About Peller Estates Winery Restaurant

290 John Street East
Niagara-on-the-Lake, ON L0S 1J0
View Larger Map

Located in the heart of Peller Estates Winery, this fine dining experience offers inventive regional cuisine paired with Peller Estates award winning wines. Executive Chef Jason Parsons works with our winemaking team to showcase wines in his seasonally evolving menu.



The restaurant was recently awarded the highest possible rating for food Extraordinary by Zagat readers.

Please see our website for a fantastic array of signature culinary events that will be held at the Winery. www.peller.com

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Continental

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday 11:30am-2:30pm



Lunch: Daily: Monday-Friday 11:30pm-2:30pm



Dinner: Daily from 5:00pm-8:30pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(888) 673-5537 ext. 3

Website:
http://www.peller.com/

Executive Chef:
Jason Parsons

Additional:
Banquet, Chef's Table, Fireplace, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Icewine Tasting
  • Dessert
Icewine Tasting
Dessert

Private Dining

We offer guided Winery Tours, Tasting and Educational Wine Events. Hands-On activities may also be added to a day in Wine Country. Groups may dine in a variety of private settings, enjoying the best of Wine Country Cuisine matched with premium Peller Estates Wines.

Peller Estates Winery Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Niagara
Notable Wine List
Niagara
Romantic
Niagara
2 More
Special Occasion
Niagara
Most Booked
Niagara
Best Restaurants in Niagara-on-the-Lake ›

Special Occasion (196)
Scenic View (167)
Romantic (156)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (147)
Fit for Foodies (122)
Notable Wine List (114)
Great for Lunch (72)
Good for Groups (46)
Great for Brunch (31)
Local Ingredients (25)
Tasting Menu (24)
Creative Cuisine (24)
Good for a Date (22)
Good for Anniversaries (22)
Worth the Drive (21)
Quiet Conversation (20)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Seasonal (11)
Cozy (8)
Casual (7)
Healthy (6)
Authentic (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Private Room (5)
Business Meals (4)
Fun (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
People Watching (3)
Historic (2)
Fireplace (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Live Music (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2282 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great locale and a great server. The ch ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined 5 days ago

Great locale and a great server. The chef needed help though. For a 4.5 star restaurant I expected more. The sweet pea appetizer was a combination of flavors that were totally unexpected and certainly not described on the menu. To include sweep pea puree with blue cheese wedges was not a friendly combination.

The main course was the sliced beef. It was prepared perfectly but was totally smothered in very heavily smoked sausage that entirely overpowered the beef and left nothing in your mouth but a very heavy smoked flavor, leading one to ask 'where was the beef?'

The desert which we ordered was the ice cream, mostly to get the heavily smoked flavor out of our mouths. Nothing should be simpler than ice cream, but once again the ice cream was concotted with a bunch of other indidstinguishable ingredients that led to false expectations and disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Never any question. Peller is our favour ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined 5 days ago

Never any question. Peller is our favourite for special occasions and our Anniversary celebration was no exception. Wonderful food, great service, excellent wine options, and continuity in quality. That's why we return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

went here for our Anniversary on the rec ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined 5 days ago

went here for our Anniversary on the recommendation of a friend. Simply Amazing....

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent courses with wine pairing. Cre ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent courses with wine pairing. Creative dining experience. Exceptional service.

Tags: Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

If you want a true culinary experience t ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined 6 days ago

If you want a true culinary experience this place is absolutely the best in the region. Everything about this place is on another level, fantastic ambiance, food and service are truly 5 star not to mention excellent wines. It was so good we went 3 times during our 3 day stay in the region.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Experience - Food was fantasti ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Wonderful Experience - Food was fantastic!

We enjoyed 3 courses - overlooking the Vineyards

Excellent Service

Will definatly return

Capped off a Mother/Daughter weekend to Niagara on the Lake perfectly

Thank - you

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We celebrated our 40th wedding anniversa ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

We celebrated our 40th wedding anniversary.It was fantastic.All we hoped for and more.

It was like eating a a masterchef lunch.Big plates and small delicious meals.We do not drink

so we could not order wine we had a five course lunch.We would do it again.The scenery was breath taken.It was very busy at the winery with young adults and plenty of children.I would recommend anyone to enjoy this event.

