About Pathos Restaurant & Bar

2430 Shattuck Ave
Berkeley, CA 94704
View Larger Map

Melding the organic bounty of California with the traditional foods and flavors of Greece...honey, olive oil, herbs, classic cheeses...and drawing upon family recipes, Pathos is a truly genuine representation of the food you would find being enjoyed by everyday Greeks.

With a focus on a simple ingredient, fully organic fare and a well-curated, but accessible wine list (organic | biodynamic | sustainable), we want to bring to Berkeley a true taste of Greece. Please join us in our rustic, yet well-appointed dining room...surrounded by the warmth of our wood-fired oven...for a lively, engaging dining experience with which we are sure you will be pleased.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Greek, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
DINNER
Wednesday, Thursday & Sunday 5:00pm-8:30pm
Friday & Saturday 5:00pm-9:30pm

Cross Street:
Haste Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(510) 981-8339

Website:
http://www.pathosrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Pathos Restaurant & Bar offers live music of Greece and the Mediterranean once a month.

Catering:
We are available for seated meals of up to 60 guests and for sit and stand receptions of up to 80. Pathos is the perfect place for your rehearsal dinner, corporate event, small-scale fundraiser, etc. any day of the week (day or evening).

We offer weekday, daytime catering Monday through Friday ($250 minimum order) for delivery in Berkeley, Emeryville, Oakland, and other east bay cities. We are, as well, available for larger off-site full catering...please call us at 510.981.8339 or email our Event Director at fred@pathosrestaurant.com

Public Transit:
DOWNTOWN BERKELEY BART

Executive Chef:
Nick Eftimiou

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Smoking Area, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Pathos Restaurant & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (54)
neighborhood gem (35)
special occasion (34)
See All
romantic (22)
good for groups (19)
notable wine list (12)
great for outdoor dining (3)
great for brunch (2)
hot spot (2)
vibrant bar scene (2)
great for lunch (2)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
305 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

very nice greek simple food, well prepar ...

Dined 6 days ago

very nice greek simple food, well prepared and served, nice service too, we recommend

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the food, the ambiance, the staff; ...

Dined 7 days ago

Loved the food, the ambiance, the staff; an amazing value, and a memorable experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We could actually hear ourselves talk. F ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

We could actually hear ourselves talk. Food authentically Greek, with a modern twist. Friendly but professional service. My dish was a bit too salty but that's characteristic of many up-scale restaurants these days.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

beautiful restaurant with excellent wine ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

beautiful restaurant with excellent wine, whiskey selections and unique cocktails. Enjoyed unique recipes including the octopus and smelts.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience2
service2

Decor is dated, too much staff moving sl ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

Decor is dated, too much staff moving slowly, food just ok

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great dining, experience. The ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

We had a great dining, experience. The décor was handsome and the service outstanding. They knew that one couple in our party was celebrating a 49th wedding anniversary and the staff and sommelier went out of their way to make it a memorable evening out with complementary sparking wine and desserts. All the wines are from Greece and were quite satisfying and reasonable as well. The food - outstanding from the grilled octopus to the lamb chops to the whole broiled lavraki (white fish)- which was very fresh, cooked a pointe, and served on a bed of pilaf seasoned with capers and lemon. Only complaint was a nearby table with three active children who were a bit noisy. Pathos gives Kokari in the city a run for the money. It is not to missed.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service3

Both the whole fish and lamb chops very ...

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

Both the whole fish and lamb chops very perfect. The smelt always a treat. The service however was sooooooooo slooooowww! No excuse for this. Will think twice before going as this is always the problem

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food. Friendly, efficient ser ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Excellent food. Friendly, efficient service. We intend to return whenever our travels bring us back to Berkeley.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food. Excellent service. A ve ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Excellent food. Excellent service. A very enjoyable dining experience.

food4
ambience4
service4

It's not Kokari, but a great east bay pi ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

It's not Kokari, but a great east bay pick for really good Greek food and wine

food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Great experience... but prices were way ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Great experience... but prices were way to high for a quick return.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

A delicious and fun time, at a restauran ...

Dined on May 2, 2016

A delicious and fun time, at a restaurant where everyone knows your name. :)

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful Greek Food without the Airfare

Dined on May 1, 2016

I wanted to try the squid (Htapodi) because I heard it was tasty without being rubbery so we ordered that first-yum! We then got the Dolmades with minced lamb, parsley and leeks. The paidakia (pan seared lamb chops) out of this world delish. Al, our waiter, suggested the Foundi wine and it was perfect (similar to a Pinot). I am definitely going back and hope to try lots of other choices but it will be very challenging because what we had the first time was amazing.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was fabulous and the staff atte ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

The food was fabulous and the staff attentive and efficient

food5
ambience5
service5

From the moment we walked in the custome ...

