About Pembroke's

1125A Military Cutoff Rd.
Wilmington, NC 28405
View Larger Map

From the owners of Rx, chef James Doss and business partner Josh Novicki bring you Pembroke's!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm
Brunch: Sunday 10am-3pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(910) 239-9153

Website:
http://www.pembrokescuisine.com/

Entertainment:
Live music on Friday and Saturday nights, as well as, for brunch on Sundays.

Executive Chef:
James Doss

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please call Jill White, Event Coordinator
910 520 7956

Pembroke's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (18)
Local Ingredients (18)
Good for a Date (14)
See All
Creative Cuisine (14)
Special Occasion (13)
Worth the Drive (10)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Romantic (8)
Seasonal (8)
Organic (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Cozy (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Casual (6)
Open Kitchen (5)
Business Meals (5)
Healthy (5)
Authentic (5)
Wood Oven (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Fun (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Tapas (3)
Private Room (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Scenic View (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Family Style (1)
Great Beer (1)
People Watching (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
302 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food & service are consistently on point ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 3 days ago

Food & service are consistently on point. We drive from SC just to have dinner here at least once a quarter.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

An absolutely wonderful dinner. Our wa ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 15, 2017

An absolutely wonderful dinner. Our waiter was excellent, the food was interesting and delicious. We had several plates for appetizers that were all outstanding. Dinner was delicious. Even the desserts were note worthy. We would hurry back.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was wonderful and very knowl ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The service was wonderful and very knowledgeable! I highly recommend saving room for dessert!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great. My Mahi-Mahi was good, ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Food was great. My Mahi-Mahi was good, just needed some glaze on the fish to make it excellent.

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

New yeas eve early dinner date. Food wa ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 31, 2016

New yeas eve early dinner date. Food was good. Not very hot when served and we were a little disappointed with the skimpy salad. Thought a $10 salad would be more robust although local. Martini glasses are on the small side as well. Enjoyed our experience all in all. Manuel our waiter is ver personable and attentive.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Molecular Gastronomy, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We always enjoy Pembroke's. The food is ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We always enjoy Pembroke's. The food is different each time and their specials are always a great choice. It can be pricey - especially if you add wine - but it's worth it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Organic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The service was beyond exceptional. The ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 29, 2016

The service was beyond exceptional. The food & drinks were great.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It fell woefully short of the recommenda ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 22, 2016

It fell woefully short of the recommendation.

We will not be back. The price was not commiserate with taste and portions and therefore, value.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1

Everything was delicious! Waitress was a ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Everything was delicious! Waitress was attentive and friendly.

Tags: Organic, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were seated promptly. Food excellent. ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 16, 2016

We were seated promptly. Food excellent. Server, Miguel was great!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was ok. Gave me the most disgustin ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Food was ok. Gave me the most disgusting raw poached eggs I have ever seen and charged me for them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

Restaurants often have items on their me ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Restaurants often have items on their menu that look great on paper but leave you disappointed. That was not the case at Pembroke's. The chef here obviously is not afraid of flavor. Our appetizer, salads, and entrees were all outstanding. The flavor combinations were incredibly good and we even asked our waiter to commend the chef.... something we rarely do.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

this is my second time going this time I ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 10, 2016

this is my second time going this time I had the Steak Frires, steak was cooked to perfection and the fries were probably one of the best fries I've ever had.

Also loved their Beef Tartar!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Warm atmosphere, great service and great ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Warm atmosphere, great service and great food. We went with the small plates and snacks. The cheese plate was delicious. I highly recommend the chèvre.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Organic, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was awesome, but what really bl ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 10, 2016

The food was awesome, but what really blew me away was the service. We made a reservation for 4, but had to add a person unexpectedly at the last minute. The folks at Pembroke's were so accommodating and incredibly gracious with us and made everything work out just fine. Our waitress was very attentive, as well. Will absolutely be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great meal and service. The beet salad w ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 6, 2016

Great meal and service. The beet salad was excellent. The flounder is recommended.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was amazing. Everything that wa ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 3, 2016

The food was amazing. Everything that was ordered by each person in our group (group of 6) was phenomenal, from appetizers to desserts. My family cant wait to come back for more, and we are excited about how the menu changes because of the local market. Hands down number one place in Wilmington when looking for a higher scale dinner, date night, or just delicious food.

Tags: Good for Groups, Outstanding Value, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The pork dish was very very good. We we ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 27, 2016

The pork dish was very very good. We were disappointed the unique chicken dish was sold out. We also has a kale pork belly discuss... That was really a salad. If we had known it was a cold salad we would have passed on it. The kale pieces were too large to manage politely. Sometimes kale is better if par boiled. Def not enough pork belly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Everything was great! Delicious food and ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Everything was great! Delicious food and drinks and great service. We love Pembrokes!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Six girlfriends went to Pembroke's to ce ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Six girlfriends went to Pembroke's to celebrate a birthday. The restaurant wasn't too crowded and the service was excellent. Everyone agreed to food was good, however, I ordered the pork shoulder which I found to have a lot of fat on it. Perhaps, it was just the cut, but much of what was on the plate was fatty. I do like the local farm to table concept and will return.

