Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.76mi
  4. Distance: 1.21mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.76mi
  4. Distance: 1.21mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.76mi
  4. Distance: 1.21mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.76mi
  4. Distance: 1.21mi

About Petit Louis – Columbia

Tony Foreman and Cindy Wolf’s classic bistro on the lake in Columbia features rustic fare, an extensive, award winning French wine list & a lively Parisian atmosphere with gorgeous lake views. Outdoor seating is seasonal.

10215 Wincopin Cir
Columbia, MD 21044
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French, Dessert, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday 11:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner:Tuesday - Saturday 5pm - 10pm
Dinner: Sunday 5pm - 9pm
Brunch: Saturday 11:30am-4:30pm & Sunday 10:30am-4:30pm
(COMPTOIR)
Tuesday - Friday 8am
Saturday & Sunday 8am

Cross Street:
Little Patuxent Pkwy

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 964-9999

Website:
http://www.petitlouis.com/

Parking Details:
We are open during construction on Little Patuxent Parkway. Convenient free on-site parking is available in two parking garages and on a surface lot.

Executive Chef:
James Lewandowski

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Every Thursday night guests can raid the wine cellar and enjoy 50% off all full bottle purchases. The extensive wine list pairs perfectly with the menu. Why not try one bottle or two?

Petit Louis – Columbia Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (47)
Special Occasion (46)
Notable Wine List (45)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (44)
Romantic (39)
Fit for Foodies (37)
Authentic (36)
Waterfront (36)
Neighborhood Gem (35)
Good for Birthdays (29)
Sunday Lunch (26)
Quiet Conversation (24)
Cozy (24)
Worth the Drive (23)
Creative Cuisine (22)
Business Meals (19)
Great for Outdoor Dining (18)
Great for Brunch (18)
Great for Lunch (17)
Good for Groups (17)
Private Room (12)
Casual (10)
Seasonal (10)
Afternoon Coffee (9)
Scenic View (9)
Fireplace (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Healthy (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Fun (5)
Afternoon Tea (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
People Watching (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Tapas (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Organic (1)
Family Style (1)
Great Beer (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
S
876 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined a day ago

We always have a great experience here. From the beginning, when we sat at the bar, our bartender Amanda took great care of us and made us two fantastic cocktails. The hostess granted our request for a specific server (French gentlemen who is the absolute best) , food was phenomenal, the sommelier helped choose a spectacular French wine and we enjoyed the entire evening. Will go back soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Wonderful evening celebrating my daughters birthday! Theron, our server, made it extra special. Mussels were excellent as was the creme brûlée!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 3 days ago

Outstanding meals - authentic and very well-prepared. The service is first rate. This is a place to come for a very enjoyable meal with an outstanding selection of wines.

Tags: Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

Having moved away from Baltimore, where the original Petit Louis was a favorite, my Baltimore friend and I discovered that the Columbia P.L. is roughly halfway between B'more and Alexandria, where I now live. Perfect place to catch up, and for a lunch on a Wednesday afternoon, it was quiet enough that we could catch-up. Food is excellent at both locations, but the Columbia restaurant is much bigger and has more items on the menu. Excellent place for a rehearsal dinner or any other group, as there are private dining rooms available. Go!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

The waiter seemed to forget that he was there to serve us, the customers. We had agreed to some package and he presented our bill before he served everything included. We had to ask him for more butter, more coffee, etc. Even though the restaurant was not crowded, he seemed in a hurry to get us out of its dining room.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Absolutely indulgent! My wife and I enjoyed a nice "date night" with our kids off on other adventures. Everything was delicious - the escargot, gravlax and tuna tartare were just right for appetizers. Meanwhile, my wife had the rainbow trout as a main entree, while I enjoyed the salmon - both wonderful. We arrived towards the earlier end of the dinner hour, and were rewarded with a nice table in one of the quieter rooms. And our server was very nice, sincere and attentive. A great experience, and we will happily return later.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Waterfront, Private Room, Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Fantastic! !! From beet salad to seared scallops with mushrooms to roasted salmon w incredible Brussels sprouts to the drinks and FINALLY THE CHOCOLATE MOUSSE. Gastronomic heaven. One of the top 10 meals we've ever had, well above Season's 52 across the street. A must try!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Enjoyed a lovely dinner with my daughter. Excellent service and food. We will be back again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Historic, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Very nice! Good food and wonderful service. Unique menu.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We had SUCH a great experience. The entire team at Petit Louis went out of their way to provide exceptional service to us for a very special occasion. Thank you to the manager with whom I spoke the day before our reservation for recommendations on making this experience special, Benoit for his amazing service and kindness to my homesick sister-in-law (she's French and he took such care in making her feel at home), and the lady who greeted us as well as bade us goodbye with a bag of baked goods.

