PM- 10:00 PM
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(505) 792-1700
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Peter Lukes
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Hannett
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Private lot and street parking
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Local small bands, acoustic groups and the occasional classical group on weekends.
Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 301 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.5
service
4.5
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Moderate
91% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
3.0Dined on April 8, 2018

The food and wine were good as usual, but our waitress was less than desirable. She spilled wine almost every time she poured it and was not very pleasant to some of my guests.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 2, 2018

Food and ambiance were great. Had read several reviews complaining about service and hate to say they were spot on. Given that only 4 tables were occupied one would expect at minimum good service but not so. Restaurant is one I would recommend but ABQ has other restaurants with similar quality and price range with far superior wait staff. If you have a lot of time give it a go you won't be disappointed by the food!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 2, 2018

We were passing through and found Piatanzi on open table. Loved it and will stop in next time we are in Albuquerque.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 26, 2018

We had a delicious dinner. All the food was excellently prepared, the portions were generous, and the service was friendly and professional. A lovely little place, to which we will certainly return.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 25, 2018

Love this place. EAsy, quiet and small neighborhood feel. Great service...great food.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 17, 2018

Small portions. Just ok food quality. Ok but irregular service. High prices! Slow service especially after appetizer course. We thought we’d try it again but this was the last visit for us

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 3, 2018

The brussel sprouts appetizer was exceptionally good! The lemon berry parfait was wonderful, too. Enjoyed the trout pasta - could have handled more trout and maybe some greens...

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 18, 2018

Food was good, especially the carbonara. Sandwich bread was not flattened as expected. Service was kinda slow even though we got there early.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 15, 2018

We enjoyed a lovely Valentine's dinner there with beautiful guitar music. The food was delicious! The wait staff was attentive and charming. The food portions are very generous and I enjoyed my take-away for lunch the following day. I would recommend it highly for a date night or business occasion.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 14, 2018

the Service was excellent, food did not disappoint, wine list for just a glass is minimal and not a quality selection. That was our only complaint. We would have liked a better Chianti choice. We were there at 6:45 and our choice was already gone.
Will return though because food was very good.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 10, 2018

The server Kate was excellent. Veal parmesan was dry and over breaded. Steak over cooked. Tiramisu was in a sour liquid, horrible.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 27, 2018

Wonderful menu. Great food! Modern, cheerful environment. I highly recommend this restaurant - it is one of my family's favorite!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 19, 2018

Excellent food and service! Love the atmosphere- comfortable and hip. We will be back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 19, 2017

First time here. Great wine list and delicious pasta. Will be back to try the pizza. Wonderful friendly staff with attentive prompt service. Desserts and coffee are also great!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 14, 2017

FOOD WAS GREAT BUT A BIT PRICEY FOR ME, WE SPLIT A MEAL AND THE BILL WAS STILL OVER 60.00

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 14, 2017

It was busy, so the service was a bit disappointing. It's convenient, and the food is good, so I'll probably be back anyway

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 13, 2017

Great food, atmosphere and service (Thanks Celine!). We will be back!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on November 17, 2017

I like Piatanzi, but certain websites state that they take American Express, but they don't seem to honor that unless you twist their arms. Therefore, I am much less likely to use them for business-related events.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 25, 2017

The food and service was really nice here. We had a very nice time. It is a very pleasant neighbor bistro. Will go back next time we're in ABQ.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 23, 2017

Our company had a business dinner for nine on a Monday evening. The ambiance was perfect, noise level moderate to low. The food was great as well as the staff. I would definitely recommend Pitanzi to others!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 13, 2017

Nice place but it should increase its vegetarian options. They never offer a vegetarian option. Wake up!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 10, 2017

Totally awesome. Best food and service in town. We had a great meal and the atmosphere was incredible. The staff was astute and exceptional. I would highly recommend this restaurant and have not been to a better place in Albuquerque. It exceeded my expectations and I will be back as often as I can

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on September 1, 2017

Piantanzi is good, but I like my Italian cuisine less complicated and more down-home. The menu here lists Italian standards, but what is set before you is a modern, more haute-cuisine version than your nona's recipe. It's not that it's bad, it's just way too complicated. For those that prefer extravagance in their Italian flavoring--I would recommend this place highly. They do not scrimp on portion or flavor. For what it is, it's just very well done. It's just that for me, it's too "accomplished."

