About Per Se

10 Columbus Circle
New York, NY 10019
View Larger Map

Per Se, the much-anticipated restaurant from renowned chef Thomas Keller, debuted in February 2004 in the Time Warner Center complex at Columbus Circle. With striking views of Columbus Circle and Central Park, the dining room is a rare blend of open space and easy intimacy, discreet drama and understated luxury. Offering a 64-seat dining room, a 10-seat private dining room, a lounge, a bar and wine cellar, all presented in a palette of warm neutrals and natural elements, Per Se will refine and redefine the dining experience.



Per Se offers two prix fixe tasting menus a Tasting of Seasonal Vegetables or the Chef’s Tasting Menu, which changes daily.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, French

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Friday - Sunday: 11:30am - 1:00pm; Dinner Nightly: 5:30pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
60th Street

Dress Code:
Jacket Required

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 823-9335

Website:
http://www.perseny.com/

Parking Details:
Public Lots nearby and street parking is also available.

Public Transit:
1,A,C,B & D to 59th Street Columbus Circle

Executive Chef:
Thomas Keller

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Oysters and Pearls
Butter Poached Nova Scotia Lobster
Coffee and Doughnuts
Oysters & Pearls
Cheese Course
White Truffle Risotto
salmon cornette
Truffle Scallop
Assorted Breads
Lamb
Osetra Caviar Course
Gulf Coast Cobia
"Gâteau D'anniversaire Marjolaine"
Strawberry Trifle
Slow Poached Hudson Valley Moulard Duck Foie Gras
Wolf Ranch Bobwhite Quail Breast
Pineapple
Atlantic Black Bass
white asparagus
Hawaiian Hearts of Peach Palm Salad
Cod
Box Of Chocolates
The Creamy Herb Roasted Four Story Hill Farm’s Poussin
Banana Split
Salmon Tartare Coronets
Caviar
Black Truffle And Egg Custard
Foie Gras Plate
"Coffee And Donuts"
Salmon Tartare
Grape Soda
Gruyere cheese gougeres
Foie gras Torchon
Terrine Of Hudson Valley Moulard Duck Foie Gras
côte d'agneau
Lobster Mitts
John Dory
Salade Forestiere
Cauliflower Panna Cotta
French Horn Mushroom En Croute
Deserts
Dessert
 Foie Gras
Herb Roasted Four Story Hill Farm’s Poussin
Macaroons
Tapioca Pearls, Oysters, Caviar
Carrot Salad
Copper River Sturgeon
Vanilla Ice Cream And Mincedmeat
Portuguese Cuttlefish “Poêlé
Potato Crusted Frog’s Leg
Porkbelly
Shortbread Cookies
Warm Cheese Gougeres
Truffle Risotto
Poularde
Truffles In Humidor
Doughnuts And Coffee Ice Cream
Banana Palate Cleanser
A Few Truffle Shavings
Bread Basket
Chocolates
Chestnut And Chocolate
Warm Bread Basket
Red Wine For Tonight
"Torchon" Of Élevages Périgord Moulard Duck Foie Gras
Herb-Roasted “Poularde”
Pasta Simmering In A Rich Buttery Sauce With Walnuts
Coffee
Vegetables
Chilled Melon Soup
Lamb Lardons, Morels, Fava Beans, Mustard Greens
Forest Mushroom Agnolotti
Silvaner
Snake River Farms "Calotte de Bœuf Grilleè"
Assorted Petit Desserts
Grilled Duck Breast
Tsar Imperial Osetra Caviar
Beet Salad
Donuts
Butter poached lobster
Chevre
Diamond H Ranch Quail
course 9
course 9 vegetarian
cocoa dusted filberts
course 4 vegetarian
couse 5 vegetarian
Bone Marrow
Lobster Lasagne
King Crab Legs
Foie Gras Platter
White Truffles
Sake Soda
Liberty Farms Pekin Duck "Roti A La Broche"
Chocolate Birthday Cake
Truffles
course 7
course 8
course 8 vegetarian

Private Dining

The private dining room WEST at Per Se accommodates up to 72 guests for seated events or up to 120 guests for standing receptions.

Per Se Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.9

ambience

4.8

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
New York / Tri-State Area
Best Service
New York / Tri-State Area
Best Ambiance
New York / Tri-State Area
6 More
American
New York / Tri-State Area
Best Overall
Manhattan
Best Food
Manhattan
Best Service
Manhattan
Best Ambiance
Manhattan
American
Manhattan
Best Restaurants in Columbus Circle ›

Special Occasion (130)
Romantic (102)
Scenic View (95)
See All
Fit for Foodies (94)
Notable Wine List (81)
Great for Lunch (18)
Hot Spot (16)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Great for Brunch (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1352 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was good but not worth the $$$ they ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 3 days ago

Food was good but not worth the $$$ they charge. Excellent service.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value1

Very expensive but amazing service and m ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 3 days ago

Very expensive but amazing service and more food than you can eat

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I have been looking forward to dining he ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined 3 days ago

