About Per Se

10 Columbus Circle
New York, NY 10019
View Larger Map

Per Se, the much-anticipated restaurant from renowned chef Thomas Keller, debuted in February 2004 in the Time Warner Center complex at Columbus Circle. With striking views of Columbus Circle and Central Park, the dining room is a rare blend of open space and easy intimacy, discreet drama and understated luxury. Offering a 64-seat dining room, a 10-seat private dining room, a lounge, a bar and wine cellar, all presented in a palette of warm neutrals and natural elements, Per Se will refine and redefine the dining experience.



Per Se offers two prix fixe tasting menus a 9 course Tasting of Seasonal Vegetables or the 9 course Chef’s Tasting Menu, which changes daily.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, French

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Friday - Sunday: 11:30am - 1:30pm; Dinner Nightly: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
60th Street

Dress Code:
Jacket Required

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 823-9335

Website:
http://www.perseny.com/

Parking Details:
Public Lots nearby and street parking is also available.

Public Transit:
1,A,C,B & D to 59th Street Columbus Circle

Executive Chef:
Thomas Keller

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar/Lounge, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Private Dining

The private dining room WEST at Per Se accommodates up to 72 guests for seated events or up to 120 guests for standing receptions.

Per Se Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.9

ambience

4.8

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
New York / Tri-State Area
American
New York / Tri-State Area
Best Overall
Manhattan
4 More
Best Food
Manhattan
Best Service
Manhattan
Best Ambiance
Manhattan
American
Manhattan
Best Restaurants in Columbus Circle ›

special occasion (149)
fit for foodies (117)
romantic (111)
See All
scenic view (97)
notable wine list (90)
great for lunch (29)
hot spot (18)
good for groups (10)
great for outdoor dining (7)
neighborhood gem (7)
late-night find (5)
great for brunch (4)
kid-friendly (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1233 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and the price

Dined 4 days ago

The food and the price

food5
ambience5
service5

On a scale of 1 to 10? 13!!! Best culina ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

On a scale of 1 to 10? 13!!! Best culinary experience ever!

food5
ambience5
service5

The oysters are amazing!

Dined on May 21, 2016

The oysters are amazing!

food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely sublime..... Fantastic view.. ...

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

Absolutely sublime..... Fantastic view.... Extraordinary food (if a few too many desserts), very friendly professional & efficient service..... Couldn't fault it....

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best meal I ever had. The fo ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

One of the best meal I ever had. The food is truly classic French and delivered with such an ease combining perfect produce packed with flavor yet always perfectly balanced. The staff was simply fantastic and not sure why, but they decided to serve Krug Rose to our dessert (on the house). A great match and a perfect evening! I need to visit the French Laundry, only problem is the distance from Copenhagen.

food5
ambience5
service5

Per Se prepared a named menu for celebra ...

vip
Dined on May 19, 2016

Per Se prepared a named menu for celebrating birthday, it's really sweet!

food5
ambience4
service5

Beautiful presentation, lovely service, ...

vip
Dined on May 17, 2016

Beautiful presentation, lovely service, understated decor, fantastic food - one of the best meals in our lives !

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Per Se achieves a nice balance between t ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Per Se achieves a nice balance between the rarefied and the welcoming. The floor staff are incredibly good: knowledgeable, civilized and unobtrusively attentive. The food is excellent, if expensive. The wine list is very good indeed: with a selection that is both broad (by types and regions) and deep (by vintages). This is clearly not a restaurant for the economy-minded, but rather a restaurant for those prepared to exchange cash for excellence and refinement. The dining room is very romantic: a large hearth with a view over Columbus Circle that lets you forget that you are in New York City for a few hours.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good, not awe inspiring

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

Compared to other 3 Michelin starred restaurants, Per Se is not quite up to the caliber in terms of precision: two dishes were over-salted. However, the view was fantastic and the staff wonderful. We are looking forward to try French Laundry next.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful experience. Not to be missed ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Wonderful experience. Not to be missed if you are looking for unparalleled food, drink, ambience and service.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As expected in a three Michelin every si ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

