Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi

About Passionfish

Passionfish offers a unique California dining experience with serious food and wine in a fun and casual atmosphere. The ever-changing menu features the freshest, sustainable seafood, slow-cooked meats, organic greens and delectable desserts, all complemented by an award winning wine list priced nearly retail and well below what you've come to expect. Passionfish is owned and operated by Chef Ted Walter and his wife Cindy Walter. They are vocal advocates for sustainable seafood education and were the first officially certified 'Green' restaurant in Monterey County.

701 Lighthouse Avenue
Pacific Grove, CA 93950
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00PM - 9:00PM
Friday - Saturday: 5:00PM - 9:00PM

Cross Street:
Congress Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 655-3311

Website:
http://www.passionfish.net/

Executive Chef:
Ted Walter

Private Party Facilities:
Passionfish offers two rooms available for private dining. One room seats up to 30 persons and another up to 60 persons.

Private Party Contact:
Cindy Walter: (831) 655-3311

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Passionfish Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.2

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (126)
Local Ingredients (112)
Creative Cuisine (111)
See All
Notable Wine List (107)
Good for a Date (99)
Special Occasion (98)
Neighborhood Gem (81)
Good for Anniversaries (79)
Healthy (70)
Worth the Drive (67)
Good for Birthdays (66)
Cozy (43)
Authentic (42)
Quiet Conversation (42)
Romantic (40)
Casual (40)
Seasonal (37)
Organic (35)
Modern Decor (27)
Business Meals (21)
Good Vegetarian Options (17)
Outstanding Value (17)
Hot Spot (14)
Fun (11)
Comfort Food (11)
Good for Groups (10)
Paleo Friendly (8)
Molecular Gastronomy (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Spicy (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Family Style (4)
Disabled Access (3)
People Watching (3)
Tapas (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
Scenic View (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Fireplace (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Historic (1)
Private Room (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Vegan (1)
Great Beer (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sort By:
S
2886 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 2 days ago

Wonderful! I ate here many, many years ago and I never forgot the superb meal so I had to come back and it did not disappoint I highly recommend this restaurant anytime you're in the Monterey/Carmel area. Great food, wine and service what else could you ask for!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Healthy, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 2 days ago

The food was very fresh and creatively prepared! We were delighted that it was a quiet restaurant so we could carry on a conversation without shouting. Service was excellent! We would highly recommend Passion Fish!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

When we were last at Passionfish a few years ago, we had an adequate meal but though it was a bit pricey. Not so after tonight's meal. We all loved our choices : rockfish, char, and the duck. The entrées and vegetables were perfect together. Wonderful food and great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 3 days ago

Good food and service. We missed having bread served with the meal. Biscuits were offered at an additional cost. Have had the biscuits once and they were disappointing. I would give this restaurant a five star rating if they went back to serving bread with the meal.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent dining experience. Scallops we're fresh and cooked perfectly in a great sauce. Cheesecake ice cream with strawberries and almonds were unforgettable. We'll be back!

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Coffee, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 3 days ago

We had the most fun! After my son graduated from CSUMB, we took a party of 8 there. Mom reserved 4, and the Dad reserved 4. Among our party we had at least 15 different dishes from sides or appetizers to the entrees and desserts. We could hardly resist our neighbors plates, and we finally gave in and everyone tried everyone else's dishes. Every single item was unique and scrumptious! We tried the Beef Belly, the spoonable Lamb, the Halibut, the Liver Pate, the Biscuits, the Scallops, the Smoked Trout tostaditas, the Mussels, the Fried Oysters, the Rockfish, the Bread pudding and Banana Ice Cream, the sliced strawberries and the Panna Cotta/creme brulee/lemon verbena creme, oooh! And then there was the little relishes and sides that came with the entrees. Oh goodness, what a feast!

While the portions were modest, and the final bill was pretty hefty, I can't imagine a better variety of exquisite tastes. Definitely the place for foodies! Remember to make separate reservations if your party is larger than 4, since they only take four per reservation. Awesome!!!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Organic, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Pleasantly surprised by the neighborhood gem! Food was delicious and the service great! Would definitely recommend and return here if visiting the area in future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 5 days ago

I had high hopes for this place when I saw the reviews. We did not have the same experience. Food, service, atmosphere and menu choices were just okay. I won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

I always have a good meal at Passionfish. We had a great table in the main dining room. For our first course, we both had the scallop appetizer. For our second course, my friend had the goat cheese salad, and I have the Dungeness crab and avocado salad. For our third course, my friend had the rockfish, and I had the scallops entree. For dessert, we each had the banana bread pudding. Yum! Bravo!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Passionfish is probably one of the best seafood restuarants I have eaten in. Fish is cooked perfectly, served with sides that extend the flavors, and has an excellent reasonably priced wine list. It is always a wonderful experience to eat there.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Great seafood, use only sustainable fish. Presentation was great, tastes were super. We will definitely return here. They had my favorite dessert - panna cotta with a small creme brûlée and something in the middle that was to die for. Superb wine list at great prices.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Exceptional! New tastes abound, be an adventurist with never before tried dishes and you will
be rewarded. This is a must when on the Monterey Peninsula.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Cozy, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Great food great service. Restaurant has been a standard for us for years.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 16, 2017

