About Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant & Bar

360 St. Peter St
Saint Paul, MN 55102
View Larger Map

In Italy, every meal is a journey… the same is true at Pazzaluna. Start with appetizers featuring a selection of bruschetta and pizza straight from our wood-burning oven; then move on to a traditional Italian dinner menu of antipasto or insalata (salad), to primi piatto (pasta course), to secondi piatto (main course), and finally a delicious dolce (dessert). Discover the truly Italian art of lingering over dinner with family and friends, making conversation, and enjoying wine in a setting that is both urban and relaxing.

The award-winning and critically acclaimed Bar at Pazzaluna Urban Italian is an energetic and fun place to meet after work, before an event at the Ordway, Xcel Energy Center, Roy Wilkins Auditorium or just to unwind with family, friends, clients or business associates.

During warm weather, relax on the patio and enjoy the sights and sounds of downtown Saint Paul (patio open May through September). See for yourself, you'll be glad you did.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dining Room
Sunday - Monday 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Tuesday - Thursday 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday - Saturday 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Bar
Sunday - Monday 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Tuesday - Thursday 4:00pm - 11:00pm
Friday - Saturday 4:00pm - 12:00am

Happy Hour Specials
Daily 4:00pm - 6:00pm

Cross Street:
5th St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(651) 223-7000

Website:
http://www.pazzaluna.com/

Entertainment:
The award-winning and critically acclaimed Bar at Pazzaluna Urban Italian is an energetic and fun place to meet after work, before an event at the Ordway, Xcel Energy Center, Roy Wilkins Auditorium or just to unwind with family, friends, clients or business associates.

During warm weather, relax on the patio and enjoy the sights and sounds of downtown Saint Paul (patio open May through September). See for yourself, you'll be glad you did.

Parking Details:
Curbside valet parking begins at 5:00pm nightly and guarantees effortless parking for guests. Valet space can be guaranteed and reserved for guests, subject to applicable charges.

Private Party Facilities:
For business, pleasure, or both, Pazzaluna's private dining room is perfect for your events, private dining or special occasions. We offer menus featuring authentic regional Italian cooking.

Private Party Contact:
Kate Tschida: 8889246411

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Food
Twin Cities / St. Paul
Special Occasion
Twin Cities / St. Paul
Most Booked
Twin Cities / St. Paul
Best Restaurants in St. Paul ›

special occasion (197)
fit for foodies (134)
romantic (122)
See All
good for groups (102)
hot spot (58)
vibrant bar scene (56)
notable wine list (55)
neighborhood gem (44)
late-night find (33)
scenic view (16)
great for lunch (12)
great for brunch (11)
kid-friendly (9)
great for outdoor dining (2)
Sort By:
Newest
2684 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

The staff were excellent so kind , happ ...

Dined a day ago

The staff were excellent so kind , happy and responsive. The food was outstanding i enjoyed myself so much .

food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Okay

Dined 4 days ago

My hubby ordered the fish special and that was okay, but nothing to write home about. I ordered the lobster pasta, even requested it to remade, hopeful it was a fluke. Nope. Just really low quality lobster, mushy and no flavor. At this price point, very disappointing. Server was friendly and knowledgeable.

food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Server was friendly but our service was ...

Dined 4 days ago

Server was friendly but our service was slow. We were in Restauant for an hour and 45. It needed to be closer to an hour and 20-30. Appetizers were very slow and dinner also came out slow. The bill was much too high. We ordered sensibly and expected a bill in the range of $125-150. Instead it was $200. We will not race back because although the food was delicious it was too loud and expensive. There are better value choices we will make before trying Pazzaluna again.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Nice restaurant, but not as high class a ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Nice restaurant, but not as high class as I had heard it was. Food was good, service average. Came for a special occasion which was unrecognized.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Not enough staff to cover Univ of Minn g ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Not enough staff to cover Univ of Minn graduation and prom. We waited 20 minutes before drink order was taken. Were given bread basket....no plates. Finally went to locate waiter after 25 minute wait and requested plates. Spent $415. for dinner. Disappointed with service. Food was very good.

