About Pazzo Ristorante

627 SW Washington St.
Portland, OR 97205
View Larger Map

Old World tradition meets the bounty of the Pacific Northwest at Pazzo, delivering critically acclaimed regional Italian cuisine at every meal. Start your day on the right foot with a breakfast bread made fresh daily or power-lunch with us at midday, when the stone wood-burning pizza oven sets forth an aroma that awakens your senses to the promise of pleasure. By evening, Pazzo’s fresh, authentically prepared entrées are accompanied by an award-winning wine list, craft cocktails and our signature warm hospitality. It all plays out in a lively setting right on Broadway in downtown Portland. Benvenuti.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Northwest, Pizzeria

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Mon-Fri 7:00am-10:30am
Lunch: Mon-Fri 11:30- 2:30pm
Brunch: Sat and Sun 8am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Mon - Thurs 5:00pm - 9:30pm
Fri and Sat 5:00- 10:00pm
Sun 4:30 - 9:00pm
Mon - Saturday 2:30-5:00pm Bar Menu available
Sun 2:30pm- 4:30pm Bar Menu available

Bar Open: Mon- Thurs & Sunday until 11:00pm
Friday & Sat until Midnight

Cross Street:
Broadway and Washington

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 228-1515

Website:
http://www.pazzo.com/

Catering:
Please visit our Private Dining page on OpenTable

Parking Details:
Valet Parking at Hotel Vintage Plaza for $7/ hour.

Public Transit:
2 Blocks from Bus Mall / MAX (Pioneer Courthouse Square)

Executive Chef:
Kenny Giambalvo

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please visit our website for Special Events

http://www.pazzo.com/portland-restaurant-events

Restaurant Photos

Grilled Flatiron Steak with Scalloped Potatoes, Braised Winter Greens and Garlic Rosemary Oil - Pazzo Ristorante, Portland, OR
Dessert - Pazzo Ristorante, Portland, OR
Pork Loin - Pazzo Ristorante, Portland, OR
Pappardelle - Pazzo Ristorante, Portland, OR
Ippoglosso - Pazzo Ristorante, Portland, OR
Omelette - Pazzo Ristorante, Portland, OR
Duck Hash - Pazzo Ristorante, Portland, OR
Walnut Bread - Pazzo Ristorante, Portland, OR
Gnocchi - Pazzo Ristorante, Portland, OR
Pizza - Pazzo Ristorante, Portland, OR
Semifreddo - Pazzo Ristorante, Portland, OR
Manicotti - Pazzo Ristorante, Portland, OR
Pana Cotta - Pazzo Ristorante, Portland, OR
cheese pizza - Pazzo Ristorante, Portland, OR
Beef Shortrib Hash - Pazzo Ristorante, Portland, OR
Panna Cotta - Pazzo Ristorante, Portland, OR
Formaggi - Pazzo Ristorante, Portland, OR
Parpadelle With A Veal Ragu - Pazzo Ristorante, Portland, OR
Beet Salad - Pazzo Ristorante, Portland, OR
Arancini - Pazzo Ristorante, Portland, OR
Italian Pizza Pasta Restaurant - Pazzo Ristorante, Portland, OR
Ribeye Steak - Pazzo Ristorante, Portland, OR

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:30PM - 9:00PM

Mon 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:30PM - 9:30PM

Tue - Thu 5:00PM - 5:30PM 8:30PM - 9:30PM

Fri 5:00PM - 5:30PM 9:30PM - 10:00PM

Sat 5:00PM - 6:00PM 9:30PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

For unforgettable private dinners, events and meetings, Pazzo provides the ideal downtown Portland venue. Pazzo can accommodate everything from a special intimate meal for a few to a wedding reception or event of up to 300 guests.

