About Paul Martin's American Grill - Scottsdale

6186 North Scottsdale Road
Scottsdale, AZ 85253
View Larger Map

Seasonal & Delicious.

With Paul Martin's American Grill, Brian Bennett and restaurateur Paul Fleming have realized a long-nurtured dream to create the restaurant "we've always wished was in our neighborhood."

At the heart of all great food is fresh, local, peak of the season ingredients. Paul Martin's aims to serve diners the best ingredients with meat raised in a humane and wholesome way, locally sourced produce, the best of both wild and farmed fish, artisan cheeses and cured meats from small local purveyors. The deep California-centric wine list twists and turns, by glass or bottle, through the Golden State's vineyards, with an occasional stop for an Oregon Pinot Gris or a Washington dry Riesling. Behind Paul Martin's elegantly rustic bar is an interesting array of craft beer and spirited cocktails with fresh garnishes. Good times and thoughtful food are a way of life at Paul Martin's American Grill.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm
Sunday: 10:00am - 9:00pm

Daily Happy Hour: 3:00 - 7:00 pm

Cross Street:
E. McDonald Drive

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(480) 991-9342

Website:
http://paulmartinsamericangrill.com/

Parking Details:
Valet is available as well.

Executive Chef:
Chef Carlos Garcia

Additional:
Bar Dining, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Paul Martin's American Grill - Scottsdale, Scottsdale, AZ
  • Paul Martin's American Grill - Scottsdale, Scottsdale, AZ
  • Paul Martin's American Grill - Scottsdale, Scottsdale, AZ
  • Paul Martin's American Grill - Scottsdale, Scottsdale, AZ
  • Paul Martin's American Grill - Scottsdale, Scottsdale, AZ
Paul Martin's American Grill - Scottsdale, Scottsdale, AZ
Paul Martin's American Grill - Scottsdale, Scottsdale, AZ
Paul Martin's American Grill - Scottsdale, Scottsdale, AZ
Paul Martin's American Grill - Scottsdale, Scottsdale, AZ
Paul Martin's American Grill - Scottsdale, Scottsdale, AZ

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 4:30PM - 6:45PM

Tue - Sat 4:30PM - 6:45PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Paul Martin's American Grill - Scottsdale Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

American
Scottsdale

Good for a Date (43)
Special Occasion (42)
Neighborhood Gem (35)
See All
Casual (34)
Good for Anniversaries (30)
Modern Decor (30)
Good for Birthdays (25)
Great for Outdoor Dining (24)
Fit for Foodies (23)
Business Meals (23)
Happy Hour (21)
Bar Seating (20)
Notable Wine List (20)
Cozy (20)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Fun (19)
Worth the Drive (18)
Great for Lunch (18)
Local Ingredients (16)
Comfort Food (16)
Healthy (15)
Good for Groups (15)
Romantic (14)
Outstanding Value (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Hot Spot (12)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Great for Brunch (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Organic (8)
Seasonal (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Authentic (7)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Open Kitchen (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Great Beer (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Disabled Access (3)
People Watching (3)
Fireplace (2)
Vegan (2)
Private Room (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Live Sports (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Tapas (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Family Style (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Live Music (1)
Sort By:
S
866 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I would like to start by saying that thi ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 3 days ago

I would like to start by saying that this place is amazing!!! The food was so good I finished everything on my plate which never happens. We booked this table for our annual girls-night ornament swap and they sat us in the cutest little room that just made the night even better. We all had a great time. The only thing I would like to mention is that there is no happy-hour unless you sit at a high top. I booked this so we could have happy-hour and low and behold we weren't allowed to order anything off of that menu which kind of sucked since this is why we picked this place in the first place. But everything was really good and the girls forgave me for making them spend more than what they had planned only because the food was really that good!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Friends took us as guests because we "ho ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined 5 days ago

Friends took us as guests because we "house watched" while they were traveling.

Wives ate the Kale Caesar Salad. My friend had an unadorned burger by request and he was very happy with. I had the Pastrami sandwich, and it was very tasty.

