About Peter Shields Inn

1301 Beach Avenue
Cape May, NJ 08204
View Larger Map

The Peter Shields Inn quality cuisine bursts with freshness and creativity. The PSI is a BYOB establishment that offers a la carte dining along with a four course chef’s tasting menu. Also expect to find weekly menu additions that incorporate fresh and innovative ingredients. The magnificent ocean views are the perfect scenery to celebrate a special occasion or simply enjoy a memorable dining experience. In the summer months, outdoor dining is available on the porch overlooking the ocean. The Inn also specializes in both casual & elegant ocean front weddings. For the absolute finest local and seasonal fare, Peter Shields Inn & Restaurant is a favorite of residents and visitors to Cape May alike.
Additional Details: Banquet/Private Rooms, BYO Liquor, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Fireplace, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Private Room. Dress Code is Smart Casual.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Jan - March - Open Thursday thru Sunday / April - December Open 7 Nights

Cross Street:
Trenton Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(609) 884-9090

Website:
http://www.petershieldsinn.com/

Entertainment:
Kahlil Gunther and Doug Williams pianists.

Parking Details:
Street parking, no meters.

Executive Chef:
Carl Messick

Private Party Facilities:
Peter Shields Inn & Restaurant can host private parties fom 10-115 people.

Private Party Contact:
Amy Gotthardt: 609 884 9090x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, BYO Liquor, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Private Room, View

Restaurant Photos

garden salad
Hanger Steak
Pan Roasted Chicken
lemon bar
Summer Corn Soup
Chocolate Lava Cake
Beet Salad
Assorted Rolls
Pan Seared Salmon
Samon With Swiss Chard
Veal Tenderloin
Crabneat Salad
Vegetarian Risotto
Chocolate Lava Cake with Dark Chocolate Ice Cream
Prime Sirloin
Corn Soup
Corn Chowder With Corn Bread
Crabmeat Lasagne
Seared Tuna
Bronzino With Olive Caponata
Roasted Beet And Lobster Salad
Filet Of Beef Truffles Potato Gratin

Peter Shields Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
Best Food
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
Best Service
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
16 More
Best Ambiance
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
Best Value
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
Romantic
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
Special Occasion
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
American
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
Most Booked
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
Best Overall
South Jersey Shore
Best Food
South Jersey Shore
Best Service
South Jersey Shore
Best Ambiance
South Jersey Shore
Best Value
South Jersey Shore
Fit for Foodies
South Jersey Shore
Romantic
South Jersey Shore
Special Occasion
South Jersey Shore
American
South Jersey Shore
Most Booked
South Jersey Shore
Best Restaurants in Cape May ›

special occasion (254)
romantic (244)
fit for foodies (194)
See All
scenic view (183)
neighborhood gem (84)
great for outdoor dining (56)
good for groups (24)
notable wine list (15)
hot spot (13)
great for brunch (7)
great for lunch (6)
late-night find (4)
vibrant bar scene (1)
kid-friendly (1)
outstanding value (1)
live music (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1935 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Summer corn soup is amazing! My husband ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 7 hours ago

Summer corn soup is amazing! My husband and I get it every summer and it is FANTASTIC!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Just ❤️ this place! Best meal I've had ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined a day ago

Just ❤️ this place! Best meal I've had in NJ. The oysters were superb. The fish (snapper) and scallops were fresh, delicious and perfectly cooked. The mushroom risotto was a little heavy but very flavorful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent place to dine in Cape May. Mor ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined a day ago

Excellent place to dine in Cape May. More formal then typical shore restaurant. Also more expensive. BYOB.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolute Perfection. So Romantic!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 2 days ago

Absolute Perfection. So Romantic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of the -- if not the -- finest resta ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 3 days ago

One of the -- if not the -- finest restaurants in New Jersey. Not just South Jersey. Worth every penny -- and then some.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing Food at this beautiful restauran ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 4 days ago

Amazing Food at this beautiful restaurant by the sea!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding in all phases of dining...se ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

Outstanding in all phases of dining...service, food, ambience, value....we shall return!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We totally enjoyed our dining experience ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

