Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi

About Peter Shields Inn

The Peter Shields Inn quality cuisine bursts with freshness and creativity. The PSI is a BYOB establishment that offers a la carte dining along with a four course chef’s tasting menu. Also expect to find weekly menu additions that incorporate fresh and innovative ingredients. The magnificent ocean views are the perfect scenery to celebrate a special occasion or simply enjoy a memorable dining experience. In the summer months, outdoor dining is available on the porch overlooking the ocean. The Inn also specializes in both casual & elegant ocean front weddings. For the absolute finest local and seasonal fare, Peter Shields Inn & Restaurant is a favorite of residents and visitors to Cape May alike.
Additional Details: Banquet/Private Rooms, BYO Liquor, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Fireplace, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Private Room. Dress Code is Smart Casual.

1301 Beach Avenue
Cape May, NJ 08204
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Jan - March - Open Thursday thru Sunday / April - December Open 7 Nights

Cross Street:
Trenton Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(609) 884-9090

Website:
http://www.petershieldsinn.com/

Entertainment:
Kahlil Gunther and Doug Williams pianists.

Parking Details:
Street parking, no meters.

Executive Chef:
Carl Messick

Additional:
Banquet, BYO Liquor, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View

Peter Shields Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.5

noise

Quiet

97% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (214)
Special Occasion (214)
Good for Anniversaries (176)
See All
Good for a Date (171)
Scenic View (145)
Creative Cuisine (131)
Fit for Foodies (127)
Waterfront (116)
Worth the Drive (112)
Good for Birthdays (107)
Quiet Conversation (97)
Neighborhood Gem (65)
Local Ingredients (59)
Tasting Menu (58)
Cozy (56)
Live Music (56)
Great for Outdoor Dining (50)
Authentic (45)
Seasonal (34)
Good for Groups (21)
Business Meals (17)
Fun (17)
Casual (13)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Great for Brunch (9)
People Watching (8)
Afternoon Tea (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Notable Wine List (6)
Organic (6)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Bar Seating (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Live Sports (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Vegan (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
2781 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

We celebrated our 10 year wedding anniversary with dinner at Peter Shields Inn. We had the chefs Tasting menu and it was perfection! We loved everything from the ambience to the good and service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent food and service, beautiful decor (inside and out)

Tags: Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined 3 days ago

This is the best restaurant in Cape May without a doubt! From start to finish, it's been perfect everytime we've visited over the past 8 years

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 4 days ago

Every time I visit I am reminded why this is my favorite place to eat in Cape May. The dishes are simple yet brilliant. When you try everyone else's at the table, you have a hard time deciding which one is the best! Great place for a date or a small group. Service is wonderful. Save money by bringing your own bottle or choose from their local wine list. Each time I come I swear the meal is better than what I remembered from the time before. Treat yourself, it is worth it!

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

We enjoyed a delightful dinner. The atmosphere is relaxing and very pleasant. It is a great place to spend an evening with friends and loved ones.
Can't wait to go back!!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Beautiful historic inn with delicious food, excellent friendly service and piano player/singer. Lovely views.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Good for Groups, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

A first: I left a brief note and small tip acknowledging the Chef and his excellence. We both enjoyed the evening and would recommend your restaurant highly.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Overpriced for quality of food. May be high end for Cape May but ordinary for any medium sized city

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Came here during our mini moon, and had an exceptional meal!
We definitely overate as we tried to narrow down our options on the menu.
Ended up with the yellow fin tuna tartare, the scallop special and the Seared Hudson Valley Foie Gras to start. (Highly recommend the Foie Gras!) For dinner we had the Halibut and the Grilled Prime Teres Major Steak. Everything was cooked perfectly, and the staff was helpful and friendly! Perfect place to celebrate an occasion or just feeling fancy!

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Great value with the early special. $40 for three courses. Wonderful food and great service.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on September 18, 2017

We have had our anniversary dinner there for the last few years on the screened porch. Just a memorable experience and gracious hostess and wonderful waiter, Dan! Absolutely delicious food, every course, with a beautiful presentation! Did miss having the lobby piano player this year but I know our anniversary was a Monday so I understood it was probably a slow day!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Waterfront, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on September 18, 2017

No visit to Cape May would be complete without a dining experience at Peter Shields Inn. A $40 prix fix menu offers a variety of excellent choices, or you can dine a la carte or from the $78 four course menu.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Favorite place in Cape May. Never had bad food. Love the seasonal changes, this is my favorite chef.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Just had our 1 year anniversary dinner there, food was outstanding. This restaurant has been on our bucket list. Early bird pre fix menu was amazing!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Waterfront, Romantic, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 16, 2017

food was excellent and the service was superb. the tuna tartare was very tasty and the deserts were as good as it gets

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 16, 2017

First class restaurant in every way. Service top notch, food cooked to perfection.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Romantic, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on September 15, 2017

No vegetarian dishes. Big disappointment.
Server did not offer anything to drink, beside tap water. If you didn't bring your own drink, you are outta luck.
My wife's chicken was tough. Presentation was adequate but not essential.
Atmosphere was nice. You expect this from a high-profile restaurant -inn. It is one of the most recognizable pieces of architecture on the Cape May beach front.
Our server was adequate, but not that attentive.

