About Peter Shields Inn

1301 Beach Avenue
Cape May, NJ 08204
View Larger Map

The Peter Shields Inn quality cuisine bursts with freshness and creativity. The PSI is a BYOB establishment that offers a la carte dining along with a four course chef’s tasting menu. Also expect to find weekly menu additions that incorporate fresh and innovative ingredients. The magnificent ocean views are the perfect scenery to celebrate a special occasion or simply enjoy a memorable dining experience. In the summer months, outdoor dining is available on the porch overlooking the ocean. The Inn also specializes in both casual & elegant ocean front weddings. For the absolute finest local and seasonal fare, Peter Shields Inn & Restaurant is a favorite of residents and visitors to Cape May alike.
Additional Details: Banquet/Private Rooms, BYO Liquor, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Fireplace, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Private Room. Dress Code is Smart Casual.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Jan - March - Open Thursday thru Sunday / April - December Open 7 Nights

Cross Street:
Trenton Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(609) 884-9090

Website:
http://www.petershieldsinn.com/

Entertainment:
Kahlil Gunther and Doug Williams pianists.

Parking Details:
Street parking, no meters.

Executive Chef:
Carl Messick

Private Party Facilities:
Peter Shields Inn & Restaurant can host private parties fom 10-115 people.

Private Party Contact:
Amy Gotthardt: 609 884 9090x

Additional:
Banquet, BYO Liquor, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View

Restaurant Photos

Hanger Steak
Beet Salad
Pan Roasted Chicken
Summer Corn Soup
Assorted Rolls
Pan Seared Salmon
garden salad
lemon bar
Chocolate Lava Cake
Samon With Swiss Chard
Veal Tenderloin
Crabneat Salad
Vegetarian Risotto
Chocolate Lava Cake with Dark Chocolate Ice Cream
Prime Sirloin
Corn Soup
Corn Chowder With Corn Bread
Crabmeat Lasagne
Bronzino With Olive Caponata
Seared Tuna
Filet Of Beef Truffles Potato Gratin
Roasted Beet And Lobster Salad

Peter Shields Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
Best Food
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
Best Service
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
15 More
Best Ambiance
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
Best Value
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
Fit for Foodies
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
Romantic
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
American
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
Most Booked
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
Best Overall
South Jersey Shore
Best Food
South Jersey Shore
Best Service
South Jersey Shore
Best Ambiance
South Jersey Shore
Best Value
South Jersey Shore
Fit for Foodies
South Jersey Shore
Special Occasion
South Jersey Shore
American
South Jersey Shore
Most Booked
South Jersey Shore
Best Restaurants in Cape May ›

Special Occasion (300)
Romantic (283)
Fit for Foodies (222)
See All
Scenic View (215)
Neighborhood Gem (106)
Great for Outdoor Dining (70)
Good for Groups (32)
Notable Wine List (15)
Hot Spot (13)
Great for Brunch (7)
Great for Lunch (6)
Late-night Find (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Live Music (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2023 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Top notch food!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 3 days ago

Top notch food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

We brought friends who were visiting fro ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 5 days ago

We brought friends who were visiting from out of town .My husband and I were here last week and initially I wanted to go elsewhere. But I am happy we returned to Peter Shields. The service was exceptional and the food did not disappoint. Everyone enjoyed their entrees.

There is a lot of thought given to food presentation. My scallops were perfect not overdone and I enjoyed the marinated cous-cous.. My husband ordered the chicken - juicy and there was nothing left on his plate. We will definitely return.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The ambience is so special- service was ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

The ambience is so special- service was superb- I thought the food was good but not outstanding. Corn soup was mediocre- heirloom tomatoes with burrata was truly excellent- scallops were not adequately seared and though otherwise cooked properly were not memorable, my husbands halibut was dry, the gnocchi too dense--overall not even good...though the desserts "looked" great we did not have so no comment. This is still a beautiful venue worth giving another try.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

it is the second time this year we have ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 5 days ago

it is the second time this year we have had the opportunity to dine at Peter Shields. Our expectations were exceeded both times! We look forward to coming back hopefully this fall

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was outstanding but sitting out on ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 5 days ago

Food was outstanding but sitting out on the porch overlooking the beach during sunset was amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, service and atmosphere!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

Great food, service and atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

What a beautiful evening for my wife's 6 ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 6 days ago

