About Paulette's Restaurant at the River Inn of Harbor Town

50 Harbor Town Square
Memphis, TN 38103
View Larger Map

Paulette's Restaurant at the AAA 4 Diamond - River Inn of Harbor Town



Paulette's, which has been operating successfully in Memphis for 42 years, recently moved its popular, award winning operation to the River Inn. It has been described by one reviewer as "A Memphis institution and for a very good reason". Paulette's is serving the same soups, salads, and entrees that have made it so well known throughout the mid-south for many years. The restaurant has always been famous for its desserts and hot popovers with strawberry butter. Paulette's has a distinct warmth, charm and ambiance that is unsurpassed in the city. Restaurant polls have annually recognized Paulette's as Memphis" "Most Romantic" and for it's cuisine - "Best Continental".

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Global, International, Contemporary French / American, International

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Daily: 7:00am - 10:00am

Lunch: 11:00 am - 2:00 pm

Dinner: Sunday-Thursday 5:00pm - 9:00 pm, Friday-Saturday 5:00pm - 9:30pm

Brunch (Saturday & Sunday): 11:00 am - 2:00 pm

Cross Street:
Island Drive

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(901) 260-3300

Website:
http://paulettes.net/

Entertainment:
Before & after dinner, you can enjoy the cozy setting & hospitality of the LITTLE BAR, relax in front of the lobby's wood-burning fireplace set in an 1850s era New Orleans mantel and listen to the live piano music or the roof terrace with the best view in Town of the river. An extensive & carefully selected wine list is overseen by our Restaurant Manager.

Catering:
Catering events are served at our Harbor Square Room (up to 40 Guest) or Harbor Square and River View Rooms (up to 60 guest). Also our new River Hall and the Court Yard with Gazebo, ideal for receptions and weddings.. can accommodate up to 200 guest reception style.
During the day we have available the "Terrace" at the River Inn, overlooking the Mississippi River, The Terrace accommodates up to 50 guest.

Executive Chef:
Jason Dallas

Private Party Facilities:
A private board room overlooking our temperature controlled wine room. The "Terrace" on the rooftop with views of the Mississippi (for day functions only), River Hall, free standing building with court yard and Gazebo, overlooking the Mississippi River. Paulette's River View and Harbor Square Rooms.

Private Party Contact:
Katie Ogden: 9012603333x2105

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Special Events are held at the "new" River Hall; overlooking the Mississippi River. Offering in-door up to 85 seated or 150 reception style. the Court Yard with Gazebo is the place for weddings and receptions - up to 120 seated and 200 reception style.

Paulette's Restaurant at the River Inn of Harbor Town Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Memphis
Romantic
Memphis
Best Ambiance
Memphis
1 More
Romantic
Memphis
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Romantic (32)
Good for a Date (29)
Special Occasion (26)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (22)
Quiet Conversation (21)
Scenic View (18)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Worth the Drive (15)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Cozy (14)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Waterfront (12)
Business Meals (11)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Great for Brunch (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Casual (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Notable Wine List (5)
Authentic (5)
Historic (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Local Ingredients (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Fun (3)
Bar Seating (2)
People Watching (2)
Healthy (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Private Room (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Fireplace (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Spicy (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Organic (1)
Seasonal (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
960 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great place to have a quiet, laid back l ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined 2 days ago

Great place to have a quiet, laid back lunch with friends. Love this place.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Overall a very good restaurant with very ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined 3 days ago

Overall a very good restaurant with very good food, service and ambiance. Nice wine list too, but it wasn't accurate, as we ordered a "Grand Cru" Chablis, which turned out to be only "Premier Cru", a rather minor faux pas for some, but a major slip up for me. At the price, however, I should have suspected as much. Still a faux pas, nevertheless, which detracted from an otherwise very nice evening. As a result of staying at The River Inn, my wife and I were provided a complimentary breakfast, which was also very good. Years ago I had enjoyed Paulette's, when the restaurant was still in mid-town. If anything, Paulette's is now more upscale and I would recommend it - just keep an eye on the wine you are ordering and be willing to accept a faux pas, now and then.

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Historic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

First time eating here. We've been to mo ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined 6 days ago

First time eating here. We've been to most of the top end resturants in the area. Wonderful experience...Marzel, our waiter, was outstanding! He knew his stuff. Definitely top three.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Cozy, Waterfront, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great atmosphere. Server was cheerful a ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Great atmosphere. Server was cheerful and attentive, but a little forgetful. Food was excellent, but portions were small, especially for thanksgiving!

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Service was exceptional however both of ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Service was exceptional however both of our entrees which were fish came out so tough that you couldn't put your fork through. Looked as though it had been setting out for a lengthy time possibly a previous patrons order.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value5

Complete disappointment. My wife and I ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Complete disappointment.

