About Paulette's Restaurant at the River Inn of Harbor Town

50 Harbor Town Square
Memphis, TN 38103
View Larger Map

Paulette's Restaurant at the AAA 4 Diamond - River Inn of Harbor Town



Paulette's, which has been operating successfully in Memphis for 42 years, recently moved its popular, award winning operation to the River Inn. It has been described by one reviewer as "A Memphis institution and for a very good reason". Paulette's is serving the same soups, salads, and entrees that have made it so well known throughout the mid-south for many years. The restaurant has always been famous for its desserts and hot popovers with strawberry butter. Paulette's has a distinct warmth, charm and ambiance that is unsurpassed in the city. Restaurant polls have annually recognized Paulette's as Memphis" "Most Romantic" and for it's cuisine - "Best Continental".

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Global, International, Contemporary French / American, International

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Daily: 7:00am - 10:00am

Lunch: 11:00 am - 2:00 pm

Dinner: Sunday-Thursday 5:00pm - 9:00 pm, Friday-Saturday 5:00pm - 9:30pm

Brunch (Saturday & Sunday): 11:00 am - 2:00 pm

Cross Street:
Island Drive

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(901) 260-3300

Website:
http://paulettes.net/

Entertainment:
Before & after dinner, you can enjoy the cozy setting & hospitality of the LITTLE BAR, relax in front of the lobby's wood-burning fireplace set in an 1850s era New Orleans mantel and listen to the live piano music or the roof terrace with the best view in Town of the river. An extensive & carefully selected wine list is overseen by our Restaurant Manager.

Catering:
Catering events are served at our Harbor Square Room (up to 40 Guest) or Harbor Square and River View Rooms (up to 60 guest). Also our new River Hall and the Court Yard with Gazebo, ideal for receptions and weddings.. can accommodate up to 200 guest reception style.
During the day we have available the "Terrace" at the River Inn, overlooking the Mississippi River, The Terrace accommodates up to 50 guest.

Executive Chef:
Jason Dallas

Private Party Facilities:
A private board room overlooking our temperature controlled wine room. The "Terrace" on the rooftop with views of the Mississippi (for day functions only), River Hall, free standing building with court yard and Gazebo, overlooking the Mississippi River. Paulette's River View and Harbor Square Rooms.

Private Party Contact:
Katie Ogden: 9012603333x2105

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Special Events are held at the "new" River Hall; overlooking the Mississippi River. Offering in-door up to 85 seated or 150 reception style. the Court Yard with Gazebo is the place for weddings and receptions - up to 120 seated and 200 reception style.

Paulette's Restaurant at the River Inn of Harbor Town Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Memphis
Special Occasion
Memphis
Romantic
Memphis
1 More
Special Occasion
Memphis
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Special Occasion (62)
Romantic (48)
Scenic View (31)
See All
Great for Brunch (25)
Fit for Foodies (24)
Neighborhood Gem (23)
Great for Lunch (15)
Notable Wine List (12)
Good for Groups (5)
Kid-friendly (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
916 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great place, great food, and great servi ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined 5 days ago

Great place, great food, and great service. Only reason it didn't get five stars is because made reservations at 7:30 and didn't get sat until 8. Also, hostess didn't mention bar area as a waiting place and no one was sitting in there when walked to table. Yet, still an amazing time.

Tags: Scenic View, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Upon arrival for my birthday lunch, the ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined 5 days ago

Upon arrival for my birthday lunch, the 4 of us waited at the hostess desk for 3-5 min with nobody in sight. Once seated by the hostess our waiter who was assigned to our table came over & took our drink orders. He wasn't friendly at all and never smiled. It took sometime to receive our drinks and the restaurant wasn't busy on this day. It was a Saturday for lunch. After he brought our drinks he left and was gone for what seemed a long time. We were so hungry so we asked the hostess could we get some bread. That was brought to our table by the hostess. Once our waiter finally returned & we ordered. Once received our food, the experience was much better. Food was delicious as usual. I've never had a bad meal here. Outstanding food. This was not my first visit to Paulette's. I've dined here one other time & didn't have any issues with service. However if I return, I will request a different wait staff than the gentleman we had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1

Excellent service and the fare was speci ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Excellent service and the fare was special and presented with flare. Booth 6 is one of the best in the house. Thanks

