About Per Se

10 Columbus Circle
New York, NY 10019
View Larger Map

Per Se, the much-anticipated restaurant from renowned chef Thomas Keller, debuted in February 2004 in the Time Warner Center complex at Columbus Circle. With striking views of Columbus Circle and Central Park, the dining room is a rare blend of open space and easy intimacy, discreet drama and understated luxury. Offering a 64-seat dining room, a 10-seat private dining room, a lounge, a bar and wine cellar, all presented in a palette of warm neutrals and natural elements, Per Se will refine and redefine the dining experience.



Per Se offers two prix fixe tasting menus a Tasting of Seasonal Vegetables or the Chef’s Tasting Menu, which changes daily.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, French

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Friday - Sunday: 11:30am - 1:00pm; Dinner Nightly: 5:30pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
60th Street

Dress Code:
Jacket Required

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 823-9335

Website:
http://www.perseny.com/

Parking Details:
Public Lots nearby and street parking is also available.

Public Transit:
1,A,C,B & D to 59th Street Columbus Circle

Executive Chef:
Thomas Keller

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar/Lounge, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Butter Poached Nova Scotia Lobster
Coffee and Doughnuts
Cheese Course
Oysters & Pearls
White Truffle Risotto
salmon cornette
Truffle Scallop
Assorted Breads
Lamb
Osetra Caviar Course
Pineapple
Atlantic Black Bass
white asparagus
Hawaiian Hearts of Peach Palm Salad
Cod
Box Of Chocolates
Salmon Tartare Coronets
The Creamy Herb Roasted Four Story Hill Farm’s Poussin
Banana Split
"Coffee And Donuts"
Caviar
Gruyere cheese gougeres
Black Truffle And Egg Custard
Foie Gras Plate
Foie gras Torchon
Terrine Of Hudson Valley Moulard Duck Foie Gras
côte d'agneau
Lobster Mitts
Salmon Tartare
Grape Soda
John Dory
Salade Forestiere
Cauliflower Panna Cotta
French Horn Mushroom En Croute
Deserts
:)
Oysters and Pearls
Dessert
 Foie Gras
Macaroons
Herb Roasted Four Story Hill Farm’s Poussin
Tapioca Pearls, Oysters, Caviar
Carrot Salad
Copper River Sturgeon
Vanilla Ice Cream And Mincedmeat
Portuguese Cuttlefish “Poêlé
Porkbelly
Potato Crusted Frog’s Leg
Shortbread Cookies
Warm Cheese Gougeres
Truffle Risotto
Poularde
Truffles In Humidor
Doughnuts And Coffee Ice Cream
Banana Palate Cleanser
Chocolates
A Few Truffle Shavings
Bread Basket
Chestnut And Chocolate
Red Wine For Tonight
Warm Bread Basket
"Torchon" Of Élevages Périgord Moulard Duck Foie Gras
Herb-Roasted “Poularde”
Pasta Simmering In A Rich Buttery Sauce With Walnuts
Coffee
Vegetables
Chilled Melon Soup
Lamb Lardons, Morels, Fava Beans, Mustard Greens
Forest Mushroom Agnolotti
Silvaner
Snake River Farms "Calotte de Bœuf Grilleè"
Assorted Petit Desserts
Tsar Imperial Osetra Caviar
Grilled Duck Breast
Beet Salad
Donuts
Butter poached lobster
Chevre
Diamond H Ranch Quail
course 9
couse 5 vegetarian
course 4 vegetarian
cocoa dusted filberts
course 9 vegetarian
Bone Marrow
Lobster Lasagne
Foie Gras Platter
King Crab Legs
White Truffles
Sake Soda
Liberty Farms Pekin Duck "Roti A La Broche"
Chocolate Birthday Cake
Truffles
course 6 vegetarian
Mini Macaroons
course 5
course 8
frozen coffee and doughnuts
course 7
course 8 vegetarian

Private Dining

The private dining room WEST at Per Se accommodates up to 72 guests for seated events or up to 120 guests for standing receptions.