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

The service was poor-- almost missed the ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

The service was poor-- almost missed the beginning of the opera. We had reservations for 5:30 and did not receive our food until 6:45. It took us at least 15 minutes to get the correct bill. I waitress seemed more interested in talking with the other wait staff instead of remembering her tables. Definitely would not do again before the opera.

food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Great food as always, but noisy as alway ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Great food as always, but noisy as always. Hard to converse across our table for two.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5

We had one of the personal pizzas and a ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

We had one of the personal pizzas and a daily special. Both were fantastic. Our server was extremely helpful with wine and food selections. We will be back.

food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Food was good, not great. It was really ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Food was good, not great. It was really noisy..and with a friend who is hard of hearing it just wasn’t the best fit. Even though we asked for somewhere quiet it really was still too loud.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

I appreciated the call to confirm the re ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

I appreciated the call to confirm the reservation and to ask if there were any special needs.

food3
ambience3
service4
value3

We went for Mother's Day brunch. The se ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

We went for Mother's Day brunch. The service was good and the location is perfect. We felt a bit crowded, like they tried to squeeze in more tables. Our chairs were bumping the people next to us.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently one of the best dining expe ...

Dined on May 5, 2016

Consistently one of the best dining experiences in the Twin Cities. One of our top 5 faves!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic food. Did the nightly four cou ...

Dined on May 2, 2016

Fantastic food. Did the nightly four course dinner with swine selections. Outstanding in all four courses!!!

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Atmosphere was very nice, food was delic ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

Atmosphere was very nice, food was delicious. I felt underdressed because their website didn't really show that it was a very nice restaurant.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner

Dined on April 29, 2016

We had a great meal during our stay in St Paul for the Minnesota dental convention, Food and service were great

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Find the time for Pazzaluna

Dined on April 28, 2016

My second trip to Pazzaluna and I was again very pleased with the wine, food, and service. The staff is attentive and the chicken picata was done perfectly. Bread and olive tapanade at the table is great as the bread is fresh with two types serviced. The wine list is a little light on California bold reds. The noise can get to be a bit much when crowded but tolerable. Make sure to make a reservation so as to not be disappointed.

Tags: good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We always leave happy

Dined on April 27, 2016

We loved our fourth visit to Pazzaluna as much as we did the first three. First of all, the location alone is charming, situated as it is across from the St. Paul Hotel and Landmark Center. Wonderful food and drink, service that makes you feel well taken care of, and a warm and welcoming ambiance. We'll be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

They did a fabulous job taking care of u ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

They did a fabulous job taking care of us. There were some food restrictions to accommodate and they took care of us with grace. The food and service was awesome.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always good

Dined on April 23, 2016

We have eaten here several time and have always had a great meal and a good time

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Second time...and it was better than the first!

Dined on April 23, 2016

Our second visit to Pazzaluna and we were delighted with the food and service!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Noisy but good

Dined on April 22, 2016

Good food, very good service. Gets to be too noisy though. Is a bit pricey, but for a special night out it works.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our first time at Pazzaluna was a good o ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

Our first time at Pazzaluna was a good one. We had a wonderful server who took time with us to explain and recommend dishes as we had not been there before. We enjoyed a generous serving of bruschetta as an appetizer, as well as the olive tapenade and bread that came free to our table. We shared an entree of chicken piccata with risotto-lovely! Sorbet for dessert. Happy hour is only served in the bar and when you make open table reservations, they will be in the main restaurant.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Service

Dined on April 20, 2016

This was my second time coming here - I celebrated my birthday there 5 years ago and everything was amazing. This birthday however, I am sad to say that the service from out server was less than mediocre. The times that we did see her she wasn't very helpful or friendly. It seemed like she didn't want to be there. I am hoping that maybe she was just having a bad day and isn't like that all of the time.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

If you eat at there once, you'll be back.

