About Per Se

10 Columbus Circle
New York, NY 10019
View Larger Map

Per Se, the much-anticipated restaurant from renowned chef Thomas Keller, debuted in February 2004 in the Time Warner Center complex at Columbus Circle. With striking views of Columbus Circle and Central Park, the dining room is a rare blend of open space and easy intimacy, discreet drama and understated luxury. Offering a 64-seat dining room, a 10-seat private dining room, a lounge, a bar and wine cellar, all presented in a palette of warm neutrals and natural elements, Per Se will refine and redefine the dining experience.



Per Se offers two prix fixe tasting menus a Tasting of Seasonal Vegetables or the Chef’s Tasting Menu, which changes daily.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, French

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Friday - Sunday: 11:30am - 1:00pm; Dinner Nightly: 5:30pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
60th Street

Dress Code:
Jacket Required

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 823-9335

Website:
http://www.perseny.com/

Parking Details:
Public Lots nearby and street parking is also available.

Public Transit:
1,A,C,B & D to 59th Street Columbus Circle

Executive Chef:
Thomas Keller

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar/Lounge, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Butter Poached Nova Scotia Lobster
Coffee and Doughnuts
Cheese Course
Oysters & Pearls
White Truffle Risotto
salmon cornette
Truffle Scallop
Assorted Breads
Lamb
Osetra Caviar Course
Salmon Tartare Coronets
Pineapple
Atlantic Black Bass
white asparagus
Hawaiian Hearts of Peach Palm Salad
Cod
Box Of Chocolates
The Creamy Herb Roasted Four Story Hill Farm’s Poussin
"Coffee And Donuts"
Banana Split
Gruyere cheese gougeres
Caviar
Black Truffle And Egg Custard
Foie Gras Plate
Foie gras Torchon
Terrine Of Hudson Valley Moulard Duck Foie Gras
côte d'agneau
Lobster Mitts
John Dory
Salade Forestiere
Salmon Tartare
Grape Soda
Cauliflower Panna Cotta
French Horn Mushroom En Croute
Deserts
:)
Oysters and Pearls
Dessert
 Foie Gras
Macaroons
Herb Roasted Four Story Hill Farm’s Poussin
Tapioca Pearls, Oysters, Caviar
Carrot Salad
Copper River Sturgeon
Vanilla Ice Cream And Mincedmeat
Portuguese Cuttlefish “Poêlé
Porkbelly
Potato Crusted Frog’s Leg
Shortbread Cookies
Warm Cheese Gougeres
Truffle Risotto
Poularde
Truffles In Humidor
Doughnuts And Coffee Ice Cream
Banana Palate Cleanser
Chocolates
A Few Truffle Shavings
Bread Basket
Chestnut And Chocolate
Red Wine For Tonight
Warm Bread Basket
"Torchon" Of Élevages Périgord Moulard Duck Foie Gras
Herb-Roasted “Poularde”
Pasta Simmering In A Rich Buttery Sauce With Walnuts
Coffee
Vegetables
Chilled Melon Soup
Lamb Lardons, Morels, Fava Beans, Mustard Greens
Forest Mushroom Agnolotti
Silvaner
Snake River Farms "Calotte de Bœuf Grilleè"
Assorted Petit Desserts
Tsar Imperial Osetra Caviar
Grilled Duck Breast
Beet Salad
Donuts
Butter poached lobster
Chevre
Diamond H Ranch Quail
course 9
couse 5 vegetarian
course 4 vegetarian
cocoa dusted filberts
course 9 vegetarian
Bone Marrow
Lobster Lasagne
Foie Gras Platter
King Crab Legs
White Truffles
Sake Soda
Liberty Farms Pekin Duck "Roti A La Broche"
Chocolate Birthday Cake
Truffles
course 6 vegetarian
Mini Macaroons
course 5
course 8
frozen coffee and doughnuts
course 7
course 8 vegetarian

Private Dining

The private dining room WEST at Per Se accommodates up to 72 guests for seated events or up to 120 guests for standing receptions.

