About Peller Estates Winery Restaurant

290 John Street East
Niagara-on-the-Lake, ON L0S 1J0
View Larger Map

Located in the heart of Peller Estates Winery, this fine dining experience offers inventive regional cuisine paired with Peller Estates award winning wines. Executive Chef Jason Parsons works with our winemaking team to showcase wines in his seasonally evolving menu.



The restaurant was recently awarded the highest possible rating for food Extraordinary by Zagat readers.

Please see our website for a fantastic array of signature culinary events that will be held at the Winery. www.peller.com

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Continental

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday 12:00am-2:30pm



Lunch: Daily: Monday-Friday 12:00pm-2:30pm



Dinner: Daily from 5:30pm-8:30pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(888) 673-5537 ext. 3

Website:
http://www.peller.com/

Executive Chef:
Jason Parsons

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Chef's Table, Fireplace, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Icewine Tasting
  • Dessert
Icewine Tasting
Dessert

Private Dining

We offer guided Winery Tours, Tasting and Educational Wine Events. Hands-On activities may also be added to a day in Wine Country. Groups may dine in a variety of private settings, enjoying the best of Wine Country Cuisine matched with premium Peller Estates Wines.

Peller Estates Winery Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Niagara
Best Value
Niagara
Notable Wine List
Niagara
2 More
Special Occasion
Niagara
Most Booked
Niagara
Best Restaurants in Niagara-on-the-Lake ›

special occasion (166)
scenic view (139)
romantic (126)
See All
fit for foodies (121)
notable wine list (93)
great for lunch (75)
great for outdoor dining (67)
good for groups (44)
great for brunch (44)
neighborhood gem (16)
hot spot (6)
late-night find (5)
kid-friendly (2)
vibrant bar scene (2)
Sort By:
Newest
2143 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

We enjoyed the outdoor patio, the servic ...

Dined 4 days ago

We enjoyed the outdoor patio, the service, the appetizer, the wine but my husband's entree and mine were both disappointing. His lamb shank was dry with no gravy and my chicken was stewed chicken over grains, with very little taste. And not an inexpensive lunch. Everything else about the lunch experience was excellent so the entrees were even more disappointing.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Although this was my third visit, it was ...

Dined 5 days ago

Although this was my third visit, it was the first time I ordered the tasting menus. It was fabulous. I loved the fact that every course was a surprise and delicious. Our waiter did a great job, he was attentive and allowed us enough time between courses that we didn't feel rushed. Thanks Colin, for taking good care of us.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food and wine, service was top ...

Dined 6 days ago

Excellent food and wine, service was top - prompt and friendly; very good ambience and view from our table. Would certainly go again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent experience overall - great foo ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Excellent experience overall - great food and table server, but had to take some points off for the discriminatory and unfriendly hostess (an older lady whose name I didn't catch) who smiled at other guests but hardly glanced at us, and seated us near a high-traffic door despite multiple open tables. For brunch, there was the option of a 4-course or 5-course meal, with / without wine pairings - and of course at a winery we got the wine pairing! The wine pairings with our food were spot-on. Only 1 of the 4 courses I thought should be changed -- the scallop dish perhaps would have been better with a white wine, rather than a dry, full-bodied red wine. Several stand-outs: the ice wine, the main course (trout, or hen on couscous), and surprisingly a palate cleanser composed of sparkling wine, lavender, and mint that was absolutely delicious. Our server was attentive and made wonderful recommendations, even going out of his way to answer our questions and bring extra samples. I would definitely recommend others to go to Peller Estates -- with the exception of the hostess, this was a 5-star experience!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful food and attentive service The ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Wonderful food and attentive service The wine pairings were spot on.Sat indoors because it was a hot day. The dining room had a nice ambiance

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Superb food and excellent wines. Wonder ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Superb food and excellent wines. Wonderful service. Tasting menu especially good. A perfect place for a relaxing and thoroughly enjoyable meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had been to the restaurant in the past a ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Had been to the restaurant in the past and had a great experience. Drove a few hours just to come down for lunch and wasn't disappointed. Food was great and staff was very friendly.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent restaurant. This was our secon ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Excellent restaurant. This was our second visit and we enjoyed it very much. We felt pampered and would recommend it to anyone wishing an excellent dining experience.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Made an on-line reservation for 25th wed ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Made an on-line reservation for 25th wedding anniversary. Amazing pairing. Best meal ever! Thankyou so much!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Little can compare to the pleasure of si ...

vip
Dined on June 15, 2016

Little can compare to the pleasure of sitting on Peller's terrace, sipping their great wine and enjoying the setting sun and beautiful surroundings while eating great food. Were had a very good meal and wonderful service. When it got a bit chilly for dessert, they moved us inside for the last course and poured some of their famous ice wine gratis. All in all a wonderful evening and a highly recommended choice in NOTL.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent innovative food, prepared well ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Excellent innovative food, prepared well and with service to match. Our group had then 4 course tasting menu with wines to match. Recommend the ice cuvee (both plain and rose)!