The smoke trout appetizer was too spicy and overpowered the smoke trout which wasn't hard to do because it didn't taste anything like smoke trout. The soft shell crabs were a special of the evening and well prepared. The scallops were also prepared well and tasted good, but the side dish was uninspiring. The dessert was a banana bread pudding and I wish we had skipped it. The wine we ordered was not the same as the wine delivered. The waitress said it was similar enough and produced by the same winery. Unfortunately, maybe the wait staff needs more education because a Carneros Pinot Noir is normally a far better wine than a Sonoma Coast Pinot Noir. It was light and tart, in hindsight we should have just opened the bottle of Santa Lucia Highlands Pinot Noir that we had brought with us. Although the corkage is a surprising $25. In total, we have been to this restaurant several times during it's life these past 20+ years and each time it has slipped a little further in our opinion. We won't be returning.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Great food and awesome atmosphere! I would definitely recommend coming here for a special occasion. The pricing was pretty affordable!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Food was excellent- the Ceviche was unique and tasty as was the curry salad. We ordered the Duck Confit, Lamb and fish all were cooked to near perfection and was tender and tasty .

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 15, 2017

the food and service were outstanding; an excellent value but not inexpensive.

Tags: Healthy, Organic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Fantastic. Impeccable service to accompany multiple outstanding dishes from the kitchen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Good restaurant. But given the reputation of this place, we were expecting "very" good.

Tags: Healthy, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Passionfish is always great. The seafood stew is delicious but have to add the biscuits. Wine list is nice and very low markup.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

It was extremely noisy with crying children and the people seated next to us were so close we could hear their entire conversation. Our food was not good, wine was poor --wish we would have donated our $100 to a charity. The one good thing was the waitress who was very nice and professional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service5
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I was pleasantly surprised by the value and quality of the food at Passionfish. Wonderful menu and extensive wine list!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 13, 2017

This place is over the top GOOD! Start to finish.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 13, 2017

First time to this fine place to eat for any occasion. I went with my son. He had recommended Passionfish to celebrate the birthday of my late wife/his Mother. I would definitely eat here again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 12, 2017

This PG classic remains good as ever! Creative and delicious menu items (try the fried oyster with house-made Kim chee) were met with superb wine selections at much less than the usual mark-up.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Organic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 11, 2017

This place is a must when visiting the Monterey area. Fresh local fare, with clean and subtle preparation and presentation. The fish for our party of five was great - along with a small but interesting wine list. They have never failed to deliver a memorable experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 11, 2017

My favorite fish restaurant anywhere. Fish is fresh and preparations are wonderful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Love to eat at Passionfish when we make it to Monterey area! Janette- our server for the evening was FANTASTIC!- The seafood was prepared perfectly and had a beautiful presentation too! The wine list is top notch and has great prices! Excellent dining experience!!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 10, 2017

More service apologies than items on the menu. Food was underwhelming and expensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Wonderful restaurant in the heart of Pacific Grove.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, People Watching, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Organic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Superior tastes in both food and wine. Perfect options for those trying to lose weight or simply eat with health in mind. Environmentally conscious owners. Well worth the cost.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Authentic, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 8, 2017

We were vacationing and wanted to have a nice dinner near our hotel. This place was highly rated on other review sites so we decided to check it out .
The service was professional and welcoming. The menu looked good as was the pricing. We highly recommend!

Tags: Romantic, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Rated #1 restaurant in Pacific Grove so had to try it out. Excellent food (scallops for me and Sea Bass for wife). Small portions and limited menu/wine selections. Sustainably caught fish, which is appreciated. Couldn't quite pinpoint it but staff, although friendly, seemed to all have their noses up in the air a bit, as if they were doing us a favor. Wife and I fine dine on regular basis, and just because a restaurant is high end doesn't mean they have to be so snooty. All-in-all a very good experience and I would recommend.

Tags: Healthy, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Amazing food and wine list. We will be coming back. Delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Very nice dinner. Started with chicken livers (rillettes-style I would call it) then Dungeness crab salad and seared tuna for the entree. The tuna had a slightly incongruous smoke note but still beautiful fish. The bread pudding for dessert was excellent without being overly sweet. If I could rate the wine list on its own I would score it 5 stars. It is exciting, well rounded and includes some rarer, for restaurants, selections. Especially nice for me was to see the Loire valley well represented, although no Muscadet Sevre et Maine. The large selection of half bottles allowed us to have a different wine with each course. I will say Passionfish's wine list is the best I've seen; I look forward to going back and experiment with their less common wines (like the Friuli) and the forward thinking plates.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Great value for truly exceptional food and service.

Tags: Organic, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 7, 2017

As usual the food is fantastic. Michelin star level. Priced reasonably for the quality.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 6, 2017

It's peaty we don't have something similar in NY:
Calm an delicious

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Sustainable seafood and other menu items, creatively prepared and presented. Portion sizes are moderate, so you can have several dishes and dessert and still feel good about it. This is a very popular place, so be sure to make reservations well in advance.

Tags: Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 3, 2017

We had a wonderful honeymoon dinner. Fresh ingredients prepared to a wonderful meal, a lovely waitress and great drinks! Definitely worth the money!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.