About Pepper Tree Restaurant

888 W Moreno
Colorado Springs, CO 80905
View Larger Map

The Pepper Tree restaurant has been a tradition for fine dining in Colorado Springs since 1983. Serving steaks, seafood, lamb, veal and more, the Pepper Tree is legendary for impeccable cuisine, ambiance, service and breathtaking views of the city. The Pepper Tree"s signature Mango Chutney Pepper Steak and other specialities, including Chateaubriand, Steak Diane, and English Dover Sole, are prepared or finished tableside.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
8th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(719) 471-4888

Website:
http://www.peppertreecs.com/

Executive Chef:
Kenneth Leech

Private Party Facilities:
Please call for more info on renting out the Pepper Tree Restaurant.

Private Party Contact:
Neil Levy: 7194714888

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Pepper Tree Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Denver / Colorado
Steak
Denver / Colorado
Best Overall
Colorado Springs
6 More
Best Food
Colorado Springs
Best Service
Colorado Springs
Notable Wine List
Colorado Springs
Romantic
Colorado Springs
Special Occasion
Colorado Springs
Most Booked
Colorado Springs
Best Restaurants in Colorado Springs ›

special occasion (82)
romantic (74)
scenic view (65)
See All
fit for foodies (30)
notable wine list (27)
good for groups (17)
neighborhood gem (14)
late-night find (3)
great for lunch (3)
great for brunch (2)
vibrant bar scene (1)
hot spot (1)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
915 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We returned to The Pepper Tree once agai ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined 4 days ago

We returned to The Pepper Tree once again and were, as usual, happy and content. The steaks are always great; the desserts wonderful and the staff is fantastic (they have yet to fail on a food or wine recommendation). The Pepper Tree is a special place and we love it!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time dining at the p ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined 7 days ago

This was our first time dining at the peppertree. The food was fantastic. My wife and I both had the peppersteak. They were cooked perfectly as we ordered. The service was also perfect. We had everything we needed without waiting or having to ask but the servers were not over-attentive or annoying either. Highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Have been for anniversaries and the food ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined 7 days ago

Have been for anniversaries and the food is consistent and the wait staff great. This experience is a fine dining experience that is not rushed and worth the money spent.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had the sea bass and it was cooked to ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

I had the sea bass and it was cooked to perfection. My girl had the 6oz Steak Diane and it was so tender and delicious. They cooked the steak at your table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

A great meal. I used to love the fried p ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

A great meal. I used to love the fried parsley, but this time it tasted like old frying oil. My friend and I requested a larger serving. After returning home we experienced G I upset.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was delicious. I had the Pepper ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

The food was delicious. I had the Pepper Steak and my wife had the Steak Diane. The wine matched well and the ambiance was nice. All around a greal dining experience..

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My Favorite Colorado Springs Fine Food R ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

My Favorite Colorado Springs Fine Food Restaurant.

The Food is Great..As is the Service.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Your presentation and staff were, as alw ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Your presentation and staff were, as always, outstanding. It was a birthday dinner...one of four ...that our daughter will remember fondly, especially for your pepper steak with mango chutney.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Once again The Pepper Tree was a delight ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Once again The Pepper Tree was a delight. We went for our anniversary dinner and were not disappointed! We we were well taken care of and immensely enjoyed the specials of the evening.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Pepper Tree is always a wonderful di ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The Pepper Tree is always a wonderful dining experience. The food and table side service are outstanding. It is a gem, especially for a romantic or special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

It was our first time here and boy am I ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

It was our first time here and boy am I glad. After days of researching and reading reviews I decided to take the plunge and make a reservation. We came to celebrate my boyfriend's birthday. The food was amazing as well as the staff. We cannot wait to come back. It was worth every penny and then some. I got the steak Diane and it was AMAZING!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A wonderful place. The food is superb a ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

A wonderful place. The food is superb and the service impeccable. Perhaps the best high-end restaurant in Colorado Springs. We have not found better.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

the pepper tree is always a great experi ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

the pepper tree is always a great experience. we weren't rushed to leave; the service was outstanding; the food was incredible. very accommodating

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Second time here for a romantic dinner w ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Second time here for a romantic dinner with my wife. Excellent both times! Will be back again.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I have been to this restaurant several t ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

I have been to this restaurant several times throughout the years to celebrate special occasions with various family members. However it has been more than one year since our last visit. My husband and I were celebrating our wedding anniversary. Even though there were very few other guests, it was evident that we were not one of the favorite tables. Being the female half of an interracial couple I try not to be overly sensitive. But I doubt we will return.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Delicious. Highly recommend the Steak D ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Delicious. Highly recommend the Steak Diane and the Pepper Steak. Specialty martinis are very good as is the Bananas Foster.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The pepper steak entrée was excellent, c ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

The pepper steak entrée was excellent, cooked as requested with a wonderful curried chutney. I found the house salad disappointing. It was to be served with a blue cheese dressing, but it was so light as to be almost flavorless. Another strike against the salad for me was that it contained olives - a flavor and texture that I do not like. It would have been helpful to know that was in the salad before I ordered it.

The wait staff was excellent and accommodating.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Overall it was a very good dining experi ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Overall it was a very good dining experience. We loved portions of the meal being prepared next to our table and the pepper steak was excellent!

