About Penrose Room - The Broadmoor

One Lake Avenue
Colorado Springs, CO 80901
View Larger Map

Since 1961, the historic Penrose Room has been known as one of the Rocky Mountain region's top destinations for classic fine dining, and it remains the only Five-Star and Five-Diamond restaurant in Colorado. Situated on the top floor of Broadmoor South, the Penrose Room treats guests to gracious hospitality and exceptional cuisine against the stunning backdrop of Cheyenne Mountain.



Complement your meal with a recommended selection from our extensive European wine list, and enjoy live entertainment and dancing.



Dress code is strictly enforced- jackets required for gentlemen, no denim, shorts or sportswear, please.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Wednesday through Saturday 6 PM to 9 PM.
Entertainment Wednesday through Saturday evenings until 10:30 PM.

Penrose Lounge Wednesday through Saturday 5:30 to 10:30 PM.

Closed on Sunday, Monday, and Tuesday evenings.

Cross Street:
Lake Circle

Dress Code:
Jacket Required

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(866) 381-8432

Website:
http://www.broadmoor.com/penrose-room

Entertainment:
With live dinner music and dancing, Penrose Room offers a complete evening's entertainment. Sounds of the grand piano on Sunday, the Penrose Room Trio Monday/Tuesday, and the Penrose Room Trio with singers including the lovely Lila Mori Wednesday-Saturday.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet. Hotel garage parking is also available.

Executive Chef:
Korey Sims

Private Party Facilities:
Enhancing the Penrose Room's timeless elegance is the glass-enclosed 24-seat semi-private dining room, which extends out from the main dining room affording guests a breathtaking view of the mountains and lake.



Located at the Southwest corner of the restaurant, the private Cornet Room featuring two tables of 20, or 40 total guests, is the perfect location for a private reception to experience a chef's tasting menu.



There is truly no dining experience more satisfying than one spent at a private Chef's Table at the award-winning Penrose Room. Every detail has been given the utmost attention at the Chef's Table, from the hand-blown Grecian plates custom designed for each course to the individually created menus. With cooking and wine demonstrations for up to 16, guests are treated to an up close look at the chef in action, while the wrap-around balcony offers an irresistible setting for pre-dinner receptions or for sipping port after.

Private Party Contact:
Duane Thompson: 7196347711x5417

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Dancing, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access

Penrose Room - The Broadmoor Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Denver / Colorado
Best Overall
Colorado Springs
Best Service
Colorado Springs
4 More
Best Ambiance
Colorado Springs
Notable Wine List
Colorado Springs
Romantic
Colorado Springs
Special Occasion
Colorado Springs
Best Restaurants in Colorado Springs ›

special occasion (33)
scenic view (30)
romantic (27)
See All
notable wine list (20)
fit for foodies (12)
late-night find (2)
good for groups (1)
Sort By:
Newest
249 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

There is a reason the Penrose Room is a ...

vip
Dined 3 days ago

There is a reason the Penrose Room is a five-star restaurant and fine dining experience. It is worth every penny for a special occasion. I went there for my anniversary on a Tuesday evening. It wasn't crowded although reservations are strongly encouraged. There was live music playing, and everything was superb. The beef tenderloin and gently cooked prawns were perfectly prepared. We watched weather roll in over the city and thoroughly enjoyed the evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

The Penrose room was old style elegance- ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

The Penrose room was old style elegance-chandeliers, big band, dancing, and silver plate covers. We enjoyed the fun of going back in time. The food however was not nearly as notable as some reviews had stated. Frankly, it was quite average. The menu is a fixed price 3, 4 or 5 dinner. The appetizers were the best part of the meal. My duck foie gras was the highlight of the meal. I highly recommend it. The rest of the meal was good, but rather average for a restaurant of that price. There are better restaurants in Colorado Springs and Manitou Springs. Unless you are celebrating an anniversary, I would seriously consider skipping this restaurant.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

We had a good dinner here with impeccabl ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

We had a good dinner here with impeccable service from the staff. Hats off to them and their trainers. There was not a minor detail that went unnoticed. Food was good - maybe not fantastic. We both had fish dishes that were well prepared. My stuffed flounder was a different presentation and probably did not stack up to other stuff flounder I have had. My biggest complaint is not with the staff or food but the group around us. They were celebrating a birthday (all 7 of them) and had already consummed a bunch of alcohol. Needless to say they were noisy, obnoxious and quite over bearing. Kind of ruined the atmosphere for us and maybe others around us. Surely they could have been seated on a more remote area.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Penrose Room

