Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi

About Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant & Bar

In Italy, every meal is a journey… the same is true at Pazzaluna. Start with appetizers featuring a selection of bruschetta and pizza straight from our wood-burning oven; then move on to a traditional Italian dinner menu of antipasto or insalata (salad), to primi piatto (pasta course), to secondi piatto (main course), and finally a delicious dolce (dessert). Discover the truly Italian art of lingering over dinner with family and friends, making conversation, and enjoying wine in a setting that is both urban and relaxing.

The award-winning and critically acclaimed Bar at Pazzaluna Urban Italian is an energetic and fun place to meet after work, before an event at the Ordway, Xcel Energy Center, Roy Wilkins Auditorium or just to unwind with family, friends, clients or business associates.

During warm weather, relax on the patio and enjoy the sights and sounds of downtown St. Paul (patio open May through September). See for yourself, you'll be glad you did.

360 St. Peter St
Saint Paul, MN 55102
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dining Room
Sunday - Monday 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Tuesday - Thursday 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday - Saturday 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Bar
Sunday - Monday 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Tuesday - Thursday 4:00pm - 11:00pm
Friday - Saturday 4:00pm - 12:00am

Happy Hour Specials
Daily 4:00pm - 6:00pm

Cross Street:
5th St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(651) 223-7000

Website:
https://www.pazzaluna.com/

Entertainment:
The award-winning and critically acclaimed Bar at Pazzaluna Urban Italian is an energetic and fun place to meet after work, before an event at the Ordway, Xcel Energy Center, Roy Wilkins Auditorium or just to unwind with family, friends, clients or business associates.

During warm weather, relax on the patio and enjoy the sights and sounds of downtown Saint Paul (patio open May through September). See for yourself, you'll be glad you did.

Parking Details:
Curbside valet parking begins at 5:00pm nightly and guarantees effortless parking for guests. Valet space can be guaranteed and reserved for guests, subject to applicable charges.

Private Party Facilities:
For business, pleasure, or both, Pazzaluna's private dining room is perfect for your events, private dining or special occasions. We offer menus featuring authentic regional Italian cooking.

Private Party Contact:
sales@pazzaluna.com: (888) 924-6411

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

Noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (69)
Good for a Date (66)
Pre/post Theatre (62)
See All
Good for Birthdays (52)
Good for Anniversaries (51)
Romantic (40)
Good for Groups (37)
Business Meals (31)
Creative Cuisine (30)
Worth the Drive (30)
Casual (28)
Comfort Food (27)
Authentic (24)
Fun (22)
Happy Hour (21)
Notable Wine List (20)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Hot Spot (16)
Cozy (15)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Bar Seating (12)
People Watching (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Healthy (5)
Seasonal (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Local Ingredients (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Live Sports (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Spicy (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Live Music (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
3415 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 3 days ago

Service was very slow. Our waiter took a long time to get to us, then he took an even longer time to return. We sat for more than 20 minutes with the check before anyone came back to get it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 3 days ago

We decided to try this out for Mpls/St Paul Restaurant week. Thoroughly enjoyed everything we had. My husband and I chose something different from each of the appetizer, entree and dessert menus. We loved every bite!! We will definitely be back for our next celebration dinner! Loved the many food and beverage choices. Our waitress was new and was so sweet and very helpful. Soft spoken and made sure everything was as we wanted it! Great spot if you are staying at the St Paul Hotel and going to a concert at Xcel Energy center too!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Great food. Ample portions. Lively attractive space. Very good server. Looked like it catered well for big parties. Would definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 5 days ago

We enjoyed the evening, and the service from Curtis and the other staff. Servings are large and we had appetizers, so next time we'll share a meal and have dessert!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 6 days ago

Good food, GREAT service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 6 days ago

My entire family loved their meals - that says a lot considering my mom is 79 and my daughter is a 13 year old - Our waiter was nice and I'm sure he is very good but they were very busy and, well, he was very busy and on more then one occasion I found myself waiting for him to return (needing water, bread, new cocktail etc.). I got the feeling we were not seated in his 'area'. I had the four course meal which was excellent taste-wise, cocktails were made to perfection. The bread was warm and good. A bit annoyed that I had to ask for more bread as who doesn't want extra bread to sop up the sauce on their plates but again this may have had something to do with the busy wait staff.

