About Piatanzi

1403 Girard NE
Albuquerque, NM 87106
View Larger Map

Piatanzi is the creation of husband and wife team, Pete and Maggie Lukes.
We love to travel, and to eat! We have found that our most enjoyable and memorable dining experiences have been where we were able to order many small plates with just a few perfect bites of food, that we could share. Sharing food and experiences together made our connections to one another as a family stronger and more meaningful.
Piattini means "small plates" in Italian. Our fabulous creations are crafted from the finest, freshest ingredients; Organic, farm-raised, and locally sourced. We offer gluten- free options for 90% of our menus.
Food and drink brings people together, which brings community together. We hope that Piattini will become a favorite neighborhood spot in which community can gather and enjoy delicious meals, share some wine and savor good company.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Contemporary Italian, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Sunday - Saturday: 11:00 AM- 2:00 PM
Mid-Day Menu: Sunday - Saturday: 2:00 PM- 5:00 PM
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00 PM- 9:00 PM, Friday - Saturday: 4:00 PM- 10:00 PM

Cross Street:
Hannett

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 792-1700

Website:
http://piatanzi.com/

Entertainment:
Local small bands, acoustic groups and the occasional classical group on weekends.

Parking Details:
Private lot and street parking

Executive Chef:
Peter Lukes

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Piatanzi
  • Piatanzi
  • Piatanzi
  • Piatanzi
  • Piatanzi
  • Piatanzi
Piatanzi
Piatanzi
Piatanzi
Piatanzi
Piatanzi
Piatanzi

Piatanzi Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Quiet

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
New Mexico
Best Food
New Mexico
Best Service
New Mexico
10 More
Best Value
New Mexico
Neighborhood Gem
New Mexico
Italian
New Mexico
Best Overall
Albuquerque
Best Food
Albuquerque
Best Service
Albuquerque
Best Ambiance
Albuquerque
Best Value
Albuquerque
Fit for Foodies
Albuquerque
Neighborhood Gem
Albuquerque
Best Restaurants in Albuquerque ›

Neighborhood Gem (11)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Special Occasion (6)
See All
Great for Lunch (4)
Notable Wine List (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Casual (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Romantic (1)
Sort By:
Newest
238 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent ambiance, décor, food, and par ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Excellent ambiance, décor, food, and particularly service. (Kendall was fabulous!) Highly and honestly recommend. A+++

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Disappointing. Uninspired. Food not hot ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Disappointing. Uninspired. Food not hot enough, and not served when ready on a relatively slow night. Could have been so much better.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

The pasta dish we ordered was very good. ...

vip
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The pasta dish we ordered was very good. The seafood special and antipasto appetizer were just ok. Service and atmosphere were lovely.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

The service was great and everyone enjoy ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

The service was great and everyone enjoyed what was ordered from pizza to salads to the pasta and let's not forget the dessert! mmmm. Flourless chocolate cake and a lemon and blueberry custard.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best house salad I've ever had, fried br ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Best house salad I've ever had, fried brussel sprouts were amazing (didn't think I'd ever say that about brussel sprouts...). The service was attentive and pleasant, the main dishes were good. Pastas were generously sized, the other plates were a little on the small side. We will be returning soon. The only not awesome experience was dessert; the three items we ordered tasted fine, but for the price we were expecting much much more generous helpings.

Go to Piatanzi's, but don't stay for dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I love this restaurant. Dinner was delic ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

I love this restaurant. Dinner was delicious and the service was wonderful. This restaurant is so consistently great that we always want to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have eaten here several times and are ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We have eaten here several times and are always super pleased! The food is delicious, wait staff knowledgeable and friendly - great neighborhood feeling.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice variety of menu items that satisfie ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Nice variety of menu items that satisfies either small or large appetites

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice variety of fresh salads, small plat ...

vip
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Nice variety of fresh salads, small plates, large plates, and pizza. Good wine list, especially wines by the glass. Reasonable prices

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Outstanding Service

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Best service. Our waiter was phenomenal. Food was excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing flounder. What a surprise!

