Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi

About Peter Shields Inn

The Peter Shields Inn quality cuisine bursts with freshness and creativity. The PSI is a BYOB establishment that offers a la carte dining along with a four course chef’s tasting menu. Also expect to find weekly menu additions that incorporate fresh and innovative ingredients. The magnificent ocean views are the perfect scenery to celebrate a special occasion or simply enjoy a memorable dining experience. In the summer months, outdoor dining is available on the porch overlooking the ocean. The Inn also specializes in both casual & elegant ocean front weddings. For the absolute finest local and seasonal fare, Peter Shields Inn & Restaurant is a favorite of residents and visitors to Cape May alike.
Additional Details: Banquet/Private Rooms, BYO Liquor, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Fireplace, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Private Room. Dress Code is Smart Casual.

1301 Beach Avenue
Cape May, NJ 08204
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Jan - March - Open Thursday thru Sunday / April - December Open 7 Nights

Cross Street:
Trenton Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(609) 884-9090

Website:
http://www.petershieldsinn.com/

Entertainment:
Kahlil Gunther and Doug Williams pianists.

Parking Details:
Street parking, no meters.

Executive Chef:
Carl Messick

Additional:
Banquet, BYO Liquor, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View

Peter Shields Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.5

Noise

Quiet

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (222)
Romantic (221)
Good for Anniversaries (186)
See All
Good for a Date (174)
Scenic View (143)
Creative Cuisine (139)
Fit for Foodies (126)
Waterfront (123)
Worth the Drive (121)
Quiet Conversation (110)
Good for Birthdays (107)
Cozy (68)
Neighborhood Gem (66)
Tasting Menu (66)
Local Ingredients (63)
Live Music (59)
Great for Outdoor Dining (59)
Authentic (51)
Seasonal (38)
Good for Groups (19)
Healthy (17)
Business Meals (16)
Casual (15)
Fun (15)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Hot Spot (9)
Notable Wine List (9)
Great for Brunch (9)
Comfort Food (8)
People Watching (7)
Organic (7)
Afternoon Tea (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Vegan (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Live Sports (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
2836 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Met friends in cape may

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

Cape May = Restaurant capital of NJ! PSI = First Place for fine dinning! All others come in third. Hands down the best food, the best service, the best location/atmosphere/ambiance in CM.
Our favorite place for dinning. Had the tuna/salmon apitizer. Delicious! Main course Bronzino. My wife had the Halibut which she enjoyed very much. The food is beautifully plated and flavors make your taste buds dance. Service is impeccable. Our two favorite waiters are Peter and Chris. Being a BYOB gives it an extra star.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

We have eaten often at PSI and it remains our favorite Cape May restaurant. This time, however, our dining experience was disrupted by a very loud patron in our area of the dining room. We could not enjoy our delicious food nor were we able to carry on a dinner conversation at our table because of the shouting that was happening two tables away. We will continue to dine at PSI when we are in Cape May for your food is excellent!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 4 days ago

The food was delicious and the service was very good. Would definitely go back to eat here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Fabulous birthday dinner!! Fabulous ambience, service and food...............what's more to say?? Especially when you can bring your favorite wine!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 4 days ago

The menu has a wonderful variety of choices. We love sitting out on the porch. Our server Sean was a real sweetheart. We had tickets to the theatre and the wait staff made sure to get us out in time.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 4 days ago

My now wife and I had dined here on our honeymoon weekend to Cape May. We arrived right no time and were seated immediately on the "porch" area which was extremely comfortable. We brought our own bottle of champagne, which the waiter gladly corked for us. We opted in to try the "early prix fixe" menu because it contained many of the items we would've ordered a la carte anyway. Not only was it a great value, but it was extremely well thought out and beautifully presented. I have quite an appetite and this 3-course selection turned out to be plenty of food. I thought the most stand-out aspect of the meal was that I felt welcomed and unhurried. The pacing was excellent. They served us with a bit of down-time between the courses, allowing us to sit back and relax. I never got the sense that they were rushing us out of our seats, and it made me appreciate each dish just a little bit more. Overall I've never had a more enjoyable meal and felt that it was vacation within our vacation. We will absolutely be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent all categories

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

Our server was not attentive,
Had to look around to find him on
Several occasions. Very disappointed in the service.
The food was wonderful.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined 7 days ago

Very nice good service! Food was very good as well waitress was nice this is a good place to eat

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 7 days ago

Wonderful place to eat. Our friends loved the food also. Treated us to champagne toast for our anniversaries. Nice touch!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 7 days ago

This is the first time we dined on the porch. It was a beautiful evening enhanced by the food and service at Peter Shields.

Tags: Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 7 days ago

Great restaurant for a special occasion! Beautiful decor and great food.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 9, 2017

This was our second visit, and won't be the last. We like the Cape May, Wildwood area for mini getaways. (We're from Virginia just outside DC.) The service is only surpassed by the quality of the food. The BYOB policy is wonderful, and is crucial to the fact that you can have an exemplary meal without a bill that requires a mortgage. Truly the best in class!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Wish we could celebrate every Anniversary dining at the Peter Shields Inn. It is that special.

