About Perla at La Concha, A Renaissance Resort

1077 Ashford Avenue
La Concha - A Renaissance Resort
San Juan, PR 00907
View Larger Map

PERLA is a luxury seafood restaurant serving refined contemporary American cuisine with gracious professional hospitality located in the dramatic shell surrounded by a reflecting pool and beautiful ocean views.

DRESS CODE
· No open toe shoes for men.
· No tank tops for men.
· No bathing suits.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 6:00pm - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(787) 977-3285

Website:
http://perlarestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Valet Parking Tickets are validated so the guest only pays $15.00.

Executive Chef:
Lindell Smith

Private Party Facilities:
Please contact Priscila at the restaurant or via email, priscilatrivera@gmail.com, for more information

Private Party Contact:
Priscila Rivera: 7879773285x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), View, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact Priscila at the restaurant or via email, priscilatrivera@gmail.com, for more information

Restaurant Photos

Perla at La Concha, A Renaissance Resort Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.8

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Caribbean
Most Booked
Caribbean
Best Ambiance
Puerto Rico
4 More
Romantic
Puerto Rico
Scenic View
Puerto Rico
Special Occasion
Puerto Rico
Most Booked
Puerto Rico
Best Restaurants in Condado / Santurce ›

romantic (42)
special occasion (35)
scenic view (34)
See All
notable wine list (16)
fit for foodies (13)
hot spot (7)
neighborhood gem (6)
good for groups (5)
late-night find (5)
great for brunch (3)
vibrant bar scene (3)
great for outdoor dining (2)
 (2)
 (2)
great for lunch (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
592 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

This was yet another of the many places ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

This was yet another of the many places we stopped in for lunch or dinner while in San Juan and for our 1st anniversary. This was set as our final stop, our Pièce De Résistance, on a GREAT trip to Puerto Rico. We were staying just off Avenida Ashford and Perla was a top local recommendation from the Open Table app and right on the Condado beach front. The service and food we received far exceeded the expectations we had. We started with some wine and cocktails. Judy had the Orecchiette, Taylor Bay Scallops and I had the Cognac Cream Lobster Broth w/ Lobster Caviar for our appetizers; both were incredible. For dinner we enjoyed the arugula salad, Pan Roasted Sea Bass and Filet Mignon w/ Bacon Coffee Jam and Lobster Tail. For dessert we had the Orange Liqueur Crème Brulee w/ Orange Sorbet and Vanilla Ice Cream and sambuca coffee... In short, it was off the charts amazing from start to finish. Our server Kenny was simply outstanding (ask for him if you can).. This is a must-visit when you are in Puerto Rico.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

My 1st time in Puerto Rico and I have to ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

My 1st time in Puerto Rico and I have to recommend that this hotel and restaurant be your first stop. From the contemporary ambiance when you walk in to the excellent food and service given by the staff of Perla restaurant . Hands down this is a five star establishment. So book your tickets now and head over.

food5
ambience5
service5

The restaurant is beautiful. You're surr ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

The restaurant is beautiful. You're surrounded by water. The food was amazing! Great place for a romantic dinner.

food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was fantastic from the server ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Everything was fantastic from the servers to the food. We would definitely return!

food3
ambience5
service3
value1

Over priced, boring food and rude waiters

vip
Dined on May 11, 2016

I had high hopes for this restaurant but was let down. I hope tourists that come to San Juan venture out of the hotel. This place is a complete trap. The building is beautiful but it goes downhill from there.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing

Dined on May 9, 2016

Perla was absolutely amazing. I reserved for a friends birthday. The ambience was everything I expected. The food was delicious. Tried something Ive never had before chard" I had lamb chops and mashed potatoes. The beard was delicious. I stayed at the hotel so that experience was great too

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience5
service1
value2

It was nice but......

Dined on April 16, 2016

We went for a friends birthday I told the hostess that it was my friends birthday and she was like she was going to tell the waiter but they still didn't do anything for her birthday the food was good but I was just disappointed that they didn't do anything

Tags: romantic, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved it...

Dined on April 10, 2016

Took a very special guy to Perla's for his birthday/first date, and we absolutely had a great dining experience. Everything about the restaurant, including service was GREAT!

Tags: romantic
food4
ambience5
service4

My wife's Sea Bass was very good. Beef F ...

Dined on April 1, 2016

My wife's Sea Bass was very good. Beef Filet was tough. I would recommend their sea food dishes vs the beef.

food5
ambience5
service5

Views of the ocean are spectacular...ser ...

