About Petit Louis – Columbia

10215 Wincopin Cir
Columbia, MD 21044
View Larger Map

Tony Foreman and Cindy Wolf’s classic bistro on the lake in Columbia features rustic fare, an extensive, award winning French wine list & a lively Parisian atmosphere with gorgeous lake views. Outdoor seating is seasonal.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French, Dessert, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday 11:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner:Tuesday - Saturday 5pm - 10pm
Dinner: Sunday 5pm - 9pm
Brunch: Saturday 11:30am-4:30pm & Sunday 10:30am-4:30pm
(COMPTOIR)
Tuesday - Friday 8am
Saturday & Sunday 8am

Cross Street:
Little Patuxent Pkwy

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 964-9999

Website:
http://www.petitlouis.com/

Entertainment:
Join us every Wednesday night beginning at 6PM for live music, featuring the melodic voice of Alexis Tantau accompanied by guitar, a violinist, and bassist.

Parking Details:
Convenient free on-site parking is available in two parking garages and on a surface lot.

Executive Chef:
James Lewandowski

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Every Thursday night guests can raid the wine cellar and enjoy 50% off all full bottle purchases. The extensive wine list pairs perfectly with the menu. Why not try one bottle or two?

Restaurant Photos

  • Petit Louis – Columbia
Petit Louis – Columbia

Petit Louis – Columbia Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Baltimore Suburbs
Notable Wine List
Baltimore Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Columbia ›

special occasion (82)
fit for foodies (80)
notable wine list (66)
See All
great for outdoor dining (64)
scenic view (59)
romantic (54)
neighborhood gem (48)
great for brunch (41)
great for lunch (40)
good for groups (31)
kid-friendly (6)
hot spot (6)
vibrant bar scene (4)
late-night find (2)
Sort By:
Newest
687 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Petit Louis Never disappoints. Food is g ...

Dined 5 days ago

Petit Louis Never disappoints. Food is great, atmosphere is fantastic and the staff is 1st rate!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved every bit of our Saturday night di ...

Dined 6 days ago

Loved every bit of our Saturday night dinner! Tableside presentation of roasted chicken was as beautiful and delcious as told it would be. Morelles to die for. My mouth is all over again just about it!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I'm glad I found this restaurant. Booked ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

I'm glad I found this restaurant. Booked a reservation for 5PM on Father's Day. We were seated immediately at an outdoor table overlooking the lake. The staff was friendly throughout the entire meal. I ordered the Steak Frites, prepared medium rare, which was delicious. They had an impressive selection of wine, but we decided to pass—I'll try a pairing next time. I will be dining here again. I would also like to try other Foreman Wolf locations.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

As in all Foreman/Wolf restaurants, the ...

vip
Dined on June 18, 2016

As in all Foreman/Wolf restaurants, the food was great, very traditional yet innovative , and a good value. The same can be said for the wine list. We ordered the Roast Chicken Tarragon which was some of the best we ever had including what we had on numerous trips to Europe. It was cooked just right and so large a portion that we had a good amount to take house with us. The shrimp beignets were also excellent. Fried in a very light and tasty. Our profiteroles were huge more than enough for 2 persons. All the portions at Louis are large enough to be shared. The ambience of the dining room is very nice However, it would be good if the restaurant would invoke a dress code because I don't think that shorts and flip-flops are appropriate at a fine dining restaurant like Petit Louis in the evening. On the evening we went, most of the diners in the main dinning room were dressed this way.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We sat outside near the lake in Columbia ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

We sat outside near the lake in Columbia on a beautiful day. The food was delicious, the service was excellent and friendly. The only problem was an occasional jet flying overhead which drown out conversation for a moment or two.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service4

Petit Louis continues to knock it out of ...

vip
Dined on June 17, 2016

Petit Louis continues to knock it out of the park. By far my favorite restaurant in Howard County, and it's not really close now that Bistro Blanc has closed. The food is consistently excellent here, and the service is equally very strong. Drinks are concocted by the awesome Issac at the bar, who might be a wizard masquerading as a bartender. Main courses and appetizers are both equally delicious, and the cheese cart is wonderful. My only complaint is that they don't offer a soufflé for desert.

food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Excellent food, but service was slow. To ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Excellent food, but service was slow. Took a while for our waitress to come to the table and she didn't check back until we were almost done with dinner. Also, slow to get our drinks. Coffee was cold and bitter, it was replaced with hot but still bitter. We left a better tip than we should have.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

