Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi

About Peter Shields Inn

The Peter Shields Inn quality cuisine bursts with freshness and creativity. The PSI is a BYOB establishment that offers a la carte dining along with a four course chef’s tasting menu. Also expect to find weekly menu additions that incorporate fresh and innovative ingredients. The magnificent ocean views are the perfect scenery to celebrate a special occasion or simply enjoy a memorable dining experience. In the summer months, outdoor dining is available on the porch overlooking the ocean. The Inn also specializes in both casual & elegant ocean front weddings. For the absolute finest local and seasonal fare, Peter Shields Inn & Restaurant is a favorite of residents and visitors to Cape May alike.
Additional Details: Banquet/Private Rooms, BYO Liquor, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Fireplace, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Private Room. Dress Code is Smart Casual.

1301 Beach Avenue
Cape May, NJ 08204
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Jan - March - Open Thursday thru Sunday / April - December Open 7 Nights

Cross Street:
Trenton Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(609) 884-9090

Website:
http://www.petershieldsinn.com/

Entertainment:
Kahlil Gunther and Doug Williams pianists.

Parking Details:
Street parking, no meters.

Executive Chef:
Carl Messick

Private Party Facilities:
Peter Shields Inn & Restaurant can host private parties fom 10-115 people.

Private Party Contact:
Amy Gotthardt: (609) 884-9090

Additional:
Banquet, BYO Liquor, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View

Peter Shields Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (118)
Good for Anniversaries (111)
Romantic (104)
See All
Good for a Date (93)
Creative Cuisine (72)
Fit for Foodies (71)
Scenic View (69)
Waterfront (68)
Good for Birthdays (65)
Quiet Conversation (59)
Worth the Drive (58)
Historic (51)
Cozy (40)
Neighborhood Gem (37)
Fireplace (34)
Tasting Menu (29)
Authentic (21)
Local Ingredients (19)
Great for Outdoor Dining (15)
Great for Brunch (9)
Live Music (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Business Meals (8)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Healthy (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Seasonal (6)
Private Room (5)
Casual (5)
People Watching (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Fun (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Organic (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Sort By:
S
2485 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined a day ago

Amazing food. Pianist was so accomplished. Service was stellar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 2 days ago

It was superb! The food was excellent, as was the ambiance!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 2 days ago

Not as good as our last visit. Somewhat disappointed. Our waiter Chris acted as if we were a nuisance. He chatted friendly with his other tables but seemed to be bothered by us. It was our 50th Anniversary dinner wanted it to be special. I didn't even ask him to take our picture. He never checked on us to see if everything was ok.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Great food, ambiance and service. Top class all round.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined 3 days ago

A wonderful anniversary dinner. First class service, food and elegance. Enjoyed the chef's prix fix menu. If you're in Cape May, this restaurant is a must. Thank you for an amazing evening!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

The food was good but there needs to be more variety. There is only one soup and if you don't like garlic there is no other options. If you don't like beets you can't get a salad either.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined 4 days ago

We enjoyed yet another delicious meal at Peter Shields Inn.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 4 days ago

The food was so wonderfully prepared and presented that we felt like we had been given a gift. We will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 22, 2017

It is a lovely place. We wanted a quiet place to talk and it fit the bill. The food, service, and ambiance was wonderful. Want to go back on eat on the porch in the summer.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 21, 2017

My husband and I had dinner at Peter Shields on May 21. The service was excellent and we were both extremely pleased with the dishes we ordered (oysters on the half-shell as an appetizer, halibut for me, beef tenderloin for him, and date pudding for dessert). The interior decor is what I'd call simple elegance. The front of the building is gorgeous and great for photos. The only negative: the menu said that my meal was accompanied with English pea puree, but the quantity was so scarce that it should have been described as a drizzle. (The dish also came with asparagus and gnocchi ... both delicious .... but I was expecting and hoping more of the pea puree. ) Overall, an excellent dining experience !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Wonderful service, food and ambiance as always. Continues to be one of our all time favorite and memorable places to dine and never disappoints.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Excellent restaurant. Food, ambiance and service were superb.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Pretty setting + attentive service + tasty food = worth a visit. We've been to many great restaurants and appreciate good food. We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner here and would recommend it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Outstanding menu. The food preparation was awesome.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Celebrated my wifes birthday. Food was awesome and the service was terrific.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Fabulous -- as always. A damn near perfect dining experience.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Casual, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 18, 2017

The food was fine, but I had expected it to be great. Was disappointed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on May 17, 2017

why do upscale restaurants,or any restaurants,insist on mixing couples and large groups?this was our wedding anniversary(undeclared to proprietors)and we were seated in a lovely room,within minutes the staff began setting up a table for 10 adjacent to us.it was a business dinner.i was gagging on the tales of college football exploits by a group of elderly gents edged on by brown nosing women.this venue was on our list for several years but with so many fine dining options in cape may,never again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Excellent food and service. It is what I have come to expect at PSI

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 15, 2017

One of my top 3 restaurants ever. The service and quality of food is the best. Chris our waiter was great

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Marvelous chef's menu. Staff was attentive. Early seating on the porch was the perfect setting to experience the sun slowly setting.

