Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

Permanently Closed - Pericos - Huebner

3.9
39 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Mexican
Top Tags:
  • Good for Groups
  • Great for Lunch
  • Special Occasion

Similar Restaurants

About

This restaurant is permanently closed. Permanently Closed - Perico’s is traditional Tex-Mex cuisine at a very reasonable price with a modern Mexican restaurant look and feel. We have seating to accommodate large groups and have a private banquet room and patio for special events. With 20 large flat screen TV's we are a great place to catch your favorite sporting event.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Mexican, Traditional Mexican, Southwest
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 7:00am - 11:00am, Saturday - Sunday: 9:00am - 11:00am
Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(210) 691-3636
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
Pericos offers a private banquet room for all types of special events. For event menus and information, please go to our website.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Marcus Mendez: (210) 691-3636
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Perico's would love to cater your next event. Please see our catering menus at our website.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Huebner Road
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access
What 39 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
3.9based on all time ratings
3.9
food
3.8
service
3.6
ambience
3.8
value
Noise · Moderate
79% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
3.0Dined on October 22, 2016

Waitress told us to not use Open Table because they are never "that" busy and they don't look at the Open Table computer anyway.

Service was slow and the server was inexperienced. Tortilla soup was great!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on September 9, 2016

we sat and waited for a server and had to ask a manager if they would send someone to wait on us, he forgot half the order and we wont be back, it was evident they were short staffed

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on August 28, 2016

My only issue was that upon arrival I was told that I did not have a reservation although I had a confirmation. There attitude was like we will accommodate you but you have no reservation. This was embarrassing because this was done in front oft guests.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on August 5, 2016

Horrible experience, food was good but service was bad. The waiter had the worst attitude throughout the night until the manager was called. Food was screwed up and when our food came out we had to wait a while for our utensils. After the manager came to see the issue took care of it right away. But the wait for service and food was long, to top it off when arrive the staff up front was rude literally stood at the front for 15minutes until was acknowledged. Bad experience overall it was a birthday celebration turn into a disaster.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on July 30, 2016

Food was good service was bad dirty glasses forgot silverware.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on July 4, 2016

Normally we LOVE Pericos!! This particular occasion was an exception. It was 4th of July, we had a 7:00 reservation, they were not ready. The Manager was VERY obvious that he wanted to close at 8:00 and was making this announcement very loudly to his servers. When we were trying to order, he looked over at our waitress and announced that "NO STEAKS, they were not taken out and will not thaw, we are closing".

They shut the TV's off early and made the environment very quiet for our dining experience. It was very uncomfortable.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on July 1, 2016

Made the reservation through Open Table but was told they usually might be packed and will seat guests that have been waiting first. However there was only one other group waiting so they honored the reservation made through Open Table and sat us. If they may not honor the reservations then Open Table may not be something they should use. Food and service was great. Will definitely look at going back, just maybe not using Open Table.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 25, 2016

Consistently great food and wonderful service!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 26, 2016

Casual atmosphere. Food was good. Price was OK. Service was ok.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 8, 2016

There was a piece of plastic in my mom's food.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 8, 2016

This was our first visit to Pericos , we will be back again soon.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2016

Our Server Carlos did an amazing job keeping up with a large group. He made our outing very special. Happy Hour specials were the best they kept us within our budget. Atmosphere was terrific and very clean.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 24, 2016

The food was excellent as always... Enjoyed the Chicken Soup, Chicken Tortilla Soup and Chipotle Enchiladas..
The service on this day was not up to par. We arrived before the dinner rush and yet found ourselves waiting an excessive amount of time to: 1. Greet the Server 2. Receive our drinks 3. Receive our chips and Salsa..
I must clarify this by saying that our experience was Not the Norm for this restaurant and hope they get the correct staffing ratios and train the waitstaff..