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful food! Cesar salad prepared at ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Wonderful food! Cesar salad prepared at the table as well as some of the steaks and desserts. Salmon was wonderful. This is not an inexpensive meal but worth the cost.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The meal we had was excellent. The food ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

The meal we had was excellent. The food, service and ambiance were all outstanding and we had another memorable experience at the Pepper Tree. The staff was courteous and knowledgeable and they helped make the evening a wonderful success.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is our favorite steak restaurant. ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

This is our favorite steak restaurant. The food and service is always excellent.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Although the Pepper Tree was a nice plac ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Although the Pepper Tree was a nice place with good food, the service was odd. We had three different people tending to our table and it was inconsistent. Also, the reviews of a "scenic view" are a little off. While the windows do overlook the city, there is also a giant electrical fence in that view. Also, the restaurant is in a strange location and the building looks a little sketchy from the outside. Overall, the food was good but menu selection is limited. I will most likely not be returning to this restaurant for business meals in the future.

Tags: good for groups, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Hubby and I were visiting Manitou Spring ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Hubby and I were visiting Manitou Springs for our anniversary, and a friend who lives locally recommended it. While the interior and exterior could use a good spruce relative to the cost of the meal, the food was excellent, especially the steaks which were so tender you could literally cut them with a butter knife. Go for the steaks.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The restaurant is dated. We were a party ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

The restaurant is dated. We were a party of six and all ordered the signature peppersteak. At best, the food was ok. The server was a little pushy and opinionated. I probably wouldn't choose this restaurant on another trip to Colorado Springs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

Very Good For Special Occasions

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

I would rate it overall very good but not outstanding. Food was excellent, however, when you pay $50 for a steak, I would't expect to pay extra for blue cheese chips on a salad and sour cream on a baked potato at such a high class restaurant. Also, portion of wine by the glass was very skimpy. Steak and service was excellent as usual.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Lost it's edge

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Was one of our favorites but now over priced Food and service no where it was

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value1

You can't beat the meat.

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

That was the best steak I've had in a long time! Great food, service, and atmosphere!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful service, exceptional food... A ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Wonderful service, exceptional food... Absolutely love

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent meal and exceptional service. ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Excellent meal and exceptional service. Always a treat!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

If you dont know any better, you'll be impressed.

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

This is a very expensive dinner for two for Colorado Springs. Given that, you'll expect a little personal attention. That is where you'll be disappointed. Despite the small dining room and relative high number of (all male) wait staff you'll have to flag down service. Meal is prepared at your table, ... sort of. The meal will be left unattended to cook at your table but, the servers will be off doing other more important things. Very odd. I can't imagine leaving an unattended meal cooking at customers table but, that is how they do it. The food was good but the service was not worth the $300.00+ price tag. For the money, you would be better served at the Cliff House.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

Outstanding service and food. Great vie ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Outstanding service and food. Great view. We had a wonderful time celebrating our wedding anniversary. The steaks were done to order and they were extremely tender.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our 3rd time here, and the pepper steak ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Our 3rd time here, and the pepper steak was absolutely outstanding.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was excellent, the food was ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

The service was excellent, the food was outstanding. The view of the Colorado Springs skyline is great after dark, except for the construction at I25. Overall this place is the perfect hideaway to celebrate a special occasion or have a romantic dinner. Is a little pricey, but well worth it.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great dinner and views at the Pepper Tree

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

The Caesar's salad, prepared table side, was very tasty. Our pepper steak, also prepared table side, was superb and easily cut with a butter knife. For desert, the banana's Foster were very, very yummy!! Great service and a great view. A terrific fine dining experience for any special occasion--in our case--our 33rd wedding anniversary! Well done Pepper Tree!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, they do a fantastic job. The ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

As always, they do a fantastic job. The staff is incredible! Neal, Kerri, Rick, and Josh (I probably spelled their names incorrectly) provide incredible service and know what real restaurant service is. Well done--no pun intended.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We ate here 8 years ago, and enjoyed it. ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

We ate here 8 years ago, and enjoyed it. This dining experience was not as good. We did not think the quality of the food was worth the price. It's very expensive.

My husbands Trout entree was mediocre. He actually did not think it tasted very fresh.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Agile

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Our plans changed a bit and we ended up arriving an hour early. The staff quickly got a table prepared for our six celebrating our son's graduation. The rapport with and between the staff was delightful. The food was excellent - a great family event made special by Pepper Tree.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was slow. The tables were set up ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Service was slow. The tables were set up in am akward way. Noone gave us a menu so we sat there waiting. They had people there wearing tank tops but kept telling my husband to take his hat off. If your going to have a dress code then make it for everyone. They cook way too close to you tableside eapecially when its not your meal which was akward

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

I dine out multiple times each week with ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

I dine out multiple times each week with customers, and this restaurant is definitely one of my top 5 in the country. The meal was much better than most steak restaurants and the waiter was awesome.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best place in Colorado Springs

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

Best place in Colorado Springs to celebrate a very special occasion. You will never go wrong with their house specialty, pepper steak. The service is always wonderful and extremely pleasant.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.