Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.25mi
  4. Distance: 0.47mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.25mi
  4. Distance: 0.47mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.25mi
  4. Distance: 0.47mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.25mi
  4. Distance: 0.47mi

About Penrose Room - The Broadmoor

Since 1961, the historic Penrose Room has been known as one of the Rocky Mountain region's top destinations for classic fine dining, and it remains the only Five-Star and Five-Diamond restaurant in Colorado. Situated on the top floor of Broadmoor South, the Penrose Room treats guests to gracious hospitality and exceptional cuisine against the stunning backdrop of Cheyenne Mountain.



Complement your meal with a recommended selection from our extensive European wine list, and enjoy live entertainment and dancing.



Dress code is strictly enforced- jackets required for gentlemen, no shorts or sportswear, please.
A 20% service charge will be added to your total check

One Lake Avenue
Colorado Springs, CO 80901
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Tuesday through Saturday 6 PM to 9 PM.
Entertainment Tuesday through Saturday evenings until 10:30 PM.

Penrose Lounge
Wednesday through Saturday from 6 PM

Closed on Sunday and Monday evenings.

Cross Street:
Lake Circle

Dress Code:
Jacket Required

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(866) 381-8432

Website:
http://www.broadmoor.com/penrose-room

Entertainment:
With live dinner music and dancing, Penrose Room offers a complete evening's entertainment.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet. Hotel garage parking is also available.

Executive Chef:
Korey Sims

Private Party Facilities:
Enhancing the Penrose Room's timeless elegance is the glass-enclosed 24-seat semi-private dining room, which extends out from the main dining room affording guests a breathtaking view of the mountains and lake.



Located at the Southwest corner of the restaurant, the private Cornet Room featuring two tables of 20, or 40 total guests, is the perfect location for a private reception to experience a chef's tasting menu.



There is truly no dining experience more satisfying than one spent at a private Chef's Table at the award-winning Penrose Room. Every detail has been given the utmost attention at the Chef's Table, from the hand-blown Grecian plates custom designed for each course to the individually created menus. With cooking and wine demonstrations for up to 16, guests are treated to an up close look at the chef in action, while the wrap-around balcony offers an irresistible setting for pre-dinner receptions or for sipping port after.

Private Party Contact:
Duane Thompson: (719) 634-7711 ext. 5417

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Dancing, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access

Penrose Room - The Broadmoor Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

3.9

noise

Quiet

87% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (21)
Special Occasion (20)
Romantic (19)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Live Music (17)
Good for a Date (15)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Notable Wine List (13)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Authentic (11)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Tasting Menu (10)
Worth the Drive (8)
Local Ingredients (3)
Waterfront (3)
Business Meals (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Bar Seating (1)
Cozy (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
People Watching (1)
Fun (1)
Sort By:
S
380 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 17, 2017

This is an old restaurant that is very overated... high prices for ok food and ambiance... Not a fan!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on September 16, 2017

The Penrose Room is a throwback to old-school elegance but with updated cuisine.

There are amuse-bouches and craft cocktails along with an extensive wine it's that would make most sommeliers envious.

We had the halibut and the bacon wrapped lobster, both of which were superb.

The sorbets were the best we've ever had -- so creamy and flavorful it was hard to remember that it wasn't ice cream.

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 7, 2017

We had a great evening. The wait staff was a bit nervous at times, but need not be. The food prepared by the chef was beyond delightful and amusing. The wine pairing was well done and nicely explained. We would come back for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Our chef's tasting meal was incredible. My wife's aversion to seafood and mushrooms was recognized, wine pairings that didn't match our taste were swapped, and Crystal the sommelier was excellent (as was the entire staff). It was a delightful evening for us (though it is fully priced!).

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 25, 2017

We had never done a 5 star restaurant before and although the bill was more than I budgeted for it was absolutely an amazing evening. The professionalism, customer service and the way everyone made us feel was exceptional. The food was absolutely delicious and meticulously prepared. We were stuffed for sure. A 5 star restaurant should be on us common folks bucket list for sure and The Penrose Room should be the place to enjoy it. Get dressed up and surprise your loved one or celebrate something special.

