About Paulette's Restaurant at the River Inn of Harbor Town

50 Harbor Town Square
Memphis, TN 38103
View Larger Map

Paulette's Restaurant at the AAA 4 Diamond - River Inn of Harbor Town



Paulette's, which has been operating successfully in Memphis for 42 years, recently moved its popular, award winning operation to the River Inn. It has been described by one reviewer as "A Memphis institution and for a very good reason". Paulette's is serving the same soups, salads, and entrees that have made it so well known throughout the mid-south for many years. The restaurant has always been famous for its desserts and hot popovers with strawberry butter. Paulette's has a distinct warmth, charm and ambiance that is unsurpassed in the city. Restaurant polls have annually recognized Paulette's as Memphis" "Most Romantic" and for it's cuisine - "Best Continental".

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Global, International, Contemporary French / American, International

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Daily: 7:00am - 10:00am

Lunch: 11:00 am - 2:00 pm

Dinner: Sunday-Thursday 5:00pm - 9:00 pm, Friday-Saturday 5:00pm - 9:30pm

Brunch (Saturday & Sunday): 11:00 am - 2:00 pm

Cross Street:
Island Drive

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(901) 260-3300

Website:
http://paulettes.net/

Entertainment:
Before & after dinner, you can enjoy the cozy setting & hospitality of the LITTLE BAR, relax in front of the lobby's wood-burning fireplace set in an 1850s era New Orleans mantel and listen to the live piano music or the roof terrace with the best view in Town of the river. An extensive & carefully selected wine list is overseen by our Restaurant Manager.

Catering:
Catering events are served at our Harbor Square Room (up to 40 Guest) or Harbor Square and River View Rooms (up to 60 guest). Also our new River Hall and the Court Yard with Gazebo, ideal for receptions and weddings.. can accommodate up to 200 guest reception style.
During the day we have available the "Terrace" at the River Inn, overlooking the Mississippi River, The Terrace accommodates up to 50 guest.

Executive Chef:
Jason Dallas

Private Party Facilities:
A private board room overlooking our temperature controlled wine room. The "Terrace" on the rooftop with views of the Mississippi (for day functions only), River Hall, free standing building with court yard and Gazebo, overlooking the Mississippi River. Paulette's River View and Harbor Square Rooms.

Private Party Contact:
Katie Ogden: 9012603333x2105

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Special Events are held at the "new" River Hall; overlooking the Mississippi River. Offering in-door up to 85 seated or 150 reception style. the Court Yard with Gazebo is the place for weddings and receptions - up to 120 seated and 200 reception style.

Paulette's Restaurant at the River Inn of Harbor Town Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Memphis
Special Occasion
Memphis
Romantic
Memphis
1 More
Special Occasion
Memphis
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

special occasion (73)
romantic (60)
scenic view (43)
See All
fit for foodies (37)
neighborhood gem (33)
great for brunch (31)
great for lunch (17)
notable wine list (15)
good for groups (10)
hot spot (5)
late-night find (3)
kid-friendly (3)
vibrant bar scene (3)
great for outdoor dining (2)
Sort By:
Newest
905 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Was not aware that there was a different ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined 3 days ago

Was not aware that there was a different time for breakfast and brunch on Sunday

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Exceptional food values on their nightly ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Exceptional food values on their nightly specials. Fine service and ambiance, first class restaurant all around.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Loved this restaurant. Food was outstan ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Loved this restaurant. Food was outstanding. Was romantic and fun environment.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Entertaining out of town former Memphian ...

vip
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Entertaining out of town former Memphian who always wants to go to Paulette's. The crabmeat and spinach crepe, the filet, the crabcake and salads were all delicious. We split a chocolate crepe for dessert. Popovers and strawberry butter are still there and a great start to the meal.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Excellent restaurant and food. My frien ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Excellent restaurant and food. My friends and I really enjoy our time at Paulette's.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We stayed four nights at The River Inn s ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We stayed four nights at The River Inn so had breakfast here each morning. The croissants and muffins are incredible, all baked in-house. The menu includes many tasty dishes. Dinner was excellent as well, including the complimentary popovers. We had the redfish and the pork chop.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

A lovely evening. Excellent service. We ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

A lovely evening. Excellent service. We had breakfast next morning.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a wonderful dinner listening to a ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

