About Peterson's

7690 East 96th Street
Fishers, IN 46038
View Larger Map

Peterson’s is renowned for hand-selected and custom cut steaks, daily fresh seafood, an award winning wine list of over 500 labels, intimate atmosphere and outstanding service.

One of only two Indiana restaurants to receive multiple “Best of Award of Excellence” citations from Wine Spectator, Peterson’s is also one of only two area restaurants listed in every “Best Restaurant” issue published by Indianapolis Monthly dating back to our first year in business.

Peterson’s also caters private dining and group events for parties of up to 150. From business meetings, networking events, and fundraisers, to luncheons, dinners and weddings, our chefs and managers work closely with guest hosts and event planners to personally tailor the perfect hospitality plan.

Restaurateur - Joe Peterson & Family
Executive Chef - Dave Foegley

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: M-TH 5 - 9:30 pm FRI & SAT 5 -10:00 pm

Bar: M-TH 4:30 - 10:00 pm FRI & SAT 4:30 - 10:30 pm

Private Dining: For Groups of 15-150

AGE REQUIREMENT: 21 YEARS OLD


Cross Street:
Hague Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(317) 598-8863

Website:
http://www.petersonsrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Live piano on Thursday nights.

Catering:
Peterson's will cater special events by request. Please contact Tiffany Kryder, or Guest Services at 317-598-8863 for information.

Parking Details:
Easy access private parking, just steps from the front door.

Executive Chef:
Ricky Hatfield

Private Party Facilities:
We accommodate business and private dining groups from 15 to 150 for:
Luncheons, Parties, Rehearsal Dinners, Business Meetings, Cocktail Receptions, Networking Events, Small Weddings and more.

Other service highlights include:

Executive Chef Attention
Pastry Chef Inspired Desserts & Cakes
Sommelier Assistance & Pairing Suggestions
Butler, Buffet & Table Service
Personal Event Coordination
Wireless & AV Access

Private Party Contact:
Tiffany Kryder: 317-598-8863x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Mondays - 1/2 Price Bottles of Wine & 1/2 Price Oysters
Tuesdays - $8 Martinis
Wednesdays - $5 Pint Nite / Craft Beer on Tap
Thursday Night - 1/2 Price Bar Appetizers & Live Piano in the Bar

Restaurant Photos

  • Double Porterhouse of Lamb
  • Bacon Wrapped Shrimp
  • Filet Mignon
Double Porterhouse of Lamb
Bacon Wrapped Shrimp
Filet Mignon

Specials

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $40.00

Mondays - Saturdays from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Half Price Oysters

Mondays from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Half Price Bottles of Wine

Mondays from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Wednesday is $5 Pint Night!

Wednesdays from 4:30 PM - 10:30 PM

Half Price Bar Appetizers every Thursday

Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

1,000-Point Tables

Specials

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $40.00

Mondays - Saturdays from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Details

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $40.00. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Sep 19, 2016 - Oct 1, 2016 on Mondays - Saturdays from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM.

Half Price Oysters

Mondays from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Details

Half Price Chef Select Oysters every Monday night!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Sep 19, 2016 - Dec 26, 2016 on Mondays from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM.

Half Price Bottles of Wine

Mondays from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Details

Enjoy Half Price Bottles of Wine ($75 Max. Value) every Monday night!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Sep 19, 2016 - Dec 26, 2016 on Mondays from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM.

Wednesday is $5 Pint Night!

Wednesdays from 4:30 PM - 10:30 PM

Details

Enjoy a pint of local craft beer on tap from a rotating selection of the top Midwest microbreweries every Wednesday for just $5!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Sep 21, 2016 - Dec 28, 2016 on Wednesdays from 4:30 PM - 10:30 PM.

Half Price Bar Appetizers every Thursday

Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

Try one of our amazing bar appetizers for half price every Thursday night! Choose from Steakhouse Sliders, Portabello Fries and much, much, more!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Sep 15, 2016 - Dec 29, 2016 on Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 6:00PM

Peterson's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Indiana
Romantic
Indiana
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Indiana
4 More
Notable Wine List
Indianapolis
Romantic
Indianapolis
Special Occasion
Indianapolis
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Indianapolis
Best Restaurants in Fishers ›

Special Occasion (61)
Romantic (44)
Notable Wine List (39)
See All
Fit for Foodies (16)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Good for a Date (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Worth the Drive (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Private Room (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Authentic (3)
Fun (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Business Meals (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Cozy (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Casual (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Healthy (1)
People Watching (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sort By:
Newest
948 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

It had been a long time since I had been ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined 4 days ago

It had been a long time since I had been at Peterson's as our last experience had just been so-so.

