About Penn Commons

700 6th St NW
Washington, DC 20001
View Larger Map

Amidst the emerging culinary epicenter of diverse restaurants in the historic Penn Quarter neighborhood of Washington, DC, Penn Commons is a rough-hewn yet chic American tavern on 6th & H Streets.

To craft its menu of food and drinks united by one common philosophy - American sensibility joined with American seasonality - Chef Jeff Tunks drew on his first name partnerships with the best local farmers and artisanal purveyors...or he just makes it himself.

Burnished copper lighting, leather sling chairs and salvaged woods provide a warm footing for this showcase of American tavern food at its best.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm



Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm


Thursday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday: 5:00pm-9:00pm

Brunch: Saturday and Sunday: 11am - 2:30pm

Cross Street:
H Street, NW

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 905-2999

Website:
http://www.penncommonsdc.com/

Catering:
Please call our sales department for options for catering and the available menus.

Parking Details:
Parking is available on the street and in the large private lot located to the north of our entrance.

Public Transit:
METRO: Gallery Place

Executive Chef:
Alfredo Solis

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Penn Commons
  • Penn Commons
  • Penn Commons
  • Penn Commons
Penn Commons
Penn Commons
Penn Commons
Penn Commons

Penn Commons Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.2

ambience

3.8

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Vibrant Bar Scene
Washington, D.C. Area
Vibrant Bar Scene
District of Columbia
Best Restaurants in Penn Quarter ›

good for groups (23)
vibrant bar scene (22)
neighborhood gem (14)
See All
great for brunch (12)
great for lunch (11)
hot spot (10)
fit for foodies (9)
special occasion (5)
late-night find (2)
kid-friendly (2)
romantic (1)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
164 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Good place for a quick lunch. Great ser ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Good place for a quick lunch. Great service. Simple menu. Excellent staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Had dinner on a busy thursday night. The ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Had dinner on a busy thursday night. The the noise in the restaurant was deafening. Had to shout at my dining companions. Couldn't wait to leave.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value2

The reason I rated the restaurant 3 star ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

The reason I rated the restaurant 3 stars was because of the noise level. I don't think that I have ever been to a restaurant that was that loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5

We had a business lunch on a tight budge ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

We had a business lunch on a tight budget. Our lunch was slow (I had to ask if they had forgotten us) but restaurant comped the meal. Thanks.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Great location next to Verizon Center. A ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Great location next to Verizon Center. Attentive wait staff and prompt service, but the food was just average and as the evening wore on, the restaurant became crowded, making it difficult to converse with companions across a larger table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Good choice for lunch. More sedate than ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Good choice for lunch. More sedate than many of the places in the neighborhood, which is a good thing.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Beer selection here is very good. Our fo ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Beer selection here is very good. Our food, however, was average at best. Hamburgers were sub-par, sweet potato fries were nearly burned, fish sandwich lacked flavor. For a $12 hamburger, it was unacceptable in quality and execution.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

Excellent Service

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

The service was superb! Very attentive, efficient and prompt. I appreciated that.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our server Phillip was wonderful! The $5 ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

Our server Phillip was wonderful! The $5 cocktail special was great, too. Unfortunately, they have tilapia for their fish sandwich and entree. Otherwise, it's a great new option in Gallery Place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

CRAB CAKES!!!

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Had a seven o'clock reservation and were seated right away by a very non-friendly hostess. But she was quickly replaced by CHARLES our extraordinary server! A little bit about Charles, Penn Commons is his first job out of the Marine Corps - THANK YOU CHARLES FOR YOUR SERVICE TO OUR GREAT COUNTRY and the fantastic service we enjoyed at dinner. We made a comment about the "noise factor" in a joking manner to Charles (it was a Saturday night) and shortly a manager was over and asked us if we wanted to move to a quieter spot - we declined. CUSTOMER SERVICE FIVE STARTS!!! Now the food. The "choose 3" appetizer was a great deal and very tasty - Pimento Cheese, Char Roasted Eggplant, Pesto, Toasted Pine Nuts and Goat Cheese with Spinach and Chopped Dates - just needed a couple of extra pieces of baguette. One of us had the Crab Cakes - the best of the 5 day trip and the other the Falafel Burger. With the Crab Cakes we easily substituted the frys for their Scalloped Potatoes and boy they were worth an upcharge! The Falafel Burger was fantastic and eaten quickly! Dessert is a must - the Boston Cream Pie and Almond Joy Sundae provided an excellent finish to an excellent meal. For the remaining days we had in DC if anyone asked us for a restaurant recommendation Penn Commons was at the top of the list! GREAT JOB!

