Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.76mi
  4. Distance: 1.21mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.76mi
  4. Distance: 1.21mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.76mi
  4. Distance: 1.21mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.76mi
  4. Distance: 1.21mi

About Petit Louis – Columbia

Tony Foreman and Cindy Wolf’s classic bistro on the lake in Columbia features rustic fare, an extensive, award winning French wine list & a lively Parisian atmosphere with gorgeous lake views. Outdoor seating is seasonal.

10215 Wincopin Cir
Columbia, MD 21044
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French, Dessert, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday 11:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner:Tuesday - Saturday 5pm - 10pm
Dinner: Sunday 5pm - 9pm
Brunch: Saturday 11:30am-3:30pm & Sunday 10:30am-3:30pm
(COMPTOIR)
Tuesday - Friday 9am
Saturday & Sunday 9am

Cross Street:
Little Patuxent Pkwy

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 964-9999

Website:
http://www.petitlouis.com/

Parking Details:
We are open during construction on Little Patuxent Parkway. Convenient free on-site parking is available in two parking garages and on a surface lot.

Executive Chef:
James Lewandowski

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Every Thursday night guests can raid the wine cellar and enjoy 50% off all full bottle purchases. The extensive wine list pairs perfectly with the menu. Why not try one bottle or two?

Petit Louis – Columbia Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (55)
Waterfront (53)
Good for a Date (53)
See All
Fit for Foodies (43)
Notable Wine List (41)
Romantic (39)
Great for Outdoor Dining (38)
Scenic View (36)
Authentic (30)
Good for Birthdays (29)
Quiet Conversation (28)
Good for Anniversaries (27)
Great for Lunch (25)
Creative Cuisine (25)
Neighborhood Gem (24)
Worth the Drive (21)
Business Meals (21)
Great for Brunch (17)
Cozy (16)
Sunday Lunch (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Casual (14)
People Watching (12)
Local Ingredients (11)
Seasonal (11)
Comfort Food (11)
Afternoon Coffee (11)
Healthy (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Fireplace (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Fun (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Family Style (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Historic (3)
Private Room (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Live Music (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Tapas (1)
Great Beer (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Organic (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
974 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 14, 2017

All the servers looked very busy but I was astonished at how slow the service was compared to how many servers there were! But the food was good.

Tags: Casual, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 14, 2017

The expanded lunch menu offers many good choices. Gravlax appetizer was flavorful and very fresh. The omelet de jour was a wonderful fluffy presentation of perfectly cooked eggs with a variety of mushrooms and ham. The deserts were outstanding, as usual. Only downside was that service was very slow and at times inattentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Food was awesome. Sit outside if you can during nice weather. Very nice atmosphere.

Tags: Authentic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 12, 2017

We appreciate the complimentary champagne for celebrating our anniversary.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Excellent place for a summer lunch! Very good cuisine, not faux French! Thought I was back in Nice!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Great wine list. Knowledgeable staff. Great for lunch or a business lunch.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Fantastic dinner - the food and the service are just wonderful. We are regular diners here and we are treated as such valued customers every time we come in. Can't recommend it enough

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Pretty good food. A little bit expensive, but worth it. The surrounding waterfront is great for meeting up with friends

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Groups, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Food was very good and a good deal. I ordered the 3 dish pre-fix - appetizer, main, and dessert - under $30. For the price, the quality and quantity was unmatched. I was there for lunch and did not eat the rest of the day. Great taste, creative combinations, plain and simply good food!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, People Watching, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Our 1st visit was for a lovely celebratory birthday dinner for a friend in June. Mussels were particularly good. Sat indoors where it was quiet with good spacing between tables. Returned to celebrate our (62nd!) wedding anniversary & sat outside - lovely view of lake & sunset, but tables so close it was impossible to have a private conversation. Neither mussels nor bread quite as good as before and gazpacho bit heavy on the oil, but service excellent. A complimentary glass of bubbly was served - but only after we had ordered (& consumed) some and ordered dessert & coffee. Nearby outdoor concert not our taste, but great people watching! :-) We will go again.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 2, 2017

mediocre compared to previous experiences at this restaurant. Our waitress was so so as was the food. She recommended dishes based on portion size... not what I would expect here.

Tags: Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Excellent atmosphere and service. Very good wine list. Appetizers were very creative and delicious. Main course was less so.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Tina was amazing!! I am always going to ask for her!!! She made our dinner fun, informative and special!

Tags: Comfort Food, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Waterfront, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 29, 2017

The meal, service and wine were excellent. Our only suggestion is to turn the tables outside sideways so that each diner has some view of the lake.

