About Pathos Organic Greek Kitchen

2430 Shattuck Ave
Berkeley, CA 94704
View Larger Map

Melding the organic bounty of California with the traditional foods and flavors of Greece...honey, olive oil, herbs, classic cheeses...and drawing upon family recipes, Pathos is a truly genuine representation of the food you would find being enjoyed by everyday Greeks.

With a focus on a simple ingredient, fully organic fare and a well-curated, but accessible wine list (organic | biodynamic | sustainable), we want to bring to Berkeley a true taste of Greece. Please join us in our rustic, yet well-appointed dining room...surrounded by the warmth of our wood-fired oven...for a lively, engaging dining experience with which we are sure you will be pleased.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Greek, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
DINNER
Wednesday, Thursday & Sunday 5:00pm-8:30pm
Friday & Saturday 5:00pm-9:30pm

Cross Street:
Haste Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(510) 981-8339

Website:
http://www.pathosrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Pathos Organic Greek Kitchen offers live music of Greece and the Mediterranean once a month.

Catering:
We are available for seated meals of up to 60 guests and for sit and stand receptions of up to 80. Pathos is the perfect place for your rehearsal dinner, corporate event, small-scale fundraiser, etc. any day of the week (day or evening).

We offer weekday, daytime catering Monday through Friday ($250 minimum order) for delivery in Berkeley, Emeryville, Oakland, and other east bay cities. We are, as well, available for larger off-site full catering...please call us at 510.981.8339 or email our Event Director at fred@pathosrestaurant.com

Public Transit:
DOWNTOWN BERKELEY BART

Executive Chef:
Nick Eftimiou

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Pathos Organic Greek Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (34)
Special Occasion (25)
Romantic (22)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Good for Groups (9)
Notable Wine List (9)
Wood Oven (8)
Organic (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Seasonal (4)
Authentic (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Cozy (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Good for a Date (3)
Healthy (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Tapas (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Casual (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Business Meals (1)
Sort By:
Newest
345 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This is a wonderful Greek restaurant. E ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 7 days ago

This is a wonderful Greek restaurant. Everything we had was delicious. All local ingredients are used. It is very authentic Greek food, but elevated and creative. It is as good as Kokkari in SF. The service was excellent. It is a beautiful space. I highly recommend this restaurant. You will not be disappointed.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Wood Oven, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Seasonal, Organic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious, creative, varied, no rush, at ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Delicious, creative, varied, no rush, attentive and knowledgeable service, laid back ambiance, cool kitchen bar ... Flat out delightful dining experience. Had all small plates so as to explore the options. Next time - soon - the lamb shank.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

PATHOS is my new favorite restaurant!!! ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

PATHOS is my new favorite restaurant!!! The service is excellent, and the food is incredible. Everything is ORGANIC, perfectly spiced and cooked to perfection. The ambience is warm and friendly, the chairs are VERY comfortable. They have delicious wines!!! IT’S THE BEST!!!!!!!!!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Healthy, Casual, Wood Oven, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was good but just expensive for ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

The food was good but just expensive for what it was. There was nothing that was so spectacular we would spend that much for it again. The ambiance was nice and their cocktails were really good. We would definitely go again for drinks if we were in the neighborhood. Just be careful if they ask you if you would like something - they charge for everything. We were asked if we wanted more pita and we said yes.....twice. It turns out that is $4 each. We were asked if wanted to add a fourth lamb chop to the plate which we assumed was extra but didn't realize it would be $11. It makes sense since the plate was $37 for three lamb chops so a fourth is about a third of the price but it just made for a very expensive plate.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

Food mixed; some items good, some meh, ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Food mixed; some items good, some meh, servers very nice, but timing seriously off; so much so that the food did not override it.

Tags: Wood Oven, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

The service was , as usual, exemplary. A ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

The service was , as usual, exemplary. All of the staff are just so welcoming!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great experience!! Nick and his staff pr ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Great experience!! Nick and his staff provide exceptional food, phenomenal service, and a fun atmosphere. It's an excellent spot for special occasions, date night, or for just a good, Greek meal with nice people. You won't be disappointed, especially if you try the Htapodi!

Tags: Healthy, Special Occasion, Organic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Modern Decor, Open Kitchen, Wood Oven, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

As good as Kokkari Estiatorio, but witho ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

As good as Kokkari Estiatorio, but without the need to go into the city, and Pathos has better (organic) quality ingredients. Try the lamb shank with farro.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was very good and so was the ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

The service was very good and so was the ambiance, but personally I did not like the food. My husband found the food good (not great but better than average), so I think perhaps the three items we had were just not a good fit for my palate. The biggest complaint I have is just that it was simply not worth the rather high prices. There are plenty of options we like far more for special occasions, and even by my husband's appraisal, the food did not merit the size of the bill. It was good to try but we probably won't go back.

