About Peacock Garden Cafe

2889 Mc Farlane Rd
Coconut Grove, FL 33133
View Larger Map

Sometime about 1870, the Peacock family looked for the perfect spot to plant their roots. They discovered it in what came to be the village of Coconut Grove. Now, nearly 130 years later, we're planting a verdant tropical garden on this very ground. The Peacock Garden Cafe is our vision of the quintessential Coconut Grove restaurant. We're perfect for a delicious meal, a quick snack or maybe just an aperitif or glass of Proseco in our beautiful garden. And why not? Our chefs craft only the best and freshest ingredients, adjacent parking is abundant and inexpensive, and our environment is lush and lovely.

The Peacock family thought so.
And you will too.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast Saturday - Sunday: 8:00am - 10:00am
Brunch : Saturday - Sunday: 10:00am - 2:30pm; Lunch Daily: 11:00am - 5:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 774-3332

Website:
http://www.peacockspot.com/

Parking Details:
Right next door there is a Garage open 24 hrs for $1.50 an hour.
There"s also valet parking at the Sonesta Hotel.

Executive Chef:
Oscar del Rivero

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Cafe, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Special Events & Promotions:
Jazz on the Green Fridays and Saturdays 7-10:30pm - Take a break from the Miami scene and experience a live jazz band playing on our beautiful open garden while enjoying our three course prix fixe menu ($33 per person not including tax or gratuity) including mussels, tuna, calamari or lamb and paired with a glass of sparkling wine and our friendly staff ready to spoil you.

Restaurant Photos

Private Dining

Peacock Garden Café offers a dining experience that captures the essence of Coconut Grove. The restaurant’s whimsical patio with its surrounding garden, charming bar & lounge space and beautiful & historical Dinner Key Dining Room make Peacock Garden Café the ideal location for events and parties.

Peacock Garden Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Outdoor Dining
Miami / Southeast Florida
Great for Brunch
Miami - Dade County
Outdoor Dining
Miami - Dade County
1 More
American
Miami - Dade County
Best Restaurants in Coconut Grove ›

great for outdoor dining (35)
neighborhood gem (29)
romantic (19)
See All
special occasion (18)
great for lunch (17)
good for groups (16)
fit for foodies (15)
great for brunch (14)
scenic view (7)
kid-friendly (5)
hot spot (2)
vibrant bar scene (2)
late-night find (2)
notable wine list (2)
Sort By:
Newest
334 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service4

Great spot.

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

Great spot.

food5
ambience5
service5

I really like the atmosphere at this res ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

I really like the atmosphere at this restaurant. I love the food too.

food3
ambience5
service2

I think it was just a bad night for them ...

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

I think it was just a bad night for them. The service was very very slow. No attention to detail. Empty water glasses and cocktail glasses. Bottle of wine that we ordered with dinner came at the end of dinner. We only had two menus to share for five of us. The seafood in the seafood risotto and pasta was terribly overcooked.

food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Nice out door dinning setting.

Dined on March 14, 2016

Very prompt and courteous service. Food was tasty and well prepared and Sangria, both white and red was great. Crab cakes were great for appetizer and crab legs entree was the favorite.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Worth the drive - from anywhere

Dined on March 4, 2016

We live in Ft Laud and had a visitor in town who wanted to visit Coconut Grove. I Googled restaurants in coconut Grove and the Peacock Garden Cafe came up. The pictures looked perfect for us and the menu even better. Excellent service, excellent food and excellent wait staff. I would definitely recommend this wonderful restaurant to anyone looking for a unique place for brunch, lunch or dinner!!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Peacock Cafe

Dined on March 1, 2016

The Peacock Cafe is a great restaurant in a beautiful garden setting. Food and service were great. If you go, be sure and check out the historic photos of Miami that are on display inside.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4

The place is romantic with all the beaut ...

Dined on February 26, 2016

The place is romantic with all the beautiful lighting outside. They also had a live jazz band which was a nice surprise. The food was great. I recommend the fish.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another Great Lunch at Peacock Cafe

Dined on February 24, 2016

Three friends met for lunch. We were promptly seated on the patio at a table for 3. Service was excellent. I had the Short Rib sandwich with sweet potato fries. The fries were hot and crispy; the sandwich was delicious although next time I would ask for it on some other kind of bread. The baguette was a little to hard to easily bite into. I wasn't really interested in the bread as they had a basket of the same baguette while we were waiting for our meals. The inside of the sandwich was moist and flavorful. One of my friends had a chicken sandwich. she said it was delicious. The other friend had a salad with giant shrimp on it. She also loved her meal. We all talked about how beautiful the atmosphere was and the outside breeze was delightful. We will return.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great dining experience

vip
Dined on February 20, 2016

We were not familiar with the Coconut Grove restaurants, and chose the Peacock Garden Cafe simply by chance. We had a great meal in a very unique, interesting setting. The actual physical menu is cleverly presented. I won't divulge it, because it's a nice surprise. The staff was attentive. All in all, a great meal and a fun evening.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4

Amazing food. Service was a little slow, ...

