Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.07mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.07mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.07mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.07mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

About Per Se

Per Se offers two prix fixe tasting menus a Tasting of Vegetables or the Chef’s Tasting Menu, which changes daily.

10 Columbus Circle
New York, NY 10019
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, French

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Friday - Sunday: 11:30am - 1:00pm; Dinner Nightly: 5:30pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
60th Street

Dress Code:
Jacket Required

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 823-9335

Website:
http://www.perseny.com/

Parking Details:
Public Lots nearby and street parking is also available.

Public Transit:
1,A,C,B & D to 59th Street Columbus Circle

Executive Chef:
Thomas Keller

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

The private dining room WEST at Per Se accommodates up to 72 guests for seated events or up to 120 guests for standing receptions.

Per Se Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.9

ambience

4.8

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (74)
Tasting Menu (74)
Romantic (68)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (63)
Fit for Foodies (61)
Creative Cuisine (54)
Scenic View (54)
Notable Wine List (46)
Good for a Date (45)
Quiet Conversation (37)
Good for Birthdays (27)
Fireplace (24)
Cozy (22)
Modern Decor (22)
Worth the Drive (18)
Authentic (17)
Business Meals (15)
Local Ingredients (14)
Good Vegetarian Options (13)
Private Room (12)
Molecular Gastronomy (10)
Hot Spot (9)
Fun (9)
Outstanding Value (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Seasonal (6)
Organic (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Healthy (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Historic (4)
Vegan (4)
Disabled Access (3)
People Watching (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Casual (1)
Sort By:
S
1698 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Excellent food , staff and overall experience. Wine card quite impressive and takes some time to go through;)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 3 days ago

In researching which restaurant to book for my partner's birthday weekend vacation to Manhattan, we had read one sour NY Times review from last summer indicating that the food was not worth the price and that the service had gone downhill a bit. Thankfully, we disregarded the review since we'd read so many other great reviews about Per Se and we had a wonderful time. Immediately upon entering the restaurant, the hostess took us into a very comfortable bar area where we were offered a pre-dinner cocktail in a very stylish setting. The vodka martini that I ordered was probably the tastiest and most beautiful martini I've ever had. Just shortly after our drinks arrived, our dinner table was available, and the wait staff transferred our drinks to our dinner table.

The service was impeccable...highly knowledgeable, friendly, genuine, smart...everything you'd expect from a 3-star Michelin restaurant. We opted for the standard tasting menu of probably 10 courses (for several courses, you can pick from 2 options) and the portions were large enough to get a satisfying taste, but not too large where we felt too full by the end of the evening. There were supplements to the $325/person menu if you wanted to order the truffle bow-tie pasta or the fois gras. It was $100 to get the truffles shaved atop the delicious pasta, and somehow it was worth that supplemental expense on one course.

The view overlooking Central Park and Columbus Circle is beautiful and huge windows allow you to take in a large view of upper Manhattan.

The wine list is pricey for the most part, but we found a couple bottles in the $95 to $150 range that were delicious; however, you can plunk down $500 to $1500 on other bottles that take up the majority of the real estate on the wine list.

Overall, a wonderful evening...a bit on the pricey side at $2,800 for four people, but not bad for this level of dining.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

The service and the food was outstanding, the service very good and friendly. We been there several times and is always fantastic. Thank you PerSe!! I forgot the sommelier was great.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Timing was too long betweem some courses, but overall experience was very good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 5 days ago

I brought my husband from Phoenix, AZ for his birthday. At first we were a bit skeptical - we are foodies and this is not a cheap meal. The portions were so small we were worried we would have to go out to eat afterwards. But as the night unfolded, the service was so incredible - everyone was so friendly and attentive. As the courses continued, we were more than satisfied with our meal and the cuisine was extremely creative. We were looking for traditional French cuisine and this seemed more like fusion type food (which is the only reason I didn't give it full stars across the board). But the service made this experience MORE than worth the price tag. They gave us a tour of the kitchen, personalized the menu for us and Steven was beyond delightful with us all evening. Thank you so much to the Per Se team for one of the best experiences we will talk about for a long time!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined 6 days ago

Absolutely the best experience we have ever had at any restaurant. Service was friendly and attentive. Both Steve and John were terrific and very engaging. Every dish was outstanding. My husband's favorite was Oysters & Pearls. I loved the Fois Gras and the Eggplant (they kindly substituted this dish in place of Duck Breast because I am not able to eat food that requires more chewing). The cheese dish and numerous desserts were simply decadent and delicious. We also appreciated the opportunity to tour the kitchen and the cellar. Overall amazing and well worth the big dent in our wallet. Thank you!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 6 days ago

This was the first time for each in my party of four. We were all pleased beyond belief. The veg options and regular menuwere deliciously, delightfully wonderful.

