About Peacock Garden Cafe

2889 Mc Farlane Rd
Coconut Grove, FL 33133
View Larger Map

Sometime about 1870, the Peacock family looked for the perfect spot to plant their roots. They discovered it in what came to be the village of Coconut Grove. Now, nearly 130 years later, we're planting a verdant tropical garden on this very ground. The Peacock Garden Cafe is our vision of the quintessential Coconut Grove restaurant. We're perfect for a delicious meal, a quick snack or maybe just an aperitif or glass of Proseco in our beautiful garden. And why not? Our chefs craft only the best and freshest ingredients, adjacent parking is abundant and inexpensive, and our environment is lush and lovely.

The Peacock family thought so.
And you will too.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch - Monday to Friday: 11:30am to 5:00pm
Brunch - Saturday & Sunday: Starting at 9:00am
Dinner - Monday to Thursday: 5:00pm to 10:00pm
Dinner - Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm to 11:00pm
Dinner - Sunday - 5:00pm to 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 774-3332

Website:
http://www.peacockspot.com/

Parking Details:
Right next door there is a Garage open 24 hrs for $1.50 an hour.
There"s also valet parking at the Sonesta Hotel.

Executive Chef:
Oscar del Rivero

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Special Events & Promotions:
Social Grilling at The Garden Wednesdays > 6PM-9PM $28/ person > All you can eat from our self-serve garden grill $38/person also includes two drinks or cocktails of your choice!
Jazz on the Green Fridays and Saturdays 7-10:30pm - Take a break from the Miami scene and experience a live jazz band playing on our beautiful open garden.

Restaurant Photos

Peacock Garden Cafe, Coconut Grove, FL
Turkey & Provolone French Toast - Peacock Garden Cafe, Coconut Grove, FL
French Toast With Berry Compote - Peacock Garden Cafe, Coconut Grove, FL
Fried Seafood Appetizer - Peacock Garden Cafe, Coconut Grove, FL
Eggs Benedict with Smoked Salmon - Peacock Garden Cafe, Coconut Grove, FL
Basil Infused Lemonade - Peacock Garden Cafe, Coconut Grove, FL
Fresh Lemonade - Peacock Garden Cafe, Coconut Grove, FL
Ham And Cheese Omelette - Peacock Garden Cafe, Coconut Grove, FL
Bread Pudding - Peacock Garden Cafe, Coconut Grove, FL
Garden Style Eggs Benedict - Peacock Garden Cafe, Coconut Grove, FL
Fish Casserole - Peacock Garden Cafe, Coconut Grove, FL
Waffle - Peacock Garden Cafe, Coconut Grove, FL
Sunny Side Up Flatbread - Peacock Garden Cafe, Coconut Grove, FL
Pomodoro - Peacock Garden Cafe, Coconut Grove, FL
Peruvian Ceviche - Peacock Garden Cafe, Coconut Grove, FL
Pesto Flatbread With Smoked Salmon - Peacock Garden Cafe, Coconut Grove, FL
Cheese And Meat Appetizer - Peacock Garden Cafe, Coconut Grove, FL
mac n cheese - Peacock Garden Cafe, Coconut Grove, FL
Cheesecake With Blueberries - Peacock Garden Cafe, Coconut Grove, FL
Grilled Yellowfin Tuna With A Walnut, Pear And Dried Cherry Salad Drizzled In Balsamic Vinegrette - Peacock Garden Cafe, Coconut Grove, FL
Bistro Burger - Peacock Garden Cafe, Coconut Grove, FL
Waffles - Peacock Garden Cafe, Coconut Grove, FL
Smoked Salmon Eggs Benedict - Peacock Garden Cafe, Coconut Grove, FL
Yellowfin Tuna Nicoise Salad - Peacock Garden Cafe, Coconut Grove, FL
Monte Cristo - Peacock Garden Cafe, Coconut Grove, FL

Specials

The Wine Club - 50% Off All Wines

Mondays and Tuesdays from 11:30 AM - 11:00 PM

Happy Hour

Mondays - Fridays from 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Lunch Specials

Mondays - Fridays from 11:30 AM - 3:00 PM

Live Jazz In The Garden

Fridays and Saturdays from 7:30 PM - 10:30 PM

Social Grilling at The Garden

Wednesdays from 6:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Specials

The Wine Club - 50% Off All Wines

Mondays and Tuesdays from 11:30 AM - 11:00 PM

Details

The Wine Club - 50% Off All Wines. Excludes Tax and Tip. Includes Sangria. Special valid Aug 22, 2016 - Dec 22, 2016 on Mondays and Tuesdays from 11:30 AM - 11:00 PM.

