Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi

About Peter Shields Inn

The Peter Shields Inn quality cuisine bursts with freshness and creativity. The PSI is a BYOB establishment that offers a la carte dining along with a four course chef’s tasting menu. Also expect to find weekly menu additions that incorporate fresh and innovative ingredients. The magnificent ocean views are the perfect scenery to celebrate a special occasion or simply enjoy a memorable dining experience. In the summer months, outdoor dining is available on the porch overlooking the ocean. The Inn also specializes in both casual & elegant ocean front weddings. For the absolute finest local and seasonal fare, Peter Shields Inn & Restaurant is a favorite of residents and visitors to Cape May alike.
Additional Details: Banquet/Private Rooms, BYO Liquor, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Fireplace, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Private Room. Dress Code is Smart Casual.

1301 Beach Avenue
Cape May, NJ 08204
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Jan - March - Open Thursday thru Sunday / April - December Open 7 Nights

Cross Street:
Trenton Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(609) 884-9090

Website:
http://www.petershieldsinn.com/

Entertainment:
Kahlil Gunther and Doug Williams pianists.

Parking Details:
Street parking, no meters.

Executive Chef:
Carl Messick

Additional:
Banquet, BYO Liquor, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View

Specials

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $40.00

Sundays - Fridays from 5:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Specials

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $40.00

Sundays - Fridays from 5:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Details

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $40.00. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Oct 29, 2017 - Dec 29, 2017 on Sundays - Fridays from 5:00 PM - 6:00 PM.

Peter Shields Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.4

Noise

Quiet

96% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (210)
Special Occasion (190)
Good for Anniversaries (177)
See All
Good for a Date (149)
Scenic View (127)
Creative Cuisine (126)
Fit for Foodies (111)
Waterfront (111)
Worth the Drive (110)
Quiet Conversation (104)
Good for Birthdays (86)
Cozy (74)
Neighborhood Gem (57)
Tasting Menu (56)
Local Ingredients (56)
Live Music (49)
Great for Outdoor Dining (47)
Authentic (41)
Seasonal (32)
Good for Groups (19)
Casual (18)
Healthy (14)
Business Meals (13)
Fun (13)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Great for Brunch (9)
Afternoon Tea (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
People Watching (5)
Organic (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Bar Seating (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort by
S
2906 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Peter Shields never disappoints.

I can’t give it a higher recommendation. Every dish is well thought out.

Perhaps my favorite restaurant in the Philadelphia/South Jersey region.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

PSI is ostensibly one of the more upscale restaurants in Cape May, NJ> We were seated in a room with several other large, boisterous, obnoxious parties. Our party of four had to scream across the table to be heard. IF PSI wants to continue to charge premium prices for an upscale dining experience, then management needs to ensure all patrons' dining experiences are equally enjoyable. Will not return in the foreseeable future

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

Even a superior restaurant has an off night now and again. This just happened to be one of those nights.

We are big fans of PSI and one slightly less than perfect dinner won’t change our opinion. My wife’s pork belly appetizer was tough and stringy. Her beef entree was so salty she couldn’t finish it.

As always, our server, Petar was great and the ambiance was wonderful we will be back.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Without DOUBT THE BEST RESTAURANT WE HAVE EATEN AT,'WE WOULD RECOMMEND THIS TO EVERYONE INTERESTED IN GOOD FOOD AND A REMARKABLE FRIENDLY PLACE. IT WAS THE QUIETEST PLACE WE HAVE EATEN IN SINCE HOME.

