About Passionfish

701 Lighthouse Avenue
Pacific Grove, CA 93950
View Larger Map

Passionfish offers a unique California dining experience with serious food and wine in a fun and casual atmosphere. The ever-changing menu features the freshest, sustainable seafood, slow-cooked meats, organic greens and delectable desserts, all complemented by an award winning wine list priced nearly retail and well below what you've come to expect. Passionfish is owned and operated by Chef Ted Walter and his wife Cindy Walter. They are vocal advocates for sustainable seafood education and were the first officially certified 'Green' restaurant in Monterey County.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00PM - 9:00PM
Friday - Saturday: 5:00PM - 9:00PM

Cross Street:
Congress Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 655-3311

Website:
http://www.passionfish.net/

Executive Chef:
Ted Walter

Private Party Facilities:
Passionfish offers two rooms available for private dining. One room seats up to 30 persons and another up to 60 persons.

Private Party Contact:
Cindy Walter: 8316553311x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Beer, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Dungeness Crab Cake
Chocolate Truffle Torte With Passionfruit Syrup
Sturgeon
Halibut
Lemon Verbena Creme Brulee
Spoonable 12 Hour Lamb Breast
Wagyu Ultra Prime Beef
fried oysters
Spicey Seafood Stew
Breadpudding
Asparagus Fries
Straus Organic Mint And Espresso Mud Pie
Bread
Crabcake Over Sweet Slaw
Meyer Lemon Panna Cotta
Sea Scallops, Tomato Truffle Butter, Savory Rice Custard
Tilapia
Serol Sparkling Rose of Gamay
Sea Scallops With Tomato-Truffle Butter And Savory Rice Pudding
Tilapia W/ Thyme Mashed Potatoes, Edamame & Balsamic Butter Sauce
Dungeness Crab And Avocado Salad
Duck Confit
Striped Bass Crudo
Wild King Salmon
Rockfish
Lobster Tail
Albacore Tuna
Warm Brussell Sprouts
Catfish
Artic Char
Short Rib-Foie Gras Tortellini
Grenache Blend
Arctic Char
Fried Portobellos
Seared Sea Scallps
Fried Olives
Tea
French Red Wine
Warm Chocolate Torte
Dungeness Crab Salad
Churros
Monterey Bay Spot Prawns
Evodia Grenache
lemon panna cotta
Mint Mud Pie
Seared Sea Scallops
chinese broccoli
Baked Barramundi Fish
Dungeness Crab Salad With Avocado
Scallop With Truffle Tomato Sauce And Risotto
Catfish With Braised Vegetables, Pickled Celery Root And Smoked Potato
Crab and Avocado Salad
Spätzle With Braised Wagyu Beef
Smoked Salmon Ceviche Tostadas
Sablefish
Scallops
Oysters
French Onion Soup
Dessert
Mussels In Spicy Broth
Brussels Sprouts, Grapes, And Ham Salad
Prime Rib Eye Steak With Cabbage And Butternut Squash Bread Pudding
Steamed Mussels
Sea Scallops
Smoked Trout Ceviche
Oysters With Carrot And Ginger Granata
Ricotta Gnocchi With Brown Butter
Ratatouille Ravioli
Alaskan Haibut, Summer Vegetables, Spicy Orange Tamarind Vinaigrette
Lamb Breast
Bacon Fritters
Wagyu Brisket With Spritzel
Sturgeon With White Bean
Shaved Brussel sprout salad
Squid/Spicy Cilantro-Citrus Sauce/Mango
Crispy Tilapia
Buratta With Fried Squash Blossom
Smoked Trout
Seafood
Sweet Potato Fries w/ Aiolo Sauce
Spoonable 12 Hour Lamb Shank
Mint Espresso Mud Pie
Banana Walnut Bread Pudding W/Maple Nut Icecream & Spiced Caramel Sauce

Passionfish Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.2

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
California Central Coast
Notable Wine List
California Central Coast
Seafood
California Central Coast
9 More
Most Booked
California Central Coast
Best Overall
Monterey / Carmel
Best Food
Monterey / Carmel
Best Service
Monterey / Carmel
Best Value
Monterey / Carmel
Fit for Foodies
Monterey / Carmel
Special Occasion
Monterey / Carmel
Seafood
Monterey / Carmel
Most Booked
Monterey / Carmel
Best Restaurants in Pacific Grove ›

Fit for Foodies (286)
Special Occasion (235)
Notable Wine List (213)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (197)
Romantic (99)
Good for Groups (48)
Hot Spot (30)
Great for Lunch (14)
Kid-friendly (11)
Late-night Find (8)
Great for Brunch (4)
Scenic View (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2369 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was a huge disappointment for both ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined 3 days ago

Food was a huge disappointment for both of us. Not sure why the good reviews.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

I love this place. Their seafood is sust ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 3 days ago

I love this place. Their seafood is sustainable and local as well as amazingly delicious. The people are very nice and knowledgeable. The ingredients are very fresh, the different courses we ordered were inventive and beyond tasty. The wine list is amazing and they sell the bottle as retail price which is rare. Overall this was a success!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Atmosphere is ok - and the restaurant se ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 3 days ago

Atmosphere is ok - and the restaurant seems to be the choice of local retired clientele exclusively.

