About Penn Commons

700 6th St NW
Washington, DC 20001
View Larger Map

Amidst the emerging culinary epicenter of diverse restaurants in the historic Penn Quarter neighborhood of Washington, DC, Penn Commons is a rough-hewn yet chic American tavern on 6th & H Streets.

To craft its menu of food and drinks united by one common philosophy - American sensibility joined with American seasonality - Chef Jeff Tunks drew on his first name partnerships with the best local farmers and artisanal purveyors...or he just makes it himself.

Burnished copper lighting, leather sling chairs and salvaged woods provide a warm footing for this showcase of American tavern food at its best.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm



Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm


Thursday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday: 5:00pm-9:00pm

Brunch: Saturday and Sunday: 11am - 2:30pm

Cross Street:
H Street, NW

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 905-2999

Website:
http://www.penncommonsdc.com/

Catering:
Please call our sales department for options for catering and the available menus.

Parking Details:
Parking is available on the street and in the large private lot located to the north of our entrance.

Public Transit:
METRO: Gallery Place

Executive Chef:
Alfredo Solis

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Penn Commons
  • Penn Commons
  • Penn Commons
  • Penn Commons
Penn Commons
Penn Commons
Penn Commons
Penn Commons

Penn Commons Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.8

service

4.1

ambience

3.6

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

76% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (17)
Vibrant Bar Scene (16)
Great for Lunch (14)
See All
Great for Brunch (11)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Special Occasion (9)
Hot Spot (8)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Scenic View (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Casual (1)
Sort By:
Newest
182 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

While I have enjoyed many positive exper ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined a day ago

While I have enjoyed many positive experiences at Penn Commons, this visit left a lot to be desired. It was very clear that the restaurant was short staffed for a busy Sunday brunch in downtown DC. Our waiter could not keep up with drink orders. The food didn't all come out at the same time. Food orders came out incorrect. Mimosa and coffee refill requests went ignored. I hosted friends and family visiting from out of town for what I thought would be a quality DC brunch experience. I'm embarrassed! Do better, Penn Commons.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

I ordered an Old Fashioned and the goat ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 4 days ago

I ordered an Old Fashioned and the goat cheese spread, and my wife ordered the wings. For diner, we both got the skirt steak. Portion sizes were generous, and the food was all very good, though perhaps slightly under-seasoned for my taste. (That said, I do tend to like stronger and more robust flavors, so this could just be me.)

The service was prompt and polite. The only real downside was the noise level, as the Happy Hour crowd made it difficult for me to hear my wife across the table, even though we were seated well away from the bar area.

Overall, I would recommend and will visit again.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The noise level when we got there at7:30 ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

The noise level when we got there at7:30 was so loud we had to shout to the hostess and still had trouble hearing. The bar was very crowded but tables were not filled. The cesear salad was wilted and you could not taste or see the dressing. The Salmon was good but I did not care for the Teriyaki glaze. Desert was soso. Would not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

Went for restaurant week so I tried more ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Went for restaurant week so I tried more than normally would have. Apps were good. The ravioli a particularly choice. Drink specials were extensive ($5 Cosmo was delicious). Little bit noisy but lots of fun.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food and service were great, but the ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

The food and service were great, but the noise level is nearly unbearable at times.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Will not go back. The loudest restaurant ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Will not go back. The loudest restaurant I have ever been in!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value4

The loudest restaurant I have been to in ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

The loudest restaurant I have been to in my life! Very poor waiter service, however, the managers try to make it right. Food is excellent especially the eggplant dip and trout. I'd skip it and find another place, unless you are alone and don't need to talk to anyone. Too bad.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

The noise level was so high it completel ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

The noise level was so high it completely ruined our dining experience. I don't recall ever eating at a restaurant where it was so noisy.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value3

It was very noisy, they need to incorpor ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

It was very noisy, they need to incorporate sound deadening materials. Other then that it was very good and convenient to Verizon Center.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Decent food, good service, far too loud ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Decent food, good service, far too loud to have a conversation with people at your table without having to shout.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Good food, very attentive service by mul ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Good food, very attentive service by multiple people, including manager who stopped by a couple of times. But ambient noise level was way too high, can't imagine that groups of six or more could hear each other talk.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

Food was decent and the service acceptab ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Food was decent and the service acceptable. Absolutely nothing memorable about the d├ęcor. The overwhelming takeaway from the experience was the insane noise level. By far the loudest restaurant I've ever visited. You practically had to shout to be heard across the table. If they don't fix that problem, I doubt they'll be in business very long.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value3

We had dinner here before the Paul McCar ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

We had dinner here before the Paul McCartney concert. I found Penn Commons through a Google search. We were a party of four and we all loved the experience. The service was impeccable and the food was glorious. I loved how the martinis were presented in their own mini shaker! I would definitely dine here again and recommend it to a friend.