Dined on May 19, 2016

Dining Room: The room was lovely and we sat near a window with sweeping views - however the window started just at the level of our seated eye-level, which greatly reduced the view. Entertainment: the three person ensemble performed lovely dining and dance music, which greatly added to the ambiance; however we stepped up to dance at what we learned was the last song of the evening - and they showed no interest in continuing on even given audience interest. Food: I rated it three stars as it was creative in ingredients and presentation, but taste was not inspiring. One entree was heavily salted, and some of the vegetables were a bit tough. All in all good food but not what I'd expect given 5 Diamonds. Chocolates at the end of the meal were exquisite! Wine List: We had a pricy Burgundy which opened beautifully and we thought was fine value. Also the special tequila cocktail was amazing! Service: Saving the best for last - the entire team was outstanding! Sommelier could've been a bit more engaging.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful time dining and danci ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

We had a wonderful time dining and dancing. We chose the seven course meal with wines selected to compliment the chef's selection. Everything was excellent. We were there about three hours enjoying our leisurely meal and the wonderful music that had a kind of Nora Jones-esque sound. Afterwards we had a glass of cognac by the fire in the lounge next door. A truly magical night!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service5

Food was a disappointment, especially g ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Food was a disappointment, especially given the price.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our experience was amazing

Dined on May 15, 2016

We have lived in Colorado Springs for 30 years and never dined at the Broadmoor. Our son graduated from UCCS and we decided to take him and his sister out for dinner. The experience was positively amazing and one of the finest dining experiences we have had. Thank you to the staff of the Penrose Room for making a great day even better!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The ambiance was outstanding.

Dined on May 8, 2016

Best restaurant food and service we have ever had in our life.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great evening out

Dined on May 7, 2016

A great restaurant for special occasion. The food lives up to the expectations. The band really pulls the evening together. Very attentive staff.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

A beautiful setting with excellent food, ...

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

A beautiful setting with excellent food, service and wine. The live music was good, also. Very enjoyable experience.

food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Over Rated

Dined on May 4, 2016

Arrived at 7 PM and only 2 other tables in the restaurant. Beautiful window tables open and yet we were seated at an interior booth. No else took the window tables well we were there. Waiter kept alternating between a fake English accent and over the top syrupy service We deferred a sommelier in order to look over the wine list and they sent one over anyway. Service was SLOW, especially for how empty the place was. Entrees were cold upon arrival. Food was average. 350.00 for all of that...........

food2
ambience5
service2
value1

Wonderful Setting

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

The view was nice and the room was elegant in a formal but relaxing way. The band was very good and great for dancing. The dance floor was special. The food was so so. On their website they showed pictures mainly of the desserts which were excellent. Kudos to the pastry chef. Otherwise my fish entree was undercooked, tough and poorly trimmed. The wine list was excellent. Service was intrusive and they used our names constantly. Enough with the Mr. and Ms. already! Our waiter was awful but everyone else was very nice. There was unpleasantness as they jacked up the prices on our drinks.

Tags: scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best service in town

Dined on April 17, 2016

There is a reason that the Penrose Room is consistently highly rated. The service is exceptional, the ambiance is beautiful and the food is wonderful. Three of us recently went there for dinner and everything was great. I did not personally care for the lobster bisque and should have opted for the soft boiled egg or salad instead. My mistake. The beef, lamb and duck were all perfectly cooked and presentation was awesome. We were celebrating a special family occasion and the Broadmoor helped to make it even more special. In addition, one member of our family has a severe food allergy and all of the staff was very attentive to the issue. We noticed that certain rolls were not brought to our table because they may cross-contaminate or contain nuts. Also, the main entree was modified to ensure that no allergens were served. It was one of the very few times that we were comfortable in a restaurant and able to order dessert. Thank you!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Long dinner

vip
Dined on April 2, 2016

Great ambiance and an unbelievable view. Service started off nicely but then became over-the-top effusive which extended the time between courses....to the point I thought my watch was broken. However, it was correct and our dinner was taking 3+ hours. Oh yeah, we only had 4 courses. Not really sure what happened. Food was great! Wine pairings were perfect. The jazz band was outstanding which added to the ambiance. We even danced a little while we waited for our dessert. Would I return? Probably, but I'll wait a year or 2.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellence at its best!

