About Pembroke's

1125A Military Cutoff Rd.
Wilmington, NC 28405
View Larger Map

From the owners of Rx, chef James Doss and business partner Josh Novicki bring you Pembroke's!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm
Brunch: Sunday 10am-3pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(910) 239-9153

Website:
http://www.pembrokescuisine.com/

Entertainment:
Live music on Friday and Saturday nights, as well as, for brunch on Sundays.

Executive Chef:
James Doss

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please call Jill White, Event Coordinator
910 520 7956

Pembroke's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Coastal North Carolina
Best Food
Coastal North Carolina
Best Service
Coastal North Carolina
6 More
Best Overall
Wilmington
Best Food
Wilmington
Best Service
Wilmington
Best Ambiance
Wilmington
Best Value
Wilmington
Most Booked
Wilmington
Best Restaurants in Wilmington ›

Local Ingredients (15)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Creative Cuisine (11)
See All
Good for a Date (10)
Special Occasion (9)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Seasonal (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Wood Oven (5)
Romantic (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Business Meals (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Cozy (4)
Healthy (4)
Casual (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Organic (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Authentic (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Fun (3)
Tapas (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Live Music (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Private Room (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Scenic View (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Family Style (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
285 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great meal and service. The beet salad w ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Great meal and service. The beet salad was excellent. The flounder is recommended.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was amazing. Everything that wa ...

 
·Dined on December 3, 2016

The food was amazing. Everything that was ordered by each person in our group (group of 6) was phenomenal, from appetizers to desserts. My family cant wait to come back for more, and we are excited about how the menu changes because of the local market. Hands down number one place in Wilmington when looking for a higher scale dinner, date night, or just delicious food.

Tags: Good for Groups, Outstanding Value, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The pork dish was very very good. We we ...

 
·Dined on November 27, 2016

The pork dish was very very good. We were disappointed the unique chicken dish was sold out. We also has a kale pork belly discuss... That was really a salad. If we had known it was a cold salad we would have passed on it. The kale pieces were too large to manage politely. Sometimes kale is better if par boiled. Def not enough pork belly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Everything was great! Delicious food and ...

 
·Dined on November 19, 2016

Everything was great! Delicious food and drinks and great service. We love Pembrokes!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Six girlfriends went to Pembroke's to ce ...

 
·Dined on November 17, 2016

Six girlfriends went to Pembroke's to celebrate a birthday. The restaurant wasn't too crowded and the service was excellent. Everyone agreed to food was good, however, I ordered the pork shoulder which I found to have a lot of fat on it. Perhaps, it was just the cut, but much of what was on the plate was fatty. I do like the local farm to table concept and will return.

Tags: Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Pembrokes has consistently great food an ...

 
·Dined on November 12, 2016

Pembrokes has consistently great food and service, and never disappoints. If you haven't been, you need to go!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Split an order of clams and an entree of ...

 
·Dined on November 11, 2016

Split an order of clams and an entree of Trigger fish. Food was awesome.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and service. The bar was ext ...

 
·Dined on November 11, 2016

Great food and service. The bar was extremely loud and made having a conversation at the table nearly impossible

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Nice discovery in Wilmington. Unique men ...

 
·Dined on November 6, 2016

Nice discovery in Wilmington. Unique menu with local produce. Great ambiance, nicely decorated.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We are so glad we found this restaurant. ...

 
·Dined on November 1, 2016

We are so glad we found this restaurant. We love the concept of local farming and in fact support on of the farms that supplies them (Humble Roots) and is how we found them.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

When walked in to restaurant I was surpr ...

 
·Dined on October 25, 2016

When walked in to restaurant I was surprised that it was so large, thought it was smaller and more intimate from web site pictures. No specials but I did like the small plates and food was presented well and very tasteful. Thought it was over-priced for the portion size whether it was for the small plate portion or regular dinner portion. Our waitress was very good, attentive but not hovering. I would definitely dine at Pembroke's again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

It's not a real formal restaurant like I ...

 
·Dined on October 22, 2016

It's not a real formal restaurant like I expected but the bar was great for a pre dinner cocktail. No tableclothes, but cloth napkins which is fine. The food was excellent and so tasty. We had the pickle platter which was good. My main course was the fish (Drum) with an etouffee type sauce which absolutely could not have been better. My wife had a arugula salad ( nice ) and a crab cake both small plate items which she enjoyed.

The corn bread was just ok, but it did inspire us to go home and make our own with bacon and corn, just to prove the point that we could do better and we did.

Tags: Tapas, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The best food, the best waiter, most pas ...

 
·Dined on October 15, 2016

The best food, the best waiter, most passionate place we have ever eaten! Alyssa, Miguel were amazing and absolutely charming. My newest best restaurant in Wilmington! The quality of food is AMAZING! We love this place and will recommend to everyone!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Organic, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Wood Oven, Bar Seating, Casual, Fun, Family Style, Good Vegetarian Options, Outstanding Value, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful meal and overall experience! W ...

 
·Dined on October 12, 2016

Wonderful meal and overall experience! We'll definitely go back!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Our favorite restaurant for special occa ...

 
·Dined on October 9, 2016

Our favorite restaurant for special occasions. The food is always delicious and the service is the best.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Disabled Access, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome! From Reservation to Service to ...

 
·Dined on October 2, 2016

Awesome! From Reservation to Service to Food... a great experience! We will be back... our new favorite spot.

Tags: Seasonal, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

First visit and we were impressed with t ...