Dined on March 25, 2016

Views of the ocean are spectacular...service is impeccable Food is outstanding

food2
ambience5
service4

Fried oyesters & chocolate temptation co ...

Dined on March 14, 2016

Fried oyesters & chocolate temptation cocktail were amazing!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

La Perla is a pearl indeed!

Dined on March 14, 2016

The ambiance at this seaside restaurant within the lovely hotel is divine. An architectural masterpiece, unique in its shell design is the perfect setting for exquisitely prepared fare served by attentive but not intrusive wait staff. I would highly recommend: five stars!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Expectations a little high

Dined on March 13, 2016

After reading the reviews, we weren't disappointed by the atmosphere and great views. The service from beginning to end was excellent. Our appetizers were delicious so expected the same with our entree, alas that was not the case. We both had seafood, I had the lobster and was impressed with the size but it didn't have much flavor and was kind of bland. Expect to spend around $200 with drinks for 2 people. I wanted this restaurant to stand out in the food area but it really didn't.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great date night restuarant!

Dined on March 4, 2016

Came here during my PR vacation...loved everything about this restaurant. Great ambience, absolutely delicious food

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Pretentious, expensive and basic

Dined on March 2, 2016

What a disappointment! A crowd of inattentive Smartphone fidgeting waiters with low knowledge of food and wine did not make this dinner a good experience. Two waiters at the entrance blocking the passage does not make you feel welcome. While the architecture and location of the restaurant is very nice and the view is stunning, the quality of the food was way below what can be expected. It started rather well with some shrimps in coconut sauce, though nothing memorable. The blow came with the entrees: The fish was way too salty and lacked refinement. My wife was more lucky with hers but frankly speaking, you get a better deal in other restaurants. The dessert was just not a dessert: made of cream cheese and granola cereals it might be something you would have for breakfast. Even the most basic cheese cake is tastier than this.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Quite a gem.

Dined on February 27, 2016

From the marble and red steel stairs to the 20 year old porto, we've only good things to say about Perla. Fascinating structure, excellent service at all levels, impressive iPad wine list, and a struggle to pick the "best of" for every course. Highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Date Location

Dined on February 25, 2016

The restaurant was able to cater to our last-minute reservations yet treated us like royalty. The food was exquisite, the ambiance was unlike anything my wife and I had experienced before. We would love to come back during our future trips to Puerto Rico!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience1
service5
value4

Good food and service, bad experience

vip
Dined on February 20, 2016

A table of eight american girls in their 20s appeared to be over served and got louder and louder as the evening went on. Getting food had no affect on their shouting. One of their own group shushing them had no affect - "I am in Puerto Rico and I will do what I want". Our server had told management, but it did not appear that their table was ever approached. Like most of the other patrons in the restaurant that night, we left early.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfectly lit. Beautiful ocean view. Exc ...

Dined on February 17, 2016

Perfectly lit. Beautiful ocean view. Excellent service. From the appetizers to desert, and cordials, high marks all around.

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Beautiful

vip
Dined on February 17, 2016

When you walk in the restaurant, you are surround by water, Beautiful. The menu was primarily fish. Very good. I had the tuna, prepared nicely cooked to perfection. Would go again. A bit pricey but the ambiance is beautiful!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautifully Romantic

Dined on February 16, 2016

We really enjoyed our meal at Perla. The service was outstanding. Upon entering the restaurant the waiters at the service station were chatting and immediately turned to face us and greet us. The food was delicious, and the view was spectacular. The architecture has it the ceiling is the oyster shell and you are sitting gin the pearl of the oyster. Highly recommend for romantic or adult couples dinning. Not a good place for children.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service3

Beautiful decor which matches the gorgeo ...

Dined on February 16, 2016

Beautiful decor which matches the gorgeous view overlooking the ocean. Menu had numerous choices. All were delicious. Service slightly slow but not really a problem as you want to enjoy the ambience.

food5
ambience5
service5

Everything about our experience at Perla ...

vip
Dined on February 16, 2016

Everything about our experience at Perla was wonderful. The venue is beautiful, the service was excellent but not overly attentive, and the food was outstanding. We both had the seafood ceviche appetizer which was very good. I had the sea bass, while my wife had the spicy seared tuna, and both were excellent. Dessert was the Boca Negra Cake for me and the Apple Galette for my wife, again both were excellent. Overall I would not hesitate to recommend this restaurant to even my pickiest foodie friends.

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service, food and ambience! W ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

Excellent service, food and ambience! Would recommend 100%

food4
ambience4
service4

Memorable services food was also great

Dined on February 11, 2016

Memorable services food was also great

food5
ambience5
service5

We had a wonderful dining experience at ...