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on August 31, 2017

Seated at a very small table when the place was empty even though I had reservations. It was freezing cold inside and waiter couldn't address it. Waiter rarely checked back with us. Had to ask for bread. Salmon was overcooked. However, the Brussel sprouts appetizer was excellent! Beautiful place. Usually a better experience. Usually pretty good food but a bit overpriced. I go because people I'm taking want to go and now that it's gotten quite popular I doubt any of its issues will ever be addressed.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 27, 2017

Great Italian food in a cute casual atmosphere. Excellent service and the food was terrific! I had crab risotto and my friends got the special and a pizza with homemade meatballs. Everything was delicious down to the bread served. Not far from downtown a quick uber ride.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 26, 2017

Service was just a 'little' slow and some of the plates seemed overpriced but food was good. Manager/chef did check on us a few times so appreciated that.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 24, 2017

Always enjoy Piantanzi, food is always good. This evening felt just a little "off" but perhaps that is indicative of the summer dining season. Service was fair, not as efficient as typical but OK. The kitchen was great in splitting two different salads for the two of us. Coffee took forever!
But I still enjoy this place.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 23, 2017

A fantastic neighborhood Italian restaurant. Food is consistently outstanding.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 17, 2017

One of best value, quality restaurants in ABQ. Fresh and flavorful.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 31, 2017

Great value, quality, food and service. Took clients from out of country; all enjoyed the meal, each ordered something different. Appetizers were great.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 25, 2017

My wife and I enjoy the restaurant and dine there frequently. We also enjoy special occasion celebrations with friends and family. Food is great! Staff is great!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 20, 2017

I've eaten several times at Piatanzi and the food has always been amazing until last Saturday. I ordered the Moluschi on a bed of fettuccine. The flavor was quite good but the fettuccine was cut up into small pieces and way too done. If I owned a restaurant, I would have never had let that plate out of my kitchen. Pasta is quite cheap to not serve it properly. When I pointed it out to the server, she said she would give the feedback to the kitchen.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 19, 2017

Great food and excellent service! Can't wait to return.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 13, 2017

We dined the day before Mothers' Day and the restaurant was very full with a number of large parties. This probably contributed to a very high noise level. The food was fine but not outstanding and the service adequate.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 16, 2017

We visited Piatanzi again for Easter lunch after morning church service. We have never been disappointed with the food or service. It was a great spot for our small group of friends as a celebration meal. I really enjoyed my Pasta Primavera, and the salads are always so good! Thank you.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 3, 2017

This is a fabulous place that we are both lucky to have in the neighborhood and for all of Albuquerque. It is welcoming and warm. You can drop in for a quick beer and appetizer or stay for hours enjoying a fine wine and one of the many excellent dishes. It is a treat. The price is a little steep, but what you get for it is worth every penny.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 21, 2017

Amazing pasta, but, unfortunately subpar service.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 11, 2017

Our waiter was either brand new or competely untrained, maybe both. Luckily food was great.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 3, 2017

Cozy, but not in a good way. You end up sitting on top of your neighbors, and you can hear every conversation around you. Service was C average, food was as well. Priced like Paisano's, closer to Olive Garden in quality. The smoked tomato coulis tasted less like smoke, and more like soot, the crab on the salmon was more mush than crust, my girlfriend's iced tea was filled once, and my chicken was dry and over cooked.
I don't think I will be going back

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2017

Great meal here with my Valentine's Day date whose food allergies were accommodated without a fuss. I recommend Piatanzi for excellent food and great service.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
8