About Peterson's

Peterson’s is renowned for hand-selected and custom cut steaks, daily fresh seafood, an award winning wine list of over 500 labels, intimate atmosphere and outstanding service.

One of only two Indiana restaurants to receive multiple “Best of Award of Excellence” citations from Wine Spectator, Peterson’s is also one of only two area restaurants listed in every “Best Restaurant” issue published by Indianapolis Monthly dating back to our first year in business.

Peterson’s also caters private dining and group events for parties of up to 150. From business meetings, networking events, and fundraisers, to luncheons, dinners and weddings, our chefs and managers work closely with guest hosts and event planners to personally tailor the perfect hospitality plan.

Restaurateur - Joe Peterson & Family
Executive Chef - Dave Foegley

7690 East 96th Street
Fishers, IN 46038
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: M-TH 5 - 9:30 pm FRI & SAT 5 -10:00 pm

Bar: M-TH 4:30 - 10:00 pm FRI & SAT 4:30 - 10:30 pm

Private Dining: For Groups of 15-150

AGE REQUIREMENT: 21 YEARS OLD


Cross Street:
Hague Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(317) 598-8863

Website:
http://www.petersonsrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Live piano on Thursday nights.

Catering:
Peterson's will cater special events by request. Please contact Daniel Emerson, or Guest Services at 317-598-8863 for information.

Parking Details:
Easy access private parking, just steps from the front door.

Executive Chef:
Dave Foegley

Private Party Facilities:
We accommodate business and private dining groups from 15 to 150 for:
Luncheons, Parties, Rehearsal Dinners, Business Meetings, Cocktail Receptions, Networking Events, Small Weddings and more.

Other service highlights include:

Executive Chef Attention
Pastry Chef Inspired Desserts & Cakes
Sommelier Assistance & Pairing Suggestions
Butler, Buffet & Table Service
Personal Event Coordination
Wireless & AV Access

Private Party Contact:
Daniel Emerson: (317) 598-8863

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Mondays - 1/2 Price Select Bottles of Wine & 1/2 Price Chef Select Oysters
Wednesdays - $5 Pint Nite / Craft Beer on Tap Half Price Steakhouse Sliders
Thursday Night - 3 Course Prix Fixe Menu & Live Piano in the Bar

Specials

Half Price Select Oysters

Mondays from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Beer 'n Burger Nite

Wednesdays from 4:30 PM - 10:30 PM

Half Price Select Bottles of Wine

Mondays from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $40.00

Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Half Price Select Oysters

Mondays from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Details

Half Price Chef Select Oysters every Monday night!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jan 23, 2017 - May 22, 2017 on Mondays from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM.

Beer 'n Burger Nite

Wednesdays from 4:30 PM - 10:30 PM

Details

Enjoy a pint of local craft beer on tap from a rotating selection of the top Midwest microbreweries every Wednesday for just $5!. Enjoy Half Price Steakhouse Sliders. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jan 25, 2017 - May 24, 2017 on Wednesdays from 4:30 PM - 10:30 PM.

Half Price Select Bottles of Wine

Mondays from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Details

Enjoy Half Price Select Bottles of Wine every Monday night!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jan 23, 2017 - May 22, 2017 on Mondays from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM.

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $40.00

Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Details

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $40.00. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jan 26, 2017 - May 25, 2017 on Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM.

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 6:00PM

Peterson's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (58)
Romantic (50)
Good for Anniversaries (47)
See All
Good for a Date (44)
Quiet Conversation (32)
Notable Wine List (30)
Business Meals (29)
Good for Birthdays (22)
Cozy (21)
Bar Seating (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Worth the Drive (11)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Private Room (7)
Modern Decor (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Casual (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Comfort Food (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
People Watching (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Authentic (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Seasonal (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Fun (2)
Healthy (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Great for Lunch (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Vegan (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Family Style (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
1106 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 3 days ago

Fantastic food, very accommodating staff, excellent service. The atmosphere was outstanding.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined 4 days ago

