About Peterson's

7690 East 96th Street
Fishers, IN 46038
View Larger Map

AGE REQUIREMENT: 21 YEARS OLD
Peterson’s is renowned for hand-selected and custom cut steaks, daily fresh seafood, an award winning wine list of over 600 labels, intimate atmosphere and outstanding service.

One of only two Indiana restaurants to receive multiple “Best of Award of Excellence” citations from Wine Spectator, Peterson’s is also one of only two area restaurants listed in every “Best Restaurant” issue published by Indianapolis Monthly dating back to our first year in business.

Peterson’s also caters private dining and group events for parties of up to 150. From business meetings, networking events, and fundraisers, to luncheons, dinners and weddings, our chefs and managers work closely with guest hosts and event planners to personally tailor the perfect hospitality plan.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: M-TH 5 - 9:30 pm FRI & SAT 5 -10:00 pm

Bar: M-TH 4:30 - 10:00 pm FRI & SAT 4:30 - 10:30 pm

Sundays: Private Events Only

Cross Street:
Hague Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(317) 598-8863

Website:
http://www.petersonsrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Live piano on Thursday nights.

Catering:
Peterson's will cater special events by request. Please contact Tiffany Kryder, or Guest Services at 317-598-8863 for information.

Parking Details:
Easy access private parking, just steps from the front door.

Executive Chef:
Ricky Hatfield

Private Party Facilities:
We accommodate business and private dining groups from 15 to 150 for:
Luncheons, Parties, Rehearsal Dinners, Business Meetings, Cocktail Receptions, Networking Events, Small Weddings and more.

Other service highlights include:

Executive Chef Attention
Pastry Chef Inspired Desserts & Cakes
Sommelier Assistance & Pairing Suggestions
Butler, Buffet & Table Service
Personal Event Coordination
Wireless & AV Access

Private Party Contact:
Tiffany Kryder: 317-598-8863x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Mondays - 1/2 Price Bottles of Wine & 1/2 Price Oysters
Tuesdays - $8 Martinis
Wednesdays - $5 Pint Nite / Craft Beer on Tap
Thursday Night - 1/2 Price Bar Appetizers & Live Piano in the Bar

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 6:00PM

Peterson's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Indiana
Romantic
Indiana
Special Occasion
Indiana
5 More
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Indiana
Notable Wine List
Indianapolis
Romantic
Indianapolis
Special Occasion
Indianapolis
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Indianapolis
Best Restaurants in Fishers ›

special occasion (79)
romantic (67)
notable wine list (51)
See All
fit for foodies (32)
good for groups (24)
neighborhood gem (20)
late-night find (8)
vibrant bar scene (6)
hot spot (4)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
896 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience5
service5

We had a nice dinner at Peterson's. I ha ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

We had a nice dinner at Peterson's. I had a bowl of the lobster bisque and my husband had the wedge salad. Both were delicious. I ordered the 8oz filet with truffle butter and my husband had the bone in strip. Both were cooked perfect and were very good. The only thing we were disappointed with were the au gratin potatoes we ordered as a side. They were cubed potatoes with very little cheese flavor. Luckily we were both too full from the other food that we did not need/eat the potatoes. Unfortunately we were too full for dessert as well (which is always my favorite part!) but they sounded delicious.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great prime rib.

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

Newton cab us a good choice paired with the prime rib.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Marvelous!

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

We have been to Petersons many times. this time, we were celebrating our 40th wedding anniversary. Everything was just right and we had a lovely evening

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent place to celebrate!

Dined on April 23, 2016

My husband and I tried Peterson's for the first time for his birthday. The menu and service were great and the food was terrific!! We both had center cut filets and agreed they were the best steaks we've had in a long time … maybe ever. We also had a seared tuna appetizer that was delicious. The sommelier, Jan, was super nice and helped us pick a wonderful bottle of wine. She also checked on us throughout our meal. Top notch dining. We will return.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

When In Fisher.....

vip
Dined on April 21, 2016

Just when it seemed the Cracker Barrel was going to be our dinner spot, Open Table guided me to Peterson's. Downtown Indianapolis was pretty booked up due to a large conference in town, and with bad weather that night, driving in just for dinner seemed to be too much. As it turned out, it didn't matter. Peterson's worked just fine. Great menu, great wine list and good ambiance, surrounded by gas stations and chain restaurants, it was a hidden gem. If I end up doing work with the company I visited in the area, this will be a regular stop.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

our experience

Dined on April 21, 2016

Our dinner was fantastic. Best filet I have ever eaten. Vegetables were wonderful too. Service was out standing. My only suggestion would be the seating arrangements. there was 2 groups of about 6 people in each group. 4 couples (of 2) were seated right beside these groups, one which was very noisy, therefore the groups of 2 hard trouble conversing with each other. Since large groups just naturally are louder b/c of there size, it would be nice if the larger groups would be seated on the opposite side of the room from the smaller groups.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Our First Visit...Won't Be Our Last

Dined on April 2, 2016

This was our first visit to Petersen's. My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our evening. The food was very good, the service was great, and the atmosphere was inviting and quiet (two things we both love). We will definitely be back!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Good for comparisons

Dined on March 25, 2016

The overall atmosphere at Peterson's was not overly exciting. I thought the food comparisons was on par with other steak venues in the city, and great to compare, though would not put this first on the list to come back to. If you do not like sauce on/next to your steak, be sure to specify, as that was an unexpected sight upon arrival of the main courses.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another fantastic evening.