Tags: Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Casual, Local Ingredients, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service, delicious food and in ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Excellent service, delicious food and interesting winery tour

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was a wonderful experience. We had a ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

It was a wonderful experience. We had a knowledgeable & gracious server. Each course with Signature wine pairing was elegantly presented and delicious. Timing of serving each course was impeccable. A yable by the window offered a glorious view of the vineyard! Thanks Peller!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Molecular Gastronomy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Peller Estates was exactly what we neede ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Peller Estates was exactly what we needed. A nice get away from the city. The dining room was elegantly set up with breath-taking views of the winery. Our dining experience was worth the drive. From our server, Josh who super attentive and knowledgeable, to the well presented and delicious food - pretty much tried everything between the 4 of us, topped off with the wines of our choice was fabulous. We enjoyed every morsel with flowing conversations without being rushed. The icing on the cake was, we met Jason Parsons who was absolutely friendly and graced us with a group photo. My mom was in her element!

Thank you for a wonderful and relaxed dining experience!

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Groups, Casual, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Peller is my go-to restaurant in Niagara ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Peller is my go-to restaurant in Niagara-on-the-Lake for a consistently quality dining experience. All components of a great meal are there: great service with well-trained staff, a menu that features creative yet approachable options, wonderful atmosphere - what more could you want?

Tags: Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and delicious food. A wond ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Great service and delicious food. A wonderful birthday for my husband . 😃

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Gorgeous dining room that just makes gue ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Gorgeous dining room that just makes guests feel elegant and special. Excellent service from knowledgeable and professional staff. We enjoyed the creative menu offerings and always have the 5-course tasting menu. This time, however, we were a bit disappointed that the tasting menu had 3 seafood courses and two of them were cold or room temperature (they seemed to have been prepared in advance). And, these two cold/room temp seafood courses followed a beef tartare, so it was a rather strange and unsatisfying meal overall. Good choice of wines from the onsite vineyard property, but they are rather overpriced for the quality.

While we feel let down by the chef on this last visit, we will go back again (this was our 5th visit) because the room is so lovely and the service is so good.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We've been to Peller Estates many times ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

We've been to Peller Estates many times before - every since the restaurant opened. And every experience up until this week's was fantastic. This time, we opted for the tasting menu with wine as we often do (5 or 7 course choices - we always choose the 7). While the service was excellent as always and the wines were perfectly paired with each course, the meal itself was a major let down.

It started with the amuse-bouche. Flavorless, and more than a bite. You should be able to consume the amuse-bouche with a single spoon.

The tuna was likewise flavorless. I appreciate the chef's intent to feature local produce and ingredients but the accompany vegetables did nothing and quite frankly, the tuna was overdone.

The salmon course was huge. That's all I can say, huge. My wife had salmon the night before and this course, 1 of a 7 part tasting mind you, was larger than most entrees. Hers was over salted, mine had no salt whatsoever.

The scallop was wonderful. For the first time, an elegant and light pairing with delicate sauce. But again, this was the size of a small entree.

The quail was uninspired. Tough and flavorless. Another poor attempt.

The tenderloin was a wonderful piece of meat. But it wasn't just one piece, it was two. Again, this was the size of an entree at most restaurants. I've left many a tasting menu still feeling a bit hungry. But not here. And it was an excess of food that really wasn't necessary.

We've come to Peller Estates every time we've traveled to Niagara on the Lake. This last experience (and it wasn't cheap with about $400 Canadian or $318 US with 20% tip) might be our last for a while. Clearly Chef Parsons needs to rethink his menu and approach if he's to continue to attract repeat customers.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Had the wine pairing menu. Great taste a ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Had the wine pairing menu. Great taste and flavours and the wine for each plate was just amazing how it blended with each food. Would recommend it for it's location but mostly for the enjoyment of the pairing.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The seven course wine pairing was a spec ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

The seven course wine pairing was a special experience for our 47th wedding anniversary. It was over priced but I wanted something special and it was different. Our server was excellent. The food was well prepared . Overall the evening was was very nice, we will remember it.

