Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Mon, 6/18
Time
10:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 10 times today

Paulette's Restaurant at the River Inn of Harbor Town

4.5
1308 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Global, International
Top Tags:
  • Romantic
  • Quiet Conversation
  • Good for a Date
Paulette's Restaurant at the AAA 4 Diamond - River Inn of Harbor Town



Paulette's, which has been operating successfully in Memphis for 42 years, recently moved its popular, award winning operation to the River Inn. It has been described by one reviewer as "A Memphis institution and for a very good reason". Paulette's is serving the same soups, salads, and entrees that have made it so well known throughout the mid-south for many years. The restaurant has always been famous for its desserts and hot popovers with strawberry butter. Paulette's has a distinct warmth, charm and ambiance that is unsurpassed in the city. Restaurant polls have annually recognized Paulette's as Memphis" "Most Romantic" and for it's cuisine - "Best Continental".
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Global, International, Contemporary French / American, International
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Breakfast: Daily: 7:00am - 10:00am

Lunch: 11:00 am - 2:00 pm

Dinner: Sunday-Thursday 5:00pm - 9:00 pm, Friday-Saturday 5:00pm - 9:30pm

Brunch (Saturday & Sunday): 11:00 am - 2:00 pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(901) 260-3300
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Jason Dallas
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
A private board room overlooking our temperature controlled wine room. The "Terrace" on the rooftop with views of the Mississippi (for day functions only), River Hall, free standing building with court yard and Gazebo, overlooking the Mississippi River. Paulette's River View and Harbor Square Rooms.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Katie Ogden: (901) 260-3333 ext. 2105
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Catering events are served at our Harbor Square Room (up to 40 Guest) or Harbor Square and River View Rooms (up to 60 guest). Also our new River Hall and the Court Yard with Gazebo, ideal for receptions and weddings.. can accommodate up to 200 guest reception style.
During the day we have available the "Terrace" at the River Inn, overlooking the Mississippi River, The Terrace accommodates up to 50 guest.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Island Drive
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Before & after dinner, you can enjoy the cozy setting & hospitality of the LITTLE BAR, relax in front of the lobby's wood-burning fireplace set in an 1850s era New Orleans mantel and listen to the live piano music or the roof terrace with the best view in Town of the river. An extensive & carefully selected wine list is overseen by our Restaurant Manager.
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Special Events are held at the "new" River Hall; overlooking the Mississippi River. Offering in-door up to 85 seated or 150 reception style. the Court Yard with Gazebo is the place for weddings and receptions - up to 120 seated and 200 reception style.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 1308 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.5
service
4.7
ambience
4.4
value
Noise · Quiet
93% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
3.0Dined a day ago

I wanted to take my husband somewhere a little different than our usual go to’ s for Father’s Day. When I made the reservations, I saw nothing that would imply there would be a limited menu. This was pretty disappointing as I had already reviewed it in advance as I have certain food allergies and do not eat seafood or fish. Fortunately, I did find one entree I could order. The hubby did have his fish.

We went at lunchtime, but the “limited” menu charged for the dinner price. My question is, were we served dinner portions? Or lunch portions for full price? Although what we ordered tasted good, not quite sure we got our money’s worth for that meal.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 2 days ago

Everything was fantastic! The food was wonderful, our server Mike was awesome and the atmosphere was perfect. You should make sure to go early and have drinks and appetizers in the Little Bar while you wait for your reservation. Hopefully Brandon will be tending bar, he was outstanding!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 2 days ago

I really, really wanted to love this restaurant. Everything about our evening had such great promise the moment we walked in the door. Our hostess, Siobhan, was very welcoming and accommodating. Since we were early, our table was not ready yet so she showed us to the bar. The bar staff was also quite accommodating and it wasn't long before we were seated at our table. That is where the wheels fell off the dining train. We had two waiters. TWO. Why? No idea. Appetizer came. Fine. Salad came. Fine. Maybe 45 minutes later our dinners arrived and they were room temperature. Not warm, not cold. Just room temperature. We intended to send the plates back to the kitchen but we didn't see another server.....any server for about 15 minutes. At this point I said to my husband that I was hungry and I was just going to eat, pay and never come back. This is where the story ends. The other negative reviews in recent weeks seem to all have the same complaint; the wait staff. Hello?? Owners? Management? Are you listening? So disappointing.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined 3 days ago

Very disappointing. It’s not the Paulette’s of old. Greasy fingerprints all over plate on presentation, patrons in shorts, food mediocre at best. Won’t be going back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 3 days ago

Everything was fantastic!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 10, 2018

Paulette's is always on our list of favorites when visit Memphis. We dined with our family for Sunday Brunch on the occasion of our Granddaughter's wedding. Service by Mike was outstanding and the food was great as usual.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 7, 2018

We had lunch with friends. What a wonderful experience. Our waitperson was attentive, giving us 5 star service. The meal, each entre, meticulous presentation and delicious. Our compliment to the Chef. Indeed, everybody who makes Paulette a wonderful experience., Thank You!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 6, 2018

We were there for our 36 wedding anniversary! Dinner was really good !