Dined on April 17, 2016

If you eat at Pazzaluna once, you'll be making excuses to come back...soon. The food is excellent & the service is always impeccable. I had the lobster with Pecorino on Saturday & the lobster was perfection...it melted like butter.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Please send our thank's to the Sous Chef ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

Please send our thank's to the Sous Chef Ricardo Lopez. Is he a rising star in St.Paul culinary landscape...we definitely think so. Ricardo has a passion, and a mind of the artist. It was very nice to meet him . Sabine did absolutely phenomenal job taking care of us. She is very good at what she does, besides we have common subjects to talk about like Germany. All the dishes were phenomenal.Pazzaluna is the place to be and a great location to celebrate any occasion.

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent on every level. Amazing servic ...

Dined on April 15, 2016

Excellent on every level. Amazing service!

food1
ambience4
service3
value1

High Price--Poor Quality

Dined on April 9, 2016

Although the ambiance was good and the staff were attentive, the food was lackluster. The Rigatoni with Chicken had a four cheese sauce, which was more of a runny tomato soup than a cheese sauce. The Tomato Basil Brushetta was passable, but not great. For the price it did not measure up. I will not be dining at Pazzaluna again.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding Service on a very busy night

Dined on April 7, 2016

Excellent service and great food on a very busy downtown event night. The staff went out of their way to find an earlier time even though our reservation was for later. They also checked multiple times to ensure everything was good.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Would cone back- great food, service.

Dined on April 5, 2016

Would cone back- great food, service.

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

High repeat quality and service

vip
Dined on April 3, 2016

We have been coming to Pazzaluna since it opened. The food continues to be outstanding. We have asked for Lois as our server for many years. She is the best. Always attentive, knowledgeable and friendly. Highly recommended.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dined Pre-Ordway

Dined on April 1, 2016

Excellent food, service and atmosphere. Quite cognizant and accommodating of theater schedule. Pecan Pie was over the top! Valet parking is convenient and an excellent value. Will return.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Now I know why a reservation is necessary!

Dined on April 1, 2016

I've attempted numerous times to have dinner here with friends when downtown for an event, but we were always asked if we had reservations, which we never did... Until this time! I'm so glad I planned it out in advance this time. It was perfect!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Showstopper

Dined on March 31, 2016

The service was great and the food was fabulous. Great spot before the theater or a sports venue.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Happy Hour

Dined on March 31, 2016

We always try to stop in for their happy hour before an event and have never been disappointed. Great drinks and great food.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Gluten Free Menu

Dined on March 30, 2016

Extensive gluten free menu. Delicious food. Great ambiance.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Still one of our favorite restaurants in ...

vip
Dined on March 30, 2016

Still one of our favorite restaurants in Saint Paul, very good food, very good service, close to the Ordway, decent vegetarian options, just wish that they would bring back the polenta fries :)

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Paz review

Dined on March 29, 2016

My husband and I had an excellent dinner at this restaurant and always do. The greeting and seating is great-much less the wine, food, and service. Wonderful and highly recommend this place.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful Restaurant!

Dined on March 28, 2016

Great place to eat! From the atmosphere to the service to the food.....it all was wonderful! I especially loved the red snapper.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Easter Brunch Experience

Dined on March 27, 2016

My wife and I brought two of our offspring and their Significant Others to Easter Brunch. The staff was very helpful and friendly, the service was excellent, the food was great, and we all had an exceptionally good time. Thanks for a great experience.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Great food but...

Dined on March 27, 2016

Got there a bit early and had delicious drinks at the bar. Had bruschetta with crimini mushrooms. Excellent. I had been looking forward to the lobster and linguini for a year but they were sold out. The cioppino was really good though. She had shrimp risotto and loved it. Wine was excellent as well

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.