About Pepper Tree Restaurant

888 W Moreno
Colorado Springs, CO 80905
View Larger Map

The Pepper Tree restaurant has been a tradition for fine dining in Colorado Springs since 1983. Serving steaks, seafood, lamb, veal and more, the Pepper Tree is legendary for impeccable cuisine, ambiance, service and breathtaking views of the city. The Pepper Tree"s signature Mango Chutney Pepper Steak and other specialities, including Chateaubriand, Steak Diane, and English Dover Sole, are prepared or finished tableside.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
8th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(719) 471-4888

Website:
http://www.peppertreecs.com/

Executive Chef:
Kenneth Leech

Private Party Facilities:
Please call for more info on renting out the Pepper Tree Restaurant.

Private Party Contact:
Neil Levy: 7194714888

Additional:
Banquet, Non-Smoking, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Pepper Tree Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Denver / Colorado
Special Occasion
Denver / Colorado
Steak
Denver / Colorado
8 More
Best Overall
Colorado Springs
Best Food
Colorado Springs
Best Service
Colorado Springs
Best Ambiance
Colorado Springs
Best Value
Colorado Springs
Romantic
Colorado Springs
Special Occasion
Colorado Springs
Most Booked
Colorado Springs
Best Restaurants in Colorado Springs ›

Special Occasion (95)
Romantic (76)
Scenic View (59)
See All
Notable Wine List (30)
Fit for Foodies (28)
Good for Groups (20)
Neighborhood Gem (20)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Good for a Date (12)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Worth the Drive (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Late-night Find (4)
Business Meals (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Cozy (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Casual (3)
Fun (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Authentic (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Private Room (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Family Style (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Historic (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
Newest
962 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Lobster cocktail was disappointing-not e ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined 3 days ago

Lobster cocktail was disappointing-not enough lobster and too much money-28$

Filet Mignon steaks were reported to be USDA Prime-No Way, too much fat

Roasted red potatoes were overdone-dark and crunchy

Overall price for drinks and food was 15% above what it should have been

I've eaten here about 8 times over past 10 years and usually liked the experience,

but it is no longer a good value. Won't be back. It is too much money for what you get.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

The most excellent food and atmosphere. ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined 4 days ago

The most excellent food and atmosphere. Nothing better in Colorado Springs.

Tags: Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Phenomenal experience as usual Haven't b ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined 5 days ago

Phenomenal experience as usual

Haven't been there in awhile but the steels were every bit as awesome as I remembered... Bananas foster too! Brought some out of town guests and they were treated to two buck mule deer right outside the window!

Only snag and the reason for loss of a star is that we couldn't seem to get a bottle of red wine. the first two bottles my guest chose were not in stock?! And when he finally found one the pour ended up dripping on the table and he got a little on him.

Other than that, service was as awesome as I remembered with the table side preparation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

The food was good, the service was good ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

The food was good, the service was good once they finally showed up at our table. We were left siting at our table while the lady who seated us made excuses why no one showed up until she finally took our drink order. No one should be left sitting without service while someone makes excuses about why.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

It is always a treat to dine at the Pepp ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

It is always a treat to dine at the Pepper Tree. You can always count on great service and delicious food! :0)

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We must of passed this restaurant many t ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

We must of passed this restaurant many times and never knew it was a restaurant until it was recommended to us by a friend as a fine dining restaurant. We came and loved the food and service. We plan to go again in the near future. Thanks for a great experience.

Tags: Disabled Access, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always great food and experience. To ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

As always great food and experience. Took 3 out-of-towners and they cleaned their plates. Definitely very impressed and these were people used to fine dining. The Pepper Tree didn't disappoint us in any way. Expect to spend but well worth it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Romantic, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Im a beef producer and have eaten in ste ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Im a beef producer and have eaten in steak houses throughout the US and the world, and I rate Peppertree among the very top for their pepper steak and steak Diane. I can't think of a comparison other than maybe Wagyu and Kobe beef in Japan. Peppertree is my Number 1!

