Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.81mi
  3. Distance: 1.04mi
  4. Distance: 1.04mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.81mi
  3. Distance: 1.04mi
  4. Distance: 1.04mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.81mi
  3. Distance: 1.04mi
  4. Distance: 1.04mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.81mi
  3. Distance: 1.04mi
  4. Distance: 1.04mi

About Paulette's Restaurant at the River Inn of Harbor Town

Paulette's Restaurant at the AAA 4 Diamond - River Inn of Harbor Town



Paulette's, which has been operating successfully in Memphis for 42 years, recently moved its popular, award winning operation to the River Inn. It has been described by one reviewer as "A Memphis institution and for a very good reason". Paulette's is serving the same soups, salads, and entrees that have made it so well known throughout the mid-south for many years. The restaurant has always been famous for its desserts and hot popovers with strawberry butter. Paulette's has a distinct warmth, charm and ambiance that is unsurpassed in the city. Restaurant polls have annually recognized Paulette's as Memphis" "Most Romantic" and for it's cuisine - "Best Continental".

50 Harbor Town Square
Memphis, TN 38103
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Global, International, Contemporary French / American, International

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Daily: 7:00am - 10:00am

Lunch: 11:00 am - 2:00 pm

Dinner: Sunday-Thursday 5:00pm - 9:00 pm, Friday-Saturday 5:00pm - 9:30pm

Brunch (Saturday & Sunday): 11:00 am - 2:00 pm

Cross Street:
Island Drive

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(901) 260-3300

Website:
http://paulettes.net/

Entertainment:
Before & after dinner, you can enjoy the cozy setting & hospitality of the LITTLE BAR, relax in front of the lobby's wood-burning fireplace set in an 1850s era New Orleans mantel and listen to the live piano music or the roof terrace with the best view in Town of the river. An extensive & carefully selected wine list is overseen by our Restaurant Manager.

Catering:
Catering events are served at our Harbor Square Room (up to 40 Guest) or Harbor Square and River View Rooms (up to 60 guest). Also our new River Hall and the Court Yard with Gazebo, ideal for receptions and weddings.. can accommodate up to 200 guest reception style.
During the day we have available the "Terrace" at the River Inn, overlooking the Mississippi River, The Terrace accommodates up to 50 guest.

Executive Chef:
Jason Dallas

Private Party Facilities:
A private board room overlooking our temperature controlled wine room. The "Terrace" on the rooftop with views of the Mississippi (for day functions only), River Hall, free standing building with court yard and Gazebo, overlooking the Mississippi River. Paulette's River View and Harbor Square Rooms.

Private Party Contact:
Katie Ogden: (901) 260-3333 ext. 2105

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Special Events are held at the "new" River Hall; overlooking the Mississippi River. Offering in-door up to 85 seated or 150 reception style. the Court Yard with Gazebo is the place for weddings and receptions - up to 120 seated and 200 reception style.

Paulette's Restaurant at the River Inn of Harbor Town Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (43)
Romantic (43)
Special Occasion (38)
See All
Good for a Date (35)
Quiet Conversation (33)
Scenic View (29)
Cozy (25)
Good for Birthdays (24)
Worth the Drive (24)
Waterfront (22)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Pre/post Theatre (18)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Business Meals (13)
Great for Brunch (13)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Notable Wine List (10)
Great for Lunch (10)
Historic (9)
Casual (8)
Authentic (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Seasonal (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Healthy (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Fun (4)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Modern Decor (3)
People Watching (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Family Style (2)
Fireplace (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Private Room (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Live Music (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great Beer (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
1080 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 4 days ago

The view, menu, food, ambience, parking is perfect. I have at at Paulette's many times.
The only negative remark I have is in regards to our waiter, Chris. He was dry, no personality, very curt. We felt like he didn't want to be waiting on us.
We were 4 women on our way to a broadway show. So it was an early meal. We did not order drinks. Went straight for the entree and dessert to get to the show on time.

