About Penrose Room - The Broadmoor

One Lake Avenue
Colorado Springs, CO 80901
View Larger Map

Since 1961, the historic Penrose Room has been known as one of the Rocky Mountain region's top destinations for classic fine dining, and it remains the only Five-Star and Five-Diamond restaurant in Colorado. Situated on the top floor of Broadmoor South, the Penrose Room treats guests to gracious hospitality and exceptional cuisine against the stunning backdrop of Cheyenne Mountain.



Complement your meal with a recommended selection from our extensive European wine list, and enjoy live entertainment and dancing.



Dress code is strictly enforced- jackets required for gentlemen, no denim, shorts or sportswear, please.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Tuesday through Saturday 6 PM to 9 PM.
Entertainment Tuesday through Saturday evenings until 10:30 PM.

Penrose Lounge Wednesday through Saturday 5:30 to 10:30 PM.

Closed on Sunday and Monday evenings.

Cross Street:
Lake Circle

Dress Code:
Jacket Required

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(866) 381-8432

Website:
http://www.broadmoor.com/penrose-room

Entertainment:
With live dinner music and dancing, Penrose Room offers a complete evening's entertainment.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet. Hotel garage parking is also available.

Executive Chef:
Korey Sims

Private Party Facilities:
Enhancing the Penrose Room's timeless elegance is the glass-enclosed 24-seat semi-private dining room, which extends out from the main dining room affording guests a breathtaking view of the mountains and lake.



Located at the Southwest corner of the restaurant, the private Cornet Room featuring two tables of 20, or 40 total guests, is the perfect location for a private reception to experience a chef's tasting menu.



There is truly no dining experience more satisfying than one spent at a private Chef's Table at the award-winning Penrose Room. Every detail has been given the utmost attention at the Chef's Table, from the hand-blown Grecian plates custom designed for each course to the individually created menus. With cooking and wine demonstrations for up to 16, guests are treated to an up close look at the chef in action, while the wrap-around balcony offers an irresistible setting for pre-dinner receptions or for sipping port after.

Private Party Contact:
Duane Thompson: 7196347711x5417

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Dancing, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access

Penrose Room - The Broadmoor Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Denver / Colorado
Best Overall
Colorado Springs
Best Service
Colorado Springs
4 More
Best Ambiance
Colorado Springs
Notable Wine List
Colorado Springs
Romantic
Colorado Springs
Special Occasion
Colorado Springs
Best Restaurants in Colorado Springs ›

special occasion (50)
romantic (47)
scenic view (45)
See All
notable wine list (31)
fit for foodies (22)
good for groups (5)
late-night find (4)
hot spot (2)
neighborhood gem (1)
kid-friendly (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
270 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent, must go

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent, must go

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our experience was perfection. Fabulous ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Our experience was perfection. Fabulous food and service beyond compare.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Positive: Alex and Amy were exceptional ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Positive: Alex and Amy were exceptional.

Very much enjoyed the experience.

Negative: Sea bass was average

Thanks

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

It was an absolutely a wonderful evening ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

It was an absolutely a wonderful evening. It was like a step back in time!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding ambience. Beautiful view if ...

 
 (Amarillo)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Outstanding ambience. Beautiful view if seated by windows. Food was great.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome in every way. It definately live ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Awesome in every way. It definately lives up to its 5 starreputation

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect evening for our special occasion ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Perfect evening for our special occasion. Service was outstanding and presentation of our different courses was great.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The view, the band, the service, the gen ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

The view, the band, the service, the general atmosphere was great. The food was very good, perhaps better appreciated by those used to gourmet preparations. Only small negative is that the portions - particularly the rack of lamb, were small.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The Penrose Room has earned a distinguis ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The Penrose Room has earned a distinguished reputation, with good cause. We are proud to have held our small wedding reception dinner there. The view from the restaurant was breathtaking. Our experience was unparalleled with any other dining experience to date. True class, style, and elegance describe the experience. Each course was a unique taste explosion.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service started out strong for the f ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The service started out strong for the first 10 minutes and then as each 10 minutes passed, we sat there without our water filled or a waiter in sight. Very disappointed with the service considering I had been to this restaurant several times before. It was a special occasion for us and we left feeling unsatisfied with our overall experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

We were treated with first rate service. ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

We were treated with first rate service. Our meal was delicious, we enjoyed the special small bites sent out by the kitchen, not only an amuse but a delicious palate cleanser.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Service was amazing and well times. The ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Service was amazing and well times. The meal was paces nicely. The dancing was fun

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a fabulous time with dinner and d ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Always a fabulous time with dinner and dancing. The Chef's tasting is super fun because each course and wine pairing are a surprise! Love this upscale environment.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is the restaurant to go to for spec ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

This is the restaurant to go to for special events or if you just want something extraordinary on any day. Food creations are exhilarating yet comforting, ambience is elegant but cozy, and the staff are just so attentive and knowledgeable that they make you feel welcome and special. The live mild jazz music with occasional pop/voice accompaniment is very good. Really unforgettable dining experience. I highly recommend.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The Penrose room is one of those extraor ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

