About Paulette's Restaurant at the River Inn of Harbor Town

50 Harbor Town Square
Memphis, TN 38103
View Larger Map

Paulette's Restaurant at the AAA 4 Diamond - River Inn of Harbor Town



Paulette's, which has been operating successfully in Memphis for 42 years, recently moved its popular, award winning operation to the River Inn. It has been described by one reviewer as "A Memphis institution and for a very good reason". Paulette's is serving the same soups, salads, and entrees that have made it so well known throughout the mid-south for many years. The restaurant has always been famous for its desserts and hot popovers with strawberry butter. Paulette's has a distinct warmth, charm and ambiance that is unsurpassed in the city. Restaurant polls have annually recognized Paulette's as Memphis" "Most Romantic" and for it's cuisine - "Best Continental".

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Global, International, Contemporary French / American, International

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Daily: 7:00am - 10:00am

Lunch: 11:00 am - 2:00 pm

Dinner: Sunday-Thursday 5:00pm - 9:00 pm, Friday-Saturday 5:00pm - 9:30pm

Brunch (Saturday & Sunday): 11:00 am - 2:00 pm

Cross Street:
Island Drive

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(901) 260-3300

Website:
http://paulettes.net/

Entertainment:
Before & after dinner, you can enjoy the cozy setting & hospitality of the LITTLE BAR, relax in front of the lobby's wood-burning fireplace set in an 1850s era New Orleans mantel and listen to the live piano music or the roof terrace with the best view in Town of the river. An extensive & carefully selected wine list is overseen by our Restaurant Manager.

Catering:
Catering events are served at our Harbor Square Room (up to 40 Guest) or Harbor Square and River View Rooms (up to 60 guest). Also our new River Hall and the Court Yard with Gazebo, ideal for receptions and weddings.. can accommodate up to 200 guest reception style.
During the day we have available the "Terrace" at the River Inn, overlooking the Mississippi River, The Terrace accommodates up to 50 guest.

Executive Chef:
Jason Dallas

Private Party Facilities:
A private board room overlooking our temperature controlled wine room. The "Terrace" on the rooftop with views of the Mississippi (for day functions only), River Hall, free standing building with court yard and Gazebo, overlooking the Mississippi River. Paulette's River View and Harbor Square Rooms.

Private Party Contact:
Katie Ogden: 9012603333x2105

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Special Events are held at the "new" River Hall; overlooking the Mississippi River. Offering in-door up to 85 seated or 150 reception style. the Court Yard with Gazebo is the place for weddings and receptions - up to 120 seated and 200 reception style.

Paulette's Restaurant at the River Inn of Harbor Town Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Memphis
Romantic
Memphis
Special Occasion
Memphis
3 More
Best Ambiance
Memphis
Romantic
Memphis
Special Occasion
Memphis
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

special occasion (74)
romantic (63)
scenic view (47)
See All
neighborhood gem (36)
fit for foodies (33)
great for brunch (31)
great for lunch (18)
notable wine list (17)
good for groups (11)
hot spot (6)
late-night find (5)
kid-friendly (4)
great for outdoor dining (2)
vibrant bar scene (2)
Sort By:
Newest
894 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is my wife's favorite restaurant, a ...

Dined 3 days ago

This is my wife's favorite restaurant, and I usually bring her here for special occasions.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dining at Paulette's was a great experie ...

Dined on June 23, 2016

Dining at Paulette's was a great experience!! I chose the restaurant as a first wedding anniversary celebration and it was all 5 stars. The service was impeccable and the food was superb from start to finish. Please try the Filet Paulette if you are dining at Paulette's. My wife and I also had breakfast at Paulette's since we stayed overnight at the River Inn.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Paulettes was a great experience. The fo ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Paulettes was a great experience. The food was delicious and the service excellent. The chef went out of his way to accommodate my wife's food sensitivities. I suggest however that you refrain from ordering the Kahlua desert unless you intent to share it amount several fortunate people.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

My husband, teenage daughter, and I had ...

vip
Dined on June 17, 2016

My husband, teenage daughter, and I had a superb lunch at this waterfront restaurant. It was an incredibly great value. My husband had strawberry and arugula salad with salmon, while my daughter had fried chicken sandwich, and I had chicken crepes. The plates were excellently prepared. The restaurant was traditionally furnished, bright, and well-kept. It is a shame that parking and a road come between the restaurant and the river. It was a really memorably nice meal.

food2
ambience4
service3
value2

The food was disappointing . The ambie ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

The food was disappointing . The ambience was very nice . The waitstaff was uninformed about the menu and whether or not there was going to be soup of the day.

