About Pazzo Ristorante

627 SW Washington St.
Portland, OR 97205
View Larger Map

Old World tradition meets the bounty of the Pacific Northwest at Pazzo, delivering critically acclaimed regional Italian cuisine at every meal. Start your day on the right foot with a breakfast bread made fresh daily or power-lunch with us at midday, when the stone wood-burning pizza oven sets forth an aroma that awakens your senses to the promise of pleasure. By evening, Pazzo’s fresh, authentically prepared entrées are accompanied by an award-winning wine list, craft cocktails and our signature warm hospitality. It all plays out in a lively setting right on Broadway in downtown Portland. Benvenuti.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Northwest, Pizzeria

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Mon-Fri 7:00am-10:30am
Lunch: Mon-Fri 11:30- 2:30pm
Brunch: Sat and Sun 8am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Mon - Thurs 5:00pm - 9:30pm
Fri and Sat 5:00- 10:00pm
Sun 4:30 - 9:00pm
Mon - Saturday 2:30-5:00pm Bar Menu available
Sun 2:30pm- 4:30pm Bar Menu available

Bar Open: Mon- Thurs & Sunday until 11:00pm
Friday & Sat until Midnight

Cross Street:
Broadway and Washington

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 228-1515

Website:
http://www.pazzo.com/

Catering:
Please visit our Private Dining page on OpenTable

Parking Details:
Valet Parking at Hotel Vintage Plaza for $7/ hour.

Public Transit:
2 Blocks from Bus Mall / MAX (Pioneer Courthouse Square)

Executive Chef:
Kenny Giambalvo

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please visit our website for Special Events

http://www.pazzo.com/portland-restaurant-events

Restaurant Photos

Grilled Flatiron Steak with Scalloped Potatoes, Braised Winter Greens and Garlic Rosemary Oil
Dessert
Pork Loin
Pappardelle
Ippoglosso
Omelette
Duck Hash
Walnut Bread
Gnocchi
Pizza
Semifreddo
Manicotti
Pana Cotta
cheese pizza
Beef Shortrib Hash
Panna Cotta
Formaggi
Parpadelle With A Veal Ragu
Beet Salad
Arancini
Italian Pizza Pasta Restaurant
Ribeye Steak

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:30PM - 9:00PM

Mon 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:30PM - 9:30PM

Tue - Thu 5:00PM - 5:30PM 8:30PM - 9:30PM

Fri 5:00PM - 5:30PM 9:30PM - 10:00PM

Sat 5:00PM - 6:00PM 9:30PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

For unforgettable private dinners, events and meetings, Pazzo provides the ideal downtown Portland venue. Pazzo can accommodate everything from a special intimate meal for a few to a wedding reception or event of up to 300 guests.

Pazzo Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Portland / Oregon
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Portland
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Fit for Foodies (29)
Romantic (24)
Special Occasion (24)
See All
Good for Groups (19)
Great for Lunch (15)
Notable Wine List (15)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Great for Brunch (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Good for a Date (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Wood Oven (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Authentic (3)
Cozy (3)
Fun (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Late-night Find (3)
People Watching (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Casual (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Historic (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Private Room (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Seasonal (1)
Business Meals (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Live Sports (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sort By:
Newest
909 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Yummy pasta dishes. Hard to decide which ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 5 days ago

Yummy pasta dishes. Hard to decide which home made pasta to order!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

How can you ruin a seafood pasta dish wi ...

 
 (London)
·Dined 5 days ago

How can you ruin a seafood pasta dish with a tomato based sauce. At Pazzo they have succeeded. The sauce was spicy but at the same time tasteless!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

We were on our way to a show and decided ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

We were on our way to a show and decided to go here because it was within walking distance. The service was outstanding. Our server really knew the menu, timing, and how to get us out on time. The drinks were also good, the best Manhatten I've ever had. She told us we could order half and half because I couldn't make up my mind and that did the trick. We got to taste a couple of dishes without leftovers. I highly reccomend the green bean & mushroom starter. We will definately be regulars here.

Tags: Wood Oven, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The pasta dishes were delicious. The Ca ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

The pasta dishes were delicious. The Caesar Salad was excellent. Our waitress was cordial and efficient. The decor is somewhat overwhelming and 'cold' in appearance. When we had dinner there, only a few tables were occupied.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

I have been looking for Italian Pizza ev ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

I have been looking for Italian Pizza ever since I left Italy 10 years ago. I found it once in lil italy in NY, but now, I have found it again. Awesome Pizza! The way it is supposed to be made!

