Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi

About Peacock Garden Cafe

Sometime about 1870, the Peacock family looked for the perfect spot to plant their roots. They discovered it in what came to be the village of Coconut Grove. Now, nearly 130 years later, we're planting a verdant tropical garden on this very ground. The Peacock Garden Cafe is our vision of the quintessential Coconut Grove restaurant. We're perfect for a delicious meal, a quick snack or maybe just an aperitif or glass of Proseco in our beautiful garden. And why not? Our chefs craft only the best and freshest ingredients, adjacent parking is abundant and inexpensive, and our environment is lush and lovely.

The Peacock family thought so.
And you will too.

2889 Mc Farlane Rd
Coconut Grove, FL 33133
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch - Monday to Friday: 11:30am to 5:00pm
Brunch - Saturday & Sunday: Starting at 9:00am
Dinner - Monday to Thursday: 5:00pm to 10:00pm
Dinner - Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm to 11:00pm
Dinner - Sunday - 5:00pm to 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 774-3332

Website:
http://www.peacockspot.com/

Parking Details:
Right next door there is a Garage open 24 hrs for $1.50 an hour.
There"s also valet parking at the Sonesta Hotel.

Executive Chef:
Oscar del Rivero

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Special Events & Promotions:
Social Grilling at The Garden Wednesdays > 6PM-9PM $28/ person > All you can eat from our self-serve garden grill $38/person also includes two drinks or cocktails of your choice!
Jazz on the Green Fridays and Saturdays 7-10:30pm - Take a break from the Miami scene and experience a live jazz band playing on our beautiful open garden.

Specials

Happy Hour

Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays and Mondays from 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM

The Wine Club - 50% Off All Wines

Tuesdays from 11:30 AM - 11:00 PM

Lunch Specials

Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays and Mondays from 11:30 AM - 3:00 PM

Live Jazz In The Garden

Fridays and Saturdays from 7:30 PM - 10:30 PM

Specials

Happy Hour

Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays and Mondays from 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Details

Half-Off Well Drinks, Specialty Cocktails, Wine and Beer. $3 Appetizer Menu. Excludes Tax and Tip. Offer Valid at the Bar Area Only. Special valid Apr 25, 2017 - Aug 25, 2017 on Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays and Mondays from 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM.

The Wine Club - 50% Off All Wines

Tuesdays from 11:30 AM - 11:00 PM

Details

The Wine Club - 50% Off All Wines. Excludes Tax and Tip. Includes Sangria. Special valid Apr 25, 2017 - Aug 25, 2017 on Tuesdays from 11:30 AM - 11:00 PM.

Lunch Specials

Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays and Mondays from 11:30 AM - 3:00 PM

Details

Select menu items at a special price ($14) during lunch hours. Excludes Tax and Tip. Offer not valid on holidays. Special valid Apr 25, 2017 - Aug 25, 2017 on Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays and Mondays from 11:30 AM - 3:00 PM.

Live Jazz In The Garden

Fridays and Saturdays from 7:30 PM - 10:30 PM

Details

Enjoy live jazz in the garden while you dine. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Apr 25, 2017 - Aug 25, 2017 on Fridays and Saturdays from 7:30 PM - 10:30 PM.

Private Dining

Peacock Garden Café offers a dining experience that captures the essence of Coconut Grove. The restaurant’s whimsical patio with its surrounding garden, charming bar & lounge space and beautiful & historical Dinner Key Dining Room make Peacock Garden Café the ideal location for events and parties.

Peacock Garden Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (20)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Good for a Date (16)
See All
Special Occasion (14)
Live Music (13)
Cozy (12)
Romantic (12)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Casual (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Great for Brunch (8)
Fun (7)
Authentic (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Healthy (7)
Scenic View (6)
Business Meals (6)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Seasonal (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Comfort Food (2)
People Watching (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Organic (2)
Family Style (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Historic (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Vegan (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great Beer (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Sort By:
S
440 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Great time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on July 10, 2017

The waiter tried his best, but the menu is very limited and one of the meals ordered had to be returned to the kitchen. The wait for drinks was long and though we asked for ice, there was none forthcoming. Hence we went to the bar to get some. They did comp the desserts as the meals were very disappointing. Too bad that it has regressed, rather than progressed as the area is loaded with restaurants. The manager did try, but when the food and staff are mediocre, no matter how hard one tries it just does not happen.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 9, 2017

I came here for my birthday and it was a nice experience. Very helpful and polite staff and the food was wonderful. The atmosphere was very relaxing. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Great food, amazing service. BYOB stile which makes the value for money pretty good (they charge 20$ per bottle). Good music, but a bit too loud if you're seating outside.