I love this restaurant and will be back!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 11, 2017

I would say overall it was okay. I have dined there 3 times before and had a better experience. It lacked that feeling that you were well taken care of and thought the piece of rockfish was small for a dinner entree.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We're regulars at Petit Loius and simply love everything about it.

Tags: Disabled Access, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Afternoon Coffee, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Family Style, Afternoon Tea, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Romantic, Cozy, Great Beer, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Everything was so delicious!! Benoit, our server, was so delightful. The wine list, all French, is extensive with something delicious in all price points. We started with a glass of sparking rosé, perfect for Saturday Brunch. Can't wait to sit on the patio when the weather warms up!

Tags: Seasonal, Casual, People Watching, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Afternoon Coffee, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 10, 2017

My wife and I had a rare, kid-free evening planned. Dinner and a comedy show. Petit Louis was the perfect start to a great evening. The food was outstanding, especially given it was a Friday in Lent - many great options. The mussels apatizer was one of the best we've ever had.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Had a really nice time.
Tina the bartender is a gem, personable while also being very knowledgeable.

Tags: Romantic, Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Our second experience at Petit Louis was just a good as the first. Glad we returned for a birthday celebration with a small family group. Service was outstanding but it was not crowded so that helped. We will return.

Tags: Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Business Meals, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Delicious food and very attentive staff... we had a lovely anniversary brunch tucked into a quiet corner with a view of the lake. Already planning to visit again.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Scenic View, Disabled Access, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We were very pleased with the food and beverages. Our waiter Benoit, was very knowledgeable and pleasant; he adds a touch of authenticity.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We had an exceptional experience at this restaurant. The environment, the service, the wine, the food were just perfect. The restaurant is well suited for a quick drink at the bar or an elaborate dinner.

Tags: Fireplace, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Paleo Friendly, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 4, 2017

This was our first visit to Petit Louis and it was excellent. I tried their cocktail special and will forever be a fan. Our appetizers, main course, and desserts were all excellent. Everything was good! Our server was engaging, knowledgeable, courteous, relaxed, as well as confident. We are already planning our next visit. I would highly recommend Petit Louis for any occasion.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Had a lovely brunch at Petit Louis to treat two friends for their birthdays. Got seated next to the fireplace which was wonderful. Food and service excellent--waiter even took a lovely picture of our party upon requests. While this is not an everyday restaurant for us (a little pricey), it is one we return to for special occasions!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Waterfront, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 3, 2017

So wonderful! First, they accommodated the fact that I was running late after picking up family at airport. Then, the service was attentive but not overbearing. The sommelier recommended a delicious wine that was just the right balance of fruity but not too sweet or dry. Finally, the meal was scrumptious! I do have to say I am not sure about the bleu cheese in the potatoes, but the roasted chicken was tender, juicy, cooked perfectly. The boeuf bourgignon was so tender and delectable! It is really so great to have such a lovely restaurant so close to home!

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 25, 2017

We went to dinner to celebrate a birthday. It was a last-minute choice and we had never been at the Columbia location before. We had a superlative time--everything about our experience was phenomenal. Our server was solicitous and gracious and his description of the menu choices was spot on. The food was authentic and fabulous. This could not have been a better experience. We don't live close by but will be returning happily soon. Thanks to Petit Louis for a wonderful dining experience .

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Authentic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Good service, wonderful presentation and creative dishes. Supportive of community!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Afternoon Coffee, Molecular Gastronomy, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 23, 2017

I love Petit Louie in roland Park and Columbia is just as good. We had a great meal and 1/2 price wine night was really great!

