About Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant & Bar

360 St. Peter St
Saint Paul, MN 55102
View Larger Map

In Italy, every meal is a journey… the same is true at Pazzaluna. Start with appetizers featuring a selection of bruschetta and pizza straight from our wood-burning oven; then move on to a traditional Italian dinner menu of antipasto or insalata (salad), to primi piatto (pasta course), to secondi piatto (main course), and finally a delicious dolce (dessert). Discover the truly Italian art of lingering over dinner with family and friends, making conversation, and enjoying wine in a setting that is both urban and relaxing.

The award-winning and critically acclaimed Bar at Pazzaluna Urban Italian is an energetic and fun place to meet after work, before an event at the Ordway, Xcel Energy Center, Roy Wilkins Auditorium or just to unwind with family, friends, clients or business associates.

During warm weather, relax on the patio and enjoy the sights and sounds of downtown St. Paul (patio open May through September). See for yourself, you'll be glad you did.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dining Room
Sunday - Monday 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Tuesday - Thursday 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday - Saturday 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Bar
Sunday - Monday 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Tuesday - Thursday 4:00pm - 11:00pm
Friday - Saturday 4:00pm - 12:00am

Happy Hour Specials
Daily 4:00pm - 6:00pm

Cross Street:
5th St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(651) 223-7000

Website:
http://www.pazzaluna.com/

Entertainment:
The award-winning and critically acclaimed Bar at Pazzaluna Urban Italian is an energetic and fun place to meet after work, before an event at the Ordway, Xcel Energy Center, Roy Wilkins Auditorium or just to unwind with family, friends, clients or business associates.

During warm weather, relax on the patio and enjoy the sights and sounds of downtown Saint Paul (patio open May through September). See for yourself, you'll be glad you did.

Parking Details:
Curbside valet parking begins at 5:00pm nightly and guarantees effortless parking for guests. Valet space can be guaranteed and reserved for guests, subject to applicable charges.

Private Party Facilities:
For business, pleasure, or both, Pazzaluna's private dining room is perfect for your events, private dining or special occasions. We offer menus featuring authentic regional Italian cooking.

Private Party Contact:
sales@pazzaluna.com: 8889246411

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant & Bar
Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant & Bar
Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant & Bar
Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant & Bar
Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant & Bar
Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant & Bar
Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant & Bar
Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant & Bar
Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant & Bar
Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant & Bar
Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant & Bar
Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant & Bar
Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant & Bar
Saffron And Chicken Risotto
Fried Gorgonzola Gnocchi
4 Cheese Pizza
Risotto
Bruschetta
Three Meat Cannelloni
Porcini Mushroom Crusted Veal Medallions
Fettuccini Bolognese
carpaccio
Four Cheese Gnocchi
Beef Brisket With Bell Pepper Risotto
polenta fries
carpacio

Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Minneapolis - St. Paul
Best Overall
Twin Cities / St. Paul
Best Food
Twin Cities / St. Paul
3 More
Romantic
Twin Cities / St. Paul
Special Occasion
Twin Cities / St. Paul
Most Booked
Twin Cities / St. Paul
Best Restaurants in St. Paul β€Ί

special occasion (148)
fit for foodies (92)
romantic (89)
See All
good for groups (74)
notable wine list (49)
hot spot (31)
vibrant bar scene (31)
neighborhood gem (26)
late-night find (21)
great for lunch (12)
great for brunch (10)
scenic view (7)
kid-friendly (5)
great for outdoor dining (4)
Sort By:
Newest
2729 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent service but food was overly sa ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent service but food was overly salty. The bread was good and fresh. Prices were on the high side.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

last night was very relaxing- thank you. ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined 7 days ago

last night was very relaxing- thank you. Rachelle was very patience with us ,she gave us a lot of private time and as always she was very pro and very nice- thank you. Please also thank Chef Seth for the Ahi tuna appetizer , scallops and halibut were both excellent and fresh, vibrant . Shanti it is great to be back home at Pazzaluna. Thank you again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We celebrated our 5 year wedding anniver ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined 7 days ago

We celebrated our 5 year wedding anniversary and 5 years ago rented out Pazzaluna for our wedding reception. they were very accomodating back then and still wonderful now!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is my favorite St Paul restaurant. ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

