Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi

About Peter Shields Inn

The Peter Shields Inn quality cuisine bursts with freshness and creativity. The PSI is a BYOB establishment that offers a la carte dining along with a four course chef’s tasting menu. Also expect to find weekly menu additions that incorporate fresh and innovative ingredients. The magnificent ocean views are the perfect scenery to celebrate a special occasion or simply enjoy a memorable dining experience. In the summer months, outdoor dining is available on the porch overlooking the ocean. The Inn also specializes in both casual & elegant ocean front weddings. For the absolute finest local and seasonal fare, Peter Shields Inn & Restaurant is a favorite of residents and visitors to Cape May alike.
Additional Details: Banquet/Private Rooms, BYO Liquor, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Fireplace, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Private Room. Dress Code is Smart Casual.

1301 Beach Avenue
Cape May, NJ 08204
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Jan - March - Open Thursday thru Sunday / April - December Open 7 Nights

Cross Street:
Trenton Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(609) 884-9090

Website:
http://www.petershieldsinn.com/

Entertainment:
Kahlil Gunther and Doug Williams pianists.

Parking Details:
Street parking, no meters.

Executive Chef:
Carl Messick

Private Party Facilities:
Peter Shields Inn & Restaurant can host private parties fom 10-115 people.

Private Party Contact:
Amy Gotthardt: (609) 884-9090

Additional:
Banquet, BYO Liquor, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View

Peter Shields Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (182)
Romantic (153)
Good for Anniversaries (152)
See All
Good for a Date (147)
Scenic View (110)
Fit for Foodies (105)
Creative Cuisine (104)
Good for Birthdays (100)
Waterfront (94)
Worth the Drive (86)
Quiet Conversation (81)
Tasting Menu (45)
Neighborhood Gem (45)
Cozy (42)
Great for Outdoor Dining (35)
Historic (34)
Local Ingredients (32)
Authentic (32)
Live Music (23)
Fireplace (19)
Seasonal (17)
Great for Brunch (12)
Business Meals (11)
Healthy (11)
Good for Groups (10)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Fun (7)
People Watching (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Casual (4)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Organic (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Private Room (3)
Notable Wine List (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Vegan (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Live Sports (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
2624 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 2 days ago

This is the best restaurant in Cape May, and I eat in many of them. The attention to detail in the greeting, the food and the service cannot be topped.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 2 days ago

In celebration of our 18th wedding anniversary. Food was impeccable, from the first bite to the last. Entire service staff (Christoph was our lead server) was thoughtful, cordial, kind and attentive the entire night. One of the best meals and overall restaurant experiences we've enjoyed in a long time. Thank you PSI! We will be back soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

It was fantastic food! staff were fabulous!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

For many years we have been coming to Cape May and Peter Shields to celebrate our wedding anniversary. This year it was our 67th anniversary. Peter Shields has never let us down. The chef is the best in Cape May. The total experience, however, is unforgetable. We'll be back next year. Raymond and Gloria Burger

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 4 days ago

Always a good meal here. From the moment u walk in to the time u leave, they treat u l8ke an upscale restaurant should.
Octopus special was to die for!!!
Do not miss it if u go to Cape May.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 days ago

We come every summer while on vacation and celebrate anniversary. Very "classy" restaurant and nicely located!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 days ago

Peter Shields is an annual treat for us and we are never disappointed. Food and service are excellent, starting from appetizers through dessert. We love the piano player and overall atmosphere. Free parking and away from the Cape May crowds. Portions are not huge (which allows for appetizers and desserts) so if you are looking to take half of your dinner home (or feeding a huge appetite) this might not be the place for you. But I suggest the appetizers and dessert instead and we will always be back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 5 days ago

I know now why this is such a highly recommended restaurant. The many positive reviews speak for themselves, so we were not surprised by the atmosphere or our meals. Still, we both agreed while walking through the door, we were in a special place. Our reservation was made more than a week in advance, as there were limited open time slots available. This is a pretty good indication that this restaurant is a known gem.

