About Petit Louis – Columbia

10215 Wincopin Cir
Columbia, MD 21044
View Larger Map

Tony Foreman and Cindy Wolf’s classic bistro on the lake in Columbia features rustic fare, an extensive, award winning French wine list & a lively Parisian atmosphere with gorgeous lake views. Outdoor seating is seasonal.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French, Dessert, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday 11:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner:Tuesday - Saturday 5pm - 10pm
Dinner: Sunday 5pm - 9pm
Brunch: Saturday 11:30am-4:30pm & Sunday 10:30am-4:30pm
(COMPTOIR)
Tuesday - Friday 8am
Saturday & Sunday 8am

Cross Street:
Little Patuxent Pkwy

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 964-9999

Website:
http://www.petitlouis.com/

Entertainment:
Join us every Wednesday night beginning at 6PM for live music, featuring the melodic voice of Alexis Tantau accompanied by guitar, a violinist, and bassist.

Parking Details:
Convenient free on-site parking is available in two parking garages and on a surface lot.

Executive Chef:
James Lewandowski

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Every Thursday night guests can raid the wine cellar and enjoy 50% off all full bottle purchases. The extensive wine list pairs perfectly with the menu. Why not try one bottle or two?

Restaurant Photos

  • Petit Louis – Columbia
Petit Louis – Columbia

Petit Louis – Columbia Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Baltimore Suburbs
Notable Wine List
Baltimore Suburbs
Outdoor Dining
Baltimore Suburbs
1 More
Most Booked
Baltimore Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Columbia ›

Special Occasion (84)
Great for Outdoor Dining (81)
Fit for Foodies (70)
See All
Notable Wine List (63)
Romantic (62)
Scenic View (60)
Neighborhood Gem (47)
Great for Lunch (38)
Great for Brunch (36)
Good for Groups (29)
Hot Spot (6)
Kid-friendly (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Sort By:
Newest
732 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food and service is excellent. The c ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 4 days ago

The food and service is excellent. The chef's specials are always a great choice!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

What a fantastic location and restaurant ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

What a fantastic location and restaurant. I believe it is even better than the original up in Baltimore. Though we did not sit outside, I can certainly imagine using the ample outdoor seating by the lake on a temperate day or night. The inside is cozy, and there's a long comfortable looking bar, a variety of table sizes,a fireplace and private dining room. Our server, whose name I do not recall but whose French accent was a perfect highlight for the evening, was a joy to chat with. His excellent service really was the punctuation on a great evening out.

The food is top notch. My wife (vegetarian, and pregnant so limiting herself on certain foods) and myself (complete omnivore) had no trouble deciding on dishes. The shrimp was expertly cooked, my chicken was fantastic and my wife's salmon was excellent. Our appetizers were also great - whatever the berry compote for the fois gras was, I want them to try to duplicate it on a linzer torte, it was amazing. The only negative I'd say was the 'sides' per dish were very limited, maybe a serving spoonful (if that) of roasted vegetables.

Desert was wonderful and the wine list was also ample, though the by-the-glass might have been a bit small of a menu (if you were to split a bottle with someone though, you'd be all set).

Overall, I can't wait to come back and sit by that fireplace when the weather gets cold. I almost didn't write about it just so I'd keep it to myself.

Tags: Fun, Bar Seating, Waterfront, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Cozy, Romantic, Private Room, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We rarely get to Columbia, but we gather ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

We rarely get to Columbia, but we gathered our family there for an informal birthday dinner. The service was slow and waiters were neither friendly nor helpful. The manager also seemed remote and poorly communicative. Food was all right, but nothing was as good as the Baltimore Petit Louis, which we find delightful no matter how many times we go for brunch, lunch or dinner.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

Have always gone to the Petite Louie in ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Have always gone to the Petite Louie in Roland Park. Nice to see the Columbia restaurant was just as good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As usual an outstanding meal, with impec ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

As usual an outstanding meal, with impeccable service.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I have never had a bad experience at thi ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

I have never had a bad experience at this place. My favorite is the Magret de Canard. It is, honestly, some of the best food I've ever eaten.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely wonderful - my wife and I cel ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Absolutely wonderful - my wife and I celebrated our 21st Wedding Anniversary with our two kids. All of the dishes were fantastic - the salmon and lamb especially. My only regret was not ordering ore of the appetizers!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

The waiter was wonderful with a delightf ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

The waiter was wonderful with a delightful French accent! Onion soup was, as always, fantastic & the special tomato and nectarine salad was fresh & summer!

& a visit to the Comptoir was a perfect end to a perfect meal!

