About Pembroke's

1125A Military Cutoff Rd.
Wilmington, NC 28405
View Larger Map

From the owners of Rx, chef James Doss and business partner Josh Novicki bring you Pembroke's!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm
Brunch: Sunday 10am-3pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(910) 239-9153

Website:
http://www.pembrokescuisine.com/

Entertainment:
Live music on Friday and Saturday nights, as well as, for brunch on Sundays.

Executive Chef:
James Doss

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please call Jill White, Event Coordinator
910 520 7956

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Details
Pembroke's will be open for brunch and dinner on Father's Day.

Pembroke's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Coastal North Carolina
Best Service
Wilmington
Best Ambiance
Wilmington
3 More
Fit for Foodies
Wilmington
Romantic
Wilmington
Special Occasion
Wilmington
Best Restaurants in Wilmington ›

fit for foodies (42)
special occasion (30)
romantic (22)
See All
neighborhood gem (20)
good for groups (18)
notable wine list (16)
great for brunch (16)
vibrant bar scene (7)
hot spot (7)
great for lunch (6)
kid-friendly (2)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
235 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Whether a Mother's Day Brunch, grabbing ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Whether a Mother's Day Brunch, grabbing a bite before or after a movie or showing big city friends what souteastern NC brings to the table, Pembrokes consistently delivers innovative riffs off of classic fare. Shrimp and grits with chorizo and and a local wheat beer is paired as expertly--and less pretentiously than this post--as the in-house sommelier maneuvered a pork tenderloin wrapped in pork belly with a 15-year-old Ribera I brought in. The focus is on great food in a relaxed atmosphere. Highly recommended.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Pembrokes on Mothers Day

Dined on May 8, 2016

I took my wife to Pembrokes on Mothers Day, for Brunch. The menu selection contained a wide range of foods. Service was ok......maybe because of MD crowd. Food was good. No issues.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Mother's Day

Dined on May 8, 2016

Wonderful meal at Pembroke's- it was our first visit and certainly will not be our last!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service3

Kitchen seemed slow and service was ok. ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Kitchen seemed slow and service was ok. Have eaten there many times and this was the worst. Not sure what was going on.

food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Pembrokes dinner

Dined on May 7, 2016

We were seated promptly. Server was there quickly with wine/drink list. Carolina Mule cocktails were excellent. Menu fairly limited. Steaks ordered and were almost perfect. Had to ask for bread twice. Servers were young and dressed very casually, at this price point, I thought attire would be a little classier. All in all a very good meal, would return

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Highly, highly recommend this place. The ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

Highly, highly recommend this place. The food was out of this planet! My husband and I spent the weekend in this area and happened to eat here on out last night and were not disappointed. The staff was so friendly, and attentive.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food and service

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

The food at Pembroke's was mouth watering and delicious. We especially enjoyed the farm to table aspect and the freshness of the daily selections. The menu changes daily and the servers appear to be well-versed in all of the intricacies of each item.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always fantastic food and service. Great service.

Dined on April 23, 2016

We have never had a bad experience here. Menu is seasonal with fresh and local product.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

quality fare

Dined on April 17, 2016

The food was prepared with the best local ingredients and had so many delish flavors.... down to the yummy cornbread. Service was excellent. Open table reservations were set up and waiting on us.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

welcoming and service was slow, long drink wait

Dined on April 10, 2016

I arrived first , I waited a couple of mins to be seated, but was left alone after that with no service till the other party arrived.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Pembroke's is Back!

vip
Dined on April 1, 2016

Compared to 6-12 months ago, Pembroke's has really returned to being a great restaurant. If you haven't been lately, it's worth trying again. Cocktail menu was as interesting as the food menu.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Good food and service

Dined on March 29, 2016

The service was excellent and the food and wine was very good. The only complaint was that much of the food was not as hot as we would have liked.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

I loved to pastrami eggs benedict! Amazi ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

I loved to pastrami eggs benedict! Amazing

food2
ambience3
service3
value3

Not a favorite

vip
Dined on March 27, 2016

Not much variety, bacon had a funny taste. Expected more.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food and great atmosphere

Dined on March 12, 2016

Our server was very kind, quick, and knowledgable about the menu. Our appetizers and main dishes tasted amazing. I will be returning again to bring my family. Thank you for wonderful service and wonderful food.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Delicious meal

vip
Dined on March 4, 2016

Very good food. Excellent preparation of fresh local seafood.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Food

Dined on February 20, 2016

The food was great, the service was great, very acomadating

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

The menu was appealing, and food was wel ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

The menu was appealing, and food was well prepared and presented. Unfortunately the service was rushed. Our entree's arrived halfway through the appetizer course. This was not our first visit to this restaurant, but we expected a nicer experience for a Valentine's reservation at 8:45 p.m. when the restaurant was less busy.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superb Experience

Dined on February 15, 2016

From the beginning of the entrance and the greeting of the receptionists set the tone for a great evening. The staff from the waiter to the manager were welcoming and gave great responses to questions about the menu to things general. This was by far a Superb Experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and great service!

Dined on February 14, 2016

I have been to Pembrokes' many times and my experience is always good. They have a limited menu but everything is good. The chef and owner James Doss started the "farm to table" concept in Wilmington. You will find what they serve is fresh and interesting not to mention it will taste great. Without question one of the five best places to dine in Wilmington.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Price vs quality

Dined on February 14, 2016

I would like to say on a positive note that the atmosphere and service experience was nice, but the quality and quantity of food is not worth the price that is being asked.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place?