What a beautiful evening for my wife's 60 th birthday out on the porch during a thunderstorm. The tasting menu was superb as usual and the service was impeccable. Background continuous live piano music completed the ambiance. We have dined at PSI several times and have been throughly impressed by the consistency. PSI is a gem in Cape May!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Was a beautiful setting on the beach. Fo ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 6 days ago

Was a beautiful setting on the beach. Food was delicious just a couple under cooked potato slices. White chocolate creme brûlée was amazing. Is BYOB

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

An excellent meal, great service (Stephe ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 7 days ago

An excellent meal, great service (Stephen)--everything was perfect! Thanks to the staff for a memorable event.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

PSI has got it all perfectly prepared fi ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined 7 days ago

PSI has got it all perfectly prepared fish creative and delicious Appetizers ( I had the Squid) and for desert you have to have the Home made Ice Cream great flavor selection and the best you'll ever have.

The service was impeccable and the atmosphere wonderful.

Do yourself a favor and GO!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Peter Shields hit it out of the park. I ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 7 days ago

Peter Shields hit it out of the park. I had the chef's tasting menu with corn soup, scallops, and NY Strip steak. All were absolutely fabulous. Cape May has many wonderful restaurants but this one is at the very top of the list.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic, Waterfront, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Overall, food was delicious and the atmo ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Overall, food was delicious and the atmosphere was romantic. Great spot for a lovely dinner for two.

Tags: Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Absolutely fantastic dinner. Peter the ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Absolutely fantastic dinner. Peter the waiter was wonderful

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simply put...we will be returning. Food ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Simply put...we will be returning. Food and service were outstanding!

Tags: Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic place., absolute best food I ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Fantastic place., absolute best food I ever had dining and great ambience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Just an overall impressive place for foo ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Just an overall impressive place for food, service and ambience!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Dinner at Peter Shields Inn was fantasti ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Dinner at Peter Shields Inn was fantastic. We ordered the Four Course Sampler and it was delicious! Everything as to perfection exploding with flavor. The wait staff were friendly and helpful. The view was beautiful (ocean/beach). Overall, it was a mean out. I highly recommend it.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our fifth visit to PSI during o ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

This was our fifth visit to PSI during our two weeks in Cape May (one week in July, one in August). PSI has quickly emerged as our top choice restaurant in Cape May, and in a vibrant culinary scene like Cape May, that is saying something.

The cuisine is superb. At various times we had the four-course tasting menu comprising a wonderful amuse bouche of tuna tartare, corn soup, scallops, sirloin steak and chocolate mousse cake with vanilla ice cream, the surf (lobster) and turf (veal chop) special, filet mignon and halibut at various times. All were high quality, artfully presented and creatively designed culinary delights of the highest order.

The service is beyond impeccable. Both professional and friendly, the staff beginning with maitre'D Aleanna (sp.?) bend over backwards to make you feel special, appreciated and comfortable. This service excellence posture extends to every single member of the staff.

Adding to the quality of the cuisine and exemplary service is a setting and interior appointments that epitomize ambience. With the gentle sound of live piano music in the background, and the elegant and refined appointments of a bygone era, PSI is a restaurant with which one could easily fall in love.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

one of our favorite restaurants, if not ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

one of our favorite restaurants, if not THE favorite

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Positively spectacular. Perfect halibut. ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Positively spectacular. Perfect halibut. Sensational tuna tartare. Our server, Petr was his usual awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our server at PSI --Sean-- was fabulous! ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Our server at PSI --Sean-- was fabulous! The food was great except the Skate--ammonia smell and taste was overpowering. Desserts were wonderful. Loved the BYO option.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

A fantastic meal with a variety of choic ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

A fantastic meal with a variety of choices. The prix fixe, 3-course meal is what we chose. Hanger steak and red snapper were perfectly prepared. The service was excellent and not over bearing.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely setting in a Victorian B&B with v ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Lovely setting in a Victorian B&B with views of the ocean. Live piano added to ambiance. Menu varied with great choices everything delicious and presented beautifully. Changes to offerings served without problem. Highly recommend

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding wonderful piano player most ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Outstanding wonderful piano player most tasteful and quiet

Food, service and environment quite amazing.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a nice restaurant and we like to ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

It was a nice restaurant and we like to have a dinner whenever we go down to Cape May.

