About Pepper Tree Restaurant

888 W Moreno
Colorado Springs, CO 80905
View Larger Map

The Pepper Tree restaurant has been a tradition for fine dining in Colorado Springs since 1983. Serving steaks, seafood, lamb, veal and more, the Pepper Tree is legendary for impeccable cuisine, ambiance, service and breathtaking views of the city. The Pepper Tree"s signature Mango Chutney Pepper Steak and other specialities, including Chateaubriand, Steak Diane, and English Dover Sole, are prepared or finished tableside.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
8th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(719) 471-4888

Website:
http://www.peppertreecs.com/

Executive Chef:
Kenneth Leech

Private Party Facilities:
Please call for more info on renting out the Pepper Tree Restaurant.

Private Party Contact:
Neil Levy: 7194714888

Additional:
Banquet, Non-Smoking, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Pepper Tree Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Denver / Colorado
Scenic View
Denver / Colorado
Steak
Denver / Colorado
7 More
Best Overall
Colorado Springs
Best Food
Colorado Springs
Best Service
Colorado Springs
Best Value
Colorado Springs
Romantic
Colorado Springs
Special Occasion
Colorado Springs
Most Booked
Colorado Springs
Best Restaurants in Colorado Springs ›

Special Occasion (90)
Romantic (81)
Scenic View (67)
See All
Fit for Foodies (30)
Notable Wine List (29)
Neighborhood Gem (20)
Good for Groups (17)
Kid-friendly (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Great for Lunch (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
946 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We have gone to the peppers tree three o ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 4 days ago

We have gone to the peppers tree three or four times a year for the last 25 years. This was the first time we had a very mediocre meal. We always left the restaurant smiling and commenting on how good the food tasted, not this time. The service was excellent but the food quality was well below our expectations based on our prior experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

The Pepper Tree provides great food and ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined 4 days ago

The Pepper Tree provides great food and service...although at a high price. We had not been to the Pepper Tree in several years and was surprised to discover that although the Web Site says the restaurant asks for Business Casual dress, over half the men in the restaurant were wearing either jeans or shorts. When we last attended the PepperTree the dress code was adhered to. The fact that the Pepper Tree permits jeans and shorts reduces the ambiance and can spoil the "special occasions". The Pepper Tree needs to either update their website's dress code or enforce the dress-code.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The atmosphere is surprising when you se ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The atmosphere is surprising when you see the outside of the restaurant. The food is very good. You can tell they have been doing this for a long time.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food and amazing service. Nic ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Excellent food and amazing service. Nice price for such an outstanding place.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We enjoy going there for special occasio ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We enjoy going there for special occasions, the food and ambiance is excellent and very good service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were celebrating my in-laws 60th wedd ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We were celebrating my in-laws 60th wedding anniversary while on vacation in Colorado Springs. This restaurant was recommended by the owners of the VRBO we were renting and it was wonderful. The food was amazing and they did a fantastic job of making the evening special. I highly recommend the Pepper Tree.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is fantastic. The service is al ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The food is fantastic. The service is also fantastic, we really enjoy eating there for a special occasion.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service and ambiance insi ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Great food and service and ambiance inside but the view that they are trying to highlight should be improved with some landscaping cleanup and improvement outside the dining window it currently does not match with the price of what you are paying to dine here

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

The food was excellent, and the service ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

The food was excellent, and the service was great. We are in town for our honeymoon, and have already made reservations for a second dinner. We started with the escargot, and we each had the Pepper Steak, which was prepared table side. Both dishes were fabulous. Our servers were attentive and they quickly and courteously answered all our questions. The mood was relaxing and the atmosphere was quiet, which made for easy conversation. Book your reservation and be prepared to be impressed!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very attentive and caring service. Food ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Very attentive and caring service. Food expertly prepared. Outstanding views. Did not have to shout to be heard. Outstanding!

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Whenever I have a special occasion or ju ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Whenever I have a special occasion or just want a fabulous meal, terrific service and a great view I pick the Pepper Tree!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always the Pepper Steak was wonderful ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

As always the Pepper Steak was wonderful, the view is excellent, and the deer outside the window was a bonus. We always come to the Pepper Tree for very special occasions.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was fabulous Service was slow. Ou ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Food was fabulous Service was slow. Our reservation was at 7:45 and our meal ended after 10:00 pm

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

The PepperTree is one of my favorite res ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The PepperTree is one of my favorite restaurants. It does tend to be a more quiet atmosphere but we were a group of 6 and it worked out well. Their service is great. This was the first time I was there that I had to wait on drinks. There really is nothing to complain about.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great. Excellent food and service ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Always great. Excellent food and service. Pepper steak always outstanding. All severs are well trained. I would recommend the Peppertree to anyone as I consider it the best restaurant in Colorado Springs.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The pepper tree is the best restaurant i ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The pepper tree is the best restaurant in Colorado Springs. The service, food, and ambiance are outstanding. I tech mean asking for a window seat if you have a party of four or less. The views are much better that way--especially at night when you see city lights.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

