Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi

About Peter Shields Inn

The Peter Shields Inn quality cuisine bursts with freshness and creativity. The PSI is a BYOB establishment that offers a la carte dining along with a four course chef’s tasting menu. Also expect to find weekly menu additions that incorporate fresh and innovative ingredients. The magnificent ocean views are the perfect scenery to celebrate a special occasion or simply enjoy a memorable dining experience. In the summer months, outdoor dining is available on the porch overlooking the ocean. The Inn also specializes in both casual & elegant ocean front weddings. For the absolute finest local and seasonal fare, Peter Shields Inn & Restaurant is a favorite of residents and visitors to Cape May alike.
Additional Details: Banquet/Private Rooms, BYO Liquor, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Fireplace, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Private Room. Dress Code is Smart Casual.

1301 Beach Avenue
Cape May, NJ 08204
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Jan - March - Open Thursday thru Sunday / April - December Open 7 Nights

Cross Street:
Trenton Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(609) 884-9090

Website:
http://www.petershieldsinn.com/

Entertainment:
Kahlil Gunther and Doug Williams pianists.

Parking Details:
Street parking, no meters.

Executive Chef:
Carl Messick

Private Party Facilities:
Peter Shields Inn & Restaurant can host private parties fom 10-115 people.

Private Party Contact:
Amy Gotthardt: (609) 884-9090

Additional:
Banquet, BYO Liquor, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View

Peter Shields Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (137)
Good for Anniversaries (119)
Romantic (113)
See All
Good for a Date (112)
Creative Cuisine (81)
Fit for Foodies (80)
Scenic View (80)
Good for Birthdays (73)
Waterfront (68)
Worth the Drive (63)
Quiet Conversation (61)
Historic (41)
Neighborhood Gem (38)
Cozy (38)
Tasting Menu (29)
Fireplace (26)
Authentic (22)
Local Ingredients (22)
Great for Outdoor Dining (20)
Great for Brunch (12)
Healthy (10)
Good for Groups (9)
Seasonal (9)
Business Meals (9)
Live Music (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
People Watching (4)
Casual (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Private Room (3)
Fun (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Organic (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
2537 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 2 days ago

Outstanding service and great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 2 days ago

Sit on The porch and enjoy the ocean breezes impeccable service food is the best at the jersey shore
It's a byob so enjoy a bottle of great wine ...
Dress for this gatsby era inn and just relax and be Zelda and Scott for a night ...,
Stay there or next door at the lovely Angel of the Sea it's garden is located directly next to backyard of PSI
Perfect for couples

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

As always, fabulous food and excellent service. It's my go-to place for a memorable meal in Cape May. They never disappoint.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

A beautiful inn with excellent service and warm ambience, perfect for a romantic dinner or a special occasion. My wife and I dined here recently on a trip to Cape May, and we enjoyed the experience. Although the one slip-up was the arrival of a steak cooked to medium, when the order was for medium-rare, our waiter quickly remedied the situation and provided a perfectly-cooked replacement within minutes. The food overall is good to very good, and we had a very enjoyable evening and will definitely return.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined 4 days ago

Another superlative meal from PSI. The wagyu beef was fork-tender and full of flavor. Highly recommended.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Beautiful!!! Very Romantic!!!! Special!!! Best food in Cape May!!!! Chris, Best server in Cape May!!! Love it!!! Will try to get a reservation every weekend!!! Thank u!!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 days ago

Our 50th Wedding Anniversary! My expectations were high since a friend who lives in the area suggested it for a special occasion dinner. He was right! First impressions were the exterior "beautiful beach Inn. We entered and immediately our wine carrier was taken and ticketed so we could redeem on leaving. We were then escorted to our table which was situated with enough space so our conversation was not overheard. Now for the dinner. I had the beet salad and fillet with mushroom risotto and my husband had crab salad and scallops. Everything was done perfectly. Dessert to share and cappuccino followed. Ok, dinner ran about $175.00. Be prepared because it is a BYOB. We left pleased and full.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 5 days ago

My sister and I booked the Inn for my parents on their trip to Cape May and we called ahead of time to make sure that the bill was paid for by us and not our parents. The staff was wonderful and made sure that we paid for it and gave my parents a sweet card. On top of that my parents raved about the food, ambiance, staff and overall experience. Will recommend to everyone!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Lovely for special occasion. Even though on the Beach Drive in town, because of the dunes, the view of the water is blocked. But you do know that you're bordering the ocean and it is in an uncrowded part of Cape May so instantly the feeling is elegant and relaxed. The staff know what they are doing. BYOB staff takes charge of your bottles as soon as you walk in. Food is spectacular and pianist on board on Saturday nights give it a dreamy feel.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Don't mind spending but 190 for a Porterhouse for 2 is insane. That being said food is Top Shelf although Lava cake had no Lava. It's a Great Restaurant

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

This was our second time at Peter Shields and it did not disappoint: the food was excellent and very well prepared. Service is also excellent, although not quite the same as our first visits. Our server was a bit stoic and we felt rushed at first but then more relaxed.

