Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.76mi
  4. Distance: 1.21mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.76mi
  4. Distance: 1.21mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.76mi
  4. Distance: 1.21mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.76mi
  4. Distance: 1.21mi

About Petit Louis – Columbia

Tony Foreman and Cindy Wolf’s classic bistro on the lake in Columbia features rustic fare, an extensive, award winning French wine list & a lively Parisian atmosphere with gorgeous lake views. Outdoor seating is seasonal.

10215 Wincopin Cir
Columbia, MD 21044
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French, Dessert, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday 11:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner:Tuesday - Saturday 5pm - 10pm
Dinner: Sunday 5pm - 9pm
Brunch: Saturday 11:30am-4:30pm & Sunday 10:30am-4:30pm
(COMPTOIR)
Tuesday - Friday 8am
Saturday & Sunday 8am

Cross Street:
Little Patuxent Pkwy

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 964-9999

Website:
http://www.petitlouis.com/

Parking Details:
We are open during construction on Little Patuxent Parkway. Convenient free on-site parking is available in two parking garages and on a surface lot.

Executive Chef:
James Lewandowski

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Every Thursday night guests can raid the wine cellar and enjoy 50% off all full bottle purchases. The extensive wine list pairs perfectly with the menu. Why not try one bottle or two?

Petit Louis – Columbia Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (51)
Special Occasion (51)
Good for a Date (50)
See All
Fit for Foodies (46)
Notable Wine List (44)
Romantic (41)
Authentic (37)
Good for Anniversaries (36)
Quiet Conversation (33)
Good for Birthdays (32)
Neighborhood Gem (30)
Great for Outdoor Dining (28)
Sunday Lunch (24)
Business Meals (24)
Cozy (22)
Creative Cuisine (22)
Worth the Drive (20)
Great for Lunch (20)
Scenic View (18)
Great for Brunch (18)
Good for Groups (16)
Fireplace (12)
Comfort Food (11)
Seasonal (11)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Bar Seating (10)
Private Room (10)
Casual (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Local Ingredients (8)
Afternoon Coffee (8)
People Watching (7)
Afternoon Tea (7)
Happy Hour (6)
Healthy (6)
Outstanding Value (4)
Historic (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Family Style (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Fun (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Tapas (2)
Great Beer (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Organic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
924 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

Service was mixed until they got the pace right... When I complained about the first table we were taken to, I got some attitude; however, once we got past that...it was a good experience. Light appetizers and a wonderful white burgundy was delightful. Great catch up evening with my brother who lives out of town...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

Not our first time there, but this dinner was a bit disappoiting. The duck breast, requested to be medium rare, was served very rare, and the strawberry/rhubarb dessert came out more like a cake than a juicy, savory dessert we were expecting. Also, the service seemed to have gone down hill. With water glasses nearly empty, we had to flag down our waitress to get refills, and she wasn't aware of what the drink of the day was. But still a pleasant evening, just not as good as it has been in the past.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 6 days ago

The only reason I did not give a 5 star was the service was a bit slow and my entrée was not as enjoyable the night we went however I have been before where the service and food were spot on! All in all Petit Louis is a wonderful restaurant with an authentic French feel. They have an excellent sommelier and an extensive wine list. The cheese and charcuterie are beautiful and always enjoyable. If you went just for the French Onion Soup and an Arugula Salad, you would leave happy!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined 7 days ago

It was good but not great. The French Onion Soup was very good but the Shrimp Bisque was fishy. The Steak Frites was a giant plate of french fries with a piece of beef shoved underneath.

The Rainbow Trout was good but nothing memorable and the desserts were good. The best part was the service. We had a French waiter and his accent was heavy. He was a little hard to understand with the noise but he was a very good waiter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 7 days ago

My wife and I had steak and frites. They were excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 18, 2017

We went for lunch and ordered the special omelet which had a great description but which turned out to be average. The regular coffee was strong and delicious. The decaf ordered by my friend was cold and clearly from the bottom of the pot. They did make a new pot and it was improved. The highlight was dessert. We've had chocolate mousse in many places but this one was incredible. The texture and the taste were perfect and it was served surrounded by an orange liqueur for dipping. I would recommend it for coffee and dessert and maybe for a happy hour.