Negatives - honestly I felt the portions were on the small side - my mother ordered the veal and it came with only 2 pieces of meat . A bit skimpy for the price. I was the birthday boy (big 50!) so I ordered the 4 course meal - I didn't expect full portions but what I did get was quite skimpy (2 ravioli?) , the soup I got came in a bowl but wasn't enough to fill a cup.
I had made reservations and was immediately less then thrilled when they sat us at a table on the main aisle. Lots of traffic constantly walking by us. Probably not an issue for younger people but I had said we were coming for a Special Occasion and had brought my elderly mother.

AGAIN I want to emphasize that the food was delicious and we will go back. If we had been seated in a quieter area of the restaurant and the portions had been enough to fit the price it would become a regular stop.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined 6 days ago

First time there and loved it! Great food, great atmosphere and fantastic service from Clay.

Tags: Romantic, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 10, 2017

Our table was ready right at our reservation time. The food was excellent, great for a special occasion dinner.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 7, 2017

I have eaten at the bar many times and it was great - simple Italian fare. I had dinner with some friends (I am generally on business or see the opera) - Service was poor - food was just ok - probably an off night. The space is fun and energized, but the staff was not attentive and the food presentation was truly terrible. Very disappointing and annoying as it was expensive and I PAID! I will go back, but I will be in the bar I assure you. The manager came over, but none the less, a tired staff does not cut it with the expense of this meal for three - it was about 200 bucks... the waitress was fine, but her support delivering the meals could not give a damn about us! Clearly a bad eve for this usually good restaurant.....

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
·Dined on October 5, 2017

This is world-class dining in a beautiful atmosphere, staffed by very conscientious people who look to cultivate for you an experience, not just a meal.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 5, 2017

Dinner, wine and server were great! The basic salad greens were just greens, nothing else, so not thrilled. Halibut was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 3, 2017

Great place for a birthday with parents 👍

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 2, 2017

My family visited Pazzaluna for my daughter's 23rd birthday. The service and food were both excellent. The extensive menu offered something for everyone in our group. The dishes we ordered included the daily special, which happened to be baked cod over vegetables, linguine with clams, chicken parmesan, and fettucine alfredo with chicken. Three of us ordered gelato for dessert and everyone liked it, especially the banana flavor. We'd go again.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Loud but great food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

Visited Pazzaluna before a marathon--great place for our night-before-the-race pasta tradition!

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 29, 2017

We were celebrating my husband’s birthday. Our server and the wait staff were very accommodating! Our server went to great lengths to make our night memorable. The food was delicious and well presented.

Tags: Late-night Find, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Casual, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 29, 2017

Would highly recommend Pazzaluna to anyone looking for a delicious Italian meal in a beautiful setting.

Tags: Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 28, 2017

We could not have enjoyed our meal more. My wife commented on how much she enjoys the decor. I commented to our server how much we appreciated not being hurried so the table could be ready for other guests. My wife and I agreed that we will have to eat at Pazzaluna more often.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 28, 2017

Brought three friends from California to join me for dinner before theatre at Park Square. Our waitress was delightful, the food delicious, and dessert was the best. I highly recommend.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 28, 2017

The service was wonderful! Our server discussed different options in the wine selection and offered her take on entrees. Our appetizer of salami, bacon, and cheese brushetta was delicious. Our entrees were flavorful, and finely portioned. The complementary desert - we we're celebrating an anniversary - was quite a nice touch. 2 dinners, wine, appetizer and an extra desert for $108 (including the tip) is a real reasonable price for a nice dining experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 28, 2017

Start off the food was good but it was just warm not hot. Waitstaff was all right nothing special not extremely friendly. Busboy went beyond their ability and were fantastic and made the whole night a much better one.
So overall experience was all right the food was all right not great. And service needs a little bit more.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

 
·Dined on September 28, 2017

Only negative was being seated next to the kitchen so in our large group it was very hard to carry on a conversation with the loud noise level. One wine glass tipped over and broke and got in our bread so that was unfortunate but nobody got hurt. Food was very good, though, and reasonable prices.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (London)·Dined on September 26, 2017

Good food but pricey. Went there after several years and was happy to note that they were better than before.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 25, 2017

Service was great. Risotto and Canneloni were both very good. You order (and pay for) salads separately. Salads were plain and quite expensive for as small as they were. I love the location and will surely go back, just won't pay $18.00 for two ordinary salads.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Loved it all except the noise level which can't be helped!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 21, 2017

Pazzaluna is an amazing restaurant that consistently wowing us with service, quality of food.