The duck confit that I had was outstandi ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

The duck confit that I had was outstanding, as usual. My companions both had steak frite, which they both said was terrific. We also had a delicious side of asparagus, salads, and a fine shrimp/asparagus appetizer to share. Yum!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

My husband and I enjoy eating there. It ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

My husband and I enjoy eating there. It is one of our favorite restaurants.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed a special occasion at Petit L ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

We enjoyed a special occasion at Petit Louis Bistro. The service was exquisite, the meals we ate were delicious, and the atmosphere was informal yet refined. We will definitely return and highly recommend this delightful establishment.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Very nice ambiance but a bit noisy insid ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

Very nice ambiance but a bit noisy inside/at the bar. Once the large, rowdy group got settled in a private room it was much nicer. Impressive wine list and reasonable prices. Food was outstanding and staff were very apologetic about the noise. Will definitely go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

It was a beautiful day for eating outsid ...

Dined on June 9, 2016

It was a beautiful day for eating outside. June day with low humidity and temps in the70's. The Petit Louis restaurants are my favorites in the Baltimore area. The menu is varied with lots of classic French Bistro items. There is a great prix fixe lunch option. Had a nice lunch with a friend. The quiche was good, but the dressing on the green salad was was very salty. I mentioned it to the waitress and she told the chef. I was given a small pastry as an apology. Friend was happy with his meal. Service was excellent with well trained waitstaff. Of course I will be back even though the Baltimore Petit Louis is just down the street from me.

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Dinner with friends

Dined on June 8, 2016

We had hoped to dine outside but the weather was windy and chilly. Table inside was spacious, service was impeccable and the food was delicious. It was quite noisy in the dining area near us which detracted from the normal ambiance here. Looking forward to our next visit so we can dine outside.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5

Very tasty authentic French Brasserie fo ...

vip
Dined on June 7, 2016

Very tasty authentic French Brasserie food

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

anniversary

vip
Dined on June 2, 2016

we chose to sit on the patio; view was mostly restful, although music from an adjacent restaurant was distracting. service was attentive; food (including the red snapper special) was memorable, seasonal, delicious. this is a favorite for special occasions, closer and more casual than Charleston, which is our other birthday/anniversary choice. Wolf/Foreman never disappoints in any location. Alight was superb and half-price!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's All Good!

vip
Dined on June 2, 2016

We sat outside with a lovely view of the lake. Our server was friendly and attentive. We ordered some items to share and our server had everythjng come out at a great pace. We did not feel rushed. Of course, the food was absolutely delicious. We had the branzino special along with the smoked salmon appetizer and asparagus salad that was dressed to perfection. Petit Louis is still my favorite not only because of the great food and ambiance, but you can actually get a reservation withoit being on a 3 month waiting list!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Fantastic Outdoor Dining!

Dined on June 2, 2016

Petit Louis in Columbia has all of the special enjoyment of the original Petit Louis in Roland Park plus one huge improvement- location. We ate outdoors overlooking the lake, a rare opportunity in the Baltimore region. The Columbia location is spacious with the same excellent food and service as Roland Park. The mussels were perfectly cooked, seasoned with fennel and saffron, a different twist on the traditional preparation. Delicious but we would have liked more garlic. The escargot also needed more garlic. The beignets de crevettes were outstanding and demonstrated the chef's creativity. They are a perfect light entree. We had to skip dessert this time but there's nothing better than Petit Louis's profiteroles. We will return just for them!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4

We celebrated our son's graduation with ...

Dined on June 2, 2016

We celebrated our son's graduation with family and friends. All six plates were empty at the end of the meal. The food was delicious, the presentation was exceptional, and the service was top notch. A wonderful evening was had by all.

food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely lunch overlooking the lake in Col ...

vip
Dined on June 2, 2016

Lovely lunch overlooking the lake in Columbia. Great food, service, relaxing ambiance.

food5
ambience5
service4

We had a very nice lunch outdoors. The f ...

vip
Dined on June 1, 2016

We had a very nice lunch outdoors. The food was excellent. A bit pricey for lunch, but worth it for a special treat.

food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Not Wowed

Dined on May 28, 2016

Loved the lake view. We went for brunch and sat outside. The food was good. It was not great. We are foodies, eat out all the time and know how to cook. The quiche was the consistency of creme brulee. Not something we are used to. It may not be wrong, but it did not taste right. All in all everything was fresh and the service wasn't bad. I would go back for cocktails and maybe an appetizer.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time, great experience!

