About Peacock Garden Cafe

2889 Mc Farlane Rd
Coconut Grove, FL 33133
View Larger Map

Sometime about 1870, the Peacock family looked for the perfect spot to plant their roots. They discovered it in what came to be the village of Coconut Grove. Now, nearly 130 years later, we're planting a verdant tropical garden on this very ground. The Peacock Garden Cafe is our vision of the quintessential Coconut Grove restaurant. We're perfect for a delicious meal, a quick snack or maybe just an aperitif or glass of Proseco in our beautiful garden. And why not? Our chefs craft only the best and freshest ingredients, adjacent parking is abundant and inexpensive, and our environment is lush and lovely.

The Peacock family thought so.
And you will too.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch - Monday to Friday: 11:30am to 5:00pm
Brunch - Saturday & Sunday: Starting at 9:00am
Dinner - Monday to Thursday: 5:00pm to 10:00pm
Dinner - Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm to 11:00pm
Dinner - Sunday - 5:00pm to 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 774-3332

Website:
http://www.peacockspot.com/

Parking Details:
Right next door there is a Garage open 24 hrs for $1.50 an hour.
There"s also valet parking at the Sonesta Hotel.

Executive Chef:
Oscar del Rivero

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Special Events & Promotions:
Social Grilling at The Garden Wednesdays > 6PM-9PM $28/ person > All you can eat from our self-serve garden grill $38/person also includes two drinks or cocktails of your choice!
Jazz on the Green Fridays and Saturdays 7-10:30pm - Take a break from the Miami scene and experience a live jazz band playing on our beautiful open garden.

Restaurant Photos

Peacock Garden Cafe
Turkey & Provolone French Toast
French Toast With Berry Compote
Fried Seafood Appetizer
Eggs Benedict with Smoked Salmon
Basil Infused Lemonade
Fresh Lemonade
Ham And Cheese Omelette
Bread Pudding
Garden Style Eggs Benedict
Fish Casserole
Waffle
Sunny Side Up Flatbread
Pomodoro
Peruvian Ceviche
Pesto Flatbread With Smoked Salmon
Cheese And Meat Appetizer
mac n cheese
Cheesecake With Blueberries
Grilled Yellowfin Tuna With A Walnut, Pear And Dried Cherry Salad Drizzled In Balsamic Vinegrette
Bistro Burger
Waffles
Smoked Salmon Eggs Benedict
Yellowfin Tuna Nicoise Salad
Monte Cristo

Promotions

The Wine Club - 50% Off All Wines

Mondays and Tuesdays from 11:30 AM - 11:00 PM

Happy Hour

Mondays - Fridays from 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Lunch Specials

Mondays - Fridays from 11:30 AM - 3:00 PM

Live Jazz In The Garden

Fridays and Saturdays from 7:30 PM - 10:30 PM

Social Grilling at The Garden

Wednesdays from 6:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Promotions

The Wine Club - 50% Off All Wines

Mondays and Tuesdays from 11:30 AM - 11:00 PM

Details

The Wine Club - 50% Off All Wines. Excludes Tax and Tip. Includes Sangria. Special valid Aug 22, 2016 - Dec 22, 2016 on Mondays and Tuesdays from 11:30 AM - 11:00 PM.

Happy Hour

Mondays - Fridays from 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Details

Half-Off Well Drinks, Specialty Cocktails, Wine and Beer. $3 Appetizer Menu. Excludes Tax and Tip. Offer Valid at the Bar Area Only. Special valid Aug 22, 2016 - Dec 22, 2016 on Mondays - Fridays from 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM.

Lunch Specials

Mondays - Fridays from 11:30 AM - 3:00 PM

Details

Select menu items at a special price ($13) during lunch hours. Excludes Tax and Tip. Offer not valid on holidays. Special valid Aug 22, 2016 - Dec 22, 2016 on Mondays - Fridays from 11:30 AM - 3:00 PM.

Live Jazz In The Garden

Fridays and Saturdays from 7:30 PM - 10:30 PM

Details

Enjoy live jazz in the garden while you dine. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Aug 22, 2016 - Dec 22, 2016 on Fridays and Saturdays from 7:30 PM - 10:30 PM.

