Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.25mi
  4. Distance: 0.47mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.25mi
  4. Distance: 0.47mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.25mi
  4. Distance: 0.47mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.25mi
  4. Distance: 0.47mi

About Penrose Room - The Broadmoor

Since 1961, the historic Penrose Room has been known as one of the Rocky Mountain region's top destinations for classic fine dining, and it remains the only Five-Star and Five-Diamond restaurant in Colorado. Situated on the top floor of Broadmoor South, the Penrose Room treats guests to gracious hospitality and exceptional cuisine against the stunning backdrop of Cheyenne Mountain.



Complement your meal with a recommended selection from our extensive European wine list, and enjoy live entertainment and dancing.



Dress code is strictly enforced- jackets required for gentlemen, no denim, shorts or sportswear, please.

For your convenience, a 20% service charge will be added to your total check

One Lake Avenue
Colorado Springs, CO 80901
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Tuesday through Saturday 6 PM to 9 PM.
Entertainment Tuesday through Saturday evenings until 10:30 PM.

Penrose Lounge Wednesday through Saturday 5:30 to 10:30 PM.

Closed on Sunday and Monday evenings.

Cross Street:
Lake Circle

Dress Code:
Jacket Required

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(866) 381-8432

Website:
http://www.broadmoor.com/penrose-room

Entertainment:
With live dinner music and dancing, Penrose Room offers a complete evening's entertainment.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet. Hotel garage parking is also available.

Executive Chef:
Korey Sims

Private Party Facilities:
Enhancing the Penrose Room's timeless elegance is the glass-enclosed 24-seat semi-private dining room, which extends out from the main dining room affording guests a breathtaking view of the mountains and lake.



Located at the Southwest corner of the restaurant, the private Cornet Room featuring two tables of 20, or 40 total guests, is the perfect location for a private reception to experience a chef's tasting menu.



There is truly no dining experience more satisfying than one spent at a private Chef's Table at the award-winning Penrose Room. Every detail has been given the utmost attention at the Chef's Table, from the hand-blown Grecian plates custom designed for each course to the individually created menus. With cooking and wine demonstrations for up to 16, guests are treated to an up close look at the chef in action, while the wrap-around balcony offers an irresistible setting for pre-dinner receptions or for sipping port after.

Private Party Contact:
Duane Thompson: (719) 634-7711 ext. 5417

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Dancing, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access

Penrose Room - The Broadmoor Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.8

ambience

4.9

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (18)
Romantic (17)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
See All
Scenic View (13)
Live Music (12)
Dancing (12)
Good for a Date (10)
Tasting Menu (9)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Notable Wine List (8)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Worth the Drive (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Historic (4)
Business Meals (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Cozy (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Good for Groups (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Seasonal (2)
Authentic (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
People Watching (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Healthy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sort By:
S
334 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 4 days ago

We were very impressed with the whole dining experience. Everyone was very friendly and was always willing to help. We were celebrating my wife's birthday and they went out of their way to wish her a Happy Birthday and even wrote it on her dinner plate! It was a great experience and we are going to try and return with our good friends to celebrate our upcoming anniversaries in May. Thanks for all you did for our evening!

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Historic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined 4 days ago

Fantastic place! Quiet, comfortable place to visit and share a meal with friends. We had the chef's choice. 7 course meal. Three hours to dine, experience an exquisite dining adventure. Totally awesome. My friends are still talking about it days later.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Romantic, Dancing
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Birthday dinner was an event like out of a movie: perfect in every way. The music and dancing was a great top off to a perfect meal with the very best service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on March 18, 2017

This is a fancy and more formal special occasion restaurant. Excellent food and service, and highly recommended when you want this type of setting and restaurant. One of the best in Colorado.

