About Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant & Bar

360 St. Peter St
Saint Paul, MN 55102
View Larger Map

In Italy, every meal is a journey… the same is true at Pazzaluna. Start with appetizers featuring a selection of bruschetta and pizza straight from our wood-burning oven; then move on to a traditional Italian dinner menu of antipasto or insalata (salad), to primi piatto (pasta course), to secondi piatto (main course), and finally a delicious dolce (dessert). Discover the truly Italian art of lingering over dinner with family and friends, making conversation, and enjoying wine in a setting that is both urban and relaxing.

The award-winning and critically acclaimed Bar at Pazzaluna Urban Italian is an energetic and fun place to meet after work, before an event at the Ordway, Xcel Energy Center, Roy Wilkins Auditorium or just to unwind with family, friends, clients or business associates.

During warm weather, relax on the patio and enjoy the sights and sounds of downtown St. Paul (patio open May through September). See for yourself, you'll be glad you did.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dining Room
Sunday - Monday 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Tuesday - Thursday 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday - Saturday 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Bar
Sunday - Monday 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Tuesday - Thursday 4:00pm - 11:00pm
Friday - Saturday 4:00pm - 12:00am

Happy Hour Specials
Daily 4:00pm - 6:00pm

Cross Street:
5th St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(651) 223-7000

Website:
http://www.pazzaluna.com/

Entertainment:
The award-winning and critically acclaimed Bar at Pazzaluna Urban Italian is an energetic and fun place to meet after work, before an event at the Ordway, Xcel Energy Center, Roy Wilkins Auditorium or just to unwind with family, friends, clients or business associates.

During warm weather, relax on the patio and enjoy the sights and sounds of downtown Saint Paul (patio open May through September). See for yourself, you'll be glad you did.

Parking Details:
Curbside valet parking begins at 5:00pm nightly and guarantees effortless parking for guests. Valet space can be guaranteed and reserved for guests, subject to applicable charges.

Private Party Facilities:
For business, pleasure, or both, Pazzaluna's private dining room is perfect for your events, private dining or special occasions. We offer menus featuring authentic regional Italian cooking.

Private Party Contact:
sales@pazzaluna.com: 8889246411

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant & Bar
Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant & Bar
Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant & Bar
Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant & Bar
Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant & Bar
Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant & Bar
Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant & Bar
Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant & Bar
Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant & Bar
Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant & Bar
Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant & Bar
Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant & Bar
Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant & Bar
Fried Gorgonzola Gnocchi
Saffron And Chicken Risotto
4 Cheese Pizza
Risotto
Bruschetta
Three Meat Cannelloni
Porcini Mushroom Crusted Veal Medallions
carpaccio
Fettuccini Bolognese
Four Cheese Gnocchi
polenta fries
Beef Brisket With Bell Pepper Risotto
carpacio

Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Minneapolis - St. Paul
Best Overall
Twin Cities / St. Paul
Best Food
Twin Cities / St. Paul
5 More
Best Service
Twin Cities / St. Paul
Best Ambiance
Twin Cities / St. Paul
Romantic
Twin Cities / St. Paul
Special Occasion
Twin Cities / St. Paul
Most Booked
Twin Cities / St. Paul
Best Restaurants in St. Paul ›

Special Occasion (146)
Romantic (85)
Fit for Foodies (80)
See All
Good for Groups (76)
Notable Wine List (55)
Neighborhood Gem (34)
Hot Spot (25)
Vibrant Bar Scene (24)
Late-night Find (24)
Great for Lunch (12)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Kid-friendly (4)
Scenic View (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Sort By:
Newest
2756 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Usually the Paz is an excellent choice. ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 3 days ago

Usually the Paz is an excellent choice. For just one night the service was poorly timed, the food was salty, and our side dish did not come out until after our meal was nearly finished. The floor manager took the side dish off our bill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

The food was awesome! We will go back th ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined 4 days ago

The food was awesome! We will go back there for sure!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really mediocre meal. My date and I had ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined 5 days ago