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 29, 2017

We met for lunch with friends from Virginia, and selected a waterfront table in the shade of the towering trees that abut the restaurant. With a pleasant breeze cooling us, we accepted our waiter's wine recommendation, a crisp chardonnay, and enjoyed exquisite appetizers, before moving on to our four main plates, shared with each other, and all outstanding. With a lunch prefix price of $20, we had a cost-effective, fabulous lunch. Definitely a place to plan on enjoying/

Tags: Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 28, 2017

The main course and the deserts were excellent. However the gravalax was far too salty and not up to your usual standards the escargots were so,so not as good as in Paris. We enjoyed the meal the wine was very good and our waiter was excellent

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 28, 2017

This was my 4th excellent experience. Petit Louis is good for a quick bistro meal or a longer first class celebration. We always feel well taken care of.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 27, 2017

It was a beautiful day and my friend and I chose to eat outside. The waiter seemed to have a problem being pleasant, and when I commented to him that there were only three slices of bread in the basket and suppose we both wanted a second slice, he rudely and impertinently responded that we could fight over it. The coffee we were served was old and not fresh or hot, so that really did not help what ought to have been a much more pleasant experience. His manager intervened and must have told the waiter that he was serving us, not the other way around, as he was not disrespectful thereafter. I cannot understand why the waiter thought that we would find his disrespectful comment funny or appropriate. At any rate, after his manager intervened, we were treated properly, and it was the usual good service we have come to like and expect at Petit Louis.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 24, 2017

We like to go and sit outside on a beautiful evening and enjoy people watching and the relaxing view of the lake in Columbia and have a nice meal. Unfortunately the food has really declined at Petit Louis. We have been there a number of times before and never disappointed but this visit the steak was flavorless and not particularly tender and the chicken was like rubber with a strange Harissa sauce. The combination of foods/spices in that dish are not complementary at all. Go back to Coq Au Vin and relieve the menu and patrons of this nasty stuff not worthy of your restaurant and purchase better quality beef. The service was good and our server was delightful. The kitchen and the menu needs some help.

Tags: Casual, Scenic View, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Petit Louis never disappoints. We enjoyed duck, the croque monsieur and chicken tagine - all very different, all very French in inspiration. Desserts were amazing, although there was only one flavor of the bonbons left (that was a bit of a disappointment even thought the flavor was very tasty - when you're in the mood for dark chocolate white chocolate just doesn't cut it!). Service was excellent. So glad to have this gem in our neighborhood.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Wine pour varied considerably. Not good. Quiche and salad were good, not great. We will come back but not too soon...

Tags: Waterfront, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 21, 2017

I have eaten at many good restaurants, including several really great Cindy Wolf places,and am aware of the difference between average, good and great. The person I dined with had eaten at both Petit Louis restaurants and they agreed that the experience at this one was below average.

The good: The wine, outside dinning.
The not so good, to poor: The cheese plate appetizer was poorly presented ( my 17 year old can put 3 pieces of cheese on a plate with a pile of jam. The steak frittes was interesting. There was a steak but you had to dig under a pile of fries that were a) excessive and b) more like five guys fries than frittes. The duck was almost good but had no flavor (not sure the sauce added a thing). The side we ordered was served 8 minutes after the entree because they forgot (which they removed from the bill) We didn't finish either entree and were never asked if we enjoyed it. This whole experience for 2, $200.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 18, 2017

The portions were very small even for a French restaurant. , a basket of (3) croissants costs as much as the main dish($12).

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Great food and service. Fun atmosphere. Amazing as usual!

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Birthday
Great food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Birthday at my husband's favorite restaurant and as always it was amazing!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Waterfront, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Excellent food & service. I would highly recommend.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Good food, albeit a bit pricey, and excellent service in a delightful location. We were able to eat outside in rather a warm summer evening. Enjoyable evening and hard to believe that busy Route 29 is so close. Certainly an oasis.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Authentic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 11, 2017

We have frequented the Petite Louis in Rowland Park several times so thought we should mix it up a bit. The area is lovely and the outdoor dining was perfect. Our food was just ok. I had the omelet which was very mediocre. I know it's not easy to prepare an omelet but I certainly expect more from a French restaurant. The server was not very friendly and seemed to want to be anywhere but at the restaurant.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on June 11, 2017

ForemanWolf restaurants are always the best.Food on point, service perfect.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 10, 2017

The staff is amazing and I love the outdoor seating. I love this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Cindy Wolf is one of the best restaurateurs in Baltimore / Maryland and Petit Louis replicates a relaxed but tasty French sidewalk cafe experience outside and a delightful Parisian bistro inside.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Waterfront, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Romantic, Scenic View, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Relaxed, cordial, delicious food, best outside dining in Columbia.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 9, 2017

We had such an amazing time and we decided to cancel our plan to watch a movie after dinner, and stay and chat for three hours.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Afternoon Coffee, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Our first visit to this location, as our preferred location is in Roland Park. Food was very good. Great place to eat before attending a concert at Merriweather, and it was a lovely evening for outdoor seating with a nice view of the lake. Our only complaint was that we never received the second drink that was ordered.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Excellent food and service. Beautiful decor and ambience. Will definitely return many times!

Tags: Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Authentic and welcoming ambience. Excellent cuisine and superior service.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Lovely offshoot of Petite Louis in Baltimore. If warm enough and dry, sit outside!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 4, 2017

I would not recommend this restaurant to anyone. We went on open table and was told the only openings available were 5:30 or 7 we took the 7. When we got there the entire restaurant was empty except for outside. We then asked for cocktails and they were out of every flavored vodka made. Food was no where near as good as the first time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 3, 2017

The restaurant is great and has a great view. It was my first time there and the food was great on point.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.