Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.97mi
  2. Distance: 1.43mi
  3. Distance: 1.67mi
  4. Distance: 1.74mi
  1. Distance: 0.97mi
  2. Distance: 1.43mi
  3. Distance: 1.67mi
  4. Distance: 1.74mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.97mi
  2. Distance: 1.43mi
  3. Distance: 1.67mi
  4. Distance: 1.74mi
  1. Distance: 0.97mi
  2. Distance: 1.43mi
  3. Distance: 1.67mi
  4. Distance: 1.74mi

About Pepper Tree Restaurant

The Pepper Tree restaurant has been a tradition for fine dining in Colorado Springs since 1983. Serving steaks, seafood, lamb, veal and more, the Pepper Tree is legendary for impeccable cuisine, ambiance, service and breathtaking views of the city. The Pepper Tree"s signature Mango Chutney Pepper Steak and other specialities, including Chateaubriand, Steak Diane, and English Dover Sole, are prepared or finished tableside.

888 W Moreno
Colorado Springs, CO 80905
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
8th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(719) 471-4888

Website:
http://www.peppertreecs.com/

Executive Chef:
Kenneth Leech

Private Party Facilities:
Please call for more info on renting out the Pepper Tree Restaurant.

Private Party Contact:
Neil Levy: (719) 471-4888

Additional:
Banquet, Non-Smoking, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Pepper Tree Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Quiet

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (62)
Good for Anniversaries (58)
Good for a Date (51)
See All
Romantic (48)
Quiet Conversation (38)
Scenic View (38)
Good for Birthdays (30)
Worth the Drive (27)
Notable Wine List (26)
Cozy (23)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Business Meals (15)
Authentic (12)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Good for Groups (10)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Disabled Access (5)
Casual (3)
Fun (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
1235 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 3 days ago

The food here is stupid good.It's expensive but worth it!

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined 4 days ago

The food and service at the Pepper Tree is above and beyond most restaurants in Colorado Springs. Their service is what was given in days past in top notch restaurants around the country. Dining here makes for a wonderful delicious and relaxed evening with a very pretty view of the city.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined 6 days ago

Wonderful as always! We love eating at Peppertree, the food is always great and the ambience is wonderful. Great place to be able to talk to each other!

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Wonderful, as always. Great service, phenomenal food, and we didn't mind seeing 2 deer roaming around in the bushes during dinner either. Louder and more crowded than usual, but still a great experience.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

As usual, the Pepper Tree was an awesome experience, from the service to the food you cannot beat this location.

The filets melted in our mouths!

Tags: Healthy, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Don't let the exterior put you off. Known for their steaks Peppertree didn't disappoint. Everything was expertly prepared. Service was top notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Best most consistent high end food in Colorado Springs.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 15, 2017

We had a wonderful night. The food Is always fantastic, the staff are very nice and friendly. The steaks are just the BEST.

Tags: Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 13, 2017

Outstanding experience. You just don't come across a dining experience like the Peppertree often these days. Best French onion soup around. The pepper steak is one of the finest steak dishes anywhere. Superior service and tremendous view. Don't leave without ordering one of the table side prepared desserts.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 12, 2017

As always, great food and service. Have never been disappointed over many years.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 12, 2017

Our group has been returning to the Pepper Tree annually during a conference we attend at the Broadmoor. This is our favorite restaurant while visiting Co Spgs. Never disappoints. Excellent food and top notch service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 10, 2017

When we arrived at the PepperTree we were promptly greeted and seated. A nice table with a view,soon our drinks arrived and then the magic happens. Tableside delicious Pepper Steak.mmmmm yum Pepper tree is always a hit and always delicious!

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 9, 2017

We always have a great meal when we go to the Pepper Tree. Not sure what happened this time. Both my wife and I ordered a shrimp cocktail, Caesar salad and Steak Diane medium rare with a bottle of Silver Oak Alexander Valley Cab. My steak was more medium and the wait staff offered to take it off the tab but I said no and ate it. My wife's steak was medium rare but tough to cut and chew. The Silver Oak Alexander Valley was $135.00 in May and jumped to $175.00 this time. To much of a jump for me. We will return because I love being pampered but we were a little disappointed this trip. Sorry guys but it is what it is.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 8, 2017

I like this restaurant a lot. Was a bit astonished at the price of the bill when we received it. It was $70 just for my husband's steak dinner. He won't be ordering that again!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 7, 2017

My wife and I was in town for our 9th wedding anniversary and chose Pepper Tree for a nice dinner. Very well worth it, the food and the way they prepare tableside is fantastic.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 5, 2017

Our pepper steak was perfect for our anniversary dinner date. We are always a little disappointed when our anniversary falls on a Sunday and we must settle for a different restaurant for our special day.