Tags: Comfort Food, Waterfront, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Unfortunately the quality - of food and service - is not as good as the Roland Park location. The bread was different than I remembered and the portions are smaller.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 17, 2017

We were disappointed. Upon arriving, I was very happy to find that the restaurant looked like a real Parisian bistro. Our service, at first, was good and our starters were nice. While we were eating our starters, the hostess seated couples at the tables on either side of us. They were seated so closely, that we couldn't carry on a conversation anymore. The six of us were in a space smaller than my kitchen table. When the waiter was telling them the specials, he was right on top of us. After a long wait, (that I wouldn't have minded if I had been able to talk to my date) our entrees arrived. Both the beef and the lamb were perfectly cooked, tender and moist. However, the dishes were both overly salted. We passed on dessert, because we didn't want to have to sit there with the other couples and wait. I might have understood this better if the restaurant had been very busy or full. It was neither. There were other tables that were never occupied while we were there. There was other floor space that tables could have been located that weren't so intrusive to other diners. I do not plan to return.

Tags: Waterfront, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I love this restaurant, but this time I was disappointed. The special menu that was sent out via email was not the actual menu that they had at the restaurant, which mattered in this case since it was a prix-fixe menu. I don't know if there is a new chef on board as well, as the food was just soaked in butter, and I love butter. I will go back to the restaurant, but only because I've had great meals there before.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Waterfront, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I am no expert on French cuisine...but I love the food at Petit Louis regardless of how it measures up against traditional French fare. I also enjoy the atmosphere...well decorated inside, lakefront not far away outside. I have enjoyed several meals - with good wine recommendations, too - and will continue to go back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Keep the outstanding food an service. Kudos to the bartender for an excellent Martini

Tags: Worth the Drive, Tapas, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Just a wonderful restaurant for get-togethers with friends and family or a romantic date. When a chill is in the air opt for in front of the fireplace. In the summer go with the patio with a view of the lake. The book-length wine list is a gem as is the sommelier. There's a prix fixe menu for lunch for 3 courses for $30 that is wonderful. There's also an adjacent bakery/cafe if you want just a quick sandwich. Parking was not a problem on a weekday.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 13, 2017

My second time at this location. I appreciate that you can get a good meal here without any pretense. The salmon and bronzino were perfectly prepared.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Food was very good. Somewhat overpriced. Wine I ordered was not available but the sommelier brought a recommendation which was very good. Server was quiet but very polite.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Always top notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Petit Louis is always consistently delicious with great service. Wine list is pricey but it has some great wines.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 9, 2017

This was our first visit to Petit Louis Bistro. It was an early dinner on a weekday evening. The host welcomed us and we were seated promptly. Lighting at the table was not as bright as we would have preferred to easily read the menu. Only two other diners were there at the time... so the atmosphere allowed for quiet conversation. Our server that evening was excellent (5 stars). We ordered Quiche Lorraine with a side salad. Serving size was ample however taste-wise was just "OK" (3 stars, the lardon was gristly). We may visit again in a few months and try one of their other menu selections.

Tags: Waterfront, Casual, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 7, 2017

This is a Celiac-friendly restaurant. Their waitstaff are very knowledgeable about every ingredient used in preparation, and are willing to double-check and make any adjustment you would care for (example: French onion soup with no bread layer). There is a clean prep area (not sure if it's always dedicated, but it's cleaned regularly). The food is authentic French but despite that the portions are decent. We have been to the original location in Roland Park and prefer the Columbia one for its atmosphere and better parking situation.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Good traditional French bistro. However, it is on the pricey side. Also, the service is mediocre, and the restaurant is noisy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The service was excellent, we were seated at our table within seconds of giving the hostess our reservation information. The waiter was prompt and took our drink orders quickly - at times he appeared a little rushed. We had the potato and leek soup, the baked chicken and pork loin. My husband loved his chocolate dessert while I very much enjoyed the cherry custard tart. The overall experience was fine except for the long delay between the soup course and receiving our entrees and dessert. One thing that we noticed, there was definitely more attention paid to the wine drinkers than the non-drinkers at the restaurant. The table in front of us had several visits to their table from other members of the staff (maybe the sommelier or manager) while no one asked us if we enjoyed our meal. I would definitely recommend making reservations as there was a number of people waiting for a table when we left at 8:30 pm.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Restaurant week

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.