About Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant & Bar

360 St. Peter St
Saint Paul, MN 55102
View Larger Map

In Italy, every meal is a journey… the same is true at Pazzaluna. Start with appetizers featuring a selection of bruschetta and pizza straight from our wood-burning oven; then move on to a traditional Italian dinner menu of antipasto or insalata (salad), to primi piatto (pasta course), to secondi piatto (main course), and finally a delicious dolce (dessert). Discover the truly Italian art of lingering over dinner with family and friends, making conversation, and enjoying wine in a setting that is both urban and relaxing.

The award-winning and critically acclaimed Bar at Pazzaluna Urban Italian is an energetic and fun place to meet after work, before an event at the Ordway, Xcel Energy Center, Roy Wilkins Auditorium or just to unwind with family, friends, clients or business associates.

During warm weather, relax on the patio and enjoy the sights and sounds of downtown St. Paul (patio open May through September). See for yourself, you'll be glad you did.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dining Room
Sunday - Monday 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Tuesday - Thursday 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday - Saturday 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Bar
Sunday - Monday 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Tuesday - Thursday 4:00pm - 11:00pm
Friday - Saturday 4:00pm - 12:00am

Happy Hour Specials
Daily 4:00pm - 6:00pm

Cross Street:
5th St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(651) 223-7000

Website:
http://www.pazzaluna.com/

Entertainment:
The award-winning and critically acclaimed Bar at Pazzaluna Urban Italian is an energetic and fun place to meet after work, before an event at the Ordway, Xcel Energy Center, Roy Wilkins Auditorium or just to unwind with family, friends, clients or business associates.

During warm weather, relax on the patio and enjoy the sights and sounds of downtown Saint Paul (patio open May through September). See for yourself, you'll be glad you did.

Parking Details:
Curbside valet parking begins at 5:00pm nightly and guarantees effortless parking for guests. Valet space can be guaranteed and reserved for guests, subject to applicable charges.

Private Party Facilities:
For business, pleasure, or both, Pazzaluna's private dining room is perfect for your events, private dining or special occasions. We offer menus featuring authentic regional Italian cooking.

Private Party Contact:
sales@pazzaluna.com: (888) 924-6411

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (93)
Good for a Date (83)
Pre/post Theatre (78)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (72)
Good for Birthdays (56)
Romantic (51)
Good for Groups (49)
Authentic (42)
Notable Wine List (41)
Fit for Foodies (41)
Business Meals (36)
Worth the Drive (34)
Happy Hour (34)
Fun (33)
Creative Cuisine (32)
Cozy (30)
Neighborhood Gem (26)
Casual (26)
Hot Spot (24)
People Watching (23)
Vibrant Bar Scene (22)
Comfort Food (22)
Quiet Conversation (20)
Handcrafted Cocktails (19)
Modern Decor (18)
Bar Seating (18)
Open Kitchen (17)
Wood Oven (15)
Tasting Menu (13)
Outstanding Value (12)
Family Style (12)
Seasonal (11)
Late-night Find (11)
Private Room (10)
Local Ingredients (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Healthy (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Scenic View (7)
Historic (7)
Great for Lunch (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Fireplace (4)
Tapas (3)
Spicy (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Great Beer (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Organic (1)
Live Sports (1)
Dancing (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
3177 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 4 days ago

The service we received was exceptional. She was professional, helpful, and had a fun sense of humor. The food was delicious and my date was raving about this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 4 days ago

Lois, our server, was spot on in her recommendation of the Duck with Lingonberry Sauce!!! Great service and great food made for a great time!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 4 days ago

Always great to celebrate at Pazzaluna. We are always treated well by the friendly staff. The food was great, we even tried new dishes and they were wonderful

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 4 days ago

The wait staff helped make my birthday dinner outing special and seemed genuinely interested that we had a great time.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent! Superb service. Very pleasant atmosphere; quiet even when busy. One of the best booth/table arrangements I've ever seen! Lots of dark wood, marble, art. Food is very tasty & precisely prepared. The zucchini fries, while very palatable, were a bit greasy. Otherwise the mushroom ravioli was heavenly and accompanying cheese & Brussels sprouts rounded out a very fine meal. The $10/glass Merlot was warm, robust & smooth. About the fourth time I've eaten here over the years and its always proven to be a winner.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 7 days ago

Food was great, staff was friendly. Great for a special evening out.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Food was excellent and full of flavor. Staff was a bit slow that night but still did good. The place is very clean and has nice decorations which made it romantic.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 20, 2017

The last 2 times I've gone here - it was disappointing. Not sure I'll go again.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 19, 2017

My wife and I had a great time and really enjoyed the food.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 19, 2017

My co-worker and I went to Pazzaluna for restaurant week. Our server was amazing and we loved every part of meal. Highly recommend!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Everything was fine. We sat at the chefs working location bar just for curiosity. We think a table is better but it was all good.

Tags: Business Meals, Fun, Seasonal, People Watching, Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 16, 2017

First time dining here. My daughter and I were going to the Ordway, and we wanted to try a new restaurant that was close. From the moment we walked in, the service was fantastic! Staff was attentive, and the food was wonderful, particularly the bourbon pecan pie. We especially appreciated that we could leave our leftovers there, rather than running them to the car! When we came back for our food, we sat down in the bar and had a nightcap. Pazzaluna was a great beginning and end to a perfect evening!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Wood Oven, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 16, 2017

The service was superior, food was great, and the wine was excellent. What more could you ask for?

