Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.53mi
  2. Distance: 0.63mi
  3. Distance: 0.82mi
  4. Distance: 0.88mi
  1. Distance: 0.53mi
  2. Distance: 0.63mi
  3. Distance: 0.82mi
  4. Distance: 0.88mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.53mi
  2. Distance: 0.63mi
  3. Distance: 0.82mi
  4. Distance: 0.88mi
  1. Distance: 0.53mi
  2. Distance: 0.63mi
  3. Distance: 0.82mi
  4. Distance: 0.88mi

About Piatanzi

Piatanzi is the creation of husband and wife team, Pete and Maggie Lukes.
We love to travel, and to eat! We have found that our most enjoyable and memorable dining experiences have been where we were able to order many small plates with just a few perfect bites of food, that we could share. Sharing food and experiences together made our connections to one another as a family stronger and more meaningful.
Piattini means "small plates" in Italian. Our fabulous creations are crafted from the finest, freshest ingredients; Organic, farm-raised, and locally sourced. We offer gluten- free options for 90% of our menus.
Food and drink brings people together, which brings community together. We hope that Piattini will become a favorite neighborhood spot in which community can gather and enjoy delicious meals, share some wine and savor good company.

1403 Girard NE
Albuquerque, NM 87106
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Contemporary Italian, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Sunday - Saturday: 11:00 AM- 2:00 PM
Mid-Day Menu: Sunday - Saturday: 2:00 PM- 5:00 PM
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00 PM- 9:00 PM, Friday - Saturday: 4:00 PM- 10:00 PM

Cross Street:
Hannett

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 792-1700

Website:
http://piatanzi.com/

Entertainment:
Local small bands, acoustic groups and the occasional classical group on weekends.

Parking Details:
Private lot and street parking

Executive Chef:
Peter Lukes

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Piatanzi Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

4.1

Noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Good for a Date (6)
See All
Quiet Conversation (6)
Authentic (6)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Business Meals (4)
Cozy (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Special Occasion (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Fun (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Healthy (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Seasonal (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Live Sports (1)
People Watching (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Tapas (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort by
S
281 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 26, 2017

The food and service was really nice here. We had a very nice time. It is a very pleasant neighbor bistro. Will go back next time we're in ABQ.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
·Dined on October 23, 2017

Our company had a business dinner for nine on a Monday evening. The ambiance was perfect, noise level moderate to low. The food was great as well as the staff. I would definitely recommend Pitanzi to others!

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 14, 2017

Nice place but it should increase its vegetarian options. They never offer a vegetarian option. Wake up!

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 11, 2017

Totally awesome. Best food and service in town. We had a great meal and the atmosphere was incredible. The staff was astute and exceptional. I would highly recommend this restaurant and have not been to a better place in Albuquerque. It exceeded my expectations and I will be back as often as I can

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Paleo Friendly, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Quick Bite, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Healthy, Special Occasion, Tapas, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Piantanzi is good, but I like my Italian cuisine less complicated and more down-home. The menu here lists Italian standards, but what is set before you is a modern, more haute-cuisine version than your nona's recipe. It's not that it's bad, it's just way too complicated. For those that prefer extravagance in their Italian flavoring--I would recommend this place highly. They do not scrimp on portion or flavor. For what it is, it's just very well done. It's just that for me, it's too "accomplished."

Tags: Healthy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 31, 2017

Seated at a very small table when the place was empty even though I had reservations. It was freezing cold inside and waiter couldn't address it. Waiter rarely checked back with us. Had to ask for bread. Salmon was overcooked. However, the Brussel sprouts appetizer was excellent! Beautiful place. Usually a better experience. Usually pretty good food but a bit overpriced. I go because people I'm taking want to go and now that it's gotten quite popular I doubt any of its issues will ever be addressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on August 28, 2017

Great Italian food in a cute casual atmosphere. Excellent service and the food was terrific! I had crab risotto and my friends got the special and a pizza with homemade meatballs. Everything was delicious down to the bread served. Not far from downtown a quick uber ride.

Tags: Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Service was just a 'little' slow and some of the plates seemed overpriced but food was good. Manager/chef did check on us a few times so appreciated that.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Always enjoy Piantanzi, food is always good. This evening felt just a little "off" but perhaps that is indicative of the summer dining season. Service was fair, not as efficient as typical but OK. The kitchen was great in splitting two different salads for the two of us. Coffee took forever!
But I still enjoy this place.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Casual
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 23, 2017

A fantastic neighborhood Italian restaurant. Food is consistently outstanding.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 17, 2017

One of best value, quality restaurants in ABQ. Fresh and flavorful.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 31, 2017

Great value, quality, food and service. Took clients from out of country; all enjoyed the meal, each ordered something different. Appetizers were great.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 25, 2017

My wife and I enjoy the restaurant and dine there frequently. We also enjoy special occasion celebrations with friends and family. Food is great! Staff is great!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 20, 2017

I've eaten several times at Piatanzi and the food has always been amazing until last Saturday. I ordered the Moluschi on a bed of fettuccine. The flavor was quite good but the fettuccine was cut up into small pieces and way too done. If I owned a restaurant, I would have never had let that plate out of my kitchen. Pasta is quite cheap to not serve it properly. When I pointed it out to the server, she said she would give the feedback to the kitchen.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Great food and excellent service! Can't wait to return.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We dined the day before Mothers' Day and the restaurant was very full with a number of large parties. This probably contributed to a very high noise level. The food was fine but not outstanding and the service adequate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We visited Piatanzi again for Easter lunch after morning church service. We have never been disappointed with the food or service. It was a great spot for our small group of friends as a celebration meal. I really enjoyed my Pasta Primavera, and the salads are always so good! Thank you.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 3, 2017

This is a fabulous place that we are both lucky to have in the neighborhood and for all of Albuquerque. It is welcoming and warm. You can drop in for a quick beer and appetizer or stay for hours enjoying a fine wine and one of the many excellent dishes. It is a treat. The price is a little steep, but what you get for it is worth every penny.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Paleo Friendly, Local Ingredients, Disabled Access, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Organic, Quick Bite, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Live Sports, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Amazing pasta, but, unfortunately subpar service.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Our waiter was either brand new or competely untrained, maybe both. Luckily food was great.

