About Pembroke's

From the owners of Rx, chef James Doss and business partner Josh Novicki bring you Pembroke's!

1125A Military Cutoff Rd.
Wilmington, NC 28405
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm
Brunch: Sunday 10am-3pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(910) 239-9153

Website:
http://www.pembrokescuisine.com/

Entertainment:
Live music on Friday and Saturday nights, as well as, for brunch on Sundays.

Executive Chef:
James Doss

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please call Jill White, Event Coordinator
910 520 7956

Pembroke's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Local Ingredients (21)
Good for a Date (20)
Fit for Foodies (17)
See All
Creative Cuisine (16)
Special Occasion (16)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Cozy (12)
Romantic (11)
Worth the Drive (11)
Authentic (11)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Casual (8)
Healthy (7)
Seasonal (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Organic (6)
Business Meals (6)
Open Kitchen (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Fun (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Great Beer (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Wood Oven (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Family Style (2)
Private Room (2)
People Watching (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Fireplace (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Live Sports (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Live Music (0)
Sort By:
S
325 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined 3 days ago

This evening was fair. The pork belly was reported as good without too much dressing. The special cocktail was a big hit. My steak frites was tougher than I expected - though flank steak is a tougher cut of meat. Pork shoulder was well received by two in the party, as was the mahi.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Farm to fork concept with all items sourced local. Great concept that seems to work well. A lot of fresh seafood options. Would say quality is outstanding as well as service. It's on the pricey side but quality and service well worth it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Very disappointed compared to first visit. 3 entres sent back due to undercooked . Returned not much better and lukewarm. For the entre price, one or two sides should be included. No offer of compensation for undercooked dished.
Medium well does not equal bright red meat!

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Great food and we've been a few times now, the service was also great. The Wings, Hoppin Juan, Filet Mignon, and everything else we have tried has been amazing

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 4, 2017

The wings are amazing as an appetizer. The filet minon was cooked perfectly. I have been here several times and would just like see them add perhaps potatoes to their dish or some sort of addition.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Expensive but delicious. The steak fritte and shrimp and grits were both v rybgood. Will visit again.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We went for Sunday Brunch and OJ is fresh squeezed, several menu options, great service.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Too costly for the amount of food that we received. Had to stop and get a hamburger for my son on the way home.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Awesome , fresh food. Atmosphere is good for any occasion. French fries cooked in duck fat are the bomb.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Excellent food. Polite and gracious wait staff but a bit inexperienced. A bit slow but did not cause a negative experience. Was disappointed that a few items offered on an earlier menu were missing but the other choices were great dishes. My compliments to the chef. Desserts were devine. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 19, 2017

I would recommend this place to anyone looking for a great quality dinner. Waiter was fabulous and couldn't have been better. We loved it!

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Great Beer, Healthy, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Great restaurant with delicious food. The service was top notch as well. 10/10 would dine there again

Tags: Comfort Food, Great Beer, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Delicious!

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 15, 2017

My boyfriend and I had a beautiful Valentine's dinner! We made the reservation online, and I loved the reminders and that they were 'expecting' us.......made us feel special. Thank you

Tags: Private Room, Open Kitchen, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly, Cozy, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Local Ingredients, Late-night Find, Authentic, Good for a Date, People Watching, Family Style, Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Organic, Modern Decor, Live Sports, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The meal was excellent with friendly, polite and considerate staff.
Even though it was a holiday, my special dietary needs were met.
Excellent meal. Good wine.
Delightful evening.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Food is still fabulous. Noise level and table setup is very poor. Wait staff should have their tatoo's covered while serving customers. Overall restaurant is going away from what made them fabulous.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Totally enjoyed our Sunday brunch. The biscuits were the best we've ever had. Waiter was available, but not intrusive. Food came out just as ordered and promptly. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

This place is absolutely amazing!! First night out with my husband on our new date night and this place delivered. The food was fresh and the presentation was immaculate. The diverse staff provided exceptional service! Pembroke's is highly recommended! We will definitely be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Live Music, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Organic, Healthy, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Private Room, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Food was outstanding and well-prepared. Julianna was friendly, knowledgeable, made good recommendations and timely with service. Great ambiance.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Wood Oven, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Great entrees-we're there on the 10th-great snapper and steak frites. Love this place! Also good service.

Tags: Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Family Style, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Great food and atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Loved the food, the open kitchen, and the friendly and helpful staff. Impressed with size of private party area. Spent more money than I'm used to, and will probably save return for very special occasions.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 27, 2017

One of the best meals I've had in Wilmington, during 2 years of fairly regular business travel here. There are some good restaurants in town, mostly downtown, but, in my experience, none finer than Pembroke's, out in the suburbs. I don't usually get all that excited when I see farm-to-table, but in this case, it seemed to really make a difference. I had the flounder, with kale, risotto, and butternut squash, and it was amazing. The place has a classy vibe, even though it's in a strip mall (a fairly upscale one, but still...). The service was just right. Just thoroughly enjoyed it.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Food & service are consistently on point. We drive from SC just to have dinner here at least once a quarter.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 15, 2017

An absolutely wonderful dinner. Our waiter was excellent, the food was interesting and delicious. We had several plates for appetizers that were all outstanding. Dinner was delicious. Even the desserts were note worthy. We would hurry back.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The service was wonderful and very knowledgeable! I highly recommend saving room for dessert!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Food was great. My Mahi-Mahi was good, just needed some glaze on the fish to make it excellent.

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 31, 2016

New yeas eve early dinner date. Food was good. Not very hot when served and we were a little disappointed with the skimpy salad. Thought a $10 salad would be more robust although local. Martini glasses are on the small side as well. Enjoyed our experience all in all. Manuel our waiter is ver personable and attentive.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Molecular Gastronomy, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We always enjoy Pembroke's. The food is different each time and their specials are always a great choice. It can be pricey - especially if you add wine - but it's worth it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Organic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 29, 2016

The service was beyond exceptional. The food & drinks were great.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 22, 2016

It fell woefully short of the recommendation.
We will not be back. The price was not commiserate with taste and portions and therefore, value.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Everything was delicious! Waitress was attentive and friendly.

Tags: Organic, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 16, 2016

We were seated promptly. Food excellent. Server, Miguel was great!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Food was ok. Gave me the most disgusting raw poached eggs I have ever seen and charged me for them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Restaurants often have items on their menu that look great on paper but leave you disappointed. That was not the case at Pembroke's. The chef here obviously is not afraid of flavor. Our appetizer, salads, and entrees were all outstanding. The flavor combinations were incredibly good and we even asked our waiter to commend the chef.... something we rarely do.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 10, 2016

this is my second time going this time I had the Steak Frires, steak was cooked to perfection and the fries were probably one of the best fries I've ever had.
Also loved their Beef Tartar!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Warm atmosphere, great service and great food. We went with the small plates and snacks. The cheese plate was delicious. I highly recommend the chèvre.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Organic, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 10, 2016

The food was awesome, but what really blew me away was the service. We made a reservation for 4, but had to add a person unexpectedly at the last minute. The folks at Pembroke's were so accommodating and incredibly gracious with us and made everything work out just fine. Our waitress was very attentive, as well. Will absolutely be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 6, 2016

Great meal and service. The beet salad was excellent. The flounder is recommended.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 3, 2016

The food was amazing. Everything that was ordered by each person in our group (group of 6) was phenomenal, from appetizers to desserts. My family cant wait to come back for more, and we are excited about how the menu changes because of the local market. Hands down number one place in Wilmington when looking for a higher scale dinner, date night, or just delicious food.

Tags: Good for Groups, Outstanding Value, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.