I have been looking forward to dining here for awhile and finally got it to work with my schedule. Needless to say, expectations were high! We started with the classic starter of the oysters and pearls and really enjoyed the dish. Unfortunately everything went downhill after that. The next courses failed to entice the tastebuds. I was eating just to eat instead of enjoying the experience. I don't know if it's the strain of changing the menu daily, but each dish was missing something. The last savory item on the tasting menu was so salty that I had to drink 3 or 4 cups of water during dessert. I don't think I'll be back here again any time soon. The service was just ok. I thought the pace of the meal was extremely slow and there were a couple corrections that were necessary. Overall a 3 is generous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

The vegetarian tasting menu surpassed my ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 3 days ago

The vegetarian tasting menu surpassed my expectations and by substituting the squash for the sea bass on the main course I got a taste of a delectable seafood option too. The view of NYC skyline against the setting sun were spectacular. The evening at Per Se will always be one to remember!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a date with my wife that was mo ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 4 days ago

This was a date with my wife that was mostly aspirational - I made it a reality for her 50th birthday. We had very high expectations, and Per Se exceeded them! Our server (Laurel) was absolutely fantastic, she was friendly, professional and playful with us - it's what we wanted. She was straight laced with another table - what they wanted, and served another as if she was a ghost, it was right for them. 5 servers touched our table, all knowledgeable, Laurel would introduce and pass them to us to explain a dish, or wine, or the serving vessels - we are inquisitive and they handled all with grace and passion. The food was flawless and flavorful - and rich (maybe too rich as a whole?). We started with the salmon tartare amuse and then oysters and pearls - they were the two dishes we were specifically hoping to try - my word the flavor of both still lingers in my memory. We opted to add the foie gras course for one of us and were not disappointed, yet the corn chowder that the other got was unforgettable as well. Monkfish, Langoustines, Devine chicken and Lamb were all terrific dishes- they bevy of desserts and birthday cake were all incredible as well.

We opted for a wine tasting, they do this so well and with such class - please ask them to explain it - I won't do it justice. I will say I order wine often but am out of my league with this menu, they educated me comfortably and we had terrific wines and they did it at a budget I suggested.

Finally, the check arrives and gratuity is included - you can't have this dinner and think about the cost - the memory will last beyond that. But it is there and the inclusion of the gratuity was like a surprise happy ending.

Like most we toured the kitchen, had pictures with the staff (front and back) and my wife has been beaming for 3 days!

Per Se knocks it out of the park!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic table, view, service, ambien ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

Fantastic table, view, service, ambience, and tasty food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Best ever! And they gave our family a t ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

Best ever! And they gave our family a tour of the kitchen. Wish I had the funds to do it again. Worth the price but for a family of 4 it was like buying 2 TV sets so cannot afford to do it again but once in a lifetime is well worth it. So good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Offensively overpriced! I have the fortu ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

Offensively overpriced! I have the fortune to have visited Michelin stars restaurants around the world. And this was, no doubt, the most expensive for what it was worth. A thousand dollars (+) for two people who did not order wine (we had beers), and left the restaurant hungry for a Big Mac... It was my birthday, and I would have spent that money in a designer's bag, or diamond earrings, which are forever, should I have known. Pre fixed menu didn't give us much of a chance. The view was wonderful, but you can also see it from the other not as outrageously expensive restaurants at the Time Warner Building.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

We were there to celebrate a friend's bi ...

 
 (京都)
·Dined 5 days ago

We were there to celebrate a friend's birthday and we made a special evening at Per Se. The food was superb both in terms of taste and presentation. It's a traditional fine dining place and the experience matches my expectation for a Michelin 3-star restaurant. Service was good, though on two occasions our wine glasses were empty for a while before someone noticed and refilled them.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

It was an amazing experience that I will ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

It was an amazing experience that I will hold fondly in my memory for years to come.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

The whole dining experience can be summa ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 5 days ago

The whole dining experience can be summarised by one word: Exquisite.

The food was just out of this world. Service was simply amazing - very attentive but not over the top.

It well deserves 3 Michelin Stars.

Price was expensive but it is worth a visit for the experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Per Se is as strong as its sister French ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 6 days ago

Per Se is as strong as its sister French Laundry! Amazing staff that loves what they do and are very knowledgeable. If you can afford it, go!! That is all.

Lee

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Spectacular food and service, never expe ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

Spectacular food and service, never experienced anything like it.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Per Se is a destination in itself, and d ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined 7 days ago

Per Se is a destination in itself, and does not disappoint those who know what to expect. What was unexpected were the additional small but elegant and highly-appreciated details provided by the reservation and other service staff, making a special occasion all the more special.

The only disappointment was the behaviour of some of the other guests, who seemed to consider themselves above the need for common courtesy and discretion. But this was not enough to distract from the cuisine and service.

