About Petit Louis – Columbia

10215 Wincopin Cir
Columbia, MD 21044
View Larger Map

Tony Foreman and Cindy Wolf’s classic bistro on the lake in Columbia features rustic fare, an extensive, award winning French wine list & a lively Parisian atmosphere with gorgeous lake views. Outdoor seating is seasonal.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French, Dessert, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday 11:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner:Tuesday - Saturday 5pm - 10pm
Dinner: Sunday 5pm - 9pm
Brunch: Saturday 11:30am-4:30pm & Sunday 10:30am-4:30pm
(COMPTOIR)
Tuesday - Friday 8am
Saturday & Sunday 8am

Cross Street:
Little Patuxent Pkwy

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 964-9999

Website:
http://www.petitlouis.com/

Entertainment:
Join us every Wednesday night beginning at 6PM for live music, featuring the melodic voice of Alexis Tantau accompanied by guitar, a violinist, and bassist.

Parking Details:
Convenient free on-site parking is available in two parking garages and on a surface lot.

Executive Chef:
James Lewandowski

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Every Thursday night guests can raid the wine cellar and enjoy 50% off all full bottle purchases. The extensive wine list pairs perfectly with the menu. Why not try one bottle or two?

Restaurant Photos

Petit Louis – Columbia Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Baltimore Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Columbia ›

fit for foodies (94)
special occasion (94)
notable wine list (74)
See All
romantic (68)
neighborhood gem (56)
scenic view (53)
great for brunch (49)
great for lunch (44)
great for outdoor dining (40)
good for groups (35)
kid-friendly (9)
hot spot (6)
late-night find (5)
vibrant bar scene (2)
Sort By:
Newest
663 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Very nice experience, Benoit was an outs ...

Dined 4 days ago

Very nice experience, Benoit was an outstanding server, very informative. My food could have been warmer, omelette was a cold.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent brunch options. Great pace of ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Excellent brunch options. Great pace of meal, good atmosphere. Prices not too bad.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5

Wonderful service and delicious meal!

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

Wonderful service and delicious meal!

food4
ambience5
service4

Great setting for a French restaurant on ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Great setting for a French restaurant on the lake in Columbia Plenty and easy parking , good restaurant , I'll be back

food5
ambience4
service4
value5

GREAT RESTAURANT WITH OUTSTANDING CHEF

Dined on May 13, 2016

LOVE THIS PLACE, LOCATED ON THE LAKE. WONDERFUL, REFINED FOOD AND GREAT SERVICE.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Perfect Birthday Dinner

Dined on May 12, 2016

Petit Louis was perfect for our birthday dinner. Everything from the appetizer for two to the dessert was delicious. We will be dining at Petit Louis again.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

There was an error that resulted in the ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

There was an error that resulted in the entrée arriving at the table before the appetizer. This was not received well, and does not align with a top level dining experience.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome food, great wine at this neighborhood gem

Dined on May 5, 2016

Petit Louis is a real find. Tucked away on the lake side of the Wincopin Circle area, it is not ostentatious and easily overlooked -- but it is a gem. The food is always exquisite, the wait staff are informed, the sommelier is extremely helpful. The ambiance "feels" like a Parisian bistro, minus the notorious Parisian wait-staff snippiness. The food is unusual and interesting and authentic, from the Chef's specials that will transport you to Ile de France while challenging and intriguing your palate, to wonderful basics like roast chickern or braised lamb. The prices are very reasonable: Incredibly, you can get a mind-expandingly good three-course meal for under $40 (though you can, of course, pay more as well). (P.S. If you're a oenophile, be sure to go on a Thursday, when the entire wine selection is half-price.)

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have dined at Petit Louis in Columbia ...

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

We have dined at Petit Louis in Columbia at least half a dozen times and always have a wonderful experience. This time I tried the chicken confit and it was delicious. Since it is Spring, my husband had the asparagus soup and I had the asparagus salad. Both were superb. You simply cannot go wrong eating at this restaurant!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Great service, beautiful ambiance

Dined on April 30, 2016

Great service, beautiful ambiance

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food

Dined on April 28, 2016

The food was spectacular, pure and simple. The setting lovely.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

We haven't dined here in a while but hav ...

