About Penn Commons

700 6th St NW
Washington, DC 20001
View Larger Map

Amidst the emerging culinary epicenter of diverse restaurants in the historic Penn Quarter neighborhood of Washington, DC, Penn Commons is a rough-hewn yet chic American tavern on 6th & H Streets.

To craft its menu of food and drinks united by one common philosophy - American sensibility joined with American seasonality - Chef Jeff Tunks drew on his first name partnerships with the best local farmers and artisanal purveyors...or he just makes it himself.

Burnished copper lighting, leather sling chairs and salvaged woods provide a warm footing for this showcase of American tavern food at its best.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm



Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm


Thursday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday: 5:00pm-9:00pm

Brunch: Saturday and Sunday: 11am - 2:30pm

Cross Street:
H Street, NW

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 905-2999

Website:
http://www.penncommonsdc.com/

Catering:
Please call our sales department for options for catering and the available menus.

Parking Details:
Parking is available on the street and in the large private lot located to the north of our entrance.

Public Transit:
METRO: Gallery Place

Executive Chef:
Alfredo Solis

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Penn Commons, Washington, DC
  • Penn Commons, Washington, DC
  • Penn Commons, Washington, DC
  • Penn Commons, Washington, DC
Penn Commons, Washington, DC
Penn Commons, Washington, DC
Penn Commons, Washington, DC
Penn Commons, Washington, DC

Penn Commons Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.0

ambience

3.6

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

73% would recommend it to a friend

Happy Hour (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Good for Groups (10)
See All
Great Beer (8)
Great for Lunch (7)
Casual (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Live Sports (6)
Fun (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Good for a Date (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Cozy (3)
Family Style (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
People Watching (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Business Meals (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Dancing (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Vegan (1)
Live Music (1)
Authentic (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
S
198 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This place is great! The service could ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

This place is great! The service could be better, took awhile to see our server but once we did she was on top of things. Food was delicious and they have the best Bloody Mary's I have had in DC. Great place to brunch and catch the game!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Live Sports, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Pleasant unfrantic place for business lu ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

Pleasant unfrantic place for business lunch witn low noise level and large, eclectic, inventive menu

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Meals were great. The 6 of us all cleane ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

Meals were great. The 6 of us all cleaned our plates!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good was fresh although it's a fairly li ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Good was fresh although it's a fairly limited menu. We got a veggie burger, the meat loaf and the chicken fried steak. Favorite was the meatloaf. They have an all day happy hour on Saturday with decent drink specials. Would recommend

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great Beer, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic dishes. Friendly staff. Great ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Fantastic dishes. Friendly staff. Great happy hour prices

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

If you are not a caps fan Do not dine th ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 5, 2016

If you are not a caps fan

Do not dine there before a game

Otherwise

An excellent experience

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Live vibrant crowd late night drink spec ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Live vibrant crowd late night drink specials

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

Insanely loud! There is not one iota of ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Insanely loud! There is not one iota of drapery or carpet to deaden the noise. We were a party of 4 in the dining room and had to shout to each other in order to be heard.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

We enjoyed our first visit to Penn Commo ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 22, 2016

We enjoyed our first visit to Penn Commons. The menu leans toward comfort food ,and Southern, and has some interesting choices. We started with pimento cheese was a credible rendition of this old Southern favorite; chicken-fried steak was just right, too.

Compliments to the staff - hostess and our server - for being pleasant, cheerful, and accommodating on a very busy Saturday night 30 minutes before the Caps game began.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

great food, great selection, TVs a plus, ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 22, 2016

great food, great selection, TVs a plus, great service! definitely going back!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant has a fun, feel good vib ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 21, 2016

This restaurant has a fun, feel good vibe. Great for both date night or getting together with friends. The servers were awesome and super friendly, especially Alberto. The food was very light and healthy. Don't expect a weighed down plate of carbs. The drinks were simple, but they have a long happy hour. I would go again.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

It was just so loud! I'll go back bc of ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 19, 2016

It was just so loud! I'll go back bc of food, drink specials and location. But the noise level was out of control.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4

The food is always solid. My biggest co ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 14, 2016

The food is always solid. My biggest complaint about this restaurant is the NOISE. There is nothing in the place to absorb any of the noise and all conversations bounce off the concrete floors. It is very difficult to have a conversation. Mid-day crowds are small and it is a much more pleasurable experience.

Tags: Live Sports, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

The front desk staff were wonderful. Th ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 10, 2016

The front desk staff were wonderful. The food was very good and well priced. Loved the generous pour happy hour drinks. The waiter was very nice, but I would've liked him to pop by and see if we needed anything without having to be flagged down. I ended up eating half my meal with no drink.

Tags: Fun, Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Food and wine was great, as was the serv ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Food and wine was great, as was the service. However, it was so loud that we couldn't have a conversation without screaming at each other. It was overwhelming and headache inducing. I will not be going back to Penn Commons.

Tags: Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

If I could give less than 1 star, I woul ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 18, 2016

If I could give less than 1 star, I would. I guess I'll say that the 1 star was for the food taste and quality because the food was good. What was not good was the service. We had a 12pm brunch reservation and arrived on time. We left at 3. Our server came to our table zero times without having to be flagged down or hunted down. And it took forever for our food to come out. And I mean FOREVER! We all took advantage of the brunch special, which is an appetizer, an entree and dessert and unlimited mimosas for $32. Sounds like a great deal right?? Except we only were served two drinks because that's how terrible the service was. One of the wait staff apologized and stated that they just had a lot of reservations and so the kitchen was backed up. Ummm ok but it seems to me that reservations are put in place to plan for staffing levels in order to adequately meet customer needs. Also, out food came out piecemeal and 3 people would get their food and then 30 minutes later 3 more of us got our food. It was a terrible experience. I'll never go back.

