About Peter Shields Inn

1301 Beach Avenue
Cape May, NJ 08204
View Larger Map

The Peter Shields Inn quality cuisine bursts with freshness and creativity. The PSI is a BYOB establishment that offers a la carte dining along with a four course chef’s tasting menu. Also expect to find weekly menu additions that incorporate fresh and innovative ingredients. The magnificent ocean views are the perfect scenery to celebrate a special occasion or simply enjoy a memorable dining experience. In the summer months, outdoor dining is available on the porch overlooking the ocean. The Inn also specializes in both casual & elegant ocean front weddings. For the absolute finest local and seasonal fare, Peter Shields Inn & Restaurant is a favorite of residents and visitors to Cape May alike.
Additional Details: Banquet/Private Rooms, BYO Liquor, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Fireplace, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Private Room. Dress Code is Smart Casual.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Jan - March - Open Thursday thru Sunday / April - December Open 7 Nights

Cross Street:
Trenton Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(609) 884-9090

Website:
http://www.petershieldsinn.com/

Entertainment:
Kahlil Gunther and Doug Williams pianists.

Parking Details:
Street parking, no meters.

Executive Chef:
Carl Messick

Private Party Facilities:
Peter Shields Inn & Restaurant can host private parties fom 10-115 people.

Private Party Contact:
Amy Gotthardt: 609 884 9090x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, BYO Liquor, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Private Room, View

Restaurant Photos

garden salad
Samon With Swiss Chard
Hanger Steak
Pan Roasted Chicken
lemon bar
Summer Corn Soup
Chocolate Lava Cake
Beet Salad
Assorted Rolls
Pan Seared Salmon
Veal Tenderloin
Crabneat Salad
Vegetarian Risotto
Chocolate Lava Cake with Dark Chocolate Ice Cream
Prime Sirloin
Corn Soup
Corn Chowder With Corn Bread
Crabmeat Lasagne
Seared Tuna
Bronzino With Olive Caponata
Roasted Beet And Lobster Salad
Filet Of Beef Truffles Potato Gratin

Peter Shields Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
Best Food
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
Best Service
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
16 More
Best Ambiance
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
Best Value
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
Fit for Foodies
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
Romantic
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
Special Occasion
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
American
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
Most Booked
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
Best Overall
South Jersey Shore
Best Food
South Jersey Shore
Best Service
South Jersey Shore
Best Ambiance
South Jersey Shore
Best Value
South Jersey Shore
Fit for Foodies
South Jersey Shore
Romantic
South Jersey Shore
Special Occasion
South Jersey Shore
Most Booked
South Jersey Shore
Best Restaurants in Cape May ›

special occasion (195)
romantic (184)
fit for foodies (141)
See All
scenic view (133)
neighborhood gem (56)
great for outdoor dining (33)
good for groups (20)
great for brunch (11)
notable wine list (11)
hot spot (10)
great for lunch (8)
late-night find (3)
kid-friendly (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1858 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5

Our service was impeccable! Our server, ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

Our service was impeccable! Our server, Daniel, couldn't of made our experience any better. He was very helpful and knowledgeable. The food as always is perfect.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

My wife and I always eat at Peter Shield ...

Dined 5 days ago

My wife and I always eat at Peter Shields every time we visit Cape May. Always great food and great ambience.

Tags: romantic, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was wonderful!

vip
Dined 5 days ago

Everything was wonderful!

food5
ambience5
service5

Superlative When you visit a shore poin ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

Superlative When you visit a shore point from an urban area you expect to "curve" your grades because, well, you don't expect a shore restaurant to compare to that found in a big city. This restaurant excels -- wonderful service and great dishes. The cold octopus was very tasty, as were the hangar steak and a surf and turf special that revealed a properly cooked shoulder cut and lobster tail. The lava cake and vanilla ice cream combination was as good as it gets. Wonderful way to wind down a weekend and have a great time. Enjoy!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food, ambience and service was outst ...

Dined 6 days ago

The food, ambience and service was outstanding. My husband planned a romantic getaway and the Inn was divine. The dinner was a perfect end to our day.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have dined at Peter Shields many, many ...

