About Peachtree Southern Kitchen and Cocktails

200 N. Main Street
Hudson, OH 44236
View Larger Map

Peachtree Southern Kitchen & Cocktails is located in a historic building in the First & Main Shopping Dist of Hudson, Ohio. Under the expert guidance of Chef/Owner Matthew Mathlage, Peachtree will feature a modern twist to traditional Southern cooking. Peachtree serves Lunch and Dinner, 7 days a week. Brunch on Sunday. Peachtree also features 2 private rooms for events and parties.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Southern

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 4:00pm.
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 3:00pm - 9:00pm.
Sunday Brunch: 10:30am - 3:00pm.

Cross Street:
Rt 91 & Rt 303

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(234) 380-1789

Website:
http://www.peachtreesouthernkitchen.com/

Catering:
Contact Chef Matthew Mathlage to plan your event and menu.

Executive Chef:
Matthew Mathlage

Private Party Facilities:
Peachtree features 2 private rooms. One is upstairs with seating for 50. Includes a fireplace and a private bathroom. The second room is on the lower level. Featuring seating for 30.

Private Party Contact:
Eric Dietrich: 2343801789

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

  • Peachtree Southern Kitchen and Cocktails
Peachtree Southern Kitchen and Cocktails

Peachtree Southern Kitchen and Cocktails Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

neighborhood gem (19)
fit for foodies (15)
special occasion (15)
See All
great for brunch (12)
great for lunch (8)
good for groups (8)
romantic (7)
great for outdoor dining (6)
hot spot (5)
vibrant bar scene (4)
notable wine list (4)
kid-friendly (3)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
184 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was delicious, but not very hot. H ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Food was delicious, but not very hot. Had to send grits back to be heated.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved everything about this place! Th ...

Dined on May 25, 2016

We loved everything about this place! The staff was fantastic. The restaurant itself was super cute, loved the patio. The menu is SUPERB and the food was worth every dollar! I know I will be going back a lot more! Very close to the parking garage in Hudson, too!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for Sunday Brunch, our meals were d ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Went for Sunday Brunch, our meals were delicious. We had our small children who were able to order just waffles, server very accommodating. Bloody Mary and coffee were also above average. We will be back.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great southern cooking

Dined on May 21, 2016

We've been to this restaurant twice now, and both times it was delicious! I've tried the ribs and the fried chicken and my fiance swears by the macaroni and cheese. My favorite parts waere actually probably the cornbread and green beans, not even the main stars of the show!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Food was good but service was lack luste ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Food was good but service was lack luster. Our server was also the bartender. He was more concerned with the bar than us. No pleasantries, no recommendations, etc.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Mothers day

Dined on May 8, 2016

Pot roast was incredible service was slow. I will deffinetly go back.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

I took my mom here for an early mothers ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

I took my mom here for an early mothers day brunch and the food was incredible. I got the chicken and waffles knowing that it's usually a good but not great dish.. But i couldn't resist. It was absolutely fantastic! The waffles were more like a funnel cake and the chicken was breaded perfectly and the chicken was moist and seasoned to perfection. Everyone else at my table seemed super happy with their food as well!

food1
ambience1
service1

Terrible terrible terrible had to wait a ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

Terrible terrible terrible had to wait a long time And food was awful had to send it back left hungry

food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Menu is somewhat better than execution

Dined on April 23, 2016

First time here...great server...very interesting menu, but food wasn't quite up to the menu descriptions...for the appetizer, we share combination platter...pulled pork spring rolls were fantastic, as were smoked wings...I didn't have the deviled egg (but others said they were good), and breaded fish was so-so (sauces were good)...three of the four of us had fried chicken (their strong suit?) in some fashion, either by itself or as chicken/waffles...we all agreed that it wasn't a great breading...over seasoned and somewhat crumbly, not what we expected from "Southern-style" fried chicken...waffles were ok...fourth person had one of two vegetarian options (gnocchi...forgot the preparation)...said it was very good...for dessert, we shared beignets and peach cobbler (a little sweet for my taste)...I would go back and try other things, very interesting menu and reasonably priced...very friendly staff...

