About Penrose Room - The Broadmoor

One Lake Avenue
Colorado Springs, CO 80901
View Larger Map

Since 1961, the historic Penrose Room has been known as one of the Rocky Mountain region's top destinations for classic fine dining, and it remains the only Five-Star and Five-Diamond restaurant in Colorado. Situated on the top floor of Broadmoor South, the Penrose Room treats guests to gracious hospitality and exceptional cuisine against the stunning backdrop of Cheyenne Mountain.



Complement your meal with a recommended selection from our extensive European wine list, and enjoy live entertainment and dancing.



Dress code is strictly enforced- jackets required for gentlemen, no denim, shorts or sportswear, please.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Tuesday through Saturday 6 PM to 9 PM.
Entertainment Tuesday through Saturday evenings until 10:30 PM.

Penrose Lounge Wednesday through Saturday 5:30 to 10:30 PM.

Closed on Sunday and Monday evenings.

Cross Street:
Lake Circle

Dress Code:
Jacket Required

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(866) 381-8432

Website:
http://www.broadmoor.com/penrose-room

Entertainment:
With live dinner music and dancing, Penrose Room offers a complete evening's entertainment.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet. Hotel garage parking is also available.

Executive Chef:
Korey Sims

Private Party Facilities:
Enhancing the Penrose Room's timeless elegance is the glass-enclosed 24-seat semi-private dining room, which extends out from the main dining room affording guests a breathtaking view of the mountains and lake.



Located at the Southwest corner of the restaurant, the private Cornet Room featuring two tables of 20, or 40 total guests, is the perfect location for a private reception to experience a chef's tasting menu.



There is truly no dining experience more satisfying than one spent at a private Chef's Table at the award-winning Penrose Room. Every detail has been given the utmost attention at the Chef's Table, from the hand-blown Grecian plates custom designed for each course to the individually created menus. With cooking and wine demonstrations for up to 16, guests are treated to an up close look at the chef in action, while the wrap-around balcony offers an irresistible setting for pre-dinner receptions or for sipping port after.

Private Party Contact:
Duane Thompson: 7196347711x5417

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Dancing, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access

Penrose Room - The Broadmoor Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Denver / Colorado
Romantic
Denver / Colorado
Special Occasion
Denver / Colorado
6 More
Best Overall
Colorado Springs
Best Food
Colorado Springs
Best Service
Colorado Springs
Best Ambiance
Colorado Springs
Romantic
Colorado Springs
Special Occasion
Colorado Springs
Best Restaurants in Colorado Springs ›

Special Occasion (45)
Romantic (42)
Scenic View (35)
See All
Notable Wine List (23)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Live Music (6)
Historic (6)
Good for a Date (6)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Dancing (4)
Cozy (3)
Business Meals (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Fun (2)
Healthy (2)
People Watching (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Authentic (2)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Private Room (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Sort By:
Newest
289 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This is a pricey experience. There's bet ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined 5 days ago

This is a pricey experience. There's better food in town.

Tags: Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

The service is outstanding! Great food ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

The service is outstanding! Great food and atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a great place to have a nice di ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

This was a great place to have a nice dinner date. Very romantic setting. Food was excellent. Staff went out of their way for us, including meeting unique dining restrictions one of us had. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Still in a class of its own. Expensive a ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Still in a class of its own. Expensive and actually worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful food and staff. Hard to beat t ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Wonderful food and staff. Hard to beat the views as well. Will come again.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was very attentive, food was won ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Service was very attentive, food was wonderful, beautifully prepared and presented.

Tags: Historic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrating our anniversary with friendl ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Celebrating our anniversary with friendly, experienced, professional staff will long be remembered.

Tags: Fun, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Dancing, Notable Wine List, Live Music, Authentic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Disabled Access, Healthy, Historic, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If you ever want an exceptional dining e ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

If you ever want an exceptional dining experience with great food, fantastic service, an incredible view, a wonderful atmosphere in a beautiful setting, the Penrose Room at the Broadmoor is the place to go! We celebrated our 1st and 43rd anniversaries there and will definitely look for the opportunity to celebrate a few more occasions there.

