About Perla at La Concha, A Renaissance Resort

PERLA is a luxury seafood restaurant serving refined contemporary American cuisine with gracious professional hospitality located in the dramatic shell surrounded by a reflecting pool and beautiful ocean views.

1077 Ashford Avenue
La Concha - A Renaissance Resort
San Juan, PR 00907
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 6:00pm - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(787) 977-3285

Website:
http://perlarestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Valet Parking Tickets are stamped and guests get a discount.

Executive Chef:
Lindell Smith

Private Party Facilities:
Please contact Priscila at the restaurant or via email, priscila@perlarestaurant.com, for more information

Private Party Contact:
Priscila Rivera: (787) 977-3285

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, View, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact Priscila at the restaurant or via email, priscilatrivera@gmail.com, for more information

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Grilled Shrimp - Perla at La Concha, A Renaissance Resort, San Juan, PR
Pan Seared Red Snapper - Perla at La Concha, A Renaissance Resort, San Juan, PR
Smoked Trout Chowder - Perla at La Concha, A Renaissance Resort, San Juan, PR
Apple Galette - Perla at La Concha, A Renaissance Resort, San Juan, PR
Pollack With Coconut Curry - Perla at La Concha, A Renaissance Resort, San Juan, PR
Mojito - Perla at La Concha, A Renaissance Resort, San Juan, PR
Creamy Lobster Broth - Perla at La Concha, A Renaissance Resort, San Juan, PR
Rolls - Perla at La Concha, A Renaissance Resort, San Juan, PR
Pan Roasted Chilean Bass w/ Loster Truffle Risotto - Perla at La Concha, A Renaissance Resort, San Juan, PR
Chocolate Souflé - Perla at La Concha, A Renaissance Resort, San Juan, PR
Tea - Perla at La Concha, A Renaissance Resort, San Juan, PR
Pumpkin Nutmeg Creme Brulee - Perla at La Concha, A Renaissance Resort, San Juan, PR
Tuna Trio - Perla at La Concha, A Renaissance Resort, San Juan, PR
Filet Mignon w/ Black Truffle Mash - Perla at La Concha, A Renaissance Resort, San Juan, PR
Grilled Mahi Mahi - Perla at La Concha, A Renaissance Resort, San Juan, PR
Orange White Chocolate Cake - Perla at La Concha, A Renaissance Resort, San Juan, PR
Chocolate - Perla at La Concha, A Renaissance Resort, San Juan, PR
Shrimp - Perla at La Concha, A Renaissance Resort, San Juan, PR
Dessert - Perla at La Concha, A Renaissance Resort, San Juan, PR
Lamb - Perla at La Concha, A Renaissance Resort, San Juan, PR
Warm Salad - Perla at La Concha, A Renaissance Resort, San Juan, PR

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

We will be serving exclusively a four course menu. Children 12 years old or younger may order chicken tenders or pasta. Canceling reservation 24 hours or more before reservation time will adhere no charges. Menu will be available by the end of January 2017.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Perla at La Concha, A Renaissance Resort Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.8

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (28)
Good for a Date (23)
Special Occasion (22)
See All
Quiet Conversation (20)
Scenic View (19)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Waterfront (19)
Modern Decor (12)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Cozy (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Notable Wine List (6)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Authentic (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Business Meals (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Private Room (2)
Healthy (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Seasonal (2)
Casual (1)
Historic (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
People Watching (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Fireplace (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
704 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food is tasty at great prices with excel ...

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined 4 days ago

Food is tasty at great prices with excellent service

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ambiance is 100% beautiful place very ro ...

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined 5 days ago

Ambiance is 100% beautiful place very romantic the food was ok for the price point I have had better the service was ok but the restaurant was not busy maybe 3 tables with us and the waiter seemed to always be running past our table always had to flag him down for another drink would not go back but would recommend for someone looking for the romantic wow factor not so much great food

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

Expensive. Portions in smaller size. En ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Expensive. Portions in smaller size. Enjoyed our meal. Probably wouldn't go back but nice to go once

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went here for dessert and cocktails a ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 11, 2017

We went here for dessert and cocktails and really enjoyed the Boca cake in particular, SO rich and delicious!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Dinner at Perla was excellent. The inter ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Dinner at Perla was excellent. The interior decor is very pretty and unique as you are sitting inside a massive oyster shell. The food was wonderful. Very tasty with excellent presentation. We will definitely visit again when back in San Juan.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Beautiful restaurant.. delicious food. S ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Beautiful restaurant.. delicious food. Service was exceptional. Highly recommend!

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Family time. Beautiful setting. Excellen ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Family time. Beautiful setting. Excellent service and wonderful food. Thanks God the hotel and restaurant was saved from demolition. A must visit place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I think they were probably short staffed ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I think they were probably short staffed New Years Eve which is when we dined there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3

We went there for the NYE. They had a se ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We went there for the NYE. They had a set menu for the evening, which is normal for such a night. Overall the value for money (110 $ / person ex. drinks) was very disappointing.

