About Peter Shields Inn

1301 Beach Avenue
Cape May, NJ 08204
View Larger Map

The Peter Shields Inn quality cuisine bursts with freshness and creativity. The PSI is a BYOB establishment that offers a la carte dining along with a four course chef’s tasting menu. Also expect to find weekly menu additions that incorporate fresh and innovative ingredients. The magnificent ocean views are the perfect scenery to celebrate a special occasion or simply enjoy a memorable dining experience. In the summer months, outdoor dining is available on the porch overlooking the ocean. The Inn also specializes in both casual & elegant ocean front weddings. For the absolute finest local and seasonal fare, Peter Shields Inn & Restaurant is a favorite of residents and visitors to Cape May alike.
Additional Details: Banquet/Private Rooms, BYO Liquor, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Fireplace, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Private Room. Dress Code is Smart Casual.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Jan - March - Open Thursday thru Sunday / April - December Open 7 Nights

Cross Street:
Trenton Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(609) 884-9090

Website:
http://www.petershieldsinn.com/

Entertainment:
Kahlil Gunther and Doug Williams pianists.

Parking Details:
Street parking, no meters.

Executive Chef:
Carl Messick

Private Party Facilities:
Peter Shields Inn & Restaurant can host private parties fom 10-115 people.

Private Party Contact:
Amy Gotthardt: 609 884 9090x

Additional:
Banquet, BYO Liquor, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Hanger Steak - Peter Shields Inn, Cape May, NJ
Beet Salad - Peter Shields Inn, Cape May, NJ
Pan Roasted Chicken - Peter Shields Inn, Cape May, NJ
Summer Corn Soup - Peter Shields Inn, Cape May, NJ
Assorted Rolls - Peter Shields Inn, Cape May, NJ
Pan Seared Salmon  - Peter Shields Inn, Cape May, NJ
garden salad - Peter Shields Inn, Cape May, NJ
lemon bar - Peter Shields Inn, Cape May, NJ
Chocolate Lava Cake - Peter Shields Inn, Cape May, NJ
Samon With Swiss Chard  - Peter Shields Inn, Cape May, NJ
Veal Tenderloin - Peter Shields Inn, Cape May, NJ
Crabneat Salad - Peter Shields Inn, Cape May, NJ
Vegetarian Risotto - Peter Shields Inn, Cape May, NJ
Chocolate Lava Cake with Dark Chocolate Ice Cream - Peter Shields Inn, Cape May, NJ
Prime Sirloin - Peter Shields Inn, Cape May, NJ
Corn Soup - Peter Shields Inn, Cape May, NJ
Corn Chowder With Corn Bread - Peter Shields Inn, Cape May, NJ
Crabmeat Lasagne - Peter Shields Inn, Cape May, NJ
Bronzino With Olive Caponata - Peter Shields Inn, Cape May, NJ
Seared Tuna - Peter Shields Inn, Cape May, NJ
Filet Of Beef Truffles Potato Gratin - Peter Shields Inn, Cape May, NJ
Roasted Beet And Lobster Salad - Peter Shields Inn, Cape May, NJ

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

Love is in the Air! And Peter Shields will be open all week for a romantic dinner for the two of you. Enjoy deliciously prepared Valentine`s Menu or order from the A la carte. Make this Valentine`s Day special!

Peter Shields Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (89)
Good for a Date (86)
Romantic (75)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (67)
Creative Cuisine (55)
Scenic View (52)
Fit for Foodies (49)
Worth the Drive (46)
Historic (46)
Quiet Conversation (45)
Cozy (39)
Waterfront (37)
Good for Birthdays (36)
Neighborhood Gem (26)
Local Ingredients (24)
Fireplace (20)
Seasonal (16)
Tasting Menu (16)
Great for Outdoor Dining (15)
Authentic (14)
Live Music (12)
Business Meals (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Private Room (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Healthy (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Fun (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
People Watching (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Family Style (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Bar Seating (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
S
2312 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Girls weekend with my mom. Neither of u ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Girls weekend with my mom. Neither of us had been there before. Totally impressed with everything! From the service to the atmosphere to the amazing food, could not ask for anything more. Outstanding!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently one of our top two! Sean is ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Consistently one of our top two! Sean is an amazing waiter. 3 course winter prix fixe is an outstanding value. 👍🏼

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Cape May has many fine restaurants. Pete ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Cape May has many fine restaurants. Peter Shields Inn is, in our opinion, the best of the best. Their chef continues to impress with creative and mouth watering entrees and desserts. I urge anyone coming to CM for a visit to include Peter Shields as a must.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our entire experience was wonderful. Fro ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Our entire experience was wonderful. From the appetizers to dessert everything was great. The staff was very professional and accommodating. Our waiter was great he had offered his opinion on the dishes and his recommendations were spot on. We would definitely come back again and again.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wife and I visited Cape May for the one ...