Tags: Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect experience from start to finish. ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Perfect experience from start to finish. We love coming here. It's pricier than most restaurants in the springs but worth every penny

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We love the Penrose Room and have been t ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We love the Penrose Room and have been there several times. Great view this night and were celebrating our anniversary. Food and music were very good but service was spotty for the first time ever. Waiter was not always there, we had to ask three times for bread, twice for water. Poured our own wine. Not up to the usual fine standards of service.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, People Watching, Historic, Romantic, Cozy, Live Music, Scenic View, Dancing, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Good food, good friends, great service, ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Good food, good friends, great service, wonderful ambiance. Well worth every dollar>

The attention to detail results in the feeling that you really are special and it all makes for a memorable occasion.

Tags: Private Room, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fabulous by all accounts! The staff is ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Fabulous by all accounts! The staff is top notch, the food and the presentation is incredible and every detail of the meal is thought out and well orchestrated for the finest dining experience. You feel special from the moment you exit the elevator to the reception area till the moment you depart (rather reluctantly I should add). And don't miss a pre or post drink in the bar; fantastic bartender and great room to just sit and relax. Get dressed up and have fun - this is a must-do when at the Broadmoor, or any place close by for that matter. Excellent!

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent as well as the attent ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Food was excellent as well as the attentiveness of the staff.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

It was a wonderful experience. Very ele ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

It was a wonderful experience. Very elegant. We dined and danced and felt very special

The service was the best I have had anywhere. My food was super. My husband's was a bit undercooked and we should have told the waiter. I would go again, for sure

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything 5 star class......not accusto ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Everything 5 star class......not accustomed to the prix fixe menu......

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The ambiance of the Penrose Room was spe ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

The ambiance of the Penrose Room was spectacular! The volume of the live band was perfect and allowed for great conversational volume at our table. The only two minor detractors I would note were: 1) a large party arrived shortly after we did and they were louder than I feel was appropriate (often times their volume would interrupt our conversation); 2) the very limited craft cocktails (or so it seemed when the waitress had to go back and forth between our table and the bar to see what kind of drinks the bartender could make. Granted, this is a fine dining establishment and not a bar or the Golden Bee, however, I would still expect a higher level of whiskey for example (my old fashioned was made with Old Overholt and left a lot to be desired). Again, minor point ans I know most people would order wine there anyway.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had the chef's 7 course with wine pai ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We had the chef's 7 course with wine pairings. The food was unique and seemed to really tell the summer story especially around local fresh ingredients. Surprising pairings from the halibut and some sort of raisin mash to the black pepper sorbet and apricot dessert. The wine pairings started off really well but there was one wine that was just ok (last wine pairing with the dessert). Sweet wines are not at the top of my list on the normal day. All of the courses were excellent except the main course which was veal. The meat was not seasoned well and extremely chewy and tough. The service was impeccable and the soft live music with the graceful sound of a woman's voice singing transported us back in time. Truly a special place. Overall an exceptional experience. The bar offers the same feel with breathtaking views for an after dinner drink.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was amazing, the ambiance was p ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The food was amazing, the ambiance was phenomenal, the service impeccable but the real highlight was Lilah and band. What a very special night!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is the perfect place to spoil someo ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

This is the perfect place to spoil someone you love.

It doesn't get any better than the Penrose Room at the Broadmoor.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent, must go

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Excellent, must go

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our experience was perfection. Fabulous ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Our experience was perfection. Fabulous food and service beyond compare.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Positive: Alex and Amy were exceptional ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Positive: Alex and Amy were exceptional.

Very much enjoyed the experience.

Negative: Sea bass was average

Thanks

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

It was an absolutely a wonderful evening ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

It was an absolutely a wonderful evening. It was like a step back in time!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding ambience. Beautiful view if ...

