Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 31 times today

Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant & Bar

4.4
3643 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Italian
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for a Date
  • Pre/post Theatre
In Italy, every meal is a journey… the same is true at Pazzaluna. Start with appetizers featuring a selection of bruschetta and pizza straight from our wood-burning oven; then move on to a traditional Italian dinner menu of antipasto or insalata (salad), to primi piatto (pasta course), to secondi piatto (main course), and finally a delicious dolce (dessert). Discover the truly Italian art of lingering over dinner with family and friends, making conversation, and enjoying wine in a setting that is both urban and relaxing.

The award-winning and critically acclaimed Bar at Pazzaluna Urban Italian is an energetic and fun place to meet after work, before an event at the Ordway, Xcel Energy Center, Roy Wilkins Auditorium or just to unwind with family, friends, clients or business associates.

During warm weather, relax on the patio and enjoy the sights and sounds of downtown St. Paul (patio open May through September). See for yourself, you'll be glad you did.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Italian
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dining Room
Sunday - Monday 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Tuesday - Thursday 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday - Saturday 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Bar
Sunday - Monday 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Tuesday - Thursday 4:00pm - 11:00pm
Friday - Saturday 4:00pm - 12:00am

Happy Hour Specials
Daily 4:00pm - 6:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(651) 223-7000
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
For business, pleasure, or both, Pazzaluna's private dining room is perfect for your events, private dining or special occasions. We offer menus featuring authentic regional Italian cooking.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
sales@pazzaluna.com: (888) 924-6411
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
5th St.
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Curbside valet parking begins at 5:00pm nightly and guarantees effortless parking for guests. Valet space can be guaranteed and reserved for guests, subject to applicable charges.
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
The award-winning and critically acclaimed Bar at Pazzaluna Urban Italian is an energetic and fun place to meet after work, before an event at the Ordway, Xcel Energy Center, Roy Wilkins Auditorium or just to unwind with family, friends, clients or business associates.

During warm weather, relax on the patio and enjoy the sights and sounds of downtown Saint Paul (patio open May through September). See for yourself, you'll be glad you did.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 3643 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4based on recent ratings
4.3
food
4.4
service
4.4
ambience
3.9
value
Noise · Moderate
86% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 4 days ago

This place never disappoints! Very savvy, experienced wait staff . . . and super friendly! The food is outstanding and, along with an excellent wine list, the house wine offerings are a cut above what one might find at the competition. Beer selection is just OK, but Pazzaluna knows what it is and it's not trying to cater to the craft beer crowd.
Highly recommended for dinner and drinks before Xcel and Ordway events.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

Great environment! Busy place...
Attentive and responsive service. Yummy bread. Phenomenal food! Spinach Ravioli is a favorite!! Most definitely worth the trip and wait. Call ahead for reservation and ask a booth off the beaten path if you are looking for a less noisy and distracting location.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2018

Pazzaluna is always delightful. Great food and service and wonderful ambiance!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 10, 2018

very loud in main room, would be nice if they could do something to make the place more cozy and quiet for easier communication.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 10, 2018

We brought our niece Maria here for her 22nd birthday. She wanted to go someplace special. She was thrilled with the environment, the mural and the overall setting. She ordered the filet mignon and absolutely loved the steak. Paul Harris was kind enough to have a picture taken with her at our table. He also gave her a business card, so she could show her brothers where she had been and who she was with. It really made her day! Thank you!!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Out of 4 meals, only 2 were good. The server was overworked, so it was hard to get the person to do anything.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 8, 2018

We enjoyed the service (Conrad), the verity of cocktails, the menu with excellent food, and the valet service choice.
The only complaint was the noise (music) was exceptionally loud.
Will return.
Dan B.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Had a great meal and service! Will definitely be back

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Great food, great atmosphere— loved the experience

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

The food was great, varied menu and the service was superb.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 6, 2018

From once entering Pazzaluna you know it’s going to be a wonderful experience. The service was impeccable and the food was outstanding. The manager came and spoke to us a lovely gesture.
Will return and have told family and friends it’s a restaurant that they should go to!
Thank you for a memorable evening.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 5, 2018

Let wait
Staff know if you are attending an event when you are seated. We were able to have a nice dinner and dessert without worrying about being able to get t the theater on time.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 5, 2018

Excellent food, wonderful server. A little pricey, but the food and service were completely worth it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 4, 2018

Love the food -service great

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 2, 2018

I appreciated the range of Italian wines. Also the portions were generous, which I note especially because of all the delicious mozzarella. Can't really go wrong when you have tasty tomatoes and fresh mozzarella. This is a great option for dinner where you can feel comfortable dressed up or down. I recommend the angel hair pasta with shrimp (lots of shrimp!).