Social Grilling at The Garden

Wednesdays from 6:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Details

Enjoy our outdoor garden grill in our beautiful garden. $28/person - all-you-care-to-eat from our self-serve garden grill. $38/person - also includes two drinks or cocktails of your choice. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Aug 22, 2016 - Dec 22, 2016 on Wednesdays from 6:00 PM - 9:00 PM.

Private Dining

Peacock Garden Café offers a dining experience that captures the essence of Coconut Grove. The restaurant’s whimsical patio with its surrounding garden, charming bar & lounge space and beautiful & historical Dinner Key Dining Room make Peacock Garden Café the ideal location for events and parties.

Peacock Garden Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (20)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Special Occasion (13)
See All
Romantic (13)
Great for Lunch (10)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Great for Brunch (9)
Good for Groups (6)
Kid-friendly (4)
Notable Wine List (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Scenic View (2)
Hot Spot (1)
Sort By:
Newest
350 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was great and the service.

 
 (Miami)
·Dined 4 days ago

The food was great and the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Took my wife to Peacock Garden Café to c ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined 7 days ago

Took my wife to Peacock Garden Café to celebrate our anniversary. It was a Tuesday, not too busy but at least half the tables inside were full, but atmosphere was still quiet and intimate. Servers were attentive and charming without being intrusive. Drinks and food came out promptly and both the Miami Spice menu and dishes a la carte were creative and flavorful. We felt a bit "stuffed" at the end, but this may be due to our eyes being bigger than our stomachs. Beautiful garden, that we only looked at from inside since we went in summer, but when it is cooler outside eating in the garden would likely be magical. Also looking forward to going on Friday or Saturday when they have the jazz trio playing. We will definitely go back.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing service with delicious food! Wou ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Amazing service with delicious food! Would definitely recommend

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for the Miami Spice Menu and ea ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We went for the Miami Spice Menu and each of us thoroughly enjoyed the meal. It started with a complimentary glass of gazpacho, followed by either crab cake or shrimp. Next was steak for2 of us and branzino for 1. For dessert brownie with ice cream for1 and 2 of us had very good key lime pie. Nothing was left on the plates. Service was extremely attentive.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

It's unique ambiance...for a moment you ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

It's unique ambiance...for a moment you feel like you are in some other city that's not Miami.....it remind me of a beautiful restaurant in New Orleans. ..."The Two Sisters Cafe"

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Having a special meal at Peacock Garden ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Having a special meal at Peacock Garden Cafe was truly wonderful dining experience to celebrate our anniversary. The restaurant is located in the heart of the business area of Coconut Grove with ample parking in the Sonesta's parking lot next door. Conveniently, there is an elevator in the parking garage that allows you to enter the restaurant without going outside.

Our server, Eric Fernandez greeted us with a friendly smile. Since my wife is a vegetarian, and concerned with cross contamination, we asked if there was anything on the menu that she could eat. Eric assured us that there was plenty and explained the menu. The meal was delicious - My wife had pasta and had I wild grilled salmon. For dessert, we had an amazing Strawberry Shortcake.

Bottom line - for an enjoyable dining experience, eating inside or in the garden, the Peacock Garden Cafe is the place.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The overall experience was amazing can't ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The overall experience was amazing can't wait to go back!

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was very hot so we couldn't enjoy the ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

It was very hot so we couldn't enjoy the weather, since weather was awful! Also, we were seated maybe too close to the band, so noise level was too high for us.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

I went there to celebrate Fourth of July ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

I went there to celebrate Fourth of July. I needed to step a few steps outside to have the best views of the fireworks in coconut Grove. After the fireworks show, my group stepped back inside the restaurant and had an incredible mean. I strongly recommend trying the tuna tartare, the corvina, and the fish casserole. The drinks were great as well!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and service were good, but we e ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

The food and service were good, but we ended up being bitten by bugs since we sat outside in the garden. Perhaps the restaurant could do something to keep them away?