Tags: Historic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 14, 2017

My family had the pleasure of dining at PSI for Mothers Day Brunch. The service was fabulous, the food was incredible, so many delicious flavors, more than adequate portions, and great price, and the overall experience was top notch. We are a family who enjoys well prepared fine food with a great value and have traveled throughout the US eating at various establishments. By far PSI is one of if not the best we have experienced so far. Well done! We will return!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We had a lovely Mother's day brunch. Three courses for $40. Everything was great. We're local and we're regulars again. This should be on everyone's list when they come to Cape May. While not inexpensive it's BYO so that makes it much more affordable than a comparable restaurant with a bar.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great Mother's Day brunch! The service and food were fantastic!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We were celebrating Mother's Day. Beautiful day in Cape May and a wonderful venue. The food was delicious and the three courses worked out perfectly. I have never seen so much lobster in a lobster roll. The salmon was cooked to perfection and the desserts were out of this world. I have to say that the coffee is the best I have had in long time. We will definitely go again this summer and bring a few bottle of wine.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Excellent for our annual girls weekend at the shore!

Tags: Seasonal, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Fantastic

Peter was fantastic

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Everything was tasty and excellent service. Great experience!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Three words for Peter Sheilds-Ex-Cel-Lent! The food was outstanding- I had an Alaskan Halibut which was superb, along with all of the exciting sides that it came with: white and green asparagus, morels, and ricotta gnocchi- a spring time poem. Service was excellent; ( a shout out to Amy) not intrusive but was always provided when needed. Of course the ambiance is very classy with even a view of the sea from where we sat. BYO is a nice way to cut back on the somewhat pricey menu.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fireplace, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 9, 2017

PSI is my favorite restaurant in Cape may NJ. The food is consistently delicious and the service very friendly. There is a prix fix menu for $40 pp prior to 6:00pm that includes 3 courses. The Inn has rooms available if you would like to spend the night. I love that it is a BYOB and also features tastings from Cape may Winery during the summer out on the porch. When you make your reservation, please ask for Amy to be your waitress for the Amy. She is a delight!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 8, 2017

What a delicious meal! The Spring Garlic soup was unique and very tasty and the soft shell crabs were some of the best I have ever had. Don't miss the date bread pudding with warm caramel sauce. In a city which caters in large part to tourists, this restaurant is truly tops.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 7, 2017

There are a lot of good restaurants in Cape May, but Peter Shields is by far the best! Elegant, classy, sophisticated, top notch ! The food is prepared not only to please the palate , but the eye as well. Don't miss out on a superb dining experience !

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We had the early dinner prefixed menu. Great food and the price was a deal! Would totally do it again.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Peter Shields is always a favorite! Never disappoints! Great service (Christoph & Sean) Awesome food, nice ambiance, beautiful view! Thanks for another great night!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Live Music, Historic, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Fun, Scenic View, Fireplace, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on May 7, 2017

What a wonderful dining experience! We loved everything about the food, service and ambiance!

Tags: Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Celebrated our wedding anniversary here. Restaurant offered 2 glasses of champagne to celebrate the occasion. Piano is piped softly into speakers throughout restaurant for ambiance. Pianist played our wedding song as the waitress brought desert. View of beach and ocean is breathtaking. Service is awesome. Everyone from entering to leaving is courteous and kind and go out of their way to make you feel at home.

Tags: Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We celebrated our 25th Wedding Anniversary at PSI and had a nice, quiet , romantic evening. The atmosphere was nice, the service was great and the meal was fabulous. Being a byob allows you to put a personal touch on the evening. I would highly recommend PSI!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We came for my husbands 55th birthday because he had loved the Xavier oysters for his 50th birthday! We're not waiting 5 years to return this time 😊

Tags: Historic, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We dine here several times a year. Always excellent. The hostess and wait staff very attentive. Carl, the chef, prepares the most delicious meals, and the presentation cannot be surpassed. This evening was a birthday celebration. Our dessert came with a candle, making it special. Highly recommend.

Tags: Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Really nice experience. Only negative was that is was really cold with a strong breeze blowing in from the porch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.