About Perla at La Concha, A Renaissance Resort

1077 Ashford Avenue
La Concha - A Renaissance Resort
San Juan, PR 00907
View Larger Map

PERLA is a luxury seafood restaurant serving refined contemporary American cuisine with gracious professional hospitality located in the dramatic shell surrounded by a reflecting pool and beautiful ocean views.

DRESS CODE
· No open toe shoes for men.
· No tank tops for men.
· No bathing suits.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 6:00pm - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(787) 977-3285

Website:
http://perlarestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Valet Parking Tickets are validated so the guest only pays $15.00.

Executive Chef:
Lindell Smith

Private Party Facilities:
Please contact Priscila at the restaurant or via email, priscilatrivera@gmail.com, for more information

Private Party Contact:
Priscila Rivera: 7879773285x

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, View, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact Priscila at the restaurant or via email, priscilatrivera@gmail.com, for more information

Restaurant Photos

Pan Roasted Chilean Bass w/ Loster Truffle Risotto
Pollack With Coconut Curry
Grilled Shrimp
Pan Seared Red Snapper
Smoked Trout Chowder
Apple Galette
Mojito
Creamy Lobster Broth
Rolls
Chocolate Souflé
Tea
Dessert
Pumpkin Nutmeg Creme Brulee
Tuna Trio
Filet Mignon w/ Black Truffle Mash
Grilled Mahi Mahi
Orange White Chocolate Cake
Chocolate
Shrimp
Lamb
Warm Salad

Promotions

Dinner and a Show

Friday Sep 9, 2016 from 6:30 PM - 11:00 PM

Promotions

Dinner and a Show

Friday Sep 9, 2016 from 6:30 PM - 11:00 PM

Details

Enjoy live funk, jazz, and lounge music. You can choose between an exquisite 4 course menu for $75.00 per person with one complimentary glass of champagne or our regular menu. This event will run every other Friday. Don't miss it. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid on Friday Sep 9, 2016 from 6:30 PM - 11:00 PM.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Perla at La Concha, A Renaissance Resort Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.7

ambience

4.9

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Caribbean
Best Ambiance
Caribbean
Romantic
Caribbean
8 More
Scenic View
Caribbean
Special Occasion
Caribbean
Most Booked
Caribbean
Best Service
Puerto Rico
Best Ambiance
Puerto Rico
Romantic
Puerto Rico
Special Occasion
Puerto Rico
Most Booked
Puerto Rico
Best Restaurants in Condado / Santurce ›

Romantic (34)
Special Occasion (30)
Scenic View (28)
See All
Notable Wine List (11)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Hot Spot (3)
Good for Groups (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
617 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Really enjoyed my birthday dinner but th ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined 2 days ago

Really enjoyed my birthday dinner but there were some hiccups along the way. The hostess was super friendly and professional. The server took quite a bit time to greet us. But when he did we was very kind and hospitable. He explained that he was very busy so I understood why things were moving slow. But if that's the case go and beyond for your guests. No manager in sight all night, a table visit would have been nice, a possible comp would have been thoughtful. Great cocktail and wine list.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Waterfront, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Entrees were excellent. Highly recommend ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Entrees were excellent. Highly recommended. I would definitely eat here again. Slightly pricey but worth it for the ambiance and the food was excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Go here for view and ambiance. Came her ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Go here for view and ambiance. Came here for my boyfriend's 40th birthday dinner, which I made sure to note in the reservation request area. Our reservations were early to ensure that we'd get a great table, and to be sure that we would be settled by sunset. When we arrived, there was only one other party, but when the host showed us to our table, he sat Scott facing the windows. Again, there was only one table besides us! Scott moved to the seat across from me so that he could get the full feel of the restaurant. If you are reading this, I am sure you are intrigued, as we were, about how the light reacts to the architecture and design elements - which Scott's back would have been facing had he sat in the aisle seat.

We enjoyed our grilled prawns and the arugula salad, but were not impressed with the seafood chowder. I liked my sea bass, but Scott's spicy seared tuna was fatty, not spicy and the lentils were not fully cooked. Which was only made worse when, in the middle of our entrees, the host came by and asked Scott to return to his seat in the aisle.

We ordered the Boca Negra Cake, and it was presented nicely with a candle and 'Happy Birthday' written in chocolate sauce.

We might go back to try other dishes,when we are in the area, but definitely not for a full fine dining meal, and not for a special occasion.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

Disappointing that Perla is no longer li ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Disappointing that Perla is no longer lit up at night. Our waiter told us that the reflection of the lights onto the moving water was making too many motion sick, which is a bit funny, but totally understandable. The interior was beautiful. Service was great. They even opened the restaurant after close because we had left our visa in the bill fold. Thanks for the great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The restaurant has a very romantic ambia ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

The restaurant has a very romantic ambiance to it. The Chilean sea bass was great as well as the filet mignon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Nice restaurant, great ambiance and view ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Nice restaurant, great ambiance and view. Many drinks to choose from (wines, cocktails and beers). Food was very good, but not unforgettable (grilled swordfish) and a bit on the pricey side. Service was very nice and the dessert (Orange creme brulee) was outstanding.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

The overall dining was exquisite. I cele ...

