Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi

About Peter Shields Inn

The Peter Shields Inn quality cuisine bursts with freshness and creativity. The PSI is a BYOB establishment that offers a la carte dining along with a four course chef’s tasting menu. Also expect to find weekly menu additions that incorporate fresh and innovative ingredients. The magnificent ocean views are the perfect scenery to celebrate a special occasion or simply enjoy a memorable dining experience. In the summer months, outdoor dining is available on the porch overlooking the ocean. The Inn also specializes in both casual & elegant ocean front weddings. For the absolute finest local and seasonal fare, Peter Shields Inn & Restaurant is a favorite of residents and visitors to Cape May alike.
Additional Details: Banquet/Private Rooms, BYO Liquor, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Fireplace, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Private Room. Dress Code is Smart Casual.

1301 Beach Avenue
Cape May, NJ 08204
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Jan - March - Open Thursday thru Sunday / April - December Open 7 Nights

Cross Street:
Trenton Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(609) 884-9090

Website:
http://www.petershieldsinn.com/

Entertainment:
Kahlil Gunther and Doug Williams pianists.

Parking Details:
Street parking, no meters.

Executive Chef:
Carl Messick

Private Party Facilities:
Peter Shields Inn & Restaurant can host private parties fom 10-115 people.

Private Party Contact:
Amy Gotthardt: (609) 884-9090

Additional:
Banquet, BYO Liquor, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Details

We will be serving our Easter Brunch Prix Fixe between 10 - 3 pm. Make your reservation now and enjoy some of the delicious seasonal choices from Chef Carl Messicks cuisine!

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Details

Mothers know best. Why don`t you surprise her with the best meal in our beautiful restaurant. We will be serving our Mother`s Day Brunch Prix Fixe between 10 - 3 pm.

Peter Shields Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (80)
Good for Anniversaries (72)
Romantic (72)
See All
Good for a Date (66)
Creative Cuisine (47)
Quiet Conversation (41)
Scenic View (40)
Fit for Foodies (40)
Waterfront (37)
Worth the Drive (36)
Good for Birthdays (35)
Cozy (34)
Historic (34)
Fireplace (26)
Neighborhood Gem (26)
Local Ingredients (17)
Authentic (16)
Tasting Menu (15)
Live Music (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Seasonal (6)
Business Meals (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Casual (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Healthy (4)
Notable Wine List (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Private Room (2)
People Watching (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Fun (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Organic (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
S
2381 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Our prior visit left a bit to be desired. We are usually wowed and leave not only pleasantly sated but thrilled by the creativity, execution, flavors and also the great service. This time they nailed it. The food was perfection and our server, Amy, who was delightful, went so far as to check with the kitchen when we were disappointed that one of the dessert options was no longer available. Surprise! They found a creme brulee. Just superb.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined 3 days ago

First class dinning experience all the way. Every part of dinner was truly outstanding, from the service to meal and obience, everything about this place makes it a go to restaurant and staple of Cape May.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 7 days ago

This was our first time here and we were extremely happy! This will now be a favorite of ours while in Cape May.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 19, 2017

We dine there at least once a month. Always, always on target with their food. Never disappointed.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Cozy, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on March 18, 2017

My expectations were very high considering it was voted #1 in South Jersey.The atmosphere and service were exceptional, but I was disappointed with the meal that I had. The lobster salad was overpriced and all beets and mache Lettuce.Very little lobster for $23. The waiter suggested the Monk Fish wrapped in bacon.It came out luke warm ,I sent it back and it came out again still luke warm.It was very salty,also.The menu was very limited with few seafood entrees.No shrimp,scallops or crabmeat .I was disappointed and won't be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 18, 2017

The best restaurant in South Jersey by a mile! I go two times a year - in the winter for a cozy romantic dinner and in the summer for a beautiful view.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We have been to Peter Shields Inn several times, with 2 people and a larger group. Excellent, delicious food, great service, love the ambiance.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on March 12, 2017

As usual, the atmosphere, food and service were excellent. Our server, Christof, is always pleasant, helpful and attentive. You never feel rushed at this "white tablecloth" restaurant. There is always a great selection of seafood. Peter Shields is a BYOB which cuts down on the cost for the evening. We have been there at least 3 times in the last 6 weeks. My wife and I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Authentic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Terrific night at PSI.
Celebrating our 40th wedding anniversary, we were seated in the enclosed porch, upfront, with a great view across the street to the ocean.
Service was fantastic, as provided by Amy, as were the food selections. Just a wonderful, relaxing evening.
Thank you PSI!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Always outstanding and never disappointed. Love this local gem.

Tags: Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Everything at Peter Shields is top notch, in a town that is loaded with great restaurants! Always consistent. Never a complaint from anyone.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Maryellen and I had a great dinner at Peter Shields Inn. We enjoyed everything about the experience. We definitely will be going back. The occasion was Maryellen's birthday. We book every year during the 2nd week in March.

