About Peter Shields Inn

1301 Beach Avenue
Cape May, NJ 08204
View Larger Map

The Peter Shields Inn quality cuisine bursts with freshness and creativity. The PSI is a BYOB establishment that offers a la carte dining along with a four course chef’s tasting menu. Also expect to find weekly menu additions that incorporate fresh and innovative ingredients. The magnificent ocean views are the perfect scenery to celebrate a special occasion or simply enjoy a memorable dining experience. In the summer months, outdoor dining is available on the porch overlooking the ocean. The Inn also specializes in both casual & elegant ocean front weddings. For the absolute finest local and seasonal fare, Peter Shields Inn & Restaurant is a favorite of residents and visitors to Cape May alike.
Additional Details: Banquet/Private Rooms, BYO Liquor, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Fireplace, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Private Room. Dress Code is Smart Casual.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Jan - March - Open Thursday thru Sunday / April - December Open 7 Nights

Cross Street:
Trenton Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(609) 884-9090

Website:
http://www.petershieldsinn.com/

Entertainment:
Kahlil Gunther and Doug Williams pianists.

Parking Details:
Street parking, no meters.

Executive Chef:
Carl Messick

Private Party Facilities:
Peter Shields Inn & Restaurant can host private parties fom 10-115 people.

Private Party Contact:
Amy Gotthardt: 609 884 9090x

Additional:
Banquet, BYO Liquor, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View

Restaurant Photos

Hanger Steak
Beet Salad
Pan Roasted Chicken
Summer Corn Soup
Assorted Rolls
Pan Seared Salmon
garden salad
lemon bar
Chocolate Lava Cake
Samon With Swiss Chard
Veal Tenderloin
Crabneat Salad
Vegetarian Risotto
Chocolate Lava Cake with Dark Chocolate Ice Cream
Prime Sirloin
Corn Soup
Corn Chowder With Corn Bread
Crabmeat Lasagne
Bronzino With Olive Caponata
Seared Tuna
Filet Of Beef Truffles Potato Gratin
Roasted Beet And Lobster Salad

Peter Shields Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
Best Food
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
Best Service
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
16 More
Best Ambiance
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
Best Value
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
Fit for Foodies
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
Romantic
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
Special Occasion
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
American
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
Best Overall
South Jersey Shore
Best Food
South Jersey Shore
Best Service
South Jersey Shore
Best Ambiance
South Jersey Shore
Best Value
South Jersey Shore
Fit for Foodies
South Jersey Shore
Romantic
South Jersey Shore
Special Occasion
South Jersey Shore
American
South Jersey Shore
Most Booked
South Jersey Shore
Best Restaurants in Cape May ›

Special Occasion (316)
Romantic (312)
Scenic View (241)
See All
Fit for Foodies (234)
Neighborhood Gem (121)
Great for Outdoor Dining (81)
Good for Anniversaries (51)
Good for a Date (41)
Waterfront (37)
Quiet Conversation (33)
Good for Groups (33)
Historic (31)
Creative Cuisine (28)
Live Music (24)
Worth the Drive (24)
Good for Birthdays (22)
Local Ingredients (20)
Tasting Menu (18)
Cozy (18)
Notable Wine List (15)
Hot Spot (14)
Seasonal (9)
Great for Lunch (6)
Fun (6)
Authentic (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Healthy (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Fireplace (4)
Private Room (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Family Style (2)
Business Meals (2)
People Watching (2)
Casual (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Bar Seating (1)
 (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Organic (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2107 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We liked--but did not love-- our recent ...

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined 3 days ago

We liked--but did not love-- our recent meal at Peter Shields Inn. The best way to summarize the experience, however, is to note that the restaurant is in Cape May, NJ--not New York City. If one is paying NYC prices, which Peter Shields Inn does, then one should expect top flight service and food. The food was good--but not outstanding. I think that, for the price, the customer should get an outstanding dining experience. The wait staff was either improperly trained or lacking in awareness of how to make customers feel special--and welcome. I will not recommend the restaurant to friends without major improvement in service and a big reduction in the price of the meals.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value2

This restaurant exceeded our expectation ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 3 days ago