 
 (Caribbean)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

The overall dining was exquisite. I celebrated my boyfriend's birthday and upon entering the restaurant, the staff greeted us both and asked him if he was enjoying his special day. I requested to sit by the window and I was granted that request right in the middle. The meal was scrumptious and the staff were pleasant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing!!!! That's it From service to am ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Amazing!!!! That's it

From service to ambiance to the meal.

Can't wait to get back to PR

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and service! This place is th ...

 
 (Caribbean)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Great food and service! This place is the perfect spot for a very romantic date or special occasion. Everyone at the restaurant was a couple. A few even celebrating anniversaries. Make sure you get there before sunset for an nicer experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was really good! The lobster wa ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

The food was really good! The lobster was to die for :) the wine selection was good and not to expensive. The views are very nice, only if next to window thought. The servers nice and fast. And food went out fast.. I would go back there to have some wine and double of lobster!:)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The overall look at the restaurant is on ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

The overall look at the restaurant is one of a kind!

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Great view, cool interior but the food w ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Great view, cool interior but the food was just ok. Disappointed

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Loved everything about it. Was surprised ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Loved everything about it. Was surprised the fish I ordered was deep fried - not something I would have ordered if it was learn the menu description. But this was a great evening in a beautiful restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Me and my husband had dinner for our fir ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Me and my husband had dinner for our first anniversary and we loved the place, the restaurant was very pretty and romantic. The food was good but the menu was too restricted. We would like to find more dishes. But what we ate was just perfect. Prices are high but the ambiance worthy.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

As alway the staff very friendly and res ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

As alway the staff very friendly and respectful. They got a table with a beautiful view for us and the service was excellent. My cousins ordered the bake chicken with the pumpkim ravioli and they love it, my wife got the aji tuna and it was very good. She also had the carpaccio as an appetizer and I tried it because it was different, but it was a winner. I had the red snapper over white rice and it was very light and pleasing. My dessert was the black cake that it turn out to be flourless chocolate cake. Very good. The wine selection by the glass can be better. They had a nice wine list, but half of the table wanted hard liquor so there was no need to order a full bottle. They used to have the fix menu with the matching wines. Hope they will do it again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a pleasure dining here on July 3, ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

It was a pleasure dining here on July 3, during my stay at La Concha. The flavors on this menu are wonderful. The curry prawns was an outstanding appetizer. I also enjoyed the scallops entree. Everything on the menu looked great and i am happy with my selections, wish I could have gone back a second night to try other items on the menu. The wait staff were so professional, pleasant and kind, and I thoroughly enjoyed my meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent restaurant. Beautiful views. S ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Excellent restaurant. Beautiful views. Service was very good. Dinner was excellent. A bit pricey but worth it.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Pearla

 
 (Caribbean)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

The restaurant is beautiful and very romantic. We made an early reservation and got a prime table. We ordered from the Restaurant Pre-Fixe menu and wasn't crazy about anything we ordered. I'd like to go back, but order from the regular menu as it contained some amazing items.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

We never ate in a conch shell so this wa ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

We never ate in a conch shell so this was a surreal experience! The view of the ocean was beautiful and the ambiance perfect. Service was excellent and our food was delish!! Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The dinner and service was EXCELLENT!

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

The dinner and service was EXCELLENT!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Gorgeous restaurant

 
 (Caribbean)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

The food is not at the levels you would expect considering that is a gem of a place and the prices are in the high end, but the service and attention is top notch and somehow you forget everything and enjoy the wine, food and desert. If you're looking to impress someone with a beautiful place to eat and chat and a romantic tone this is place.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was perfect, the food was ama ...

 
 (Caribbean)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Everything was perfect, the food was amazing. The restaurant was beautiful and I can't wait to go back Recommended!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Disappointed with the food

 
 (Caribbean)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

Unfortunately it was a bummer. My food was cold. :/ It was supposed to be such a special dinne out with my mom who was visiting from pig of the country. My main dish was veal and it was cold not. How could that be possible if we were the first ones there and there was only two other tables there a little after we arrived. My mom ordered fish and it was average! For a restaurant nice like that with such a beautiful view... I'm so disappointed... Not to say that I spent a fat check with all the appetizers and desert... :/ I should get some sort of recompensation for that night or I will probably star away from that place. Such a bummer because I loved the atmosphere and the service was amazing. It was an Asian guy what was very friendly but I forgot his name.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