That said - the food remains carefully crafted, wine prices are fair - and service is good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Best food and wine selection on the cent ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 3 days ago

Best food and wine selection on the central coast! We have going for years and have never been disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I love Passion Fish. The food is fresh, ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 4 days ago

I love Passion Fish. The food is fresh, local, and sustainable.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Romantic, Healthy, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great dining experience, specia ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

Always a great dining experience, specializing in seafood. This time, we had a tuna ceviche salad to start that was really nice, and for an entre the seared Ahi tuna. My partner went off-norm and ordered the "spoonable"pork breast that was braised for 12 hours to make it very soft and luscious. Served over a bed of chick peas and other veggies with Mediterranean seasonings. So, this demonstrates that the chef has mastered dishes beyond seafood.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We had an excellent meal there. The foo ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 4 days ago

We had an excellent meal there. The food is fresh, well prepared and their sensitivity to the sustainability of the catch is noteworthy. We particularly appreciated the very well curated wine list and the sommelier was friendly and very helpful. Wine prices are very reasonable and that means accessibility to good wines. It is on the list of quality restaurants on the Peninsula and one of our favorites.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was very good. Definitely will rec ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 4 days ago

Food was very good. Definitely will recommend and return if in the area.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

We realize that it was Concours week but ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined 5 days ago

We realize that it was Concours week but we felt rushed the entire time that we were there. The food was great but I should not have to be pouring my own wine. One server but someone else took our credit card for charging.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4
value4

I've dined here several times in past an ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 5 days ago

I've dined here several times in past and the food was amazing with great menu choices. This time the menu was limited and the food was just ok, not the amazing experience I'm used to

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

Best fish in town (that includes Montere ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 5 days ago

Best fish in town (that includes Monterey and Carmel). Love the wine pricing! Overall excellent value and experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

One of our favorite restaurants. Sustai ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined 6 days ago

One of our favorite restaurants. Sustainable food focus, prepared in an approachable and exquisite manner. Service is friendly, knowledgeable and fun.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We believe that Passion Fish is one of t ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined 6 days ago

We believe that Passion Fish is one of the consistently best dining experiences on the West Coast. Exceptional quality food prepared brilliantly with an informed, 'passionate' and attentive staff and an inspired wine list make for an A+ experience. We live in Portland so can't get there as often as we would like but we go out of our way to get there whenever possible. Our highest accolades to the entire Passion Fish Team.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My birthday dinner was PERFECTION! As us ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined 6 days ago

My birthday dinner was PERFECTION! As usual, everything was delicious. Our server was helpful but not obtrusive, and the wine he chose for us was scrumptious, a lovely Gamay. Passionfish never lets us down. We go nowhere else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The lamb dish was excellent. The rockf ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined 6 days ago

The lamb dish was excellent. The rockfish was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Excellent food and wine. We've been seve ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined 7 days ago

Excellent food and wine. We've been several times and would go again. Only pet peeve was putting our check down on the table while we were still eating. This seems to be a trend at nicer restaurants and I find it in incredibly poor taste.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent experience I've had dinner the ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Excellent experience I've had dinner there before and is a favorite when I visit the Monterey area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

comfortable restaurant, understated, not ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

comfortable restaurant, understated, not to noisy, it's all about the food and wine. Excellent wine prices makes for more experimental selections. Overall a very nice experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I thoroughly enjoyed the experience, but ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

I thoroughly enjoyed the experience, but I didn't give it a top rating because the sauce overwhelmed the food. Still, I'd go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

It was very very very very very very ver ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

It was very very very very very very very very good

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

One of the best restaurants on the Monte ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

One of the best restaurants on the Monterey peninsula for many years running.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I had another magnificent dinner at Pass ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

I had another magnificent dinner at PassionFish. Full disclosure: I am a local and a regular. I had a great table, and my server was Manuel. I enjoyed the Mohua Sauvignon Blanc from New Zealand. For my first course, I had the trout ceviche tostadas. For my second course, I had the scallop appetizer. For my third course, I had the Dungeness crab salad. For my fourth course, I had the scallops entree. For dessert, I had the peach cobbler a la mode. Yum! Bravissimo! I look forward to my next visit. It's no wonder this restaurant wins so many awards; their ability to achieve perfection consistently proves that they are true champions.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely loved it. Great wine list wi ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Absolutely loved it. Great wine list with extremely fair prices. We all loved our entrees and the 3 desserts we sampled were top notch.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have visited this restaurant three tim ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

