Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 45 times today

Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant & Bar

4.5
3705 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Italian
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Pre/post Theatre
  • Good for a Date
In Italy, every meal is a journey… the same is true at Pazzaluna. Start with appetizers featuring a selection of bruschetta and pizza straight from our wood-burning oven; then move on to a traditional Italian dinner menu of antipasto or insalata (salad), to primi piatto (pasta course), to secondi piatto (main course), and finally a delicious dolce (dessert). Discover the truly Italian art of lingering over dinner with family and friends, making conversation, and enjoying wine in a setting that is both urban and relaxing.

The award-winning and critically acclaimed Bar at Pazzaluna Urban Italian is an energetic and fun place to meet after work, before an event at the Ordway, Xcel Energy Center, Roy Wilkins Auditorium or just to unwind with family, friends, clients or business associates.

During warm weather, relax on the patio and enjoy the sights and sounds of downtown St. Paul (patio open May through September). See for yourself, you'll be glad you did.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Italian
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dining Room
Sunday - Monday 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Tuesday - Thursday 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday - Saturday 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Bar
Sunday - Monday 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Tuesday - Thursday 4:00pm - 11:00pm
Friday - Saturday 4:00pm - 12:00am

Happy Hour Specials
Daily 4:00pm - 6:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(651) 223-7000
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
For business, pleasure, or both, Pazzaluna's private dining room is perfect for your events, private dining or special occasions. We offer menus featuring authentic regional Italian cooking.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
sales@pazzaluna.com: (888) 924-6411
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
5th St.
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Curbside valet parking begins at 5:00pm nightly and guarantees effortless parking for guests. Valet space can be guaranteed and reserved for guests, subject to applicable charges.
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
The award-winning and critically acclaimed Bar at Pazzaluna Urban Italian is an energetic and fun place to meet after work, before an event at the Ordway, Xcel Energy Center, Roy Wilkins Auditorium or just to unwind with family, friends, clients or business associates.

During warm weather, relax on the patio and enjoy the sights and sounds of downtown Saint Paul (patio open May through September). See for yourself, you'll be glad you did.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 3705 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5based on recent ratings
4.4
food
4.4
service
4.4
ambience
4.1
value
Noise · Moderate
92% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 3 days ago

Fantastic service and the food was great. We'll be back soon.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 3 days ago

Our server Sabine was excellent. Food was incredible.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 3 days ago

We celebrated my birthday. Everything went smoothly. We had good time with our friends. The food was awesome. The servant could come more often and check on our impression, the food, etc. Other than that, everything was fine.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined 4 days ago

Food quality is low for the price.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Great Italian food

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined 4 days ago

Unfortunately, we had a terrible dining experience. We were dining here to celebrate a birthday. While we appreciated a complimentary dessert, we just did not enjoy the experience. Our entrees were below average. Our entrees seemed to be thrown together rather than prepared with quality and care. My entree included shrimp which was mushy and lacked flavor. We had fruit flies buzzing around us, our beverages and our food the whole time.
This was the second time we visited and I don’t think we will be back. It is too expensive for a below average experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Anniversary

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

Always enjoy good food and drink at Pazzaluna, great service too!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

My friend and I both thoroughly enjoyed Pazzaluna. The hostess was friendly, the manager was attentive and our waitress and food was excellent. Thank you for an outstanding experience on a busy Friday night before a concert.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 5 days ago

Food was rather good, but cocktail from the bar was absolutely awful! That was a waster of $12.00. Service was extremely slow, and server was somewhat helpful with suggestions, but somewhat snooty.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 10, 2018

Overrated, guess I had higher expectations, food was ok, ordered the chicken & saffron risotto and it was almost inedible, lacked flavor, very salty, presentation in the bread bowl was not expected, 1 out of 5 diners had a good meal (i.e. the veal entree). Won't be rushing back anytime soon.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 10, 2018

We were in St. Paul for the weekend and saw this restaurant and gave it a try. So glad we did as it was amazing. The menu is extensive, the wine and spirits list is long and perfectly paired to the menu. My gnocchi bolognese was truly the best gnocchi I have ever eaten. If I am ever in St. Paul again - I will go out of my way to go back to this place.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 9, 2018