Tags: Authentic, Live Music, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Celebrated our anniversary and our experience was Amazing. Our waiter was Wonderful. The service was excellent, the timing of food was great and our waiter gifted us 2 expresso martinis. I highly recommend this place. Try the guava and cream cheese bread pudding, it's superb!!

Tags: Scenic View, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 1, 2017

We were looking for a nice place for an early dinner-something that was reminiscent of the "good old days" of Coconut Grove. The reviews online were very good, so we decided to give this restaurant a shot. We were not disappointed. The food was delicious and at about 7, a very good jazz band started playing outside on the patio. The atmosphere outside was very nice. There is also space inside for weddings or special events. Everything that we ordered was delicious. We will definitely be back again. All of the staff was very attentive. The waiter came to our table several times asking if we needed anything and the manager was continuously walking through the restaurant making sure that everyone was okay. That is a huge plus in my book. Overall, definitely worth the drive from Coral Springs. This was the first visit of many more to come. Thank you!

Tags: Healthy, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Great service. The food was very good-we ordered a wide variety and it was all very nice. Great live music. Beware of mosquitoes outside. But they are kind enough to offer bug repellent.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Great food, service, and atmosphere. I highly recommend the Peacock Garden.

Tags: Good for Groups, People Watching, Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Healthy, Romantic, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Wonderful dinner with friends. The live jazz was excellent. Great food. Only negative was that the waiter would disappear.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 12, 2017

This was my first visit to Peacock Garden Cafe. We sat outside in a lovely patio area although there were mosquitoes but we asked for spray that helped. We felt the lunch menu was limited and not a good value. I had this crab cakes that were very small and mediocre. My husband asked for blackened dolphin but it seemed undercooked without seasoning. Our server was polite but not friendly. If I were in the area again I might give it another try as the patio is lovely but buggy

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 10, 2017

This is our second time at the Peacock Café. It's always wonderful, the food is good though the menu is somewhat limited. The food came quickly and it was very good. Pedro is wonderful and the ambience is great, with convenient garage parking right next door.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 7, 2017

The Peacock Cafe was absolutely lovely in every way. The historic ambiance was unique.
Its on the repeat list!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Fun, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Everything was spot on. Service was excellent, attentive and prompt. Food was spectacular, fresh and flavorful.

Tags: Seasonal, Romantic, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Afternoon Tea, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Great for Brunch, Organic, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Scenic View, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Vegan, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Paleo Friendly, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Very nice ambiance, live music and lovely garden surrounding you, as you eat delicious food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Excellent value, great food, nice garden dining. We had friends visiting from Maryland and we wanted to take them to a special place in Coconut Grove and Peacock Garden Cafe did not disappoint. We felt warmly welcomed, we were not rushed, the service was perfect and the food was exceptional - just as we experienced on our prior visits. You have to love the consistency. Go there, it's the best spot in Coconut Grove!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Fun, Local Ingredients, Live Music, Cozy, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 17, 2017

service was very good-waiter was there when needed and made good recommendations
meal very good.brussel sprouts undercooked and needed to be cut in half and baked

very enjoyable evening

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2017

They didn't have the open table reservation. Then showed a table by the door. Not enough menus. Then food took 40!minutes and was cold. Complained to waiter who paid no attention to us. Won't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Very nice people who need to do a renovation as soon as possible. We told the manager of the table was unstable, he said "oh yeah I knew that, that's the only one like that."Music was ridiculously loud for dining venue.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Amazing service including special young people. Super delicious food. Please keep going like this. Thanks a lot for this wonderful night.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Food was outstanding onlybthe mussels was a disaster, sea food risoto.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Always a wonderful experience. Going on a Jazz evening would be ideal.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, People Watching, Business Meals, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 21, 2017

What a fabulous find!! The food, service and ambiance were superb. This restaurant is a definite "MUST" for anyone in the area.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 17, 2017

We found Peacock Garden Cafe on a recent visit to Coconut Grove and were very pleased with all aspects of the restaurant. They do not take reservations for Sunday Brunch, which makes planning for a family event a bit dicey, but the staff did a great job of accommodating us.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Birthday dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on April 15, 2017

What a gem! All these years living in Miami and this was our first time. Shame on us! Food, service and ambiance was great. Will definitely return and recommend to anyone looking for a great restaurant in the Grove!

