Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.76mi
  4. Distance: 1.21mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.76mi
  4. Distance: 1.21mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.76mi
  4. Distance: 1.21mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.76mi
  4. Distance: 1.21mi

About Petit Louis – Columbia

Tony Foreman and Cindy Wolf’s classic bistro on the lake in Columbia features rustic fare, an extensive, award winning French wine list & a lively Parisian atmosphere with gorgeous lake views. Outdoor seating is seasonal.

10215 Wincopin Cir
Columbia, MD 21044
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French, Dessert, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday 11:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner:Tuesday - Saturday 5pm - 10pm
Dinner: Sunday 5pm - 9pm
Brunch: Saturday 11:30am-3:30pm & Sunday 10:30am-3:30pm
(COMPTOIR)
Tuesday - Friday 9am
Saturday & Sunday 9am

Cross Street:
Little Patuxent Pkwy

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 964-9999

Website:
http://www.petitlouis.com/

Parking Details:
We are open during construction on Little Patuxent Parkway. Convenient free on-site parking is available in two parking garages and on a surface lot.

Executive Chef:
James Lewandowski

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Every Thursday night guests can raid the wine cellar and enjoy 50% off all full bottle purchases. The extensive wine list pairs perfectly with the menu. Why not try one bottle or two?

Petit Louis – Columbia Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

Noise

Quiet

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (42)
Special Occasion (39)
Great for Outdoor Dining (38)
See All
Waterfront (35)
Romantic (32)
Authentic (31)
Good for Anniversaries (30)
Creative Cuisine (29)
Neighborhood Gem (29)
Scenic View (29)
Good for Birthdays (27)
Fit for Foodies (27)
Notable Wine List (25)
Great for Brunch (21)
Great for Lunch (20)
Quiet Conversation (20)
Worth the Drive (18)
Business Meals (14)
Afternoon Coffee (13)
Cozy (12)
Local Ingredients (12)
Sunday Lunch (12)
Casual (11)
People Watching (11)
Good for Groups (10)
Seasonal (10)
Comfort Food (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Fun (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Healthy (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Vegan (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Organic (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort by
S
1048 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 7 days ago

I introduced my newly 16-year-old niece to this nice restaurant. We were there for brunch. Our waiter was special in that he fixed my niece up with a drink that closely resembled my mimosa. We enjoyed out shared appetizers and quiche, and even though we had eaten our fill, and without any mention of it, he sent my niece home with a beautiful tart as a birthday gift, packaged for the road. He had noticed that she opened a gift, and decided that day must have been special. Our visit was lovely.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 12, 2017

Repeat visit, so we do like it. Salmon was excellent. Duck, coq au Vin and omelette were very good, but temperature was too cold. Timing of service was off. Unexpected for this spot. They did make it up to us, in discounting the check and pastries to go.
We will be back. We have had excellent experiences in the past.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 12, 2017

The food was honestly fantastic. The Beef Bourguinon and Coq au Vin were outstanding and worth a trip (or several) back! We will be back for sure. We didn't get one side dish we ordered twice, but in the end, that was just fine!

Tags: Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 11, 2017

We were meeting friends from Bethesda MD & York PA so Columbia turned out to be the best place to meet, and the women all voted for French. Our table was ready early, and our waiter more than accommodating. Turned out he's a native French speaker from the Caribbean, a very gentlemanly guy (so sorry I don't have his name, he's awesome). A few of us have very specific diets, and the restaurant had many choices for us as well as allowing us to change items. We ordered wine by the glass, a Negroni that was perfect, and for me, a Grimbergen beer - which I tried in Nice and have trouble finding here. Awesome! Wine by the glass had some good selections, by the bottle you can find any French red or white wine you want, but I didn't see any French Rosé - hope they will add some.
Four of us ordered steak, all of us were happy with it - Filets cooked perfectly, tasty and tender. One had the duck, didn't leave a speck on her plate, guessing it was good. The shrimp over ratatouille was another choice that was good - a low carb choice.
For dessert we split a Pear Tartin a la mode 6 ways - everyone got a taste and it was good. I wish I had tried the chocolate mousse, next time!
There's a free parking garage across the street from Petit Louis, and in summer you can dine outside on their patio by the Columbia Lakefront.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 10, 2017

