About Pesce & Vino

8801 Three Chopt Rd
Richmond, VA 23229
View Larger Map

Specializing in one of a kind dishes. Made from scratch, Authentic Italian. Pasta, Seafood and Steak! With an inviting atmosphere. Where we put nothing but love in everything we do!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Lunch and Dinner Tuesday- Saturday 11am-10pm
Lunch and Dinner Sunday 11am-9pm

Cross Street:
Eastridge Rd

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(804) 303-2769

Website:
http://www.pesceandvino.com/

Entertainment:
Occasional Jazz Nights. Call for more info

Executive Chef:
Filippo Genova

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
We are closed on Mondays and are available for private event's! Please call for more information. Menu, family style or buffet options available for Mondays!

Pesce & Vino Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.1

ambience

3.8

value

3.8

noise

Quiet

75% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (10)
neighborhood gem (8)
special occasion (8)
See All
romantic (4)
good for groups (4)
great for brunch (2)
great for lunch (2)
notable wine list (1)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
122 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent pasta and service

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Went here after my son's college graduation from Richmond with a large group of people. Service was excellent. The recommended pasta dish and wine was exceptional. Would recommend this place for special occasions.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Serving the main meal was very slow and ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Serving the main meal was very slow and part of the menu item was not available, do not intend to return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value2

One of my worst dining experiences ever

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

The overall atmosphere leaves a lot to be desired. Tables are close together and all in one small area from which you have a view of part of the kitchen to watch them prepare some of the food. That created a noisy and chaotic dining room. Ordering was time-consuming, awkward, and tedious. The waitress had to ask us to repeat our orders three times, ask another waiter for help as they were using a new electronic system for ordering, and stayed at the table as she attempted to figure out how to use it. When we asked for extra butter for the bread, the wait was so long, we ate the dry bread without it. When the waitress finally brought butter and we informed her there was no more bread left, she just said sorry and took the butter back to the kitchen. The salad was good but upon finishing it, the waitress asked if we were ready for her to submit our entrees. I have never been to a restaurant where they took my order then returned as I'm waiting for my food to ask if I was ready for them to submit my order! The cost of food is exorbitant in comparison to the taste. $30 for a tasteless filet is not worth it to me, and the waitress said they did not have any steak sauce. I am still shocked and disappointed by my experience and certainly will never return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Consistently great food in a neighborhood setting

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

We've been here several times now and the food is consistently great. No matter if we select a nightly special or something from the standard menu we have always enjoyed it. The dining room is always spotless and the service on point.

My companion enjoyed a tuna special prepared perfectly, seared rare, and I had the the menu standard of veal Marsala with mushrooms. The veal was top-notch, one of the best I've ever eaten.

This restaurant is one of those local gems you rarely find. We really appreciate and enjoy it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Service was very attentive from the time ...

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Service was very attentive from the time we walked into the door until we left. Bartender/manager was helpful with wine selection and made a good Old Fashioned. Bread was delicious. Entrees and side dishes were very good. Portions were more than ample. Chef/owner made a special tasting for us of the house favorite, which unfortunately was not on the menu. Will order it the next time we visit. Ambiance is a little lacking, but did not detract from the meal experience. Not a dress-up kind of place, but still could be if so desired.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

It was just ok. The pasta was alright. T ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

It was just ok. The pasta was alright. The calamari was ok. The dessert was ok. They food came out fast and the server was attentive. Maybe too attentive if that's possible--- he took my calamari away to give me my pasta and I wasn't done eating.

I really enjoyed the ambiance of the restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Possibly the best lasagna I've ever had. ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

Possibly the best lasagna I've ever had. My three companions also loved their meals. Going back very soon. A hidden gem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Restaurant Week Try

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on April 20, 2016

We went for Restaurant Week. Our appetizers were not satisfactory, so our waiter was so kind as to offer to replace it. We got salads instead. It was just a salad, nothing more. My entree lacked flavor. I had the chicken and vegetable rice, though the presentation was good and the rice looked quite appetizing both the chicken and rice were bland. My strawberry shortcake was just something sweet after a unsatisfying meal. My very berry cocktail was even disappointing.

The best part about this dinning experience was hands down our sever Doug. He was fabulous!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value2

Authentic Italian fare with many fresh s ...

 
·Dined on April 10, 2016

Authentic Italian fare with many fresh seafood options paired with a variety of pastas. Our first visit. We'll make this restaurant one of our regular stops when dining out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious! Wonderful service- perfect!

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

Delicious! Wonderful service- perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great time at a fantastic restaurant

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

I recently had a birthday party dinner for seven at Pesce and Vino. Three of the seven diners have a birthday in April. I stopped in a few days before the event and planned it with one of the waiters. I pre ordered the wine, the appetizers, the dessert and the champagne. When the seven of us arrived at the restaurant we were treated like family. The wine steward explained each of the three premium red wines that were selected. (BTW, really good wine, very good wine! The champagne was great also, several diners commented on how good the champagne tasted). The bartender / wine expert gave us pairings for food and an explanation of the taste, texture of the wines. Everyone was pleased.

