Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.81mi
  3. Distance: 1.04mi
  4. Distance: 1.04mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.81mi
  3. Distance: 1.04mi
  4. Distance: 1.04mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.81mi
  3. Distance: 1.04mi
  4. Distance: 1.04mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.81mi
  3. Distance: 1.04mi
  4. Distance: 1.04mi

About Paulette's Restaurant at the River Inn of Harbor Town

Paulette's Restaurant at the AAA 4 Diamond - River Inn of Harbor Town



Paulette's, which has been operating successfully in Memphis for 42 years, recently moved its popular, award winning operation to the River Inn. It has been described by one reviewer as "A Memphis institution and for a very good reason". Paulette's is serving the same soups, salads, and entrees that have made it so well known throughout the mid-south for many years. The restaurant has always been famous for its desserts and hot popovers with strawberry butter. Paulette's has a distinct warmth, charm and ambiance that is unsurpassed in the city. Restaurant polls have annually recognized Paulette's as Memphis" "Most Romantic" and for it's cuisine - "Best Continental".

50 Harbor Town Square
Memphis, TN 38103
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Global, International, Contemporary French / American, International

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Daily: 7:00am - 10:00am

Lunch: 11:00 am - 2:00 pm

Dinner: Sunday-Thursday 5:00pm - 9:00 pm, Friday-Saturday 5:00pm - 9:30pm

Brunch (Saturday & Sunday): 11:00 am - 2:00 pm

Cross Street:
Island Drive

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(901) 260-3300

Website:
http://paulettes.net/

Entertainment:
Before & after dinner, you can enjoy the cozy setting & hospitality of the LITTLE BAR, relax in front of the lobby's wood-burning fireplace set in an 1850s era New Orleans mantel and listen to the live piano music or the roof terrace with the best view in Town of the river. An extensive & carefully selected wine list is overseen by our Restaurant Manager.

Catering:
Catering events are served at our Harbor Square Room (up to 40 Guest) or Harbor Square and River View Rooms (up to 60 guest). Also our new River Hall and the Court Yard with Gazebo, ideal for receptions and weddings.. can accommodate up to 200 guest reception style.
During the day we have available the "Terrace" at the River Inn, overlooking the Mississippi River, The Terrace accommodates up to 50 guest.

Executive Chef:
Jason Dallas

Private Party Facilities:
A private board room overlooking our temperature controlled wine room. The "Terrace" on the rooftop with views of the Mississippi (for day functions only), River Hall, free standing building with court yard and Gazebo, overlooking the Mississippi River. Paulette's River View and Harbor Square Rooms.

Private Party Contact:
Katie Ogden: (901) 260-3333 ext. 2105

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Special Events are held at the "new" River Hall; overlooking the Mississippi River. Offering in-door up to 85 seated or 150 reception style. the Court Yard with Gazebo is the place for weddings and receptions - up to 120 seated and 200 reception style.

Paulette's Restaurant at the River Inn of Harbor Town Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

Noise

Quiet

91% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (39)
Good for a Date (31)
Romantic (29)
See All
Quiet Conversation (24)
Scenic View (24)
Waterfront (23)
Worth the Drive (23)
Good for Birthdays (22)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Cozy (20)
Neighborhood Gem (20)
Authentic (15)
Great for Brunch (13)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Great for Lunch (12)
Business Meals (11)
Notable Wine List (11)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Casual (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Live Music (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
People Watching (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Fun (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Healthy (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Seasonal (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Tapas (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
1169 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

View of the river is very nice. Service was excellent and the food was good as well

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

The food was delicious. The salmon was the best. It was tender and not over cooked.

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Had Sunday brunch with family. Easy to get to from downtown Memphis. Excellent value and excellent service. I think our waiter was named George. He was wonderful.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

disabled access nothing to brag about not horrible but could be a lot better

Tags: Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Anniversary dinner. Been going there for years but it seems as though the dress code has relaxed significantly. Not the Paulette’s it used to be.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 4, 2017

Expensive breakfast for anyone’s tastes with very limited menu and quantities. The creamer was spilled by my wife and we were moved could have been the high spot of the meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Great food in a beautuful place brimming with ambiance. The wait staff works hard to ensure you have a memorable experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Excellent again for neighbors 40 th Anniversary. This was a memory they will cherish.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Brunch, Happy Hour, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Paulette's is a Memphis legend; I've dined there before and had fine meals. This time, however, was less stellar.

For "Starters" my wife had the foie gras and braised pears, and I had the "Artisinal" cheese plate. The foie gras came with a mound of greens and the pears were braised in red wine; the dish was tasty but not exactly loaded with either foie gras or pears. The cheese plate came with blue-veined, yellow (cheddar type) and white (Camembert type) cheeses; there was a generous amount of cheese along with fruit compote, berries, etc.