food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Paulette's for brunch is a must-do when ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Paulette's for brunch is a must-do when visiting Memphis. Beautiful setting, very nice selection of well prepared dishes, exquisite service.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

I have had dinner at Paulette's on sever ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

I have had dinner at Paulette's on several occasions but this time was not the great experience I have had in the past

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent service, excellent flavors! T ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Excellent service, excellent flavors! The popover with strawberry butter was quite memorable!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I had the fillet mignon with asparagus a ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

I had the fillet mignon with asparagus and potatoes. Excellent steak and veggies. The waiter was attentive, but didn't hover. My wife had the rack of lamb and thoroughly enjoyed her meal. We will definitely go back again.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had two fabulous dinners at Paulette's ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Had two fabulous dinners at Paulette's this past weekend. Definitely recommend.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We look forward to having dinner again a ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

We look forward to having dinner again at Paulette's next time we're in Memphis and hopefully have a table closer to the piano player.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place to dine.

vip
Dined on June 8, 2016

Another wonderful meal and as always...impeccable wait staff.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4

The new chef has raised the quality of t ...

Dined on June 8, 2016

The new chef has raised the quality of the food and makes an effort to come out and greet the guests. We were there for a wine tasting dinner and unfortunately the regular guests at the table next to the room were very loud, hampering our ability to hear about the wines when they were introduced.

food5
ambience4
service4

The filet was delicious!

vip
Dined on June 4, 2016

The filet was delicious!

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Surprise find in stop-over Memphis

Dined on May 31, 2016

On our way to Houston from St. Louis, we spent the night in Memphis. Our two families wanted to have a rather quiet good dinner by the riverfront. We chose Paulette's from the internet. We were completely satisfied with the food and the service. Only flaw was that the wait person offered a special dish of Red Fish but came back from the kitchen to say that the last piece was sold and I consider that as bad communication between the chef and the wait staff.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

EXCELLENT DINNER CHOICE

Dined on May 28, 2016

Paulette's was a fantastic place with delicious dining options. We enjoyed the separate chicken and steak entrees. For appetizer, make sure to order the mozzarella balls. The only downside was the lack of beer options as bottled beer was all that was available. However, I highly recommend overall.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Whenever I have guests in town, I like t ...

vip
Dined on May 28, 2016

Whenever I have guests in town, I like to take them to Paulette's for dinner. The service is always top notch and the food is fantastic. The Filet Paulette is outstanding, but have never had anything that wasn't delicious. Good wine selection also.

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Beautiful restaurant with excellent food ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

Beautiful restaurant with excellent food. Everybody enjoyed their meal and there were no leftovers. Menu is a little bit limited but everything we tried was excellent. So I guess the takeaway is "do the things you do very well, even if there's not a ton of them." Parking was a little awkward, as this is a restaurant in a large residential neighborhood. It may have designated parking, but it was raining hard that night and I could not find it. The restaurant had the feel of an old Southern mansion with many little rooms (which was nice) though it seems to be relatively new. Conversations were easy with just a few tables per room. Got to hear conversations at nearby tables, too. Fortunately, nothing awkward. Drinks were great.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved the piano playing while me and the ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

Loved the piano playing while me and the miss was enjoying our dinner and the waiter suggestions on wine and dessert was on point. It was truly a romantic place and setting.

food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and I dined there on a Saturday ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

My wife and I dined there on a Saturday night. We ordered the pork chop to split and it was more than enough for the two of us. It was tender,juicy and had a wonderful flavor. Our server Mike did an outstanding job. Can't wait to go back.

food5
ambience5
service5

The food and service excellent as always ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

The food and service excellent as always.

food3
ambience5
service3
value3

We were very disappointed on this visit ...

vip
Dined on May 16, 2016

We were very disappointed on this visit to Paulette's. We went on Monday night because of their $19.95 specials on Mondays. In the past, it has been fine. This time, not so much. My husband had the beef tenderloin over mashed potatoes and I had the chicken. He said his was fine, but nothing special. My chicken was too tough to cut. I could not chew it through. OUr waiter did not come back toi check on us until my husband was nearly finished with his meal. All I could eat of mine was the veggies and potatoes. When our waiter finally came close, I still had to hail him to come to the table. He took my plate away even though I was obviously still eating the veggies. IN fact, he yanked it out from under my fork. He said he would have them make me another plate. I wished he had asked rather than telling me. If I could have finished the veggies, I would have been ok and just asked for an adjustment on our bill. As it was, I had to wait for them to cook another plate of overcooked and tough chicken for me. It was not as bad, so I ate what I could. The server said that they rarely have anything go back and that he was sorry, and that the chef said it was overcooked. Indeed it was. I do not know if they used frozen breast filets for the dish, but tough chicken only happens with overcooking or cooking too fast. It almost tasted like it was nuked. We will go back because we like Paulettes. But, I'll never order chicken there again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The whole experience was exceptional. Th ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