As expected in a three Michelin every single aspect of the experience was top notch and absolutely impeccable. We didn't even look at the menus and allowed the Chef to prepare a degustation menu of about 14 dishes that were entirely fully enjoyed by the four of us. An impressive wine list of over 2.5K labels professionally handled by a world-leading Sommelier Team who were also very engaging and fun! Thank you very much Michel, Andrew, Kevin and your whole Team for an unforgettable experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent. Service was precise ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Food was excellent. Service was precise and well timed and yet friendly. Expensive but well worth the money if you have something to celebrare.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

amazing food and a very amazing service. ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

amazing food and a very amazing service. I will definitely go back for the new menu!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Not much to say, amazing from start to f ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

Not much to say, amazing from start to finish

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Michelin 3 star restaurant!!

Dined on May 7, 2016

From the start to the finish, wonderful layout of the foods on every dishes, and ingredient and sauces awakened my taste buds in very pleasant ways! Despite of rather stiff price tag, it was as good as you would have expect. French Laundry and Per Se are way up there in quality of foods and services!! Wine list was extensive, and even by the glass wines were good match for every dishes!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A world class establishment.

Dined on May 6, 2016

A bucket list experience. Be prepared to spend like you seldom have before, but be prepared to find the expenditure more than fully justified. Two tasting menus, one vegetarian and one featuring meats and fish, both fully demonstrate Thomas Keller's mastery of Franco American cuisine. Exquisite.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent on every aspect..perfection.

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

Excellent on every aspect..perfection.

food5
ambience5
service5

tried the four courses menu. the beef as ...

Dined on May 5, 2016

tried the four courses menu. the beef as main course is highly recommend ,rather than the white fish. The most exciting thing that night was we got invited to meet he chef and visit the kichen.

food5
ambience5
service5

Per Se is very kind to introduce every m ...

Dined on May 4, 2016

Per Se is very kind to introduce every meal and there are many kinds of dessert at the end. And they also send birthday cake to me👑👑👑

food4
ambience5
service3
value2

Not as good as it use to be...

vip
Dined on May 2, 2016

While the food was good, it was not spectacular like it use to be... Service will attentive and the waiters were knowledgeable, but there were some lapses... a piece of bread was dropped by the server onto the table, and he just picked it up and placed it on the bread plate... I mean for a normal restaurant that's already a bit iffy.. but for Per Se, I expected them to give me another piece of bread... It was a nice otherwise, but there are plenty of places in NYC that can provide more a better dining experience at a lower price.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

I know the food at per se would be amazi ...

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

I know the food at per se would be amazing. And it was! What really blew me away was the attention to detail and professionalism of the staff. Per se was one of the most memorable nights in my adult life. Thank you for such an amazing evening

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome

Dined on May 1, 2016

We went to celebrate our daughters graduation from pastry school. We couldn't have picked a better place. From the moment we walked in to the moment we left we were treated like we were the only ones in the restaurant. The wait staff was incredible . The food and the food presentation was awesome. I cannot say enough about how wonderful this place was and we definitely will be going back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful experience. Service, food, and ...

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

Wonderful experience. Service, food, and presentation as good as ever.

food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Forget conversation, enjoy the presentation.

Dined on April 30, 2016

Superb food, served in tiny portions that are just right. The service is excellent, but it eclipsed our conversation at times. So we enjoyed the gorgeous presentations and superb tastes, and decided to have a conversation at another time.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service. Not to mention the dishes ...

Dined on April 26, 2016

Great service. Not to mention the dishes and ambience. No a la carts. Though it's a stretch on my 'PurSe', I would go back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

It's Per Se, it's about as good as it gets!

vip
Dined on April 26, 2016

The service sets this apart even more than the food. The staff is overly attentive, and exceptionally well versed in their trade, including all the ingredients of each dish, their background, etc. It's hard to imagine a better dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

You Say PER SE

Dined on April 25, 2016

By far one of the best places I've been to in NYC. The service gets 10 stars and the food is OUT OF THIS WORLD. Presentation is everything and they certainly don't disappoint. Plates are dropped and picked up all at the same time. Everything is explained to you and the best part...you will never eat the same thing twice. From start to end, Per Se puts on a great show and the views are bar-none! Eat while overlooking 59th Street circle and Central Park.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was delicious, the drinks were ...