Coming back year after year (and for dates in between) to the Peppertree has become a part of how we show our love for each other.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 3, 2017

I've lived in Colorado Springs for 20 years and somehow, have never ate at the Peppertree. I received a lot of recommendations but just never made the reservation. Thanks to OpenTable, I was reminded and made the reservation. The dinner ended up being perfect. The pepper steak and steak Dianne superb. Authentic French cuisine. Traditions that other fine dining establishments used to practice in this town are still alive at the Peppertree. The wait staff was very friendly and had no problem talking with us. We appreciated the team approach and all of the extra attention. Much thanks to the Peppertree for their amazing food, friendly staff and for fulfilling it's acclaimed reputation.

Tags: Scenic View, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Not worth the hype. The waitstaff do not introduce themselves nor follow up with requests. The "pepper steak" was so sweet it was impossible to eat. That topping is designed for pork or chicken, NOT beef. The potatoes were sticky and gummy. The martinis were bland and unremarkable.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 31, 2017

This was our second visit - the food and service were great, again!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 31, 2017

we always dine at pepper tree when in colorado springs consistently excellant over many yers reccomendthei special;rty pepper steak

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Fabulous 'special occasion' dining. Reminds me of many San Francisco restaurants. Highest quality food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Always consistent. Like a ballet. Everything was perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 27, 2017

We had a wonderful time dining at this restaurant!! Great food, atmosphere and staff. We will definitely be back, and have already recommended it to several people!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Went with my wife for anniversary, was very pleased with all aspects of the restaurant. Great food. Great service.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Visiting from out of State, we were celebrating our 40th anniversary and were looking for some place special for dinner. This was our first time to Pepper Tree at recommendation of good friends who have a home at the Garden of the Gods and have dined there many times through the years. We enjoyed great food that was prepared table side and had excellent "team approach" service. Highly recommend the escargot for an appetizer and the Pepper Steak and Steak Diane for entrees. Can't wait to dine at the Pepper Tree again!

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

The signature Pepper Steak is the best steak I have ever eaten. I have traveled all my adult life and eaten in hundreds of restaurants across the US and much of Europe.
Highly recommend.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 23, 2017

We had our favorite chef for our Pepper Steak, and it was wonderful!! He is so personable and competent as he cooks.!! Delicious!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Excellent service and the best trout I have ever had. It was tender, fresh and lightly covered with thinly sliced almonds. The perfect fish dish! Simply one of the best entrees I have ever eaten. The table side Caesar salad was also delicious. Great wine lists and really good steaks also. I wish I lived closer to this wonderful place.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 23, 2017

For a high end high cost restaurant the noise from loud talking and even louder laughter to the constant drown of a sales guy next to us, it put a huge damper on celebrating our 47th anniversary. Couple in the wine selection from what is posted on line to actual in house. Not even close excuses on we need to updat the list. Well a high end facility should have that done and kept up to date. On line wine listed wine was not available and even the in house list was lacking updating. Will not be back to spend that kind of money and have noise take over the evening. Thought a bunch of children would be better around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 20, 2017

My husband and I went for our anniversary. I had been in contact several times via email hoping to make the occasion special in whatever way possible. They responded quickly saying I could reserve a table near the window and dine on the pre fixe menu for a great price. When we arrived we were sat away from the windows next to a very loud table. We were also charged extra for items that were said to be included in the 4 course menu. The food was delicious, unfortunately the overall experience was lacking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 16, 2017

The food and service was outstanding! We traveled from Pueblo an it was well worth the trip!

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 12, 2017

5 star Food, service, and a nice atmosphere! Need I say more? Oh yeah, bananas foster.....

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 9, 2017

We've been going to the Peppertree for over 30 years for special occasions but hadn't been in several years. We went to celebrate our anniversary and were pleased to see that the quality and service hadn't changed. We are older and don't eat much (especially after French onion soup and escargots) so I asked if we could split an 8 oz mango chutney pepper steak. Not only could we split, they cooked 2-4 oz steaks for us and we each got our own sides! We'll definitely be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Disabled Access, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 8, 2017

We were expecting an amazing evening, but had some service issues. Also the food was good but not great. For$250 we expected better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

The highlights of eating here are two-fold: 1) the excellent food and 2) the excellent staff.

This was our first time visiting Peppertree and were not disappointed. Our table was ready when we arrived and the various wait staff proceeded to promptly take care of us from the beginning to end of our dining experience.

We started with appetizers, escargot and scallops. Both were outstanding. Although there were several specials (the halibut sounded very good), and we had not been here before, we opted for their house specialties: pepper steak and steak Diane, both cooked at our table. Once again, we were not disappointed. The meat and sauces were heavenly and our salads and side dishes hit the spot. For desert, we split an outstanding cheesecake. We opted for individual glasses of wine and had no issues with these either.

Sure, you spend a nice piece of coin at this place, yet from our experience, we'll be back. It is money well spent.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Pepper steak dominates!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 5, 2017

the restaurant needs a design update. It is the same as 30 years previous.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Steaks are their speciality. Other entrees are available. Excellent preparation and presentation. Very attentive with their service. A memorable meal. One of the top restaurants in Colorado Springs.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Disabled Access, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Everything was fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 31, 2017

The experience was very good but the food is no where close to being worth the price. Steak was flavorless and the lobster was dry...

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.