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 21, 2017

What a special night! Loved every course and the staff was knowledgeable friendly and very attentive.
The finally was a special tour of the kitchen!
My son and I met in New York he is in school at St. Andrews in Scotland it was an amazing Mother Son night!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Private Room, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Fun, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Beyond amazing restaurant, staff and food. Would definitely recommend this restaurant to any one.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Awesome all around meeting and exceeding expectations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Fue mi cumpleaños y la pase muy bien.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 17, 2017

One of the most memorable dining experiences we have ever had. Fabulous in every way! Amazingly delicious and creative food paired with splendid wines and genuinely friendly staff.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 17, 2017

The food is amazing! All of the vegetable, meat, fish, and dessert were tasty. I really like the soup, the fish, and of course the dessert. The waiters and waitresses were nice, and it was quiet in the restaurant.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Healthy
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 15, 2017

In my opinion, the most impressive venue in Manhattan - the place to celebrate very special occasions. Their view of Central Park is spectacular, unforgettable. Gracious and thoughtful service. Superior ingredients, carefully chosen, imaginatively prepared, lovely presentations.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Fireplace, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Per Se rises to the occasion if you're looking for 3 star Michelin fare. Had a minor problem with one of my starters but the staff's professionalism quickly smoothed it over. Visited Jean Georges prior to dining here and Per Se made the former feel like a one star restaurant. Highly recommended if you're looking for exceptional food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Delicious and special for sure, but a bit snooty, and not as good as some of the other, less expensive three Michelin star restaurants in the city, which makes the price tag a bit harder to swallow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Completely unbelievable. Everything was perfect and exquisite. Could not recommend highly enough.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 10, 2017

It was the best dining experience in our life and we have eaten at amazing restaurants all over the world.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Per Se, what is there to say. It is superb! Yes, it is expensive, but it is an experience not just a meal. Everything was to perfection.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 6, 2017

No words can describe this fantastic dining experience. It is an experience that you have to try for yourself! It will leave you speechless! I am happy to say that the tasting menu was amazing and the staff takes pride of their duties to meet the diner's expectation and to present the chef's vision. service and food were superb!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Per Se is a once in a lifetime experience for most. I am grateful and fortunate enough to have experienced it twice. From the time you enter the beautiful garden foyer to the "waiting lounge" to table, the storyline stays the same. Elegant, romantic, upscale and just plain comfortable. The wine choices for me were excellent as is the someliier who has helped me both times find my perfect Pinot Noir. The waiter is not just a waiter, he is a close friend excited about sharing Chef's latest dish with you. Never rushed, always comfortable and special. The Maitre'd is courteous, as she is friendly and helpful. THE FOOD is in my humble opinion sublime.
Tastes JUMP off the tastebuds throughout the mouth screaming I AM ART I AM ART! Nothing displeased me, nothing was "weird " tasting and everything was amazing.
If you have one night in the year where you have some extra cash to spend and want a great dinner that takes over 3 hours make a reservation at Per Se. You wont be sorry .....

Tags: Scenic View, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Romantic, Private Room, Quiet Conversation
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 5, 2017

if there was an accolade greater than outstanding, we would rate it that way - this was a birthday dinner and the Per Se waitstaff outdid themselves and food was incredible, wine pairing a must. Thank you, Per Se

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Elegant meal with exceptional staff. Per Se is tops in the region for food and overall experience. The excitement in the air is contagious.

Tags: Hot Spot, Private Room, Outstanding Value, Fireplace, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Historic, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Cozy, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 4, 2017

I was entirely overwhelmed by this incredible culinary experience last weekend. I'm still sorting it out!

The hubby surprised me for my birthday with a whirlwind NYC weekend complete with my first Michelin 3 star restaurant experience. I was completely overcome. However, I made sure to pace myself and keep an open mind about trying things.

Per Se is situated up a few escalators in the posh NYC mall. (Make reservations a month early!) Once you arrive, you are greeted cordially and seated promptly in the lovely understated sophistication of a cosmopolitan style dining room. Every large and small comfort is considered, for example placing a small padded stool next to you for your purse.

Then the prix fixe menu arrives. It had happy birthday Tami printed right on it (spelled correctly!)
The hubby ordered for us, as I was utterly confused! We opted for a half bottle of a robust Italian brunello wine, which was set up in a decanter with our meal.

The staff perform what is best described as a "perfectly choreographed presentation". The timing must be perfect. MAKE SURE YOU PLAN TIME to enjoy the "full production"!! I suggest over two hours. These folks take your dining experience very seriously!! Give them the time to do it.

The time flew by as course after course melted into a blur of birthday bliss. Just when you think nothing else can top what you've just tried, think again. Wow factor to the tenth degree! It was almost scary how perfectly the courses were executed. These people know fine food and fine dining. It's elevated here to the highest peak.

My best advice is this-pace ourselves. I made sure not to finish all the courses (especially breads, some meats) so I could enjoy sampling the sumptuous desserts. Check their online photos for menu and food course particulars. Yes, the price tag is big, but it is definitely a bucket list experience. In my humble opinion, Per Se is "as good as it gets".