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

I tried the evening fish special which was an amazing pan fried flounder with a slightly spicy fresh tomato topping. With potatoes au gratin and asparagus...perfection. My husband had the Bolognese which is always great!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

All-Around Good

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

I really like the menu -- wide range for different appetites and different budgets. Outstanding small plates -- grilled brussels sprouts are my favorite. Pastas really good. Pizzas are perfect size for 2 to share. Excellent cheesecake. Ambiance feels upscale and urban, but not too precious. The wine list is great. I've visited Piatanzi 3 times in the past couple of months, and have been completely satisfied every single time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Food is always good, the ambiance lovely ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

Food is always good, the ambiance lovely. Some servers are just better and more experienced than others.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Food was outstanding and finally Super T ...

vip
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on March 23, 2016

Food was outstanding and finally Super Tuscan wine on the menu!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The Best Service!

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on March 15, 2016

Maggie and her team are AMAZING! Thank you to both Aarons for EXCELLENT service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The decor is a bit plain and we don't li ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 14, 2016

The decor is a bit plain and we don't like the long bench seats so we get a table. Probably the best Italian food in Albuquerque. Wish they took American Express. Would go more often if they did. A poor business decision to alienate customers for a few pennies

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Hidden Gem

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

I love this little restaurant. The food is beautifully prepared and presented, the menu is varied but not overwhelming, and

the prices are very reasonable.

The atmosphere is cozy without being stiff or stuffy. They have a nice bar with very tasty small plates, several beers on tap, and an extensive wine list for a small restaurant.

It's the perfect place for dinner before going to a show at Popejoy, or the Symphony.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Neighbor Bistro

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

My wife and I have dined at Piatanzi half-a-dozen times (we live around the corner from it), and we have taken our children a few times as well. We all like the place just fine. Each time we agree that the food is okay, nothing special, but that it's a nice place to share a good bottle of wine and have a conversation. (It's all concrete and metal, and the level of noise varies--don't sit on the kitchen side if you are two people--the bar is the quietest place to sit, or in the front window.) We love that kids are welcome, and aside from our first visit, the service has been friendly and competent (not warm or personal, but Albuquerque's "warm and personal" venues are all closing favor of the new, industrial-style dining). The main thing to consider is value: I paid (for example), $19 this past Saturday for a bit of overcooked chicken--dry as a bone--a half-cup of polenta and a few asparagus spears that had been boiled to within an inch of their lives. I could detect no spices in the dish apart from some salt and pepper. It was fine, edible, but nothing I couldn't do better myself at home (I love to cook). The pizzas are just okay--they don't compare to Il Vicino's or to Da Vinci's which is right around the corner. But the wine list, though light on Cabernets and tilted toward bottles at $40 plus, is a real treat. I don't want to scare anyone off--it's a nice place, but two of us spent $120 with wine, coffee, and no dessert; that's a lot of dough for food that has been consistently good but never anything special. I wish the folks well who own it, and hope that they will work on the menu, maybe offering fewer entrees and doing them with slightly more care.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

lasagne

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

The caprese salad was very good but the eggplabt and zucchini lasagna was not good. There were no layers and it resembled a scoop of unidentified casserole. It was Valentines and this was dissapointing. Service was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

Just... disappointing

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

A glass of good, but ordinary, wine cost us $4.50 per half -glass and $10.00 for a full glass. When the glasses arrived, it was laughable that the full glass--which was less than half full, if that, was actually $10.00. And the half glass was half of that!

My partner's scampi he said he enjoyed, but my tiger shrimp were, in my opinion, over-cooked and "chewy." The puttanesca sauce was new to me and odd tasting, but "grew" on me. I asked how it was served and the wait person said, "just as described--but you can have it with pasta if you like." I said alright, but the wait person did not say "and it will be $6.00 extra." So a $16 dish became $22.

Overall, the prices were high for food that was only "all right" and the ambiance was very ordinary, not much better than a cafe like The Grove. At times I did detect a faint unpleasant smell coming from behind me, as from a messy drain or something. And that $10 "full glass" of ordinary wine still makes me grunt.

I hope they get better and do well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value1

Nice place, not quite top tier.

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

This is a nice casual dining spot with good food (usually). The menu is interesting and I enjoy the quieter ambiance of this place. It's cozy at night but I find the decor rather clinical looking by daylight. The pizza I ordered was very good (Mushroom) and the crust was very light, which is how I like it. On my first trip to the restaurant (for lunch) I ordered the minestrone soup which was very salty and overloaded with noodles. Vegetables were hard to find and for nine dollars it was most definitely not worth it.

The serving staff is excellent and Stephen took very good care of our party.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Great service and even better food.

