About Petit Louis – Columbia

10215 Wincopin Cir
Columbia, MD 21044
View Larger Map

Tony Foreman and Cindy Wolf’s classic bistro on the lake in Columbia features rustic fare, an extensive, award winning French wine list & a lively Parisian atmosphere with gorgeous lake views. Outdoor seating is seasonal.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French, Dessert, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday 11:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner:Tuesday - Saturday 5pm - 10pm
Dinner: Sunday 5pm - 9pm
Brunch: Saturday 11:30am-4:30pm & Sunday 10:30am-4:30pm
(COMPTOIR)
Tuesday - Friday 8am
Saturday & Sunday 8am

Cross Street:
Little Patuxent Pkwy

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 964-9999

Website:
http://www.petitlouis.com/

Entertainment:
Join us every Wednesday night beginning at 6PM for live music, featuring the melodic voice of Alexis Tantau accompanied by guitar, a violinist, and bassist.

Parking Details:
Convenient free on-site parking is available in two parking garages and on a surface lot.

Executive Chef:
James Lewandowski

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Every Thursday night guests can raid the wine cellar and enjoy 50% off all full bottle purchases. The extensive wine list pairs perfectly with the menu. Why not try one bottle or two?

Restaurant Photos

  • Petit Louis – Columbia
Petit Louis – Columbia

Petit Louis – Columbia Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Baltimore Suburbs
Notable Wine List
Baltimore Suburbs
Outdoor Dining
Baltimore Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Columbia ›

special occasion (89)
great for outdoor dining (84)
fit for foodies (79)
See All
scenic view (70)
notable wine list (65)
romantic (64)
neighborhood gem (50)
great for lunch (46)
great for brunch (45)
good for groups (31)
kid-friendly (7)
vibrant bar scene (5)
hot spot (5)
late-night find (3)
Sort By:
Newest
711 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Each time we're here, we're impressed by ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 4 days ago

Each time we're here, we're impressed by the restaurant's darkness. Adding some pops of light, despite the need for black ceilings, might add nice lift to dining. Otherwise always solid if not exciting dining. Servers are consistently informed, kind and helpful.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Unlike the other venue in Roland Park th ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 5 days ago

Unlike the other venue in Roland Park this venue is extremely loud. It has become more of a touristy, casual dining hot spot than the intimate setting one might expect. The food is also, in comparison to the other venue, rather disappointing in most regards. There are people there in running shorts and tank tops with their young, ill-behaved children - something I would expect (not condone) at a TGI Fridays.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

I don't think the menu at Petit Louis ha ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 5 days ago

I don't think the menu at Petit Louis has changed in10 years. The food was good and prepared well but lacking something. It is in a great area though and has a nice wine selection so,great place to go hangout.

Tags: scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

We went here for brunch on a Saturday, a ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 5 days ago

We went here for brunch on a Saturday, and we got there right when it opened, so it was quiet and not busy yet. We even sat down in the little pastry shop next door until they opened which was more casual than the restaurant but still very nice. All of the staff were super nice and accommodating. Food was delicious; drinks were good. I would definitely go back.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was just ok

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 6 days ago

Food was just ok

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

This place was very warm and charming on ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

This place was very warm and charming on the inside. It is situated in front of a beautiful lake and offered cozy outdoor seating. I chose to eat indoors, but will try the outdoor area in the future. The servers were vary attentive and answered all of our questions. We enjoyed ourselves very much.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We stopped in for late lunch. Pretty out ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We stopped in for late lunch. Pretty outside dining area and great view of the lake. They serve authentic French food and it's delicious. Quiche was superb. Soups and entrees were well presented, tasty and perfectly portioned. Service was a bit off, but the food made up for it.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Well priced French food - not for your d ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Well priced French food - not for your diet, but definitely for your taste buds.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We actually had a wonderful server the n ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We actually had a wonderful server the night we went but I cannot say the same for the other staff. We began with drinks at the bar and it was happy hour and only moderately crowded but they did not seemed prepared to handle although there were many staff waiting around. I notified the staff at the door that I had arrived early for a reservation but they did not seem to pass on the maitre d. When she did come by our table she asked where we would prefer to sit and we replied, so she sat us in the opposite area. Once we were able to order dinner, it took approximately one hour for the food to be served. During that time, I observed the chef come out to speak with staff, and our server did apologize to my mother. It was my mother's 81st birthday and she is a diabetic so it was a good thing we had ordered appetizers when we first arrived.

