About Perla at La Concha, A Renaissance Resort

1077 Ashford Avenue
La Concha - A Renaissance Resort
San Juan, PR 00907
View Larger Map

PERLA is a luxury seafood restaurant serving refined contemporary American cuisine with gracious professional hospitality located in the dramatic shell surrounded by a reflecting pool and beautiful ocean views.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 6:00pm - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(787) 977-3285

Website:
http://perlarestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Valet Parking Tickets are stamped and guests get a discount.

Executive Chef:
Lindell Smith

Private Party Facilities:
Please contact Priscila at the restaurant or via email, priscila@perlarestaurant.com, for more information

Private Party Contact:
Priscila Rivera: 7879773285x

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, View, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact Priscila at the restaurant or via email, priscilatrivera@gmail.com, for more information

Restaurant Photos

Pan Roasted Chilean Bass w/ Loster Truffle Risotto - Perla at La Concha, A Renaissance Resort, San Juan, PR
Pollack With Coconut Curry - Perla at La Concha, A Renaissance Resort, San Juan, PR
Grilled Shrimp - Perla at La Concha, A Renaissance Resort, San Juan, PR
Pan Seared Red Snapper - Perla at La Concha, A Renaissance Resort, San Juan, PR
Smoked Trout Chowder - Perla at La Concha, A Renaissance Resort, San Juan, PR
Apple Galette - Perla at La Concha, A Renaissance Resort, San Juan, PR
Mojito - Perla at La Concha, A Renaissance Resort, San Juan, PR
Creamy Lobster Broth - Perla at La Concha, A Renaissance Resort, San Juan, PR
Rolls - Perla at La Concha, A Renaissance Resort, San Juan, PR
Chocolate Souflé - Perla at La Concha, A Renaissance Resort, San Juan, PR
Tea - Perla at La Concha, A Renaissance Resort, San Juan, PR
Pumpkin Nutmeg Creme Brulee - Perla at La Concha, A Renaissance Resort, San Juan, PR
Tuna Trio - Perla at La Concha, A Renaissance Resort, San Juan, PR
Filet Mignon w/ Black Truffle Mash - Perla at La Concha, A Renaissance Resort, San Juan, PR
Grilled Mahi Mahi - Perla at La Concha, A Renaissance Resort, San Juan, PR
Orange White Chocolate Cake - Perla at La Concha, A Renaissance Resort, San Juan, PR
Chocolate - Perla at La Concha, A Renaissance Resort, San Juan, PR
Shrimp - Perla at La Concha, A Renaissance Resort, San Juan, PR
Dessert - Perla at La Concha, A Renaissance Resort, San Juan, PR
Lamb - Perla at La Concha, A Renaissance Resort, San Juan, PR
Warm Salad - Perla at La Concha, A Renaissance Resort, San Juan, PR

Specials

Four Course Prix Fixe Meal for $110.00

Saturday Dec 31, 2016 from 6:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Specials

Four Course Prix Fixe Meal for $110.00

Saturday Dec 31, 2016 from 6:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Details

Four Course Prix Fixe Meal for $110.00. Excludes Tax and Tip. We will only offer the $110.00 Prix Fixe Menu on New Year's Eve. Special valid on Saturday Dec 31, 2016 from 6:00 PM - 11:00 PM.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Perla at La Concha, A Renaissance Resort Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.8

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Caribbean
Romantic
Caribbean
Most Booked
Caribbean
2 More
Best Ambiance
Puerto Rico
Most Booked
Puerto Rico
Best Restaurants in Condado / Santurce ›

Romantic (25)
Special Occasion (20)
Scenic View (16)
See All
Waterfront (16)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Good for a Date (13)
Modern Decor (10)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Local Ingredients (4)
Worth the Drive (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Authentic (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Cozy (2)
Spicy (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Fun (1)
Business Meals (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Private Room (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
S
654 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Espacio muy bonito y un trato muy correc ...

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined 7 days ago

Espacio muy bonito y un trato muy correcto con una comida de calidad todo en un ambiente distinguido

Tags: Decoración moderna
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

A beautiful atmosphere with disappointin ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 26, 2016

A beautiful atmosphere with disappointingly dull flavors.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

Unfortunately we had a bad server and an ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Unfortunately we had a bad server and an average meal. My Dad's Tuna was not prepared correctly, but the kitchen remedied it fast. We were rushed through dessert and our waiter could not have wanted us out of there fast enough.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value3

Excellent!!!

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Excellent!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was an incredible experience! Every ...

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on November 12, 2016

This was an incredible experience! Everything from the moment we walked in, the service and the food was exquisite!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very quiet place with excellent service. ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Very quiet place with excellent service. Our waitress was spot on and the food was amazing. Certainly put this on your list of places to eat when you're in the area!