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

We haven't dined here in a while but have to say we thoroughly enjoyed our dinner this time around. The warm frisée salad is to die for!!

food5
ambience5
service5

Our new favorite of the Foreman Wolf res ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

Our new favorite of the Foreman Wolf restaurants! My wife was initially nervous to try French food, but was quickly relieved by how familiar the dishes/ cooking is. Wait staff explained things without being overbearing could be casual or fancy at the same time. Great experience.

food5
ambience4
service4

Restaurant is very noisy. Coffee was not ...

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

Restaurant is very noisy. Coffee was not hot--again. This is a chronic issue.Food was delicious!

food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Chef was asleep

Dined on April 14, 2016

Good was cooked to death. Dry. Mushy. Awful tasting. Waiter would. It stop talking or leave us alone

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Duck season! Wabbit season!

Dined on April 10, 2016

The rabbit was fantastic. I can't wait to go again. The problem will be having to decide between the rabbit again or something different. Both desserts I tasted, the chocolate mousse and the creme brulee were wonderful.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent meal at the Petite Louis in Columbia, MD

Dined on April 8, 2016

The food is wonderful and the amount is good, not too small and not huge. The Wine list is extraordinary. Don't hesitate to ask for help unless your French is excellent & your knowledge of French wines is extensive. The service is impeccable although every meal is prepared fresh so expect some time in the kitchen. I would recommend to anyone looking for an excellent dining experience and is willing to pay the cost. 3 people with a modest priced bottle of wine , a 3 course dinner, and a 25% tip came to about $190

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3

Wonderful quiche for lunch!

vip
Dined on April 7, 2016

Wonderful quiche for lunch!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As Good as Roland Park Location

Dined on April 1, 2016

I have eaten at the Roland Park location many times and loved it, and had high expectations for the new Columbia location. The food, service, and wine list are all outstanding; they more than met my expectations. I highly recommend both locations for the food, service, and wine list, but the Columbia location has the advantage of more parking and it's on the lake. I think that it would be lovely to sit at one of the outside tables when the weather is nice.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderfully prepared food served with e ...

Dined on March 25, 2016

Wonderfully prepared food served with efficient grace. Highly recommended.

food3
ambience3
service4

Very friendly staff; seemed like everyon ...

vip
Dined on March 25, 2016

Very friendly staff; seemed like everyone was training someone tho; bit off putting. Enjoyed my meal and the happy hour with the bar tender--drink of the week was a nice treat!

food5
ambience5
service4

Awesome duck breast.

Dined on March 23, 2016

Awesome duck breast.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place to entertain a client!

vip
Dined on March 18, 2016

From the warm and personal greeting upon arrival through our departure, everything about Petit Louis exceeds expectations. When I want the certainty that EVERY detail will be perfect when taking a client to lunch this is my go-to place. The staff is impeccable at knowing when a conversation has had a break and when to step in to ask a question, how to pace the service so that the timing is ideal and when to discretely drop the check to me.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

this place is a personal favorite.

Dined on March 17, 2016

Great food, excellent service, and country French ambiance make for an outstanding dining experience. One of Howard County's best restaurants!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a gem!

vip
Dined on March 16, 2016

Petit Louis never fails to delight. The food is just wonderful. So flavorful. I come every couple of months and always thoroughly enjoy the food. The Canard Magret was fantastic. The service is great. I am not much of a cake person and usually think pastries are better to look at than eat but at Petit Louis they are consistently excellent. This is what crust is supposed to be-- a wonderful and integral part of the creation.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Delightful French cafe

vip
Dined on March 12, 2016

Walk into Paris and enjoy a delicious authentic French meal replete with a French-speaking waiter. What a marvelous evening! We'll be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Almost perfect

Dined on March 10, 2016

Everything was perfect except they misplaced my dessert and did not bring it until after we paid. I thought the small cookie with my cappuccino was my small cake, but not. They gave me two and wrapped them up to take home, but I really did want it with my coffee. Not sure how they could have fixed it, maybe some extra desserts, but more than just a little cake in a place so pricey. The food and service otherwise was great. I think it was because like many places we had more than one wait staff serving us.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A dream for your mouth...

