Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi

About Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant & Bar

In Italy, every meal is a journey… the same is true at Pazzaluna. Start with appetizers featuring a selection of bruschetta and pizza straight from our wood-burning oven; then move on to a traditional Italian dinner menu of antipasto or insalata (salad), to primi piatto (pasta course), to secondi piatto (main course), and finally a delicious dolce (dessert). Discover the truly Italian art of lingering over dinner with family and friends, making conversation, and enjoying wine in a setting that is both urban and relaxing.

The award-winning and critically acclaimed Bar at Pazzaluna Urban Italian is an energetic and fun place to meet after work, before an event at the Ordway, Xcel Energy Center, Roy Wilkins Auditorium or just to unwind with family, friends, clients or business associates.

During warm weather, relax on the patio and enjoy the sights and sounds of downtown St. Paul (patio open May through September). See for yourself, you'll be glad you did.

360 St. Peter St
Saint Paul, MN 55102
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dining Room
Sunday - Monday 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Tuesday - Thursday 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday - Saturday 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Bar
Sunday - Monday 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Tuesday - Thursday 4:00pm - 11:00pm
Friday - Saturday 4:00pm - 12:00am

Happy Hour Specials
Daily 4:00pm - 6:00pm

Cross Street:
5th St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(651) 223-7000

Website:
https://www.pazzaluna.com/

Entertainment:
The award-winning and critically acclaimed Bar at Pazzaluna Urban Italian is an energetic and fun place to meet after work, before an event at the Ordway, Xcel Energy Center, Roy Wilkins Auditorium or just to unwind with family, friends, clients or business associates.

During warm weather, relax on the patio and enjoy the sights and sounds of downtown Saint Paul (patio open May through September). See for yourself, you'll be glad you did.

Parking Details:
Curbside valet parking begins at 5:00pm nightly and guarantees effortless parking for guests. Valet space can be guaranteed and reserved for guests, subject to applicable charges.

Private Party Facilities:
For business, pleasure, or both, Pazzaluna's private dining room is perfect for your events, private dining or special occasions. We offer menus featuring authentic regional Italian cooking.

Private Party Contact:
sales@pazzaluna.com: (888) 924-6411

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Pre/post Theatre (67)
Good for a Date (67)
Special Occasion (67)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (59)
Good for Birthdays (42)
Romantic (36)
Creative Cuisine (30)
Authentic (29)
Worth the Drive (27)
Business Meals (26)
Good for Groups (26)
Fit for Foodies (24)
Casual (24)
Happy Hour (22)
Notable Wine List (20)
Bar Seating (19)
Comfort Food (17)
Fun (15)
Cozy (14)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Sunday Lunch (12)
People Watching (12)
Hot Spot (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Tasting Menu (11)
Great for Lunch (9)
Gluten Free Options (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Open Kitchen (3)
Seasonal (3)
Wood Oven (3)
Healthy (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Historic (2)
Great Beer (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Live Sports (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Family Style (1)
Waterfront (1)
Organic (1)
Live Music (1)
Sort By:
S
3364 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

great food, service and ambiance Chef was fabulous!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 4 days ago

UNFORTUNATELY THIS ONCE EXCELLENT RESTAURANT CONTINUES TO DECLINE IN FOOD QUALITY, SERVICE, AND VALUE. WE FOUND THE PENNE ENTRE TO BE SMALL AND VERY SPICY, THE SPINACH RAVIOLI TO BE SERVED ALMOST LIKE A SOUP WITH WAY TOO MUCH SAUCE. IN THE PAST I USED TO LOVE THEIR VEAL DISH BUT GAVE UP ON IT DUE TO THE TOUGHNESS OF THE VEAL. SERVICE IS SPOTTY, WITH SOME LONG DELAYS IN FINDING OUR SERVER. THEY ARE JUST SERVING WAY TOO MANY TABLES. AS I SAID, UNFORTUNATE, AS WE USED TO LOVE THIS AS OUR PRE-CONCERT/OPERA RESTAURANT, BUT NOW ARE SEARCHING FOR BETTER VENUES.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 4 days ago