Tags: Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Neighbourhood Gem, Special Occasions
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food and service at Penn Commons are ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The food and service at Penn Commons are terrific, but it is incredibly noisy. Even though it was a Sunday afternoon and the place was 2/3 empty when we were there, we had yell loudly to be heard by the person sitting directly across the table from us. Probably a good place for people who prefer to text one another rather than talk.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Nice place for good food and good custom ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Nice place for good food and good customer service

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

The staff were extremely kind. While I ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

The staff were extremely kind. While I was waiting for the rest of my party, three different people asked me if I wanted water while I waited.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

While the value was right and the server ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

While the value was right and the servers were great, the food left a bit to be desired The second of my poached eggs was raw and my friend's shrimp was painfully overcooked.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value5

Good reasonable burgers but the noise l ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Good reasonable burgers but the noise level is way too high for any kind of conversation at all.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value5

Good place for a quick lunch. Great ser ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Good place for a quick lunch. Great service. Simple menu. Excellent staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Had dinner on a busy thursday night. The ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Had dinner on a busy thursday night. The the noise in the restaurant was deafening. Had to shout at my dining companions. Couldn't wait to leave.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value2

The reason I rated the restaurant 3 star ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

The reason I rated the restaurant 3 stars was because of the noise level. I don't think that I have ever been to a restaurant that was that loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5

We had a business lunch on a tight budge ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

We had a business lunch on a tight budget. Our lunch was slow (I had to ask if they had forgotten us) but restaurant comped the meal. Thanks.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Great location next to Verizon Center. A ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Great location next to Verizon Center. Attentive wait staff and prompt service, but the food was just average and as the evening wore on, the restaurant became crowded, making it difficult to converse with companions across a larger table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Good choice for lunch. More sedate than ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Good choice for lunch. More sedate than many of the places in the neighborhood, which is a good thing.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Beer selection here is very good. Our fo ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Beer selection here is very good. Our food, however, was average at best. Hamburgers were sub-par, sweet potato fries were nearly burned, fish sandwich lacked flavor. For a $12 hamburger, it was unacceptable in quality and execution.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

Excellent Service

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

The service was superb! Very attentive, efficient and prompt. I appreciated that.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our server Phillip was wonderful! The $5 ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

Our server Phillip was wonderful! The $5 cocktail special was great, too. Unfortunately, they have tilapia for their fish sandwich and entree. Otherwise, it's a great new option in Gallery Place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

CRAB CAKES!!!

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Had a seven o'clock reservation and were seated right away by a very non-friendly hostess. But she was quickly replaced by CHARLES our extraordinary server! A little bit about Charles, Penn Commons is his first job out of the Marine Corps - THANK YOU CHARLES FOR YOUR SERVICE TO OUR GREAT COUNTRY and the fantastic service we enjoyed at dinner. We made a comment about the "noise factor" in a joking manner to Charles (it was a Saturday night) and shortly a manager was over and asked us if we wanted to move to a quieter spot - we declined. CUSTOMER SERVICE FIVE STARTS!!! Now the food. The "choose 3" appetizer was a great deal and very tasty - Pimento Cheese, Char Roasted Eggplant, Pesto, Toasted Pine Nuts and Goat Cheese with Spinach and Chopped Dates - just needed a couple of extra pieces of baguette. One of us had the Crab Cakes - the best of the 5 day trip and the other the Falafel Burger. With the Crab Cakes we easily substituted the frys for their Scalloped Potatoes and boy they were worth an upcharge! The Falafel Burger was fantastic and eaten quickly! Dessert is a must - the Boston Cream Pie and Almond Joy Sundae provided an excellent finish to an excellent meal. For the remaining days we had in DC if anyone asked us for a restaurant recommendation Penn Commons was at the top of the list! GREAT JOB!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Good food at a great price

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

One thing we really appreciated was that you could get the happy hour specials at all the tables also. They were all priced extremely well. I had the trout and my wife had the chicken and the food was very good. Dessert, a boston cream cake, was delicious as well. Service considering that the restaurant was packed to capacity was exceptional. I will recommend and will dine there again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great Tuesday night happy hour drink spe ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on April 5, 2016

Great Tuesday night happy hour drink specials. Food was good as well. Would definitely come back again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Easter enjoyed

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Easter Sunday and celebrating a good friend's birthday brought us to Penn Commons with great success celebrating both.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Great brunch date

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

Really good deal for a 3 course brunch with bottomless drinks. Nice selection of drinks. Excellent quality food. Supreme customer service.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Fabulous

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

Must return many times in order to sample all the delicious options. Once simply isn't enough. Great beer selection.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Consistently good food, convenient location.

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on March 23, 2016

So close to Verizon Center and near my office. It is now my "go to" lunch place to meet colleagues, interview, or just grab a good meal. Great service.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I'm just not impressed. I much preferred ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

I'm just not impressed. I much preferred District Commons and didn't enjoy the service here. It's very overpriced for the food's value.

Tags: Hot Spot, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Good food Poor ambiance

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

Went to Penn Commons for dinner with friends. It has a vibrant youthful bar scene. The food is excellent. The ambiance for dining is not as great - noisy and somewhat stark decor.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

Good meeting place for lunch.

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

Second time at Penn Commons. This time we tried lunch. The $10 lunch specials are a nice touch. The Turkey Reuben was great.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Wizards Fans

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on March 16, 2016

We enjoyed the food and convenience. This location works well for downtown dining!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Good food. Quick and friendly service. ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on March 14, 2016

Good food. Quick and friendly service. One of my favorites for dinner before Verizon Center events

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Perfect Place for the Occasion

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

Reserved table for an old friend and I ahead of the ACC Basketball Tournament finals on March 12th, since Penn Commons is right next to the Verozon Center. Lots of UNC and UVA fans, so it was probably louder than usual. There are TVs in the bar area, though, so I imagine it can get loud at times even on non-event nights - but we were able to converse well enough regardless. We both had the meatloaf, which is sensational (better than any of the several versions I make at home)! If UVA had only won, it would have been a perfect Saturday night......

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.