Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.97mi
  2. Distance: 1.43mi
  3. Distance: 1.67mi
  4. Distance: 1.74mi
  1. Distance: 0.97mi
  2. Distance: 1.43mi
  3. Distance: 1.67mi
  4. Distance: 1.74mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.97mi
  2. Distance: 1.43mi
  3. Distance: 1.67mi
  4. Distance: 1.74mi
  1. Distance: 0.97mi
  2. Distance: 1.43mi
  3. Distance: 1.67mi
  4. Distance: 1.74mi

About Pepper Tree Restaurant

The Pepper Tree restaurant has been a tradition for fine dining in Colorado Springs since 1983. Serving steaks, seafood, lamb, veal and more, the Pepper Tree is legendary for impeccable cuisine, ambiance, service and breathtaking views of the city. The Pepper Tree"s signature Mango Chutney Pepper Steak and other specialities, including Chateaubriand, Steak Diane, and English Dover Sole, are prepared or finished tableside.

888 W Moreno
Colorado Springs, CO 80905
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
8th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(719) 471-4888

Website:
http://www.peppertreecs.com/

Executive Chef:
Kenneth Leech

Private Party Facilities:
Please call for more info on renting out the Pepper Tree Restaurant.

Private Party Contact:
Neil Levy: (719) 471-4888

Additional:
Banquet, Non-Smoking, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Pepper Tree Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (56)
Good for Anniversaries (55)
Special Occasion (52)
See All
Good for a Date (50)
Scenic View (45)
Cozy (24)
Quiet Conversation (23)
Good for Birthdays (23)
Worth the Drive (20)
Notable Wine List (19)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Business Meals (11)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Authentic (8)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Fun (6)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Casual (4)
Historic (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Great Beer (1)
Fireplace (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Healthy (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
1123 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 6 days ago

Well worth coming out of the mountains for a top notch meal.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Went here for my boyfriends birthday it was our first time and everything was just spectacular we loved every minute of our dinning experience. We will be back

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Very good pepper steak but would suggest another option rather than smothering in jelly as a finish.....smothered/overwhelmed the taste of the meat rather than accentuating it.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The service was excellent, however the food was average and overpriced. It is clear that one pays for the experience rather than the food

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Second time to this restaurant, and again to us, perfect as usual. Can't seem to try anything but the pepper steak, pan fried medium rare in butter, covered with a pepper coating and flamed in front of us at the table. My six ounce filet was served covered with a tasty savory chutney. I chose the roasted red potatoes, preceded by an authentic Caesar salad. Accompanied by red blend wine, the meal was perfect. My wife enjoyed a red snapper prepared well. I don't know why this gem doesn't advertise more. Maybe they don't have to, because of returnees as ourselves. A positive critique and word of mouth travels quickly among friends..

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Friendly service; descent wine list; the meal was done to perfection

Tags: Casual, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Amazing food and service we never miss a chance when we are in town to make reservations! It's our reason to make a trip to the springs.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 5, 2017

There's a reason I keep coming back. The experience is very consistent and the Pepper Steak is amazing.

Tags: Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Food was Great as always staff were very good and friendly I love to watch what they do when they cook at the table so personal and professional . I would recommend this to any one .

Tags: Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 4, 2017

The best part of the meal was the soup and bread. We both ordered ribeye medium. It was mid rare, gristly and had an unpleasant taste of the gas they used. Possibly the grill? Anyway, for $165 I expected an exceptional dining experience and the meat prepared perfectly. Really disappointing. We may go again and try the filet. The waiter rather apologetically recommended we try it next time and said it's their signature steak when he saw we barely touched our steaks. I really don't like pan fried steak prepared in pure butter but prefer a grilled steak. That is why we opted for the ribeye.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 26, 2017

The service and food were excellent! We felt extremely welcomed. It is quite fun to watch some of the entrees prepared table side. A couple issue we had...Our reservation was made online and noted to celebrate a birthday, but no mention was made from the wait staff. Maybe they don't actually read the notes that go along with the reservation? We did see other folks presented a simple candle with their dessert that would have been nice for us. The other issue/surprise was that my wife ordered the "veal". She thought she was ordering a table side veal entrée, but we were surprised to find that they delivered a veal with crab entrée from the kitchen. The veal chop and crab were excellent, but the price was an unexpected surprise at twice that of the other veal entrée on the menu. We did not know the misunderstanding until we received the check. We knew the meal would be expensive, but were still surprised when a single dish we did not know we ordered was $70. I guess we should have better knowledge of the menu as first time guests to catch the mistake?

We would absolutely go again, but would want to verify our entrée choices with the waiter so there is not a surprise at the end.

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Always a treat for our special occasions the food and service is 1st class all the way !

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 21, 2017

We absolutely loved the Pepper Tree! The steak was cooked perfectly in front of us and the cheesecake was to die for:) The waiters all took care of us and answered any questions. A new fave for special date nights and we will recommend to family and friends as well!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 19, 2017

It was AWESOME. .as usual. Can't wait to go back! The pepper steak was melt in your mouth yumminess!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 19, 2017

This has been our favorite place for special occasions for over 20 years! Neil and his staff make us feel pampered!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 17, 2017

