About Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant & Bar

360 St. Peter St
Saint Paul, MN 55102
View Larger Map

In Italy, every meal is a journey… the same is true at Pazzaluna. Start with appetizers featuring a selection of bruschetta and pizza straight from our wood-burning oven; then move on to a traditional Italian dinner menu of antipasto or insalata (salad), to primi piatto (pasta course), to secondi piatto (main course), and finally a delicious dolce (dessert). Discover the truly Italian art of lingering over dinner with family and friends, making conversation, and enjoying wine in a setting that is both urban and relaxing.

The award-winning and critically acclaimed Bar at Pazzaluna Urban Italian is an energetic and fun place to meet after work, before an event at the Ordway, Xcel Energy Center, Roy Wilkins Auditorium or just to unwind with family, friends, clients or business associates.

During warm weather, relax on the patio and enjoy the sights and sounds of downtown St. Paul (patio open May through September). See for yourself, you'll be glad you did.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dining Room
Sunday - Monday 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Tuesday - Thursday 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday - Saturday 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Bar
Sunday - Monday 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Tuesday - Thursday 4:00pm - 11:00pm
Friday - Saturday 4:00pm - 12:00am

Happy Hour Specials
Daily 4:00pm - 6:00pm

Cross Street:
5th St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(651) 223-7000

Website:
http://www.pazzaluna.com/

Entertainment:
The award-winning and critically acclaimed Bar at Pazzaluna Urban Italian is an energetic and fun place to meet after work, before an event at the Ordway, Xcel Energy Center, Roy Wilkins Auditorium or just to unwind with family, friends, clients or business associates.

During warm weather, relax on the patio and enjoy the sights and sounds of downtown Saint Paul (patio open May through September). See for yourself, you'll be glad you did.

Parking Details:
Curbside valet parking begins at 5:00pm nightly and guarantees effortless parking for guests. Valet space can be guaranteed and reserved for guests, subject to applicable charges.

Private Party Facilities:
For business, pleasure, or both, Pazzaluna's private dining room is perfect for your events, private dining or special occasions. We offer menus featuring authentic regional Italian cooking.

Private Party Contact:
sales@pazzaluna.com: 8889246411

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant & Bar, Saint Paul, MN
Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant & Bar, Saint Paul, MN
Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant & Bar, Saint Paul, MN
Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant & Bar, Saint Paul, MN
Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant & Bar, Saint Paul, MN
Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant & Bar, Saint Paul, MN
Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant & Bar, Saint Paul, MN
Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant & Bar, Saint Paul, MN
Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant & Bar, Saint Paul, MN
Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant & Bar, Saint Paul, MN
Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant & Bar, Saint Paul, MN
Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant & Bar, Saint Paul, MN
Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant & Bar, Saint Paul, MN
Fried Gorgonzola Gnocchi - Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant & Bar, Saint Paul, MN
Saffron And Chicken Risotto - Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant & Bar, Saint Paul, MN
4 Cheese Pizza - Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant & Bar, Saint Paul, MN
Risotto - Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant & Bar, Saint Paul, MN
Bruschetta - Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant & Bar, Saint Paul, MN
Three Meat Cannelloni - Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant & Bar, Saint Paul, MN
Porcini Mushroom Crusted Veal Medallions - Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant & Bar, Saint Paul, MN
carpaccio - Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant & Bar, Saint Paul, MN
Fettuccini Bolognese - Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant & Bar, Saint Paul, MN
Four Cheese Gnocchi - Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant & Bar, Saint Paul, MN
polenta fries - Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant & Bar, Saint Paul, MN
Beef Brisket With Bell Pepper Risotto - Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant & Bar, Saint Paul, MN
carpacio - Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant & Bar, Saint Paul, MN

Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Minneapolis - St. Paul
Best Overall
Twin Cities / St. Paul
Best Food
Twin Cities / St. Paul
4 More
Best Ambiance
Twin Cities / St. Paul
Best Value
Twin Cities / St. Paul
Special Occasion
Twin Cities / St. Paul
Most Booked
Twin Cities / St. Paul
Best Restaurants in St. Paul ›

Special Occasion (94)
Good for a Date (64)
Romantic (56)
See All
Pre/post Theatre (55)
Good for Birthdays (53)
Good for Anniversaries (51)
Fit for Foodies (41)
Good for Groups (40)
Notable Wine List (38)
Business Meals (35)
Authentic (30)
Worth the Drive (30)
Neighborhood Gem (27)
Creative Cuisine (25)
Casual (22)
Cozy (20)
Bar Seating (20)
Happy Hour (19)
Open Kitchen (18)
Handcrafted Cocktails (18)
Comfort Food (17)
People Watching (15)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Fun (15)
Modern Decor (14)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
Tasting Menu (12)
Late-night Find (10)
Hot Spot (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (10)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Great for Lunch (7)
Historic (7)
Seasonal (6)
Family Style (6)
Wood Oven (6)
Healthy (6)
Outstanding Value (5)
Private Room (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Great Beer (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Scenic View (2)
Vegan (2)
Tapas (2)
Organic (2)
Fireplace (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Spicy (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
S
2868 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Nice place for dinner before an Ordway s ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 3 days ago