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Can't Get Better Service

Dined on April 21, 2016

Our server was delightful and accommodated all our dietary needs. The food was excellent, and the portions were large. It was our first time to dine there, and we are anxious to go back and dine outdoors.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

This is my favorite restaurant in Hudson ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

This is my favorite restaurant in Hudson! It has a great vibe with a wonderful staff. The entire menu is absolutely delicious. My go-to's are the Mac and cheese, pulled pork and crab cakes. I've never had a bad dish here. Also, the bartender Alex is an absolute joy to be around! He makes a great cocktail and is great to chat with. Great food and people!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fabulous

Dined on April 15, 2016

It was my first time at this restaurant and it was a Friday night. We sat outside and it was very nice and quiet. The drinks were very good and presented very well. The food was incredible and also presented very well. I will be returning to this restaurant in the future and recommending it to friends.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Disappointed

Dined on April 9, 2016

I expected a really good meal; with some unique dishes; but, I was disappointed. The appetizers we had (two different ones) were not very tasty, and portions were small. I got the fried chicken, as my main course; this seemed to be the specialty of the house. I am a big chicken fan, and this did not impress. I took a piece home, and it was even worse the next day. Our server was really good, and nice, so I feel bad; but overall, this place just does not make it, sorry about that.

food2
ambience3
service4

We first were sat in the basement and th ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

We first were sat in the basement and then were relocated to the main floor when we asked. The basement needs to be cleaned as there are cobwebs hanging from the ceiling which is not very appetizing. It also needs better lighting down there. As for the food, the fried chick was soggy and not crispy... The menu looked amazing enough for me to want to try it and drive from downtown but i wouldn't do that again. Service however was good and attentive.

food1
ambience3
service4

Crab cakes, steak and cheese grits are h ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

Crab cakes, steak and cheese grits are horrible.

food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Enjoyed the experience. Food was great. ...

Dined on April 2, 2016

Enjoyed the experience. Food was great. Portions were a bit small. Be prepared to sit for a 2 hour dinner on a Saturday night...it's about the gathering, not the speed of the kitchen. Dining area was a bit chilly upstairs.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

I love this place

vip
Dined on March 26, 2016

I have been here many times and the food and service are always excellent. However this time, I ordered the Chicken and Waffles, and I think the recipe has changed. The chicken was weirdly seasoned. I probably will not order that again even though it was my favorite thing on the menu. Other than, this place is awesome.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4

Lunch portion was great. Service was abo ...

Dined on March 26, 2016

Lunch portion was great. Service was above expectations, very attentive and accommodating.

food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Staff was outstanding! Atmosphere amazing

Dined on March 10, 2016

Select meals with care! May sound good but can be deceived!! My friend and I had exactly the same meal, I was not pleased but she was! The atmosphere and staff with very professional and on the money, loved it! Can't wait to visit again and sit on the patio!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

Didn't meet expectations

Dined on March 4, 2016

My husband and I love the Low Country of SC so were very excited to try Peachtree. We were seated in the lower level (basement) which wasn't quite the ambiance we were expecting, especially since we had a reservation. It was a busy night and several others were also seated there, but it was cold with a very low ceiling. In hindsight we should have requested another table or sat at the bar. The cornbread with pimento cheese was excellent, as was the she crab soup (it definitely reminded me of being in Charleston). The fried shrimp po' boy was perfectly prepared but bland, it needed some spice in the breading and more of the sriracha-pickle sauce. It came with homemade potato salad that was bland as well. The white meat of the buttermilk fried chicken was overcooked, and the dark meat was undercooked. Unfortunately it was highly seasoned with rosemary (which I don't think was stated on the menu), of which my husband is not a fan. The country green beans and onion mashed potatoes were both very good, and our service was excellent. We did not complain about the food. I'm sure we would have been offered replacement dishes, but we weren't enjoying being in the lower level. If we go again we'll choose a less-busy time, and will order starters and desserts (both menus look great) instead of sandwiches or dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Will Return

vip
Dined on February 29, 2016

This was my first time here with my girlfriend & was so impressed. Server was great, owner very nice & food was outstanding. I will return.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Just ok

vip
Dined on February 28, 2016

We loved the ambiance and our server. Plus it's so nice bring in Hudson! However everyone in our party was very excited for the food and it was just ok. Portions are small and not very traditional to southern fare (we are from the south). The shrimp and grits didn't have a roux and wasn't at all like New Orleans "bbq shrimp". The grits were good it it's also not the most complicated dish. There were red peppers On top and I do not like them nor was it mentioned on the menu. The Cobb salad was very very cold, even the chicken and it came out undressed and without a side of dressing. Drinks were good but weak. We probably won't return.

Tags: scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

A great place for brunch!

Dined on February 28, 2016

Took my daughter and her 3 friends here for a Sunday brunch and the food was very good. Everyone likes southern style cooking so the chicken and waffles was delicious along with the shrimp and grits.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service5

Our first time. It was a nice casual atm ...

Dined on February 27, 2016

Our first time. It was a nice casual atmosphere. Food was good, nothing to complain about. Great service. I would recommend.

food1
ambience4
service5
value2

The restaurant itself was very nice.