Per Se Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.9

ambience

4.8

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
New York / Tri-State Area
Best Service
New York / Tri-State Area
American
New York / Tri-State Area
5 More
Best Overall
Manhattan
Best Food
Manhattan
Best Service
Manhattan
Best Ambiance
Manhattan
American
Manhattan
Best Restaurants in Columbus Circle ›

special occasion (153)
fit for foodies (116)
romantic (115)
See All
scenic view (108)
notable wine list (95)
great for lunch (26)
hot spot (18)
neighborhood gem (11)
great for outdoor dining (7)
good for groups (7)
late-night find (6)
great for brunch (4)
kid-friendly (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1274 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Whilst this is clearly fine dining at a ...

Dined 3 days ago

Whilst this is clearly fine dining at a high level, Per Se failed to make us feel special in a way that other lesser starred restaurants have done. Some of the dishes we tasted were truly excellent, we just expecting to be wowed and that wasn't exactly the case. The wine selection we were offered by the glass was less than inspiring and no full wine pairing was offered, as would be normal for a restaurant of this calibre. The service ranged from excellent with one gentleman really taking time to make us feel welcome, to the faintly disinterested. Would I go there again? No, I can't say I would.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasions, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Probably the best service I've ever expe ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

Probably the best service I've ever experienced. Food was fantastic, overall very impressed.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Better every time we go A whole new lea ...

vip
Dined on June 22, 2016

Better every time we go A whole new league

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We went to this restaurant for my Birthd ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

We went to this restaurant for my Birthday. They made my day. The food is no question the best in NYC. The view is spectacular. The service is unbelievably pleasant. By far the best dining experience I've ever had. I got a menu with my name and my birthday on it. They really did phenomenal job. I am speechless.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely amazing... It's a special occ ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

Absolutely amazing... It's a special occasion kind of place but it is absolutely worth every penny...

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service were incredible. W ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

The food and service were incredible. While all the dishes were good some were outstanding. The Oysters and Pearls were unbelievably tasty as was the Duck Foie Gras and Pigeon. Everything was great but those were my favorite. The service was excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

very personalised, vibrantwith high qual ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

very personalised, vibrantwith high quality services and selection of food

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service3

I felt like the waiter was snobbish and ...

vip
Dined on June 18, 2016

I felt like the waiter was snobbish and not very friendly. Stiff staff. Update: manager called to apologize and was genuinely concerned about our experience. Appreciate very much his desire to ensure all dining experiences at Per Se are nothing but perfect.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing, could not recommend highly enou ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Amazing, could not recommend highly enough. Food and service was outstanding. We had the 9 course vegetarian tasting menu, the servers were so knowledgeable on each course and the food itself was so interesting, flavoursome and different. We booked for our wedding dinner, it was just the two of us but the staff made the night so special and did everything they could to make the meal and experience unforgettable.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious! Very pricy for e ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

The food was delicious! Very pricy for everything.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

I would never recommend per se's $325 ta ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

I would never recommend per se's $325 tasting menu. It failed at so many different levels. With such a hefty price tag, 3 out of the 8 courses included in the menu were terrible, the dessert was mediocre at best, the rest of the dishes were pretty good to be fair. Still some dishes were made of extremely cheap ingredients, potato salad for example. Overall it was a disappointment

food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely dining experience as always!

Dined on June 12, 2016

Lovely dining experience as always!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Per Se was the highlight of our trip to ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

Per Se was the highlight of our trip to New York! We went for a chef's tasting menu at lunch. The staff was knowledgeable and attentive, the service was impeccable, the food was absolutely divine. Each table is set up so you have the most amazing view of Central Park while you dine with wonderful ambiance. A highly recommended adventure for any foodie that is well worth the price - I couldn't have asked for a better fine dining experience!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

It was the best meal this trip in New Yo ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

It was the best meal this trip in New York. Excellent food and the service was impeccable. Highly recommended.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very satisfied thank you great service d ...

Dined on June 8, 2016

Very satisfied thank you great service delicious food

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent taste, impeccable presentatio ...

Dined on June 8, 2016

Excellent taste, impeccable presentation and outstanding service. Undervalued in most of the rankings worldwide. Top 5 no questions about it!

food5
ambience5
service5

Food, service, and ambiance is incredibl ...