Andre Brackin

Tags: Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food and service was impeccable. I share ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Food and service was impeccable. I shared the chateaubriand wig my husband and they cooked the steak table-side. The Fall veggies and wild rice were the perfect accompaniments. Can't wait to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overall we enjoyed our evening at the Pe ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Overall we enjoyed our evening at the Peppertree. We appreciated that the wait staff was very attentive and worked as a group. We did not feel rushed to hurry through our dinner so that our table could be used for other diners. What a change from a lot of the restaurants we have visited lately. We ordered pepper steak and steak diane. The appetizers were on par. The pepper steak is a signature item and good; however, the star of the evening was the steak diane with it's wonderful sauce. A surprise hit was the entree's accompanying salad with butter lettuce and a delightful homemade dressing. A dessert of creme brulee could have been better with more vanilla and less torching of the sugar. We plan to return to sample other items from the menu.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our third time here as we are from out ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Our third time here as we are from out of town. Everything we have expo experienced and eaten here has been fantastic! Pepper Steak is probably best steak I've ever eaten. Staff is great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have visited many times when travelin ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

We have visited many times when traveling to the Springs and it was still good, but disappointing that some of the steaks were overcooked, and the prices increased since last year.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Our first time to this restaurant and we ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Our first time to this restaurant and we were very impressed, the service was above expectations and the food was totally awesome.. I had the Dover sole that was boned at table side, a beautiful presentation. My husband had the pepper steak which is their specialty and what their are known for. Both of our meal where outstanding in both taste and tenderness.

As a bonus, we were treated to an ambiance of elk roaming outside the windows of the restaurant . What a delight !!! ... We will definitely return again when in the Colorado Springs area.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Paleo Friendly, Bar Seating, Casual, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great dining experience as always. My w ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Great dining experience as always. My wife and I have been here on more than one occasion and have always left satisfied. The pepper steak is a must have! I've swayed from this choice only to try other things and in the end, always end up wishing I would have ordered the pepper steak. Their desserts are also fantastic! The cherry jubilee and bananas foster are two of their greats.

The staff is very courteous and always ensure the evening is pleasant. More than one cook will rotate between the tables while your dinner is prepared but it doesn't interrupt your evening.

The only negative thing I have to comment on is directed towards some of the patrons.. This is more of a personal annoyance than anything but I digress.. Show more appreciation towards the waiters/waitresses and cooks. They work very hard and sometimes patrons don't acknowledge that they're even there. Common etiquette when dining should be expected no matter where you choose to dine. A thank you can go a long way. Sending back a glass of water because they added a lemon is a bit ridiculous (unless you're allergic, and this wasn't the case). Being upset about your table option when you were lucky enough to get in without a reservation is also ridiculous.

Other than that the food, restaurant, and staff were all terrific.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We have gone to the peppers tree three o ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

We have gone to the peppers tree three or four times a year for the last 25 years. This was the first time we had a very mediocre meal. We always left the restaurant smiling and commenting on how good the food tasted, not this time. The service was excellent but the food quality was well below our expectations based on our prior experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

The Pepper Tree provides great food and ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

The Pepper Tree provides great food and service...although at a high price. We had not been to the Pepper Tree in several years and was surprised to discover that although the Web Site says the restaurant asks for Business Casual dress, over half the men in the restaurant were wearing either jeans or shorts. When we last attended the PepperTree the dress code was adhered to. The fact that the Pepper Tree permits jeans and shorts reduces the ambiance and can spoil the "special occasions". The Pepper Tree needs to either update their website's dress code or enforce the dress-code.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The atmosphere is surprising when you se ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The atmosphere is surprising when you see the outside of the restaurant. The food is very good. You can tell they have been doing this for a long time.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food and amazing service. Nic ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Excellent food and amazing service. Nice price for such an outstanding place.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We enjoy going there for special occasio ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We enjoy going there for special occasions, the food and ambiance is excellent and very good service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were celebrating my in-laws 60th wedd ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We were celebrating my in-laws 60th wedding anniversary while on vacation in Colorado Springs. This restaurant was recommended by the owners of the VRBO we were renting and it was wonderful. The food was amazing and they did a fantastic job of making the evening special. I highly recommend the Pepper Tree.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is fantastic. The service is al ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The food is fantastic. The service is also fantastic, we really enjoy eating there for a special occasion.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service and ambiance insi ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Great food and service and ambiance inside but the view that they are trying to highlight should be improved with some landscaping cleanup and improvement outside the dining window it currently does not match with the price of what you are paying to dine here

