Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.81mi
  3. Distance: 1.04mi
  4. Distance: 1.04mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.81mi
  3. Distance: 1.04mi
  4. Distance: 1.04mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.81mi
  3. Distance: 1.04mi
  4. Distance: 1.04mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.81mi
  3. Distance: 1.04mi
  4. Distance: 1.04mi

About Paulette's Restaurant at the River Inn of Harbor Town

Paulette's Restaurant at the AAA 4 Diamond - River Inn of Harbor Town



Paulette's, which has been operating successfully in Memphis for 42 years, recently moved its popular, award winning operation to the River Inn. It has been described by one reviewer as "A Memphis institution and for a very good reason". Paulette's is serving the same soups, salads, and entrees that have made it so well known throughout the mid-south for many years. The restaurant has always been famous for its desserts and hot popovers with strawberry butter. Paulette's has a distinct warmth, charm and ambiance that is unsurpassed in the city. Restaurant polls have annually recognized Paulette's as Memphis" "Most Romantic" and for it's cuisine - "Best Continental".

50 Harbor Town Square
Memphis, TN 38103
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Global, International, Contemporary French / American, International

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Daily: 7:00am - 10:00am

Lunch: 11:00 am - 2:00 pm

Dinner: Sunday-Thursday 5:00pm - 9:00 pm, Friday-Saturday 5:00pm - 9:30pm

Brunch (Saturday & Sunday): 11:00 am - 2:00 pm

Cross Street:
Island Drive

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(901) 260-3300

Website:
http://paulettes.net/

Entertainment:
Before & after dinner, you can enjoy the cozy setting & hospitality of the LITTLE BAR, relax in front of the lobby's wood-burning fireplace set in an 1850s era New Orleans mantel and listen to the live piano music or the roof terrace with the best view in Town of the river. An extensive & carefully selected wine list is overseen by our Restaurant Manager.

Catering:
Catering events are served at our Harbor Square Room (up to 40 Guest) or Harbor Square and River View Rooms (up to 60 guest). Also our new River Hall and the Court Yard with Gazebo, ideal for receptions and weddings.. can accommodate up to 200 guest reception style.
During the day we have available the "Terrace" at the River Inn, overlooking the Mississippi River, The Terrace accommodates up to 50 guest.

Executive Chef:
Jason Dallas

Private Party Facilities:
A private board room overlooking our temperature controlled wine room. The "Terrace" on the rooftop with views of the Mississippi (for day functions only), River Hall, free standing building with court yard and Gazebo, overlooking the Mississippi River. Paulette's River View and Harbor Square Rooms.

Private Party Contact:
Katie Ogden: (901) 260-3333 ext. 2105

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Special Events are held at the "new" River Hall; overlooking the Mississippi River. Offering in-door up to 85 seated or 150 reception style. the Court Yard with Gazebo is the place for weddings and receptions - up to 120 seated and 200 reception style.

Paulette's Restaurant at the River Inn of Harbor Town Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (37)
Romantic (35)
Good for a Date (33)
See All
Special Occasion (33)
Scenic View (30)
Quiet Conversation (29)
Neighborhood Gem (25)
Good for Birthdays (23)
Cozy (23)
Waterfront (21)
Worth the Drive (20)
Pre/post Theatre (16)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Great for Brunch (15)
Sunday Lunch (13)
Notable Wine List (13)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Great for Lunch (9)
Business Meals (9)
Historic (9)
Good for Groups (7)
Authentic (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Casual (6)
Outstanding Value (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
People Watching (4)
Fun (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Private Room (3)
Seasonal (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Healthy (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Family Style (2)
Fireplace (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Great Beer (1)
Live Music (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Tapas (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
S
1101 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined 7 days ago

We got the Wednesday lobster special and it was great. We also had some wine with it that paired nicely with the lobster. We ended the evening with the K-pie -- always a wonderful treat. The service was impeccable with the entire staff being most friendly with a most welcoming attitude. All things considered, it was a wonderful evening.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great special occasion spot. Good for granny snd good for young couples too.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Wonderful dinning experience. I take my wife on special occasions and she is never disappointed. She is always pleased and pleasantly surprised when I have made reservations. Oh and the bar tender was great, so we will be visiting the bar for drinks very soon.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Our table was noisy... could not cross legs... too close to others... steak excellent... bisque awesome... apple tart very bad... no music that we could hear... will return but only Terrace seating

Tags: Tapas, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 14, 2017

They were slammed on Mothers' Day but still provided friendly, efficient, and pleasant service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, People Watching, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 14, 2017

This restaurant has been going downhill for a few years but today was the last straw for us. We went for Mother's Day lunch and to handle the crowd they decided to put some tables in the lobby of the hotel they share space with. So our table was next to the emergency exit. We had wait staff hauling garbage bags within a couple of feet of our table and maids from the hotels pushing carts full of dirty towels right next to us.

