About Patrick's Restaurant - Maple Grove

12489 Elm Creek Blvd
Maple Grove, MN 55369
View Larger Map

Patrick's Restaurant and Bakery features the best of French and American cuisine. Located in the Shoppes at Arbor Lakes, the restaurant offers a warm and inviting atmosphere with a selection of the finest pastries available in the Twin Cities. The menu offers Coq au vin, Beef Bourguignon, Steak Frites and Escargot. But classics alone do not make up Patrick's menu. Grilled Salmon, Sea Bass and other coastal selections are available to tantalize your taste buds. Start and finish your dining experience with a tarte flambé, as an appetizer or dessert. A taste of Alsace awaits you. Prefer something a little lighter? Try one of our many creative salads. Patrick's famous Patou burger is a fabulous choice, just one taste of the Patou burger and you are instantly taken away to Paris. Patrick's also offers a wonderful selection of French and California wines, creative cocktails and rich coffees. Breakfast, lunch and dinner at Patrick's is an experience that always leaves you wanting more.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French

Cross Street:
Hemlock Lane

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(763) 420-7770

Website:
http://www.patricksbakerycafe.com/

Executive Chef:
Patrick Bernet

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Patrick's Restaurant - Maple Grove Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Lunch (11)
Afternoon Coffee (10)
Great for Brunch (9)
See All
Casual (8)
Special Occasion (7)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Afternoon Tea (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Good for a Date (5)
Cozy (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Family Style (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Business Meals (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
People Watching (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Fun (2)
Healthy (2)
Organic (1)
Scenic View (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Live Music (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Authentic (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Seasonal (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Romantic (1)
Sort By:
S
263 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The staff are really nice... Food is a b ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 7 days ago

The staff are really nice... Food is a bit pricey but its good to try at least once..

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I love this place. The menu has items t ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 26, 2016

I love this place. The menu has items that you don't see everywhere and the food is excellent. The service has always been great and they have a real bartender. I will keep going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was not good at all. Order was m ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Service was not good at all. Order was messed up completely. Server comped some items but still won't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

We enjoyed our time at Patrick's. Very ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 11, 2016

We enjoyed our time at Patrick's. Very convenient to the theater. The staff was very friendly and accommodating for our group. We were there for happy hour and the scallops and pumpkin soup were outstanding. Where can you get a good glass of wine for $5? We will go back again. thanks

Tags: Quick Bite, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Casual, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We usually order the Croque Monsieur sin ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 11, 2016

We usually order the Croque Monsieur since it's one of our favorite menu items. This time it was a disappointment. The sandwich was overcooked, crisp and dry with very little béchamel sauce. We should have sent them back but didn't have time to wait for another order to be prepared.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

We had an exceptional evening as my mom ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We had an exceptional evening as my mom turned eighty-three. The calamari appetizer was some of the best we'd ever had. My mom's french onion soup was fabulous. Each of our meals was spectacular. I had the brisket & bacon salad, and enjoyed every morsel. A couple of people had the bistro salad (rave reviews). The men savored the walleye filet. Our waiter was attentive, and refilled our water glasses without being asked. The highlight, however, was the hostess. As we were done with our meal and were paying our bill, she noted we had declined dessert. When she asked if we'd told the waiter we were celebrating a big bday, we downplayed it; Mom wasn't too hungry and didn't want a big fuss. The hostess simply said we had to look at the menu and take something to go. She brought menus and made suggestions. All choices sounded good, and Mom made a selection after all. We proceeded to order a caramel brownie and the hostess brought 3 forks. It truly made my mom's birthday special!! She said we had picked the best possible place to celebrate her bday. A great night out, and we will be back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Cozy atmosphere with yummy desserts. Gre ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Cozy atmosphere with yummy desserts. Great happy hour deals.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Afternoon Coffee, Happy Hour, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

It's comfortable, friendly, and the food ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 4, 2016

It's comfortable, friendly, and the food is good. It's location is perfect for meeting friends from the West side of the Twin Cities when I am from the East. We are all able to get there easily!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual, Comfort Food, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Salads were fresh and tasty. The food i ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Salads were fresh and tasty. The food is always good here. Neither of us had a special meal so not much else to say about the food. Service was good however we had to wait to get the attention of the waiter to get our check. When we arrived at the restaurant there was a mix up with the hostess desk. We arrived separately, and each gave the hostess the reservation name but they put us in different tables. It wasn't until about 10 minutes later we discovered we both were waiting for the other.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Met up with some friends for a breakfast ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Met up with some friends for a breakfast/cruise in our car club. Great place!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I stopped for breakfast. I was 10 minut ...

vip
 (Savannah)·Dined on October 7, 2016

I stopped for breakfast. I was 10 minutes early and was standing outside when the manager noticed me, he came to the door immediately and let me in. He seated me and said a waitress would be right with me. She took my drink order within 10 seconds. When she brought my coffee, l ordered Patrick's omelette croissant with hash browns. My order was at my table quickly and tasted great. I'll definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good Food, Good Service

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Good Food, Good Service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Breakfast was very good and the outdoor ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Breakfast was very good and the outdoor seating is lovely on a summer/early fall day. They need to be just as attentive to the patrons that are outside as the ones inside.