It was a lovely spot to celebrate my husbands birthday (and he got a free tiramisu!). Food was good, but ours didn’t come for a longgggggg time - many around us who came after got their food first. Made us late to the baseball game. Note: use the valet parking! The garage across the street is cramped and costs more!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2018

Here's the nicest thing I can say about this place: I'm a person who never goes out for Italian, because it's never as good as the home-made stuff I grew up with. THIS PLACE *IS* AS GOOD! From antipasti to entree to dessert, every bite is incredible. Now add great service and ambiance. I don't usually write online reviews, but we love this place more than most.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on June 8, 2018

Expected more based on reputation and price. Average food (at best). Overpriced. Service was poor. Concert at the X, but you would think they knew how to properly staff for that by now. Won’t rush back for more.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 6, 2018

I enjoyed the ambience & the food. Service was very good. Parking close by & valet.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 4, 2018

Arugula salad was great and easily split for two. My angel hair pasta with shrimp was excellent with plenty of shrimp. I ate the whole thing, which I usually do not do! My husband had the veal medallions which were very good, but not excellent. Needed a little more seasoning. Please bring back the saltimboca.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 3, 2018

Pazzaluna always seemed like one of those white- cloth napkin places I couldn’t afford, but atmosphere is warm, inviting, and casual. Fantastic time was spent here for my birthday. Their specialty dishes - Angel Hair in the style of Capri and Frangelico pecan pie were perfect. Pasta dishes from my table were all delicious and each red sauce was a different vs som places that seem to use the same sauce for everything. The bartender even made a special drink I requested and did so in stellar fashion.
There are so many dishes to try here! The drive and pasta dishes are so worth the trip.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 3, 2018

Graduation dinner

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on June 1, 2018

Ordered the Heirloom tomato and burrata Bruschetta for an appetizer. Received the tomato basil bruschetta instead. We were halfway through the appetizer before small plates to eat over arrived. Bread course arrived after appetizer. Had the Penne with Arrabiata sauce and chicken. The Arrabiata had ample spice but lacked salt and garlic. I spent the whole time I was eating my entree with an empty water glass. Dessert was good.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 31, 2018

The best thing about the restaurant was the service--it was fabulous. We had not been to Pazzaluna for many years. The food was basically good except that the veal medallions had a rub on them that was WAY too salty. Also, 2 small veal medallions plus pasta for $34 is overpriced. The cocktails were fabulous.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 28, 2018

Overall, the experience was very good. We had a great server who was knowledgeable and attentive. Pazzaluna has a great ambiance as well. However, the food was only okay and not worth the price. I really enjoyed the crab cakes and crab fonduta bruschetta. Drinks were also good. But the entrees (salmon and canneloli) weren't that great. The dessert (chocolate versato) was also disappointing.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 28, 2018

Great comfort food and friendly service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2018

Service solid, Excellent food, Minnestrone was great, Caesar salad was terrific (love the fact that you can get anchovies on it), the cold case cippolini onions rock—I can’t seem to find them as good anywhere else! Also out of the cold case we had the smoked salmon, prosciutto and the stuffed red peppers. Excellent. One of these days I’m just going to eat from the cold case and the antipasti menu, a person could do very well with just that!

Been here many times before. This time, my wife had the chicken piccata with risotto. Really nice and tangy, lemon was just right with the capers, (yeah I stole some off her plate!) really nice. If Pazzaluna would add veal piccata it would be a smash I’m sure. I had the three meat cannelloni (red and white sauce) and I loved it. Hadn’t tried it before but I got to say I’ll have that again! Really flavorful and yummy if you’re in the mood for stuffed pasta, and I was!

Tiramisu and sorbet, coffee rounded out the meal. Loved it. Nice Italian wine list, and the bartenders know how to make martinis and manhattans! Always a pleasure!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 25, 2018

Disappointed that I didn't get credit on open table, not sure the policy change, but visit was fun. Celebrating a college graduation! Service was great!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 25, 2018

Always a pleasure to eat there. The bartenders always start the evening off perfectly and the service is always classy.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 18, 2018

The ambiance of the restaurant is lovely; our antipasto and entree selections were delicious, and the service and our server were excellent! We enjoyed it all and will return again.

