About Petit Louis – Columbia

10215 Wincopin Cir
Columbia, MD 21044
View Larger Map

Tony Foreman and Cindy Wolf’s classic bistro on the lake in Columbia features rustic fare, an extensive, award winning French wine list & a lively Parisian atmosphere with gorgeous lake views. Outdoor seating is seasonal.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French, Dessert, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday 11:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner:Tuesday - Saturday 5pm - 10pm
Dinner: Sunday 5pm - 9pm
Brunch: Saturday 11:30am-4:30pm & Sunday 10:30am-4:30pm
(COMPTOIR)
Tuesday - Friday 8am
Saturday & Sunday 8am

Cross Street:
Little Patuxent Pkwy

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 964-9999

Website:
http://www.petitlouis.com/

Entertainment:
Join us every Wednesday night beginning at 6PM for live music, featuring the melodic voice of Alexis Tantau accompanied by guitar, a violinist, and bassist.

Parking Details:
Convenient free on-site parking is available in two parking garages and on a surface lot.

Executive Chef:
James Lewandowski

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Every Thursday night guests can raid the wine cellar and enjoy 50% off all full bottle purchases. The extensive wine list pairs perfectly with the menu. Why not try one bottle or two?

Petit Louis – Columbia Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (39)
Good for a Date (30)
Good for Anniversaries (30)
See All
Notable Wine List (28)
Authentic (27)
Fit for Foodies (23)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Romantic (20)
Waterfront (19)
Sunday Lunch (18)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Worth the Drive (12)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Great for Brunch (11)
Business Meals (11)
Scenic View (11)
Great for Outdoor Dining (11)
Cozy (10)
Great for Lunch (10)
Good for Groups (10)
Healthy (8)
Afternoon Coffee (7)
Private Room (7)
Fun (6)
Seasonal (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Casual (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Fireplace (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Historic (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Organic (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
825 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Outstanding food preparation and wonderf ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 2 days ago

Outstanding food preparation and wonderful sommelier to make suggestions for pairing

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent French cuisine- preparation an ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 2 days ago

Excellent French cuisine- preparation and quality were first rate.

Very pleased with service received. Very patient and accommodating with our 2 kids!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time at the Columbia location, usu ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 3 days ago

First time at the Columbia location, usually go to the Roland Ave. restaurant. Food was very good. French Onion soup just as good as Roland Avenue. Trout Almandine was excellent .

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Tried this place on a Friday night with ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

Tried this place on a Friday night with my fiancé. The restaurant is lovely but smart casual dress is fine (eg jeans & nice sweater.) Service was superb - our waiter was very friendly and knowledgeable. Nice and affordable wine list. My bronzino was good, not innovative but solid traditional French presentation. My fiancé thought his scallops were the best he's ever eaten. Profiteroles were tasty, but not standouts. Excellent value and the ambiance & service will make this one of our date night standards.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

We go there frequently and it is always ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We go there frequently and it is always outstanding. Now if I could just eat there frequently and lose weight!

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place for Sunday brunch. Wonderfu ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Great place for Sunday brunch. Wonderful food, atmosphere and live music.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Came there because Roland Park was booke ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Came there because Roland Park was booked solid. Hard to find back in a corner on a rainy night / finally relied on my GPS and a phone call. Ala JAWS..." You need a bigger sign !" Other than that , everything was great.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not as good as when it opened & a far cr ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Not as good as when it opened & a far cry from Roland Park standards.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

Wonderful dining experience and a very p ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Wonderful dining experience and a very pleasant and knowledgeable waiter. Excellent way to celebrate a special day.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Paleo Friendly, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

had dinner with wife. The dinner was exc ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 8, 2017

had dinner with wife. The dinner was excellent. food was fresh, tasty, healthy, and well presented. The servers were attentive and polite. good choice.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

A wonderful way to welcome in the New Ye ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 1, 2017