Dined on March 27, 2016

I do not think you could find a better dining experience anywhere. The atmosphere is second to none, the food is delectable and the staff is truly five star in quality. I would strongly recommend you try the Chef's Tasting Menu with wine. It was the most enjoyable and relaxing way to have a family dinner without the decision making pressure. I can't wait to go back!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5
value1

Veteran Locals who ate there 28 + years

Dined on March 13, 2016

Disappointing. Service and ambiance, music, and classiness were great. Prices for two were $55 higher for us than published on the normally high Penrose menu web site. Two people, one wine, one three course and one four course, gatuity, parking tip coat check tip,totals little over $300. Wine choices were extensive and very reasonable stating at $10 a glass.Portions of food were unique and delicious but the smallest portions I have ever seen. Salad choices were limited and the mixed green leafs was mediocre and served on cute but shallow plated the spilled over the sides for the two of us. Surcharges were added for some items such as $15 each for the two tiny tenderloin medalions and some type of sausage. Again, service and dinner/ballroom music were excellent. Unless the prestige and ambience of 5 star/diamond rating, quite dinner/dancing music, super attentive service, and you are not hungry or in a hurry, and price is no concern... you will get better value at other Broadmoor restaurants (Tavern, Summit) or other local restaurants such as Joseph's, Walters, Oscars, or Pepper Tree.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Definitely a must.

Dined on March 6, 2016

We loved the elegance of the room and very attentive wait staff. Their timing was impeccable and we never felt rushed. The lamb loin with sweet breads was a beautiful presentation as well as the tenderloin and fish dish. Each of our desserts were wonderful and a beautiful "Happy Birthday" was scrolled on the bottom of our mother's plate. We didn't realize there would be a group entertaining us as we ate and a few people got up and danced. It truly dining at its finest.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

The food was good but not the best I hav ...

vip
Dined on February 27, 2016

The food was good but not the best I have had in Colorado. The service was perfect and the live music made it feel special. Love all the little extra treats.

food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous evening!!

Dined on February 15, 2016

Fabulous evening!!

food2
ambience4
service5
value1

We went to the Penrose room on the 13th ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

We went to the Penrose room on the 13th of February looking for a romantic place to have dinner. They offered a special for the evening but even though the restaurant itself and the service was awesome--I really thought that the food had poor presentation and was not worth the over $100 per plate that it was

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Incredible! We had a wonderful experienc ...

Dined on February 6, 2016

Incredible! We had a wonderful experience, thank you!

food2
ambience5
service5
value1

Just OK food, but great atmosphere.

Dined on January 30, 2016

We knew this would be quite pricey, and very special. While the service was impeccable, and the ambience was incredible, the salad and soup was fabulous, Dessert was fabulous, but the main dish was very disappointing for both of us. Mine was lukewarm and the portions are minuscule! Very underwhelming. We probably would not go back

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Anniversary Dinner

Dined on January 24, 2016

Terrific service and great night time view. The food presentation was lovely and it is definitely worth visiting for a special occasion.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

5 Star Quality

Dined on January 17, 2016

The Penrose Room is the epitome of elegant dining. Service is always excellent, they go out of their way to accommodate my wife's allergy needs and the food is simply fabulous. Don't hesitate, you won't be disappointed.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

I felt like Lord Grantham.

Dined on January 17, 2016

Great, great, great service. Excellent food and ambiance. Very romantic. Pricey!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

My husband and I were really looking for ...

Dined on January 16, 2016

My husband and I were really looking forward to our first visit to the Penrose Room. Much to our dismay, the food left a lot to be desired. There were a few good items, but overall we were unimpressed with the entire meal. The service throughout the entire night was excellent, though our primary server could have been more engaging. It was a special experience so we would only recommend if you are looking for a very elegant dining experience.

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

2nd time not a charm

Dined on January 3, 2016

Granted, my first experience at the Penrose Room was outstanding and difficult to improve upon, but I expected an experience similar in quality. It wasn't. The dinner was, honestly, disappointing and the service dilatory. Hard to imagine returning again.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Couldn't be better

vip
Dined on December 31, 2015

Meal was fantastic as was the service. A unique experience in Colorado. I had the squab which was out of this world. I didn't know what to expect when i ordered it but it was phenomenal.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Simply Outstanding!

