About Pazzo Ristorante

627 SW Washington St.
Portland, OR 97205
View Larger Map

Old World tradition meets the bounty of the Pacific Northwest at Pazzo, delivering critically acclaimed regional Italian cuisine at every meal. Start your day on the right foot with a breakfast bread made fresh daily or power-lunch with us at midday, when the stone wood-burning pizza oven sets forth an aroma that awakens your senses to the promise of pleasure. By evening, Pazzo’s fresh, authentically prepared entrées are accompanied by an award-winning wine list, craft cocktails and our signature warm hospitality. It all plays out in a lively setting right on Broadway in downtown Portland. Benvenuti.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Northwest, Pizzeria

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Mon-Fri 7:00am-10:30am
Lunch: Mon-Fri 11:30- 2:30pm
Brunch: Sat and Sun 8am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Mon - Thurs 5:00pm - 9:30pm
Fri and Sat 5:00- 10:00pm
Sun 4:30 - 9:00pm
Mon - Saturday 2:30-5:00pm Bar Menu available
Sun 2:30pm- 4:30pm Bar Menu available

Bar Open: Mon- Thurs & Sunday until 11:00pm
Friday & Sat until Midnight

Cross Street:
Broadway and Washington

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 228-1515

Website:
http://www.pazzo.com/

Catering:
Please visit our Private Dining page on OpenTable

Parking Details:
Valet Parking at Hotel Vintage Plaza for $7/ hour.

Public Transit:
2 Blocks from Bus Mall / MAX (Pioneer Courthouse Square)

Executive Chef:
Kenny Giambalvo

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please visit our website for Special Events

http://www.pazzo.com/portland-restaurant-events

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Grilled Flatiron Steak with Scalloped Potatoes, Braised Winter Greens and Garlic Rosemary Oil - Pazzo Ristorante, Portland, OR
Dessert - Pazzo Ristorante, Portland, OR
Pork Loin - Pazzo Ristorante, Portland, OR
Pappardelle - Pazzo Ristorante, Portland, OR
Ippoglosso - Pazzo Ristorante, Portland, OR
Omelette - Pazzo Ristorante, Portland, OR
Duck Hash - Pazzo Ristorante, Portland, OR
Walnut Bread - Pazzo Ristorante, Portland, OR
Gnocchi - Pazzo Ristorante, Portland, OR
Pizza - Pazzo Ristorante, Portland, OR
Semifreddo - Pazzo Ristorante, Portland, OR
Manicotti - Pazzo Ristorante, Portland, OR
Pana Cotta - Pazzo Ristorante, Portland, OR
cheese pizza - Pazzo Ristorante, Portland, OR
Beef Shortrib Hash - Pazzo Ristorante, Portland, OR
Panna Cotta - Pazzo Ristorante, Portland, OR
Formaggi - Pazzo Ristorante, Portland, OR
Parpadelle With A Veal Ragu - Pazzo Ristorante, Portland, OR
Beet Salad - Pazzo Ristorante, Portland, OR
Arancini - Pazzo Ristorante, Portland, OR
Italian Pizza Pasta Restaurant - Pazzo Ristorante, Portland, OR
Ribeye Steak - Pazzo Ristorante, Portland, OR

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:30PM - 9:00PM

Mon 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:30PM - 9:30PM

Tue - Thu 5:00PM - 5:30PM 8:30PM - 9:30PM

Fri 5:00PM - 5:30PM 9:30PM - 10:00PM

Sat 5:00PM - 6:00PM 9:30PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

For unforgettable private dinners, events and meetings, Pazzo provides the ideal downtown Portland venue. Pazzo can accommodate everything from a special intimate meal for a few to a wedding reception or event of up to 300 guests.

Pazzo Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (28)
Good for a Date (26)
Business Meals (15)
See All
Romantic (15)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Cozy (12)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Notable Wine List (11)
Authentic (10)
Open Kitchen (10)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Wood Oven (8)
Fun (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
Casual (8)
Good for Groups (7)
People Watching (7)
Happy Hour (6)
Great for Lunch (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Healthy (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Historic (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Seasonal (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great Beer (1)
Family Style (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
1004 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Pazzo provided a wonderful birthday dinn ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 5 days ago

Pazzo provided a wonderful birthday dinner atmosphere for my daughter. The servers were friendly and attentive and very helpful, paying attention to food allergies. We were given complimentary dessert options because it was a birthday. Three teenagers loved the flourless chocolate cake. Appetizer, soup, bread and most of the dinners were wonderful.