Tags: Scenic View, Casual, Paleo Friendly, Afternoon Tea, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

The food was delicious, however my rack of lamb was quite fatty. I enjoy a little bit of fat but I did not think the lack of actual lamb meat justified the steep price tag. Also, on an adjacent table, I watched a busser drop a clean knife on the floor while setting a table....he picked it back up and put it on the table. That should not be happening in any restaurant, let alone a high end one. I'm not sure if we would go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

This is 3rd time we have dined at the Peter Shields Inn. As with our previous dining experiences, this was perfect. Our server RJ couldn't have been more friendly and accommodating. Our meals were cooked to perfection. 'We were not rushed, rather, we were encouraged to relax and enjoy the evening. Our future trips to Cape May will definitely include dining at the Peter Shields Inn.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 13, 2017

It was our first time at Peter Shields inn . It was our anniversary and it was the perfect atmosphere for our celebration. The food and service were wonderful. I like the fact that we could also bring in our favorite bottle of wine!! We’ll be back

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 12, 2017

I haven't been to Peter Shields in a while-just because with its prices,I consider it a splurge. I went with three friends this past weekend,and none of us was thrilled with our meals. There were dishes that were very good (the salad with beets; the ice cream) but,all in all,none of us thought our meals were worth the prices. I doubt if I'll go back any time soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 11, 2017

Best all around experience we’ve had in a long time. Food was outstanding, service was terrific, great ambiance. Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 11, 2017

Amazing fall menu. And Petar's special attention made the night.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Late-night Find, Waterfront, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 10, 2017

A wonderful evening time after time after time. The food is excellent, the servers both thoughtful and informed and the atmosphere warm and comfortable.

Tags: Good for a Date, Seasonal, Scenic View, Cozy, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 10, 2017

I had the chef tasting menu - a small splurge, but still reasonable given what I received. Everything I put in my mouth was terrific, and there were some unusual combinations of ingredients that I would not have considered. The BYOB aspect offset the cost, and it was a fabulous overall experience. I definitely plan to return next time I'm in Cape May.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on November 10, 2017

Excellent food...excellent waitress(amy!)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 10, 2017

Peter shields is always terrific and unbeatable. It was near our hotel which made it great too !

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 10, 2017

This is definitely one of our favorite upscale restaurant in Cape May. Excellent dining experience, romantic and gourmet food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Seasonal, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 9, 2017

Beautiful location with well practiced staff. They knew their job and did it well. Food was great but why is everyone so fixated on including pork belly on their menu.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 6, 2017

We celebrated our anniversary with dinner at the Peter Shields Inn where we were also staying. Everything was excellent. The restaurant is a lovely dining room overlooking the ocean (across the street) and a fireplace--and it's quiet, which is nice for a change from many restaurants these days. We decided to go with the early fixed price menu--good choices for all three courses. Others in the room ordered off of the a la carte menu and were happy with their choices. All service was fine, too.

When in Cape May, we recommend you go there.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 6, 2017

Food was generally good but had risotto which was overdone

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 5, 2017

Service was impeccable, ambiance was great as well as the music...it was restaurant week and the menu choices were very limited...I got the seafood risotto...my husband got the steak...steak was excellent...however risotto was not very good...tiny bay scallops and tiny rock shrimp well hidden in a big plate of risotto with roasted brussel sprouts..I only ordered it because I wanted seafood and was there for "restaurant week" . It looked like oatmeal...expected better from Peter Shields. Merion Inn had a much better variety for this event

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Romantic, Live Music, Authentic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 5, 2017

We enjoyed a great meal during restaurant week.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on November 5, 2017

I just love coming here. I really did not like my entree, the shrimp and scallop risotto ( I really dislike thyme so I felt it overwhelmed the dish) but the rest of the meal was excellent. Even the coffee is outstanding. We loved Peter, our waiter, as well. He was personable, knowledgeabale and very attentive. Another wonderful evening here.

Tags: Romantic, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 5, 2017

As always the ambiance , service, presentation and food quality consistently set a very high bar for dining in Cape May

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on November 5, 2017

Just another wonderful dining opportunity! Seated as arrived, fantastic wait staff, excellent meal.
The best ever!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 4, 2017

Food and ambience were excellent. Really felt like I was brought back in time. A relaxing , peaceful and very romantic way to celebrate my birthday with spouse. The particular room I was seated in was lovely with only 4 tables in it. Almost felt like private dining. My only issue, The waitress was very professional, sweet and kind but could have been alittle more attentive.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on November 4, 2017

Fine food in an elegant atmosphere. Beautiful historic Inn.
The piano player was great, mixing old standards with a few surprises like rock and roll.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on November 3, 2017

Good food that is executed well with nice presentation...over ~10 years of dining at Peter Shields Inn we've never had a bad experience...WELL DONE!

