Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi

About Peacock Garden Cafe

Sometime about 1870, the Peacock family looked for the perfect spot to plant their roots. They discovered it in what came to be the village of Coconut Grove. Now, nearly 130 years later, we're planting a verdant tropical garden on this very ground. The Peacock Garden Cafe is our vision of the quintessential Coconut Grove restaurant. We're perfect for a delicious meal, a quick snack or maybe just an aperitif or glass of Proseco in our beautiful garden. And why not? Our chefs craft only the best and freshest ingredients, adjacent parking is abundant and inexpensive, and our environment is lush and lovely.

The Peacock family thought so.
And you will too.

2889 Mc Farlane Rd
Coconut Grove, FL 33133
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch - Monday to Friday: 11:30am to 5:00pm
Brunch - Saturday & Sunday: Starting at 9:00am
Dinner - Monday to Thursday: 5:00pm to 10:00pm
Dinner - Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm to 11:00pm
Dinner - Sunday - 5:00pm to 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 774-3332

Website:
http://www.peacockspot.com/

Parking Details:
Right next door there is a Garage open 24 hrs for $1.50 an hour.
There"s also valet parking at the Sonesta Hotel.

Executive Chef:
Oscar del Rivero

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Special Events & Promotions:
Social Grilling at The Garden Wednesdays > 6PM-9PM $28/ person > All you can eat from our self-serve garden grill $38/person also includes two drinks or cocktails of your choice!
Jazz on the Green Fridays and Saturdays 7-10:30pm - Take a break from the Miami scene and experience a live jazz band playing on our beautiful open garden.

Specials

Live Jazz In The Garden

Fridays and Saturdays from 7:30 PM - 10:30 PM

Lunch Specials

Fridays, Mondays, Tuesdays, Wednesdays and Thursdays from 11:30 AM - 3:00 PM

The Wine Club - 50% Off All Wines

Mondays and Tuesdays from 11:30 AM - 11:00 PM

Happy Hour

Fridays, Mondays, Tuesdays, Wednesdays and Thursdays from 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Specials

Live Jazz In The Garden

Fridays and Saturdays from 7:30 PM - 10:30 PM

Details

Enjoy live jazz in the garden while you dine. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Dec 23, 2016 - Apr 23, 2017 on Fridays and Saturdays from 7:30 PM - 10:30 PM.

Lunch Specials

Fridays, Mondays, Tuesdays, Wednesdays and Thursdays from 11:30 AM - 3:00 PM

Details

Select menu items at a special price ($14) during lunch hours. Excludes Tax and Tip. Offer not valid on holidays. Special valid Dec 23, 2016 - Apr 23, 2017 on Fridays, Mondays, Tuesdays, Wednesdays and Thursdays from 11:30 AM - 3:00 PM.

The Wine Club - 50% Off All Wines

Mondays and Tuesdays from 11:30 AM - 11:00 PM

Details

The Wine Club - 50% Off All Wines. Excludes Tax and Tip. Includes Sangria. Special valid Dec 23, 2016 - Apr 23, 2017 on Mondays and Tuesdays from 11:30 AM - 11:00 PM.

Happy Hour

Fridays, Mondays, Tuesdays, Wednesdays and Thursdays from 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Details

Half-Off Well Drinks, Specialty Cocktails, Wine and Beer. $3 Appetizer Menu. Excludes Tax and Tip. Offer Valid at the Bar Area Only. Special valid Dec 23, 2016 - Apr 23, 2017 on Fridays, Mondays, Tuesdays, Wednesdays and Thursdays from 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM.

Private Dining

Peacock Garden Café offers a dining experience that captures the essence of Coconut Grove. The restaurant’s whimsical patio with its surrounding garden, charming bar & lounge space and beautiful & historical Dinner Key Dining Room make Peacock Garden Café the ideal location for events and parties.

Peacock Garden Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (31)
Good for a Date (19)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
See All
Romantic (13)
Special Occasion (13)
Live Music (12)
Casual (11)
Cozy (9)
Historic (9)
Fun (8)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Authentic (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Healthy (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Business Meals (4)
Scenic View (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Private Room (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Happy Hour (2)
People Watching (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Vegan (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Organic (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
407 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 2 days ago

Live jazz was fun, great service and food! Twinkling lights are beautiful!

