About Paulette's Restaurant at the River Inn of Harbor Town

50 Harbor Town Square
Memphis, TN 38103
View Larger Map

Paulette's Restaurant at the AAA 4 Diamond - River Inn of Harbor Town



Paulette's, which has been operating successfully in Memphis for 42 years, recently moved its popular, award winning operation to the River Inn. It has been described by one reviewer as "A Memphis institution and for a very good reason". Paulette's is serving the same soups, salads, and entrees that have made it so well known throughout the mid-south for many years. The restaurant has always been famous for its desserts and hot popovers with strawberry butter. Paulette's has a distinct warmth, charm and ambiance that is unsurpassed in the city. Restaurant polls have annually recognized Paulette's as Memphis" "Most Romantic" and for it's cuisine - "Best Continental".

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Global, International, Contemporary French / American, International

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Daily: 7:00am - 10:00am

Lunch: 11:00 am - 2:00 pm

Dinner: Sunday-Thursday 5:00pm - 9:00 pm, Friday-Saturday 5:00pm - 9:30pm

Brunch (Saturday & Sunday): 11:00 am - 2:00 pm

Cross Street:
Island Drive

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(901) 260-3300

Website:
http://paulettes.net/

Entertainment:
Before & after dinner, you can enjoy the cozy setting & hospitality of the LITTLE BAR, relax in front of the lobby's wood-burning fireplace set in an 1850s era New Orleans mantel and listen to the live piano music or the roof terrace with the best view in Town of the river. An extensive & carefully selected wine list is overseen by our Restaurant Manager.

Catering:
Catering events are served at our Harbor Square Room (up to 40 Guest) or Harbor Square and River View Rooms (up to 60 guest). Also our new River Hall and the Court Yard with Gazebo, ideal for receptions and weddings.. can accommodate up to 200 guest reception style.
During the day we have available the "Terrace" at the River Inn, overlooking the Mississippi River, The Terrace accommodates up to 50 guest.

Executive Chef:
Jason Dallas

Private Party Facilities:
A private board room overlooking our temperature controlled wine room. The "Terrace" on the rooftop with views of the Mississippi (for day functions only), River Hall, free standing building with court yard and Gazebo, overlooking the Mississippi River. Paulette's River View and Harbor Square Rooms.

Private Party Contact:
Katie Ogden: 9012603333x2105

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Special Events are held at the "new" River Hall; overlooking the Mississippi River. Offering in-door up to 85 seated or 150 reception style. the Court Yard with Gazebo is the place for weddings and receptions - up to 120 seated and 200 reception style.

Paulette's Restaurant at the River Inn of Harbor Town Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Memphis
Special Occasion
Memphis
Romantic
Memphis
1 More
Special Occasion
Memphis
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Special Occasion (52)
Romantic (43)
Scenic View (28)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Great for Brunch (19)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Great for Lunch (12)
Good for a Date (11)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Notable Wine List (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Cozy (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Waterfront (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Casual (3)
Fun (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Business Meals (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Late-night Find (2)
People Watching (1)
Authentic (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Healthy (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
Newest
932 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

While the food was tasty, it may have be ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined 5 days ago

While the food was tasty, it may have been a bit overpriced.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Very calm and quiet. Very relaxed dinne ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined 5 days ago

Very calm and quiet. Very relaxed dinner. Service was outstanding

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had made a reservation for my fiancé a ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined 6 days ago

I had made a reservation for my fiancé and I to celebrate our anniversary. Neither one of us had been to Paulette's before so we had no idea what to expect. The atmosphere and the dining area were amazing! It was quiet, but not stuffy. Our server was genuinely nice and honest with me when it came to drink and entree orders (I like to quiz servers as I used to work in the industry). The food was delicious and well priced for the serving size compared to other places we've been to. Will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We always have an enjoyable evening at P ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined 6 days ago

We always have an enjoyable evening at Paulette's when dining here. Always. :)

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for brunch. This was my 1st time ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

We went for brunch. This was my 1st time here but it won't be my last. Our meal was exceptional. I had the French Toast and my mom the Hungarian dish (don't knock it until you try it as it was delicious). Our server, Daniel, was pleasant and very knowledgeable. We're here on vacation and already trying to see where we can fit it in again before we leave!! Must. Go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our second visit to Paulette's, ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