Pastries are fabulous and creative!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

I went here on a date with my girlfriend ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 10, 2016

I went here on a date with my girlfriend. We took advantage of the outdoor seating, and we had a blast. The food was good, and the service was warm and friendly. I had the beef bourguignon, which is one of my favorite dishes. It was well prepared -- very full of natural flavor and rustic. It's my comfort food :) Girlfriend had the mussels in cream sauce, which tasted great as well. The mussels came with a huge cone of fries with 3 sauces to dip them in. I really enjoyed them!

The atmosphere was very relaxed. There was no rush to get us through the service, and the staff wasn't overbearing with checking on us every 5 seconds, which we appreciated. That probably also had a bit to do with us sitting outside. I imagine if you like a staff that checks on you more often, stay inside, or don't go to a French restaurant. That being said, The attention level was just right for us.

All things considered, this restaurant hits the same beat I'm on - Relaxed environment, great menu, good value. I plan on coming back! I recommend this restaurant to anyone looking to try something different than what Maple Grove has to offer. I've never been too impressed with Maple Grove's food offerings -- outside a few select "nice" places, it's filled with the standard bar/grills and fast food selections that you can find just about anywhere else. However, Patrick's is a nice change of pace, and a nice middle ground for restaurant-goers who want something different than the standard bar/grill menu but still want to be able to go home with some money left in their pocket.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was hot. But not served in the righ ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Food was hot. But not served in the right order. Salad came first. 2 min later our French Onion soups ( very Tasty & loaded with cheese)...and main course with wine all in the same time frame...needless to say we eat the salad last. Waiter was great - all 3 of them... One waiter told me he would not recommend the Cornish Hen and asked me for my #2 choice - I over heard him asking the the same for another couple over their choice which was not for Cornish hen...I was glad he was diverting us to select something else. The cook looked young so I thought maybe he was a substitute for the regular cook. We had Steak and fries and Lamb burger - not quite French but tasty and Hot. Desert was to die for. I would recommend this place for coffee and desert or wine & appetizer or morning tea...keeping this a casual place. We were overdressed for our special occasion. Price was high in my opinion for what we received. Everything was separately billed for. We won't go back for a meal but may go back for desert & coffee after an event in the evening. Saturday night and not very busy was great for us - very quiet.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Great happy hour at Patrick's. Can't wa ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Great happy hour at Patrick's. Can't wait to go back. Food was so, so good!! Fun server, too.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Looking forward to returning! The quiche ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Looking forward to returning! The quiche dishes were very tasty and generously sized.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

I was pleased the service has improved a ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 18, 2016

I was pleased the service has improved as I was hosting a business meal. I love the food but the service has been hit or miss. My friends refuse to go there on a Saturday for lunch again because the service was so bad twice.

My business associates really enjoyed their meals and everyone ordered something different. The desserts were a hit, too.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

We celebrated our 40th Anniversary there ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 7, 2016

We celebrated our 40th Anniversary there Sunday, the service was excellent, all staff and especially our server, Rachel, food was perfect and the desserts were addicting. We will be making this one of our regular haunts from this time on.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A good friend invited me to Sunday Brun ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 7, 2016

A good friend invited me to Sunday Brunch at Patrick's. I already know that we will meet there again:). It can be difficult to find a place that offers brunch and also offers outside seating. (The 90 days of summer pass so quickly in MN - I want to be outside, if possible.) I was warmly greeted by the hostess, loved the mimosa, great quiche (yum) and great service. Although the outside view has little to offer, the setting was pleasant and quiet. We enjoyed the opportunity to chat without interruption. A slice of France in Minnesota. Thank you.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I've been to Patricks several times ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 30, 2016

I've been to Patricks several times for lunch and dinner. The bar man/waiter is always friendly and eager to ensure drinks are to your liking. I ordered the quiche. It was okay..a little bland which hasn't been my previous experiences and so I'll chalk this up to a one time mishap. Desserts are always to die for..make sure you get one to go!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

We visited Patrick's to celebrate our an ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 30, 2016

We visited Patrick's to celebrate our anniversary. The entrees were interesting. The desserts were carefully prepared. Our waiter was pleasant, but I wish he would have been a little more attentive. Overall, we had a good experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Food is good at Patrick's. My disappoi ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 16, 2016

Food is good at Patrick's. My disappointment came later. We arrived on time for our 6:45 reservation, we ate a lovely meal and left. Later I got an email stating they cancelled my reservation. Luckily, I contacted Open Table, as I didn't want to be marked as a "no show", and they credited my points.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

The deserts were something special here! ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 10, 2016

The deserts were something special here! They were beautiful and you could tell that they were made with passion and love. The gentleman behind the pastry counter was amazing with taking the time to tell about each cake/dessert we asked about. I took 3 cakes home - all were worth every penny.