Tags: Modern Decor, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was attracted by the reviews and appea ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 2, 2016

I was attracted by the reviews and appearance, but my experience was below average mostly due to poor service. I sat for a while before the waitress would even take my order and she seemed surprised when I flagged her down to do so. I ordered the French dip. It tasted fine, but the roast beef wasn't very warm. I wasn't able to address the temperature of my sandwich with her, because she didn't return to the table until I was finished. I had other simple needs like water for which I waited 10 minutes. Anybody walking by could clearly seeI was ready for the bill with my card on the table and plates pushed away. However, there was another long wait for the waitress to return.

Overall, the menu looked ok. I did hear the waiter at the table next to me try to sell their food quality by degrading other high end steakhouses in the area, which wasn't very appealing. Based on the service alone I'm not sure it's worth a repeat visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

Enjoyable atmosphere Great menu Delicio ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Enjoyable atmosphere

Great menu

Delicious food

Live entertainment last night

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and great service. The waiter ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Great food and great service. The waiter was so friendly and provided really good service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our fifth visit to Paul Martin ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 26, 2016

This was our fifth visit to Paul Martin's. The draw in the past has been the great food and excellent service. Unfortunately, on this visit the restaurant came up short on both counts. Admittedly, it was the day after Thanksgiving, so that may have compromised the restaurant's readiness. The service was hurried and rather cold. Three of us ordered different meals. The grilled rib-eye ordered medium was served rare and after another try came out medium rare. The braised short ribs, which are usually very tender, were very tough. The butter lettuce salad with beef had beef too tough for a salad. The kale Caesar salad and butter lettuce garden salad featured hard- to-cut, tough-to-eat greens. In summary, it was a disappointing evening. But I guess one bad time out of five is still 80% good. We will give it another try.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Amazingly they raised their prices and d ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Amazingly they raised their prices and decreased the quality of their food. We were a party of five, not one of us enjoyed our food. My Wife had the chicken, I ordered the salmon, my daughter order the ribs, my grand children had burgers and pasta. A total miss on every dish.

We heard that all other Paul martin locations had been sold. Possibly they should either sell this one, or pay attention to business.

We should have left when we entered the Restaurant on a Saturday night and it was virtually empty, when at the same time we could not get a reservation other good Scottsdale restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Terrific food & wonderful service makes ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Terrific food & wonderful service makes Paul Martin's a " must go " !!

Make sure you order the Salt & Pepper Shrimp.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Another wonderful dining experience at P ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Another wonderful dining experience at Paul Martin's American Grill. As usual, food, drinks, wine, and wait staff were all excellent.

Tags: Happy Hour, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Paul Martin's is a MUST-try restaurant e ...

vip
 (Fargo)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Paul Martin's is a MUST-try restaurant experience in Scottsdale. The only thing better than the service is the food and everyone from the host to the bus staff really goes out of their way to make your experience the best it can be. A+

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had Happy Hour specials. Hamburgers are ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Had Happy Hour specials. Hamburgers are the best in the city. The fish and chips not so good. Two very small pieces of fish with more coating than fish and few chips.t

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a lovely evening with friends. S ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We had a lovely evening with friends. Service staff were attentive, provided specific descriptions about menu items. Permitted vegetable substitution. Grilled salmon was moist and tasty. Apple crisp dessert a la mode yummy; chocolate cake and banana cream pie servings generous. Nice atmosphere, very comfortable. Will definitely return!

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Coffee, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I drive by Paul Martin's all the time an ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 19, 2016

I drive by Paul Martin's all the time and always wondered what kind of restaurant it was and if the food was good. Overall, I would just say that Paul Martin's is very average. Would I rush to go back, probably not, but certainly would go again in the future. Scottsdale has too many other great options for me to consider returning anytime soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

We always love the food and atmosphere. ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We always love the food and atmosphere. Especially enjoy the specials though a bit pricey otherwise

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We were a group of ten friends. They sea ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 18, 2016

We were a group of ten friends. They seated us in an almost private dining room, which worked out great. The food was excellent, fresh and well prepared. Wine choices were very good, if a bit pricey. Valet parking was an added bonus on a rainy day. Service was excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The wings were fabulous!

