About Peller Estates Winery Restaurant

290 John Street East
Niagara-on-the-Lake, ON L0S 1J0
View Larger Map

Located in the heart of Peller Estates Winery, this fine dining experience offers inventive regional cuisine paired with Peller Estates award winning wines. Executive Chef Jason Parsons works with our winemaking team to showcase wines in his seasonally evolving menu.



The restaurant was recently awarded the highest possible rating for food Extraordinary by Zagat readers.

Please see our website for a fantastic array of signature culinary events that will be held at the Winery. www.peller.com

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Continental

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday 12:00am-2:30pm



Lunch: Daily: Monday-Friday 12:00pm-2:30pm



Dinner: Daily from 5:30pm-8:30pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(888) 673-5537 ext. 3

Website:
http://www.peller.com/

Executive Chef:
Jason Parsons

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Chef's Table, Fireplace, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Private Dining

We offer guided Winery Tours, Tasting and Educational Wine Events. Hands-On activities may also be added to a day in Wine Country. Groups may dine in a variety of private settings, enjoying the best of Wine Country Cuisine matched with premium Peller Estates Wines.

Peller Estates Winery Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Continental
Toronto / Ontario
Best Overall
Niagara
Best Ambiance
Niagara
7 More
Best Value
Niagara
Fit for Foodies
Niagara
Great for Lunch
Niagara
Notable Wine List
Niagara
Romantic
Niagara
Special Occasion
Niagara
Most Booked
Niagara
Best Restaurants in Niagara-on-the-Lake ›

special occasion (155)
scenic view (134)
romantic (130)
See All
fit for foodies (115)
notable wine list (95)
great for lunch (77)
good for groups (42)
great for brunch (41)
great for outdoor dining (36)
neighborhood gem (16)
hot spot (9)
 (8)
 (6)
 (5)
kid-friendly (4)
 (4)
vibrant bar scene (3)
late-night find (3)
 (2)
 (2)
 (2)
 (2)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2119 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

From the moment we walked in, the ambian ...

Dined 3 days ago

From the moment we walked in, the ambiance was fantastic. We were greeted right away and given a choice between the dining room and the patio. The service and food was absolutely wonderful. The main course was Trout and it was to die for. A lovely treat.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful dining experience!

Dined 4 days ago

We had a wonderful evening at Pellar Estates! The meal was fantastic , the presentation and flavours were outstanding! The Ontario Chablis was a fabulous surprise, so much so that we went back the next day to bring some home to our cellar. We would definitely recommend dining at Pellar Estates.... Thank you for a lovely evening!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Expected More

Dined 5 days ago

The property is breath taking. The service was professional but surprisingly slow. Also.... and maybe this was us....but we expected it to be more congenial and engaging. Several of the Five course tasting dishes lived up to expectation but at least 2 were what you would expect from a good but not great resto. Wine was good but again our server was not very engaging. We went in with expatations to be pampered......right or wrong....that never happened....but the price was definitely at the very upped end.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Very enjoyable dining experience after t ...

Dined 6 days ago

Very enjoyable dining experience after the winery tour.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Loved the novelty

Dined 6 days ago

The little added touches made it all good. That special salt on the cheese, the extra old cheese at the bottom of the soup, the shaved wine granita palate cleanser etc... The service was excellent. The pork was tough and a bit disapointing but the rest was fantastic.

Tags: special occasion
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Our experience was disappointing. We ha ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Our experience was disappointing. We had asked for a special table when we booked the reservation a long time ago for our wedding anniv, but we weren't seated by the windows (which we considered special), even though there were empty tables. The server suggested the surprise tasting menu as an option, we said no as we didn't like seafood and didn't want surprises...so we ordered from the a la carte menu. Then the first thing that arrives is a salmon mousse amuse bouche....to which we had to reiterate we didn't like seafood. It was replaced with another cheese/veggie selection...this first interaction got our backs up because the server didn't listen to our preferences from the get go. The server was cordial throughout the meal but we didn't care for her style. Dinner portions were very small and not good value for money. Chicken paprikash wasn't in a sauce but just had a little seasoning on the skin portion...I took off the skin as I don't care for it, so that made it plain chicken. Veggies were very good but we expected larger portions of meat (both chicken and beef tenderloin) for the price. We ended up foregoing dessert and coffee, had our remaining bottle of wine re-corked, paid and left earlier than planned. We had the Peller Restaurant on our wish list for quite a while and it was a shame to have a disappointing experience on our special day. We heard the next day from another couple staying at our B and B about another restaurant in NOTL with similar prices but large portions that is a great special occasion place and they thoroughly enjoyed their experience there 2 nights before.....so we will go to their recommendation for the next special occasion we decide to celebrate in NOTL. We love Peller wine and especially the Ice Cuvée Sparkling wine and the staff in the shop and tasting area are knowledgeable, friendly and great...so we will continue to go to Peller for this experience however we wont be back to the restaurant.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The staff are friendly there, and this i ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

