About Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant & Bar

360 St. Peter St
Saint Paul, MN 55102
View Larger Map

In Italy, every meal is a journey… the same is true at Pazzaluna. Start with appetizers featuring a selection of bruschetta and pizza straight from our wood-burning oven; then move on to a traditional Italian dinner menu of antipasto or insalata (salad), to primi piatto (pasta course), to secondi piatto (main course), and finally a delicious dolce (dessert). Discover the truly Italian art of lingering over dinner with family and friends, making conversation, and enjoying wine in a setting that is both urban and relaxing.

The award-winning and critically acclaimed Bar at Pazzaluna Urban Italian is an energetic and fun place to meet after work, before an event at the Ordway, Xcel Energy Center, Roy Wilkins Auditorium or just to unwind with family, friends, clients or business associates.

During warm weather, relax on the patio and enjoy the sights and sounds of downtown St. Paul (patio open May through September). See for yourself, you'll be glad you did.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dining Room
Sunday - Monday 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Tuesday - Thursday 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday - Saturday 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Bar
Sunday - Monday 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Tuesday - Thursday 4:00pm - 11:00pm
Friday - Saturday 4:00pm - 12:00am

Happy Hour Specials
Daily 4:00pm - 6:00pm

Cross Street:
5th St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(651) 223-7000

Website:
http://www.pazzaluna.com/

Entertainment:
The award-winning and critically acclaimed Bar at Pazzaluna Urban Italian is an energetic and fun place to meet after work, before an event at the Ordway, Xcel Energy Center, Roy Wilkins Auditorium or just to unwind with family, friends, clients or business associates.

During warm weather, relax on the patio and enjoy the sights and sounds of downtown Saint Paul (patio open May through September). See for yourself, you'll be glad you did.

Parking Details:
Curbside valet parking begins at 5:00pm nightly and guarantees effortless parking for guests. Valet space can be guaranteed and reserved for guests, subject to applicable charges.

Private Party Facilities:
For business, pleasure, or both, Pazzaluna's private dining room is perfect for your events, private dining or special occasions. We offer menus featuring authentic regional Italian cooking.

Private Party Contact:
sales@pazzaluna.com: (888) 924-6411

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Fried Gorgonzola Gnocchi - Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant & Bar, Saint Paul, MN
Saffron And Chicken Risotto - Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant & Bar, Saint Paul, MN
4 Cheese Pizza - Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant & Bar, Saint Paul, MN
Risotto - Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant & Bar, Saint Paul, MN
Bruschetta - Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant & Bar, Saint Paul, MN
Three Meat Cannelloni - Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant & Bar, Saint Paul, MN
Porcini Mushroom Crusted Veal Medallions - Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant & Bar, Saint Paul, MN
carpaccio - Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant & Bar, Saint Paul, MN
Fettuccini Bolognese - Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant & Bar, Saint Paul, MN
Four Cheese Gnocchi - Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant & Bar, Saint Paul, MN
polenta fries - Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant & Bar, Saint Paul, MN
Beef Brisket With Bell Pepper Risotto - Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant & Bar, Saint Paul, MN
carpacio - Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant & Bar, Saint Paul, MN

Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (96)
Pre/post Theatre (90)
Good for a Date (85)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (69)
Good for Birthdays (63)
Romantic (57)
Fit for Foodies (51)
Authentic (45)
Good for Groups (44)
Worth the Drive (40)
Notable Wine List (37)
Business Meals (34)
Creative Cuisine (33)
Happy Hour (32)
Cozy (32)
Fun (31)
Casual (31)
Bar Seating (27)
Comfort Food (26)
Neighborhood Gem (26)
People Watching (25)
Handcrafted Cocktails (24)
Open Kitchen (23)
Quiet Conversation (21)
Vibrant Bar Scene (20)
Hot Spot (19)
Modern Decor (19)
Wood Oven (15)
Family Style (13)
Seasonal (13)
Good Vegetarian Options (12)
Tasting Menu (12)
Private Room (11)
Late-night Find (10)
Local Ingredients (9)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Outstanding Value (9)
Scenic View (8)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Historic (8)
Healthy (6)
Great Beer (5)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Fireplace (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Tapas (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Vegan (2)
Organic (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
3121 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Tracy the waitress in the bar was outsta ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 3 days ago

Tracy the waitress in the bar was outstanding. Friendly, knowledge and prompt.

