HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Wed, 2/21
Time
10:30 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.

Pepper Tree Restaurant

4.7
1331 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Steak
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion (59)
  • Good for Anniversaries (47)
  • Good for a Date (46)
The Pepper Tree restaurant has been a tradition for fine dining in Colorado Springs since 1983. Serving steaks, seafood, lamb, veal and more, the Pepper Tree is legendary for impeccable cuisine, ambiance, service and breathtaking views of the city. The Pepper Tree"s signature Mango Chutney Pepper Steak and other specialities, including Chateaubriand, Steak Diane, and English Dover Sole, are prepared or finished tableside.
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Steak, Seafood
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(719) 471-4888
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Kenneth Leech
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
Please call for more info on renting out the Pepper Tree Restaurant.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Neil Levy: (719) 471-4888
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
8th Street
Additional
Banquet, Non-Smoking, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 1331 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.7  based on recent ratings
4.8
food
4.8
service
4.7
ambience
4.4
value
Noise · Quiet
96% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
Kymk (Raleigh)
5.0  Dined 2 days ago

Best meal ever. The food was fantastic. The service was awesome. They cook your steak table side. Wonderful view of the city.

Report
Helpful
ChuckE 
4.0  Dined 4 days ago

The Peppertree was a pretty good experience. The food itself was good but on the expensive side as well as the drinks. Was disappointed that you could not substitute items like a soup instead of a salad even for an additional fee. No substitutions at all. Service was very slow. Sat for 15 minutes before we were finally offered a drink menu and then another 15 minutes after our drinks arrived before we ever got our actual dinner menus. We even had to ask for our bread that was given to everyone else around us upon them receiving their drinks. Steaks were great and made table side which is great. Overall it was a good experience. Just wish the service was better.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Denver)
5.0  Dined 5 days ago

Probably our best dining experience ever. Steaks were tender, incredibly flavorful, gourmet sauces. Rest of food was over the top. Service was excellent, not rushed, answered all our questions, left alone for plenty of privacy yet on top of all our needs. Very polite and friendly, even some humor without being stuffy for such an elegant place. City view was excellent. Ask for a window seat.

Report
Helpful
Robert (Denver)
5.0  Dined on February 13, 2018

The meal and service was wonderful as usual! The Pepper Steak is to die for!

Report
Helpful
karenh (Denver)
5.0  Dined on February 12, 2018

We had a wonderful night of excellent food, good wine, prompt service, magical view and easy parking for my elderly mother. I have not been for years and was pleased to see the restaurant has maintained 0 their level of excellence.

Report
Helpful
Scherer65 (Las Vegas)
4.0  Dined on February 12, 2018

This place is legendary for service. You pay for the amazing and attentive service. The food menu is outstanding. Listen to the server to provide you with the specials of the day....
Huge wine menu, decent martinis, beer if you must...

Report
Helpful
AnnP (Denver)
5.0  Dined on February 11, 2018

Loved our meal here! The service is impeccable, bright spot in a sea of mediocre service in Colorado Springs.

Report
Helpful
NadxAndPaul (Denver)
5.0  Dined on February 10, 2018

It was a romantic valentine’s dinner with my husband, if you know me, I do not get impressed easily. WOW this is an amazing place, the enverionment, the service quality and the food. I am greatly impressed with this place, cant wait to get back to this restaurant... I am already thinking for our anniversary!

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (Denver)
4.0  Dined on February 10, 2018

Great ambiance, steaks and desserts cooked table-side. Would recommend the steak Diane and cherries jubilee. Pepper steak was good as well.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Las Vegas)
3.0  Dined on February 10, 2018

The Peppertree Restaurant has been a local favorite of ours for over 20 years now. Something was really amiss this time. The cocktail waitress was not well-versed in the basics of cocktails. The appetizer cost us $25+, and it was not worth the cost. The Caesar Salad, which used to be among the best Caesar salads that we have ever had, was sub-par. Flavor was lacking and we noticed that the Parmesan cheese that was used on the salad was pre-packaged.

I ordered a steak medium rare and my spouse ordered a steak that was medium. I was presented with a steak that was rare and my spouse had a steak that was medium-rare. NEVER in the past would this had happened. The steaks used to be cooked to total perfection, according to patrons' requests.

The scalloped potatoes were flavorless and very very disappointing.

The last time we ate at The PepperTree, everyone was dressed to the nines. We saw people in levis and rugby shirts....tshirts.....people totally dressed down..

We wonder what has happened to THE PepperTree that we have known and loved for all these years. Has new management taken over???

ALAS, we do not plan to come back.