I was very impressed and would definitely return again. The crab cake and the chocolate pot-de-crème were my favorite!

Tags: Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Our meal was wonderful! Peterson's is o ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined 4 days ago

Our meal was wonderful! Peterson's is one of our favorite restaurants by far!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Authentic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellently prepared food - even created ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined 6 days ago

Excellently prepared food - even created an appetizer from one of the side dishes for me - the service is superior and friendly - took time with us - never felt rushed.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Peterson's is a very good steak house th ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined 6 days ago

Peterson's is a very good steak house that is changing to a more customer friendly restaurant. I would like to give them another half point just for that!

We arrived around 5:30 and found a convenient parking spot just outside the entrance in their private lot. Once seated, it did take about 15 minutes for our waiter to show up, but after that initial wait, service improved significantly.

Ah, but the food was worth the wait! After an amuse bouche of ceviched salmon on a crisp cracker, we were brought a bread course. These came with butter and cheddar butter. I appreciate that the butter is spreadable.

I ordered the Maryland Crab Cake. Excellent! It had a fresh taste and had bits of celery to add a crunch to the tender crab. Some spices, but nothing too strong to mask the crab flavor.

My wife ordered the Maine lobster bisque. In the description it denotes lump Maine lobster. Unfortunately, there was very little actual lobster lumped into the bowl. The flavor was good, but if you say there should be lumps of lobster, then you should check your dish before bringing it out. 

We both ordered the 6 oz beef tenderloin filet. Very nicely prepared and served on a plate that didn't come with a burn warning. They let the steaks rest so that the juice doesn't rush out when you first slice into the meat (which you are asked to do at the time the steak is served to check that it is cooked properly.)

One of the improvements at Peterson's is that they now include side dishes with the steak instead of gouging you for shareable a la carte servings. The Peterson plate comes with their signature mashed potatoes and a side of garden fresh roasted carrots and squash medley. The veggies are sprinkled with tarragon to add an herbal taste to compliment the savory roasted flavors.

For dessert, my wife went with the creme brulee while I opted for the Cheesecake with blueberry compote. The desserts were okay, but not the spectacular culmination we hoped for on a nice evening dining out.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

The food was simply incredible. Though i ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

The food was simply incredible. Though it runs on the pricier side, we would most definitely come back. The wine list was also very extensive, and on Mondays with the half price bottle special, you really can't beat it! Our server was helpful, knowledgeable, and very timely on our courses.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, great service. We will ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Excellent food, great service. We will ceratinly return. Thank you

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great steaks and service. Everyone enjoy ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Great steaks and service. Everyone enjoyed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was excellent, we were greeted p ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Service was excellent, we were greeted promptly and even made changes to our reservations in which Peterson's gladly accommodated!! Service at our table was also outstanding, (2) lovely individuals took care of us and the food was wonderful - as always!! Another great experience...

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very disappointing..steak over done and ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Very disappointing..steak over done and had to ask a busser to bring out our ordered sides.. Lobster fingers good, lobster bisque good. Had to ask for bread twice. Just not up to our expectations especially for the money...Marco's cheap meat nite much better... Sorry.. Hoping for more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Good as usual. Service was great steaks ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Good as usual. Service was great steaks were perfect

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was quite good but very expensive. ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Food was quite good but very expensive. Dinner and wine for two was $350. Everything is ala cart.

Tags: Romantic, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Amazing food and great wine selection.

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Amazing food and great wine selection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had dinner there and the food and ser ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

We had dinner there and the food and service were perfect. The steaks were the best we had had in years. The service was attentive without being overbearing. I highly recommend Peterson's for the best steak in town.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I asked for a quiet table and they gave ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

I asked for a quiet table and they gave the best in the house! Everything about this experience was first rate - period! It could not have been better in any regard.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Christina and I had wanted to try Peters ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Christina and I had wanted to try Peterson's for some time and finally we made it. Why did we wait so long!!! As stated above, every aspect of the evening was suburb. The only reason I gave the Ambiance 4 stars was because of the birthday party that came halfway through our meal. A bevy of 9 ladies who were just having a grand time. They gat a bit loud but that was expected. We were made to feel like family! We will certainly return and enjoy! I enjoyed a rather large ribeye and Christina the beef cheeks. The lobster fingers were outstanding as well as the bacon wrapped shrimp. Our best to Daniel, Benjamin, Emily and Bill for a wonderful evening!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Outstanding experience. Top shelf in all ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Outstanding experience. Top shelf in all aspects of fine dinning. If you like steak.....this is a must ! Outstanding service and don't forget to use the on-line open table reservations. A+

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

What a wonderful experience! We were ce ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

What a wonderful experience! We were celebrating our anniversary and were treated "royally".