I felt like he sized us up as small tippers. If so he should have worked even harder to make a better impression. I always leave 20%.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 6 days ago

Perfection. From the popovers to dessert, this lovely restaurant is sure to please. We arrived on Monday and found a 3-course, specially priced menu for Monday only. We were thrilled with our dinners!

Tags: Waterfront, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Excellent Easter brunch. Food was outstanding and Darren our server did a great job.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 16, 2017

It's always an enjoyable experience at the River Inn Paulette's Restaurant.
I usually order their fresh seafood.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Scenic View, Quick Bite, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Always a nice experience, great ambiance, wait staff is helpful and they know enough to be helpful. This was a long and casual dinner as a thank you for a renovation that was completed and wanted to take the project manager out for a nice meal and to wrap up the project. Always a great choice, never felt rushed or hurried through the meal.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We always make it a point to have a meal at Paulette's whwn we are traveling from our home in Oklahoma to visit relatives in Chattanooga. It makes a delightful break in our journey. The food is always good, and we love the crispy popovers!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 7, 2017

The one thing that impressed me the most was not only was it quiet, people were actually having conversations with NO cell phones and NO TV's screaming about sports. Restaurants are for dining and conversation. And that may it very pleasurable, relaxing evening.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Each one of us five had a different meal and each one was delicious. Outstanding service.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Gluten Free Options, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Perfect evening of food, wine, ambiance, fun and excellent service

Tags: Tasting Menu, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Always and forever a very special place to go, to be, to enjoy. Outstanding food and service, by the river and surrounded by myriads of roses. A wonderful Memphis jewel!

Tags: Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Afternoon Coffee, Afternoon Tea, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Enjoyed Sunday brunch very much. Waiter was excellent as was the food. Was surprised that there was a stain on the table cloth and crumbs on the table when seated. Otherwise everything was excellent.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 2, 2017

We rate this restaurant a B+ but take into consideration we frequent restaurants and are picky. The food was good but not great. We had the lamb chops which were a good size but when comparing price and portions size to a restaurant such as Itta Bena's the portions size is smaller and costs more at Paulette's. The ambience was decent but no live music in restaurant. Desserts were really good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Took my 91 -year old aunt for a birthday supper. She uses a walker and the staff made it all easy. It was a grand occasion, the food superb, I would recommend to any and every one!

Tags: Disabled Access, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Awesome crab cakes!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on March 18, 2017

I treated my husband to dinner for his birthday. The service was outstanding. Our food was cooked to perfection and the meat was well seasoned. He had steak and I had lamb chops, it was so delicious. Our server, Chris, was very attentive and knew the menu well. His recommendations were spot on especially with the wine. I could not think of a better choice to celebrate his day.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Certainly not great. Did not live up to its billing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Overall we enjoyed our brunch. A few things were lacking. It is a bit cramped for people to get by our table. Ham was chewy on the eggs Benedict. Pop overs were cold. But on the positive side it has a lovely setting. The chicken crepe was delicious. Crab cakes looked good. Our guest enjoyed hers. Possibly if we sat in a different room we would have had a different experience.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We were treated very well and the food was amazing! This restaurant has a very quaint, elegant decor and an easy ambiance. Hands-on manager came to our table and definitely added to our dining experience. Charming atmosphere and worth the drive to Harbor Town. Added bonus is that parking is plentiful and never an issue.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Love this place! View amazing and food was phenomenal!

Tags: Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Romantic, Authentic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on March 5, 2017

I took my mother and sister here as a special brunch before a show at the Orpheum. My mother had been wanting to go for years now as she remembered Paulettes being exceptional many years ago.

I have to say that I have never been quite so disappointed in everything other than the beautiful appearance of the restaurant.

The hostess had a bit of a snobby attitude, but did her job. Our popovers were slightly burnt. 2 out of the 3 items we ordered were very bland and not cooked properly. 1 out of the 3 items we ordered was not delivered to the table in it's entirety and was not presented as requested with sauce on the side. Upon informing the person who delivered our food to the table (not our server) that it was incorrect, he did not apologize. When our server brought the corrected menu item, it was still missing one of the vegetables listed on the menu. Our server tried to say it was under the fish, but we lifted the fish to reveal no vegetables.