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 16, 2016

The wings were fabulous!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of my husband's favorite restaurants ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 16, 2016

One of my husband's favorite restaurants!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service great food as always

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Great service great food as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect for our friendsgiving. We had a ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Perfect for our friendsgiving. We had a great time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went on Monday evening and enjoyed the f ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Went on Monday evening and enjoyed the fabulous $50 special (2 salads, 2 entrees, and a bottle of wine!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

great food at decent price that will be ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 14, 2016

great food at decent price that will be a restaurant you return to alot

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had the salmon which was excellent. ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We had the salmon which was excellent. Calamari was very good too. It was a good place to have dinner with friends

Tags: Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This place rocks! Great food, service, a ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 12, 2016

This place rocks! Great food, service, and atmosphere. Always a pleasure to dine here!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Cozy, Casual, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Really great experience.

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Really great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As usual, a great time. Good cocktails ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 12, 2016

As usual, a great time. Good cocktails. Excellent service in the form of Heather.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I had the salmon and it was amazing. I w ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 11, 2016

I had the salmon and it was amazing. I would give this restaurant 6 stars if I could!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our second visit for a happy ho ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 10, 2016

This was our second visit for a happy hour group. We enjoyed our first visit so much we wanted to return. They have a small but nice selection of reasonably priced appetizers and beverages. Nice atmosphere and the music is not so loud you have to compete with it to talk. Service both times has also been excellent.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I was in an oyster mood this time, as I ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 7, 2016

I was in an oyster mood this time, as I have been to Paul Martin's American Grill many times and usually start with the Butter Lettuce Salad appetizer, which is delicious! However my detour from the usual were the Fanny Bay Oysters, which were great. My friend really enjoyed the Calamari appetizer and Sunday's Prime Rib, three course dinner special, as did I, which was a good value for the price point. Our server Heather, provided wonderful and timely service. She is great! Ask for her and you will not be disappointed.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Do not Order Prime rib special very to ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Do not Order Prime rib special very tough...Order pasta liguini very blan mac and cheese flavor not good. Salmon was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Dined here on November 4th while on vaca ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Dined here on November 4th while on vacation in Scottsdale. We had the Blackened Ribeye and the Cedar Plank Steelhead. Food was served quickly, very hot and was outstanding. Great flavor and presentation. Amy, our server was terrific. She was very pleasant and helpful with her suggestions. She made sure our food was prepared to our liking and that we always had drinks. Amy made a very, very good meal into a great meal. We highly recommend Paul Martin's American Grill.

Tags: Fun, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Casual, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Beautiful restaurant great service, both ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Beautiful restaurant great service, both my husband and I didn't care much for our meals, he had New York that was tough, I had the BBQ ribs that had a odd flavor to them ! The restaurant and service is wonderful ! Go for drinking comply couches and Beautiful !

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Heather our waitress is always terrific, ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Heather our waitress is always terrific, she does a great job!

Tags: Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an outstanding experience. Altho ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 1, 2016

We had an outstanding experience. Although it was very busy, we only waited about 10 minutes past our reservation to be seated. The menu is creative and the food delicious. The staff is very knowledgeable and was able to make suggestions.

We were seated in the covered patio which was quieter than the main dining area. The patio actually feels like a room as there are plants/hedges surrounding the area. Would definitely chose this if the restaurant is busy.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall good experience but service leve ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Overall good experience but service level and attentiveness was below prior experience level.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Good staff ,polite quick delivery of foo ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Good staff ,polite quick delivery of food & good quality

Tags: Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Seemed a little pricey

 
 (London)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Seemed a little pricey

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great menu with outstanding service. Fo ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Great menu with outstanding service. Food was excellent to outstanding with recommendations from the excellent waiter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The meal was set up for visiting busines ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 27, 2016

The meal was set up for visiting business associates. We all thought the dining experience was extremely pleasurable and the food was great!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Paleo Friendly, Modern Decor, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best place to eat in the area. Service i ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Best place to eat in the area. Service is unbeatable. Waiters friendly and do an excellent job. Remember you from previous visits and stop by to say hello. Managers stop by to make sure everything is good. Only place to eat chicken or prime rib. Have never had bad service or a bad meal.

Tags: Fun, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Healthy, Modern Decor, Happy Hour, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best restaurant experiences i ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 25, 2016

One of the best restaurant experiences in Scottsdale. Food is great and service is fantastic. We have been there 4-5 times over the last few months and have had outstanding service each time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.