Each time I have been to this restaurant there is a snob factor that I just don't understand because the food was fine but nothing that pretentious. So now I'm convinced this is not the place to go if you would like to feel pampered, but it is if you want the snob treatment.

Au revoir!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

This place is consistently great. Food, ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

This place is consistently great. Food, service and ambiance great all the way around. Highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant building is very attracti ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The restaurant building is very attractive. The choices of entree are dominated by chicken, and otherwise limited. It is too bad that this restaurant cant be made into the go-to place in Columbia.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

We got there too late for their prix fix ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We got there too late for their prix fixe menu for Bastille Day, and quite of few of the menu items were no longer available (altogether expected since our reservation was for late in the evening), the bartender and our waitress were wonderfully accommodating, inventing and presenting alternatives to our requests. As always it was a festive occasion and reason enough for me to continue to let the French celebrate my birthday.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

It was Bastille Day and my Sister-in-Law ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

It was Bastille Day and my Sister-in-Law's birthday. She's a Francophile and we knew this would be a fun evening for her. We arrived exactly at 7:30, our reserved time and with my 89 year-old Mother-in-law were seated in the adjacent bistro for well over half an hour. "We've got a lot of 7:30 reservations and we're trying to turn the tables." Things were loud and chaotic. It was around 8:10 we were seated, but not assigned a waiter. 15 minutes later, when we asked, a waiter was sent, took drink orders and brought a small basket of whole wheat bread (?) Our hors d'oeuvres were good, but it was 9:10 when I finally questioned why our dinners were taking so long? The waiter said he was waiting for mother in law to finish her food before putting in our order. O.K. The entrees arrived a few minutes later and the food was quite good. As the restaurant emptied out, the service remained less than mediocre, from the wait staff on up. We put on our reservation that it was a birthday celebration and told the staff on arrival. We were told they would provide a little celebration and cake. It did not happen. We went on our way around 10:40 p.m. and when it was pointed out, they gave her 5 bonbons and goodnight. It was a long and dissatisfying experience. Even with the half-priced bottle of wine special that we were told about after we bought our first bottle of wine. "Oh, by the way, bottled wine is half-priced for Bastille day." Maybe another bottle or two might have helped the over-all experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value2

Petit Louis Bistro is such a beautiful r ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Petit Louis Bistro is such a beautiful restaurant - both inside and out. Love that's it's on Lake Kittamaqundi. Enjoy the French atmosphere and food. Service was lovely. Nice place to catch up with a friend.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Enjoyed our luncheon get together. Wait ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Enjoyed our luncheon get together. Waiter needs a bit of work.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

This was our second visit. The first, a ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

This was our second visit. The first, a weekend brunch, was perfect with good food, attentive service and even a tableside chat with the restauranteur. This time we went for dinner and sat outside with a lakeside view -- relaxed and lovely. It was a weeknight and the place was busy but not at capacity. Our waiter, who told us he had been there two months, seemed quite harried. Service overall was not satisfactory. We ordered wine but it turned out they no longer had our choice. Then we ordered s second, more expensive bottle, and it was brought to us but not uncorked for about 10-12 minutes while the waiter served others. We ordered sparkling water, but someone came along and poured (without asking) plain water into our glass, mixing the two.

