About Pepper Tree Restaurant

888 W Moreno
Colorado Springs, CO 80905
View Larger Map

The Pepper Tree restaurant has been a tradition for fine dining in Colorado Springs since 1983. Serving steaks, seafood, lamb, veal and more, the Pepper Tree is legendary for impeccable cuisine, ambiance, service and breathtaking views of the city. The Pepper Tree"s signature Mango Chutney Pepper Steak and other specialities, including Chateaubriand, Steak Diane, and English Dover Sole, are prepared or finished tableside.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
8th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(719) 471-4888

Website:
http://www.peppertreecs.com/

Executive Chef:
Kenneth Leech

Private Party Facilities:
Please call for more info on renting out the Pepper Tree Restaurant.

Private Party Contact:
Neil Levy: (719) 471-4888

Additional:
Banquet, Non-Smoking, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Pepper Tree Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (56)
Romantic (55)
Good for a Date (54)
See All
Special Occasion (54)
Scenic View (49)
Quiet Conversation (29)
Good for Birthdays (22)
Cozy (21)
Worth the Drive (20)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Notable Wine List (17)
Authentic (13)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Business Meals (10)
Fun (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Historic (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Casual (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Good for Groups (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Seasonal (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Private Room (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Great Beer (1)
Fireplace (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1108 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The Pepper Tree has a great view of Colo ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 3 days ago

The Pepper Tree has a great view of Colorado Springs and the food and staff is always 5 stars. They prepare most of the meal in front of you. Expect to pay $75-100 per person if you want to do it right. My only concern is that they need to spend some of the money they are making on the building and facilities. It looks a little run down. The ceiling tiles are water damaged and the bathrooms are moldy and not well kept up. The faucet knobs were worn out, missing pieces and dirty. Please take some of that cash and upgrade the place. The food is awesome. Steaksmith was my favorite, however they are gone and the Peppertree is as good.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Ample wine list. Bloody Mary was only f ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 3 days ago

Ample wine list. Bloody Mary was only fair. Lobster Bisque was extremely tasty with ample bits of lobster in a full bowl. A wonderful touch to have the host provide background on the setting and the menu. A great selection of main courses. The Pepper Steak was featured on the menu. We ordered it and it was tender, had outstanding flavor, and was well prepared at our table side. The view and service were top notch.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Molecular Gastronomy, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding. I've been going here off a ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 4 days ago

Outstanding. I've been going here off and on for over 35 years and still recommend it as one of the top restaurants in Colorado Springs. This outing my wife had the halibut special and said it was one of the best fish dinners she's had in her life. Perfectly cooked and seasoned just right. I opted for my favorite, steak Diane, and ordered the sauce extra creamy. Fantastic.

Service was spot on from arrival until departure.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic as always. Cesear Salad fixed ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 6 days ago

Fantastic as always. Cesear Salad fixed table side, then their signature Pepper Steak also fixed tableside, served with mango chutney and cream sherry sauce. Highly recommend for special occasions

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Been going to pepper tree for years for ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Been going to pepper tree for years for my wife and I s treats to ourselves they always makes us feel special and the meal is always top notch

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing view, awesome food. A perfect pl ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Amazing view, awesome food. A perfect place for a romantic dinner

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wish we had learned of this gen sooner. ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Wish we had learned of this gen sooner. Best steak in town. We'll be back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We've been going here for 20 years and i ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We've been going here for 20 years and it's fantastic every single time.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very nice atmosphere to celebrate our An ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Very nice atmosphere to celebrate our Anniversary. Our meal was good but not excellent for an upscale restaurant. The pepper steak was cooked tableside to perfect medium rare and the lobster tail was splendid. Very good cabernet wine and tasty bread and house salad. We tried the seared sea scallops as an appetizer and the sauce provided a nice flavor and kick. One of the scallops was barely seared with an almost warm center, which did not fare well with one of us who doesn't care for raw food. The second scallop was seared nicely on one side and the center warm, but still on the rare side. Pretty pricy for a less than average appetizer. I was also amazed at the $1.00 charge for a loaded baked potatoe. The menu is already overpriced and to charge extra for sour cream, chives, bacon, and butter for the baked potatoe simply lacks class. Desert was pleasant with berries (raspberries) and cream and cherries jubilee.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Everything was as great as usual except ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Everything was as great as usual except that the lobster was half raw inside. A few minutes more would have been just right. They are hard to cook if you are not used to it.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Was very disappointed in the food for th ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Was very disappointed in the food for the price. The pepper steak that they are famous for was way too sweet. It was cooked great but the food sure didn't match the price.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Very good food in a somewhat stuffy and ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Very good food in a somewhat stuffy and 'old-fashioned' environment.