This was our second visit to Paulette's, both within the past few months and both with only two days to spend in Memphis. Our first visit, with friends, was an exceptionally pleasant meal. Food, service and ambience were all tops. This past weekend we were inspired to return, on our own, and found it again truly special. The salads, fish and dessert were all very well prepared and the house special popovers were an outstanding treat. Service was again friendly and professional and we also enjoy an after-meal walk on the riverfront at sundown. Staff was really helpful in getting us a cab back downtown. The whole experience was delicious and romantic. We hope to be back someday.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Quality,Service nice place,good portion ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Quality,Service nice place,good portion for the price on all menu ,pepole super,mega nice

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went to Paulette's before attending O ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

We went to Paulette's before attending Orpheum. Our meal was excellent with our salmon being some of the best I have had anywhere.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

our business party of 6 was placed next ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

our business party of 6 was placed next to a very large party of over 15 people who were celebrating a birthday. Noise level was very high and we could not have a quiet business meal with our guest. Need better allocation of seating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Food and service both OUTSTANDING! Our ( ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Food and service both OUTSTANDING!

Our (wife and self) favorite restaurant in Memphis (with the exception of Justine's).

First started going when we moved to Memphis back in the mid 70's, and went frequently until we moved away (job reason) in the early 90's! Now retired and moved back and have enjoyed going to their "new" place in Harbor Town!

Tags: People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service was great the reaso ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

The food and service was great the reason for the 3 star was a very ugly bug crawling on our table and told the server about the bug he just said I will tell them . My husband could not eat most of his food....complete loss of appetite...appetite...should have at least compensated in some way to make up for the bug

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Step into a romantic Paris Cafe to enjoy ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Step into a romantic Paris Cafe to enjoy authentic French cusine. The entrees are prepared by professional and creative chefs. The star of the meal is the dessert. Service has an attitude commonly found at similar establishments. Requesting anything extra is akin to committing a crime. One popover and strawberry butter per person, unfortunately the rolls were served overdone. Location near the Mighty Mississippi is delightfull. Look at the website for weekly value priced dinners. Caters to an older, more sophisticated crowd. Worth the drive for a special occasion.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Romantic, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

I typically have a great experience when ...

vip
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

I typically have a great experience when arriving to this restaurant, and did a beautiful job convincing my date that I have had impeccable service and great food whenever Ive attended in the past. While the ambiance and service did not disappoint as expected, the filet mignon I raved about, was exceptionally overcooked during this dining experience. I was very disappointed, that I had to say, "It's usually better." Would hope that this issue is alleviated in the future.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

The wait time for a Sunday brunch was wa ...

vip
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

The wait time for a Sunday brunch was way too much. It took 50 minutes to bring the foods to the table.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Paulette's has been a favorite of mine f ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Paulette's has been a favorite of mine for years. The Filet Paulette never disappoints!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place, great food, and great servi ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Great place, great food, and great service. Only reason it didn't get five stars is because made reservations at 7:30 and didn't get sat until 8. Also, hostess didn't mention bar area as a waiting place and no one was sitting in there when walked to table. Yet, still an amazing time.

Tags: Scenic View, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Upon arrival for my birthday lunch, the ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Upon arrival for my birthday lunch, the 4 of us waited at the hostess desk for 3-5 min with nobody in sight. Once seated by the hostess our waiter who was assigned to our table came over & took our drink orders. He wasn't friendly at all and never smiled. It took sometime to receive our drinks and the restaurant wasn't busy on this day. It was a Saturday for lunch. After he brought our drinks he left and was gone for what seemed a long time. We were so hungry so we asked the hostess could we get some bread. That was brought to our table by the hostess. Once our waiter finally returned & we ordered. Once received our food, the experience was much better. Food was delicious as usual. I've never had a bad meal here. Outstanding food. This was not my first visit to Paulette's. I've dined here one other time & didn't have any issues with service. However if I return, I will request a different wait staff than the gentleman we had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1

Awesome restaurant with awesome service, ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Awesome restaurant with awesome service, in a very nice location!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service and the fare was speci ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Excellent service and the fare was special and presented with flare. Booth 6 is one of the best in the house. Thanks

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were absolutely impressed with the re ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

We were absolutely impressed with the restaurant and staff. We were there to celebrate my sixty-birthday and could not have celebrated in a more suitable place. The staff presented us with a pleasant greeting upon entry, leaving us feeling warm and welcome. Our waitress was very attentive but not invasive. The food can be discribed in one word...WOW! We had the lobster and fillet mignon steak that were seasoned and cooked to perfection. The entire experience surpassed our expectations and we will definitely not only recommend it but will visit many more times to come. Thank you so much for making my special day even more special.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We just had a quick overnight at the Riv ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We just had a quick overnight at the River Inn and was delighted to learn that Paulette's in the hotel was highly rated. We not only enjoyed our dinner but breakfast was included with our hotel stay the next morning. My husband and I both had the Ginger-Cilantro Salmon and it was very good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Great location food not that great Popov ...

vip
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great location food not that great

Popovers and butter outstanding!

