About Patrick's Restaurant - Maple Grove

12489 Elm Creek Blvd
Maple Grove, MN 55369
View Larger Map

Patrick's Restaurant and Bakery features the best of French and American cuisine. Located in the Shoppes at Arbor Lakes, the restaurant offers a warm and inviting atmosphere with a selection of the finest pastries available in the Twin Cities. The menu offers Coq au vin, Beef Bourguignon, Steak Frites and Escargot. But classics alone do not make up Patrick's menu. Grilled Salmon, Sea Bass and other coastal selections are available to tantalize your taste buds. Start and finish your dining experience with a tarte flambé, as an appetizer or dessert. A taste of Alsace awaits you. Prefer something a little lighter? Try one of our many creative salads. Patrick's famous Patou burger is a fabulous choice, just one taste of the Patou burger and you are instantly taken away to Paris. Patrick's also offers a wonderful selection of French and California wines, creative cocktails and rich coffees. Breakfast, lunch and dinner at Patrick's is an experience that always leaves you wanting more.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French

Cross Street:
Hemlock Lane

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(763) 420-7770

Website:
http://www.patricksbakerycafe.com/

Executive Chef:
Patrick Bernet

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Patrick's Restaurant - Maple Grove Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Minneapolis - St. Paul
Best Value
Twin Cities / Northern Suburbs
Fit for Foodies
Twin Cities / Northern Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Maple Grove ›

great for brunch (29)
great for lunch (28)
fit for foodies (24)
See All
neighborhood gem (23)
kid-friendly (22)
special occasion (17)
good for groups (13)
notable wine list (6)
great for outdoor dining (4)
romantic (3)
Sort By:
Newest
225 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Service was bad, charged extra for the s ...

Dined 3 days ago

Service was bad, charged extra for the salad dressing. Salads were ok but they brought some of us bread and not others.

food5
ambience5
service5

Food is consistently wonderful! Cannot ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Food is consistently wonderful! Cannot wait to go back!

food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Nice menu, and ambience, uneven service

Dined on May 12, 2016

The menu is diverse and food was high-quality, really something for everyone. The pastry case looked amazing. The restaurant is nicely appointed. On the service side - the host very thoughtfully seated us where my friend could put her baby's car seat nearby, and our first server was kind enough to accommodate my request to have cheese left out of the chopped salad. Our first server's shift ended, and another server took her place. As soon as we had finished eating, she took the plates away and put down the checks, without asking if we would like coffee, dessert, or the checks. This was a Thursday evening, and there were many open tables around us, yet she seemed anxious for us to leave. She ignored (or didn't notice?) my friend's empty water glass while she refilled those at the table next to us, and finally came over to pointedly ask us if we needed anything else. My friend and I were catching up and playing with the baby, I was surprised that she seemed so irritated that guests were needlessly socializing at her four-top. Overall a nice menu and nice restaurant, with one person who did not make us feel welcome, out of the four who welcomed, seated, and served us. I would like to say that I'd like to go back when I'm in the area, but being treated like an irritation can really ruin a good experience.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mothersday Dinner

Dined on May 8, 2016

Our Table was ready when wie arrived a little early. Great service and food! Love the deserts, they transfer me back to vacations in Europe .

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Good food, good service, long wait.

Dined on May 8, 2016

We waited almost an hour for our food. It was a simple order of two entrees and a kids meal. The waitress was great in keeping us updated, but there were many tables around us that had the same issue. Maybe adding more chefs or cooks would help.

Tags: kid-friendly
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Under staffed

Dined on May 8, 2016

They were very under staffed for Mother's Day. We had to wait a long time for service and then also our food. There was no one to assist people who wanted to buy desserts to go. We had to wait almost 15 min. for assist at the counter.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fantastic Staff

Dined on May 8, 2016

We went on Mother's Day. Knowing full well they were going to be busy. The staff still treated us like we were very important. They did a great job with follow-up and continued to check if we needed anything. And of course go for the desert! They are absolutely fantastic.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service1

The restaurant had okay food.

Dined on May 8, 2016

The restaurant had okay food.

food4
ambience2
service1
value2

Things were just ok.

