About Peter Shields Inn

1301 Beach Avenue
Cape May, NJ 08204
View Larger Map

The Peter Shields Inn quality cuisine bursts with freshness and creativity. The PSI is a BYOB establishment that offers a la carte dining along with a four course chef’s tasting menu. Also expect to find weekly menu additions that incorporate fresh and innovative ingredients. The magnificent ocean views are the perfect scenery to celebrate a special occasion or simply enjoy a memorable dining experience. In the summer months, outdoor dining is available on the porch overlooking the ocean. The Inn also specializes in both casual & elegant ocean front weddings. For the absolute finest local and seasonal fare, Peter Shields Inn & Restaurant is a favorite of residents and visitors to Cape May alike.
Additional Details: Banquet/Private Rooms, BYO Liquor, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Fireplace, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Private Room. Dress Code is Smart Casual.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Jan - March - Open Thursday thru Sunday / April - December Open 7 Nights

Cross Street:
Trenton Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(609) 884-9090

Website:
http://www.petershieldsinn.com/

Entertainment:
Kahlil Gunther and Doug Williams pianists.

Parking Details:
Street parking, no meters.

Executive Chef:
Carl Messick

Private Party Facilities:
Peter Shields Inn & Restaurant can host private parties fom 10-115 people.

Private Party Contact:
Amy Gotthardt: (609) 884-9090

Additional:
Banquet, BYO Liquor, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View

Peter Shields Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (75)
Good for Anniversaries (72)
Romantic (69)
See All
Good for a Date (66)
Creative Cuisine (53)
Fit for Foodies (42)
Waterfront (40)
Good for Birthdays (39)
Scenic View (38)
Historic (37)
Quiet Conversation (37)
Worth the Drive (36)
Cozy (33)
Fireplace (24)
Neighborhood Gem (23)
Local Ingredients (19)
Tasting Menu (13)
Authentic (13)
Seasonal (9)
Live Music (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Casual (5)
Private Room (5)
Business Meals (5)
Notable Wine List (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Healthy (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Fun (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
People Watching (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
2361 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Everything from the moment we walked in was great!!! Dan our waiter was amazing and really took good care of our table- great with suggestions. The Waygu steak was cooked to perfection and totally worth the 60$. Besides it's a BYOB so what u are saving on drinks - you may as well splurge on the food!!!

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

Food was delicious!! Staff was outstanding. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined 6 days ago

We are repeat PSI customers. That alone should tell you something. This time the occasion was a friends' get-together. But whatever the occasion, the experience is sublime, from the food, the service to the ambiance, PSI is wonderful. We had the 3 course tasting menu (which technically was not supposed to be available on the Presidents' Holiday Weekend. However, the staff obliged our request and we were very grateful at how they strive to make every customer happy.)

We had an exquisite lobster and roasted beet salad to start, fish and risotto for a main course, and for dessert, a mind-blowing banana bread pudding with salted caramel ice cream-to die for. The meal was flawless as was the service-it flowed perfectly.

Couple that with live piano music and a dining room quiet enough that you can hear your companions' conversation, and the entire evening was perfection-as usual.

Remember to go in the summer too and sit on the porch to view the ocean across the street.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Cozy, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Live Music, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined 6 days ago

Our favorite restaurant in the Cape May area. We go there often and ever time we are in the area. We have never been disappointed. Book early on open table to get the reservation day and time you want. Summer or winter, it's always in season to eat at Peter Shields Inn!

Tags: Historic, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We had the perfect evening here. The service was perfectly executed-Sean was a delight and he was so friendly and his service was prompt and courteous.

The food was spectacular, one had the crab cocktail and the other had the lobster cocktail. Both were so fresh and delicious, we savored every morsel!

I had the special duck for dinner-it was the best I've ever had. My partner had the trout sautéed in bacon and he loved it.

For dessert we had the banana chocolate break pudding and it was delicious.

The atmosphere is so welcoming and lovely and you are immediately felt welcomed here.

Prices are acceptable for the quality of food and service that you receive. This is a very special place and I would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a wonderful place to spoil your loved ones.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Waterfront, Historic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Good for a Date, Live Music, Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Can't say enough. From the greeting to departure, everything was impeccable. Service, food, selections, all excellent. Went with my wife for a belated Valentine dinner. Shared yellow fin tuna appy. She had hanger steak and I had bacon wrapped monk fish for entrees. I had capaccino and forgot my wife's dessert as it disappeared quickly. Remember to bring nice bottles of wine to this byob. The only drawback is price, but unfortunately the other Cape May restaurants have caught up so PSI does not seem that outrageous anymore.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Food was delicious and service was great! Would have like more choices for dessert............

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 17, 2017

A very nice place to enjoy excellent cuisine. Excellent service. An elegant destination.

Tags: Historic, Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Peter Shields offers most of what you are looking for. Ambience, romance, relaxed dining in an unhurried space, impeccable service, condusive to conversation & romance. The food unfortunately , although presentation is pleasing the food is NOT. It was a lovely anniversary celebration, they surprised us with champagne after dinner & it was a very relaxing evening but we were extremely disappointed by the food.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We had a wonderful valentines dinner and our waiter Petr was very attentive & professioal, we enjoyed the evening!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Good all round atmosphere & excellent food & service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Truly a Cape May jewel! great food, beautiful site, professional staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We went for our Anniversary. The staff was attentive, food, delicious. The atmosphere was gracious. Overall we had a lovely evening.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on February 14, 2017

It was our first time at PSI, it was our anniversary and it did not disappoint, everything from the moment we walked in was great, the hostess was very friendly and professional, our waiter was great, friendly and very knowledgeable of the menu and the wine list, the ambiance was cozy, elegant and romantic, the food was AMAZING, even the music was nice..... we will def be back 5 starts for sure ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 13, 2017

The food and service were outstanding. Ordered the pre arranged 4 course Valentines menu which was excellent. Kudos to the chef.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 13, 2017

We have dined here several times and never have been disappointed. Food is excellent and always fresh. It is a bonus that the restaurant is a byo

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I live in West Cape may. Everyone who lives or vacations in Cape May must have at least one dining experience in this restaurant. Food was creative, exciting and simply OUTSTANDING!!!! Service was first rate. I dine out quite frequently and this was by far one of the best all around dining experiences i have had.

