About Peacock Alley American Grill & Bar

422 East Main Ave
Bismarck, ND 58501
View Larger Map

Located in the historic Patterson building in downtown Bismarck, the Peacock Alley is North Dakotas oldest bar and true Bismarck destination. The Peacock Alley is a National award winning restaurant winning the coveted beef innovator of the year in 2013 from the National Cattlemans Association.
Diners order from a legendary menu featuring Certified Angus Beef and fresh seafood. Known for mixing the BEST MARTINIS IN BISMARCK, the bar offers a selection of 24 different tap beers.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Burgers, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Sunday Closed
Saturday Breakfast: 10:00am - 1:00pm;
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:30pm, Saturday: 1:00pm - 4:30pm
Dinner: Monday: 4:30pm - 9:00pm, Tuesday - Saturday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
5th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(701) 221-2333

Website:
http://www.peacock-alley.com/

Parking Details:
Free ramp parking after 4 pm at the 3rd Street and Main ramp. 1.5 blocks away.

Executive Chef:
Dusty Swenningson

Private Party Facilities:
The historic Peacock Alley is the place in Bismarck where people come to meet. Meeting at the Peacock Alley is more than just a meal or a drink, it is an experience that cannot be duplicated anywhere else. The historic ambiance of the building and being located in the heart of downtown Bismarck make the Peacock Alley a popular choice. Our trained staff specialize in making sure groups of all sizes have a legendary experience. Locals cherish the Peacock Alley and out of town visitors love the experience. We offer a reservation system that assures you have the right space to meet your needs. We have many options available depending on your needs. We offer the ability to reserve a quiet table for 2 or the entire restaurant for larger groups up to 150 people.

Private Party Contact:
Mindy Norton: 7012212333x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Peacock Alley American Grill & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.2

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
North Dakota
Most Booked
Bismarck
Best Restaurants in Bismarck ›

special occasion (24)
good for groups (17)
fit for foodies (16)
See All
neighborhood gem (16)
romantic (12)
great for lunch (12)
hot spot (11)
vibrant bar scene (10)
great for brunch (8)
late-night find (5)
great for outdoor dining (4)
notable wine list (4)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
18 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

The salmon was very and the potatoes wer ...

vip
Dined on June 20, 2016

The salmon was very and the potatoes were exceptionally good!

food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Table for twelve

Dined on June 3, 2016

We had a rehearsal dinner for twelve and they permitted us to bring in candles and flowers . we would have brought a tablecloth if we knew that there were none. The service was not that great but not horrible .

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience2
service3
value4

Good food

Dined on June 3, 2016

Although the food was very good, I found the atmosphere lacking. Waiter wasn't very friendly. Menu seemed limited.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, great service. I ordered th ...

vip
Dined on May 26, 2016

Great food, great service. I ordered the ribs and they did not disappoint. They were fall off the bone, melt in your mouth good! I have not been in the area for a while to visit this place, but it did not disappoint! The atmosphere and history of the building add to the ambiance?

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Dinner

Dined on May 14, 2016

The egg roll appetizer was great. We all ordered various steaks off the menu and they were all good. The hangar steak was fantastic. The bloody mary caesar was great as well.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Mother's Day Brunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

Mother's Day brunch was delicious! Food fresh and good. Roast beef great-tender and flavorful-definitely Certified Angus Beef.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Favorite place

Dined on May 8, 2016

Peacock Alley is always a favorite of mine. Great food, beer, and wine.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Mother's Day Brunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

Mother's Day Brunch was fantastic! It wasn't the same old buffet food you'd get elsewhere. It offered unique choices, everything was fresh and you also got made to order options like the amazing eggs Patterson. I wish they did this brunch every Sunday! Can't wait for next Mother's Day to go again.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding

Dined on April 23, 2016

The food was delicious and the serv8ce was outstanding. I highly recommend it.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best stop in town!

Dined on April 18, 2016

No matter what occasion peacock alley is the place to go!! Staff are always accommodating and with my experiences you walk away satisfied 100% of the time and then some. Keep up the good work peacock alley. 😄

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Great date place

Dined on April 9, 2016

Even though we have been married 28 years my wife requested Peacock Alley for a date location. We have been to Bismarck numerous tomes but this was my first visit to this restaurant. The atmosphere was very good and the food was excellent. I am looking forward to visiting again.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place for great good.

Dined on April 3, 2016

On our anniversary, we hit this spot. The steak was fantastic. We were very impressed with the cocktails, food and great service. We loved the atmosphere, with big windows. We will definitely come back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great meal, great service!

Dined on February 13, 2016

Great meal, great service!

food4
ambience5
service5

A Real Classic

vip
Dined on February 20, 2015

Peacock Alley is one of those classic restaurants that come up in conversation and which you quickly recall in fine detail. I've been going here for years... decades... and I'm glad to see that it has not lost its sense of physical beauty, culture and class, and attention to detail. I was expecting to meet a friend the last time I went here and it was only after I had been seated and began an appetizer that she texted that she would be unable to make it. The waiter was quick, kind, and understanding if I wanted to stay or not, and was completely helpful when I asked to change into a corner table where I could enjoy a wonderful dinner while reading some reports I had with me. Service that night was excellent... the ribeye steak was delicious as were the grilled onions that accompanied it. Peacock Alley is a Great Dame of Bismarck restaurants; I'm glad to see it is keeping up that claim and mantle.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service3

not like it used to be

Dined on July 12, 2014

We go back to Peacock Alley to see if things have changed for the better and because the setting is fantastic. The old building and the décor is tastefully done and the old photos of Bismarck on the walls inside are a nice touch. When we were there in August, my husband got the wrong add-on to his steak. When he asked for it to be changed, it took 15 minutes (the server apologized once and our meals got cold). The kicker was that they charged EXTRA for the original order to be brought. They weren't overly busy that night and they have had great food in the past. We didn't complain, we just asked for the correct add-on. Tip reflected her lackadaisical attitude and we just won't be back.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5

Best service in Bismarck

vip
Dined on July 2, 2014

On a cross country trip, we stopped for dinner at the Peacock. If you like a great steak, this is the place. Huge portions and an extremely helpful and freindly server.

food3
ambience2
service2

A great burger, but too dark to see

Dined on October 17, 2013

Busy place, with good food, but felt like the server was in a rush! And forgetful. Will return, but will ask to sit in the bar area.

food4
ambience4
service4

We really enjoyed our meal

Dined on August 13, 2011

We really enjoyed our meal here. I had their signature steak, I believe it was a salted ribeye? I had chosen the place based on reviews on Yelp and TripAdvisor. My husband grew up in Bismarck, and I assumed he would not be familiar with any of the restaurants since he's lived away for so many years. It turned out that Peacock Alley has been there forever, under a different name when he was a kid, and it's the only restaurant his family would eat at for Easter. It was old, beautiful, and fun.

Tags: special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.