The only thing I was not thrilled with was that the pork shank was dry (probably overcooked). Three of us had this dish and we all noticed the same thing. My husband and son were not fans of the dumpling; I thought it was OK. Other than that, we had a wonderful dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Top notch homemade pasta and stellar ser ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Top notch homemade pasta and stellar service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful New Years Eve dinner. Food was ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Wonderful New Years Eve dinner. Food was great, our server was awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

We have eaten here several times over th ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We have eaten here several times over the years and have always had a positive experience. This time it was a New Year's Eve dinner before a concert. We are from out of town and have found the restaurants location good for us and the food and service consistently good over the years. We will be back.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fun place to enjoy an early dinner on Ne ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Fun place to enjoy an early dinner on New Years Eve. Impeccable service, wonderful bar drinks, good food. This our third NYE @ Pazzo. We'll do it again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

An outstanding meal... pasta was delicio ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 31, 2016

An outstanding meal... pasta was delicious.. drinks perfect... a terrific destination for a romantic dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Outstanding house made pastas, great Cae ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Outstanding house made pastas, great Caesar salad and attentive service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We sat at the bar, Jeffrey was the barte ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We sat at the bar, Jeffrey was the bartender, I recommend this very highly since Jeffrey is a "hoot". He was very busy but always had time us!! Try the coffee drinks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food, the service and the atmosphere ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The food, the service and the atmosphere were great!

It was VERY busy and crowded so I am glad that we had a reservation. Strongly recommend a reservation for weekends. I was concerned service would be less than ideal but I was pleasanatly surprised, the service was GREAT!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great Beer, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hadn't been to Pazzo's in ages, hence, w ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Hadn't been to Pazzo's in ages, hence, was excited to meet friends from out of town there. While we had good service with a nice ambience, the food was definitely 'meh'. Not what I remembered Pazzo's being known for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Service was amazing, my waiter was extre ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Service was amazing, my waiter was extremely knowledgeable, professional, and conversational.

The food wasn't necessarily bad, but there was nothing notable about it. A very average meal. I left feeling like I feeling like I severely overpaid and that the check should have been 2/3's what it was.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

We sat at the bar and celebrated our 22n ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We sat at the bar and celebrated our 22nd wedding anniversary. Everyone was so friendly. A special shout-out to Andrew, our bartender/server. To paraphrase Billy Joel's song the Piano Man: "Andrew was quick with a joke and would light up your smile, and it seemed there was no other place he would rather be." When we want to celebrate something special, we go to the bar at Pazzo, as all the bartenders are great. Thanks for a wonderful evening.

Tags: People Watching, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Pazzo has long been a special occasion r ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Pazzo has long been a special occasion restaurant for us. My only complaint is that it seems like the menu has become too limited. It took 3 of us a long time to figure out what to have because of a lack of multiple appealing options. The food itself was excellent, and especially the caesar salad--the best I've had locally. Two of us had the papardelle with meat sauce, and the other had the braised pork shank. All were just fine. I think Pazzo could benefit from menu expansion, but it's still on my live of faves.

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This was our second dining experience at ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 24, 2016

This was our second dining experience at Pazzo! My husband and I make an annual holiday visit to Portland from the coast. Pazzo is quickly becoming our go to restaurant, not only for the holidays, but whenever we come into Portland. Thank you for being part of our Christmas, once again!

Deborah

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for a Date, Wood Oven, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant. Very romantic, quick ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Great restaurant. Very romantic, quick service and great food. This would be an excellent restaurant for a date.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The wild mushroom soup with truffle oil ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 20, 2016

The wild mushroom soup with truffle oil was to die for! The seasonal hot cider was equally indulgent, and service left nothing to be desired. Beautiful Restaurant!

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First visit and happy. Very pleasant i ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on December 19, 2016

First visit and happy. Very pleasant interior inside the Vintage Hotel. Our server was outstanding. Young, but obviously a long time employee. Knew his stuff. Drinks were excellent. We both had 3 egg omletts, a little too much garlic for my taste. I think that I will go for the pizza on my next trip. Munu has a full range of Italian specialities. that I would try, but this was for lunch.

Tags: Casual, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Pazzo is a holiday tradition for my fami ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Pazzo is a holiday tradition for my family and it never disappoints. Well made cocktails, excellent cheese plate and calamari. Our entrees ranged from pizza to pasta to seafood and all were delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Pazzo did a fabulous job accommodating o ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Pazzo did a fabulous job accommodating our large party for our Christmas celebration! Food was great and service was awesome!

Tags: Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant is a Portland classic. F ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on December 11, 2016

This restaurant is a Portland classic. Food is generally very good to excellent. That said the risotto is not up to their usual standard, watery and a very small portion for $$$. Normally the service is excellent, but not this time. The bar is cozy and elegant, as is the entire restaurant.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

We had a Ceasar salad, which the waiter ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 11, 2016

We had a Ceasar salad, which the waiter kindly split, a delicious pizza, and a good Italian red wine. Friendly, informed service.

Tags: Authentic, Comfort Food, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

An amazing dining experience all the way ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 10, 2016

An amazing dining experience all the way around! From the moment we walked in, the ambiance set the tone for the evening. A diverse menu that appeals to all tastes from appetizer to dessert. Highly recommend for any occasion!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

One of my go-to spots for business lunch ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 7, 2016

One of my go-to spots for business lunch. Quiet and spacious enough, with really good food, and not too pricey.

