About Pembroke's

From the owners of Rx, chef James Doss and business partner Josh Novicki bring you Pembroke's!

1125A Military Cutoff Rd.
Wilmington, NC 28405
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm
Brunch: Sunday 10am-3pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(910) 239-9153

Website:
http://www.pembrokescuisine.com/

Entertainment:
Live music on Friday and Saturday nights, as well as, for brunch on Sundays.

Executive Chef:
James Doss

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please call Jill White, Event Coordinator
910 520 7956

Pembroke's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Local Ingredients (21)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Good for a Date (18)
See All
Special Occasion (14)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Romantic (10)
Worth the Drive (9)
Authentic (9)
Cozy (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Seasonal (8)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Healthy (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Casual (6)
Organic (6)
Fun (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Business Meals (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Notable Wine List (3)
Great Beer (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Wood Oven (3)
People Watching (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Private Room (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Family Style (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Tapas (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Fireplace (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Live Sports (1)
Live Music (0)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
314 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great restaurant with delicious food. Th ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined 2 days ago

Great restaurant with delicious food. The service was top notch as well. 10/10 would dine there again

Tags: Comfort Food, Great Beer, , Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious!

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined 5 days ago

Delicious!

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My boyfriend and I had a beautiful Valen ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined 5 days ago

My boyfriend and I had a beautiful Valentine's dinner! We made the reservation online, and I loved the reminders and that they were 'expecting' us.......made us feel special. Thank you

Tags: Private Room, Open Kitchen, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly, Cozy, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Local Ingredients, Late-night Find, Authentic, Good for a Date, People Watching, Family Style, Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Organic, Modern Decor, Live Sports, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The meal was excellent with friendly, po ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined 5 days ago

The meal was excellent with friendly, polite and considerate staff.

Even though it was a holiday, my special dietary needs were met.

Excellent meal. Good wine.

Delightful evening.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food is still fabulous. Noise level and ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 5 days ago

Food is still fabulous. Noise level and table setup is very poor. Wait staff should have their tatoo's covered while serving customers. Overall restaurant is going away from what made them fabulous.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Totally enjoyed our Sunday brunch. The b ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Totally enjoyed our Sunday brunch. The biscuits were the best we've ever had. Waiter was available, but not intrusive. Food came out just as ordered and promptly. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This place is absolutely amazing!! First ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

This place is absolutely amazing!! First night out with my husband on our new date night and this place delivered. The food was fresh and the presentation was immaculate. The diverse staff provided exceptional service! Pembroke's is highly recommended! We will definitely be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Live Music, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Organic, Healthy, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Private Room, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was outstanding and well-prepared. ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Food was outstanding and well-prepared. Julianna was friendly, knowledgeable, made good recommendations and timely with service. Great ambiance.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Wood Oven, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great entrees-we're there on the 10th-gr ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Great entrees-we're there on the 10th-great snapper and steak frites. Love this place! Also good service.

Tags: Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Family Style, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and atmosphere.

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Great food and atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the food, the open kitchen, and th ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Loved the food, the open kitchen, and the friendly and helpful staff. Impressed with size of private party area. Spent more money than I'm used to, and will probably save return for very special occasions.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

One of the best meals I've had in Wilmin ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 27, 2017

One of the best meals I've had in Wilmington, during 2 years of fairly regular business travel here. There are some good restaurants in town, mostly downtown, but, in my experience, none finer than Pembroke's, out in the suburbs. I don't usually get all that excited when I see farm-to-table, but in this case, it seemed to really make a difference. I had the flounder, with kale, risotto, and butternut squash, and it was amazing. The place has a classy vibe, even though it's in a strip mall (a fairly upscale one, but still...). The service was just right. Just thoroughly enjoyed it.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Food & service are consistently on point ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Food & service are consistently on point. We drive from SC just to have dinner here at least once a quarter.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

An absolutely wonderful dinner. Our wa ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 15, 2017

An absolutely wonderful dinner. Our waiter was excellent, the food was interesting and delicious. We had several plates for appetizers that were all outstanding. Dinner was delicious. Even the desserts were note worthy. We would hurry back.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was wonderful and very knowl ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The service was wonderful and very knowledgeable! I highly recommend saving room for dessert!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great. My Mahi-Mahi was good, ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Food was great. My Mahi-Mahi was good, just needed some glaze on the fish to make it excellent.

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

New yeas eve early dinner date. Food wa ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 31, 2016

New yeas eve early dinner date. Food was good. Not very hot when served and we were a little disappointed with the skimpy salad. Thought a $10 salad would be more robust although local. Martini glasses are on the small side as well. Enjoyed our experience all in all. Manuel our waiter is ver personable and attentive.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Molecular Gastronomy, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We always enjoy Pembroke's. The food is ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We always enjoy Pembroke's. The food is different each time and their specials are always a great choice. It can be pricey - especially if you add wine - but it's worth it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Organic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The service was beyond exceptional. The ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 29, 2016

The service was beyond exceptional. The food & drinks were great.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It fell woefully short of the recommenda ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 22, 2016

It fell woefully short of the recommendation.