My husband and I have always wanted to go to Peterson's. And since we had a special occasion to celebrate, we thought we would "splurge". We knew Peterson's was expensive and that is the only reason we have never eaten there. The experience was nice, but the food was not worth the money. Nothing to necessarily complain about. But for the price, the food was not outstanding for the price you are paying.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Food was way overpriced for the amount and quality. Signature cocktail was not good for a classy restaurant. Sadly, our favorite parts of the meal were the bread and truffles when paying our bill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Meal was very good! Service was great! They Even took a picture of us and all the waiters and waitresses signed the frame they put it in.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We celebrated our anniversary, service was great! The food was good, they even took our photo and provided a complimentary dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 4, 2017

In my opinion, prime rib had too much salt. Probably a fluke , they are generally considered to be a really good restaurant in Indianapolis.
A different person in our party had lamb shank which was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 1, 2017

This was our 1st visit (Tuesday 2/28/17) to Peterson's but certainly not our last. The 4 of us each had a steak...1 Filet, 2 Filets Oscar Style and 1 boneless NY strip...and all were excellent and cooked perfectly. Loved that the GM came to our table as our meal was being served to ensure the steaks were prepared to our liking. Make sure to get the au gratin potatoes...best ever. The crab Mac & Cheese was loaded with crab meat.
The main dining room was crowded and rather noisy from a large group so the staff graciously moved us to a more suitable table.
Certainly on par or better with Morton's or Ruth 's Chris. All staff was friendly, engaging and personable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Service would have been 5 stars as well, but our table was the only one not asked if we were celebrating anything. It was our anniversary dinner!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Service wonderful. oysters outstanding, salad bland, mac and cheese ok but potatoes half cooked and no taste, spinach fair. On the whole your vegetables need a lot of work and my blue cheese wedge salad was very very bland for the price

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Peterson's can always be counted for a delicious meal. It is fairly close quarters in there so be prepared to here everyone else's conversations but that's not unusual. Peterson's is pricey so be prepared for that too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 25, 2017

The bowl of clam chowder was the best my husband's ever had, but they didn't give him much of it. My prime rib was excellent! They took our picture and provided a lovely desert since we were celebrating our anniversary. It was a great evening!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Silly expensive but I've concluded that it is part of the aura of the steak houses Can't be good if it isn't expensive -- and it is a choice to go there. Peterson's is my favorite of the steak houses for a variety of reason but mostly the service level.

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 22, 2017

The last two visit I have had to send my filet back to be prepared and cooked to the right temperature

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Peterson's is our "go to" restaurant for the greater Fishers area. Perfect for business meals and special occasions (with spouse or over age 21 family members). Food, beverages and service are spectacular.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Two of the past three visits to this restaurant have been disappointing. In November, my daughter and I invited a special friend. Two of the three entrees were overcooked (fish). Neither were eaten yet server didn't ask why. During my visit earlier this week, I ordered a filet medium well. It was clearly undercooked (rare in the middle). I sent it back three (3) times. I didn't eat my steak or baked potato (which was less than warm when my steak arrived after the 3rd time returning). Server didn't ask why. The manager also knew I was dissatisfied yet never checked back in after he took my steak back the 2nd and 3rd time. For a bill that was over $100, that's simply not acceptable. I support local restaurants and try to make a point of sending friends / colleagues to do the same. I can't do so when I can't hang my hat on quality for a restaurant at this price point.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We were seated about 10 after our reservation time but that was ok since we were able to sit in the lounge and talk. The food was wonderful. The only "issue" we had was that more than once our waiter mentioned being tipped and we found that a bit tacky...but obviously we still tipped.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Great service and food - would go back agin.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Gluten Free Options, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 15, 2017

My boyfriend and I went for Valentines day. It was very romantic. The staff working were wonderful.They even took a picture for us and put it in a very cute card so we could remember our valentines day.I have already made suggestions for family and friends to come. The food was great! One of the best steaks I've ever had.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Went to Peterson's for Valentines Day and they did not disappoint!! Loved everything! Nice low jazz music. Wasn't loud; didn't hear other people's conversations. Very friendly and attentive staff. Food was fabulous and not over priced. Received a complimentary photo of my husband and I with a card signed by the staff. Very nice touch for the special holiday. We were very delighted with our whole dining experience and we will be back!