For the main course, my wife ordered the Grilled Lamb Chops which were not actually lamb chops but slices from a rack of lamb - very good but not exactly as advertised. That wasn't a problem, but it's not a good sign when what is served isn't quite what was ordered. Her sides were Gouda cheese grits and bacon-apple Brussels sprouts. The grits were good, but the Gouda made for such a rich dish it was hard to finish. My wife loves Brussels sprouts and thought they were delicious.

For my entree, I considered the 8-oz filet because it came with a rosemary demi-glace but our server recommended the Sautéed black pepper encrusted filet mignon instead so I tried that. It was prepared with a butter cream sauce and served with fresh julienne tomato, onion, bell pepper and whipped potatoes. The latter were the typical euro-style, finely pureed and squeezed from a pastry bag onto a small plate. The filet did have black pepper but was far from "encrusted." The sauce tasted of roasted red bell peppers which was fine, and there were a few julienne vegetables as advertised.

The problem for both of us was that the dishes were well-prepared and technically correct, but were not at all inspiring. They were very good, and I don't want to use words like "lackluster" but in all honesty we were expecting something a bit more interesting and savory from Paulette's - we've been there before and we know they can do better.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

My wife and I have been eating at Paulette's for over 30 years.
However, since moving downtown, we have not taken time to go there.
SO, for my wife's birthday this year, she wanted "K pie" and "Paulette's fillet". We have been married 27 years, so I was happy to make the reservation.
We were very disappointed.
Mediocrity is the operating word here.
The food was not terrible. The service was not awful. But there was absolutely nothing special about it. It didn't help that the young couple sitting next to us got 4 times the attention as we did. Our water was empty, no pepper was offered for our salad, the wine by the glass we ordered was disparaged as not as good as some of the others. Most of the people at our table were expeditors, not the waiter.
But the food also was mundane. Stuffed mushrooms were mounds of stuffing over microscopic mushrooms, the wedge salad was exactly that - no more preparation than a knife chopping a hunk of lettuce. The signature Fillet Paulette was OK, not great and I remember better beef under that cream sauce.
There was no big thing wrong - but it was totally mediocre.
We left without ordering "K Pie", and I told her I would take her to Houston's next week for a Cheeseburger. (I was half joking - we had gone there for the first in a long time the week before and I had a Cheeseburger. It was a much more satisfying experience than Paulette's, I am sad to say. )
So I guess we are getting old. Things have changed. Sometimes my joints hurt, and I guess I'll never go back to order K-Pie.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 30, 2017

We were staying at the River Inn hotel where Paulette's is located on the quiet Mud Island. Nice location, pretty decor and not over-crowded with tables. Friendly and efficient wait staff. I wouldn't characterize the menu as particularly inventive but it covered the bases with options for just about anyone. There were two of us and we both chose the Redfish with crab meat with a lemon beurre blanc on asparagus. It was excellent. They were nice enough to adapt one of the more interesting salads -- greens, dried cherries, oranges, goat cheese and walnuts -- to accommodate a food sensitivity, but some acceptable ingredients were missing when it arrived. My friend ordered their massive Kahlua and coffee ice cream pie on a pecan and coconut crust. Nice combo of flavors. However, the ice cream filling had some ice in it -- perhaps the ice cream had melted and been refrozen or it was old. It seemed to be a theme as I had a vanilla ice cream crepe with chocolate sauce and chocolate shavings, and the scoops of ice cream had a similar problem. I also thought there was too much ice cream (Is that possible?!) to really enjoy the lovely crepe and the yummy chocolate sauce, and the chocolate "shavings" -- nuggets really -- were unnecessary.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on September 28, 2017

Horrible service, from hostess to the waiter. Got our lunch order wrong and had to wait 30 minutes. Ridiculous, not even a I’m sorry or please let us comp this......nothing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
·Dined on September 25, 2017

We chose this restaurant because it was rated #3 in Memphis.
We were at Flight a couple of weeks prior and loved it but wanted to experience other restaurant s in Memphis. Paulette's was a HUGE disappointment.
We were not greeted at the door amd the food was well below average in taste and presentation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on September 24, 2017

This is one of my favorite restaurants. Usually have dinner but was downtown for Sunday morning service so decided to try them for breakfast. It was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

The food was very good. I thought that the portion size of my redfish entree was a little small.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Delicious. Waiter was exceptionally nice and helpful. Enjoyed our dinner before the Orpheum show.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 18, 2017

Our experience at Paulette's was lovely. However, we grabbed drinks at the Terrace bar above before our reservation and the service was terrible. Like really bad.