Thanks as always!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was our third visit. Each time we ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

This was our third visit. Each time we have enjoyed the atmosphere, food and service. The food is always fresh and distinctive, although the menu is somewhat limited. If going on a weekend, reservations are highly recommended. We did have a reservation but since it was a weeknight, we really didn't need one. Would highly recommend this restaurant for either casual or romantic dining.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food, excellent service. Had dinn ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Great Food, excellent service. Had dinner outside which was a very pleasant environment.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

When I eat here, I wish the meal would n ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

When I eat here, I wish the meal would never end, or that I will not get full. The food is so good and beautifully plated. This is my husband and my go to place for our anniversary. Last time my meal came out I didn't want to start eating it because it was to beautiful.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent service and food. The quiche ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Excellent service and food. The quiche was light and fluffy and the lemon/olive oil dressing on the side salad was perfect.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our second visit. Waitstaff fr ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

This was our second visit. Waitstaff friendly and helpful but not intrusive. Sommelier very knowledgeable. Eggplant appetizer unique and delicious. Husband had bronzino - loved it. Grilled salmon cooked perfectly and well matched with mustard seed sauce. Will definitely be back.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

The food was excellent and well-served b ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The food was excellent and well-served but the noise level was so ,our that it made it impossible to carry on a conversation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4
value3

Excellent service. Limited menu. Crab m ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Excellent service. Limited menu. Crab meat was spiced which was not mentioned on menu nor by the waiter. No one rushed us to finish as the dining area filled up on Saturday night. Parking was easy to find. Portions were small considering the price of the meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Good food and good service in a nice atm ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Good food and good service in a nice atmosphere. The older waiter with a French accent was especially attentive.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Restaurant weeks' offerings were not rem ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Restaurant weeks' offerings were not remarkable and the $40 fixed price was too high.lamb dish was ok,chocolate dessert was ok, appetizer was good

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

As always a pleasure even at its simples ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

As always a pleasure even at its simplest, a plus for Restaurant Week in Howard.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A little pricey, but the food and servic ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

A little pricey, but the food and service were excellent.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed our lunch very much. Food wa ...

 
·Dined on July 27, 2016

We enjoyed our lunch very much. Food was very good as was service. My only complaint is that I used my cell phone to search for something, and the wifi (or restaurant) posted that I was there. I did not!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Very pleased with the restaurant in ever ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Very pleased with the restaurant in every way. Not pleased that there were no Open Table points awarded us with this reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Each time we're here, we're impressed by ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Each time we're here, we're impressed by the restaurant's darkness. Adding some pops of light, despite the need for black ceilings, might add nice lift to dining. Otherwise always solid if not exciting dining. Servers are consistently informed, kind and helpful.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Unlike the other venue in Roland Park th ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Unlike the other venue in Roland Park this venue is extremely loud. It has become more of a touristy, casual dining hot spot than the intimate setting one might expect. The food is also, in comparison to the other venue, rather disappointing in most regards. There are people there in running shorts and tank tops with their young, ill-behaved children - something I would expect (not condone) at a TGI Fridays.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

I don't think the menu at Petit Louis ha ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

I don't think the menu at Petit Louis has changed in10 years. The food was good and prepared well but lacking something. It is in a great area though and has a nice wine selection so,great place to go hangout.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

We went here for brunch on a Saturday, a ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We went here for brunch on a Saturday, and we got there right when it opened, so it was quiet and not busy yet. We even sat down in the little pastry shop next door until they opened which was more casual than the restaurant but still very nice. All of the staff were super nice and accommodating. Food was delicious; drinks were good. I would definitely go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was just ok

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Food was just ok

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

This place was very warm and charming on ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

This place was very warm and charming on the inside. It is situated in front of a beautiful lake and offered cozy outdoor seating. I chose to eat indoors, but will try the outdoor area in the future. The servers were vary attentive and answered all of our questions. We enjoyed ourselves very much.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We stopped in for late lunch. Pretty out ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We stopped in for late lunch. Pretty outside dining area and great view of the lake. They serve authentic French food and it's delicious. Quiche was superb. Soups and entrees were well presented, tasty and perfectly portioned. Service was a bit off, but the food made up for it.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Well priced French food - not for your d ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Well priced French food - not for your diet, but definitely for your taste buds.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We actually had a wonderful server the n ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We actually had a wonderful server the night we went but I cannot say the same for the other staff. We began with drinks at the bar and it was happy hour and only moderately crowded but they did not seemed prepared to handle although there were many staff waiting around. I notified the staff at the door that I had arrived early for a reservation but they did not seem to pass on the maitre d. When she did come by our table she asked where we would prefer to sit and we replied, so she sat us in the opposite area. Once we were able to order dinner, it took approximately one hour for the food to be served. During that time, I observed the chef come out to speak with staff, and our server did apologize to my mother. It was my mother's 81st birthday and she is a diabetic so it was a good thing we had ordered appetizers when we first arrived.