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

The food was delicious, the drinks were superb and the service was exquisite. We loved the ambiance. The restaurant has amazing views of Columbus Circle and Central Park. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

food5
ambience5
service5

Best meal I've ever had. Amazing restaur ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

Best meal I've ever had. Amazing restaurant and best service ever!

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Outstanding food but more than we could handle

Dined on April 23, 2016

The quality and variety of the food was extraordinary. But, as the # of courses moved from 4 to 8 we became overwhelmed and less and less able to enjoy each new course

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Precision food & service

Dined on April 22, 2016

Each course in the 9-course menu was prepared and served with extreme precision. The was phenomenal and the service was on point. It's a lot to spend on a meal, but the whole experience was worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent

Dined on April 19, 2016

Great food, very good wine menu, excellent service! We choosed the chefs tasting menu, and it was a surprise in every plate, good ones by the way!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

unforgetable experience

Dined on April 17, 2016

i was looking forward for a 3 star michelin restaurant and we were not deceived !!it's true , it comes at a price but it was worth it!!we got a private room overlooking the central park , the service was impeccable , the wine was outstanding(thanks for the sommelier's advice) and the food...ooo the food was divine!!we had the tasting menu and it was perfect!!wish i could come back again once more!!!heartily recommend it despite the high price but hey!-worth every buck!!Thank you Per Se for the wonderful evening!!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service3

Good restaurant, but no thing special. J ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

Good restaurant, but no thing special. Just an expensive place w recogniEd name.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome

Dined on April 17, 2016

This might be the best restaurant in the world, truly.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful Service

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

It's hard to imagine the thoughtful, edible creations of Thomas Keller taking the backseat to anything, but during our visit to Per Se, the service rivaled anything presented on a plate. We visited with our 12-year-old daughter, and she was made to feel equally at home, without a glitch. The waitstaff was entirely unobtrusive. Finally, our sommelier was completely engaged, making suggestions and listening to our thoughts throughout the entire meal. Well done.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was just remarkable, as usua ...

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

Everything was just remarkable, as usual. The service impeccable.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Food was good, but not as expected. Grea ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

Food was good, but not as expected. Great view and ambiance.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was everything we expected- whi ...

Dined on April 13, 2016

The food was everything we expected- which was pretty high given the reputation of Per Se. The staff were delightful, dignified without being snooty, friendly and knowledgeable about our dishes. I had the veggie tasting, delicious and loaded with umami. The evening was one to remember. We plan to visit again in the future.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Per Se Lives-Up To Its Reputation

vip
Dined on April 13, 2016

My wife and I make a couple of trips to NYC each year and have tried on some of those visits to book a table at Per Se but had not been successful until a couple of weeks ago. We were very excited and had very high expectation - and we were not disappointed. The entire experience was simply amazing from the beautiful room to the impeccable service to the food. We dined from the tasting menu which is advertised as 7 courses plus dessert on the menu but with the wonderful "extras" they bring along the way - the meal was probably 10-11 courses. That can be overwhelming to the palate and the stomach if it's not managed well with portion size and spacing. Suffice it to say that both were managed perfectly - we were delighted with the incredible variety of the courses but weren't stuffed to the gills making our way through the meal. The service was exceptional and each of the waiters that visited us during the meal were knowledgeable and personable. At the end of the feast, the desserts arrived and we were pleased to know that all of the items presented that we didn't select would be waiting for us at the exit when we departed. In addition, a copy of the menu and the wine pairing were also waiting for us. At what worked-out to just shy of $800 per person (incl the wine pairing and a modest additional gratuity - service is included), this is not a meal one can do all that often but despite the dent in our wallets, it was worth every penny. Save your pennies and treat yourself to this at least once.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.