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chef Jason Parson's menu is amazing and ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Chef Jason Parson's menu is amazing and creative. This is my favourite summer "date" restaurant with my wife. We love the outdoor patio and the great menu variety. Every mouthful was a delight. Our waiter Stan was very knowledgeable and gave great service. Peller wines are one of the top Ontario wines and they go well with the food pairing suggested. Highly recommended. An amazing food and wine experience from beginning to end.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had the chef's wine pairing and the f ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

We had the chef's wine pairing and the food was excellent. We enjoyed the surprise of each dish served. The wine served for each course was explained to us giving us a understanding of the flavors of food and wine. Our waitress was excellent. Very knowledgable of the winery and area and made our evening memorable. The decanters that were used to serve the wine were beautiful.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Waiter Kalvin was great. Excellent 5 cou ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Waiter Kalvin was great. Excellent 5 course meal with the perfect wine pairings.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place! Wonderful food. Fabulous wi ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

Great place! Wonderful food. Fabulous wine. Fantastic staff.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We got a great table with a beautiful vi ...

Dined on June 7, 2016

We got a great table with a beautiful view. Servers were attentive and knowledgeable of the menu and wine pairing. Food was excellent all four courses. Desert was delicious, fantastic combination of flavours and paired really well with Ice wine.

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

This is a good restaurant located in a b ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

This is a good restaurant located in a beautiful building of the winery. The decor is traditional with a relaxed feeling. The setting and views of the vineyard are great. The food is good with some interesting twistes, but I would not rate it either excellent or great especially coupled with a hefty price tag attached. The service is good and professional albeit lacking personality and warmth. We had a special occasion celebration, unfortunately the staff did not make an effort to mark that.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great lunch @ winery

Dined on June 4, 2016

we had family lunch w a toddler. magnificent scene; helpful & attentive staff; great and delicate food. not a thing we can complain!

food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious food served by friendly knowl ...

Dined on June 2, 2016

Delicious food served by friendly knowledgeable staff on a delightful patio overlooking a vineyard, in other words just perfect.

food5
ambience5
service5
value1

Great food with great service. We will ...

Dined on June 2, 2016

Great food with great service. We will definitely return with all our guests visiting from overseas.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

the meal was not special, a great deal o ...

Dined on May 31, 2016

the meal was not special, a great deal of the sides were prepared

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Tasting Menu on the Patio

Dined on May 30, 2016

The five course tasting menu with wine pairings was wonderful. Each course was beautifully presented and was small enough that we did not feel overwhelmed. On the other hand, the wine pourings were very generous, and though we did not like all of the wines, it was great to be able to taste such a variety. The soft-shell crab was outstanding, very lightly battered so the full flavour came through. We sat outside on their lovely patio overlooking the vinyards, and were very well looked after by the staff. A marvelous experience all around.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

Great food but disappointing service

Dined on May 29, 2016

We are regular customers of Peller Estates for Sunday brunch. Food is great as usual, but service was slow and lacking. Our server disappeared after the second course, we had to flag down other staff for our wine pairing.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

From the moment we walked in, the ambian ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

From the moment we walked in, the ambiance was fantastic. We were greeted right away and given a choice between the dining room and the patio. The service and food was absolutely wonderful. The main course was Trout and it was to die for. A lovely treat.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful dining experience!

Dined on May 27, 2016

We had a wonderful evening at Pellar Estates! The meal was fantastic , the presentation and flavours were outstanding! The Ontario Chablis was a fabulous surprise, so much so that we went back the next day to bring some home to our cellar. We would definitely recommend dining at Pellar Estates.... Thank you for a lovely evening!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Expected More

Dined on May 27, 2016

The property is breath taking. The service was professional but surprisingly slow. Also.... and maybe this was us....but we expected it to be more congenial and engaging. Several of the Five course tasting dishes lived up to expectation but at least 2 were what you would expect from a good but not great resto. Wine was good but again our server was not very engaging. We went in with expatations to be pampered......right or wrong....that never happened....but the price was definitely at the very upped end.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Peller Winery

vip
Dined on May 26, 2016

The Peller Winery is a scenic property in the Niagra on the Falls area. The main house is beautifully decorated inside and out. The dining room is no exception. The view from the dining room overlooks a large grassy area and the vineyard beyond. The dinner menu covers the usual spectrum of chicken, fish, and meat main courses. There is an option to have the chef select wine pairings for each course of the meal. That was a nice way to sample some of their wines and also to learn about wine and food pairing. We enjoyed the setting so much that we returned the next day to have lunch in the open air dining area. The burger was amazing in size and flavor. If you are traveling to the Niagara Falls area, the town of Niagara on the Falls should be on the list for shopping and winery tastings. Peller is one winery that should be at the top of the list.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Very enjoyable dining experience after t ...