 
·Dined on September 24, 2016

First visit and we were impressed with the service & quality of the meals!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent fresh oysters and delicious sm ...

 
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Excellent fresh oysters and delicious smoked fish pâté. Entrees a bit less distinguished but salad and apple tarte wonderful. Service very good. They have done their best to make a cavernous room more intimate, and the quiet was nice. Great wine choices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Overall we enjoyed our dining experience ...

 
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Overall we enjoyed our dining experience at Pembroke's. We had dined at Rx on numerous occasions and wanted to give Pembroke's a try. The location and decor of Pembroke's is quite different than Rx. We had reservations on a Friday night at 8pm. The place was surprisingly empty but we were seated at a two person table near the entrance to the bar. Our waitress was attentive and made every dish sound delicious! The cheese selection was excellent and so was the wine. As entrees we ordered the Poulet Rouge and the Steak Frites. Both meals were fantastic. The steak was cooked perfectly, just as the chef suggested a medium-rare. The fries were delicious with a great taste of the duck fat. The chicken was moist and went perfectly with the sides. The bar crowd did get louder as the night went on but that was probably our only complaint.

We would definitely recommend Pembroke for large parties. For a more intimate experience we would suggest Rx. Can't go wrong with the food. We left full and satisfied.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Great menu & food! Good Brunch place to ...

 
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Great menu & food! Good Brunch place to meet friends!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Steak was really good will definitely b ...

 
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Steak was really good will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Everything was excellent, but I have the ...

 
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Everything was excellent, but I have the highest praise for the chevre cheesecake. It tasted like a good NY style with a mild chevre finish -- fantastic!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I'm new to the area and have been to Pem ...

 
·Dined on September 3, 2016

I'm new to the area and have been to Pembroke's two times already. Great looking restaurant and the food is fresh and well prepared. Also a freak bar area for hanging out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pleasant surprise for Brunch.. several g ...

 
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Pleasant surprise for Brunch.. several good choices.. guessing 1 or 2 more still needed for variety to earn it a regular stop. Our table had a Garden Omelette, Chicken and gravy biscuit and a Monte Cristo (a different twist on what you may know).. in any case everything was fantastical..

Special acknowledgement to our server Hannah.. fantastic service.. thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The food was amazing. We will go back ag ...

 
·Dined on August 19, 2016

The food was amazing. We will go back again on a special occasion.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and atmosphere. Wife had shri ...

 
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Great food and atmosphere. Wife had shrimp & grits, which lacked seasoning, but was nothing a little salt & pepper couldn't cure, and I had a very good tile fish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Great food,great staff and great service ...

 
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great food,great staff and great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Pembroke's has it all. Great service, fa ...

 
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Pembroke's has it all. Great service, farm to table food and ambiance. They have bands on Fridays and Saturdays in the bar area which we enjoyed listening to with a cocktail after dinner. The food was incredible and unparalleled to anything in the area. The waitress took great care of us and provided good food and drink selections. We look forward to coming back soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and I were celebrating our 45th. ...

 
·Dined on August 5, 2016

My wife and I were celebrating our 45th. wedding anniversary. Celebrating with a wonderful meal at Pembrokes along with the wonderful service made our evening very enjoyable. I am sure we will dine there more in the future.

Tags: Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Always fantastic! Especially if you lik ...

 
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Always fantastic! Especially if you like healthy, local & farm to table food, this is the best spot we have found and our newest go to place for dinner. Menu changes daily so we are always happy to return & try new items that are in season! Be warned, In-house pastry chef makes incredible homemade breads & deserts very tempting!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I would highly recommend Pembroke's to e ...

 
·Dined on July 24, 2016

I would highly recommend Pembroke's to everyone! Incredible food, great atmosphere, knowledgeable waiters/waitresses, and fantastic drinks!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our second visit to pembrokes a ...

 
·Dined on July 24, 2016

This was our second visit to pembrokes and the food is phenomenal. The best resturant in the area by far.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

They try too hard. Simpler dishes would ...

 
·Dined on July 21, 2016

They try too hard. Simpler dishes would greatly increase the quality of the food. We felt it was quite a bit overpriced. $30 for a small serving of snapper and $12 for a tomato salad.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Eclectic menu and excellent service. Th ...

 
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Eclectic menu and excellent service. The beef tartare was marvelous as were the oysters.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was inventive. We had pork butc ...

 
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The food was inventive. We had pork butchered in-house, very nice rare tuna, and a homemade pickle plate as well as some interesting seasonal salads. I thought the service was a little too friendly, but we certainly never wanted for attention.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

As always Pembroke comes through as an e ...

 
·Dined on July 3, 2016

As always Pembroke comes through as an excellent after Church brunch spot with a flair. Shrimp and Grits always a fav.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The whole experience was great. One com ...

 
·Dined on July 1, 2016

The whole experience was great. One comment is where the restaurant advertising states health whole food if anything resembling pork, bacon bits, cooking with bacon, lard, or any pork product should be annotated on the menu. In a healthy world many do not eat pork products and people do not eat pork get sick from them. Everything else was great.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Waitress was very good and the manager c ...

 
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Waitress was very good and the manager came by to make sure everything was OK. Everyone liked their disch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

The food was superb and the waitress was ...

 
·Dined on June 30, 2016

The food was superb and the waitress was outstanding. We had a wonderful dinner and will return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Truly best meal I've had in a long time ...

 
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Truly best meal I've had in a long time and in fact went back 2 days later

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.