Per Se Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.9

ambience

4.8

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
New York / Tri-State Area
Best Service
New York / Tri-State Area
American
New York / Tri-State Area
5 More
Best Overall
Manhattan
Best Food
Manhattan
Best Service
Manhattan
Best Ambiance
Manhattan
American
Manhattan
Best Restaurants in Columbus Circle ›

special occasion (150)
fit for foodies (120)
romantic (114)
See All
scenic view (103)
notable wine list (92)
great for lunch (20)
hot spot (17)
neighborhood gem (10)
good for groups (8)
great for outdoor dining (4)
late-night find (4)
great for brunch (3)
kid-friendly (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1313 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The best food, service and wines imagina ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

The best food, service and wines imaginable in a spectacular setting overlooking Columbus atop his statue and Central Park. Menu included a wide range of classic and innovative dishes served at a pace and size that let us enjoy, savor and appreciate them and understand where each ingredient came from. One highlight was the pastry chef created "flute" cake made for my wife's birthday-another was the attentive way the staff interacted with our son of 13 to make it a truly special and memorable experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Went there for wife's birthday celebrati ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

Went there for wife's birthday celebration with my kids. Wonderful food, atmosphere. Staff were well trained, very helpful and very friendly.

Of course it is costly but well worth it. Truly a five star experience. Well done.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We are Thomas Keller fans. We have tried ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined 5 days ago

We are Thomas Keller fans. We have tried to go to Per Se many times. We're from out of town, so options are limited. Lunch is a great alternative, so that is what we did. The tasting menu, 5 rather than 10 courses was great! There are two options, the chef's daily menu and a vegetarian one. I picked from both, which was great.

The service and knowledge of the servers is amazing. These people really want your experience to be great and memorable. They succeeded!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A treat for those special occasions. Chr ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined 6 days ago

A treat for those special occasions. Christopher is a great host and made the event pleasant. Worth the dough.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

PerSe is an icon It lived up to all of m ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

PerSe is an icon

It lived up to all of my grandest expectations

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best meals my wife and I have ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

One of the best meals my wife and I have had in quite some time. The service was impeccable and the food was fantastic. The staff were aware of our special occasion, and helped make it truly special. It is certainly a pricey meal, but to celebrate a something or someone special, I would highly recommend Per Se.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Impeccable service. Staff are knowledgea ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Impeccable service. Staff are knowledgeable, courteous and attentive.

Setting high standards in the industry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food, attentive service. Was j ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Excellent food, attentive service.

Was just a little put off by a screaming child in the dining area.

Tags: romance, special occasions, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Very good. Some of the courses a little ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Very good. Some of the courses a little weak for a three star Michelin restaurant. Service is included and tipping is optional which is good.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

An otherworldly experience atop the Time ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

An otherworldly experience atop the Time Warner Center. An oasis of decadent calm, which never exudes pretense or elitism. Service is perfection-- our interaction with each and every server was friendly and solicitous. The 10-course tasting menu doesn't disappoint except where least expected-- the "main course," a morel mushroom-accompanied slightly undercooked, flavorless veal dish. We'd wished the artisanal salt selection brought for the foie gras course had been left behind. Other than that minor flaw, we were transported for a few hours to sheer culinary perfection. At least until the check arrived.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

This was perfect from the time we steppe ...

 
 (Fayetteville)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

This was perfect from the time we stepped int he door until we left. The food is to die for.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All around fantastic service. Jet lag me ...

 
·Dined on July 16, 2016

All around fantastic service. Jet lag meant we couldn't enjoy the evening as much as we would've liked , but even then, a faultless and very personal experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As great as the food is, the timing was ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

As great as the food is, the timing was also perfect and the service is about and beyond. Each team member took time to communicate with us and to listen to us.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As Per Se carries the reputation of bein ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

As Per Se carries the reputation of being one of the best restaurants in NYC, my wife and I had talked for years about going. On it's surface, it lives up to the hype as a world class establishment and works HARD to deliver the goods. At times, service felt almost like sitting too close to a bees nest. Servers were buzzing back and forth from the table continuously bringing us the next thing during our chef's tasting dinner with the efficiency of delivering pollen to the nest. The food varied from very good to outrageously wonderful with a few true home runs in the mix.