My wife and I recently dined with you all for her birthday. We could not have been more disappointed with the quality of food and service. Our waiter knew nothing about the menu, bar selections and did not remove used plates from the table. The food lacked any sort of taste or character it was very generic in taste. It was also not cooked to doneness ordered, even after it was sent back to the kitchen. At that point we just wanted to get out of the place.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value2

Unfortunately we went during "Restaurant ...

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Unfortunately we went during "Restaurant week". The fish was over-cooked, the soup cold and gritty and the dessert abysmal! It's too bad they had to offer dinners for a $20.16 price. We may give them another try... the service was ~good and the atmosphere nice.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value2

We enjoyed the ambience and gourmet entr ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We enjoyed the ambience and gourmet entrees at this restaurant. We had driven 8 hours to stay at the River Inn and were delighted to have this restaurant in our hotel. We have also enjoyed a delicious breakfast in Paulette's while staying here.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

An awkward dining experience. The food i ...

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 12, 2016

An awkward dining experience. The food is always very good but the service is uncomfortable.

There is no point in making a reservation because you aren't ever seated on time (this instance we had a twenty (20) minute wait to be seated). The servers are awkward. The timing of the food delivery is wrong/bad/poor. The food is very good however.

We had a prefix menu. They brought the main course while the appetizer was still being consumed. Then they came and looked at us like 4 times after we finished the main course but didnt clear away plates for a uncomfortably long period of time. The server finally came and cleared the plates and asked us if we needed anything else as a clue to the meal being over so i handed her my c/c to wrap everything up. Then they brought desert. So strange.

The restaurant is so nice and quaint and the food is good so it makes you think about returning. The bar is small and charming but the service feels weird there too. I want their restaurant to be successful because the food is good and the venue is so charming but the people who work there need to be retrained or replaced.

Everything was a sharp contrast to the other place we ate that weekend- we went to Catherine and Marys the next night The servers/staff are so gracious and warm and attentive at Catherine and Marys and put the whole Paulettes dining experience in perspective.

In the future, re Paultettes, I would probably do to go food and rewarm/replate it at home

Tags: Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

The food, service and ambiance were outs ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 10, 2016

The food, service and ambiance were outstanding as usual.

Tags: Good for a Date, Waterfront, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Downtown dining week deal. Loved the fo ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Downtown dining week deal. Loved the food except for the bread. I'm not sure I understood it as a pre-dinner option because of the powdered sugar. Reminded me very much of a slightly overdone, oversized beignet. I'm not sure if the atmosphere consisted of the normal crowd for a Wednesday but everyone was very loud. The seating is very open and compact. This is not a style of restaurant I normally frequent so I could have false expectations about the environment. The food was well worth the visit and overall we did have a very good time although, I was happy when we finally left and could speak at a normal volume. Would visit again.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food as usual was delicious and our ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 8, 2016

The food as usual was delicious and our waiter was attentive but not annoying. Love Paulette's!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had 2 issues with our meal, the first ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 8, 2016

I had 2 issues with our meal, the first being the popover they served prior to the meal was burnt. I feel that should have never left the kitchen. Secondly my fish was dry probably left under a heat lamp I'm assuming. The coffee was wonderful and the atmosphere was too. I'll go back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

We very much enjoyed our dinner at this ...

vip
 (Little Rock)·Dined on November 3, 2016

We very much enjoyed our dinner at this quaint restaurant. It has a very cozy feel and a very friendly atmosphere. The food was delicious and very nicely presented. We will definitely return the next time we are in Memphis.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Organic, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Waterfront, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Eaten here many times. Still peaks our i ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Eaten here many times. Still peaks our interest for Sunday brunch. Menu hasn't changed much through the years but still is a great experience. Terrific view of the river, and terrific service and food. Always special.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I tried the Hungarian crepes which were ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 29, 2016

I tried the Hungarian crepes which were very good. My husband had an omelette because he is vegetarian and it was dry. Setting & decor were lovely.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful meal, great ambiance!

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Wonderful meal, great ambiance!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Favorite restaurant to enjoy before the ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Favorite restaurant to enjoy before the Orpheum performance!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Excellent food, quiet and friendly envir ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Excellent food, quiet and friendly environment suitable for business or any important occasion as well as a reunion.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Spicy, Paleo Friendly, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a nice dinner in Memphis. Really en ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 22, 2016

What a nice dinner in Memphis. Really enjoyed the service and the food. We will definitely return when we are in Memphis!

Tags: Business Meals, Private Room, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The setting was perfect for my brother's ...