Really mediocre meal. My date and I had 2 entrees, shared a pasta and 2 apps. Our pasta was slippery noodles with a lot of vinegar and no flavor. The fish was overcooked, doused in a super spicy sauce and sun dried tomato mush, all covered in hot pepper flakes. It was like ok cafeteria food. I ate there 6 months ago and had same experience. Thought we'd give it a try again as she wanted pasta. never going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

authentic Italian cuisine. Very expensiv ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined 5 days ago

authentic Italian cuisine. Very expensive. Three woman all making100kor better and we allthought it was great but pricey.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

It's always a special treat when we have ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

It's always a special treat when we have a chance to eat at Pazzaluna's. The food and service is exceptional, and the staff is very friendly and attentive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had a great evening at Pazzaluna with fr ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Had a great evening at Pazzaluna with friends. Best part was the excellent service by our server, Carrie. Lasagna was the best I've ever had! Great food at a reasonable price. Can't beat that.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place to go in St Paul. Good food ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great place to go in St Paul. Good food and cool atmosphere! T he bar is great also.

Tags: Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This location and service is great for t ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

This location and service is great for those going to Ordway show

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent food and service as always! C ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Excellent food and service as always! Curtis was our server and did the fine job that he always does. I had fettuccine Alfredo with shrimp which was excellent. We were seated right on time and were able to get to the Ordway with time to spare. One of our favorite places to eat in the city.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The staff were friendly, respectful, and ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

The staff were friendly, respectful, and just as attentive as one could wish.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service with a warm smile and wond ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Great service with a warm smile and wonderful food. The Monk fish was fabulous love the sauce tasty and spicy

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

we were seated immediately and able to e ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

we were seated immediately and able to enjoy our meal and make our production comfortably. Great server!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Halibut was over cooked - very dry. Disa ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Halibut was over cooked - very dry. Disappointing for a

$30 meal. Service was lacking, nonexistent at times - we had to get up from our table to get our waiter to place part of our order (after waiting a long time for him to get back to us) and repeatedly had to wave him down to get any attn. Overall we spent $140 for 2 people - shame on Pazzaluna for not providing a better experience. We told the manager on our way out and he was very apologetic. We won't be returning. There are many other options available in DT St Paul that are more deserving of our money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1

Great food was had by all at our table. ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Great food was had by all at our table. Our server was very personable and good.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Chef's choice pizza on 8/7 was fabul ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

The Chef's choice pizza on 8/7 was fabulous! Prosciutto, olive oil , pesto , arugula and tomato-divine!!

Italian Stallions to drink were extremely refreshing!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Staff was great. One meal was good, how ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Staff was great. One meal was good, however I am sad to say that the Scampi special was awful. The $9-10.00 side salads were pretty weak. In addition, our table wobbled badly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

Had my birthday dinner there, the salmon ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Had my birthday dinner there, the salmon was excellent. Wedge salad, so fresh. They made my birthday extra special. Wonderful lemon drop martini and nice tri-dessert. The creme brulee was the best part.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great dinner - our group of six enjoyed ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Great dinner - our group of six enjoyed the food, service and atmosphere. Wish I'd gotten the name of our waiter - said he's 65, beard, has been there quite a few years. He was wonderful - some of the best, most attentive service I've experienced in quite a while. Nice to see that Pazzaluna values experience! [didn't fill in the quantity for the bill, above, because I don't remember what it was]

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We met friends for dinner, our treat. T ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We met friends for dinner, our treat. The service was excellent, and all of our food choices were delicious! I think the service was attentive, and good. My husband and I have been there in the past, and have always enjoyed our experience. We are happy you have added valet parking, makes things easier! Sometimes we come with my elderly Father, he is having issues with walking these days.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous food and wine selection. Exce ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Fabulous food and wine selection. Excellent service and very pleasant environment.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I was in invited to wheels of Italy car ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

I was in invited to wheels of Italy car show on Thursday night. I had made reservations at 5:00. My wife and daughter were stuck in traffic had I had to push my reservation back 30 minutes. The hostess was very accommodating and when they arrived we went right to our table. Our waitress was great and our dinner was wonderful. Nothing could have made it better.

