About Peterson's

Peterson’s is renowned for hand-selected and custom cut steaks, daily fresh seafood, an award winning wine list of over 500 labels, intimate atmosphere and outstanding service.

One of only two Indiana restaurants to receive multiple “Best of Award of Excellence” citations from Wine Spectator, Peterson’s is also one of only two area restaurants listed in every “Best Restaurant” issue published by Indianapolis Monthly dating back to our first year in business.

Peterson’s also caters private dining and group events for parties of up to 150. From business meetings, networking events, and fundraisers, to luncheons, dinners and weddings, our chefs and managers work closely with guest hosts and event planners to personally tailor the perfect hospitality plan.

Restaurateur - Joe Peterson & Family
Executive Chef - Dave Foegley

7690 East 96th Street
Fishers, IN 46038
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: M-TH 5 - 9:30 pm FRI & SAT 5 -10:00 pm

Bar: M-TH 4:30 - 10:00 pm FRI & SAT 4:30 - 10:30 pm

Private Dining: For Groups of 15-150

AGE REQUIREMENT: 21 YEARS OLD


Cross Street:
Hague Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(317) 598-8863

Website:
http://www.petersonsrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Live piano on Thursday nights.

Catering:
Peterson's will cater special events by request. Please contact Daniel Emerson, or Guest Services at 317-598-8863 for information.

Parking Details:
Easy access private parking, just steps from the front door.

Executive Chef:
Dave Foegley

Private Party Facilities:
We accommodate business and private dining groups from 15 to 150 for:
Luncheons, Parties, Rehearsal Dinners, Business Meetings, Cocktail Receptions, Networking Events, Small Weddings and more.

Other service highlights include:

Executive Chef Attention
Pastry Chef Inspired Desserts & Cakes
Sommelier Assistance & Pairing Suggestions
Butler, Buffet & Table Service
Personal Event Coordination
Wireless & AV Access

Private Party Contact:
Daniel Emerson: (317) 598-8863

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Mondays - 1/2 Price Select Bottles of Wine & 1/2 Price Chef Select Oysters
Wednesdays - $5 Pint Nite / Craft Beer on Tap Half Price Steakhouse Sliders
Thursday Night - 3 Course Prix Fixe Menu & Live Piano in the Bar

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 6:00PM

Peterson's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (65)
Romantic (52)
Good for Anniversaries (47)
See All
Good for a Date (46)
Quiet Conversation (36)
Notable Wine List (33)
Cozy (25)
Business Meals (23)
Good for Birthdays (23)
Worth the Drive (18)
Bar Seating (17)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Modern Decor (10)
Private Room (10)
Happy Hour (8)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Casual (4)
Healthy (4)
Authentic (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Seasonal (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Hot Spot (3)
People Watching (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Fun (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Family Style (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Great Beer (2)
Organic (2)
Great for Lunch (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Historic (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
1133 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 20, 2017

My husband and I often have dinner at Peterson's for special occasions and are ALWAYS pleased with the quiet ambiance, tasty food and outstanding service. The waiters and staff make you feel so special and welcomed. We especially like to support locally-owned establishments like Peterson's and appreciate that it is rooted in our community!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Always perfect. Thank you, James, for your wine recommendation and being mindful of our desire to have a quiet, relaxing and intimate conversation.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 15, 2017

We went here to celebrate our 46th wedding anniversary. I have no criticisms to offer. The food, service, environment was great. We thought the prices were good for the quality of food we were served. Our server was very friendly and made sure all our needs were met. We will be coming back even for non-special occasions.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Overall it was a nice time. Not my first time going but first time getting chilled seafood platter. The food was great, however for the price more should be on the platter. We received 2 oysters, 2 jumbo shrimp, 1 crab leg split in half and a cup of crab meat. For 36.00 the platter is pretty scarce, nonetheless, the seafood we received was great and our waiter was attentive. I would recommend restaurant, however go to Mitchell's in Carmel for seafood as they have better pricing to match the amount of food you get.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Too bad.. we're long time patrons to a fine restaurant.
After having a reservation for a month we arrived on time and we're offered a high top in the bar. Steak was good
Scallops we're ok, risotto was salty and almost cold.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 13, 2017

My husband has been working out of state for awhile. With our 30th anniversary coming up, I decided to drive to visit him. I Googled restaurants and found Peterson's. I'm very glad I did!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 12, 2017

The food, service, and surroundings are first class. A very nice experience.

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Outstanding as always. Peterson always goes above and beyond in service and quality.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 5, 2017

My wife and I went to Peterson's for our anniversary, and had an amazing time. We arrived early and got a drink at the bar before being seated. When the table was ready, the host came over and let us know. James was our server, he was great. Very friendly and helpful with picking out our wine. We had Cakebread cellars sauvignon blanc. The T-bone on special and the NY strip steak were both outstanding. We highly recommend the prime rib egg rolls for an appetizer and the lobster mac and cheese for a side. Then, saving room for dessert, we ordered a french press coffee and she had the brownie with ice cream and I had the creme brulee. It was a much needed date night and we had a great time.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly, Notable Wine List, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Organic, Private Room, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 1, 2017

I've eaten my share of filets mignon, and the filet at Peterson's, hands down, is the best filet mignon I've had in my entire life. Bravo!!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 28, 2017

First time visit loved it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Ambiance, food and service is impecable. I use this restaurant on a regular basis with my wofe for special occasion and for business meals; simple outstanding

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Celebrating a anniversary. Had a wonderful booth tucked in the corner. Steaks were prepared as ordered. Crab cake was delicious. Nice wine list. Very friendly staff. Had to ask for drink refills. Would definitely go back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Organic, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Excellent food, impeccable service. One of the best upscale steakhouses we've been to. Will look forward to our next visit.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 21, 2017

The BEST experience we've had dining out in a long time. Staff was friendly, service was great... and food was amazing! There was nothing to NOT love from start to finish. We were even treaed with a complimentary cheesecake for our Anniversary... and it was the best! Can't say enough good things about our visit, but THANKS!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Seating was near front entrance and noisy. Food was good, but over priced for what you get.

