About Pembroke's

1125A Military Cutoff Rd.
Wilmington, NC 28405
View Larger Map

From the owners of Rx, chef James Doss and business partner Josh Novicki bring you Pembroke's!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm
Brunch: Sunday 10am-3pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(910) 239-9153

Website:
http://www.pembrokescuisine.com/

Entertainment:
Live music on Friday and Saturday nights, as well as, for brunch on Sundays.

Executive Chef:
James Doss

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please call Jill White, Event Coordinator
910 520 7956

Pembroke's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Coastal North Carolina
Best Service
Coastal North Carolina
Best Value
Coastal North Carolina
8 More
Fit for Foodies
Coastal North Carolina
Best Overall
Wilmington
Best Food
Wilmington
Best Service
Wilmington
Best Ambiance
Wilmington
Best Value
Wilmington
Fit for Foodies
Wilmington
Most Booked
Wilmington
Best Restaurants in Wilmington ›

Fit for Foodies (37)
Special Occasion (28)
Good for Groups (19)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Great for Brunch (12)
Romantic (10)
Notable Wine List (6)
Great for Lunch (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Sort By:
Newest
261 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Pleasant surprise for Brunch.. several g ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 5 days ago

Pleasant surprise for Brunch.. several good choices.. guessing 1 or 2 more still needed for variety to earn it a regular stop. Our table had a Garden Omelette, Chicken and gravy biscuit and a Monte Cristo (a different twist on what you may know).. in any case everything was fantastical..

Special acknowledgement to our server Hannah.. fantastic service.. thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The food was amazing. We will go back ag ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

The food was amazing. We will go back again on a special occasion.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and atmosphere. Wife had shri ...

vip
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Great food and atmosphere. Wife had shrimp & grits, which lacked seasoning, but was nothing a little salt & pepper couldn't cure, and I had a very good tile fish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Filet was good and cooked properly. Crab ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Filet was good and cooked properly. Crab bisque was tasty but a bit on the salty side. Entrees did not arrive for 90 minutes so be prepared for a long meal. Wine selection is decent but virtually no options for beer. They had 3 or 4 beers on tap and despite "extensive" bottled options the waiter was unable to find me a single wheat beer. For kids they did have a few options which was nice and the chicken tender meal was a pretty good portion - more than enough for a hungry kid.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value2

Great food,great staff and great service ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great food,great staff and great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Pembroke's has it all. Great service, fa ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Pembroke's has it all. Great service, farm to table food and ambiance. They have bands on Fridays and Saturdays in the bar area which we enjoyed listening to with a cocktail after dinner. The food was incredible and unparalleled to anything in the area. The waitress took great care of us and provided good food and drink selections. We look forward to coming back soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and I were celebrating our 45th. ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

My wife and I were celebrating our 45th. wedding anniversary. Celebrating with a wonderful meal at Pembrokes along with the wonderful service made our evening very enjoyable. I am sure we will dine there more in the future.

Tags: Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Always fantastic! Especially if you lik ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Always fantastic! Especially if you like healthy, local & farm to table food, this is the best spot we have found and our newest go to place for dinner. Menu changes daily so we are always happy to return & try new items that are in season! Be warned, In-house pastry chef makes incredible homemade breads & deserts very tempting!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I would highly recommend Pembroke's to e ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

I would highly recommend Pembroke's to everyone! Incredible food, great atmosphere, knowledgeable waiters/waitresses, and fantastic drinks!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our second visit to pembrokes a ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

This was our second visit to pembrokes and the food is phenomenal. The best resturant in the area by far.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

They try too hard. Simpler dishes would ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

They try too hard. Simpler dishes would greatly increase the quality of the food. We felt it was quite a bit overpriced. $30 for a small serving of snapper and $12 for a tomato salad.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Eclectic menu and excellent service. Th ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Eclectic menu and excellent service. The beef tartare was marvelous as were the oysters.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was inventive. We had pork butc ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The food was inventive. We had pork butchered in-house, very nice rare tuna, and a homemade pickle plate as well as some interesting seasonal salads. I thought the service was a little too friendly, but we certainly never wanted for attention.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

As always Pembroke comes through as an e ...

vip
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

As always Pembroke comes through as an excellent after Church brunch spot with a flair. Shrimp and Grits always a fav.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The whole experience was great. One com ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

The whole experience was great. One comment is where the restaurant advertising states health whole food if anything resembling pork, bacon bits, cooking with bacon, lard, or any pork product should be annotated on the menu. In a healthy world many do not eat pork products and people do not eat pork get sick from them. Everything else was great.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Waitress was very good and the manager c ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Waitress was very good and the manager came by to make sure everything was OK. Everyone liked their disch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

The food was superb and the waitress was ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

