Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.76mi
  4. Distance: 1.21mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.76mi
  4. Distance: 1.21mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.76mi
  4. Distance: 1.21mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.76mi
  4. Distance: 1.21mi

About Petit Louis – Columbia

Tony Foreman and Cindy Wolf’s classic bistro on the lake in Columbia features rustic fare, an extensive, award winning French wine list & a lively Parisian atmosphere with gorgeous lake views. Outdoor seating is seasonal.

10215 Wincopin Cir
Columbia, MD 21044
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French, Dessert, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday 11:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner:Tuesday - Saturday 5pm - 10pm
Dinner: Sunday 5pm - 9pm
Brunch: Saturday 11:30am-4:30pm & Sunday 10:30am-4:30pm
(COMPTOIR)
Tuesday - Friday 8am
Saturday & Sunday 8am

Cross Street:
Little Patuxent Pkwy

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 964-9999

Website:
http://www.petitlouis.com/

Parking Details:
We are open during construction on Little Patuxent Parkway. Convenient free on-site parking is available in two parking garages and on a surface lot.

Executive Chef:
James Lewandowski

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Every Thursday night guests can raid the wine cellar and enjoy 50% off all full bottle purchases. The extensive wine list pairs perfectly with the menu. Why not try one bottle or two?

Petit Louis – Columbia Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (50)
Special Occasion (47)
Notable Wine List (42)
See All
Fit for Foodies (40)
Good for Anniversaries (39)
Romantic (37)
Waterfront (37)
Authentic (36)
Neighborhood Gem (33)
Quiet Conversation (32)
Good for Birthdays (31)
Sunday Lunch (24)
Worth the Drive (24)
Cozy (24)
Great for Outdoor Dining (24)
Creative Cuisine (22)
Great for Lunch (18)
Good for Groups (18)
Business Meals (18)
Great for Brunch (16)
Private Room (13)
Scenic View (13)
Fireplace (11)
Bar Seating (10)
Seasonal (9)
Afternoon Coffee (9)
Afternoon Tea (8)
Casual (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Healthy (5)
Fun (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
People Watching (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Great Beer (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Tapas (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Family Style (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Historic (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
894 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

A meal at Petit Louis is like a trip to France. The food is delicious, with a lot of menu options. It's always a thoroughly enchanting experience, like eating a meal in Paris.

Tags: Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The omlet du jour was quite amazing - as was the grab lox appetizer and gateau opera dessert The French toast, however was a bit dry. Service left a bit to be desired. Our server, Shakira, was not very attentive and only offered drinks after we had to ask for them. We were served by Shakira on a previous visit about a year ago when she had just started, and hoped her serving skills had improved.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 15, 2017

we found the menu to be uninspiring. Trout Almondine was quite forgettable and the pork loin ran pink juice when cut. The service was functional but inattentive and slow. We won't head back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We had a very good bistro dinner. The quiche lorraine was one of the best I've ever had! A smooth custardy filling and excellent pastry crust. The duck breast was quite well prepared, too. Definite thumbs up for the opera cake and chocolate mousse. Our waiter was Benoit, a charming French fellow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Always a beautiful meal at Le Petit Louis Bistro. We enjoy going there for date nights or with family and friends, and we have a great time!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 14, 2017

I had steak frites. The steak was pretty tough, but the french fries were very good. Also, the desserts were good. This restaurant seems to be lacking something in the quality of food that the one in Roland Park has.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 11, 2017

This was a Tuesday night and service was dismal from the moment we arrived. Waited to be shown to our table, had to send our salmon back as it was over cooked and then we were charged twice on our bill. Asked for water refills three times. As we were leaving, the floors were being wiped for the next day. Very disappointing anniversary dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 11, 2017

