About Pepper Tree Restaurant

888 W Moreno
Colorado Springs, CO 80905
View Larger Map

The Pepper Tree restaurant has been a tradition for fine dining in Colorado Springs since 1983. Serving steaks, seafood, lamb, veal and more, the Pepper Tree is legendary for impeccable cuisine, ambiance, service and breathtaking views of the city. The Pepper Tree"s signature Mango Chutney Pepper Steak and other specialities, including Chateaubriand, Steak Diane, and English Dover Sole, are prepared or finished tableside.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
8th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(719) 471-4888

Website:
http://www.peppertreecs.com/

Executive Chef:
Kenneth Leech

Private Party Facilities:
Please call for more info on renting out the Pepper Tree Restaurant.

Private Party Contact:
Neil Levy: 7194714888

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Pepper Tree Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Denver / Colorado
Scenic View
Denver / Colorado
Special Occasion
Denver / Colorado
9 More
Steak
Denver / Colorado
Best Overall
Colorado Springs
Best Food
Colorado Springs
Best Service
Colorado Springs
Best Ambiance
Colorado Springs
Best Value
Colorado Springs
Romantic
Colorado Springs
Special Occasion
Colorado Springs
Most Booked
Colorado Springs
Best Restaurants in Colorado Springs ›

special occasion (79)
romantic (71)
scenic view (67)
See All
notable wine list (30)
fit for foodies (28)
neighborhood gem (18)
good for groups (17)
late-night find (4)
great for brunch (3)
great for lunch (3)
hot spot (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
900 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

I have been to this restaurant several t ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

I have been to this restaurant several times throughout the years to celebrate special occasions with various family members. However it has been more than one year since our last visit. My husband and I were celebrating our wedding anniversary. Even though there were very few other guests, it was evident that we were not one of the favorite tables. Being the female half of an interracial couple I try not to be overly sensitive. But I doubt we will return.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious. Highly recommend the Steak D ...

Dined 4 days ago

Delicious. Highly recommend the Steak Diane and the Pepper Steak. Specialty martinis are very good as is the Bananas Foster.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Overall it was a very good dining experi ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Overall it was a very good dining experience. We loved portions of the meal being prepared next to our table and the pepper steak was excellent!

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food! Cesar salad prepared at ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Wonderful food! Cesar salad prepared at the table as well as some of the steaks and desserts. Salmon was wonderful. This is not an inexpensive meal but worth the cost.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The meal we had was excellent. The food ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

The meal we had was excellent. The food, service and ambiance were all outstanding and we had another memorable experience at the Pepper Tree. The staff was courteous and knowledgeable and they helped make the evening a wonderful success.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is our favorite steak restaurant. ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

This is our favorite steak restaurant. The food and service is always excellent.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Although the Pepper Tree was a nice plac ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Although the Pepper Tree was a nice place with good food, the service was odd. We had three different people tending to our table and it was inconsistent. Also, the reviews of a "scenic view" are a little off. While the windows do overlook the city, there is also a giant electrical fence in that view. Also, the restaurant is in a strange location and the building looks a little sketchy from the outside. Overall, the food was good but menu selection is limited. I will most likely not be returning to this restaurant for business meals in the future.

Tags: good for groups, romantic
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Hubby and I were visiting Manitou Spring ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Hubby and I were visiting Manitou Springs for our anniversary, and a friend who lives locally recommended it. While the interior and exterior could use a good spruce relative to the cost of the meal, the food was excellent, especially the steaks which were so tender you could literally cut them with a butter knife. Go for the steaks.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience2
service2

The restaurant is dated. We were a party ...

Dined on June 9, 2016

The restaurant is dated. We were a party of six and all ordered the signature peppersteak. At best, the food was ok. The server was a little pushy and opinionated. I probably wouldn't choose this restaurant on another trip to Colorado Springs.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very Good For Special Occasions

Dined on June 7, 2016

I would rate it overall very good but not outstanding. Food was excellent, however, when you pay $50 for a steak, I would't expect to pay extra for blue cheese chips on a salad and sour cream on a baked potato at such a high class restaurant. Also, portion of wine by the glass was very skimpy. Steak and service was excellent as usual.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service2
value1

Lost it's edge

Dined on June 3, 2016

Was one of our favorites but now over priced Food and service no where it was

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

You can't beat the meat.