Tags: Live Music, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Waterfront, Romantic, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Best restaurant in South Jersey
Shore. Great food, great ambience, classy.
Great waitstaff.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Romantic, Special Occasion, Live Music, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on October 7, 2017

My compliments to the chef! My squash soup with smoked trout was to die for as was my Halibit. I would have loved a touch more of the accent sauce, but it was truly amazing!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 7, 2017

As always, the food was absolutely delicious. We've been vacationing in Cape May for 35 years, but only tried PSI out last year. It has quickly become our favorite spot and a place we try to go at least once every time we're there.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Very good service and excellent food. Brought a nice bottle which the waiter decanted.
Had the Halibut which was terrific. We aren't in Cape May often, but we will try again when we visit again. The only suggestion we had was to remove the rug, or replace it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Peter Shields never disappoints. Our Chefs tasting was delicious. PSI is the best restaurant in Cape May!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 5, 2017

Always a great dining experience. Love Peter Shields!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on October 5, 2017

We have dined a Peter Shield's a few times and it is always amazing. On this night we were celebrating our 10 year anniversary and our waitress made sure to make it special for us. The food was delicious, the staff friendly, ambience romantic. We look forward to our next visit!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on October 4, 2017

Outstanding service and gracious hostess. Pork chops were delicious.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 3, 2017

The food and service was excellent! BUT, the amount of food provided in the entrée did not meet the amount of money charged. The branzino portions were very small, although excellent.

Ambience was wonderful! We loved sitting in the "parlor" or room with a fireplace. Definitely romantic and cozy!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on October 3, 2017

The building is beautiful. The ambience is lovely. The food was wonderful but certainly not worth the hour we waited for it.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value3

 
·Dined on October 3, 2017

I have some special diet needs that are health related. They were happy to accommodate me. Food was excellent!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 3, 2017

This is a very romantic and beautiful setting for fine dining. In October there were seasonal outdoor displays which were spectacular. The dining areas are elegant and the food excellent throughout. I had the butternut squash bisque with smoked trout, seared Scottish salmon with root vegetables, and warm date pudding with homemade ice cream. All perfect. Service is attentive. BYOB. Beautiful location just across from the beach, which can be enjoyed from the tables on the screened porch.

Tags: Seasonal, Comfort Food, Waterfront, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 3, 2017

This is our 2nd time here, and it won't be our last. The food is delicious, and the service is top notch. We love eating on the patio on a warm night. The place was decorated beautifully for the fall season. This is definitely one of our favorite restaurants when visiting Cape May.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 3, 2017

We go every year ( several now) during our Cape May trip. Always excellent. The plating and food are magical . Service is professional but not overwhelming.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Cozy, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 2, 2017

We always go to Peter Shields when we are staying in Avalon. The Fall menu was fantastic. Our meal was very good. Highly recommend!!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 2, 2017

When we vacation in Cape May we always eat one night at PSI. This time the food was delicious as usual. Of course the atmosphere is always very nice, with beautiful decor and live piano. The service in the past has been hit-or-miss including one rather arrogant and rude server we had several times. This time, however, our server Daniel was absolute outstanding. Professional yet friendly, and knowledgeable about the menu and food preparation. He moved our dinner at PSI up a notch to truly outstanding.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on October 2, 2017

My wife and I dined at PSI on a Sunday evening. The restaurant was warm and charming. The pianist was wonderful. Our server, Loraine, was excellent.....and the seafood was fresh and delicious. The homemade desserts were the cherry on top.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Excellent food, ambiance and service! Piano player is outstanding!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 1, 2017

The best dining in Cape May for food, service and ambiance. The piano player complements the dining experience. A fine place to relax and enjoy the cuisine. The veal chop was perfectly cooked and presented. And I love it because it is a BYO establishment so bring your best to enjoy with the food. The outside decorations for the fall were exquisite and a picture of the front this bed and breakfast is now the wallpaper on our computer.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Authentic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Healthy, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Seasonal, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 1, 2017

This is our second visit and I can't stop referring people to this restaurant! The food is truly outstanding! Not only is the location and the in amazingly beautiful but the food is just as delicious.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Extremely pleased with the “early bird special” options and ambiance. Our dinner was wonderful.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Live Music, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on October 1, 2017

As usual, it was awesome. ! We celebrate our anniversary every year at Peter Shields. OCT. 1......We were married there in 2011.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre, Vegan, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Paleo Friendly, Worth the Drive, Organic, Cozy, Healthy, Scenic View, Authentic, Afternoon Tea, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 1, 2017

We were thrilled! The food, the service, the ambience, the view, and the live piano music (it was a Sunday evening) were all outstanding! We had never been to Peter Shields before, but we are absolutely going back! Thank you for a wonderful experience!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Healthy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Scenic View, Live Music, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

The staff, food, and environment were first class. One of the best restaurants in Cape May, NJ.
The Inn is an architectural gem situated across from the Atlantic Ocean. Perfect dining experience. Thanks for a wonderful evening!

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

So many fruit flies we spent our meal swatting at them had to toss out some of our prosecco also got into our wine but fished it out bc I wasn’t about to toss Camus complained to waitstaff & was told that perhaps our wine was attracting them. The foi gras was burnt steak ordered med rare came well done waiter was not apologetic
Only saving grace was hostess came out to apologize with a couple glasses of prosecco with an apology. That being said the restaurant was beautiful as well as the Inn piano was nice & the dishes creative & beautiful to look at if not executed well

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.