 
 (London)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Wife and I visited Cape May for the one night. We were very impressed with the town, very tidy and well kept, our guest house BeauClaire was so quaint and cost with Joe being a great host and does the best breakfast. To top it all was our delicious evening dress up dinner at the very smart Peter Shields restaurant. Wow the food was fantastic.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We spent NYE here at the Inn for two nig ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We spent NYE here at the Inn for two nights with dinner at the Inn for NYE. It was a six course price fix dinner for $130 pp. it is technically a byob however they did sell local wine and champagne for the evening. I wished I knew they didn't have a bar as my husband missed getting scotch on NYE. So for the good, if ia definitely very good. The down side to me was there was way too many courses and a waste of good. They offered an amuse of housecured salmon which was nice but not overwhelming. Tubs tartar was the second course and was amazing. Nice mix of sweet and heat. Third course was a crab cake over barley risotto. Could have totally skipped this course and it wouldn't have been missed. Didn't care for the crab cake or the mock risotto. Next course was branzino which was nice. Final course which I couldn't even eat because there was too much food was the dry aged steak. It was amazing and was the size of an entree. I had two bites. So sad because it clearly was the best course. Skipped dessert entirely. Courses were rushed at us and cane too quickly making enjoying each course difficult. Too bad because this is truly a great restaurant. Wouldn't do that again with all those courses again.

Tags: Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We have been to Peter Sheilds several ti ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We have been to Peter Sheilds several times and are always pleased and very happy with our dinner.

Our waitress Kim was wonderful.

The only problem was we were seated on the porch in front of the waiters station.

Will make sure we are not seated there again!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We were greeted and seated immediately u ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We were greeted and seated immediately upon our arrival, the room was comfortable yet elegant, and decorated nicely. The server was very good, he came back often to pour our wine and check on us. We all ordered from the pre-fixed menu, which we found to have a very nice variety of offerings. The food was excellent, from our pumpkin bisque to the entree, to the white chocolate creme brulee, everything was prepared to perfection and presented in an artistic manner. The piano player was a very nice added touch! This was a great choice for our anniversary dinner!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Historic, Worth the Drive, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good and romantic spot. Very creati ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Very good and romantic spot. Very creative menu. Duck breast entree was a little disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Our dinner was excellent: A creative men ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Our dinner was excellent: A creative menu with good, fresh ingredients carefully prepared. Just the right amount of flavorings. The tuna tartare was delicate and tasty. My duck was cooked perfectly! And my husband adored his seafood stew.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Authentic, Historic, Scenic View, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

It was awesome, food was great, it was b ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 29, 2016

It was awesome, food was great, it was busy but quiet and clean and the servers were very attentive as well. Place was beautifully decorated for the holiday season.

Tags: Business Meals, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been going to Peter Shields for ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 29, 2016

We have been going to Peter Shields for years. Always a special occasion. We have never been disappointed. Food, service, atmosphere, all great.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Perfect atmosphere and menu to celebrate ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Perfect atmosphere and menu to celebrate a special occasion or just a lovely dinner out. We enjoyed impeccable service and excellent food! Can't wait to return!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Historic, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful meal in a beautiful setting. S ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Wonderful meal in a beautiful setting. Service was excellent.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Peter Shields is a Cape May treasure. Th ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Peter Shields is a Cape May treasure. The food was amazing, and we also spent the night in an incredible room with a beach view. This is the perfect place to celebrate the holidays or any special occasion. Great people providing great service add to the experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Waterfront, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place, I'm making reservations ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Love this place, I'm making reservations again for next year. I order the four course and was delicious. Place is perfect for couples that want to celebrate an occasion.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a fabulous experience at Peter sh ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 21, 2016

We had a fabulous experience at Peter shields!! The decor was perfect, ambiance elegant and romantic. The service was pure perfection. The food was outstanding. We will be back! Meeting Jeff the owner was a bonus!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Over and over, time and time again the P ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Over and over, time and time again the PSI comes through with flying colors in all categories. This place is can't miss, especially off season when diners become more civilized. But the staff can handle it all no matter what time of the year.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful setting. Great food. Fantastic ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Beautiful setting. Great food. Fantastic service, courteous staff.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is our favorite restaurant in Cape ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 17, 2016

This is our favorite restaurant in Cape May. The menu changes with the seasons and the food never disappoints. Definitely a great date or special night restaurant for adults (I wouldn't bring kids here).

