About Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant & Bar

360 St. Peter St
Saint Paul, MN 55102
View Larger Map

In Italy, every meal is a journey… the same is true at Pazzaluna. Start with appetizers featuring a selection of bruschetta and pizza straight from our wood-burning oven; then move on to a traditional Italian dinner menu of antipasto or insalata (salad), to primi piatto (pasta course), to secondi piatto (main course), and finally a delicious dolce (dessert). Discover the truly Italian art of lingering over dinner with family and friends, making conversation, and enjoying wine in a setting that is both urban and relaxing.

The award-winning and critically acclaimed Bar at Pazzaluna Urban Italian is an energetic and fun place to meet after work, before an event at the Ordway, Xcel Energy Center, Roy Wilkins Auditorium or just to unwind with family, friends, clients or business associates.

During warm weather, relax on the patio and enjoy the sights and sounds of downtown St. Paul (patio open May through September). See for yourself, you'll be glad you did.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dining Room
Sunday - Monday 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Tuesday - Thursday 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday - Saturday 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Bar
Sunday - Monday 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Tuesday - Thursday 4:00pm - 11:00pm
Friday - Saturday 4:00pm - 12:00am

Happy Hour Specials
Daily 4:00pm - 6:00pm

Cross Street:
5th St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(651) 223-7000

Website:
http://www.pazzaluna.com/

Entertainment:
The award-winning and critically acclaimed Bar at Pazzaluna Urban Italian is an energetic and fun place to meet after work, before an event at the Ordway, Xcel Energy Center, Roy Wilkins Auditorium or just to unwind with family, friends, clients or business associates.

During warm weather, relax on the patio and enjoy the sights and sounds of downtown Saint Paul (patio open May through September). See for yourself, you'll be glad you did.

Parking Details:
Curbside valet parking begins at 5:00pm nightly and guarantees effortless parking for guests. Valet space can be guaranteed and reserved for guests, subject to applicable charges.

Private Party Facilities:
For business, pleasure, or both, Pazzaluna's private dining room is perfect for your events, private dining or special occasions. We offer menus featuring authentic regional Italian cooking.

Private Party Contact:
sales@pazzaluna.com: 8889246411

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant & Bar
Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant & Bar
Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant & Bar
Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant & Bar
Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant & Bar
Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant & Bar
Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant & Bar
Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant & Bar
Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant & Bar
Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant & Bar
Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant & Bar
Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant & Bar
Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant & Bar
Saffron And Chicken Risotto
Fried Gorgonzola Gnocchi
4 Cheese Pizza
Risotto
Bruschetta
Three Meat Cannelloni
Porcini Mushroom Crusted Veal Medallions
Fettuccini Bolognese
carpaccio
Four Cheese Gnocchi
Beef Brisket With Bell Pepper Risotto
polenta fries
carpacio

Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Food
Twin Cities / St. Paul
Best Ambiance
Twin Cities / St. Paul
Romantic
Twin Cities / St. Paul
2 More
Special Occasion
Twin Cities / St. Paul
Most Booked
Twin Cities / St. Paul
Best Restaurants in St. Paul ›

special occasion (165)
fit for foodies (111)
romantic (103)
See All
good for groups (81)
notable wine list (53)
hot spot (37)
vibrant bar scene (35)
neighborhood gem (32)
late-night find (27)
great for lunch (12)
great for brunch (11)
scenic view (8)
kid-friendly (5)
great for outdoor dining (2)
Sort By:
Newest
2711 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

My son requested Italian food for his bi ...

Dined 3 days ago

My son requested Italian food for his birthday. Through Open Table, we were able to make a reservation right away on a Sunday evening. Our server, Curtis, was outstanding. Although four members of our family split entrees, the bill was over $200 for our family of seven. The food was delicious, but service was a bit slow - we were there about two hours - a bit long for children. I'd love to return for an anniversary or birthday.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Special anniversary dinner. we were gre ...

Dined 4 days ago

Special anniversary dinner. we were greeted at the door with an Anniversary Wish, and every other employee we encountered wished us Happy Anniversary. The food and service were great!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Tasty, authentic cuisine (about as authe ...

Dined 4 days ago

Tasty, authentic cuisine (about as authentic as you'll get this side of the Atlantic!) Read the signs in the bathroom, they're funny!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pazzaluna is my favorite to go great foo ...