Dined on February 18, 2016

Amazing food. Service was a little slow, especially right when we were seated. My friend ordered a second drink and hadn't finished his first and the waiter removed his glass which was still a quarter full.

food5
ambience3
service4

Great lunch love this place

Dined on February 17, 2016

Great lunch love this place

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Amazing

Dined on February 14, 2016

A nice place to go eat especially outside. The service and the food was amazing. The risotto and bread pudding was outstanding prob the best bread pudding I have had so far and my waitress was really nice and friendly. The only negative thing I have to say is the lighting outside is a little poor

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Valentine's Day

Dined on February 14, 2016

Always enjoy our trips to the Peacock Garden Cafe. On this particular evening the floor staff wasn't up to their usual standards but the kitchen still turned out a great meal. Overall, still a wonderful place, with a beautiful old Coconut Grove type atmosphere, and we will return again soon.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Fun, outdoor, wine, live jazz on weekends

Dined on February 14, 2016

Went here on February 13, 2016 for Valentine's Day with my girlfriend. This is also where we have celebrated anniversaries in the past. As usual, Peacock Garden did not disappoint. The food was fantastic! The service was very good but it did take the waiter a little long to refill the water bottle on the table. The ambience is probably the best part as we sat outside on the quaint and charming patio and they had a live jazz band playing soft but noticeable music which added even more romance to our dinner. The place is not cheap but it also isn't wildly expensive. There aren't many other places where you can get that experience for the price. I highly recommend

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice relaxing ambience and fantastic ser ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Nice relaxing ambience and fantastic service from Brandon our waiter. The food was awesome as well.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fun and delicious -We'll return whenever in Miami!

Dined on February 13, 2016

We couldn't have enjoyed it more! Great food, and service in a lush, tropical setting with historical interest. We came for the Blues Alive at Sea cruise and will always return for the short ribs and large watermelon mojitos! It is about one or two blocks from Cocowalk, Mayfair Hotel, and Bicayne Bay. It is adjacent to Sonnesta Hotel, and across from Peacock Park, and the annual Art Festival.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Absolutely Wonderful!

Dined on February 13, 2016

My husband and I came here for our Valentine's Day dinner. We started off with the salmon carpaccio... phenomenal! The herbs/flavor just popped in your mouth! Yuummm!! Just wish there was more of it! lol! Then He and I both ordered the seared corvina with fingerling potatoes.... OMG! Absolutely the best corvina I have ever had! Seared to perfection and moist and flaky center. I would love to try other things on the menu because I am sure they will be just as delicious but I don't know if I could resist not ordering this again. lol!!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great atmosphere in Coconut Grove

Dined on February 7, 2016

The food was very good and the service outstanding. We went to listen to Jazz, however the group was inside and we sat outside, which was lovely. The weather did not cooperate since it rained. The service staff was quick to move us (6 people) inside, however it was noisy and we could not listen to the music. I'll return.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Lovely experience

Dined on February 6, 2016

Peacock Garden's food offerings are sufficiently varied to appeal to vegetarians and meat eaters alike. Both the quality and the presentation of our fare was exceptional with the exception of the warm brownie dessert. Try the watermelon mojitos -- they are special.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service3

The outdoor garden is a wonderful settin ...

Dined on January 17, 2016

The outdoor garden is a wonderful setting formmost every occasion.

food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Great outdoor restaurant!

Dined on January 17, 2016

The only thing I wasn't thrilled with was the Ossobuco dish. It wasn't as tasty as other places where I've had it. Everything else was great!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Amazing place

Dined on January 13, 2016

My girlfriend and I love the place, the food was amazing, excellent service, the price was bit high but I guess for the quality of food it was worth it, can't miss out on the guava martini, I'll be going back here a lot more often

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

B+

Dined on January 10, 2016

Great grilled Mahi and blue cheese walnut salad. Steak was overcooked. Stick with fish and seafood. Friendly waiter, lovely jazz Saturday night.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

Jazz during dinner

Dined on January 9, 2016

They played jazz during dinner on Friday, which we really enjoyed while we sat in the open garden on a beautiful January evening. For that reason alone, I would recommend that someone stop in and check this place out. Aside from that, though, the food is ok and the service usually is not very good - be prepared to wait for long periods of time.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We love Peacock Garden Cafe!

Dined on January 3, 2016

Our family has been there for brunch, lunch and dinner! The Friday and Saturday Jazz Nights are amazing and the food is always great. We love the Very Berry Mimosas (day or night) and the bread pudding is out of this world... The outdoor area is so cozy and its just an all around very old Miami ambiance...we will be back again and again....