Pazzo Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Portland / Oregon
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Portland
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Special Occasion (21)
Romantic (20)
Good for a Date (18)
See All
Good for Groups (13)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Business Meals (11)
Cozy (11)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Authentic (10)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Notable Wine List (10)
Wood Oven (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Local Ingredients (8)
Open Kitchen (7)
Fun (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Casual (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Great for Lunch (5)
People Watching (5)
Worth the Drive (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Private Room (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Healthy (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Fireplace (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Live Sports (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
937 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This was probably my 7th time hosting a ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 3 days ago

This was probably my 7th time hosting a holiday luncheon at Pazzo for myself and some former coworkers. Over the last two years the food has taken a significant downturn. The menu options aren't as traditional as the restaurant is perhaps trying to appeal to a broader crowd at lunchtime. Additionally, the dishes that we've ordered have also been lacking in quality. I ordered the lumachine with fennel sausage and peppers which was recommended by our server as a staff favorite. Upon arrival, I was shocked to see a large plate of lumachine pasta with barely any braised greens, the tiniest amount of sausage I've ever seen, and absolutely no accompanying broth/sauce/gravy/what have you. There was no harmony created between the ingredients in this dish. My former colleague ordered the linguine with clams. She shared with our server that her clams were under cooked by about 3-4 minutes so the server, who looked at us as if we were fools for not knowing how clams should be cooked, comped us some cappuccinos at the end of our meal.

I hardly ever leave reviews but this poor experience certainly warranted one. I'll be suggesting we seek a different venue for next year's holiday luncheon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Of our many times to Pazzo, this time wa ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined 5 days ago

Of our many times to Pazzo, this time was extra special as Friday night I proposed to the woman of my dreams.

We came to dinner at Pazzo and enjoyed each other's company, old colleagues and friends stopping by to say hello, wonderful food, complimentary prosecco, before heading to our hotel where I would propose. Everyone is always so kind and Pazzo truly is a gem of downtown and a beacon of what true, honest, and real customer service should be. Whether it was how kindly we were greeted by the hostesses when we came in, our server Tara taking care of us, everyone coming by (Geoffrey, Tara (Pazzo bar) Leslie, Harvey, Mike, Callie, Jonny), and even when we returned with a small group to celebrate the proposal, we are always warmly welcomed.

The food here is always amazing, presented so elegantly, and one of these days we will finally eat dessert, but what truly sets Pazzo aside and in its own niche from other restaurants in Downtown, is the people and how much they truly care.

From us to you, thank you all for making Friday so memorable, special, and sharing in our celebration.

Love,

Jon Garcia & Aimee Lomeli

Patrons for Life

Tags: Authentic, Fun, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner with girlfriends before Amy Schum ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 6 days ago

Dinner with girlfriends before Amy Schumer show. It was a great time. Walking distance from our hotel

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Was able to get a reservation the same d ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Was able to get a reservation the same day, and met some friends from out-of-state. I really appreciated the decor - it was comfortable and roomy, while warm and QUIET. So many restaurants are hard surfaces everywhere which is frustrating for actual conversation. There was enough space between tables, and carpets and soft wall coverings to attenuate noise.

Food was good - Italian with decent portions and pleasant presentation and taste. Not the most adventurous, but very solid. Service was excellent - our server helped with selections and made this event a lot of fun for us.

I'd easily go again and would recommend this to folks wanting an enjoyable meal where the focus is the people you're with, and where you can be relaxed and comfortable and use your indoor talking voice.

Tags: Good for Groups, Afternoon Coffee, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Enjoyed brunch for 10 at Pazzi when in P ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Enjoyed brunch for 10 at Pazzi when in Portland for the weekend. Food was good and they nicely accommodated a big group including small children. I would come again when staying at the Vintage downtown.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Great restaurant very authentic! Highly ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Great restaurant very authentic! Highly recommend for

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Once again, we had a wonderful dinner at ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Once again, we had a wonderful dinner at Pazzo. The food was really good and the service is second to none. I will always recommend Pazzo for an excellent dining experience in downtown Portland.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pazzos is always high quality, quick, ef ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Pazzos is always high quality, quick, efficient service and great food.