Dined 6 days ago

Pazzaluna is my favorite to go great food great service awesome employees charming atmosphere 5 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

WAITE STAFF WAS NOT ATTENTIVE... EXTREME ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

WAITE STAFF WAS NOT ATTENTIVE... EXTREMELY LOUD IN THERE, DIFFICULTY HOLDING A CONVERSATION WITHOUT NEEDING TO ELEVATE TONE LEVEL. AMBIANCE DOES NOT MATCH THE PRICE.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Appreciated being able to leave leftover ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

Appreciated being able to leave leftovers in the cooler while attending the theater.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing place. Would recommend to anyone ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

Amazing place. Would recommend to anyone. Had the steak with with risotto and a bottle of wine. Everything was great from the salad to the dessert!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Located in a nicely refurbished older bu ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Located in a nicely refurbished older building in downtown St. Paul, we loved the atmosphere from the moment we walked in. Our waiter, Jacob, was very knowledgeable about everything on the menu. It was crowded on Saturday night, several larger groups, but service was outstanding and so was the food. The "Giant Stuffed Meatball" appetizer was fun to try, and all our entrees were delicious. Drinks from the bar were excellent too. (The "Sophia Loren" was very refreshing on a hot summer night.) Would definitely return if we are back in the area! (Note, be sure to take a walk across the street to the small park and see the statues of the Peanuts characters after dinner.)

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

It has been awhile since going to Pazall ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

It has been awhile since going to Pazalluna, but its standards have not diminished. The service was exceptional, attention to eachs guests needs as well as our whole table. The food was very good and we managed to sample each other's selections, which was very welcome. While it was reasonable that the perk of offering a bottle of wine equal to the age of a guest celebrating a birthday has been discontinued, they still made the member of our group celebrating a birthday pleased with a special desert offering. Would not hrsitate to return.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Oh my gosh! What a wonderful meal! The v ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Oh my gosh! What a wonderful meal! The veal medallions are to die for. Fun place.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Amazing as always! The service here has ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Amazing as always! The service here has always been above standard; we always feel like we're welcomed. I really like the wine list, and the food is incredible. While it is a bit noisy, you can still carry a conversation easily. One of my favorite restaurants!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a great time sitting at the count ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Always a great time sitting at the counter in back and watching the cooks work their magic. Service was attentive and even the bus boys smiled! You really can't go wrong eating here - it's just fabulous!!! (especially the bread and tapanade!!!)

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a great experience. Wait staff was ...

vip
Dined on June 15, 2016

Had a great experience. Wait staff was attentive and friendly. Brought special dessert sampler to the two people celebrating their birthdays. Excellent wine selection, and delicious food. Gourmet pizzas that were food friendly for the kids in the group. Great place for a family celebration or for a lovely dinner date for two; I've done it both ways. A favorite spot for all who attended.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

Ordered the Pre-fix meal. Salad was mea ...

vip
Dined on June 14, 2016

Ordered the Pre-fix meal. Salad was meager and Halibut was over cooked and dry. Also, asked for a few extra noodles for take home left over pasta and waitress said "we're too busy to accommodate your request". I was startled at this response. We did engage in Wine pairing and wines were good.

food4
ambience5
service2
value4

Service was less than average, food was ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Service was less than average, food was awesome. The server was rushing the evening and did not put out any of the items on the menu. The bus person was too fast on removing items from the table!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great place for a date. My wife and I en ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Great place for a date. My wife and I enjoyed the time we spent there, food was fantastic. We have been there several times and the quality and experience are great.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Penne Rosa is amazing

Dined on June 9, 2016

Penne Rosa is amazing

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really nice place

Dined on June 8, 2016

Excellent service and good food great experience over all

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

One year anniversary

Dined on June 7, 2016

My husband and I had our rehearsal dinner at Pazzaluna and recently celebrated our one year anniversary here. Everything was exceptional, from the food to the service.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Spur of the moment dinner

Dined on June 4, 2016

We were in St. Paul for the weekend and were able to book with Pazzaluna through Open Table. we didn't know what to expect other than an extensive menu. Needless to say, we were not disappointed at all. The food was absolutely delicious, great wine, and quiet. We will definitely go back next time we visit St. Paul!

Tags: good for groups, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Graduation Dinner

Dined on June 3, 2016

My husband, son and I ate here prior to his graduation ceremony at Roy Wilkins auditorium. It was a very nice meal with a great server who worked to get us out on time. We had two pastas, a risotto and shared two salads between us. Everything was very good. The bread was great ,and I appreciated the by-the-glass wine list. We had a pinot noir and a merlot - both were good values. The restaurant is lively, but not too noisy for conversation - a great spot!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My Review

Dined on May 29, 2016

The food, the wine, the cocktails, the beer and the desserts cannot be beat. Try their Pecan Pie.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Went to this restaurant for the first an ...

vip
Dined on May 28, 2016

Went to this restaurant for the first and last time. Service was somewhat poor at best. The salads came before the appetizer. The crab cakes were mostly filler and the calamari was over cooked. When the meal came out my shrimp in my meal were over cooked and my wife's food had no flavor. i will never go back to this eating establishment.

food5
ambience5
service5

Always reliable great food great service ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

Always reliable great food great service!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food!