Dined on December 31, 2015

The Penrose Room is outstanding choice for those special occasions when average or even good will not do. The food at the Penrose Room is tasty, well prepared and superbly proportioned. The service is first class and attends to every need with swift and polite service. The Penrose Room is simply OUTSTANDING in every way!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect

Dined on December 27, 2015

We enjoyed a special evening at the Penrose Room. The whole experience, from start to finish, was absolutely perfect. Each course was better than the last. The three of us ordered the beef tenderloin, venison, and lamb. Perfectly prepared and plated in surprising ways. Service was impeccable. The Autumn dessert was truly different and tasty. Thank you for our holiday memory.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

Not up to the Broadmoor standard

Dined on December 24, 2015

This was not our first time at the Penrose Room. It had been a couple of years since our last visit. Historically the foot was excellent. This time the flavors were either overpowering or extremely bitter. My wife and I tried different appetizers, entrees and desserts. Not one would I recommend to someone else.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

A truly five star experience.

Dined on December 19, 2015

A truly five star experience.

food5
ambience5
service5

Dining extraordinaire

Dined on December 13, 2015

My wife has dairy allergies. Th e chef came to our table prior to dinner and sat down with her and planned a meal for her. We were greatly impressed. The dining experience was as good as it gets anywhere in the world and we have traveled a lot. Hope to do this agai in the near future. We will tell all our friend a of th I s extraordinary experience Thank you everyone in th e Pen r lose room

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Dinner Proposal at Penrose Room

Dined on December 13, 2015

This was the best dinner experience ever. Duane the Manager helped me work on my proposal and it was great. My girlfriend said "Yes" and we are now engaged. The food was delicious, cooked to perfection. It was really classy and lots of fun. I TOTALLY recommend it. We're going back there for Valentine'a day :-)

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a special experience in the Penro ...

Dined on December 3, 2015

Always a special experience in the Penrose Room. The best formal dining venue in Colorado Springs. The view from the top of the Broadmoor South Tower can't be beat. Some of Colorado's most creative and talented chefs prepare unique appetizers, entrees and desserts that are presented by a professional team of servers who anticipate your every need. The best place to celebrate a special occasion.

food4
ambience5
service5

An Elegant Treat

Dined on November 22, 2015

This restaurant is really a treat for anyone who enjoys elegant dining. The service is absolutely second to none. From the moment you walk in you are treated as if you were royalty. Servers are never in the way, but continuously attending to drinks, requests, and anything you might need. The setting is elegant and not over done. It is quiet enough to talk, but not so quite that you feel like you are in a library. The views are wonderful. In general, the food is excellent and beautifully presented. There is a wide selection in each course you might want to select and you can have as few or as many (up to approximately 7) courses as you like. I personally did not care for the soup. The butternut squash soup was too sweet and the lobster bisque, although savory, was not creamy as I prefer and really didn't have much of a lobster taste. Nevertheless, I would return to the Penrose Room at The Broadmoor in a heartbeat!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and service

Dined on November 21, 2015

We celebrated our wedding anniversary here and they did not disappoint. The food was fanominal and the service was above fantastic. The wait staff was very friendly and knowledgable not only about the food but the hotel and the surroundings as well. I'd love to go back again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Broadmoor Resort - Penrose Room Dinner

Dined on November 18, 2015

The flavors, presentation and service associated with our three-course meal made for a special, extraordinary dining experience. The menu offered a wide variety of choices that made dinner selection a difficult task. The lobster appetizer was unlike anything we had ever tasted and highly recommended. Sea scallops and lamb were our choices and did not disappoint. Tastes associated with these dishes along with a Chardonnay and Cabernet had our taste buds just salivating. Our waiter, Levi, made excellent suggestions and was very attentive while maintaining a leisurely, non-intrusive dining tempo. The Penrose Room is well appointed with a three piece band and dance floor. All in all, a wonderful, memorable evening!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Simply Amazing

Dined on November 15, 2015

This was our first trip to the Broadmoor, let alone the Penrose Room. The food was simply amazing. I had the 3 course prefix, and my wife had the 4 course prefix (she wanted two appetizers). Much to our surprise, the portions were quite healthy and the price wasn't all that bad. We were expecting it to cost a lot more. The serving staff was amazing, as expected. It was really fun to watch a table of 12+ people all get served at the exact same time by the same number of waiters. All of the plates were "revealed" at once.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice romantic dinner

Dined on November 14, 2015

I took my girlfriend to the Penrose Room for her Birthday. We both had a very romantic evening with great atmosphere, including wonderful live music and dancing. The food, wine and service was perfect too.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.