The Penrose room is one of those extraordinarily special locations that you dine at when you are looking for a memorable evening. There are nice/pricey restaurants where you expect a superior meal, then there is the Penrose room where the utmost attempt is made to make everything perfect. I really want to give a review that says that this meal was out of this world, but I can't. I will give the good and bad though. The atmosphere, presentation and attention to detail is out of this world. The quality of the ingredients in all menu items are superb and fresh. The 2 main things I felt were disappointing is the waiter we had was very unhelpful and almost cold and the food was very good but not amazing. I ordered the lobster bisque and the amount of lobster in the dish was almost laughable (about the size of a pinky toe). My wife had the caesar salad to start and it had virtually no flavor. I had the bass for main course and my wife had the filet. The bass was delicious and the filet was a perfect piece of meat, but the sides that came with the meal were bland and boring. While I loved so much about the Penrose room, I can not walk away saying that was one of the better meals I have ever experienced or something I would need to do again shortly.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value2

Always Great

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

We travel to Colorado Springs once a year to attend BBQ U @ The Broadmoor. The Penrose Room is always part of those trips and lives up to it's 5 Star ratings, never disappoints. You pay premium dollars but you get a premium experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is the place for a special occasion ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

This is the place for a special occasion or simply an evening away from it all. The service, the food, and the views are all extraordinary. You will be graciously welcomed and elegantly pampered throughout the evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything in its right place...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Impeccable service, beautiful views, delicious food, and a pillow for my back. Wonderful!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

There is a reason the Penrose Room is a ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

There is a reason the Penrose Room is a five-star restaurant and fine dining experience. It is worth every penny for a special occasion. I went there for my anniversary on a Tuesday evening. It wasn't crowded although reservations are strongly encouraged. There was live music playing, and everything was superb. The beef tenderloin and gently cooked prawns were perfectly prepared. We watched weather roll in over the city and thoroughly enjoyed the evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Penrose room was old style elegance- ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

The Penrose room was old style elegance-chandeliers, big band, dancing, and silver plate covers. We enjoyed the fun of going back in time. The food however was not nearly as notable as some reviews had stated. Frankly, it was quite average. The menu is a fixed price 3, 4 or 5 dinner. The appetizers were the best part of the meal. My duck foie gras was the highlight of the meal. I highly recommend it. The rest of the meal was good, but rather average for a restaurant of that price. There are better restaurants in Colorado Springs and Manitou Springs. Unless you are celebrating an anniversary, I would seriously consider skipping this restaurant.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Simply Amazing

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

The Penrose Room is simply amazing and everything it promised to be. Service was terrific, food amazing, great views, and beautiful music. The only thing that went wrong is that the service was slow towards the end of the night and it took awhile to pay.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a good dinner here with impeccabl ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

We had a good dinner here with impeccable service from the staff. Hats off to them and their trainers. There was not a minor detail that went unnoticed.

Food was good - maybe not fantastic. We both had fish dishes that were well prepared. My stuffed flounder was a different presentation and probably did not stack up to other stuff flounder I have had.

My biggest complaint is not with the staff or food but the group around us. They were celebrating a birthday (all 7 of them) and had already consummed a bunch of alcohol. Needless to say they were noisy, obnoxious and quite over bearing. Kind of ruined the atmosphere for us and maybe others around us. Surely they could have been seated on a more remote area.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Penrose Room

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

Dining Room: The room was lovely and we sat near a window with sweeping views - however the window started just at the level of our seated eye-level, which greatly reduced the view.

Entertainment: the three person ensemble performed lovely dining and dance music, which greatly added to the ambiance; however we stepped up to dance at what we learned was the last song of the evening - and they showed no interest in continuing on even given audience interest.

Food: I rated it three stars as it was creative in ingredients and presentation, but taste was not inspiring. One entree was heavily salted, and some of the vegetables were a bit tough. All in all good food but not what I'd expect given 5 Diamonds. Chocolates at the end of the meal were exquisite!

Wine List: We had a pricy Burgundy which opened beautifully and we thought was fine value. Also the special tequila cocktail was amazing!

Service: Saving the best for last - the entire team was outstanding! Sommelier could've been a bit more engaging.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

We had a wonderful time dining and danci ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

We had a wonderful time dining and dancing. We chose the seven course meal with wines selected to compliment the chef's selection. Everything was excellent. We were there about three hours enjoying our leisurely meal and the wonderful music that had a kind of Nora Jones-esque sound. Afterwards we had a glass of cognac by the fire in the lounge next door. A truly magical night!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was a disappointment, especially g ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Food was a disappointment, especially given the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Our experience was amazing

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

We have lived in Colorado Springs for 30 years and never dined at the Broadmoor. Our son graduated from UCCS and we decided to take him and his sister out for dinner. The experience was positively amazing and one of the finest dining experiences we have had. Thank you to the staff of the Penrose Room for making a great day even better!

