Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi
  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi
  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi

About Peacock Alley American Grill & Bar

Located in the historic Patterson building in downtown Bismarck, the Peacock Alley is North Dakotas oldest bar and true Bismarck destination. The Peacock Alley is a National award winning restaurant winning the coveted beef innovator of the year in 2013 from the National Cattlemans Association.
Diners order from a legendary menu featuring Certified Angus Beef and fresh seafood. Known for mixing the BEST MARTINIS IN BISMARCK, the bar offers a selection of 24 different tap beers.

422 East Main Ave
Bismarck, ND 58501
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Burgers, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Sunday Closed
Breakfast: 7:30am - 4:00pm;
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 7:30am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Monday: 4:30pm - 9:00pm, Tuesday - Saturday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
5th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(701) 221-2333

Website:
http://www.peacock-alley.com/

Parking Details:
Free ramp parking after 4 pm at the 3rd Street and Main ramp. 1.5 blocks away.

Private Party Facilities:
The historic Peacock Alley is the place in Bismarck where people come to meet. Meeting at the Peacock Alley is more than just a meal or a drink, it is an experience that cannot be duplicated anywhere else. The historic ambiance of the building and being located in the heart of downtown Bismarck make the Peacock Alley a popular choice. Our trained staff specialize in making sure groups of all sizes have a legendary experience. Locals cherish the Peacock Alley and out of town visitors love the experience. We offer a reservation system that assures you have the right space to meet your needs. We have many options available depending on your needs. We offer the ability to reserve a quiet table for 2 or the entire restaurant for larger groups up to 150 people.

Private Party Contact:
Mindy Norton: (701) 221-2333

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Peacock Alley American Grill & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (10)
Special Occasion (8)
Historic (7)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Business Meals (6)
Romantic (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Authentic (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Casual (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Cozy (3)
Great Beer (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Fun (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Healthy (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Bar Seating (1)
People Watching (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
49 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

We had a party of 8 and our server Sequoia took great care of us. We tried several recommended appetizers that were excellent (Asian Nachos were a big hit.). We had a great evening and the food was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on June 16, 2017

We hadn't eaten there for a long time and we were all 4 impressed with the food, the waiter, the selection. I like that it was light enough to see the menu and that it wasn't so cold that you have to have a coat on to eat like most places. It was quiet enough to talk which is also nice. We plan to eat here more often.

Tags: Business Meals, Afternoon Coffee, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Ate there while visiting Bismarck, ND. Food was okay. Very nice wait staff.

Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Oh goodness, their steaks are consistently among the best on the planet. And the service is always just superb.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Paleo Friendly, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The waitress was very friendly. The chef came out to check with several tables to make sure they were enjoying their meals. The seafood was especially good.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on May 13, 2017

This was one of the finer dining restaurants in Bismarck but the menu has been changed and is not as foodie oriented as before. It is less expensive but the food is no longer anything special like it was before.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Our server was terrible - had to complain several times. He spilled wine on the table and didn't offer to replace my glass or try and clean it up

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Overall dinner was fabulous. You can't beat the environment. Open and airy space shows off the dark wood of this historic establishment, and tables are spaced well apart, so you don't feel at all crowded. Service was attentive and efficient with an excellent suggestion for an appetizer that everyone at the table enjoyed.

All the people I hosted for the dinner raved about the food. My only complaint was with the ribeye steak I ordered. It was cooked to the perfect degree of done, but was horribly over seasoned and most of the steak consisted of gristle and fat. If we had not been pressed for time, it would have gone back to the kitchen.

This is a lovely restaurant in a historic building with amazing service, and, for the most part, excellent food. You should definitely have dinner here.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I hosted seven for the Easter Brunch. The food was absolutely stellar! There was ample food, very tasty, and the right serving temperature. No one left hungry or disappointed. I look forward to it every year! They did an outstanding job and I loved the wide variety of menu options. Thanks for a memorable occasion!

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We went to the Easter Brunch. It was delicious! The brunch was sold out, so it was crowded with people waiting for their reservation. But there were places to sit and wait. The service was great, quick to bring the beverages, and explain the order of the buffet lines. The food was delicious, many choices. We left very, very happy and full! We will go again.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Good for Groups, Fun, Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Coffee, Comfort Food, Authentic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Went for the special brunch offered for Easter, the food was fabulous and the staff was very attentive and accommodating. Considering making this our Easter tradition.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on March 25, 2017

I have been there before and have always enjoyed. This time the service was terrible and the food was over cooked, must have been a bad day. Person beside us had the same problem with a different server.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Great food, great service, quiet space.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Excellent food, service was outstanding Thank a lot !!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Healthy, Special Occasion, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on February 13, 2017

The night before Valentines Day at 6:30, waitress starts to tell us the special then says oh never mind we are out of the special. After taking our order waitress comes back 20 minutes later and says they are out of baked potatoes and rice is not an option. Seriously....who runs out of potatoes especially when Valentines Day is the next day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Food was very good. I felt that I've had better service in the and the food was high priced. I like the fact that you do a review.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Food and service was great. Will go back again and again.