Nice place for dinner before an Ordway show. They are good about getting you out in time. Food is good, not exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Fantastic entrees! Short ribs were to d ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 6 days ago

Fantastic entrees! Short ribs were to die for and the wine recommendation was excellent!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We dine during SPCO Season and always en ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 6 days ago

We dine during SPCO Season and always enjoy Pazzaluna. I can't think of a single hitch in food quality, temperature, or service. Very professional!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We found the food to be good but not gre ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 6 days ago

We found the food to be good but not great. The chicken piccata was very good as was the risotto. But the ossobuco was fair and pricey. The walleye was great but not very much for the price. Service was great but very noisy and we faced the sink in a back booth.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5

Not busy for 5 pm reservation. Seated pr ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 6 days ago

Not busy for 5 pm reservation. Seated promptly, waitress was excellent. It was busy at end of meal. Long wait for after dinner drinks and dessert.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Very convenient downtown location with a ...

 
 (Montana)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Very convenient downtown location with a great selection of Italian fare that will not disappoint. The service was very attentive and friendly. The prices fit any budget. Will be back.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food is very good, though a little price ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Food is very good, though a little pricey. The prix fixe is a good deal. The restaurant is fairly noisy, which we knew.

A server, not ours, brought us the wrong salad. We pointed this out to our server and she apologized and corrected it. Later, a manager came over and asked how our meal was. At the end of our conversation, he apologized for us receiving the wrong salad. Should he have apologized at the beginning of the conversation? or the end? Should he have deducted the cost of the salad from our check? The restaurant didn't offer a compensation nor did we request it. Methinks the manager of a classy operation would have apologized and not charged us for the salad or offered us a free dessert.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Turkey dinner was piled on the plate. No ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Turkey dinner was piled on the plate. Not very appealing

Service was so so. Took a long time to bring the drink. Had to repeatedly ask other attendants to remind our waiter. Did not ask if we would like more coffee

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Pazzaluna is one of our "go-to" spots fo ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Pazzaluna is one of our "go-to" spots for special occasion dinners or any time we need to feel welcomed and taken care of. The restaurant's warm vibe, combined with the good wine and food make for lovely, relaxing meals.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Outstanding Value, Cozy, Open Kitchen, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Celebrated mom's 75th at Pazzaluna and t ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Celebrated mom's 75th at Pazzaluna and the experience couldn't have been better. We arrived early on a night the Wild were playing and were seated quickly anyway. Food was amazing. The roasted pepper risotto with brisket was delicious. Curtis, our server, was perfect. Mom even received a complimentary dessert, a $25 gift card toward her next visit and a voucher for free valet parking. The perfect evening topped with generosity. Thank you Pazzaluna.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved it! Great food! Great service ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 22, 2016

We loved it! Great food! Great service! We went to dinner before the theater and loved it!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Terrific food and service! And we could ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Terrific food and service! And we could hear each other talk!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

18 yr veteran waitress was great!

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 19, 2016

18 yr veteran waitress was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Food was ok but nothing special for the ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Food was ok but nothing special for the price. The worst part was we went for birthday celebration and waiter asked us if a special occasion. He forgot all about it but all tables around us that where his got birthday cake. Waiter never asked how meal was or even if everything was ok. Took order and placed bill on table that's all he did for us. Also tables mashed in so waiters kept bumping into my wife's chair. Never return to this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value3

friendly staff, great location, food was ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 16, 2016

friendly staff, great location, food was delicious, would go again

Tags: Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Veal was excellent. I do miss the lamb c ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Veal was excellent. I do miss the lamb chops though

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Pleasant greeting and accommodations in ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Pleasant greeting and accommodations in a warm atmosphere. Fine food well served.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

It was good. Food was awesome. Very lo ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 13, 2016

It was good. Food was awesome. Very loud on Saturday night. Order gluten free pasta, turns out it was not. Ordered the Rumchata dessert and it sucked. Very dry. Ate two bites. They said sorry but did not comp it. We did not ask but should have been offered.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

The extensive and varied menu provides f ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The extensive and varied menu provides for many choices. The food is well prepared, tasty and sufficient in quantity. Yet one still has oom for dessert. The Thiramasou was especially good.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We've visited this restaurant on numerou ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We've visited this restaurant on numerous occasions as our pre-opera choice. We have never had anything but great service and great food. Highly recommend for an adult night out!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service, waiter was very kind and ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Great service, waiter was very kind and took care of all needs. Food was also great with many choices for everyone.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Background music way to loud - Good serv ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Background music way to loud - Good service - Great food

Tags: Casual, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Truly one of the most special places to ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Truly one of the most special places to have dinner or drinks in St Paul!!!

Tags: Bar Seating, Authentic, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went for a casual, work-related dinner w ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Went for a casual, work-related dinner with colleagues. Nice wine list, very good service, and excellent food. Only drawback was the noise level. Sometimes difficult to carry on a conversation. But overall, an excellent St. Paul restaurant.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Food was wonderful! Wait staff very atte ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Food was wonderful! Wait staff very attentive and friendly. Great place for special occasions or just a nice night out.