As if that wasn't enough the staff did a terrible job. Twice I had to flag down the reception person to see if we could get tea refills as our waiter was MIA. There was a fixed menu for a family day that had nothing appropriate for kids. We asked if our 14 year old could order off the kids menu and they gave us a stern "no". This place is known for their popovers but they were out nearly our entire visit. We got popovers at the same time I got the check to leave. The desserts that were part of the set menu were super tiny. My son looked when they put it in front of him and immediately said, "I got ripped off." I have to agree with him.

This is probably the 20th time I have eaten at this restaurant and they have been on a slow decline. After this dreadful Mother's Day meal we will not be back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Our table was ready upon our arrival and our waiter, Chris, greeted my wife with an appropriate "Happy Birthday". We had a perfect candlelit table for 2 and our drink order was taken right away. The wine list has been expanded considerably and we found an excellent Seghessio Zin to accompany our Filet Paulette's. The steaks, black pepper encrusted in a rich cream sauce, were medium rare as ordered.
The service could not have been more attentive. This is an ideal restaurant for those special occasions. Even with a nice crowd there was no noise whatsoever. Cannot imagine a more pleasant evening.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 11, 2017

This is how food should be. Most delicious. I was tempted to get more than one entree.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 10, 2017

My girlfriends and I enjoyed our late lunch at Paulette's. We each had a crepe, either chicken, crab or dessert and they were delicious. We stayed over 2 hours because we were having such a great time. Our waitress was very responsive to us. We were also blessed to have popovers with strawberry butter! So delicious! A very elegant place to meet!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Cozy, Waterfront, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Service was ridiculously slow, they got our bills mixed up, and the chicken crepes were only so-so. Best thing about the experience were the fresh popovers and strawberry butter. Very disappointed.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 7, 2017

I was a regular patron of Paulette's when they were located in Overton Square and could always count on a great dining experience. I was so disappointed on my recent visit to the Harbor Town location. We were celebrating my Mother's birthday along with 10 other friends and family. Three guest had to return their entrée due to hair in the food or on the plate. One guest had to return hers twice. The waitress was not friendly and the manager did not step up immediately and apologize for the hair in the food.

In addition, I received a call the day before we were to dine stating that they were over booked and I would have to cancel my reservation. After push back, the manager phoned again and said everything was ok.

I will not be returning and would suggest to others to dine at their own risk.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Our entire party of three had the crab cakes. They were not as good as expected, and they were sweet, which was very strange. Having had crab cakes in Maryland, where I used to live, these did not live up to my expectations. However, the desert (the K-pie) was very good, and I am more inclined to recommend this place for afternoon coffee and desert. The view is lovely, and the desert selection is enticing.

Tags: Family Style, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Afternoon Coffee, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Great food and service as usual. Put on the reservation that it was my wife's birthday but there was no acknowledgement by the staff about it. That was the only disappointment, which is why I gave it only 4 stars.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Have reserved front section twice and neither request was honored despite empty tables and poor excuses. Food is good and wine list pricey but good so your palette won't be disappointed. Experiences could so much better. I'll return from time to time but with lowered expectations.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 3, 2017

We came to celebrate our third anniversary after previously having a good experience here; it didn't meet expectations. The service was good, but both of our filets were served very well done, when ordered medium. My sides were also incorrect (au gratin potatoes when I ordered asparagus because of a dairy allergy).

If it hadn't been for the wine dinner (first Tuesday of the month event) that was going on tonight, we would have sent our meals back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on April 30, 2017

ambiance and service were great. Food was passable. crab cakes were mainly corn meal mush and the promised cucumber salad was forgotten and had to be asked for (they just brought2 crab cakes on a plate. the K-pie is outstanding.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 30, 2017

The crab meat stuffed mushroom appetizer we had was delicious. The redfish with crab meat was very good. The Chicken Sicilian was certainly good, but nothing set it apart from other similar dishes. Our waiter was friendly, polite, and very helpful in explaining the specials.

A google search led me to believe that casual dress was appropriate for Paulette's, but I'd say it was a little nicer than that. I'm glad we wore dressy jeans and shirts/sweaters.

We'd definitely dine here again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 29, 2017

We visited to celebrate muy wedding anniversary. The food was good. Atmosphere was nice. The only problem we had was our waitress wasn't very attentive to us. She spent quite a bit of time chatting with the table next to us as it seems they were regulars. I would still reccomend Paulette's to a friend but would hope this behavior isn't the norm.