Overall....a great place for a date or special occasion, especially when patrons realize this is not a restaurant for infants and noisy children.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Waterfront, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

Food was presented well. Service was very attentive to our needs. Steak was very tasty. Overall one of the best meals we have eaten in Cape May.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined 6 days ago

We love Peter Shields Inn! Whenever we are visiting Cape May, it's always a must. Never disappoints!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 15, 2017

FAbulous food with wonderful ambiance, including piano music. The server was very nice and helpful in selecting menu choices. Delicious!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Never disappointed when we come here! The food and service are superb.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 13, 2017

We've been many, many times over the years and all the seasons and it never fails to hit the ball out of the park. Chris is the MAN! What service and knowledge of food and wine!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Worth the Drive, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Consistent high quality meal complemented by welcoming and friendly service, surrounded by beautiful ocean views and nostalgic interior décor. My wife and I have been back several times to celebrate special occasions and each time is a reminder of how exceptional Peter Shields is as a dining experience. I would highly recommend to anyone looking for an exceptional dining experience in the south Jersey area.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Scenic View, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Casual, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Simply the best- that is Peter Shields Inn. We eat here throughout the year and the consistency of the quality of food and service is a cornerstone of PSI. Three of us dined this time, enjoying salmon, scallops and halibut. All were expertly prepared and our server, Amy, did a great job, as always. To me, this is the gold standard of dining in Cape May and, perhaps, in South Jersey.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Very romantic. Every part of our meal was delicious. Great service.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Food is always excellent, service has always been excellent! Can't wait to go back!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Cozy, Live Music, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 10, 2017

A dinner at this restaurant insures such a magical evening. The ambiance is equal in quality to the spectacular meal. As I sat, I had a view of the ocean and was able to listen to the beautiful piano playing that complemented the food and view. It was a dinner that I will not soon forget. I am never disappointed in Peter Shields Inn. I was fortunate to be able to take advantage of the Restaurant Week menu which offered wonderful choices at a discounted price. I recommend to anyone reading this review to rush to make a reservation and enjoy a perfectly enchanting evening!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Excellent food and service as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 10, 2017

We came here during restaurant week and I am usually skeptical with restaurant week and menu options. We were blown away. Everything was amazing. Very nicely done, not too saucy. Natural flavors brought out. Highlights were potato leek soup and pork chop amazing. Even date pudding. A must go if in Cape May.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on June 9, 2017

We were there for restaurant week.
We were celebrating our 25th anniversary.
The food was delicious, great atmosphere, and the service was terrific.
No liquor license so byob.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Everything was perfect inclusing ambiance, service was outstanding, and food was fantastic! Peter, our server was very attentive, smiled often and friendly. Have been here twice and will definitely return!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 9, 2017

This was our first time at Peter Shield's Inn. We were celebrating our 28th Wedding Anniversary. The hostess sat is at the most romantic table in the restaurant. The service was wonderful and the dinner was fantastic! Thank you so much for enhancing our special day!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Always excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Hostess was not friendly at all ! Very standoffish! Server was the same way! However food was excellent ! So we would go back and avoid that server and smile our way though the hostess.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Cozy, Romantic, Scenic View, Afternoon Coffee, Afternoon Tea, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Wonderful experience all around, looking forward to our next visit!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Food was very bland
filet mignon was dry and tough

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value1

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Every time we go to Peter Shields we are more impressed. This was Restaurant Week. As a former restauranteur, I know how challenging Restaurant Week can be for a venue, and especially for a high end kitchen. Carl Messick, the Chef, just continues to amaze and delight. The menu was varied, the food extraordinary, the service superb, and in this case, the price a true steal! There was nothing on the Restaurant Week menu that suggested that this was a bargain dinner. Instead, he offered high end entrees, three delicious starters and desserts from the regular menu. Bravo to the kitchen and staff but most of all Chef Messick for delivering another spectacular evening, and this one at a true bargain! 5 stars for sure!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on June 8, 2017

although the restaurant is beautiful and the service very attentive, both my friend and I were
not that happy with the food and its presentation.
our appetizers were tasty, our entree of salmon was only OK. the biggest buzzkill was dessert
which neither of us liked. that kinda ruined it for us. also i did not find that a sprinkling of micro greens on dessert appealed, maybe a piece of mint would have been more appropriate.
lacking mint, i would have used powdered sugar.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Creative Cuisine, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Our favorite "must dine" location when in Cape May. Visited during restaurant week and were not only impressed with our meals (as always) but the selections and value offered. Nice to see some familiar faces of the wait staff and we are always made to feel welcomed. My salmon dish was perfectly cooked and my husband's pork chop was full of flavor and cooked to the doneness he requested.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Every course was plated beautifully and exceeded our taste expectations.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Restaurant week in Cape May. Food was excellent. Service was superb!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on June 7, 2017

I was there twice for restaurant week. The first meal was excellent - all 5 stars. The second meal I had Salmon and it was unfortunately dry.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Years ago, I decided to book a restaurant week dinner at the PSI because of the architecture. Thank God for those majestic white columns because the place is a crown jewel. There is an elegance here from a bygone era. As crowded as it was, this is restaurant week, we were never hurried and the service was perfect. The food, from the appetizers to dessert was fabulous. Rarely do I deviate from chocolate but I thoroughly enjoyed the warm English date pudding. Although I am not a wine connoisseur I really enjoy the Isaac Smith Albarino. ( I have purchased other varieties at state stores but the Isaac Smith is my favorite.) More than just dinner, PSI is a dining experience.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Peter Shields is one of my favorite restaurants in Cape May. The ambience , service and food are outstanding.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Our dinners were excellent! We went for restaurant week and their restaurant week selections were very good. Our waiter Peter was top notch! Don't miss this gem of a restaurant!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Beautiful restaurant in a former mansion at the Cape May beach, delicious food and wonderful service.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.