Tags: Scenic View, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Terrible dining experience for our Anniversary! Appetizer of Ahi Tuna, was barely palatable. The one-bite, "Amuze Bush" was good. Aware of my allergy, my main course meat was substituted (I would have ordered something else) without my consent and then substitution offered as if no add'l charge--- the salad on the menu was tasteless and tiny; the Monk Fish was mushy and smelly; no non-dairy creamer for coffee; had to keep asking for bread. Traditionally, a small dessert was gratis on a special occasion---none offered. The bill was just shy of $300 for two people, which included an add'l $15 for the unordered substitution, then, a $25 credit for what was explained as "my troubles" and a mandatory 20% gratuity added to the bill. all this for less-than- satisfactory service and below-par food!
!The Penrose Room has taken a nose-dive both in service and quality of the food!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Excellent in every way! We had the chef's tasting menu (7 courses) with the wine pairings (3 whites, 3 reds + a Port). Everything we had was perfectly presented and delicious. And the wine pairings were perfectly matched to each dish. And, since the sommelier served them ahead of the course pairing, we had a chance to taste each on its own. Wonderful selections by themselves! But even better with the food each was paired with. And the sommelier, Amy Haight, was superb. Can't say enough good things about her service. She personally served each of the 7 wines, described the grape(s), region and vintner for each, and explained the logic for each pairing. All served at a nice and leisurely pace! The wait staff were also very personable and efficient. And a jazz trio and singer as well! Wonderful experience. Our first time to the Penrose Room and we'll be back again when we return to The Broadmoor.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Very elegant evening with superb food and live music. For a special evening can't be surpassed. Expensive but worth it.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Dancing
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Dinner was really great. The presence of the small combo was perfect for both ambiance as well as dancing. Props to the sommelier for creative solutions. Really enjoyed the evening.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Live Music, Dancing, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Awesome!! Truly enjoyed the evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Very underwhelming. We were expecting flavors and food quality from a five-star/five diamond restaurant and definitely did not receive that. My salmon dish was edible until I got closer to the center where it was cold and raw. After bringing this to the waiters attention and commenting that the kitchen would be made aware of this, nothing else was ever said to me about it. The desserts were "nothing to write home about". The epicurean cafés in the hotel and had better desserts available. After finishing my one glass of wine I was never asked if I would like another and we were never offered coffee during dessert.
The positives : The band and the singer were wonderful. They kept the sound at even level and tone, and we're very inviting for couples to be on the dance floor. There was a young man that was being trained and he was amazing at filling up the water glasses.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great food exceptional service.
We ordered the 7 course Chef's Choice, it was about 4 courses too many; we could barely get through #3; although we forced ourselves to take a few bites of each course; it was absolutely fabulous, the Chef was featuring truffles that evening and all I can say is I wish I had a bigger appetite!

Tags: Romantic, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Music, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Spectacular setting with old world service and ambiance.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Be treated like Royalty! With food fit for a king. And an absolutely fantastic dance band.

Tags: Special Occasion, Dancing, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 8, 2017

It was the best dining experience ever. We will definitely return. The service, food, ambiance, attention to every detail, was outstanding.

Tags: Good for Groups, Outstanding Value, Cozy, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Live Music, Dancing, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 7, 2017

The meal was perfect in every way. From start to finish, one of the best dining experience I've ever had. I've experienced the Penrose Room several times, and it just keeps getting better and better.

Tags: Dancing, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 11, 2016

A magical evening of delightful, perfectly prepared food, attentive, knowledgeable service, a sumptuous atmosphere overlooking the lights of Colorado Springs and a pleasing jazz band playing old standards and Christmas songs made for an unforgettable evening for my daughter and me. We could not have been more pleased with our experience.

Tags: Romantic, Dancing, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 11, 2016

A fancy place with beautiful ambience. Food is ok.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Historic, Romantic, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Dancing, Live Music, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Food was ok. It was just barely warm. Not a good value for money

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on November 23, 2016

One of the best restaurants we have ever been at. Worth the cost.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Overall, I would say this place is overrated for the price and the taste of the food. I've been visiting the Broadmoor for years and have dined at several of their restaurants. I had really high expectation for the Penrose Room because it is considered a five-star restaurant. The decor seemed a little worn and dated, although elegantly done for the era it was originally decorated.

The service was good, but the food was underwhelming. For example, I had the carrot salad as my first course and it tasted like blanched carrots dressed in vinegar. We were brought the amuse bouche to begin and it was a unflattering combination of warm butternut squash puree with a super-tart citrus foam on top. The entrees were so bland that it was difficult to finish the plate. The dishes were beautiful displayed but lacked flavor. Not worth the almost $300 we spent for two people. The Ristorante del Lago at the Broadmoor is way better for the taste of the food, value and atmosphere!

