Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi

About Peter Shields Inn

The Peter Shields Inn quality cuisine bursts with freshness and creativity. The PSI is a BYOB establishment that offers a la carte dining along with a four course chef’s tasting menu. Also expect to find weekly menu additions that incorporate fresh and innovative ingredients. The magnificent ocean views are the perfect scenery to celebrate a special occasion or simply enjoy a memorable dining experience. In the summer months, outdoor dining is available on the porch overlooking the ocean. The Inn also specializes in both casual & elegant ocean front weddings. For the absolute finest local and seasonal fare, Peter Shields Inn & Restaurant is a favorite of residents and visitors to Cape May alike.
Additional Details: Banquet/Private Rooms, BYO Liquor, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Fireplace, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Private Room. Dress Code is Smart Casual.

1301 Beach Avenue
Cape May, NJ 08204
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Jan - March - Open Thursday thru Sunday / April - December Open 7 Nights

Cross Street:
Trenton Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(609) 884-9090

Website:
http://www.petershieldsinn.com/

Entertainment:
Kahlil Gunther and Doug Williams pianists.

Parking Details:
Street parking, no meters.

Executive Chef:
Carl Messick

Private Party Facilities:
Peter Shields Inn & Restaurant can host private parties fom 10-115 people.

Private Party Contact:
Amy Gotthardt: (609) 884-9090

Additional:
Banquet, BYO Liquor, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View

Peter Shields Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (200)
Romantic (186)
Good for Anniversaries (174)
See All
Good for a Date (160)
Scenic View (131)
Creative Cuisine (118)
Fit for Foodies (117)
Good for Birthdays (110)
Waterfront (105)
Quiet Conversation (95)
Worth the Drive (95)
Neighborhood Gem (56)
Tasting Menu (53)
Cozy (51)
Great for Outdoor Dining (46)
Local Ingredients (39)
Live Music (38)
Authentic (31)
Seasonal (26)
Historic (18)
Fun (15)
Good for Groups (14)
Fireplace (13)
Business Meals (12)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Great for Brunch (10)
Casual (10)
Sunday Lunch (9)
People Watching (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Hot Spot (5)
Organic (5)
Notable Wine List (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Private Room (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Vegan (1)
Live Sports (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
2696 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 hours ago

Great place to have "date night" or a special occasion without young children. The food and service is excellent . Highly recommended when you're in Cape May!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Menu could include a wider range on main course selections.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent food, great atmosphere. Expensive so is good for special occasions.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 3 days ago

This was a recommendation from a friend. The ambiance was perfect for a date with my husband. The pacing of the meal was perfect and the beef was so tasty I didn't use the sauce till my last bite just because my husband kept insisting that it was fantastic. The mashed potatoes was seasoned with truffle oil and amazing. The fresh oysters were sweet and clean. The salad w goat cheese, crab salad, vegetables were all just as tasty. The dessert- heavenly. Peter Shields is at the top of my list with a seafood restaurant we discovered in the south of Portugal, and I have been eating my way through 40 countries. Peters Shields, simply wonderful!

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Live Music, Special Occasion, Organic, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined 4 days ago

My Mom and I decided to have a girls night out and go to dinner at Peter Shields Inn and we really enjoyed our dinner! I thought it was one of the best dinners Ive had this summer in Cape May! Everything my Mother and I ordered was delicious, portions were the perfect size and the food was presented beautifully and was flavorful! The ambiance was so nice as well there was beautiful piano music and we ate out on the glass porch. We will be sure to come back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Always a fantastic time here! Waitress was great, quick and very friendly. Was able to be seated outside last minute for only a 5 minute wait, despite the full house. Definitely coming back!