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Worth the hype and a great meal. Our best, in fact. It is pricey, particularly when you add in the wine pairing (which we'd highly recommend), but you know that going in and don't let that take away from a great experience. The staff is knowledgeable, friendly and attentive, but not in an over bearing way. It was a comfortable experience with a great view over Columbus Circle. Worth every penny!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Amazingggg a dinner you or your wallet will never forget but well worth it. Food atmosphere ambience service incredible.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 28, 2017

we were there for a very special occasion and the staff treated us like royalty! the food was some of the best I've ever had. will make it a must go to every time I'm in NYC!

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 27, 2017

We are still glowing and raving about the food and our overall experience at Per Se. Our waiters, ALL of them, could not have been more attentive, and helpful. We chatted up several of them, and we shared some culinary experiences with them that we all had in common. Then they invited us into the kitchen to see how they work...and offered to take our picture, as well! How can we begin to say which was better...the service or the food? Both were outstanding, a night to remember! Thank you, Per Se!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We were very excited for Per Se and we had a fantastic time!!! The service was excellent, the description of each meal !! All the dishes were superb; the combination of flavors were more than delicious, impossible to describe. Among our favorites, the royal kaluga caviar, the combination of ingredients in the crispy hass avocado (unbelievable), rib eye of elysian fields farm's lamb wow, the deconstructed carrot cake, frozen cappuccino; every dish was wonderful! My son and his girlfriend said the wine was fantastic. OMG the room and view were divine! We thank the Per Se team for helping us celebrate our special occasion in such a memorable way.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Private Room, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Exceptional experience in dining. Calm surroundings and attentive service allows for a complete appreciation of food and wine.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 26, 2017

My son gave me this silver card as a gift. What an amazing experience..now I see how this restaurant is the best rated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Eating at Per Se is like being on a fluffy cloud; decadent eating, beautiful surroundings, and a quietness that allows one to be present with each bite.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Per Se is an expensive restaurant.
But you know that in advance
The 5 course lunch was of the highest quality
No smoke or curling stuff you did not recognize
Limited portions, but top quality bites
Empatic service
Good wines by the glass
I come back here every two or three years

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 22, 2017

An experience you can't oversell with words. If you can't find joy while here, then I feel sorry for you. Fantastic dishes with the highest quality ingredients, provided by the best staff possible. Couldn't recommend more highly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Was a wonderful experience and the service was amazing. We were interested in the truffle precession (which we did not order) and asked our waiter about it and to satisfy our curiosity they have us our own truffle precession and sampler. We were also given a tour of the kitchen and other dining spaces!

Food service and atmosphere were unlike anything we had experienced before. It was really a unique experience that I'm very grateful for.

Tim

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Vegan, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (London)·Dined on February 21, 2017

We really had been looking foreward to visiting Per Se, but have to admit, that we were quite disappointed.
When you pay around $ 1300 for two people, you should expect the absolute sublime. We did not experience that last monday. (2/20)
The iconic cone with salmon tartare was very nice. "Oysters and pearls" also a very good dish. The duck foie gras torchon strangely tasteless, not a trace of salt or pepper - the freshly baked brioche perfect. But the supplement of $ 30 in a $ 325 menu is ridicules.
The halibut was overcooked, so was the carrots in the bland "barigoule emulsion".
The butter poached lobster was tough and stringy. The quail breast with chicories, mandarines and pistachio quite forgettable. The tagliatelle with parmesan and truffles was - well, - tagliatelle with parmesan and truffles. The supplement of $ 125 (!!) is offensive.
Back on track again with the 48-hour braised beef - very tasty dish. But a bit too late...
The ice-cold cheese came with a soggy-oily "panisse", some pickled peppers and eggplant. A very strange accompaniment.
The desserts were nice - but couldn't save the evening.
The service were very uneven - some waiters were kind and helpfull, some were quite amateurish.
All together an uninspiring and totally overpriced evening.

Tags: Scenic View
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 20, 2017

What can I say? Per Se has earned its three Michelin stars

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The service was excellent as usual, the food was not. Understanding the type of restaurant this is we were expecting the bill to be high compared to any other restaurant in Manhattan. Even though the tasting menu allows you to substitute one item from another the selection did not allow you to enjoy most of the meal. The cost for dinner with being comped on the two drinks we had because our fish was not good and definitely tasted like it was not fresh, the bill for two of us came to $1,100 before the tip. Had the food been better tasting it would not have been half as bad and I would not have minded the final cost of $1,400 for dinner. This time around the dinner was way over priced and not worth it in any way.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 18, 2017

I received the Silver Experience gift card as a gift from my job. Naturally, I regifted it to my parents for their anniversary because Per Se is a bit too fancy for the likes of me and I wanted my parents to experience dining in a 5 star restaurant. And a 5 star dining experience is exactly what they received. They raved on and on about how nice everyone was and how comfortable they were. They got a tour of the wine cellar and the kitchen. The food was phenomenal. My dad, who doesn't come to NY often, was really craving a hot dog but by the end of their meal he completely forgot about that hot dog. They were so happy. They even gave them parting gifts. Thank you to the staff at Per Se for making my parents feel like royalty.

Tags: Good for a Date, Molecular Gastronomy, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Per se is amazing. The food, the presentation, the service, the wine list. I'd eat here once a week if I lived in Manhattan. Thank you again

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.