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 3 days ago

Our party of 6 received an indoor table as requested on a busy Saturday night. The French onion soup was delicious and the service was outstanding. Everyone enjoyed their entrees, particularly the Seafood risotto and burger (although I thought my mahi sandwich was a bit bland). But overall, we all had a wonderful time.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Live Music, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined 4 days ago

This was our second time at the Peacock Cafe after a day at the Miami open. The setting is very pretty in the garden with lights. Fish/seafood was good - steaks however overdone when requested medium rare. Mix-up with salads as came with the meal rather than beforehand which was a shame. Staff were very nice though and helped us with a route back to our hotel to avoid most of the rain!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Peacock Cafe is one of our favorite places. Even though they were very busy, we were seated right away with our reservation. They have a jazz trio on the weekend,very enjoyable,perfect background music to add to the ambiance. Usually I rate their food 4 stars but the mussels were off. Our waiter immediately took them back to the kitchen and adjusted our bill.
They have a great happy hour,m-w, with several yummy appetizers and half priced drinks.
Overall we love Peacock Cafe, their food and their incredible staff!

Tags: Historic, Bar Seating, Authentic, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Always good, always tasty, always friendly, always the best terrace in the Grove.
The manager will drop by to truly check in if everything is all right. In my case, everything was all right. A great destination. By the way, the municipal parking immediate to the restaurant is a bonus!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Great service!! Wonderful ambience, would come again!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 13, 2017

I found the waitstaff to be attentive, the ambiance sweet and the food delicious. We both had the lobster salad. It is delicious. I had the Corvino and my husband had the filet mignonette. Both delicious. A fine dining experience.

Tags: Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, People Watching, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We absolutely love this restaurant. Beautiful garden seating outside; great food. Can't beat it. It's a favorite every time we're in town!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on March 4, 2017

The setting is wonderful: a tropical garden café in beautiful Coconut Grove. Alas, that was as good as it got. Even the attentive staff and live jazz band could not make up for the boring menu and equally bland food preparation. The seafood risotto was overcooked, sticky and flavorless. The blue crab ravioli was fishy testing; not the freshest. The best items we had were the burgers which were just OK. Overall, a banal and overpriced experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Food is always good here and in a beautiful outside garden. Friday and Saturday night they have jazz-3 piece ensemble. A real treat! I love the pear and blue cheese dinner salad and the seafood risotto. If you can share dessert then the guava bread pudding or key lime pie are excellent choices. Good wines by the glass too.

Tags: Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Always a pleasure to dine here; service, food, eclectic menu and great covered outdoor patio is cool even in the heat. Always a good meal!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Beautiful setting in Coconut Grove. Food and service very good.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Great setting for our out of town guests. Friday night jazz band was good but difficult to hold a conversation. Service was off and on! Long wait for a glass of wine - was told it was at the bar, was I supposed to go and get it myself? Food was good.

Tags: Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Absolutely amazing, the atmosphere is so magical and everyone is so kind who works there! The food was delicious and the live band was the icing on the cake!!! We will definitely be back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 4, 2017

My wife and I recently relocated to Coconut Grove and we heard great things about Peacock Garden Cafe. Everything we heard was spot-on, we had a great dining experience. The staff was attentive, friendly and professional. The drinks were generous and mixed perfectly. And the food...was just outstanding. PLenty to choose from, excellent seafood and meat choices. Everything was perfect and a great value. This is outdoor dining at perfection. Can't wait to go back

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Live Music, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Love the ambience, really good food. The service was very good. Definitely we will come back.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 29, 2017

I had the best steak I have had in years! It was a skirt steak but so cooked to perfection I favor this to the last filet mignon I had . My son had a cowboy steak - also excellent. I had a side of asparagus which was wonderful. No skinny veggies here - the asparagus were big and beautiful and perfectly cooked. The cocktails - hibiscus and red apple martini were great. Service was attentive and friendly. HIGHLY recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Great ambience. Jazz band on the patio. Relaxed atmosphere. Food was okay. Could have been better. More flavor needed.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on January 20, 2017

On our recent stay to Coconut Grove we chose this convenient location to eat everyday. I must say each day was a perfect dining experience. Whether you choose the beautiful courtyard outside or the charming Old Florida in room dining space you will love this place. Food, service, and value truly exceptional!

