About Pazzo Ristorante

627 SW Washington St.
Portland, OR 97205
View Larger Map

Old World tradition meets the bounty of the Pacific Northwest at Pazzo, delivering critically acclaimed regional Italian cuisine at every meal. Start your day on the right foot with a breakfast bread made fresh daily or power-lunch with us at midday, when the stone wood-burning pizza oven sets forth an aroma that awakens your senses to the promise of pleasure. By evening, Pazzo’s fresh, authentically prepared entrées are accompanied by an award-winning wine list, craft cocktails and our signature warm hospitality. It all plays out in a lively setting right on Broadway in downtown Portland. Benvenuti.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Northwest, Pizzeria

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Mon-Fri 7:00am-10:30am
Lunch: Mon-Fri 11:30- 2:30pm
Brunch: Sat and Sun 8am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Mon - Thurs 5:00pm - 9:30pm
Fri and Sat 5:00- 10:00pm
Sun 4:30 - 9:00pm
Mon - Saturday 2:30-5:00pm Bar Menu available
Sun 2:30pm- 4:30pm Bar Menu available

Bar Open: Mon- Thurs & Sunday until 11:00pm
Friday & Sat until Midnight

Cross Street:
Broadway and Washington

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 228-1515

Website:
http://www.pazzo.com/

Catering:
Please visit our Private Dining page on OpenTable

Parking Details:
Valet Parking at Hotel Vintage Plaza for $7/ hour.

Public Transit:
2 Blocks from Bus Mall / MAX (Pioneer Courthouse Square)

Executive Chef:
Kenny Giambalvo

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please visit our website for Special Events

http://www.pazzo.com/portland-restaurant-events

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:30PM - 9:00PM

Mon 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:30PM - 9:30PM

Tue - Thu 5:00PM - 5:30PM 8:30PM - 9:30PM

Fri 5:00PM - 5:30PM 9:30PM - 10:00PM

Sat 5:00PM - 6:00PM 9:30PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

For unforgettable private dinners, events and meetings, Pazzo provides the ideal downtown Portland venue. Pazzo can accommodate everything from a special intimate meal for a few to a wedding reception or event of up to 300 guests.

Pazzo Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (32)
Good for a Date (29)
Romantic (19)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Pre/post Theatre (18)
Business Meals (17)
Notable Wine List (14)
Good for Groups (13)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Bar Seating (12)
Authentic (12)
Casual (12)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Cozy (12)
Wood Oven (10)
Local Ingredients (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Fun (9)
Happy Hour (9)
Open Kitchen (8)
People Watching (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Healthy (4)
Historic (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Family Style (2)
Seasonal (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Great Beer (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Organic (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Private Room (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Vegan (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1022 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined a day ago

Always comfortable! Good services

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined 2 days ago

Pazzo's has been a staple in Portland for decades. The decor is cozy, w/dark woods & a mix of quiet booths & steetside tales. The wait staff is attentive & friendly, explaining in detail the specials & seasonal dishes. The bar is a renowned after work meets big place. The food was wonderful & authentically Italian.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 5 days ago

Top notch. Look forward to going back when in Portland!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Healthy, Molecular Gastronomy, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined 5 days ago

Everything was excellent, as always.

Tags: Casual, Seasonal, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined 6 days ago

Disappointing meal. Food was very ordinary and ambience is deary. Restaurant needs a renovation and food needs to be improved.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 13, 2017

The food was wonderful, and the service even better...loved our server who was very well-versed in the menu and gave us spot on recommendations for appetizers, salad, and main courses. Will definitely eat there again when I am in downtown Portland!

Tags: Vegan, Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The wine, cheese plate and main dishes (Pasta) were amazing! The bread pudding left a little to be desired but overall a great night out.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We enjoyed everything about this restaurant...the food, the service, the hostess, the ambiance.

A very lovely experience!

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We were in Portland for the AC2 event at the Schnitzer so had our dinner prior to the event. Service was excellent and food as good as we remembered.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 7, 2017

End of vacation and symphony.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Very friendly and warm spot, good quality interior environment, excellent serving staff. Food was Ok but the fish was a bit fishy and probably a bit old which was too bad. Pizza was good and he salad was among the best we have had. Overally good choice, but upgrade the freshness of the fish....

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Special Occasion, Cozy, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Enjoyable food with very good service and ambiance. The potato-leek soup was superb. The albacore tuna was not seasoned so was not tasty by itself. The accompaniments on the plate were interesting and added to the tuna's flavor. The gnocchi with truffle oil was good with a strong truffle flavor that I like. Basically, flavorful but not creative. Overall, this was a good food experience, but the cost exceeded that experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Casual, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Great food and terrific service.. Enjoyed it very much!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on January 31, 2017

I was a big fan of this restaurant, having moved east and now back in the area. We came to the restaurant on every return and typically planned meet ups with friends here. We love it so much I went for my wife's birthday.