The whole experience was exceptional. The service was wonderful and over the top! The food was great. Our party included 3 young grandchildren.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

lovely brunch

Dined on May 15, 2016

I had brunch at Paulette's last Sunday along with two friends, and we had a wonderful time! The food was delicious (I had the salad with goat cheese and strawberries and the chicken kebob with mushroom sauce). Both were wonderful

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The grad dinner

Dined on May 14, 2016

Awesome food !! Love this place It's right on the Mississippi in a quieter part of Memphis , tn . People are very nice too !!

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our visit to Paulette's was to celebrate ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Our visit to Paulette's was to celebrate a special lady in my life, my mother. This was her first time dining here. The popovers with strawberry butter were a delightful before-dinner surprise to her. After our visit, she told me, "Thanks for the wonderful memory!" Our evening couldn't have been more pleasant. We will return...and often!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5

Food perfect Service perfect Very good ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Food perfect Service perfect Very good place

food3
ambience4
service3
value2

It's Okay

Dined on May 8, 2016

Went for Mother's Day. Lobster was dry..potatoes were delicious. Very small sliver of cake for dessert.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful experience. Wish only that we ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Wonderful experience. Wish only that we might have been able to order a simple fruit or vegetable for a 1 year old. Prix fixe Mother's day menu for a small child does not work.

food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Good food!

Dined on May 8, 2016

We ate here for the first time last weekend. The food was excellent. I had the filet which was very good. My wife had pasta which was also very good. And of course we had 'K-pie' for dessert which was amazing. Our server was a somewhat odd older gentleman who never introduced himself and seemed a little out of sorts. He was very nice though. We would go back again.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

AWESOME!!

Dined on May 7, 2016

My wife and I were celebrating our anniversary and thought we would try out the restaurant. The atmosphere was exquisite and our service was impeccable. We both had the pork chop, which was amazing. Our server was attentive, but not overbearing and allowed us to enjoy our time together, while quietly taking care of serving our needs. Overall, a wonderful experience and our first time at the restaurant. Well done!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great & special

Dined on April 30, 2016

The only drawback we found with this restaurant was the wine list. It is too small for the caliber of food, service & price. We were very happy with the mixed drinks we chose instead but the wine would have complimented the visit better.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Best steak I've had in memphis. The dess ...

vip
Dined on April 27, 2016

Best steak I've had in memphis. The desserts are amazing. Very accommodating, well thought out menu. Excellent, professional servers.

food2
ambience3
service1

For the first time, my husband and I wer ...

Dined on April 26, 2016

For the first time, my husband and I were disappointed in Paulette's. The food was okay but not great. The server was preoccupied with other tables. We were seated at the front by the front door. It was very loud and not special.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Incredible meal, incredible view

Dined on April 25, 2016

Nothing beats watching the sun go down into the Mississippi while having a wonderful dinner.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service2

Very disappointed. Not what it used to b ...

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

Very disappointed. Not what it used to be. Service ( I believe his name was Ryan) was not very good. Food was okay but not great. We will not be coming back. Miss the old Paulette's at Overton Square.

food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Simply amazing

Dined on April 23, 2016

This place was the spot to have my date. I loved every minute of it. She did too

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

View and location great, food OK

Dined on April 22, 2016

I have been a Paulette's customer over 30 years so I have followed the menu from Overton Square to River Inn and after several meals in the "new" location I realize the menu lacks it's former uniqueness. The popovers and strawberry butter and desserts are great as usual but they should not be the only highlight of an expectedly fine meal. The soup selection is wanting the alternative that used to be Hungerian Gulyas and Cheddar Cheese. The entrees lack the variety which included chicken kabobs and more seafood choices. I just wanted you to know that any night of the week may be a special occasion so try and offer those items that used to make Paulette's extra special on every menu.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

The service was surly and the food fair ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

The service was surly and the food fair at best which is a hugh disappointment. We've been going to Paulette's for over 25 years, however this is my last time.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Paulette's is perfection!

Dined on April 17, 2016

My date and I went to Paulette's for our dinner on prom night and it was absolutely amazing!! He got filet mignon and I got chicken sicilian, and we got the k-pie for dessert! Fabulous!!!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.