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

From the service to the options of food ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

From the service to the options of food and taste were unbelievable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loud waiters Lack of basic wine expertis ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Loud waiters

Lack of basic wine expertise

Adequate food

Beautiful setting

Won't be coming back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

Very good food combined with very good s ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Very good food combined with very good service. It was too hot out to enjoy the beautiful outdoor dining on the patio, but the Toastmasters meeting (Monday) going on in the private dining area inside periodically interrupted our conversations. I will definitely go back either when it gets cooler out or other than on Monday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Our server Alec was incredible. He was ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Our server Alec was incredible. He was patient and very knowledgeable. I look forward to coming back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We celebrated a family dinner on rainy S ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

We celebrated a family dinner on rainy Saturday evening recently. But we never noticed the weather. After being warmly welcomed we were shown to a table inside and immediately given a basket of warm bread with olive oil & balsamic vinegar and the wine and cocktail list to browse. Let me say that the cocktails here are hand crafted, original and delicious. To eat we chose the fresh fish & Chinese salad, and the steaks. All beautifully presented and totally fabulous. Our water glasses we continually replenished and the staff remained attentive all evening. We were entertained by the jazz band throughout, which provided a perfectly intimate atmosphere. I can't say enough about this local neighbourhood restaurant, but will strongly suggest you go try it yourself .

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a great first date restaurant. ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

This is a great first date restaurant. We sat at a table outside in the beautiful garden area. The food was delicious....I had the cheese stuffed chicken breast as an entree after an appetizer of prosciutto with cheese and pears. For dessert, I recommend the warm guava bread pudding...delicious!

The staff was very friendly and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Great spot.

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Great spot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

I really like the atmosphere at this res ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

I really like the atmosphere at this restaurant. I love the food too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I think it was just a bad night for them ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

I think it was just a bad night for them. The service was very very slow. No attention to detail. Empty water glasses and cocktail glasses. Bottle of wine that we ordered with dinner came at the end of dinner. We only had two menus to share for five of us. The seafood in the seafood risotto and pasta was terribly overcooked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2

Nice out door dinning setting.

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on March 14, 2016

Very prompt and courteous service. Food was tasty and well prepared and Sangria, both white and red was great. Crab cakes were great for appetizer and crab legs entree was the favorite.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Worth the drive - from anywhere

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on March 4, 2016

We live in Ft Laud and had a visitor in town who wanted to visit Coconut Grove. I Googled restaurants in coconut Grove and the Peacock Garden Cafe came up. The pictures looked perfect for us and the menu even better.

Excellent service, excellent food and excellent wait staff.

I would definitely recommend this wonderful restaurant to anyone looking for a unique place for brunch, lunch or dinner!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Peacock Cafe

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on March 1, 2016

The Peacock Cafe is a great restaurant in a beautiful garden setting. Food and service were great. If you go, be sure and check out the historic photos of Miami that are on display inside.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The place is romantic with all the beaut ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on February 26, 2016

The place is romantic with all the beautiful lighting outside. They also had a live jazz band which was a nice surprise. The food was great. I recommend the fish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Another Great Lunch at Peacock Cafe

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on February 24, 2016

Three friends met for lunch. We were promptly seated on the patio at a table for 3.

Service was excellent. I had the Short Rib sandwich with sweet potato fries. The fries were hot and crispy; the sandwich was delicious although next time I would ask for it on some other kind of bread. The baguette was a little to hard to easily bite into. I wasn't really interested in the bread as they had a basket of the same baguette while we were waiting for our meals. The inside of the sandwich was moist and flavorful. One of my friends had a chicken sandwich. she said it was delicious. The other friend had a salad with giant shrimp on it. She also loved her meal. We all talked about how beautiful the atmosphere was and the outside breeze was delightful. We will return.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dining experience

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

We were not familiar with the Coconut Grove restaurants, and chose the Peacock Garden Cafe simply by chance. We had a great meal in a very unique, interesting setting. The actual physical menu is cleverly presented. I won't divulge it, because it's a nice surprise. The staff was attentive. All in all, a great meal and a fun evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing food. Service was a little slow, ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on February 18, 2016

Amazing food. Service was a little slow, especially right when we were seated. My friend ordered a second drink and hadn't finished his first and the waiter removed his glass which was still a quarter full.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Great lunch love this place

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on February 17, 2016

Great lunch love this place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Amazing

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

A nice place to go eat especially outside. The service and the food was amazing. The risotto and bread pudding was outstanding prob the best bread pudding I have had so far and my waitress was really nice and friendly.

