About Paul Martin's American Grill - Scottsdale

6186 North Scottsdale Road
Scottsdale, AZ 85253
View Larger Map

Seasonal & Delicious.

With Paul Martin's American Grill, Brian Bennett and restaurateur Paul Fleming have realized a long-nurtured dream to create the restaurant "we've always wished was in our neighborhood."

At the heart of all great food is fresh, local, peak of the season ingredients. Paul Martin's aims to serve diners the best ingredients with meat raised in a humane and wholesome way, locally sourced produce, the best of both wild and farmed fish, artisan cheeses and cured meats from small local purveyors. The deep California-centric wine list twists and turns, by glass or bottle, through the Golden State's vineyards, with an occasional stop for an Oregon Pinot Gris or a Washington dry Riesling. Behind Paul Martin's elegantly rustic bar is an interesting array of craft beer and spirited cocktails with fresh garnishes. Good times and thoughtful food are a way of life at Paul Martin's American Grill.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm
Sunday: 10:00am - 9:00pm

Daily Happy Hour: 3:00 - 7:00 pm

Cross Street:
E. McDonald Drive

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(480) 991-9342

Website:
http://paulmartinsamericangrill.com/

Parking Details:
Valet is available as well.

Executive Chef:
Chef Carlos Garcia

Additional:
Bar Dining, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Paul Martin's American Grill - Scottsdale, Scottsdale, AZ
  • Paul Martin's American Grill - Scottsdale, Scottsdale, AZ
  • Paul Martin's American Grill - Scottsdale, Scottsdale, AZ
  • Paul Martin's American Grill - Scottsdale, Scottsdale, AZ
  • Paul Martin's American Grill - Scottsdale, Scottsdale, AZ

Report a photo problem

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Paul Martin's American Grill - Scottsdale Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (51)
Modern Decor (38)
Special Occasion (37)
See All
Casual (35)
Good for Birthdays (34)
Good for Anniversaries (34)
Neighborhood Gem (31)
Cozy (29)
Business Meals (28)
Bar Seating (26)
Worth the Drive (22)
Happy Hour (22)
Notable Wine List (20)
Fun (20)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Local Ingredients (19)
Great for Outdoor Dining (19)
Healthy (18)
Outstanding Value (17)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Good for Groups (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Authentic (14)
Comfort Food (13)
Romantic (13)
Great for Lunch (10)
Organic (10)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Seasonal (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Great for Brunch (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Open Kitchen (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Great Beer (5)
People Watching (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Private Room (3)
Family Style (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Live Music (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Fireplace (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Vegan (1)
Tapas (1)
Live Sports (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
927 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food, awesome service.

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined 9 hours ago

Great food, awesome service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

we went for the Tuesday night Fried Chic ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined 2 days ago

we went for the Tuesday night Fried Chicken special, but it has been discontinued. Disappointed, but still like this place a lot

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Great food! Great Service! Monday specia ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined 3 days ago

Great food! Great Service! Monday speciaL WAS a great surprise!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were looking forward to the steak and ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 3 days ago

We were looking forward to the steak and frites but sadly it has been removed from the menu. Both the cedar plank salmon and the short ribs were delicious. The rib eye was OK, rather on the thin side. The service was rushed. We were still eating our salads when the main courses were served. But we will return. It remains one of our favourites. Next time we will remember to ask the server to better pace the meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Second time visiting Paul Martin's. The ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 4 days ago

Second time visiting Paul Martin's. The second time was just as good as the first. The service was terrific and the food worth the price. We went for Happy Hour and the selection and value was great. Next time in the area will definitely stop at Paul Martin's.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was good but not great. Service ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

The food was good but not great. Service was very good. I was expecting more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Our second visit here was just as nice a ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 5 days ago

Our second visit here was just as nice as the first! Great service and food - with some tasty dishes you don't find in many other spots. The atmosphere is open, yet cozy, and even when they were full, you could still have a normal volume conversation with your companion(s). They now have a well-earned spot on our favorites list !