The Pepper Tree has a great view of Colorado Springs and the food and staff is always 5 stars. They prepare most of the meal in front of you. Expect to pay $75-100 per person if you want to do it right. My only concern is that they need to spend some of the money they are making on the building and facilities. It looks a little run down. The ceiling tiles are water damaged and the bathrooms are moldy and not well kept up. The faucet knobs were worn out, missing pieces and dirty. Please take some of that cash and upgrade the place. The food is awesome. Steaksmith was my favorite, however they are gone and the Peppertree is as good.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Ample wine list. Bloody Mary was only fair. Lobster Bisque was extremely tasty with ample bits of lobster in a full bowl. A wonderful touch to have the host provide background on the setting and the menu. A great selection of main courses. The Pepper Steak was featured on the menu. We ordered it and it was tender, had outstanding flavor, and was well prepared at our table side. The view and service were top notch.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Molecular Gastronomy, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Outstanding. I've been going here off and on for over 35 years and still recommend it as one of the top restaurants in Colorado Springs. This outing my wife had the halibut special and said it was one of the best fish dinners she's had in her life. Perfectly cooked and seasoned just right. I opted for my favorite, steak Diane, and ordered the sauce extra creamy. Fantastic.

Service was spot on from arrival until departure.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Fantastic as always. Cesear Salad fixed table side, then their signature Pepper Steak also fixed tableside, served with mango chutney and cream sherry sauce. Highly recommend for special occasions

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Been going to pepper tree for years for my wife and I s treats to ourselves they always makes us feel special and the meal is always top notch

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Amazing view, awesome food. A perfect place for a romantic dinner

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Wish we had learned of this gen sooner. Best steak in town. We'll be back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We've been going here for 20 years and it's fantastic every single time.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Very nice atmosphere to celebrate our Anniversary. Our meal was good but not excellent for an upscale restaurant. The pepper steak was cooked tableside to perfect medium rare and the lobster tail was splendid. Very good cabernet wine and tasty bread and house salad. We tried the seared sea scallops as an appetizer and the sauce provided a nice flavor and kick. One of the scallops was barely seared with an almost warm center, which did not fare well with one of us who doesn't care for raw food. The second scallop was seared nicely on one side and the center warm, but still on the rare side. Pretty pricy for a less than average appetizer. I was also amazed at the $1.00 charge for a loaded baked potatoe. The menu is already overpriced and to charge extra for sour cream, chives, bacon, and butter for the baked potatoe simply lacks class. Desert was pleasant with berries (raspberries) and cream and cherries jubilee.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Everything was as great as usual except that the lobster was half raw inside. A few minutes more would have been just right. They are hard to cook if you are not used to it.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Was very disappointed in the food for the price. The pepper steak that they are famous for was way too sweet. It was cooked great but the food sure didn't match the price.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Very good food in a somewhat stuffy and 'old-fashioned' environment.

The dining room has a nice view, albeit with some lesser design features like a drop ceiling with foam tiles.
The food was well prepared and delicious. It is definitely an old school menu with steaks prepared tableside with classic offerings. Well done, but don't expect a lot of innovation or creativity.
Service was very pleasant and eager to please, although they confused my wife's request for 'please give us ample time between courses' with 'bring everything at once.'
Overall a nice meal with food that is worth the price, but average ambiance and you have to want that traditional approach to the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great service and food. Still consistent even after not goi9ng there for 3 years. This is a special occasion place for us.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 29, 2017

This was our first dining experience here. We had received a gift certificate for Christmas. The restaurant is small with a scenic view. Being small, the staff is able to be attentive to every guest. The food was delicious. My steak was cooked table side to perfection. My husband had the rack of lamb and it to was great. Would definitely recommend for special occasions.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Excellent and relaxing evening...Thanks
The food was yummy and we enjoyed the table side Pepper steaks and Banana Foster

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 28, 2017

They over charge me on my bills! Didn't said sorry. Don't wnat to give the different back!
Not good experience!
Never go back

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 26, 2017

We have been going here for our anniversary for nearly 20 years. Have always thought everything was absolutely wonderful. This year, I was a little disappointed in the pepper-steak which is their signature dish. The steak wasn't as tender as expected and was cooked more than desired (and ordered).

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 26, 2017

My first experience was fabulous. Very attentive service and super food with a beautiful eastern view of downtown. We will be back very soon.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 25, 2017

The Pepper Tree is always a treat. We enjoy the atmosphere and quietness that makes a very enjoyable dining experience. The table side cooking of the steak and desert is great. Always outstanding service and very flexible to your request of menu items since everything is prepared in house and made to order. View of the city light just adds to the experience of the visit. Outstanding Restaurant and we plan to visit many more times.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 22, 2017

I made reservations for my husband's birthday. After placing our full order, we sat and waited. We saw other tables around us being served their bread and appetizers and salads. They had been seated after us. We watched our waiter walk around and look at his tables, including ours which sat empty of anything. He never stopped to check in. He obviously never checked on our food. After we had been in the restaurant a full hour and watched a table who were seated a 1/2 hr after us have their main meal prepped, I had to flag down our waiter and ask where our food was. He acted surprised and said he would check. Upon return, he informed us he never put our order in at all. For the "inconvenience" he would offer us free desserts or appetizers. We asked if our food was coming and he said he would put it in. We left, having to pay for a bottle of wine we never got to finish. Awful awful service. How do you not notice your table has never been served anything? You are much better off booking a reservation somewhere else.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Excellent service and a fantastic meal. The folks at Pepper Tree know how to provide an exemplary culinary experience.
For any special occasion, this is my "go to" restaurant.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The best steak I have ever had. Great service as well.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Food was good although they were a little busy that night so we didn't get the usual personal attention we have had in the past.

Tags: Scenic View, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The view was amazing and the service was friendly and fast.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 11, 2017

This is, and has been, one of our very favorite restaurants in the area.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.