Dined on May 8, 2016

We went to Patrick's for mother's day brunch. I made reservations several weeks in advance. When we arrived we had to wait in line about 10 minutes to check in. Then we had to wait five additional minutes for our table to be ready. They then proceeded to seat us on the outdoor patio. We had not requested outdoor seating and asked to be moved inside. They told us they could not accommodate us. There were several tables open inside, when we asked about that, they said they were reserved, but we had reservations. This was very aggravating. The manager was not willing to make any changes to the seating so we were forced to eat on the patio, despite it being very cool for our elderly parents. The service on the patio was very slow. It took 15 minutes to get coffee. The food came and it was just mediocre and got cold quickly because of the cool breeze. We were not very happy with the overall service or quality of food. We will not return again.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

birthday dinner, no special treatment. ..

Dined on April 10, 2016

The server asked what we were celebrating, and my husband told her we were celebrating my birthday. She insisted on a birthday dessert, which I would have assumed was complimentary because she said she works wrap it up with a candle. I finally obliged, and then comes the bill. She charged us for it. 4.95 on a 115.00 tab isn't the end of the world, but don't insist if it's not complimentary. Very poor etiquette to try to get a larger tip. Otherwise, scallops were great, and the lamb was great. Cauliflower a gratin was underwhelming.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Excellent Dessert!

Dined on March 28, 2016

Desserts were 10 out of 10. Dinner was adequate, but nothing outstanding - maybe a 7 out of 10. Service was okay.

food4
ambience5
service5

Came for Easter brunch and was expecting ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

Came for Easter brunch and was expecting it to be crazy and loud but it was nicely busy and quiet enough for us to bring our two kids and have a casual special occasion meal. Our waitress was awesome and our food was timely and great tasting! Bonus points for having booze to serve. ;) We will be back

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

quality

Dined on March 26, 2016

Patrick's never disapponts, the French onion soup is worth the trip!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

My new favorite restaurant! Love the fre ...

Dined on March 21, 2016

My new favorite restaurant! Love the fresh pastries and the build your own salad. The French soup is a must have too!

food5
ambience5
service5

The food is excellent - French onion sou ...

vip
Dined on March 18, 2016

The food is excellent - French onion soup, flatbreads, walleye, burger, and always, always save room for dessert. Our servers were also very sharp and joined our fun. Now that the weather is getting milder I think we need a weekly dose of this great ambiance and flavors.

food1
ambience3
service1

Food was cold and service was mediocre.

Dined on March 12, 2016

Food was cold and service was mediocre.

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Tasty

Dined on March 11, 2016

Food was hot and tasty. The night we were there they were busy and our waiter was stretched. There bakery is a real plus.

Tags: great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Patrick's was terrific as usual. My dau ...

Dined on March 4, 2016

Patrick's was terrific as usual. My daughter and I went for mussels and they were as good as always. Service, however, was another question. Service was very inattentive and in one case, missed completely a request for a second glass of wine. In addition, the mussels arrived before the salad so we had them reverse order and bring the salad second. Not a big deal, but someone should attend to this.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

coffee

Dined on March 4, 2016

The coffee was not hot. Lukewarm. The waitress was not very attentive. Food was good.

Tags: kid-friendly, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Mmmmm

Dined on February 29, 2016

I have had lunch at Patrick's many times, but never dinner. Now I know what I missed! The dinner menu was very nice. Our steaks were done to perfection. Lovely evening.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service3

Very average breakfast. Made a reservat ...

Dined on February 28, 2016

Very average breakfast. Made a reservation and still we were seated in the bar area not the dining room. There were open tables in the dining room. I had the eggs florentine and it came with hard eggs. They gave me a new one in a short period of time and that was much better. Omelet was cooked pretty hard also, it was editable. Prior visit we had a great lunch.

food5
ambience5
service5

Another great meal

vip
Dined on February 27, 2016

Another great meal

food5
ambience4
service5

Trevis is a great waiter. The food is fa ...

Dined on February 27, 2016

Trevis is a great waiter. The food is fabulous. This place is a tremendous value. And to top it all off the desserts are to die for. We'll be back soon!

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Enjoyable dinner

Dined on February 15, 2016

Tasty entrees (lamb and barbecue brisket), super-friendly service, outstanding dessert selection, nice decor - an enjoyable experience we'd expect from a Patrick's Restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Not the typical Patrick's experience

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

My young son and I went to Patrick's for Valentine's Day so we could treat ourselves to a dessert from the dessert case after dinner. The oddest thing about the night was our server. He made what I believe to be inappropriate comments about the menu and food and was extremely flippant. My son's meal was good, I tried something new and while it tasted fine I know now there are better things on the menu. Dessert was delicious as expected.

