About Paulette's Restaurant at the River Inn of Harbor Town

50 Harbor Town Square
Memphis, TN 38103
View Larger Map

Paulette's Restaurant at the AAA 4 Diamond - River Inn of Harbor Town



Paulette's, which has been operating successfully in Memphis for 42 years, recently moved its popular, award winning operation to the River Inn. It has been described by one reviewer as "A Memphis institution and for a very good reason". Paulette's is serving the same soups, salads, and entrees that have made it so well known throughout the mid-south for many years. The restaurant has always been famous for its desserts and hot popovers with strawberry butter. Paulette's has a distinct warmth, charm and ambiance that is unsurpassed in the city. Restaurant polls have annually recognized Paulette's as Memphis" "Most Romantic" and for it's cuisine - "Best Continental".

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Global, International, Contemporary French / American, International

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Daily: 7:00am - 10:00am

Lunch: 11:00 am - 2:00 pm

Dinner: Sunday-Thursday 5:00pm - 9:00 pm, Friday-Saturday 5:00pm - 9:30pm

Brunch (Saturday & Sunday): 11:00 am - 2:00 pm

Cross Street:
Island Drive

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(901) 260-3300

Website:
http://paulettes.net/

Entertainment:
Before & after dinner, you can enjoy the cozy setting & hospitality of the LITTLE BAR, relax in front of the lobby's wood-burning fireplace set in an 1850s era New Orleans mantel and listen to the live piano music or the roof terrace with the best view in Town of the river. An extensive & carefully selected wine list is overseen by our Restaurant Manager.

Catering:
Catering events are served at our Harbor Square Room (up to 40 Guest) or Harbor Square and River View Rooms (up to 60 guest). Also our new River Hall and the Court Yard with Gazebo, ideal for receptions and weddings.. can accommodate up to 200 guest reception style.
During the day we have available the "Terrace" at the River Inn, overlooking the Mississippi River, The Terrace accommodates up to 50 guest.

Executive Chef:
Jason Dallas

Private Party Facilities:
A private board room overlooking our temperature controlled wine room. The "Terrace" on the rooftop with views of the Mississippi (for day functions only), River Hall, free standing building with court yard and Gazebo, overlooking the Mississippi River. Paulette's River View and Harbor Square Rooms.

Private Party Contact:
Katie Ogden: 9012603333x2105

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Special Events are held at the "new" River Hall; overlooking the Mississippi River. Offering in-door up to 85 seated or 150 reception style. the Court Yard with Gazebo is the place for weddings and receptions - up to 120 seated and 200 reception style.

Paulette's Restaurant at the River Inn of Harbor Town Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (36)
Romantic (33)
Quiet Conversation (30)
See All
Good for a Date (28)
Good for Anniversaries (28)
Waterfront (21)
Worth the Drive (20)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Business Meals (18)
Scenic View (18)
Cozy (17)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Casual (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Authentic (8)
Great for Brunch (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Historic (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Private Room (5)
Seasonal (5)
Fireplace (5)
Notable Wine List (4)
Good for Groups (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Family Style (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Healthy (2)
People Watching (2)
Live Music (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Organic (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Spicy (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Fun (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
1025 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our reservation was slightly delayed bec ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Our reservation was slightly delayed because a previous party was still at its table, so we were offered a seat in the adjacent inn lobby. A drink menu would be great in those situations.

The very sweet hostess took us to the first available table. It's lovely and cozy inside--ideal for dates or adult friends/family time.

The cocktail menu/wine list is small and I was disappointed by the cocktail offerings.

However, almost everything on the menu sounded great. We had house green salads and he had steak while I had sicilian chicken. Both were delicious.

Service was fast and our server was sweet. We were treated to popovers to start the meal--unique and lovely.

We both had dessert. The K-pie is amazing, but I'd recommend sharing with at least one other person. My husband said the key lime pie is delicious.