Tags: Business Meals, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous place with great service. Pric ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Fabulous place with great service. Price is a bit high but at least you get what you pay for.

Tags: Organic, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I was surprised! We have been hear befor ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 6, 2016

I was surprised! We have been hear before and enjoyed it! This time we had to be asked to be seated somewhere else, we were right in line with a serving station. We thought the food was just ok, not one of us said wow, now that's good! We watched our food sit under the heat lamps until someone could find time to serve it. Not sure we'll try again, with all the great places downtown.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Very accommodating, pleasant and beautif ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Very accommodating, pleasant and beautiful atmosphere. The staff were efficient and nice, and the food was excellent!

Tags: Historic, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We arrived 90 min early for our reservat ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We arrived 90 min early for our reservation because the event we attended was over sooner than planned. There were a number of empty tables so we were seated.

The room and decor are very attractive.

We received water right away. Later our waiter asked if we were on our way to an event. We should have said "yes"because it ended up being over 1 hour wait for our food.

The waiter was pleasant and explained it took so long because my husband ordered a pizza and they can only cook 6 pizzas at a time. (?). We ate too much bread during the wait since we were so hungry

I got arctic char on orzo . The fish was overcooked but etc pasta was very tasty . We don't plan on returning

Tags: People Watching, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Overall great experience, main seating a ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Overall great experience, main seating area was a little loud and congested, but the food and service was fantastic.

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great food. Loved the braised beef and ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Great food. Loved the braised beef and bell pepper risotto! Good recommendations from the waitress as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

we had a great server . She was warm and ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 1, 2016

we had a great server . She was warm and welcoming . The service was timely and she offered good suggestions about menu selections .

Tags: Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Selected because of proximity to hotel a ...

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Selected because of proximity to hotel and had heard good things. Staff was helpful and friendly & the food was great!

Tags: Wood Oven, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

In 15 years I have never been let down a ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 29, 2016

In 15 years I have never been let down at Pazzaluna. The food and wine is always a delicious.Never a bad meal. Tonight I had the Aho Tuna special w/ herb risotto and it was prepared perfectly. The wine selection is outstanding and my favorite olive tapenade on bread is a treat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Just okay. I ordered the spaghetti and m ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Just okay. I ordered the spaghetti and meatballs thinking that was a safe bet at an Italian restaurant. I only ate about half of it because it was very one-note and the pasta a bit overcooked. Also, the service started off good, but when the restaurant got a little busier, the service was painfully slow. It seemed like they did not have enough staff to properly serve a full restaurant. If I'm paying $25+ per person for a meal, I don't expect to wait 10 minutes to get a cup of coffee. I had wanted to eat here for a long time, but was disappointed. My husband's lasagna was a lot better than my meal at least and the desserts were good.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Great food --great location--great servi ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Great food --great location--great service--great wine

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I had some high hopes for Pazzaluna beca ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 29, 2016

I had some high hopes for Pazzaluna because they are one of the few restaurants in town that actually has a separate gluten free menu. The space is beautiful, the people who work there are all very friendly and welcoming.

Our server was even gracious enough to ask us if we had an event to go to .So far everything seemed great ..unfortunately The food doesn't even come close to the level of service. The three of us ordered salads and pasta dishes off of the gluten-free menu and were told that all pasta dishes would be made with penne pasta . Strike one ....so many pastas are made gluten-free no reason why this high-level restaurant should only be using one kind of pasta . Our server brought us some olive tapenade and gluten-free "" bread "which actually looks like communion wafers.... again so many gluten-free crackers are available there was no reason for this pathetic offering . A shame because the olive tapenade was really good . The salads came in they were fine . We then waited 45 minutes for three pasta dishes to arrive! This would have been maybe OK if the pasta dishes that arrived we're great but unfortunately they weren't . First when the dishes arrived they had zero Eye appeal .... The pasta was flat in the bowl there was no garnish my friend who had ordered this beautifully described shrimp dish with pasta the shrimp was barely visible . for $26 one would think that would be a decent size..these were a tad over 1 inch long and not more than five of them buried in the bowl. The tomato sauce was barely present and little globs of fresh mozzarella dotted around the plate made for an unappealing picture. My other dinner companion ordered fettuccine Alfredo with sausage I saw no indication of a cream sauce in his bowl ....... my pasta was the carbonara and probably was the most successful of the three but still it was under sauced and over-salted. Our bill with no liquor or dessert was over $120!! Outrageous for mediocre food!

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Great spot for a pre-WILD game night! G ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Great spot for a pre-WILD game night! Great food and service--and they always get you out the door on time! Everyone enjoyed their meals--rib-eyes and filets--exceptional!

Tags: Wood Oven, Business Meals, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was excellent and the ambience ...

 
·Dined on October 29, 2016

The food was excellent and the ambience very pleasant. It was a very busy Saturday evening at the restaurant, but the service was attentive and we got out in plenty of time to make it to the History Theater. We had not been at Pazzaluna in a number of years, and I was very pleased that we made the decision to return. We will not be such strangers in the future.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The food we had was very good - my husba ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The food we had was very good - my husband said it was the best chicken parmigiana he has ever had.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.