Tags: Seasonal, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

After vacationing in Cape May every summer for the past twenty years, finally tried Peter Shields. The facade of the building is magnificent, beautifully lit and landscaped. Inside is dark and cozy and there is a sense of quiet, casual elegance. We were lucky to sit on the covered patio, listening to the ocean sounds and the live piano music, which was quite relaxing until Billy Joel's repertoire joined the mix of standards and broke the spell. The staff was pleasant, efficient, attentive and helpful without being intrusive. The food was delicious from appetizers to dessert. No clunkers which is a rarity even in high end restaurants, especially in Cape May. Nothing particularly innovative, just fresh food and pure flavors, carefully prepared and wonderfully presented. Mercifully, no dubious "chef's vision" to contend with here! Left feeling it was totally worth the money.All in all, a very relaxing and delightful evening was spent and we hope to come next year!

Tags: Cozy, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Live Music, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

My husband and I had a lovely dinner at PSI as we always do. Our server "Dorothy" was really nice and had recommendations for what we liked. I had the corn soup and it is so delicious and creamy! My husband had the beets w goat cheese and enjoyed every bite. Both our dinners were delicious and plenty of food for each of us. He had the Branzini and it was so crispy on the outside with a lot of flavor. I had the scallops. They were cooked the way I like but,I couldn't finish because they were so large. We shared the blueberry desert. It was very sweet . Such a beautiful place.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 days ago

Underwhelming. Rubbery octopus. Not a particularly good dessert. Expected a lot more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

My husband and I had a perfect dinner. The setting is classic seaside elegance. The food was delicious. The service impeccable.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Live Music, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined 6 days ago

The food was flavorful and well prepared. The piano player was a welcome enhancement to the meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

In the past we have always given five stars for food, service
I'm sure our situation was due to prime season and will try this restaurant again off-season
We took our parents there for their anniversary and we're seated by a family with young tired children that disturbed the ambience and our meal
We have grandchildren and totally understand tired children but they should seat them in a different section to allow others to dine without screaming children
The halibut was not nearly as good as what we had the last time
It was a little dry, and again I'm sure this is due to the volume of people
It was nice to sit out on the porch with a glass of wine afterwards

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined 6 days ago

We love eating here. It is a BYOB, so it saves us a lot. The pre-fixed early bird is a good deal.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

Fabulous dinner. Price fix was way to go. Staff was attentive. We weren't rushed. Great food. So glad we went.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Best restaurant in town! We eat here all the time because it is fabulous!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 14, 2017

As always, service was great & the steak was amazing. Perfect atmosphere for a romantic night out for two.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

I took my fiancé for his birthday. He absolutely loved & enjoyed every aspect of the Peter Shields Inn. If you are looking for a first class dining experience this is the place!

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 13, 2017

As usual, Chris was phenomenal and the restaurant was as well.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fun, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Each year we celebrate our anniversary at PSI. This year was our 45th and our evening was special as we have come to expect from PSI. A special gift was a glass of Prosecco from PSI for us to toast our anniversary! Our waiter, Dan whom we have had before, helped make the evening special with his service. His description of 4 of PSI's signature dishes was spot on. As a first course my wife had a Jumbo Lump Crab Salad with Smoked Salmon, Mache, Toasted Almonds and Basil Aioli. I had the Yellowfin Tuna Tartare with Compressed Mango, Avocado Purée, Wasabi Tobiko, Micro Cilantro and a Miso Vinaigrette. Both were outstanding. For her main course my wife had the Local Day Boat Scallops with Summer Succotash, Soy Beans, Arugula and Herb Aioli. I had the Alaskan Day Boat Halibut with Melted Leeks, Potato Gnocchi, Chanterelles and Truffle Aioli. Dan had explained that Chef (Messick) believed in keeping the Halibut dish simple and allowing the Halibut to stand on its own. The Halibut did; the flavor was excellent as were the accompaniments. My wife enjoyed the Scallop dish immensely. There was not a trace of food on our 4 plates.
PETER SHIELDS IS FINE DINING!
God willing we will be back next year to celebrate our 46th. I wish we lived closer so we could celebrate other special occasions!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Outstanding service. Quality of ambience and food beyond compare.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Absolutely outstanding service and food. Piano was a nice added touch. Expensive, but worth it for a special occasion. We had a wonderful evening.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Beautiful decor, relaxing piano music, fresh quality ingredients, BYOB, cooking and menu that allows food to shine and professional but unpretentious staff. PSI does it right!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 10, 2017

To start off, we stopped by 2 days in advance of our dinner reservation and asked the person's at the front desk if we would see one of the rooms because we were thinking of staying there next year. One gal at the desk was about a un-friendly as could be and acted as if we were bothering her. As for the dinner, the salad was very good and they let us split it but the steak we ordered was like shoe leather. Service was good. Our waitress gave us a 1/2 glass of Champagne for our anniversary. NEVER Again wil we eat there and staying there is out of the question!