Happy Hour

Mondays - Fridays from 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Details

Half-Off Well Drinks, Specialty Cocktails, Wine and Beer. $3 Appetizer Menu. Excludes Tax and Tip. Offer Valid at the Bar Area Only. Special valid Aug 22, 2016 - Dec 22, 2016 on Mondays - Fridays from 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM.

Lunch Specials

Mondays - Fridays from 11:30 AM - 3:00 PM

Details

Select menu items at a special price ($13) during lunch hours. Excludes Tax and Tip. Offer not valid on holidays. Special valid Aug 22, 2016 - Dec 22, 2016 on Mondays - Fridays from 11:30 AM - 3:00 PM.

Live Jazz In The Garden

Fridays and Saturdays from 7:30 PM - 10:30 PM

Details

Enjoy live jazz in the garden while you dine. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Aug 22, 2016 - Dec 22, 2016 on Fridays and Saturdays from 7:30 PM - 10:30 PM.

Social Grilling at The Garden

Wednesdays from 6:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Details

Enjoy our outdoor garden grill in our beautiful garden. $28/person - all-you-care-to-eat from our self-serve garden grill. $38/person - also includes two drinks or cocktails of your choice. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Aug 22, 2016 - Dec 22, 2016 on Wednesdays from 6:00 PM - 9:00 PM.

Private Dining

Peacock Garden Café offers a dining experience that captures the essence of Coconut Grove. The restaurant’s whimsical patio with its surrounding garden, charming bar & lounge space and beautiful & historical Dinner Key Dining Room make Peacock Garden Café the ideal location for events and parties.

Peacock Garden Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Outdoor Dining
Miami / Southeast Florida
American
Miami / Southeast Florida
Best Ambiance
Miami - Dade County
1 More
American
Miami - Dade County
Best Restaurants in Coconut Grove ›

Great for Outdoor Dining (16)
Romantic (10)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
See All
Special Occasion (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Good for a Date (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Live Music (5)
Cozy (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Fun (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Casual (4)
Business Meals (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Scenic View (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Authentic (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Historic (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Notable Wine List (1)
Private Room (1)
Tapas (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Healthy (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Family Style (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
371 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The place is simply amazing, the enviro ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 30, 2016

The place is simply amazing, the environment and cosine are unspeakable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

They didn't accept our reservation throu ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 28, 2016

They didn't accept our reservation through Opentime.

It has not kids menu.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

lovely atmosphere and superb service. F ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 27, 2016

lovely atmosphere and superb service. Food was inventive and delicious.

Tags: Tapas, Comfort Food, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had a great experience overall. The am ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 8, 2016

I had a great experience overall. The ambiance is quiet and great for dinner with a client, date or small intimate group of friends. The service was great, the manager was present and ensured that everything was running properly. The lychee martini's are great. The only issue I had was when I ordered the Jumbo Prawn Pappardelle Rigate, I received the West African Giant Shrimp. This being my first time and not knowing the restaurant, I ate what was delivered to me. When I saw the bill, I noticed the mistake. The price difference is double, so be very clear about what you are requesting as the server clearly didn't understand what I was asking for. I would have said something if I wasn't with a client. I will say the meal was good, but a little strong on the seafood aroma, but is desirable for many, just not me.

Besides that, I would recommend coming here for sure.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Had a light dinner and felt satisfied af ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Had a light dinner and felt satisfied afterward because the food and service were very good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

requested and waited for outside table, ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 6, 2016

requested and waited for outside table, seated at indoor table, complained there were outside tables available, finally moved outside. waiter was friendly but display of dishes unattractive.

would not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

We had reservations for 6 people for 8:0 ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We had reservations for 6 people for 8:00. We arrived at 8:00 and were told it would be a 30 minute wait. I asked why? I was told that the tables were given to other parties. We were seated at about 8:55.