We will not be back. The price was not commiserate with taste and portions and therefore, value.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1

Everything was delicious! Waitress was a ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Everything was delicious! Waitress was attentive and friendly.

Tags: Organic, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were seated promptly. Food excellent. ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 16, 2016

We were seated promptly. Food excellent. Server, Miguel was great!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was ok. Gave me the most disgustin ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Food was ok. Gave me the most disgusting raw poached eggs I have ever seen and charged me for them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

Restaurants often have items on their me ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Restaurants often have items on their menu that look great on paper but leave you disappointed. That was not the case at Pembroke's. The chef here obviously is not afraid of flavor. Our appetizer, salads, and entrees were all outstanding. The flavor combinations were incredibly good and we even asked our waiter to commend the chef.... something we rarely do.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

this is my second time going this time I ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 10, 2016

this is my second time going this time I had the Steak Frires, steak was cooked to perfection and the fries were probably one of the best fries I've ever had.

Also loved their Beef Tartar!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Warm atmosphere, great service and great ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Warm atmosphere, great service and great food. We went with the small plates and snacks. The cheese plate was delicious. I highly recommend the chèvre.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Organic, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was awesome, but what really bl ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 10, 2016

The food was awesome, but what really blew me away was the service. We made a reservation for 4, but had to add a person unexpectedly at the last minute. The folks at Pembroke's were so accommodating and incredibly gracious with us and made everything work out just fine. Our waitress was very attentive, as well. Will absolutely be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great meal and service. The beet salad w ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 6, 2016

Great meal and service. The beet salad was excellent. The flounder is recommended.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was amazing. Everything that wa ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 3, 2016

The food was amazing. Everything that was ordered by each person in our group (group of 6) was phenomenal, from appetizers to desserts. My family cant wait to come back for more, and we are excited about how the menu changes because of the local market. Hands down number one place in Wilmington when looking for a higher scale dinner, date night, or just delicious food.

Tags: Good for Groups, , Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The pork dish was very very good. We we ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 27, 2016

The pork dish was very very good. We were disappointed the unique chicken dish was sold out. We also has a kale pork belly discuss... That was really a salad. If we had known it was a cold salad we would have passed on it. The kale pieces were too large to manage politely. Sometimes kale is better if par boiled. Def not enough pork belly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Everything was great! Delicious food and ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Everything was great! Delicious food and drinks and great service. We love Pembrokes!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Six girlfriends went to Pembroke's to ce ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Six girlfriends went to Pembroke's to celebrate a birthday. The restaurant wasn't too crowded and the service was excellent. Everyone agreed to food was good, however, I ordered the pork shoulder which I found to have a lot of fat on it. Perhaps, it was just the cut, but much of what was on the plate was fatty. I do like the local farm to table concept and will return.

Tags: Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Pembrokes has consistently great food an ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Pembrokes has consistently great food and service, and never disappoints. If you haven't been, you need to go!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service. The bar was ext ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Great food and service. The bar was extremely loud and made having a conversation at the table nearly impossible

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Split an order of clams and an entree of ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Split an order of clams and an entree of Trigger fish. Food was awesome.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Nice discovery in Wilmington. Unique men ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Nice discovery in Wilmington. Unique menu with local produce. Great ambiance, nicely decorated.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We are so glad we found this restaurant. ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 1, 2016

We are so glad we found this restaurant. We love the concept of local farming and in fact support on of the farms that supplies them (Humble Roots) and is how we found them.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

When walked in to restaurant I was surpr ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on October 25, 2016

When walked in to restaurant I was surprised that it was so large, thought it was smaller and more intimate from web site pictures. No specials but I did like the small plates and food was presented well and very tasteful. Thought it was over-priced for the portion size whether it was for the small plate portion or regular dinner portion. Our waitress was very good, attentive but not hovering. I would definitely dine at Pembroke's again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

It's not a real formal restaurant like I ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on October 22, 2016

It's not a real formal restaurant like I expected but the bar was great for a pre dinner cocktail. No tableclothes, but cloth napkins which is fine. The food was excellent and so tasty. We had the pickle platter which was good. My main course was the fish (Drum) with an etouffee type sauce which absolutely could not have been better. My wife had a arugula salad ( nice ) and a crab cake both small plate items which she enjoyed.

The corn bread was just ok, but it did inspire us to go home and make our own with bacon and corn, just to prove the point that we could do better and we did.

Tags: Tapas, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The best food, the best waiter, most pas ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 15, 2016

The best food, the best waiter, most passionate place we have ever eaten! Alyssa, Miguel were amazing and absolutely charming. My newest best restaurant in Wilmington! The quality of food is AMAZING! We love this place and will recommend to everyone!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Organic, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Wood Oven, Bar Seating, Casual, Fun, Family Style, Good Vegetarian Options, , Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.