About Petit Louis – Columbia

10215 Wincopin Cir
Columbia, MD 21044
View Larger Map

Tony Foreman and Cindy Wolf’s classic bistro on the lake in Columbia features rustic fare, an extensive, award winning French wine list & a lively Parisian atmosphere with gorgeous lake views. Outdoor seating is seasonal.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French, Dessert, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday 11:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner:Tuesday - Saturday 5pm - 10pm
Dinner: Sunday 5pm - 9pm
Brunch: Saturday 11:30am-4:30pm & Sunday 10:30am-4:30pm
(COMPTOIR)
Tuesday - Friday 8am
Saturday & Sunday 8am

Cross Street:
Little Patuxent Pkwy

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 964-9999

Website:
http://www.petitlouis.com/

Entertainment:
Join us every Wednesday night beginning at 6PM for live music, featuring the melodic voice of Alexis Tantau accompanied by guitar, a violinist, and bassist.

Parking Details:
Convenient free on-site parking is available in two parking garages and on a surface lot.

Executive Chef:
James Lewandowski

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Every Thursday night guests can raid the wine cellar and enjoy 50% off all full bottle purchases. The extensive wine list pairs perfectly with the menu. Why not try one bottle or two?

Restaurant Photos

  • Petit Louis – Columbia
Petit Louis – Columbia

Petit Louis – Columbia Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Baltimore Suburbs
Notable Wine List
Baltimore Suburbs
Outdoor Dining
Baltimore Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Columbia ›

Great for Outdoor Dining (71)
Special Occasion (69)
Fit for Foodies (63)
See All
Scenic View (58)
Notable Wine List (57)
Romantic (52)
Neighborhood Gem (42)
Great for Lunch (33)
Great for Brunch (31)
Good for Groups (24)
Waterfront (9)
Good for a Date (8)
Business Meals (7)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Authentic (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Cozy (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Private Room (2)
Fun (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Casual (2)
People Watching (1)
Fireplace (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Seasonal (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Healthy (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
Newest
755 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We had a party of 8 for dinner. Our serv ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 4 days ago

We had a party of 8 for dinner. Our server was attentive, but did not hover or rush us. The food was outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent as always although our server ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent as always although our server was new and has a bit more to learn about the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Very good -will be back

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Very good -will be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

This restaurant thinks it's an upscale r ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

This restaurant thinks it's an upscale restaurant but it hasn't made it yet. Although the mussels were good, the broth was lost in the bottom of a deep bowl instead of mussels swimming in scrumptious fragrant juice . The flank steak was tough. My companion had to discard the first bite because it it was inedible. The béarnaise sauce was too heavy we thought. The wine, at the lower end of the wine list and cost, was a sad choice for our meal AND for the wine list, recommended by the waiter when our choice was unavailable. However the ambience of the restaurant makes it a place to visit if you're in Columbia and want to eat outside on a lovely summer evening.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Wonderful meal, as always. Benoit is an ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Wonderful meal, as always. Benoit is an attentive, knowledgeable waiter and makes your evening special. This is our "go to" guaranteed great meal restaurant. We have never been disappointed. With the cooler weather tonight lots of people were enjoying the outdoor dining area overlooking Lake Kittamaqundi.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The first of my party to arrive checked ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

The first of my party to arrive checked in with the name on the reservation (mine), yet a few hours later, I received an email from Open Table telling me that my party had been a no-show. I had to walk back to the restaurant to make sure the record was corrected. I would have given the service category a higher rating except for this error by the reception desk.

Tags: Cozy, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

A special birthday celebration was more ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

A special birthday celebration was more than wonderful with assistance of the doting , well-versed staff here. From our welcome to assistance with picking an extraordinary wine, to the beautifully prepared and presented dishes from appetizers through dessert, we were more than pleased with our experience on a Wednesday evening. We are still talking about the wonderful time we had and have always had eating here.