This is my favorite St Paul restaurant. I love the ambiance, food ( pasta) is delicious! The bread and the olive butter is too good to pass up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Consistant great service & food! A "Go T ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Consistant great service & food! A "Go To" when I'm in St. Paul

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent overall. Service was amazing! ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Excellent overall. Service was amazing! Very accommodating to late arrival of half the party. Love the attitude at this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went to Pazzaluna with our now adult ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

We went to Pazzaluna with our now adult aged children for a nice dinner out. We have been to Pazzaluna many times through the years are never disappointed. The service was solid and the kitchen was accommodating for one of our kids who is Vegan. Definitely a spot to visit when in downtown St. Paul!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We were seated right away and service wa ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

We were seated right away and service was ok. Good was good but not spectacular. My husband had spaghetti and meatballs while good was too spicy for him. I had the special beet salad that was good but pizza was just ok. People like this restaurant it may have been what we ordered.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Family had a great time - no feint prais ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Family had a great time - no feint praise with 3 teenage girls. Hostess a real peach making. Sure air conditioning to cold for us covering a vent. Very relaxing with no hint of rushing us.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Excellent food and a vibrant clientele. ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Excellent food and a vibrant clientele. We love coming here. Nice location. Lots of action!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

No Respect. Reservations were at 5:45pm ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

No Respect. Reservations were at 5:45pm on the night of a concert. Arrived a little before 5:45 and was not seated until 6:00. They knew we were going to the concert as was everyone else in the place but the hostess spent all her time telling everyone walking in that they were full while we all waited to be seated. Our table was not filled before us, it was empty, they just were in no hurry to get us seated. As a result, I had two bites of my meal and we had to leave to get to the concert. $500 bill and I had two bites. Never again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Had lots of pressure to pick the right r ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Had lots of pressure to pick the right restaurant for our 15th anniversary and right before the Adele concert. Pazzaluna was fantastic. Everything we had was better than the last. Wife ordered zucchini fries, arugula salad and the wild mushroom ravioli. I ordered the giant meatball, Caesar salad and i broke one of my Italian restaurant rules by ordering the lasagna. The lasagna was absolutely amazing though and glad I did. The ambiance was nice, and the service was very attentive. Highly recommend to anyone for a nice dinner out with friends and/ or if you need a date place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was great, as was the service! ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

The food was great, as was the service! Would definitely go back!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous food, fabulous service! Had a h ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Fabulous food, fabulous service! Had a hard time choosing a meal as it all sounded good!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great location. Great Italian. Quick ser ...

vip
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Great location. Great Italian. Quick service. And great food.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We went there for our 20th Anniversary. ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

We went there for our 20th Anniversary. Food and service were great. We had the Veal Medallions and Beef Short Ribs Risotto. Both were outstanding and I would highly recommend. Try the Arugula salad to start your meal. That is an outstanding start to your meal. I recommend Pazzaluna to anyone looking for a great special event meal or just a fun evening with friends.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We hosted out of town guests. They were ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

We hosted out of town guests. They were so pleased with the food and service. The Gnocchi was excellent as was the fish.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went out to dinner for my husband's birt ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Went out to dinner for my husband's birthday with the kids (ages 14 & 16). Ordered the meat & cheese tray to share for apps and it was delicious, especially the truffle cheese! Food was delicious and service was excellent. We will definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

My son requested Italian food for his bi ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

My son requested Italian food for his birthday. Through Open Table, we were able to make a reservation right away on a Sunday evening. Our server, Curtis, was outstanding. Although four members of our family split entrees, the bill was over $200 for our family of seven. The food was delicious, but service was a bit slow - we were there about two hours - a bit long for children. I'd love to return for an anniversary or birthday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Special anniversary dinner. we were gre ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Special anniversary dinner. we were greeted at the door with an Anniversary Wish, and every other employee we encountered wished us Happy Anniversary. The food and service were great!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Tasty, authentic cuisine (about as authe ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Tasty, authentic cuisine (about as authentic as you'll get this side of the Atlantic!) Read the signs in the bathroom, they're funny!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Pazzaluna is my favorite to go great foo ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Pazzaluna is my favorite to go great food great service awesome employees charming atmosphere 5 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

WAITE STAFF WAS NOT ATTENTIVE... EXTREME ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