The only negative thing I have to say is the lighting outside is a little poor

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Valentine's Day

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Always enjoy our trips to the Peacock Garden Cafe. On this particular evening the floor staff wasn't up to their usual standards but the kitchen still turned out a great meal. Overall, still a wonderful place, with a beautiful old Coconut Grove type atmosphere, and we will return again soon.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Fun, outdoor, wine, live jazz on weekends

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Went here on February 13, 2016 for Valentine's Day with my girlfriend. This is also where we have celebrated anniversaries in the past. As usual, Peacock Garden did not disappoint. The food was fantastic! The service was very good but it did take the waiter a little long to refill the water bottle on the table. The ambience is probably the best part as we sat outside on the quaint and charming patio and they had a live jazz band playing soft but noticeable music which added even more romance to our dinner. The place is not cheap but it also isn't wildly expensive. There aren't many other places where you can get that experience for the price. I highly recommend

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Nice relaxing ambience and fantastic ser ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Nice relaxing ambience and fantastic service from Brandon our waiter. The food was awesome as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fun and delicious -We'll return whenever in Miami!

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

We couldn't have enjoyed it more! Great food, and service in a lush, tropical setting with historical interest. We came for the Blues Alive at Sea cruise and will always return for the short ribs and large watermelon mojitos!

It is about one or two blocks from Cocowalk, Mayfair Hotel, and Bicayne Bay. It is adjacent to Sonnesta Hotel, and across from Peacock Park, and the annual Art Festival.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Absolutely Wonderful!

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

My husband and I came here for our Valentine's Day dinner. We started off with the salmon carpaccio... phenomenal! The herbs/flavor just popped in your mouth! Yuummm!! Just wish there was more of it! lol! Then He and I both ordered the seared corvina with fingerling potatoes.... OMG! Absolutely the best corvina I have ever had! Seared to perfection and moist and flaky center. I would love to try other things on the menu because I am sure they will be just as delicious but I don't know if I could resist not ordering this again. lol!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great atmosphere in Coconut Grove

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

The food was very good and the service outstanding. We went to listen to Jazz, however the group was inside and we sat outside, which was lovely. The weather did not cooperate since it rained. The service staff was quick to move us (6 people) inside, however it was noisy and we could not listen to the music. I'll return.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Lovely experience

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

Peacock Garden's food offerings are sufficiently varied to appeal to vegetarians and meat eaters alike. Both the quality and the presentation of our fare was exceptional with the exception of the warm brownie dessert. Try the watermelon mojitos -- they are special.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The outdoor garden is a wonderful settin ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on January 17, 2016

The outdoor garden is a wonderful setting formmost every occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Great outdoor restaurant!

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on January 17, 2016

The only thing I wasn't thrilled with was the Ossobuco dish. It wasn't as tasty as other places where I've had it. Everything else was great!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Amazing place

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on January 13, 2016

My girlfriend and I love the place, the food was amazing, excellent service, the price was bit high but I guess for the quality of food it was worth it, can't miss out on the guava martini, I'll be going back here a lot more often

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

B+

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on January 10, 2016

Great grilled Mahi and blue cheese walnut salad. Steak was overcooked. Stick with fish and seafood. Friendly waiter, lovely jazz Saturday night.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Jazz during dinner

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on January 9, 2016

They played jazz during dinner on Friday, which we really enjoyed while we sat in the open garden on a beautiful January evening. For that reason alone, I would recommend that someone stop in and check this place out. Aside from that, though, the food is ok and the service usually is not very good - be prepared to wait for long periods of time.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.