We got aver cooked vegetables mostly carrots, asked for more mixed vegetables and got to listen to the cook and waiter argue about it. Paid 23 dollars for veggies that would have been better frozen from Freddie's. Feel ripped off.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great Food and Good Service. It's quite noisy.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Special Occasion, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Our server was expert and very friendly. We normally have a Berbera and SonJov but tried the Super Tuscan and was a treat. Thank you friendly server. My steak was great and Rebbeca Venision was also very good. Nicely done all around.

Tags: Special Occasion, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Paleo Friendly, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on January 23, 2017

They had a truly memorable special the night we dined... smoked salmon ravioli with a lemon leek sauce. Yum! Save room for dessert!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Pazzo provided a wonderful birthday dinner atmosphere for my daughter. The servers were friendly and attentive and very helpful, paying attention to food allergies. We were given complimentary dessert options because it was a birthday. Three teenagers loved the flourless chocolate cake. Appetizer, soup, bread and most of the dinners were wonderful.

The only thing I was not thrilled with was that the pork shank was dry (probably overcooked). Three of us had this dish and we all noticed the same thing. My husband and son were not fans of the dumpling; I thought it was OK. Other than that, we had a wonderful dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Top notch homemade pasta and stellar service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Wonderful New Years Eve dinner. Food was great, our server was awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We have eaten here several times over the years and have always had a positive experience. This time it was a New Year's Eve dinner before a concert. We are from out of town and have found the restaurants location good for us and the food and service consistently good over the years. We will be back.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Fun place to enjoy an early dinner on New Years Eve. Impeccable service, wonderful bar drinks, good food. This our third NYE @ Pazzo. We'll do it again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 31, 2016

An outstanding meal... pasta was delicious.. drinks perfect... a terrific destination for a romantic dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Outstanding house made pastas, great Caesar salad and attentive service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We sat at the bar, Jeffrey was the bartender, I recommend this very highly since Jeffrey is a "hoot". He was very busy but always had time us!! Try the coffee drinks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The food, the service and the atmosphere were great!

It was VERY busy and crowded so I am glad that we had a reservation. Strongly recommend a reservation for weekends. I was concerned service would be less than ideal but I was pleasanatly surprised, the service was GREAT!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great Beer, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Hadn't been to Pazzo's in ages, hence, was excited to meet friends from out of town there. While we had good service with a nice ambience, the food was definitely 'meh'. Not what I remembered Pazzo's being known for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Service was amazing, my waiter was extremely knowledgeable, professional, and conversational.

The food wasn't necessarily bad, but there was nothing notable about it. A very average meal. I left feeling like I feeling like I severely overpaid and that the check should have been 2/3's what it was.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We sat at the bar and celebrated our 22nd wedding anniversary. Everyone was so friendly. A special shout-out to Andrew, our bartender/server. To paraphrase Billy Joel's song the Piano Man: "Andrew was quick with a joke and would light up your smile, and it seemed there was no other place he would rather be." When we want to celebrate something special, we go to the bar at Pazzo, as all the bartenders are great. Thanks for a wonderful evening.

Tags: People Watching, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Pazzo has long been a special occasion restaurant for us. My only complaint is that it seems like the menu has become too limited. It took 3 of us a long time to figure out what to have because of a lack of multiple appealing options. The food itself was excellent, and especially the caesar salad--the best I've had locally. Two of us had the papardelle with meat sauce, and the other had the braised pork shank. All were just fine. I think Pazzo could benefit from menu expansion, but it's still on my live of faves.

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 24, 2016

This was our second dining experience at Pazzo! My husband and I make an annual holiday visit to Portland from the coast. Pazzo is quickly becoming our go to restaurant, not only for the holidays, but whenever we come into Portland. Thank you for being part of our Christmas, once again!

Deborah

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for a Date, Wood Oven, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Great restaurant. Very romantic, quick service and great food. This would be an excellent restaurant for a date.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 20, 2016

The wild mushroom soup with truffle oil was to die for! The seasonal hot cider was equally indulgent, and service left nothing to be desired. Beautiful Restaurant!

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on December 19, 2016

First visit and happy. Very pleasant interior inside the Vintage Hotel. Our server was outstanding. Young, but obviously a long time employee. Knew his stuff. Drinks were excellent. We both had 3 egg omletts, a little too much garlic for my taste. I think that I will go for the pizza on my next trip. Munu has a full range of Italian specialities. that I would try, but this was for lunch.