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Very disappointed

Dined on February 14, 2016

An otherwise nice evening was ruined by our server. My wife asked if they carried Shiraz wine. Reply? "I have no idea. Would you like something else?" She didn't know, she didn't care.....she made no effort to find out. Because of extenuating circumstances (family issue later in the evening) we asked to order an appetizer and main course at the same time. Result? Our main course came, no appetizer. Where was it? "Oh, that one's on me. I figured you wouldn't want it,so I didn't put the order in." In the big picture, was it a major catastrophe? No....but very disappointing service from a restaurant that prides itself on quality and service. It will be a while before we return or recommend.

food5
ambience5
service4

As always Patrick's did a phenomenal job ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

As always Patrick's did a phenomenal job! It was a great brunch to start our Valentine's Day. They where very busy and our server was swamped but still did a great job taking care of us. We love this place and will continue to support this establishment!! As far as recommendations from the menu.....we prefer the brunch menu but we have honestly never had a dish we didn't like and we try to order something new every visit. You can not go wrong here!

food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing service and food.

Dined on February 14, 2016

Amazing service and food.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious Food

Dined on February 14, 2016

We went to Patrick's for a Valentine's date night and it was amazing. The food was awesome (highly recommend the shrimp and scallops or the walleye). The services was very good, she checked in just enough to make sure we had enough to drink and to see how the meal was and the desert, OH THE DESERT, was so so good.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Pastries were to die for!!!

Dined on February 13, 2016

Pastries were to die for!!!

food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Just ok

Dined on February 13, 2016

Our server was very inexperienced and made us wait for drinks and the desert menu. Meals came out very soon after our soup was served. Food was just OK. I wouldn't order the Flat Bread pizza again. For the price the value just wasn't their. The restaurant was cold because people kept coming in the back door by the patio. Managers were great trying to help our server keep up.

food5
ambience5
service5

This place was great! Had great food and ...

Dined on February 7, 2016

This place was great! Had great food and amazing service. Plus the desserts were to die for!

food5
ambience5
service5

Had another excellent meal. The service ...

vip
Dined on February 6, 2016

Had another excellent meal. The service had been improving immensely. Thank you for the great experience.

food4
ambience4
service5

Service was great, food was good, and th ...

Dined on January 24, 2016

Service was great, food was good, and the prices were reasonable. Great place for a relaxed dinner. And don't forget dessert. I highly recommend the strawberry Napoleon, best part of the meal.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great service, great food. Always a fun ...

vip
Dined on December 20, 2015

Great service, great food. Always a fun experience and certainly a perfect place to enjoy a meal before or after a movie.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Patrick's is a regular stop for us. Sin ...

Dined on December 19, 2015

Patrick's is a regular stop for us. Since it's right next door to our AMC theater, we love to do an early movie and go there for dinner, especially in the summer when we can eat outside. The food is great. We've never been disappointed. The value is also very good. I love their mussels, a large crock of them with a cone of fries for under $20. Can't beat that!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

birthday1138

Dined on December 11, 2015

great food and service! one of our favorite restaurants. The deserts look and taste like you are in Paris. Great wine selwction!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service2

Dissapointing

Dined on December 7, 2015

We have been to Patricks several times and have found it to be inconsistent in the service and food. It looks like it should be great but frequently what they say is on the plate will be missing something from the description on the menu. You can't even sit down before the wait staff is wanting a beverage order. If you need something they have disappeared. Sort of strange. It was really a disappointment last week and in all honesty, I would not recommend it.

food5
ambience5
service5

Enjoyed a great meal with a wonderful se ...

vip
Dined on December 5, 2015

Enjoyed a great meal with a wonderful server. Always a pleasure to visit Patrick's.

food2
ambience4
service4

Good service, bad mussels

vip
Dined on December 4, 2015

We love to come here for happy hour. The mussels we ordered had a terrible smell... We have ordered them on three separate occasions. The first time they were flavorless, the second time they were great! This time we tried a few and decided to leave the rest behind. The scallops salad, and fries were very good.

Tags: kid-friendly, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.