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 10, 2017

We were able to make the 3 course chefs special - food was amazing, affordable pricing, love byob, and the view ❤️

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 9, 2017

This BYOB restaurant is really special. Sitting up high in an old white house on the ocean avenue makes a strong impression. Be sure to read the history about the ghosts in this old mansion. The food was outstanding especially the heirloom tomato with burrata. On Wednesday evening there was a very good piano player. The tile fish, beef and scallop meals were all delicious. Great coffee and unremarkable deserts.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on August 9, 2017

We have been to Peter Shields for over ten years of dining, and we have never been disappointed! Great food, great service, and the piano player was terrific!

Tags: Live Music, Fun, Cozy, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on August 8, 2017

FOOD OK. VERY DISAPPOINTED IN SERVER. NOT ATTENTIVE. ONLY POURED WINE ONE TIME. SERVICE SLOW. HAD TO WAIT WAY TOO LONG FOR CHECK AND HIS RETURN WITH FINAL BILL TO SIGN.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 8, 2017

The food, service and views were fabulous. I highly recommend this restaurant. They make every dining experience a special occasion.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Awesome! From beginning to end, you cannot eat in a finer restaurant. We will be back again next year.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on August 8, 2017

It was a magical evening celebrating our 35th Anniversary. The food was delicious and the presentation was beautiful. Our server was sweet and attentive. We were surprised by a special appetizer and glass of champagne for dessert. We could see the ocean from our table. Best of all our children had called and paid for our special dinner. It made for a perfect night at our favorite restaurant in Cape May!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Delicious food, upscale restaurant, some of the best dining in Cape May

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Excellent this was a repeat visit to one of our favorite restaurants and never disappointing.

Tags: Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Beautiful setting on beach avenue in Cape May. Staff extremely friendly . Piano player and scenic view made for a romantic dinner. Food was excellent. Wife ordered scallops and steak. I had the veal chop. Everything was delicious and top notch. Be prepared to spend at least $150 for 2, but worth it for location alone.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 7, 2017

It's always a fantastic experience here. We love going early to do the prefix menu. The staff is friendly, memorable, helpful, and very pleasant. The food is out of this world. A place as gorgeous and amazing as this carries a very humble ambiance to it.

My family will go here 2-3 times during our annual visit to the Cape. I wish we lived closer so that we could come more often!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Food was exceptional. Appetizers (foie gras and tuna tartare) were tasty and full of flavor. Our entrees were equally outstanding : (scallops were perfectly seared, veal chop was moist, tender and flavorful). We had to wait a bi before being seated, Service was very good. The restaurant appeared to be full but was not crowded. We were overnight guests at the inn, and took advantage of the special, which included 3 courses and a glass of champagne.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

Everything was good great staff. We split the steak for two it was good. I didn't think it was worth the money compared to steak I've had at other places for the same price or less But overall it was good.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Everything was excellent except for the fact that the container that holds the sugar, equal, etc. had ants in it. We told the waitress and she simply wiped them away and provided an apology. Just felt something else should have been offered in addition to the apoligy🤔

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Worth every penny! Request to sit on the inside or outside porch for a view of the ocean.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Lovely place to dine. Inside a vintage Victorian residence with beach and ocean views, especially if dinning on the terrace. The food is very high quality and wonderfully presented. Server was very attentive. The live piano during dinner was a nice touch.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Food and accompaniments were excellent. Background piano music added a special touch. Highly recommend for a special occasion or romantic dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.