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and service. Butcher's Board ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 6 days ago

Great food and service. Butcher's Board was fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Paul Martins American Grill - Happy FriY ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined 7 days ago

Paul Martins American Grill - Happy FriYAY

What a wonderful dinner

⋅Smoked Chicken & Wings housemade pesto slaw

⋅ St. Louis Style Pork Ribs hoisin glaze, green onions

⋅ Petite Steak Frites marinated grass-fed angus top sirloin, herb butter, red wine jus

We highly recommend it 😎

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent. Wait staff was prom ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Food was excellent. Wait staff was prompt and courteous. Prices reasonable and decent wine selection and price

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

First time and would definitely return. ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 10, 2017

First time and would definitely return.

Monday night special for two is a definite!

Tags: Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Always great service and wonderfully del ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Always great service and wonderfully delicious food and drinks. Highly recommended! Worth the drive from Queen Creek!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had good service as the couple who we ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We had good service as the couple who were with us, eat there very frequently! Bosses even stopped by.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Healthy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This is a fun restaurant for an excellen ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 7, 2017

This is a fun restaurant for an excellent meal. Our reservation was honored, although the restaurant was not full. We sat inside in a fairly open area. I would definitely agree with others that the noise level was very high. Amy was our waitress and she was spectacular with knowledge, recommendations and service. We were in and out in about 75 minutes, but never rushed. We had the artichoke appetizer-yummy, cedar plank salmon-excellent and the ribeye- perfectly cooked and checked by server before he would leave the table.

Would definitely return, but not for a romantic evening.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Authentic, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great place, well decorated with live mu ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Great place, well decorated with live music that didn't take over the room. Food was great but a little over priced. Overall, this place is well run, outstanding service, great ambiance and good food.

Tags: Live Music, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Live Music every Thursday. Fun little p ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Live Music every Thursday. Fun little place. Food was good, not Great but good. Very comfortable atmosphere.

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was wonderful and service was g ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 6, 2017

The food was wonderful and service was great. Our waitress was very attentive and polite. The 3 of us all agreed that we will definitely dine there again.

Thank you, Paul Martin's!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I'm so glad that I was able to take adva ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 3, 2017

I'm so glad that I was able to take advantage of the "All Day Tuesday Fried Chicken" 3 Course Special. It was so delicious, and I truly lucked out because it won't be back again until summertime after today. A new menu rolls out on January 4th.

The Wild Mushroom Soup was delectable, as well as the Salt & Pepper Shrimp Appetizer, which is wild caught and not farm raised. Thank you to my server Paolo, who was very timely and wonderful, which made for a pleasant and enjoyable dining experience.

Management is fantastic here, (Clyde and Tim). Both were checking in on all of the guests to make sure that everything was okay. More restaurant establishments could learn a thing or two from them. Best customer service ever!

Tags: Modern Decor, Cozy, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent steaks at a reasonable price. ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Excellent steaks at a reasonable price. Service was great and the Manager stopped by our table to ensure we were happy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A wonderful evening with my Bride to cel ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 2, 2017

A wonderful evening with my Bride to celebrate her birthday with a neighbor friend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went for after-game NYE dinner and it wa ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Went for after-game NYE dinner and it was just terrific. The staff were very accommodating and friendly. We will be back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was of high quality and Amy our wai ...

 
 (London)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Food was of high quality and Amy our waitress was first class

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I never write reviews but this place com ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I never write reviews but this place compelled me to write a positive review. From the lovely ambience , amazing waiter, great cocktails (order the Mosco Mule), menu variety, fresh ingredients, and everything in between I had such a lovely experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Always quality food and service!

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Always quality food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a coupon and decided to try out t ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We had a coupon and decided to try out the restaurant for the first time. The recommended shrimp appetizer was just average and my short rib was the smallest portion I have ever been served anywhere but it was delicious. My husband throughly enjoyed the spareribs which was an ample size. We really liked the restaurant and will return for a special occasion.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Have been enjoying Paul Martins on sever ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Have been enjoying Paul Martins on several occasions this past year. It's never disappointing. Lunch menu is a little spare in regard to choices however dinner is always satisfying. Local ingredients and in-house ice-cream are favorites. Staff are great with management making an effort to mingle and wait personnel efficient and attentive without being intrusive. We'll keep returning, always a treat, thank you!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was fairly good for this type of re ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Food was fairly good for this type of restaurant. Service was terribly slow. Wait staff was very pleasant but it took over 20 minutes to get dessert and then we had to find the waitress just to get the check. Overall good pub style food and maybe they were just overwhelmed with the holiday weekend. The restaurant itself was a fun contemporary design and everyone was very nice....just very slow.