Tags: Modern Decor, Wood Oven, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Server & food was excellent but the pric ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Server & food was excellent but the price was not commensurate with the overall meal. Also - their "fig" salad had only one fig. One. It was a very good fig. Regardless, I don't feel it warranted the title of fig salad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Tried this restaurant because it was clo ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Tried this restaurant because it was close to an event we were going to. It's expensive and I dislike that they don't give prices on their website. The octopus was good – tender, as advertised – but not a stand out. The spanikopita was greasy and needed to be eaten by hand (coming in small triangles). My spouse's lamb chops looked good, but as the most expensive thing on the menu, not a good value. Servers were pleasant & generous. So, it's okay but pricey and not a place I'd go back to unless I needed to do something within the surrounding couple blocks.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

My wife loved her trout dish. My Mousko ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

My wife loved her trout dish. My Mouskosos was terrible. No real value to my cost.

Tags: Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Great cocktails and octopus. Wood oven ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Great cocktails and octopus. Wood oven a plus, but Roasted half chicken was OK, well spiced, but best to request to cook that they don't overcook the chicken to "dry", like mine was.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Quick Bite, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Fantastic food ambiance and service. I w ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Fantastic food ambiance and service. I was in Oakland on abusiness trip. I am a Greek from NewYork and not only have I eaten in some of the best Greek restaurants but I cook traditional Greek food ..

The food at Pathos was excellent . It was

Authentic and delicious. .. will definitely visit next time I'lm in town.

Thank you

Angie

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was very excited to try Pathos. I appr ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

I was very excited to try Pathos. I appreciated their use of organic ingredients. Atmosphere was great. Menu was confusing. Waiter kept saying "usually it is this but today it is that". Found the octopus perfectly cooked but found other dishes too underwhelming and expensive for what they were. The special fish was a trout which was overly priced at $29. It hadn't been deboned and didn't have accompanied elements to make the dish stand out. The spanikotita cooked in the wood oven was a nice touch. As a whole, it seemed as if the restaurant staff was too confident about their food to really think about the impact on the diner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

They were incredibly nice about accommod ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

They were incredibly nice about accommodating a last-minute change in our reservation. The restaurant is lovely, a terrific place for a celebration. The food is delicious – everything fresh and with amazingly vibrant flavor, although the menu doesn't stray far from the standard dishes found in most Greek restaurants.

While the waitstaff could not have been more charming and helpful, however, they could be a little hard to get hold of (perhaps the restaurant is understaffed?) and dishes were cleared much too quickly. But this didn't spoil a lovely evening. I'd go back happily.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Th food was really good. The octopus is ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Th food was really good. The octopus is very fresh & grilled over a food fire. We were a group of three & shared several starters in addition to a main course each. Pleasant ambiance.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our third time and it was great ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

This was our third time and it was great as usual. I look forward to returning every time. Wonderful food and wine. Our new favorite place in Berkeley. A must to go to.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing octopus. Great dining experience ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Amazing octopus. Great dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food at Pathos was as good as any yo ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The food at Pathos was as good as any you would get in any high end restaurant in Greece. Not only is the food wonderful but the service is over the top with any wish anticipated and granted.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food! Nice space too. Feels lik ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Great food! Nice space too. Feels like it needs another person or two working ... we were awkwardly greeted, and the bar was initially unstaffed ... our server later went and made our cocktails (which were delicious). I'm glad we weren't in a rush. But the food was all fantastic: Fried cheese, seasonal salad, dolmades, octopus, lamb chops. Will go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

The ambiance, service and food are wonde ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

The ambiance, service and food are wonderful. An intimate size/style of restaurant that exceeds expectation. Worth visiting more than once!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Berkeley is a wonderful city for differe ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Berkeley is a wonderful city for different ethnic cuisines. My friend and I tried Pathos for the first time to experience Greek food again. We went there early enough in the evening so that the place was quiet; later on it became crowded and noisy, which was less pleasant for holding a good conversation.

I was neither starving nor wealthy that day, so I only ordered the Greek chicken soup (avgelemono), shared a Greek salad, and ate two delicious appetizers: spanakopita and tomato-sauced meatballs. All were very good. My friend shared the salad, ate a whole trout (which he enjoyed immensely) and had a glass of white wine.

