About Penn Commons

700 6th St NW
Washington, DC 20001
View Larger Map

Amidst the emerging culinary epicenter of diverse restaurants in the historic Penn Quarter neighborhood of Washington, DC, Penn Commons is a rough-hewn yet chic American tavern on 6th & H Streets.

To craft its menu of food and drinks united by one common philosophy - American sensibility joined with American seasonality - Chef Jeff Tunks drew on his first name partnerships with the best local farmers and artisanal purveyors...or he just makes it himself.

Burnished copper lighting, leather sling chairs and salvaged woods provide a warm footing for this showcase of American tavern food at its best.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm



Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm


Thursday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday: 5:00pm-9:00pm

Brunch: Saturday and Sunday: 11am - 2:30pm

Cross Street:
H Street, NW

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 905-2999

Website:
http://www.penncommonsdc.com/

Catering:
Please call our sales department for options for catering and the available menus.

Parking Details:
Parking is available on the street and in the large private lot located to the north of our entrance.

Public Transit:
METRO: Gallery Place

Executive Chef:
Alfredo Solis

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Penn Commons Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4

ambience

3.8

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Vibrant Bar Scene
Washington, D.C. Area
Vibrant Bar Scene
District of Columbia
Best Restaurants in Penn Quarter ›

vibrant bar scene (46)
good for groups (44)
hot spot (24)
See All
neighborhood gem (21)
fit for foodies (20)
great for lunch (19)
great for brunch (19)
late-night find (8)
kid-friendly (8)
special occasion (5)
great for outdoor dining (3)
notable wine list (1)
 (1)
romantic (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
153 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

CRAB CAKES!!!

Dined on May 21, 2016

Had a seven o'clock reservation and were seated right away by a very non-friendly hostess. But she was quickly replaced by CHARLES our extraordinary server! A little bit about Charles, Penn Commons is his first job out of the Marine Corps - THANK YOU CHARLES FOR YOUR SERVICE TO OUR GREAT COUNTRY and the fantastic service we enjoyed at dinner. We made a comment about the "noise factor" in a joking manner to Charles (it was a Saturday night) and shortly a manager was over and asked us if we wanted to move to a quieter spot - we declined. CUSTOMER SERVICE FIVE STARTS!!! Now the food. The "choose 3" appetizer was a great deal and very tasty - Pimento Cheese, Char Roasted Eggplant, Pesto, Toasted Pine Nuts and Goat Cheese with Spinach and Chopped Dates - just needed a couple of extra pieces of baguette. One of us had the Crab Cakes - the best of the 5 day trip and the other the Falafel Burger. With the Crab Cakes we easily substituted the frys for their Scalloped Potatoes and boy they were worth an upcharge! The Falafel Burger was fantastic and eaten quickly! Dessert is a must - the Boston Cream Pie and Almond Joy Sundae provided an excellent finish to an excellent meal. For the remaining days we had in DC if anyone asked us for a restaurant recommendation Penn Commons was at the top of the list! GREAT JOB!

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good food at a great price

Dined on April 22, 2016

One thing we really appreciated was that you could get the happy hour specials at all the tables also. They were all priced extremely well. I had the trout and my wife had the chicken and the food was very good. Dessert, a boston cream cake, was delicious as well. Service considering that the restaurant was packed to capacity was exceptional. I will recommend and will dine there again.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service4

Great Tuesday night happy hour drink spe ...

Dined on April 5, 2016

Great Tuesday night happy hour drink specials. Food was good as well. Would definitely come back again!

food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Easter enjoyed

vip
Dined on March 27, 2016

Easter Sunday and celebrating a good friend's birthday brought us to Penn Commons with great success celebrating both.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great brunch date

Dined on March 26, 2016

Really good deal for a 3 course brunch with bottomless drinks. Nice selection of drinks. Excellent quality food. Supreme customer service.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fabulous

Dined on March 25, 2016

Must return many times in order to sample all the delicious options. Once simply isn't enough. Great beer selection.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Consistently good food, convenient location.

vip
Dined on March 23, 2016

So close to Verizon Center and near my office. It is now my "go to" lunch place to meet colleagues, interview, or just grab a good meal. Great service.

Tags: great for lunch
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

I'm just not impressed. I much preferred ...

vip
Dined on March 20, 2016

I'm just not impressed. I much preferred District Commons and didn't enjoy the service here. It's very overpriced for the food's value.

Tags: kid-friendly, hot spot
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

Good food Poor ambiance

vip
Dined on March 19, 2016

Went to Penn Commons for dinner with friends. It has a vibrant youthful bar scene. The food is excellent. The ambiance for dining is not as great - noisy and somewhat stark decor.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good meeting place for lunch.

vip
Dined on March 18, 2016

Second time at Penn Commons. This time we tried lunch. The $10 lunch specials are a nice touch. The Turkey Reuben was great.