The atmosphere and the scenery was welcoming.

The service was also good, but some of the dishes were poor.

Tags: Healthy, Molecular Gastronomy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

A truly beautiful restaurant. Elegant se ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 31, 2016

A truly beautiful restaurant. Elegant setting. Top notch wait staff. Delicious, beautifully prepared food - smaller portions. Very flexible and accommodating for children. Want to warn you - prices are not for the weak hearted - it is expensive but we had a memorable evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Beautiful restaurant, but the food was d ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Beautiful restaurant, but the food was desapointing quite blend in the flavours. Not worth the price at all. Would not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3

I had the opportunity to take my family ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 29, 2016

I had the opportunity to take my family to dinner on my Christmas visit to PR, I live in Florida since 1999. I chose this restaurant because I have been there before. I like the ambiance, the beautiful view and actually the staff was really agreeable, however, I would not go back or recommend the restaurant because of the slow service. It seemed like 20 minutes between our appetizer and drink order until we were served. Then we ordered our main and 20 more minutes to be served...when we ordered dessert, my nephew ordered an Irish coffee that was brought to the table 20 minutes after everyone else had finished their desserts...Do not recall any "I am sorry" from the staff, an apology would have been enough...I would say that there is a lot of training to be done here....There were a lot of English speaking tourists that night at the restaurant, I would hate to think that we were treated differently because we were locals....and speaking Spanish.

Tags: Modern Decor, Historic, Casual, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

The restaurant is really beautiful and u ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 28, 2016

The restaurant is really beautiful and unique, from the lighting to the views. The food was generally good, although my dorade was a bit overcooked. Service was very good, although the pace was a bit slow.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

It was a beautiful restaurant and the se ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 28, 2016

It was a beautiful restaurant and the service was great, unfortunately the food was lackluster. The snapper looked very nice, but was over cooked and under-seasoned, served over very bland wet rice. The sea bass with risotto suffered the same, overcooked fish on wetter rice.

It did have a very impressive wine list but many of the bottles looked like they were in a flood with water logged labels and capsules. I was also surprised by the lack of white burgundies given the wine list and the many seafood options.

Overall, very pretty and romantic but the food could handle some salt and pepper.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Wonderful food, drinks and atmosphere. ...

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Wonderful food, drinks and atmosphere.

Good service but had to wait for the main course, probably because it was busy.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Lovely setting, delicious food, well pre ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Lovely setting, delicious food, well presented

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

My fiancé and I were staying in Puerto R ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 24, 2016

My fiancé and I were staying in Puerto Rico for Christmas and we decided to have dinner at this place. The hotel where is located it's really pretty. The hostess were super nice to accommodate us in a window seating for a romantic Christmas Eve. The service was amazing and our waiter suggested amazing dishes. Dessert was impressive and the price was normal for a place like this. If you are in PR and looking for a special occasion dinner this is a great place to check.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for an early dinner and had a wo ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We went for an early dinner and had a wonderful view of the ocean as the sun was setting. The restaurant has a unique interior with a relaxed ambiance. Our server was attentive, helpful and knowledgeable but the food was really the highlight. The bacalaitos appetizer was absolutely delicious as was the seafood soup. The fish entrees were also wonderful and cooked as requested. We enjoyed the meal so much we ate there twice during our trip.

Tags: Scenic View, Seasonal, Cozy, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall food was good. I would stick wi ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Overall food was good. I would stick with the seafood as the filet mignon wasn't very flavorful. All seafood dishes were excellent. Service was very good. As for ambiance, I would appreciated softer music. Even holiday music on Christmas Eve would've been nice. The setting is so beautiful and romantic, yet they were playing pop music. It just didn't fit the beautiful view and interior of the restaurant

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

My husband and I absolutely love this re ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 22, 2016

My husband and I absolutely love this restaurant. We had our wedding reception here, and we've returned every opportunity we visit Puerto Rico. Not only does it have a special meaning for us, but the food is exquisite and the service is impeccable. It is also one of the most beautiful spots we've seen between the view and the architecture. The drinks are fantastic also. We both had one called Tropical Sunset, and it was refreshing.

Tags: Good for Groups, Waterfront, Historic, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great ambiance, food, service, etc. Top ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Great ambiance, food, service, etc. Top of the line I recommend to all!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

sea bass was outstanding. did not try de ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 12, 2016

sea bass was outstanding. did not try desserts they didnt sound good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

I've heard so many good things about la ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 10, 2016

I've heard so many good things about la perla, unfortunately I did not have a great experience. Our food took 45 min to come out. My husband waited 25 min for another glass of scotch. The restaurant was not filled with people. Everyone around us were attended good and I saw others get their food before us who say after us. Maybe there was a screw up at the bar or kitchen. Maybe my next experience will be better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

I loved Perla. The staff was friendly an ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 9, 2016

I loved Perla. The staff was friendly and very attentive. The food was outstanding!