Tags: Happy Hour, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Great restaurant for business lunch! My husband takes clients there all the time. Excellent food...superb service

Tags: Business Meals, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Quick Bite, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 16, 2017

We had an exceptionally wonderful meal and a totally happy evening dining at Petit Louis in Columbia recently. Our experience, until that evening was only with Petit Louis in Baltimore, so we were delighted to find the same French bistrot menu in Columbia. The dishes we ordered were expertly prepared, and the service was excellent. We are looking forward to our next visit with happy anticipation.

Tags: Scenic View, Family Style, Historic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Many good experiences previously, but poor service on Mothers Day. We mentioned to the manager before leaving.

Tags: Business Meals, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 14, 2017

This was my first time at Petite Louis. I took my mom there for mothers day brunch. The food was very tasty and the service was great! I would return.

Tags: Waterfront, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Service was pleasant but quite disorganized. Ordered a bread plate (croissants, etc and not free) right away. Never came. When we were having our meal they finally came by, after we told the server to forget it. Food service slow, even for cappuccino orders. Brought us another table's food initially; when our orders came we had to point out who got what (only 4 of us).
Food was very good, but very disappointed with service and organization.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We really want to love this place, and I almost hate to leave this review. The location is lovely on the water in downtown Columbia. But after many visits, to include some larger family gatherings, it continues to be just OK. When it originally opened in Columbia, it was superb. But at some point, we assume the kitchen staff turned over and/or has become complacent, and the end product is just average. Although menu items sound enticing and creative, execution is not great. This past meal, it seems maybe our food wasn't delivered in a timely fashion, leaving appetizers and entrees dried out (or maybe just overcooked?). And one offering, a crepe with chorizo, was an amateur plate presentation at best. Just wish it could regain its original quality. On another note, service remains solid with friendly, helpful front house staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 13, 2017

A wonderful meal and experience overall! We always love dining there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We've been to Petit Louis many times, but this was the worst service ever. Twenty minutes after sitting down there was no one at the restaurant. We waited over 20 minutes to place our order and we only were able to do so then as I flagged down the maitre d'. Our whole order never came and it felt like service to our table was an after thought. I took my mom to lunch for an early Mother's Day celebration. What a disappointment.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Really enjoyed the service and food! Will be back!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Family Style, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Petit Louis is a favorite restaurant of ours. We have always had consistent, expert service, which is attentive and informative. The food is always excellent and the wine list imaginative and extensive.

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Half price wine night, goodies in the comptoir & my husnands favorite place for the best ever onion soup!

Tags: Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Private Room, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Fantastic French food, expansive wine list, and a lovely view of the lake from the patio. So glad I stopped in for dinner!

Tags: Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 10, 2017

This was my first time at this location, although I've dined at other restaurants in the lakefront area, and had meals at Petit Louis, Roland Park. I was impressed by the lovely interior space, but very happy to be able to eat outdoors on a beautiful day. The food was as wonderful as expected, the service was perfect, and the bakery area topped it all off! The macarons are amazing!

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Always a wonderful time! The food was great! The wines we selected were amazing! There's not a bad bottle on the list.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Superb French food with excellent service. Great for foodies.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 5, 2017

As is usual Tres Magnifique! Sauce on Lamb was otherworldly and wine selection perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Wonderful evening here. Our server, Theron, was knowledgeable attentive professional and friendly. Food excellent! Our 4th time here. A little taste of Paris!

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 29, 2017

My Wife and I eat here at least once a month on our date night and have never been disappointed. The food is always good from the beginning course to dessert. The wait staff are always friendly. The sommelier is also very friendly and knowledgeable. I highly recommend Petit Louis. Slow down, relax, drink good wine, eat good food ! Don't rush yourself !

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The food and service are typically very good. Saturday evening the weather was beautiful and we were able to eat lakeside. The setting enhanced our already outstanding meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Spent 60th birthday celebrating here--simply wonderful as always!

