Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi

About Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant & Bar

In Italy, every meal is a journey… the same is true at Pazzaluna. Start with appetizers featuring a selection of bruschetta and pizza straight from our wood-burning oven; then move on to a traditional Italian dinner menu of antipasto or insalata (salad), to primi piatto (pasta course), to secondi piatto (main course), and finally a delicious dolce (dessert). Discover the truly Italian art of lingering over dinner with family and friends, making conversation, and enjoying wine in a setting that is both urban and relaxing.

The award-winning and critically acclaimed Bar at Pazzaluna Urban Italian is an energetic and fun place to meet after work, before an event at the Ordway, Xcel Energy Center, Roy Wilkins Auditorium or just to unwind with family, friends, clients or business associates.

During warm weather, relax on the patio and enjoy the sights and sounds of downtown St. Paul (patio open May through September). See for yourself, you'll be glad you did.

360 St. Peter St
Saint Paul, MN 55102
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dining Room
Sunday - Monday 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Tuesday - Thursday 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday - Saturday 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Bar
Sunday - Monday 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Tuesday - Thursday 4:00pm - 11:00pm
Friday - Saturday 4:00pm - 12:00am

Happy Hour Specials
Daily 4:00pm - 6:00pm

Cross Street:
5th St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(651) 223-7000

Website:
https://www.pazzaluna.com/

Entertainment:
The award-winning and critically acclaimed Bar at Pazzaluna Urban Italian is an energetic and fun place to meet after work, before an event at the Ordway, Xcel Energy Center, Roy Wilkins Auditorium or just to unwind with family, friends, clients or business associates.

During warm weather, relax on the patio and enjoy the sights and sounds of downtown Saint Paul (patio open May through September). See for yourself, you'll be glad you did.

Parking Details:
Curbside valet parking begins at 5:00pm nightly and guarantees effortless parking for guests. Valet space can be guaranteed and reserved for guests, subject to applicable charges.

Private Party Facilities:
For business, pleasure, or both, Pazzaluna's private dining room is perfect for your events, private dining or special occasions. We offer menus featuring authentic regional Italian cooking.

Private Party Contact:
sales@pazzaluna.com: (888) 924-6411

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

SpecialOccasions (72)
GoodForDates (65)
PrePostTheatre (62)
See All
Anniversaries (49)
Birthdays (35)
Romance (35)
CreativeCuisine (34)
Authentic (28)
Foodies (27)
BusinessMeals (25)
Casual (24)
NotableWineList (24)
BarSeating (22)
Groups (22)
HappyHour (21)
Fun (19)
WorthTheDrive (19)
ComfortFood (15)
Cozy (14)
ModernDecor (14)
NeighborhoodGem (13)
VibrantBarScene (12)
TastingMenu (12)
OpenKitchen (12)
SundayLunch (10)
HandcraftedCocktails (10)
HotSpot (10)
PeopleWatching (8)
WoodOven (8)
GlutenFree (7)
LateNightFind (6)
QuietConversation (6)
Lunch (6)
LocalIngredients (6)
VegetarianOptions (5)
OutdoorDining (4)
Healthy (4)
Brunch (4)
Historic (3)
GreatBeer (3)
MolecularGastronomy (3)
ChildFriendly (3)
Organic (2)
Seasonal (2)
QuickBite (2)
LiveSports (2)
PrivateRoom (2)
FamilyStyle (2)
PaleoFriendly (2)
Vegan (1)
Fireplace (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
People Watching (1)
Waterfront (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
DisabledAccess (1)
Sort By:
S
3307 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 2 days ago

Meal was uninspiring, why would any chef in his right mind place cheese sauce on veal medallions? All the entrees were covered in sauce or cheese. Our waitresses was charming and attentive, saved the night from a total disasters
Save your money and go to a Dave and Busters, quality about the same.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 2 days ago

It was fine, but not what it used to be. Food was good but not great, and so felt quite over-priced. I'll try it again, but my expectations are definitely lower now.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 7 days ago