Tags: Private Room, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, People Watching, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options, Open Kitchen, Casual, Special Occasion, Romantic, Wood Oven, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our first time. Wife and I enjoyed it t ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 4 days ago

Our first time. Wife and I enjoyed it tremendously. A bit far but worth it. Prix Fixe was a great intro.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Spicy, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Over priced for basis pasta. Pasta is so ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 5 days ago

Over priced for basis pasta. Pasta is so easy and they charge way more then it is worth. Not sure how and why people continue to support a place that is so over priced for their food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Friendly and attentive staff...Amazing p ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 5 days ago

Friendly and attentive staff...Amazing pecan pie! Thanks!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Mains were okay but not outstanding. Mai ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Mains were okay but not outstanding. Mains were overpriced. Dessert was excellent. Birthday dessert tray is excellent.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

We always go to Pazzaluna for special oc ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We always go to Pazzaluna for special occasions. We were sad to hear that the birthday/anniversary wine discount was discontinued. Regardless the food is always amazing and service is fantastic! We did have reservations made and unfortunately we kept having to ask for items that were missing at the table. Thanks once again for the great service!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

We enjoyed our second visit to pazzaluna ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We enjoyed our second visit to pazzaluna before a concert. Food and service were very good. We will go again.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We went here for my wife's birthday and ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 12, 2017

We went here for my wife's birthday and had a great time. The food was great. The short rib risotto was amazing and the veal medallions were also really good. I would recommend.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

...and this concluded our month long cel ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 8, 2017

...and this concluded our month long celebration of our wedding anniversary...👊👍

This time we decided to try Pazzaluna's Prix Fixe Menu for January 2017....it was fabulous....we started with a glass of Prosecco and finished our evening with a glass of expresso Martini.

Prix Fixe menu started with

the cream of mushroom soup - delicious-reminded me home made soup in Poland.

Italian sausage risotto- it was absolutely fantastic, nice and sidle but nice and spicy from this Italian Sausage.

The Italian sausage I can eat every day.

-Pan roasted duck- another discovery for me - usually not so crazy about the duck but this one changed my mind - it was fresh , crispy, exciting...additionally what changed my mind were the veggies, they helped to make it even more exciting. Believe me it will blow your mind- it was excellente.

Butter Pecan Gelato - are u kidding me - absolutely fantastic- my diet was out of the window....

We had our Prix Fixe paired with the wines - great choice . I had some questions about the 1 st choice but the rest of the wines were very well placed, in my opinion.

This was a phenomenal evening, Pazzaluna has always great people to help us to enjoy our evening...thank you goes to manager Shanti, chefs Seth Teiken and Ricardo Lopez Jr., Tim Busch, Jacob, Thomas and the entire Pazzaluna Team👍. I know we occupied our table for a long time but this is what we do👌👍.Pazzaluna reservation is an event for us and deserves our full attention, especially when we are celebrating.

Thank you all , you are truly the best. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was good and service excellent. A b ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Food was good and service excellent. A bit noisy, though

Tags: Authentic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

I've been here three times, and have rec ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 7, 2017

I've been here three times, and have received great food and amazing service each time. The food is absolutely delicious. Risotto is one of my favorite foods, and I have enjoyed each Risotto that I have had. One of my favorite places in Downtown St. Paul and I look forward to visiting more often.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Italian food with many choices. Th ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Great Italian food with many choices. The variable anti pasto bar is a fun touch. Can be a little noisy if you're near a larger party (and the space can accommodate several). But our service was impeccable. It's not cheap Italian, but it is a very nice place to go.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Our experience this time was very good! ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Our experience this time was very good! We came back to Pazzaluna with gift certificates from the GM because of a previously bad experience. Needless to say, we were very pleased with the overall experience on Friday evening. Thank you!

Tags: Casual, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The food is always great. I always orde ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 7, 2017

The food is always great. I always order the same thing, gnocchi with four cheese sauce and veal medallions. Decafe Latte and chocolate gelato. Amazing. Now I need to go work out.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Duck special was outstanding, as was the ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Duck special was outstanding, as was the pecan pie. Prices a bit higher than expected, but overall seemed worth it for the quality of the food and experience.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Quite disappointing. The pasta bolognes ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Quite disappointing. The pasta bolognese arrived as a congealed ball covered by a diminuitive amount of sauce. Inedible. Our serve was attentive and outstanding. But the bus person was aggressive and twice attempted to remove dishes from which we were still eating. We will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

The food was tasty all around however, t ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The food was tasty all around however, the service was so crappy, I'll probably never go there again. A neighboring table didn't get bread for almost 30 minutes. Too bad, I was hoping I had found a "regular" place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

I had originally booked a table for 19:3 ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I had originally booked a table for 19:30 on New Year's Eve but after realising that I may not make that booking I decided to change the booking to 21:30 as I knew that should I be late my table would probably have been given to another party. This new reservation was confirmed by email. Upon arrival at 21:25 I was then informed that the restaurant was running late, 30 minutes late. I was understanding but there didn't seem to be much of an understanding from that I had booked well in advance and there were people coming in from the street expecting a table. It seemed I was put to the back of the queue after seeing those sat before us. There was no apology when the table was eventually ready and no offer of perhaps a complimentary drink for the delay, just a little something would have been nice. I've been 3 years in a row and this is the only year it was a little bit of a let down. However, the service from the servers was very good and the food of course was fantastic.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Been there before and it was great. This ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Been there before and it was great. This experience was terrible- terrible service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

Even though we had reservations we in ad ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Even though we had reservations we in advance they overbooked and our wait was an hour.