WAITE STAFF WAS NOT ATTENTIVE... EXTREMELY LOUD IN THERE, DIFFICULTY HOLDING A CONVERSATION WITHOUT NEEDING TO ELEVATE TONE LEVEL. AMBIANCE DOES NOT MATCH THE PRICE.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

Appreciated being able to leave leftover ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Appreciated being able to leave leftovers in the cooler while attending the theater.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing place. Would recommend to anyone ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Amazing place. Would recommend to anyone. Had the steak with with risotto and a bottle of wine. Everything was great from the salad to the dessert!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Located in a nicely refurbished older bu ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Located in a nicely refurbished older building in downtown St. Paul, we loved the atmosphere from the moment we walked in. Our waiter, Jacob, was very knowledgeable about everything on the menu. It was crowded on Saturday night, several larger groups, but service was outstanding and so was the food. The "Giant Stuffed Meatball" appetizer was fun to try, and all our entrees were delicious. Drinks from the bar were excellent too. (The "Sophia Loren" was very refreshing on a hot summer night.) Would definitely return if we are back in the area! (Note, be sure to take a walk across the street to the small park and see the statues of the Peanuts characters after dinner.)

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It has been awhile since going to Pazall ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

It has been awhile since going to Pazalluna, but its standards have not diminished. The service was exceptional, attention to eachs guests needs as well as our whole table. The food was very good and we managed to sample each other's selections, which was very welcome. While it was reasonable that the perk of offering a bottle of wine equal to the age of a guest celebrating a birthday has been discontinued, they still made the member of our group celebrating a birthday pleased with a special desert offering. Would not hrsitate to return.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Oh my gosh! What a wonderful meal! The v ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Oh my gosh! What a wonderful meal! The veal medallions are to die for. Fun place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing as always! The service here has ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Amazing as always! The service here has always been above standard; we always feel like we're welcomed. I really like the wine list, and the food is incredible. While it is a bit noisy, you can still carry a conversation easily. One of my favorite restaurants!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Always a great time sitting at the count ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Always a great time sitting at the counter in back and watching the cooks work their magic.

Service was attentive and even the bus boys smiled!

You really can't go wrong eating here - it's just fabulous!!!

(especially the bread and tapanade!!!)

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had a great experience. Wait staff was ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Had a great experience. Wait staff was attentive and friendly. Brought special dessert sampler to the two people celebrating their birthdays. Excellent wine selection, and delicious food. Gourmet pizzas that were food friendly for the kids in the group. Great place for a family celebration or for a lovely dinner date for two; I've done it both ways. A favorite spot for all who attended.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ordered the Pre-fix meal. Salad was mea ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Ordered the Pre-fix meal. Salad was meager and Halibut was over cooked and dry. Also, asked for a few extra noodles for take home left over pasta and waitress said "we're too busy to accommodate your request". I was startled at this response. We did engage in Wine pairing and wines were good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

Service was less than average, food was ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Service was less than average, food was awesome. The server was rushing the evening and did not put out any of the items on the menu. The bus person was too fast on removing items from the table!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

Great place for a date. My wife and I en ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Great place for a date.

My wife and I enjoyed the time we spent there, food was fantastic.

We have been there several times and the quality and experience are great.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Penne Rosa is amazing

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Penne Rosa is amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Really nice place

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Excellent service and good food great experience over all

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One year anniversary

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

My husband and I had our rehearsal dinner at Pazzaluna and recently celebrated our one year anniversary here. Everything was exceptional, from the food to the service.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Spur of the moment dinner

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

We were in St. Paul for the weekend and were able to book with Pazzaluna through Open Table. we didn't know what to expect other than an extensive menu. Needless to say, we were not disappointed at all. The food was absolutely delicious, great wine, and quiet. We will definitely go back next time we visit St. Paul!

Tags: good for groups, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Graduation Dinner

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

My husband, son and I ate here prior to his graduation ceremony at Roy Wilkins auditorium. It was a very nice meal with a great server who worked to get us out on time. We had two pastas, a risotto and shared two salads between us. Everything was very good. The bread was great ,and I appreciated the by-the-glass wine list. We had a pinot noir and a merlot - both were good values. The restaurant is lively, but not too noisy for conversation - a great spot!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My Review

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

The food, the wine, the cocktails, the beer and the desserts cannot be beat. Try their Pecan Pie.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.