We had a wonderful dinner listening to an amazing piano player. Our waiter, Darren, agreed to set us up in the lobby so that we could enjoy the pianist. It was great. The service was very attentive. We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

We have been to Paulette's before, but t ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We have been to Paulette's before, but this trip was disappointing. Service was very slow. I specifically asked our server about garlic in a dish that I wanted to order because I am highly allergic to garlic (which I told our server), the server checked with the chef who confirmed the dish could be made without garlic, yet my entrée came literally laced with garlic. I waited (and waited) for our server to get back to us, and he tried to argue with me that the entrée did not have garlic. I told him I could smell the garlic in it. He finally took it back to the chef, who confirmed that they had put pesto in it. The chef ended up making me a special entrée, not on the menu, which was excellent. But we again waited and waited for it to come out. My husband completely finished his meal before I got any food. Then we continued to wait for the dessert menu and finally our check. I was very disappointed. This was a birthday dinner for me, and I had hoped it would be better than this.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

Redfish entre came with two small overco ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Redfish entre came with two small overcooked shrimp on top. Server brought red wine glasses for pinot noir wine. I expected much more at a place like Paulettes. Asked for a more private seating since it was our 30th anniversary. We were seated right by the main entrance.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

This is my wife's favorite restaurant, a ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

This is my wife's favorite restaurant, and I usually bring her here for special occasions.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dining at Paulette's was a great experie ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Dining at Paulette's was a great experience!! I chose the restaurant as a first wedding anniversary celebration and it was all 5 stars. The service was impeccable and the food was superb from start to finish. Please try the Filet Paulette if you are dining at Paulette's. My wife and I also had breakfast at Paulette's since we stayed overnight at the River Inn.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, good service. 1st time we ha ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Great food, good service. 1st time we had been but not the last. Well worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Paulettes was a great experience. The fo ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Paulettes was a great experience. The food was delicious and the service excellent. The chef went out of his way to accommodate my wife's food sensitivities. I suggest however that you refrain from ordering the Kahlua desert unless you intent to share it amount several fortunate people.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband, teenage daughter, and I had ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

My husband, teenage daughter, and I had a superb lunch at this waterfront restaurant. It was an incredibly great value. My husband had strawberry and arugula salad with salmon, while my daughter had fried chicken sandwich, and I had chicken crepes. The plates were excellently prepared. The restaurant was traditionally furnished, bright, and well-kept. It is a shame that parking and a road come between the restaurant and the river. It was a really memorably nice meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

The food was disappointing . The ambie ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

The food was disappointing . The ambience was very nice . The waitstaff was uninformed about the menu and whether or not there was going to be soup of the day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Paulette's for brunch is a must-do when ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Paulette's for brunch is a must-do when visiting Memphis. Beautiful setting, very nice selection of well prepared dishes, exquisite service.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

I have had dinner at Paulette's on sever ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

I have had dinner at Paulette's on several occasions but this time was not the great experience I have had in the past

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Excellent service, excellent flavors! T ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Excellent service, excellent flavors! The popover with strawberry butter was quite memorable!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I had the fillet mignon with asparagus a ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

I had the fillet mignon with asparagus and potatoes. Excellent steak and veggies. The waiter was attentive, but didn't hover. My wife had the rack of lamb and thoroughly enjoyed her meal. We will definitely go back again.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had two fabulous dinners at Paulette's ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Had two fabulous dinners at Paulette's this past weekend. Definitely recommend.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We look forward to having dinner again a ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

We look forward to having dinner again at Paulette's next time we're in Memphis and hopefully have a table closer to the piano player.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great place to dine.

vip
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Another wonderful meal and as always...impeccable wait staff.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The new chef has raised the quality of t ...

vip
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

The new chef has raised the quality of the food and makes an effort to come out and greet the guests. We were there for a wine tasting dinner and unfortunately the regular guests at the table next to the room were very loud, hampering our ability to hear about the wines when they were introduced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

The filet was delicious!