Dined on March 9, 2016

I have had the pleasure of dining at Petit Louis four times now. I live in Southern Indiana, but travel to Baltimore once a month or every other month. I can honestly say that I dream about coming back and my mouth waters every time I think about it. I have gotten a different meal each time, and shared food with my dining companions. However, each time I come, I have gotten the warm frisee salad with lardons and the poached egg. This salad almost brings tears to my eyes as it is perfect. If I had to choose only one thing to get ever again at Petit Louis, I would get this salad each and every time. I have had the pleasure of sharing the restaurant with my 21 year old son on one of my trips, and I was able to introduce my new manager to Pettit Louis last week. We had the crepe au poulet and the confit de poulet on our visit last week. The trumpet mushrooms were a delight, and the sauce in the crepe was a warm memory in a bite. I cannot wait till I return to the restaurant again!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great as always

vip
Dined on March 8, 2016

I had lunch the other day at Petit Louis in Columbia, and it couldn't have been better. The manager Nick greeted me and the waitress Julia (I think) was really phenomenal. The service was smooth, and the food was perfectly cooked. Their Salmon salad was refreshing, with perfectly cooked salmon. The eggplant croquettes had an incredible pistou/pesto, highly recommend. As always, Foreman/wolf brands tend to be a cut above the rest.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service4
value4

Shows promise

vip
Dined on March 5, 2016

A great place for lunch with a family friend. The quiche and salad were great choices for both of us; however, as someone told me....watch out with that order. The quiche is cooked ahead and then reheated, and is never warm enough. Exactly what happened to us. Won't order that again and should have listened to the advice before. Tepid food is never a good idea. Restaurant wasn't busy and yet the service was very good. Sometimes that isn't the case.

Tags: neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

I highly recommend the short ribs!

vip
Dined on March 5, 2016

I highly recommend the short ribs!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience

Dined on March 2, 2016

Had a fantastic dinner this past Tuesday evening. I ordered the scallops which were delicious. The service, as always, was the friendliest, most efficient and knowledgeable. The ambiance was perfect for the occasion. We have truly enjoyed each time we've been there. The staff always make us feel welcome and genuinely glad we're there.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We just love this place

vip
Dined on February 28, 2016

We have been here many times and each time we want to come back again. The food is always superb and almost every server we have gotten has known enough about wine to pair with our food for each different part of our meal. Best of all, we always have had great service here . The servers are very nice and always want to make sure we are happy with our meal. We look forward to our next visit

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Food nor service not as good as Baltimore PL

Dined on February 27, 2016

I eat about 5 times a year at Petit Louis Baltimore, and it is always beyond expectations. While the menu at Petit Louis Columbia is essentially the same, and while the restaurant itself is much larger and very, very nice, neither the service nor the food were at the standards of the Baltimore Petit Louis. I was disappointed, and I will likely not go back again. We had one versus several wait staff. She was extraordinarily slow in taking our order even though the place was empty (Saturday afternoon at 1 p.m.), and the food came out lukewarm. The salad was not dressed the delicate way I'm accustomed to it being done in Baltimore ---- just a little vinaigrette. The salad at Petit Louis Columbia contained grated cheese, and it wasn't really cheese either! I recommend those who have never tried Petit Louis Baltimore to check it out.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Good food and large quantity.

Dined on February 24, 2016

We lunched there and had the ham/cheese sandwich. It was huge and delicious. The plate was overflowing with fries. The service was very good. A great time had by all.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service4

Nice window seat with water view. Good s ...

Dined on February 21, 2016

Nice window seat with water view. Good service. Great food. Nice dining experience. Added to my list of favorites.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Enjoyed a wonderful brunch there.

Dined on February 21, 2016

Petite Louie on the Lake is a wonderful place for brunch. Our server was very attentive and the food was delicious. Will return again.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food and spot on service

vip
Dined on February 20, 2016

I love the original Petit Louis, but this location is sometimes more convenient. As always the food was delicious and the service was perfect.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

The food was quite tasty. The onion soup ...

Dined on February 20, 2016

The food was quite tasty. The onion soup was some of the best I’ve experienced. The fromage was appetizing, appealing and flavorful but a bit pretentious. I don't recommend the duck entrée (lacked flavor) but the scallops were delicious. The espresso was disappointing; way too strong and hold the orange. Overall the experience was delightful and fulfilling.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great food

Dined on February 20, 2016

Our whole experience was fantastic until the end. The food was fabulous. We will go back again just for the meal. However there was an issue with our check and instead of handling it himself, our waiter passed it off and we ended up having to wait an extra 15 minutes to get the issue resolved. As we were finally walking out the door they really gave me a bag of some kind of treat. It was tasty but they really should have either given us a discount or given us some kind of discount for a future time.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.