TREMENDOUSLY DISAPPOINTING

We have dined approximately 20 times at Petit Louis and Charleston and have only had wonderful experiences. So our latest experience was profoundly disappointing. The only good parts were the ambiance because we sat outside with a lake view and it was a beautiful evening, and the wine we chose with Tony's helpful notes was excellent. The service was atrocious, it took 20 min after being seated for menus to appear, 10 more before our drink order was taken, 25 more to get the drinks, and 10 more before our food order was taken. So more than an hour to order food despite trying to get attention several times along the way. The food was also poor - the salads were overdressed, the stuffed pepper appetizer over cooked and mushy, and the shrimp brochettes overcooked dry and tasteless. Not worth the effort and money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 9, 2017

As usual, the service was top-notch and the food was just so tasty.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Afternoon Coffee, Worth the Drive, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 8, 2017

PLB in Columbia is one of our favorite go-to dinner places. The front-of-the-house is always welcoming, the sommelier is knowledgeable and has never steered us wrong with his suggestions, and the wait staff are attentive but not overly-so. We love the seasonal changes in the menu and look forward to dining outside when the weather gets warmer.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Fireplace, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Wonderful as always! I had the Quiche Lorraine but was dreaming about the short ribs!

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Decent food, in a nice venue, at reasonable prices, with excellent service makes me want to come back, but the food, while well prepared, was very pedestrian...that is bland, without much flavor...and that after all is the reason we went to the restaurant. It's a shame, because Columbia needs something to compete with Iron Bridge.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 5, 2017

This was an amazing experience...we had a great waitress who was there but not pushy. Visited by the Manager who discussed the upcoming menu suggested items and wines. Checked on us (two ladies alone) and everything was excellent.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 2, 2017

This was our first visit to Petit Louis and we enjoyed it very much. The food was all good and our server was very professional but quite pleasant. I didn't think it was a great value for a neighborhood restaurant but not too bad price-wise.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Terrific restaurant. The food was outstanding, as was the service. Classic French bistro menu and decor. I've been to the one in Baltimore too, which is also terrific.

Tags: Fireplace, Good for a Date, Romantic, Business Meals, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Great meal! Our waiter Aaron was great! Great wine recommendation!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Well prepared food, authentic French, knowledgeable staff. Pleasant. Wish closer to Alexandria.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Took a client to Petit Louis and wow - what a memorable meal. Great environment for a good conversation too.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 25, 2017

We always have a great experience here. From the beginning, when we sat at the bar, our bartender Amanda took great care of us and made us two fantastic cocktails. The hostess granted our request for a specific server (French gentlemen who is the absolute best) , food was phenomenal, the sommelier helped choose a spectacular French wine and we enjoyed the entire evening. Will go back soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Wonderful evening celebrating my daughters birthday! Theron, our server, made it extra special. Mussels were excellent as was the creme brûlée!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Outstanding meals - authentic and very well-prepared. The service is first rate. This is a place to come for a very enjoyable meal with an outstanding selection of wines.

Tags: Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Having moved away from Baltimore, where the original Petit Louis was a favorite, my Baltimore friend and I discovered that the Columbia P.L. is roughly halfway between B'more and Alexandria, where I now live. Perfect place to catch up, and for a lunch on a Wednesday afternoon, it was quiet enough that we could catch-up. Food is excellent at both locations, but the Columbia restaurant is much bigger and has more items on the menu. Excellent place for a rehearsal dinner or any other group, as there are private dining rooms available. Go!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 21, 2017