The staff are friendly there, and this is as close to 5-star dining as you can get. They pay attention to the little details and respect you as a patron and ask you along the way, how you are doing.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

There was an outside event with 8000 pa ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

There was an outside event with 8000 participants and very noisy and views were blocked. The waiter was in training. The menu was very small so 2 of us had a double app. with lobster but honestly you would need a magnifying glass to find the 1 piece of lobster that was about 3/4 x 1/2 inch and a few small shreds in the pasta. The pasta was hard not al dente. All 4 of us were not impressed and didn't really enjoy the meal.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Experience

Dined on May 19, 2016

Try the five course chefs menu. Be readdy to spend at least two hours enjoying the experience love the food and service

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Truly outstanding

vip
Dined on May 19, 2016

We ate at Peller Estates last year and found it to be excellent. We were a little nervous about whether they would live up to our expectations but they did not disappoint. The food was wonderful, the setting spectacular, and the service was very professional without being stodgy. This was the best dining experience we had in Niagara-on-the-Lake, and we had been to three other top rated restaurants. For the life of us we can't see why Peller doesn't get a higher rating. For us it is the best in town.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food2
ambience2
service5
value2

I ordered the mystery 4 course meal The ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

I ordered the mystery 4 course meal The entree was a pork chop which was so dry I couldn't eat it Recommendation to chef was to eliminate pork from the mystery choice since is is difficult to cook or provide a sauce with it The clientele seemed very old and atmosphere a bit stiff

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Elegant

Dined on May 18, 2016

It is with great pleasure giving this 5 Star lunch rating because I've just had to give another restaurant a 3 Star rating! Peller is 5 Star in every way. Service was perfect as each time she said, "I'm so sorry to interrupt you". I had a very good cheese plate, then the Lamp Shank and Sausage, a delicious combination. I also asked if I could have the risotto under the lamb instead of their potato dish, and they responded. Wines were also perfect and elegantly served. The room and view are unparalleled. This restaurant should be on your list.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food3
ambience5
service5

Beautiful setting , excellent service. ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Beautiful setting , excellent service. Food is "old school"

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our experience was very positive. Our m ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Our experience was very positive. Our meal was great and the service/hospitality was wonderful. Thank you for an enjoyable day.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

WE have visited the winery restaurant ma ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

WE have visited the winery restaurant many times in the past and this most recent experience fell short of our expectations in terms of attentiveness of server. I believe that he is in training and understand that we all have to be beginners in order to learn the ropes. Food is displayed beautifully and served with enthusiasm. The meat courses were better value. My fiddlehead risotto at $30 lacked complexity and the portion was needlessly small.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Too Costly!

Dined on May 14, 2016

While food and service are very nice, even still, charging $28-$30 for a main course for LUNCH is too much. The only other alternative was a 4 course prix fixe for $58 without wine. There should be more alternatives at a lower cost say a large salad or interesting sandwich.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Peller always hits the spot for lunch - ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Peller always hits the spot for lunch - was there with visiting family from Ireland. Managed to persuade the fairly conservative visitors that the menu items were not the least bit weird (poached egg on a chicken dish for example) and at the end they fully agreed. We have lunch at Peller a few times per year and we have never been disappointed. Looking forward to going there again in better weather!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Peller Estates winery Restaurant

Dined on May 8, 2016

All serving staff, own server with a number of assistants, were very friendly and efficient. We were greeted at the entrance in a friendly manner. If you appear overly early you may shop in the wine and gift shop prior to entry into the restaurant area.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