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 2, 2018

We love the food, the staff it is a family favorite and our special spot before Wild Games.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 31, 2018

The gluten-free menu was quite extensive and all of our food was very good. The only thing keeping me from giving it a 5-star rating was the size of the Duck entree which 2 of my teenage sons ordered. It was good, but too small for teenage boys. A heads up from the wait staff would have been helpful. We had to make a stop at McDonalds on the way home.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 31, 2018

A nice dinner before the Minnesota Opera. My wife had the Chicken Piccata and I had the Gnocchi. Both dinners were very good. Cocktails were also very tasty - The Luna and Lavender was very nice.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 30, 2018

We love Pazzaluna! This time, the penne Arabiatta was “blow your head off” spicey. My husband normally loves it but just could not tolerate it this time. The wait staff should investigate before coming to the defense of the menu, just in case the kitchen may have mistakenly amped up the spice. Still our favorite place to go in Saint Paul 😊

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 27, 2018

Greeter was rude
Food was good
Food very slow in arriving, very slow
Menu has items that are not available, very disappointing

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

I can’t say enough good things about the menu. Gnocchi is fluffy and sauces are flavorful. Pizza is wood fired..and Olive tapenade?? Yes please!! Service last time was suspect...but it can also be great so just inconsistent. I’m not sure that even bad service would keep me away from this place.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 24, 2018

The GF menu was extensive, delicious, and comforting.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Our table for 2 was in a terrible location at a very busy entry to the dining room. I would definitely not get a table for 2 at this restaurant again. The table had a very cold vent right under our feet. We would have preferred to sit at the bar than this table. I usually love going here, but generally come with more people, so this experience was not up to standard due to the table location.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Everything was very tasty. Server was thoughtful about our event and timing. Things just got a bit pushy at the end - people kept asking if I was done with my plate over and over - felt like we were being rushed out. All of the people in the Wild hockey jerseys in the restaurant definitely took away from the ambiance a bit.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Bar staff nice and friendly. Wait Staff and hostess treated us rudely as we were dressed for a wild hockey game after. Food was decent. Crowded and loud for a 5pm seating. Would try other places before going back.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Even though the food is very good, the wine list is fine, and the cocktails are excellent, we have very good hearing, the place is just too noisy for us to actually look forward to a visit. Couldn't something be done to reduce that noise level? Or perhaps reduce that level in an area or two? I bet we aren't the only people with that problem!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 23, 2018

This restaurant was quite enjoyable to eat at! With quiet jazz music in the background and the impressive architecture around, I thoroughly enjoyed my meal.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 22, 2018

Went for my birthday and everything was delicious and the service was stellar! Thanks for a great experience.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 21, 2018

Haven't been to Pazzaluna in about two years - used to be one of my favorites. Dramatically worse now - poor service, food so-so

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 20, 2018

The place was amazing. The food tasted great. Would go again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2018

We were seated right on 9ur reservation time. The server, Sarah, was friendly and very helpful. She answered our questions and was very responsive to our requests.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 17, 2018

This was my 2nd visit. Both times we had great food and slow service. Allow plenty of time if you plan on attending an event after dinner.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2018

Well-designed dining space in the heart of downtown St. Paul. Friendly, attentive staff and great Italian specialties. Gluten-free menu. High ceiling enables quiet conversation without excessive background noise. A gem!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 16, 2018

It was our restaurant choice because it's a convenient location before a show in Saint Paul. But three days later, it's hard to remember much about our meal--there wasn't anything remarkable about it, either good or bad.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 12, 2018

Excellent meal for all three of us - Cannelloni, Gnocchi w/Bolognese, and Fettuccini Alfredo w/Sausage. Our waiter was delightful with good recommendations. I love the atmosphere of the hustling bar and quieter dining area. Nice start to our evening before the Pink concert.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 11, 2018

Dinner date was very nice and food was very good.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 10, 2018

We are back ...
Pazzaluna has an excellent valet by Homsa, he is always quick and eager to open my wife's door, great job Homsa. Also it is nice to have my car ready to go when I am done.
Check in was great, no wait.
We had the table by the window, good location but next time I am going to ask for the table in the corner- less traffic.
It was super busy night a lot of people dining before the high school hockey tournament and the SPCO special concert by swedish clarinetist David Frost.
Pazzaluna started something new, the entire menu is on the one big sheet of paper including the wine list. Now I think it is easier to find what you want to eat.
Pazzaluna also stopped making the month PreFixe specials...I liked the PreFixe, I could look forward to my visit. We shall see where the new chef Michele Totoro will take Pazzaluna with his new ideas.
Our dinner concluded:
Cold Antipasti- super tasty love it
Classic Meatballs
Sugo pomodoro & four cheese sauce- as always very nicely done
Arugula
Apples, pears, toasted almonds,gorgonzola & honey-apple cider vinaigrette- it looked fresh and well presented- tasty
Roast Duck
Cauliflower, roast apple, brussels sprouts & herb sauce- we had this dish before, the duck needed 30 more seconds on the pan to be done better in my opinion. I felt like it was too raw.
Last time I had a roasted duck with sweet potato hash.
I think I liked the old style better, the presentation was definitely more colorful.
We had a glass of the red italian wine, it was very good but I don't remember the name of it.
Cappuccino was right temperature this time.
Overall our evening was very nice. I still will recommend this place to everyone if you want to have a special event with a very special people around you.
Is there a possibility to have your wine list on the website, please?
Thank you our weiter, unstoppable Curtis, Tim Bush, chef Seth and welcome the new Pazzaluna chef Michele Totoro. We will be back.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 10, 2018

Our waitress was extremely sweet and service was quick. The rib eye steak was phenomenal and although a little over cooked for a medium rare, it was still extremely tender and succulent! The only reason for the 4 star is because the beef brisket on the risotto was a little dry, however, the flavor was wonderful!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 9, 2018

A delicious meal, a fun and friendly server, and out the door in time for the hockey game!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 6, 2018

We were disappointed. For the price, the food was mediocre and the service was slow.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
92

Tweets by Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant & Bar