Tags: Modern Decor, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Wonderful, attentive waitstaff... Fresh, well prepared food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 10, 2017

This restaurant was fabulous! Perfect date night spot! Juan, our server, made us feel so special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The covino was excellent, the pasta special with filet mignon cubes & mushrooms was delicious. The quava Martini was tasty. Great, service, nice low key live music on the patio.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Vegan, Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Service was significantly better than when we ate here a year ago.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We tried numerous items on the menu. Everything was excellent as was the service. There was also a live jazz band. All in all it was a very enjoyable evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Very personable owner, Lalo. On numerous occasions he stopped by to make certain all was well. Good chef in the kitchen and decent wine list. Outdoor dining in the garden makes the restaurant a special place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 26, 2016

We returned to Peacock Cafe for dinner because of a previous lovely lunch there. The garden setting with its mismatched 50's wrought iron, its wicker, and its casual tropical ambiance was still lovely after dark. Unfortunately, the dinner menu didn't resemble the menu I had seen on the internet. I had checked before reserving because we were entertaining a guest on a restrictive low-carb diet and wanted to make sure there was a good selection of dishes without sweet or starchy sauces. As starters, we shared two orders of mussels with two differently flavored sauces: saffron cream (very good) and a spicy Spanish chorizo-tomato sauce which was less successful with the mussels . My husband and I ordered the burgers which were flavorful but cooked medium rather than the requested medium rare. Our friend ordered a local mild fish, corvina, cooked in a tomato caper sauce which she said was excessively salty. (She scraped off the sauce.) As sides we ordered sweet potato fries (very good) and creamed spinach, first checking to make sure the spinach was prepared without flour. A tiny portion, spare on the spinach, and generous with a goo-y yellowish sauce which in no way resembled cream. No one touched it after a first taste. I had a glass of rose which was ok, and my husband had a drink similar to a mojito but with another name which he said was ok. We had no dessert.

We will possibly return, but for lunch, when sunshine filtering through the trees in the garden makes it a delightful spot to enjoy a light meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

 
 (London)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Wonderful location and ambiance outdoors. Highly attentive, polite and great service! Lots of good choices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Very good meal and experience at Peacock Garden Cafe. Enjoyed our food and the atmosphere is so peaceful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on December 17, 2016

The dining area is beatiful. The owner is delightful and very interested in his patrons.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 30, 2016

The place is simply amazing, the environment and cosine are unspeakable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 28, 2016

They didn't accept our reservation through Opentime.
It has not kids menu.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 27, 2016

lovely atmosphere and superb service. Food was inventive and delicious.

Tags: Tapas, Comfort Food, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 8, 2016

I had a great experience overall. The ambiance is quiet and great for dinner with a client, date or small intimate group of friends. The service was great, the manager was present and ensured that everything was running properly. The lychee martini's are great. The only issue I had was when I ordered the Jumbo Prawn Pappardelle Rigate, I received the West African Giant Shrimp. This being my first time and not knowing the restaurant, I ate what was delivered to me. When I saw the bill, I noticed the mistake. The price difference is double, so be very clear about what you are requesting as the server clearly didn't understand what I was asking for. I would have said something if I wasn't with a client. I will say the meal was good, but a little strong on the seafood aroma, but is desirable for many, just not me.
Besides that, I would recommend coming here for sure.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Had a light dinner and felt satisfied afterward because the food and service were very good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 6, 2016

requested and waited for outside table, seated at indoor table, complained there were outside tables available, finally moved outside. waiter was friendly but display of dishes unattractive.
would not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We had reservations for 6 people for 8:00. We arrived at 8:00 and were told it would be a 30 minute wait. I asked why? I was told that the tables were given to other parties. We were seated at about 8:55.

Tags: Live Music, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Our group of 6 included family from the north who enjoyed the outdoor patio. The food was very good and prepared as requested. This is a historic property in a great location; easy parking next door in garage.
It's not gourmet or nouvelle or complicated -- just a nice, varied menu with something everyone can enjoy, including the vegetarian in the group.

Tags: Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Food was very good, tasty. Service was attentive. Outdoor dining in the garden was enjoyable. Would definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on October 7, 2016

One of our favorite restaurants, has great food in a lovely garden setting and celebrates Coconut Grove's unique history.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Made reservations for group of 12 two day prior. was Seated outside. It was raining(drizzle). seat cushions damp. We were taken to banquet area in back of diner near restrooms. Our server seemed irritated and annoyed which took our experience down a notch. The food was good. The restaurant manager was very nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.