Tags: Casual, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Pazzo is a holiday tradition for my family and it never disappoints. Well made cocktails, excellent cheese plate and calamari. Our entrees ranged from pizza to pasta to seafood and all were delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Pazzo did a fabulous job accommodating our large party for our Christmas celebration! Food was great and service was awesome!

Tags: Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on December 11, 2016

This restaurant is a Portland classic. Food is generally very good to excellent. That said the risotto is not up to their usual standard, watery and a very small portion for $$$. Normally the service is excellent, but not this time. The bar is cozy and elegant, as is the entire restaurant.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 11, 2016

We had a Ceasar salad, which the waiter kindly split, a delicious pizza, and a good Italian red wine. Friendly, informed service.

Tags: Authentic, Comfort Food, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 10, 2016

An amazing dining experience all the way around! From the moment we walked in, the ambiance set the tone for the evening. A diverse menu that appeals to all tastes from appetizer to dessert. Highly recommend for any occasion!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 7, 2016

One of my go-to spots for business lunch. Quiet and spacious enough, with really good food, and not too pricey.

Tags: Historic, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 5, 2016

This was probably my 7th time hosting a holiday luncheon at Pazzo for myself and some former coworkers. Over the last two years the food has taken a significant downturn. The menu options aren't as traditional as the restaurant is perhaps trying to appeal to a broader crowd at lunchtime. Additionally, the dishes that we've ordered have also been lacking in quality. I ordered the lumachine with fennel sausage and peppers which was recommended by our server as a staff favorite. Upon arrival, I was shocked to see a large plate of lumachine pasta with barely any braised greens, the tiniest amount of sausage I've ever seen, and absolutely no accompanying broth/sauce/gravy/what have you. There was no harmony created between the ingredients in this dish. My former colleague ordered the linguine with clams. She shared with our server that her clams were under cooked by about 3-4 minutes so the server, who looked at us as if we were fools for not knowing how clams should be cooked, comped us some cappuccinos at the end of our meal.

I hardly ever leave reviews but this poor experience certainly warranted one. I'll be suggesting we seek a different venue for next year's holiday luncheon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Of our many times to Pazzo, this time was extra special as Friday night I proposed to the woman of my dreams.

We came to dinner at Pazzo and enjoyed each other's company, old colleagues and friends stopping by to say hello, wonderful food, complimentary prosecco, before heading to our hotel where I would propose. Everyone is always so kind and Pazzo truly is a gem of downtown and a beacon of what true, honest, and real customer service should be. Whether it was how kindly we were greeted by the hostesses when we came in, our server Tara taking care of us, everyone coming by (Geoffrey, Tara (Pazzo bar) Leslie, Harvey, Mike, Callie, Jonny), and even when we returned with a small group to celebrate the proposal, we are always warmly welcomed.

The food here is always amazing, presented so elegantly, and one of these days we will finally eat dessert, but what truly sets Pazzo aside and in its own niche from other restaurants in Downtown, is the people and how much they truly care.

From us to you, thank you all for making Friday so memorable, special, and sharing in our celebration.

Love,

Jon Garcia & Aimee Lomeli

Patrons for Life

Tags: Authentic, Fun, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Dinner with girlfriends before Amy Schumer show. It was a great time. Walking distance from our hotel

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Was able to get a reservation the same day, and met some friends from out-of-state. I really appreciated the decor - it was comfortable and roomy, while warm and QUIET. So many restaurants are hard surfaces everywhere which is frustrating for actual conversation. There was enough space between tables, and carpets and soft wall coverings to attenuate noise.

Food was good - Italian with decent portions and pleasant presentation and taste. Not the most adventurous, but very solid. Service was excellent - our server helped with selections and made this event a lot of fun for us.

I'd easily go again and would recommend this to folks wanting an enjoyable meal where the focus is the people you're with, and where you can be relaxed and comfortable and use your indoor talking voice.

Tags: Good for Groups, Afternoon Coffee, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Enjoyed brunch for 10 at Pazzi when in Portland for the weekend. Food was good and they nicely accommodated a big group including small children. I would come again when staying at the Vintage downtown.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Great restaurant very authentic! Highly recommend for

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Once again, we had a wonderful dinner at Pazzo. The food was really good and the service is second to none. I will always recommend Pazzo for an excellent dining experience in downtown Portland.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Pazzos is always high quality, quick, efficient service and great food.

Tags: Business Meals, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 21, 2016

The food, as always, was excellent, but the service was outstanding.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Never disappoints, reliably great food and service. Close enough to walk to downtown theaters. Excellent wait staff.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Wood Oven, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.