Dined on May 29, 2016

That was the best steak I've had in a long time! Great food, service, and atmosphere!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5

Wonderful service, exceptional food... A ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

Wonderful service, exceptional food... Absolutely love

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent meal and exceptional service. ...

vip
Dined on May 28, 2016

Excellent meal and exceptional service. Always a treat!!

food3
ambience3
service2
value1

If you dont know any better, you'll be impressed.

Dined on May 27, 2016

This is a very expensive dinner for two for Colorado Springs. Given that, you'll expect a little personal attention. That is where you'll be disappointed. Despite the small dining room and relative high number of (all male) wait staff you'll have to flag down service. Meal is prepared at your table, ... sort of. The meal will be left unattended to cook at your table but, the servers will be off doing other more important things. Very odd. I can't imagine leaving an unattended meal cooking at customers table but, that is how they do it. The food was good but the service was not worth the $300.00+ price tag. For the money, you would be better served at the Cliff House.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding service and food. Great vie ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

Outstanding service and food. Great view. We had a wonderful time celebrating our wedding anniversary. The steaks were done to order and they were extremely tender.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our 3rd time here, and the pepper steak ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

Our 3rd time here, and the pepper steak was absolutely outstanding.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was excellent, the food was ...

Dined on May 24, 2016

The service was excellent, the food was outstanding. The view of the Colorado Springs skyline is great after dark, except for the construction at I25. Overall this place is the perfect hideaway to celebrate a special occasion or have a romantic dinner. Is a little pricey, but well worth it.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dinner and views at the Pepper Tree

Dined on May 22, 2016

The Caesar's salad, prepared table side, was very tasty. Our pepper steak, also prepared table side, was superb and easily cut with a butter knife. For desert, the banana's Foster were very, very yummy!! Great service and a great view. A terrific fine dining experience for any special occasion--in our case--our 33rd wedding anniversary! Well done Pepper Tree!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, they do a fantastic job. The ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

As always, they do a fantastic job. The staff is incredible! Neal, Kerri, Rick, and Josh (I probably spelled their names incorrectly) provide incredible service and know what real restaurant service is. Well done--no pun intended.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

We ate here 8 years ago, and enjoyed it. ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

We ate here 8 years ago, and enjoyed it. This dining experience was not as good. We did not think the quality of the food was worth the price. It's very expensive. My husbands Trout entree was mediocre. He actually did not think it tasted very fresh.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Agile

Dined on May 21, 2016

Our plans changed a bit and we ended up arriving an hour early. The staff quickly got a table prepared for our six celebrating our son's graduation. The rapport with and between the staff was delightful. The food was excellent - a great family event made special by Pepper Tree.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Service was slow. The tables were set up ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Service was slow. The tables were set up in am akward way. Noone gave us a menu so we sat there waiting. They had people there wearing tank tops but kept telling my husband to take his hat off. If your going to have a dress code then make it for everyone. They cook way too close to you tableside eapecially when its not your meal which was akward

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I dine out multiple times each week with ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

I dine out multiple times each week with customers, and this restaurant is definitely one of my top 5 in the country. The meal was much better than most steak restaurants and the waiter was awesome.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best place in Colorado Springs

vip
Dined on May 18, 2016

Best place in Colorado Springs to celebrate a very special occasion. You will never go wrong with their house specialty, pepper steak. The service is always wonderful and extremely pleasant.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience1
service2
value1

We were disappointed in the Pepper Tree. ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

We were disappointed in the Pepper Tree. We went for our anniversary and found it to be lacking in atmosphere and ambiance. The food was adequate, not outstanding. At this price point we expected better. We have enjoyed better food, atmosphere and comparable prices at other restaurants. We will not dine here again.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love the PepperTree for special occasions!

