Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi

About Peter Shields Inn

The Peter Shields Inn quality cuisine bursts with freshness and creativity. The PSI is a BYOB establishment that offers a la carte dining along with a four course chef’s tasting menu. Also expect to find weekly menu additions that incorporate fresh and innovative ingredients. The magnificent ocean views are the perfect scenery to celebrate a special occasion or simply enjoy a memorable dining experience. In the summer months, outdoor dining is available on the porch overlooking the ocean. The Inn also specializes in both casual & elegant ocean front weddings. For the absolute finest local and seasonal fare, Peter Shields Inn & Restaurant is a favorite of residents and visitors to Cape May alike.
Additional Details: Banquet/Private Rooms, BYO Liquor, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Fireplace, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Private Room. Dress Code is Smart Casual.

1301 Beach Avenue
Cape May, NJ 08204
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Jan - March - Open Thursday thru Sunday / April - December Open 7 Nights

Cross Street:
Trenton Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(609) 884-9090

Website:
http://www.petershieldsinn.com/

Entertainment:
Kahlil Gunther and Doug Williams pianists.

Parking Details:
Street parking, no meters.

Executive Chef:
Carl Messick

Private Party Facilities:
Peter Shields Inn & Restaurant can host private parties fom 10-115 people.

Private Party Contact:
Amy Gotthardt: (609) 884-9090

Additional:
Banquet, BYO Liquor, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Details

Mothers know best. Why don`t you surprise her with the best meal in our beautiful restaurant. We will be serving our Mother`s Day Brunch Prix Fixe between 10 - 3 pm.

Peter Shields Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (81)
Good for Anniversaries (76)
Romantic (76)
See All
Good for a Date (74)
Creative Cuisine (58)
Fit for Foodies (51)
Scenic View (48)
Worth the Drive (44)
Good for Birthdays (44)
Quiet Conversation (43)
Waterfront (41)
Historic (38)
Neighborhood Gem (31)
Cozy (31)
Fireplace (26)
Local Ingredients (19)
Tasting Menu (18)
Authentic (18)
Good for Groups (8)
Healthy (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Live Music (6)
Business Meals (5)
Seasonal (5)
Casual (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Notable Wine List (2)
Private Room (2)
People Watching (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Fun (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
2421 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Food and service were excellent. We had the pre-fixe menu that was offered. Every dish was delicious and perfectly created. We had the hanger steak and sea bass as entrees. Both were great. The service was also fantastic. I would definitely recommend this restaurant and i will go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Had a wonderful experience. From beginning to end, the service was top notched. Received a warm greeting from the hostess (Rachael). Followed by friendly and efficient service by our waitress (Amy). Ordered the 4 course Chef's menu; which I do recommend. 3 of the 4 courses were perfection. The 3rd course (the poached shrimp) was slightly over cooked; but, overall well worth it. The decor is beautiful. If you are looking for a restaurant with a romantic feel overlooking the ocean with good service and excellent food, then give Peter Shields a try.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

We went to Peter Shields Inn for dinner on our 35th anniversary and we're not disappointed. All of the food that we had was prepared creatively and was delicious! We enjoyed our meal so much that we returned the next night to eat again. I highly recommend the lump crab appetizer, the tuna poke appetizer, the filet mignon, the oysters, the steak tartare, and the the day boat halibut. We also enjoyed the bread pudding, the pana cotta, the creme brûlée, and the English date pudding. The service was terrific and we thoroughly enjoyed dinner both evenings. You can't go wrong at Peter Shields Inn!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Creative menu and the proportions were perfect............not overdone!

Tags: Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Food was excellent. Great ambiance. Service a bit slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Easter Sunday brunch was well worth the drive from the Jersey shore area. Varied selection for 1st and 2nd courses. Dessert course also offered a sweet taste of enjoyable treats. We intend on going back to see what delights the chef has prepared. We cannot recommend highly enough. Gourmer cuisine at its' finest.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Romantic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Wonderful Easter brunch. Great service and fabulous meal

Tags: Scenic View, Seasonal, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We have eaten here many, many, many times and each and every time the meals are consistently great. The entire staff is exceptionally professional.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Easter brunch was excellent. We have dined at PSI on numerous occasions over many years and the experience always proves outstanding from the ambiance, to the delectable cuisine, to the charming service. I again tip my hat. Thank you for our many fond memories.