Dined on April 25, 2016

From the moment we walked in the customer service was wonderful at the restaurant. The host was so attentive to our needs and our waitress was so sweet and caring. The food was amazing and was perfect for our adult double date night prior to heading to the Greek Theater for a concert. Would definitely go back again as the food is truly authentic!

food5
ambience3
service3
value4

The food was excellent as always. When w ...

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

The food was excellent as always. When we arrived for our reservation, we were offered a 2-top table next to the front door. There was a choice of two tables in this location, next to each other and equally drafty on a rainy evening. The banquette was almost totally empty, but it was set with 4-tops. The host did not consider changing the 2 two-tops to a four, and breaking up a 4-top. So we were then offered a tiny table in the bar section. It was a high table, and we sat on bar stools. This was not a comfortable way to eat dinner, and there was constant juggling of the plates so they fit on the table. I was not happy with the experience. I will not accept a bar table when I have made a reservation. The restaurant needs to better accommodate parties of two.

food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing dining experience...can't decide ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

Amazing dining experience...can't decide if food or service was better ... Treat yourself to a great night out

food5
ambience5
service5

Every single dish including the pita bre ...

vip
Dined on April 21, 2016

Every single dish including the pita bread served as appetizer tastes better than the freshest food I've ever eaten.

food4
ambience4
service5
value2

Good God Greek Gem !

Dined on April 17, 2016

First impression was elegant and refined , understated style . So you expect an above average meal and it was . Service was simply impeccable . But it was pricey . Our dinner was only soup and starters and one main course , no dessert and no wine . Yet the bill with tax and tip was a shade under $ 100 . We were with 2 children aged 8 and 10 . The food was quite good with one or two exceptions . Moussaka was better than in Athens !

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

DELICIOUS! Never disappoints!

vip
Dined on April 14, 2016

Love this place, close to home, lovely ambiance - amazing food every time!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Well-executed, interesting Greek food

Dined on April 11, 2016

Everything was very good but the standouts were the octopus which requires three days of preparation and the whole roasted fish. My dining companion and I felt that it was the best octopus we've had in the Bay Area. All of the dishes are based on traditional Greek cuisine but with creative twists which enhance the ingredients. The staff were also very nice and knowledgeable although they could have been slightly more attentive.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A treasure

Dined on April 10, 2016

We found the place through Tripadvisor but had a much higher opinion overall. The decor was stunning, the service attentive, and all six dishes we ordered were outstanding. Many Greeks among the patrons

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Everything was very good good to service

Dined on April 9, 2016

I walk by the place often and just never tried it.. The food was excellent. Farm fresh Greek, which means that the menu changes with what's in season and assures that they are going to use fresh, ripe & local veggies. Loved it, not just your typical Greek food, great vaiety of plates each cooked with imagination by the owner/chef. We tried a little bit of everything and shared two entrees between the four of us. Nothing let us down! This will go onto our like a nice destinations and the menu offers a really nice variety so we won't tire of this place.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Very good experience

vip
Dined on April 4, 2016

Went to Pathos the other night and enjoyed everything we had. Service was a tad slow and it could get a little noisy in there. But over all it was a good experience and I would be happy to return.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Greek!

vip
Dined on April 3, 2016

Four of us had a feast at Pathos. The evening began with a wine tasting. Our waitperson insisted I try all three white wines. I did...with gusto. For dinner, three of us ordered starters: dolmas, meatballs, octopus (the grilled octopus is quite simply perfect), and the cheese pastries. The fourth guest took the traditional moussaka and didn't want to share it. It was that good. For dessert we tried the custard rolled in filo with a citrus sauce and the baklava. Both were yummy and ended a really memorable meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good time

Dined on April 3, 2016

First time here for a group of friends after seeing a play at Berkeley Rep. We very much enjoyed the food and the service.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was outstanding and our food ...

Dined on April 1, 2016

The service was outstanding and our food superb. It was a wonderful evening prior to the theater. This is a great addition to the Berkeley food scene.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The fish was amazing! Absolutely divine.

