About Peterson's

7690 East 96th Street
Fishers, IN 46038
View Larger Map

Peterson’s is renowned for hand-selected and custom cut steaks, daily fresh seafood, an award winning wine list of over 500 labels, intimate atmosphere and outstanding service.

One of only two Indiana restaurants to receive multiple “Best of Award of Excellence” citations from Wine Spectator, Peterson’s is also one of only two area restaurants listed in every “Best Restaurant” issue published by Indianapolis Monthly dating back to our first year in business.

Peterson’s also caters private dining and group events for parties of up to 150. From business meetings, networking events, and fundraisers, to luncheons, dinners and weddings, our chefs and managers work closely with guest hosts and event planners to personally tailor the perfect hospitality plan.

Restaurateur - Joe Peterson & Family
Executive Chef - Dave Foegley

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: M-TH 5 - 9:30 pm FRI & SAT 5 -10:00 pm

Bar: M-TH 4:30 - 10:00 pm FRI & SAT 4:30 - 10:30 pm

Private Dining: For Groups of 15-150

AGE REQUIREMENT: 21 YEARS OLD


Cross Street:
Hague Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(317) 598-8863

Website:
http://www.petersonsrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Live piano on Thursday nights.

Catering:
Peterson's will cater special events by request. Please contact Daniel Emerson, or Guest Services at 317-598-8863 for information.

Parking Details:
Easy access private parking, just steps from the front door.

Executive Chef:
Dave Foegley

Private Party Facilities:
We accommodate business and private dining groups from 15 to 150 for:
Luncheons, Parties, Rehearsal Dinners, Business Meetings, Cocktail Receptions, Networking Events, Small Weddings and more.

Other service highlights include:

Executive Chef Attention
Pastry Chef Inspired Desserts & Cakes
Sommelier Assistance & Pairing Suggestions
Butler, Buffet & Table Service
Personal Event Coordination
Wireless & AV Access

Private Party Contact:
Daniel Emerson: (317) 598-8863

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Mondays - 1/2 Price Select Bottles of Wine & 1/2 Price Chef Select Oysters
Wednesdays - $5 Pint Nite / Craft Beer on Tap Half Price Steakhouse Sliders
Thursday Night - 3 Course Prix Fixe Menu & Live Piano in the Bar

Specials

Half Price Select Oysters

Mondays from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Beer 'n Burger Nite

Wednesdays from 4:30 PM - 10:30 PM

Half Price Select Bottles of Wine

Mondays from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $40.00

Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Half Price Select Oysters

Mondays from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Details

Half Price Chef Select Oysters every Monday night!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jan 23, 2017 - May 22, 2017 on Mondays from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM.

Beer 'n Burger Nite

Wednesdays from 4:30 PM - 10:30 PM

Details

Enjoy a pint of local craft beer on tap from a rotating selection of the top Midwest microbreweries every Wednesday for just $5!. Enjoy Half Price Steakhouse Sliders. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jan 25, 2017 - May 24, 2017 on Wednesdays from 4:30 PM - 10:30 PM.

Half Price Select Bottles of Wine

Mondays from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Details

Enjoy Half Price Select Bottles of Wine every Monday night!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jan 23, 2017 - May 22, 2017 on Mondays from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM.

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $40.00

Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Details

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $40.00. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jan 26, 2017 - May 25, 2017 on Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM.

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 6:00PM

Peterson's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (51)
Good for Anniversaries (46)
Romantic (41)
See All
Good for a Date (40)
Quiet Conversation (34)
Notable Wine List (27)
Business Meals (23)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Cozy (19)
Bar Seating (15)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Worth the Drive (11)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Casual (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Private Room (6)
Good for Groups (6)
People Watching (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Authentic (3)
Healthy (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Seasonal (3)
Fun (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Organic (1)
Family Style (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Vegan (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1089 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great service and food - would go back a ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 2 days ago

Great service and food - would go back agin.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Gluten Free Options, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My boyfriend and I went for Valentines d ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 5 days ago

My boyfriend and I went for Valentines day. It was very romantic. The staff working were wonderful.They even took a picture for us and put it in a very cute card so we could remember our valentines day.I have already made suggestions for family and friends to come. The food was great! One of the best steaks I've ever had.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went to Peterson's for Valentines Day an ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 5 days ago

Went to Peterson's for Valentines Day and they did not disappoint!! Loved everything! Nice low jazz music. Wasn't loud; didn't hear other people's conversations. Very friendly and attentive staff. Food was fabulous and not over priced. Received a complimentary photo of my husband and I with a card signed by the staff. Very nice touch for the special holiday. We were very delighted with our whole dining experience and we will be back!