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 6, 2018

Nice but not amazing.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 5, 2018

Reservation made with note of Anniversary, hostess made a point of asking about Anniversary and then let the wait staff know. Waiter acknowledged the Anniversary and even severed comp champagne with the meal. (Nice touch for 48th anniversary). Great food Scrimp and Grits were delicious, Paulett's Stake cooked to perfection. K-Pie is to die for. Thank You Paulett's for a perfect evening.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 29, 2018

Very nice dining experience on my wife’s birthday (with our daughter). I’m no critic, but the food was delicious

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 29, 2018

The never acknowledged our special occasion of 30 year anniversary.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 29, 2018

Great location on gentrified island in Mississippi River. A little pricey but great food. Filet and Filet Paulette were excellent

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 28, 2018

The food was just delicious. The surroundings were lovely. Unfortunately our waiter was not great. He was unfriendly and really not very helpful nor attentive. Hopefully it was an off day for him. We will go back though because the food was delicious.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 27, 2018

Wonderful food and service as always at Paulette’s.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 27, 2018

Terrific Sunday brunch! The food was great and the service was Outstanding!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 27, 2018

Been going to Paulette’s for over 20 years when we were first married. Enjoyed the chicken and redfish- delish! Popovers didn’t disappoint! And...the K pie...hadn’t had it in many many years was the cherry on top!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2018

Fine dining in a beautiful setting. No TVs. No loud music. Great for an intimate dinner. The food was fantastic.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 23, 2018

First timers celebrating 31st anniversary. Food and service (Tyrin) were excellent. Nice cozy atmosphere. Great if you want good food at affordable price in a nice quiet atmosphere. Highly recommend for a date night dinner!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 22, 2018

Experience was great and the food was outstanding. We enjoyed the restaurant and would visit again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 22, 2018

Excellent food. There were 3 waiters in our area. Some waiters were more personable than others. Had a great view of the sunset.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 21, 2018

We came on a Monday night when they have a three course meal for $19.95. I had an arugula salad which was perfectly marinated! The trout pascal was delicious, tender, and perfectly seadoned. It came with asparagus and roasted potatoes. This entre was delicious but portions of vegetables were extremely small. They ran out of the chocolate brownie dessert but subbed it for flourless chocolate cake w raspberry sauce which was probably a lot better. Our server was from Sri Lanka and most efficient and answered our questions w great intelligence.
You cant beat the atmosphere and ambience. Ive never had a bad meal there- just love it😻. Didi

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 21, 2018

I took my eighty six year old mother to dinner at Paulette's on Monday night for the $20 dinner special. My mother has moderate dementia and excessive noise and over stimulus makes it hard for her to relax and enjoy her meal. Even though the restaurant is has a tranquil atmosphere I asked in advance if we could have a corner table which are usually quieter. The staff were quite accommodating. Our waiter George was exceptional kind to my mother and could not have been sweeter. She is a big desert lover and I believe he intentionally cut her a larger piece of brownie which pleased her to no end. He could not have been more cordial and my mother had a wonderful time. Thank you Paulette's and George for being so kind to my mother. We really appreciate you!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 21, 2018

My wife and I are regulars here for special occasions (birthdays, anniversaries, etc.) The food was great, but our server was clearly in training and needed some serious instruction. Other servers had to clear our plates and refill our waters on a couple of occasions. Our server was friendly, just inexperienced. The food was as good as always. Hopefully this young man improves as a server, and other guests won’t have the same average experience.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 20, 2018

The food continues to be very good, but portions are now smaller. The Wait staff was friendly but very slow.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 20, 2018

The food was ok not seasoned well we had a group of us tried a few things the appetizers was better then the meal

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 19, 2018

Paulette's was a nice place, with nice atmosphere. The food was not exceptional, but, I really can't say it was not good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 19, 2018

Outstanding service and attention to details. The food was excellent and perfect portions. When we come back, we will certainly dine at Paulettes again. Harbor Island is so very charming, be sure to come early and enjoy the view from the bar upstairs.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 18, 2018

Paulette's is an exceptional restaurant. The ambiance was excellent, and the food was delicious. Whenever I think of restaurants in the Memphis area for special, high-quality occasions, Paulette's is always at the top of my list. This restaurant is a regional crown jewel.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 14, 2018

I had mentioned to my lady friend about the Monday Special at Paulette's and asked if she'd like to go there for her birthday dinner out. It was a location she had never been to and was excited to try it out. Paulette's did not disappoint! The food was excellent, the staff professional and always available, the value of the Monday Special and then the view of the setting sun over the river. It was a perfect dining experience.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

All was great, except that one of the meals didn’t come out until the rest of the party was almost finished; not sure why. They did cover the meal though.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

I loved the food but to be honest our particular server was rude. I would have never expected this out of Paulette's. It was on a SATURDAY before Mother's Day at 11:00. If we come back I will request a different server if given him again.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Our service was amazing. The restaurant is beautiful. However, I was disappointed in the popovers! I haven't had them in years and so looked forward to them. Plenty arrived at our table, warm, but both batches were way too dark, almost burnt looking, not the way they were last time I had them.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 5, 2018

We came to celebrate our son’s college graduation and had a great meal. Thank you Chris and staff.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 3, 2018

Lovely restaurant, friendly staff, great food.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 1, 2018

Very good. Filet was a bit overcooked but it's hard to find a rare steak these days.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 30, 2018

Great food and attentive, not annoying, service. Outstanding Shrimp and Grits.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

Awesome food, location and service. Really enjoyed the atmosphere. Server was very nice and and attentive.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 27, 2018

Have been here many times even long before it was in Harbor Town and always enjoyed it. Our disappointment this time was entirely due to the waiter. First he forgot our appetizers. When we did get them after reminding him, one of the two was wrong which he did not want to accept. Next our food arrived which was lukewarm having been delayed by his failure to turn in appetizers. As he delivered our entrees he informed us the other appetizer was on the way and became argumentative when we said we no longer wanted it. The next anniversary dinner will be elsewhere. There is no way to contact the restaurant from their website except for reservations. One way to keep complaints down I suppose.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 26, 2018

Chicken crepe was delicious and the strawberry crepe was sooooo good!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
33