Tags: Dancing, Live Music, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 19, 2016

When we first arrived we had very tentative service with multiple servers. After we got our bread and then we're left alone for 10 to 15 minutes when the sommelier noticed us and came to take a drink order and offer advice. He was wonderful and ended up taking our food order. We had the tasting menu and the food was very good but the portions were very large as to not allow us to eat all the courses. I also have allergies and the accommodations they made for me were to change nothing on the menu but take out that ingredient, not substitute. Awesome ambiance and the live music and dance floor are a very classy touch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We discovered the Penrose Room some years ago when we stayed at the Broadmoor in Colorado Springs. We quickly discovered this was a very special place to dine.

This year my wife and I celebrated our 40th wedding anniversary and we chose the Broadmoor and the Penrose Room to celebrate the occasion. The setting and live music helped to create a wonderful atmosphere that enhanced the total experience that included impeccable service and exceptional cuisine.

In our opinion the 586 miles drive from Kansas City to enjoy our stay at the Broadmoor and dine at the Penrose Room is worth the time and effort.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Dancing, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Lovely, prix fixe menu. Great service, ambiance, and pleasant trio with good vocalist.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 6, 2016

This was much more than just a dinner date, it was an experience in fine dining. The cuisine was not only delicious but artistically presented. Every detail was attended to. The entertainment was great. The female singer had a lovely voice & the 3 piece band had a great repertoire of songs. The dance floor was large enough to accommodate all! It was an evening that we will not forget!

Tags: Live Music, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 5, 2016

So beatifull place!!!!!!!
Excellent food !!!!!
Creative cousine !!!!!
Nice staff !!!

Tags: Dancing, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 2, 2016

What an absolute beautiful dining experience. The food was delicious. The service was outstanding‼️‼️ The dining area was stunning, enjoyed the music, added such a nice touch. My husband were pleased beyond imagination. We will absolutely be dining there again. Thank the Penrose staff for such a memorable evening. The views are stunning‼️

Tags: Historic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Was not aware that it was the type of menu that it was. A little over the top. Martinis seemed watered down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Allthings were wonderful but hardly anyone was dining there

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Most excellent service w excellent food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Lovely restaurant, gorgeous view. Impeccable service. The food was good but not up to the premium price. That said, it was still a lovely evening. Thank you

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Nice romantic setting with light live music, and fantastic scenery . Service was great. Menu was different , and authentic. It's pricey but you get what you pay for.

Tags: Business Meals, Historic, Scenic View, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Dancing, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Fun, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 5, 2016

This is the only 5 diamond restaurant in the entire state of Colorado. It's extremely expensive, but worth every penny. I've never had a dining experience quite like it. It felt strange to me to have so many attentive and courteous staff tend to our every want/need. The wine steward is extremely knowledgeable and recommended a perfect pairing for both of our meals. Each course was exquisitely prepared and presented. If you want to impress someone, or celebrate a special occasion, this is where you go.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Romantic, Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 2, 2016

We enjoyed the experience with one exception. There was a $15 surcharge for the rib eye, which was very good but in the presentation placed a piece with no fat on the top of another piece with quite a bit of fat on it. When it arrived at the table the color identified it as an exceptional piece of beef but when one removed the top piece the bottom piece was of much lesser quality, a lot of fat and chewy. Not good for a restaurant that professes exceptional quality and at very high cost.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on September 29, 2016

The service, food and ambience in the Penrose Room were exceptional, as usual. The only negative was that the live music was so loud, it was impossible to engage in conversation at our table. Be sure to request a table away from the stage if you want to talk during dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on September 24, 2016

This is a pricey experience. There's better food in town.

Tags: Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 10, 2016

The service is outstanding! Great food and atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 2, 2016

This was a great place to have a nice dinner date. Very romantic setting. Food was excellent. Staff went out of their way for us, including meeting unique dining restrictions one of us had. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Still in a class of its own. Expensive and actually worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 31, 2016

Wonderful food and staff. Hard to beat the views as well. Will come again.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Service was very attentive, food was wonderful, beautifully prepared and presented.

Tags: Historic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.