Tags: Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, , Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food, and testing service, fan ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 5 days ago

Fantastic food, and testing service, fantastic ambience, great quiet dining. Food is perfectly prepared, steaks were exactly as ordered.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent . Bill was an amazing server!w ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent . Bill was an amazing server!we enjoyed our meal . The crab cakes were amazIng

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Impeccable service. Very knowledgeable w ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 6 days ago

Impeccable service. Very knowledgeable wait staff. Extensive wine seletion. Had bone in fillet medium/rare. Cooked to perfection. Very nice soothing ombiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Server was awesome Table was too small f ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 6 days ago

Server was awesome

Table was too small for the two of us, we felt cramped. I know it seems cozy, but with all the food/drinks, it seemed cramped.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Peterson's will forever be in my heart! ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Peterson's will forever be in my heart! They helped my fiancé make this day very special for me. We were placed in a private booth where the hostess took our picture. I was caught off guard because I've been there before and they never asked for a picture. My fiancé went to the restroom...well I thought but she gave our great waiter an engagement ring to place on a slice of cheesecake!! Thank you Peterson's for making this day memorable for me!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Awful. Lobster tail was served cold and ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Awful. Lobster tail was served cold and

Still raw. Side dish was cold as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Appetizers were great (shrimp wrapped wi ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Appetizers were great (shrimp wrapped with bacon and lobster bisque)

We waited 15 minutes to get our 2 drinks. We waited 30-35 minutes to get our dinner which would've been fine if someone would've just let us know that the kitchen was behind.

We did get comped for our lamb(that was not good) and the manager was very nice and gave us a free cheesecake.

Just really disappointed for Valentine's Day and birthday celebration. I constantly brag about your restaurant and was disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

We will be returning soon, one of the be ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We will be returning soon, one of the best places in Indy to dine.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our first experience here was truly a wo ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Our first experience here was truly a wonderful one. From the atmosphere to the food, everything was more than we had expected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was very good. I mostly like ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Everything was very good. I mostly like that it's unique and not a chain.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

I had dinner here last Friday night, the ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 4, 2017

I had dinner here last Friday night, the service was warm, efficient and friendly, the ambiance was nice and relaxed; however, the food was fabulous and the wine list was great. Dinner was a little expensive but the better things in life do cost a little more.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went during Devour Indy. Our meals we ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 2, 2017

We went during Devour Indy. Our meals were amazing. We loved everything we were served. The crab cake melted in my mouth.

So delicious, definitely recommend.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I dined for Devour Indy. A ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 1, 2017

My wife and I dined for Devour Indy. A great place for a date night. We both had a terrific meal in a very relaxing atmosphere. Service was attentive without being intrusive. I'm sure we'll visit again.

Tags: Private Room, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our waiter was very personable and the f ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Our waiter was very personable and the food was delicious!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding service and a fantastic stea ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Outstanding service and a fantastic steak. Good wine and cocktail selection.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

My wife and I went to Peterson's on a Sa ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 29, 2017

My wife and I went to Peterson's on a Saturday night during a 2-week period where Indianapolis restaurants offer a great meal at a reduced price. We absolutely loved every aspect of the evening. Filet Mignon was outstanding, perfectly cooked.

In our opinion this is the best restaurant in the Indianapolis area.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been here many times. This was m ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 28, 2017

I have been here many times. This was my first time back in a couple of years. Took my fiancée here for her birthday. It's still solid. Food is still good. Our server missed a couple of beats...nothing major. But for the price---you expect 'excellence' and it's not. It's 'good.' 2 People, 1 drink each, 2 apps, 2 filet's, 2 sides...$220 bucks with tip. We enjoyed ourselves...BUT---you can have equal or better food and service these days at Sullivan's or Flemings. Lobster fingers, lobster mac & cheese, pretzel rolls and spreads, mint ice cream over warm brownie all very good. But the steaks---were both over-cooked and weren't 'great' anymore...not sure we'll be back again. Just too many choices of other places doing equal or better for less money.

Tags: People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

We enjoyed a wonderful steak from the De ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We enjoyed a wonderful steak from the Devour Downtown menu. Excellent food and very excellent value.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Restaurant was very busy. The first tabl ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Restaurant was very busy. The first table we were seated at was near the door and the cold blast of air each time the door opened was not good. We were moved and the rest of the evening went pretty well. The steak was very good but not great. Based on pricing of the same wine we drink at other places, their wine prices were marked up too much.

We like this place but not as much as we used to.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Overall fine experience for its category ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Overall fine experience for its category, Peterson's impressed us with its semiprivate booths and friendly attentive staff. The filet was just good, and the roasted chicken pan jus was seasoned and cooked perfectly. The mixed cocktails were made liberally. However, my desert wine pairing was mediocre. Our waitress offered to change it before I took my first sip. They didn't have the wine I requested from the menu, so their sommelier got creative and sent what had a nose and taste of raisin quinine. That's not good. I doubt it would pair well with skittle-filled peeps covered in bitter chocolate.

Where we sat was slightly imposed when a group of what I can only presume were influenced businessmen sharply increased the decibel level of their conversation. Was this beyond Peterson's control?