Pathos is another in a sequence of quality trendy restaurants that have opened in recent years.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

This Restaurant is located on very busy ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

This Restaurant is located on very busy street with a lot of homeless people around it. Not a cheerful neighbourhood .When we arrived on Saturday evening there was not too many people inside and something just got burned at the kitchen to the point it was difficult to breath . Our table was kind of small and not very comfortable. The menu included lots of dishes with extensive description of the ingredients. But in reality it was nothing special. However, the Greek salad which we ordered was the smallest I have ever eaten ever. Pita bread with some cream cheese was kind of burned .We had ordered a whole rainbow trout bit had to take it home since it was difficult to breath inside. Overall all dishes are on a small side . Greek food is about large salads and lots of meat skewers but not at this place. Wine list is also on the high end .Want be coming back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

One of our favorite places in Berkeley! ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

One of our favorite places in Berkeley! We feel like family the second we walk in the door, the servers and manager/host is ALWAYS charming, helpful, friendly, and makes sure our experience is perfection. And the food! We've never had a bad meal here, ever. The cocktails are fun and delicious, and we always have fun!

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Although our main courses took awhile, t ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Although our main courses took awhile, the owner/manager was gracious enough to explain that they were short in kitchen staff and gave us a generous discount for the wait. We would definitely recommend this restaurant to folks who are interested in greek food.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We started off with the lamb meatballs w ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We started off with the lamb meatballs which were moist and flavorful, but not overstated. The grilled octopus was the best octopus I have ever eaten. It had been soaked in brine for several days and was so tender, my knife cut through it like butter. The surface had been perfectly charred on a hot grill. I have ordered this dish a dozen times at Pathos and it never ceases to amaze. We finished off with Moussaka which was also memorable.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Been four times in a few months so clear ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Been four times in a few months so clearly we are enamored with this Greek find.

Faves include their lamb chops, spanakopitas, grilled octopus, meatballs and a must is the dessert yogurt, honey and fruit. Be sure to order their French drip coffee to finish.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food very good, service excellent, pleas ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Food very good, service excellent, pleasant decor. Some tables a little too close to each other, entrees pricey for what you get

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

the salad and appetizer (panfried cheese ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

the salad and appetizer (panfried cheese n lamb meatball) were very good, also the dessert (pastry filled with cream) were superb

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was pretty good, not phenomenal ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

The food was pretty good, not phenomenal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Excellent food! the lamb chops and grill ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Excellent food! the lamb chops and grilled octopus were to die for. Service was very attentive, friendly and courteous. It was our first time at Pathos but it was enough to make it our favored Greek cuisine restaurant in the Bay Area.

We would highly recommend it with out any hesitation to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of my favorite Berkeley restaurants. ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

One of my favorite Berkeley restaurants. If the menu varied , I'd come even more often. But then, the fact that when friends or associates say "what do you recommend?" you can actually answer, is also wonderful. The meatballs, whole fish, spanakopita, moussaka and lamb are all splendid. You can have a wonderful meal just sharing first courses too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was just OK (nothing memorable in t ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Food was just OK (nothing memorable in the least), though the prices seemed high for their offerings. It didn't feel very Greek. Service was very slow at best; not very attentive for a fine dining experience. We were a party of 3, with lots of dining out experience, and we agreed on all these points. A disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

Superb as always. Imaginative and beaut ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Superb as always. Imaginative and beautifully prepared Mediterranean food, good cocktails in

lovely spot.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pleasant surprise! Clean, open kitchen a ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Pleasant surprise! Clean, open kitchen and service was awesome .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service are wonderful, although ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Food and service are wonderful, although our waiter encouraged us to order more dishes than we could eat.

I still find the structure of the menu confusing and annoying.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I had some minor issues but overall a ve ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

I had some minor issues but overall a very nice, upscale dining experience, The Dolmedes were my favorite - would order and share the wood fired lamb chops next time with a couple of tapas.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

The food while generally good, was uneve ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

The food while generally good, was uneven. We thought the waitress could have been more interested if we had any questions as the menu is rather unique, We were a party of 4 and ordered appetizers as well as main dishes. The sea bass which 2 of our party ordered was fishy and bland. On the other hand, most of the appetizers and salads were good, including the horse beans and the spanikopita. The feta and olives was supposed to come with castelvetranos olives and kalamata but lacked the former and the feta was just okay. The desserts were a highlight as is the ambiance and includes an interesting Greek wine list. Pricey but may go back for appetizers with friends.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

very nice greek simple food, well prepar ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

very nice greek simple food, well prepared and served, nice service too, we recommend

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.