My wife had the Four Course Chef's Tasting and could not have been more pleased. I tried the Rare Seared Yellowfin Tuna, which I rated as excellent.

The waitstaff is knowledgeable, friendly and very helpful. The piano player was an added delight.

If in Cape May and can dine here, you will not be disappointed.

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined 6 days ago

Have been dining at Peter Shields for many years and it just keeps getting better. My husband had the chefs tasting menu and loved everything! The first coarse was corn chowder, delicious!! Followed by tuna which melted in you mouth. Seared scallops also very tasty. Main coarse was a wagu beef over mushroom risotto with baby carrots and brocolini. FANTASTIC! I had the beet salad which was very good with fresh roasted yellow and red beets, goat cheese and baby greens. The chef was kind enough to make me the same entree without the beef as I do not eat meat. I had the fig pudding for dessert. Excellent. I also have to say how awesome out waiter Peter was. It is always a pleasure to be at one of his tables. We sat on the porch and the view was beautiful! Thank you to everyone who made it such a special evening.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Amy our waitress was excellent, piano player too. He created a romantic atmosphere. We had the prix fixed menu which was fine for a menu. We went on our anniversary and everything (menu) was similar.

Tags: Special Occasion, Live Music, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

Delicious food and great ambience, highly recommended!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Romantic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 7 days ago

When we come to Cape May we always dine at Peter Shields for a special dinner without kids... a nice date night.
The view is beautiful and we especially like dining on the porch. Just wish there was more free parking so you didn't have to keep looking at the time on the meter.
Very enjoyable evening!

Tags: Live Music, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Was seated right on time but took almost 15 minutes before water/bread appeared.
Busboy was cruising by our table loading up other tables w bread/water, maybe he was new. Waitress was apologetic.
Meals were great and arrived with a flourish. Salmon, scallops and duck entrees were worth having again. Lemon bar and plum cake were good desserts.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 15, 2017

The atmosphere and service were top notch. Her tenderloin was very good. I had the price fix. My beef was chewy and stringy. At the prices being charged, there should not be a bad cut of beef.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Always wonderful and elegant for special night out

Tags: Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Can't miss for an elegant first class atmosphere with great food and service

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on July 14, 2017

OUTSTANDING! This was our second time dining at Peter Shields & it was just as delicious as we remembered! Can't wait to return....

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Everything was perfect. Our waiter Chris was awesome

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on July 12, 2017

We have dined at PSI many times. Each time is a great experience.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 11, 2017

I ordered the tuna tartar as an appetizer, local scallops for dinner and the chocolate chip banana pudding for dessert. The waiter recommended all 3 and it was delicious! I savored every bite and it think it is the best meal I ever had! The restaurant isn't inexpensive but worth it! Definitely will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Peter Shields Inn has been a staple in our last 3 visits to Cape May. If you prefer upscale dining as opposed to the touristy Washington Street Mall restaurants, Peter Shields will not disappoint.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 10, 2017

The restaurant and it's setting are beautiful. We were seated promptly, and on the porch as we had asked. The appetizers were quite good- foie gras and crab. The Alaskan halibut entree was sort of ho-hum. Wasn't seasoned properly and the foam did not add much in the way of flavor. The mixed veg that came with it was wonderful- obviously hand prepared. Spouse had the local scallops, which were quite nice. While we enjoyed the meal, service was so efficient we almost felt rushed-took a bit more than 1 hour 15. It's good and we would go back, but felt it slightly missed the 'exceptional' mark we were hoping for.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 10, 2017

We have eaten here more than 8 times over the past few years and have never had any issue with food, service nor have we had to wait for our table. I highly recommend it unless stairs are an issue. You will not be disappointed.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Went here while on vacation in Cape May -- it was great!
The food was wonderful -- we (3 of us) had the crab salad and the summer corn soup for our first course; the crab salad was all lump crabmeat with a layer of smoked salmon on top, it was to die for! The soup was sweet and absolutely delicious.