Tags: Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 29, 2017

We enjoyed our earl evening dinner there. Food and service very good.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 27, 2017

It's been multiple years since I tried them (at the old location), but the Ham Palacsinta was still as good as I remembered. And the K-Pie was outstanding, as always -- although three of us had to split one it's so big. The only disappointment was the Hungarian Gulyas. It was a very thin beef broth with some potatoes and almost no Paprika and almost no taste. The last time I had Gulyas in Hungary it was thick and full of vegetables, potatoes and beef, as well as highly flavorful with tons of quite spicy Paprika. I didn't much care for the Paulette's version.

But I'll keep coming back for the Palacsinta and the K-Pie. And maybe the occasional Key Lime pie thrown in.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We always enjoy a quiet dinner at Paulette's. The food and service are great! Had a drink on the patio upstairs first. Nice date night!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 19, 2017

The view, menu, food, ambience, parking is perfect. I have at at Paulette's many times.
The only negative remark I have is in regards to our waiter, Chris. He was dry, no personality, very curt. We felt like he didn't want to be waiting on us.
We were 4 women on our way to a broadway show. So it was an early meal. We did not order drinks. Went straight for the entree and dessert to get to the show on time.

I felt like he sized us up as small tippers. If so he should have worked even harder to make a better impression. I always leave 20%.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Perfection. From the popovers to dessert, this lovely restaurant is sure to please. We arrived on Monday and found a 3-course, specially priced menu for Monday only. We were thrilled with our dinners!

Tags: Waterfront, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Excellent Easter brunch. Food was outstanding and Darren our server did a great job.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 16, 2017

It's always an enjoyable experience at the River Inn Paulette's Restaurant.
I usually order their fresh seafood.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Scenic View, Quick Bite, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Always a nice experience, great ambiance, wait staff is helpful and they know enough to be helpful. This was a long and casual dinner as a thank you for a renovation that was completed and wanted to take the project manager out for a nice meal and to wrap up the project. Always a great choice, never felt rushed or hurried through the meal.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We always make it a point to have a meal at Paulette's whwn we are traveling from our home in Oklahoma to visit relatives in Chattanooga. It makes a delightful break in our journey. The food is always good, and we love the crispy popovers!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 7, 2017

The one thing that impressed me the most was not only was it quiet, people were actually having conversations with NO cell phones and NO TV's screaming about sports. Restaurants are for dining and conversation. And that may it very pleasurable, relaxing evening.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Each one of us five had a different meal and each one was delicious. Outstanding service.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Gluten Free Options, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Perfect evening of food, wine, ambiance, fun and excellent service

Tags: Tasting Menu, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Always and forever a very special place to go, to be, to enjoy. Outstanding food and service, by the river and surrounded by myriads of roses. A wonderful Memphis jewel!

Tags: Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Afternoon Coffee, Afternoon Tea, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Enjoyed Sunday brunch very much. Waiter was excellent as was the food. Was surprised that there was a stain on the table cloth and crumbs on the table when seated. Otherwise everything was excellent.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 2, 2017

We rate this restaurant a B+ but take into consideration we frequent restaurants and are picky. The food was good but not great. We had the lamb chops which were a good size but when comparing price and portions size to a restaurant such as Itta Bena's the portions size is smaller and costs more at Paulette's. The ambience was decent but no live music in restaurant. Desserts were really good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Took my 91 -year old aunt for a birthday supper. She uses a walker and the staff made it all easy. It was a grand occasion, the food superb, I would recommend to any and every one!

Tags: Disabled Access, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Awesome crab cakes!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on March 18, 2017

I treated my husband to dinner for his birthday. The service was outstanding. Our food was cooked to perfection and the meat was well seasoned. He had steak and I had lamb chops, it was so delicious. Our server, Chris, was very attentive and knew the menu well. His recommendations were spot on especially with the wine. I could not think of a better choice to celebrate his day.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Certainly not great. Did not live up to its billing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Overall we enjoyed our brunch. A few things were lacking. It is a bit cramped for people to get by our table. Ham was chewy on the eggs Benedict. Pop overs were cold. But on the positive side it has a lovely setting. The chicken crepe was delicious. Crab cakes looked good. Our guest enjoyed hers. Possibly if we sat in a different room we would have had a different experience.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We were treated very well and the food was amazing! This restaurant has a very quaint, elegant decor and an easy ambiance. Hands-on manager came to our table and definitely added to our dining experience. Charming atmosphere and worth the drive to Harbor Town. Added bonus is that parking is plentiful and never an issue.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Love this place! View amazing and food was phenomenal!

Tags: Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Romantic, Authentic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.