Tags: Live Music, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Our group of 6 included family from the ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Our group of 6 included family from the north who enjoyed the outdoor patio. The food was very good and prepared as requested. This is a historic property in a great location; easy parking next door in garage.

It's not gourmet or nouvelle or complicated -- just a nice, varied menu with something everyone can enjoy, including the vegetarian in the group.

Tags: Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was very good, tasty. Service was a ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Food was very good, tasty. Service was attentive. Outdoor dining in the garden was enjoyable. Would definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

One of our favorite restaurants, has gre ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on October 7, 2016

One of our favorite restaurants, has great food in a lovely garden setting and celebrates Coconut Grove's unique history.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved this place. Service was amazing a ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Loved this place. Service was amazing and food was delicious. I was impress how pending the manager is of everything and everyone. How he keep checking with us and making sure our stayed was good. I honestly was very impressed!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Happy Hour, Cozy, Romantic, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Made reservations for group of 12 two da ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Made reservations for group of 12 two day prior. was Seated outside. It was raining(drizzle). seat cushions damp. We were taken to banquet area in back of diner near restrooms. Our server seemed irritated and annoyed which took our experience down a notch. The food was good. The restaurant manager was very nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

Brandon our server knew the menu very we ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Brandon our server knew the menu very well, was very informative, made great recommendations and checked up on us often. It was a pleasure to have him as our server.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed our dining experience . I ha ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 17, 2016

We enjoyed our dining experience . I had steak and my family ordered the lobster and mussels . Sparkling water andamage lemonade was the perfect accompaniment on a hot Miami day. Service was outstanding .

Tags: Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Peacock Cafe is located in a lush garden ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Peacock Cafe is located in a lush garden. I have dined here many times. Menu items are delicious. I particularly enjoy the risotto, lobster pasta, salmon. Don't pass up enjoying dessert and order the guava bread putting. On Friday and Saturday nights there is a 3 piece live jazz ensemble - a real treat!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I love it, the food was delicious, and t ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 3, 2016

I love it, the food was delicious, and the attention impeccable!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was able to use the Miami Spice menu o ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 3, 2016

I was able to use the Miami Spice menu on a Saturday night. The fish cooked in coconut milk and curry was not mushy, and had a great mix of favors. It was covered with thinly sliced vegetables. My husband had the steak, and it was accompanied by grilled vegetables with a great seasoning. The desserts were included but we had to take one home, had eaten too much of the bread.

Tags: Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is consistently good; ambience is t ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Food is consistently good; ambience is truly nice; a gem hidden away in Coconut Grove; servers are extremely attentive!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Private Room, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Live Music, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Authentic, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

stormy outside but inside all was warm. ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 30, 2016

stormy outside but inside all was warm. menu was very good and the food was excellent. service was superior. will go back for sure and highly recommend to others. Marvin took a personal interest and he was great.

Tags: Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great and the service.

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 26, 2016

The food was great and the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Took my wife to Peacock Garden Café to c ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 24, 2016

Took my wife to Peacock Garden Café to celebrate our anniversary. It was a Tuesday, not too busy but at least half the tables inside were full, but atmosphere was still quiet and intimate. Servers were attentive and charming without being intrusive. Drinks and food came out promptly and both the Miami Spice menu and dishes a la carte were creative and flavorful. We felt a bit "stuffed" at the end, but this may be due to our eyes being bigger than our stomachs. Beautiful garden, that we only looked at from inside since we went in summer, but when it is cooler outside eating in the garden would likely be magical. Also looking forward to going on Friday or Saturday when they have the jazz trio playing. We will definitely go back.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I went for first time. Great food, great ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 19, 2016

I went for first time. Great food, great service. I really like it. Will go soon.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing service with delicious food! Wou ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 16, 2016

Amazing service with delicious food! Would definitely recommend

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for the Miami Spice Menu and ea ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on August 14, 2016

We went for the Miami Spice Menu and each of us thoroughly enjoyed the meal. It started with a complimentary glass of gazpacho, followed by either crab cake or shrimp. Next was steak for2 of us and branzino for 1. For dessert brownie with ice cream for1 and 2 of us had very good key lime pie. Nothing was left on the plates. Service was extremely attentive.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

It's unique ambiance...for a moment you ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 12, 2016

It's unique ambiance...for a moment you feel like you are in some other city that's not Miami.....it remind me of a beautiful restaurant in New Orleans. ..."The Two Sisters Cafe"

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Having a special meal at Peacock Garden ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Having a special meal at Peacock Garden Cafe was truly wonderful dining experience to celebrate our anniversary. The restaurant is located in the heart of the business area of Coconut Grove with ample parking in the Sonesta's parking lot next door. Conveniently, there is an elevator in the parking garage that allows you to enter the restaurant without going outside.