I'll definitely return. I'd like to try brunch.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

The overall experience and ambience and ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined 4 days ago

The overall experience and ambience and the food was exceptional and the staff was was very professional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have been there many times. Always a ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined 4 days ago

We have been there many times. Always a good experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Family Style, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time to dine at Paulette's in a lo ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined 6 days ago

First time to dine at Paulette's in a long time. Everything deserved a "5" except the amount of food for the price. I ordered the chicken crepe at lunch and it was delicious. But other than the crepe, there were just a very few sauteed vegetables. Same with my friend' dish. She had the crab cakes, which tasted great, but for the price, one would have loved a side. The desert chocolate crepe with ice cream, however, was a good value. We split it and each had many spoonfuls. Because of the atmosphere, service and tastiness of the food we will definitely return and just hope for a little larger portions.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I loved my experience here. The staff wa ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined 7 days ago

I loved my experience here. The staff was very friendly and let my mother and I know what was good as it was our first time. Everything we ate was delicious from the pop ups, to the lamb chops. Definitely mood dining with great service. If I ever go through Memphis again, this will be my go to spot for dinner. I recommend this restaurant to anyone!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was excited to take my wife here as I ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 7, 2017

I was excited to take my wife here as I had dined at Paulette's previously and had an excellent experience. This time, I was less impressed and it was particularly a result of the service.

We ordered an appetizer shortly after viewing the menu. 5-10 minutes later we order our meals in addition to a salad / soup. Guess which one first, the appetizer ordered 5-10 minutes previously or the soup/salad? You're right, the soup and salad! Prior to even tasting the soup our appetizer then arrives. This is just unacceptable in a restaurant of this caliber and I always wonder why management allows this to occur. Total dinner time there was less than 60 minutes! While the food was good the service was lacking any knowledge as to why most people dine out which is the experience, socialization, and intimacy. This evening was very slow which frustrates me even more!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

It was a good experience, overall. The ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 3, 2017

It was a good experience, overall. The popovers were a little overdone on this occasion. The redfish was a little over seasoned (too much salt). Service and ambiance were unparalleled, as usual. The wife enjoyed the sirloin tips. Seafood chowder was excellent.

Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

This last weekend was the first time we' ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 3, 2017

This last weekend was the first time we'd been to Paulette's since they move to Harbor Town - it was better than we remembered! Great place for any occasion.

Tags: People Watching, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Family Style, , Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was great, Darren was wonderful.

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 2, 2017

It was great, Darren was wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Paulette's was a great choice for New Ye ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Paulette's was a great choice for New Years Eve. The menu was already set and the choices were great for a first time dining experience. Although the food was very tasteful (except a bland salad option; no dressing options), the waiter could've talked about the food choices and recommended things rather than just asking what we wanted. It was a "move you through" type of night for Paulette's it seemed. Would recommend for a special occasion or date night; I project it would be different if their was not a pre-set menu.

Tags: Business Meals, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

An old Memphis favorite... likely one of ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 31, 2016

An old Memphis favorite... likely one of the most romantic restaurants in Memphis with great views of the Mississippi River... quiet enough to enjoy conversation and a glass of wine, and excellent wait staff that are quick to serve... desserts?? SUPER!! Make sure to put the K-pie on your list... and order 2 spoons as it's easily enough for two!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Our experience the night before NYE was ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Our experience the night before NYE was stellar . Very enjoyable . Excellent food and attentive service . We will be back !!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was by far our best meal in Memphis ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 31, 2016

This was by far our best meal in Memphis. We highly recommend going to Paulette's!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My favorite place for special occasions. ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 31, 2016

My favorite place for special occasions. Great ambiance, quiet, easy to have private conversations. Excellent menu choices and food. Prices very reasonable for such a classy place.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great place for business and families!

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Great place for business and families!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service and food great. A yearly traditi ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Service and food great. A yearly tradition for us to celebrate the birth of Christ and a wedding anniversary for friends.