I have visited this restaurant three times during the past year, once with a friend and two other times with my wife. Each time we enjoyed the food, which was excellent, the service was attentive, and the waitress was very knowledgeable about the wines and the source of food. I recommend it highly.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was good but don't plan go back the ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

It was good but don't plan go back the appetizer where amazing but the main course was ok

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Tables were too close together. It was ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Tables were too close together. It was uncomfortable and very noisy. Trying to pack too many diners into the space.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value2

Fresh sustainable seafood. Fresh local i ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Fresh sustainable seafood. Fresh local ingredients. A delight to the taste buds. We sampled appetizers, salads, and an entree. All delightful. Wine list outstanding at reasonable prices ( no gouging!). A new go to place in Pacific Grove.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

One of our meals (halibut) was excellent ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

One of our meals (halibut) was excellent and the other(salmon) was dry. The salads were just okay.... Not crispy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Excellent service. We appreciated the w ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Excellent service. We appreciated the waiters attention to special food requirements -- he brought a special ingredients menu and checked with the chef about the daily special. He made good suggestions for substitutions.

The restaurant was quite enough for easy conversation.

All in all a wonderful experience. We will return for our yearly best friends get together.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We shared everything - a half bottle of ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

We shared everything - a half bottle of delicious Reisling from California, scrumptious appetizers, and an entree. The food is wonderful. Service was fabulous. And tea and fresh peach cobbler for dessert.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We visit Passionfish whenever we are in ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

We visit Passionfish whenever we are in Pacific Grove. Professional friendly service. Menu includes meat but we always order fish. Beautifully presented, not oversauced or manicured. Excellent quality. The dessert was hyped and was the only disappointment. We mentioned this to the waiter w/o expecting anything and he removed the cost from the bill. This is a professional way to handle service. Lots of interesting wines to choose from.

We highly recommend this restaurant which offers delicious food in a casual and friendly environment.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was outstanding, but the servic ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

The food was outstanding, but the service was just okay. The trout, cucumber and tomato salad, and bread pudding were absolutely delicious and worth every penny. The waitress was not rude, but se was not friendly or welcoming. Overall a fabulous experience though and I would definitely go again.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We enjoyed our late evening dinner, espe ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We enjoyed our late evening dinner, especially the dungeness crab salad on corn pudding. Service was quick and friendly, although the tables are so close together the server can barely fit in. Both our desserts were delicious - the bread pudding and the chocolate torte. Be sure to make a reservation, as it's a very popular place.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great food and experience. I recommend i ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Great food and experience. I recommend it to anyone traveling in the Monterrey area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great food and service is outstanding. A ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Great food and service is outstanding. An incredible wine list and priced quite affordably.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food is excellent!! Been there twice and ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Food is excellent!! Been there twice and both times came away saying their food is the best of most restaurants I have eaten at.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another magnificent dinner. Full disclos ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Another magnificent dinner. Full disclosure: I am a local and a regular. We had a great table, and our server was Amanda. As always, everything was perfect. I enjoyed the Mohua Sauvignon Blanc from New Zealand. We each had a biscuit. For our first course (appetizers), my friend had the trout ceviche, and I had the fried oysters. For our second course (salads), my friend had the goad cheese salad, and I had the Dungeness crab salad. For our third course (entrees), my friend had the halibut, and I had the scallops. For our fourth course (desserts), we both had the peach cobbler a la mode, and my friend had a decaf coffee. Yum! Bravo! Bravissimo! We look forward to our next visit.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our second visit to Passionfish ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

This was our second visit to Passionfish, but most certainly not our last. The preparation, presentation, and most of all flavor of the dishes are exceptional. The scallop appetizer and main course are unbelievably delicious! Also had the halibut, exquisitely prepared. Great wine list, knowledgeable and affable wait staff. What's not to love!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed our dinners very much, althou ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We enjoyed our dinners very much, although $172.00 for 2 people is quite high. WE ordered a share salad, 2 entrees, 1 biscuit (as they do not serve bread) and a $50 bottle of wine. Our server seemed new, didn't know the menu very well, and was not knowledgeble on the wine. She took 3 trips back and worth with wine selections, questions, etc. Our server also had bright blue hair and a nose ring. We are locals and have many restaurants to choose from in our area....Passion Fish would benefit having a bar and lounge/waiting area. The wine list is extensive and either the servers need to know the wines or the restaurant should have a Simolier. It was my husband's birthday, in which they did acknowledge.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

We really had a lovely time. Very nice ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

We really had a lovely time. Very nice server and delicious food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.