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Pazzaluna is our go-to restaurant when we have theatre tickets at the Ordway. The food is always great, the drinks are great, the service is great, you can't beat it. Would like to see Polenta fries back on the menu or perhaps another vegetarian appetizer? Just a thought :)

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The special risotto was fabulous! Great seasoning and done perfectly.

I loved it.

My husband enjoyed the duck special as well.

We always have the bruchetta and burrata and it never disappoints.

Gelatto was delicious as always.

Tags: Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Our waiter was very slow, although we stated we were going to a show and he assured us we could get through all our courses, it didn't happen, nor did we get our check in a timely manner. More training on timing for the wait staff would help. Thanks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 15, 2017

This place is the best. The waiter was polite and homely, the food came out quicker than anticipated and was more delicious than I hoped! Outstanding service, outstanding food and drink choices..m it made our Valentine's Date wondeful!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great spot. Enjoyed the menu

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Excellent food made to perfection. Perfect wine pairings for each course. A great place for a date night without the kids!

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 15, 2017

My wife really enjoyed the wine pairings with the special dinner offered that evening. Food was very good and great friendly staff!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 15, 2017

As usual, we had a wonderful dinner and great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Simply fantastic. Once again. Never disappoints.

Tags: Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Private Room, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Historic, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I would highly recommended this restaurant, the food was fabulous, exceptional wine list and excellent service. Our server was very knowledgeable of the wines which I feel is a excellent server!

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Went to Pazzaluna for Valentines day this year. The food was front to back totally amazing. From the bread, to the appetizer (fried Zucchini), the salads, both of our pastas and the Pistachio Gilato, all top notch.

While our server himself was great, very professional, good recommendations and handled seveal bumps well, there were several bumps in out service, first our salads came out right with the appetizer and sat there for a while, our server insisted on taking them back and remaking them (great) but then our entrees came out before the re-made salads did and had to go back too. Finally everything came out in the right order, but someone in back was clearly having a hard time.

Overall we had a really nice time and the food was great, and out server did a good job smoothing over the problems in back.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Pazzaluna is always great for special occasions--I always get the Filet Mignon and it is always delicious, cooked just right. It's an expensive night out, but well worth it.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great food and service! We are a family of four (kids ages 8 and 11). Highly recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The appetizers were great. Both main courses we ordered, however, were very lackluster. Lasagna with no taste and gnocchi that was under-cooked and also lacked flavor. Very disappointing given the prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Valentine’s Celebration

It is always nice to be at Pazzaluna,Urban Italian Restaurant.

After arriving we were seated in the cool booth, where we could see what is happening in the kitchen and in the big room, great location.

We were going to SPCO last night so we had only 2 hours for our dinner.

We started with a glass of Prosecco and a bowl of Seafood Bisque - both delicious.

Main entree was a red fish - Pesce Rosso, very freshm and delicate fish , served with roasted yams, brussels sprouts & cauliflower, finished with lemon, capers & brown butter.

We complemented our plate with a glass of Italian Calpetrone Moutelalco Sagrantino - crazy aromas of black licorice and dark berries. Full body, with polished and beautiful tannins and black fruit undertone. Fascinating wine. Very stylish. Maybe next time it would better with a steak than this particular fish. I still believe this wine would be great with a nice plate of tuna.

Our dessert was a double cappuccino- always excellent and a glass of Expresso Martini- nothing to add- fabulous.

Sara was our server and Michael busboy, both were very attentive and polite. Michael was picking up our empty plates in a very efficient way.

Restaurant was busy and with a medium noise. Italian quiet music was very appreciated.

Thank you Chef Seth Teiken for great food , thank you Shanti Jensen for taking care of us -excellent service. You guys are doing really good job, we always have a lot of fun, we feel welcomed. Thank you everybody.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Wonderful meal. Nice wine selection. We were at a table with a nice view. We had a variety of food from the red fish special to pizza and every dish was wonderful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 11, 2017

My husband and I went out for a date to celebrate his birthday plus getting out with no children. We arrived a few minutes before the dinning room opened so we went to the bar. The bartender was very friendly and quick with our drinks. When we were seated for dinner, the hostesses were good with conversation, friendly, and quick to set us up with our table. Our server was Curtis. We have been to Pazzaluna twice and both times had Curtis. He is very knowledgeable and friendly. We will always recommend Pazzaluna to friends and family for their delicious food, cozy setting, and their service.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Healthy, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Didn't like the empty glasses on the ledge behind our table. We were in the back by the kitchen and that made it feel a bit like our table was in s storage area rather than the main dining room.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I would rate our service as the best I've ever had at a restaurant. We didn't feel rushed, the food came warm and on time. Food was delicious, a bit pricey but worth it.

Tags: Scenic View, Molecular Gastronomy, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 9, 2017

superb . will definitely visit again. visited two nights both entrees were very flavor able. service is excellent . menu has many options.

Tags: Family Style, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The food was great!!! The server was fantastic the prices equaled what we got.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Everthing was excellent!!! Food, service, and valet, all fabtabtastic!

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Private Room, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Good for Groups, People Watching, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 4, 2017

I am a food snob and did not have high hopes.I was happy to be wrong.we loved the food was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Real nice place to eat and enjoy a drink. Been there before and both visits were very enjoyable. Service is excellent and food was great. Would return again. Thank you

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Great restaurant, we will definitely go back. We were pleasantly surprised.

Tags: Wood Oven, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 28, 2017

1 year anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Food was great. Service fast even with busy nite due to Wild game, winter carnival parade and opera

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.