About Paul Martin's American Grill - Scottsdale

6186 North Scottsdale Road
Scottsdale, AZ 85253
View Larger Map

Seasonal & Delicious.

With Paul Martin's American Grill, Brian Bennett and restaurateur Paul Fleming have realized a long-nurtured dream to create the restaurant "we've always wished was in our neighborhood."

At the heart of all great food is fresh, local, peak of the season ingredients. Paul Martin's aims to serve diners the best ingredients with meat raised in a humane and wholesome way, locally sourced produce, the best of both wild and farmed fish, artisan cheeses and cured meats from small local purveyors. The deep California-centric wine list twists and turns, by glass or bottle, through the Golden State's vineyards, with an occasional stop for an Oregon Pinot Gris or a Washington dry Riesling. Behind Paul Martin's elegantly rustic bar is an interesting array of craft beer and spirited cocktails with fresh garnishes. Good times and thoughtful food are a way of life at Paul Martin's American Grill.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm
Sunday: 10:00am - 9:00pm

Brunch:
Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
E. McDonald Drive

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(480) 991-9342

Website:
http://paulmartinsamericangrill.com/

Parking Details:
Valet is available as well.

Executive Chef:
Chef Carlos Garcia

Additional:
Full Bar, Happy Hour, Private Room, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

  • Paul Martin's American Grill - Scottsdale
  • Paul Martin's American Grill - Scottsdale
  • Paul Martin's American Grill - Scottsdale
  • Paul Martin's American Grill - Scottsdale
  • Paul Martin's American Grill - Scottsdale
Paul Martin's American Grill - Scottsdale
Paul Martin's American Grill - Scottsdale
Paul Martin's American Grill - Scottsdale
Paul Martin's American Grill - Scottsdale
Paul Martin's American Grill - Scottsdale

Promotions

Happy Hour

Special valid Jun 22, 2016 - Oct 22, 2016 all week from 3:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $50.00

Mondays from 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $23.00

Tuesdays from 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $27.00

Sundays from 10:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Promotions

Happy Hour

Special valid Jun 22, 2016 - Oct 22, 2016 all week from 3:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Details

DAILY HAPPY HOUR features specialty dishes exclusive to happy hour, starting at $5. Excludes Tax and Tip. Includes small bites, drink specials, and selected entrees. Special valid Jun 22, 2016 - Oct 22, 2016 all week from 3:00 PM - 7:00 PM.

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $50.00

Mondays from 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM

Details

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $50.00. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special includes, two salads, two entrees, and a bottle of pre-selected wine. Special valid Jun 22, 2016 - Oct 22, 2016 on Mondays from 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM.

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $23.00

Tuesdays from 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM

Details

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $23.00. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special includes, green salad, buttermilk fried chicken, and housemade ice cream. Special valid Jun 22, 2016 - Oct 22, 2016 on Tuesdays from 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM.

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $27.00

Sundays from 10:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Details

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $27.00. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special includes, green salad, all-natural prime rib, and housemade ice cream. Special valid Jun 22, 2016 - Oct 22, 2016 on Sundays from 10:00 AM - 9:00 PM.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Paul Martin's American Grill - Scottsdale Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

American
Phoenix / Scottsdale
Best Restaurants in Scottsdale ›

Special Occasion (76)
Neighborhood Gem (75)
Fit for Foodies (74)
See All
Great for Lunch (53)
Good for Groups (48)
Great for Outdoor Dining (47)
Notable Wine List (41)
Romantic (35)
Great for Brunch (31)
Vibrant Bar Scene (24)
Hot Spot (18)
Late-night Find (7)
Kid-friendly (5)
Scenic View (4)
Sort By:
Newest
775 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This place is "rockin" on all cylinders! ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined 4 days ago

This place is "rockin" on all cylinders! Food, service, atmosphere......it's all good! Everyone that I introduce to Paul Martin's American Grill, loves it. This is an addiction that I don't want therapy for! LOL......

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Best happy hour so far. $5 martinis, gre ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined 4 days ago

Best happy hour so far. $5 martinis, great selection of food and wonderful ambiance. Great service too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was fine, although this is th ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined 4 days ago

Everything was fine, although this is the first time I have ever spent a birthday celebration in a restaurant without the restaurant offering a birthday dessert. It is not the money, but the fact that they cared enough to share in the celebration. I think Paul Martin should consider this.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We went to this restaurant for our Anniv ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

We went to this restaurant for our Anniversary. The service, food and wine was very good. Staff was very friendly. Highly recommend this restaurant!

Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love their fresh natural menu. Combines ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Love their fresh natural menu. Combines great taste with ingredients that are healthy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent dining experience. Ordered th ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Excellent dining experience.

Ordered the 7 course menu with the wine pairing.

All dishes were very tasty and presented beautifully.

The chef was pleasant to talk to (we sat at the counter)

The staff was friendly & courteous.

We definitely will be coming back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service is excellent here! The Gener ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The service is excellent here! The General Manager Clyde, is wonderful. My server Michael, was more than AMAZING! Ask for him and you will not be disappointed. Tim, and other staff members, including the hostesses, are fantastic as well. I highly recommend the Butter Lettuce Salad, Cedar Plank Salmon Special (if available), and the Devils Food Cake, which was simply to die for! I had a Strawberry Cocktail of some sort, and all was well with the world after that, and I was feeling no pain! LOL. I could of easily had two of them, but I needed to drive myself home. LOL. This is a mid-range pricing restaurant establishment that serves only the freshest ingredients, and produce is locally sourced whenever possible. I am hooked on this place and seek my "fix" whenever I can. There are worse things to be addicted to! Go now.......

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Recently dined here on a business meetin ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Recently dined here on a business meeting. Food was excellent and service was impeccable. Thanks you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was outstanding. Service was very a ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Food was outstanding. Service was very attentive. Value was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Best place in town. Sunday & Tuesday spe ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Best place in town. Sunday & Tuesday specials terrific.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our 2nd visit, but there won't ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

This was our 2nd visit, but there won't be any more! The noise level was terrible, so we were practically shouting across the table to our friends. The waiter spoke exceptionally fast so that, combined with the noise level, made it difficult to understand what he was saying. He also was not as attentive as would be expected; we had to ask the busser for additional items several times.

The food was overdone & overpriced. I could tell that our friends were not at all enjoying the St. Louis ribs, so when a manager dropped by & asked how everything was, & I could see that our friends were not going to speak up, I told him. He offered NOTHING! Not an "I'm sorry", not a "Let me buy you dessert", or a "I'll take those entrees off the bill". NOTHING! My short rib was tender but charred on the outside which made for a somewhat bitter taste. My husband's pork medallions were tough. The only good items we enjoyed were the Meyer Lemon Creme Brulées. Delicious!

Because of the lack of caring on the part of most of the staff & the less than mediocre food at higher than moderate prices, Paul Martin's Grill is being crossed off the list of go-to restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Excellent food! I had the marinated skir ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Excellent food! I had the marinated skirt steaks. Was recommended to me by our waitress. We have been there many times and I normally order the salmon. Although the salmon is excellent, I thought I would try something different. So GOOD!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The prix fixe brunch was a great value a ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The prix fixe brunch was a great value and delicious. The blueberry bread and butter was outstanding. The Bloody Maria drinks were delicious and the food overall was well prepared and very tasty!! We also had the homemade ice cream and the lemon creme brûlée , both of which were memorable!! Would definitely return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

The food was great. The service was ver ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The food was great. The service was very good. The atmosphere is also very nice.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great staff, and wonderful s ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Great food, great staff, and wonderful service! So glad Paul Martin's American Grill is in my neighborhood. Nice menu variety as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food and wine selection. Great ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Excellent food and wine selection. Great service. Just wish we had known no happy hour in the dining room. Way too pricey for a 5:30 pm sip and bit with a friend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Paul Martin's American Grill - Scottsdal ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Paul Martin's American Grill - Scottsdale is one of my favorite business lunch restaurants. Professional, spacious, excellent food & service.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had such a wonderful dinner at Paul M ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We had such a wonderful dinner at Paul Martins. They gave our party of 6 the small dining room with a large table that would definitely seat 10 easily. We had the best service. We had a few bus boys and waiter as well as the manager attending to us. Our family does not order alcohol drinks and we find that on many occasions our service suffers. Not at Paul Martins. It's a great spot for family celebrations.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Consistent service, outstanding atmosphe ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Consistent service, outstanding atmosphere, delicious food!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was my first time to Paul Martin's ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

This was my first time to Paul Martin's and I really enjoyed it. I have driven by it a million times and always wanted to go in. I really loved how nice it was inside and the happy hour was really great! I will definitely be going back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The Butter Lettuce Salad was a wonderful ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

The Butter Lettuce Salad was a wonderful way to start off, followed by the Steelhead Salmon Entrée w/Quinoa. I added a side of sautéed Spinach as well. All was well with the world after having the Devils Food Cake for dessert. Yummy! My server Mike, was the best. So friendly, professional, and timely! I'll definitely be back. This is a great place to dine!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We had made reservations for a Corporate ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

We had made reservations for a Corporate Lunch. The lunch was fabulous!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I was surprised that the wine list did n ...