We had a very lovely dinner. We tend to dine early (5:30) so not surprising that it was quiet upon arrival. We were seated immediately with a reservation for three and placed next to the fireplace which was perfect for a chilly night. I had the vegetarian couscous- flavorful and light. My husband had the steak frites, which were cooked just as he asked. Service was just right- polite and attentive without disruptions. I love the ambiance, staff, and food at Petit Louis.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on November 10, 2017

This was a good date night experience. Half-priced bottles of wine Thursday is an added plus.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 9, 2017

My sandwich was fair. Bread cold and hard, filling lukewarm and seasonings sparse.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 8, 2017

Great food, fabulous service. Will come again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 7, 2017

Nice quiet place to meet a friend and talk as well as enjoy good food!

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined on November 7, 2017

Warm frisée salad is so good it brings tears to my eyes!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 5, 2017

All 4 in our party were disappointed with the food.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 4, 2017

Outstanding cuisine, wonderful service and a beautiful ambiance by the lakefront in Columbia.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Afternoon Coffee, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 4, 2017

Great dining experience -excellent food and wine. Service was great.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 29, 2017

The meal was outstanding and our waiter was friendly and helpful. All of his recommendations were excellent. We look forward to our next visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 29, 2017

Always a great meal at Petit Louis Columbia.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 28, 2017

Three of us had a wonderful meal but my friend's order was incorrect. I wish waiters would write the order down.. She waited for the replacement but the quiche was not good. May have been microwaved, inconsistently heated. No one apologized or tried to make up for it in any way with free dessert or comped her dinner which was surprising for a restaurant of this caliber. I don't go looking for comps but in this case it all left us with an overall bad impression. A shame because i love this place.

Tags: Seasonal, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 27, 2017

Very authentic French including the wine list. Well trained service staff and bartenders - good at their jobs and friendly. Honor reservations. On a pretty day it is a nice spot to sit out looking over the Lake

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Organic, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 27, 2017

They never fail to disappoint! We come here for birthdays, anniversaries or a quick cocktail and app. We will be back again and again!

Tags: Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 26, 2017

Open Table failed me this time. I attempted to make a reservation for 3 at 1:00 pm and OT offered me only 12:30 and 1:30. I had to call the restaurant to get the 1:00 pm. The hostess said OT had a problem with reservations for 3.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 22, 2017

The menu has been revamped but many of the classics like the rainbow trout and table side carved chicken for two remain. The carrot butternut squash soup was delicious and the simple mesclun greens salad was as crisp and tasty as always. I had the coq au vin which was rich and wonderful and my brother had the salmon which he enjoyed with buerre blanc substituted for the shrimp cream sauce. Our waiter was well-informed about the menu options and as usual, the staff was welcoming. I heartily endorse this restaurant.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 20, 2017

Great food, friendly staff. Reasonable prices for the quality of the food. This is my restaurant of choice for a celebration or for just a night out.

Thank you guys. That was a pleasure to visit you one more time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 14, 2017

Excellent meal in beautiful space on the lakefront. The Magret de Canard, Frisee aux Lardons and profiteroles were outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 8, 2017

It's good but the dinner menu seems more lunch than dinner - heavy on quiches but only 1 or 2 meat dudf

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 7, 2017

We had an authentic waiter who was terrific...attentive, polite, efficient. Great meals, and great dessert. Everyone was pleasant and the food quality was fantastic. Recommend to anyone in Columbia.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Awesome food -- as usual! Service was excellent. This is a little gem in the heart of Columbia. A must try if you haven't been there yet.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 4, 2017

I felt like I was at a bistro along the Seine in Paris. Everything about this dining establishment was authentic French. The food, the wine list, the casual ambiance, and the service were excellent at a very reasonable price. We took our elderly mother and it was convenient to have the easy ground level access. The apple and fennel soup was delectable. The duck breast with root vegetables was perfectly prepared. The pear tart with cinnamon ice cream was heavenly. I cannot wait to return.

Tags: Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Disabled Access, People Watching, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 3, 2017

We had a very good meal in lovely surroundings with excellent service. Perfect way to spend lunch with friends.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Overall very good. Everyone enjoyed their meals. My trout was a bit too salty but I'd order again, holding the capers. Service was outstanding.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 29, 2017

This was my first time here, but it will not be the last. The food, service, and ambiance really made me feel like I was back Paris for a few hours.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Great service. Wines by the glass were excellent. Food was nothing to write home about. Mussels were the best. Pate and coq au vin were just ok. Boeuf bourgignion was big disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Being fans of Petite Louis in Roland Park, we figured it would be nice to try this location, especially since it was a great night and they have outdoor dining.