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Paulette's was one of the few fine resta ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Paulette's was one of the few fine restaurants to be open on Christmas day in Memphis. The Prix Fixe menu made it easy to choose from a nice selection of tasty and well prepared food. Located in The River Inn Hotel, It had Old World charm and the location by the water was marvelous. Our waiter, while professional, was easy to talk with and did an excellent job of recommending an outstanding wine to go with our meal. I would surely recommend Paulette's to the discerning diner.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Christmas Eve dinner very fine. Waiter w ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Christmas Eve dinner very fine. Waiter was fine. We couldn't get the table we requested months in advance but otherwise had a very fine time.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Nice xmas eve brunch with our daughters. ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Nice xmas eve brunch with our daughters. Enjoyed it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Outstanding Dining Experience! This is ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Outstanding Dining Experience! This is a great facility. It is not very old, but has the character of a much older building.

Reservations well done with minimal weight. Every person from hostess to server was top quality. It was a special occasion with three of our grandchildren - enjoyed by all. It was everythingvwe were looking for. OBTW - the food was great!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our favorite places , can always ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 21, 2016

One of our favorite places , can always count on good food and service. Office Christmas Lunch was enjoyed by all.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I love this place ..... food atmosphere ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 20, 2016

I love this place ..... food atmosphere and my first Monday night special .... if you don't take advantage of Monday nights you are really missing out ....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a good dining experience at Paule ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Always a good dining experience at Paulette's, perfect for all occasions!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We ate here on a Sunday night in Decembe ...

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 18, 2016

We ate here on a Sunday night in December 2016 and it was a great experience.

Our server was great and fun to talk with while ordering and attending our table when needed.

For an appetizer/starter, we ordered the crab stuffed mushrooms, which were delivered hot and were yummy. We had iceberg lettuce salads with our choices of dressings. They served pop overs with strawberry butter which was delectable.

We had the Filet Mignon with au gratin potatoes and asparagus. The filet was one of the most tender I have ever eaten and was cooked perfectly when brought out of the kitchen. We also ordered the Chicken Sicilian-it was good, however the Filet Mignon was the star of the show. However, the portions were small for the price we paid. For dessert, we ordered and split the Kahlua-Mocha Parfait Pie and what a delectable and rich dessert! Delicious and different...

This is a perfect place for a quiet supper or even for a family gathering.

We will definitely return in the near future!

Visited December 2016

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Authentic, Fireplace, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Historic, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I am an intermittent patron and always l ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 18, 2016

I am an intermittent patron and always like the ambiance and food. On this particular occasion--a special celebration for my wife and me-- the food was excellent, one of the best meals we have had in a long while. About halfway through the meal, a very large party of 10 arrived and sat across from us in the main front room. They are very frequent diners at this restaurant and have a regular gathering every year, before the holidays. But, unfortunately for us and other diners, they were extremely loud and boisterous, and even started singing Xmas carols in this fairly small and intimate room. Given the size of the group, we also essentially lost our waiter, who became occupied with them for the next 30 minutes. We understand the management's dilemma to some degree, but a different arrangement or at least an advance warning was needed. We hurried our meal and couldn't wait to leave. I hope they will take this feedback constructively. We'll be back because this was an isolated incident in an a usually excellent establishment.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value5

Always a delight!!

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Always a delight!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was fresh, properly prepared an ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 11, 2016

The food was fresh, properly prepared and a good portion for the price. We highly recommend this restaurant for it's ambiance and service.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

After taking around 40 minutes for our l ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 10, 2016

After taking around 40 minutes for our lunch, we were unable to eat any of it and had to get it to go due to an appointment. Was celebrating a special day and allowed two hours to dine with this facility. Extremely disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value5

Meal was excellent and the service was o ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Meal was excellent and the service was outstanding. In the past I had eaten at Paulette's in midtown and I was happy to see it had retained all of the charm of the midtown place, plus a little extra with the river view. The food was as good as I remembered. Our waiter was perfect. We will go again.