In case you were not aware the valet parking is complimentary too. It was just an experience my wife and I won't ever forget and keep in mind that the dinner is about a 3-4 hour experience with live soft music in the background and people even dancing.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 23, 2017

My wife and I have annually had dinner at the Penrose Room to celebrate her birthday for decades and have historically raved about the ambience, service and food. It is a pricey experience but well worth it - until this year. Resort-wide, the Broadmoor has gone to an automatic 20% tip on all checks, no matter the number of people at the table. I am an habitual 20% tipper, so on the surface that would seem like no big deal, but we saw a noticeable difference in the service at each restaurant venue we visited on the property this past weekend. The service attention was not the same because, in my view, they get their 20% no matter what and I'm willing to bet the server doesn't get that tip anyway now, where they used to get all or some of it. Another change for the Penrose Room is the menu. An obvious focus on presentation has overtaken the quality and sensibility of the food selection. The menu is very fancy now and even the traditional dessert has been changed. We ordered the carrot cake and it turned out to be a gelatin dish with carrot shavings on top - seriously?! The two of us had a friendly drink in the bar before dinner, a wonderful Caesar Salad made table side then things went downhill with the entrees and dessert. We also had two glasses of wine with dinner and the tab came to over $300 - whoa! I've paid that much in the past with no regrets because the Penrose overall experience has always been so great. Not many place with a band and dance floor, either, which adds to the overall experience we've loved. We hate the changes made there as it has been our favorite restaurant, and I even feel bad giving them such a bad review, but only hope their management reads this and does something about it. We won't be going back there if they don't.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

My husband and I were given this as a gift from our son and daughter in law. The food was fantastic, the taste of each food was wonderful. The service was very warm and friendly, we enjoyed the conversation with our servers and they gave us time to visit and experience and taste each course. The Penrose room is defiantly something I would recommend to anyone looking for a dinning experience to go beyond expectations.

Tags: Authentic, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 17, 2017

One of the few elegant dining experiences left in this country. A great (if old fashioned) band, wonderful service, gourmet food, and fantastic views of the mountains.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 16, 2017

The wait staff was very attentive and friendly. The food was exquisite from the appetizers to the dessert. Definitely first class.

Tags: Live Music, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Exceptional dining experience. Service is absolutely the BEST! Chef is clever and also was willing to eliminate a couple of items I am not able to eat yet provide an exceptional meal.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Romantic, Live Music, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on August 6, 2017

The Penrose Room is a high-end restaurant that delivers a fine dining experience. The very attractive room sits atop the South tower of the Broadmoor Hotel and it has beautiful views of Cheyenne Mountain. This is a special occasion restaurant. Both the food and wine are expensive. Most dishes are traditional but with some nouvelle twists. Service is outstanding. This is a restaurant at which one can spend 2 - 3 hours enjoying the food, the view, the service and perhaps some dancing to the live music.

Tags: Live Music, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Yosemite)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Exceptional service. Food was very good, but not the 5-star level and not comparable to other 5-star restaurants we have enjoyed elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Your chefs style obviously does not suit our palate. We dinner in a few Michelin star restaurants like Andrew Fairlie at Gleneagles or Martin Wisharts in Edinburgh. I'm afraid Penrose does not come close. There are too many competing flavours on the plate. The bar area is great and the old world ambiance of the dining room & views we like very much. The food is a turn off.

Tags: Scenic View, Live Music, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Wonderful attention to detail and presentation. I would definitely visit again.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Top of the line all the way from the food choices, creativity, impeccable service. A true memorable dining experience.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Service was impeccable. My wife thoroughly enjoyed the smoked chicken tortellini and the scallop entrée. The soft shell crab entrée was delicious. We had the three course offering and the portions were perfectly sized.

Tags: Live Music, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Good, but they dropped some of the menu items that I liked. Deserts were a disappointment.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 13, 2017

This was a perfect way to celebrate our anniversary. Gorgeous views, romantic ambiance and live music made it a night to remember. Absolutely would recommend.

Tags: Scenic View, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 27, 2017

My wife and I went here for our anniversary and loved every minute of it. The food was amazing and the views even better. I would highly recommend the penrose to anybody.

Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Fayetteville)·Dined on June 22, 2017

I now understand why The Penrose Room is the top rated restaurant is the highest rated in the State of Colorado. We had the Chefs Tasting Menu. The guest chef is of The French Laundry in California. I will never forget the experience

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Gorgeous views. Superb food. Pricey but worth it for an anniversary.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 20, 2017

My wife and I went here for our 10th anniversary. The service was excellent, the staff were very professional, and friendly. The food was great, all items were very tasty. It was a great place to celebrate our anniversary. It's a little expensive for my budget, but for a special occasion, I highly recommend going to the Penrose Room and treating yourselves.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Fabulous meal, and wonderful way to enjoy our last night at the Broadmore.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 16, 2017

A bit pricey, but this was expected. Good food, ambiance was exceptional. A good place for a very special occaison. Music was quiet and good for dancing.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Live Music, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 15, 2017

The ultimate in dining in every respect. Their five star rating is more than well deserved. We have eaten at great restaurants through the world - with doubt among the top five ever. Worth a trip to Colorado Springs just to experience the ultimate in dining. Not inexpensive but for a special occasion well worth the price.

Tags: Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 14, 2017

The service was outstanding. However, the crying/fussy baby with another party was irritating. The view was fabulous.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 13, 2017

A beyond fabulous dining experience! Every course was uniquely delicious & the service is impeccable & not at all stuffy. The venue presents stunning 360' views of The Broadmoor & golf courses, the mountains & Colorado Springs. The dining room is beautiful with a subtle background big band to enhance the upscale mood. We celebrated my husbands 65th birthday there & the experience was definitely 5 star. We were both so very pleased & loved our special time there!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 2, 2017

The Penrose Room was an outstanding dining experience. The service was exceptional, the four-course meal was culinarily cutting-edge, the ambience was warm, inviting and relaxed, and the cocktails we on point! Highly recommended!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Authentic, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Unfortunately it was disappointing. I had to send back both my appetizer and entree for being cold. There seemed to be a disconnect between the kitchen and the servers however they did deduct some of the cost from my bill which was nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 18, 2017

We went out as a board to this venue. We thoroughly enjoyed our meal. The wait staff was very attentive but not pretentious. The meal lasted 3 hours and we had plenty of time to converse and enjoy each other's company. It was expensive and it was rated correctly at 5 star.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 5, 2017

This was a special occasion and I brought my parents to celebrate. The food was spectacular and it was a night to remember. Service was impeccable and the view was wonderful. Would recommend for a very special occasion dinner.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 3, 2017

We have had an evening at the Penrose on our bucket list for quite some time. This visit to the Broadmoor was the perfect opportunity to to make it happen. Our belated wedding anniversary was celebrated with perfection!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Our last night in Colorado Springs we celebrated our anniversary here at the Penrose. The ambiance was fantastic and the music was great. The view was outstanding. Our server Ryan was young and did a so so job. The other servers ( assistants) were very good. Our meal was great even though the Venison was over cooked. Ryan said it would be cooked Med rare and that is what I asked for and it came out Well Done. I showed Ryan the dish and he agreed but did not offer to redo it. The sommelier was not that helpful. I still give it five stars for the Ambiance , the view, the music and the taste of everything

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Everything about the service, food preparation and presentation was superb. This was truly "fine" dining at its absolute best! The musicians were wonderful with a great selection of music that pared well with the dining experience. Truly "First Class dining" which is a signature facet of the Broadmoor organization.

Tags: Cozy, Scenic View, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 20, 2017

The food was incredible as was the service (which was just amazing!) We asked one of the servers to recommend a wine based on our menu choices and he did a fantastic job. It was very posh and romantic - just perfect for our anniversary.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Just Amazing!!!! We enjoyed cocktails in the lounge to begin our evening. The service is impeccable. We then enjoyed dinner in the main dinning room and the three piece band was playing, the sun was setting and again the staff was in incredible. The seven course meal was superb and we cannot wait for our next visit.

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 8, 2017

My sisters and I were so excited to top off our birthday celebration weekend with a special dinner at the Penrose. The service and ambiance were excellent. The appetizers were excellent. When we received our main entre however, it was sadly disappointing. My sister ordered the filet, cooked medium - unfortunately it came rare. I ordered the confit of duck and it was also not cooked. I was so upset that I substituted my duck for the risotto but by the time it arrived I was just not looking forward to partaking. The desserts were amazing. It was so sad to end our celebration with a downbeat. Not sure how something like that could happen at a 5 star restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 7, 2017

The ambiance was so wonderful with a fun jazz band in the background. The service was impeccable. It was my birthday and they treated me like a queen. We were just slightly disappointed by the food. All of it was good, but I think we had really high expectations.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.