Report
Helpful
NickiH (Denver)
4.0  Dined on February 9, 2018

The experience and workers were amazing! I simply didn’t read what I was ordering well enough to enjoy it fully but I liked the restaurant and will highly recommend it.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Denver)
5.0  Dined on February 9, 2018

Excellent ambiance, amazing waitstaff, top-notch food. When making a reservation, request a seat by the windows

Report
Helpful
MsMedina (Denver)
5.0  Dined on February 6, 2018

I've been coming to the restaurant for over 10 years for special occasions and business, and every single time I've been here, I have never been disappointed. Their pepper steak is my absolute favorite, and it goes extremely well with the lobster tail and a side of pasta. Anything that I ever had a concern or question about was quickly rectified and taken care of on the spot! The service is exceptional and friendly and very professional. This restaurant will always have my service.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Denver)
5.0  Dined on February 3, 2018

Great service, great food and great value. Views are gorgeous as well!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Orlando)
4.0  Dined on February 2, 2018

Although the outside needs a facelift (and a nicer sign) and the inside decor was a bit tired, the food and service more than made up for that. The attentiveness of the waiters was perfect. The tuxedo-clad waiters (who also cook at your table) and the view of the city, keeps your attention away from the lack of ambiance. Expect to pay about $70-$90 per person with tip. Worth it! The steak Diane was so tender I actually cut it with the blunt end of my butter knife!! Make sure you try the portobello mushroom appetizer. We will be back.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Denver)
5.0  Dined on January 29, 2018

Everything about this restaurant is wonderful. It very classically furnished. The staff is very professional. The ambience is quiet, great for conversation The food is excellent. It is moderately pricey but a much better value than most high end restaurants. The steak au poivre was amazing as were the veal sweetbreads. If you haven't tried it, you should!

Report
Helpful
eric90230 (Los Angeles)
4.0  Dined on January 27, 2018

While not inexpensive ... A great restaurant, food was excellent, service was excellent. I like the tuxedo'ed wait staff, I like that some items are prepared at your table-side. The dessert list was AMAZING.

Report
Helpful
PatI (Denver)
5.0  Dined on January 27, 2018

One of the best restaurants EVER for special occasions. Their signature item, Pepper Steak, is to die for. The service is second to none. My family has been going there for years and will continue to for many years to come. Even though it is on the pricey side, it is definitely worth every penny.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Denver)
5.0  Dined on January 26, 2018

The food, ambiance and view are spectacular and by far the finest in the city. Most food preparation is done table-side and is a pleasure to watch. However, the prices are high but worth it. Plan on spending between $75 and $140 per person.

Report
Helpful
Gon3Downhill (Denver)
3.0  Dined on January 25, 2018

This restaurant has gone downhill. It used to be my favorite in all of Colorado Springs. Escargot had no flavor. Pepper Steak was not medium as was ordered. It was almost well done. Beef was tough.

Report
Helpful
KE91 (Denver)
5.0  Dined on January 22, 2018

Pepper Tree is a gem. Food and service have been outstanding every time we have been there. Both with our kids (teen/tween) and business dinners. The steaks are wonderful (have had both the Signature Pepper Steak, and Steak Diane). Lobster bisque is amazing (when available), and a solid wine selection to suit the meal.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Denver)
5.0  Dined on January 22, 2018

We've been going here almost every year for our anniversary. Love the tableside preparation. Pepper steak with mango chutney flambe is the best.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Denver)
5.0  Dined on January 20, 2018

We hadn't been for a while, but it was just as good as we remembered. Food was amazing. Service was excellent. Can't wait to go back!

Report
Helpful
Qazwsx123 (Richmond)
5.0  Dined on January 19, 2018

One of the top five dinners of my life. Great dinner and a great atmosphere. I would skip dessert next time, however, the appetizer, soup, salad, and dinner were delicious. I have eaten at Ruth's Chris, Morton's, and Fleming's and this breasts them all. They do not even offer a steak knife because you do not need it.

Report
Helpful
vipFoodhawk (Chicago)
5.0  Dined on January 19, 2018

Classic “Old School” cuisine. No one does it better. They have table side preparation perfected. We go every time we are in Colorado Springs. We absolutely love Pepper Tree.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Denver)
5.0  Dined on January 16, 2018

I've been waiting to dine at PepperTree for years. I was so pleased we were able to make a reservation for our Silver Anniversary. It was as good as I had hoped for, if not better! The service was excellent, the view was beautiful and the food was spectacular! I would definitely recommend eating here for any special occasion or for a great night out!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Denver)
4.0  Dined on January 15, 2018

The food and service are exceptional. The prices are high.

Report
Helpful
DLien (Denver)
5.0  Dined on January 11, 2018

The Pepper Tree is our go-to dining locale for special occasions!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Denver)
5.0  Dined on January 11, 2018

Outstanding food and service....and the view is great.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Denver)
4.0  Dined on January 6, 2018

Service was a bit spotty at first but improved quickly. We try to avoid Saturday evenings. To quote a restaurateur that we knew "Saturday's are for emergencies". This being my wife's birthday (actually the next day - Sunday - but they are closed on Sunday's), this was an emergency. The food and preparation were excellent. The "house special" is their Pepper Steak which is the best steak my wife has ever had. It is prepared table-side which makes the meal special. One of the more expensive restaurants in town but well worth price. And don't miss the Cherries Jubilee, also prepared table-side.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
45