Thanks

Darrell Johnson

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. Great service. Spaghetti was ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Great food. Great service. Spaghetti was delicious as was the salmon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was wonderful, excellent food ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Everything was wonderful, excellent food, service & great wine selection. However, it was too noisy but I think it's because of the high ceilings which isn't your fault.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always enjoy the opportunity to visit Pa ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Always enjoy the opportunity to visit Pazzaluna's when in the Twin Cities. It is a wonderful restaurant to engage your date or a business partner.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good, service was slow, causin ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Food was good, service was slow, causing us to miss the first few minutes of our 7pm concert. We had intended to order dessert but it took the waiter 20 minutes to get back to us after he delivered the dessert menus. Took forever to take care of the bill too. Yes it was busy. Not sure if it was just our waiter who was slow or if the restaurant is understaffed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Excellent service but food was overly sa ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Excellent service but food was overly salty. The bread was good and fresh. Prices were on the high side.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

Service was very calo

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Service was very calo

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

last night was very relaxing- thank you. ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

last night was very relaxing- thank you. Rachelle was very patience with us ,she gave us a lot of private time and as always she was very pro and very nice- thank you. Please also thank Chef Seth for the Ahi tuna appetizer , scallops and halibut were both excellent and fresh, vibrant . Shanti it is great to be back home at Pazzaluna. Thank you again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We celebrated our 5 year wedding anniver ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We celebrated our 5 year wedding anniversary and 5 years ago rented out Pazzaluna for our wedding reception. they were very accomodating back then and still wonderful now!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is my favorite St Paul restaurant. ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

This is my favorite St Paul restaurant. I love the ambiance, food ( pasta) is delicious! The bread and the olive butter is too good to pass up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Consistant great service & food! A "Go T ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Consistant great service & food! A "Go To" when I'm in St. Paul

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent overall. Service was amazing! ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Excellent overall. Service was amazing! Very accommodating to late arrival of half the party. Love the attitude at this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went to Pazzaluna with our now adult ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

We went to Pazzaluna with our now adult aged children for a nice dinner out. We have been to Pazzaluna many times through the years are never disappointed. The service was solid and the kitchen was accommodating for one of our kids who is Vegan. Definitely a spot to visit when in downtown St. Paul!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We were seated right away and service wa ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

We were seated right away and service was ok. Good was good but not spectacular. My husband had spaghetti and meatballs while good was too spicy for him. I had the special beet salad that was good but pizza was just ok. People like this restaurant it may have been what we ordered.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Family had a great time - no feint prais ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Family had a great time - no feint praise with 3 teenage girls. Hostess a real peach making. Sure air conditioning to cold for us covering a vent. Very relaxing with no hint of rushing us.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Excellent food and a vibrant clientele. ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Excellent food and a vibrant clientele. We love coming here. Nice location. Lots of action!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

No Respect. Reservations were at 5:45pm ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

No Respect. Reservations were at 5:45pm on the night of a concert. Arrived a little before 5:45 and was not seated until 6:00. They knew we were going to the concert as was everyone else in the place but the hostess spent all her time telling everyone walking in that they were full while we all waited to be seated. Our table was not filled before us, it was empty, they just were in no hurry to get us seated. As a result, I had two bites of my meal and we had to leave to get to the concert. $500 bill and I had two bites. Never again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Had lots of pressure to pick the right r ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Had lots of pressure to pick the right restaurant for our 15th anniversary and right before the Adele concert. Pazzaluna was fantastic. Everything we had was better than the last. Wife ordered zucchini fries, arugula salad and the wild mushroom ravioli. I ordered the giant meatball, Caesar salad and i broke one of my Italian restaurant rules by ordering the lasagna. The lasagna was absolutely amazing though and glad I did. The ambiance was nice, and the service was very attentive. Highly recommend to anyone for a nice dinner out with friends and/ or if you need a date place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was great, as was the service! ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

The food was great, as was the service! Would definitely go back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous food, fabulous service! Had a h ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Fabulous food, fabulous service! Had a hard time choosing a meal as it all sounded good!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.