About Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant & Bar

360 St. Peter St
Saint Paul, MN 55102
View Larger Map

In Italy, every meal is a journey… the same is true at Pazzaluna. Start with appetizers featuring a selection of bruschetta and pizza straight from our wood-burning oven; then move on to a traditional Italian dinner menu of antipasto or insalata (salad), to primi piatto (pasta course), to secondi piatto (main course), and finally a delicious dolce (dessert). Discover the truly Italian art of lingering over dinner with family and friends, making conversation, and enjoying wine in a setting that is both urban and relaxing.

The award-winning and critically acclaimed Bar at Pazzaluna Urban Italian is an energetic and fun place to meet after work, before an event at the Ordway, Xcel Energy Center, Roy Wilkins Auditorium or just to unwind with family, friends, clients or business associates.

During warm weather, relax on the patio and enjoy the sights and sounds of downtown St. Paul (patio open May through September). See for yourself, you'll be glad you did.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dining Room
Sunday - Monday 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Tuesday - Thursday 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday - Saturday 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Bar
Sunday - Monday 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Tuesday - Thursday 4:00pm - 11:00pm
Friday - Saturday 4:00pm - 12:00am

Happy Hour Specials
Daily 4:00pm - 6:00pm

Cross Street:
5th St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(651) 223-7000

Website:
http://www.pazzaluna.com/

Entertainment:
The award-winning and critically acclaimed Bar at Pazzaluna Urban Italian is an energetic and fun place to meet after work, before an event at the Ordway, Xcel Energy Center, Roy Wilkins Auditorium or just to unwind with family, friends, clients or business associates.

During warm weather, relax on the patio and enjoy the sights and sounds of downtown Saint Paul (patio open May through September). See for yourself, you'll be glad you did.

Parking Details:
Curbside valet parking begins at 5:00pm nightly and guarantees effortless parking for guests. Valet space can be guaranteed and reserved for guests, subject to applicable charges.

Private Party Facilities:
For business, pleasure, or both, Pazzaluna's private dining room is perfect for your events, private dining or special occasions. We offer menus featuring authentic regional Italian cooking.

Private Party Contact:
sales@pazzaluna.com: 8889246411

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant & Bar
Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant & Bar
Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant & Bar
Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant & Bar
Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant & Bar
Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant & Bar
Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant & Bar
Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant & Bar
Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant & Bar
Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant & Bar
Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant & Bar
Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant & Bar
Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant & Bar
Fried Gorgonzola Gnocchi
Saffron And Chicken Risotto
4 Cheese Pizza
Risotto
Bruschetta
Three Meat Cannelloni
Porcini Mushroom Crusted Veal Medallions
carpaccio
Fettuccini Bolognese
Four Cheese Gnocchi
polenta fries
Beef Brisket With Bell Pepper Risotto
carpacio

Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Minneapolis - St. Paul
Best Overall
Twin Cities / St. Paul
Best Food
Twin Cities / St. Paul
4 More
Best Ambiance
Twin Cities / St. Paul
Romantic
Twin Cities / St. Paul
Special Occasion
Twin Cities / St. Paul
Most Booked
Twin Cities / St. Paul
Best Restaurants in St. Paul ›

Special Occasion (127)
Romantic (71)
Good for Groups (64)
See All
Fit for Foodies (61)
Notable Wine List (52)
Neighborhood Gem (35)
Vibrant Bar Scene (22)
Hot Spot (19)
Late-night Find (18)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Good for a Date (17)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Business Meals (15)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Worth the Drive (9)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Authentic (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Open Kitchen (4)
Casual (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Scenic View (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Seasonal (2)
People Watching (2)
Cozy (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Historic (2)
Family Style (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Spicy (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Tapas (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Fun (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Healthy (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2775 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Service was exceptional we really apprec ...

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined 3 days ago

Service was exceptional we really appreciated it. Came with a group of two tables of 6 with Iowa state women's cross country team - loved it!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Authentic, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a very enjoyable evening before g ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined 3 days ago

We had a very enjoyable evening before going to the Ordway. Loved the food!

Tags: Family Style, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The food was wonderful. Choices in abund ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

The food was wonderful. Choices in abundance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1

It was a great spot for Friday night gat ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

It was a great spot for Friday night gathering with friends. Our waiter was great!

Tags: Family Style, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was exceptional. Very attent ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

The service was exceptional. Very attentive. And the salmon bruschetta was outstanding!

