Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.81mi
  3. Distance: 1.04mi
  4. Distance: 1.04mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.81mi
  3. Distance: 1.04mi
  4. Distance: 1.04mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.81mi
  3. Distance: 1.04mi
  4. Distance: 1.04mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.81mi
  3. Distance: 1.04mi
  4. Distance: 1.04mi

About Paulette's Restaurant at the River Inn of Harbor Town

Paulette's Restaurant at the AAA 4 Diamond - River Inn of Harbor Town



Paulette's, which has been operating successfully in Memphis for 42 years, recently moved its popular, award winning operation to the River Inn. It has been described by one reviewer as "A Memphis institution and for a very good reason". Paulette's is serving the same soups, salads, and entrees that have made it so well known throughout the mid-south for many years. The restaurant has always been famous for its desserts and hot popovers with strawberry butter. Paulette's has a distinct warmth, charm and ambiance that is unsurpassed in the city. Restaurant polls have annually recognized Paulette's as Memphis" "Most Romantic" and for it's cuisine - "Best Continental".

50 Harbor Town Square
Memphis, TN 38103
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Global, International, Contemporary French / American, International

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Daily: 7:00am - 10:00am

Lunch: 11:00 am - 2:00 pm

Dinner: Sunday-Thursday 5:00pm - 9:00 pm, Friday-Saturday 5:00pm - 9:30pm

Brunch (Saturday & Sunday): 11:00 am - 2:00 pm

Cross Street:
Island Drive

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(901) 260-3300

Website:
http://paulettes.net/

Entertainment:
Before & after dinner, you can enjoy the cozy setting & hospitality of the LITTLE BAR, relax in front of the lobby's wood-burning fireplace set in an 1850s era New Orleans mantel and listen to the live piano music or the roof terrace with the best view in Town of the river. An extensive & carefully selected wine list is overseen by our Restaurant Manager.

Catering:
Catering events are served at our Harbor Square Room (up to 40 Guest) or Harbor Square and River View Rooms (up to 60 guest). Also our new River Hall and the Court Yard with Gazebo, ideal for receptions and weddings.. can accommodate up to 200 guest reception style.
During the day we have available the "Terrace" at the River Inn, overlooking the Mississippi River, The Terrace accommodates up to 50 guest.

Executive Chef:
Jason Dallas

Private Party Facilities:
A private board room overlooking our temperature controlled wine room. The "Terrace" on the rooftop with views of the Mississippi (for day functions only), River Hall, free standing building with court yard and Gazebo, overlooking the Mississippi River. Paulette's River View and Harbor Square Rooms.

Private Party Contact:
Katie Ogden: (901) 260-3333 ext. 2105

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Special Events are held at the "new" River Hall; overlooking the Mississippi River. Offering in-door up to 85 seated or 150 reception style. the Court Yard with Gazebo is the place for weddings and receptions - up to 120 seated and 200 reception style.

Paulette's Restaurant at the River Inn of Harbor Town Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (31)
Good for a Date (30)
Romantic (25)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (25)
Quiet Conversation (25)
Scenic View (21)
Cozy (20)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Worth the Drive (16)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Waterfront (14)
Sunday Lunch (13)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Great for Lunch (11)
Great for Brunch (11)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Notable Wine List (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Business Meals (8)
Historic (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Authentic (5)
Fun (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
People Watching (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Casual (4)
Private Room (3)
Seasonal (3)
Healthy (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Family Style (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Fireplace (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Tapas (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
1113 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

One of the best restaurants in Memphis in a lovely area!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined 7 days ago

Went prior to show at the Orpheum. Dinner was excellent. Just the right size for the price and prepared perfect.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Excellent flavorful food, outstanding service, overall awesome

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined on June 8, 2017

We stayed at The River Inn and ate at Paulette's prior to the Norah Jones concert at the Mud Island Amphitheater. The Inn is small and wonderful. Paulette's is a real gem! My date and I split the mushroom appetizer and the Paulette's filet. With the always wonderful pop-overs we were pleasantly full and extremely happy with our choices. We had an attentive server that was knowledgeable and friendly. We tried to walk to the concert but were prevented from entering the amphitheater by security. Had to go around to access it from the tram-stupid!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Everything tasted wonderful! I recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for relaxed, casual dining with a serene atmosphere.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 8, 2017

This was the second time we'd been there, in fact, I told my husband after the first time that we needed to go back for our anniversary; it was expensive, but oh so good! We will definitely be back!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Cozy, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 28, 2017

