About Peter Shields Inn

1301 Beach Avenue
Cape May, NJ 08204
View Larger Map

The Peter Shields Inn quality cuisine bursts with freshness and creativity. The PSI is a BYOB establishment that offers a la carte dining along with a four course chef’s tasting menu. Also expect to find weekly menu additions that incorporate fresh and innovative ingredients. The magnificent ocean views are the perfect scenery to celebrate a special occasion or simply enjoy a memorable dining experience. In the summer months, outdoor dining is available on the porch overlooking the ocean. The Inn also specializes in both casual & elegant ocean front weddings. For the absolute finest local and seasonal fare, Peter Shields Inn & Restaurant is a favorite of residents and visitors to Cape May alike.
Additional Details: Banquet/Private Rooms, BYO Liquor, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Fireplace, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Private Room. PROPER ATTIRE IS REQUIRED.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Jan - March - Open Thursday thru Sunday / April - December Open 7 Nights

Cross Street:
Trenton Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(609) 884-9090

Website:
http://www.petershieldsinn.com/

Entertainment:
Kahlil Gunther and Doug Williams pianists.

Parking Details:
Street parking, no meters.

Executive Chef:
Carl Messick

Private Party Facilities:
Peter Shields Inn & Restaurant can host private parties fom 10-115 people.

Private Party Contact:
Amy Gotthardt: 609 884 9090x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, BYO Liquor, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Private Room, View

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Details
Make it special this year for your Dad who deserves a fine dining treatment. Ocean views, excellent service and culinary journey at PSI!

Peter Shields Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
Best Food
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
Best Service
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
15 More
Best Ambiance
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
Best Value
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
Fit for Foodies
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
Romantic
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
Special Occasion
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
American
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
Best Overall
South Jersey Shore
Best Food
South Jersey Shore
Best Service
South Jersey Shore
Best Ambiance
South Jersey Shore
Best Value
South Jersey Shore
Fit for Foodies
South Jersey Shore
Romantic
South Jersey Shore
Special Occasion
South Jersey Shore
Most Booked
South Jersey Shore
Best Restaurants in Cape May ›

special occasion (135)
romantic (131)
fit for foodies (92)
See All
scenic view (85)
neighborhood gem (41)
good for groups (18)
great for outdoor dining (14)
great for brunch (10)
great for lunch (5)
hot spot (3)
notable wine list (3)
late-night find (3)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1804 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We dine at Peter Shields Inn whenever we ...

Dined 3 days ago

We dine at Peter Shields Inn whenever we visit Cape May, our favorite New Jersey shore location! The food is superb! Love the amount of vegetables on the plate with yummy light sauces and spectacular desserts! Great service as well!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything about the restaurant was supe ...

Dined 4 days ago

Everything about the restaurant was superb. One of Cape May's best restaurants. We would definitely go back the next time we are in town.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary Dinner

Dined on May 16, 2016

Service was the best! I mentioned it was our anniversary when I made the reservation and apparently it was note in their records as the hostess wished us a happy anniversary; as did our waiter. Best in class service. Great food; very romantic.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was outstanding

Dined on May 16, 2016

Everything was outstanding from the initial impression when we first walked in to the ambiance , the service, and of course the food. The soft shell crabs and tilefish were delicious served by an excellent water, Peter.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a fine dining experience

Dined on May 15, 2016

We celebrated our wedding anniversary here recently. The food is consistently good, well prepared and the service was refined. Peter was our server and he was very good. My husband loves their oyster preparation and I really enjoyed the bisque with crab.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5

The food was outstanding. We had a wonde ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

The food was outstanding. We had a wonderful evening. We are looking forward to our next opportunity to dine there.