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were absolutely impressed with the re ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

We were absolutely impressed with the restaurant and staff. We were there to celebrate my sixty-birthday and could not have celebrated in a more suitable place. The staff presented us with a pleasant greeting upon entry, leaving us feeling warm and welcome. Our waitress was very attentive but not invasive. The food can be discribed in one word...WOW! We had the lobster and fillet mignon steak that were seasoned and cooked to perfection. The entire experience surpassed our expectations and we will definitely not only recommend it but will visit many more times to come. Thank you so much for making my special day even more special.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We just had a quick overnight at the Riv ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We just had a quick overnight at the River Inn and was delighted to learn that Paulette's in the hotel was highly rated. We not only enjoyed our dinner but breakfast was included with our hotel stay the next morning. My husband and I both had the Ginger-Cilantro Salmon and it was very good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Great location food not that great Popov ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great location food not that great

Popovers and butter outstanding!

I had crab and spinach crepes not that good at all my husband had salmon not very good either.

We had no desert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5

The service and food was excellent. The ...

 
 (Little Rock)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

The service and food was excellent. The owner of Paulette's was there that night and he came to our table to check on us and was very nice. For a romantic dinner that has a quiet/charming atmosphere and excellent food I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great cheese board and salad

vip
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Great cheese board and salad

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

I was very disappointed with the special ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

I was very disappointed with the special. It was tough and grisly. Usually the food is fantastic. Everyone else in our group of 8 had a great meal.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

Drinks were very good. Food was just goo ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Drinks were very good. Food was just good. Service was great.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Was not aware that there was a different ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Was not aware that there was a different time for breakfast and brunch on Sunday

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Exceptional food values on their nightly ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Exceptional food values on their nightly specials. Fine service and ambiance, first class restaurant all around.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Loved this restaurant. Food was outstan ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Loved this restaurant. Food was outstanding. Was romantic and fun environment.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Entertaining out of town former Memphian ...

vip
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Entertaining out of town former Memphian who always wants to go to Paulette's. The crabmeat and spinach crepe, the filet, the crabcake and salads were all delicious. We split a chocolate crepe for dessert. Popovers and strawberry butter are still there and a great start to the meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Excellent restaurant and food. My frien ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Excellent restaurant and food. My friends and I really enjoy our time at Paulette's.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We stayed four nights at The River Inn s ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We stayed four nights at The River Inn so had breakfast here each morning. The croissants and muffins are incredible, all baked in-house. The menu includes many tasty dishes. Dinner was excellent as well, including the complimentary popovers. We had the redfish and the pork chop.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

A lovely evening. Excellent service. We ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

A lovely evening. Excellent service. We had breakfast next morning.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a wonderful dinner listening to a ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

We had a wonderful dinner listening to an amazing piano player. Our waiter, Darren, agreed to set us up in the lobby so that we could enjoy the pianist. It was great. The service was very attentive. We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

We have been to Paulette's before, but t ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We have been to Paulette's before, but this trip was disappointing. Service was very slow. I specifically asked our server about garlic in a dish that I wanted to order because I am highly allergic to garlic (which I told our server), the server checked with the chef who confirmed the dish could be made without garlic, yet my entrée came literally laced with garlic. I waited (and waited) for our server to get back to us, and he tried to argue with me that the entrée did not have garlic. I told him I could smell the garlic in it. He finally took it back to the chef, who confirmed that they had put pesto in it. The chef ended up making me a special entrée, not on the menu, which was excellent. But we again waited and waited for it to come out. My husband completely finished his meal before I got any food. Then we continued to wait for the dessert menu and finally our check. I was very disappointed. This was a birthday dinner for me, and I had hoped it would be better than this.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

Redfish entre came with two small overco ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Redfish entre came with two small overcooked shrimp on top. Server brought red wine glasses for pinot noir wine. I expected much more at a place like Paulettes. Asked for a more private seating since it was our 30th anniversary. We were seated right by the main entrance.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

This is my wife's favorite restaurant, a ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

This is my wife's favorite restaurant, and I usually bring her here for special occasions.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dining at Paulette's was a great experie ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Dining at Paulette's was a great experience!! I chose the restaurant as a first wedding anniversary celebration and it was all 5 stars. The service was impeccable and the food was superb from start to finish. Please try the Filet Paulette if you are dining at Paulette's. My wife and I also had breakfast at Paulette's since we stayed overnight at the River Inn.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, good service. 1st time we ha ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Great food, good service. 1st time we had been but not the last. Well worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Paulettes was a great experience. The fo ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Paulettes was a great experience. The food was delicious and the service excellent. The chef went out of his way to accommodate my wife's food sensitivities. I suggest however that you refrain from ordering the Kahlua desert unless you intent to share it amount several fortunate people.