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The ambiance was outstanding.

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Best restaurant food and service we have ever had in our life.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great evening out

 
 (Raum Düsseldorf)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

A great restaurant for special occasion. The food lives up to the expectations. The band really pulls the evening together. Very attentive staff.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

A beautiful setting with excellent food, ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

A beautiful setting with excellent food, service and wine. The live music was good, also. Very enjoyable experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Over Rated

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 4, 2016

Arrived at 7 PM and only 2 other tables in the restaurant. Beautiful window tables open and yet we were seated at an interior booth. No else took the window tables well we were there. Waiter kept alternating between a fake English accent and over the top syrupy service We deferred a sommelier in order to look over the wine list and they sent one over anyway. Service was SLOW, especially for how empty the place was. Entrees were cold upon arrival. Food was average.

350.00 for all of that...........

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Wonderful Setting

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

The view was nice and the room was elegant in a formal but relaxing way. The band was very good and great for dancing. The dance floor was special. The food was so so. On their website they showed pictures mainly of the desserts which were excellent. Kudos to the pastry chef. Otherwise my fish entree was undercooked, tough and poorly trimmed. The wine list was excellent. Service was intrusive and they used our names constantly. Enough with the Mr. and Ms. already! Our waiter was awful but everyone else was very nice. There was unpleasantness as they jacked up the prices on our drinks.

Tags: scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value1

Best service in town

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

There is a reason that the Penrose Room is consistently highly rated. The service is exceptional, the ambiance is beautiful and the food is wonderful. Three of us recently went there for dinner and everything was great. I did not personally care for the lobster bisque and should have opted for the soft boiled egg or salad instead. My mistake. The beef, lamb and duck were all perfectly cooked and presentation was awesome. We were celebrating a special family occasion and the Broadmoor helped to make it even more special. In addition, one member of our family has a severe food allergy and all of the staff was very attentive to the issue. We noticed that certain rolls were not brought to our table because they may cross-contaminate or contain nuts. Also, the main entree was modified to ensure that no allergens were served. It was one of the very few times that we were comfortable in a restaurant and able to order dessert. Thank you!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Long dinner

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

Great ambiance and an unbelievable view. Service started off nicely but then became over-the-top effusive which extended the time between courses....to the point I thought my watch was broken. However, it was correct and our dinner was taking 3+ hours. Oh yeah, we only had 4 courses. Not really sure what happened.

Food was great! Wine pairings were perfect.

The jazz band was outstanding which added to the ambiance. We even danced a little while we waited for our dessert.

Would I return? Probably, but I'll wait a year or 2.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Excellence at its best!

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

I do not think you could find a better dining experience anywhere. The atmosphere is second to none, the food is delectable and the staff is truly five star in quality. I would strongly recommend you try the Chef's Tasting Menu with wine. It was the most enjoyable and relaxing way to have a family dinner without the decision making pressure. I can't wait to go back!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just an outstanding experience.

 
 (London)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

Just an outstanding experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Veteran Locals who ate there 28 + years

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

Disappointing. Service and ambiance, music, and classiness were great. Prices for two were $55 higher for us than published on the normally high Penrose menu web site. Two people, one wine, one three course and one four course, gatuity, parking tip coat check tip,totals little over $300. Wine choices were extensive and very reasonable stating at $10 a glass.Portions of food were unique and delicious but the smallest portions I have ever seen. Salad choices were limited and the mixed green leafs was mediocre and served on cute but shallow plated the spilled over the sides for the two of us. Surcharges were added for some items such as $15 each for the two tiny tenderloin medalions and some type of sausage. Again, service and dinner/ballroom music were excellent. Unless the prestige and ambience of 5 star/diamond rating, quite dinner/dancing music, super attentive service, and you are not hungry or in a hurry, and price is no concern... you will get better value at other Broadmoor restaurants (Tavern, Summit) or other local restaurants such as Joseph's, Walters, Oscars, or Pepper Tree.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value1

Definitely a must.

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

We loved the elegance of the room and very attentive wait staff. Their timing was impeccable and we never felt rushed. The lamb loin with sweet breads was a beautiful presentation as well as the tenderloin and fish dish. Each of our desserts were wonderful and a beautiful "Happy Birthday" was scrolled on the bottom of our mother's plate. We didn't realize there would be a group entertaining us as we ate and a few people got up and danced. It truly dining at its finest.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was good but not the best I hav ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

The food was good but not the best I have had in Colorado. The service was perfect and the live music made it feel special.

Love all the little extra treats.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Fabulous evening!!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Fabulous evening!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went to the Penrose room on the 13th ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

We went to the Penrose room on the 13th of February looking for a romantic place to have dinner. They offered a special for the evening but even though the restaurant itself and the service was awesome--I really thought that the food had poor presentation and was not worth the over $100 per plate that it was

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.