The menu is pretty basic French cooking, and the food was excellent if a little pedestrian: my friend had salmon and I had steak frites, nicely prepared and served, but slow to arrive. As we were finishing our meal around 9 p.m., new people came to the table next to ours and our young waiter attended them -- telling them about a couple of interesting specials that were not on the menu -- that he forgot to mention to us! It seemed to us that the problem was not the waiter but the management and training of the waiter, who seemed always racing about while other staff stood by. It was a distraction and a disappointment. Because we like the food and the ambiance we likelywill come back and hope that this was a one-time set of screw-ups.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Awesome food spectacular service! The am ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Awesome food spectacular service! The ambiance and beautiful view of the lake makes it even better

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

a far more casual, relaxed and, we belie ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

a far more casual, relaxed and, we believe, pleasant place for dinner than its' city sister. We've been there twice and thoroughly enjoyed it both times. Look forward to going back again.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I must say this restaurant has improved ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

I must say this restaurant has improved greatly since the last time I dined here. The duck confit was perfectly executed. My dates steak was cooked perfectly, well rested, and full of flavor. The desserts were very delicious especially the ice creams. I would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone who enjoys Classic French Cuisine.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Instant transport to Paris. Classic Fren ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Instant transport to Paris. Classic French food very well prepared. Our third visit to Petit Louis for lunch. Again, there were relatively few other diners so we had a quiet, leisurely, two hour lunch.

Curiously, on Open Table, there were no reservations available between noon and about 1:30 but the restaurant was no more than 20% full while we were there.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was not up to the standard we have ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Food was not up to the standard we have come to enjoy from this restaurant. The mussels had to be returned to be cooked thoroughly and our swordfish had an unusual mealy texture. Perhaps this was a one time thing so we will try again.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

We enjoyed a delightful lunch on the pat ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

We enjoyed a delightful lunch on the patio overlooking the lake. It was a perfect day for an excellent French meal. The food and service were perfect. Couldn't ask for more.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Petit Louis Never disappoints. Food is g ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Petit Louis Never disappoints. Food is great, atmosphere is fantastic and the staff is 1st rate!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Loved every bit of our Saturday night di ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Loved every bit of our Saturday night dinner! Tableside presentation of roasted chicken was as beautiful and delcious as told it would be. Morelles to die for. My mouth is all over again just about it!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I'm glad I found this restaurant. Booked ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

I'm glad I found this restaurant. Booked a reservation for 5PM on Father's Day. We were seated immediately at an outdoor table overlooking the lake. The staff was friendly throughout the entire meal. I ordered the Steak Frites, prepared medium rare, which was delicious. They had an impressive selection of wine, but we decided to pass—I'll try a pairing next time.

I will be dining here again. I would also like to try other Foreman Wolf locations.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food outstanding as always consistent ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Food outstanding as always consistent in its excellence.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

As in all Foreman/Wolf restaurants, the ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

As in all Foreman/Wolf restaurants, the food was great, very traditional yet innovative , and a good value. The same can be said for the wine list. We ordered the Roast Chicken Tarragon which was some of the best we ever had including what we had on numerous trips to Europe. It was cooked just right and so large a portion that we had a good amount to take house with us. The shrimp beignets were also excellent. Fried in a very light and tasty. Our profiteroles were huge more than enough for 2 persons. All the portions at Louis are large enough to be shared.

The ambience of the dining room is very nice However, it would be good if the restaurant would invoke a dress code because I don't think that shorts and flip-flops are appropriate at a fine dining restaurant like Petit Louis in the evening. On the evening we went, most of the diners in the main dinning room were dressed this way.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