Tags: Live Sports, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I had a very enjoyable meal. The staff w ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

I had a very enjoyable meal. The staff was great in getting me out in time to get to symphony.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We arrived at 5 for a 5:15 reservation. ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

We arrived at 5 for a 5:15 reservation. We were taken directly to our table. That's when the trouble began. We ordered an appetizer and it took 30 minutes to get it. When the waiter showed up with it, he apologized for the delay and said there was something wrong in the kitchen and the appetizer was on the house. It didn't get any better. Our entrees took forever to come out also. The noodles in my husband's pasta dish were all stuck together. He had to cut them with a knife. I ordered the halibut. The fish was delicious but the topping on the fish looked unappetizing to say the least. We ordered a dessert of Oregon berry shortcake. The shortcake was stale and COLD! Obviously, someone doesn't care in this restaurant. Fortunately, we allowed plenty of time to eat or we would have been late to the Symphony!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

Outstanding service! Cocktails were won ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Outstanding service! Cocktails were wonderful and the divine. One of our favorite date night spots. We love Pazzo!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Ryan was fantastic and always great seei ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Ryan was fantastic and always great seeing new and familiar faces at Pazzo. Having worked here years ago, its still one of my favorite spots in Portland to grab a bite, a drink, and catch up with friends and bring first timers here. It has a very inviting atmosphere and some of the friendliest people you will find in the service industry. Tara, Geoffrey, Laurie, the Ryan's, Rose, Harvey, the Will's, Ika, Leslie, and the list goes on.

If you have not been here, go here, eat here, relax here, drink here, and become familiar with another Portland Gem.

Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Disabled Access, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Outstanding Value, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, People Watching, Fun, Wood Oven, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tasty pasta dishes! The calamari was exc ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Tasty pasta dishes! The calamari was exceptionally good. The beet-topped gnocchi was interesting and well-prepared, but more of an acquired taste. High marks for the ravioli as well. Overall good experience, would definitely return.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good Italian food with lots of variety a ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Good Italian food with lots of variety and great wine list

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Had parpadelle with rptomato based meat ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Had parpadelle with rptomato based meat sauce. Absolutely best pasta dish I've had. Noodles are best ever. Service was great.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tremendous caring staff that supports an ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Tremendous caring staff that supports an equally delicious meal and choices!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This isn't our first time at Pazzo so th ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

This isn't our first time at Pazzo so that should speak for itself. This is a Portland gem, an upscale Italian restaurant where the food and service are always excellent. The halibut was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was so mediocre. The best part ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The food was so mediocre. The best part of the evening was the service we received from the bread/water guy. He was attentive and charming. That's not a good sign when all you can rave about is how quickly your water glass was fille, though.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Very good an sympatic service. Cool

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Very good an sympatic service.

Cool

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Pazzo's never disappoints. Whenever I'm ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Pazzo's never disappoints. Whenever I'm in Portland, its top on my list of restaurants.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pazzo amazes again, we already love hitt ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Pazzo amazes again, we already love hitting this place when we are in town, but this time one of guys in the group had a birthday and Pazzo did a fantastic job of handling it when I mentioned it in my reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were celebrating our 15th wedding ann ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

We were celebrating our 15th wedding anniversary and we're delighted with the extraordinary service we had. The food was great. I would defiantly recommend the Pazzo Ristorante for any special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was only ok for what we paid. U ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

The food was only ok for what we paid. Undercooked pasta, salmon, and canned crab. Service and ambiance were great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Classic Italian restaurant, central loca ...

vip
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Classic Italian restaurant, central location in downtown Portland. The spinach flan was amazing as was the rest of the vegetarian fare my guest ordered. Decent wine list by the glass, super Tuscan paired well with lamb brachiole (lamb and fixings rolled up, cooked and sliced), nice surprise to find this on the menu. Nice comfortable setting, good value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place! Loved the atmosphere! We di ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Great place! Loved the atmosphere! We did find a pearl in my fiancée's food.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It had been a while since I had visited ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

It had been a while since I had visited Portland, and I made it a point to take business colleagues to Pazzo. Our meal was as great as others I recall at Pazzo in years past. Excellent!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I have been dining at Pazzo' ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