Tags: Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Seasonal, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Went on a quiet Saturday in mid April. Live jazz piano set the tone. Great, personable service. Food was fresh and carefully prepared. Great experience overall and BYOB which was appreciated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Enjoyed a great dinner on a Saturday night at PSI, with apps ranging in the $10s - $20s range and entrees in the $30s-$40s range. A bread basket is brought to the table at the start and the rolls were just ok. The menu was somewhat limited given the fact that I was pregnant - a lot of raw food (clam, tuna, etc.) but I loved my crab appetizer (they were able to remove the smoked salmon from the dish), which was light and flavorful. I also enjoyed the halibut - the fish was cooked perfectly and the sides were really filling. My husband thought the raw oysters were good, not great, and the flank steak was a tad salty, though he finished his plate! Dessert of banana bread putting and crème brulee were both nice but nothing too memorable. There was a piano player that provided great background noise - not too loud and we were able to converse without feeling like we couldn't hear eachother. It was a great babymoon meal and I'd def recommend going to PSI for dinner. Our easter brunch the following day was amazing and we are planning on coming back in the future for dinner and/or easter brunch.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Superb food in elegant setting with classy sevice. (Note: BYOB)

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 13, 2017

We've been to the Peter Shields many times and couldn't ask for a better dining experience. Similar to our last visit, we made early reservations to enjoy the $40 prix fixe 3-course menu. Everything was delicious from the salad appetizers and the yellowfin tuna poke (would have eaten this as an entree if it were bigger) to the hanger steak and sea bass. The 3 desserts, the panna cotta, English date pudding, and creme brulee, were also fantastic. When we first arrived, we asked to sit on the sunny porch which the hostess accommodated. Our server was also accommodating and on top of things. Our only complaint was having to check in our wine bag. After doing this, our wine and vodka bottles were perched on the hostess stand and then brought to our table. (We were trying to be discrete about the vodka although they didn't seem to care.) When we were finished our meal, we had to carry our wine and vodka bottles back to the stand and wait for the bag. Oy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Everything was perfect! The food was delicious and creative, the service attentive and the ambience beautiful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Excellent food and service .The venue is very attractive and across from the ocean.Very nice for a special occasion dinner.The dinner specials are an excellent value.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Every time we come down to Cape May, The Peter Shields Inn is a must. The food is excellent, the wait stat very attentive and it's a BYOB which allows you to pick the wine.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Wonderful food and service! By far our best meal in Cape May.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Excellent food, great service and atmosphere at reasonable price. Will definitely return on my next stay in Cape May.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 10, 2017

The tuna poke was outstanding.it was one of the best appetizers ive ever had.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Top shelf, special occasion, BYOB. Impeccable service in a Victorian setting with an Ocean view.

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 8, 2017

PSI was one of the highlights of our trip to Cape May. My husband is a self-proclaimed foodie who is on the never ending search for "good food. " PSI is up there on his list of best places in the tri state area. For appetizers, we ordered the foie gras. Our first time having it, so not much to compare to, but the presentation was stunning as was the taste of dish. We also ordered champagne oysters. There's an unexpected sweetness to these fresh oysters, which came as a very welcome surprise. For our meal, I had the scallops special. The scallops were seated perfectly, and it was nice to know they were caught that day. Other than the great sear, there wasn't much to the arugula and fennel salad cous cous combo that accompanied it. My husband ordered the lamb chop special, cooked at a perfect medium rare with a very delicate side of potatoes au gratin. In addition, we ordered an extra side of the truffle potato puree because I'm impulsive and needed to try it. That side was probably my favorite part of the meal. Dessert was a date pudding, ordered mostly because we'd never seen or heard of one before. It was good and that's all there is to say about that.

What blew me away about PSI more than anything, was the service. Our server, Julie, was a sweetheart and so very attentive to our needs and any questions we had. When I made the reservation on open table, I added that we were celebrating our first year anniversary with a trip to Cape May. Knowing this, the hostess arranged a charming table in the corner of the patio with a few, also much quieter than the alternative ooms in the restaurant. It was he perfect spot for a romantic dinner. At the end of our meal, Julie, the sweetheart that she is, brought over two glasses of champagne for us to celebrate with a toast.
Overall, I would definitely come back to PSI for a special occasion. The place is pricey, but because of the high quality of food and service, i think it's well worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Great food, byob, seating is wonderful with many great spots with views to choose from.

