About Pathos Restaurant & Bar

2430 Shattuck Ave
Berkeley, CA 94704
View Larger Map

Melding the organic bounty of California with the traditional foods and flavors of Greece...honey, olive oil, herbs, classic cheeses...and drawing upon family recipes, Pathos is a truly genuine representation of the food you would find being enjoyed by everyday Greeks.

With a focus on a simple ingredient, fully organic fare and a well-curated, but accessible wine list (organic | biodynamic | sustainable), we want to bring to Berkeley a true taste of Greece. Please join us in our rustic, yet well-appointed dining room...surrounded by the warmth of our wood-fired oven...for a lively, engaging dining experience with which we are sure you will be pleased.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Greek, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
DINNER
Wednesday, Thursday & Sunday 5:00pm-8:30pm
Friday & Saturday 5:00pm-9:30pm

Cross Street:
Haste Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(510) 981-8339

Website:
http://www.pathosrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Pathos Restaurant & Bar offers live music of Greece and the Mediterranean once a month.

Catering:
We are available for seated meals of up to 60 guests and for sit and stand receptions of up to 80. Pathos is the perfect place for your rehearsal dinner, corporate event, small-scale fundraiser, etc. any day of the week (day or evening).

We offer weekday, daytime catering Monday through Friday ($250 minimum order) for delivery in Berkeley, Emeryville, Oakland, and other east bay cities. We are, as well, available for larger off-site full catering...please call us at 510.981.8339 or email our Event Director at fred@pathosrestaurant.com

Public Transit:
DOWNTOWN BERKELEY BART

Executive Chef:
Nick Eftimiou

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Smoking Area, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Pathos Restaurant & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
East Bay
Best Restaurants in Berkeley ›

fit for foodies (48)
special occasion (28)
neighborhood gem (25)
See All
romantic (19)
good for groups (17)
notable wine list (11)
great for outdoor dining (3)
great for brunch (2)
hot spot (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
late-night find (1)
great for lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
314 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was pretty good, not phenomenal ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

The food was pretty good, not phenomenal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Excellent food! the lamb chops and grill ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Excellent food! the lamb chops and grilled octopus were to die for. Service was very attentive, friendly and courteous. It was our first time at Pathos but it was enough to make it our favored Greek cuisine restaurant in the Bay Area.

We would highly recommend it with out any hesitation to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of my favorite Berkeley restaurants. ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

One of my favorite Berkeley restaurants. If the menu varied , I'd come even more often. But then, the fact that when friends or associates say "what do you recommend?" you can actually answer, is also wonderful. The meatballs, whole fish, spanakopita, moussaka and lamb are all splendid. You can have a wonderful meal just sharing first courses too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was just OK (nothing memorable in t ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Food was just OK (nothing memorable in the least), though the prices seemed high for their offerings. It didn't feel very Greek. Service was very slow at best; not very attentive for a fine dining experience. We were a party of 3, with lots of dining out experience, and we agreed on all these points. A disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

Superb as always. Imaginative and beaut ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Superb as always. Imaginative and beautifully prepared Mediterranean food, good cocktails in

lovely spot.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pleasant surprise! Clean, open kitchen a ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Pleasant surprise! Clean, open kitchen and service was awesome .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service are wonderful, although ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Food and service are wonderful, although our waiter encouraged us to order more dishes than we could eat.

I still find the structure of the menu confusing and annoying.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I had some minor issues but overall a ve ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

I had some minor issues but overall a very nice, upscale dining experience, The Dolmedes were my favorite - would order and share the wood fired lamb chops next time with a couple of tapas.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

The food while generally good, was uneve ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