The food was superb and the waitress was outstanding. We had a wonderful dinner and will return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Truly best meal I've had in a long time ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Truly best meal I've had in a long time and in fact went back 2 days later

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our first time dining at Pembro ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

This was our first time dining at Pembrook , although we had dined at their sister restaurant RX and have always enjoyed our dining experience there. That's why we were anxious to try Pembrook. It did not disappoint. We thoroughly enjoyed our meal from beginning to end. The appetizer,the entree and the dessert were all AMAZiNG. The staff were also GREAT!!!! GO TO

PEMBROOK.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

The food was fantastic as always! Great ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The food was fantastic as always! Great service also.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Farm to Table themed restaurant conc ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The Farm to Table themed restaurant concept is executed well at Pembrokes. The menu changes often so you know they are serving fresh seasonal items. The food is stellar, especially brunch. I've never had to use a knife to eat grits before..I know that sounds gross...but the knife is required because of all the cheesy goodness mixed in with the grits! They serve these cute little tea biscuits..soo addictive. We also ordered the johnny cakes which were a little bit of cornmeal perfection covered with authentic TN sorghum. Just wished NC wasn't so backwards on the adult beverage laws...you can't get a mimosa until noon. That was the only sour part of the meal. The dining room itself is lovely, nice dark wood panels line the walls and cool inlays are in the wooden floor that kinda match the wall medallions. All in all, this is a great place to grab some friends and family to dine and be fabulous.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waitress was very nice and had great sug ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Waitress was very nice and had great suggestions. Definitely don't leave this place hungry

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was outstanding. The waitre ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

The service was outstanding. The waitress explained the menu since it was our first visit. Our food selections were prepared to our liking. We will done at Pembroke's again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and always great service. We ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Great food and always great service. We have dining here many times and will again, food is always great and they try very hard to use local produce and meats.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pembroke always a 10 on food & Service! ...

vip
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Pembroke always a 10 on food & Service! Great Shrimp & grits!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Whether a Mother's Day Brunch, grabbing ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

Whether a Mother's Day Brunch, grabbing a bite before or after a movie or showing big city friends what souteastern NC brings to the table, Pembrokes consistently delivers innovative riffs off of classic fare. Shrimp and grits with chorizo and and a local wheat beer is paired as expertly--and less pretentiously than this post--as the in-house sommelier maneuvered a pork tenderloin wrapped in pork belly with a 15-year-old Ribera I brought in. The focus is on great food in a relaxed atmosphere. Highly recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pembrokes on Mothers Day

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

I took my wife to Pembrokes on Mothers Day, for Brunch. The menu selection contained a wide range of foods. Service was ok......maybe because of MD crowd. Food was good. No issues.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Mother's Day

vip
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Wonderful meal at Pembroke's- it was our first visit and certainly will not be our last!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Kitchen seemed slow and service was ok. ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Kitchen seemed slow and service was ok. Have eaten there many times and this was the worst. Not sure what was going on.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

Pembrokes dinner

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

We were seated promptly. Server was there quickly with wine/drink list. Carolina Mule cocktails were excellent. Menu fairly limited. Steaks ordered and were almost perfect. Had to ask for bread twice. Servers were young and dressed very casually, at this price point, I thought attire would be a little classier. All in all a very good meal, would return

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Highly, highly recommend this place. The ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Highly, highly recommend this place. The food was out of this planet! My husband and I spent the weekend in this area and happened to eat here on out last night and were not disappointed. The staff was so friendly, and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food and service

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

The food at Pembroke's was mouth watering and delicious. We especially enjoyed the farm to table aspect and the freshness of the daily selections. The menu changes daily and the servers appear to be well-versed in all of the intricacies of each item.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always fantastic food and service. Great service.

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

We have never had a bad experience here. Menu is seasonal with fresh and local product.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

quality fare

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

The food was prepared with the best local ingredients and had so many delish flavors.... down to the yummy cornbread.

Service was excellent. Open table reservations were set up and waiting on us.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

welcoming and service was slow, long drink wait

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

I arrived first , I waited a couple of mins to be seated, but was left alone after that with no service till the other party arrived.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Pembroke's is Back!

vip
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

Compared to 6-12 months ago, Pembroke's has really returned to being a great restaurant. If you haven't been lately, it's worth trying again. Cocktail menu was as interesting as the food menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Good food and service

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on March 29, 2016

The service was excellent and the food and wine was very good. The only complaint was that much of the food was not as hot as we would have liked.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I loved to pastrami eggs benedict! Amazi ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

I loved to pastrami eggs benedict! Amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not a favorite

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Not much variety, bacon had a funny taste. Expected more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

Amazing food and great atmosphere

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

Our server was very kind, quick, and knowledgable about the menu. Our appetizers and main dishes tasted amazing. I will be returning again to bring my family. Thank you for wonderful service and wonderful food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.