My wife and I have been dining at Pazzo's for 15 years. More often than not, we have had the same waiter, Alex, who has been there for 16 years. He remembers us, and we remember him. He is attentive and is never intrusive. We trust his recommendations. Service and care of customers is key to our dining experience. We appreciate a blend of consistency and creativity. We get that at Pazzo's. The subtle seasonal adjustments to our favorites, like gnocchi and ravioli, are always appreciated.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Six people ages 18-75 with one vegetaria ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Six people ages 18-75 with one vegetarian were all very happy with their meals.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Pazzo is a solid choice for any business ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Pazzo is a solid choice for any business lunch. Staff is always friendly and service is quick for those who need to keep the time to an hour. Pizza and pasta are excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was very ordinary Italian food for ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

This was very ordinary Italian food for high prices. The restaurant is very big. I think they should reduce the size to make it more intimate and create a small but dazzling menu. Portland needs a good Italian restaurant. Pazzo should strive to be it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

Pozzo used to be our favorite evening di ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Pozzo used to be our favorite evening dine out when we visit Portland, which is once or twice per year. Something has changed, and unfortunately, not for the best. The nice, rear dining room has been eliminated to make a bar for the hotel lobby and the current table arrangement seems crowded. Our server was the one bright spot for the evening; sharp, alert and with a great baritone speaking voice, he was very attentive. We both ordered the lamb dish, the description which sounded delicious. Our salads were perfect, crisp and the dressing was tasty. When the lamb arrived, is was coated with an undesirable sauce that totally overwhelmed the lamb flavor and was quite salty. My wife found hers to be inedible and the server suggested as an alternate a spaghetti and meat sauce alternate. It arrived quickly and it too was so salty as to be inedible. A great bottle of Washington State wine made up for a lot of the mistakes; but the giant salt shaker was a disappointment.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

This was our second visit here.... food ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

This was our second visit here.... food and service was consistent. This is a great find for Italian meals. Service was excellent and knowledgeable. We will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Pizza was excellent; one of the best in ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Pizza was excellent; one of the best in recent memory. The Caesar salad was also exceptional. But the paparadelle (the best on the menu, our waiter said) was bland and overcooked. We had enjoyed great meals here several years ago, but understand the chef has changed. Pretty mixed experience this time. We have it 3 stars for food because of the exceptional pizza and salad. The pasta deserved a 1 or a 2.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

I had the grilled chicken and it was ok. ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

I had the grilled chicken and it was ok. Not spectacular. However my wife had the STROZZAPRETI and it was so salty it was almost inedible. What is it with salt in Portland? More salt is usually a cover up for lack of flavor. We won't be going back. Meh.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

The service was good and the food was ta ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

The service was good and the food was tasty. The portions were a little smaller than expected, but adequate. Overall a good experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Another great dining experience at Pazzo

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Had a 3 person business lunch. Each person was very pleased with they ordered. The presentation and the quality of the food was excellent. I plan to use Pazzo more often for business lunches. Great place!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner Out at Pazo.

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

We had a nice evening out. Bar and restaurant were very nice, and the meal selections were good. Had a terrific wait person who upon asking, had the kitchen cut the meal size in half, and charged for a half order. Nice touch!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great find

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Happened on Pazzo by accident. Food was outstanding and service very good. A bit noisy during peak hours with lots of downtown activity.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Warm, friendly

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

The food and service was first rate and the feeling was home cooking in a warm Italian kitchen. We loved our entrees and came back later to the bar for an after dinner drink.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We were a group of 9 people and, althoug ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

We were a group of 9 people and, although the food was good, we were seated in an alcove near the kitchen. We heard a lot of clanging of pots and pans and some of us had a view into the kitchen.

The food was very good, but the noise a(and view for some of us) was annoying.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Executive chef Kenny is outsatnding

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

Food, service, atmosphere, everything was excellent. I decided to have team dinner at Pazzo periodically.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was outstanding!

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

I felt very accommodated while planning to reserve for 8 people! The restaurant staff. was more helpful than my own family for the event and I don't regret going at all! The waiter we had was very friendly and informative, I just hope we didn't make him upset!

It was an exciting place for a pasta fiend and and fun way to celebrate for a birthday! Thank you for the awesome service and food/wine! I enjoyed the evening, immensely.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Food just OK, nothing special. Selected ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Food just OK, nothing special. Selected for convenience of location

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.