Tags: Romantic, Waterfront, Late-night Find, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of the most beautiful and romantic r ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 10, 2016

One of the most beautiful and romantic restaurants that I have had the pleasure to dine in.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

This place is awesome! The food is fanta ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 6, 2016

This place is awesome! The food is fantastic, but go here for the style. I dont know when it was originally built, but Austin Powers and Dr Evil would definately have a meet up here. Beautiful views of the beach and of course the food was really good too. Would be the perfect place to hold a party of any kind. If you are in San Juan, you cant miss this place. We would certainly go again!!

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

La comida exquisita, el servicio exelent ...

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on November 1, 2016

La comida exquisita, el servicio exelente. Super romántico. Los meseros nos brindaron exelentes recomendaciones. Altamente recomendable.

Tags: Acogedor, vista panorámica, Decoración moderna, Ingredientes locales
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I dined at Perla at La Concha for my Bir ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 1, 2016

I dined at Perla at La Concha for my Birthday (special Day).

On arrival I was seated at a great table overlooking the ocean.

I was happy with the quality of menu options. The Lobster Escabece was ok, and

somewhat bland. The Fennel Dusted Diver Scallops were very good as was the Orange Crème Brulee for desert. Service was very good. Overall a good experience. I would go back and try other menu options.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

El menú de este restaurante ha cambiado. ...

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on October 30, 2016

El menú de este restaurante ha cambiado. Solían tener unos aperitivos excelentes; ahora son comunes y corrientes. Además, la comida apenas tiene sabor. Es una pena, porque el local es hermoso.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

The restaurant is so beautiful. Its loca ...

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The restaurant is so beautiful. Its located on the beachfront so the best time to go is before it gets dark so you are able to see the water. Its expensive and you must try the lobster.

Tags: Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was great !! Had the 8oz fil ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Everything was great !! Had the 8oz filet my sister had the surf and turf. The bread was fresh out of the oven, the alcoholic beverages are worth it, one drink and I was feeling good ! Overall WONDERFUL

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful upscale place to enjoy great f ...

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Wonderful upscale place to enjoy great food. Service at its best. Expect to spend $100 per person.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Molecular Gastronomy, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We dined for the first time several days ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 21, 2016

We dined for the first time several days ago. It was a late reservation and the place was empty except for several tables. We ordered several appetizers which were good (the prawns in curry sauce were outstanding). The food was good but with many other fine dining places around, I would pass on the next visit

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Overall, a very good experience. I would ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Overall, a very good experience. I would stick with sea food. The steak my wife ordered was not cooked as requested (well done), but other than that, no complaints. Service was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

The food was delicious. The setting - ov ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 18, 2016

The food was delicious. The setting - overlooking the ocean - was fabulous. Because we were there on a Monday night, we had our pick of seating. But the entire perimeter of the restaurant overlooks the ocean. So no bad seats.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was delicious and fresh. My boy ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on October 17, 2016

The food was delicious and fresh. My boyfriend took me here before he proposed. The only tarnish was my purse was stolen after I had left it at the table. Since we were one of two tables left in the restaurant at the end of the evening on a Sunday, it seems suspicious no one turned it in.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value1

The Restaurant was beautiful,the service ...

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on October 12, 2016

The Restaurant was beautiful,the service was just okay the prices where way over priced spent $200.00 on dinner for me and my wife she had water and I had 2 beers the portions were so small we left hungry. When I made the reservation I told them it was for our 30th wedding anniversary when we got there I told them again just so we could have a nice table that we got and that's it , not a couple of glasses of cheap champagne not dessert nothing but 200.00 and leaving hungry we will never go back

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value1

Food was very good. Server was nice but ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Food was very good. Server was nice but not as attentive as he should have been. Perla was gorgeous and the setting was very romantic. Would definitely eat there again for a special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Very romantic and cozy. A restaurant yo ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Very romantic and cozy. A restaurant you can dress for that special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Very attractive restaurant with good foo ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Very attractive restaurant with good food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband and I chose Perla for dinner ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 5, 2016

My husband and I chose Perla for dinner for our first night in San Juan. It was a very good choice. The restaurant is beautiful and very romantic and we had a nice relaxing dinner. The service staff was very attentive and friendly and made us felt very welcome. Lots of good choices on the menu as well. The food was amazing. Everything was presented in such a beautiful way. They also have a good wine list as well. I ordered lobster as the main course and it was wonderful. You will not be disappointed if you dine here.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food. Very slow service. Aweso ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Excellent food. Very slow service. Awesome ambiance!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Lobster entree was terrible.Lobster was ...

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Lobster entree was terrible.Lobster was too spiny and tasteless especially for the price.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

My husband and I ate here for a special ...