Tags: Scenic View, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 3, 2017

Wonderful place, we had the best time. Dinner was outstanding, service was , great Nd we can't to go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 3, 2017

Daniel was a great server & directed us to a great prix fixe meal on the outside deck listening to the ocean. We appreciated the glass of complimentary champagne for my husband’s 50th birthday!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 3, 2017

Had been looking forward to finally dining at this landmark institution in Cape May. I was expecting to be wow'd with all the noted accolades, but, unfortunately, deemed it only fair, as noted above. I will return to see if maybe this particular night was just an off night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 2, 2017

Lovely restaurant with great food and atmosphere. Went for Restaurant Weekend but cannot wait to go back.

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on November 2, 2017

Always a perfect dinner. The Quail appetizer was delicious,and love the chocolate penna cotta so much,we ordered a third one!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Adelaide / SA)·Dined on November 2, 2017

WE WENT FOR CAPE MAY RESTAURANT WEEKEND - OUR FIRST TIME - IT WAS A WONDERFUL DINING EXPERIENCE -OUR WAITER WAS GREAT IN ALLOWING US TO SPEND ABOUT 4 HOURS THERE ENJOYING THE FOOD AS WELL AS THE AMBIANCE - WE SAVORED 3 COURSES AS WELL AS THE RESTAURANT BEING A BYOB - IT WAS MY BIRTHDAY AND I WANTED TO TRY A NEW PLACE TO DINE - THE STAFF WAS VERY FRIENDLY -THE NORMAL MENU IS A LITTLE PRICEY BUT THIS EVENT WAS A GREAT OPPORTUNITY TO TRY THIS PLACE !

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 2, 2017

Disappointing meal here. Such a nice place with good ambiance which bills itself as some of Cape May's finest dining, but it sadly doesn't live up. First, they say they have a wine list (in addition to BYOB) but its just about a dozen $20 bottles from local wineries. Not helpful if you were looking to celebrate with some special bubbly and especially not helpful if you are passing through town and can't BYOB. The waiter was also quite gruff, saying "we have no liquor license" when asked about wine options, this before turning his back and hulking off. Good feelings gone. So we decided merely to order an entrée which was only OK. The seafood did seem fresh but the preparation was only so-so. Lots of other--and better--fine dining options in Cape May, especially if you value good service and good wine options with your fine dining experience.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

 
·Dined on November 1, 2017

Great place. Beautiful town. Not cheap but worth it. On the beach.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on November 1, 2017

Amazing Ambiance , truly transformed from daytime . Fantastic Food , great service , more than reasonable price . Loved it !

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on October 30, 2017

friendly hostess and wait staff, beautiful and cozy setting, and great food. Definitely will return on our next visit to Cape May

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on October 29, 2017

We had a lovely dinner at Peter Shields this weekend and were able to take advantage of their wonderful prix fixe menu. Our waiter, Peter, was very attentive but not intrusive. Five stars!!

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 29, 2017

Special evening for a group of friends. Yes, a little costly, but worth it in my opinion. The piano playing through out the night is just lovely and adds such ambience. I like that it is a BYOB - so you are just paying for the delicious food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 28, 2017

Excellent but not outstanding. Would go back for special occasion because it was wonderfully cozy yet tables far enough apart to offer privacy. Extremely attentive wait staff. Halibut lived up to all the reviews.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on October 27, 2017

My husband and I did a long weekend in Cape May for our "mini-moon" and had dinner here one of the nights. Definitely a great spot for a special dinner! Since it was off-season, it was very easy to get a reservation through Open Table. The staff was all wonderful and our waiter was great! The food was phenomenal. Everyone recommended that we eat here, and I can see why!

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.