Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.97mi
  2. Distance: 1.43mi
  3. Distance: 1.67mi
  4. Distance: 1.74mi
  1. Distance: 0.97mi
  2. Distance: 1.43mi
  3. Distance: 1.67mi
  4. Distance: 1.74mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.97mi
  2. Distance: 1.43mi
  3. Distance: 1.67mi
  4. Distance: 1.74mi
  1. Distance: 0.97mi
  2. Distance: 1.43mi
  3. Distance: 1.67mi
  4. Distance: 1.74mi

About Pepper Tree Restaurant

The Pepper Tree restaurant has been a tradition for fine dining in Colorado Springs since 1983. Serving steaks, seafood, lamb, veal and more, the Pepper Tree is legendary for impeccable cuisine, ambiance, service and breathtaking views of the city. The Pepper Tree"s signature Mango Chutney Pepper Steak and other specialities, including Chateaubriand, Steak Diane, and English Dover Sole, are prepared or finished tableside.

888 W Moreno
Colorado Springs, CO 80905
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
8th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(719) 471-4888

Website:
http://www.peppertreecs.com/

Executive Chef:
Kenneth Leech

Private Party Facilities:
Please call for more info on renting out the Pepper Tree Restaurant.

Private Party Contact:
Neil Levy: (719) 471-4888

Additional:
Banquet, Non-Smoking, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Pepper Tree Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (54)
Romantic (53)
Good for Anniversaries (49)
See All
Good for a Date (45)
Scenic View (41)
Good for Birthdays (22)
Notable Wine List (20)
Quiet Conversation (20)
Cozy (17)
Worth the Drive (16)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Business Meals (9)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Authentic (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Fun (4)
Historic (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Casual (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Healthy (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
1148 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 5 days ago

I would recommend ordering from the steak menue as that is their signiture entree.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined 5 days ago

In a word...Superior!!!

Highly recommend for special occasions due to prices.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mothers Day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 14, 2017

First time very nice for special occasions. It was very different and a very quite environment. The view needs a little more trimmed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 13, 2017

I am a former restaurant owner,
everyone was totally friendly, helpful,
happy. we got the stake that was prepared at the table side
because we wanted the interaction with the staff and let them
show off what they do. It was our anniversary.
We would love to eat there again, it was Delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Don't pass this opportunity by. Best steak and atmosphere. I Don't like to put other establishments down but this is far above MacKenzie's chop house.

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Celebrated a college graduation here with a wonderful family dinner! Nothing about our experience was less than outstanding. Friendly, professional staff and the steak is WOW! Highly recommend.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 11, 2017

The Pepper Tree is a Colorado Springs local gem. The service was once again superior and always rivals the Broadmoor. The signature pepper steak was outstanding in every way.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Always a great place to go. This particular time, the cut of meat was very disappointing. Management and staff made the shortcoming right. Great place to go and I remain a fan!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 10, 2017

When I want to be pampered, we go to the Peppertree Restaurant. The staff treats us very well and the food is always prepared just as we ordered. Very extensive wine list. I love this place for special occasions like birthday parties and anniversaries. Nowhere else in town do you get the individual service you receive here.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Impeccable service. Amazing meal. Watched a beautiful thunderstorm while dining, great view.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 4, 2017

I brought my Wife to the Pepper Tree to celebrate her birthday. The food and service was great. After our dinner they took our plates, after awhile I asked about my Wife's left overs that she barely ate due to being full from the bread and salad. They said they thru it out. We were disappointed because the steak was delicious. Without hesitation they made her a fresh meal to take home. They were pricey but it was worth it for a great night out. Gentleman, I would suggest bringing your Misses.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Amazing food and amazing service! We will be back!

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Have not found anything better than Pepper Tree! Best steak by far, had the Pepper Steak... in the future will try the Dianna Steak. Will cost you, but you get what you pay for. Up there with Morton of Chicago, Ruth Chris, Duke's Steakhouse (Castle Pines, CO), any excellent steak house. Unable to duplicate at home, means back to Pepper Tree again and again. The cherries jubilee cooked at table side is to die for or your last meal; whichever comes first.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 30, 2017

The best steak I have ever had in my life. Everything was perfect. The view was beautiful. I felt a bit underdress but no one said anything. All the staff was very nice. Alcohol was very pricey. Caesar salad cost extra which we were not told, however it was worth the money. My husband said it was the best Caesar salad he has ever had. Restaurant is pricey, not recommended for children. It is definitely a top contender for special occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Outstanding service and location. Researched fine dining locations in the Springs and Pepper Tree was on the top of the list. Booked a res on a Monday evening for our anniversary. We were sat at a window table with an incredible view. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. Decanted a red for dinner and opened a white to start. Wine list is deep, prices are reasonable and what you would expect dining out. Steaks were amazing and it was a new experience for us that they cook them at your table. Really cool and the chef was nice to talk to. We will definitely visit again!