5 star experience

Dined on May 8, 2016

I took my mom here for their Mother's day brunch (which was really a lunch - there were no breakfast items on the menu). For only $50 per person we were treated to the most incredible dining experience I've ever had - 4 courses + one glass of their sparkling wine. From the professional staff, to the creative and beautiful cuisine, to the amazing view of the vineyard... We felt like royalty. I cannot speak highly enough of the restaurant.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We really enjoyed the Mother's day brunc ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

We really enjoyed the Mother's day brunch this year. The menu had something for everyone and the food was delicious as always. The staff are excellent and very friendly. The tasting menu is a great value as they serve a good glass of wine with each course, not a small sample as at other places. The presentation is excellent, both the meal and restaurant itself. A very nice touch this year was presenting each Mom with a carnation when leaving the restaurant. We love coming here for family special occasions.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mother's Day Dream Come True!

Dined on May 8, 2016

Made reservations for 12:00pm on mothers day for just myself and my mom, when they Called to confirm a couple days before they said they'd be adhering to a 2hr seating limit and they'd only hold our reservations for 15 minutes after our booking because they were set to be busy. We called around 12 to let them know we'd be late because we got lost and they were very accommodating in holding our table. Service was uber friendly and genuine, from the host and hostess to each of the servers. It was a prix fixe menu, four courses including soup and complimentary 'palate cleansers' and 'amuse bouche' that tasted as phenomenal as they looked. My mom got the wine pairing, a reasonably-sized glass with each course of Peller wine (ending with ice wine that was A M A Z I N G!). The food came out at a great pace so that we weren't hungry nor stuffed. Definitely werent rushed out. Can't say enough about the experience. The food was like eating artwork that pleased the tastebuds. No salt or pepper required at all. The decor was simply elegant, high ceilings and large windows that let natural light in and gave us a view of the expansive vineyards. They were also acommodating of my vegetarian diet, and offered to provide me with an assortment of veggie dishes even though they weren't on the menu. Everything we had was fresh, arranged beautifully and simply divine. The experience is one my mom hasn't stopped raving about. She's already looking for reasons to go back, and I'd book again in a heartbeat. Thank you to everyone at Peller Estates!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

I was disappointed because it seemed lik ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

I was disappointed because it seemed like the chef was pushing his cute way on how to tell people what they should eat rather than allowing the patron to have choices that run the gambit of foods and hopefully shows the chefs control of his craft.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

For the money, we expected far more.

Dined on May 7, 2016

We'll start with the positive: service was very good, very attentive, and due to a specific food issue for one of us (me), the manager came to speak with us at our table. As it turned out, the food issue prohibited me from doing the tasting menu, but my husband did the menu. After seeing it, I'm very glad I did not do it: I wouldn't have liked most of what was served. The view was excellent from our table as well. My ala carte meal was very good: the lobster linguine was very, very good with lots of lobster chunks and the halibut was seared perfectly. Now for the not-so-good: it's really a stretch to do a "surprise" menu and while my husband has a very broad palate, he was not thrilled with what was served. Our waiter even said at one point (when asking how he wanted his meat done and we asked if it was beef) that it was beef that was being served for the main course. Not true---it was duck. BIG difference! So I guess that's the "Surprise!" element. We were also told that the courses in the surprise tasting menu were not available on the ala carte menu. At least one course was on the menu: the soup was the one on the ala carte menu. Finally, while service was very good with several people coming to the table to make sure all was well, the dinner took 2.5 hours. This is acceptable when there is a lot going on, but we had very long gaps between courses that made that time period so long. For whatever reason (we were not told why), it really took a long time to go from one course to another while we were just sitting there drinking wine and water, and just waiting. As the title says, for the money (with tip we spent over $250 CAD for two people) we expected far better. Unfortunately, we will not be returning to Peller for dinner again.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very very good! Although the price makes ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Very very good! Although the price makes it only fit for special occasions it was worth every penny

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Another great time at Pellar Estates

Dined on May 4, 2016

We had another wonderful time at Pellar Estates. Fine dining at its best. Chef Jason rocks.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Disappointing