 
·Dined on July 18, 2016

I was surprised that the wine list did not contain the description of the wines offered.

Disappointed.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

The Steelhead Salmon Entrée was delightf ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

The Steelhead Salmon Entrée was delightful and delicious, as was the Butter Lettuce Salad as a starter. Ahhh......the Chocolate Cake is 'soooo' amazing! Not over-the-top "sugary-sweet", as some desserts at other restaurant establishments. Come here for great service and friendly staff in a comfortable and inviting atmosphere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We were there for the prime rib dinner ( ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

We were there for the prime rib dinner (served only on Sunday). The restaurant was pretty empty, which was a surprise, but after our experience with poor service I understand why. We had the calamari to start, which was pretty good. When the salads arrived, there was a big (moving!) bug in one of the salads. The waiter quickly took that plate away without mention, much less apology, of the unexpected topping. The experience somewhat dampened our appetite, but we enjoyed the prime rib. The server was not the one who delivered our meal, nor did he check on us unless it was to ask about another round of cocktails. When we did order another drink, we could see it sitting on the bar for a while before the server decided to bring it over. By then, my husband was nearly done with his meal. The manager (?) stopped by with a cursory "How is everything?" but never really stopped for us to finish our mouthfuls to answer. Bottom line, the food is pretty tasty, but not worth the bad service. Too much good competition in the area to go back to Paul Martin.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

We had a great meal! Everyone's food was ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We had a great meal! Everyone's food was perfect and special shout out for the The short ribs!! Simply incredible

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Scratch to table concepts, are the way t ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Scratch to table concepts, are the way to go and Paul Martin's hits all the high marks...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We've been at Paul Martin's a number of ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

We've been at Paul Martin's a number of times, and it's always good! We took an out of town guest this time; he sent back a ribeye steak saying it was overcooked. We didn't think he should sent it back and were embarrassed. The server and the manager, who brought out the replacement himself, were more than gracious. Their response really was above and beyond.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and atmosphere was wonderful -- ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

The food and atmosphere was wonderful -- the waiter was very knowledgeable and helpful. We had a great time. It was a little on the expensive side though

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

This is the best place in town to eat. T ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

This is the best place in town to eat. There specials on Tuesday and Sunday are unbeatable. The service is the best you can find in town. Every time I eat somewhere else, I wonder why I didn't go to Paul Martins. Have never had a bad meal or poor service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was over the top. Molly , our wai ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Food was over the top. Molly , our waitress, was the BEST.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love the Sunday night prime rib dinne ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

We love the Sunday night prime rib dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Traditional American fare prepared with ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Traditional American fare prepared with care and elegance. Have a great formula and I hope to keep it going.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Superb! The wait staff is excellent, th ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Superb! The wait staff is excellent, the food wonderful, the location is great. We had brunch and it was excellent.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We've taken advantage of Paul Martin's A ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

We've taken advantage of Paul Martin's American Grill specials a few times now & have never been disappointed. The food, service & atmosphere always impresses.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An nice surprise in a shopping center. D ...

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

An nice surprise in a shopping center. Decor was warm and inviting.lighting was perfect-so rare. Cocktial list unique and were tasty. Wines by the glass were refreshingly unique and of great quality and reasonable. Split a caesar salad, and it was still large. Fish was amazing.Had the sugar snap peas on the side- WOW they were fabulous! Service was prompt and very friendly. I will definitely return. Desserts were fresh and had seasonal choices as well. A large place, so could easily handle a large crowd.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Disappointed after dining there several ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Disappointed after dining there several times. Service was OK but food was mediocre and overpriced .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

Outstanding value on a Monday evening. A ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Outstanding value on a Monday evening. All the staff were very friendly and professional. Will return

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

I think this is a very underrated restau ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

I think this is a very underrated restaurant in the overall Scottsdale area. I have dined there over 20 times and it has been consistent in quality and service everytime

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

The waiters and management are all very ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

The waiters and management are all very attentive. We had ordered vegetables, and they were not cooked to our liking so they were sitting on the table untouched. The manager came over and noticed it, and had them redone for us. The waiter heard clearly when we said 'no potatoes' (due to weight management) and asked if we wanted the bread or not, and offered us fruit bowls for desert rather than the ice cream.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.