Tags: Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our second visit, and once agai ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

This was our second visit, and once again, we were pleased with our outing. Excellent food and superb service. Note: the tiny baby mussels were to die for.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Food was solid, as always. Server had t ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Food was solid, as always. Server had trouble remembering our orders--forgot several items we had ordered (like a glass of wine with dinner, coffee with dessert). Manager was hospitable. We would still go back, and just be sure to have a different server.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

A great escape in suburbia. Excellent se ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

A great escape in suburbia. Excellent service, incredible food and relaxing ambiance every single time!

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

You won't find a more attractive place f ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

You won't find a more attractive place for lunch or brunch, especially if you can sit outside. The food is excellent and the service is very attentive and polite. Recommend.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We've been here several times. The food ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

We've been here several times. The food is great –love the eggplant Napoleon, the chicken tarragon, the steak frites. Service is warm and attentive. They did a lovely job making our teenage daughters birthday dinner special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Unfortunately my food choices were not w ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Unfortunately my food choices were not wonderful. I was not particularly fond of the preparation of the loup de mer, and the eggplant appetizer was quite rich as an appetizer.

Tags: Authentic, Business Meals, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

There do not seem to be many non-commerc ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

There do not seem to be many non-commercial-non-mall-restaurant choices to have dinner at before a concert at Merriweather Post Pavilion. We came across Petit Louis down by a little reservoir and the outside seating looked welcoming and quite Parisian. I was able to get a reservation and Open Table points so we stopped in. Overall our experience was very average. The waiter was rushed and overwhelmed by the number of tables he had outside. I also felt the food was EXTREMELY over priced for what it was.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

Dinner with friends at 7:00 pm we have i ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Dinner with friends at 7:00 pm we have in the recent past gone to Roland Park, but wanted the trip. Well worth the drive. More spacious, splendid service, and room makes it quiet.

We will go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

All top notch except for noise level - t ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

All top notch except for noise level - try some structural noise mitication

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was very good and well prepared. Ou ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Food was very good and well prepared.

Our waiter was great. Gave us time and asked before he proceeded.

Tags: Scenic View, Authentic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Terrible service. Slow. Not attentive. D ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Terrible service. Slow. Not attentive. Dessert not fresh.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

Wonderful place to enjoy lunch. The pat ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Wonderful place to enjoy lunch. The patio was perfect!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, the food & wine were excellen ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

As always, the food & wine were excellent. We dined outside, and the only problem was the loud band coming from Clyde's along the lake.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

There were flies all over the inside of ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

There were flies all over the inside of the restaurant which made it difficult to enjoy our meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

Our waiter was a true Frenchman and an a ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Our waiter was a true Frenchman and an absolute delight to converse. His name is Beniot and he made us feel well served on an extremely busy evening!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Waterfront, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I thought the food was fair. The lamb sp ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

I thought the food was fair. The lamb special (lamb belly) was not at all what was expected as the meat was tough and the garnishments rather bland. The Steak Frits was a small steak but very good and a small town would live on the frits. The charcuterie was very good. The Domaine d’Aupilhac “Montpeyroux” 2013 wine by the glass is outstanding but at $15 for a glass of wine that sells for $21 a bottle is usurious. I will give it another go because I think the Foreman-Wolf group does a great job usually.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

The food and service is excellent. The c ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

The food and service is excellent. The chef's specials are always a great choice!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

What a fantastic location and restaurant ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

What a fantastic location and restaurant. I believe it is even better than the original up in Baltimore. Though we did not sit outside, I can certainly imagine using the ample outdoor seating by the lake on a temperate day or night. The inside is cozy, and there's a long comfortable looking bar, a variety of table sizes,a fireplace and private dining room. Our server, whose name I do not recall but whose French accent was a perfect highlight for the evening, was a joy to chat with. His excellent service really was the punctuation on a great evening out.