Dined on February 10, 2016

We had a wonderful dining experience at Perla!! The ambiance was very quiet when we arrived and it was hard to be that quiet however once the drinks started flowing at the tables it livened up a bit but still a nice quiet atmosphere. The decor is amazing, the concept too, it is a very interesting and unique place to dine. The staff was very professional, friendly and made great suggestions, they were attentive and polite as well. Now for the food, it was remarkable! We all loved our dishes, of our 4 top we had 2 Sea Bass, Swordfish and filet all were cooked and seasoned to perfection! The portions were perfect size, no one left hungry, the desserts are amazing!! We stayed at the Ritz in San Juan and had access to many great places close by to eat, but we are so glad we ventured out to try Perla, it's worth the cab fare or rental car to go. You can park in the hotel lot, just remember your parking ticket so you can pay your parking in the lobby at the pay station on the way out.

food5
ambience5
service5

The tables by the window had amazing vie ...

Dined on February 7, 2016

The tables by the window had amazing views of the ocean. The ambiance was very lovely with a romantic vibe and quiet. The food overall was amazing, every bite was full of delicious flavor. I would definitely recommend this restaurant.

food2
ambience3
service4

Not thrilled Hotel great not so much ...

Dined on February 7, 2016

Not thrilled Hotel great not so much for there main Restaurant- Very average for top pricing Go to Oceana instead 1 block away

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

An enchanting night inside the Oyster sh ...

Dined on February 4, 2016

An enchanting night inside the Oyster shell surrounded by water. A must see in Puerto Rico. Food was fabulous as well!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Great view

Dined on February 3, 2016

Ambience was outstanding. Great location for a romantic evening. Apps were excellent, and better than the main courses. Service was very good. Over priced for the quality of food, but acceptable for a one time experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary Dinner

Dined on January 26, 2016

Our server was amazing. Please tell him thank you. The whole experience was incredible and we can't wait to return.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

We always went here for out BIG night in ...

vip
Dined on January 22, 2016

We always went here for out BIG night in PR . Very classy and the food was always the best.Was disappointed this time. The service is top class and the view from the window seats are lovely. The fried Brussel sprout salad was good but a very small plate for the money. Lobster bisque is good, but my Lobster tail was over cooked and dry with very little sauce. At $55 I expect better .my Husbands filet of beef was tough and not cooked as ordered. Don't think we will go back next time we are in PR

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Must Try

Dined on January 16, 2016

We loved this restaurant. The food was excellent (top 5% of restaurants we have ever been to). Service was very good (could have been better for the price - being very critical) Overall, would highly recommend if you want a "top" chef type meal.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service3
value2

New Year Eve

Dined on December 31, 2015

Very comfortable restaurant with great ambiance. Food was very good but definitely not great. Food should gave been presented and explained better. Desserts were ok. Service should have been better. We had a very nice time

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fun and Good

vip
Dined on December 30, 2015

Fun atmosphere, good food, classic dining with a twist. Good service.

Tags: fit for foodies, group bookings, romance, special occasions, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Dinner

Dined on December 30, 2015

We had fabulous dinner! The atmosphere was wonderful and the service was top rate. Everyone enjoyed their dinner and desert was over the top.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great dining experience. Restaurant atm ...

vip
Dined on December 29, 2015

Great dining experience. Restaurant atmosphere is excellent, restaurant decor modeled after a large sea shell, overlooks the condado beach and ocean. Great cocktails. Ceviche appetizer and beet salad were excellent. Others ordered lobster bisque which was apparently very good. For a main course both my wife and I had grilled sea bass with risotto which was excellent. Others had scallops which I think were also very good. Excellent dining experience, would highly recommend. Favorite place in San Juan.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service4

Beautiful setting. We dined here over th ...

vip
Dined on December 28, 2015

Beautiful setting. We dined here over the holidays and it was very nice. This is one of our top picks for fine dining in San Juan. Extensive wine list and expertly prepared seafood dishes.

food4
ambience5
service5

Perfect place for our anniversary.

Dined on December 26, 2015

Perfect place for our anniversary.

food1
ambience4
service3
value2

Third Time Not the Charm

vip
Dined on December 25, 2015

This is my third time at Perla and it will definitely be my last. While my first time was fine the next two definitely were not. All the dishes sound great but the execution in their preparation and ultimate taste leave a lot to be desired. The good thing that I can say about the service staff is that they removed the bad meal from my check.

Tags: scenic view

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.