After finally going, I would say that it has the reputation based on an incredible commitment to HIGH standards on all levels. This place feels like a piece of finely engineered industrial process, built to make the diners experience the glory of Chef Thomas Keller's years of refinement in the kitchen - ever reaching towards perfection. During our trip to NYC, we got to experience several other restaurants in the same class and this one was a clear step above the others. But one word of caution, be prepared for the check which also asks you to pay for the price of perfection.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value2

Incredible experience. Food was amazing! ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Incredible experience. Food was amazing!!! My wife needed gluten free options and they were easily accommodated without any compromise in flavor. Wine options were endless but the sommelier worked with each dish and made fantastic pairings.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The taster meal will definitely gets you ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

The taster meal will definitely gets you beyond full...everything went parfait!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Lives up to all the expectations. Went ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Lives up to all the expectations. Went for my wife's birthday and they made it memorable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went to Per Se for our daughter's six ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We went to Per Se for our daughter's sixteenth birthday and it was an incredible experience. We had a vegetarian tasting menu to die for. Each late was unique, beautiful and delicious. My husband had a vegan tasting menu who was equally good (very hard to find) the staff were exceptional. We loved it and can't wait to return

Tags: fit for foodies, romance, special occasions, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Like the food but don't think when you a ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Like the food but don't think when you are paying so much that there should not be so many supplements on the menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Impeccable food and service. Impressive ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Impeccable food and service. Impressive wine list and each course was wonderful. The tagliatelle was brilliant and complimented with a very generous amount of truffles. Great presentation and overall dining experience. Exceeded high expectations..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

If you love the art of dining, like I d ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

If you love the art of dining, like I do, you must try Per Se. They do everything right and bravo to the chef with his pieces of Art. Loved our second in command sever Jamie. One thing I would recommend was a wine flight with each course , I didn't see it on the menu and wasn't offered it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Food was amazing and service was above a ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Food was amazing and service was above and beyond. Definitely a highlight in NYC.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I chose the vegetarian side of the menu ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

I chose the vegetarian side of the menu and the flavors and presentation were remarkably creative. Service was attentive yet subtle. A very nice evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

If you are looking for a meticulously pr ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

If you are looking for a meticulously prepared meal that is presented with absolute perfection, Per Se is for you. If your palette has standards unreachable by most chefs, then Thomas Keller and Per Se is for you. If you want a spectacular meal, but more than that, an evening event of warmth, beauty - indeed embrace, then Per Se is for you.

Last night was our first experience with Per Se and I must confess, no detail was left unattended.

They say on their website that they don't want to "impress" you, they want to make you happy. I thought that was odd until we arrived for dinner. But soon, we recognized what they meant.

Per Se, you guys made us very happy. Thanks for a wonderful evening!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The most expensive restaurant meal I hav ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

The most expensive restaurant meal I have had to date BUT the most exotic "theatrical meal" I have had to date. My wife has an allium allergy and in a seamless manner the restaurant modified/recreated every course to fully accommodate this. If you can afford it then it is hard to beat!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romance, special occasions, scenic view, neighbourhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Per Se is like getting a massage, taking ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Per Se is like getting a massage, taking a nap on a cloud, and eating a great meal...all rolled into one. The staff is professional, nice, knowledgable -and boy do they know how to pamper you. Every part of Per Se is a pleasure and a gift.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is fabulous. Even though there is ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Food is fabulous. Even though there is little incentive to choose food gras and wagyu with a pay-up in addition to pork jowl- the whole sequence just becomes too rich (I was never a fan of the wagyu, not supposed to be eaten like that)- I want to reiterate that each dish is well prepared and it is hard to find a better sequence than this in NYC. The service feels slightly cold and indifferent. They don't remember much from your prior visits. Not a problem for me since everybody prefers different level of privacy, but may bother some guests. Having said all this, this is a fantastic venue and highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

My husband and I enjoyed the Vegetable a ...