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Came for our 31st anniversary and the evening was perfect! Service outstanding and the food... oh my!, I can't say enough about how amazing our meal was. Thank you Peppertree for creating a wonderful evening for the two of us.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 23, 2017

My husband and I had a great dinner at the Peppertree. Our meals were cooked perfectly and while the specials sounded wonderful, we got the same thing we normally get - steak Diane & lobster. The food was amazing, ambiance was wonderful, and the service was great. Next time we're going to request a window table for a better view.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on April 22, 2017

As usual they made the sweetbreads into an appetizer rather than a main course-for health reasons and they were great. Had the halibut special excellent. Steak marvelous, sea bass exceptional as usual and everything done as requested-- perhaps the martini was off a little and the wine wasn't as recommended but certainly OK. One of our 3 top go to CS restaurants

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 9, 2017

This restaurant's food was terrible. First, they serve only a few side dishes, and you can't substitute anything. In my case, the scalloped potatoes were obviously done in mass with little care and little flavor, and the significant other's rice was under-cooked and crunchy. I don't typically write negative reviews, but this was a terrible experience. I will never go back. I can't believe the signature dish was a 50$ jelly-covered steak, and more so, I can't believe people seek it out. It is clear you pay for the "experience" here and not the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Usually very good food, prepared to perfection, but slipping recently. During a recent special occasion celebration , both my and my husbands steaks ( Pepper Steak and Steak Diane) were way overcooked. We both requested medium well but both were served well done , some may call it " dead and buried". No pink whatesoever in the center. cooked thu and thru. Very disappointing for the price we paid for these steaks. Staff member working that night was busy with preparing steaks for two tables at the same time and unfortunately, our steaks were left unattended tableside for too long. Also one of the waitstaff forgot a shrimp cocktail order. I E-mailed owner about our disappointing experience on this special occasion, but not so much as a reply too apologise for the disappointing experience. Kind of says it all. Slipping .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 7, 2017

We went for our Anniversary and received excellent service. The view was somewhat obstructed by a Juniper bush yet we still had a view of the downtown area of Colorado Springs. The Sea Bass was prepared expertly. The Lobster and Steak were delicious but the lobster portion was smaller than expected.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Once a year in business and never disappoints my colleagues or me.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 26, 2017

My wife and I have been going here, at least once a year, since 2008. Best experience in Colorado Springs!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Was our Wedding Anniversary we enjoyed the smallness, the view, the great service and the food. Would recommend it to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Well worth coming out of the mountains for a top notch meal.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Went here for my boyfriends birthday it was our first time and everything was just spectacular we loved every minute of our dinning experience. We will be back

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Very good pepper steak but would suggest another option rather than smothering in jelly as a finish.....smothered/overwhelmed the taste of the meat rather than accentuating it.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The service was excellent, however the food was average and overpriced. It is clear that one pays for the experience rather than the food

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Second time to this restaurant, and again to us, perfect as usual. Can't seem to try anything but the pepper steak, pan fried medium rare in butter, covered with a pepper coating and flamed in front of us at the table. My six ounce filet was served covered with a tasty savory chutney. I chose the roasted red potatoes, preceded by an authentic Caesar salad. Accompanied by red blend wine, the meal was perfect. My wife enjoyed a red snapper prepared well. I don't know why this gem doesn't advertise more. Maybe they don't have to, because of returnees as ourselves. A positive critique and word of mouth travels quickly among friends..

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Friendly service; descent wine list; the meal was done to perfection

Tags: Casual, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Amazing food and service we never miss a chance when we are in town to make reservations! It's our reason to make a trip to the springs.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 5, 2017

There's a reason I keep coming back. The experience is very consistent and the Pepper Steak is amazing.

Tags: Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Food was Great as always staff were very good and friendly I love to watch what they do when they cook at the table so personal and professional . I would recommend this to any one .

Tags: Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 4, 2017

The best part of the meal was the soup and bread. We both ordered ribeye medium. It was mid rare, gristly and had an unpleasant taste of the gas they used. Possibly the grill? Anyway, for $165 I expected an exceptional dining experience and the meat prepared perfectly. Really disappointing. We may go again and try the filet. The waiter rather apologetically recommended we try it next time and said it's their signature steak when he saw we barely touched our steaks. I really don't like pan fried steak prepared in pure butter but prefer a grilled steak. That is why we opted for the ribeye.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 26, 2017

The service and food were excellent! We felt extremely welcomed. It is quite fun to watch some of the entrees prepared table side. A couple issue we had...Our reservation was made online and noted to celebrate a birthday, but no mention was made from the wait staff. Maybe they don't actually read the notes that go along with the reservation? We did see other folks presented a simple candle with their dessert that would have been nice for us. The other issue/surprise was that my wife ordered the "veal". She thought she was ordering a table side veal entrée, but we were surprised to find that they delivered a veal with crab entrée from the kitchen. The veal chop and crab were excellent, but the price was an unexpected surprise at twice that of the other veal entrée on the menu. We did not know the misunderstanding until we received the check. We knew the meal would be expensive, but were still surprised when a single dish we did not know we ordered was $70. I guess we should have better knowledge of the menu as first time guests to catch the mistake?

We would absolutely go again, but would want to verify our entrée choices with the waiter so there is not a surprise at the end.

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Always a treat for our special occasions the food and service is 1st class all the way !

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 21, 2017

We absolutely loved the Pepper Tree! The steak was cooked perfectly in front of us and the cheesecake was to die for:) The waiters all took care of us and answered any questions. A new fave for special date nights and we will recommend to family and friends as well!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 19, 2017

It was AWESOME. .as usual. Can't wait to go back! The pepper steak was melt in your mouth yumminess!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 19, 2017

This has been our favorite place for special occasions for over 20 years! Neil and his staff make us feel pampered!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.