The place is beautiful and food was great! Come hungry there's a lot. Was not too happy at first with our waitress as our party couldn't figure out what they wanted to eat but when we were ready to order she took forever to come back and it was clear we were ready to order. But after that everyone was great. Online it stated there was a dress code but really there was not. This caused a little drama in the party as everyone did the "dress code" and we saw many in jeans.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Food was disappointing and boring. Over cooked pork chop with something resembling frozen breakfast potatoes. Lettuce in the salad was brown. Maybe their more traditional Italian food is better but I doubt we will try it again.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Excellent food. Some items way pricey (especially main course meat and seafood plates). Very loud kitchen area right near some seating. Good service. Some seating areas verge on the bizarre (e.g., table near a sink, or ta table in a corner of a backroom without windows, etc.). Overall good experience, but somehow off.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 17, 2017

We had excellent food and service. The food is tasty and the portions were just right. We had tickets to the Ordway after and had no trouble getting there on time. The waitress was very helpful in regard to the restaurant offerings and a question about parking.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Awesome dessert!!! great atmosphere and service, excellent food

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Our booth was the last one before the runway to the kitchen and staff was extremely loud and moving dishes or plates required "banging". No attempt made to do it quietly. Would not recommend sitting there. Have been in other areas and all the over all noise level is loud because of the high ceilings, it is not because of the kitchen.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Fun, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Great service and food. Waiter got involved in group beyond just taking our order.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Great dinner. Food was very good! Service was good. Had dinner before theatre. Would definitely go back. Also loved valet parking. Made it for an easy time

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Casual, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 14, 2017

We have eaten at Pazzaluna many times in the past, they have several vegetarian options and are generally very good about taking care of us so we can make it to the theatre on time. I wouldn't recommend sitting outside if you are on a schedule, but I recommend sitting outside and enjoying wonderful drinks with a great meal.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 12, 2017

The mushroom ravioli was a French onion soup flavor overwhelmingly and salty for my taste. The pizza was the best I've had at a restaurant in many years! Great sauce. The table bread and olive tapenade was excellent, good crust with chewy bread. The olive appetizer was special with the hot pepper flake oil coating. The chicken with lemon and capers was super flavorful and the risotta creamy. The staff was attentive and thorough. Thank you for a lovely evening. The atmosphere was elegant.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 11, 2017

The food and atmosphere was great. The service left a little to be desired. Our server was not super attentive. I told him it was my boyfriends birthday but he didn't get the special birthday dessert that they talk about on their menu. That was disappointing.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Amazing Food, Great authentic Italian. Waiter was so friendly, but we didn't see him much, same with bus boys, etc. Went almost 45 minutes without him checking in, we needed water and a couple drinks replenished. Still good experience, but at their prices, service should be much better.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Pazzaluna was SO delicious! I ordered the gnochi as it was what I had been craving and it was beyond delicious. We also had a waiter who asked us about our evening and knew that our concert started soon, so suggested ordering earlier than later to ensure our meal would arrive. It was thoughtful and appreciated. I highly recommend this restaurant as it has a great atmosphere, great service, and most importantly GREAT food! Thanks!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Bar Seating, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 9, 2017

High end dining. But totally worth it. 10/10 would recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Even though we told the hostess and the waiter that we wanted to finish the meal by 7 (pre concert program at the Ordway), we didn't get our food until just after 7 (we were seated at 5:45). OK, we adjusted our expectations to get out in time for the concert at 8. Then when it came time to pay the bill, we are 1 couple and 2 singles-we put 3 credit cards out and said please bill it 50/25/25. When the credit card receipt came to sign the waiter put in total of $50/$25/$25. The bill was over $180. What was he thinking? We corrected him he said he was puzzled, but didn't ask. Weird. Food was ok. Cream sauce on pappardelle was watery and too smoky. Nothing we'd go back for. It is convenient. In theory unless they don't get you out in time...

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 5, 2017

On any other day the awful service would have been OK, but when the waitress downplayed the free dessert for my birthday, I knew the evening would turn bad. Thus no free dessert, because they according to the waitress they changed it to just the tiramisu, which Pazzaluna does not make very well, so who knows! When I requested to sign up for the birthday deal, she did not want to let me fill out the form. As I asked why, others in the restaurant started to watch and glare at me as if I was the one being unreasonable. I did manage to eventually sign up for the offer, but not through the waitress. Someone else had to come. Too bad Pazzaluna has just become a glorified Olive Garden with small portions and no bread.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Maybe because it was a Monday night, we received very lackluster service and meh food considering the prices. The calamari appetizer was good, but not outstanding and the salmon was just nasty. Very disappointing. But honestly, I think the server took the entire experience down several notches so maybe the food was really all that bad.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 3, 2017