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2016

The beef fajitas were well marinated and full of flavor. We also love the queso, which is full of meat, jalapeños and guacamole. Margaritas were superb! Will try some other items next time!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 19, 2016

The beef fajitas were excellent! The queso dip was loaded!
Will definitely make this one of our favorites,

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 13, 2016

The Tex mex was solid and service was excellent! The waitstaff really took care of us.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on February 20, 2016

We booked online to get a table at 7:30PM. Well when we get there we are rudely told by the hostess that night that online reservations are not accepted on weekends. She wasn't even trying to hear it and told us we would have to wait. We talked with the management and he told us that this is true. Then you shouldn't have it on your website if this is the case!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 6, 2016

The food is delicious and the staff is always helpful.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 20, 2015

Ok Mexican food. You can ask for cheddar cheese If you don't want American cheese. The squash side is delicious.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on December 17, 2015

Hadn't been to Perico's in over a year but remembered it as being great. Not now. Green enchiladas were almost inedible. Beans were great, though. Manager was nice and comped about half our bill. Manager is new and was brought in to fix problems. He has a lot of work to do. Perico's used to be packed at lunch. Wasn't even half full when we went.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 10, 2015

The service was very quick and the food was hot and very fresh. We enjoy the caldo the most. Pericos has the best caldo in town. Always fresh and delicious. Consistent in quality.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 20, 2015

Had reverse happy hour 9-11PM. It was great, food was great! Overall happy with our visit!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 14, 2015

Food was good and big portion.
Server was friendly.
Service was fast.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on August 14, 2015

Service was way too slow. Took an hour to bring a plate of fajita's for two! The ambiance is not the traditional Mexican restaurant look. Looks like a sports bar for yuppies with two or three piñata's and that's about it! Not much of a Mexican touch atmosphere. Looks similar to the way it used to look when it used to be the Sports Bar named Champs back in 1998!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 21, 2015

We have been to this location several times recently for lunch or dinner and found both food and service to be very good. Both food quality and service efficiency actually exceed the other location (Bandera).
We will definitely return.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 21, 2015

We went to Pericos for the first time with our grown children. The service was great but the fajitas were fatty and stuck together. The guacamole serving was small but it and queso were good. There are better options for Mexican food in the area.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 27, 2015

I was in a rime crunch and the waiter definitely met my needs. He was curtious and quick!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 17, 2015

The place was packed we had reservations so we were seated right away. There were a couple of parties going on around us but that didn't take away from our service. The food was great. The place is loud but not over powering. We were still able to have a conversations without having to yell. Great atmosphere.
The staff was very friendly. I am definitely going to be a repeat customer and will tell my friends about it.
Thank you Pericos!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 9, 2015

I love the pericos queso it is delicious and the enchiladas are our family choice. I've used open table once on a weekend went in a few minutes before reservation time and was seated with my special request a baby sling

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 28, 2014

Margaritas were great. Table was good. The food was good. The service was good. And everyone had a good time.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 23, 2014

The staff went out of their way to accomodate our group they were very helpful. The food was good, not outstanding.
The best part was "opentable" option that allowed us to hold the tables for our group without a long wait! Priceless!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 12, 2014

I wasn't ultimately pleased with Pericos this time around. We isually eat at the Bandera location for dinner but Huebner location for lunch. My enchiladas were way to salty (sauce) and my sweet tea tasted like water. However, the fajitas I ordered on the side were very tender and tastes great.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 18, 2014

Oscar was our waiter and could not have been more attentive and made sure our evening was great. It was our daughter's 19th birthday and had a group of 25+. He took great care of everyone! Would definitely go back for another gathering, especially if he was our waiter again!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on October 13, 2014

Food was disappointing but service was excellent. There are so many really outstanding Mexican Food restaurants in San Antonio that I am surprised this one is OpenTable.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 26, 2014

Booked a last minute reservation, the staff took great care of the 12 of us. The food was great, I was very impressed.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on July 14, 2014

Fajitas were so-so, not given correct number of tortillas, then charged extra when we asked for two more, charged extra for more pico de gallo (only given a very small portion), manager tried to correct problems but was just not a very pleasant experience. Too many really good Mexican restaurants to return to this one!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on July 10, 2014

Good for lunch.
Although they raised the prices, it's still reasonable.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on June 27, 2014

Title explains it all. If you want to eat somewhere you are not able to carry on a converstation with the person across the table, then this place is for you. Food was mediocre at best, maybe I would have given it a better rating if I would have actually received the food I ordered. So loud the waiter got my order wrong, and after waiting as long as we did to get it, you bet I wasn't going to send it back. They didn't even have the courtesy to comp or discount the plate since it was placed wrong by the wait staff, and i only ate half. Clearly I was unsatisfied, and nothing was done to remedy the problem. We will never be back...

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 20, 2014

Excellent Mexican food and a great value. Servers are always coming by to refill tea, chips and salsa.

Report
Helpful