The waiter seemed to forget that he was there to serve us, the customers. We had agreed to some package and he presented our bill before he served everything included. We had to ask him for more butter, more coffee, etc. Even though the restaurant was not crowded, he seemed in a hurry to get us out of its dining room.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Absolutely indulgent! My wife and I enjoyed a nice "date night" with our kids off on other adventures. Everything was delicious - the escargot, gravlax and tuna tartare were just right for appetizers. Meanwhile, my wife had the rainbow trout as a main entree, while I enjoyed the salmon - both wonderful. We arrived towards the earlier end of the dinner hour, and were rewarded with a nice table in one of the quieter rooms. And our server was very nice, sincere and attentive. A great experience, and we will happily return later.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Waterfront, Private Room, Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Fantastic! !! From beet salad to seared scallops with mushrooms to roasted salmon w incredible Brussels sprouts to the drinks and FINALLY THE CHOCOLATE MOUSSE. Gastronomic heaven. One of the top 10 meals we've ever had, well above Season's 52 across the street. A must try!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Enjoyed a lovely dinner with my daughter. Excellent service and food. We will be back again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Historic, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Very nice! Good food and wonderful service. Unique menu.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We had SUCH a great experience. The entire team at Petit Louis went out of their way to provide exceptional service to us for a very special occasion. Thank you to the manager with whom I spoke the day before our reservation for recommendations on making this experience special, Benoit for his amazing service and kindness to my homesick sister-in-law (she's French and he took such care in making her feel at home), and the lady who greeted us as well as bade us goodbye with a bag of baked goods.

I love this restaurant and will be back!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 11, 2017

I would say overall it was okay. I have dined there 3 times before and had a better experience. It lacked that feeling that you were well taken care of and thought the piece of rockfish was small for a dinner entree.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We're regulars at Petit Loius and simply love everything about it.

Tags: Disabled Access, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Afternoon Coffee, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Family Style, Afternoon Tea, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Romantic, Cozy, Great Beer, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Everything was so delicious!! Benoit, our server, was so delightful. The wine list, all French, is extensive with something delicious in all price points. We started with a glass of sparking rosé, perfect for Saturday Brunch. Can't wait to sit on the patio when the weather warms up!

Tags: Seasonal, Casual, People Watching, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Afternoon Coffee, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 10, 2017

My wife and I had a rare, kid-free evening planned. Dinner and a comedy show. Petit Louis was the perfect start to a great evening. The food was outstanding, especially given it was a Friday in Lent - many great options. The mussels apatizer was one of the best we've ever had.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Had a really nice time.
Tina the bartender is a gem, personable while also being very knowledgeable.

Tags: Romantic, Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Our second experience at Petit Louis was just a good as the first. Glad we returned for a birthday celebration with a small family group. Service was outstanding but it was not crowded so that helped. We will return.

Tags: Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Business Meals, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Delicious food and very attentive staff... we had a lovely anniversary brunch tucked into a quiet corner with a view of the lake. Already planning to visit again.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Scenic View, Disabled Access, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We were very pleased with the food and beverages. Our waiter Benoit, was very knowledgeable and pleasant; he adds a touch of authenticity.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We had an exceptional experience at this restaurant. The environment, the service, the wine, the food were just perfect. The restaurant is well suited for a quick drink at the bar or an elaborate dinner.

Tags: Fireplace, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Paleo Friendly, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 4, 2017

This was our first visit to Petit Louis and it was excellent. I tried their cocktail special and will forever be a fan. Our appetizers, main course, and desserts were all excellent. Everything was good! Our server was engaging, knowledgeable, courteous, relaxed, as well as confident. We are already planning our next visit. I would highly recommend Petit Louis for any occasion.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Had a lovely brunch at Petit Louis to treat two friends for their birthdays. Got seated next to the fireplace which was wonderful. Food and service excellent--waiter even took a lovely picture of our party upon requests. While this is not an everyday restaurant for us (a little pricey), it is one we return to for special occasions!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Waterfront, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 3, 2017

So wonderful! First, they accommodated the fact that I was running late after picking up family at airport. Then, the service was attentive but not overbearing. The sommelier recommended a delicious wine that was just the right balance of fruity but not too sweet or dry. Finally, the meal was scrumptious! I do have to say I am not sure about the bleu cheese in the potatoes, but the roasted chicken was tender, juicy, cooked perfectly. The boeuf bourgignon was so tender and delectable! It is really so great to have such a lovely restaurant so close to home!

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.