Unfortunately, all the foods were too salty even mashed potatoes.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

The ambiance was fantastic. It is a beau ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

The ambiance was fantastic. It is a beautiful building and the piano player was great. The porch is really nice. Food was very good and BYOB means fair value!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place for a nice dinner in cape ma ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Great place for a nice dinner in cape may. Recommend the chefs tasting if you want to try a good number of smaller plates.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We go back every year. The food is well ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We go back every year. The food is well prepared and well thought out. The restaurant is very elegant yet casual. You are missing out by not trying this place, you can opt for the early seating menu. I highly recommend reservation as far in advance as you can especially on weekends and holidays. Thanks again for another wonderful dinner.

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We thoroughly enjoyed Peter Shields. The ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed Peter Shields. The atmosphere was nice, linen table clothes, candles, etc. We especially enjoyed the pianist that performed throughout dinner. The dinner menu was very diverse and they paid attention to the details of each course. There were some selections that would even please hard-core foodies. We like the BYOB of many of the restaurants in Cape May and this one was no different. Our server, although she was not overly friendly, was on top of keeping our glasses filled and was willing to share information when we encouraged her to. We will be back for sure and would highly recommend to anyone staying in Cape May.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Once again we celebrated our anniversary ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Once again we celebrated our anniversary (our 44th) at Peter Shields and had a wonderful evening. I had requested a table in a quiet area and that was where we were seated. Petar, our wonderful waiter, brought us some bubbly complements of PS. Nice touch! I started with the Crab Salad and my wife had the Wild Arugula and Mixed Green Salad. Both were fresh and very tasty. We each followed the salads with a large Hanger Steak. I can't believe I cleaned off the plate; great flavor and it was well worth the price. Service and food were exceptional. We will return to PS next year to celebrate our 45th.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Peter Shields Inn is BYOB. Remember this ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Peter Shields Inn is BYOB. Remember this and eveything will be fine. My beef tenderloin entre and the soup dejour were superb. There is attention to detail in both the food preparation and service standards. Although there is always room for improvement, Peter Shields Inn is a must stop for anyone seeking the finer dining experience in Cape May NJ.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Enjoyed the day scallops and Alaskan Hal ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Enjoyed the day scallops and Alaskan Halibut both very fresh, sweet and prepared well. Nice it's a BYOB as well. Waiter very attentive and offered up his suggestions and answered questions. Across from beach and they honored our request to sit by a window for the view.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was disappointed and sad about my most ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

I was disappointed and sad about my most recent experience at Peter Shields. The beef tenderloin was not tender. I had eaten beef tenderloin at The Washington Inn and the Ebbit Room during our vacation week and it was delicious- melted in your mouth. Not true at Peter Shields. I sent the meat to be cooked longer and it still was disappointing. I felt uncomfortable during the dinner. Was it because I sent my meal back or we didn't order wine? Dessert took long to come ( the manager took care of the price of the dessert. Our check had 2 bills in it. We almost paid the more expensive bill before we realized the mistake. We didn't feel welcome. It was saved for the last night of our vacation and I was disappointed and sad about the whole experience.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value2

The food, service and location was excel ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

The food, service and location was excellent. We went for the early-bird menu and were not rushed at all. We ate outside on the porch and the view was amazing. The oysters, steak and fish dishes were delicious. I would definitely recommend this restaurant and look forward to returning on our next visit to Cape May.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Third time dinning at PSI gets better ev ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Third time dinning at PSI gets better every time . Food and service amazing

Tags: Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent fine dining experience. A defi ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Excellent fine dining experience. A definite winner in my book. My husband and I will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Peter Shields Inn was awesome! It was f ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Peter Shields Inn was awesome! It was for a birthday celebration and it couldn't have been any better. The Inn was beautiful. It was a perfect setting for a perfect dinner. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for fine dining and a beautiful atmosphere. They had a very talented pianist as well.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was generally a nice meal but must sa ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

It was generally a nice meal but must say that the heat and humidity by our window seat was very uncomfortable.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

It was a lovely dining experience. One o ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

It was a lovely dining experience. One of the best places I've been to in Cape May!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our dinner at Peter Shields was amazing! ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Our dinner at Peter Shields was amazing! Our server, Dottie, was a pleasure. She was knowledgeable about every item on the menu. Our meal was spectacular. We can't wait to go back!

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.