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service. Loved the pianist. Th ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Excellent service. Loved the pianist. The Tilefish and wild mushroom risotto were amazing!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Charming

Dined on May 15, 2016

For a truly fine dining experience in Cape May, put Peter Shields Restaurant on your list. From the moment you enter the property and walk up the stairs to the lobby, you'll know you're entering someplace special. The restaurant is beautiful appointed in elegant black and white. Everyone on the staff is attentive and friendly. There are a nice variety of selections on the menu and the food is artfully plated and truly wonderful to eat. Another plus for many people is that this is a BYOB. Sit back, relax and enjoy a fine dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best restaurants in Cape May ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

One of the best restaurants in Cape May - our favorite. Excellent food, service, atmosphere - you can't beat it. Great location with a fantastic view when sitting on the porch area.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband and I had the most amazing me ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

My husband and I had the most amazing meal!! The service was impeccable and the food was exceptional. The Maine Lobster & Red Beet Salad was delicious- a must order! My Grilled Hanger Steak was cooked to perfection and seasoned perfectly as was my husband's Filet Mignon. Cannot say enough about our lovely experience here! We will definitely find an excuse to go back to Cape May just so we can eat at Peter Shield's Inn again!!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious and service excel ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

The food was delicious and service excellent. The 5:30 $40 3 course selection was a great value.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Peter Shiels Inn is a wonderful place t ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Peter Shiels Inn is a wonderful place to go for that special dinner. The food was delicious and the inn has a such a special atmosphere. Unfortunately it was too chilly to eat on the front porch overlooking the ocean ( which we were able to do last summer) but it still was a wonderful evening. And for an extra special bonus you can stay the night in one of the inn's beautifully restored rooms.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, service and ambiance

vip
Dined on May 10, 2016

Highly recommend dining at this romantic restaurant. The service and food were excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Need to revamp the menu, our server was off...

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

We have eaten here a few times and this is one of the premiere restaurants in Cape May. We are always seated in the same room because we're a table of two. Couldn't you mix the twos up with other tables in other rooms? Our server, Chris, we've had many times before. He was off that evening--we waited and he wasn't attentive. Our food was very good--but not outstanding. I had the filet mignon and it was super tender, but not a lot of taste. I had indicated it was my birthday and I'm not sure why--because the night wasn't special. It was just okay...

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wow.

Dined on May 7, 2016

Undeniably the best food i have ever had at the NJ shore- AND some of the best entrees (halibut, hanger steak, tilefish) we've ever had anywhere- (NYC/Phila are where we eat 90% of the time). Cannot comment on the apps (did not get them). Desserts were yummy, but not as exceptional as the entrees. Service was perfect. I will go here everytime i'm in Cape May.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Early Mother's Day

Dined on May 2, 2016

I was recommended Peter Shields by my boyfriend's family who frequents Cape May yearly for their family vacations. I was ultimately swayed by the promise of a pianist. Unfortunately there was no pianist, but the food was amazing. Each course was elegantly placed and the combination of flavors in each dish was an artistic creation within itself. Unfortunately the service was sub-par for two reasons: first, the waiter made a comment when we ordered (we unconventionally ordered and didn't stick to a first and second course) and then we ended up waiting ~20 minutes for our bill; note: it was past closing time, the place was packed, and there was one waiter, so that was just a staffing issue. Overall, I'd highly recommend for the food alone - what a treat!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food & atmosphere!

Dined on May 1, 2016

The best food and atmosphere in all of Cape May. The staff is excellent too.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Always enjoyable

Dined on May 1, 2016

Always enjoyable

food5
ambience4
service4

Great anniversary dinner! Garlic bisque ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

Great anniversary dinner! Garlic bisque and Halibut special stood out. Foiegras was excellent as well. Service was very fast. Live piano player was a nice touch.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Romantic restaurant with great food

Dined on April 30, 2016

My wife and I went to the Peter Shields Inn to celebrate our anniversary. Great dining experience with nice ambiance and wonderful food.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5

Awesome Hanger steak and Cabernet ! Open ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

Awesome Hanger steak and Cabernet ! Open table shows a 40$ early menu that was not available. Very pricey also I did not know this was a BYOB would of brought my own wine

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

The PDI sits across the street form the ocean at Cape May. Ambience is great. It's a BYOB so can save money. We had the Prix Fixe, three courses (appetizer, entrée, dessert), before 6:30. Great value!. I had the tilefish, outstanding. Service was attentive but not obtrusive.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding!!!