A wonderful way to welcome in the New Year. The Parfait de Foie Gras was a perfect balance of sweet and savory flavors with the richness of Foie Gras, The Soupe de Poisson was a creamy seafood flavor softened with the Tarragon Oil. The Noix de Saint-Jacques was a creative presentation of perfectly grilled scallops with artichoke, fingerling potato, rouille and a sauce. The grilled sirloin was dressed and seasoned with bone marrow foam,a roquefort custard and finished with sauce birch - delicious flavor and artful presentation. The wine pairings with each menu were superb. Was there room for dessert? Barely, but we did enjoy the Mousse a la Framboise and a balk forest cake with chocolate cream, and fantastic wine pairing. The live music throughout the evening was enjoyable, sounded like Woodie Allen's Midnight in Paris.

At midnight everyone gathered around the bar for music and champagne. Chef Antonio joined the group to welcome in the New Year. What a great evening.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Private Room, Cozy, , Authentic, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just inedible. Unbelievable for a Cindy ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Just inedible. Unbelievable for a Cindy Wolfe restaurant. Scallops had weird metallic/cleaning fluid taste with a sauce that had already congealed on the plate. Fish soup cold. Staff befuddled and seem to be actors playing waiters (chain restaurants often have better servers). We had a bad experience a year ago and thought we would give it another try - we really wanted this place to succeed. Never again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3

Expensive! The food was just warm.

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Expensive! The food was just warm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Celebrated New Year's Eve with friends a ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Celebrated New Year's Eve with friends at the fabulous Petit Louis Bistro in Columbia.

The food & wine were excellent and the service was outstanding, especially with Benoit & Issac helping us make the right choices.

We always look forward to dining at Petit Louis and we were not disappointed. They exceeded our expectations.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Fireplace, Romantic, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing service by Theron. Great New Yea ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Amazing service by Theron. Great New Year's Eve ambience. Excellent meal and wine pairing. Why we return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Could not have been better! We went for ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Could not have been better! We went for my son's birthday and they couldn't have been nicer or done more to make it a special occasion. We asked the sommelier's advice for a bottle of wine and he recommended a specific Italian white. When he found that the bottle he had in mind wasn't chilled enough, he brought us each a sparkling white wine from the same region to drink while we waited for the bottle to chill. My son and I had the duck breast a l'orange, which was wonderful, and my husband really liked his lamb. The service was great, and when we didn't order dessert because I had a birthday cake at home, they brought us some macarons with a candle. I love this restaurant!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Private Room, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistent excellence and cheer

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Consistent excellence and cheer

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very pleasant staff from Reception to wa ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Very pleasant staff from Reception to wait staff. The omelet was excellent. Will visit again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Excellent food and service as always!

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Excellent food and service as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful people service food. Thanks!

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Wonderful people service food. Thanks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We stopped by for dinner this Christmas ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We stopped by for dinner this Christmas Eve. Food was outstanding, as was the service. Our server was knowledgeable and offered excellent wine pairing suggestions for the entrees we had chosen. Our food was delivered promptly, without making the meal feel rushed. Although the restaurant was busy, we did not feel crowded and the noise levels remained low enough to allow for easy conversation.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

OUTSTANDING service and spectacular food ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 18, 2016

OUTSTANDING service and spectacular food. The Quiche aux Legumes was so light and fluffy, like a cloud. And the side salad was delicately dressed and perfectly seasoned!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Absolutely outstanding food and service. ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Absolutely outstanding food and service. Always an enjoyable experience.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We dine here at least once a month, and ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 16, 2016

We dine here at least once a month, and as always, everything was delicious. I had the bronzini and my husband had the cassoulet. He waits for winter so he can have that wonderful dish. In the past we have loved the whole chicken for two, the lamb and the chicken paillard. You can't go wrong at Petit Louis.

The wine list seems to have changed with only one Chassagne Montrachet available. I am still waiting for Cremant de Bourgignon to be added to the sparklings available, but these are small details. We still had a wonderful evening.