Dined on March 21, 2016

Luckily, the fish is part of their standard menu. It was plentiful, and delicious. I had to share it with my friends...it was inconceivable to let it go to waste, and yet it was a hearty portion! The other must-have item was the Spanikopita. The staff were efficient, and genuinely friendly.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious food and cocktails before Berk ...

vip
Dined on March 19, 2016

Delicious food and cocktails before Berkeley Rep play. Great place for pre- theater dining.

food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful Flavorful delicious experience ...

vip
Dined on March 12, 2016

Wonderful Flavorful delicious experience at Pathos. The setting was beautiful and service attentive but not annoying and the food ! Beautiful colorful fragrant dishes better than any Greek food I have ever eaten and a surprisingly creative menu. I cannot wait to go back. My husband had The stuffed pepper which was out of this world in flavor and color. I had mussels which were plump and delicious and my daughter had the chicken which was just succulent Thank you!

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Elegant Greek food in lovely ambience

vip
Dined on March 11, 2016

This has become one of my favorites. The setting is beautiful, and the food is classic Greek cuisine done perfectly. Grilled octopus is savory and tender, lamb chops are succulent, and moussaka is the ultimate comfort food. Don't miss the baklava and bougatsa for dessert. Wine list is small, but there is a great Greek red that you won't find easily anywhere else. Cocktails are inventive and delicious too.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Almost perfect - the service is always ...

Dined on March 10, 2016

Almost perfect - the service is always good. Our food could have arrived a little hotter. It was sort of lukewarm. The service here is so sweet and generous, though. And it's a beautiful space.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mid Week is Great time to visit

Dined on March 10, 2016

This was our second visit and won't be our last. We loved the food, and went light-Salads and tapas. Loved the Grilled Octopus, incredible warm Dolmades, very nice grilled eggplant, and super tasty steamed mussels with fennel. We shared a wonderful dessert of greek yogurt, honey and fruit. We'll be back and might stick to mid week when the place is quieter than weekends which we enjoyed.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Wonderful

Dined on March 7, 2016

Everything was really delicious. Loved the Moussaka, and the salads were incredible. Service impeccable.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Si much thought and care were put into e ...

vip
Dined on March 3, 2016

Si much thought and care were put into every part of this restaurant. From the moment you walk in, it is obvious that the owner really wants to be in the restaurant business. The art all around the restaurant, the tables and chairs, and even the open kitchen with the wood oven all add to the marvelous ambiance. The food was fantastic across the board. Not only woukd I eat there (hopefully soon) but I would reorder some of the dishes we had tonight. I didn't think about it at the time but during dinner we were already talking about when we'd come back next and who we'd bring with us. Truly a fantastic find.

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Untitled quickie

Dined on March 3, 2016

Great spot. Nice decor. Excellent food. A little spendy but I suppose not wildly above average for the area.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

This restaurant has fantastic food.

Dined on February 29, 2016

What a delight! I walked in one day with a friend not knowing what to expect. I had never seen this restaurant before. The interior is beautifully designed and with soft lighting and nice decor with unusual accent pieces. There is a bar and an open kitchen. I was pleasantly surprised by the outstanding food. I had to bring my chef friend for his birthday. He was impressed. There is a seasonal menu based on local ingredients. Every dish was outstanding except for the moussaka which was average. The beet salad was fresh and crunchy, a very good palate cleanser which we had between courses. The wine pairing suggested by the wait staff and owner went very well with the dishes we ordered. I would definitely recommend this restaurant and will be going back again, and again, and again....

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Good Greek food

vip
Dined on February 25, 2016

We've been here several times. Cocktail list is very creative, appetizers selection is also good. The Greek soup is delicious. The lamb chops are well seasoned and cook to order. If you split the entree they will add one more chop.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service and delicious food. Servin ...

vip
Dined on February 21, 2016

Great service and delicious food. Serving sizes were on smaller side for the octopus but it was delicious and you don't want to miss it. Wood fired fish was also wonderful and the lamb meatballs. Skip the moussaka. I've had much better elsewhere - it's not worth the price.

food3
ambience1
service1
value1

The worst vday dinner experience

Dined on February 15, 2016

It was WAY overpriced; 2 for $300 for mediocre food. And it was like a banquet with total strangers. No choice but eating whatever on the prefix course (no substation or nothing even on entree. No choice but eating rabbit meat). And no servers asked us if everything was okay on the menu or during the dining. Seriously, they just brought food, changed utensils for numerous times (so unnecessary), pour water. It was so weird that no servers asked how we were doing. The WORST experience EVER!!!!!!

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.