About Patrick's Restaurant - Maple Grove

12489 Elm Creek Blvd
Maple Grove, MN 55369
View Larger Map

Patrick's Restaurant and Bakery features the best of French and American cuisine. Located in the Shoppes at Arbor Lakes, the restaurant offers a warm and inviting atmosphere with a selection of the finest pastries available in the Twin Cities. The menu offers Coq au vin, Beef Bourguignon, Steak Frites and Escargot. But classics alone do not make up Patrick's menu. Grilled Salmon, Sea Bass and other coastal selections are available to tantalize your taste buds. Start and finish your dining experience with a tarte flambé, as an appetizer or dessert. A taste of Alsace awaits you. Prefer something a little lighter? Try one of our many creative salads. Patrick's famous Patou burger is a fabulous choice, just one taste of the Patou burger and you are instantly taken away to Paris. Patrick's also offers a wonderful selection of French and California wines, creative cocktails and rich coffees. Breakfast, lunch and dinner at Patrick's is an experience that always leaves you wanting more.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French

Cross Street:
Hemlock Lane

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(763) 420-7770

Website:
http://www.patricksbakerycafe.com/

Executive Chef:
Patrick Bernet

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Patrick's Restaurant - Maple Grove Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

3.8

ambience

3.9

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Lunch
Twin Cities / Northern Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Maple Grove ›

great for brunch (30)
great for lunch (25)
kid-friendly (22)
See All
fit for foodies (22)
neighborhood gem (17)
special occasion (13)
good for groups (12)
great for outdoor dining (7)
notable wine list (6)
romantic (2)
hot spot (1)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
240 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food is good at Patrick's. My disappoi ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Food is good at Patrick's. My disappointment came later. We arrived on time for our 6:45 reservation, we ate a lovely meal and left. Later I got an email stating they cancelled my reservation. Luckily, I contacted Open Table, as I didn't want to be marked as a "no show", and they credited my points.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

The deserts were something special here! ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The deserts were something special here! They were beautiful and you could tell that they were made with passion and love. The gentleman behind the pastry counter was amazing with taking the time to tell about each cake/dessert we asked about. I took 3 cakes home - all were worth every penny.

The service was a little slow in the beginning, but I told the server we felt a little forgotten about and she more than made up for that the rest of the time.

I really liked it here, I will return!

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Rachel was our waitress, we have had her ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Rachel was our waitress, we have had her before and she adds to the experience. So refreshing to have someone who enjoys her work and is friendly. Everyone is great, but Rachel is the best.

All food is wonderful; makes it difficult to decide each time.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The server was not very knowledgeable of ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The server was not very knowledgeable of the menu at all. She didn't even know if a dish was grilled, deep fried etc. I had the walleye sandwich , which tasted like frozen van decamps. My friend had salmon which was good. We were offered by two free take home desserts, so I was happy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

Unfortunately we did not have a positive ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Unfortunately we did not have a positive experience here. We requested a meal be made with no dairy due to an insensitivity. The meal came back made with veggies w/olive oil as requested, but the sauce full of dairy was poured all over the steak instead of on the side as requested. It had to be remade and one of us had to watch the other person eat while we waited. The staff apologized and gave us two free glasses of wine as an apology, but it still was a very big cluster of a visit and we won't be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

While the space is lovely and the desser ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

While the space is lovely and the desserts look and are amazing....having our business lunch there was not a good idea. Several items ordered from the menu were unavailable. We weren't told about one of the items not being available until the meal came out and it was missing. We did not order a replacement item and yet still charged for the missing item on the bill. Server did not do much to make things right. Other than the desserts, the price is high when compared to the quality of the food. I've been the this restaurant in Edina quite a few years ago and had high hopes but was disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Love the Mussels on the weekend. Wish th ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Love the Mussels on the weekend. Wish they served them during the week