Tags: Cozy
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Cozy, but not in a good way. You end up sitting on top of your neighbors, and you can hear every conversation around you. Service was C average, food was as well. Priced like Paisano's, closer to Olive Garden in quality. The smoked tomato coulis tasted less like smoke, and more like soot, the crab on the salmon was more mush than crust, my girlfriend's iced tea was filled once, and my chicken was dry and over cooked.
I don't think I will be going back

Tags: People Watching
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great meal here with my Valentine's Day date whose food allergies were accommodated without a fuss. I recommend Piatanzi for excellent food and great service.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Had never been here before. Took my wife for a Valentine's Day dinner. Made reservations here on open table. When we arrived the place seemed very nice. Then we were sat at the smallest table. I don't have very wide shoulders but the table was maybe only 18in wide and wobbled terribly. I had to ask the hostess to fix the wobble. Then it took the waiter a good 20 min to bring us drinks. Water and wine was all. He only had 2 other tables and was not seen very often. He didn't even bring us our food or check in with us on how everything was. To top it off a spider came down from the ceiling and landed on my wife's jacket on her chair. The buzzer had to box our food since the waiter was never around. A table sat next to us and it took over 30 min for him to bring their wine to the table. They declined it and left. Food was not worth the negative experiences we had and have already not recommended it to friends and family. My wife and I don't get to go out often and after this experience here we would have preferred to stay home and cook. Maybe you will have better luck than we did.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 14, 2017

It was a mistake to go on Valentine's Day. We were in and out in 75 minutes. The food came very fast. My wife's fish was slightly over cooked and my shrimp dish was pasta was very oily.

I am sorry for being negative, because our previous dining experiences at this location have been great -- food and service.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 10, 2017

I have eaten at Piatanzi a number of times. The fact that it is a neighborhood restaurant makes it very special. The food is good, it wants to be great but it is always just off being great. The vibe however makes you think it's great, so you keep going back. The staff is always very good and attentive. They know the menu and make great suggestions from food to wine. The restaurant buzzes, but isn't too loud, and it just feels like a good place to be. They have gluten free dough (for $2 extra) and nice menu options. You can't miss with any of the salads.

Tags: Cozy, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (London)·Dined on February 10, 2017

A neighborhood gem with outstanding wine selection, good food and great staff.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 4, 2017

With a gluten-free and a vegan in our party of four, we were a bit worried about food mix-ups or cross contamination, but our waiter was extremely attentive and knowledgeable about all the ingredients -- and absolutely everyone at our table had a fabulous meal and great drinks! In addition, after we ate, we sat around for about two hours catching up, and the wait staff was attentive, but not hover-y. They completely accepted and supported that we had come to their restaurant to catch up with friends. Piatanzi did a great job of making us feel completely comfortable and at home.

We loved, loved, loved this place and we are excited to try the Juan Tabo location as well!

Tags: Romantic, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Vegan, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Very nice, as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Dishes were more uneven than previous visits:
Appetizers excellent.
Main course fish overcooked and dried out, vegetables not cooked enough. [Cooked through but not soft is ideal.]
Desserts excellent.
Wine recommended by waiter for fish dish was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 29, 2016

always good food and wine. wonderful evening. service was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 22, 2016

I have had both positive and negative experiences here; this time was better-- no rubber band in the soup, and no reseating before the meal was over

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 17, 2016

We've been to both locations several times. The food is usually quite good but we've had varying experiences with the service.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Gets 5 stars for ambiance because it's great to have a good restaurant right here in our neighborhood; gets 5 stars for food because their gnocchi special that night was fantastic. After an uneven start (undercooked risotto-could an Italian restaurant commit a worse culinary crime?), Piatanzi has become a reliable local source of good Italian fare.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Piatanzi is almost always a good option for lunch. On this occasion the service was a little sloppy but generally it is better.

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Live Sports, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on December 9, 2016

I enjoyed the chicken in lemon caper sauce very much. This dish would be easier to eat if the chicken were not served as an uncut half chicken.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 20, 2016

This restaurant used to be better. Food is still good, but choices seem more limited, and prices are up. Sadly, I'm not in a hurry to go back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 11, 2016

We thoroughly enjoy the food at Piatanzi and the restaurant ambiance, but the service at the Juan Tabo location is lacking. We were greated when we came in but after the initial contact, it took our waiter 15 minutes to come back. There was a mistake about the entree I ordered but the waiter never let me know it would take close to 30 minutes to serve what I actually ordered! By the time I got my dinner, my son and husband were finished eating. Though our waiter offered to bring me something in the interim, I had already finished a salad; I was not offered anything on the house. This isn't the first time we have had less than stellar service. The food was, however, delicious.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 8, 2016

The place had excellent food, but is a tad overpriced. And an ok atmosphere.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Excellent quality and value; fresh, flavorful food, friendly and attentive staff. Will definitely return.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Disappointing! Have been reading about this restaurant and was finally in town to give it a try. The bread was good I will say that, but the rest - MEDIOCRE. Calamari was overcooked and had little flavor. Carbonara was pasty and delivered lukewarm, linguine bland.
A good selection of wines but prices were higher than other restaurants. Overall I won't be back and can't make a recommendation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.