Tags: Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Food was good as usual, the sweet potato poutine was enough to feed an army. Had a fantastic waitress, sometimes that is a challenge in Bismarck. I know they specialize in beef and do a fantastic job but would have been nice to have one pasta option available. I'll be back again. Next time will probably be for drinks and a giant pretzel.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Great Food food, wonderful ambiance, professional friendly service! Keep up the great work.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on November 18, 2016

The menu has changed quite a bit and does not have a great selection. Be prepared to order steak for your main course which was average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Quite possibly the worst service I've experienced in a restaurant of this "caliber". Lost our reservation. Finally brought the wine bottle and just set it on the table. Didn't even pour our 1st glass. $30.00 steak was over seasoned. Above all, our server was undertrained, overwhelmed or just didn't care. Will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on November 10, 2016

The waitress was attentive, the building very interesting, historic area, great fresh rolls and great steak!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We had a reservation at 6pm for a table of 5. We were seated with only 2 menus to share. Our drink order wasn't there for 25minutes, our appetizer took 50min! Our dirty dishes and empty glasses were not removed as new ones came. We were not asked if we wanted a refill I had to catch our waitress to ask for more drinks. All food was not brought out together. She was not familiar with drinks offered and did not offer dessert. In the end she said sorry I wasn't around I was busy and I'm kinda new. I got up twice to try to get the managers attention that things weren't going so well but he was busy and never available.

Tags: Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on September 17, 2016

This was a last night celebration of a10 day trip with my family. We found the restaurant through trip advisor and it sounded really good. Lots of choices and reasonable prices. We were a little worried that it might be steadier than the clothes we had available but decided it sounded too good not to try it. The restaurant is set up with a bar area and seating and a separate area for a little more formal dining. We actually got seated in the more formal at e even though we were in jeans and shorts. The waitress came immediately to take our drink order. We asked for her opinion on a couple of appetizers and she suggested the steaks bites which were very good. When she brought our drinks she brought us their rolls and honey butter. Each of us got an individual roll (huge) and side of the honey butter. They were warm and delicious. The food was unbelievable. Everything came out quickly and we all agreed it was the best meal of the entire 10 day trip. It was a perfect ending. I would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Quick Bite, Authentic, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on September 17, 2016

This is a great place to eat pre and post symphony. The Belle Mehus is just two blocks away. The restaurant is becoming known for its steak quality. It is quiet and conversation is possible, but the bar comes alive after 9:30 pm.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 27, 2016

We went there to celebrate a 90th Birthday. Most of the food was okay to good. Atmosphere was good however it was very cold in the restaurant where we were seated. The service was moderate due to the fact that it looked like our server was the only on. After dinner shakes were worth ordering but you need to keep in mind they are larger and should be shared.

Tags: Happy Hour, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 17, 2016

This is my new favorite restaurant, everything was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Good eats in a beautiful, historic location. Menu is varied so there's something for everyone.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on August 5, 2016

We love the restaurant. The food is good but the steaks have to much seasoning for my taste. I like the good old fashioned real meat taste .

Tags: Romantic, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on June 29, 2016

We were driving through ND and had already made reservations for Peacock Alley for an early dinner. We were seated in the dinning area rather than near the bar. Once we were escorted there we were glad as the noise level dropped significantly. (We noticed the difference on the way out as well.) The kids (16 & 17) had burgers and fries, which they said were absolutely delicious and were healthy servings. My husband and I were more than satisfied with our dinners as well. He had the ribs (half rack) and you could see the meat falling off the bone, while I had the Hanger steak tender and delicious. The service (Richard) was perfect helpful and attentive, without being overly so. In the end the check was what we would have expected, nothing outrageous for the quality we had just experienced.
We would highly recommend you stopping in if you're in the neighborhood or even passing through.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 20, 2016

The salmon was very and the potatoes were exceptionally good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on June 3, 2016

We had a rehearsal dinner for twelve and they permitted us to bring in candles and flowers . we would have brought a tablecloth if we knew that there were none. The service was not that great but not horrible .

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on June 2, 2016

Although the food was very good, I found the atmosphere lacking. Waiter wasn't very friendly. Menu seemed limited.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 25, 2016

Great food, great service. I ordered the ribs and they did not disappoint. They were fall off the bone, melt in your mouth good! I have not been in the area for a while to visit this place, but it did not disappoint! The atmosphere and history of the building add to the ambiance?

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on May 13, 2016

The egg roll appetizer was great. We all ordered various steaks off the menu and they were all good. The hangar steak was fantastic. The bloody mary caesar was great as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on May 8, 2016

Mother's Day brunch was delicious! Food fresh and good. Roast beef great-tender and flavorful-definitely Certified Angus Beef.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on May 8, 2016

Peacock Alley is always a favorite of mine. Great food, beer, and wine.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on May 8, 2016

Mother's Day Brunch was fantastic! It wasn't the same old buffet food you'd get elsewhere. It offered unique choices, everything was fresh and you also got made to order options like the amazing eggs Patterson. I wish they did this brunch every Sunday! Can't wait for next Mother's Day to go again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on April 23, 2016

The food was delicious and the serv8ce was outstanding. I highly recommend it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on April 18, 2016

No matter what occasion peacock alley is the place to go!! Staff are always accommodating and with my experiences you walk away satisfied 100% of the time and then some. Keep up the good work peacock alley. 😄

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.