Tags: Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Second time at Petit Louis. Always enjoy the opportunity to dine there. Nice menu, well prepared foods, pleasant atmosphere, wine special on thursdays,... will definitely return.

Tags: Waterfront, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Authentic, Special Occasion, People Watching, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 22, 2017

I don't like leaving negative reviews, however we need this venue in Columbia, and maybe the management might be helped by our comments. On the pro side, our server was very good, as was the wine steward, and even the table help ( table cleared promptly, water glasses filled constantly). We've been here before, and think the layout is great for the genre. However, in the opinion of our party of six, the food is not up to par. For example, the onion soup, at $12 !, is petite compared to a normal sized similar quality one at Mon Ami Gabi in Bethesda which is $10. Also the chicken and steak frites are overpriced comparatively speaking. The duck entree that I had was mediocre at best, with very little accompaniment in the way of sides as described on the menu. When we're paying almost $100 for 2 courses and drinks, we expect more. We'll give this place another chance at a later date and hope they get their act together.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 21, 2017

A meal at Petit Louis is like a trip to France. The food is delicious, with a lot of menu options. It's always a thoroughly enchanting experience, like eating a meal in Paris.

Tags: Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 19, 2017

I wanted a place to take 2 friends for lunch for their respective birthdays. I had not been to this restaurant before, but the location was convenient for all 3 of us and the reviews had been positive. After dining at Petit Louis I too will add positive feed back. We had a lovely lunch and were able to talk without using a raised voice, which, in my mind, is critical to an enjoyable dining experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The omlet du jour was quite amazing - as was the grab lox appetizer and gateau opera dessert The French toast, however was a bit dry. Service left a bit to be desired. Our server, Shakira, was not very attentive and only offered drinks after we had to ask for them. We were served by Shakira on a previous visit about a year ago when she had just started, and hoped her serving skills had improved.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 15, 2017

we found the menu to be uninspiring. Trout Almondine was quite forgettable and the pork loin ran pink juice when cut. The service was functional but inattentive and slow. We won't head back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We had a very good bistro dinner. The quiche lorraine was one of the best I've ever had! A smooth custardy filling and excellent pastry crust. The duck breast was quite well prepared, too. Definite thumbs up for the opera cake and chocolate mousse. Our waiter was Benoit, a charming French fellow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Always a beautiful meal at Le Petit Louis Bistro. We enjoy going there for date nights or with family and friends, and we have a great time!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 14, 2017

I had steak frites. The steak was pretty tough, but the french fries were very good. Also, the desserts were good. This restaurant seems to be lacking something in the quality of food that the one in Roland Park has.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 11, 2017

This was a Tuesday night and service was dismal from the moment we arrived. Waited to be shown to our table, had to send our salmon back as it was over cooked and then we were charged twice on our bill. Asked for water refills three times. As we were leaving, the floors were being wiped for the next day. Very disappointing anniversary dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 11, 2017

TREMENDOUSLY DISAPPOINTING

We have dined approximately 20 times at Petit Louis and Charleston and have only had wonderful experiences. So our latest experience was profoundly disappointing. The only good parts were the ambiance because we sat outside with a lake view and it was a beautiful evening, and the wine we chose with Tony's helpful notes was excellent. The service was atrocious, it took 20 min after being seated for menus to appear, 10 more before our drink order was taken, 25 more to get the drinks, and 10 more before our food order was taken. So more than an hour to order food despite trying to get attention several times along the way. The food was also poor - the salads were overdressed, the stuffed pepper appetizer over cooked and mushy, and the shrimp brochettes overcooked dry and tasteless. Not worth the effort and money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 9, 2017

As usual, the service was top-notch and the food was just so tasty.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Afternoon Coffee, Worth the Drive, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 8, 2017

PLB in Columbia is one of our favorite go-to dinner places. The front-of-the-house is always welcoming, the sommelier is knowledgeable and has never steered us wrong with his suggestions, and the wait staff are attentive but not overly-so. We love the seasonal changes in the menu and look forward to dining outside when the weather gets warmer.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Fireplace, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Wonderful as always! I had the Quiche Lorraine but was dreaming about the short ribs!

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.