Tags: Good for Groups, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

It certainly was a very nice surprise,ev ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 31, 2016

It certainly was a very nice surprise,every thing was good ,food and service

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Modern Decor, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was just OK. Filet had fat strands ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Food was just OK. Filet had fat strands which it should not. This makes me think they aren't using the best choice cuts. Also the mashed potatoes were too simple and plain.

Drinks were OK but if they want to be know as a place to get specialty drinks they should expand the list extensively.

Service was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5

What an awesome and terrific place this ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 31, 2016

What an awesome and terrific place this is! The assortment of menu choices is just right and not to overwhelming. I just love Paul Martin's American Grill, and my guests always love it too! The "Braised Beef Short Rib" Entree, was so tender and flavorful. No knife was needed. The staff here is truly the best. Try this restaurant out if you haven't been. You'll surely thank me later, and you will also be greeted by a friendly hostess always!

Tags: Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Cozy, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We love Paul Martin's!! We've never hd a ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 28, 2016

We love Paul Martin's!! We've never hd a bad meal - always delicious and the service is amazing! The Chimicurri Chicken is delicious!! Highly recommended!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Romantic, Great Beer, Business Meals, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wine Dinner for 2-oh my! My hubby and m ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Wine Dinner for 2-oh my! My hubby and my cousins dined here on Monday and enjoyed a FABULOUS dinner experience! We enjoyed the Wine Dinner Special-my hubby had the Hangar Steak and I had the Skirt Steak. Both steaks were melt in your mouth tender with exquisite flavor-accompanied with mashed potatoes and paired with a dinner salad. We sipped a tasty Sangiovese and couldn't get over the value! The room was energetic-the meal, well paced. We also enjoyed a Happy hour cocktail prior to dinner. We were over the moon happy with every detail!

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, , Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had great time. Good ambiance and Amy ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 27, 2016

We had great time. Good ambiance and Amy was a delight. She was very knowledgable with our wine and food selections. We can tell she enjoys working at her job. Thank you !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lunch for my mother's 83rd birthday. Lun ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Lunch for my mother's 83rd birthday. Lunch was good but the dessert was horrible. Banana cream pie with black bananas and "warm" apple crisp that was not warm and was nearly all crumbs and no fruit. Sent a comment to the restaurants website and got no response. Will dine elsewhere in March for our anniversary. Really disappointing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Our waiter Robert was outstanding to det ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Our waiter Robert was outstanding to detail, service, and hospitality

Tags: Fun, People Watching, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service was excellent, close to ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Food and service was excellent, close to home, reservation was right on time, and

atmosphere not overly pretentious!

Tags: Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Cozy, Family Style, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent Excellent Excellent! Had the s ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Excellent Excellent Excellent! Had the salmon cedar plank...melted in your mouth! Homemade ice cream...WONDERFUL salad and very good wine list...very impressed! Will return!

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Healthy, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful! Awesome service and food. Y ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Wonderful! Awesome service and food. You won't be disappointed.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We decided to try this place based on pr ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 19, 2016

We decided to try this place based on previous recommendations. The restaraunt provides great parking and is well appointed yet comfortably casual. I ordered the Braised Short Ribs, which I thought were amazing! My wife decided to try the BBQ Pork Ribs. Unfortunately, my wife found the St. Louis Style ribs a little to fatty for her liking and mentioned it to our server. Immediately he offered her anything else on the menu as a substitute, no questions asked. After ordering a replacement main course, management stopped by on two separate occasions to make sure everything was OK, even asking if she would like an additional complimentary appetizers while she waited and I enjoyed my meal while it was warm.

The accommodation offered by staff and management was exceptional and I will definitely come back again. Excellent experience.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good food, wine, service, ambiance ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Very good food, wine, service, ambiance and a good value!

Tags: , Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.