Dined 6 days ago

I have dined at Peter Shields many, many times. I always have enjoyed the setting- -ambiance--the food and presentation--spectacular--and the waiter Chris, along with the rest of the staff--being greeted from the moment you walk into Peter Shields to individual waitstaff welcoming you to the restaurant --being on target with their recommendations and service -- never on top of you or rushing you but there when you need something! Positively A - Plus!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

We always enjoy our dinner and experienc ...

Dined 7 days ago

We always enjoy our dinner and experience 😊

food5
ambience5
service4

Nice ambience. 8/10 food. Good service.

Dined 7 days ago

Nice ambience. 8/10 food. Good service.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

One of the best meals we've had in sever ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

One of the best meals we've had in several years. Every course was expertly plated and equally delicious. The dining room is elegant, if a bit noisy. Would return in a second.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first experience at Peter S ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

This was our first experience at Peter Shields and it was wonderful. The ambience, food and service were all top notch. Am planning a trip to Cape May just to go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5

My husband and I just ate at Peter Shiel ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

My husband and I just ate at Peter Shields! What a fantastic decision to do so! The food was exquisite! You have to try the lobster and beet salad!! All the food was cooked perfectly and to a very high standard bursting with flavor! The service was impeccable (we were seen by Christophe) and he was very knowledgeable and very good at his job! The hostess was super friendly, all in all I HIGHLY recommend!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful, romantic anniversary celebra ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Beautiful, romantic anniversary celebration. Delicious food, great service and BYO.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our second visit. The ingredien ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

This was our second visit. The ingredients are top notch, and the combination of ingredients and sauces provides an inventive though subtle enhancement to these. Highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is one of the loveliest restaurants ...

vip
Dined on June 14, 2016

This is one of the loveliest restaurants in which my husband and I have dined during our 45 year marriage. The food was exquisite, the service outstanding and the setting beautiful. It will be our first stop for dinner the next time we are in Cape May.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Another fantastic dining experience. Th ...

vip
Dined on June 14, 2016

Another fantastic dining experience. The scallops were the best I have ever had and the Burrata appetizer was incredible.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service were excellent. Th ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

The food and service were excellent. The only alcohol they serve is local wine. We did not enjoy the Chardonnay. I is also byob, which is what we will do the next time.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Stunning!!! And incredible meal and serv ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Stunning!!! And incredible meal and service. Thank you for such a lovely evening.

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Was one of the most wonderful dinner exp ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Was one of the most wonderful dinner experience my husband and I have had. Relaxing and having wine on the front porch before our table was ready was fantastic. We dined on the porch and watched the sunset. All staff were attentive and excellent. We visited the last night of restaurant week and the food was incredible. Will never visit Cape May without dining at Peter Shields.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and service is excellent

vip
Dined on June 12, 2016

The food and service is excellent

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is excellent & there service is ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

The food is excellent & there service is even better!!!! This restaurant is fueled by quality servers & a location second to none in Cape May!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The entire experience is summed up in on ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

The entire experience is summed up in one word.....Exquisite !! The Food The Service The Atmosphere was Excellent. No Complaints...Francis the Waiter was the Best. Thank You Again

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a fabulous meal during restaurant ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

We had a fabulous meal during restaurant week. The teres major steak entree was perfectly prepared and presented. And how much better can the ambiance and ocean view be at this iconic Cape May bed and breakfast as the sun sets?

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrated out wedding anniversary. ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

We celebrated out wedding anniversary. They gave us a beautiful table up front on the screened porch, and the view was of the dunes and the ocean. The service was great, food was good. This is a very romantic, beautiful restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Fine dining in Cape May

Dined on June 10, 2016

The Peter Shields Inn is one of Cape May's top tier dining establishment. Located in one of the grand old homes, the ambivalence is outstanding, reinforced by being able to look out over the ocean. The service was excellent as was the food. We were sampling the Prix Fixed menu of restaurant week. While it has been a while since we dined here and the restaurant has changed hands several times, the quality of the food has not been diminished. We agreed that we would have to return for a regular meal here. As with many of the Cape May restaurants, it is BYOB.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service, the meal was tasty an ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

Excellent service, the meal was tasty and well presented.

food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Nice For Special Occasions. Try for Outdoor Seats

Dined on June 10, 2016

Beautifully situated on the beach, getting an outdoor seat will give you a romantic dinner with both high quality sweet and savory dishes. Steaks, fish and even specialties like the 63° egg are cooked to perfection. We only had one dish that we did not enjoy at all, which was the Lemon Bar with Blood Orange Sorbet, however, the Chocolate Panna Cotta, Crème Anglaise, Cocoa Pearls, Berry Puree, Pickled Cherries, with Chocolate Espresso Ice Cream was one of the best deserts I've had in my life. The atmosphere is relaxed and perfect for a beach town. With this in mind, be prepared to have this be a special meal as an appetizer, two entries and a desert (or two) can easily get you into the $150 range before you even get to wine or drinks (it is, however, a BYOB).