Dined on April 30, 2016

Food was disappointing. The lamb loin was very tough, not at all tender. Cheese platter arrived without bread or crostini. Service was excellant!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

amazing food

Dined on April 30, 2016

We did the blind food and wine tasting and it was the best meal we have had in our lives I will be back to do this again

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Dinner at Peller restaurant

Dined on April 29, 2016

Great evening and awesome food. The suggested wine pairing were perfect!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Anniversary dinner

Dined on April 21, 2016

We were celebrating our 20th anniversary and the waitress started us off with complimentary glass of champagne. That was very thoughtful. We had the 5 course tasting menu with wine selected for each dish. Everything was wonderful! I I would recommend the restaurant highly for special occasions. Ambiance and scenery were beautiful.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience1
service4
value2

Promise not Kept

Dined on April 17, 2016

We are wine club members and spend a lot of money with Andrew Peller. Were promised a good table for a family celebration. We were seated in a poor location beside a serving station. We were prompt at our arrival but despite that all the good table were taken. Even as wine club members who spend a great deal of money on Andrew Peller wines we were treated poorly.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Spring Brunch at Peller Estates

Dined on April 16, 2016

We love the location of Peller Estates. You overlook the vineyard while enjoying a meal prepared by Jason Parson with wine pairing decided by the Winemaker Katie Dickieson. The staff were so attentive. A WONDERFULL Dining experience!!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Haute cuizine

Dined on April 16, 2016

Always a treat. One of the highest stadard restaurants. Must love fancy food and posh service.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice Lunch but not Outstanding

Dined on April 16, 2016

Just spent the day at Pellar for two events and a brunch. Had a great time and the events and they were very good. Since we were there we thought it would be just easier to stay for lunch. We have eatin there before and as usual the meal was very nice and beautifuly presented and staff was great. Atmosphere is super but somehow we always leave thinking it was not spectacular. Let me say there was mostly nothing wrong with most of the meal but it just did not compare to other dinning establishments we hit in the area. Whether it is the selections on the menu or the combinations on the menu but wealways leave under slightly under dazzled.

Tags: scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding Service

Dined on April 15, 2016

The lunch experience at the restaurant was memorable. The service was great and the food delicious.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5

Tasting menu is Peller at its best. Thos ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

Tasting menu is Peller at its best. Those who ordered a la carte were disappointed with both flavor and portion size. 2 who ordered a la carte vowed they'd never return. Those who ordered the tasting menu wanted to eat there everyday. Order the tasting menu.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Never disappoints!

Dined on April 1, 2016

We did the 7 course wine pairing - food and wine were phenomenal. Because we were celebrating a special occasion, we were also given sparkling wine along with a prime seat by the fireplace overlooking the vineyard. Visiting from NYC, and had a wonderful time from the moment we were greeted until we closed the place down as the last couple out. Super attentive service and creative dishes. The surprise hit was the purple sweet potato bread we were given with the meal. A little pricey compared to other restaurants in the area and portion sizes, but worth the experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Day Out with Friends

Dined on March 31, 2016

We love getting together with friends to taste good wines and enjoy gourmet meals. Peller Estates has been a strong favourite of ours for years. The 90 minute drive there is very pleasant driving along farms and vineyards. The Estate itself is in a delightful setting and the restaurant has a great view over the vineyard. The dining room exudes atmosphere. The service is very attentive and friendly, but the piece de resistance is the food itself. The four of us had the five course tasting menu and were absolutely delighted. Wonderful without being over the top.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

High on quality - Low on quantity

Dined on March 26, 2016

Ordered the 5-course tasting menu with accompanying wines. Very small portions of food (main course was probably 4 ounces of meat) and very small pours of wine (probably around 1.5 - 20 ounces.). Good that it was $30 off because it was definitely not worth the full price. Food was nice but quantity was severely lacking. Wines pours were OK for a tasting but not for a meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Not as I remembered

Dined on March 25, 2016

have been dinning here for years. The food quality is just not as good as it used to be. maybe just being spoiled by so many new places in the city.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place Will continue to keep coming ...

vip
Dined on March 24, 2016

Great place Will continue to keep coming back

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.