Tags: Scenic View, Seasonal, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Excellent food and service. Great place for romantic dinner, birthdays or special occasions

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 14, 2017

The food, service and setting were excellent. We've eaten here several times and have never had a bad experience. One of the few restaurants in Cape May where the prices are justified.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on September 14, 2017

Very good meals. Fish dinners were rated vg. Chicken was too dry, even though I was told it wouldn't be.

Tags: Hot Spot, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 13, 2017

First time visit to Peter Shields; we enjoyed the old mansion decor and style and found the food selections to be outstanding.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 13, 2017

First time there in years. Great food, service and ambiance. Be back soon!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on September 13, 2017

We have been here each year while vacationing at Cape May for the past three years. The food and the service takes fine dining to a new level. On top of that they offer a tasting menu or a pre fix menu that makes this wonderful food a real deal. We enjoyed a tuna tartar as a first and I had the beet and goat cheese salad. The entree was a Tres Major steak severed over a wonderful wine reduction. Pictured below the final course, a warm date cake with ice cream and a chocolate mousse log with ice cream as well. On top of that it is BYOB with no corking fee. We save this for our last night because it is a pure joy. Even this year when it was a little more crowded with a large table it was just spectacular. I used to work as a sous chef and I know what goes into these meals and they are wonderful.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Live Music, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 12, 2017

We have been to PSI a number of times and have never been disappointed despite each past dining experience surpassing our high expectations. The setting is beautiful, the menu always divine, the service always superb, while the quality of the food is truly exceptional. Without question the best dining experience in the Cape May area and, possibly, beyond. And the sticky date pudding practically deserves qualifying as its own food group.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Once of the best in Cape May.
. . . . . . . . . . . . .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Have eaten here numerous times and never disappointed til this time. When we checked in, they only had res. for 2 when I had called to increase from original 2 to 4 people four days prior and they had even called to confirm, 2 days prior to res.. They were able to accomodate us. Waiter service and clearing of courses was very slow and unattentive. Sat in a very noisey area, between rooms & piano player. The only saving grace was the food was delicious!

Tags: Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Every thing was double excellent.....The food was delicious, best tasting scallops and filet mignon we ever tasted anywhere.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Live Music, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Scenic View, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 11, 2017

As always, the food was wonderful at one of my top choices on Cape May. The service was not up to par this time, however. My server rarely checked in with me and I felt ignored until I realized that the same was true for his table next to mine. The food will bring me back in the hopes that I will have a more attentive server the next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
·Dined on September 11, 2017

My Mama's first trip. Was amazing!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Wonderful and lovely. Our waiter dan was not only knowledgeable but pleasant and professional we love peter shields and eat there every year when we are in cape may. Wish it were in Long Island where we are from

Tags: Authentic, Live Music, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Great place, excellent food, superb service. Went for an early dinner and did the $40 prix fixe menu. What an awesome deal for 3 great courses, we were stuffed in the end of it. The hostess also sat us in the front with views of the ocean and our waiter was fantastic. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on September 9, 2017

This one of my favorite restaurants in Cape May. It is a BYOB which we also love. We love eating in the sunroom which has a lovely view of the ocean. Their piano player is great. He plays a nice variety appropriate for dinner conversation.
The service is always attentive and friendly.
The food is spectacular. There is a nice variety of choices on their menu. The scallops were perfection - sweet sea taste and charred -served over a summer succotash. The halibut was moist and delicious. Their homemade ice cream is inventive and delicious.
Don't miss going here if you have the chance

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Best halibut I've ever had. Truly amazing food. Can't wait to go back

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Our party of 4 were immensely happy with the quality of food served at this lovely Inn. The oysters and scallops were local and amazing. The corn jalapeño soup was delicious.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Waterfront, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Loved this restaurant tried to get in the next night again but it was booked.

Tags: Special Occasion, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Everything about our dining experience here was wonderful cannot wait to come back and bring our friends too!

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Peter Shields continues to lead the pack of better restaurants in DC. Excellent across the board. Fantastic service and starter and entrees were all excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Amazing views from the outside deck and the local scallops were amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 7, 2017

A great place. We had meals from the prix fixe menu. They were excellent. We didn't know it was a byob restaurant. They do serve wines from a local winery, which were OK. But we could have brought better wines with us. The food was excellent though. We will eat here again.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Live Music, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 6, 2017

Piano added to a very enjoyable dining experience. Food was excellently creative.

Tags: Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Special Occasion, Romantic, Live Music, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.