About Peacock Restaurant & Lounge at The Inn at 202 Dover

202 East Dover Street
Easton, MD 21601
View Larger Map

We offer casual yet a fine dining experience. Selected as Top 11 Romantic Restaurant in America. AAA 4 Diamond. Our guests remark that dining at the Peacock is more like dining at a friend's home than a typical restaurant.

You will probably be welcomed by one of the owners, Shelby or Ron, offered an opportunity to start your experience with a cocktail or glass of wine in our lounge or, if you prefer, be seated upon arrival. Executive Chef Douglas Potts brings a classical flair to the freshest local ingredients since he was raised on the Eastern Shore.

The Peacock Restaurant & Lounge is located in the Inn at 202 Dover, selected by American Express, Travel + Leisure and Food & Wine as Best Inn in America and named by Maryland Life Magazine as the "Buckingham Palace of inns."

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Thursday - Monday: 5:30pm
Special dinner parties and luncheons upon request.

Cross Street:
Hanson

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 819-8007

Website:
http://www.innat202dover.com/

Catering:
We are happy to discuss your particular requirements and provide you with cuisine that will be quite memorable.

Parking Details:
There are no parking restrictions in and around the inn. There is ample convenient street parking.

Public Transit:
There is no public transportation in Easton.

Executive Chef:
Douglas Potts

Private Party Facilities:
Our conservatory is designed for small private parties, up to twelve diners. We are happy to prepare a sampling of cuisine or create a special menu for your private function. We have provided small parties for doctors, executive committee meetings, board of director meetings, strategic planning meetings, pharmaceutical companies, attorneys, rehearsal dinners, bridal teas, baby showers...just about anything you think of.

Private Party Contact:
Ron or Shelby: 410 819-8007x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, High Tea, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), View, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We have special wine dinners approximately 6 times a year. Our chef prepares a special 5 course dinner to compliment the selected wines and a representative from the vineyard or wine distributor talk about the wines and the pairings.

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Mon 5:30PM - 6:45PM 8:00PM - 9:00PM

Thu - Sat 5:30PM - 6:45PM 8:00PM - 9:00PM

Peacock Restaurant & Lounge at The Inn at 202 Dover Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

5.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.9

ambience

4.8

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Baltimore / Maryland
Best Food
Baltimore / Maryland
Best Service
Baltimore / Maryland
10 More
Best Ambiance
Baltimore / Maryland
Romantic
Baltimore / Maryland
Contemporary American
Baltimore / Maryland
Best Overall
Eastern Shore
Best Food
Eastern Shore
Best Service
Eastern Shore
Best Ambiance
Eastern Shore
Fit for Foodies
Eastern Shore
Romantic
Eastern Shore
Special Occasion
Eastern Shore
Best Restaurants in Easton ›

special occasion (14)
romantic (13)
fit for foodies (10)
See All
notable wine list (7)
neighborhood gem (5)
good for groups (2)
great for brunch (2)
scenic view (2)
great for lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
194 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We decided to visit the Eastern Shore fo ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We decided to visit the Eastern Shore for a day trip and chose Peacock Inn for dinner because of the reviews and the stress on local sourcing and fresh ingredients. After walking around the town visiting the galleries and shops my wife and I arrived at the Inn a little before opening just to get out of the weather. The structure and the furnishings are impressive. A beautiful job of restoration. We had a cold drink in one of the sitting rooms. The dining area is singularly welcoming and comfortable.

To start we shared the foie gras. The preparation and the accompanying condiments were the highlight of the meal. We each had a main course. The lump crab cakes were classic Maryland: delicious, generous and fresh. The rack of lamb was a riff on Mediterranean cuisine. The baba ganoush and spinach as a bed for the generous perfectly cooked double chops with olive oil and olives. We had the lemon tart. I must say the shortbread crust was exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

My wife and I frequent all of the better ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