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Great service and even better food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Amazing

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 12, 2016

Sharing the small plates with a bunch of friends is so much fun and each small plate has such great taste

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Excellent food and staff!

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on February 10, 2016

We had a terrific time! Loved everything about it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always Excellent!!!

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

I've eaten at Piatanzi three times and each visit has been a stellar dining experience. Each of the entrees I ordered was superb and although I was not thinking of pizza, I took the waiter's suggestion and it was simply the best pizza I have ever had. The wine list is extensive and quite exceptional. My fellow diners expressed similar experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dinner! Will be back!

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on January 30, 2016

Great food, great service! This place never disappoints and the food is always freshly prepared with a great twist on the menu and I love eating there.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Piatanzi - always a great meal!

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on January 27, 2016

My friend who is vegetarian and I had a wonderful dinner -- great service, not hovering but very responsive. Wonderful menu, lots of tempting choices

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the GF pizza

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on January 24, 2016

Because I must adher to a totally GF diet, I rely on Piatanzi for delicious GF pizza.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful restaurant!

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on January 18, 2016

Went to Piatanzi last night for the first time. What a find! The ambience is modern and comfortable, the service was impeccable, and the food was just wonderful. The menu is big enough and varied enough to please everyone, and our server split the dishes for those of us who shared. I will definitely be back and recommend this little gem in Albuquerque.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food and excellent service!

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on January 16, 2016

Delicious food and excellent service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Consistently excellent food

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 13, 2016

Having now enjoyed a number of lunches and dinners at this restaurant, I feel very comfortable in saying that it is one of the most pleasant places at which to dine in the whole city of Albuquerque. There is a good selection of plates both large and small; the service is not only attentive; the servers also actually make you feel that they are glad that you have selected their restaurant. From starters to desserts, each course affords the diner the opportunity to eat something delicious and worthy of discussing with his/her fellow diners at the table.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great pasta. Great wine selection. A lit ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

Great pasta. Great wine selection. A little light on vegetarian offerings but we made do.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Not our first ever visit, but the first ...

vip
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on December 19, 2015

Not our first ever visit, but the first in a long time. Not likely to return in the near future. The service was marginal. Our party of 3 all ordered pasta and none of us had enough sauce for all the pasta we were served. Mixed green salad and Caesar salads were just ok. Burrata appetizer was good but overpriced. To top off our marginal service, they don't take American Express claiming that the service few are too high - get with the program. All major credit cards should be accepted in this day and age. We were lucky that we had another credit card.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Nice Neighborhood Restaurant

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on December 19, 2015

We enjoyed our meal and the setting. Service was a little spotty for us and others nearby but not bad enough to keep us from trying again. Nice selection of food and wine to choose from. The price was comparable to other fine dining restaurants in the area. Has a fresh feel that makes you wonder if you are still in Albuquerque.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Piatanzi made our anniversary special

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on December 13, 2015

This was our 4th time at Piatanzi and we have never been disappointed with the food or service. We weren't really hungry but wanted to share a couple of appetizers. The waiter suggested the crab cakes and veggie lasagna which were both excellent and also suggested a wine that complimented it all. We would definitely recommend Piatanzi to anyone and can't wait to try their new pizzeria when it opens on Juan Tabo

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great little find

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on December 12, 2015

The inside looked a bit different than the pictures online. Good food, good wine. They forgot a refill on wine but comped dessert because of it. I'll be going back for sure.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Dinner Dud

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on December 6, 2015

The staff are friendly and efficient, and the ambiance of the restaurant is very nice. Unfortunately our dinner was so so. I ordered calamari, which was over cooked and crunchy. My husband was not impressed with his meal either.

Great wine and beer selection. Piatanzi is a good place to sit at the bar and have a drink.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5

fabulous!

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on November 29, 2015

Love this little place. Great food, diverse menu. Try everything!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Alternative for Italian near UNM

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on November 23, 2015

First time at Piatanzi for dinner, and first time since their name change. The truffle fries were perfection! The brussel sprouts were surprisingly enjoyable to two NON fans. Bread was fresh, and crusty; the gelato creamy. Critically, the pesto-clams could have used a side of pasta. Anchovies on the cesear salad were all but visible. Only wine and beer bar. Amex not accepted. Oops.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Over solicitous service, coupled with a ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on November 7, 2015

Over solicitous service, coupled with a salmon cooked too long means I won't be making the trek to this spot again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.