Tags: great for lunch
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Wizards Fans

vip
Dined on March 16, 2016

We enjoyed the food and convenience. This location works well for downtown dining!

Tags: great for lunch
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Good food. Quick and friendly service. ...

vip
Dined on March 14, 2016

Good food. Quick and friendly service. One of my favorites for dinner before Verizon Center events

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Perfect Place for the Occasion

Dined on March 12, 2016

Reserved table for an old friend and I ahead of the ACC Basketball Tournament finals on March 12th, since Penn Commons is right next to the Verozon Center. Lots of UNC and UVA fans, so it was probably louder than usual. There are TVs in the bar area, though, so I imagine it can get loud at times even on non-event nights - but we were able to converse well enough regardless. We both had the meatloaf, which is sensational (better than any of the several versions I make at home)! If UVA had only won, it would have been a perfect Saturday night......

Tags: hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience1
service1
value2

Does not live up to District Commons

vip
Dined on March 11, 2016

While District Commons is a great place to dine, it's new sister restaurant, Penn Commons, is an unsatisfactory experience. Don't get me wrong, the food is very good. However, the restaurant is poorly designed with concrete floors and ceilings so that the sound level at the highly busy establishment is unbearable. Very hard to hear what is being said by the person next to you . The service is also poor. We got our dinner before getting the drinks we ordered. We got our dessert, before they ever cleared our dinner plates. It was hard to get the waiter's attention to place additional drink orders. Overall, go to District Commons if you want to taste the menu and have better service. If your downtown and want somewhere good to eat, go somewhere else.

food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Worse than bar food

Dined on February 28, 2016

If I could give this restaurant 0 stars, I would. The food was soggy and bland. How do make soggy french fries? Or soggy pancakes? The falafel sandwich tasted like sawdust. It took 45 minutes from order to first food delivery. Ridiculously slow.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Good food, too darn loud!

vip
Dined on February 28, 2016

Our group of 8 was nicely accommodated but on what was a weekend early evening with no Verizon Center events the place is too loud. The bar and restaurant were not even completely full and still you had to shout to be heard by anyone more than one person away. It's too bad we can't recommend it because the food was surprisingly good and the portions generous-- a good value. Put some sound dampening tiles to block the concrete ceiling, for goodness sakes. Save everyone's eardrums and voices!

Tags: good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience4
service4

Great location. Right next to the Verizo ...

vip
Dined on February 26, 2016

Great location. Right next to the Verizon Center, so easy to get to a game. As other reviewers have said, this is a sports bar in disguise. Server was good, but had too many tables, which kept us waiting. The spread sampler was a hit. Happy hour prices were great. My wife had the lobster stuffed tilapia, which she thought was very good. Although I had read other reviews, I got the shrimp and grits. The seasoning was great, but the shrimp were over cooked and the grits were under cooked. I guess if you want great shrimp and grits, you need to go to Charleston, SC.

food3
ambience4
service3

The pretzel baguette was great. I had th ...

Dined on February 19, 2016

The pretzel baguette was great. I had the brick pressed chicken and it was too salty. My husband had the caramelized onion ravioli and it was average. Not at all what he expected. Beer selection was great and service was good.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Pre-Game

Dined on February 18, 2016

Great place for drinks and food before a sporting event or even after work.

Tags: good for groups, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

worthy brunch

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

Came here for quick brunch before movie at gallery place. Waitress was a little overwhelmed but we got our drinks very quickly. Food was pretty good and the pretzel bread is always a plus.

Tags: great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience4
service1

Went there for brunch. Food was mediocre ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Went there for brunch. Food was mediocre and the service was awful. It was very disappointing.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and excellent service

Dined on February 13, 2016

This was my first visit to Penn Commons. The place was lively, food was tasty, service was prompt and we had a great server. I'm adding this restaurant to my list of regular eating spots.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good bar with good food and good beer

Dined on February 13, 2016

The food is good, the beer is very good, and it's a fun place to go. Sports bar vibe and quite loud, lots of people. Overall very good place, and better food than most other sports bars around and nicer than many others, too.

Tags: good for groups, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Really Enjoy Penn Commons

Dined on February 7, 2016

Good food and good service nicely combined with an energetic vibe throughout the restaurant. A nice find in the Penn Quarter neighborhood.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Service ruined the experience

vip
Dined on February 6, 2016

The food was good, however, the service ruined the experience. The whole night we kept having to flag down our waiter, even when we were ready for our check, he was too busy to pay attention. I get it, it's a Friday night, it's busy, but the restaurant should definitely hire more waiters for busy nights. After we were seated, we waited 15 mins before we were even greeted by our waiter and order our drinks. Another 20 mins before we received our drinks. By the time I got my beer, because it was sitting at the bar counter for 20 mins after it was poured, it wasn't as cold as it should have been. If not for good company, we would have walked out.