Dined on May 15, 2016

Our anniversary is a perfect time to go to the PepperTree! We love the food, from the appetizers, to the Cherries Jubilee! The staff is always so friendly and professional, they seem to love working there!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The smells walking in made your mouth wa ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

The smells walking in made your mouth water......delicious. Could not wait to dig into the delicious food....which it truly was. The steak melted in your mouth, spinach salad was good and flavorful, and the sea bass was dripping in butter like a lobster. Truly enjoyed!!!!!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service2
value5

Anniversary

Dined on May 13, 2016

My father suggested this place, so I knew it would taste amazing. Our table side food tasted so amazing. The only thing that ruined it for me was our table side server. When in a fine dining resteraunt I don't expected the words ' I am going to add a hit of this', 'I will add a punch of this' , and for goodness sakes don't pat me on my shoulder and suggest a drink as you walk by without me seeing you. I'm not your girl. When getting ready for desert to be served table side he proceeded to say, 'alright children lets get this started.' I am sorry I am not a child and do not like being treated as. I may be the youngest diner in the place at the time, it does not mean I am a child. I will say the food was amazing all of our other servers and workers were great! I just think you need to be more aware of what your table side person is saying. I will recommend this place, but one person like this will ruin an experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We needed to have a quiet enjoyable meal ...

vip
Dined on May 12, 2016

We needed to have a quiet enjoyable meal as we discussed business. The service at Pepper Tree was impeccable. Joshua and his team, along with Carrie, were fantastic.. The food was the finest and best prepared which I have ever experienced anywhere. Fantastic in every way!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Just the best steak around, bar none...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Awesome steaks cooked tableside (Steak Diane and the signature Peppersteak). Great apps, salads, and deserts. QUITE pricey, be prepared for as much as $100 per person if you go all out with drinks, etc. Totally worth it, our favorite "special occasion" place to eat. It was our friend's first time there and they were solidly impressed. Will be back as soon as we can concoct another "special occasion".

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

This is our go to family special occasio ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

This is our go to family special occasion place! The best staff and food Ever!

food4
ambience4
service2
value4

I hope it will be better next time

Dined on May 8, 2016

We have been there before and NEVER had the experience that we had. We were celebrating a college graduate and Mother's Day. They made a mistake on one of the filet and then took forever getting it right a. The potatos got cold and even took forever for our dessert. I really love this place and it was the worst experience we ever had there. We wanted to come back for our Anniversary next month, but since the last weekend experience wasn't great, we are thinking of changing our dining spot for that occasion.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Whenever we have any kind of celebration ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Whenever we have any kind of celebration, we find ourselves at the Peppertree. Never have had a bad steak! Although the favorite seems to be pepper steak, my favorite is steak Diane. It is a quiet, friendly, wonderful dining experience. All of the staff is as cordial as can be. We will continue to make it our favorite place to have a steak. Thanks!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Steak Ever!

Dined on April 30, 2016

I honestly did not know it was possible for a steak to melt in your mouth, but it is! The pepper steak was incredibly delicious! I loved the table side service. The desserts made at our table topped off the entire meal! Fabulous place!!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

As usual it was a superb dining experien ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

As usual it was a superb dining experience. Never had a bad meal or experience at the Pepper Tree.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Dinner

Dined on April 23, 2016

Good good , thought scalloped potatoes a little too rich , and my pepper steak was suppose to be medium well cooked but more medium and very very pink in middle , creme brûlée excellent , shrimp cocktail excellent !

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Repeat Pleasantries

Dined on April 20, 2016

We've nearly always eaten at the Pepper Tree for special occasions or when we wanted to treat extra special friends. Each time in the past we have been super pleased with everything. This is the first time that everything was totally perfect. The staff were professional, personal and one was even a little playful with quips and comments--all of which were appropriate and enjoyable. The food was cooked just as we had ordered and it was all good except for the top crust of our apple pie which was burnt. I asked to taste one of their entrees telling them that I would be glad to pay for it, but they provided a substantial serving and didn't charge me! The only other drawback to our experience was the noise level of patrons close by. However, that's not something the restaurant staff can control as the people were just loud, not roudy. The view from the restaurant is stunning! We will certainly continue to patronize this fine restaurant!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Bananas foster was excellent, pepper ste ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

Bananas foster was excellent, pepper steak and the lamb were perfectly prepared

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent choice

Dined on April 16, 2016

This restaurant has always been amazing. The ambiance is very romantic and a quiet place to be able to listen to each other talk. The food is out standing and top of the line. The service is what other restaurants should be immulating. If you are asking yourself if you should try the Pepper Tree, don't put it off, you will certainly make this place one of your top choices for any occasion.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.