Dined on March 25, 2016

Another perfect evening at Peterson's. We always feel welcome & the staff goes the extra mile to see that we have the best of everything.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Daniel is a great addition to the Team!

vip
Dined on March 25, 2016

Daniel went out of his way to welcome my Father on his Birthday dinner last week. He had not been to Peterson's for several years - and had to talk him out of his "favorite" steak place. Needless to say - Daniel took wonderful care of them, and they are going to be loyal Peterson's regulars for now on. Thank you for a great evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always wonderful!!!!

vip
Dined on March 16, 2016

The best filet that you will ever eat. It is better than any steak place in Indiana. It's prime cut, tender, a little charred, and you can cut it with a fork. It comes with a sauce, which we get on the side, because with this steak, you need nothing with it. The scallops, wedge salad and crab Mac and cheese are also delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday

vip
Dined on March 15, 2016

It was my wife's birthday and I thought we could go somewhere different. Peterson's put us in a secluded table and we had a great first time experience. We definitely plan on becoming regulars now.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic service and excellent food

vip
Dined on March 14, 2016

We just had another great dinner at Peterson's. Jan the Sommelier recommended a delicious Syrah from Dumol that was also a great value. Kyle, who normally tends bar, provided us with fantastic service. We were bringing friends to dinner who had not been the restaurant in several years - and they loved it! So many people on their Staff stopped by our table to check on us and make sure that everything was perfect. Peterson's is one of the finest locally owned restaurants in Indiana - and certainly our favorite for the North side of Indianapolis.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

Disappointed

vip
Dined on March 12, 2016

I have wanted to go to Peterson's since I moved here two years ago. Finally decided to try it during Devour Northside. Beautiful restaurant. We had reservations and were seated promptly after a bit of a tiff between the hosts. Terribly unprofessional. Things went down from there. Food was nothing special. Service was deplorable. We waited for a server to acknowledge us and there was no apology when he did finally show up. long waits between courses and clearing. It was just a horrid night. Way too expensive to put up with. We would normally give this a second chance but it's just not worth it.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Best Dinner Ever!

Dined on March 6, 2016

This is by far, the best dining experience I have ever had at any restaurant, hands down. The service was impeccable, atmosphere elegant, the food is indescribably delicious from the appetizer, to the soup, the entrée, and the dessert. Wine list was very diverse. Just wish I could afford to eat here on a regular basis.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service2

We were done with our main courses befor ...

Dined on February 25, 2016

We were done with our main courses before we ever received our side dishes. We had to ask the GM to bring them and they had clearly been missed as it took quite awhile to get them. For this level of restaurant and price range, I would not expect for a large portion of our meal to be forgotten, especially when all sides are a la carte.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I had a wonderful experience.

Dined on February 21, 2016

This was my first time at Peterson's, and I would definitely return.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Valentine’s Day

Dined on February 15, 2016

Fantastic as always. Great place to take someone special

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love this place!!!

Dined on February 14, 2016

Peterson's Steakhouse provided me with the type of FINE DINING I look for. The food is high quality. The waiters and waitresses are highly attentive and knowledgeable of their food selections. The staff is very friendly and eager to meet your needs. My husband and I have gone multiple times usually for a celebration such as Valentine's Day or birthdays and are never disappointed! The atmosphere is great! I'd definitely recommend this place to anyone! The steak is phenomenal. Alexis

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service5

Service was great.

Dined on February 14, 2016

Service was great.

food5
ambience2
service2
value3

better service

Dined on February 14, 2016

Need better service, the waiter walked pass our table three without refilling our drinks. The woman walking around asking everyone around us how was their dinner, but never stopped by our table to check on us and our services. We paid to much of our hard errand money to get service like that.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was very nice.

Dined on February 13, 2016

Everything was very nice.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great place for Valentines Day dinner

Dined on February 11, 2016

My husband and I celebrated Valentines this year at Petersons and loved it! The food is consistently great as is the service.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

SUPERB DINING EXPERIENCE!

Dined on February 2, 2016

My wife and I celebrated our 19th wedding anniversary at Peterson's, after several recommendations from friends. It was our first time, but WILL NOT be our last! From the moment we walked in, to the moment we walked out, we were treated like THE most important diners that had ever eaten at this establishment. The staff, especially our server, made the whole experience remarkable. Every single component of our meal was PERFECTION! My wife and I both declared it was one of THE most elegant and tastiest meals we have ever experienced. Kudos, to Peterson's, for making our special night one of THE most memorable, to date.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Yummy goodness!!!

