HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

Permanently Closed - Pathos Organic Greek Kitchen

4.4
355 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Greek
Top Tags:
  • Fit for Foodies
  • Special Occasion
  • Neighborhood Gem

Similar Restaurants

About

This restaurant is permanently closed. Permanently Closed - Melding the organic bounty of California with the traditional foods and flavors of Greece...honey, olive oil, herbs, classic cheeses...and drawing upon family recipes, Pathos is a truly genuine representation of the food you would find being enjoyed by everyday Greeks.

With a focus on a simple ingredient, fully organic fare and a well-curated, but accessible wine list (organic | biodynamic | sustainable), we want to bring to Berkeley a true taste of Greece. Please join us in our rustic, yet well-appointed dining room...surrounded by the warmth of our wood-fired oven...for a lively, engaging dining experience with which we are sure you will be pleased.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Greek, Mediterranean
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
DINNER
Wednesday, Thursday & Sunday 5:00pm-8:30pm
Friday & Saturday 5:00pm-9:30pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(510) 981-8339
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Nick Eftimiou
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
We are available for seated meals of up to 60 guests and for sit and stand receptions of up to 80. Pathos is the perfect place for your rehearsal dinner, corporate event, small-scale fundraiser, etc. any day of the week (day or evening).

We offer weekday, daytime catering Monday through Friday ($250 minimum order) for delivery in Berkeley, Emeryville, Oakland, and other east bay cities. We are, as well, available for larger off-site full catering...please call us at 510.981.8339 or email our Event Director at fred@pathosrestaurant.com
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Haste Street
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
DOWNTOWN BERKELEY BART
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Pathos Organic Greek Kitchen offers live music of Greece and the Mediterranean once a month.
Additional
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 355 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
4.4  based on all time ratings
4.4
food
4.4
service
4.4
ambience
3.9
value
Noise · Moderate
95% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
Berkeley (San Francisco)
1.0  Dined on November 2, 2016

Was closed and they did not even call to let us know, even though we had a reservation

Report
Helpful
vipFoodie84 (San Francisco)
5.0  Dined on October 1, 2016

Musts are spanakopita, meatballs, lamb, moussaka, baklava and yogurt dessert.
Don't forget their amazing coffee as well.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (San Francisco)
5.0  Dined on September 25, 2016

We loved the food and the ambiance; service was great and the special dessert for my birthday was outstanding;
Thank you!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (San Francisco)
5.0  Dined on September 24, 2016

I celebrated my birthday here and I had a magical evening. Great food, great service.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (San Francisco)
5.0  Dined on September 23, 2016

Wonderful - again! First time was out of curiosity. Second time, a week later, was for a birthday. We did small plates the first time to sample different things, and went with entrees the second time. Both were very good. We are carnivores, but our dining companions are vegetarians, and all of us were pleased. Specifics - octopus, pita bread, spanakopita, salads, trout, lamb chops, hummus, desserts. Service was attentive w/o being over-bearing. They expect dinner to take a couple hours, which we like. Leisurely, tasty, comfortable - great place!

Report
Helpful
ann307 (San Francisco)
5.0  Dined on September 17, 2016

This is a wonderful Greek restaurant. Everything we had was delicious. All local ingredients are used. It is very authentic Greek food, but elevated and creative. It is as good as Kokkari in SF. The service was excellent. It is a beautiful space. I highly recommend this restaurant. You will not be disappointed.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (San Francisco)
5.0  Dined on September 16, 2016

Delicious, creative, varied, no rush, attentive and knowledgeable service, laid back ambiance, cool kitchen bar ... Flat out delightful dining experience. Had all small plates so as to explore the options. Next time - soon - the lamb shank.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (San Francisco)
5.0  Dined on September 14, 2016

PATHOS is my new favorite restaurant!!! The service is excellent, and the food is incredible. Everything is ORGANIC, perfectly spiced and cooked to perfection. The ambience is warm and friendly, the chairs are VERY comfortable. They have delicious wines!!! IT’S THE BEST!!!!!!!!!!

Report
Helpful
SarahK (San Francisco)
2.0  Dined on September 11, 2016

The food was good but just expensive for what it was. There was nothing that was so spectacular we would spend that much for it again. The ambiance was nice and their cocktails were really good. We would definitely go again for drinks if we were in the neighborhood. Just be careful if they ask you if you would like something - they charge for everything. We were asked if we wanted more pita and we said yes.....twice. It turns out that is $4 each. We were asked if wanted to add a fourth lamb chop to the plate which we assumed was extra but didn't realize it would be $11. It makes sense since the plate was $37 for three lamb chops so a fourth is about a third of the price but it just made for a very expensive plate.

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (San Francisco)
5.0  Dined on September 10, 2016

The Bay Area is somewhat lacking in good Greek but Pathos is excellent. Love this place. Kind of expensive but very yummy.

Report
Helpful
rmanchego (San Francisco)
2.0  Dined on September 9, 2016

Food mixed; some items good, some meh, servers very nice, but timing seriously off; so much so that the food did not override it.

Report
Helpful
vipbellygrowls (San Francisco)
5.0  Dined on September 9, 2016

The service was , as usual, exemplary. All of the staff are just so welcoming!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (San Francisco)
5.0  Dined on September 9, 2016

Great experience!! Nick and his staff provide exceptional food, phenomenal service, and a fun atmosphere. It's an excellent spot for special occasions, date night, or for just a good, Greek meal with nice people. You won't be disappointed, especially if you try the Htapodi!

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (San Francisco)
5.0  Dined on September 8, 2016

As good as Kokkari Estiatorio, but without the need to go into the city, and Pathos has better (organic) quality ingredients. Try the lamb shank with farro.

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (London)
4.0  Dined on September 2, 2016

Server & food was excellent but the price was not commensurate with the overall meal. Also - their "fig" salad had only one fig. One. It was a very good fig. Regardless, I don't feel it warranted the title of fig salad.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
24