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on September 26, 2016

My husband and I ate here for a special treat on our honeymoon and we thoroughly enjoyed the sunset view, yummy food and cocktails, and being treated very respectfully. We are not very fancy people generally speaking, but this definitely made us feel fancy and offered us the opportunity to have that "special honeymoon evening" we were seeking.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had the baked lobster and it was amazing ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 19, 2016

Had the baked lobster and it was amazing. Views were amazing. Only thing is I called ahead to let them know we were celebrating a birthday and didn't acknowledge it. Otherwise great night and the birthday boy enjoyed it.

Tags: Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

This was my third visit to Perla and I l ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 11, 2016

This was my third visit to Perla and I look forward to dining there each time and I am more than pleased with the food, ambience and service. A truly unique room in the shape of a seashell with delicious flavors and nice staff.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The worst dinning experience. Took about ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 4, 2016

The worst dinning experience. Took about 1 hr to get the main dish. The drinks were less than good for the price. The sea bass and the snapper was bland at best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Perfect place to celebrate our 50th wedd ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Perfect place to celebrate our 50th wedding anniversary. Thank you for adding to our perfect celebration.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

While the food was delicious, the price ...

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on August 31, 2016

While the food was delicious, the price paid for the portion size was way off. I understand the restaurant is in a hotel/resort and that means higher prices, but I don't feel that the value for price paid was truly there. The restaurant interior and view are excellent, the service was lovely but the value just isn't there. We ate in several restaurants, also in hotels in San Juan, and the value was considerably better. Again, I will repeat, the food was excellent, but the value falls particularly and notably short. The portion size on the sea bass entree was minuscule.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value2

Really enjoyed my birthday dinner but th ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Really enjoyed my birthday dinner but there were some hiccups along the way. The hostess was super friendly and professional. The server took quite a bit time to greet us. But when he did we was very kind and hospitable. He explained that he was very busy so I understood why things were moving slow. But if that's the case go and beyond for your guests. No manager in sight all night, a table visit would have been nice, a possible comp would have been thoughtful. Great cocktail and wine list.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Waterfront, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Entrees were excellent. Highly recommend ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 18, 2016

Entrees were excellent. Highly recommended. I would definitely eat here again. Slightly pricey but worth it for the ambiance and the food was excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Go here for view and ambiance. Came her ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 18, 2016

Go here for view and ambiance. Came here for my boyfriend's 40th birthday dinner, which I made sure to note in the reservation request area. Our reservations were early to ensure that we'd get a great table, and to be sure that we would be settled by sunset. When we arrived, there was only one other party, but when the host showed us to our table, he sat Scott facing the windows. Again, there was only one table besides us! Scott moved to the seat across from me so that he could get the full feel of the restaurant. If you are reading this, I am sure you are intrigued, as we were, about how the light reacts to the architecture and design elements - which Scott's back would have been facing had he sat in the aisle seat.

We enjoyed our grilled prawns and the arugula salad, but were not impressed with the seafood chowder. I liked my sea bass, but Scott's spicy seared tuna was fatty, not spicy and the lentils were not fully cooked. Which was only made worse when, in the middle of our entrees, the host came by and asked Scott to return to his seat in the aisle.

We ordered the Boca Negra Cake, and it was presented nicely with a candle and 'Happy Birthday' written in chocolate sauce.

We might go back to try other dishes,when we are in the area, but definitely not for a full fine dining meal, and not for a special occasion.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

Disappointing that Perla is no longer li ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Disappointing that Perla is no longer lit up at night. Our waiter told us that the reflection of the lights onto the moving water was making too many motion sick, which is a bit funny, but totally understandable. The interior was beautiful. Service was great. They even opened the restaurant after close because we had left our visa in the bill fold. Thanks for the great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The restaurant has a very romantic ambia ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 12, 2016

The restaurant has a very romantic ambiance to it. The Chilean sea bass was great as well as the filet mignon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Gorgeous place. Service was great, pric ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 11, 2016

Gorgeous place. Service was great, prices were high. Food was ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Nice restaurant, great ambiance and view ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 31, 2016

Nice restaurant, great ambiance and view. Many drinks to choose from (wines, cocktails and beers). Food was very good, but not unforgettable (grilled swordfish) and a bit on the pricey side. Service was very nice and the dessert (Orange creme brulee) was outstanding.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

The overall dining was exquisite. I cele ...

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on July 27, 2016

The overall dining was exquisite. I celebrated my boyfriend's birthday and upon entering the restaurant, the staff greeted us both and asked him if he was enjoying his special day. I requested to sit by the window and I was granted that request right in the middle. The meal was scrumptious and the staff were pleasant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing!!!! That's it From service to am ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 24, 2016

Amazing!!!! That's it

From service to ambiance to the meal.

Can't wait to get back to PR

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.