Tags: Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 20, 2017

Beef brisket a little disappointing, not real tender, a little fatty - but flavorful.
Walleye is excellent. Bread great, salad tasty.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 20, 2017

I dined at Pazzaluna before a show at the Ordway. My server asked if I was going to the theater, and I said yes (although I was there over 90 minutes before the show was set to start)... While I appreciate them respecting my timeline, and I realize they were busy, I felt extremely rushed once the server knew I was going to a show. I hadn't quite decided what I wanted to order, but she asked me twice in about 3 minutes, so I felt like I had to order quickly. My salad came right away, which was nice, but I had barely finished the last bite before my entree was there. Again, I know they were trying to be efficient, but I didn't feel like I had time to enjoy any of it. Also, once my food started coming out, my server didn't check back again until after I was finished. I might have liked a second glass of wine, but never got the chance to order. As for the food, the Caesar salad was good, but the mushroom ravioli seemed very salty, and I also bit into several large peppercorns, which was unpleasant. And one super picky thing -- it bothers me when I order a salad course but am not given a salad fork... when I finish the salad, I don't want to put the used fork on the table, but if I'm not going to get a new one, I don't want it to be taken away either. I would consider dining there again -- not on a theater night -- as the menu had several items that sounded good, but I ended up picking something I didn't really care for.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 20, 2017

Always an excellent experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Service was slow but friendly. Food was just OK. Best part of the meal was the bread and the starter salads. Otherwise, pretty ordinary. Expected more for the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

Had dinner before a show at the Palace. Everything was good, attentive service, food prepared well - arugula salad with blue cheese was delicious! This was not our first visit, but it has been some time since our last. We will be back.

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Bread was delicious, the pasta was not. Beer menu also needs work.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Every time I visit the twin cities, I make sure to make w reservation with Pazzulana. I plan it so I have lots of time to enjoy the superb food, ambience and excellent service. I love the surrounding area and try to take a walk after since I can't resist all the decisions appetizers, bread, dinners , pasta and desert . I highly recommend this restaurant and experience for special dining

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Food is always great and our server was even better than their usual great servers. This also a great place for vegetarians and vegans.

Tags: Seasonal, Cozy, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Dinner before show

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 13, 2017

The service was excellent and the food. Dry good Will of course return
We visit this restaurant a lot and have always been pleased

Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 12, 2017

This was our first visit to Pazzaluna. We were seeing a show at the Ordway and booked a reservation here because of its location. I cannot say enough good things about the flavors! I had saffron risotto with chicken and my wife had the sea bass. Both were so flavorful. I savored every bite! The service was outstanding. They even offered to keep our leftover food for us while we went to see the show.

Beginning to end, this was an amazing place to have a great dinner.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

We have been to Pazzaluna in the past and enjoyed everything. Unfortunately this time wasn't the same. The good was great as always. But Our waiter was so inattentive to us we wanted to only leave tip for the bus-person who was much friendlier to us. Twice we were without drinks, he never checked if we were enjoying our food or if we needed anything along with it. We were there to celebrate a birthday that was never acknowledged and we had been looking forward to having dessert there. We left very disappointed, & skipped dessert. After spending that much on dinner we expect to be treated as well as a large group table. Incidentally the table next to us was visited several times by the same waiter, leaving us to fend for ourselves.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Casual, Comfort Food, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 9, 2017

We had a terrific meal at Pazzaluna! We were celebrating the last night of a 10 day trip up the Mississippi River, and our dinner there was the "icing on the cake"! The service was superb - shout out to our server Sara and her assistant. The food was delicious, well prepared with very fresh ingredients. The bread there is a tasty foccacia baked on site and it is served with butter and tapenade. We enjoyed two appetizers - spiced olives and fried zucchini, our entrees and even tiramisu (enough for 2) for dessert.
Make reservations so you don't have to wait. You won't be disappointed if you go.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 8, 2017

The food was amazing. The server was weird. It's a bit loud but overall very nice.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.