Fabulous food and even better service!! We will definitely be back!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

I went to Pazzaluna for a family meal in July. We were all so impressed with the food, ambience, and service, we returned in August to celebrate a birthday. The food was excellent and the waitstaff attentive and friendly. The section featuring round tables seating 5-8 persons was full with happy people eating delicious food!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

Great ambience and food for our anniversary. Started with meat and cheese which we loved. My wife had the cannelloni and I had the seafood with pasta. Both where great. Service was prompt and good even though busy. Would recommend to others.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 13, 2017

We went to this restaurant with high expectations to celebrate our daughters 17th birthday. It was a laughable experience. We were first made to wait 25 min while our table sat empty waiting for us -- we should have left then -- service was a joke from the beginning when waiter ran out of water and instead of retrieving more, left some with no water in addition to awkwarding reaching over us to pour. The waiters lacked class and professionalism and even gave our birthday girl the bill at the end of the evening -- such a tasteless prank. Our food was poor and either lacked taste or floated in a disgusting cheesy pool. It was such a disappointment and waste of time and money. To top off the ridiculous evening, a local street person aggressively harassed us for money directly in front of the restaurant while we waited for the valet to return with our car. The sight of the valet pulling up with our vehicle was the best part of our dining at Pazzaluna. Our food was inedible so the waiter boxed it up for us. I promptly threw it in the trash when I got home. Do not waste your time or money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

Mid-range Italian food at high end prices. Long waits to be served.Short staffed. Better options around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Service was marginal. Timing on meal delivery was rushed. Bread with dinner was good but cold as if pulled from a refrigerator. Cesar salads had so much cheese it was about all you could taste. They were tasty though once you cleared away the excess cheese. No clearing of prior plates for main course when arrived made for a busy table. Main course was decent but one meal was only warm and the other was too hot to eat for about ten minutes. Portions were spot on though. Drink service was also marginal. Server walked by our table 5 times (counted, and didn't check in with us.) before a drink was refilled.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Very busy before the concert and service was extremely slow and disjointed. Not sure how it is on a non-event night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

Great atmosphere in the dining room, bar or on the patio. Very friendly staff and great happy hour food and bar menus. Also a great downtown location close to the Xcel Energy Centre. We will definitely be back there again.

Tags: Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 6, 2017

We had our rehearsal dinner here and we had nothing but great reviews from our guests. For our one year wedding anniversary, we chose to come back and celebrate, just the two of us. It was great food and great service. We talked about making this a tradition every anniversary.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 5, 2017

We were seated promptly at the time of our reservation. We enjoyed a cocktail, salad, dinner, dessert and a bottle of wine all in time to get us to our concert. Our server was very attentive and helpful.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 4, 2017

A nice spot for a very tasty dinner! I enjoyed the mixed greens salad, angel hair pasta with shrimp, and the creme brûlée.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 30, 2017

It pains me to say this, but this used to be my favorite restaurant. It's still good, but not great. The food prices have increased, while unfortunately, the food and service have decreased.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Curtis was our waiter and he made our evening extra special. He has such a way with people, making them feel comfortable and appreciated. The food was pretty darn good too!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 30, 2017

I have been to Pazzaluna in the past and had great experiences. This last visit was very disappointing. Our service was awful; the server did not spend enough time at our table to even get our full appetizer order, missed ordering some of our food, and did not bring drinks that were ordered, but then still charged us for them. The individuals delivering the food seemed new as they put the appetizer on top of forks and the plate tipped over. It was just a bit of a hot mess, which was disappointing because we had wonderful experiences in the past. On the bright side, the food was as delicious as ever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Food was very good. I had seafood linguine and it was excellent with a lot of seafood. The carpaccio appetizer was very good as well. My wife had a risotto dish with scallops that was good, though seemingly not as good as mine. I tasted it and thought it was good. Finally, the service was excellent, attentive without being annoying