The food while generally good, was uneven. We thought the waitress could have been more interested if we had any questions as the menu is rather unique, We were a party of 4 and ordered appetizers as well as main dishes. The sea bass which 2 of our party ordered was fishy and bland. On the other hand, most of the appetizers and salads were good, including the horse beans and the spanikopita. The feta and olives was supposed to come with castelvetranos olives and kalamata but lacked the former and the feta was just okay. The desserts were a highlight as is the ambiance and includes an interesting Greek wine list. Pricey but may go back for appetizers with friends.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

very nice greek simple food, well prepar ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

very nice greek simple food, well prepared and served, nice service too, we recommend

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Loved the food, the ambiance, the staff; ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Loved the food, the ambiance, the staff; an amazing value, and a memorable experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We could actually hear ourselves talk. F ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We could actually hear ourselves talk. Food authentically Greek, with a modern twist. Friendly but professional service. My dish was a bit too salty but that's characteristic of many up-scale restaurants these days.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

beautiful restaurant with excellent wine ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

beautiful restaurant with excellent wine, whiskey selections and unique cocktails. Enjoyed unique recipes including the octopus and smelts.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Decor is dated, too much staff moving sl ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Decor is dated, too much staff moving slowly, food just ok

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

We had a great dining, experience. The ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

We had a great dining, experience. The décor was handsome and the service outstanding. They knew that one couple in our party was celebrating a 49th wedding anniversary and the staff and sommelier went out of their way to make it a memorable evening out with complementary sparking wine and desserts. All the wines are from Greece and were quite satisfying and reasonable as well. The food - outstanding from the grilled octopus to the lamb chops to the whole broiled lavraki (white fish)- which was very fresh, cooked a pointe, and served on a bed of pilaf seasoned with capers and lemon. Only complaint was a nearby table with three active children who were a bit noisy. Pathos gives Kokari in the city a run for the money. It is not to missed.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Both the whole fish and lamb chops very ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Both the whole fish and lamb chops very perfect. The smelt always a treat. The service however was sooooooooo slooooowww! No excuse for this. Will think twice before going as this is always the problem

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Excellent food. Friendly, efficient ser ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Excellent food. Friendly, efficient service. We intend to return whenever our travels bring us back to Berkeley.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food. Excellent service. A ve ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Excellent food. Excellent service.

A very enjoyable dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It's not Kokari, but a great east bay pi ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

It's not Kokari, but a great east bay pick for really good Greek food and wine

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great experience... but prices were way ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Great experience... but prices were way to high for a quick return.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

A delicious and fun time, at a restauran ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 2, 2016

A delicious and fun time, at a restaurant where everyone knows your name. :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful Greek Food without the Airfare

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

I wanted to try the squid (Htapodi) because I heard it was tasty without being rubbery so we ordered that first-yum! We then got the Dolmades with minced lamb, parsley and leeks. The paidakia (pan seared lamb chops) out of this world delish. Al, our waiter, suggested the Foundi wine and it was perfect (similar to a Pinot). I am definitely going back and hope to try lots of other choices but it will be very challenging because what we had the first time was amazing.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was fabulous and the staff atte ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

The food was fabulous and the staff attentive and efficient

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

From the moment we walked in the custome ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on April 25, 2016

From the moment we walked in the customer service was wonderful at the restaurant. The host was so attentive to our needs and our waitress was so sweet and caring. The food was amazing and was perfect for our adult double date night prior to heading to the Greek Theater for a concert. Would definitely go back again as the food is truly authentic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was excellent as always. When w ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

The food was excellent as always. When we arrived for our reservation, we were offered a 2-top table next to the front door. There was a choice of two tables in this location, next to each other and equally drafty on a rainy evening. The banquette was almost totally empty, but it was set with 4-tops. The host did not consider changing the 2 two-tops to a four, and breaking up a 4-top. So we were then offered a tiny table in the bar section. It was a high table, and we sat on bar stools. This was not a comfortable way to eat dinner, and there was constant juggling of the plates so they fit on the table. I was not happy with the experience. I will not accept a bar table when I have made a reservation. The restaurant needs to better accommodate parties of two.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Amazing dining experience...can't decide ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

Amazing dining experience...can't decide if food or service was better ... Treat yourself to a great night out

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Every single dish including the pita bre ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

Every single dish including the pita bread served as appetizer tastes better than the freshest food I've ever eaten.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good God Greek Gem !