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Coffee, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on April 14, 2017

We have been here on a few occasions. The night we went in, we sat at the bar. We wanted to order a bottle of wine, which they ended up not having in stock. It felt like the bartender did not know what he was doing, or what was even on the menu. Maybe he was new?

We then placed our order...as we weren't too hungry, and in no rush. We ordered a salad for my husband and some fries to start, then a rib eye to share. We had to show the bartender what/where it was on the menu, we were ordering. When the food came out, everything was brought out at once and not like we requested.

My husband had asked to speak to a manager, but no one ever came.

In short, the last couple of times we have been here, we have been underwhelmed. In what could have been a great evening, was cut short by terrible guest service. Don't think we will be back...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 13, 2017

This was a new find for me in Coconut Grove and I was delighted to stumble upon it. Huge, formal dining room inside which would be lovely for a wedding / anniversary party; shady outdoor area where you can eat under the tree canopy and an 'old Florida-style' bar area. Interesting photographs with lots of local history and nice mix of 'classic' and new on menu. I would definitely recommend, my only comment would be that the service was a little bit slow in getting us seated and bringing drinks out

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Afternoon Coffee, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Healthy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Food is generally good. On this occasion, the entree was overlooked even though we asked for medium rare. Took a few tries to get it right although everyone was very nice about it. Also the entree came before we were finished with the appetizer. Timing was really off

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on April 8, 2017

love this restaurant and the ambiance...perfect evening...

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 29, 2017

enjoyed my dinner the lobster tortellini was very good and the outdoor dining are relaxing and comfortable

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 26, 2017

The atmosphere was amazing, the food was incredible, but our service from Pedro was off the charts!! If you're lucky to have Pedro, your experience will be the best ever!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Live jazz was fun, great service and food! Twinkling lights are beautiful!

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Our party of 6 received an indoor table as requested on a busy Saturday night. The French onion soup was delicious and the service was outstanding. Everyone enjoyed their entrees, particularly the Seafood risotto and burger (although I thought my mahi sandwich was a bit bland). But overall, we all had a wonderful time.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Live Music, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 23, 2017

This was our second time at the Peacock Cafe after a day at the Miami open. The setting is very pretty in the garden with lights. Fish/seafood was good - steaks however overdone when requested medium rare. Mix-up with salads as came with the meal rather than beforehand which was a shame. Staff were very nice though and helped us with a route back to our hotel to avoid most of the rain!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Peacock Cafe is one of our favorite places. Even though they were very busy, we were seated right away with our reservation. They have a jazz trio on the weekend,very enjoyable,perfect background music to add to the ambiance. Usually I rate their food 4 stars but the mussels were off. Our waiter immediately took them back to the kitchen and adjusted our bill.
They have a great happy hour,m-w, with several yummy appetizers and half priced drinks.
Overall we love Peacock Cafe, their food and their incredible staff!

Tags: Bar Seating, Authentic, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Always good, always tasty, always friendly, always the best terrace in the Grove.
The manager will drop by to truly check in if everything is all right. In my case, everything was all right. A great destination. By the way, the municipal parking immediate to the restaurant is a bonus!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Great service!! Wonderful ambience, would come again!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 13, 2017

I found the waitstaff to be attentive, the ambiance sweet and the food delicious. We both had the lobster salad. It is delicious. I had the Corvino and my husband had the filet mignonette. Both delicious. A fine dining experience.

Tags: Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, People Watching, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We absolutely love this restaurant. Beautiful garden seating outside; great food. Can't beat it. It's a favorite every time we're in town!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on March 3, 2017

The setting is wonderful: a tropical garden café in beautiful Coconut Grove. Alas, that was as good as it got. Even the attentive staff and live jazz band could not make up for the boring menu and equally bland food preparation. The seafood risotto was overcooked, sticky and flavorless. The blue crab ravioli was fishy testing; not the freshest. The best items we had were the burgers which were just OK. Overall, a banal and overpriced experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.