We sat outside near the lake in Columbia ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We sat outside near the lake in Columbia on a beautiful day. The food was delicious, the service was excellent and friendly. The only problem was an occasional jet flying overhead which drown out conversation for a moment or two.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Petit Louis continues to knock it out of ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Petit Louis continues to knock it out of the park. By far my favorite restaurant in Howard County, and it's not really close now that Bistro Blanc has closed. The food is consistently excellent here, and the service is equally very strong. Drinks are concocted by the awesome Issac at the bar, who might be a wizard masquerading as a bartender. Main courses and appetizers are both equally delicious, and the cheese cart is wonderful. My only complaint is that they don't offer a soufflé for desert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Excellent food, but service was slow. To ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Excellent food, but service was slow. Took a while for our waitress to come to the table and she didn't check back until we were almost done with dinner. Also, slow to get our drinks. Coffee was cold and bitter, it was replaced with hot but still bitter. We left a better tip than we should have.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

The duck confit that I had was outstandi ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

The duck confit that I had was outstanding, as usual. My companions both had steak frite, which they both said was terrific. We also had a delicious side of asparagus, salads, and a fine shrimp/asparagus appetizer to share. Yum!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

My husband and I enjoy eating there. It ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

My husband and I enjoy eating there. It is one of our favorite restaurants.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We enjoyed a special occasion at Petit L ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

We enjoyed a special occasion at Petit Louis Bistro. The service was exquisite, the meals we ate were delicious, and the atmosphere was informal yet refined. We will definitely return and highly recommend this delightful establishment.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice ambiance but a bit noisy insid ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Very nice ambiance but a bit noisy inside/at the bar. Once the large, rowdy group got settled in a private room it was much nicer. Impressive wine list and reasonable prices. Food was outstanding and staff were very apologetic about the noise. Will definitely go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

It was a beautiful day for eating outsid ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

It was a beautiful day for eating outside. June day with low humidity and temps in the70's. The Petit Louis restaurants are my favorites in the Baltimore area.

The menu is varied with lots of classic French Bistro items. There is a great prix fixe lunch option.

Had a nice lunch with a friend. The quiche was good, but the dressing on the green salad was was very salty. I mentioned it to the waitress and she told the chef. I was given a small pastry as an apology. Friend was happy with his meal.

Service was excellent with well trained waitstaff. Of course I will be back even though the Baltimore Petit Louis is just down the street from me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Dinner with friends

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

We had hoped to dine outside but the weather was windy and chilly. Table inside was

spacious, service was impeccable and the food was delicious. It was quite noisy in the dining area near us which detracted from the normal ambiance here. Looking forward to our next visit so we can dine outside.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Very tasty authentic French Brasserie fo ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

Very tasty authentic French Brasserie food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

anniversary

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

we chose to sit on the patio; view was mostly restful, although music from an adjacent restaurant was distracting. service was attentive; food (including the red snapper special) was memorable, seasonal, delicious. this is a favorite for special occasions, closer and more casual than Charleston, which is our other birthday/anniversary choice. Wolf/Foreman never disappoints in any location. Alight was superb and half-price!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It's All Good!

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

We sat outside with a lovely view of the lake. Our server was friendly and attentive. We ordered some items to share and our server had everythjng come out at a great pace. We did not feel rushed. Of course, the food was absolutely delicious. We had the branzino special along with the smoked salmon appetizer and asparagus salad that was dressed to perfection. Petit Louis is still my favorite not only because of the great food and ambiance, but you can actually get a reservation withoit being on a 3 month waiting list!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic Outdoor Dining!

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

Petit Louis in Columbia has all of the special enjoyment of the original Petit Louis in Roland Park plus one huge improvement- location. We ate outdoors overlooking the lake, a rare opportunity in the Baltimore region. The Columbia location is spacious with the same excellent food and service as Roland Park. The mussels were perfectly cooked, seasoned with fennel and saffron, a different twist on the traditional preparation. Delicious but we would have liked more garlic. The escargot also needed more garlic. The beignets de crevettes were outstanding and demonstrated the chef's creativity. They are a perfect light entree. We had to skip dessert this time but there's nothing better than Petit Louis's profiteroles. We will return just for them!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.