Tags: Historic, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This was probably my 7th time hosting a ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 5, 2016

This was probably my 7th time hosting a holiday luncheon at Pazzo for myself and some former coworkers. Over the last two years the food has taken a significant downturn. The menu options aren't as traditional as the restaurant is perhaps trying to appeal to a broader crowd at lunchtime. Additionally, the dishes that we've ordered have also been lacking in quality. I ordered the lumachine with fennel sausage and peppers which was recommended by our server as a staff favorite. Upon arrival, I was shocked to see a large plate of lumachine pasta with barely any braised greens, the tiniest amount of sausage I've ever seen, and absolutely no accompanying broth/sauce/gravy/what have you. There was no harmony created between the ingredients in this dish. My former colleague ordered the linguine with clams. She shared with our server that her clams were under cooked by about 3-4 minutes so the server, who looked at us as if we were fools for not knowing how clams should be cooked, comped us some cappuccinos at the end of our meal.

I hardly ever leave reviews but this poor experience certainly warranted one. I'll be suggesting we seek a different venue for next year's holiday luncheon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Of our many times to Pazzo, this time wa ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Of our many times to Pazzo, this time was extra special as Friday night I proposed to the woman of my dreams.

We came to dinner at Pazzo and enjoyed each other's company, old colleagues and friends stopping by to say hello, wonderful food, complimentary prosecco, before heading to our hotel where I would propose. Everyone is always so kind and Pazzo truly is a gem of downtown and a beacon of what true, honest, and real customer service should be. Whether it was how kindly we were greeted by the hostesses when we came in, our server Tara taking care of us, everyone coming by (Geoffrey, Tara (Pazzo bar) Leslie, Harvey, Mike, Callie, Jonny), and even when we returned with a small group to celebrate the proposal, we are always warmly welcomed.

The food here is always amazing, presented so elegantly, and one of these days we will finally eat dessert, but what truly sets Pazzo aside and in its own niche from other restaurants in Downtown, is the people and how much they truly care.

From us to you, thank you all for making Friday so memorable, special, and sharing in our celebration.

Love,

Jon Garcia & Aimee Lomeli

Patrons for Life

Tags: Authentic, Fun, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner with girlfriends before Amy Schum ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Dinner with girlfriends before Amy Schumer show. It was a great time. Walking distance from our hotel

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Was able to get a reservation the same d ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Was able to get a reservation the same day, and met some friends from out-of-state. I really appreciated the decor - it was comfortable and roomy, while warm and QUIET. So many restaurants are hard surfaces everywhere which is frustrating for actual conversation. There was enough space between tables, and carpets and soft wall coverings to attenuate noise.

Food was good - Italian with decent portions and pleasant presentation and taste. Not the most adventurous, but very solid. Service was excellent - our server helped with selections and made this event a lot of fun for us.

I'd easily go again and would recommend this to folks wanting an enjoyable meal where the focus is the people you're with, and where you can be relaxed and comfortable and use your indoor talking voice.

Tags: Good for Groups, Afternoon Coffee, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Enjoyed brunch for 10 at Pazzi when in P ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Enjoyed brunch for 10 at Pazzi when in Portland for the weekend. Food was good and they nicely accommodated a big group including small children. I would come again when staying at the Vintage downtown.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Great restaurant very authentic! Highly ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Great restaurant very authentic! Highly recommend for

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Once again, we had a wonderful dinner at ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Once again, we had a wonderful dinner at Pazzo. The food was really good and the service is second to none. I will always recommend Pazzo for an excellent dining experience in downtown Portland.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pazzos is always high quality, quick, ef ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Pazzos is always high quality, quick, efficient service and great food.

Tags: Business Meals, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food, as always, was excellent, but ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 21, 2016

The food, as always, was excellent, but the service was outstanding.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Never disappoints, reliably great food a ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Never disappoints, reliably great food and service. Close enough to walk to downtown theaters. Excellent wait staff.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Wood Oven, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meal & great wine suggestion by se ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Great meal & great wine suggestion by server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I take clients to Pazzo for lunch on a s ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on November 14, 2016

I take clients to Pazzo for lunch on a somewhat regular basis. There are quiet booths and the food is good. Most other places are cramped and noisy.

This time, lunch was especially good. They have stepped up their tagleatelli dish, and it was great!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Superb service - split our salad without ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Superb service - split our salad without charging us, everything came out at the right temperature, any requests were immediately attended to, and the waitress was outstanding. Great food....perfect.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We dined later in the evening, and ambie ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We dined later in the evening, and ambience was warm and cozy. The food was similar to European Italian found in a good NYC restaurant. The service was friendly and familiar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

My husbands pasta sauce was not flavorfu ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on November 12, 2016

My husbands pasta sauce was not flavorful and mediocre. My chicken was tender but lacked flavor... it was definitely not the knockout that LA Coquine serves. I would not return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

It was my son's 30th birthday and the re ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 10, 2016

It was my son's 30th birthday and the restaurant went all out to make his special day a great one. There was a Happy Birthday card at our table when we arrived. We had a nice dessert that was served with a birthday candle. We were not charged for the dessert.

The food was fabulous and the waitress was very knowledgeable about the various menu items.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Wood Oven, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

great as always. I have been to Pazzo at ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 10, 2016

great as always. I have been to Pazzo at least 60 times over the past 16 years and it has always been a treat.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.