The service was fantastic, the food great! The staff had followed my instructions to a tee and were very friendly and professional. The food was beyond good it was exceptional. In fact one of the diners spends a great deal of time in Europe and commented that the food was like being in Italy.

It was a truly remarkable and memorable experience.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Extremely long wait

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

The very slow kitchen ruined what was a well prepared meal. Waitress was fine but the meal was served an hour half after ordering. Restaurant was not very busy for Saturday night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value4

Saturday Night

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

We were a group of four with reservations. The restaurant had three servers, and they were quite busy. It took awhile to get served drinks, bread, and to place an order. Also took a long time to get the food to the table. The quality of the food was outstanding, and quite tasty. The bread they bring to the table is quite good as well, but again, have to wait for it. I will eat here again, and take into account I better not be in a hurry!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Never Made it to Food

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on March 11, 2016

First time here. It was complete disaster. Waitress was incompetent. In order she:

-- didn't share specials

-- brought us wrong wine

-- shattered wine glass on floor beside our table

-- told us specials upon request but made them up. They weren't actual specials!!

-- after 5 min of incoherent babble took our order.

-- 10 min after taking order came back and told wife they were out of veal. Volunteered that they ran out last night. When questioned why we weren't told that before ordering she said "Yeah, that would have been good"

At that point I told manager we were leaving. Only positive of abbreviated dinner is he didn't make us pay for drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Hard to beat

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on March 4, 2016

I ordered the tuna salad(medium rare) with a side of spaghetti and marinara. The tuna steak very generous in size and prepared perfectly. The marinara sauce, my acid test for Italian restaurants was tangy and robust. I'm at a loss for words, actually, to describe this memorable dining experience. A reminder to the impatient, however. This is not fast food. And it doesn't taste like it either.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Good Pesce!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

ON our first visit, my date and I each had different fish dishes, and both were excellent. We'll have to go back to check out other items on the menu.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Great service and delicious seafood

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

We were very impressed that our server stated the prices of all the specials as he was describing them to us. The fried oyster appetizer was beautifully cooked. The calamari stuffed with crabmeat was delicous. My husband especially enjoyed the side of asparagus wrapped in cheese and pancetta.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great Food. Portions Disappointing.

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Very nice restaurant. Food tasted great. Service was good. IMHO, the pasta portion size was lacking especially for the price.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value2

Valentine's Day Dinner

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

I went here for the first time with my wife for Valentine's Day. I had never been before but the reviews were encouraging. We were seated quickly and shortly after ordering, the food began coming out. We had the calamari for an appetizer, which was excellent. The bread and salad were likewise delicious. I ordered the swordfish, which had a nice grilled flavor, and my wife ordered a pasta dish, which was also good and came in a very large portion. We actually had enough of her pasta for several servings the following days. Overall I was pleased with the food and very impressed with the speed of the service on such a crowded night. I felt the noise was a bit loud and didn't give me the romantic ambiance that I was looking for on Valentine's Day, however, I don't think it took away from the restaurant in general. I would recommend this to a friend if he/she were looking for upscale Italian/seafood dining.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Great Date Night Venue

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

I took my girlfriend here to celebrate valentine's day. We both really liked it. We got the crab bites and spicy shrimp appetizers. Both were good, but the crab bites were outstanding. Our entrees were both delicious as well. Service was kind and food was delivered quickly. We agreed we needed to go back another night as they had a limited menu for valentine's day and we wanted to see what else they had. Food was probablg underpriced for what you got.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mediocre

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

We were traveling through Richmond and this restaurant had great reviews, so we thought we would try it out. Gave our drink order and after a while had to ask where it was, asked for water and received a bottle but the water was from the tap. The food was ok, not the best. The service was ok. The table for 2 was so small that I barely had room for my glass, plate and silverware, much less the bread or wine bottle. Definitely not a place we would go back to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value3

Bad Service

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 12, 2016

Our first visit was this Friday night. The food was fine, but the service was horrible. We waited at least 15 minutes before someone came over. Another couple beside us left. We were seated by the window which was freezing. Servers were entering orders in handheld devices, but our server didn't seem to know how to use it. It took forever to enter the order. Overall, not impressed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

Neighborhood Gem

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on February 11, 2016

We have visited many times over several years. Always excellent service and food.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We'll be back! Great G/F pasta choices available!

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on January 28, 2016

I was asking about quiet places to go for dinner and this was recommended. We went on a Thursday night at 6:30. It was easy to hear the others at our table (my criteria was met) but it may not have been if I hadn't asked for a table different from the one we were first offered- right next to a table of eight who were very noisy. I wonder why the 1st table was offered when there were many others available.