The dining room has a nice view, albeit with some lesser design features like a drop ceiling with foam tiles.

The food was well prepared and delicious. It is definitely an old school menu with steaks prepared tableside with classic offerings. Well done, but don't expect a lot of innovation or creativity.

Service was very pleasant and eager to please, although they confused my wife's request for 'please give us ample time between courses' with 'bring everything at once.'

Overall a nice meal with food that is worth the price, but average ambiance and you have to want that traditional approach to the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Great service and food. Still consistent ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great service and food. Still consistent even after not goi9ng there for 3 years. This is a special occasion place for us.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was our first dining experience her ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 29, 2017

This was our first dining experience here. We had received a gift certificate for Christmas. The restaurant is small with a scenic view. Being small, the staff is able to be attentive to every guest. The food was delicious. My steak was cooked table side to perfection. My husband had the rack of lamb and it to was great. Would definitely recommend for special occasions.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent and relaxing evening...Thanks ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Excellent and relaxing evening...Thanks

The food was yummy and we enjoyed the table side Pepper steaks and Banana Foster

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

They over charge me on my bills! Didn't ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 28, 2017

They over charge me on my bills! Didn't said sorry. Don't wnat to give the different back!

Not good experience!

Never go back

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

We have been going here for our annivers ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 26, 2017

We have been going here for our anniversary for nearly 20 years. Have always thought everything was absolutely wonderful. This year, I was a little disappointed in the pepper-steak which is their signature dish. The steak wasn't as tender as expected and was cooked more than desired (and ordered).

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

My first experience was fabulous. Very ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 26, 2017

My first experience was fabulous. Very attentive service and super food with a beautiful eastern view of downtown. We will be back very soon.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Pepper Tree is always a treat. We en ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 25, 2017

The Pepper Tree is always a treat. We enjoy the atmosphere and quietness that makes a very enjoyable dining experience. The table side cooking of the steak and desert is great. Always outstanding service and very flexible to your request of menu items since everything is prepared in house and made to order. View of the city light just adds to the experience of the visit. Outstanding Restaurant and we plan to visit many more times.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I made reservations for my husband's bir ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 22, 2017

I made reservations for my husband's birthday. After placing our full order, we sat and waited. We saw other tables around us being served their bread and appetizers and salads. They had been seated after us. We watched our waiter walk around and look at his tables, including ours which sat empty of anything. He never stopped to check in. He obviously never checked on our food. After we had been in the restaurant a full hour and watched a table who were seated a 1/2 hr after us have their main meal prepped, I had to flag down our waiter and ask where our food was. He acted surprised and said he would check. Upon return, he informed us he never put our order in at all. For the "inconvenience" he would offer us free desserts or appetizers. We asked if our food was coming and he said he would put it in. We left, having to pay for a bottle of wine we never got to finish. Awful awful service. How do you not notice your table has never been served anything? You are much better off booking a reservation somewhere else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Excellent service and a fantastic meal. ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Excellent service and a fantastic meal. The folks at Pepper Tree know how to provide an exemplary culinary experience.

For any special occasion, this is my "go to" restaurant.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best steak I have ever had. Great se ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The best steak I have ever had. Great service as well.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good although they were a littl ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Food was good although they were a little busy that night so we didn't get the usual personal attention we have had in the past.