Our server, Eric Fernandez greeted us with a friendly smile. Since my wife is a vegetarian, and concerned with cross contamination, we asked if there was anything on the menu that she could eat. Eric assured us that there was plenty and explained the menu. The meal was delicious - My wife had pasta and had I wild grilled salmon. For dessert, we had an amazing Strawberry Shortcake.

Bottom line - for an enjoyable dining experience, eating inside or in the garden, the Peacock Garden Cafe is the place.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The overall experience was amazing can't ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 6, 2016

The overall experience was amazing can't wait to go back!

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was very hot so we couldn't enjoy the ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 30, 2016

It was very hot so we couldn't enjoy the weather, since weather was awful! Also, we were seated maybe too close to the band, so noise level was too high for us.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

I went there to celebrate Fourth of July ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on July 5, 2016

I went there to celebrate Fourth of July. I needed to step a few steps outside to have the best views of the fireworks in coconut Grove. After the fireworks show, my group stepped back inside the restaurant and had an incredible mean. I strongly recommend trying the tuna tartare, the corvina, and the fish casserole. The drinks were great as well!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and service were good, but we e ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on June 27, 2016

The food and service were good, but we ended up being bitten by bugs since we sat outside in the garden. Perhaps the restaurant could do something to keep them away?

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

consistent service, good menu, good plac ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 26, 2016

consistent service, good menu, good place to eat with friends

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

From the service to the options of food ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 26, 2016

From the service to the options of food and taste were unbelievable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loud waiters Lack of basic wine expertis ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 25, 2016

Loud waiters

Lack of basic wine expertise

Adequate food

Beautiful setting

Won't be coming back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

Very good food combined with very good s ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on June 20, 2016

Very good food combined with very good service. It was too hot out to enjoy the beautiful outdoor dining on the patio, but the Toastmasters meeting (Monday) going on in the private dining area inside periodically interrupted our conversations. I will definitely go back either when it gets cooler out or other than on Monday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Our server Alec was incredible. He was ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 12, 2016

Our server Alec was incredible. He was patient and very knowledgeable. I look forward to coming back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We celebrated a family dinner on rainy S ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 12, 2016

We celebrated a family dinner on rainy Saturday evening recently. But we never noticed the weather. After being warmly welcomed we were shown to a table inside and immediately given a basket of warm bread with olive oil & balsamic vinegar and the wine and cocktail list to browse. Let me say that the cocktails here are hand crafted, original and delicious. To eat we chose the fresh fish & Chinese salad, and the steaks. All beautifully presented and totally fabulous. Our water glasses we continually replenished and the staff remained attentive all evening. We were entertained by the jazz band throughout, which provided a perfectly intimate atmosphere. I can't say enough about this local neighbourhood restaurant, but will strongly suggest you go try it yourself .

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a great first date restaurant. ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on June 11, 2016

This is a great first date restaurant. We sat at a table outside in the beautiful garden area. The food was delicious....I had the cheese stuffed chicken breast as an entree after an appetizer of prosciutto with cheese and pears. For dessert, I recommend the warm guava bread pudding...delicious!

The staff was very friendly and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Great spot.

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on May 20, 2016

Great spot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

I really like the atmosphere at this res ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on May 14, 2016

I really like the atmosphere at this restaurant. I love the food too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I think it was just a bad night for them ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on May 7, 2016

I think it was just a bad night for them. The service was very very slow. No attention to detail. Empty water glasses and cocktail glasses. Bottle of wine that we ordered with dinner came at the end of dinner. We only had two menus to share for five of us. The seafood in the seafood risotto and pasta was terribly overcooked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.