This was yet another of the many places ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

This was yet another of the many places we stopped in for lunch or dinner while in San Juan and for our 1st anniversary. This was set as our final stop, our Pièce De Résistance, on a GREAT trip to Puerto Rico. We were staying just off Avenida Ashford and Perla was a top local recommendation from the Open Table app and right on the Condado beach front. The service and food we received far exceeded the expectations we had. We started with some wine and cocktails. Judy had the Orecchiette, Taylor Bay Scallops and I had the Cognac Cream Lobster Broth w/ Lobster Caviar for our appetizers; both were incredible. For dinner we enjoyed the arugula salad, Pan Roasted Sea Bass and Filet Mignon w/ Bacon Coffee Jam and Lobster Tail. For dessert we had the Orange Liqueur Crème Brulee w/ Orange Sorbet and Vanilla Ice Cream and sambuca coffee... In short, it was off the charts amazing from start to finish. Our server Kenny was simply outstanding (ask for him if you can).. This is a must-visit when you are in Puerto Rico.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

My 1st time in Puerto Rico and I have to ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 16, 2016

My 1st time in Puerto Rico and I have to recommend that this hotel and restaurant be your first stop. From the contemporary ambiance when you walk in to the excellent food and service given by the staff of Perla restaurant . Hands down this is a five star establishment. So book your tickets now and head over.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The restaurant is beautiful. You're surr ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

The restaurant is beautiful. You're surrounded by water. The food was amazing! Great place for a romantic dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was fantastic from the server ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

Everything was fantastic from the servers to the food. We would definitely return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Over priced, boring food and rude waiters

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

I had high hopes for this restaurant but was let down. I hope tourists that come to San Juan venture out of the hotel. This place is a complete trap. The building is beautiful but it goes downhill from there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value1

Amazing

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

Perla was absolutely amazing. I reserved for a friends birthday. The ambience was everything I expected. The food was delicious. Tried something Ive never had before chard" I had lamb chops and mashed potatoes. The beard was delicious. I stayed at the hotel so that experience was great too

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our second time dinning at Perl ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 2, 2016

This was our second time dinning at Perla and the food is always very good. The ambiance is amazing and the staff very friendly and knowledgeable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

It was nice but......

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

We went for a friends birthday I told the hostess that it was my friends birthday and she was like she was going to tell the waiter but they still didn't do anything for her birthday the food was good but I was just disappointed that they didn't do anything

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value2

Loved it...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

Took a very special guy to Perla's for his birthday/first date, and we absolutely had a great dining experience. Everything about the restaurant, including service was GREAT!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife's Sea Bass was very good. Beef F ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

My wife's Sea Bass was very good. Beef Filet was tough. I would recommend their sea food dishes vs the beef.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Views of the ocean are spectacular...ser ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

Views of the ocean are spectacular...service is impeccable

Food is outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fried oyesters & chocolate temptation co ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 14, 2016

Fried oyesters & chocolate temptation cocktail were amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4

La Perla is a pearl indeed!

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on March 14, 2016

The ambiance at this seaside restaurant within the lovely hotel is divine. An architectural masterpiece, unique in its shell design is the perfect setting for exquisitely prepared fare served by attentive but not intrusive wait staff. I would highly recommend: five stars!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Expectations a little high

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

After reading the reviews, we weren't disappointed by the atmosphere and great views. The service from beginning to end was excellent. Our appetizers were delicious so expected the same with our entree, alas that was not the case. We both had seafood, I had the lobster and was impressed with the size but it didn't have much flavor and was kind of bland. Expect to spend around $200 with drinks for 2 people. I wanted this restaurant to stand out in the food area but it really didn't.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great date night restuarant!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 4, 2016

Came here during my PR vacation...loved everything about this restaurant. Great ambience, absolutely delicious food

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Pretentious, expensive and basic

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on March 2, 2016

What a disappointment! A crowd of inattentive Smartphone fidgeting waiters with low knowledge of food and wine did not make this dinner a good experience. Two waiters at the entrance blocking the passage does not make you feel welcome. While the architecture and location of the restaurant is very nice and the view is stunning, the quality of the food was way below what can be expected. It started rather well with some shrimps in coconut sauce, though nothing memorable. The blow came with the entrees: The fish was way too salty and lacked refinement. My wife was more lucky with hers but frankly speaking, you get a better deal in other restaurants. The dessert was just not a dessert: made of cream cheese and granola cereals it might be something you would have for breakfast. Even the most basic cheese cake is tastier than this.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Quite a gem.

 
 (Caribbean)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

From the marble and red steel stairs to the 20 year old porto, we've only good things to say about Perla. Fascinating structure, excellent service at all levels, impressive iPad wine list, and a struggle to pick the "best of" for every course. Highly recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.