Tags: Waterfront, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on April 7, 2017

The PSI is our favorite restaurant in Cape May. The food and service is always first rate and the ocean view is outstanding. Two years ago we did the chefs special menu on the private balcony and it was an experience we will never forget.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Historic, Worth the Drive, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Wonderful meal! Service was friendly and informative. Tuna Salmon Poke was amazing!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Historic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Delicious meal. Exceptional service with Chris. We had the chef's tasting and it was appropriately priced and absolutely delicious. It's BYOB.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Waterfront, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Love this restaurant the rooms are beautiful & elegant and the food is delicious. A special place for any occasion or everyday dining.

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Historic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on April 1, 2017

This was our second visit to Peter Shields Inn. We each ordered the Chef's tasting menu and were not disappointed! Loved the Waygu beef! Service was fantastic and perfectly timed.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 31, 2017

We have been coming to Cape May for several years and always make Peter Shields one of our go to restaurants, while trying others each year for the additional nights. The quality of the food has always been consistent. The portions fair for the cost, however it is not an inexpensive meal. While some restaurants are rigid in altering menu items, Peter Shields is always accommodating if you request it. The restaurant is a BYOB, which is great. If you're limited in your time in Cape May, select Peter Shields as your restaurant choice. You will be happy you did.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Great meal ,, appetizers were off the charts and the desserts were decadent ! Very attentive wait staff 👏

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Outstanding! One of the best meals we have ever had!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Mushroom soup was great. Pork chop, medium well, was excellent.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 26, 2017

We are always very satisfied with our meals and service. A model for all other restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 26, 2017

We really enjoyed our meal and the service was excellent! We ordered from the prefix menu and the portions were full size and cooked exactly right. We will return as this is one of our favorite restaurants in Cape May. It did not disappoint!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Romantic, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 26, 2017

This saddens me to write a negative review about such a special restaurant with a wonderful menu but I must. My husband and I were in on a Saturday night and it was just a total letdown from a service stand point. The food was outstanding as usual. The meal itself was absolutely delicious and very special. Our server, however, was terrible. He was very short and curt and did not smile once. He seemed absolutely miserable to be doing his job. The restaurant is quiet and seemed to be catering to a much older crowd. I am 42. We have dined at Peter Shields multiple times and have always walked away very satisfied but last Saturday evening was a disappointment. Kudos to the chef though once again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on March 25, 2017

This night we celebrated our 22nd anniversary and there was only one choice for us the Peter Shield's Inn! Dottie was our server the lobster & beet first course I hope is on the menu the next time. First time on the little side porch which was cozy and romantic! Thank You

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 25, 2017

One of the best restaurants in Cape May for a little more formal option . We have dined here many times over the years , and it is one of our favorite places. It is a little costly, however bring your good wine it is well worth it.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 25, 2017

EXCELLENT! Our server, Chris was professional and helpful with descriptions of items on the menu. The Hanger Steak was flavorful and an excellent presentation. Dessert was a masterpiece on the plate. We think this is the best restaurant in Cape May. It is also BYO.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Compared to many other places Peter shields would come out on top. However 3/4 in our group were disappointed . The hanger steak had by two lacked flavor and trout was a little dry. My filet was excellent . We all really enjoyed the mushroom soup and desserts were wonderful . This was our first visit but our friends have been here a few times and were not happy with their meals as they always have been in the past. Service was lackluster as well. We will try one of the other recommended places next time.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Our prior visit left a bit to be desired. We are usually wowed and leave not only pleasantly sated but thrilled by the creativity, execution, flavors and also the great service. This time they nailed it. The food was perfection and our server, Amy, who was delightful, went so far as to check with the kitchen when we were disappointed that one of the dessert options was no longer available. Surprise! They found a creme brulee. Just superb.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on March 23, 2017

First class dinning experience all the way. Every part of dinner was truly outstanding, from the service to meal and obience, everything about this place makes it a go to restaurant and staple of Cape May.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.