One comment, however, regarding the location of where our table was: just off the main aisle in the lower dining area, and the point of entry for other diners and the servers. We were at a round table of six, and the two people seated closest to the aisle felt like they were sitting right in the aisle. There was just not enough room for people to walk by without brushing up to two of the people in our party. At one point, two other large parties of 12 or more came in, and one person in our party had to stand up so that people could get by. This happened twice. We understand it was a very busy evening, but our table seemed to be the only one that experienced these interruptions.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 18, 2018

Delicious meal, excellent waiter in Curtis and great walking distance to all downtown St Paul hot spots!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 16, 2018

This is a great place to come before theatre or concert. Love the food!!!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 15, 2018

Although the host said she gave us the quietest table in the House, we could not hear each other over the noisy crowd. We ate quickly and left I order to visit in the nice sunshine outside. We will not return to this restaurant solely due to the noise level.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 14, 2018

Pazzaluna is a great way to enjoy an intimate evening just as much as a large gathering. (We were a group of ten!) The atmosphere is fun, the wine list, and drink menus are fabulous, and the food, such great variety...YUMMY! Service is always impeccable here! Thank you for helping us celebrate in style! On a side note, we were one of the last people there and by the time we left our table, the valet had already brought the cars for us! Nice touch!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 14, 2018

Promptly seated when we walked in, and water was brought over fairly quickly. Waitress was friendly and professional. Took the time to get to know us. Ordered a margarita pizza to share. A little too much sauce, however the pizza was flavorful.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

This was our first time at Pazzaluna. We were very impressed with the experience, from the valet through dessert. Great options on the menu. Get the spaghetti if you feel like you want a large meal. :)

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Overall, a lovely experience with a smiling and mostly attentive server. Tasty food served almost too quickly. Had little time to savor our special evening within the restaurant; quick service felt almost rushed. Also, at no time was our anniversary celebration noted. Shortly before leaving, I observed a server use her French-manicured fingernails to serve caprese from the buffet near the bar. She used those fingers to pick up tomatoes and mozzarella from the cold well, place them on a plate, then walk to a table to serve it! Servers in a restaurant of this caliber most certainly should know better. Now we wonder how our food was handled when out of our sight. For this reason alone, we cannot recommend it to anyone and will not return. Proper food handling is a paramount skill for every food server. This error is inexcusable. Noise level: Noisy; hard to hear each other across our small table. Would not characterize as "energetic."

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Food was fabulous, but we were eating there for a special event, a 50th wedding anniversary. I explained that to the hostess when I made the reservation and to the server when we got there. They did not acknowledge the special event in any way. I found that disappointing.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Too expensive but the service was top notch.
Probably will not return.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 13, 2018

One of our favorite places in St Paul. As always, the food was fabulous. However, the good vibe (which has always been a big reason we like it here) took a huge blow when our entrees showed up literally as the server was putting the last appetizer and salad on the table, and before we'd had a chance to relax and enjoy our wine. That should just never happen at a top restaurant, and we wound up rushing through things and wasting apps so our entrees didn't get cold. Restaurant also missed out on another round of drinks. It was not busy, either. A reminder that we will hold our entree order until the apps show up, no matter how much it annoys the staff. Somebody should've paid closer attention to the timing, and not turned that into our problem. First time we've ever been disappointed at Pazzaluna.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Food was great and service was really good. Just took a while to get the Shirley temple we ordered. Like 20 minutes.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Pazzaluna
Pazzaluna last night- fantastic event with our friends.
Excellent performance by Chef Seth Teiken and his team created really good signature dishes for us: Mussels, Crab Crakes, Lamb Shanks, Veil Medallions, Beef briskets, Branzino all dishes were really tasty,fresh and exciting. My words of appreciation go to: Paul the manager, Jeanne and Clay our waitress and waiter , they took care of our group very well. Our friends and us were very happy with our entire time we were at Pazzaluna last night. Thank you all.
Grazie Pazzaluna!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 11, 2018

Food was wonderful - a bit noisy and somewhat difficult to carry on a conversation at our large table. But the service was excellent. And the bonus is the proximity to the St. Paul Hotel where our out of town guests were staying.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
93

Tweets by Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant & Bar