Dined on April 27, 2016

Celebrated my Birthday and everything was outstanding. Can't wait to return in the summer.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

45th Wedding Aniversary Celebration

Dined on April 25, 2016

Restaurant was elegant and romantic...with excellent views of the ocean. My beef tenderloin was made to perfection, as was my husband's hanger steak. Our waiter provided excellent service. A wonderful dining experience was shared.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

Not worth the money. Just Average

Dined on April 23, 2016

The ambiance is really nice. Tables are too tight together. Server was very social but sometimes slow. The steak was not a first class piece of beef, lots of gristle. Expensive for average.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always on the money

Dined on April 23, 2016

My wife and I Had a wonderful dining experience here celebrating our 28 anniversary here BYOB and enjoy thebest inCape May

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent dining experience. We were ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

Excellent dining experience. We were celebrating our anniversary. Brought us complimentary champage. Prefixe dinner was superb and resonable. It is a byob! Highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

The best Restuarant in Cape May fabulous ...

vip
Dined on April 20, 2016

The best Restuarant in Cape May fabulous food, gorgeous view, & great service

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Romance at it's Finest

Dined on April 19, 2016

I booked a stay at the Inn recently for my boyfriend's 40th birthday. He's a bartender and foodie, so naturally I booked a reservation to also have dinner at the Inn's restaurant. This place couldn't have better reviews. It exceeded both of our expectations. The dining experience was intimate and the server was very personable. We also discovered that the restaurant offers a special deal for couples staying at the inn - including a glass of champagne. The restaurant is BYOB - which allowed us to bring one of our favorite bottles of wine. Paired wonderfully with the three courses we enjoyed. Do yourself a favor and book a reservation here - you won't regret it!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Chef's Tasting

Dined on April 17, 2016

My husband and I wanted to go to a nice dinner down the shore before all the crowds came for the summer. We decided to go with the Chef's Tasting menu, which was excellent. It gave us an opportunity to try different menu items and things we've never had before. It is definitely a "special occasion" restaurant and we will return again.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

An enjoyable dinner

Dined on April 16, 2016

As always our dinner was delicious This is one of our favorites in Cape May , never a disappointment. See you again soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

A very lovely dining room

Dined on April 14, 2016

There was ample room between tables allowing for a quiet dinner for two.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

raising the bar for shore dining

Dined on April 10, 2016

Peter Shields is a wonderful dining spot, and byob. They offer an early dining price fix at a dramatically reduced price. Service, presentation, and food are high end. Looking forward to our next visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, romance, special occasions, scenic view, neighbourhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great upscale dining

Dined on April 8, 2016

The Peter Shields Inn provided a great upscale dining experience. I would definitely recommend it to a friend.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Quality and service never varies

Dined on April 2, 2016

Another outstanding meal. When in Cape May or an hour away, PSI is a must for us. Every course was superb, which seems to be the norm. Always something new to try. Relaxed atmosphere with attentive service. Never disappoints. Our favorite stop.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a gem!

Dined on April 2, 2016

This was our first time here and we absolutely loved it! The food was FANTASTIC, the service was at a leisurely pace, giving us the opportunity to really enjoy each course and each other's company. Would definitely find any excuse to go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious food, wonderful service!

vip
Dined on March 31, 2016

Delicious food, wonderful service!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful!

Dined on March 28, 2016

Our dinner was outstanding! The view was beautiful! Our server was very attentive! We will definitely go back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Holiday Brunch

Dined on March 27, 2016

Great choice for a meal on a holiday has the feel of eating in a home. Excellent service and food

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Easter Brunch

Dined on March 27, 2016

Food was spectacular and the selection was great for a brunch menu and the staff was absolutely great and very attentive.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.