About Peter Shields Inn

The Peter Shields Inn quality cuisine bursts with freshness and creativity. The PSI is a BYOB establishment that offers a la carte dining along with a four course chef’s tasting menu. Also expect to find weekly menu additions that incorporate fresh and innovative ingredients. The magnificent ocean views are the perfect scenery to celebrate a special occasion or simply enjoy a memorable dining experience. In the summer months, outdoor dining is available on the porch overlooking the ocean. The Inn also specializes in both casual & elegant ocean front weddings. For the absolute finest local and seasonal fare, Peter Shields Inn & Restaurant is a favorite of residents and visitors to Cape May alike.
Additional Details: Banquet/Private Rooms, BYO Liquor, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Fireplace, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Private Room. Dress Code is Smart Casual.

1301 Beach Avenue
Cape May, NJ 08204
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Jan - March - Open Thursday thru Sunday / April - December Open 7 Nights

Cross Street:
Trenton Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(609) 884-9090

Website:
http://www.petershieldsinn.com/

Entertainment:
Kahlil Gunther and Doug Williams pianists.

Parking Details:
Street parking, no meters.

Executive Chef:
Carl Messick

Private Party Facilities:
Peter Shields Inn & Restaurant can host private parties fom 10-115 people.

Private Party Contact:
Amy Gotthardt: (609) 884-9090

Additional:
Banquet, BYO Liquor, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View

Peter Shields Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (73)
Good for a Date (68)
Romantic (67)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (65)
Creative Cuisine (49)
Fit for Foodies (41)
Scenic View (37)
Good for Birthdays (37)
Quiet Conversation (36)
Waterfront (35)
Historic (34)
Worth the Drive (33)
Cozy (31)
Fireplace (22)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Local Ingredients (16)
Authentic (14)
Tasting Menu (11)
Seasonal (9)
Live Music (6)
Casual (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Business Meals (5)
Private Room (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Healthy (3)
People Watching (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Fun (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
2353 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Can't say enough. From the greeting to d ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Can't say enough. From the greeting to departure, everything was impeccable. Service, food, selections, all excellent. Went with my wife for a belated Valentine dinner. Shared yellow fin tuna appy. She had hanger steak and I had bacon wrapped monk fish for entrees. I had capaccino and forgot my wife's dessert as it disappeared quickly. Remember to bring nice bottles of wine to this byob. The only drawback is price, but unfortunately the other Cape May restaurants have caught up so PSI does not seem that outrageous anymore.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was delicious and service was great ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined 2 days ago

Food was delicious and service was great! Would have like more choices for dessert............

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

A very nice place to enjoy excellent cui ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

A very nice place to enjoy excellent cuisine. Excellent service. An elegant destination.

Tags: Historic, Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Peter Shields offers most of what you ar ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 4 days ago

Peter Shields offers most of what you are looking for. Ambience, romance, relaxed dining in an unhurried space, impeccable service, condusive to conversation & romance. The food unfortunately , although presentation is pleasing the food is NOT. It was a lovely anniversary celebration, they surprised us with champagne after dinner & it was a very relaxing evening but we were extremely disappointed by the food.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful valentines dinner and ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined 6 days ago

We had a wonderful valentines dinner and our waiter Petr was very attentive & professioal, we enjoyed the evening!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good all round atmosphere & excellent f ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined 6 days ago

Good all round atmosphere & excellent food & service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Truly a Cape May jewel! great food, bea ...

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined 6 days ago

Truly a Cape May jewel! great food, beautiful site, professional staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went for our Anniversary. The staff w ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

We went for our Anniversary. The staff was attentive, food, delicious. The atmosphere was gracious. Overall we had a lovely evening.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was our first time at PSI, it was ou ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined 7 days ago

It was our first time at PSI, it was our anniversary and it did not disappoint, everything from the moment we walked in was great, the hostess was very friendly and professional, our waiter was great, friendly and very knowledgeable of the menu and the wine list, the ambiance was cozy, elegant and romantic, the food was AMAZING, even the music was nice..... we will def be back 5 starts for sure ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service were outstanding. ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 13, 2017

The food and service were outstanding. Ordered the pre arranged 4 course Valentines menu which was excellent. Kudos to the chef.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We have dined here several times and nev ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 13, 2017

We have dined here several times and never have been disappointed. Food is excellent and always fresh. It is a bonus that the restaurant is a byo

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I live in West Cape may. Everyone who li ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I live in West Cape may. Everyone who lives or vacations in Cape May must have at least one dining experience in this restaurant. Food was creative, exciting and simply OUTSTANDING!!!! Service was first rate. I dine out quite frequently and this was by far one of the best all around dining experiences i have had.

Tags: Modern Decor, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, People Watching, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food and service. One of the b ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Excellent food and service. One of the best places to dine in Cape May, NJ.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I go here when we want a ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on February 12, 2017

My husband and I go here when we want a quiet romantic dinner. This place never disappoints from the ambiance to the service and of course the food is fabulous. I would highly recommend.