WHEN WE VISIT COLORADO SPRINGS THE PEPP ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

WHEN WE VISIT COLORADO SPRINGS THE PEPPER TREE IS A MUST GO TO EXCELLENT FOOD GREAT SERVICE GOOD VIEW NEVER RUSHED

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Attentive wait staff, delicious food. Lo ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Attentive wait staff, delicious food. Loved the steaks and table side flambee.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great hole in wall place that cooks stea ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Great hole in wall place that cooks steak at your table awesome experience!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely the best steak I have ever ea ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Absolutely the best steak I have ever eaten. Looking forward to the next time we can go. Thanks

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Everything was great. Caesar salad seeme ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Everything was great. Caesar salad seemed to be missing an ingredant. Not sure what but did not taste like Caesar.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They were too attentive. Always there t ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

They were too attentive. Always there to pick up empty or not finished eating plates. Too rush you thru and get you out of there. Not a relaxed dinner

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

The Pepper Tree is indeed a neighborhood ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The Pepper Tree is indeed a neighborhood gem. As noted above, the food, the view, the ambiance and the service are all first rate. The pepper steak is to die for. While a little pricey, it as worth it for that special occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food and service, as always! P ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Excellent food and service, as always! Pepper steak, Caesar salad all prepared table side. Best restaurant bread in town.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were celebrating our anniversary and ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We were celebrating our anniversary and my birthday, and wanted to splurge this year. The prices here are pretty high, but so is the food quality. The wait staff is amazing, and didn't mind when we created our own combinations for supper. I hope we can afford to go back very soon!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Pepper Tree restaurant lived up to i ...

 
·Dined on August 5, 2016

The Pepper Tree restaurant lived up to its reputation---everything was absolutely outstanding. The food was amazing, we had an incredible view of Colorado Springs and the service was phenomenal. We started with the lobster cocktail (with a curry sauce!), and then followed that with the famous Pepper Steak…cooked right at our table! We finished our evening by splitting the Apple Pie Ala Mode, which was perfect. Definitely a very memorable Anniversary Dinner!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I have been dining at The PepperTree Res ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

I have been dining at The PepperTree Restaurant in Colorado Springs for 20 years. Usually, I go on a special occasion - birthday, Mother's Day, etc. I have always been very pleased with the food choices and preparation. I guess I would call it "high end traditional dining". The menu includes beef, seafood and chicken. No kale ! Hurray! Would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a great food and service.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dining experience.

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Great dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always the best. Been going there since ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Always the best. Been going there since the day it opened.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and i went to the Peppertree for ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

My wife and i went to the Peppertree for our 28th anniversary. The food, service and scenery were wonderful! We will definitely be back! Please note, this is a very intimate restaurant. Because of this ntimacy, you could end up sitting next to a loud table. There were times my wife and I could not hear ourself talk because of the people dining at the adjacent table.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our family enjoyed this beautiful restau ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Our family enjoyed this beautiful restaurant with a wonderful view while on vacation. The dinner was delicious and the service was excellent.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We returned to The Pepper Tree once agai ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

We returned to The Pepper Tree once again and were, as usual, happy and content. The steaks are always great; the desserts wonderful and the staff is fantastic (they have yet to fail on a food or wine recommendation). The Pepper Tree is a special place and we love it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time dining at the p ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

This was our first time dining at the peppertree. The food was fantastic. My wife and I both had the peppersteak. They were cooked perfectly as we ordered. The service was also perfect. We had everything we needed without waiting or having to ask but the servers were not over-attentive or annoying either. Highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Have been for anniversaries and the food ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Have been for anniversaries and the food is consistent and the wait staff great. This experience is a fine dining experience that is not rushed and worth the money spent.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had the sea bass and it was cooked to ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

I had the sea bass and it was cooked to perfection. My girl had the 6oz Steak Diane and it was so tender and delicious. They cooked the steak at your table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

A great meal. I used to love the fried p ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

A great meal. I used to love the fried parsley, but this time it tasted like old frying oil. My friend and I requested a larger serving. After returning home we experienced G I upset.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was delicious. I had the Pepper ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

The food was delicious. I had the Pepper Steak and my wife had the Steak Diane. The wine matched well and the ambiance was nice. All around a greal dining experience..

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My Favorite Colorado Springs Fine Food R ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

My Favorite Colorado Springs Fine Food Restaurant.

The Food is Great..As is the Service.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Your presentation and staff were, as alw ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Your presentation and staff were, as always, outstanding. It was a birthday dinner...one of four ...that our daughter will remember fondly, especially for your pepper steak with mango chutney.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Once again The Pepper Tree was a delight ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Once again The Pepper Tree was a delight. We went for our anniversary dinner and were not disappointed! We we were well taken care of and immensely enjoyed the specials of the evening.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.