The food was really good! It is on the waterfront but dining is inside, no view

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Good & tasty breakfast. Warm oatmeal with raisins. Eggs made your way. Banana & blueberry muffins. Hearty good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Service superb and old standards (Chicken Sicilian, Crab/spinach crepes, Kaluha pie) excellent. We were accommodated with a quiet booth, making for a very special and enjoyable dinner Thank you!!!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Excellent as always!! The food was amazing and the service was perfect!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Der Speisesaal war schön und ruhig. Das Essen gut, aber die Bedienung war eine Katastrophe und für ein Restaurant dieser Preiskategorie nicht würdig.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 21, 2017

We were visiting Memphis before going on The American Queen Riverboat. Paulette's was recommended by several people. It was excellent and we wished we were in Memphis longer so we could go back. If we get to Memphis again, it will be on the top of our list for best restaurants!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 18, 2017

We got the Wednesday lobster special and it was great. We also had some wine with it that paired nicely with the lobster. We ended the evening with the K-pie -- always a wonderful treat. The service was impeccable with the entire staff being most friendly with a most welcoming attitude. All things considered, it was a wonderful evening.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great special occasion spot. Good for granny snd good for young couples too.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Wonderful dinning experience. I take my wife on special occasions and she is never disappointed. She is always pleased and pleasantly surprised when I have made reservations. Oh and the bar tender was great, so we will be visiting the bar for drinks very soon.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Our table was noisy... could not cross legs... too close to others... steak excellent... bisque awesome... apple tart very bad... no music that we could hear... will return but only Terrace seating

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Tapas, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 14, 2017

They were slammed on Mothers' Day but still provided friendly, efficient, and pleasant service.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, People Watching, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 14, 2017

This restaurant has been going downhill for a few years but today was the last straw for us. We went for Mother's Day lunch and to handle the crowd they decided to put some tables in the lobby of the hotel they share space with. So our table was next to the emergency exit. We had wait staff hauling garbage bags within a couple of feet of our table and maids from the hotels pushing carts full of dirty towels right next to us.

As if that wasn't enough the staff did a terrible job. Twice I had to flag down the reception person to see if we could get tea refills as our waiter was MIA. There was a fixed menu for a family day that had nothing appropriate for kids. We asked if our 14 year old could order off the kids menu and they gave us a stern "no". This place is known for their popovers but they were out nearly our entire visit. We got popovers at the same time I got the check to leave. The desserts that were part of the set menu were super tiny. My son looked when they put it in front of him and immediately said, "I got ripped off." I have to agree with him.

This is probably the 20th time I have eaten at this restaurant and they have been on a slow decline. After this dreadful Mother's Day meal we will not be back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Our table was ready upon our arrival and our waiter, Chris, greeted my wife with an appropriate "Happy Birthday". We had a perfect candlelit table for 2 and our drink order was taken right away. The wine list has been expanded considerably and we found an excellent Seghessio Zin to accompany our Filet Paulette's. The steaks, black pepper encrusted in a rich cream sauce, were medium rare as ordered.
The service could not have been more attentive. This is an ideal restaurant for those special occasions. Even with a nice crowd there was no noise whatsoever. Cannot imagine a more pleasant evening.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 11, 2017

This is how food should be. Most delicious. I was tempted to get more than one entree.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 10, 2017

My girlfriends and I enjoyed our late lunch at Paulette's. We each had a crepe, either chicken, crab or dessert and they were delicious. We stayed over 2 hours because we were having such a great time. Our waitress was very responsive to us. We were also blessed to have popovers with strawberry butter! So delicious! A very elegant place to meet!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Cozy, Waterfront, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Service was ridiculously slow, they got our bills mixed up, and the chicken crepes were only so-so. Best thing about the experience were the fresh popovers and strawberry butter. Very disappointed.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 7, 2017

I was a regular patron of Paulette's when they were located in Overton Square and could always count on a great dining experience. I was so disappointed on my recent visit to the Harbor Town location. We were celebrating my Mother's birthday along with 10 other friends and family. Three guest had to return their entrée due to hair in the food or on the plate. One guest had to return hers twice. The waitress was not friendly and the manager did not step up immediately and apologize for the hair in the food.

In addition, I received a call the day before we were to dine stating that they were over booked and I would have to cancel my reservation. After push back, the manager phoned again and said everything was ok.