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We have always loved our experiences her ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

We have always loved our experiences here. This time we were seated in a half moon shaped booth, that faced directly towards the hostess/door. Honestly it ruined the vibe and feel of the restaurant we are typically used to when eating at Pazza Luna.

Our service started out well, but near the end after our meal came (which the waiter didn't bring - runners brought our food) he was gone, didn't check in, and forgot to bring some drinks. Also he didn't check to see if we wanted more drinks before the check (after we declined dessert); and when we used a comped valet/gc, he acted as if it was a huge undertaking to remove that price from the bill.

Overall the service was still good; the food is always delicious! The seating was the worst part by far.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

I've been to Pazzaluna many times and it ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

I've been to Pazzaluna many times and it is my favorite! We love coming here. No complaints at all. The food is always amazing and the services is very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was great ,friendly atmosphere a ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Service was great ,friendly atmosphere and food and wine were outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We read that Pazzaluna was one of the be ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

We read that Pazzaluna was one of the best italian restaurants in the twin cities and the ambiance was great. Where things fell down is on the Prix Fixe / tasting menu option. I think it was $70/person which included wine pairings. First of all the selections didn't seem right. I would have expected to start with a salad and end with a desert, but instead it started with a huge "meal size" appetizer and ended with a few cheeses and fruits. The size of each entree also was unexpected. My fiance and I could have actually shared a single meal they were so large and I'm usually a big eater, but each course was too large and too filling. Lastly, the wine selections were fairly matched, but the quality of the wine seemed sub-par. I think the wine was a $30 add on, but I would be surprised if the wines weren't $5/bottle selections. At the end of the day the meal was satisfactory, but I probably wouldn't drive that far again or recommend it to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

It's always a treat when we get to go he ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

It's always a treat when we get to go here! The service is absolutely amazing. Everyone is extremely friendly and attentive. Great selection, no matter what you're in the mood for.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, wonderful service. Noisy, h ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Great food, wonderful service. Noisy, however, and difficult to carry on a conversation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was great.

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Everything was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and service were excellent. The ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

The food and service were excellent. The tables were a little too close together is my only complaint. You get a free dessert to share on your Anniversary. I would go back.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food and service was ok but nothing ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

The food and service was ok but nothing more than that. The acoustics make it very hard to have a conversation. We were at a very small table for two which was less than ideal although the view out the window at St. Paul Hotel was nice. After recently going to LaGrolla this dinner was disappointing on all levels. Nothing really wrong just not what it could or should be.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Pazzaluna lived up to there reputation o ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Pazzaluna lived up to there reputation of great ambiance and fantastic food and wold class service. Cheers to the team at Pazzaluna St Paul...

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Worth the visit for the freshly prepared ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Worth the visit for the freshly prepared gnocchi as it is heavenly. Our server Rose was attentive and very knowledgeable about the menu and guided us to a most enjoyable meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Quite frankly, the food was good but the ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Quite frankly, the food was good but the portions were very small. I opted for the halibut and it was roughly 2.5"x 2.5" inches. The entree alone was $38 bucks without sides. I'm not a huge eater and don't need the whole fish but the value was just not there. I frequent your restaurant for business but will opt for the pasta choices next time.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

Our group of 8 had just finished a 3-day ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Our group of 8 had just finished a 3-day 60 mile walk and we were looking to treat ourselves. We found the perfect place! The options were many from a regular menu to a more specialized 4-course menu with wine pairing. One person chose that menu and she was thrilled!

Our food was cooked to perfection, the gnocchi were light and pillowy and the seafood dishes were spot on. Dessert was to die for from the peach cobbler to gelato to a decadent chocolate lave-type cake.

We left full and were not overcharged for the level of what we were served. We would all recommend this location to others and would definitely visit if we ever return. Thanks!

Joanne from New Jersey

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Seasonal, Tapas, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Every single thing we had ordered to eat ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Every single thing we had ordered to eat was really wonderfully delicious! Surprising overall delight. The service was also attentive and helpful (as has always been the case for us).

Can't wait to go back--except for deciding what to eat: the tasty and recommended Scottish salmon and nicely composed arugula salad...or try something new?

