About Petit Louis – Columbia

10215 Wincopin Cir
Columbia, MD 21044
View Larger Map

Tony Foreman and Cindy Wolf’s classic bistro on the lake in Columbia features rustic fare, an extensive, award winning French wine list & a lively Parisian atmosphere with gorgeous lake views. Outdoor seating is seasonal.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French, Dessert, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday 11:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner:Tuesday - Saturday 5pm - 10pm
Dinner: Sunday 5pm - 9pm
Brunch: Saturday 11:30am-4:30pm & Sunday 10:30am-4:30pm
(COMPTOIR)
Tuesday - Friday 8am
Saturday & Sunday 8am

Cross Street:
Little Patuxent Pkwy

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 964-9999

Website:
http://www.petitlouis.com/

Entertainment:
Join us every Wednesday night beginning at 6PM for live music, featuring the melodic voice of Alexis Tantau accompanied by guitar, a violinist, and bassist.

Parking Details:
Convenient free on-site parking is available in two parking garages and on a surface lot.

Executive Chef:
James Lewandowski

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Every Thursday night guests can raid the wine cellar and enjoy 50% off all full bottle purchases. The extensive wine list pairs perfectly with the menu. Why not try one bottle or two?

Restaurant Photos

  • Petit Louis – Columbia, Columbia, MD
Petit Louis – Columbia, Columbia, MD

Petit Louis – Columbia Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (35)
Fit for Foodies (34)
Notable Wine List (32)
See All
Scenic View (30)
Romantic (22)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Good for a Date (21)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Waterfront (21)
Great for Outdoor Dining (20)
Sunday Lunch (18)
Authentic (18)
Great for Brunch (17)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Great for Lunch (15)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Business Meals (12)
Good for Groups (10)
Private Room (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Worth the Drive (6)
Fun (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Healthy (5)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Casual (4)
Cozy (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Seasonal (4)
Fireplace (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Historic (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Late-night Find (1)
People Watching (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
S
791 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We just love it every time. Wonderful fo ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined 2 days ago

We just love it every time. Wonderful food, accommodating staff, great atmosphere. Our waiter is Benoit, il est magnifique.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As usual at Petit Louis Columbia , the s ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined 2 days ago

As usual at Petit Louis Columbia , the service, food and wine were outstanding. For a special day or for just a night out, Petit Louis is the place to go, and on Thursday, there's the added bonus of 50% off on all wines.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

This was our first trip to Petit Louis, ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 25, 2016

This was our first trip to Petit Louis, and I know nothing about French cuisine except what I've learned from reading Anthony Bourdain. This left me completely at the mercy of the house staff. Fortunately, our server (sadly, I don't remember her name) knew the menu and the wine list very well and made great recommendations for appetizers (the charcuterie), wine (an amazing Bourdeaux), entrees (grilled duck for me, short ribs for my lady friend), and dessert (creme brulee).

The price puts it in the special-occasion category for us, but we'll be back. We had a lovely experience!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great French cuisine!! Highly recommend

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Great French cuisine!! Highly recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

A lovely experience celebrating my birth ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 19, 2016

A lovely experience celebrating my birthday with two other ladies. The French bistro decor made a charming environment. The brunch menu had a great range of options. Our entree choices , shrimp dish, omelette and crepe dish, were well prepared, elegantly presented, and above all delicious. The server was very gracious, warm and accommodating. I was given a boxed gift of a tart as a birthday gift by the restaurant (nice touch). It was a very delightful afternoon. First time visit for the other two guests who raved about the whole dining experience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Waterfront, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Terrific as always, topped off by one o ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Terrific as always, topped off by one of the best desserts I've ever had--a puréed pear concoction with a roasted plum sauce. Sheer perfection!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service, great food

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Great service, great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Super restaurant j'ai vr e été épatée. J ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Super restaurant j'ai vr e été épatée. Je suis française donc bravo aux chefs. Tout était délicieux!

Tags: Idéal pour les fêtes, Menu dégustation, Une occasion spéciale, Idéal pour les anniversaires
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We have been patrons of this restaurant ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 8, 2016

We have been patrons of this restaurant for a long while. We were seated as we requested. Our server took our order and highlighted the specials. We received our food as we had ordered it. The whole evening went very smoothly without any problems. We will be back again.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Our waiter and wine steward were very he ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Our waiter and wine steward were very helpful. The overall effect was a relaxing and delicious dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Will is an outstanding server.

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Will is an outstanding server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Nice restaurant , the food was very goo ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Nice restaurant , the food was very good ,well prepared and presented. Attentive staff.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Quick Bite, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

My numbers said it all! Authentic French ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 29, 2016

My numbers said it all!

Authentic French food!

Amazing service ... top wines!

Tags: Comfort Food, Authentic, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We have always been thrilled with the me ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 27, 2016

We have always been thrilled with the meal and experience. The wine list is incredible, probably the best in Howard County.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Ellegant dining with real french food, f ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Ellegant dining with real french food, french wine, and french waiter. The ambience is authentic and calming. Worth the cost if you are into fine dining.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Authentic, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Location is great - right on the water. ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Location is great - right on the water. Food was good but nothing special. Got French onion soup and expected a rich broth and I thought it was lacking rich flavor. Steak was cooked well and tasty but small for the $29 price tag.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Always enjoy eating here. Superb service ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Always enjoy eating here. Superb service, interesting menu, great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The trout was too dry. Other wise the me ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 21, 2016

The trout was too dry. Other wise the meals had were not too bad.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

I love the consistently good food and th ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 16, 2016

I love the consistently good food and the Roland Park location, but Columbia service has been spotty.

