Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.76mi
  4. Distance: 1.21mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.76mi
  4. Distance: 1.21mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.76mi
  4. Distance: 1.21mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.76mi
  4. Distance: 1.21mi

About Petit Louis – Columbia

Tony Foreman and Cindy Wolf’s classic bistro on the lake in Columbia features rustic fare, an extensive, award winning French wine list & a lively Parisian atmosphere with gorgeous lake views. Outdoor seating is seasonal.

10215 Wincopin Cir
Columbia, MD 21044
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French, Dessert, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday 11:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner:Tuesday - Saturday 5pm - 10pm
Dinner: Sunday 5pm - 9pm
Brunch: Saturday 11:30am-3:30pm & Sunday 10:30am-3:30pm
(COMPTOIR)
Tuesday - Friday 9am
Saturday & Sunday 9am

Cross Street:
Little Patuxent Pkwy

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 964-9999

Website:
http://www.petitlouis.com/

Parking Details:
We are open during construction on Little Patuxent Parkway. Convenient free on-site parking is available in two parking garages and on a surface lot.

Executive Chef:
James Lewandowski

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Every Thursday night guests can raid the wine cellar and enjoy 50% off all full bottle purchases. The extensive wine list pairs perfectly with the menu. Why not try one bottle or two?

Petit Louis – Columbia Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Quiet

91% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (48)
Special Occasion (43)
Waterfront (42)
See All
Romantic (41)
Scenic View (40)
Great for Outdoor Dining (40)
Notable Wine List (39)
Fit for Foodies (35)
Good for Anniversaries (32)
Creative Cuisine (29)
Authentic (28)
Neighborhood Gem (28)
Great for Lunch (26)
Good for Birthdays (25)
Quiet Conversation (21)
Worth the Drive (21)
Great for Brunch (20)
Business Meals (16)
Casual (16)
People Watching (16)
Sunday Lunch (16)
Afternoon Coffee (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Cozy (12)
Local Ingredients (11)
Fun (9)
Seasonal (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Live Music (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
1011 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 6 days ago

The atmosphere was lovely and service was outstanding. Wine was delicious and truly the best French Onion Soup I've ever had!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Afternoon Coffee, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Had the braised lamb with a bottle of Gigondas. Superb.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Rarely does one of Tony Foreman's restaurants disappoint, but our experience at the Columbia Petit Louis was quite lacking. While delightful to be outside with friends, the food was not good. Haricots verts were way overlooked, way over oiled/buttered and so salty they were inedible . Likewise the fish was way overdressed and too salty. The whole meal was disappointing. The lamb special my husband had was again too salty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value2

 
·Dined on September 14, 2017

My only disappointment was old lettuce. I ordered a side salad of Frise lettuce and it was old and bitter. Otherwise, everything else was excellent as usual.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Healthy, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 13, 2017

had a lovely and delicious dinner here recently. sat outside with pretty view of the lake. 3 of us shared 2 appetizers, the beignets de crevettes and the pissaladiere. we enjoyed both. the first reminded me of tempura and the second was not unlike a gourmet pizza on a little puff pastry. for our entree's 2 of us had the duck, which was very tender and wonderful! our other entree was the pork belly and that was delicious, too! shared desserts were very good as well.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 10, 2017

We had six guests in our after-theater dinner party. This was the first time dining at Petit Louis for two of our guests. Our server was very enthusiastic and very French! He gave a feeling of dining in Paris when describing the entrees.

Everyone raved about the cuisine. We had everything from chicken, steak, trout, vegan, salads, soup, appetizers and dessert. There were several comments complimenting the whole experience and saying it was a very good restaurant. Most of these comments were from people who are very well traveled in the U.S.A. and internationally.

As always, I saved half of my meal to "savour" the following day. The dinner was a big hit and everyone said we must come again. An exceptional experience we always look forward to!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Service was all over the place. The wait staff did not seem to notice that we did not have silverware when we sat down and did not seem to be in a hurry to get to it. The men's bathroom was out of paper towels and the toilet paper was all over the floor.

The food was o.k., but not work the prices. Bottle of wine was very good, but a bit too high priced for working folks on a budget.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Everything very good Server was very slow...Sommelier came to the rescue and made up for waiters slow service.

Thank you

Tags: Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
·Dined on August 31, 2017

We tried Petit Louis to celebrate our anniversary. Our waiter, Thilman, was fantastic. He was professional, attentive, personable, kind, friendly, knowledgeable, and helped make the evening special. The restaurant was decorated very beautifully. The food was good. The Creme Brulee was the best I've ever had. The pommes frites were delicious also. It was a nice anniversary dinner. We would come back again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Fun, Romantic, Scenic View, Bar Seating, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Petit Louis Is a pleasant surprise! A very good authentic French menu to choose from. I have never been disappointed and have been there on several occasions. It is a great locale for a business lunch....not too noisy, good food and good service. Al fresco dinning is available if you so desire. I would not hesitate to recommend Petit Louis to my friends or associates.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 25, 2017

We dined al fresco on foie gras, duck breast, cheeses, and Black Forest cake paired with cremant and red Burgundy on Friday evening. Our server, Will, was outstanding. What a beautiful late summer evening!