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent pace to dine

Dined on June 10, 2016

The food over the years has been excellent with a nice variety of both meat and fish. The appetizers are always fresh and delicious. BYOB keeps the overall dinner cost reasonable and the staff aim to please. Even in mid summer you are not rushed.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulously Romantic

Dined on June 10, 2016

This was our 1st visit to Peter Shields.....and we were not disappointed. From the ease of making our reservation, to the pleasant warm and friendly greeting....romantic atmosphere ...great service and absolutely delicious meal. Do yourselves a favor, and make it a point to visit and enjoy!

Tags: romantic, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect!

Dined on June 9, 2016

The restaurant is the best place to go for a special occasion to feel like you are special. From the minute you walk in the door until the minute you leave. The service is outstanding. The food was incredible. Highly recommend for a special night out!!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for restaurant week

Dined on June 9, 2016

The food and the presentation was fabulous. They portions were very large. Our waiter was Francis who was very attentive. I've been to this restaurant several time sad always have had a great meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Fabulous Food!!!!

Dined on June 9, 2016

We had an outstanding meal at Peter Shields....great service and delicious food! Very accommodating about dietary restrictions as well. Will absolutely be returning again and again!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

As with prior visits, this one was just ...

vip
Dined on June 8, 2016

As with prior visits, this one was just as good as ever. Our server Amy, was fantastic. The food superb.

food5
ambience4
service5
value2

I booked a dinner out for my wife on her ...

Dined on June 8, 2016

I booked a dinner out for my wife on her birthday. We had a wonderful meal very well prepared. Terrific atmosphere in a beautiful setting. You will not be disappointed here as the service and attention to your meal is top notch.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurant week in Cape May

Dined on June 7, 2016

Went three restaurants this week. All were good but, PSI was outstanding. Buratta and heirloom tomato salad was a first for us and was fantastic. 12 oz pork chop with trimmings on plate was best I have had.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent restaurant

Dined on June 7, 2016

We chose PSI for our anniversary dinner and we were not disappointed. The service was excellent and the food was very good.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Creativity and quality! Our waiter Dan w ...

Dined on June 6, 2016

Creativity and quality! Our waiter Dan was tremendous. Very personable,Profesional and knowledgeable of the menu. The whole experience was culinary heaven! This place mixed eligence,charm and relaxing atmosphere with gourmet food. Can't get better then this place. Hostesses were also warm and welcoming. Great Place!!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place never disappoints

Dined on June 6, 2016

Went during restauant week for their special 3 course menu. Every dish was prepared and presented in spectacular fashion. I had the tuna tartare starter, Australian sea bass entre, and chocolate panna cotta desert. The service was excellent. This restraurant is on par with anyplace I've dined. The chef pays attention to every detail here, and the preparations, ingredients, and presentations make each course a wonderful experience. It's all consistently great.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great for special occasions

Dined on June 6, 2016

This is a great restaurant for special occasions. The decor is elegant; servers are attentive; cuisine is creative and well-prepared.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Restaurant Week

Dined on June 6, 2016

The fixed price Restaurant Week menus at Peter Shields are always interesting and excellent. They also offer a similar special menu off-season on weekdays.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Very Pleased-Pleasant Restaurant Week Experience.

Dined on June 6, 2016

Food was very good, although when bringing out a grilled pork chop, it needs to be served piping hot, not warm. Waiter was pleasant but could have been a little more attentive to detail ie. when advised two of the four people would be drinking wine and 3 glasses were poured and one to the wrong person. Pay attention...Overall lovely special occasion restaurant beautiful architecture. Very good value for the restaurant week price fix menu. Our 'go to' restaurant for special occasions in Cape May.

Tags: romantic, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.