About Pazzo Ristorante

627 SW Washington St.
Portland, OR 97205
View Larger Map

Old World tradition meets the bounty of the Pacific Northwest at Pazzo, delivering critically acclaimed regional Italian cuisine at every meal. Start your day on the right foot with a breakfast bread made fresh daily or power-lunch with us at midday, when the stone wood-burning pizza oven sets forth an aroma that awakens your senses to the promise of pleasure. By evening, Pazzo’s fresh, authentically prepared entrées are accompanied by an award-winning wine list, craft cocktails and our signature warm hospitality. It all plays out in a lively setting right on Broadway in downtown Portland. Benvenuti.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Northwest, Pizzeria

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Mon-Fri 7:00am-10:30am
Lunch: Mon-Fri 11:30- 2:30pm
Brunch: Sat and Sun 8am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Mon - Thurs 5:00pm - 9:30pm
Fri and Sat 5:00- 10:00pm
Sun 4:30 - 9:00pm
Mon - Saturday 2:30-5:00pm Bar Menu available
Sun 2:30pm- 4:30pm Bar Menu available

Bar Open: Mon- Thurs & Sunday until 11:00pm
Friday & Sat until Midnight

Cross Street:
Broadway and Washington

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 228-1515

Website:
http://www.pazzo.com/

Catering:
Please visit our Private Dining page on OpenTable

Parking Details:
Valet Parking at Hotel Vintage Plaza for $7/ hour.

Public Transit:
2 Blocks from Bus Mall / MAX (Pioneer Courthouse Square)

Executive Chef:
Kenny Giambalvo

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please visit our website for Special Events

http://www.pazzo.com/portland-restaurant-events

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:30PM - 9:00PM

Mon 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:30PM - 9:30PM

Tue - Thu 5:00PM - 5:30PM 8:30PM - 9:30PM

Fri 5:00PM - 5:30PM 9:30PM - 10:00PM

Sat 5:00PM - 6:00PM 9:30PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

For unforgettable private dinners, events and meetings, Pazzo provides the ideal downtown Portland venue. Pazzo can accommodate everything from a special intimate meal for a few to a wedding reception or event of up to 300 guests.

Pazzo Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Portland / Oregon
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Portland
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

fit for foodies (39)
special occasion (32)
romantic (26)
See All
good for groups (24)
notable wine list (19)
neighborhood gem (17)
great for lunch (15)
hot spot (11)
vibrant bar scene (9)
great for brunch (8)
kid-friendly (7)
late-night find (5)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
874 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great find

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

Happened on Pazzo by accident. Food was outstanding and service very good. A bit noisy during peak hours with lots of downtown activity.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

We were a group of 9 people and, althoug ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

We were a group of 9 people and, although the food was good, we were seated in an alcove near the kitchen. We heard a lot of clanging of pots and pans and some of us had a view into the kitchen. The food was very good, but the noise a(and view for some of us) was annoying.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Executive chef Kenny is outsatnding

Dined on May 17, 2016

Food, service, atmosphere, everything was excellent. I decided to have team dinner at Pazzo periodically.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was outstanding!

Dined on May 15, 2016

I felt very accommodated while planning to reserve for 8 people! The restaurant staff. was more helpful than my own family for the event and I don't regret going at all! The waiter we had was very friendly and informative, I just hope we didn't make him upset! It was an exciting place for a pasta fiend and and fun way to celebrate for a birthday! Thank you for the awesome service and food/wine! I enjoyed the evening, immensely.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Food just OK, nothing special. Selected ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Food just OK, nothing special. Selected for convenience of location

food5
ambience5
service3
value3

Mother's Day at Pazzo

Dined on May 8, 2016

Overall the brunch was pretty good. Great ambiance inside, and the food was amazing (super recommend the french toast). The only thing that soured the experience was naturally, the day being Mother's Day, so the restaurant was filled with families and their very small children. The table right next to us had two screaming brats which their parents constantly warned them that they *might* get in trouble if they kept yelling. They never did stop. Come on parents! The food made it worth it though. The french toast I had was made with fancier rustic bread then what you'd expect, and not only did you get three pieces, I got a healthy serving of apple-sausages as well. Very filling, it might be their best breakfast deal. Overall, a great place for brunch. Expect to pay $14-17 for your order, which is a little more expensive for breakfast but it is tasty here.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Dinner

Dined on April 30, 2016

Once again we had a very friendly & attentive server. He was very helpful & knowledgable regarding the menu & entrées. It was a comfortable, warm environment on a rainy day & the beginning of a great evening.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent As Always!

Dined on April 23, 2016

Our favorite restaurant in downtown Portland. We stop by and visit regularly and are always impressed!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service3

Service from the bar was somewhat slow f ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

Service from the bar was somewhat slow for the amount of guests. Had not been here in quite some time and feel the experience is not what it once was.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The staff was very attentive and courteous.