Tags: Waterfront, Authentic, Good for Groups, Casual, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place to have a quiet, laid back l ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 5, 2016

Great place to have a quiet, laid back lunch with friends. Love this place.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Overall a very good restaurant with very ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on December 5, 2016

Overall a very good restaurant with very good food, service and ambiance. Nice wine list too, but it wasn't accurate, as we ordered a "Grand Cru" Chablis, which turned out to be only "Premier Cru", a rather minor faux pas for some, but a major slip up for me. At the price, however, I should have suspected as much. Still a faux pas, nevertheless, which detracted from an otherwise very nice evening. As a result of staying at The River Inn, my wife and I were provided a complimentary breakfast, which was also very good. Years ago I had enjoyed Paulette's, when the restaurant was still in mid-town. If anything, Paulette's is now more upscale and I would recommend it - just keep an eye on the wine you are ordering and be willing to accept a faux pas, now and then.

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Historic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

First time eating here. We've been to mo ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 2, 2016

First time eating here. We've been to most of the top end resturants in the area. Wonderful experience...Marzel, our waiter, was outstanding! He knew his stuff. Definitely top three.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Cozy, Waterfront, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We brought in a bottle of wine, one of o ...

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We brought in a bottle of wine, one of our favorites. The pop overs with the strawberry butter are great!! We got the seafood crape and a filet. We were too full to get dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Great atmosphere. Server was cheerful a ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Great atmosphere. Server was cheerful and attentive, but a little forgetful. Food was excellent, but portions were small, especially for thanksgiving!

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Service was exceptional however both of ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Service was exceptional however both of our entrees which were fish came out so tough that you couldn't put your fork through. Looked as though it had been setting out for a lengthy time possibly a previous patrons order.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value5

Complete disappointment. My wife and I ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Complete disappointment.

My wife and I recently dined with you all for her birthday. We could not have been more disappointed with the quality of food and service. Our waiter knew nothing about the menu, bar selections and did not remove used plates from the table. The food lacked any sort of taste or character it was very generic in taste. It was also not cooked to doneness ordered, even after it was sent back to the kitchen. At that point we just wanted to get out of the place.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value2

Unfortunately we went during "Restaurant ...

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Unfortunately we went during "Restaurant week". The fish was over-cooked, the soup cold and gritty and the dessert abysmal! It's too bad they had to offer dinners for a $20.16 price. We may give them another try... the service was ~good and the atmosphere nice.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value2

We enjoyed the ambience and gourmet entr ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We enjoyed the ambience and gourmet entrees at this restaurant. We had driven 8 hours to stay at the River Inn and were delighted to have this restaurant in our hotel. We have also enjoyed a delicious breakfast in Paulette's while staying here.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

An awkward dining experience. The food i ...

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 12, 2016

An awkward dining experience. The food is always very good but the service is uncomfortable.

There is no point in making a reservation because you aren't ever seated on time (this instance we had a twenty (20) minute wait to be seated). The servers are awkward. The timing of the food delivery is wrong/bad/poor. The food is very good however.

We had a prefix menu. They brought the main course while the appetizer was still being consumed. Then they came and looked at us like 4 times after we finished the main course but didnt clear away plates for a uncomfortably long period of time. The server finally came and cleared the plates and asked us if we needed anything else as a clue to the meal being over so i handed her my c/c to wrap everything up. Then they brought desert. So strange.

The restaurant is so nice and quaint and the food is good so it makes you think about returning. The bar is small and charming but the service feels weird there too. I want their restaurant to be successful because the food is good and the venue is so charming but the people who work there need to be retrained or replaced.

Everything was a sharp contrast to the other place we ate that weekend- we went to Catherine and Marys the next night The servers/staff are so gracious and warm and attentive at Catherine and Marys and put the whole Paulettes dining experience in perspective.

In the future, re Paultettes, I would probably do to go food and rewarm/replate it at home

Tags: , Fit for Foodies
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

The food, service and ambiance were outs ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 10, 2016

The food, service and ambiance were outstanding as usual.

Tags: Good for a Date, Waterfront, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.