Tags: Modern Decor, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, People Watching, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Excellent food and service. One of the best places to dine in Cape May, NJ.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on February 12, 2017

My husband and I go here when we want a quiet romantic dinner. This place never disappoints from the ambiance to the service and of course the food is fabulous. I would highly recommend.

Tags: Good for a Date, Private Room, Historic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Always fabulous and romantic!

Tags: Historic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The food was average. Very limited selections. For the money , sorry to say but, I didn't see this as a 5 star restaurant. Wouldn't recommend it to friends or family.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Peter Shields never disappoints. Seasonal menu options always on point. Mushroom soup and pear salad were very flavorful. Oysters very fresh and tasty. Beef Tenderloin, medium rare was excellent. Leave room for dessert. Chocolate lava cake is the best.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Seasonal, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Cozy, Fireplace, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Our second Valentine dinner there. Great historical building with beautiful ocean front view from our seat on the porch. Very creative and delicious food. BYOB. Impeccable service. We went at 5:15 and it was just right. Started to get noisier by 6:00 pm but very tolerable. I gave 4 stars for value this year because ladies did not get a long stem rose after dinner this year and the Valentine menu, and which was lovely, was only one choice this year. Last year there were two choices on the special menu. Overall just an outstanding dinner and evening with my Valentine. Looking forward to next year!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on February 9, 2017

We are repeat customers and will continue to be. The PS chef, Carl Messick, is without a doubt the best in Cape May. We leave and then begin to look forward to returning as soon as we can.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 5, 2017

I keep reviewing over and over because we go often! Have always had a delicious meal and excellent service so won't repeat details, but have often gone for special occasions, entertaining guests, and quiet off season dinners with friends and neighbors. No one

could ever go wrong choosing this restaurant!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The staff was very attentive , courteous and informative. The food was excellent especially the trout. The dessert was too common. Chocolate lava cake had poor taste. Wish there had been at least another choice of dessert.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The meal was outstanding. Steak was cooked perfectly. It was intimate and the setting was beautiful.

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Romantic, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Lovely way to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 3, 2017

EXCELLENT.!! THAT WORD COVERS IT ALL.. SPOT ON WITH THE ENTIRE DINING EXPERIENCE.!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Another delicious meal from Peter Shields. I usually order the hanger steak. Excellent again. Their mushroom soup was also amazing. Definitely one of our favorite restaurants in Cape May.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 3, 2017

My husband & I enjoyed a romantic prix fixed birthday dinner that was fabulous. Other tables got glasses of champagne that I overheard their server say "it's complimentary" & we did not get any. Just wondering what the story was.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Great place, amazing food! BYOB. Don't skip on dessert! Had Chris as our server, fantastic personality. Hostesses at the front were both so sweet. My husband and I love this place. Will return soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Always a great experience all around!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Food was incredible. One side that was to be served hot was still cool after sending it back. The food preparation and taste were superior to overcome some challenges experienced.

We were the last seating on a Saturday evening. We had a wonderful table for two on the porch. Service started out quite attentive, but became lax as the night proceeded. Unfortunately close to our table was a large group that was excessively loud with intermittent foul language. Upon request, the porch doors were closed.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 29, 2017

From beginning to end, everything was fantastic. Lobster salad app was phenomenal.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Lovely meal. lovely place...we thoroughly enjoyed our evening with friends.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Delicious food and wonderful service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Our favorite restaurant in Cape May. It never dissappoints.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We enjoyed our visit to Peter Shields very much, the food, the service and the ambiance.

Tags: Historic, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Have gone here several times in the last few months. Best fine dining in Cape May!!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 16, 2017

The PETER Shields Inn is a great restaurant with excellent food and service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 15, 2017

There is not a finer restaurant on the entire Jersey shore.

Tags: Historic, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The $33 winter prix fixe menu is the best buy in Cape May. Selections are delicious; service is attentive; and ambience is elegant!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on January 15, 2017

My husband and I received our reservation as a gift and were extremely impressed with everything! As we are more the "comfort food" types, the menu listing gave us the opportunity to explore foods that we have never had before, and all I can say is WOW!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Girls weekend with my mom. Neither of us had been there before. Totally impressed with everything! From the service to the atmosphere to the amazing food, could not ask for anything more. Outstanding!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Excellent food and local wines! Very special occasion, memorable for sure!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Consistently one of our top two! Sean is an amazing waiter. 3 course winter prix fixe is an outstanding value. 👍🏼

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Cape May has many fine restaurants. Peter Shields Inn is, in our opinion, the best of the best. Their chef continues to impress with creative and mouth watering entrees and desserts. I urge anyone coming to CM for a visit to include Peter Shields as a must.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Our entire experience was wonderful. From the appetizers to dessert everything was great. The staff was very professional and accommodating. Our waiter was great he had offered his opinion on the dishes and his recommendations were spot on. We would definitely come back again and again.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (London)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Wife and I visited Cape May for the one night. We were very impressed with the town, very tidy and well kept, our guest house BeauClaire was so quaint and cost with Joe being a great host and does the best breakfast. To top it all was our delicious evening dress up dinner at the very smart Peter Shields restaurant. Wow the food was fantastic.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.