Tags: Good for a Date, Private Room, Historic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always fabulous and romantic!

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Always fabulous and romantic!

Tags: Historic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was average. Very limited sele ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The food was average. Very limited selections. For the money , sorry to say but, I didn't see this as a 5 star restaurant. Wouldn't recommend it to friends or family.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

Peter Shields never disappoints. Seasona ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Peter Shields never disappoints. Seasonal menu options always on point. Mushroom soup and pear salad were very flavorful. Oysters very fresh and tasty. Beef Tenderloin, medium rare was excellent. Leave room for dessert. Chocolate lava cake is the best.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Seasonal, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Cozy, Fireplace, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our second Valentine dinner there. Gre ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Our second Valentine dinner there. Great historical building with beautiful ocean front view from our seat on the porch. Very creative and delicious food. BYOB. Impeccable service. We went at 5:15 and it was just right. Started to get noisier by 6:00 pm but very tolerable. I gave 4 stars for value this year because ladies did not get a long stem rose after dinner this year and the Valentine menu, and which was lovely, was only one choice this year. Last year there were two choices on the special menu. Overall just an outstanding dinner and evening with my Valentine. Looking forward to next year!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We are repeat customers and will continu ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on February 9, 2017

We are repeat customers and will continue to be. The PS chef, Carl Messick, is without a doubt the best in Cape May. We leave and then begin to look forward to returning as soon as we can.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I keep reviewing over and over because w ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 5, 2017

I keep reviewing over and over because we go often! Have always had a delicious meal and excellent service so won't repeat details, but have often gone for special occasions, entertaining guests, and quiet off season dinners with friends and neighbors. No one

could ever go wrong choosing this restaurant!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The staff was very attentive , courteous ...

 
 (London)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The staff was very attentive , courteous and informative. The food was excellent especially the trout. The dessert was too common. Chocolate lava cake had poor taste. Wish there had been at least another choice of dessert.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

The meal was outstanding. Steak was cook ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The meal was outstanding. Steak was cooked perfectly. It was intimate and the setting was beautiful.

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Romantic, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely way to celebrate our 25th wedding ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Lovely way to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

EXCELLENT.!! THAT WORD COVERS IT ALL.. ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 3, 2017

EXCELLENT.!! THAT WORD COVERS IT ALL.. SPOT ON WITH THE ENTIRE DINING EXPERIENCE.!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another delicious meal from Peter Shield ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Another delicious meal from Peter Shields. I usually order the hanger steak. Excellent again. Their mushroom soup was also amazing. Definitely one of our favorite restaurants in Cape May.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

My husband & I enjoyed a romantic prix f ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 3, 2017

My husband & I enjoyed a romantic prix fixed birthday dinner that was fabulous. Other tables got glasses of champagne that I overheard their server say "it's complimentary" & we did not get any. Just wondering what the story was.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great place, amazing food! BYOB. Don't s ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Great place, amazing food! BYOB. Don't skip on dessert! Had Chris as our server, fantastic personality. Hostesses at the front were both so sweet. My husband and I love this place. Will return soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great experience all around!

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Always a great experience all around!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was incredible. One side that was t ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Food was incredible. One side that was to be served hot was still cool after sending it back. The food preparation and taste were superior to overcome some challenges experienced.

We were the last seating on a Saturday evening. We had a wonderful table for two on the porch. Service started out quite attentive, but became lax as the night proceeded. Unfortunately close to our table was a large group that was excessively loud with intermittent foul language. Upon request, the porch doors were closed.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

From beginning to end, everything was fa ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 29, 2017

From beginning to end, everything was fantastic. Lobster salad app was phenomenal.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely meal. lovely place...we thoroughl ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Lovely meal. lovely place...we thoroughly enjoyed our evening with friends.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food and wonderful service!

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Delicious food and wonderful service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our favorite restaurant in Cape May. It ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Our favorite restaurant in Cape May. It never dissappoints.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed our visit to Peter Shields ve ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We enjoyed our visit to Peter Shields very much, the food, the service and the ambiance.

Tags: Historic, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Have gone here several times in the last ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Have gone here several times in the last few months. Best fine dining in Cape May!!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The PETER Shields Inn is a great restaur ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 16, 2017

The PETER Shields Inn is a great restaurant with excellent food and service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

There is not a finer restaurant on the e ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 15, 2017

There is not a finer restaurant on the entire Jersey shore.

Tags: Historic, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

The $33 winter prix fixe menu is the bes ...

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The $33 winter prix fixe menu is the best buy in Cape May. Selections are delicious; service is attentive; and ambience is elegant!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I received our reservatio ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on January 15, 2017

My husband and I received our reservation as a gift and were extremely impressed with everything! As we are more the "comfort food" types, the menu listing gave us the opportunity to explore foods that we have never had before, and all I can say is WOW!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, , Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Girls weekend with my mom. Neither of u ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Girls weekend with my mom. Neither of us had been there before. Totally impressed with everything! From the service to the atmosphere to the amazing food, could not ask for anything more. Outstanding!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.