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wish I lived in Columbia, I would come h ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Wish I lived in Columbia, I would come here often. Lovely bistro evoking a French café. Came with family after a Christmas concert. We were almost the last to leave but didn't feel rushed. The food was creative and delicious and a little pricey, typical of a Tony Foreman place. Great for vegetarians, pescatarians, and meat eaters. The service was efficient and helpful, and the atmosphere casual and fun. It was somewhat subdued when we were there on a weeknight, but when it is crowded I'm sure it's lively and noisy. I'd love to return someday.

Tags: Cozy, Fun, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

After a couple of disappointing visits, ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 10, 2016

After a couple of disappointing visits, the third was a charm....great food, drinks, and a server who remembered my husband's birthday.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

food was very good. Server was excellent ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 10, 2016

food was very good. Server was excellent. All of his recommendations were spot on. Overall, it was a bit expensive for what it was but not over the top. I've had meals in places in downtown DC for about 10% less that were as good or better. Still very nice for the location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We have never had a bad experience at Pe ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 8, 2016

We have never had a bad experience at Petit Louis! The staff are polite and attentive and the kitchen is exceptional. We were celebrating my recent promotion and the server brought us a complimentary glass of champagne. Even better, she made sure we liked it and brought us another to try as we preferred a more dry vintage. Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Went for a birthday. Food was great, ser ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Went for a birthday. Food was great, service was amazing!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went for a special birthday lunch. the ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Went for a special birthday lunch. the food was delicious classic french. The service was impeccable. Be prepared to be treated like a VIP. Will definitely be back.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We just love it every time. Wonderful fo ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 1, 2016

We just love it every time. Wonderful food, accommodating staff, great atmosphere. Our waiter is Benoit, il est magnifique.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As usual at Petit Louis Columbia , the s ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 1, 2016

As usual at Petit Louis Columbia , the service, food and wine were outstanding. For a special day or for just a night out, Petit Louis is the place to go, and on Thursday, there's the added bonus of 50% off on all wines.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

This was our first trip to Petit Louis, ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 25, 2016

This was our first trip to Petit Louis, and I know nothing about French cuisine except what I've learned from reading Anthony Bourdain. This left me completely at the mercy of the house staff. Fortunately, our server (sadly, I don't remember her name) knew the menu and the wine list very well and made great recommendations for appetizers (the charcuterie), wine (an amazing Bourdeaux), entrees (grilled duck for me, short ribs for my lady friend), and dessert (creme brulee).

The price puts it in the special-occasion category for us, but we'll be back. We had a lovely experience!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great French cuisine!! Highly recommend

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Great French cuisine!! Highly recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

A lovely experience celebrating my birth ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 19, 2016

A lovely experience celebrating my birthday with two other ladies. The French bistro decor made a charming environment. The brunch menu had a great range of options. Our entree choices , shrimp dish, omelette and crepe dish, were well prepared, elegantly presented, and above all delicious. The server was very gracious, warm and accommodating. I was given a boxed gift of a tart as a birthday gift by the restaurant (nice touch). It was a very delightful afternoon. First time visit for the other two guests who raved about the whole dining experience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Waterfront, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Terrific as always, topped off by one o ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Terrific as always, topped off by one of the best desserts I've ever had--a puréed pear concoction with a roasted plum sauce. Sheer perfection!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service, great food

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Great service, great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Super restaurant j'ai vr e été épatée. J ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Super restaurant j'ai vr e été épatée. Je suis française donc bravo aux chefs. Tout était délicieux!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We have been patrons of this restaurant ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 8, 2016

We have been patrons of this restaurant for a long while. We were seated as we requested. Our server took our order and highlighted the specials. We received our food as we had ordered it. The whole evening went very smoothly without any problems. We will be back again.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Our waiter and wine steward were very he ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Our waiter and wine steward were very helpful. The overall effect was a relaxing and delicious dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.