Dined on January 31, 2016

My hubby and I hadn't been there in a while so visited this past weekend. Ambience was perfect. Noise level just right. Service was impeccable as always. In fact, I dropped a knife and picked it up. I didn't even realize it but another waiter saw me and brought me a new one without me even asking. I was really surprised and pleased. Martinis were great. Steaks were amazing. We would go back again!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Enjoyed the evening

Dined on January 30, 2016

The food was excellent. The steaks were cooked to perfection. We enjoyed the evening out with our son and his wife. We have been there before, but they had not, but look forward to coming again.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Evening

Dined on January 30, 2016

My husband took me to Peterson's to celebrate my birthday. A couple of friends joined us. The service was exceptional and the waiter was very knowledgeable about the menu. The staff made sure everything was to our satisfaction and treated us to photos and truffles in celebration. We have been there several times before and will definitely go back!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and food - First Class!

vip
Dined on January 26, 2016

Had a great business meeting with outstanding service and food. Definitely an excellent choice to dine.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic Experience

Dined on January 23, 2016

Recently took my wife for a well deserved date night. Had flowers delivered and ask for a nice quiet table. When we arrived everything was perfect. The flowers were on the table. The table was screened from walking traffic by a nice wooden screen. The waitress was outstanding and as usual the food was amazing. Perfect experience that will keep us coming back again and again

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional Restaurant

Dined on January 17, 2016

I was thoroughly impressed with all aspects of my party-of-4 dinner. The steak my wife and I ordered was the best I've ever had (only a few restaurants I'd consider tying this one based on food quality). My 2 daughters ordered seafood dishes which also were excellent. We will definitely go back. There are many steakhouses in the Indianapolis area, and I've eaten at most all of them. This one is at least on par with St. Elmo and Ruths Chris, if not slightly better.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Too much upselling

Dined on January 16, 2016

My wife and i were very pleased to see that we were seated in a small quiet room. the atmosphere was very nice. in general the service was fine, but the only recommendation i would make is for the restaurant to limit the upselling. if there are special items that are available, include an insert into the menu for the diner to review.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Highly recommended!

Dined on January 16, 2016

Peterson's is our go-to place for special occasions and friends in town. I have an anaphylactic food allergy and they are fabulous about taking care of me. The food is delicious and I've always felt safe eating there.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Special Occasion

Dined on January 16, 2016

Love this restaurant for special occasions, milestone birthdays and anniversaries.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

5 Star All Around

Dined on January 9, 2016

I can't get over how great our experience was at Peterson's. I was blown away by the food and the service! This will be taking the place of St. Elmo's for our special occasion dinners. We loved Peterson's and will definitely be recommending to our friends and family.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Peterson's never disappoints....

Dined on January 8, 2016

Peterson's never disappoints. Fabulous as always! The food was superb, the service awesome and the atmosphere is exactly perfect for dinner with our friends. Thanks again for such a wonderful dining experience. You know we will be back very soon...

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

Dissapointed

Dined on January 7, 2016

We have been to Petersons several times and have always been impressed by the service and food. This visit was very disappointing. Ribeye was very tough and the service was non existent. Sides were very good and the wine selection is excellent. For the money I spent($200) it was not what I expected.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

New Year's Eve Experience

vip
Dined on January 1, 2016

Going to Peterson's for NYE has become a tradition for my wife and me. We also usually go for a birthday or anniversary. I believe the food is as good as any restaurant in Indy. This night the service was also outstanding (sorry I cannot recall our server's name because he was great). My only complaint was we were seated right inside the door which was noisy and also close enough to the door to feel cold air when the door was opened. Other than that, we enjoyed the evening and meal as always.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great steak house......great service

Dined on December 31, 2015

Great blue cheese wedge salad, Shared the 14 Oz filet......creamed spinich......wonderful meal and great service.....had a beer and we got out of there for under 100.00.....including tax. Great food, great service, and nice atmosphere.....highly recommend Petersons.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

This time the service was better. Our w ...

Dined on December 31, 2015

This time the service was better. Our waiter Kevin was very good and his helper Whitney was helpful as well. Seems like they took a lot of items off there menu, but the ribeye was still very good.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food and service

Dined on December 31, 2015

The food was excellent and so was the service. It is a really nice place to eat, especially for a special occasion. I wouldn't go there for just a meal though, it is pretty pricey. It is alacarte so you are going to spend quite a bit of money but the portions are adequate. I can't imagine taking children to this restaurant. It's too upscale and pretty quiet. I wouldn't want kids running around screaming if I was paying this kind of money for dinner. You may want to leave them at home for this one.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.