This restaurant exceeded our expectations. The enclosed outdoor dining porch was elegant and the food was exceptional. The pix fixe menu had excellent choices and was an excellent value.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for my wife's birthday. I calle ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

We went for my wife's birthday. I called late morning to find out what time the $40 prix fix menu lasted. The woman on phone told me 6:30. So I made reservations via Open Table at 6:15. When we arrived they told us the $40 3 course prix fix ended at 6 but when I explained situation they honored the prix fix. Well, the food was fantastic and I would say the best 3 courses I've ever had for the price. Next time I come to Cape May this is a must visit!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We loved everything about our evening, f ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined 4 days ago

We loved everything about our evening, from the great ambiance to the delicious food.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

By far, the best food in Cape May. Every ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined 4 days ago

By far, the best food in Cape May. Every morsel of food delights the tastebuds. Easy to see why it is the #1 restaurant!

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I had a wonderful meal and o ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 5 days ago

My wife and I had a wonderful meal and our server was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We don't get to Cape May too often, but ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 6 days ago

We don't get to Cape May too often, but when we do the Peter Shields Inn is a definite must for us. The food is excellent, the service perfect, the ambiance is unbeatable. Always the best!

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Romantic, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Individual wishes accommodated. Food e ...

vip
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined 6 days ago

Individual wishes accommodated. Food excellent as usual. Great place for special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

What a beautiful inviting restaurant, ju ...

vip
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined 6 days ago

What a beautiful inviting restaurant, just lovely! Piano music added to the night with great food and service. Peter Shields is a BYOB restaurant, can't wait to return for another delightful dinner!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Live Music, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for our anniversary recently. W ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We went for our anniversary recently. We both had the mixed green salad with peaches. It was excellent with just the right amount of dressing. We also both had the salmon and it was amazing! So tender and delicious, probably the best I've ever had. For dessert my husband had the sorbet and I had the ice cream, which by the way, are both made in house. It was a great finish to a tremendous dinner! The service was excellent! The staff really makes you feel welcome and special. Prices are a bit high but I guarantee that whatever you order it will be the best you ever tasted. This is a great place for special occasions and it is BYOB so that will help keep your bill down. We will be back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We both had steaks. They were delicious ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We both had steaks. They were delicious and were cooked just right

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We had the four course tasting menu. Eve ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We had the four course tasting menu. Every course was fantastic. Roasted corn soup, Day Boat scallops, amazing steak and Lava cake for dessert. Live piano music from the lobby. Awesome meal. Possibly the best of many excellent restaurants in Cape May.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

My husband and I did the four course che ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

My husband and I did the four course chef's tasting that was available on Saturday evening, Sept 17. We absolutely loved it. This was one of the best meals I have ever had. The flavors complimented each other and the meal was just to die for. I can't wait until we go back to Cape May so I can dine at Peter Shields again.

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

As expected, our meals and service was i ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

As expected, our meals and service was impeccable! Never disappointed;)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best restaurant ever. I was married at t ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Best restaurant ever. I was married at this restaurant & my husband & I make special reservations to come back every year on our anniversary. The food & menu get better every year!! 😃

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food and a great venue. Some ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Wonderful food and a great venue. Some of the greeter staff are not the friendliest. Waiter staff was fine.

Tags: Seasonal, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

First time at the PSI. Everything was wo ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

First time at the PSI. Everything was wonderful food & atmosphere. Currently decorated in fall and Halloween,just perfect.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A truly great dining experience. Our sec ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

A truly great dining experience. Our second time and they've never disappointed. It is a must on any trip to the area.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Live Music, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Fantastic Experience Our 4th Time There ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Fantastic Experience

Our 4th Time There and not our last!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Fun, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I celebrated our 32nd Annive ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

My wife and I celebrated our 32nd Anniversary in Cape May, Nj and tried PSI for the first time. Outstanding!

John S.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We loved the Peter Shields Inn! It is a ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

We loved the Peter Shields Inn! It is a beautiful, early twentieth century Georgian Revival home, which was very romantic! Our server, Amy, was wonderful! Our appetizers, corn chowder and tuna tartare, were amazing. Our entrees, the scallops and the halibut, were wonderful! Throughout the meal, an excellent pianist played soft standards. The entire experience was memorable and we can't wait to return!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife turned a very young sixty so I w ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

My wife turned a very young sixty so I wanted to take her somewhere special, Peter Shields fit the bill perfectly.