Tags: Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We came here for our anniversary. our me ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 7 days ago

We came here for our anniversary. our menus were personalized and the whole experience is something i will never forget. I loved the food and the attention of the waiters. They made us feel like royalty even though we were definitely not.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is a top restaurant that ticks all ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

This is a top restaurant that ticks all the boxes for fine dining. A great dining room, great service, massive wine list and a sensational chef's tasting menu. It comes with a price with the tasting menu US$325 per head plus then add the wine. Fully deserves its 3 Michelin stars.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best restaurant I have ever been to. Th ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Best restaurant I have ever been to. The food, service, and ambiance are second to none in NY and possibly the world.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best restaurant I have ever visited in N ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Best restaurant I have ever visited in NYC. Very well deserved Relais & Chateaux and Michelin stars status.

Thank you for a memorable evening.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

service is very good. foods are excellen ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

service is very good. foods are excellent

will come back next time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Probably the best all around dinner I ha ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Probably the best all around dinner I have ever had. I just returned from a couple of weeks in Provence and can honestly say Per Se compares favorably several of the best restaurants in Provence. Of course, its not an everyday dining experience and is priced to match.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We were a little concerned leading into ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

We were a little concerned leading into our reservation night. We came across a NY Times review from mid Feb of this year that was pretty negative across the board. The service, food, and overall experience were negatively reviewed.

We had planned and made reservation months in advance and tried our best to keep our enthusiasm high dispute the review of a very reputable and known critic. It turned out to be an amazing night. The service, food, ambiance, and overall experience was on par with what would be expected of a restaurant at this price point.

We have tried several tasting menus throughout the States--both Michelin Star rated and non... The Foie Gras at Per Se by far was the best we have ever had. The complexity and layers of taste was out of this world. The finishing salts and bread that were paired with it elevated the dish to another level. The finishing dishes of desert and chocolate capped off a night of amazing food and wonderful experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The restaurant was amazing. The food was ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

The restaurant was amazing. The food was some of the best I've ever had.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a really excellent experience. My ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

It was a really excellent experience. My wife and me have a great moment.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Can it be anymore perfect? I don't think ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Can it be anymore perfect? I don't think so .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent experience from the beginning ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Excellent experience from the beginning till end. Food was incredible, very creative and delicious. Wonderful wine pairing. Great service

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I want to describe with words I thought ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

I want to describe with words I thought I'd never speak. All in all, Amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

superb!! ABSOLUTELY worth it, great food ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

superb!!

ABSOLUTELY worth it, great food great service, will come back for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I have eaten in many Michelin starred re ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

I have eaten in many Michelin starred restaurant and Per Se have an amazing service fantastic tecnique but there is not any avantgarde in the kitchen and all the dishes were excellent but easily forgetable for a 2* Restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Amazing dining experience. The food and ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Amazing dining experience. The food and the service was impeccable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing everything! Superb experience: o ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Amazing everything! Superb experience: outstanding food, spectacular service, superior attention to detail, all while making you feel as though you are the only person there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was the first time in Per Se. My hus ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

It was the first time in Per Se. My husband and I celebrated the universally. It was delicious food. Great service. Nice atmosphere. Enjoyed it very much. We will certainly came here again.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A Very good experience. The food was won ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

A Very good experience. The food was wonderful and the service perfect

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a wonderful experience and some a ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We had a wonderful experience and some amazing flavors. The caviar, foie gras, lobster, and pork chop were our favorites. The wine recommendation was excellent. The restaurant lived up to its reputation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very disappointed with their service sta ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Very disappointed with their service staff this time around - they forgot our tea/coffee and brought the check so we didn't bother to ask for it. The server also forgot to pack our chocolates and candies from the last dessert course as he offered to do so since we were too full to continue eating. We thought it was a very nice and thoughtful gesture for him to even suggest packing them up for us... but I guess he forgot, and by the time we noticed, we were already out of the building. This was our second visit, and quite disappointed, especially since our first visit was out of this world and we looked forward to experience that again.

2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value1

Magnificent and not stuffy. A fantastic ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Magnificent and not stuffy. A fantastic experience. The early sitting is preferable, as you will be there 4 hours!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything about this restaurant worked, ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Everything about this restaurant worked, from the deliciousness of each course to the smeamless service. I would be happy to return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food and service! We were also ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Fantastic food and service! We were also able to get a look into the kitchen and wine cellar! Overall a fabulous experience!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best food, service and wines imagina ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

The best food, service and wines imaginable in a spectacular setting overlooking Columbus atop his statue and Central Park. Menu included a wide range of classic and innovative dishes served at a pace and size that let us enjoy, savor and appreciate them and understand where each ingredient came from. One highlight was the pastry chef created "flute" cake made for my wife's birthday-another was the attentive way the staff interacted with our son of 13 to make it a truly special and memorable experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Went there for wife's birthday celebrati ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Went there for wife's birthday celebration with my kids. Wonderful food, atmosphere. Staff were well trained, very helpful and very friendly.

Of course it is costly but well worth it. Truly a five star experience. Well done.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We are Thomas Keller fans. We have tried ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We are Thomas Keller fans. We have tried to go to Per Se many times. We're from out of town, so options are limited. Lunch is a great alternative, so that is what we did. The tasting menu, 5 rather than 10 courses was great! There are two options, the chef's daily menu and a vegetarian one. I picked from both, which was great.

The service and knowledge of the servers is amazing. These people really want your experience to be great and memorable. They succeeded!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.