Tags: Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Pembrokes has consistently great food an ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Pembrokes has consistently great food and service, and never disappoints. If you haven't been, you need to go!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Split an order of clams and an entree of ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Split an order of clams and an entree of Trigger fish. Food was awesome.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and service. The bar was ext ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Great food and service. The bar was extremely loud and made having a conversation at the table nearly impossible

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Nice discovery in Wilmington. Unique men ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Nice discovery in Wilmington. Unique menu with local produce. Great ambiance, nicely decorated.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We are so glad we found this restaurant. ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 1, 2016

We are so glad we found this restaurant. We love the concept of local farming and in fact support on of the farms that supplies them (Humble Roots) and is how we found them.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

When walked in to restaurant I was surpr ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on October 25, 2016

When walked in to restaurant I was surprised that it was so large, thought it was smaller and more intimate from web site pictures. No specials but I did like the small plates and food was presented well and very tasteful. Thought it was over-priced for the portion size whether it was for the small plate portion or regular dinner portion. Our waitress was very good, attentive but not hovering. I would definitely dine at Pembroke's again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

It's not a real formal restaurant like I ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on October 22, 2016

It's not a real formal restaurant like I expected but the bar was great for a pre dinner cocktail. No tableclothes, but cloth napkins which is fine. The food was excellent and so tasty. We had the pickle platter which was good. My main course was the fish (Drum) with an etouffee type sauce which absolutely could not have been better. My wife had a arugula salad ( nice ) and a crab cake both small plate items which she enjoyed.

The corn bread was just ok, but it did inspire us to go home and make our own with bacon and corn, just to prove the point that we could do better and we did.

Tags: Tapas, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The best food, the best waiter, most pas ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 15, 2016

The best food, the best waiter, most passionate place we have ever eaten! Alyssa, Miguel were amazing and absolutely charming. My newest best restaurant in Wilmington! The quality of food is AMAZING! We love this place and will recommend to everyone!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Organic, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Wood Oven, Bar Seating, Casual, Fun, Family Style, Good Vegetarian Options, Outstanding Value, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful meal and overall experience! W ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Wonderful meal and overall experience! We'll definitely go back!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Our favorite restaurant for special occa ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Our favorite restaurant for special occasions. The food is always delicious and the service is the best.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Disabled Access, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome! From Reservation to Service to ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Awesome! From Reservation to Service to Food... a great experience! We will be back... our new favorite spot.

Tags: Seasonal, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

First visit and we were impressed with t ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on September 24, 2016

First visit and we were impressed with the service & quality of the meals!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent fresh oysters and delicious sm ...

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Excellent fresh oysters and delicious smoked fish pâté. Entrees a bit less distinguished but salad and apple tarte wonderful. Service very good. They have done their best to make a cavernous room more intimate, and the quiet was nice. Great wine choices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Overall we enjoyed our dining experience ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Overall we enjoyed our dining experience at Pembroke's. We had dined at Rx on numerous occasions and wanted to give Pembroke's a try. The location and decor of Pembroke's is quite different than Rx. We had reservations on a Friday night at 8pm. The place was surprisingly empty but we were seated at a two person table near the entrance to the bar. Our waitress was attentive and made every dish sound delicious! The cheese selection was excellent and so was the wine. As entrees we ordered the Poulet Rouge and the Steak Frites. Both meals were fantastic. The steak was cooked perfectly, just as the chef suggested a medium-rare. The fries were delicious with a great taste of the duck fat. The chicken was moist and went perfectly with the sides. The bar crowd did get louder as the night went on but that was probably our only complaint.

We would definitely recommend Pembroke for large parties. For a more intimate experience we would suggest Rx. Can't go wrong with the food. We left full and satisfied.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Great menu & food! Good Brunch place to ...

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Great menu & food! Good Brunch place to meet friends!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Steak was really good will definitely b ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Steak was really good will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Everything was excellent, but I have the ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on September 7, 2016

Everything was excellent, but I have the highest praise for the chevre cheesecake. It tasted like a good NY style with a mild chevre finish -- fantastic!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I'm new to the area and have been to Pem ...

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on September 3, 2016

I'm new to the area and have been to Pembroke's two times already. Great looking restaurant and the food is fresh and well prepared. Also a freak bar area for hanging out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pleasant surprise for Brunch.. several g ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Pleasant surprise for Brunch.. several good choices.. guessing 1 or 2 more still needed for variety to earn it a regular stop. Our table had a Garden Omelette, Chicken and gravy biscuit and a Monte Cristo (a different twist on what you may know).. in any case everything was fantastical..

Special acknowledgement to our server Hannah.. fantastic service.. thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The food was amazing. We will go back ag ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on August 19, 2016

The food was amazing. We will go back again on a special occasion.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.