The food, wine and our "private" table were terrific. Our server, Noel, was quite knowledgeable about your wines and food. She also was very considerate.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Private Room, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Healthy, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love Peterson's! The food was excelle ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

We love Peterson's! The food was excellent and service was outstanding. We will request a different table our next visit as the booth was very uncomfortable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

food was awesome !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

food was awesome !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had lovely evening with excellent ser ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

We had lovely evening with excellent service in a tasteful and elegant setting. The pretzel rolls will make you break your diet. Two of us ordered the filet and it was outstanding. The spinach salad was a little too oily for my taste, but nice and fresh. We enjoyed the mashed potato and creamed corn side dishes. The special was red snapper, which was properly cooked but a little bland- hence the 4 star rating. We indulged in the brownie dessert. It was worth every calorie. We would be very happy to dine here in the future.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We were delighted by the service and the ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

We were delighted by the service and the seafood entrees that we chose were delicious!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Horrible experience. Had high expectati ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Horrible experience. Had high expectations based on word of mouth. We must have caught them on a bad night. At our table for 15 minutes before even being greeted. Had a salad 1 hour after being seated. Steak was dry and had no taste. Shrimp cocktail was weak. The whole time I was wishing I was at Ruth Chris or Flemings. Was there to celebrate a wedding anniversary. Bad decision.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

We like Peterson's because it's close to ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We like Peterson's because it's close to where we live and we don't have to fight the traffic to go to a nice restaurant. We also like the adult atmosphere.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to Peterson's to celebrate our d ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We went to Peterson's to celebrate our daughters 21st birthday. We had a great experience as usual. We sat in the bar, Kyle is so wonderful! Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We hadn't been in a couple years. Tried ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

We hadn't been in a couple years. Tried again, great experience. Food and service were excellent. Glad we went back to try again. Recommend the Prime Rib... Also crab cake is the real deal.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Th e prime rib eggrolls were amazing.

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Th e prime rib eggrolls were amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We celebrated our 19th anniversary here ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

We celebrated our 19th anniversary here and it couldn't have been any better. Food and service was excellent. Keep doing what you do Peterson's! A+ across the board!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Both food and service were perfect. Men ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Both food and service were perfect. Menu description of steak temperature are accurate so order what you want and be prepared for a real treat...best steaks in town.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We sat in the bar. The staff was very at ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We sat in the bar. The staff was very attentive and friendly. The food was very good. We ate early so there wasn't much of a crowd yet. We will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always one of our favorites for great wi ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Always one of our favorites for great wine and steak!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Peterson's was great as always. We had t ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Peterson's was great as always. We had the scallops, prime rib and oysters and all was wonderful.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value1

Great food. Appetizer menu was outstand ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Great food. Appetizer menu was outstanding. Waitress was very efficient and friendly. Somewhat pricey, but made for a great evening.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Best steak house hands down, would like ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Best steak house hands down, would like to see more fish selections

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Peterson's is always a favorite but the ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Peterson's is always a favorite but the half price scotch and the excellent service made this visit a truly memorable one.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meal and service for a special occ ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Great meal and service for a special occasion (48th Anniversary). Not inexpensive but comparable or less than many of the top end restaurants and less than many of the "steak houses". The staff knew of our anniversary through Open Table and everyone greeted us warmly with congratulations. Our server and the wine steward were great.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Peterson's delivers consistently high qu ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Peterson's delivers consistently high quality of food and service. They offer a strong wine selection and full bar, but limited offering of beer. This is an excellent location for special occasions, romantic dinners, or business dinner for small groups (4-6 persons). There is a private dining room for larger groups.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very long wait for our food. Finally ask ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Very long wait for our food. Finally ask for our bill because it was 20 minutes after we ordered it and still didn't have it. They ended up bringing it (no charge) still had to wait on my bill...I was over it I wanted out! Our table was by the entrance to kitchen VERY loud not to mention the couple beside us was fighting . Loud using the F*** word free flowing (lack of intelligence for a better word I guess) Our food was good... But a long wait

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4
value3

Whad a spectacular dinner. The food was ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Whad a spectacular dinner. The food was woderful and the service was incredible.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

average food for high price waitor did n ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

average food for high price waitor did not come back and ask for additional drink orders

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

First bad experience here. It took the ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

First bad experience here. It took the server too long to greet us once we were seated. Then it took over 25 minutes for our appetizers and bread to come out. My steak was overcooked and I sent it back. The presentation of the side dishes was not good. I don't think we we'll be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.