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

My husband and I enjoyed the Vegetable and the Chef's Tasting menus for lunch. Multiple courses, each devised that very day (so every day the menu is different) ; each plate was perfectly prepared -- flavors and textures perfectly balanced, each morsel or leaf or slice hand selected and placed like gems on an intricate brocade fit for a queen. Sauces, broths, seasonings, herbs were all so incredibly delectable. The service was friendly but highly professional, and the simple mid century décor with a view of Columbus Circle and Central Park made the meal all the more special. Our only (hardly negative) comment is that the sommelier was a little less friendly and polite, but he was certainly not rude in any way and the wines he selected for us were lovely. Will definitely return to this paragon of restaurants!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

food is good, ambiance is good . price i ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

food is good, ambiance is good . price is too much. so many desserts that it became overwhelming. the service is excellent

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

Have dined at Per Se several times previ ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Have dined at Per Se several times previously and decided to celebrate two college graduations there recently. Wow! We had an unbelievable and unforgettable experience: the menu was lovely, the food was amazing, cocktails and wine superb, and the service was perfect. The staff made our special celebration even more special and we had a truly wonderful evening. There were many fab moments but the chocolate box at the end of the meal and the presentation of it was unique and memorable; the selection of salts also was quite unique and memorable. It was a real challenge to decide on our favorite courses! The only critique I'd make is the cost of the total experience was quite high when supplemental charges for certain courses were factored in. It was an expensive evening, but for us, well worth it. Highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Dining at Per Se was a wonderful experie ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Dining at Per Se was a wonderful experience that definitely exceeded our expectations. The staff was excellent and attentive, and went above and beyond to make sure everything was perfect for our lunch.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was perfection. I told them I ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Everything was perfection. I told them I only get to see my boyfriend a few times a year and that this dining experience was every celebration in one, and they truly cared. From the reservationist confirming my reservation asking questions and gaining intimate details, to the employees thanking us as we exited, every plate and person exemplified excellence. I could not have asked for anything better than what they gave. This place is the epitome of fine dining.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As usual, the view, ambiance and service ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

As usual, the view, ambiance and services were outstanding. I recommend highly for those demanding diners.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a bucket list experience for us ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

This was a bucket list experience for us and coincided with celebrating my daughter winning a national championship. It was all we hoped for and more. Incredible. And they were so engaging and congratulatory with my daughter and wonderful on the non alcoholic drinks for her. I can't say enough. I'd recommend going with an empty stomach !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Since I am a foreigner and I've realized ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Since I am a foreigner and I've realized that restaurants in America is all too salty for me. Well Per Se wasn't an exception. All the dish that I got ( vegetable tasting ) was too salty for me execpt the first appetizer one. Overall, the service was great, desert was great ( too sweet but those chocolates and donuts...wow ) and the atmosphere was also great. Since Per Se is very open to any requests, I will ask them to put less salt in our food when I have a chance to visit next time. Great experience in here. Recommend.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Whilst this is clearly fine dining at a ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Whilst this is clearly fine dining at a high level, Per Se failed to make us feel special in a way that other lesser starred restaurants have done.

Some of the dishes we tasted were truly excellent, we just expecting to be wowed and that wasn't exactly the case.

The wine selection we were offered by the glass was less than inspiring and no full wine pairing was offered, as would be normal for a restaurant of this calibre.

The service ranged from excellent with one gentleman really taking time to make us feel welcome, to the faintly disinterested.

Would I go there again? No, I can't say I would.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasions, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The service was really FANTASTIC as well ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

The service was really FANTASTIC as well as the food.

During my this stay in NY, I had dinning at three 3*** restaurants and this was certainly the very best.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Probably the best service I've ever expe ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Probably the best service I've ever experienced. Food was fantastic, overall very impressed.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Better every time we go A whole new lea ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Better every time we go

A whole new league

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went to this restaurant for my Birthd ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

We went to this restaurant for my Birthday. They made my day. The food is no question the best in NYC. The view is spectacular. The service is unbelievably pleasant. By far the best dining experience I've ever had. I got a menu with my name and my birthday on it. They really did phenomenal job. I am speechless.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.