Dined on February 13, 2016

Pembrokes fresh and locally sourced ingredients and its ever changing menu always offers delicious food in a very nice environment. I especially like the vegetable plate - not listed on the menu but always seasonally fresh and delicious!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

We had a great evening. We were very luc ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

We had a great evening. We were very lucky that we were able to get into the restaurant on Valentines Day Eve. The food was great. Loved the Burby Derby. Will you share the recipe? I ordered the filet, it was cooked to perfection and the waiter didn't seem to mind that I wanted to make a substitution and the meal came out just like I ordered. Can't wait to go back and try something else.

food1
ambience4
service5
value1

Overpriced

Dined on February 13, 2016

Food overpriced for what you get. Ordered ribs but didn't get because they ran out. Not a restaurant I would choose to go to. Friends chose it so we had no choice. Will not be going back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pembroke has become my favorite Wilmingt ...

vip
Dined on February 9, 2016

Pembroke has become my favorite Wilmington restaurant. From the moment one walks in the door to be greeted by cheerful hosts and a most delicious wood smell to the end when the gracious hosts even open the door and hold it for you. Courtesy, kindness, and absolutely delicious food. We have never had a better salad dressing, and the steak tartare is something to rave about. No room for dessert, but they sound delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

So glad this was recommended by a friend!

Dined on January 19, 2016

Superb food. A must try. You will not be disappointed. Love their sister restaurant RX also

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Pembroke's is a Wilmington NC Foodie Find

vip
Dined on January 13, 2016

This was our first experience at Pembroke's after enjoying "sister" restaurant Rx. We loved our meal, including fresh seafood that was creatively prepared and paired with fresh winter-driven veggies. Highly recommended!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

Save your money!

Dined on January 12, 2016

We were so disappointed with this restaurant which we have been looking forward to. The service is really terrible (we didn't get our wine until 5 minutes after the meal was served and had to ask thee times before it came). I had the trout, two tiny pieces of dry, tasteless fish. My friend had filet mignon, which was quite good, except that she ordered it medium rare and it was served rare. We will never go back there again.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A dose of true elevated cuisine ❤

Dined on January 11, 2016

As a NJ coast native and restaurant professional from NJ who worked for many years in Brooklyn and Manhattan, moving down to NC has been one heck of an adventure. I love it here. However, I began to feel rather hopeless in my now 2 year quest to find that one unforgettable fine dining experience in Wilmington. Pembroke's is THE best dining experience I've had in Wilmington hands down! From the gracious, attentive and knowledgeable staff to the magical dishes we enjoyed, plate after plate more tantalizing than the last, I can not thank you all enough for your solid effort and obvious commitment to our local palate and community. I mean, seriously, if the kitchen crew can work together to make each dish sing, from wood fire roasted sweet potatoes to impeccable rare tuna to perfect steak AND to that ethereal chevre cheesecake, I really can't say much more than YOU GUYS ROCK! GO TEAM! And by the way, I had my first experience on a Friday and craved it sooo much that I brought a foodie friend in two nights later for an encore. Love you all at Pembrokes! Thank you so much!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Meal

Dined on January 8, 2016

My wife and I utilized a gift certificate to eat here. THANKS mom and dad! What a great meal. We talked about how much we enjoyed our meal all weekend. My wife had the fillet mignon and I had the yellow fin tuna special. both were ordered and served rare. The cuts and seasonings were perfect.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Favorite restaurant in the Wilmington, N ...

vip
Dined on January 5, 2016

Favorite restaurant in the Wilmington, NC, area. Each dish a delight. Butternut squash soup extraordinary. Steak tartare and toast appetizer is not only delicious but also sufficient for a main course.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Overall a good dining experience.

Dined on January 3, 2016

Good menu selection, the go to place when you don't want run of the mill dinners. Very good service, cocktails are unique and well done.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

New Year's Eve is always tough.

Dined on December 31, 2015

Coping with the New Year's Eve crowd is usually difficult. Bread was late and only partial when it came. Probably should have ordered a salad or a side. Here the waitress could have been more helpful as this was our first visit. Waitress took dessert order and never asked if we would like coffee or an after dinner drink. Food (salmon and filet) was outstanding. Would like to try this restaurant again. Too much wrong to give them anything higher than a 4 but this is a restaurant worthy of a second try and soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

OVER-PRICED WAREHOUSE OF A RESTUARANT

Dined on December 31, 2015

We had heard so much about Pembroke's but the experience was very disappointing. Out of four dinners, only one was edible. The service was good but the ambience is kind of barn-like. The restaurant was not full which kept it from being noisy - a plus for us. The ambience is a bit depressing. The prices are high.

food4
ambience4
service5

The server was prompt and helpful with s ...

Dined on December 26, 2015

The server was prompt and helpful with selections--as well as getting us to our movie on time

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Neighborhood Gym

Dined on December 16, 2015

The food was fabulous. We were a large party and everyone ordered different items. We each had a taste of everything and not one thing was a disappointment. I will definitely be returning for the 1/2 price burgers Tues - Thurs in the bar area.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

amazing food and service

Dined on December 11, 2015

Shrimp and grits are the best I have had. I always bragged about a restaurant in new Bern, but now its here. Crab cakes are delicious also.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Yum

Dined on November 14, 2015

Excellent craft cocktails, breads and entrees. Try the steak or chicken but skip dessert. It's not at the same level as everything else and will leave you feeling disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food2
ambience4
service4

Small portions

Dined on November 5, 2015

The food portions were VERY small. The duck was 1 thigh and leg; it was prepared well, but not much. Asked for ice cream as a dessert, received an egg-sized spoon of crème fraise. Another dessert was dry spice cake; probably leftover from Halloween.

food5
ambience5
service5

Favorite "Go To" Place

Dined on October 17, 2015

Pembroke's is one of favorite places to dine and is especially our "go to" place when we have guests visiting from out of town. Once again, Saturday night proved to be a wonderful dining experience. The food is always unique and outstanding. The service is always "top-notch." We enjoyed it very much as did our guests.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.