My wife and I frequent all of the better restaurants in St. Michaels and Easton, and are admirers of many of them, particularly 208 Talbot. We've had three dinners over the last 18 months at the Peacock Restaurant at the Inn at 202 Dover, and have come away each time much more than just satisfied with both our food and the service -- and equally puzzled that there weren't more diners sharing that experience. Yesterday, we couldn't get into 208 at our preferred time, so went to the Peacock, and had yet another superb dinner, this time with smoked salmon, crispy soft shells and an airy white chocolate bread pudding (one that matched up with Valerie's many bread pudding variants at 208). The dining room is elegant but not overblown; the service is formal, but friendly. Although he was not working last night, in our two earlier dinners, Ron Mitchell was a more than genial host, who steered us to two excellent and fairly priced bottles of wine. The Peacock is a worthy destination for any evening out, and we hope that more can find time to take advantage of what it has to offer.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a lovely time, the food was delic ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We had a lovely time, the food was delicious and the service excellent. The Inn is lovely and we enjoyed learning about its history. We will definitely return.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Fabulous! It was the perfect venue to c ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Fabulous! It was the perfect venue to celebrate our special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have dined at Peacock for Easter brun ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

We have dined at Peacock for Easter brunch and for our anniversary. The food on both occasions was excellent, beautifully presented and delicious. Chef Potts came to our table personally to inquire about meal and to describe his preparation. Very personable.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic intimate dining, great food an ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Fantastic intimate dining, great food and nice wines. Courses are unique. Met the chef. I would go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Peacock Inn is the crown jewel of th ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

The Peacock Inn is the crown jewel of the Eastern Shore! The food is delicious, high quality and prepared by a phenomenal chef! The service is outstanding! A great wine selection compliments each dish! And, the Owner always makes it a point to meet and greet each guest! I drive 2 hours just to dine at this fabulous Inn on the Eastern Shore! Felecia

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our dinner was excellent as usual. The f ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Our dinner was excellent as usual. The flavor combinations were amazing. ,...the service was impeccable ....this restaurant should not be missed!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

First class fine dining

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Robert was out excellent waitperson. He was very professional, yet not stuffy. We had great cocktails, then appetizers. My wife had the smoked salmon and I splurged on the Fois Gras. Both were excellent. We both had the Halibut and I must say it was the best ever. Deserts of Creme Brulle' and Mini-Canolis were a great finish. A really beautiful place for a special Birthday dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful Revisit

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Recently we had dinner with friends at Peacock, after a long hiatus. We had a wonderful time made better by our server, Rob, who was so willing to ask questions of the chef pertaining to our special requests, and b y the owner , who told us about the food and how it was prepared, and made a wonerful wine selection for us.

I can't single out a specific dish as being better than another.....they were all excellent. The service was outstanding, and, although it is expensive, we felt that it was all worth it.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A gem in the great little town of Easton ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

A gem in the great little town of Easton. Robert was a willing and very pleasant waiter. The food was exceptional, especially the salmon. The tables are beautifully set, the sweet potato rolls unusual and delicious. We cannot wait to return! Great wine list and interesting bourbon selections.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never fails to impress

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

Beautiful space, outstanding food, impeccable service and charming owners. The best Easton has to offer.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our dinner experience at the Peacock Res ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

Our dinner experience at the Peacock Restaurant was phenomenal. The atmosphere was quiet and sophisticated. I had the filet and my husband had the butter poached lobster - both meals were out of this world! Our waiter Robert did a wonderful job of making sure our every need was anticipated and exceeded. We will definitely keep the Peacock Restaurant in our list of special occasion and 'just because' restaurants!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect Valentine's Spot

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

My husband and I celebrated Valentine's at the Peacock Restaurant. The atmosphere and the food were terrific. The owner has excellent taste in wines. I did the wine pairing with the preset three course dinner, and each wine selection was perfect and absolutely delicious. Before dinner, my husband and I enjoyed a cocktail in the living room, which was very relaxing (and the Cabernet that I was served was wonderful). This is a perfect spot for a quiet, intimate dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on December 29, 2015

Traditional menu, no experimentation here - but beautifully done. Best plated lobster dish I've had anywhere, including New England. Pleasant adult dining in a richly finished B&B, where conversation can be heard and enjoyed.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Thanksgiving supper

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on November 26, 2015

We really enjoyed our Thanksgiving supper . Everything just fell into place. The table was fabulous. It was set up perfectly. Our cocktail came from the specialty list, which was a perfect choice for the occasion. The staff was polite and knew exactly what to say. All of my questions were answered. Now for the food.. presentation was nice. It was a buffet style. Many items to choose from but not overly done. The turkey and pork loin were cooked to perfection. My starter, the seafood soup was ever so flavorful. The oyster stuffing was wonderful...had an extra serving of that. Desserts were tasty, as I had the key lime cheesecake. Overall we had a wonderful meal on Thanksgiving. We will be back again for many other occasions. Thank you for a delightful experience.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

What a gem!