Tags: Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband, teenage daughter, and I had ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

My husband, teenage daughter, and I had a superb lunch at this waterfront restaurant. It was an incredibly great value. My husband had strawberry and arugula salad with salmon, while my daughter had fried chicken sandwich, and I had chicken crepes. The plates were excellently prepared. The restaurant was traditionally furnished, bright, and well-kept. It is a shame that parking and a road come between the restaurant and the river. It was a really memorably nice meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

The food was disappointing . The ambie ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

The food was disappointing . The ambience was very nice . The waitstaff was uninformed about the menu and whether or not there was going to be soup of the day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Paulette's for brunch is a must-do when ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Paulette's for brunch is a must-do when visiting Memphis. Beautiful setting, very nice selection of well prepared dishes, exquisite service.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

I have had dinner at Paulette's on sever ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

I have had dinner at Paulette's on several occasions but this time was not the great experience I have had in the past

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Excellent service, excellent flavors! T ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Excellent service, excellent flavors! The popover with strawberry butter was quite memorable!

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I had the fillet mignon with asparagus a ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

I had the fillet mignon with asparagus and potatoes. Excellent steak and veggies. The waiter was attentive, but didn't hover. My wife had the rack of lamb and thoroughly enjoyed her meal. We will definitely go back again.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had two fabulous dinners at Paulette's ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Had two fabulous dinners at Paulette's this past weekend. Definitely recommend.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We look forward to having dinner again a ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

We look forward to having dinner again at Paulette's next time we're in Memphis and hopefully have a table closer to the piano player.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great place to dine.

vip
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Another wonderful meal and as always...impeccable wait staff.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The new chef has raised the quality of t ...

vip
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

The new chef has raised the quality of the food and makes an effort to come out and greet the guests. We were there for a wine tasting dinner and unfortunately the regular guests at the table next to the room were very loud, hampering our ability to hear about the wines when they were introduced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

The filet was delicious!

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

The filet was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Surprise find in stop-over Memphis

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

On our way to Houston from St. Louis, we spent the night in Memphis. Our two families wanted to have a rather quiet good dinner by the riverfront. We chose Paulette's from the internet. We were completely satisfied with the food and the service. Only flaw was that the wait person offered a special dish of Red Fish but came back from the kitchen to say that the last piece was sold and I consider that as bad communication between the chef and the wait staff.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Used to be my favorite place when visiti ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Used to be my favorite place when visiting Memphis. Ham was not edible on eggs Benedict & waiter seemed disinterested when it was mentioned. Check dropped without offer of dessert. Waiter seemed rushed to get off work and not take care of guest. Not sure if I will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value5

EXCELLENT DINNER CHOICE

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Paulette's was a fantastic place with delicious dining options. We enjoyed the separate chicken and steak entrees. For appetizer, make sure to order the mozzarella balls. The only downside was the lack of beer options as bottled beer was all that was available. However, I highly recommend overall.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Whenever I have guests in town, I like t ...

vip
 (Alabama)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Whenever I have guests in town, I like to take them to Paulette's for dinner. The service is always top notch and the food is fantastic. The Filet Paulette is outstanding, but have never had anything that wasn't delicious. Good wine selection also.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful restaurant with excellent food ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Beautiful restaurant with excellent food. Everybody enjoyed their meal and there were no leftovers. Menu is a little bit limited but everything we tried was excellent. So I guess the takeaway is "do the things you do very well, even if there's not a ton of them." Parking was a little awkward, as this is a restaurant in a large residential neighborhood. It may have designated parking, but it was raining hard that night and I could not find it. The restaurant had the feel of an old Southern mansion with many little rooms (which was nice) though it seems to be relatively new. Conversations were easy with just a few tables per room. Got to hear conversations at nearby tables, too. Fortunately, nothing awkward. Drinks were great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.