We arrived at 7:15 for a 7:30 reservation and were seated outside, as requested. It took longer than expected for a server to approach us and ask for drinks, but we were not in a hurry, so no complaints yet. Sparkling water came out quickly, but cocktail took a while.

After my drink came our waiter stopped by and said “do you have any questions about the menu?” To which I answered,; “Yes, what are your specials?” I think this is a pretty valid question since there are (I think) 4 or so “du jour” items on the menu.

We heard the specials, then placed our orders. I ordered an appetizer and entree, and my wife ordered just an entree.

Besides bread being dropped off the next time we were approached was about 25 min later when my appetizer of Gravlax was delivered by a different server who announced “Gravlax to share”. I said “no, just for me”. She said something to the effect of ‘oh, really?’ ... Yes, really.

Our waiter cleared my plate and empty glass, asked if I wanted another drink, to who I said no thanks.

8:10 our waiter comes by and says “I’m sorry your food is taking so long, there is a large party for a 50th anniversary, and the kitchen is backed up. Your food will be out soon”. We did not see our waiter again.

Being told that your quiche and flat iron steak would be out “soon” I feel a reasonable assumption would be 5-10 minutes. At 8:30 we threw in the towel and gave up. I spoke with the Manager, offered to pay for what we had (bottled water, cocktail and gravlax), and told him we just wanted to leave, and were unwilling to wait any longer. The Manager came back to our table, apologized and did not charge us for what we had.

Can’t really say we were “customers” since we weren’t allowed to pay, but as guests, we felt as though we were an imposition to the wait staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

Service was slow and unfriendly. Appetizers cleared before we finished, yet we still waited 20 more minutes for our main dishes. Salmon and spinach dish very oversalted (and I like salt). Quiche Loraine was quite good though. Other food just so so. Overall, very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 23, 2017

The food was quite good we were able to sit outside as it was a beautiful night however they had a wedding and service was quite slow. I eat here regularly and that was quite unusual to have service this slow

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 23, 2017

My wife and I went to dinner at Petite Louis with another couple on a busy Saturday night this past weekend. We sat outside, as it was a beautiful evening on Columbia Lake. It was a very busy night and there was a large private party there, so service was a little on the slow side. However, we did not mind at all because the staff was very courteous and attentive. Once the food arrived, things got even better. It was simply spectacular. Our table had the French onion soup, the fish cakes, and the fried shrimp and zucchini appetizers. All were excellent. For dinner, we had the grilled salmon salad, the flat iron steak, and the rainbow trout entree. The salmon and steak were cooked perfectly and the rainbow trout was not only the best trout that I've ever had, but possibly the best fish dish I have ever eaten....perfectly pan-seared in a smooth, buttery-caper sauce. Perfectly awesome! Thanks for a great evening. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Disabled Access, Great for Brunch, Waterfront, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 23, 2017

We were looking for a comfortable restaurant for dinner before a show at MPP and we found a winner. The food , ambiance and location are all winners. We had steak frites and roasted salmon and were delighted with our meals. The creme brulee and coffee were excellent for dessert. We have told several people about this already....we will return!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Excellent service and excellent food are a great combination. Good and plates hot when they arrive at the table. Waiter picked right up on wine interest. We were seated in a quiet corner as we suggested. Many people were outside enjoying the vista. Will return soon.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Fun, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 22, 2017

This was a nice restaurant with good ambiance, service, and authentic French cuisine. It was definitely a great place for date night and look forward to going back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

The atmosphere was lovely and service was outstanding. Wine was delicious and truly the best French Onion Soup I've ever had!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Afternoon Coffee, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Had the braised lamb with a bottle of Gigondas. Superb.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Rarely does one of Tony Foreman's restaurants disappoint, but our experience at the Columbia Petit Louis was quite lacking. While delightful to be outside with friends, the food was not good. Haricots verts were way overlooked, way over oiled/buttered and so salty they were inedible . Likewise the fish was way overdressed and too salty. The whole meal was disappointing. The lamb special my husband had was again too salty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.