About Pembroke's

From the owners of Rx, chef James Doss and business partner Josh Novicki bring you Pembroke's!

1125A Military Cutoff Rd.
Wilmington, NC 28405
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm
Brunch: Sunday 10am-3pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(910) 239-9153

Website:
http://www.pembrokescuisine.com/

Entertainment:
Live music on Friday and Saturday nights, as well as, for brunch on Sundays.

Executive Chef:
James Doss

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please call Jill White, Event Coordinator
910 520 7956

Pembroke's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Local Ingredients (24)
Creative Cuisine (24)
Good for a Date (19)
See All
Fit for Foodies (19)
Authentic (16)
Romantic (14)
Comfort Food (13)
Special Occasion (13)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Worth the Drive (10)
Organic (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Fun (8)
Casual (8)
Seasonal (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Cozy (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Tapas (5)
Business Meals (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Open Kitchen (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
People Watching (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Family Style (1)
Live Sports (1)
Spicy (1)
Great Beer (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Private Room (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Vegan (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sort By:
S
364 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined a day ago

Food was great and service was good. Our server seemed like she was rushing us and kept asking if she could take our plates when we were still eating. It seemed to be out of conscientiousness rather than speed but we felt like we had to keep saying no, don't take it! Vegetables were delicious and tasted super fresh. Loved the heirloom tomatoes!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Food was great as usual. Server was practically pushing us to leave. We were in at 6 and out by 6.45. Plates picked up while guests were still eating. Just a rush job.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent service and creative, delicious choices. We'll be back soon.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Tapas, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Food was amazing as always, there was a dessert mix up but I am also in the service industry so I know it happens. First time in 5 visits.
Service was also amazing as always. It was a special occasion which the hostess did not communicate to the server but our server made the connection by our reservation name and gave us her best wishes, we left very happy.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Always great food and service. I highly recommend their bacon, biscuit and jam, and coffee.

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 15, 2017

food was very good. sides were seperately priced making dinner a little expensive.
overall experience was very good

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Food and service were fantastic, but it was a bit noisy there (table in middle, close to entrance). Had been there before, seated in a booth - much quieter.

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 6, 2017

We love everything about Pembroke's other than the value. If you are looking to pay top dollar for a meal and you want quality this is perfect. The farm to table menu was incredible, and everything was prepared perfectly. I just think the price point on some of the meals is a tad high, comparable to other restaurants of similar caliber. Overall, I will definitely eat here again. The service was top notch and the ambiance was very cool.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Excellent farm to table restaurant. A lot of good specialty drinks and great food options.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 1, 2017

It's always friendly, relaxed and exceptional food!

Tags: Fun, Organic, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Menu should be expanded for entrees. Not enough choices. Excellent waiter. He was on top of his game and outstanding! Little pricey for some items on the menu. Decor very nice and atmosphere warm. What we did have which we started with cheese board then filet mignon and chicken dish were excellent. Dessert was the ganache and that was kind of odd in its presentation but excellent in taste. Hostess with tattoos showing all over the place very much a turnoff and unprofessional. Bad first impression upon walking in and seeing that.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on June 23, 2017

You must experience this gem in Wilmington Farm to table experience , Staff is kind and go out of there way for your dining experience

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Healthy, Organic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Food and service were extraordinary! I can't remember her name but she was skinny, short hair, just adorable inside and out. She was so knowledgeable about the menu and listened to me and steered me into the best dinner I have had in a long time! I highly recommend this establishment!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, People Watching, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Healthy, Vegan, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Awesome food! Wonder relaxing atmosphere. The noise level was perfect. Great customer service

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Disabled Access, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Excellent Southern brunch. Absolutely the best biscuits I ever ate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Quiet atmosphere. Friendly. Delicious. I had farm fresh scrambled eggs with roasted corn, tomatoes and basil - amazing 👍

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Poor service, decent food but nothing great. Its sister restaurant, Rx, is light years better.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Unique ambiance combined with authentic, fresh cuisine. Our favorite place to dine in Wilmington.

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on June 10, 2017

I am and will continue to be a repeat customer. The menu is creative and the food is outstanding. Fantastic service - the people who work there are authentic, genuinely happy and very knowledgeable about the food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Great farm to table cuisine and attentive service!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Great farm2table with a nice bar- kinda perfect. Will be back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 30, 2017

The staff was very friendly and helpful in helping select our meals around a special wine that we brought in for anniversary. The staff was attentive the whole evening.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 27, 2017

The food was wonderful. Had Red Drum which was seasoned to perfection and moist. Crab cake appetizers was crispy on outside , soft creamy and sensuous on inside. My husband had pork also cooked to perfection. Miguel was efficient, attentive without hovering and friendly. He could have been a Lille more knowledgeable regarding preparation of foods.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Notable Wine List, Organic, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Good as always. Good food at a fair price would be a good spot for a first date not too loud and good drinks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on May 18, 2017

I know this is supposed to be a sister restaurant to RX which I really enjoyed, but Pembrokes underwhelmed me. My wife got the Shrimp and Grits, which she got at RX, and said it needed salt. Of course there is no salt or pepper on the table because they assume I guess that everything is going to come from the kitchen perfect. I ordered the steak frites. The steak portion was tiny, couldn't have been more than six ounces. The steak was tender but I ordered medium, and there was barely a hint of pink. Not even close to medium, but medium well verging on well done. I'm 6'2", so I spent $26 on six ounces of steak and a handful of fries and was still hungry. Can produce better steak at a lower price from home. Two entrees with water and the tab was over $50 leaving us feeling underwhelmed with a lack of value for money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Very nice interior. Good service and southern style cuisine was excellent. Will go again.

Tags: Healthy, Worth the Drive, Spicy, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Seems to have a new chef and not as good as previous visits for brunch. Would not recommend brunch there any longer. I had the breakfast chicken- too small portions and dry dark meat.

Tags: Casual, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 10, 2017

It's was great!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Selected for daughter's college graduation, couldn't have been more pleased. Exceptional food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Excelkent food. A real find. Soft shell crab with the best I have ever had. Would change some things around on the menu and it was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Delicious Easter Sunday brunch. True farm to table menu. Delicious duck fat frites. Nice ambience.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We had an amazing experience. Our service and waitress was great and the food was superb! We will definitely be coming up, especially since it is so easy and convenient to make reservations. We also loved the uniqueness and quietness in the beautiful restaurant.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Afternoon Tea, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Good for a Date, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Fantastic farm to table. Very fresh, would easily go back.

Tags: People Watching, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Miguel was an awesome waiter! Had a great time. Food was delish!

Tags: Comfort Food, Authentic, Late-night Find, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Pork shoulder was great! Atmosphere was great. Will be returning.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We had a great experience! We'll be back again soon!

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Excellent flavors and 'eye'ppertizing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Went here for my mother's birthday brunch and loved it! The food was delicious, and our waitress was very sweet and lively. Highly recommend! We came from out of town, so this was a very fun time.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Organic, Fun, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Wonderful meal and great service. Hilight chicken wings and DESERTS beautiful & awesome. Lemon curd w almond cake w choc icing.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 23, 2017

This evening was fair. The pork belly was reported as good without too much dressing. The special cocktail was a big hit. My steak frites was tougher than I expected - though flank steak is a tougher cut of meat. Pork shoulder was well received by two in the party, as was the mahi.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.