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 16, 2016

The setting was perfect for my brother's birthday celebration. The variety of the menu options was great and the special birthday dessert was a delicious surprise and a real treat. The restaurant owner, whom my brother happens to know, came by the table to greet him and wish him happy birthday! What a special day!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great food, service excellent, not too o ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined on October 12, 2016

great food, service excellent, not too obtrusive, great atmosphere

One of my "go-to" restaurants when I'm in Memphis

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

We've visited many times and always cher ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on October 9, 2016

We've visited many times and always cherish out time at Paulette's. Simply marvelous.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Enjoyed the crepes. YUM! Staff was delig ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 4, 2016

Enjoyed the crepes. YUM! Staff was delightful! Will come again.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hostess and waitress were not friendly. ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Hostess and waitress were not friendly. They seem not to have any energy . The waiter's uniform/apron were so dirty. My bread plate was dirty. I was there with my family for brunch (10/1/16)and was so unhappy with the service. It was our first visit and will be our last. Total let down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Food was unimpressive; service was disap ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Food was unimpressive; service was disappointing. Coffee was spilled multiple times. Cups were so large the coffee was cold before finishing the drink. I had the eggs benedict with potatoes. The main dish was OK, but nothing special and was served warm at best. Potatoes were cold and bland (went well with the coffee), and I ate maybe half of my meal. The lady next to me felt the same way about her meal (fish) and hardly touched it. The puffs were the most pleasant item consumed at the table other than the conversation. Apparently, word is spreading as the restaurant nearly was empty. I do not intend on returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

While the food was tasty, it may have be ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on September 25, 2016

While the food was tasty, it may have been a bit overpriced.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Very calm and quiet. Very relaxed dinne ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Very calm and quiet. Very relaxed dinner. Service was outstanding

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had made a reservation for my fiancé a ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on September 24, 2016

I had made a reservation for my fiancé and I to celebrate our anniversary. Neither one of us had been to Paulette's before so we had no idea what to expect. The atmosphere and the dining area were amazing! It was quiet, but not stuffy. Our server was genuinely nice and honest with me when it came to drink and entree orders (I like to quiz servers as I used to work in the industry). The food was delicious and well priced for the serving size compared to other places we've been to. Will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We always have an enjoyable evening at P ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on September 24, 2016

We always have an enjoyable evening at Paulette's when dining here. Always. :)

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for brunch. This was my 1st time ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 18, 2016

We went for brunch. This was my 1st time here but it won't be my last. Our meal was exceptional. I had the French Toast and my mom the Hungarian dish (don't knock it until you try it as it was delicious). Our server, Daniel, was pleasant and very knowledgeable. We're here on vacation and already trying to see where we can fit it in again before we leave!! Must. Go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our second visit to Paulette's, ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 17, 2016

This was our second visit to Paulette's, both within the past few months and both with only two days to spend in Memphis. Our first visit, with friends, was an exceptionally pleasant meal. Food, service and ambience were all tops. This past weekend we were inspired to return, on our own, and found it again truly special. The salads, fish and dessert were all very well prepared and the house special popovers were an outstanding treat. Service was again friendly and professional and we also enjoy an after-meal walk on the riverfront at sundown. Staff was really helpful in getting us a cab back downtown. The whole experience was delicious and romantic. We hope to be back someday.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Quality,Service nice place,good portion ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Quality,Service nice place,good portion for the price on all menu ,pepole super,mega nice

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went to Paulette's before attending O ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on September 15, 2016

We went to Paulette's before attending Orpheum. Our meal was excellent with our salmon being some of the best I have had anywhere.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

our business party of 6 was placed next ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on September 8, 2016

our business party of 6 was placed next to a very large party of over 15 people who were celebrating a birthday. Noise level was very high and we could not have a quiet business meal with our guest. Need better allocation of seating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Food and service both OUTSTANDING! Our ( ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on September 8, 2016

Food and service both OUTSTANDING!

Our (wife and self) favorite restaurant in Memphis (with the exception of Justine's).

First started going when we moved to Memphis back in the mid 70's, and went frequently until we moved away (job reason) in the early 90's! Now retired and moved back and have enjoyed going to their "new" place in Harbor Town!

Tags: People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service was great the reaso ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 7, 2016

The food and service was great the reason for the 3 star was a very ugly bug crawling on our table and told the server about the bug he just said I will tell them . My husband could not eat most of his food....complete loss of appetite...appetite...should have at least compensated in some way to make up for the bug

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Step into a romantic Paris Cafe to enjoy ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 6, 2016

Step into a romantic Paris Cafe to enjoy authentic French cusine. The entrees are prepared by professional and creative chefs. The star of the meal is the dessert. Service has an attitude commonly found at similar establishments. Requesting anything extra is akin to committing a crime. One popover and strawberry butter per person, unfortunately the rolls were served overdone. Location near the Mighty Mississippi is delightfull. Look at the website for weekly value priced dinners. Caters to an older, more sophisticated crowd. Worth the drive for a special occasion.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Romantic, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

I typically have a great experience when ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on September 3, 2016

I typically have a great experience when arriving to this restaurant, and did a beautiful job convincing my date that I have had impeccable service and great food whenever Ive attended in the past. While the ambiance and service did not disappoint as expected, the filet mignon I raved about, was exceptionally overcooked during this dining experience. I was very disappointed, that I had to say, "It's usually better." Would hope that this issue is alleviated in the future.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

The wait time for a Sunday brunch was wa ...

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 28, 2016

The wait time for a Sunday brunch was way too much. It took 50 minutes to bring the foods to the table.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.