The service was a little slow in the beginning, but I told the server we felt a little forgotten about and she more than made up for that the rest of the time.

I really liked it here, I will return!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Rachel was our waitress, we have had her ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 9, 2016

Rachel was our waitress, we have had her before and she adds to the experience. So refreshing to have someone who enjoys her work and is friendly. Everyone is great, but Rachel is the best.

All food is wonderful; makes it difficult to decide each time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The server was not very knowledgeable of ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 9, 2016

The server was not very knowledgeable of the menu at all. She didn't even know if a dish was grilled, deep fried etc. I had the walleye sandwich , which tasted like frozen van decamps. My friend had salmon which was good. We were offered by two free take home desserts, so I was happy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

Unfortunately we did not have a positive ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 9, 2016

Unfortunately we did not have a positive experience here. We requested a meal be made with no dairy due to an insensitivity. The meal came back made with veggies w/olive oil as requested, but the sauce full of dairy was poured all over the steak instead of on the side as requested. It had to be remade and one of us had to watch the other person eat while we waited. The staff apologized and gave us two free glasses of wine as an apology, but it still was a very big cluster of a visit and we won't be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

While the space is lovely and the desser ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 7, 2016

While the space is lovely and the desserts look and are amazing....having our business lunch there was not a good idea. Several items ordered from the menu were unavailable. We weren't told about one of the items not being available until the meal came out and it was missing. We did not order a replacement item and yet still charged for the missing item on the bill. Server did not do much to make things right. Other than the desserts, the price is high when compared to the quality of the food. I've been the this restaurant in Edina quite a few years ago and had high hopes but was disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Love the Mussels on the weekend. Wish th ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 2, 2016

Love the Mussels on the weekend. Wish they served them during the week

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Quality is wonderful every time we dine ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Quality is wonderful every time we dine there!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Been here for brunch a couple of times. ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Been here for brunch a couple of times. The food was good, but service has always left something to be desired. Every time I've dined here it's been understaffed. You can see that the staff is doing their best, but they clearly don't have time to give every table the attention they'd like. This visit we also got a nice overview of all of the staff drama from a conversation at the hostess table. All-in-all it was kind of a disappointing Father's Day brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value3

Disappointment

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 9, 2016

Service was very slow. I ordered a caprese salad. It consisted of 6 paper thin slices of mozzarella (3) and tomatoes (3). It was difficult to discern the tomatoes from the dry, tough mozzarella! Bread was to accompany the salad. When questioned our server, she stated she

generally did not bring bread because too many people waste it. She bring us some - four 1/4 inch slices! My friend ordered a chicken salad with blue cheese and said that it was "good".

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

Local fare in Maple Grove

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 4, 2016

It's such a treat to find a good local restaurant in the suburbs. Everything we had with our dinner was excellent. This was one of the best meals I've had in a while. It's french themed which might not be for you if you're after a giant burger and pile of fries while you're watching sports, but if you appreciate truly good cooking, check it out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Adequate

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 4, 2016

A nice addition to Maple Grove's restaurants since it is not a chain. Food was very average, prices a bit high. Our server must have been brand new. No bartender, servers had to make their own drinks, which were average at best. I have dined here half a dozen times and find lunch to be much better than dinner. Will not be my first choice for dining in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

We dined at Patrick's Restaurant for a b ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 2, 2016

We dined at Patrick's Restaurant for a birthday dinner & everything was wonderful. The staff was exceptional. A very enjoyable experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great place to reconnect with friends.

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 1, 2016

Love the menu choices! Many options of beautifully prepared dishes.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We sat outside. It took 20 minutes to ge ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 26, 2016

We sat outside. It took 20 minutes to get the beverages we ordered and another 30 for our flat bread.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

Service was bad, charged extra for the s ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 25, 2016

Service was bad, charged extra for the salad dressing. Salads were ok but they brought some of us bread and not others.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Food is consistently wonderful! Cannot ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 14, 2016

Food is consistently wonderful! Cannot wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice menu, and ambience, uneven service

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 12, 2016

The menu is diverse and food was high-quality, really something for everyone. The pastry case looked amazing. The restaurant is nicely appointed. On the service side - the host very thoughtfully seated us where my friend could put her baby's car seat nearby, and our first server was kind enough to accommodate my request to have cheese left out of the chopped salad.

Our first server's shift ended, and another server took her place. As soon as we had finished eating, she took the plates away and put down the checks, without asking if we would like coffee, dessert, or the checks. This was a Thursday evening, and there were many open tables around us, yet she seemed anxious for us to leave. She ignored (or didn't notice?) my friend's empty water glass while she refilled those at the table next to us, and finally came over to pointedly ask us if we needed anything else. My friend and I were catching up and playing with the baby, I was surprised that she seemed so irritated that guests were needlessly socializing at her four-top.

Overall a nice menu and nice restaurant, with one person who did not make us feel welcome, out of the four who welcomed, seated, and served us. I would like to say that I'd like to go back when I'm in the area, but being treated like an irritation can really ruin a good experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.