Dined on June 8, 2016

Food, service, and ambiance is incredible!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Flat out, the best service I've ever received

vip
Dined on June 7, 2016

The wait staff was incredibly professional and warm and kind. I loved them; I seriously wish we'd be friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Met expectations and then some

Dined on June 6, 2016

As expected, the food and service were exceptional. One of our party did not like one of the elements of one course and they swapped it with another equally complementary element. The atmosphere is great - not reverential with a good buzz across the restaurant. And the tins of cookies when leaving were a delicious surprise.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasions, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant - amazing service

Dined on June 6, 2016

I came here with my girlfriend for our 8th anniversary. From the moment we walked in, we were treated like royalty. They even personalized the menu for us. The food was great, the service was impeccable, and the whole experience was unforgettable. Well done!

Tags: romantic, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfection on a plate

Dined on June 5, 2016

I wish I could name all of the staff who made our visit so very special but all were so welcoming, professional, knowledgeable and clearly committed to and proud of their work at Per Se that the list would take all of this review! FRom the wait staff who offered us a complimentary champagne after our fraught journey, through to the kind, knowledgeable sommelier, Sean, who shared his knowledge and chose the delicious wines we had, to Nancy, the superb maitre de, all staff were just the nicest, most pleasant, calm people to guide us through our meal. Thank you, all. The food though was, of course, the highlight. We had the nine course vegetable tasting menu and it was visually beautiful, each dish carefully balanced, thoughtfully flavoured and so, so delicious. From the beginning amuse bouche to the very last hand crafted chocolate we were treated to an elegant combination of ingredients and dishes which were fresh, bright, artistic and just superb. Yes, I would recommend Per Se in a heartbeat.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Still The Best!

vip
Dined on June 5, 2016

Having been to 5/6 three star Michelin NYC restaurants, 6/10 two star, 19 one star ones, Per Se is still the best! From the initial welcome back if you've been there, to telling little tidbits about the menu, the just the right amount of engagement and conversation from the staff, and of course the amazing food, and multi dessert dishes and take aways. The staff were not insistent on ordering any additional items as other reviews have stated. All dishes were well presented and service is still the best in NYC. If only there were things to celebrate monthly ....

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Impeccable service. Lovely cocktails. De ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

Impeccable service. Lovely cocktails. Delicious food presented like works of art. A simply wonderful experience.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best experience ever

Dined on June 3, 2016

I'm a chef so obviously Per Se was on my New York bucket list! Alex, our waiter, and the rest of the front of house team were so welcoming and accommodating (my niece had food poisoning previous to coming so they sorted out lighter food for her) my sister ever arranged for us to visit the kitchen! and we got an amazing bag of goodies to remember the night. Unbelievably awesome evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

What a treat!!!

Dined on June 3, 2016

We had the most fabulous meal. The staff were friendly and informative. We couldn't recommend it highly enough. It is pricy- so it's a special treat- but was fantastic!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Delicious Food, Great Staff

Dined on June 2, 2016

The food was delicious, every course was great, oysters and pearls are the bomb and the main course (I had the lamb) was something special. The staff was super kind and they congratulate me and my date for our birthdays multiple times, they gave us our menus and a bag with a booklet with details about the food we had, cookies and chocolates at the end.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

It was an amazing experience! It's so wo ...

Dined on May 31, 2016

It was an amazing experience! It's so worth to try... It was so thoughtful that they made a customized menu with chef's autograph after dinner. Also I had a kitchen tour and took a photo with a chef.

food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic!! They deserve the 3 stars Mic ...

Dined on May 31, 2016

Fantastic!! They deserve the 3 stars Michelin.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simply put... outstanding.

Dined on May 31, 2016

I have dined at French Laundry and thought perhaps this was a repeat. Only the 1st two dishes were alike and thereafter a complete different presentation. The food was phenomenal capturing different tastes and textures that we both enjoyed and will remember. Service was absolute at its top and received full attention and top detail throughout the evening.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Was really looking forward to this exper ...