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Restaurant Week "END" Review

Dined on January 31, 2016

Great atmosphere for date night or night out with friends, and co-workers. It was me and my dates first time and we were impressed by the attentiveness of management and waitress was okay. We went during restaurant week and we both had three course meals. Everything was to our satisfaction! And the drink specials they have during the weekend were a definite plus. We we will be back with friends.

Tags: good for groups, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food and service at a very busy Fr ...

Dined on January 29, 2016

Great food and service at a very busy Friday night before a Springsteen concert at the Verizon Center. Location couldn't have been better for a meal before an event at that venue. Very nice draft beer selection at good happy hour prices. Place was packed so our table reservation was essential.

food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Excellent service

Dined on January 29, 2016

We had a 5:30 reservation for which we arrived 15 minutes late and they had still held our reservation. We were seated in a nice booth and the waiter immediately took care of our drink orders. I had the steak and my date had the salmon. Both were fantastic...although if you order the salmon rare make sure you want it..rare :) ... We would visit again when in the area.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurant week - great find!

Dined on January 29, 2016

The food was great, service was great, everything about this was great, except it was a little noisier than I would have liked. Don't know what could have been done to change that as the place was very, very busy. It did take away from the enjoyment somewhat. Would definitely recommend to someone else.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

Poor Service

vip
Dined on January 26, 2016

Party of three. One entree was brought to the table before the other two. We were told there was a problem with the ordering system. So two of the three sat there twiddling their thumbs as the other person had to eat their food as it was becoming cold as it took so long. Very disappointing considering it was a birthday dinner.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

2nd Time around

vip
Dined on January 15, 2016

Food and service was very good. Enjoyable experience.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Good food, OK service

vip
Dined on January 8, 2016

The energetic ambiance was great. The food was tasty and creative, but the service left a lot to be desired. My friend and I weren't drinking and immediately our server's demeanor changed with us. He seemed incredibly uninterested in serving us, looked impatient when we hadn't decided on our meal or desserts (we take food seriously), and a kind, welcoming attitude could've given him the same type of gratuity that a drink on the bill might have. Would I return? Yep! But may be inclined to ask for another server.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Fab New Years Eve dinner

Dined on December 31, 2015

Found this place on OpenTable, and being visitors to the city went on location and reviews. The welcome was friendly, $5 cocktails fantastic (especially as this deal was even available in NYE!) and the food fantastic. Can highly recommend the crab cakes and the shrimp. The special menu for NYE was also sensational. Would love to go back some time!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

great neighborhood gem

Dined on December 26, 2015

We've eaten here twice and enjoyed our meal. We loved the pretzel bread and mustard to start with and the "pick 3" bread and spreads. The burgers are good and the salmon is great as well. There are interesting choices for dinner. the service staff are great and helpful and friendly as are all of the staff here.

Tags: neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service4

Loud dinning area due to happy hour

Dined on December 21, 2015

Loud dinning area due to happy hour

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent dinner experience

Dined on December 19, 2015

We had a great time at Penn Commons. The food was excellent, as was the service and the environment. It was very lively on a Friday night. Would definitely return to Penn Commons

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience1
service2
value2

Noisy

Dined on December 18, 2015

I went before a Caps game and the restaurant actually felt noisier than the arena. It was very hard to talk to anyone else at the table over the noise of the bar. This was my only time at the restaurant so I don't know if it's always this loud or if it was just more crowded than usual in the bar area.

food5
ambience4
service5

Found Our Place

Dined on December 13, 2015

A friend and I were looking for a somewhere to call "our place", where we could have a great meal and spend time talking. We think we've found it in Penn Commons. The food is really good, the drink menu is huge and the staff is incredible. We felt welcomed and well taken care of without feeling they were trying to rush us. They even gave us the same booth. We'll certainly be back.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service4

Great spot for dinner before a show

Dined on December 10, 2015

Great location, right across the street from the Verizon Center. Had the crab cakes, which were amazing, and the seafood soup, which was very thick, a little spicy and overall, very good. Service was pretty good, slowed as the place filled up. My only real dig is on the noise level; the room is all hard surfaces and open to the bar, so the noise level makes conversation difficult.

Tags: neighborhood gem, hot spot
food1
ambience1
service1

Understaffed and cold food

Dined on December 5, 2015

Very disappointed. Perhaps we made the wrong choices.

Tags: vibrant bar scene

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.