For our second course we had beef tenderloins (rare), sockeye salmon, and halibut -- all 3 were good and there was nothing left on our plates.

For dessert we had the lemon bar with strawberry sorbet, blueberry crisp with ice cream, and chocolate lava cake -- the lemon bar was not the traditional lemon bar, this was more the inside of a traditional lemon bar with a dollop of real whip cream and strawberry sorbet -- very refreshing! The blueberry crisp was warm with oat granola on top and vanilla bean ice cream -- perfect! The lava cake was the perfect amount of chocolate.
The restaurant does not rush you at all and some may call it expensive, but to us you pay for what you receive and we received both excellent service and exceptional food. We would definitely return.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Wonderful experience!! First time in Cape May and driving by during day, this place caught our eye. Dinner and ambiance was more than we could expect!! Delicious seafood. And the Cape May Pinot Grigio was unexpectedly smooth and refreshing! Overall an excellent evening! Sit on outside porch if you can.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Cant top the experience - amazing food, outstanding service and a beautiful setting

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 8, 2017

As good as everyone else says, and then some. After researching many great Cape May restaurants, psi was my Saturday night choice because I couldn't find a single negative review. Having dined there, now I know why-great setting, service and incredibly delicious food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 8, 2017

As always, excellent service, fabulous food all delivered in a beautiful turn of the century Inn and Restaurant by the sea! Our first visit to PSI was in 1994 and every year our experience gets better and better!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Dine at PSI frequently, and always a great meal. Soups are tremendous, and chocalate lava cake is outrageous
Chris has been my server on most visits and he is a true professional, and outstanding waiter.
You cant go wrong with a visit to PSI

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 7, 2017

All three entrees that our group ordered were perfect as always. Can't go wrong with this place! Consistently great, every time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Great food in the Cape May area. Go before six for the fixed price menu and save a significant amount of money (not available Saturdays and holidays). Service is great. Atmosphere is fantastic. Food is five stars!!!! One of our favorite places to visit when we go to Cape May.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Our waiter Dan was friendlyas well as attentive. Food was exceptional

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on July 5, 2017

We've been to the Peter Shields Inn on many occasions and it never disappoints. Definitely worth the trip. We had the Chef's Tasting Menu and everything was delicious!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 5, 2017

The food, from the first course to the last, was excellent. It's a slightly tight setting with great service and a price to match. There's an air of old-school elegant Shore dining to the place, right down to a piano player whose selection -- the theme from the Godfather, Wizard of Oz, even Charlie Brown's Peanuts -- was quaint if not outdated.

Still, we went (again) for the food -- and weren't disappointed.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Great place to have a quite dinner. Service and food were outstanding. Everything is fresh and prepared with great care. Great Cape May location and plenty of off street parking.
Is a BYO, but they also offer drinks there. Everyone there makes you feel welcome. Nice piano music was played through out the time there. Its nice to fine a place for fine dining where the customers come dressed even though its at the shore.

Tags: Waterfront, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Went for our annniversary! Was amazing!!! Great food, great view and Dan, our waiter, was outstanding!!

Tags: Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Live Music, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Expertly prepared, great flavors, attentive service.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on July 4, 2017

I have been coming to Cape May since I was born and finally had the pleasure of dining at PSI on July 4th! It was a memorable experience and I cannot wait to return. The food was amazing and the piano music playing softly made it very romantic, along with the single red rose on each table. The ocean view is gorgeous and the staff is very welcoming. It was the best dining experience on our vacation! Thank you and best wishes PSI!!!! 👍🏻🏖❤️

Tags: Romantic, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 4, 2017

It was very nice to have a dining experience. Food was uniquely flavorful. Service was excellent waiter was knowledgeable, recommendations were spot on. View of the ocean with a piano playing in the background. Prices on the high end but we got our money's worth

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Peter Shields is an excellent restaurant in every way: location, décor, food, service, ambiance. I have never been disappointed here.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.