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

First impression was elegant and refined , understated style . So you expect an above average meal and it was . Service was simply impeccable .

But it was pricey . Our dinner was only soup and starters and one main course , no dessert and no wine . Yet the bill with tax and tip was a shade under $ 100 . We were with 2 children aged 8 and 10 . The food was quite good with one or two exceptions . Moussaka was better than

in Athens !

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

DELICIOUS! Never disappoints!

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 14, 2016

Love this place, close to home, lovely ambiance - amazing food every time!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Well-executed, interesting Greek food

 
 (London)
·Dined on April 11, 2016

Everything was very good but the standouts were the octopus which requires three days of preparation and the whole roasted fish. My dining companion and I felt that it was the best octopus we've had in the Bay Area. All of the dishes are based on traditional Greek cuisine but with creative twists which enhance the ingredients.

The staff were also very nice and knowledgeable although they could have been slightly more attentive.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

A treasure

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

We found the place through Tripadvisor but had a much higher opinion overall. The decor was stunning, the service attentive, and all six dishes we ordered were outstanding. Many Greeks among the patrons

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was very good good to service

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

I walk by the place often and just never tried it.. The food was excellent. Farm fresh Greek, which means that the menu changes with what's in season and assures that they are going to use fresh, ripe & local veggies.

Loved it, not just your typical Greek food, great vaiety of plates each cooked with imagination by the owner/chef. We tried a little bit of everything and shared two entrees between the four of us. Nothing let us down!

This will go onto our like a nice destinations and the menu offers a really nice variety so we won't tire of this place.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Very good experience

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on April 4, 2016

Went to Pathos the other night and enjoyed everything we had. Service was a tad slow and it could get a little noisy in there. But over all it was a good experience and I would be happy to return.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Great Greek!

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

Four of us had a feast at Pathos. The evening began with a wine tasting. Our waitperson insisted I try all three white wines. I did...with gusto. For dinner, three of us ordered starters: dolmas, meatballs, octopus (the grilled octopus is quite simply perfect), and the cheese pastries. The fourth guest took the traditional moussaka and didn't want to share it. It was that good.

For dessert we tried the custard rolled in filo with a citrus sauce and the baklava. Both were yummy and ended a really memorable meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good time

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

First time here for a group of friends after seeing a play at Berkeley Rep.

We very much enjoyed the food and the service.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was outstanding and our food ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

The service was outstanding and our food superb. It was a wonderful evening prior to the theater. This is a great addition to the Berkeley food scene.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The fish was amazing! Absolutely divine.

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 21, 2016

Luckily, the fish is part of their standard menu. It was plentiful, and delicious. I had to share it with my friends...it was inconceivable to let it go to waste, and yet it was a hearty portion! The other must-have item was the Spanikopita.

The staff were efficient, and genuinely friendly.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious food and cocktails before Berk ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

Delicious food and cocktails before Berkeley Rep play. Great place for pre- theater dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful Flavorful delicious experience ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

Wonderful Flavorful delicious experience at Pathos. The setting was beautiful and service attentive but not annoying and the food ! Beautiful colorful fragrant dishes better than any Greek food I have ever eaten and a surprisingly creative menu.

I cannot wait to go back. My husband had

The stuffed pepper which was out of this world in flavor and color. I had mussels which were plump and delicious and my daughter had the chicken which was just succulent

Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Elegant Greek food in lovely ambience

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 11, 2016

This has become one of my favorites. The setting is beautiful, and the food is classic Greek cuisine done perfectly. Grilled octopus is savory and tender, lamb chops are succulent, and moussaka is the ultimate comfort food. Don't miss the baklava and bougatsa for dessert.

Wine list is small, but there is a great Greek red that you won't find easily anywhere else. Cocktails are inventive and delicious too.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.