We totally enjoyed our dining experience at Peter Shields. Halibut and salmon dishes were delicious. Great apps as well. And make sure to leave room for dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Enjoyed a fabulous dinner and will defin ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Enjoyed a fabulous dinner and will definitely return!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It has been a long time since my husband ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

It has been a long time since my husband and I have dined out and had such a delightful experience. The food was excellent, very attentive service but not overly so and the atmosphere was refined, yet relaxing. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love coming to Peter Shields when we ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

We love coming to Peter Shields when we are in the area. Everything is always perfect and the food and service can't be compared to any other restaurants we've been too!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful dining experience. Excellent f ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Wonderful dining experience. Excellent food. Will definitely be back.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always make this restaurant a stop on ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

We always make this restaurant a stop on our summer vacation as it falls on our wedding anniversary.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We had a wonderful meal with excellent s ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

We had a wonderful meal with excellent service. 2 of us had delicious haddock and 2 had steak that was prepared as requested and very much enjoyed .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

From the excellent food, to the attentiv ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

From the excellent food, to the attentive timely service, and the live piano in the background, my wife and I give PSI a 5 star rating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

An absolutely lovely place 5star

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

An absolutely lovely place

5star

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful evening celebrating our Annive ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Wonderful evening celebrating our Anniversary. Great Service, food and view of the ocean. Wonderful!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My four sisters and I have been dining w ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

My four sisters and I have been dining with Peter Shields for the past 7 years to celebrate our Sisters' Reunion. The service and food have always been superb. We look forward to dining with Peter Shield for many more years!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been a restauranteur for 40 years ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

I have been a restauranteur for 40 years and have dined in some of our country's best restaurants. PSi was one of the finest experiences I've ever had. Everything was perfect - ambience, service, timing, the quality of the ingredients in the dishes, the detail in the plate presentation. The background piano music was wonderful. I am returning for dinner tonight.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The early seating menu is the best optio ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The early seating menu is the best option for couples looking to have an incredible meal while still staying within a reasonable budget. Think of it as a wallet-friendly "treatyoself" type of thing. For $40 each, my boyfriend and I each got three courses, each very generous and very yummy.

I can only speak for what I had: the heirloom cherry tomato salad, the hanger steak and the vanilla panna cotta. My boyfriend strategically ordered things I don't really like (raw fish and Crème brûlée).

The tomato salad was much larger than I expected. The tomatoes tasted like they were plucked from a vine earlier that day-- very fresh, vibrant in color and flavorful. When in Jersey during the summer, you know you can't go wrong with tomatoes. The second course, the hanger steak entree, was incredible. The potato puree was so smooth and comforting. I usually don't eat steak and mashed potatoes when it's 85+ outside, but I'm glad I did. It wasn't too too heavy, even though the portion size was quite large. The vanilla panna cotta for desert was out of this world and the perfect way to end the meal. It had a great consistency and flavor and the pistachios on top gave it a nice crunch!

All in all, wonderful service (thanks Amy!) and a great experience at a very very nice restaurant. I left with a full stomach and some money left in my wallet.

I should add that I also had the pleasure of trying some of the pork entree from the dinner menu recently. The pork was so tender-- it was like cutting into filet. The summer succotash was flavorful, fresh and added great color to the plate. I've never had pork belly and have always ventured away from it. This time, I put on a brave face and tried it. It was delicious!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding service and top notch food. ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Outstanding service and top notch food. It is fine dining at its best

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our second trip to Cape May and ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

This was our second trip to Cape May and our second visit to PSI because we enjoyed it so much last time we were in Cape May. I ordered burrata for appetizer and beef tenderloin for my entree. I thoroughly enjoyed both. We will go to PSI every time we are in Cape May.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were seated at a lovely table on the ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