The food is top notch. My wife (vegetarian, and pregnant so limiting herself on certain foods) and myself (complete omnivore) had no trouble deciding on dishes. The shrimp was expertly cooked, my chicken was fantastic and my wife's salmon was excellent. Our appetizers were also great - whatever the berry compote for the fois gras was, I want them to try to duplicate it on a linzer torte, it was amazing. The only negative I'd say was the 'sides' per dish were very limited, maybe a serving spoonful (if that) of roasted vegetables.

Desert was wonderful and the wine list was also ample, though the by-the-glass might have been a bit small of a menu (if you were to split a bottle with someone though, you'd be all set).

Overall, I can't wait to come back and sit by that fireplace when the weather gets cold. I almost didn't write about it just so I'd keep it to myself.

Tags: Fun, Bar Seating, Waterfront, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Cozy, Romantic, Private Room, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We rarely get to Columbia, but we gather ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

We rarely get to Columbia, but we gathered our family there for an informal birthday dinner. The service was slow and waiters were neither friendly nor helpful. The manager also seemed remote and poorly communicative. Food was all right, but nothing was as good as the Baltimore Petit Louis, which we find delightful no matter how many times we go for brunch, lunch or dinner.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

Have always gone to the Petite Louie in ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Have always gone to the Petite Louie in Roland Park. Nice to see the Columbia restaurant was just as good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As usual an outstanding meal, with impec ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

As usual an outstanding meal, with impeccable service.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I have never had a bad experience at thi ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

I have never had a bad experience at this place. My favorite is the Magret de Canard. It is, honestly, some of the best food I've ever eaten.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely wonderful - my wife and I cel ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Absolutely wonderful - my wife and I celebrated our 21st Wedding Anniversary with our two kids. All of the dishes were fantastic - the salmon and lamb especially. My only regret was not ordering ore of the appetizers!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

The waiter was wonderful with a delightf ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

The waiter was wonderful with a delightful French accent! Onion soup was, as always, fantastic & the special tomato and nectarine salad was fresh & summer!

& a visit to the Comptoir was a perfect end to a perfect meal!

Thanks as always!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was our third visit. Each time we ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

This was our third visit. Each time we have enjoyed the atmosphere, food and service. The food is always fresh and distinctive, although the menu is somewhat limited. If going on a weekend, reservations are highly recommended. We did have a reservation but since it was a weeknight, we really didn't need one. Would highly recommend this restaurant for either casual or romantic dining.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food, excellent service. Had dinn ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Great Food, excellent service. Had dinner outside which was a very pleasant environment.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

When I eat here, I wish the meal would n ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

When I eat here, I wish the meal would never end, or that I will not get full. The food is so good and beautifully plated. This is my husband and my go to place for our anniversary. Last time my meal came out I didn't want to start eating it because it was to beautiful.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent service and food. The quiche ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Excellent service and food. The quiche was light and fluffy and the lemon/olive oil dressing on the side salad was perfect.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our second visit. Waitstaff fr ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

This was our second visit. Waitstaff friendly and helpful but not intrusive. Sommelier very knowledgeable. Eggplant appetizer unique and delicious. Husband had bronzino - loved it. Grilled salmon cooked perfectly and well matched with mustard seed sauce. Will definitely be back.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

The food was excellent and well-served b ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The food was excellent and well-served but the noise level was so ,our that it made it impossible to carry on a conversation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4
value3

Excellent service. Limited menu. Crab m ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Excellent service. Limited menu. Crab meat was spiced which was not mentioned on menu nor by the waiter. No one rushed us to finish as the dining area filled up on Saturday night. Parking was easy to find. Portions were small considering the price of the meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Good food and good service in a nice atm ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Good food and good service in a nice atmosphere. The older waiter with a French accent was especially attentive.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Restaurant weeks' offerings were not rem ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Restaurant weeks' offerings were not remarkable and the $40 fixed price was too high.lamb dish was ok,chocolate dessert was ok, appetizer was good

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.