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Quality is wonderful every time we dine ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Quality is wonderful every time we dine there!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Been here for brunch a couple of times. ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Been here for brunch a couple of times. The food was good, but service has always left something to be desired. Every time I've dined here it's been understaffed. You can see that the staff is doing their best, but they clearly don't have time to give every table the attention they'd like. This visit we also got a nice overview of all of the staff drama from a conversation at the hostess table. All-in-all it was kind of a disappointing Father's Day brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value3

Disappointment

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Service was very slow. I ordered a caprese salad. It consisted of 6 paper thin slices of mozzarella (3) and tomatoes (3). It was difficult to discern the tomatoes from the dry, tough mozzarella! Bread was to accompany the salad. When questioned our server, she stated she

generally did not bring bread because too many people waste it. She bring us some - four 1/4 inch slices! My friend ordered a chicken salad with blue cheese and said that it was "good".

Tags: kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

Local fare in Maple Grove

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

It's such a treat to find a good local restaurant in the suburbs. Everything we had with our dinner was excellent. This was one of the best meals I've had in a while. It's french themed which might not be for you if you're after a giant burger and pile of fries while you're watching sports, but if you appreciate truly good cooking, check it out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Adequate

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

A nice addition to Maple Grove's restaurants since it is not a chain. Food was very average, prices a bit high. Our server must have been brand new. No bartender, servers had to make their own drinks, which were average at best. I have dined here half a dozen times and find lunch to be much better than dinner. Will not be my first choice for dining in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

We dined at Patrick's Restaurant for a b ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

We dined at Patrick's Restaurant for a birthday dinner & everything was wonderful. The staff was exceptional. A very enjoyable experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great place to reconnect with friends.

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

Love the menu choices! Many options of beautifully prepared dishes.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We sat outside. It took 20 minutes to ge ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

We sat outside. It took 20 minutes to get the beverages we ordered and another 30 for our flat bread.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

Service was bad, charged extra for the s ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

Service was bad, charged extra for the salad dressing. Salads were ok but they brought some of us bread and not others.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Food is consistently wonderful! Cannot ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Food is consistently wonderful! Cannot wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice menu, and ambience, uneven service

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

The menu is diverse and food was high-quality, really something for everyone. The pastry case looked amazing. The restaurant is nicely appointed. On the service side - the host very thoughtfully seated us where my friend could put her baby's car seat nearby, and our first server was kind enough to accommodate my request to have cheese left out of the chopped salad.

Our first server's shift ended, and another server took her place. As soon as we had finished eating, she took the plates away and put down the checks, without asking if we would like coffee, dessert, or the checks. This was a Thursday evening, and there were many open tables around us, yet she seemed anxious for us to leave. She ignored (or didn't notice?) my friend's empty water glass while she refilled those at the table next to us, and finally came over to pointedly ask us if we needed anything else. My friend and I were catching up and playing with the baby, I was surprised that she seemed so irritated that guests were needlessly socializing at her four-top.

Overall a nice menu and nice restaurant, with one person who did not make us feel welcome, out of the four who welcomed, seated, and served us. I would like to say that I'd like to go back when I'm in the area, but being treated like an irritation can really ruin a good experience.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Mothersday Dinner

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Our Table was ready when wie arrived a little early. Great service and food! Love the deserts, they transfer me back to vacations in Europe .

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food, good service, long wait.

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We waited almost an hour for our food. It was a simple order of two entrees and a kids meal. The waitress was great in keeping us updated, but there were many tables around us that had the same issue. Maybe adding more chefs or cooks would help.

Tags: kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Under staffed

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

They were very under staffed for Mother's Day. We had to wait a long time for service and then also our food. There was no one to assist people who wanted to buy desserts to go. We had to wait almost 15 min. for assist at the counter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Fantastic Staff

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We went on Mother's Day. Knowing full well they were going to be busy. The staff still treated us like we were very important. They did a great job with follow-up and continued to check if we needed anything.

And of course go for the desert! They are absolutely fantastic.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The restaurant had okay food.

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

The restaurant had okay food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

Things were just ok.