We were seated at a lovely table on the covered porch that overlooked the ocean. There was a delicate breeze as evening approached. The wine was fabulous, as was the bread we had just begun to nibble....then it began to rain....heavily. The staff swiftly came by and unrolled the weather guard but alas the seal was wet and the wind kept blowing it open. We were moved to a new table inside and promised that they would move us back should the storm pass. And true to their word they did offer us our table back as soon as the skies cleared. We opted to stay at our new location in the sun room which was also lovely and enjoyed a wonderful celebration dinner. It was our wedding anniversary. The ambience in spite of the unwanted little adventure, the food and the service were all perfectly suited to the occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Hands down, the best meal we enjoyed in ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Hands down, the best meal we enjoyed in 4 days in Cape May. From the stunning views across the street and dunes to the ocean, to the unparalleled cuisine and service. They offered an early bird price fixe which was an excellent value. The mixed green salad with grilled peaches was my appetizer, followed by beautifully prepared orange roughy with a mixed vegetable medley, capped off with a dense date-type cake with ice cream. The only negative was a table behind us with small children with a penchant for screaming at unexpected intervals. Too bad the parents didn't get a sitter as everyone's dining experience was impacted. I marked the noise level high because of the children ... Otherwise it was quiet.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful. The service was very good (if ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Wonderful. The service was very good (if a little ingratiating).

Corn soup was perfect. Literally

The tuna Tatar was also excellent , though I could have done with out the avacado and pickled red onion. The micro wasabi was awesome.

The scallops were top notch. Probably the best I've had. Ever.

Halibut was good but just a little dry.

Bread pudding dessert was decent. Not my favorite, thought ice cream it came with was very good.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Chefs tasting menu was incredible! Fanta ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Chefs tasting menu was incredible! Fantastic service and ambiance as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing on every level. Food, service (f ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Amazing on every level. Food, service (from the host, busser, food runner and server to the chef coming out to say hello) everything was flawless. Live piano music really took the experience over the top! Thank you for a fantastic evening out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was great and Christophe makes your ...

vip
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Food was great and Christophe makes your dining experience perfect.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

Superb from the beginning to the end! Gr ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Superb from the beginning to the end!

Great lob by the staff...thanks for a great meal and a better experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We dined this past Saturday night as we ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We dined this past Saturday night as we were staying right next door at the Angel Of The Sea B&B and just walked over.

And wow! what a stunning restaurant. Great service, delicious food, awesome ambiance. This is truly a 5 star restaurant located in a beach town. You can't beat that!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely place very sweet hostess

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Lovely place very sweet hostess

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The best restaurant in Cape May! We alw ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The best restaurant in Cape May! We always go here on special occasions. The food is top rate and the service is impeccable. Romantic on the porch and you can hear the piano music and carry on a conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

EXCELLENT-dine at Peter Shields every ti ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

EXCELLENT-dine at Peter Shields every time we are in Cape May.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been going to this Restaurant fo ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

We have been going to this Restaurant for years and this was the first time that I have ever had such a noisy dinning experience. We could not even talk to one another in our party.

I will not stop going but if this happens again I will tell the Hostess to move our party to another part of the Restaurant. The one reason we enjoyed going here was it was always a great place to go and eat without having to deal with the noise.

thank you

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value4

Great service, delicious meal and a beau ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Great service, delicious meal and a beautiful setting.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great atmosphere, courteous staff. The ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Great atmosphere, courteous staff. The views were amazing. The food was exquisite-the chef combined flavors I would never have imagined. The inn provided the perfect background for a romantic evening. The wait staff was friendly and informative.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I ventured here for a dat ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

My husband and I ventured here for a date night while we were vacationing down the shore. Made an 8:30pm reservation for the same day on open table without any issues. When we arrived, we were seated right away. The hostess initially planned to seat us indoors but we asked to sit outside on the screened-in deck. The sound of the ocean waves in the background while sitting at a candlelit table was relaxing and romantic. Food was delicious from start to finish and the service was attentive. We'll definitely be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best restaurants I have ever ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

One of the best restaurants I have ever been to. Love going every summer when I'm down the shore.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Peter Shields is one of our favorite res ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Peter Shields is one of our favorite restaurants . We visit evertime we go to the Shore. The food , service and ambiance are all outstanding .

It has become so popular you must make reservations early

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

First time at psi and would definetly go ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

First time at psi and would definetly go again the next time we are in Cape May. We made reservations to get the early seating menu and it was tremendous. Would highly recommend!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.