Dined on February 27, 2016

Nice place, great location. Tables were entirely too close. Our waitress "Sam" was excellent. Had a Southern charm and appeal, but the food was no way "southern". Perhaps it is southern to the Hudsonites, but I know southern.

Tags: great for brunch, scenic view
food1
ambience4
service3
value5

not a good standard for southern cuisine

Dined on February 14, 2016

I had chicken and sweet potato waffles and beignets. The beignets were not cooked thorough and had to get another order. They just weren't very flavorful but I'm comparing to the beignets in the French quarter. Chicken and waffles were over fried chicken fingers and the waffle had no flavor and was soggy.

food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Now Just Average

Dined on February 13, 2016

My wife and I went here a year ago and the food was phenomenal. Our most recent visit wasn't bad, but it certainly wasn't breathtaking. The chicken cracklins were a little stale, the red beans and rice was lacking salt, and the beignets were dense. The shrimp and grits were very good as were the fried green tomatoes.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Cosy neighborhood spot

Dined on February 7, 2016

We had dinner here last week with friends, our second visit. We were seated in the cellar, which is lined with the original stone walls of this old house--a bit quieter than the busy first level, where the bar is. Everything we ordered was very good and nicely prepared. My salmon was tasty but just slightly overdone. Our friends had the crab cakes and the shrimp and grits, which they loved, and my husband enjoyed the chicken and sweet potato waffles. Two items I would not recommend: the mac and cheese, which I had on my first visit, and the beignets. Both were tasteless. But the dinners we had last week were good, the atmosphere is great, the service was wonderful, and we’ll go back.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Becoming a Favorite

Dined on February 6, 2016

I've been to Peachtree 3 times now, and each time I like it more and more. The service is consistently fantastic, and the food is consistently great, no matter what you get. The menu includes tried-and-true options like steak and salmon, or trendier options if you want to try something new. Or you can just get a burger (soooo good), if you're in the mood for something casual. I can't wait for warmer weather so we can go sit on their adorable patio.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food. The catfish was excellent as ...

Dined on January 20, 2016

Great food. The catfish was excellent as was the salmon. The deviled eggs were a lovely starter.

food4
ambience5
service5

Carfish tots were amazing. Shrimp and gr ...

Dined on January 17, 2016

Carfish tots were amazing. Shrimp and grits are a must. We will be back

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I loved something new and different!

Dined on January 10, 2016

The menu is great with a lot of items different from the ordinary. Everything was delicious. I needed two separate tables, one for the adults and one for our teenagers. They were very accommodating and went out of their way to please. I'm looking forward to going back!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Request main floor seating

Dined on January 9, 2016

The restaurant was very nice. Service was wonderful and owner was very visable. However, we were seated in the basement. The spiral steps were a little hard to get down and it was very cold. The area was small with low ceilings. I would definitely request first floor seating on my next visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service5

We were seated at a small 2-top table ve ...

Dined on January 1, 2016

We were seated at a small 2-top table very close to other diners. We heard more of their conversations than our own. It was also New Year's Eve and it was just generally loud in there. We could barely hear our server. Aside from that, the service was fantastic, and the food was good. We have only been there one other time, and we dined outdoors, so noise wasn't an issue. Service was great that time, too. Might wait for patio weather to go back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful place !

vip
Dined on December 31, 2015

Had a wonderful dinner on New Year's Eve. Great food and fantastic service. . as always !

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

First time and what a great experience.. ...

Dined on December 29, 2015

First time and what a great experience.. A must stop

food5
ambience4
service4

What a great menu- loved the catfish tat ...

Dined on December 15, 2015

What a great menu- loved the catfish tater tots and she crab soup. I'll be back!

food3
ambience1
service5

Noisy

Dined on December 6, 2015

You cannot control other customers, however there was a group that made my experience here annoying! The seating is close together so there was a loud group that made it impossible to hear the conversation at my own table. Our waiter was great! And my dish was OK.... Chicken a bit overdone and waffles a bit too sweet

food4
ambience4
service5

Catfish tots are delightful!

Dined on November 11, 2015

Catfish tots are delightful!

food3
ambience4
service3

Good - not great

Dined on November 6, 2015

Our visit here was generally good but not great. I had the steak - it was tough and not cooked to order. I ordered medium rare plus and it came out mooing rare. My wife ordered the shrimp and grits and they were very good. We also ordered Mac and Cheese for our daughter to go. The waiter got this wrong as well and ordered a mac n cheese dish with blackened chicken on it. It cost $10 more than the Mac n cheese dish we wanted. Did not notice until we got home. I have eaten their fried chicken here and it is very good. So are their smoked chicken wings. Honestly, the quality of our visit here is hit and miss but we keep coming back. The "hits" and convenience make it a return visit about every 3-4 months.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.