I had crab and spinach crepes not that good at all my husband had salmon not very good either.

We had no desert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5

The service and food was excellent. The ...

 
 (Little Rock)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

The service and food was excellent. The owner of Paulette's was there that night and he came to our table to check on us and was very nice. For a romantic dinner that has a quiet/charming atmosphere and excellent food I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great cheese board and salad

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Great cheese board and salad

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

I was very disappointed with the special ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

I was very disappointed with the special. It was tough and grisly. Usually the food is fantastic. Everyone else in our group of 8 had a great meal.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

Drinks were very good. Food was just goo ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Drinks were very good. Food was just good. Service was great.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Was not aware that there was a different ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Was not aware that there was a different time for breakfast and brunch on Sunday

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Exceptional food values on their nightly ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Exceptional food values on their nightly specials. Fine service and ambiance, first class restaurant all around.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Loved this restaurant. Food was outstan ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Loved this restaurant. Food was outstanding. Was romantic and fun environment.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Entertaining out of town former Memphian ...

vip
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Entertaining out of town former Memphian who always wants to go to Paulette's. The crabmeat and spinach crepe, the filet, the crabcake and salads were all delicious. We split a chocolate crepe for dessert. Popovers and strawberry butter are still there and a great start to the meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Excellent restaurant and food. My frien ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Excellent restaurant and food. My friends and I really enjoy our time at Paulette's.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We stayed four nights at The River Inn s ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We stayed four nights at The River Inn so had breakfast here each morning. The croissants and muffins are incredible, all baked in-house. The menu includes many tasty dishes. Dinner was excellent as well, including the complimentary popovers. We had the redfish and the pork chop.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

A lovely evening. Excellent service. We ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

A lovely evening. Excellent service. We had breakfast next morning.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a wonderful dinner listening to a ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

We had a wonderful dinner listening to an amazing piano player. Our waiter, Darren, agreed to set us up in the lobby so that we could enjoy the pianist. It was great. The service was very attentive. We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

We have been to Paulette's before, but t ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We have been to Paulette's before, but this trip was disappointing. Service was very slow. I specifically asked our server about garlic in a dish that I wanted to order because I am highly allergic to garlic (which I told our server), the server checked with the chef who confirmed the dish could be made without garlic, yet my entrée came literally laced with garlic. I waited (and waited) for our server to get back to us, and he tried to argue with me that the entrée did not have garlic. I told him I could smell the garlic in it. He finally took it back to the chef, who confirmed that they had put pesto in it. The chef ended up making me a special entrée, not on the menu, which was excellent. But we again waited and waited for it to come out. My husband completely finished his meal before I got any food. Then we continued to wait for the dessert menu and finally our check. I was very disappointed. This was a birthday dinner for me, and I had hoped it would be better than this.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

Redfish entre came with two small overco ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Redfish entre came with two small overcooked shrimp on top. Server brought red wine glasses for pinot noir wine. I expected much more at a place like Paulettes. Asked for a more private seating since it was our 30th anniversary. We were seated right by the main entrance.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

This is my wife's favorite restaurant, a ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

This is my wife's favorite restaurant, and I usually bring her here for special occasions.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dining at Paulette's was a great experie ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Dining at Paulette's was a great experience!! I chose the restaurant as a first wedding anniversary celebration and it was all 5 stars. The service was impeccable and the food was superb from start to finish. Please try the Filet Paulette if you are dining at Paulette's. My wife and I also had breakfast at Paulette's since we stayed overnight at the River Inn.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, good service. 1st time we ha ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Great food, good service. 1st time we had been but not the last. Well worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Paulettes was a great experience. The fo ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Paulettes was a great experience. The food was delicious and the service excellent. The chef went out of his way to accommodate my wife's food sensitivities. I suggest however that you refrain from ordering the Kahlua desert unless you intent to share it amount several fortunate people.

Tags: Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.