The food was high quality and the variety was excellent. The waitstaff was fun and very competent. We had a party of six and had made reservations, so we were seated right away. It's a little pricey, but it was excellent and worth money.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Have not been there in years but will return soon as the food and service were great!!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Excellent food, great service. First time my wife and I ate dinner here. We will definitely be coming back!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Waiter and staff are very friendly! They have a gluten free menu. Always enjoy going here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 28, 2017

We had reservations, but were seated at the worst table in the place even though not near full.
Not returning.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Food, service, atmosphere.. everything is ALWAYS fantastic at Pazaluna.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 27, 2017

As with every time we go to this restaurant it was excellent. Curtis was our server and he always does an outstanding job. I had the veal medallions and they were done just right and very tasty. We always enjoy an evening out at Pazzaluna and will certainly return.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Red pepper risotto with beef brisket , almost crusted walleye , scallops and cucumber soup- all excellent. Clayton, Tim - thank you guys.it was great as always .

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 26, 2017

We have had many fine meals at Pazzaluna, but this was one of the best. Smoked pepper risotto was cooked perfectly. The beef on top was fork tender. The sauce was incredible. The first bite of risotto with the beef sauce was a taste of heaven. Chocolate gelato dessert managed to combine sweet, semi-sweet, and bitter chocolate in a way which worked beautifully. What a great meal!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Romantic, Business Meals, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Delicious meal!!! Excellent dessert!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 26, 2017

We've always had a good experience at Pazzaluna, and our latest dinner there was no exception. Excellent food, good service.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Four of us stopped in for an early dinner before a concert. Table was waiting for us - very pleasant wait staff was ready go - drinks, apps, salads and mains were well timed. I had some of the best gnocchi ever, and all my guests raved about their selections. Noise level was on the high side, but not oppressive. We will be back sooner rather than later. Nice job.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Fun, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Server had trouble hearing us or something. Had to repeat ourselves a lot. Forgot one of our appetizers and one of our desserts. Food was surprisingly poorly executed. Octopus was overcooked and very chewy. Pork shank "osso buco" was not a slice of shank but more like the "pig wings" I've seen at bars. The pork was remarkably devoid of any flavor. Even the budino didn't have a lot of character.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Pazzaluna is a big, friendly restaurant in downtown St. Paul. We dined there twice and found the service to be very good and attentive, the kitchen to be very prompt, and the food to be good with generous portions. The space, however, is large, and if you are looking for an intimate dining experience, you may need to ask for one of their more quiet tables. During both of our visits, we were in a large dining area surrounded by groups of noisy diners and conversation with my date was difficult.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 19, 2017

First time guests. It was very busy and very loud. Prices are fair considering it's more upscale menu. We each had an entrée and one glass of wine for my wife, total was around $60. We, and many other diners, were eating before attending a local show. In order to get out within an hour, the server advised us to put in our orders right away as there was about 30 tickets in que. Fortunately, my wife and I decided quickly (skipping appetizers) and placed our order. To our surprise, our food came out in about 5-8 minutes. Part of me was unexpectedly happy, but also suspicious. How could our food be made that quickly with that many orders in line? Well, my food was only lukewarm which tells me it was not made to order. It was still good, but I don't feel like it was fresh. Overall, it was a good experience and we would go back again.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Steve Flynn is the best bartender in St. Paul!
We were on the way to the Ordway.
Lots of parking in the Lawson lot.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 19, 2017

I hadn't been to Pazzaluna in quite awhile and decided to go for happy hour and dinner before the opera with friends. It did not disappoint, the happy hour deals, food and service were definitely something to come back for, and dinner was delicious. Good, professional staff, seated at a great table at reservation time, all was all good :)

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on May 19, 2017

Great food and outstanding service. The restaurant was very busy, we did feel a little rushed to leave.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Great pre Ordway dining. Very accommodating with allergies, although they do not offer any gluten free pasta options. Love the bread basket and olive tapenade - it's a great starter and usually brought with first round of drinks -ask for it if they forget to bring it, it can get busy pre-show time.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 16, 2017

The food was wonderful and I would recommend to others.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Our family of seven with picky kids all got food we liked. The desert platter disappeared quickly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.