Tags: Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Fantastic food, and testing service, fantastic ambience, great quiet dining. Food is perfectly prepared, steaks were exactly as ordered.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Excellent . Bill was an amazing server!we enjoyed our meal . The crab cakes were amazIng

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Food was amazing and I'm really hoping that they keep the Chilean Sea Bass on the menu! Service was really slow and Our first waiter left for the evening and didn't even say anything.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Impeccable service. Very knowledgeable wait staff. Extensive wine seletion. Had bone in fillet medium/rare. Cooked to perfection. Very nice soothing ombiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Server was awesome
Table was too small for the two of us, we felt cramped. I know it seems cozy, but with all the food/drinks, it seemed cramped.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Peterson's will forever be in my heart! They helped my fiancé make this day very special for me. We were placed in a private booth where the hostess took our picture. I was caught off guard because I've been there before and they never asked for a picture. My fiancé went to the restroom...well I thought but she gave our great waiter an engagement ring to place on a slice of cheesecake!! Thank you Peterson's for making this day memorable for me!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Awful. Lobster tail was served cold and
Still raw. Side dish was cold as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Appetizers were great (shrimp wrapped with bacon and lobster bisque)
We waited 15 minutes to get our 2 drinks. We waited 30-35 minutes to get our dinner which would've been fine if someone would've just let us know that the kitchen was behind.

We did get comped for our lamb(that was not good) and the manager was very nice and gave us a free cheesecake.

Just really disappointed for Valentine's Day and birthday celebration. I constantly brag about your restaurant and was disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We will be returning soon, one of the best places in Indy to dine.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Our first experience here was truly a wonderful one. From the atmosphere to the food, everything was more than we had expected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Everything was very good. I mostly like that it's unique and not a chain.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 4, 2017

I had dinner here last Friday night, the service was warm, efficient and friendly, the ambiance was nice and relaxed; however, the food was fabulous and the wine list was great. Dinner was a little expensive but the better things in life do cost a little more.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 2, 2017

We went during Devour Indy. Our meals were amazing. We loved everything we were served. The crab cake melted in my mouth.
So delicious, definitely recommend.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 1, 2017

My wife and I dined for Devour Indy. A great place for a date night. We both had a terrific meal in a very relaxing atmosphere. Service was attentive without being intrusive. I'm sure we'll visit again.

Tags: Private Room, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Our waiter was very personable and the food was delicious!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Outstanding service and a fantastic steak. Good wine and cocktail selection.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 29, 2017

My wife and I went to Peterson's on a Saturday night during a 2-week period where Indianapolis restaurants offer a great meal at a reduced price. We absolutely loved every aspect of the evening. Filet Mignon was outstanding, perfectly cooked.

In our opinion this is the best restaurant in the Indianapolis area.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 28, 2017

I have been here many times. This was my first time back in a couple of years. Took my fiancée here for her birthday. It's still solid. Food is still good. Our server missed a couple of beats...nothing major. But for the price---you expect 'excellence' and it's not. It's 'good.' 2 People, 1 drink each, 2 apps, 2 filet's, 2 sides...$220 bucks with tip. We enjoyed ourselves...BUT---you can have equal or better food and service these days at Sullivan's or Flemings. Lobster fingers, lobster mac & cheese, pretzel rolls and spreads, mint ice cream over warm brownie all very good. But the steaks---were both over-cooked and weren't 'great' anymore...not sure we'll be back again. Just too many choices of other places doing equal or better for less money.

Tags: People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We enjoyed a wonderful steak from the Devour Downtown menu. Excellent food and very excellent value.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Restaurant was very busy. The first table we were seated at was near the door and the cold blast of air each time the door opened was not good. We were moved and the rest of the evening went pretty well. The steak was very good but not great. Based on pricing of the same wine we drink at other places, their wine prices were marked up too much.
We like this place but not as much as we used to.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Overall fine experience for its category, Peterson's impressed us with its semiprivate booths and friendly attentive staff. The filet was just good, and the roasted chicken pan jus was seasoned and cooked perfectly. The mixed cocktails were made liberally. However, my desert wine pairing was mediocre. Our waitress offered to change it before I took my first sip. They didn't have the wine I requested from the menu, so their sommelier got creative and sent what had a nose and taste of raisin quinine. That's not good. I doubt it would pair well with skittle-filled peeps covered in bitter chocolate.
Where we sat was slightly imposed when a group of what I can only presume were influenced businessmen sharply increased the decibel level of their conversation. Was this beyond Peterson's control?
Overall, we enjoyed our dinner and experience. My date was happy. And I had quality time with someone I love.

Tags: Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.