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

The food was excellent, and the service ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

The food was excellent, and the service was great. We are in town for our honeymoon, and have already made reservations for a second dinner. We started with the escargot, and we each had the Pepper Steak, which was prepared table side. Both dishes were fabulous. Our servers were attentive and they quickly and courteously answered all our questions. The mood was relaxing and the atmosphere was quiet, which made for easy conversation. Book your reservation and be prepared to be impressed!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very attentive and caring service. Food ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Very attentive and caring service. Food expertly prepared. Outstanding views. Did not have to shout to be heard. Outstanding!

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Whenever I have a special occasion or ju ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Whenever I have a special occasion or just want a fabulous meal, terrific service and a great view I pick the Pepper Tree!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always the Pepper Steak was wonderful ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

As always the Pepper Steak was wonderful, the view is excellent, and the deer outside the window was a bonus. We always come to the Pepper Tree for very special occasions.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was fabulous Service was slow. Ou ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Food was fabulous Service was slow. Our reservation was at 7:45 and our meal ended after 10:00 pm

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

The PepperTree is one of my favorite res ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The PepperTree is one of my favorite restaurants. It does tend to be a more quiet atmosphere but we were a group of 6 and it worked out well. Their service is great. This was the first time I was there that I had to wait on drinks. There really is nothing to complain about.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great. Excellent food and service ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Always great. Excellent food and service. Pepper steak always outstanding. All severs are well trained. I would recommend the Peppertree to anyone as I consider it the best restaurant in Colorado Springs.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The pepper tree is the best restaurant i ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The pepper tree is the best restaurant in Colorado Springs. The service, food, and ambiance are outstanding. I tech mean asking for a window seat if you have a party of four or less. The views are much better that way--especially at night when you see city lights.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

WHEN WE VISIT COLORADO SPRINGS THE PEPP ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

WHEN WE VISIT COLORADO SPRINGS THE PEPPER TREE IS A MUST GO TO EXCELLENT FOOD GREAT SERVICE GOOD VIEW NEVER RUSHED

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Attentive wait staff, delicious food. Lo ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Attentive wait staff, delicious food. Loved the steaks and table side flambee.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great hole in wall place that cooks stea ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Great hole in wall place that cooks steak at your table awesome experience!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely the best steak I have ever ea ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Absolutely the best steak I have ever eaten. Looking forward to the next time we can go. Thanks

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Everything was great. Caesar salad seeme ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Everything was great. Caesar salad seemed to be missing an ingredant. Not sure what but did not taste like Caesar.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They were too attentive. Always there t ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

They were too attentive. Always there to pick up empty or not finished eating plates. Too rush you thru and get you out of there. Not a relaxed dinner

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

The Pepper Tree is indeed a neighborhood ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The Pepper Tree is indeed a neighborhood gem. As noted above, the food, the view, the ambiance and the service are all first rate. The pepper steak is to die for. While a little pricey, it as worth it for that special occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food and service, as always! P ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Excellent food and service, as always! Pepper steak, Caesar salad all prepared table side. Best restaurant bread in town.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were celebrating our anniversary and ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We were celebrating our anniversary and my birthday, and wanted to splurge this year. The prices here are pretty high, but so is the food quality. The wait staff is amazing, and didn't mind when we created our own combinations for supper. I hope we can afford to go back very soon!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Pepper Tree restaurant lived up to i ...

 
·Dined on August 5, 2016

The Pepper Tree restaurant lived up to its reputation---everything was absolutely outstanding. The food was amazing, we had an incredible view of Colorado Springs and the service was phenomenal. We started with the lobster cocktail (with a curry sauce!), and then followed that with the famous Pepper Steak…cooked right at our table! We finished our evening by splitting the Apple Pie Ala Mode, which was perfect. Definitely a very memorable Anniversary Dinner!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.