Tags: Seasonal, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent meal and service from beginnin ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Excellent meal and service from beginning to end! Would recommend to anyone who appreciates a great meal!

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a lovely, ocean view table, as re ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 17, 2016

We had a lovely, ocean view table, as requested, and our server, Kim was great! Food was superb! We shared the fresh jumbo lump crab salad and it was brought out, split on two plates and was huge! Absolutely one of my top ten apps ever eaten! My entree, scallops, was also amazing. Hub's bouillabaisse was delicious. We loved every bite, every second of our visit. Beautiful decor. We'll be back. A+++++

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Top notch from start to finish! Can't go ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Top notch from start to finish! Can't go wrong with anything on the menu. Try the bouillabaisse, it's impeccable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service and food. Will be bac ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Excellent service and food. Will be back! Wonderful special occasion meal.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is FINE dining. It is a bit pricey ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 14, 2016

This is FINE dining. It is a bit pricey, but if you don't mind eating a little early then try the prix fixe menu. It is worth it. The cuisine uses local ingredients whenever possible. Service is quietly attentive. It's a byob. Truly a fine experience.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The ambiance of Peter Shields was excell ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 14, 2016

The ambiance of Peter Shields was excellent !

The server was excellent!!

The food was amazing!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Never disappointed no matter which seaso ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Never disappointed no matter which season we visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The best. No question. Consistent. Exc ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 11, 2016

The best. No question. Consistent. Excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely ambiance - delicious food and gre ...

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Lovely ambiance - delicious food and great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The evening was perfect! The food was am ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 10, 2016

The evening was perfect! The food was amazing and the atmosphere was fabulous! We sat right near the fireplace and it was lovely!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a pleasant experience. Not typical ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 9, 2016

What a pleasant experience. Not typical shore dining of fried foods. Varied menu served well in a beautiful setting. Wine list was limited but you can byob. Excellent touches for a fine dining experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Lovely meal, wonderful service and atmos ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Lovely meal, wonderful service and atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

If you are ready for a great romantic di ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 7, 2016

If you are ready for a great romantic dinner Peter Shields is your place to go!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Ambiance of dining is quite nice. Howev ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Ambiance of dining is quite nice. However, the food, while esthetically creative, lacked taste and was salty. For the price, it's overvalued.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

We chose Peter Shields Inn as the specia ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 30, 2016

We chose Peter Shields Inn as the special palace to celebrate our 25th anniversary during a stay in Cape May. The food was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value2

I absolutely love this place . It is wa ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on November 27, 2016

I absolutely love this place . It is warm, cozy, elegant, romantic and the dining is gourmet! It's affordable . The room is reasonably priced as is the dinner. And you can BYOB! If you're looking for a quiet, romantic get away, close to local attractions, than this is your place. I already booked the same weekend next year!

Tags: Authentic, Fireplace, Scenic View, Live Music, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Outstanding Value, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious cuisine. I got the tile fish w ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Delicious cuisine. I got the tile fish which was excellent. Wonderful ambiance fireplace roses romantic. Bring your own wine or whatever and get ready for a great dining experience. Service is perfect too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

love this place for special occasions!

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 25, 2016

love this place for special occasions!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Cosy inn. Food excellent. Service ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Great Cosy inn. Food excellent. Service excellent. Great place to spend Thanksgiving.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Still perfection! We love the Peter Shi ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Still perfection! We love the Peter Shields, have been coming there for years and have never been disappointed. If you want a fine dining experience on the Island, this is your place. We went there for Thanksgiving and I started with the Beef Tartare, which was superb. Raw quail egg, truffled foam, and a large caper berry perfectly set off the fresh meat. Both of us had the Roast Turkey, with moist white and dark meat surrounded by favorites such as buttery mashed potatoes, excellent stuffing and crisp carrots and string beans.

Desert was the Pumpkin Creme Brûlée, which did not disappoint. Smooth and creamy topped by a perfect crisp surgery shell.

We really appreciate the wait staff coming in on a holiday. As always, they were on top of every detail and made the entire experience perfect. And the hostess is wonderful; she made sure to seat us in a quiet place which immediately set the tone for the rest of the evening.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.