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Good food at a great price

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

One thing we really appreciated was that you could get the happy hour specials at all the tables also. They were all priced extremely well. I had the trout and my wife had the chicken and the food was very good. Dessert, a boston cream cake, was delicious as well. Service considering that the restaurant was packed to capacity was exceptional. I will recommend and will dine there again.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great Tuesday night happy hour drink spe ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on April 5, 2016

Great Tuesday night happy hour drink specials. Food was good as well. Would definitely come back again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Easter enjoyed

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Easter Sunday and celebrating a good friend's birthday brought us to Penn Commons with great success celebrating both.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Great brunch date

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

Really good deal for a 3 course brunch with bottomless drinks. Nice selection of drinks. Excellent quality food. Supreme customer service.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Fabulous

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

Must return many times in order to sample all the delicious options. Once simply isn't enough. Great beer selection.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Consistently good food, convenient location.

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on March 23, 2016

So close to Verizon Center and near my office. It is now my "go to" lunch place to meet colleagues, interview, or just grab a good meal. Great service.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I'm just not impressed. I much preferred ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

I'm just not impressed. I much preferred District Commons and didn't enjoy the service here. It's very overpriced for the food's value.

Tags: kid-friendly, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Good food Poor ambiance

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

Went to Penn Commons for dinner with friends. It has a vibrant youthful bar scene. The food is excellent. The ambiance for dining is not as great - noisy and somewhat stark decor.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

Good meeting place for lunch.

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

Second time at Penn Commons. This time we tried lunch. The $10 lunch specials are a nice touch. The Turkey Reuben was great.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Wizards Fans

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on March 16, 2016

We enjoyed the food and convenience. This location works well for downtown dining!

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Good food. Quick and friendly service. ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on March 14, 2016

Good food. Quick and friendly service. One of my favorites for dinner before Verizon Center events

Tags: vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Perfect Place for the Occasion

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

Reserved table for an old friend and I ahead of the ACC Basketball Tournament finals on March 12th, since Penn Commons is right next to the Verozon Center. Lots of UNC and UVA fans, so it was probably louder than usual. There are TVs in the bar area, though, so I imagine it can get loud at times even on non-event nights - but we were able to converse well enough regardless. We both had the meatloaf, which is sensational (better than any of the several versions I make at home)! If UVA had only won, it would have been a perfect Saturday night......

Tags: hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Does not live up to District Commons

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on March 11, 2016

While District Commons is a great place to dine, it's new sister restaurant, Penn Commons, is an unsatisfactory experience. Don't get me wrong, the food is very good. However, the restaurant is poorly designed with concrete floors and ceilings so that the sound level at the highly busy establishment is unbearable. Very hard to hear what is being said by the person next to you . The service is also poor. We got our dinner before getting the drinks we ordered. We got our dessert, before they ever cleared our dinner plates. It was hard to get the waiter's attention to place additional drink orders. Overall, go to District Commons if you want to taste the menu and have better service. If your downtown and want somewhere good to eat, go somewhere else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value2

Worse than bar food

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

If I could give this restaurant 0 stars, I would. The food was soggy and bland. How do make soggy french fries? Or soggy pancakes? The falafel sandwich tasted like sawdust.

It took 45 minutes from order to first food delivery. Ridiculously slow.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Good food, too darn loud!

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

Our group of 8 was nicely accommodated but on what was a weekend early evening with no Verizon Center events the place is too loud. The bar and restaurant were not even completely full and still you had to shout to be heard by anyone more than one person away. It's too bad we can't recommend it because the food was surprisingly good and the portions generous-- a good value. Put some sound dampening tiles to block the concrete ceiling, for goodness sakes. Save everyone's eardrums and voices!