Tags: Live Music, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

This was our second time there while vac ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

This was our second time there while vacationing in Cape May. It is a bit expensive, but if you are watching your budget they offer an (early bird) prix fix menu that is a wonderful value. It is BYOB, and cash only as are most Cape May restaurants. It is a wonderful dining experience, well worth the money.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Live Music, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Visited PSI for our anniversary ... This ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Visited PSI for our anniversary ... This is the PERFECT location for a special occasion! We loved every second of our time here!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a great experience here. Service, ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Always a great experience here. Service, ambience, and food, never disappoint.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful BYOB restaurant in a magnifice ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Wonderful BYOB restaurant in a magnificent inn! Dined on their screened-in porch, just across from the sea, while being serenaded by live piano music. The food was beautifully presented and tasted as amazing! The service was professional without being stuffy! Excellent fine dining without being over priced!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Live Music, Romantic, Authentic, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fun, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our table was ready when we arrived and ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Our table was ready when we arrived and BYOB wine was collected by the hostess and brought to the table, nice touch.

App of marinated octopus was very tasty. My halibut with gnocchi was excellent especially the crusty seared top. The pork tenderloin my husband ordered was tender and perfectly seasoned. We opted for the panna cotta with pistachio ice cream for dessert, perfect ending not heavy. Definitely one of the best restaurants in Cape May and we will certainly be back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

We went to PSI for a date night on our l ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

We went to PSI for a date night on our last night in Cape May and went with the Fixed 4 course meal. I highly recommend as my wife said, it was the perfect portion size and delicious. The one big thing to remember about PSI like a number of other restaurants in Cape May is that they do not have a liquor license and only supply local wines. I would recommend bringing your own pricey bottle of wine from a local store or from home to enjoy with your meal.

Tags: Historic, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Peter Shields Inn is a gem of the Jersey ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Peter Shields Inn is a gem of the Jersey Coast! We have been visiting the shore for over 40 years, and this was definitely one of the top 5 restaurants of all time. The description would be elegant but casual, very friendly and knowledgable wait staff, wonderful live pianist/vocalist in the foyer at just the right volume, great selection of appetizers and entrees, beautiful seaside setting, parking was very convenient, a very memorable dining experience. We will return to PSI on our next holiday in Cape May.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Cozy, Casual, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Place is beautiful; service was excellen ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Place is beautiful; service was excellent. Nice ambiance, great piano player. Bread was very stale, crab appetizer good but very small, salad ok. One entree was excellent, one entree had very salty, tough kale, but otherwise good.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

I was very happy with everything that th ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

I was very happy with everything that this establishment had to offer. The service was great, the food was divine and the atmosphere was great and perfect for my date. Thank you to all who helped make our evening what it was, quite a wonderful night.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

My wife and I had an amazing dinner at P ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

My wife and I had an amazing dinner at Peter Shields Inn for our 1st Anniversary. The food, service, and venue were all fantastic. We really enjoyed the piano player and having a romantic night overlooking the beach. Could not have been any better.

Tags: Live Music, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a wonderful evening. The service ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

We had a wonderful evening. The service, ambience and food were top notch. The piano music was beautiful. Not a place to miss.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our go to place for special occasions! S ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Our go to place for special occasions! Special nights need special places and PSI is special.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I have enjoy every dinner ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

My husband and I have enjoy every dinner at psi! A definite must go!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Amazing! Kim our server was top notch, a ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Amazing! Kim our server was top notch, and the food was also fresh and delicious. Will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As we vacationed in Cape May, this was ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

As we vacationed in Cape May, this was recommendation. Great ambiance, service and food.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Good service. Nice location. The food wa ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Good service. Nice location. The food was excellent with nice presentation. It was a good place for a special occasion.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The halibut is amazing!

vip
 (Memphis)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

The halibut is amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved everything about Peter Shields! Th ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Loved everything about Peter Shields! The food was delicious and our waiter Peter was superb.

We can't wait to go again!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.