Tags: Business Meals, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food, as always, was excellent, but ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 21, 2016

The food, as always, was excellent, but the service was outstanding.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Never disappoints, reliably great food a ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Never disappoints, reliably great food and service. Close enough to walk to downtown theaters. Excellent wait staff.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Wood Oven, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meal & great wine suggestion by se ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Great meal & great wine suggestion by server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I take clients to Pazzo for lunch on a s ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on November 14, 2016

I take clients to Pazzo for lunch on a somewhat regular basis. There are quiet booths and the food is good. Most other places are cramped and noisy.

This time, lunch was especially good. They have stepped up their tagleatelli dish, and it was great!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Superb service - split our salad without ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Superb service - split our salad without charging us, everything came out at the right temperature, any requests were immediately attended to, and the waitress was outstanding. Great food....perfect.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We dined later in the evening, and ambie ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We dined later in the evening, and ambience was warm and cozy. The food was similar to European Italian found in a good NYC restaurant. The service was friendly and familiar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

My husbands pasta sauce was not flavorfu ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on November 12, 2016

My husbands pasta sauce was not flavorful and mediocre. My chicken was tender but lacked flavor... it was definitely not the knockout that LA Coquine serves. I would not return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

It was my son's 30th birthday and the re ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 10, 2016

It was my son's 30th birthday and the restaurant went all out to make his special day a great one. There was a Happy Birthday card at our table when we arrived. We had a nice dessert that was served with a birthday candle. We were not charged for the dessert.

The food was fabulous and the waitress was very knowledgeable about the various menu items.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Wood Oven, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

great as always. I have been to Pazzo at ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 10, 2016

great as always. I have been to Pazzo at least 60 times over the past 16 years and it has always been a treat.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food and atmosphere. Must go r ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Excellent food and atmosphere. Must go restaurant. We will go back. Pizza is amazing and also pasta.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Delicious food - from appetizers to din ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Delicious food - from appetizers to dining menu. Drinks were amazing also. Service was outstanding. Wanted to lick the plate!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice relaxing lunch no hurry no pressure ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Nice relaxing lunch no hurry no pressure. Look forward to another.

Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The restaurant was very busy. The servi ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 30, 2016

The restaurant was very busy. The service was professional but not attentive. I also had the feeling that because were were not ordering a lot of courses, she was more interested in other tables. The mains were baked cod and the daily risotto. The daily risotto was very well made and flavourful. However, the star was the baked cod. Wow, it was perfectly cooked and so tasty. I would return for that alone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Great staff, yummy food, service very go ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Great staff, yummy food, service very good, our waiter was knowledgeable, will dine here again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

We have dined at Pazzo many times over ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on October 23, 2016

We have dined at Pazzo many times over the years and we keep coming back. The service is always impeccable, the drinks and wine selection are wonderful, and the food is consistently excellent. The location is perfect for a downtown date night. Lovely.

Tags: Cozy, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went for our first anniversary and th ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 17, 2016

We went for our first anniversary and the staff made us feel unbelievably special. They even served the cake top we had saved and frozen from our wedding day (we had thawed it of course). We are convinced the kitchen performed magic on it because it was even more moist and delicious than we remembered! This was a fabulous place to celebrate quietly with each other.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was okay, but not for the cost. M ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Food was okay, but not for the cost. My salad was simple but fine. The butternut squash soup was cream of chicken soup with extra yellow to look like butternut.

We make better raviolis using the frozen ones from Rising Moon and Trader Joe's pasta sauce. The cod was over cooked. Both were bland.

Service was okay at first, then the waiter disappeared. When he came back once and asked how the food was we said "uh okay" hesitantly, and he said "great" and left.

Even with the blah food, I still wanted to try dessert, but the waiter was gone for so long that when he came back we had no time left, so can't report on that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

I think their prices are a bit high. Ov ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 27, 2016

I think their prices are a bit high. Over 20 bucks for a plate of spaghetti?

Tags: Comfort Food, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Disappointing food in a restaurant much ...