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on November 7, 2015

This restaurant is a treasure. The oysters were the best we've ever had, the wine list and menu were impeccable. Best of all, in our opinion, the service was outstanding. This restaurant is the whole package and we'll be sure to go back...to have another Peacock cocktail, oysters, and ooohh those sweet potato rolls...I'm getting hungry just thinking about the meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Elegant food and service. This is a very ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on October 29, 2015

Elegant food and service. This is a very relaxing experience in Easton Md

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very good meal

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on October 24, 2015

The food was excellent. The menu is limited, but I don't mind that - quality not quantity. Not huge portions, but definitely not skimpy either - it was what I expected with fine dining in a smaller venue. Service was friendly and pretty good overall, but some things could have been improved (took a while to get the initial pour of water at the table, and even longer before drink order was taken - I only mention this because we were 1 of 2 tables at the time; then had to ask for refills on water). Would certainly return.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great Place with a few small glitches

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on October 16, 2015

The Peacock Restaurant is a gem in Easton, with great food and beautiful ambiance. It's a bit pricey, but worth it.

We had, however, a few quibbles.

1. Our server Robert told us that they were short a server for the evening. While that may be important to the Peacock, it's something that should be completely transparent to the guests.

2. We ordered a bottle of white wine (from a very limited wine list, by the way) and Robert did not ice the bottle after pouring the first glass. I had to ask for this service.

3. Robert must have been busy, because he did not return to pour the remaining wine....I had to take over that task.

Still in all, we'd go back to the Peacock for its glorious food.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2

Excellent food, presentation and service ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on October 11, 2015

Excellent food, presentation and service and ambience. Somewhat on the pricey side.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Superb evening

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 26, 2015

Although we were celebrating a benchmark birthday, and this was the perfect spot for that, I would go back to the Peacock for many reasons. The ambience is highlighted by the spacious and well-appointed dining room, allowing for intimate as well as medium-sized groups without diminishing the charm of the large windows overlooking greenery and the soft palette of the walls and draperies. The food is delicious and artfully served and service impeccable.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Just wonderful

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 21, 2015

This restaurant does things perfectly. At item on the menu is carefully prepared and presented and served. It is expensive, so we won't make a habit of going there, but when we want a treat, or want to treat a guest, we certainly will go.

Better to buy a bottle of wine than to get it by the glass; pre-dinner drinks are quite pricey. But the wine list has excellent values and a wide range of prices on very very good wines.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Chosen with care

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 26, 2015

Lovely setting. Limited menu but each item is perfectly prepared and served. We had the best beef we have ever eaten. Excellent wine list with many choices and prices for every budget. It is expensive but definitely worth it if you want a relaxed meal in a lovely setting and excellent service. We were there for about 2 hours and no one was hovering around trying to get us to leave. We will be back even though it means a two hour drive and an overnight stay. Tables far enough apart that you don't have to hear other people.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Elegant Dining

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 25, 2015

We have dined here often since it opened years ago. While always a fine first class restaurant,

it has reached the peak of perfection with creative delectable food, great wine choices, attentive

service and stunningly beautiful surroundings, inside and out. If you're looking for a superb

restaurant, this is the place to go. Trust me !

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Another memorable evening.

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 22, 2015

We dined at the Peacock Restaurant on a recent Friday night and were pleased to have other

diners there, enjoying their meals. We both had asparagus soup with an a small Napoleon of

crab meat and potatoes sitting in the middle. The soup and its presentation were superb. My guest

had an outstanding Filet Mignon and I had a super great large creation of poached Halibut, whipped

potatoes, and sugar snap peas with mushrooms.. We enjoyed a tasty bottle of Alexander Valley

Chardonnay wine. For dessert we shared a wonderful bread pudding. We have been regulars at

the Peacock Restaurant since it opened. It continues to get better and better because of a top rated

chef and a very efficient staff and dedicated ownership. I highly suggest you give yourself a treat and

dine at this top quality restaurant. It is truly a Neighborhood Gem.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A great dinner in very comfortable environment

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on April 6, 2015

From the moment we arrived and were greeted by the owner, our evening was most enjoyable. The wait staff were always available and friendly and helpful with our drink and dinner selections. Our dinner was among the best in my 5 plus years of dining monthly in the Easton area. We are looking forward to returning.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Superb fine dining!