Dined on May 27, 2016

My friends and I went to Petit Louis for the first time. I was very surprised by the quality of service and food. I would definitely recommend. Pricey but what I would expect for what we paid.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

birthday treat

Dined on May 27, 2016

I was treated to lunch for my 70th birthday. Outdoor table, nice lake view. Quiche was excellent, and accompanied by a very nice salad. Wait staff was very personable. And surprise... they brought me a nice dessert on the house as a birthday treat. Overall a most pleasant experience.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Very nice experience, Benoit was an outs ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Very nice experience, Benoit was an outstanding server, very informative. My food could have been warmer, omelette was a cold.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent brunch options. Great pace of ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Excellent brunch options. Great pace of meal, good atmosphere. Prices not too bad.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5

Wonderful service and delicious meal!

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

Wonderful service and delicious meal!

food4
ambience5
service4

Great setting for a French restaurant on ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Great setting for a French restaurant on the lake in Columbia Plenty and easy parking , good restaurant , I'll be back

food5
ambience4
service4
value5

GREAT RESTAURANT WITH OUTSTANDING CHEF

Dined on May 13, 2016

LOVE THIS PLACE, LOCATED ON THE LAKE. WONDERFUL, REFINED FOOD AND GREAT SERVICE.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Perfect Birthday Dinner

Dined on May 12, 2016

Petit Louis was perfect for our birthday dinner. Everything from the appetizer for two to the dessert was delicious. We will be dining at Petit Louis again.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

There was an error that resulted in the ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

There was an error that resulted in the entrée arriving at the table before the appetizer. This was not received well, and does not align with a top level dining experience.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome food, great wine at this neighborhood gem

Dined on May 5, 2016

Petit Louis is a real find. Tucked away on the lake side of the Wincopin Circle area, it is not ostentatious and easily overlooked -- but it is a gem. The food is always exquisite, the wait staff are informed, the sommelier is extremely helpful. The ambiance "feels" like a Parisian bistro, minus the notorious Parisian wait-staff snippiness. The food is unusual and interesting and authentic, from the Chef's specials that will transport you to Ile de France while challenging and intriguing your palate, to wonderful basics like roast chickern or braised lamb. The prices are very reasonable: Incredibly, you can get a mind-expandingly good three-course meal for under $40 (though you can, of course, pay more as well). (P.S. If you're a oenophile, be sure to go on a Thursday, when the entire wine selection is half-price.)

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have dined at Petit Louis in Columbia ...

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

We have dined at Petit Louis in Columbia at least half a dozen times and always have a wonderful experience. This time I tried the chicken confit and it was delicious. Since it is Spring, my husband had the asparagus soup and I had the asparagus salad. Both were superb. You simply cannot go wrong eating at this restaurant!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Great service, beautiful ambiance

Dined on April 30, 2016

Great service, beautiful ambiance

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food

Dined on April 28, 2016

The food was spectacular, pure and simple. The setting lovely.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

We haven't dined here in a while but hav ...

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

We haven't dined here in a while but have to say we thoroughly enjoyed our dinner this time around. The warm frisée salad is to die for!!

food5
ambience5
service5

Our new favorite of the Foreman Wolf res ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

Our new favorite of the Foreman Wolf restaurants! My wife was initially nervous to try French food, but was quickly relieved by how familiar the dishes/ cooking is. Wait staff explained things without being overbearing could be casual or fancy at the same time. Great experience.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The choices are fantastic representation ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

The choices are fantastic representation of french food . the wine list is deep in moderate priced bottles.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

Restaurant is very noisy. Coffee was not ...

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

Restaurant is very noisy. Coffee was not hot--again. This is a chronic issue.Food was delicious!

food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Chef was asleep

Dined on April 14, 2016

Good was cooked to death. Dry. Mushy. Awful tasting. Waiter would. It stop talking or leave us alone

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Duck season! Wabbit season!

Dined on April 10, 2016

The rabbit was fantastic. I can't wait to go again. The problem will be having to decide between the rabbit again or something different. Both desserts I tasted, the chocolate mousse and the creme brulee were wonderful.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.