Overall, we enjoyed our dinner and experience. My date was happy. And I had quality time with someone I love.

Tags: Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Given a gift certificate to Peterson's f ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Given a gift certificate to Peterson's from son-in-law who recommended we be seated in the bar. Wife ordered Center Cut Filet Mignon and I had the Sea Food Special which was Swordfish. She said she has never had such a delicious "melt in your mouth" perfectly cooked (Medium Rare). I love Fresh Sea Food, but it is very difficult to find in Indianapolis area. The preparation was one of the best I have ever had, and that includes the fish I have had while in Florida, and other Island catch, where you can See the Sea. Wedge salad was the best we have had, as was the Calamari which was highly flashed, with an amazing marinated slaw!. Not only has Peterson's moved to the top of our favorite dinning list,,,,but the Son-in-law has moved up as well :)

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never disappoints. Tonight filet Oscar S ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Never disappoints. Tonight filet Oscar Style and Bar Harbor mussels were excellent. Service as always excellent as well. A friendly cozy atmosphere. Our favorite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Due to a possible ice storm the restaura ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Due to a possible ice storm the restaurant was not super busy. Food was excellent and Sergio, our waiter, was very attentive.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food and service. Peterson's Never ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Great food and service. Peterson's Never disappoints. Great place for work dinner or a great local night out with friends.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Always a pleasure for an wonderful getaw ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Always a pleasure for an wonderful getaway. The initial approach was a tad bit lengthy, but was well worth the wait. :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Had always wanted to come dine there sin ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Had always wanted to come dine there since they were in their old location. Requested my husband take for our date night. Had a wonderful night with friends. Enjoyed our meals, and service was great. Will definitely be returning.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food is always good at Petersons. Steak ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Food is always good at Petersons. Steaks we had were very good; oysters on the half shell not so much.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

We have been fans of Peterson's for over ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We have been fans of Peterson's for over 10 years. Service is always outstanding and menu options are exceptional. Valet parking is a nice option for the holidays and cold weather. There are many good restaurants in this price range, but proximity to the northeast side and I-69 provides easy access for folks in the Geist area.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Seating near fron entrance was drafty bu ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Seating near fron entrance was drafty but not enough to deter returning. Our waiter was superb and did not rush us through our meal.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The staff was extremely courteous and pr ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The staff was extremely courteous and professional. Very friendly, and constantly working very hard to serve. Great job there. The place is nice, modern, and clean. The food... the steaks were great - among the best I have ever had. The side dishes were marginal at best. We had a cream style corn that was OK, but it was runny. The mashed potatoes are really more of a crushed style, and bland at that. The appetizers are limited. My wife had the shrimp, and found it to be far below similar priced restaurants. I had a salad, and had to resort to a Caesar due to a lack of choice of palatable dressings. It was OK - but I expected it to be better than a common Olive Garden salad - it wasn't. Overall, it was just OK, and I expected a good bit better with the cost.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value1

Great food great service however a littl ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great food great service however a little pricey for what you get

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

No coordination among multiple servers c ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 31, 2016

No coordination among multiple servers causing serial interruptions for the same issue. Couscous was overcooked. Not a good selection of proseco.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

The evening was great appetizers were wo ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The evening was great appetizers were wonderful. Wife ordered medium rare filet and I ordered a medium filet encrusted with blue cheese. Mine came medium rare hers came medium. They took them back with the intent of scraping off the blue cheese and putting it on the medium one. Instead they refired the medium one and made it well done. It was my birthday so I just ate it well done because I did not want to make a scene. The side dishes were very luke warm and they did not take those back. Overall they should have just started over. Chef Ramsey would have had a fit!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Love Peterson's and how they go above an ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Love Peterson's and how they go above and beyond to make your special occasion extra memorable. Food is always amazing and so is the service. Top dollar prices, but very good for a once in a while special occasion.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Order was incorrect, had to ask to have ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Order was incorrect, had to ask to have dishes removed, food just ok. Have visited several time but the quality and service have slipped

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Petersons is known for its steaks. Howev ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Petersons is known for its steaks. However, in my humble opinion, Petersons not only has the best steak offerings in the city, but it also offers the best seafood in the city. Whether you're in the mood for a good ribeye, fish, or crab legs, you cannot go wrong here. I've gone to Petersons 15-20 times over the past 10 years, & unlike most kitchens, they simply don't have "off" nights. From appetizers to the main dishes, to side dishes and desserts, they have it covered. Oh, they also have a premier wine & cocktail selection. Petersons is EASILY in the top 5 of the Indianapolis area restaurants, & depending on your personal taste, could be the very best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Celebrated our wedding anniversary here ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Celebrated our wedding anniversary here for the second consecutive year. There's a very good chance that we will continue this tradition in addition to looking for new special occasions.

Tags: Seasonal, Business Meals, Private Room, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.