Even the simple chocolate gelato was rich and flavorful--with added chocolate shavings blended in. Yum!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Usually the Paz is an excellent choice. ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Usually the Paz is an excellent choice. For just one night the service was poorly timed, the food was salty, and our side dish did not come out until after our meal was nearly finished. The floor manager took the side dish off our bill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

The food was awesome! We will go back th ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

The food was awesome! We will go back there for sure!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really mediocre meal. My date and I had ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Really mediocre meal. My date and I had 2 entrees, shared a pasta and 2 apps. Our pasta was slippery noodles with a lot of vinegar and no flavor. The fish was overcooked, doused in a super spicy sauce and sun dried tomato mush, all covered in hot pepper flakes. It was like ok cafeteria food. I ate there 6 months ago and had same experience. Thought we'd give it a try again as she wanted pasta. never going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

authentic Italian cuisine. Very expensiv ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

authentic Italian cuisine. Very expensive. Three woman all making100kor better and we allthought it was great but pricey.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

It's always a special treat when we have ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

It's always a special treat when we have a chance to eat at Pazzaluna's. The food and service is exceptional, and the staff is very friendly and attentive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had a great evening at Pazzaluna with fr ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Had a great evening at Pazzaluna with friends. Best part was the excellent service by our server, Carrie. Lasagna was the best I've ever had! Great food at a reasonable price. Can't beat that.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place to go in St Paul. Good food ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great place to go in St Paul. Good food and cool atmosphere! T he bar is great also.

Tags: Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This location and service is great for t ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

This location and service is great for those going to Ordway show

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent food and service as always! C ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Excellent food and service as always! Curtis was our server and did the fine job that he always does. I had fettuccine Alfredo with shrimp which was excellent. We were seated right on time and were able to get to the Ordway with time to spare. One of our favorite places to eat in the city.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The staff were friendly, respectful, and ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

The staff were friendly, respectful, and just as attentive as one could wish.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service with a warm smile and wond ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Great service with a warm smile and wonderful food. The Monk fish was fabulous love the sauce tasty and spicy

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

we were seated immediately and able to e ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

we were seated immediately and able to enjoy our meal and make our production comfortably. Great server!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Halibut was over cooked - very dry. Disa ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Halibut was over cooked - very dry. Disappointing for a

$30 meal. Service was lacking, nonexistent at times - we had to get up from our table to get our waiter to place part of our order (after waiting a long time for him to get back to us) and repeatedly had to wave him down to get any attn. Overall we spent $140 for 2 people - shame on Pazzaluna for not providing a better experience. We told the manager on our way out and he was very apologetic. We won't be returning. There are many other options available in DT St Paul that are more deserving of our money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1

Great food was had by all at our table. ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Great food was had by all at our table. Our server was very personable and good.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Chef's choice pizza on 8/7 was fabul ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

The Chef's choice pizza on 8/7 was fabulous! Prosciutto, olive oil , pesto , arugula and tomato-divine!!

Italian Stallions to drink were extremely refreshing!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Staff was great. One meal was good, how ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Staff was great. One meal was good, however I am sad to say that the Scampi special was awful. The $9-10.00 side salads were pretty weak. In addition, our table wobbled badly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

Had my birthday dinner there, the salmon ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Had my birthday dinner there, the salmon was excellent. Wedge salad, so fresh. They made my birthday extra special. Wonderful lemon drop martini and nice tri-dessert. The creme brulee was the best part.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great dinner - our group of six enjoyed ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Great dinner - our group of six enjoyed the food, service and atmosphere. Wish I'd gotten the name of our waiter - said he's 65, beard, has been there quite a few years. He was wonderful - some of the best, most attentive service I've experienced in quite a while. Nice to see that Pazzaluna values experience! [didn't fill in the quantity for the bill, above, because I don't remember what it was]

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We met friends for dinner, our treat. T ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We met friends for dinner, our treat. The service was excellent, and all of our food choices were delicious! I think the service was attentive, and good. My husband and I have been there in the past, and have always enjoyed our experience. We are happy you have added valet parking, makes things easier! Sometimes we come with my elderly Father, he is having issues with walking these days.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous food and wine selection. Exce ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Fabulous food and wine selection. Excellent service and very pleasant environment.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I was in invited to wheels of Italy car ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

I was in invited to wheels of Italy car show on Thursday night. I had made reservations at 5:00. My wife and daughter were stuck in traffic had I had to push my reservation back 30 minutes. The hostess was very accommodating and when they arrived we went right to our table. Our waitress was great and our dinner was wonderful. Nothing could have made it better.

Thanks

Darrell Johnson

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.