Tags: Organic, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Always love Peter Shields. Beautiful food, ambiance, and attentive service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Fantastic food, service and atmosphere.
Went for our wedding anniversary and was very impressed

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We have never had a bad meal here. The ambiance, service and food quality are superior. Always feel special after being here! That kind of special place. The staff is wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on March 4, 2017

One of our favorites

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 4, 2017

This was our fourth time at PSI and it was excellent. !! BYOB and tremendous service. Great place for a special occasion.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Had dinner last night 2/26/17.A fixed price meal.Should have been very good, but, was not! Both entrees were awful, we both left at least half of the meal on the plate, and the waiter ignored that,he should have at the least asked if anything was wrong, but, chose not to.I had a strip steak that you could not cut with a steak knife because of all the veins in it.I had asked for it cooked medium, but when it came out it wasn,t even med/rare, it was undercooked for anyone civilized to eat and rather than send it back,I tried,thinking how tender it could have been and found all the veins in it. My wifes dish was just as bad. I don,t think we would ever return. What a shame, its a very attractive restaurant, but, after that meal, we both have upset stomachs today, it was that bad.Finally, let me say that this used to be a favorite restaurant of ours, but, not anymore. Someone in charge should check the quality of the strip steak they serve.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Our favorite restaurant at the Jersey Shore. It is our go to place for special events as well as quiet Sunday night dinners before we leave for home.

Tags: Fireplace, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Everything from the moment we walked in was great!!! Dan our waiter was amazing and really took good care of our table- great with suggestions. The Waygu steak was cooked to perfection and totally worth the 60$. Besides it's a BYOB so what u are saving on drinks - you may as well splurge on the food!!!

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Food was delicious!! Staff was outstanding. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We are repeat PSI customers. That alone should tell you something. This time the occasion was a friends' get-together. But whatever the occasion, the experience is sublime, from the food, the service to the ambiance, PSI is wonderful. We had the 3 course tasting menu (which technically was not supposed to be available on the Presidents' Holiday Weekend. However, the staff obliged our request and we were very grateful at how they strive to make every customer happy.)
We had an exquisite lobster and roasted beet salad to start, fish and risotto for a main course, and for dessert, a mind-blowing banana bread pudding with salted caramel ice cream-to die for. The meal was flawless as was the service-it flowed perfectly.
Couple that with live piano music and a dining room quiet enough that you can hear your companions' conversation, and the entire evening was perfection-as usual.
Remember to go in the summer too and sit on the porch to view the ocean across the street.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Cozy, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Live Music, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Our favorite restaurant in the Cape May area. We go there often and ever time we are in the area. We have never been disappointed. Book early on open table to get the reservation day and time you want. Summer or winter, it's always in season to eat at Peter Shields Inn!

Tags: Historic, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We had the perfect evening here. The service was perfectly executed-Sean was a delight and he was so friendly and his service was prompt and courteous.

The food was spectacular, one had the crab cocktail and the other had the lobster cocktail. Both were so fresh and delicious, we savored every morsel!

I had the special duck for dinner-it was the best I've ever had. My partner had the trout sautéed in bacon and he loved it.

For dessert we had the banana chocolate break pudding and it was delicious.

The atmosphere is so welcoming and lovely and you are immediately felt welcomed here.

Prices are acceptable for the quality of food and service that you receive. This is a very special place and I would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a wonderful place to spoil your loved ones.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Waterfront, Historic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Good for a Date, Live Music, Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Can't say enough. From the greeting to departure, everything was impeccable. Service, food, selections, all excellent. Went with my wife for a belated Valentine dinner. Shared yellow fin tuna appy. She had hanger steak and I had bacon wrapped monk fish for entrees. I had capaccino and forgot my wife's dessert as it disappeared quickly. Remember to bring nice bottles of wine to this byob. The only drawback is price, but unfortunately the other Cape May restaurants have caught up so PSI does not seem that outrageous anymore.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Food was delicious and service was great! Would have like more choices for dessert............

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 17, 2017

A very nice place to enjoy excellent cuisine. Excellent service. An elegant destination.

Tags: Historic, Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Peter Shields offers most of what you are looking for. Ambience, romance, relaxed dining in an unhurried space, impeccable service, condusive to conversation & romance. The food unfortunately , although presentation is pleasing the food is NOT. It was a lovely anniversary celebration, they surprised us with champagne after dinner & it was a very relaxing evening but we were extremely disappointed by the food.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We had a wonderful valentines dinner and our waiter Petr was very attentive & professioal, we enjoyed the evening!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Good all round atmosphere & excellent food & service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Truly a Cape May jewel! great food, beautiful site, professional staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We went for our Anniversary. The staff was attentive, food, delicious. The atmosphere was gracious. Overall we had a lovely evening.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on February 14, 2017

It was our first time at PSI, it was our anniversary and it did not disappoint, everything from the moment we walked in was great, the hostess was very friendly and professional, our waiter was great, friendly and very knowledgeable of the menu and the wine list, the ambiance was cozy, elegant and romantic, the food was AMAZING, even the music was nice..... we will def be back 5 starts for sure ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 13, 2017

The food and service were outstanding. Ordered the pre arranged 4 course Valentines menu which was excellent. Kudos to the chef.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 13, 2017

We have dined here several times and never have been disappointed. Food is excellent and always fresh. It is a bonus that the restaurant is a byo

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Food was wonderful. My husband and I went for Valentine's Day and the entire experience was flawless!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I live in West Cape may. Everyone who lives or vacations in Cape May must have at least one dining experience in this restaurant. Food was creative, exciting and simply OUTSTANDING!!!! Service was first rate. I dine out quite frequently and this was by far one of the best all around dining experiences i have had.

Tags: Modern Decor, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, People Watching, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Excellent food and service. One of the best places to dine in Cape May, NJ.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on February 12, 2017

My husband and I go here when we want a quiet romantic dinner. This place never disappoints from the ambiance to the service and of course the food is fabulous. I would highly recommend.

Tags: Good for a Date, Private Room, Historic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Always fabulous and romantic!

Tags: Historic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.