Tags: good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Great location. Right next to the Verizo ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on February 26, 2016

Great location. Right next to the Verizon Center, so easy to get to a game. As other reviewers have said, this is a sports bar in disguise. Server was good, but had too many tables, which kept us waiting. The spread sampler was a hit. Happy hour prices were great. My wife had the lobster stuffed tilapia, which she thought was very good. Although I had read other reviews, I got the shrimp and grits. The seasoning was great, but the shrimp were over cooked and the grits were under cooked. I guess if you want great shrimp and grits, you need to go to Charleston, SC.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

The pretzel baguette was great. I had th ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 19, 2016

The pretzel baguette was great. I had the brick pressed chicken and it was too salty. My husband had the caramelized onion ravioli and it was average. Not at all what he expected. Beer selection was great and service was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Pre-Game

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on February 18, 2016

Great place for drinks and food before a sporting event or even after work.

Tags: good for groups, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Not a place for a romantic dinner - thi ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Not a place for a romantic dinner - this is a Sports Bar, good for young professionals wanting to hang out and hook up. But, for what it appears to be, it is good!

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

worthy brunch

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Came here for quick brunch before movie at gallery place. Waitress was a little overwhelmed but we got our drinks very quickly. Food was pretty good and the pretzel bread is always a plus.

Tags: great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Went there for brunch. Food was mediocre ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Went there for brunch. Food was mediocre and the service was awful. It was very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1

Great food and excellent service

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

This was my first visit to Penn Commons. The place was lively, food was tasty, service was prompt and we had a great server. I'm adding this restaurant to my list of regular eating spots.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Good bar with good food and good beer

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

The food is good, the beer is very good, and it's a fun place to go. Sports bar vibe and quite loud, lots of people. Overall very good place, and better food than most other sports bars around and nicer than many others, too.

Tags: good for groups, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Really Enjoy Penn Commons

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

Good food and good service nicely combined with an energetic vibe throughout the restaurant. A nice find in the Penn Quarter neighborhood.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Service ruined the experience

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

The food was good, however, the service ruined the experience. The whole night we kept having to flag down our waiter, even when we were ready for our check, he was too busy to pay attention. I get it, it's a Friday night, it's busy, but the restaurant should definitely hire more waiters for busy nights. After we were seated, we waited 15 mins before we were even greeted by our waiter and order our drinks. Another 20 mins before we received our drinks. By the time I got my beer, because it was sitting at the bar counter for 20 mins after it was poured, it wasn't as cold as it should have been. If not for good company, we would have walked out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Restaurant Week "END" Review

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

Great atmosphere for date night or night out with friends, and co-workers. It was me and my dates first time and we were impressed by the attentiveness of management and waitress was okay. We went during restaurant week and we both had three course meals. Everything was to our satisfaction! And the drink specials they have during the weekend were a definite plus. We we will be back with friends.

Tags: good for groups, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great food and service at a very busy Fr ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on January 29, 2016

Great food and service at a very busy Friday night before a Springsteen concert at the Verizon Center. Location couldn't have been better for a meal before an event at that venue. Very nice draft beer selection at good happy hour prices. Place was packed so our table reservation was essential.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent service

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on January 29, 2016

We had a 5:30 reservation for which we arrived 15 minutes late and they had still held our reservation. We were seated in a nice booth and the waiter immediately took care of our drink orders. I had the steak and my date had the salmon. Both were fantastic...although if you order the salmon rare make sure you want it..rare :) ... We would visit again when in the area.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Restaurant week - great find!

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on January 29, 2016

The food was great, service was great, everything about this was great, except it was a little noisier than I would have liked. Don't know what could have been done to change that as the place was very, very busy. It did take away from the enjoyment somewhat. Would definitely recommend to someone else.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Poor Service

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on January 26, 2016

Party of three. One entree was brought to the table before the other two. We were told there was a problem with the ordering system. So two of the three sat there twiddling their thumbs as the other person had to eat their food as it was becoming cold as it took so long. Very disappointing considering it was a birthday dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.