About Pepper Tree Restaurant

888 W Moreno
Colorado Springs, CO 80905
View Larger Map

The Pepper Tree restaurant has been a tradition for fine dining in Colorado Springs since 1983. Serving steaks, seafood, lamb, veal and more, the Pepper Tree is legendary for impeccable cuisine, ambiance, service and breathtaking views of the city. The Pepper Tree"s signature Mango Chutney Pepper Steak and other specialities, including Chateaubriand, Steak Diane, and English Dover Sole, are prepared or finished tableside.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
8th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(719) 471-4888

Website:
http://www.peppertreecs.com/

Executive Chef:
Kenneth Leech

Private Party Facilities:
Please call for more info on renting out the Pepper Tree Restaurant.

Private Party Contact:
Neil Levy: 7194714888

Additional:
Banquet, Non-Smoking, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Pepper Tree Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Food
Denver / Colorado
Romantic
Denver / Colorado
Special Occasion
Denver / Colorado
8 More
Steak
Denver / Colorado
Best Overall
Colorado Springs
Best Food
Colorado Springs
Best Service
Colorado Springs
Best Ambiance
Colorado Springs
Best Value
Colorado Springs
Special Occasion
Colorado Springs
Most Booked
Colorado Springs
Best Restaurants in Colorado Springs ›

Special Occasion (75)
Romantic (54)
Scenic View (44)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (42)
Good for a Date (40)
Quiet Conversation (30)
Good for Birthdays (26)
Notable Wine List (22)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Worth the Drive (20)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Cozy (13)
Authentic (13)
Good for Groups (13)
Business Meals (10)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Disabled Access (6)
Casual (6)
Historic (5)
Fun (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Private Room (2)
Seasonal (2)
Fireplace (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Family Style (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Great Beer (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
1008 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food and service. The steaks are g ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 3 days ago

Great food and service. The steaks are great and the sea bass is phenomenal.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Authentic, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Business Meals, Fireplace, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our food was delicious and presented far ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 5 days ago

Our food was delicious and presented far enough apart to not be rushed..waiter was very polite with a little humor. Table service for our meal was wonderful to smell aromas of our dinner. We stayed talking for quite awhile after meal was over..waiter asked if we wanted more water or coffee..no hurry at all. Was a very delightful dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Visit was during Christmas season. There ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 6 days ago

Visit was during Christmas season. There were three parties seated in the dining room with us. Rather than being as intimate as previous experiences, our visit reinforced our desire to return.

Many thanks to the staff for an exceptional meal.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Thoroughly enjoyed our dinner. The servi ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed our dinner. The service was fantastic and the Steak Diane exceeded all expectations! It was out of his world!!! What a nice, enjoyable evening.

Tags: Casual, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had really high expectations of Pepper ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 27, 2016

I had really high expectations of Peppertree. My husband had the Pepper Steak which he said was outstanding. I had the Dover Sole was good but very expensive! The waiter we had was new and did not have a handle on the menu and the seriousness of gluten free. I ordered the fish GF and it came out just regular. I was not WOWed by the restaurant and the service needs to be worked on.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

The Steak Diane and the Pepper Steak wit ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 27, 2016

The Steak Diane and the Pepper Steak with Mango Chutney were incredible; the waitstaff were prompt, polite, and knowledgeable. They cooked the steaks table-side, and that was fun to see. The atmosphere was pleasant and quiet enough for conversation, but not so quiet that we felt like others were listening. The main dish was amazing, but the sides were just okay--a baked potato is a baked potato, and the scalloped potatoes were just scalloped potatoes.

At $40 per 6oz Steak and $12 per cocktail, this was definitely a special occasion dinner.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

While the food was fantastic, we showed ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 23, 2016

While the food was fantastic, we showed up with a big crowd that seemed to overwhelm the wait staff. We felt a little hurried and not exactly welcomed. I'd come here again but not with more than 4

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

One word suns up the Pepper Tree. Excel ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 23, 2016

One word suns up the Pepper Tree. Excellent! The customer service, food, lighting. Cocktails were the best!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was a very pleasant dining experience. ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Was a very pleasant dining experience. We felt the menu items were a bit pricey. We will not be able to come often. But we may be back for special occasions. We had great service from our waiter.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

this is the only place we go to get a st ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 20, 2016

this is the only place we go to get a steak! it is prepared table side, and is the best steak you will ever get!! the price is worth the atmosphere and quality of food!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We spend our special occasions at the Pe ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 17, 2016

We spend our special occasions at the Pepper Tree and have for the past 15 years. We love the food and the staff can not be beat. Will keep on visiting the Pepper Tree as long as we can. Thank you for such a nice place.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous time. All was good. I couldn't ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Fabulous time. All was good. I couldn't recommend this for many of the things mentioned above as I didn't know you offered all of those things. Our group will be back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This location was perfect for the occasi ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 13, 2016

This location was perfect for the occasion that I celebrated. Will make this location one of my favorite places to escape and spend a quiet time with someone special. The food was amazing and the staff was very accommodating. This place is a must see and experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been to the Pepper Tree several t ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 13, 2016

I have been to the Pepper Tree several times and the food and service are always great. On this occasion, we met old friends that we hadn't seen in over a year. We occupied our table for almost four hours and never felt that the staff were trying to hurry us to free the table. We had a lovely evening.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was exceptional. The staff was ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The food was exceptional. The staff was attentive and responsive to whatever request was asked of them. We have driven from Denver to Colorado Springs every year for dinner for our anniversary and will be back again next year due to this outstanding restaurant.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my second visit and it was stil ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 12, 2016

This was my second visit and it was still a fantastic dinner! I truly enjoy the service.