I will not be returning and would suggest to others to dine at their own risk.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Our entire party of three had the crab cakes. They were not as good as expected, and they were sweet, which was very strange. Having had crab cakes in Maryland, where I used to live, these did not live up to my expectations. However, the desert (the K-pie) was very good, and I am more inclined to recommend this place for afternoon coffee and desert. The view is lovely, and the desert selection is enticing.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Family Style, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Afternoon Coffee, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Great food and service as usual. Put on the reservation that it was my wife's birthday but there was no acknowledgement by the staff about it. That was the only disappointment, which is why I gave it only 4 stars.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Have reserved front section twice and neither request was honored despite empty tables and poor excuses. Food is good and wine list pricey but good so your palette won't be disappointed. Experiences could so much better. I'll return from time to time but with lowered expectations.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 3, 2017

We came to celebrate our third anniversary after previously having a good experience here; it didn't meet expectations. The service was good, but both of our filets were served very well done, when ordered medium. My sides were also incorrect (au gratin potatoes when I ordered asparagus because of a dairy allergy).

If it hadn't been for the wine dinner (first Tuesday of the month event) that was going on tonight, we would have sent our meals back.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on April 30, 2017

ambiance and service were great. Food was passable. crab cakes were mainly corn meal mush and the promised cucumber salad was forgotten and had to be asked for (they just brought2 crab cakes on a plate. the K-pie is outstanding.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 30, 2017

The crab meat stuffed mushroom appetizer we had was delicious. The redfish with crab meat was very good. The Chicken Sicilian was certainly good, but nothing set it apart from other similar dishes. Our waiter was friendly, polite, and very helpful in explaining the specials.

A google search led me to believe that casual dress was appropriate for Paulette's, but I'd say it was a little nicer than that. I'm glad we wore dressy jeans and shirts/sweaters.

We'd definitely dine here again.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 29, 2017

We visited to celebrate muy wedding anniversary. The food was good. Atmosphere was nice. The only problem we had was our waitress wasn't very attentive to us. She spent quite a bit of time chatting with the table next to us as it seems they were regulars. I would still reccomend Paulette's to a friend but would hope this behavior isn't the norm.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 29, 2017

We enjoyed our earl evening dinner there. Food and service very good.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 27, 2017

It's been multiple years since I tried them (at the old location), but the Ham Palacsinta was still as good as I remembered. And the K-Pie was outstanding, as always -- although three of us had to split one it's so big. The only disappointment was the Hungarian Gulyas. It was a very thin beef broth with some potatoes and almost no Paprika and almost no taste. The last time I had Gulyas in Hungary it was thick and full of vegetables, potatoes and beef, as well as highly flavorful with tons of quite spicy Paprika. I didn't much care for the Paulette's version.

But I'll keep coming back for the Palacsinta and the K-Pie. And maybe the occasional Key Lime pie thrown in.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We always enjoy a quiet dinner at Paulette's. The food and service are great! Had a drink on the patio upstairs first. Nice date night!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 19, 2017

The view, menu, food, ambience, parking is perfect. I have at at Paulette's many times.
The only negative remark I have is in regards to our waiter, Chris. He was dry, no personality, very curt. We felt like he didn't want to be waiting on us.
We were 4 women on our way to a broadway show. So it was an early meal. We did not order drinks. Went straight for the entree and dessert to get to the show on time.

I felt like he sized us up as small tippers. If so he should have worked even harder to make a better impression. I always leave 20%.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Perfection. From the popovers to dessert, this lovely restaurant is sure to please. We arrived on Monday and found a 3-course, specially priced menu for Monday only. We were thrilled with our dinners!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Waterfront, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Excellent Easter brunch. Food was outstanding and Darren our server did a great job.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 16, 2017

It's always an enjoyable experience at the River Inn Paulette's Restaurant.
I usually order their fresh seafood.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Scenic View, Quick Bite, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Always a nice experience, great ambiance, wait staff is helpful and they know enough to be helpful. This was a long and casual dinner as a thank you for a renovation that was completed and wanted to take the project manager out for a nice meal and to wrap up the project. Always a great choice, never felt rushed or hurried through the meal.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We always make it a point to have a meal at Paulette's whwn we are traveling from our home in Oklahoma to visit relatives in Chattanooga. It makes a delightful break in our journey. The food is always good, and we love the crispy popovers!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 7, 2017

The one thing that impressed me the most was not only was it quiet, people were actually having conversations with NO cell phones and NO TV's screaming about sports. Restaurants are for dining and conversation. And that may it very pleasurable, relaxing evening.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.