I would not come back. Nothing was offenaive, but I would not risk wasting money and time on tasteless food again.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Another great brunch prior to going to the theater. Busy place but very attentive, glad I made reservations through Open Table. Will return.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 28, 2017

We went before going to the Orpheum. It was really nice. It has been one of my favorites for years!

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 28, 2017

A few of the dishes were over sauced. Delicious but swimming.

Dessert: so delicate in the proportions. (Extreme sarcasm).
Taste and fun.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Historic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Fantastic restaurant with a quaint atmosphere. Amazing food for brunch and lunch. Great Belinis!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Private Room, Scenic View, Historic, Fun, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Never disappoints!!! Romantic restaurant with fabulous food!!! Fantastic atmosphere, great service. My wife and I love this place!!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 20, 2017

It was my first time dining there. It was a very pleasant experience. The food requires a more developed palette than I currently have; however, the crab cakes were delicious. I would encourage my friends to go there, if they haven't been.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 19, 2017

This is now one of our favorite restaurants. Go, just to get the popovers with strawberry butter.
The meal was amazing! The pork tenderloin was perfectly prepared.
My husband had the sea bass with crab, and said it was wonderful.
We have also had brunch here, and would recommend that , also.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 19, 2017

This was our first time at Paulette's. We both ordered the Filet Mignon, and they were cooked to perfection! I loved the environment. The restaurant is located in a great location by the river. We would love to return and be able to enjoy that area a little more. I do have to say, our server was not the greatest. My boyfriend was annoyed by the lack of refills, and sat with an empty drink until we received our entrée. When paying, we wanted to use a VISA gift card - which had $100 available to spend - along with cash. The waiter came back to the table only to say that our card had nothing on it (when returning to the Peabody, our hotel for the night, we discovered that the card actually was active with full balance still remaining). We ended up paying with cash and tipping our waiter. These occurrences would have really made a dinner more enjoyable, however, I do think we would try again in the future. I would definitely recommend it to a friend!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Absolutely loved everything about dinning at Paulette's! The best.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Delicious - we went out a few days late for Valentines Day. It was perfect!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Usually I love Paulette's, but I will never eat there again on Valentines. I had 8:30 reservations and was not seated until 9:10. For the restaurant to have a $45 per person cancellation policy, guest should be seated for whatever time scheduled. Also, behind us was a table of 12. The table was so loud that my wife and I could barely hear each other. The food of course was fantastic as usual. I just know now avoid Paulette's on holidays.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 15, 2017

My husband and I chose Paulette's for Valentines Day. They had a special menu to choose from and consisted of an Appetizer, main course and dessert. It IS pricey however, it's well worth it! Great for Special occasions!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 14, 2017

My scallop dish on risotto included a very heavy sauce the was inappropriate for scallops. The sauce overpowered the dish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The atmosphere is fantastic however I was a little disappointed in the quality of food and the service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 13, 2017

After two visits, food and service excellent. Flavorful and just right portions. This restaurant has the most comfortable chairs!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 13, 2017

Very good restaurant with a great atmosphere and location. I will definitely go again!

Tags: Late-night Find, Cozy, Waterfront, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Romantic spot with excellent service and delicious food.

Tags: Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We have been eating at Paulette's since the 70's when the original restaurant was in Overton Square. It is simply superb. It is a must when we visit Memphis.

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Waterfront, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Mississippi)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Paulette's has been a reliable favorite of ours for over 30 years. The Filet Paulette is my go-to standard, and the fish of the day offerings were spectacular. It is a perfect place for quiet, upscale dining just outside the downtown Memphis buzz. Mike was our waiter and did a fantastic job... just the right about of attentiveness without being too much or too little. Glad to see they still serve popovers with Strawberry Butter!

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Business Meals, Cozy, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Paulette's was perfect. Amazing food, impeccable service, quiet and elegant atmosphere! We will definitely go back regularly!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Outstanding Value, Authentic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.