About Peacock Alley American Grill & Bar

422 East Main Ave
Bismarck, ND 58501
View Larger Map

Located in the historic Patterson building in downtown Bismarck, the Peacock Alley is North Dakotas oldest bar and true Bismarck destination. The Peacock Alley is a National award winning restaurant winning the coveted beef innovator of the year in 2013 from the National Cattlemans Association.
Diners order from a legendary menu featuring Certified Angus Beef and fresh seafood. Known for mixing the BEST MARTINIS IN BISMARCK, the bar offers a selection of 24 different tap beers.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Burgers, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Sunday Closed
Breakfast: 7:30am - 4:00pm;
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 7:30am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Monday: 4:30pm - 9:00pm, Tuesday - Saturday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
5th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(701) 221-2333

Website:
http://www.peacock-alley.com/

Parking Details:
Free ramp parking after 4 pm at the 3rd Street and Main ramp. 1.5 blocks away.

Private Party Facilities:
The historic Peacock Alley is the place in Bismarck where people come to meet. Meeting at the Peacock Alley is more than just a meal or a drink, it is an experience that cannot be duplicated anywhere else. The historic ambiance of the building and being located in the heart of downtown Bismarck make the Peacock Alley a popular choice. Our trained staff specialize in making sure groups of all sizes have a legendary experience. Locals cherish the Peacock Alley and out of town visitors love the experience. We offer a reservation system that assures you have the right space to meet your needs. We have many options available depending on your needs. We offer the ability to reserve a quiet table for 2 or the entire restaurant for larger groups up to 150 people.

Private Party Contact:
Mindy Norton: 7012212333x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Peacock Alley American Grill & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

3.8

ambience

4.2

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
North Dakota
Most Booked
Bismarck
Best Restaurants in Bismarck ›

Special Occasion (8)
Good for a Date (6)
Good for Groups (5)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Historic (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Cozy (4)
Business Meals (3)
Romantic (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Casual (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Authentic (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Scenic View (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Family Style (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sort By:
S
29 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The menu has changed quite a bit and doe ...

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on November 18, 2016

The menu has changed quite a bit and does not have a great selection. Be prepared to order steak for your main course which was average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Quite possibly the worst service I've ex ...

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Quite possibly the worst service I've experienced in a restaurant of this "caliber". Lost our reservation. Finally brought the wine bottle and just set it on the table. Didn't even pour our 1st glass. $30.00 steak was over seasoned. Above all, our server was undertrained, overwhelmed or just didn't care. Will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

The waitress was attentive, the building ...

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on November 11, 2016

The waitress was attentive, the building very interesting, historic area, great fresh rolls and great steak!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Historic, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a reservation at 6pm for a table ...

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We had a reservation at 6pm for a table of 5. We were seated with only 2 menus to share. Our drink order wasn't there for 25minutes, our appetizer took 50min! Our dirty dishes and empty glasses were not removed as new ones came. We were not asked if we wanted a refill I had to catch our waitress to ask for more drinks. All food was not brought out together. She was not familiar with drinks offered and did not offer dessert. In the end she said sorry I wasn't around I was busy and I'm kinda new. I got up twice to try to get the managers attention that things weren't going so well but he was busy and never available.

Tags: Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Historic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

This is a great place to eat pre and pos ...

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on September 17, 2016

This is a great place to eat pre and post symphony. The Belle Mehus is just two blocks away. The restaurant is becoming known for its steak quality. It is quiet and conversation is possible, but the bar comes alive after 9:30 pm.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

This was a last night celebration of a10 ...

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on September 17, 2016

This was a last night celebration of a10 day trip with my family. We found the restaurant through trip advisor and it sounded really good. Lots of choices and reasonable prices. We were a little worried that it might be steadier than the clothes we had available but decided it sounded too good not to try it. The restaurant is set up with a bar area and seating and a separate area for a little more formal dining. We actually got seated in the more formal at e even though we were in jeans and shorts. The waitress came immediately to take our drink order. We asked for her opinion on a couple of appetizers and she suggested the steaks bites which were very good. When she brought our drinks she brought us their rolls and honey butter. Each of us got an individual roll (huge) and side of the honey butter. They were warm and delicious. The food was unbelievable. Everything came out quickly and we all agreed it was the best meal of the entire 10 day trip. It was a perfect ending. I would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Molecular Gastronomy, Bar Seating, Quick Bite, Authentic, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We went there to celebrate a 90th Birthd ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 27, 2016

We went there to celebrate a 90th Birthday. Most of the food was okay to good. Atmosphere was good however it was very cold in the restaurant where we were seated. The service was moderate due to the fact that it looked like our server was the only on. After dinner shakes were worth ordering but you need to keep in mind they are larger and should be shared.

Tags: Happy Hour, Historic, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

This is my new favorite restaurant, ever ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 17, 2016

This is my new favorite restaurant, everything was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good eats in a beautiful, historic locat ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Good eats in a beautiful, historic location. Menu is varied so there's something for everyone.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We love the restaurant. The food is goo ...

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on August 6, 2016

We love the restaurant. The food is good but the steaks have to much seasoning for my taste. I like the good old fashioned real meat taste .

Tags: Romantic, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We were driving through ND and had alrea ...