Tags: Business Meals, Authentic, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding classic French food, much of ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Outstanding classic French food, much of which is prepared tableside. The extensive wine list and great service place this restaurant on the short list of best cuisine in the Springs.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent in all aspects. Great service ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Excellent in all aspects. Great service, excellent food. It was a birthday occasion and this establishment makes in a very memorable occasion. The pepper steak is highly recommended. We also had a halibut special that was superb.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Steak Diane was delicious. Wife chosehal ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Steak Diane was delicious. Wife chosehalibut special, but fish was rather dry.

Tags: Historic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We enjoyed everything about the Peppertr ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We enjoyed everything about the Peppertree! We would recommend it to those who seek excellent food, service and the ambiance.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurant has been there a long time an ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Restaurant has been there a long time and doesn't disappoint. Friendly service. In some sense it's kind of old fashioned but excellent food and well prepared. It is not a place out of towners will find easily. Recommend they invest in some signage

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

First time in Colorado Springs and we ea ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 1, 2016

First time in Colorado Springs and we eat a lot of steak in Dallas,Tx and I can tell why they have been here for 30+yrs. We were very impressed by the service and classic dishes the offer. I've never had my steak prepared table side and its a part of classic dinning that is hard to find /done professionally. I bet CS/Denver have a dozen of steak restaurants, but The Pepper Tree is a true classic.

Tags: Authentic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

They had a fantastic creamy diane which ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 1, 2016

They had a fantastic creamy diane which was cooked at the table by the chef. The wait staff was very friendly. Great view, worth every penny.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My favorite place in the Springs! Always ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 30, 2016

My favorite place in the Springs! Always consistent staff is amazing and the food is the best in town!

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic atmosphere and food, intimate, ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Fantastic atmosphere and food, intimate, excellent wait staff, steaks cooked table side, well worth the money!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have gone here for years. One of the fe ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Have gone here for years. One of the few places in Colorado Springs that actually has great food for the money you spend! Love the Peppersteak!

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great atmosphere. And it did ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Great food, great atmosphere. And it didn't hurt that Robert Redford was also dining in the restaurant!!

Tags: Romantic, Late-night Find, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always the food was delicious and the ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 15, 2016

As always the food was delicious and the staff attentive. It was a very busy night so it was a little loud but still a great dinner spot.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

So beautiful .. service was impeccable! ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 15, 2016

So beautiful .. service was impeccable! The food was so delicious! We had a wonderful much needed date night.

Tags: Late-night Find, Comfort Food, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This restaurant is an outstanding one in ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 14, 2016

This restaurant is an outstanding one in the business. If there was a 8 star restaurant this would be a 10. My wife and I have patronizing there for over 10 years now and we have never had a meal that was not superbly prepared and delicious. I have taken many friends to the Pepper Tree and they also have enjoyed a culinary fantastic experience. I and my wife cannot express in words the great food at this restaurant. You must attend and enjoy. Please don't change anything. We will continue to enjoy our future dining pleasure at the Pepper tree.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been going to the Pepper Tree fo ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on October 9, 2016

We have been going to the Pepper Tree for years. It has always been a great and special place to go. Great food, service, atmosphere and view.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a classic restaurant in Colorado ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 7, 2016

This is a classic restaurant in Colorado Springs. I have enjoyed the Pepper Steak off and on since 1991. It is expensive, but for that occasional meal, it is worthwhile. The food is outstanding and the service impeccable.

Tags: Business Meals, Disabled Access, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It needs a remodel...very dated. Service ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 7, 2016

It needs a remodel...very dated. Service only so so

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value2

Ove this place! The food is phenomenal! ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 4, 2016

Ove this place! The food is phenomenal! Rodrigo knows how to make a steak. Many items are prepared tableside - all a treat.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I saw this was highly rated and when we ...

vip
 (Savannah)·Dined on October 4, 2016

I saw this was highly rated and when we arrive the first impression was very poor. The service and food was very good. I had 6 people with me and 3 of us wanted the dover sole. They were out. The wine we ordered only had one bottle. We went with plan b and the first bottle was bad, Silver Oak....unbelievable. The pepper steak was very good also the sea bass. You really have few picks in this town. Stay with the restaurants at the Broadmoor if that is your home base.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4

The food was outstanding, particularly t ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 4, 2016

The food was outstanding, particularly the Dover Sole and Steak Diane. Our British friends praised the Sole and said it was better than what they get in England! The house Malbac was smooth and paired well with all our entrees. The table side preparation of flaming Cherries Jubilee and Bananas Foster were the perfect desserts to top a delightful evening with our friends on their last evening in the States.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

My trout was dried out. Steaks were good ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on October 1, 2016

My trout was dried out. Steaks were good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

We were not impressed. The ambiance is s ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 1, 2016

We were not impressed. The ambiance is severely lacking. No music, and our table by the window overlooked a shopping center with Hobby Lobby being the most prominent feature. The waiter who took our wine order had no idea what we were ordering. There must have been 6 different waiters who brought us various things but it just felt like they were all going through the motions. When the signature dish was being prepared there was no presentation or explanation. They came to the table and started the steak cooking then left while the steak cooked, came back and turned it, and finally finished it off and served it. We had the signature pepper steak which was quite good. However the scalloped potatoes served with it were dry and tasteless. We liked the fact that you can choose the weight of your steak. However, we were expecting a "dining experience" and did not get it. Would not recommend or go back because of price and feeling like they just didn't care.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Wolfgang Puck would appreciate this rest ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Wolfgang Puck would appreciate this restaurant... I frequented Spagos .... great place

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Josh was our table side chef. outstandin ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Josh was our table side chef. outstanding enthusiasm, great chef. Steak diane cooked to perfection, along with bananas fosters for dessert!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.