For this occasion, we were celebrating an engagement. The server was polite and friendly, but seemed distracted. The restaurant was less than half full and there were plenty of servers.

She failed to bring the wine in a timely manner which meant that we were left with barely any food left and a new bottle of wine. She forgot to bring butter, even after we asked.

To add insult to injury the server, bus staff, and hostess all tried to remove our plates at different times, without asking, before we had finished - they seemed to have no clue about the rhythm of a meal - weird!

Hoping they can improve the service because the food is better than at most similar Columbia restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Petit Louis was wonderful. Our waiter w ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Petit Louis was wonderful. Our waiter was fantastic

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great brunch on the patio!

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Great brunch on the patio!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was helpful and pleasant, but no ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Service was helpful and pleasant, but not intrusive. Food was well-described and expertly prepared. Very French, in a good way. Recommended.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Grabbed a late night reservation. Was ab ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Grabbed a late night reservation. Was able to hold conversation and enjoy ourselves quite easily. Overall good time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Old friends re-uniting for dinner. I re ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Old friends re-uniting for dinner. I requested a table set apart from the hub-bub and the request was granted -- we were seated at a corner table where we could chat and catch up. The entire dinner experience was terrific. The waiter was knowledgeable and friendly and helpful. The food was outstanding. Foie gras, salad, potatoe soup, duck confit, braised lamb -- all of it was outstanding. Dessert also was fabulous. I highly recommend Petit Louis!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was the second time that my husband ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 14, 2016

This was the second time that my husband and I dined there. This time there were too many mistakes from the kitchen. My husband ordered lamb with vegetables. The first dish the server brought was short ribs. He took it back and brought a plate of only vegetables. The third time he brought out a plate of lamb with NO vegetables. We asked the manager if she could do something for us on our bill, and she took off my husband's meal. I had the vegetable quiche and salad, neither of which were fabulous. All in all, a disappointing evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We had a really nice time. Food was exce ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 14, 2016

We had a really nice time. Food was exceptional as was the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dined for our wedding anniversary. Deli ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Dined for our wedding anniversary. Delicious meal and great service from Theron.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

As per always, the food, service, wine, ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 13, 2016

As per always, the food, service, wine, and ambience was the best. There is no better restaurant in this area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had a great birthday celebration with fr ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Had a great birthday celebration with friends. They all enjoyed it!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our friends and I had a nice time. Altho ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Our friends and I had a nice time. Although this restaurant is near to where we live we had never been there. After this experience, we'll be going again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding meal and service as usual. R ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 5, 2016

Outstanding meal and service as usual. Received excellent explanations of specials, tremendous wine list as well. Our server Theron E was superb, and wine steward gave us excellent recommendation to go with our meals. Petite Louis Bistro is our go-to place for special occasions, and never fails to please! Duck breast was magnificent!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Delightful fine dining. Charcuterie was ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Delightful fine dining. Charcuterie was out of this world. Sommelier was knowledgeable and quite entertaining. I was extremely impressed with everything...hidden gem by the lake!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Really great interaction with the sommel ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Really great interaction with the sommelier. We learned about the finer points of glass selection

The wine list is excellent, and we had a great meal, as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Excellent authentic French cuisine, with ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Excellent authentic French cuisine, with a lakefront setting on a nice day, say for Sunday brunch. Our sommelier Oscar was most knowledgeable and helpful with both the Old Tom barrel-aged gin and a fine moderately priced red blend. Our waiter Benoit was a real hoot, absolutely delightful and caring but not overbearing. Food was all perfectly cooked, run immediately from the kitchen, and beautiful presentations. Pricey for us, but fair, and a real treat for my birthday.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Petit Louis is an amazing place. The foo ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Petit Louis is an amazing place. The food is amazing and so is the service. It can be a very special place to go on a date or something unusual for a business meeting. Only fresh,local produce is used and the chef is very creative. Always a treat for the senses!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Molecular Gastronomy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Lovely Brunch with my best friend. I lov ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Lovely Brunch with my best friend. I loved everything about our meals. We had four courses and it was less than 70$ which was fabulous. I would recommend this place to anyone who has a taste for fine food.

Tags: Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Fireplace, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Historic, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a party of 8 for dinner. Our serv ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 24, 2016

We had a party of 8 for dinner. Our server was attentive, but did not hover or rush us. The food was outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent as always although our server ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Excellent as always although our server was new and has a bit more to learn about the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Very good -will be back

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Very good -will be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

This restaurant thinks it's an upscale r ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 16, 2016

This restaurant thinks it's an upscale restaurant but it hasn't made it yet. Although the mussels were good, the broth was lost in the bottom of a deep bowl instead of mussels swimming in scrumptious fragrant juice . The flank steak was tough. My companion had to discard the first bite because it it was inedible. The béarnaise sauce was too heavy we thought. The wine, at the lower end of the wine list and cost, was a sad choice for our meal AND for the wine list, recommended by the waiter when our choice was unavailable. However the ambience of the restaurant makes it a place to visit if you're in Columbia and want to eat outside on a lovely summer evening.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.