Unless you just want to sit at the bar and have some drinks and watch the game, I would suggest you find another place to go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1

While I have enjoyed many positive exper ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 28, 2016

While I have enjoyed many positive experiences at Penn Commons, this visit left a lot to be desired. It was very clear that the restaurant was short staffed for a busy Sunday brunch in downtown DC. Our waiter could not keep up with drink orders. The food didn't all come out at the same time. Food orders came out incorrect. Mimosa and coffee refill requests went ignored. I hosted friends and family visiting from out of town for what I thought would be a quality DC brunch experience. I'm embarrassed! Do better, Penn Commons.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

I ordered an Old Fashioned and the goat ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 25, 2016

I ordered an Old Fashioned and the goat cheese spread, and my wife ordered the wings. For diner, we both got the skirt steak. Portion sizes were generous, and the food was all very good, though perhaps slightly under-seasoned for my taste. (That said, I do tend to like stronger and more robust flavors, so this could just be me.)

The service was prompt and polite. The only real downside was the noise level, as the Happy Hour crowd made it difficult for me to hear my wife across the table, even though we were seated well away from the bar area.

Overall, I would recommend and will visit again.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The noise level when we got there at7:30 ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 19, 2016

The noise level when we got there at7:30 was so loud we had to shout to the hostess and still had trouble hearing. The bar was very crowded but tables were not filled. The cesear salad was wilted and you could not taste or see the dressing. The Salmon was good but I did not care for the Teriyaki glaze. Desert was soso. Would not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

Went for restaurant week so I tried more ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Went for restaurant week so I tried more than normally would have. Apps were good. The ravioli a particularly choice. Drink specials were extensive ($5 Cosmo was delicious). Little bit noisy but lots of fun.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food and service were great, but the ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 19, 2016

The food and service were great, but the noise level is nearly unbearable at times.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Will not go back. The loudest restaurant ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 18, 2016

Will not go back. The loudest restaurant I have ever been in!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value4

The loudest restaurant I have been to in ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 18, 2016

The loudest restaurant I have been to in my life! Very poor waiter service, however, the managers try to make it right. Food is excellent especially the eggplant dip and trout. I'd skip it and find another place, unless you are alone and don't need to talk to anyone. Too bad.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

The noise level was so high it completel ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 18, 2016

The noise level was so high it completely ruined our dining experience. I don't recall ever eating at a restaurant where it was so noisy.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value3

It was very noisy, they need to incorpor ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 18, 2016

It was very noisy, they need to incorporate sound deadening materials. Other then that it was very good and convenient to Verizon Center.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Decent food, good service, far too loud ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 12, 2016

Decent food, good service, far too loud to have a conversation with people at your table without having to shout.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Good food, very attentive service by mul ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 10, 2016

Good food, very attentive service by multiple people, including manager who stopped by a couple of times. But ambient noise level was way too high, can't imagine that groups of six or more could hear each other talk.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

Food was decent and the service acceptab ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 9, 2016

Food was decent and the service acceptable. Absolutely nothing memorable about the décor. The overwhelming takeaway from the experience was the insane noise level. By far the loudest restaurant I've ever visited. You practically had to shout to be heard across the table. If they don't fix that problem, I doubt they'll be in business very long.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value3

We had dinner here before the Paul McCar ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 9, 2016

We had dinner here before the Paul McCartney concert. I found Penn Commons through a Google search. We were a party of four and we all loved the experience. The service was impeccable and the food was glorious. I loved how the martinis were presented in their own mini shaker! I would definitely dine here again and recommend it to a friend.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food and service at Penn Commons are ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 7, 2016

The food and service at Penn Commons are terrific, but it is incredibly noisy. Even though it was a Sunday afternoon and the place was 2/3 empty when we were there, we had yell loudly to be heard by the person sitting directly across the table from us. Probably a good place for people who prefer to text one another rather than talk.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Nice place for good food and good custom ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 29, 2016

Nice place for good food and good customer service

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

The staff were extremely kind. While I ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 29, 2016

The staff were extremely kind. While I was waiting for the rest of my party, three different people asked me if I wanted water while I waited.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

While the value was right and the server ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 24, 2016

While the value was right and the servers were great, the food left a bit to be desired The second of my poached eggs was raw and my friend's shrimp was painfully overcooked.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value5

Good reasonable burgers but the noise l ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 23, 2016

Good reasonable burgers but the noise level is way too high for any kind of conversation at all.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value5

Good place for a quick lunch. Great ser ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 12, 2016

Good place for a quick lunch. Great service. Simple menu. Excellent staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Had dinner on a busy thursday night. The ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 23, 2016

Had dinner on a busy thursday night. The the noise in the restaurant was deafening. Had to shout at my dining companions. Couldn't wait to leave.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value2

The reason I rated the restaurant 3 star ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 23, 2016

The reason I rated the restaurant 3 stars was because of the noise level. I don't think that I have ever been to a restaurant that was that loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5

We had a business lunch on a tight budge ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 22, 2016

We had a business lunch on a tight budget. Our lunch was slow (I had to ask if they had forgotten us) but restaurant comped the meal. Thanks.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Great location next to Verizon Center. A ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 21, 2016

Great location next to Verizon Center. Attentive wait staff and prompt service, but the food was just average and as the evening wore on, the restaurant became crowded, making it difficult to converse with companions across a larger table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Good choice for lunch. More sedate than ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 15, 2016

Good choice for lunch. More sedate than many of the places in the neighborhood, which is a good thing.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.