Dined on April 10, 2016

We had our dinner there on our wedding night 12 years ago. We went back there last Saturday to celebrate. It was a very romantic dinner. The food was succulent and cooked to perfection. The atmosphere was subdued and perfect for conversation. We talked, laughed and really enjoyed each other. I'd recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

The main course pasta was tasty but pric ...

Dined on April 8, 2016

The main course pasta was tasty but pricy and small. The meat board was sparse with only a handful of mozzarella and three different meats. The prosciutto was tough to chew and the other two meats were unremarkable. Some friends of ours, that live in the area, have said that the quality has gone down and they no longer go there. We feel the same now. It used to be a wonderful restaurant and is now only mediocre.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Nice night out

Dined on March 27, 2016

Our family of four visited as part of the Portland Dining month. Food was very good, service was great. Setting was OK, a little noisy but acceptable. Overall a very good experience. We would go again.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Pazzo—a good choice

vip
Dined on March 25, 2016

Pazzo Ristorante was a good choice for dinner out for our group of four. It was Portland Restaurant Week where you could get a three-course dinner for $29. Pazzo did not spare any expense in providing a top notch selection. Two of us had the Salmon and two of us had the Chicken Breast. All four of us raved about the quality and ingenious preparation. Equally impressive was our server Alex who must have trained in a very high-end restaurant sometime in his career. He was extremely polite, and his intuition was so right-on that he seemed to know exactly when we were ready for the next course, or another glass of wine. All-in-all a wonderful evening.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience2
service5
value2

Nice meal downtown

Dined on March 22, 2016

Pazzo is good if you're looking for a decent meal in downtown Portland.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place for every occasion

vip
Dined on March 18, 2016

Pazzo is a wonderful restaurant Good service , Good food . It's the one that will stay on your list .

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Nice downtown spot for business lunch

Dined on February 24, 2016

Pazzo's is always a good reliable spot for a nice meal - this time it was a casual business lunch with a vendor. The lunch menu is decent, but some of my more favorite items are on the dinner menu, so I wish the lunch menu was a little more expanded. Pazzo's is a participant in the Passport Dining Card program, so getting one entrée comped was terrific. If you don't know about the card program, Google for it and check it out.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Friends Recommendation

Dined on February 23, 2016

I was pleasantly surprised to have such a lovely lunch at Pazzo. I had never been there before, but a friend recommended it, and I was not disappointed. We made a reservation and sat by the window. I ordered the pasta with the special meat sauce. The pasta is made in house for this entree. I took half home and had it for supper. The dessert was a a huge piece of Chocolate cake...in my opinion...overpriced, but delicious. Also took half home. Even though I am not much for Italian food, what I ordered was very good, and my friend's pizza (thin crust) looked delicious.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pazzo does not disappoint!

Dined on February 21, 2016

On a quick jaunt to Portland to visit a wonderful relative, we decided to dine at Pazzo. How fun was that! Tara, our wonderful server, deserves a medal for navigating the room as skillfully as she did, and with a smile always. Our dinners were fantastic, and we will surely be back next time we're in Portland. Well done!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Nice atmosphere, poor food

Dined on February 21, 2016

The Caesar salad was very good but the rest of the food we found very salty and the duck I got was tasteless. I would not recommend this restaurant. The atmosphere was nice and the waiters were nice.

food5
ambience5
service5

I chose this based on other reviews, and ...

vip
Dined on February 17, 2016

I chose this based on other reviews, and for the location, and it did not disappoint. Everything we ordered (three pastas and one dessert) was delicious. Service was very good. Nice atmosphere and we could hear ourselves talk. I will return.

food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service!

Dined on February 7, 2016

The food was delicious and they were delightfully accommodating with our food allergies. We're not an easy crowd! The cooked vegetable for the seared tuna, and garden salad was delicious albeit the serving sizes could have been more plentiful. I requested man portions and still had to ask for additional sides.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience5
service4

The ambiance was exactly what we were lo ...

Dined on January 31, 2016

The ambiance was exactly what we were looking for... great place for a date. The dishes were however underwhelming. My med rare hanger steak was brought to me well done and my wife's tuna was lacking in flavor.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Out of this world!