Each time I have been to this restaurant there is a snob factor that I just don't understand because the food was fine but nothing that pretentious. So now I'm convinced this is not the place to go if you would like to feel pampered, but it is if you want the snob treatment.

Au revoir!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

This place is consistently great. Food, ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

This place is consistently great. Food, service and ambiance great all the way around. Highly recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant building is very attracti ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The restaurant building is very attractive. The choices of entree are dominated by chicken, and otherwise limited. It is too bad that this restaurant cant be made into the go-to place in Columbia.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

We got there too late for their prix fix ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We got there too late for their prix fixe menu for Bastille Day, and quite of few of the menu items were no longer available (altogether expected since our reservation was for late in the evening), the bartender and our waitress were wonderfully accommodating, inventing and presenting alternatives to our requests. As always it was a festive occasion and reason enough for me to continue to let the French celebrate my birthday.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

It was Bastille Day and my Sister-in-Law ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

It was Bastille Day and my Sister-in-Law's birthday. She's a Francophile and we knew this would be a fun evening for her. We arrived exactly at 7:30, our reserved time and with my 89 year-old Mother-in-law were seated in the adjacent bistro for well over half an hour. "We've got a lot of 7:30 reservations and we're trying to turn the tables." Things were loud and chaotic. It was around 8:10 we were seated, but not assigned a waiter. 15 minutes later, when we asked, a waiter was sent, took drink orders and brought a small basket of whole wheat bread (?) Our hors d'oeuvres were good, but it was 9:10 when I finally questioned why our dinners were taking so long? The waiter said he was waiting for mother in law to finish her food before putting in our order. O.K. The entrees arrived a few minutes later and the food was quite good. As the restaurant emptied out, the service remained less than mediocre, from the wait staff on up. We put on our reservation that it was a birthday celebration and told the staff on arrival. We were told they would provide a little celebration and cake. It did not happen. We went on our way around 10:40 p.m. and when it was pointed out, they gave her 5 bonbons and goodnight. It was a long and dissatisfying experience. Even with the half-priced bottle of wine special that we were told about after we bought our first bottle of wine. "Oh, by the way, bottled wine is half-priced for Bastille day." Maybe another bottle or two might have helped the over-all experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value2

Petit Louis Bistro is such a beautiful r ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Petit Louis Bistro is such a beautiful restaurant - both inside and out. Love that's it's on Lake Kittamaqundi. Enjoy the French atmosphere and food. Service was lovely. Nice place to catch up with a friend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Enjoyed our luncheon get together. Wait ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Enjoyed our luncheon get together. Waiter needs a bit of work.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

This was our second visit. The first, a ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

This was our second visit. The first, a weekend brunch, was perfect with good food, attentive service and even a tableside chat with the restauranteur. This time we went for dinner and sat outside with a lakeside view -- relaxed and lovely. It was a weeknight and the place was busy but not at capacity. Our waiter, who told us he had been there two months, seemed quite harried. Service overall was not satisfactory. We ordered wine but it turned out they no longer had our choice. Then we ordered s second, more expensive bottle, and it was brought to us but not uncorked for about 10-12 minutes while the waiter served others. We ordered sparkling water, but someone came along and poured (without asking) plain water into our glass, mixing the two.

The menu is pretty basic French cooking, and the food was excellent if a little pedestrian: my friend had salmon and I had steak frites, nicely prepared and served, but slow to arrive. As we were finishing our meal around 9 p.m., new people came to the table next to ours and our young waiter attended them -- telling them about a couple of interesting specials that were not on the menu -- that he forgot to mention to us! It seemed to us that the problem was not the waiter but the management and training of the waiter, who seemed always racing about while other staff stood by. It was a distraction and a disappointment. Because we like the food and the ambiance we likelywill come back and hope that this was a one-time set of screw-ups.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Awesome food spectacular service! The am ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Awesome food spectacular service! The ambiance and beautiful view of the lake makes it even better

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

a far more casual, relaxed and, we belie ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

a far more casual, relaxed and, we believe, pleasant place for dinner than its' city sister. We've been there twice and thoroughly enjoyed it both times. Look forward to going back again.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I must say this restaurant has improved ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

I must say this restaurant has improved greatly since the last time I dined here. The duck confit was perfectly executed. My dates steak was cooked perfectly, well rested, and full of flavor. The desserts were very delicious especially the ice creams. I would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone who enjoys Classic French Cuisine.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.