The food also took an extremely long time to come out.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

We were somewhat disappointed with the N ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We were somewhat disappointed with the New Year's Eve dinner. The waitress was good and the food quality was mostly good. My lobster tail was luke warm at best. However, it took a lot longer for the meal than we had anticipated. We were seated at 8:15 and were served dinner close to 9:45. A bit too long for our plans.

Tags: Historic, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Visited December 31st 2016, New Years Ev ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Visited December 31st 2016, New Years Eve.

We had reservations for 10 people at 8PM.

We were not seated until 8:45PM.

Service was beyond poor. It took almost an hour and a half

before our main course arrived.

The meals were OK at best.

The manager comped everyones meals and drinks which

was exactly what he should have done given the circumstances.

Because of his action, I will definitely give it another try.

I've been to Pazzaluna several times in the past and have had great

service and food. Unfortunately this time was not a pleasant experience.

I'll blame this bad experience on a larger than normal New Years Eve

crowd and customers that have no regard for fellow dinners

that have reservations after their own.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value3

Was not aware that on NYE they have a fi ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Was not aware that on NYE they have a fixed menu. The open table app showed a regular menu. We had 2 vegetarians. The manager did a fantastic job of getting the chef to customize our food despite the crazy rush and fixed menu. Excellent service and attention to detail by the manager. Must visit place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

They should have disclosed they were hav ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

They should have disclosed they were having a fixed menu. Disappointing there was only one entree with pasta.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

I had hoped for a very nice New Years Ev ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 31, 2016

I had hoped for a very nice New Years Eve dinner for the two of us. Unfortunately, I chose Pazzaluna. They were offering a three course dinner priced by the entree selected. I will say the first course I had, Angel Hair pasta with tomato and mozzarella was excellent. My wife also liked her arugula salad very much. Then it turned. Our entrees were served after an exceptional delay. At one point, at least 20 minutes in, we were told "just five more minutes" by our waiter but it was nearly 25 minutes by the time the dishes arrived. The presentation was fine, although I wasn't all that impressed with the Sea Bass with risotto my wife was served. I've never seen a piece of fish so thin and flat. I had ordered the Ribeye finished with peppered shiitake mushrooms, brandy peppercorn cream & herb roasted potatoes. Honestly it was one of the worst cuts of Ribeye I have ever been served and I've eaten a few inexpensive steaks in my day. A good portion of the "steak" was left on my plate. I had such high hopes for the dinner but was sadly disappointed. Will I go back? Most probably, but not on a holiday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Had a wonderful New Year's Eve dinner. ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Had a wonderful New Year's Eve dinner. It was a pre-fix menu with a lot of food. Well prepared and the service was great. Highly recommend to all!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Thanks to Clayton for making our New Yea ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Thanks to Clayton for making our New Years and Anniversary Eve a memorable and delicious one! One of our favorite places for a special occasion.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The check-in process was painful - under ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The check-in process was painful - understaffed (they were quite busy). Our waitstaff, however, was attentive and competent. Food was a little uneven but the good was very good. All in all we had a great time and look forward to going back perhaps during the week when crowds are a little smaller.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was good but not great. Ordered the ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Food was good but not great. Ordered the spinach and ricotta ravioli. It was served in a small crock that was scalding hot. Had to wait until others were nearly finished before it cooled enough to eat. It was a weird presentation for the dish. Expected it to be nicely plated not shoved in a crock. Very loud environment- almost franetic. Servers were hustling but it felt rushed.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

The day was not terribly cold, but I fel ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The day was not terribly cold, but I felt the cold air a number of times from the revolving door.

That was less than comfortable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent! Thank you!

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Excellent! Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Favorite restaurant in Saint Paul

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Favorite restaurant in Saint Paul

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food. Great service. They comped ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Great food. Great service. They comped a meal and dessert because of a mistake they made. Very nicely done.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Delicious food and great service are alw ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Delicious food and great service are always a treat that makes dinner at Pazzaluna special. Our antipasti choices were varied and served as a wonderful appetizer before our chicken piccata and risotto. We plan to eat there for future special occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service.

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I absolutely love this place, the atmosp ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 28, 2016

I absolutely love this place, the atmosphere is great and the food is even better. Best restaurant I've been to in years. I will definitely be back soon

Tags: Fun, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We didn't get the requested booth, but o ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 28, 2016

We didn't get the requested booth, but on such a busy night that isn't surprising. We did get seated at our reserved time, after expecting to have to wait a while given the crowd. In all other respects, we had a great experience. We'll be back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and great service for a famil ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Great food and great service for a family get together

Tags: Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our Christmas dinner. Great se ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 26, 2016

This was our Christmas dinner. Great service and very delicious food!

Tags: Wood Oven, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Open Kitchen, Cozy, Authentic, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We took my 90 year old Mother there for ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We took my 90 year old Mother there for Christmas Day dinner. It was lovely, food great and everyone was very nice to my Mom! She thought it was very special - might make it a tradition.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.