Tags: Scenic View, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The view was amazing and the service was ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The view was amazing and the service was friendly and fast.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is, and has been, one of our very f ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 11, 2017

This is, and has been, one of our very favorite restaurants in the area.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Higher end restaurant for sure. Prices ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Higher end restaurant for sure. Prices a spendy, but the food and staff were great. Definitely not you chain style steaks. Table side presentation is really neat.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Not our first time at the Pepper Tree, a ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Not our first time at the Pepper Tree, and won't be our last. Great food, excellent service. We like to go to the Pepper tree for special occasions. Everyone is friendly, and there is no better service in town. I would highly recommend.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food but the service was surprisin ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great food but the service was surprisingly poor. Not sure we will go back

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value1

Took my wife here for our anniversary. ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Took my wife here for our anniversary. The staff was attentive, the view was beautiful no matter where you sit. The steaks so tender they could, and were, cut with a butter knife. For an upscale establishment you won't leave hungry. Meals cooked tables idea is a nice touch. A real hidden gem.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent! The restaurant sits on a hil ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Excellent! The restaurant sits on a hillside and has a beautiful view of the entire city. The waiters are all in tuxedos and are very, very nice and courteous. They have a very nice wine selection which we took full advantage of at dinner. The Pepper Steak and Steak Diane are the specials of the house and they are worth every penny. Prepared and cooked table side, the steak was so tender we cut it with our fork. The flavors were excellent, not over powering or too sweet. All of the sides, appetizers and salads were excellent as well. Then, of course, there was desert which we loved as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic, Scenic View, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is our favorite restaurant in Color ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 28, 2016

This is our favorite restaurant in Colorado Springs. The food and service is always superb. It is pricey but so worth it! Boys all had the Pepper Steak (they always have it). I had the Salmon (I always have it). Love this restaurant!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Before ordering we told our server we ha ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Before ordering we told our server we had an hour, and asked if we could get this done in an hour. He said yes, but 90 minutes later we were finally getting our check. Server was not attentive, forgot to bring the bottle of wine I ordered, my son's soft drink, my other son's milk, and then to top it off he comes back after he was reminded by several of us that they don't have milk. Shouldn't you know that at the time we are requesting it?

Not a very good experience and I will not return as a result. $500+ tab for five adults and one child, I expect much better service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

There was a server who was incredibly fu ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 27, 2016

There was a server who was incredibly fun to talk to and one who was dry but attentive. The one who was funny made the experience better.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

This is by far the best steak house in C ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 27, 2016

This is by far the best steak house in COS. We love it and don't view steak the same way anymore. Nothing quite compared to a pepper tree steak! The restaurant is small and has a great atmosphere, especially with views overlooking the whole city.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a very nice Christmas Eve meal ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 25, 2016

This was a very nice Christmas Eve meal with my wife and daughters although I must say it was a bit below the excellent service and food I have come to expect from the Peppertree. We started with a nice Cabernet and some delicious salads and took our time before ordering our entrees. I was intent on ordering a really nice and fairly expensive Cabernet with our entrees. We placed our orders for Pepper Steaks and asked to have the wine lady( not sure she was a sommelier) come for our dinner bottle. Our steaks arrived and still no wine. We were then informed that they were washing some wine glasses for our second bottle. We finally got our Jordan Cabernet after we had finished over half of our entrees. Needless to say that had a negative effect on our evening and was not anything I had experienced before. I would return to dine again but would definitely expect that the service will be much better.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

special Christmas family dinner ; the st ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 23, 2016

special Christmas family dinner ; the staff goes out of there way to

make sure everything is above par . due to big accident rsvp were delayed

ower more concerned than we were . that says something . very enjoyable

do yourself a special costly night out . this steak house has been around for ever

and all i heard for 20 years is true this is a special place.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It is stil a classic dining experience - ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 23, 2016

It is stil a classic dining experience - food is wonderful and the service is impecable

Tags: Fun, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An unassuming room with a lovely view of ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 23, 2016

An unassuming room with a lovely view of the city from large windows. Excellent service and wonderful food..especially if you like meat. Some might find it expensive from a Colorado Springs perspective but as steak houses go it seemed rasonable to us. We will be back when we are in town.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

So much butter!!!!! From the smells to t ...

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 22, 2016

So much butter!!!!! From the smells to the views to the taste we loved it all. Get dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic Dinner and great staff! One of ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Fantastic Dinner and great staff! One of the finest dining Experiences I have encounter in Colorado Springs! Great place to take a significant other! Loved it!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.