Service was very good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 21, 2017

The food, service, seating and ambiance were excellent. Noelle was superb in her considerate and timely service. The fact that you provided several pictures of our experience dining at Petersons at no charge on the ocassion of our 40th wedding anniversary was a much appreciated and unexpected professional touch. We thoroughly relished the experience. The cuisine and wines were greatly enjoyed!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 21, 2017

We drove from Muncie to dine here. I love the aura of dinner clubs from the 60s. The food was wonderful and the service the same. Certainly a place for any quiet, special occasion. Will return once again.

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Fantastic food and great atmosphere to take a client for dinner! Well done!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Food was fantastic. The double cut filet was by far the best steak I have ever had. Our server, Bill, recommended a great cocktail called "The Roundabout." It was phenomenal. Bill was a great server and took excellent care of us. It was our first trip to Peterson's and we will definitely be going back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Romantic, Private Room, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 4, 2017

My wife and I enjoyed a wondeful anniversary dinner. Great food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 1, 2017

A very special place to go for a delicious meal - great for special occasion. Service is the best and the food "yum"

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 31, 2017

We always enjoy our evenings at Petersons. It is a bit out of our way but the food and service are always very good. Steaks are as good or better than any of the fine steakhouses in town. Nice thing about Petersons is they have such a good mix of steak and seafood entrees.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 31, 2017

We love Peterson's - food, atmosphere, service - all are top notch and consistent.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Private Room, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 30, 2017

We celebrated our 10 year anniversary. Nice start to the meal, but got loud quickly. Food was ok, service was exceptional, and the staff was amazing. We will be back for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Fantastic food, very accommodating staff, excellent service. The atmosphere was outstanding.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 25, 2017

My husband and I have always wanted to go to Peterson's. And since we had a special occasion to celebrate, we thought we would "splurge". We knew Peterson's was expensive and that is the only reason we have never eaten there. The experience was nice, but the food was not worth the money. Nothing to necessarily complain about. But for the price, the food was not outstanding for the price you are paying.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 24, 2017

We started our meal with cocktails and the prime rib egg rolls. I really enjoyed one of their signature martinis, the "Ruben". We enjoyed the scallops and crab cake entrees. They were out of the wine that we ordered, but the wine steward recommended a great substitute. Service and atmosphere were both great. Peterson's took our picture and gave it to us as well as providing a dessert to take home. We had dined here when they first opened, and were very disappointed. This experience makes us want to return again.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Fun, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Absolutely the best steak I've ever eaten with a beautiful ambiance to go with it. I would definitely recommend Peterson's and will be dining there again!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Food was way overpriced for the amount and quality. Signature cocktail was not good for a classy restaurant. Sadly, our favorite parts of the meal were the bread and truffles when paying our bill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Meal was very good! Service was great! They Even took a picture of us and all the waiters and waitresses signed the frame they put it in.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We celebrated our anniversary, service was great! The food was good, they even took our photo and provided a complimentary dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 4, 2017

In my opinion, prime rib had too much salt. Probably a fluke , they are generally considered to be a really good restaurant in Indianapolis.
A different person in our party had lamb shank which was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 1, 2017

This was our 1st visit (Tuesday 2/28/17) to Peterson's but certainly not our last. The 4 of us each had a steak...1 Filet, 2 Filets Oscar Style and 1 boneless NY strip...and all were excellent and cooked perfectly. Loved that the GM came to our table as our meal was being served to ensure the steaks were prepared to our liking. Make sure to get the au gratin potatoes...best ever. The crab Mac & Cheese was loaded with crab meat.
The main dining room was crowded and rather noisy from a large group so the staff graciously moved us to a more suitable table.
Certainly on par or better with Morton's or Ruth 's Chris. All staff was friendly, engaging and personable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Service would have been 5 stars as well, but our table was the only one not asked if we were celebrating anything. It was our anniversary dinner!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Service wonderful. oysters outstanding, salad bland, mac and cheese ok but potatoes half cooked and no taste, spinach fair. On the whole your vegetables need a lot of work and my blue cheese wedge salad was very very bland for the price

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Peterson's can always be counted for a delicious meal. It is fairly close quarters in there so be prepared to here everyone else's conversations but that's not unusual. Peterson's is pricey so be prepared for that too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 25, 2017

The bowl of clam chowder was the best my husband's ever had, but they didn't give him much of it. My prime rib was excellent! They took our picture and provided a lovely desert since we were celebrating our anniversary. It was a great evening!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Silly expensive but I've concluded that it is part of the aura of the steak houses Can't be good if it isn't expensive -- and it is a choice to go there. Peterson's is my favorite of the steak houses for a variety of reason but mostly the service level.

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 22, 2017

The last two visit I have had to send my filet back to be prepared and cooked to the right temperature

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.