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We went to Patrick's for mother's day brunch. I made reservations several weeks in advance. When we arrived we had to wait in line about 10 minutes to check in. Then we had to wait five additional minutes for our table to be ready. They then proceeded to seat us on the outdoor patio. We had not requested outdoor seating and asked to be moved inside. They told us they could not accommodate us. There were several tables open inside, when we asked about that, they said they were reserved, but we had reservations. This was very aggravating. The manager was not willing to make any changes to the seating so we were forced to eat on the patio, despite it being very cool for our elderly parents. The service on the patio was very slow. It took 15 minutes to get coffee. The food came and it was just mediocre and got cold quickly because of the cool breeze. We were not very happy with the overall service or quality of food. We will not return again.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

birthday dinner, no special treatment. ..

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

The server asked what we were celebrating, and my husband told her we were celebrating my birthday. She insisted on a birthday dessert, which I would have assumed was complimentary because she said she works wrap it up with a candle. I finally obliged, and then comes the bill. She charged us for it. 4.95 on a 115.00 tab isn't the end of the world, but don't insist if it's not complimentary. Very poor etiquette to try to get a larger tip. Otherwise, scallops were great, and the lamb was great. Cauliflower a gratin was underwhelming.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent Dessert!

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on March 28, 2016

Desserts were 10 out of 10. Dinner was adequate, but nothing outstanding - maybe a 7 out of 10. Service was okay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Came for Easter brunch and was expecting ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Came for Easter brunch and was expecting it to be crazy and loud but it was nicely busy and quiet enough for us to bring our two kids and have a casual special occasion meal. Our waitress was awesome and our food was timely and great tasting! Bonus points for having booze to serve. ;) We will be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

quality

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

Patrick's never disapponts, the French onion soup is worth the trip!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My new favorite restaurant! Love the fre ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on March 21, 2016

My new favorite restaurant! Love the fresh pastries and the build your own salad. The French soup is a must have too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food is excellent - French onion sou ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

The food is excellent - French onion soup, flatbreads, walleye, burger, and always, always save room for dessert. Our servers were also very sharp and joined our fun. Now that the weather is getting milder I think we need a weekly dose of this great ambiance and flavors.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was cold and service was mediocre.

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

Food was cold and service was mediocre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

Tasty

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on March 11, 2016

Food was hot and tasty. The night we were there they were busy and our waiter was stretched. There bakery is a real plus.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Patrick's was terrific as usual. My dau ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on March 4, 2016

Patrick's was terrific as usual. My daughter and I went for mussels and they were as good as always. Service, however, was another question. Service was very inattentive and in one case, missed completely a request for a second glass of wine. In addition, the mussels arrived before the salad so we had them reverse order and bring the salad second. Not a big deal, but someone should attend to this.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

coffee

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on March 4, 2016

The coffee was not hot. Lukewarm. The waitress was not very attentive. Food was good.

Tags: kid-friendly, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Mmmmm

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on February 29, 2016

I have had lunch at Patrick's many times, but never dinner. Now I know what I missed! The dinner menu was very nice. Our steaks were done to perfection. Lovely evening.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Very average breakfast. Made a reservat ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

Very average breakfast. Made a reservation and still we were seated in the bar area not the dining room. There were open tables in the dining room. I had the eggs florentine and it came with hard eggs. They gave me a new one in a short period of time and that was much better. Omelet was cooked pretty hard also, it was editable. Prior visit we had a great lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Another great meal

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

Another great meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Trevis is a great waiter. The food is fa ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

Trevis is a great waiter. The food is fabulous. This place is a tremendous value. And to top it all off the desserts are to die for. We'll be back soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Enjoyable dinner

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Tasty entrees (lamb and barbecue brisket), super-friendly service, outstanding dessert selection, nice decor - an enjoyable experience we'd expect from a Patrick's Restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Not the typical Patrick's experience

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

My young son and I went to Patrick's for Valentine's Day so we could treat ourselves to a dessert from the dessert case after dinner. The oddest thing about the night was our server. He made what I believe to be inappropriate comments about the menu and food and was extremely flippant. My son's meal was good, I tried something new and while it tasted fine I know now there are better things on the menu. Dessert was delicious as expected.

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.