 
 (Amarillo)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Outstanding ambience. Beautiful view if seated by windows. Food was great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome in every way. It definately live ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Awesome in every way. It definately lives up to its 5 starreputation

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect evening for our special occasion ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Perfect evening for our special occasion. Service was outstanding and presentation of our different courses was great.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The view, the band, the service, the gen ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

The view, the band, the service, the general atmosphere was great. The food was very good, perhaps better appreciated by those used to gourmet preparations. Only small negative is that the portions - particularly the rack of lamb, were small.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The Penrose Room has earned a distinguis ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The Penrose Room has earned a distinguished reputation, with good cause. We are proud to have held our small wedding reception dinner there. The view from the restaurant was breathtaking. Our experience was unparalleled with any other dining experience to date. True class, style, and elegance describe the experience. Each course was a unique taste explosion.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service started out strong for the f ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The service started out strong for the first 10 minutes and then as each 10 minutes passed, we sat there without our water filled or a waiter in sight. Very disappointed with the service considering I had been to this restaurant several times before. It was a special occasion for us and we left feeling unsatisfied with our overall experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

We were treated with first rate service. ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

We were treated with first rate service. Our meal was delicious, we enjoyed the special small bites sent out by the kitchen, not only an amuse but a delicious palate cleanser.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Service was amazing and well times. The ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Service was amazing and well times. The meal was paces nicely. The dancing was fun

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a fabulous time with dinner and d ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Always a fabulous time with dinner and dancing. The Chef's tasting is super fun because each course and wine pairing are a surprise! Love this upscale environment.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is the restaurant to go to for spec ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

This is the restaurant to go to for special events or if you just want something extraordinary on any day. Food creations are exhilarating yet comforting, ambience is elegant but cozy, and the staff are just so attentive and knowledgeable that they make you feel welcome and special. The live mild jazz music with occasional pop/voice accompaniment is very good. Really unforgettable dining experience. I highly recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The Penrose room is one of those extraor ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

The Penrose room is one of those extraordinarily special locations that you dine at when you are looking for a memorable evening. There are nice/pricey restaurants where you expect a superior meal, then there is the Penrose room where the utmost attempt is made to make everything perfect. I really want to give a review that says that this meal was out of this world, but I can't. I will give the good and bad though. The atmosphere, presentation and attention to detail is out of this world. The quality of the ingredients in all menu items are superb and fresh. The 2 main things I felt were disappointing is the waiter we had was very unhelpful and almost cold and the food was very good but not amazing. I ordered the lobster bisque and the amount of lobster in the dish was almost laughable (about the size of a pinky toe). My wife had the caesar salad to start and it had virtually no flavor. I had the bass for main course and my wife had the filet. The bass was delicious and the filet was a perfect piece of meat, but the sides that came with the meal were bland and boring. While I loved so much about the Penrose room, I can not walk away saying that was one of the better meals I have ever experienced or something I would need to do again shortly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value2

Always Great

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

We travel to Colorado Springs once a year to attend BBQ U @ The Broadmoor. The Penrose Room is always part of those trips and lives up to it's 5 Star ratings, never disappoints. You pay premium dollars but you get a premium experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is the place for a special occasion ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

This is the place for a special occasion or simply an evening away from it all. The service, the food, and the views are all extraordinary. You will be graciously welcomed and elegantly pampered throughout the evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything in its right place...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Impeccable service, beautiful views, delicious food, and a pillow for my back. Wonderful!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

There is a reason the Penrose Room is a ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

There is a reason the Penrose Room is a five-star restaurant and fine dining experience. It is worth every penny for a special occasion. I went there for my anniversary on a Tuesday evening. It wasn't crowded although reservations are strongly encouraged. There was live music playing, and everything was superb. The beef tenderloin and gently cooked prawns were perfectly prepared. We watched weather roll in over the city and thoroughly enjoyed the evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Penrose room was old style elegance- ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

The Penrose room was old style elegance-chandeliers, big band, dancing, and silver plate covers. We enjoyed the fun of going back in time. The food however was not nearly as notable as some reviews had stated. Frankly, it was quite average. The menu is a fixed price 3, 4 or 5 dinner. The appetizers were the best part of the meal. My duck foie gras was the highlight of the meal. I highly recommend it. The rest of the meal was good, but rather average for a restaurant of that price. There are better restaurants in Colorado Springs and Manitou Springs. Unless you are celebrating an anniversary, I would seriously consider skipping this restaurant.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Simply Amazing

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

The Penrose Room is simply amazing and everything it promised to be. Service was terrific, food amazing, great views, and beautiful music. The only thing that went wrong is that the service was slow towards the end of the night and it took awhile to pay.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.