Dined on May 25, 2016

This was a business dinner for four. One individual was from Italy and she said that her food was as good as the finest restaurants in Itaky.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The staff were excellent so kind , happ ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

The staff were excellent so kind , happy and responsive. The food was outstanding i enjoyed myself so much .

food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Okay

Dined on May 21, 2016

My hubby ordered the fish special and that was okay, but nothing to write home about. I ordered the lobster pasta, even requested it to remade, hopeful it was a fluke. Nope. Just really low quality lobster, mushy and no flavor. At this price point, very disappointing. Server was friendly and knowledgeable.

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

A first time for me

Dined on May 20, 2016

The ambience—dull roar of conversation, whiffs of savory or sweet or sexy, wood panel and indoor plant and stone pillar, and everywhere people—was not overwhelming, even as a first timer experiencing the place. It was both open and intimate – you could see everyone, hear the conversation, but you might has well have been trying to pick out the one sparrow in a tree that was singing a particular tune. They were at their tables, in their parties, and you were only incidental to them. The service was wonderful. The most striking part was the waiter's interest in our making the St Paul Chamber Orchestra concert on time. They kept an eye on the time, measuring out the arrival of our food and drinks, and allowed us to enjoy the meal and still stay on time. The food was delicious, if a little more than I could put away. I started with the Chianti, having a weakness for Sangiovese. It did not disappoint, its deep garnet color and rich flavor warning of potency I ignored until I noted a pleasant warmth behind my eyes. I shared my wife's bruschetta, and it was marvelous. It was neither over-garlicky nor lacking in full flavor and aroma. My Caesar salad was ordered with anchovies, and the chef was liberal with the little darlings – long, thin fillets that granted each bite a tang and salt as only they can. The pork chop was enormous, and I confess that I was captured by the rich, creamy polenta upon which it rested. We finished the meal with espresso. It was very deep and strong, if not as flavorful as I am accustomed to. It lacked a substantial crema, but I was in no mood to complain. Even the check (which was not small, even for only two people) did not dim my view of the evening provided by the staff at Pazzaluna. Then... off to the Chamber Orchestra (on time, no less)!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Server was friendly but our service was ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Server was friendly but our service was slow. We were in Restauant for an hour and 45. It needed to be closer to an hour and 20-30. Appetizers were very slow and dinner also came out slow. The bill was much too high. We ordered sensibly and expected a bill in the range of $125-150. Instead it was $200. We will not race back because although the food was delicious it was too loud and expensive. There are better value choices we will make before trying Pazzaluna again.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Nice restaurant, but not as high class a ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Nice restaurant, but not as high class as I had heard it was. Food was good, service average. Came for a special occasion which was unrecognized.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Not enough staff to cover Univ of Minn g ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Not enough staff to cover Univ of Minn graduation and prom. We waited 20 minutes before drink order was taken. Were given bread basket....no plates. Finally went to locate waiter after 25 minute wait and requested plates. Spent $415. for dinner. Disappointed with service. Food was very good.

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

The service was poor-- almost missed the ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

The service was poor-- almost missed the beginning of the opera. We had reservations for 5:30 and did not receive our food until 6:45. It took us at least 15 minutes to get the correct bill. I waitress seemed more interested in talking with the other wait staff instead of remembering her tables. Definitely would not do again before the opera.

food4
ambience4
service3

We had made dinner reservations well in ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

We had made dinner reservations well in advance. Arrived for our 8:00 reservation a couple minutes earlier and were rudely informed by the hostess that it WOULD be a few minutes. In spite of several tables in view well into the restaurant that were unseated we were seated at the table adjacent to waiting area, the worst table in house by far. I felt like those waiting for a table were part of our party, very disappointing. With all the T/C choices can't recommend this one.

food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Great food as always, but noisy as alway ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Great food as always, but noisy as always. Hard to converse across our table for two.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5

We had one of the personal pizzas and a ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

We had one of the personal pizzas and a daily special. Both were fantastic. Our server was extremely helpful with wine and food selections. We will be back.

food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Food was good, not great. It was really ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Food was good, not great. It was really noisy..and with a friend who is hard of hearing it just wasn’t the best fit. Even though we asked for somewhere quiet it really was still too loud.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

I appreciated the call to confirm the re ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

I appreciated the call to confirm the reservation and to ask if there were any special needs.

food3
ambience3
service4
value3

We went for Mother's Day brunch. The se ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

We went for Mother's Day brunch. The service was good and the location is perfect. We felt a bit crowded, like they tried to squeeze in more tables. Our chairs were bumping the people next to us.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently one of the best dining expe ...

Dined on May 5, 2016

Consistently one of the best dining experiences in the Twin Cities. One of our top 5 faves!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic food. Did the nightly four cou ...

Dined on May 2, 2016

Fantastic food. Did the nightly four course dinner with swine selections. Outstanding in all four courses!!!

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.