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We all loved the atmosphere, service was ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 6, 2016

We all loved the atmosphere, service was very good. We sent back a carpaccio app but server did not take it off the bill. One of my guests got sick on Chilean sea bass, which may or May not have been " bad" as I had the same dish which could have been a mishap. But between the sea bass and the very poor quality carpaccio, I have to say, I would recommend this restaurant, but cautiously.

Magnificent setting, good service.

Shrimp app 5 star

Drinks 5 star

No manager sent to table with 2-3 issues 1 star

Price a bit high, but such a beautiful place.

I have to give it another Chance as I think we had s bit of bad luck, no endemic to the venue.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Great quiet ambience eating in a clam s ...

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Great quiet ambience eating in a clam shell. Food was just average,especially for the high prices

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

Perla is an upscale restaurant located i ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Perla is an upscale restaurant located in the La Concha hotel. Sometimes, unusual restaurants can be tacky or just weird; Perla is shaped like an inverted shell and is in a pool. It is neither tacky nor weird, in fact, it's just lovely. There was a birthday party going on for a couple of little girls. At first I had the "oh crap" feeling you get when you are about to pay a fair amount for a dinner and have to put up with noisy kids, but that wasn't what happened. The arched ceiling does an amazing job of dispersing sound, and we could barely hear them. By the time we left, there were many tables, but the sound level never got annoying. I dislike noisy restaurants.

The service was excellent, the server was there when we needed her, but not obtrusive. The food is unusual, but not weird. Portions are small, but I prefer several courses of small, interesting portions vice large portions of mediocre food. The food was nicely plated, and wonderfully paired and seasoned. They don't have salt and pepper on the table, you don't need it.

We each had an appetizer, a main course, and had room to split a dessert. I found the price quite reasonable. It wasn't cheap, but I have no problem paying for a well executed meal.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Espacio muy bonito y un trato muy correc ...

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Espacio muy bonito y un trato muy correcto con una comida de calidad todo en un ambiente distinguido

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

A beautiful atmosphere with disappointin ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 26, 2016

A beautiful atmosphere with disappointingly dull flavors.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

Unfortunately we had a bad server and an ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Unfortunately we had a bad server and an average meal. My Dad's Tuna was not prepared correctly, but the kitchen remedied it fast. We were rushed through dessert and our waiter could not have wanted us out of there fast enough.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value3

Excellent!!!

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Excellent!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was an incredible experience! Every ...

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on November 12, 2016

This was an incredible experience! Everything from the moment we walked in, the service and the food was exquisite!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very quiet place with excellent service. ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Very quiet place with excellent service. Our waitress was spot on and the food was amazing. Certainly put this on your list of places to eat when you're in the area!

Tags: Romantic, Waterfront, Late-night Find, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of the most beautiful and romantic r ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 10, 2016

One of the most beautiful and romantic restaurants that I have had the pleasure to dine in.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

This place is awesome! The food is fanta ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 6, 2016

This place is awesome! The food is fantastic, but go here for the style. I dont know when it was originally built, but Austin Powers and Dr Evil would definately have a meet up here. Beautiful views of the beach and of course the food was really good too. Would be the perfect place to hold a party of any kind. If you are in San Juan, you cant miss this place. We would certainly go again!!

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

La comida exquisita, el servicio exelent ...

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on November 1, 2016

La comida exquisita, el servicio exelente. Super romántico. Los meseros nos brindaron exelentes recomendaciones. Altamente recomendable.

Tags: Cozy, Scenic View, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I dined at Perla at La Concha for my Bir ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 1, 2016

I dined at Perla at La Concha for my Birthday (special Day).

On arrival I was seated at a great table overlooking the ocean.

I was happy with the quality of menu options. The Lobster Escabece was ok, and

somewhat bland. The Fennel Dusted Diver Scallops were very good as was the Orange Crème Brulee for desert. Service was very good. Overall a good experience. I would go back and try other menu options.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

El menú de este restaurante ha cambiado. ...

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on October 30, 2016

El menú de este restaurante ha cambiado. Solían tener unos aperitivos excelentes; ahora son comunes y corrientes. Además, la comida apenas tiene sabor. Es una pena, porque el local es hermoso.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

The restaurant is so beautiful. Its loca ...

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The restaurant is so beautiful. Its located on the beachfront so the best time to go is before it gets dark so you are able to see the water. Its expensive and you must try the lobster.

Tags: Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was great !! Had the 8oz fil ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Everything was great !! Had the 8oz filet my sister had the surf and turf. The bread was fresh out of the oven, the alcoholic beverages are worth it, one drink and I was feeling good ! Overall WONDERFUL

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.