Tags: Hot Spot, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Fun, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on August 25, 2017

We love sitting outdoors when the weather is nice. It is close to the lake and it is great for people watching! I also love to go there for lunch with friends. My personal favorite is the Beignets et Crevettes. Having been to New Orleans many times, I was surprised to find out that this is like a Tempura dish with shrimp and veggies in a lovely batter with a delicious sauce for $13--terrific for lunch for one. It is also great to share as an appetizer which we did. We both had Steak Frites which we enjoyed. The flatiron steak was tender and it served in a Bernaise sauce--yummy! The frites were good too. We shared a nice bottle of Pinot Blanc. Service was good.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Brunch w Mom

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Great experience! Yummy Steak Frittes for brunch with an option for bottomless mimosas!

Tags: Waterfront, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Afternoon Coffee, Good for a Date, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 15, 2017

3 birthdays

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 12, 2017

As always, the food and the service were suberb. Bon appetit.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Always solid if not mind-blowing. Appreciated the unhurried pace of service. Though puzzled by our server's hard-to-find presence as our meal came to a close. While not high on our list of destination restaurants, good meal nonetheless.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 12, 2017

The atmosphere is a little stilted, but the bartender made good drinks and the food was good.
There were very few people there when we were there, so the energy level was low. They initially forgot our frites, but more than made up for it.

Tags: Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Beignets were fabulous. Chocolate Mousse was outstanding! Service was surperb!

Tags: Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Our server was excellent and his wine recommendations were spot on!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Food is hit or miss. I had this great pepper soup one time. The service is great! I have been for lunch and dinner. Lunch is good if you have the rest of the afternoon off, lol!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Once again, Petit Louis was spot-on with service, food, and ambiance. They accommodated our request to sit outside, the staff was personable and professional, and the food was perfectly prepared.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 5, 2017

This was our second time here. Great food and service is superb but our waitress was just a little aggressive and kind of aloof. It ruins the experience a little, but the food and the speed of service from the runners etc makes up for it. We'll go back I just hope we don't get her again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Reliable, true and unpretentious French. Service was lumpy the day I was there but ....other restaurants covet the table tending skills at PL. This is the only place I've found I could eat in every day

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 30, 2017

We've eaten here several times and at the original location Baltimore. Usually we find the food to be top drawer. Unfortunately, this time the food was extremely disappointing. The french onion soup was excessively sweet, the shrimp ratatouille was flavorless and the quiche was simply too eggy, with stingy amount of bacon which didn't impart much flavor.

I don't know if there's a new chef and he or she hasn't quite settled in yet or what. The menu has changed since our last visit, which is nice. Changing the menu can keep an established restaurant fresh, but I'm afraid the food simply wasn't up to scratch this time.

I know that the Baltimore location has been running for several years and this one for only a couple of years, so I don't know why the food at this location should go down hill so quickly.

There aren't very many top restaurants in Columbia, so we'll probably go back to see if this last visit was an anomaly. Let us hope that it was.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 29, 2017

There were five of us having dinner for a birthday celebration. The wait staff were extremely friendly and knowledgeable. The food was very good and we all enjoyed our meals. The place was a little dark and it was hard to read the menu, but that is my only complaint.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 29, 2017

All around wonderful food, service, and atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Excellent French bistro fair; great wait staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 26, 2017

We ate outside and I got insect bites on my neck. Otherwise it was a perfect anniversary dinner.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 26, 2017

We had been here in the past, on this visit we chanced upon a restaurant week value. We were seated as we had requested. We were a little early as our whole party was not present. We were seated in the bar area and we ordered drinks. When our whole party arrived we all moved to our reserved table. Our server let us know of the restaurant week special menu. We ordered our appetizers and then our main entrees. Our server was very good she keep our drinks refreshed and brought our food out as soon as it was ready. Overall it was a very good night. We will be back in the near future.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Lovely venue. Food was fabulous! Service awesome. Best bloody mary I've had in
a great while! Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 25, 2017

We had wonderful seats overlooking the lake; our waiter was friendly, efficient, and attentive. He was assisted by a young waitress, Rachel, who had waited on one of our guests a few weeks ago, and my friend had the opportunity to tell her how special she made her lunch experience. This was our first return to MD and Columbia after moving to SC, and the experience at Petite Louie made the visit very special.

Tags: Waterfront, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on July 25, 2017

Tasty food, good service, nice ambiance. Wines very overpriced.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Incroyable petit bistrot avec un menu renversant. Excellente expérience de A à Z on y retourne dès que possible!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 20, 2017

We were a party of four , who individually arrived at varied times. Aaron was our waiter and
accommodated the staggered arrivals very well. We enjoyed cocktails and appetizers for 45 minutes and then moved to our table for an exquisite meal. All of our meals, the rack of lamb, salmon, and shrimp were all absolutely delicious. The atmosphere fostered a great evening of camaraderie. Aaron and all the service were terrific. 5* recommendation.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Service and quality seems to be slipping. Service was very slow, especially considering restaurant was nearly empty when we first arrived. Lima beans were much too salty. Taken back and second attempt still salty at least on top layer, but was not asked if it was ok. Burger left out caramelized onions, which is the best part. Didn't notice it until too late to send back, but still pointed it out to waiter. Received an apology. Burger was excellent otherwise. Other items were good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 14, 2017

All the servers looked very busy but I was astonished at how slow the service was compared to how many servers there were! But the food was good.

Tags: Casual, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 14, 2017

The expanded lunch menu offers many good choices. Gravlax appetizer was flavorful and very fresh. The omelet de jour was a wonderful fluffy presentation of perfectly cooked eggs with a variety of mushrooms and ham. The deserts were outstanding, as usual. Only downside was that service was very slow and at times inattentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Food was awesome. Sit outside if you can during nice weather. Very nice atmosphere.

Tags: Authentic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 12, 2017

We appreciate the complimentary champagne for celebrating our anniversary.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.