About Pembroke's

From the owners of Rx, chef James Doss and business partner Josh Novicki bring you Pembroke's!

1125A Military Cutoff Rd.
Wilmington, NC 28405
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm
Brunch: Sunday 10am-3pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(910) 239-9153

Website:
http://www.pembrokescuisine.com/

Entertainment:
Live music on Friday and Saturday nights, as well as, for brunch on Sundays.

Executive Chef:
James Doss

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please call Jill White, Event Coordinator
910 520 7956

Pembroke's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Local Ingredients (20)
Good for a Date (18)
Creative Cuisine (16)
See All
Fit for Foodies (14)
Authentic (13)
Special Occasion (12)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Romantic (10)
Cozy (10)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Comfort Food (9)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Casual (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Healthy (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Open Kitchen (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Fun (7)
Business Meals (7)
Organic (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Wood Oven (5)
Seasonal (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Tapas (3)
Great Beer (3)
Family Style (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Live Sports (2)
Private Room (2)
People Watching (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Fireplace (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Spicy (1)
Live Music (0)
Sort By:
S
341 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined 4 days ago

Good as always. Good food at a fair price would be a good spot for a first date not too loud and good drinks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on May 18, 2017

I know this is supposed to be a sister restaurant to RX which I really enjoyed, but Pembrokes underwhelmed me. My wife got the Shrimp and Grits, which she got at RX, and said it needed salt. Of course there is no salt or pepper on the table because they assume I guess that everything is going to come from the kitchen perfect. I ordered the steak frites. The steak portion was tiny, couldn't have been more than six ounces. The steak was tender but I ordered medium, and there was barely a hint of pink. Not even close to medium, but medium well verging on well done. I'm 6'2", so I spent $26 on six ounces of steak and a handful of fries and was still hungry. Can produce better steak at a lower price from home. Two entrees with water and the tab was over $50 leaving us feeling underwhelmed with a lack of value for money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Very nice interior. Good service and southern style cuisine was excellent. Will go again.

Tags: Healthy, Worth the Drive, Spicy, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Seems to have a new chef and not as good as previous visits for brunch. Would not recommend brunch there any longer. I had the breakfast chicken- too small portions and dry dark meat.

Tags: Casual, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 10, 2017

It's was great!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Selected for daughter's college graduation, couldn't have been more pleased. Exceptional food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Excelkent food. A real find. Soft shell crab with the best I have ever had. Would change some things around on the menu and it was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Delicious Easter Sunday brunch. True farm to table menu. Delicious duck fat frites. Nice ambience.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We had an amazing experience. Our service and waitress was great and the food was superb! We will definitely be coming up, especially since it is so easy and convenient to make reservations. We also loved the uniqueness and quietness in the beautiful restaurant.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Afternoon Tea, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Good for a Date, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Fantastic farm to table. Very fresh, would easily go back.

Tags: Family Style, People Watching, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Miguel was an awesome waiter! Had a great time. Food was delish!

Tags: Comfort Food, Open Kitchen, Authentic, Late-night Find, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Pork shoulder was great! Atmosphere was great. Will be returning.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We had a great experience! We'll be back again soon!

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Excellent flavors and 'eye'ppertizing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Went here for my mother's birthday brunch and loved it! The food was delicious, and our waitress was very sweet and lively. Highly recommend! We came from out of town, so this was a very fun time.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Organic, Fun, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Wonderful meal and great service. Hilight chicken wings and DESERTS beautiful & awesome. Lemon curd w almond cake w choc icing.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 23, 2017

This evening was fair. The pork belly was reported as good without too much dressing. The special cocktail was a big hit. My steak frites was tougher than I expected - though flank steak is a tougher cut of meat. Pork shoulder was well received by two in the party, as was the mahi.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Farm to fork concept with all items sourced local. Great concept that seems to work well. A lot of fresh seafood options. Would say quality is outstanding as well as service. It's on the pricey side but quality and service well worth it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Very disappointed compared to first visit. 3 entres sent back due to undercooked . Returned not much better and lukewarm. For the entre price, one or two sides should be included. No offer of compensation for undercooked dished.
Medium well does not equal bright red meat!

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Great food and we've been a few times now, the service was also great. The Wings, Hoppin Juan, Filet Mignon, and everything else we have tried has been amazing

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 4, 2017

The wings are amazing as an appetizer. The filet minon was cooked perfectly. I have been here several times and would just like see them add perhaps potatoes to their dish or some sort of addition.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Expensive but delicious. The steak fritte and shrimp and grits were both v rybgood. Will visit again.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We went for Sunday Brunch and OJ is fresh squeezed, several menu options, great service.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Too costly for the amount of food that we received. Had to stop and get a hamburger for my son on the way home.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Awesome , fresh food. Atmosphere is good for any occasion. French fries cooked in duck fat are the bomb.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Excellent food. Polite and gracious wait staff but a bit inexperienced. A bit slow but did not cause a negative experience. Was disappointed that a few items offered on an earlier menu were missing but the other choices were great dishes. My compliments to the chef. Desserts were devine. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 19, 2017

I would recommend this place to anyone looking for a great quality dinner. Waiter was fabulous and couldn't have been better. We loved it!

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Great Beer, Healthy, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Great restaurant with delicious food. The service was top notch as well. 10/10 would dine there again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Delicious!

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 15, 2017

My boyfriend and I had a beautiful Valentine's dinner! We made the reservation online, and I loved the reminders and that they were 'expecting' us.......made us feel special. Thank you

Tags: Private Room, Open Kitchen, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly, Cozy, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Local Ingredients, Late-night Find, Authentic, Good for a Date, People Watching, Family Style, Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Organic, Modern Decor, Live Sports, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The meal was excellent with friendly, polite and considerate staff.
Even though it was a holiday, my special dietary needs were met.
Excellent meal. Good wine.
Delightful evening.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Food is still fabulous. Noise level and table setup is very poor. Wait staff should have their tatoo's covered while serving customers. Overall restaurant is going away from what made them fabulous.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Totally enjoyed our Sunday brunch. The biscuits were the best we've ever had. Waiter was available, but not intrusive. Food came out just as ordered and promptly. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

This place is absolutely amazing!! First night out with my husband on our new date night and this place delivered. The food was fresh and the presentation was immaculate. The diverse staff provided exceptional service! Pembroke's is highly recommended! We will definitely be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Live Music, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Organic, Healthy, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Private Room, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Food was outstanding and well-prepared. Julianna was friendly, knowledgeable, made good recommendations and timely with service. Great ambiance.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Wood Oven, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Great entrees-we're there on the 10th-great snapper and steak frites. Love this place! Also good service.

Tags: Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Family Style, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Great food and atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Loved the food, the open kitchen, and the friendly and helpful staff. Impressed with size of private party area. Spent more money than I'm used to, and will probably save return for very special occasions.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 27, 2017

One of the best meals I've had in Wilmington, during 2 years of fairly regular business travel here. There are some good restaurants in town, mostly downtown, but, in my experience, none finer than Pembroke's, out in the suburbs. I don't usually get all that excited when I see farm-to-table, but in this case, it seemed to really make a difference. I had the flounder, with kale, risotto, and butternut squash, and it was amazing. The place has a classy vibe, even though it's in a strip mall (a fairly upscale one, but still...). The service was just right. Just thoroughly enjoyed it.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Food & service are consistently on point. We drive from SC just to have dinner here at least once a quarter.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.