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on March 3, 2015

Absolutely amazing! Food is phenomenal and wait staff are kind, friendly, and very knowledgeable. A touch on the expensive side but worth every penny.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always Consistently High Quality Service and Food

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on February 14, 2015

My wife and I spent another Valentine's Day experiencing dining that can only be delivered by Peacock. Ron and Shelby are always such gracious and kind hosts that believe in the personal touch when it comes to greeting and making their guests feel welcome and comfortable. The food was excellent as always and the service rivals that of any world class establishment. An overall EXCELLENT experience!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

"Disappointing"

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on December 25, 2014

After a fabulous Thanksgiving dinner at the Peacock we were eager to return for Christmas. However, we were sorely disappointed as staff was short and we had to ask for everything. The buffet offering was not as well coordinated, and even the simple basics missed the mark. It may have been a result of the last seating, but similar to Thanksgiving hour.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2

Anniversary dinner

 
 (NW Florida)
·Dined on December 21, 2014

Excellent and unique menu items to make a special event even more fun. Wonderful hosts/owners. Talented kitchen and presentation. Wil come again.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Beyond Just for Speacial Occasions

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on November 27, 2014

The food and ambiance makes the Peacock Restaurant for any occasion a most pleasurable and rewarding dining experience ....both elegant and friendly.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Very good, if slightly non traditional t ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on November 11, 2014

Very good, if slightly non traditional take on oysters bienville. Could have been hotter. Well prepared duck breast, properly rare, atop root veggies. Creme brûlée light, but not quite set. Topping too dense.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Wonderful dinner, service and like being ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on November 2, 2014

Wonderful dinner, service and like being among friends when you visit and

dine at the Peacock, and Ron's breakfast the net morning was perfect.

We will return and can highly recommend this Inn at 202 Dover, and

the Peacock Restaurant for a perfect weekend. We had the Lobster

dinner and the Beef tenderloin to make a great surf and turf...yummy.

GREAT get away weekend for my wife's 65th birthday.

Thank you Ron and Shelby.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Special dinner out in Easton

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on October 24, 2014

The building is beautiful and the restaurant is beautifully decorated. The atmosphere was romantic. The service is slow which is ok for a relaxed dinner. The food is good but not spectacular.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

I usually let Ron,the owner order both m ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on October 18, 2014

I usually let Ron,the owner order both my drinks and food as I have never had a bad meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Superlatively superlative

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on October 17, 2014

It was a privilege to dine at the Peacock. Best duck we ever had (including in France); the Elk Steak was cooked to perfection, and presentation on all dishes was flawless. We seldom eat dessert, but the white chocolate sweet potato bread pudding was delicious in balancing manhy great flavors. The setting of the Inn alone is worth the visit, and possibly worth the entire trip out to Easton. Plus, the owners and staff made the evening truly memorable. Great place, great food, and great people. Deserving of a Michelin Star (or two). Sensational!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food with great service

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on October 17, 2014

The menu was limited in October 2014 (or perhaps year round), but the entrees were well done and very mouth watering and dazzled your taste buds. As always, for me, I just wish the portion sizes were larger. The French style is well done food disguised so you don't know what's in it at times and small portions. All those small ingredients/sizes added to the entree on the menu and done as as a confit or pomme, when you get your dish you need to have someone identify each portion. all excellent. Highly recommended it over all other restaurants in Easton.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Great meal and service

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on October 12, 2014

We went for a special occasion and were not disappointed. Menu features local food with seafood emphasis. Very nice cheeseboard appetizer which is enough for four persons. Elk was excellent, as was the steak. Salmon with crab (lots of lump) was outstanding, but the star of the evening was the Maine lobster. Creme brulee for desert was very good. It was a very quiet evening with only three tables, and the chef and waiters were very attentive. Also enjoyed an excellent bottle of sangiovese with dinner. Highly recommend Peacock Lounge for a outstanding varied menu that is well prepared and presented.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 6, 2014

My husband and I have been here several times and we have always had a perfect meal served by a wonderful staff.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.