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

The filet was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Surprise find in stop-over Memphis

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

On our way to Houston from St. Louis, we spent the night in Memphis. Our two families wanted to have a rather quiet good dinner by the riverfront. We chose Paulette's from the internet. We were completely satisfied with the food and the service. Only flaw was that the wait person offered a special dish of Red Fish but came back from the kitchen to say that the last piece was sold and I consider that as bad communication between the chef and the wait staff.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

EXCELLENT DINNER CHOICE

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Paulette's was a fantastic place with delicious dining options. We enjoyed the separate chicken and steak entrees. For appetizer, make sure to order the mozzarella balls. The only downside was the lack of beer options as bottled beer was all that was available. However, I highly recommend overall.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Whenever I have guests in town, I like t ...

vip
 (Alabama)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Whenever I have guests in town, I like to take them to Paulette's for dinner. The service is always top notch and the food is fantastic. The Filet Paulette is outstanding, but have never had anything that wasn't delicious. Good wine selection also.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful restaurant with excellent food ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Beautiful restaurant with excellent food. Everybody enjoyed their meal and there were no leftovers. Menu is a little bit limited but everything we tried was excellent. So I guess the takeaway is "do the things you do very well, even if there's not a ton of them." Parking was a little awkward, as this is a restaurant in a large residential neighborhood. It may have designated parking, but it was raining hard that night and I could not find it. The restaurant had the feel of an old Southern mansion with many little rooms (which was nice) though it seems to be relatively new. Conversations were easy with just a few tables per room. Got to hear conversations at nearby tables, too. Fortunately, nothing awkward. Drinks were great.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Loved the piano playing while me and the ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

Loved the piano playing while me and the miss was enjoying our dinner and the waiter suggestions on wine and dessert was on point. It was truly a romantic place and setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and I dined there on a Saturday ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

My wife and I dined there on a Saturday night. We ordered the pork chop to split and it was more than enough for the two of us. It was tender,juicy and had a wonderful flavor.

Our server Mike did an outstanding job.

Can't wait to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and service excellent as always ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

The food and service excellent as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were very disappointed on this visit ...

vip
 (Memphis)
·Dined on May 16, 2016

We were very disappointed on this visit to Paulette's. We went on Monday night because of their $19.95 specials on Mondays. In the past, it has been fine. This time, not so much. My husband had the beef tenderloin over mashed potatoes and I had the chicken. He said his was fine, but nothing special. My chicken was too tough to cut. I could not chew it through. OUr waiter did not come back toi check on us until my husband was nearly finished with his meal. All I could eat of mine was the veggies and potatoes.

When our waiter finally came close, I still had to hail him to come to the table. He took my plate away even though I was obviously still eating the veggies. IN fact, he yanked it out from under my fork. He said he would have them make me another plate. I wished he had asked rather than telling me. If I could have finished the veggies, I would have been ok and just asked for an adjustment on our bill. As it was, I had to wait for them to cook another plate of overcooked and tough chicken for me. It was not as bad, so I ate what I could.

The server said that they rarely have anything go back and that he was sorry, and that the chef said it was overcooked. Indeed it was. I do not know if they used frozen breast filets for the dish, but tough chicken only happens with overcooking or cooking too fast. It almost tasted like it was nuked.

We will go back because we like Paulettes. But, I'll never order chicken there again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

The whole experience was exceptional. Th ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

The whole experience was exceptional. The service was wonderful and over the top! The food was great. Our party included 3 young grandchildren.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

lovely brunch

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

I had brunch at Paulette's last Sunday along with two friends, and we had a wonderful time! The food was delicious (I had the salad with goat cheese and strawberries and the chicken kebob with mushroom sauce). Both were wonderful

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The grad dinner

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Awesome food !! Love this place It's right on the Mississippi in a quieter part of Memphis , tn . People are very nice too !!

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our visit to Paulette's was to celebrate ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Our visit to Paulette's was to celebrate a special lady in my life, my mother. This was her first time dining here. The popovers with strawberry butter were a delightful before-dinner surprise to her. After our visit, she told me, "Thanks for the wonderful memory!" Our evening couldn't have been more pleasant. We will return...and often!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food perfect Service perfect Very good ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

Food perfect

Service perfect

Very good place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

It's Okay

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Went for Mother's Day. Lobster was dry..potatoes were delicious. Very small sliver of cake for dessert.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Wonderful experience. Wish only that we ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Wonderful experience. Wish only that we might have been able to order a simple fruit or vegetable for a 1 year old. Prix fixe Mother's day menu for a small child does not work.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.