Tags: Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

My husband and I visited Niagara Falls a ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

My husband and I visited Niagara Falls and the wineries of Niagara on the Lake over a few days and I had noted that the Peller Estate Winery had a great restaurant from a book titled Canadian Wineries which I had purchased before our trip. Once on site, we decided to try the restaurant and were surprised to see it earned 4 diamonds. We took the 8 course tasting menu and all the food was delicious, the proportions were just right and when we finished our meal we felt satiated and good. The wine pairings were superlatively good too and generous, we had been to a similar multi course tasting and wine pairing menu in a posh Montreal restaurant which was much more expensive and left us a bit famished at the end and the wine tasting was really just a sip.

The restaurant was beautiful and the service was superlative, the staff was friendly and kind. I will certainly return to live this great food experience if we come back to Niagara.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is definitely above average and ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

The food is definitely above average and our server was extraordinary. If that's all you care about, great restaurant. However I believe there are many restaurants w conparable food and good service. They failed on all fronts that should set a great restaurant from a good one.

For example the overall service was very disappointing. This was for my husband's birthday and I made an online request which they never responded to. Then I called and left a voicemail and never received a response. They called 24h before the resrvation to confirm and then I made my request and they said yes. When we arrived we realized the answer to our request was a "no". Then they lied about not having received our response, but the next person who served us said they did see the request but perhaps escaped their attention. Then we got seated. Despite the special request and having made the reservation 2 weeks prior, we got the table as far away from the scenery/windows as possible. We were told it was first come first weve but perhaps it was to do w OpenTable or indeed they didn't see my note that this was for a special occasion. They had 30% of the table by the window and almost all turned around twice while we were there. In short was a big disappointment as they failed on various fronts.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2

Awesome restaurant in the wineries. A g ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Awesome restaurant in the wineries. A great lunch option if visiting Niagra Falls (50 minutes away) and/or Niagra on the Lake. Great indoors. Terrace dining special on a sunny / not windy day.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had a great three hour 7 course tasting ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Had a great three hour 7 course tasting meal with wonderful food and a great waiter. Have been before and will go again.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The indoor dining room is beautiful, but ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

The indoor dining room is beautiful, but since it was a beautiful day and the view of the vineyard so relaxing, we opted to sit outside. Our table was shaded by a tree, so we weren't in direct sunlight. The tree dropped a lot of leaves on our table and food, so coupled with the tiny ants/bugs that kept dropping into our wine and water, we got extra servings of fiber and protein that day.

Definitely spring for the tasting menu with the signature wine pairing - it's worth it. The lobster linguine was also the best I've ever had.

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Difficult attempt at gourmet offerings b ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Difficult attempt at gourmet offerings by limiting our party's ability to find anything we wanted to order. Presentation was immaculate but food very minimal and limited. This did not work well for our group. Expectations were not met considering price level. Was not a good experience for us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Wonderful food, incredible service, fine ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Wonderful food, incredible service, fine wines. Recommended for anyone.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

LOVED IT!!! Would recommend it to anyone ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

LOVED IT!!! Would recommend it to anyone. The food was delicious and the service outstanding. The 5 courses service with the wine pairing is a bit expensive, but worth every penny. I live 8 hours away, but I promise myself to go back and make a day of it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Jessica waited on Bob and I on 9/4/2016 ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Jessica waited on Bob and I on 9/4/2016 ! It was outstanding the view was perfect as well as the weather and the Pinot Gris was a nice addition to our Pacific Salmon with a bunch of added surprises from the Chef along the way as we had to be at the Shaw Festival for a show. Lobster Fettuccine with bacon was AMAZING! and the "slushy" ( Small ice cube then wine poured over it) was a nice little surprise as well! Highly recommend!

Tags: Healthy, Good for a Date, Scenic View, People Watching, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have returned to this restaurant seve ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

We have returned to this restaurant several times and have enjoyed a fine dining experience each time. The surprise tasting menu with the wine pairings is a treat. The service is friendly and attentive.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed the 7 course tasting menu. Both ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Enjoyed the 7 course tasting menu. Both the meal and wine was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The salmon was good on its oun, but came ...

 
 (Naples)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

The salmon was good on its oun, but came with a bed of rice that was not completely drained off and left a pool of water on the plate. I still think the resturant overall is a quality house. The wine tasting both general tasting and reserve tasting has dropped off. This was a big disappointment from 2 years ago. We went into dinner after the tasting room with a disappointment . The tasting bars were not kept clean, the wines were tannic, and all tasted the same with that tannic following. This use to be a good house, something has gone wrong in a major way.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Great food and service, wonderful place ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Great food and service, wonderful place for lunch or dinner.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It is a nice place to spend for brunch ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

It is a nice place to spend for brunch or lunch, with real good view. Staff is very friendly and nice.