 
 (London)·Dined on September 26, 2016

Disappointing food in a restaurant much in need of a make over - the prosecco was flat, the bread was far from the freshest and my seafood pasta was over salted and overwhelmed by the taste of what appeared to be dried herbs - I found it inedible. Service was the only saving grace for me. If you want Italian food in Portland there are much better options - try Piattino's in the Pearl District.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

Yummy pasta dishes. Hard to decide which ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 21, 2016

Yummy pasta dishes. Hard to decide which home made pasta to order!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

How can you ruin a seafood pasta dish wi ...

 
 (London)·Dined on September 21, 2016

How can you ruin a seafood pasta dish with a tomato based sauce. At Pazzo they have succeeded. The sauce was spicy but at the same time tasteless!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

We were on our way to a show and decided ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 12, 2016

We were on our way to a show and decided to go here because it was within walking distance. The service was outstanding. Our server really knew the menu, timing, and how to get us out on time. The drinks were also good, the best Manhatten I've ever had. She told us we could order half and half because I couldn't make up my mind and that did the trick. We got to taste a couple of dishes without leftovers. I highly reccomend the green bean & mushroom starter. We will definately be regulars here.

Tags: Wood Oven, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The pasta dishes were delicious. The Ca ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on September 12, 2016

The pasta dishes were delicious. The Caesar Salad was excellent. Our waitress was cordial and efficient. The decor is somewhat overwhelming and 'cold' in appearance. When we had dinner there, only a few tables were occupied.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

I have been looking for Italian Pizza ev ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 11, 2016

I have been looking for Italian Pizza ever since I left Italy 10 years ago. I found it once in lil italy in NY, but now, I have found it again. Awesome Pizza! The way it is supposed to be made!

Tags: Live Sports, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I had a very enjoyable meal. The staff w ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 11, 2016

I had a very enjoyable meal. The staff was great in getting me out in time to get to symphony.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We arrived at 5 for a 5:15 reservation. ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 11, 2016

We arrived at 5 for a 5:15 reservation. We were taken directly to our table. That's when the trouble began. We ordered an appetizer and it took 30 minutes to get it. When the waiter showed up with it, he apologized for the delay and said there was something wrong in the kitchen and the appetizer was on the house. It didn't get any better. Our entrees took forever to come out also. The noodles in my husband's pasta dish were all stuck together. He had to cut them with a knife. I ordered the halibut. The fish was delicious but the topping on the fish looked unappetizing to say the least. We ordered a dessert of Oregon berry shortcake. The shortcake was stale and COLD! Obviously, someone doesn't care in this restaurant. Fortunately, we allowed plenty of time to eat or we would have been late to the Symphony!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

Outstanding service! Cocktails were won ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Outstanding service! Cocktails were wonderful and the divine. One of our favorite date night spots. We love Pazzo!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Ryan was fantastic and always great seei ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Ryan was fantastic and always great seeing new and familiar faces at Pazzo. Having worked here years ago, its still one of my favorite spots in Portland to grab a bite, a drink, and catch up with friends and bring first timers here. It has a very inviting atmosphere and some of the friendliest people you will find in the service industry. Tara, Geoffrey, Laurie, the Ryan's, Rose, Harvey, the Will's, Ika, Leslie, and the list goes on.

If you have not been here, go here, eat here, relax here, drink here, and become familiar with another Portland Gem.

Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Disabled Access, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Outstanding Value, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, People Watching, Fun, Wood Oven, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tasty pasta dishes! The calamari was exc ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Tasty pasta dishes! The calamari was exceptionally good. The beet-topped gnocchi was interesting and well-prepared, but more of an acquired taste. High marks for the ravioli as well. Overall good experience, would definitely return.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good Italian food with lots of variety a ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Good Italian food with lots of variety and great wine list

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Had parpadelle with rptomato based meat ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Had parpadelle with rptomato based meat sauce. Absolutely best pasta dish I've had. Noodles are best ever. Service was great.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tremendous caring staff that supports an ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 18, 2016

Tremendous caring staff that supports an equally delicious meal and choices!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.