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Great Food

Dined on December 31, 2015

Food was out of this world especially the tuna tartar. Surprised that service was relatively slow considering it was early and there were not that many patrons. Nevertheless would definitely go back as the food was spectacular.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Lovely outdoor setting

vip
Dined on December 28, 2015

This was our first time at Peacock Garden Café. We had family in town for the holiday and wanted to enjoy a casual, but special dinner out (with a child). The outdoor area is very charming and offered a relaxing atmosphere. We went on a Monday and were pleased to enjoy 50% off bottles of wine. We had different people helping us throughout the evening so we weren't sure who our wait person was, but the service was good. The food was tasty (not outstanding), but overall is was a very enjoyable dinner. We are looking forward to trying brunch in the future.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience5
service5

The outside seating and the live jazz ba ...

Dined on December 27, 2015

The outside seating and the live jazz band were excellent and very pleasant. The food was good and the service was efficient and friendly.

food2
ambience3
service4

Pleasant enough setting, but weak on cui ...

vip
Dined on December 21, 2015

Pleasant enough setting, but weak on cuisine. After promising starts with tomato soup and a generally classic wedge (do we really add to add beets to a simple

food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful lunch place, even though it rained!

Dined on December 8, 2015

The setting, food and service were outstanding. Our only regret is that we've lived here 3 years and this was our first visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4

Jazz on the Weekends!

Dined on November 21, 2015

This is a great gem in Coconut Grove. They have lunch specials & happy hour deals at the Bar. I highly recommend all of the Jaguar Hospitality Group locations.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service2

Food was mediocre and over-priced. The r ...

Dined on November 14, 2015

Food was mediocre and over-priced. The restaurant is quaint and does make a good effort at attempting elegance. However, the staff barely speaks English and the service is slow-paced. Took 20 minutes for a very small portioned aperitif salad to arrive. The fingerling potatoes were over-seasoned for two of our guests and the wine list is quite short. Looks like it would be best to visit for brunch or breakfast. Won't be back for dinner- maybe just drinks next time at the bar.

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent

Dined on November 6, 2015

Excelllent food and service. Live Jazz in the garden too.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

Very enjoyable evening

Dined on November 3, 2015

Throughly enjoy dining at Peacock Cafe.. Good food & pleasant service.. Yes recommend going..

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Went with my family to celebrate my birt ...

Dined on October 25, 2015

Went with my family to celebrate my birthday. Had an Incredible time! The service was outstanding, the food was delicious , the ambiance was inviting and the company was extra special.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent place, the food was really goo ...

vip
Dined on September 19, 2015

Excellent place, the food was really good and fresh, drinks were awesome, service was on point and the ambiance was great! Definitely to repeat!

food5
ambience5
service5

Terrific romantic restaurant with excell ...

vip
Dined on September 19, 2015

Terrific romantic restaurant with excellence service, delicious menu and beautiful garden setting. A "must do" in Coconut Grove!!!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

So Good... We went back the following night!

Dined on September 5, 2015

I chose this restaurant based on other good reviews on Open Table and Yelp... and they weren't wrong! Being a holiday weekend (labor Day), I thought it would be very busy, but the wet weather must have kept a lot of diners away from walking around Coconut Grove. We were given our choice of inside or outside dining and chose the latter, under a very large awning that protected us from the rain. Our waitress was very chatty and attentive, possibly because the restaurant was less than half full... (and she served us both nights). For starters, I chose the tomato soup... very good... and my wife had the Tuna... excellent... we had to make a comment to our waitress that the portion of the Tuna tartar was easily enough as an appetizer for two... and could possibly have been a main course for a lite eater. We both had the Coconut Grove Fish Casserole... although I was "ignorant" of the fish they used, Corvina (Croaker/Drum family... had to look it up on the iPhone!), it was perfect for the cooking method, being a firm white flesh that didn't disintegrate in the casserole... it was presented as a large whole fillet with a sweet coconut gravy with a hint of curry in an individual casserole dish with Jasmine rice on the side... and it was excellent... On the second visit the next night my wife was happy with re-ordering the Tuna tartar as her main, while I went with the grilled skirt steak... which was a fairly large portion and cooked perfectly (medium-rare). If you are in the Grove for a night and want a really good, reasonably priced restaurant in a very nice setting... you can't do better than the Peacock Garden Cafe!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

excellent

Dined on August 22, 2015

Everything was excellent,the food , the drinks the services ,the environment,

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Our server was so friendly, gave great r ...

Dined on August 21, 2015

Our server was so friendly, gave great recommendations and knew the menu very well. The food was delicious and I loved the veggie sandwich!!! My mom ordered the Chinese salad with shrimp that looked fantastic. Will definitely be back!! Also enjoyed reading about the history behind the restaurant.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.