Often the gluten-free pasta choices are limited, but they were willing to prepare any of their (I'm guessing) 12 pasta dishes with either spaghetti or penne. All four of us ordered different pasta dishes and were quite happy with our meals. The fish dishes sounded wonderful, too, but were quite a bit more expensive, but probably worth the cost.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Fantastic

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 28, 2016

Brought my supper club to P & V and we had fantastic food and an overall great time.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Enjoyed finding this new spot!

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on January 16, 2016

We read the good reviews and decided to give it a try based on that. We're so glad we did! It wasn't crowded but I feel sure that will change! The service was good and our server was very friendly. The menu had some familiar Italian dishes we loved the new and different options. My husband loved the stuffed calamari and my seafood stuffed canneloni was different, yet familiar - and delicious! We will definitely go back. It was a little pricey to recommend to my teenager and her boyfriend as a basic Italian place to go on a friday night, but the atmosphere was appropriate for that age group. Tables are a little close together, so chatty, busy toddlers might not be a good fit. We will definitely go back and definitely recommend it to others.

Tags: neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

My husband and I met a friend for lunch ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on December 29, 2015

My husband and I met a friend for lunch here, while we were in Virginia visiting family for the holidays. Pesce & Vino was close to my mom's house and close to my friend's work. The half flatbread with soup or salad is a nice lunch option that all 3 of us selected. Two had the caprese flatbread and the other ordered the smoked salmon flatbread. One had the field greens while the other two ordered the potato soup. All three of us were very pleased with our choices. Food was very fresh ad tasty, the atmosphere pleasant, and the service top notch. Give it a try!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Nice place for a family meal or an intimate dinner

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on December 26, 2015

good food and menu. Good service, reasonable prices.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Fabulous food

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on December 5, 2015

As this was not our first time at this establishment, we returned because of the consistency of delicious food. We both decided on pasta this time as we usually gravitate to the fish/seafood, which has been excellent.

We both enjoyed the pasta dishes as well as the wine.

I only wish they would work on the ambiance. I feel as if I am eating in a cafeteria. With just a little effort, they could create a more intimate atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

Service Errors, mediocre food

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on November 14, 2015

The waiter brought the wrong dish and the manager removed it from my bill. That was OK. We had veal dishes for the main course. Both were tough and chewy. We won't be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2

Restaurant week choice for October '15

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on October 23, 2015

Wonderful selections on the menu. Loved the Caesar salad with shaved parmesan. Chicken Milanese was delicious and fresh with the arugula, cherry tomatoes and balsamic reduction. Loved the apple cinnamon cheesecake.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice!!

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on October 22, 2015

From the moment we entered Pesce & Vino, Kirsten, Doug and Bobby made us feel welcomed. We wanted to try a 'new' restuarant for Restuarant Week and that menu spoke to us. THE FOOD WAS OUTSTANDING! We are making plans to return. Thank you for a great dining experience. Toni & Jasmine

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Friendly staff

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on October 22, 2015

Friendly staff

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

Delicious dinner!

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on October 21, 2015

Four of us had a most amazing dinner. The food was superb with good portions and well presented. I had seared tuna. It was cooked to perfection.

The service was good but they need to work on the ambience as there is none. You feel as if you are walking into a cafeteria with tables lined up in a row.

But I would definitely return for a nice dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4

restaurant week menu was quite a bargain ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on October 21, 2015

restaurant week menu was quite a bargain and delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

nothing special

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on October 20, 2015

We tried this restaurant for Restaurant Week. A party of twenty was seated near us on a Monday night. It became very difficult to hear each other. Food was not in the same caliber as the other restaurants in the Week. Bread was not homemade and we saw server walk around with a can of whipped cream for the desserts. Server was attentive and informative.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4

Wonderful wait staff!

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on October 18, 2015

We had a picky member in our group and our waiter & chef could not have been nicer or more accommodating! Everything was fabulous!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A Must Try! We will be back

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on October 17, 2015

We had a wonderful experience on a Saturday evening at Pesce & Vino. The menu is extensive and very well planned out. Thoughtful ingredients and well presented. We had the calamari appetizer served with marinara which was delicious. The calamari were not too heavily breaded or over cooked and the marinara is to DIE for! My husband had a clam, mussel, shrimp and calamari risotto which was fantastic. I had the shrimp scampi spaghetti which was light yet flavorful. We finished off with the chocolate creme brûlée which was also amazing. The server was very attentive and the atmosphere is nice. We will definitely be back and recommend to friends and family!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Surprise

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on October 17, 2015

We went to Pesce & Vino on a Saturday Nite. We were quite surprised that it was not very busy. After we ate diner we were even more surprised. This is a great place. The food exceeds expectation. We have pasta, fish and veal and all exceed expectation. We will definitely return.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Quiet place, good food

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on October 16, 2015

We have been here 3-4 times now. I love the different fish options. They have a red wine that I enjoy. My husband gets various pasta dishes and has liked everything. This place is always quiet so it's nice to go to have an intimate dinner. Wait staff is friendly.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.