Dined on May 30, 2016

Was really looking forward to this experience but I think Per Se is no longer what it was. The tasting menu of 8 dishes was decent, although only about 1-2 dishes were impressive, the rest just ok. The service was robotic and professional but not particularly warm or personal, didn't like it at all, although I saw other tables receiving a bit more charm, perhaps it was the team of servers that we got. The environment was stiff and boring, like from another era. I heard Per Se was just bumped from the top 50 restaurants in the world list and I can definitely see why. It feels old and stale, like Chef Thomas Keller just keeps the wheels turning but the creativity and innovation is gone. And at almost a thousand dollars for two, it's no small price for a place that got stuck in time and is just riding along on it's past fame. Won't be returning, too many fresh, creative and delicious new places to try (for example Atera, which is a far superior dining experience).

food5
ambience5
service5

First visit and it was spectacular! Four ...

vip
Dined on May 29, 2016

First visit and it was spectacular! Four of us had the nine course tasting menu. We will be back. Highly recommend this restaurant.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best meal you will ever have in your LIFE

vip
Dined on May 28, 2016

Went to a few diners in New York and by far the best was Per se. If you have a chance to go you really should. The food is amazing beyond belief. The service is outstanding. They are polite but never share too much and are so professional, it's always about your experience and never about them or anything extraneous. The wine list is extensive. We got a tour of the kitchen and it was very special.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

This is really a restaurant that manages ...

vip
Dined on May 28, 2016

This is really a restaurant that manages to combine excellent food with outstanding service and great setting .

food5
ambience5
service5

Superb!! Celebrated our anniversary at P ...

vip
Dined on May 28, 2016

Superb!! Celebrated our anniversary at Per Se. Exceeded our expectations. Had the 5 course tasting menu, they accommodated my pescetarian preference and customized a menu for me while my husband had the regular tasting menu. Beautiful presentation, impeccable service, complimentary Schramsberg Blanc de Blancs, amazing dessert, and treats to go. I had been to French Laundry one month ago and the experience was comparable. A very special restaurant. Looking forward to visiting again!

food5
ambience5
service5

Everything is absolutely perfect at Per ...

vip
Dined on May 27, 2016

Everything is absolutely perfect at Per Se. Always. From start to finish.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great food great lunch . Sitting overloo ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

great food great lunch . Sitting overlooking Central Park while enjoying excellent food and service

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best meal on the planet?

Dined on May 27, 2016

I've been to both Daniel and 11 Madison Park when I've passed through Manhattan; both good but Per Se is in a class beyond. A most pleasant and knowledgeable, and not snooty, service staff (compared to Daniel) and a beautiful view (compared to 11 MP) overlooking Columbus Circle. Tasting menu exciting, save for the "PAVÉ" OF MEDITERRANEAN TURBOT; English Peas, "Soubise," Romaine Lettuce and Australian Black Truffles; I didn't think the various flavors went together perfectly, nor did each stand out sufficiently on its own. The pork jowl and miyazaki wagy, in contrast, were the best single pork and beef dishes I've ever eaten. The daily menu published on their website for the day we visited was not exactly what was on for lunch; this is hardly a problem since one gets a reservation a month in advance and menus change daily. Rather than a wine pairing we chose a white burgundy ($200) which complemented everything well. As for 'assorted desserts'. Our chauffeur (what you might call the employee who was our principal guide through the meal) said we wouldn't be disappointed, that they would cover the table. They did indeed. No idea how many thousands of calories. And on leaving we were given a goody bag of yet more sweets and a booklet detailing where the meal's ingredients were sourced. And the chauffeur and his colleagues welcomed us out as if we were their only guests. This was not the most expensive meal I've ever eaten ( The Fat Duck, 11 Madison Park, Daniel in that order cost more); for quality, presentation, personal touch and view, it must however rate as the best value. Absolutely extraordinary. Have you ever been to a restaurant where the salt display contains a half dozen salts (the usual suspects, plus one black and another red?

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Per Se although quite expensive, is a ge ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

Per Se although quite expensive, is a gem. The restaurant has an outsanding service level and presents a really well balanced menu. They keep surprising their guests every minute. The only down points that we notice is that they require gentlemen to wear jackets and we were not advised about (but they do provide it when needed) and besides I have advised by phone that a few guests didn´t eat pork, they offered pork. But they also had a backup plan. But NONE of those small "episodes" were a problem as they have a really well prepared team.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and the price

Dined on May 25, 2016

The food and the price

food5
ambience5
service5

Wagyu steak was sublime, could taste the ...

vip
Dined on May 24, 2016

Wagyu steak was sublime, could taste the farm in it, view over Central Park treetops was outstanding, service perfect. Will have to go back to check out veg tasting menu!

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.