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Paulette's has been a favorite of our's since 1976. Superb food, atmosphere, and service. We eat there every time we are in Memphis.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Walked in the door and went right to our table. Everybody was very nice. Our orders were taken very quickly. Best steak on the island! Deserts were fabulous.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Excellent food and presentation in an elegant setting near the waterfront. Waitress could have been better, forgot to serve us our salad, but otherwise a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

Chris (our server) was amazing; very attentive and accommodating. The ambiance was absolutely stunning and romantic. Perfect for my intimate birthday celebration.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Live Music, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Scenic View, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 14, 2017

The timing was excellent and the service was wonderful

Tags: Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Paulette's is one of our family's "go to" restaurants for special occasions.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 6, 2017

Pauletts remains a stable force in downtown Memphis. Always dependable great food and excellent service. The rooftop bar/small plates provides a wonderful panorama of the Mississippi River. Would recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for a memorable experience.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Absolutely wonderful food. From the popovers to strawberry crepe dessert. You'll love it.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 31, 2017

Have been told to try Paulette's since I moved to Memphis about a year ago. Ordered the bel air salad for appetizer. The crepes with crab meat and spinach and the chicken with angel hair. Didn't finish a single thing. No good. Ended with the 40 year tawny and some creme brûlée that was pretty average. Overall a disappointing experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 26, 2017

We were in town from Boston and found this restaurant. The atmosphere was really nice, quiet and comfortable. The service was excellent and we took her recommendation for for the fried green tomatoes for an appetizer. Being from Boston we had never had them and are glad we tried them. They were delicious. I had the chicken Sicilian and it was excellent with the angel hair pasta along with summer Squash. My husband had the filet and he also enjoyed every bite of it. Unfortunately, we did not have room for dessert. If ever in the area again, we will be back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Awesome food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on August 25, 2017

We went to Paulette's to celebrate our 48th anniversary. Having been there before with friends we knew we couldn't go wrong in picking Paulette's. Our server, Chris, was great. Our dinner selections were all you could ask for both in taste and quantity. Chris surprised us with a glass of Champagne to help us celebrate our anniversary. Parking is on street, but on a night with the right temperature and easy breeze a walk with your best girl is the perfect way to close a wonderful evening.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on August 23, 2017

I like that I can make lunch reservations for a special occasion. My friend and I both picked favorites available when the restaurant was located in Overton Square. The chicken brochette with rice and mushroom sauce is the ultimate comfort food. We enjoyed a lovely birthday luncheon with the perfect Mississippi River view. Highly Recommend!

Tags: Business Meals, Cozy, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Outstanding meal and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Paulette's offer a great atmosphere along with impeccable customer service. The food is also great for the price. Great place for a date! :)

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on August 11, 2017

I was disappointed that they didn't acknowledge my friend's birthday even though I had listed it on the reservation. I found a hair on the table and there was a fly that kept visiting our table. I had been there the previous Friday and it appeared things were in better shape then. Maybe it was just "one of those days".

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on August 10, 2017

We wanted to treat our friend to a wonderful meal before she moved. They had our requested table by the window ready. Each of our meals and desserts was delicious! The service quietly efficient. A lovely lunch with a view!!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Seasonal, Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 7, 2017

Husband and I came to Memphis for our honeymoon. Looked up romantic places to eat at for dinner and Paulette's was one of the options. Reservations were at 7:30, but we got there at 7pm and were seated immediately with a view of the river. Our waiter was very kind and did an excellent job in serving us. Food is expensive, but that's what you get when you want to eat a fine dining restaurant such as Paulette's. Other than that, the food was amazing and very fulfilling. The wine and champagne they had was excellent as well. I would definitely recommend this restaurant for couples who want a a nice, quiet and romantic evening dinner together. Or for business meetings too.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

What a great experience! The location was so accessible, the environment quiet and charming, but most importantly the food and service were stellar. I highly recommend Paulettes for any occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Great time at Paulette's. Will dine there again soon. Food was excellent

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, People Watching, Scenic View, Authentic, Fun, Business Meals, Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 1, 2017

We chose this restaurant for our 25th anniversary dinner. Let me first say that that food was absolutely delicious and worth every single penny. However, we happened to be there on a night that they had wine tasting and we were put in the room right off of where that was happening, so it was VERY busy and VERY loud, so not conducive to romance or conversation, which was a bummer. .. The table that we had was right near the window and we could see the river, so that was nice, although it was cloudy, so no sunset. So, if you make a reservation, make sure it's not on wine tasting night! ;) We actually stayed at River Inn, so we also were treated to breakfast at Paulette's as well, and that meal was just as delicious as dinner, and I would highly recommend both!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Everything about the dinner was outstanding. The room was quiet and comfortable, the food and wine were delicious, and the service was excellent.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.