However food is disappointing. The chicken I ordered was like boiled, just like the chicken in chicken noodle soup. My husband ordered sausage and lamb shrank, the lame was ok but the sausage was so salty. We had lunch at around 2pm, but was still having the salty taste at 6pm.

Wine was good though.

Tags: Casual, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

One of the most amazing meals my husband ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

One of the most amazing meals my husband and I ever had. We did the 5 course tasting menu with the signature wine pairings. The food was so fresh and plentiful. Service was professional yet incredibly comfortable. Only "dissapointment" was not being able to try to regular menu items we wanted. We will be back. Looking over the Vineyard was wonderful

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place for a occasion - delicious f ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Great place for a occasion - delicious food and wonderful ambiance. We sat outside and could have been in the South of France. Weather was wonderful.

Tags: Healthy, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very pricey, but you get what you pay fo ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Very pricey, but you get what you pay for. Excellent food and service. Would recommend for special occasions.

Tags: Private Room, Fireplace, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Noise level would have been much quieter ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Noise level would have been much quieter, we just happened to be seated next to a noisey group

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

On our anniversary we sat on the patio a ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

On our anniversary we sat on the patio and enjoyed the most fantastic 7 course wine paired tasting menu. Our server was professional friendly and made our special nite even better. Food was beautifully prepared and melded with the wines perfectly.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Had an Open Table gift card for $100. Re ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Had an Open Table gift card for $100. Restaurant refused to accept it. Said they were not part of the program or did not recognize program even though we made reservation through Open Table.

Tags: Historic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Exquisite dining! My first experience at ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Exquisite dining! My first experience at Peller Estates Sunday evening August 28th, was simply extraordinary. The dining area feels chic and ambient. Our waiter Matt was exceptional with his warmth, professional, friendly, charismatic and extremely knowledgable service. He is a definite asset to the Peller dining team. Once seated, the service was seamless and well choreographed. Matt explained the menu to us and we chose to enjoy the 7 course chef selection with 7 course wine pairings. Each plate that arrived was well plated, very visually appealing and absolutely decadent and delicious. Having each course paired with wine was pure perfection. I have always enjoyed wine, but never to this magnitude. I learned a great deal from Matt and felt that this experience was going to be something I would never forget. The chef is world class worthy of ******. My date and I enjoyed every single minute of our nearly 4 hour dining experience. This is the kind of place where you don't want to be in a rush, as each course needs time to enjoy and experience. Definitely a must for a special occasion. Fine dining at its absolute finest, with magnificent vineyards as your backdrop to panoramic beauty. Well worth the expense for this exquisite dining experience. We left all our dining selections up to the chef who always likes to use local and seasonal products. It was pure perfection. My compliments to the chef and to the entire team. Our thanks and gratitude to Matt who made our evening very memorable. We will definitely plan to come back next time we are in town from Montreal.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Service, good wine ,amazing foo ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Great Service, good wine ,amazing food , beautiful atmosphere

Tags: Private Room, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

It was our second time. Excellent servic ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

It was our second time. Excellent service. We took the tasting menu which was overall excellent and well paired with the wine tasting menu. Will definitely go back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Appetizers were good. Mains were not go ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Appetizers were good. Mains were not good. Salmon was undercooked, a heavy hand at salt tried to augment the chef's inability to add flavour when dietary restrictions (i.e. gluten and lactose intolerances) were included.

There were no restrictions on my main dish - duck. The duck was cooked properly, but very chewy - similar to eating a cheap steak. The portion size was very small, different than the last time we ate at Peller in 2015. The accompanying vegetables were uninspiring (fairly tasteless), but well presented. The potato was too starchy and dry.

We were too scared from the mains to order dessert. My wife liked the sparkling rose; I thought that the Pinot was too light, no complexity, finish was ok.

Location was beautiful, and service was good. Overall it was a break from our two boys, but compared to higher end Toronto dining it falls short - Toronto Life needs to update its rating.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.