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Based on average price of an entre I would expect a higher quality of ingredients. Meats and mozzarella appear to be lower grocery level.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Sarah was our server and she was as amazing as the food and environment. Pazza has been a long-time favorite of mine and continues to deliver the goods!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 27, 2017

Lovely decor, wait staff is wonderful. Food could use an upgrade.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 25, 2017

The arugula salad was fantastic! The wood fired pizza was scrumptious. My husband's chicken apargus pizza had more flavor than my marghrita pizza. I think that the pizzas are big enough to share. Wonderful service!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 24, 2017

The food is always good here so it's one of the top choices in my family when celebrating birthdays.
Seems like our waitress had a lot of tables for one person to handle but she was attentive when she wasn't busy at another one of her tables.
Disappointed one of the desserts ordered was "out" - wish they would have been able to advise when we were ordering so an alternative could have been selected.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on July 24, 2017

I thought that the place was great. Great food, great service, very romantic. I had a very enjoyable time.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Disabled Access, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

A disappointment. We arrived for dinner after a show at the Ordway (also a disappointment). The hostess started to take us to a table when my wife requested a booth. Despite the fact that the restaurant was almost completely empty and at least five other booths were open, we were taken to the only booth in the restaurant that looked directly into the wait staff prep area and a very active break room.

The shrimp bruschetta was virtually inedible - bread that had to be cut with a knife to make bite-sized pieces and tasted like shoe leather topped with cold, rubbery shrimp. I was served a salad that seemed to have offended the chef because he attempted to drown it in dressing (the left-over dressing could have been mistaken for the remains of a soup when the salad was finished). The vegetable primavera was sautéed until the vegetables were dead and then sautéed some more. My wife's risotto was bland and congealed - she was unable to finish the dish.

The one bright spot was the service of the actual wait staff. Our waiter (Curtis) was very professional and friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

I have been going there for 10 + years and it has always been an Amazing experience!!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Another delightful evening at Pazzaluna. This restaurant makes the drive worthwhile and I live in Minnetonka. Patricia is probably the best hostess in the twin cities. She made the dinner effortless and smooth. Pazzaluna is always a good idea. We need to go more often. We keep going for special occasions and I want to go just to enjoy a great pasta dinner. Whether for just an evening out with your wife or a special occasion, Pazzaluna never disappoints.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Was disappointed. Had to ask for the restaurant week menu- find that unusual. Either participate or don't. Charged for anchovies- not something I would expect in any Italian themed restaurant. Service OK- had to ask for water refill- never brought the bread requested.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Food was delish. Had chicken piccata with creamy risotto that melted in your mouth. Anything you order won't disappoint you. The later you go, the quieter the restaurant will be.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 20, 2017

A very nice restaurant. The servers were friendly and good, the food was very good and the general ambiance was good. They even kept our leftovers in their refrigerator while we went to the Ordway for a show, then we picked them up after the show. The only difficulty was when women on opposite sides of the isle put their large purses over the back of their chairs, basically blocking the aisle. Generally, though a very nice experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 19, 2017

We were very pleased with our server and our food. The host however could improve. We arrived at 9:45 for our reservation. The restaurant was not busy because of the hour and there was no one in line. The host looked at us from across the restaurant and continued talking to someone instead of attending to us for about 5 minutes. When he finally decided to grace us with his presence he asked were we had just come from. (Rudely) and then if we have a reservation. Honestly if the time was too late then they should not take reservations for that hour. They need a new host that is happy that businesses is coming through the door.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Our server Rose was fantastic. She made our anniversary dinner great. We were going to see a play and she offered to hold our remaining items until the play was over. A very kind gesture with a guest first mentality.
We will definitely return based on the excellent experience we had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 18, 2017