Dined on January 31, 2016

Absolute gem in downtown Portland. Super friendly and helpful staff. Couldn't decide between two dishes, so waitress suggested two half plates, no extra charge. Both were amazing. MUST HAVE: the gnocchi with roasted beets. HEAVENLY.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service4

Great Caesar salad

Dined on January 31, 2016

Great Caesar salad

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good experience

Dined on January 25, 2016

Well-prepared food, unobtrusive service, overall a very good experience.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicous, Authentic Italian Cuisine

vip
Dined on January 23, 2016

We went for my mom's 72nd birthday. The service was second to none and the food was fantastic. We started with the calamari which was cooked to perfection and almost melted in your mouth. Two of us ordered Kenny's gnocchi which was so delicious! The gnocchi was light and fluffy and the sauce was to die for! The beets were cut into bite sized cubes and were exquisite. Two others ordered the Pappardelle with Nana Giambalvo's meat sauce. The tomato sauce was very flavorful and the meat was braised and so tender. Someone else ordered the Mezza Luna. The ravioli was filled with shrimp and scallops and was delicious! We finished the meal with three desserts, the Hazelnut Fudge Cake, the Banana Salted Caramel Trifle and the Apple Galette. All three were heavenly! We had two bottles of the Rocca delle Macie Chianti. One of the best Chiantis I've had in a long time! Fabulous night! Great ambiance! Super service! Fantastic food!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The staff paid attention to our special ...

Dined on January 22, 2016

The staff paid attention to our special requests for location, and the service was outstanding. I could not ask for more.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Delicious. Interesting menu.

vip
Dined on January 22, 2016

Delicious. Interesting menu.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

excellent and innovative

Dined on January 17, 2016

My friend and I enjoyed trying some new flavor combinations and some very well-made dishes. I tried a skate wing, which was so sweet and tender, with Brussels sprouts and lentils which flavors blended very well. My friend had the gnocchi with beets and other accoutrements, which was surprising and delicious

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Amazing pizza

vip
Dined on January 10, 2016

This is some of the best thin crust pizza I've ever had. Don't know the rest of the menu, but this pizza was tops. Wood fire brick oven. Great creative toppings. Excellent. Great service, too. I'd definitely be back when visiting Portland again.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Tasteful food, tastefully served.

Dined on January 7, 2016

It is our favorite for birthdays, guests in town and nights out at the Schnitz.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was absolutely perfect! Thank ...

Dined on January 1, 2016

Everything was absolutely perfect! Thank you for exceeding our expectations for a New Years Eve dinner party!

food2
ambience5
service4
value1

Okay, but not up to par

Dined on December 25, 2015

Pazzo ambiance and service are excellent. We greatly appreciated the gluten-free offerings for our daughter. We have dined here in the past, but unfortunately our dinner this time was overpriced and the food was underwhelming.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Elegant👌

Dined on December 23, 2015

Customer service was great. Food was great. BEAUTIFUL scenery. And it was a plus that it was in such a beautiful hotel.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Great Find in Portland, OR

Dined on December 23, 2015

Our family of 4 loved this restaurant. Our children are 12 and 15 and are accustomed to really good Italian food. This restaurant did not disappoint. It is not mass-produced Italian food - it is excellent, reasonable portions, and imaginative. The bruschetta starter was excellent. Two of us had pastas (gnocchi, mezzaluna), one of us had pork cheeks (EXCELLENT) and the 4th had the flatiron steak entree. All were delicious. Our server was excellent - very attentive but not overwhelming. Overall, one of our best restaurant experiences while we were in Portland.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups
food3
ambience4
service5

Haven't been there in a while

Dined on December 13, 2015

It had been a few years since we had eaten at Pazzo's, so we decided to meet with friends for a holiday gathering. The service was spot on, but I went away disappointed in the meal. I remember lovely dishes such as grilled asparagus and a wonderful grilled pork chop but they were no where to be seen. My husband had the gnocchi, one of his favorites, and found it just a two star attempt. For my tastes the menu needs an update.

food3
ambience2
service3

Not my best meal at Pazzo

Dined on December 11, 2015

In the past this restaurant has been pretty good, but the food this time was uninspired. Not bad, just not great. I also ordered a birthday cake for dessert for the table which Pazzo was great about asking their pastry chef to make. The cake looked really nice, but the taste did not showcase the talents of their pastry chef. It was certainly not my best meal at Pazzo.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food2
ambience3
service3

It's a nice enough restaurant, but the f ...

vip
Dined on December 11, 2015

It's a nice enough restaurant, but the food just isn't that good. Chewy calamari, pizza was just bad and had a fishy taste to it.

food5
ambience4
service2

Great find in the heart of Portland

vip
Dined on December 6, 2015

My husband and I made a reservation for dinner and upon arrival, the hostess greeted us warmly and told us that they were clearing our table and that it would just be another minute or two. She said we were welcome to wait at the bar and they'd come find us when the table was ready. The bar service was great and the wine selection was very good, but after half an hour, my husband politely inquired with the hostess and we were magically seated immediately. It seemed fairly obvious that she had forgotten about us though didn't offer an apology. Once seated, though, the service and food with both excellent. We each ordered pizzas and were still raving about them in the morning. In fact, they were so good we came back the next day for happy hour and shared a meatball appetizer and another pizza ~ all wonderful! I'd absolutely go back on a future (but if you are hungry, I wouldn't recommend leaving the hostess stand).

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The staff was very friendly and helpful.

Dined on November 30, 2015

We had to change our reservation twice and they were very accommodating.

Tags: good for groups

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.