Dined on May 25, 2016

Very enjoyable dining experience after the winery tour.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Loved the novelty

Dined on May 25, 2016

The little added touches made it all good. That special salt on the cheese, the extra old cheese at the bottom of the soup, the shaved wine granita palate cleanser etc... The service was excellent. The pork was tough and a bit disapointing but the rest was fantastic.

Tags: special occasion
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Our experience was disappointing. We ha ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Our experience was disappointing. We had asked for a special table when we booked the reservation a long time ago for our wedding anniv, but we weren't seated by the windows (which we considered special), even though there were empty tables. The server suggested the surprise tasting menu as an option, we said no as we didn't like seafood and didn't want surprises...so we ordered from the a la carte menu. Then the first thing that arrives is a salmon mousse amuse bouche....to which we had to reiterate we didn't like seafood. It was replaced with another cheese/veggie selection...this first interaction got our backs up because the server didn't listen to our preferences from the get go. The server was cordial throughout the meal but we didn't care for her style. Dinner portions were very small and not good value for money. Chicken paprikash wasn't in a sauce but just had a little seasoning on the skin portion...I took off the skin as I don't care for it, so that made it plain chicken. Veggies were very good but we expected larger portions of meat (both chicken and beef tenderloin) for the price. We ended up foregoing dessert and coffee, had our remaining bottle of wine re-corked, paid and left earlier than planned. We had the Peller Restaurant on our wish list for quite a while and it was a shame to have a disappointing experience on our special day. We heard the next day from another couple staying at our B and B about another restaurant in NOTL with similar prices but large portions that is a great special occasion place and they thoroughly enjoyed their experience there 2 nights before.....so we will go to their recommendation for the next special occasion we decide to celebrate in NOTL. We love Peller wine and especially the Ice Cuvée Sparkling wine and the staff in the shop and tasting area are knowledgeable, friendly and great...so we will continue to go to Peller for this experience however we wont be back to the restaurant.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The staff are friendly there, and this i ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

The staff are friendly there, and this is as close to 5-star dining as you can get. They pay attention to the little details and respect you as a patron and ask you along the way, how you are doing.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

There was an outside event with 8000 pa ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

There was an outside event with 8000 participants and very noisy and views were blocked. The waiter was in training. The menu was very small so 2 of us had a double app. with lobster but honestly you would need a magnifying glass to find the 1 piece of lobster that was about 3/4 x 1/2 inch and a few small shreds in the pasta. The pasta was hard not al dente. All 4 of us were not impressed and didn't really enjoy the meal.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Experience

Dined on May 19, 2016

Try the five course chefs menu. Be readdy to spend at least two hours enjoying the experience love the food and service

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Truly outstanding

vip
Dined on May 19, 2016

We ate at Peller Estates last year and found it to be excellent. We were a little nervous about whether they would live up to our expectations but they did not disappoint. The food was wonderful, the setting spectacular, and the service was very professional without being stodgy. This was the best dining experience we had in Niagara-on-the-Lake, and we had been to three other top rated restaurants. For the life of us we can't see why Peller doesn't get a higher rating. For us it is the best in town.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food2
ambience2
service5
value2

I ordered the mystery 4 course meal The ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

I ordered the mystery 4 course meal The entree was a pork chop which was so dry I couldn't eat it Recommendation to chef was to eliminate pork from the mystery choice since is is difficult to cook or provide a sauce with it The clientele seemed very old and atmosphere a bit stiff

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Elegant

Dined on May 18, 2016

It is with great pleasure giving this 5 Star lunch rating because I've just had to give another restaurant a 3 Star rating! Peller is 5 Star in every way. Service was perfect as each time she said, "I'm so sorry to interrupt you". I had a very good cheese plate, then the Lamp Shank and Sausage, a delicious combination. I also asked if I could have the risotto under the lamb instead of their potato dish, and they responded. Wines were also perfect and elegantly served. The room and view are unparalleled. This restaurant should be on your list.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food3
ambience5
service5

Beautiful setting , excellent service. ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Beautiful setting , excellent service. Food is "old school"

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our experience was very positive. Our m ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Our experience was very positive. Our meal was great and the service/hospitality was wonderful. Thank you for an enjoyable day.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

WE have visited the winery restaurant ma ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

WE have visited the winery restaurant many times in the past and this most recent experience fell short of our expectations in terms of attentiveness of server. I believe that he is in training and understand that we all have to be beginners in order to learn the ropes. Food is displayed beautifully and served with enthusiasm. The meat courses were better value. My fiddlehead risotto at $30 lacked complexity and the portion was needlessly small.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Too Costly!

Dined on May 14, 2016

While food and service are very nice, even still, charging $28-$30 for a main course for LUNCH is too much. The only other alternative was a 4 course prix fixe for $58 without wine. There should be more alternatives at a lower cost say a large salad or interesting sandwich.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.