This restaurant had its heyday 10 or more years ago. We were there for restaurant week and were not impressed. Food was mediocre. Bruschetta was served on sad little pieces of soggy bread. The pasta dish resembled enchiladas with an over cooked cheese topping. Caesar salad was pretty flavorless. Atmosphere was loud and the decor was outdated. Tiramisu was a flat, dense, flavorless concoction; not a hint of alcohol in it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 18, 2017

We had a very good dinner. The service was very friendly and attentive. All three of our choices were well prepared and quite tasty.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 16, 2017

We went for a special occasion that coincided with restaurant week. We had an 8:15 reservation on a Sunday to accommodate the work schedule of one member of the party. While we knew this was late, we were surprised when dropping the car for valet parking to find that the valet left at 9 and we would have to go to the hotel across the street to retrieve the car.


The server was friendly and helpful but appeared to have been given other tasks, besides waitressing, to close the restaurant so service was slow because her attention was on other things besides her tables. I felt this was more of a restaurant issue than a server issue. I would not recommend a late reservation on a Sunday evening since everyone seemed distracted and one nearby table was completely covered with glasswear, etc. for an upper scale restaurant, and a special family occasion, it seemed like we were an after thought.

The food was very good. We ordered off the restaurant week menu and were all very happy with our selections. We would definitely eat here again but not at a late time on a slow day.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 15, 2017

One of our favorite places to eat. Cheerfully accomodated our need for quick service prior to a 7:30 show.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Bar Seating, Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 15, 2017

I had a friend visiting from HI, who loves Italian food, so when we decided to go out for a nice Italian meal, Pazzaluna was my immediate recommendation. It was very disappointing that the restaurant did not have our reservation despite my confirmation from Open Table. When we arrived, the restaurant was not busy, as the rush of crowds for the evening shows were already gone. However, we were seated at a tiny table in the back, yet there were plenty of nice tables open. One of the water glasses at our table had several pieces of dried food stuck on it. The service and food both had room for improvement. The chicken piccata had way too much pepper and was drowning in the lemon sauce. I've had this dish there several times prior to this visit, and usually rave about it. But, it was not the case this time. I had also indicated on my reservation that we were there to celebrate a birthday, which was never acknowledged. Overall, this visit was incredibly disappointing and it was also a little embarrassing, as I had so highly recommended the restaurant to my friend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Pazzaluna never disappoints. The food is delicious and the service is great. We were there for dinner before a show at the X cel and our food came quickly.

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Our server, Rose, was amazing. She was knowledgeable, personable, attentive, and very nice. I hadn't seen my friends for quite some time and she helped make our experience the best it could have been.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Authentic, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 10, 2017

This is a lovely restaurant, and the service was quite good. Attentive, but not intrusive, mindful that we had to get to the theater at a certain time. But the food was disappointing. Not terrible, but not nearly as good as one would expect, given the setting. You see the cloth tablecloths and napkins, the elegant lighting, etc. and you expect a really lovely meal. But both my companion and I had food that was kind of what I would have expected from a typical red-sauce Italian restaurant. A little too heavy on the sauce, cooked a little too long, etc. Probably won't go there again, sadly, unless it's for a drink and a few appetizers.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 8, 2017

I received the wrong Pizza and it was sent back to the kitchen. Almost 10 min later my server came by saying it will be out soon. A few minutes later I received the correct pizza. By then my group was almost done eating. On top of that, I received my Pizza Completely Burnt. It was black... I was in shock this was even being served to me. He offered for me to have this one, or wait ANOTHER 10 plus minutes for a new one. By this point most of my group was done eating and I was starving so I just kept it. Yes I got the Pizza compensated, but it ruined my dinner as I was still hungry, it was gross, and I had to sit there while everyone else ate. This used to be my fiancé and my favorite place. We came back to celebrate our engagement with a group and I will never be coming back again. I was not satisfied and paid too much for drinks/fiancés meal for a mess of a dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.