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on June 29, 2016

We were driving through ND and had already made reservations for Peacock Alley for an early dinner. We were seated in the dinning area rather than near the bar. Once we were escorted there we were glad as the noise level dropped significantly. (We noticed the difference on the way out as well.) The kids (16 & 17) had burgers and fries, which they said were absolutely delicious and were healthy servings. My husband and I were more than satisfied with our dinners as well. He had the ribs (half rack) and you could see the meat falling off the bone, while I had the Hanger steak tender and delicious. The service (Richard) was perfect helpful and attentive, without being overly so. In the end the check was what we would have expected, nothing outrageous for the quality we had just experienced.

We would highly recommend you stopping in if you're in the neighborhood or even passing through.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The salmon was very and the potatoes wer ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 20, 2016

The salmon was very and the potatoes were exceptionally good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Table for twelve

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on June 3, 2016

We had a rehearsal dinner for twelve and they permitted us to bring in candles and flowers . we would have brought a tablecloth if we knew that there were none. The service was not that great but not horrible .

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Good food

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on June 3, 2016

Although the food was very good, I found the atmosphere lacking. Waiter wasn't very friendly. Menu seemed limited.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value4

Great food, great service. I ordered th ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 26, 2016

Great food, great service. I ordered the ribs and they did not disappoint. They were fall off the bone, melt in your mouth good! I have not been in the area for a while to visit this place, but it did not disappoint! The atmosphere and history of the building add to the ambiance?

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Dinner

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on May 14, 2016

The egg roll appetizer was great. We all ordered various steaks off the menu and they were all good. The hangar steak was fantastic. The bloody mary caesar was great as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mother's Day Brunch

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on May 8, 2016

Mother's Day brunch was delicious! Food fresh and good. Roast beef great-tender and flavorful-definitely Certified Angus Beef.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Favorite place

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on May 8, 2016

Peacock Alley is always a favorite of mine. Great food, beer, and wine.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mother's Day Brunch

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on May 8, 2016

Mother's Day Brunch was fantastic! It wasn't the same old buffet food you'd get elsewhere. It offered unique choices, everything was fresh and you also got made to order options like the amazing eggs Patterson. I wish they did this brunch every Sunday! Can't wait for next Mother's Day to go again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Outstanding

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on April 23, 2016

The food was delicious and the serv8ce was outstanding. I highly recommend it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best stop in town!

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on April 18, 2016

No matter what occasion peacock alley is the place to go!! Staff are always accommodating and with my experiences you walk away satisfied 100% of the time and then some. Keep up the good work peacock alley. 😄

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great date place

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on April 9, 2016

Even though we have been married 28 years my wife requested Peacock Alley for a date location. We have been to Bismarck numerous tomes but this was my first visit to this restaurant. The atmosphere was very good and the food was excellent. I am looking forward to visiting again.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Great place for great good.

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on April 3, 2016

On our anniversary, we hit this spot. The steak was fantastic. We were very impressed with the cocktails, food and great service. We loved the atmosphere, with big windows. We will definitely come back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great meal, great service!

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on February 13, 2016

Great meal, great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A Real Classic

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 20, 2015

Peacock Alley is one of those classic restaurants that come up in conversation and which you quickly recall in fine detail. I've been going here for years... decades... and I'm glad to see that it has not lost its sense of physical beauty, culture and class, and attention to detail. I was expecting to meet a friend the last time I went here and it was only after I had been seated and began an appetizer that she texted that she would be unable to make it. The waiter was quick, kind, and understanding if I wanted to stay or not, and was completely helpful when I asked to change into a corner table where I could enjoy a wonderful dinner while reading some reports I had with me. Service that night was excellent... the ribeye steak was delicious as were the grilled onions that accompanied it. Peacock Alley is a Great Dame of Bismarck restaurants; I'm glad to see it is keeping up that claim and mantle.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

not like it used to be

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 12, 2014

We go back to Peacock Alley to see if things have changed for the better and because the setting is fantastic. The old building and the décor is tastefully done and the old photos of Bismarck on the walls inside are a nice touch. When we were there in August, my husband got the wrong add-on to his steak. When he asked for it to be changed, it took 15 minutes (the server apologized once and our meals got cold). The kicker was that they charged EXTRA for the original order to be brought. They weren't overly busy that night and they have had great food in the past. We didn't complain, we just asked for the correct add-on. Tip reflected her lackadaisical attitude and we just won't be back.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Best service in Bismarck

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 2, 2014

On a cross country trip, we stopped for dinner at the Peacock. If you like a great steak, this is the place. Huge portions and an extremely helpful and freindly server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

A great burger, but too dark to see

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on October 17, 2013

Busy place, with good food, but felt like the server was in a rush! And forgetful. Will return, but will ask to sit in the bar area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

We really enjoyed our meal

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 13, 2011

We really enjoyed our meal here. I had their signature steak, I believe it was a salted ribeye? I had chosen the place based on reviews on Yelp and TripAdvisor. My husband grew up in Bismarck, and I assumed he would not be familiar with any of the restaurants since he's lived away for so many years. It turned out that Peacock Alley has been there forever, under a different name when he was a kid, and it's the only restaurant his family would eat at for Easter. It was old, beautiful, and fun.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.