About Passionfish

701 Lighthouse Avenue
Pacific Grove, CA 93950
View Larger Map

Passionfish offers a unique California dining experience with serious food and wine in a fun and casual atmosphere. The ever-changing menu features the freshest, sustainable seafood, slow-cooked meats, organic greens and delectable desserts, all complemented by an award winning wine list priced nearly retail and well below what you've come to expect. Passionfish is owned and operated by Chef Ted Walter and his wife Cindy Walter. They are vocal advocates for sustainable seafood education and were the first officially certified 'Green' restaurant in Monterey County.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00PM - 9:00PM
Friday - Saturday: 5:00PM - 9:00PM

Cross Street:
Congress Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 655-3311

Website:
http://www.passionfish.net/

Executive Chef:
Ted Walter

Private Party Facilities:
Passionfish offers two rooms available for private dining. One room seats up to 30 persons and another up to 60 persons.

Private Party Contact:
Cindy Walter: 8316553311x

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Dungeness Crab Cake
Chocolate Truffle Torte With Passionfruit Syrup
Sturgeon
Halibut
Lemon Verbena Creme Brulee
Spoonable 12 Hour Lamb Breast
Wagyu Ultra Prime Beef
fried oysters
Spicey Seafood Stew
Breadpudding
Asparagus Fries
Straus Organic Mint And Espresso Mud Pie
Bread
Crabcake Over Sweet Slaw
Meyer Lemon Panna Cotta
Sea Scallops, Tomato Truffle Butter, Savory Rice Custard
Tilapia
Serol Sparkling Rose of Gamay
Sea Scallops With Tomato-Truffle Butter And Savory Rice Pudding
Dungeness Crab And Avocado Salad
Duck Confit
Tilapia W/ Thyme Mashed Potatoes, Edamame & Balsamic Butter Sauce
Rockfish
Lobster Tail
Albacore Tuna
Warm Brussell Sprouts
Striped Bass Crudo
Wild King Salmon
Catfish
Artic Char
Short Rib-Foie Gras Tortellini
Grenache Blend
Arctic Char
Fried Portobellos
Seared Sea Scallps
Fried Olives
Tea
French Red Wine
Warm Chocolate Torte
Dungeness Crab Salad
Churros
Monterey Bay Spot Prawns
Evodia Grenache
lemon panna cotta
Mint Mud Pie
Seared Sea Scallops
chinese broccoli
Baked Barramundi Fish
Dungeness Crab Salad With Avocado
Scallop With Truffle Tomato Sauce And Risotto
Catfish With Braised Vegetables, Pickled Celery Root And Smoked Potato
Crab and Avocado Salad
Spätzle With Braised Wagyu Beef
Smoked Salmon Ceviche Tostadas
Sablefish
Scallops
Oysters
French Onion Soup
Dessert
Mussels In Spicy Broth
Brussels Sprouts, Grapes, And Ham Salad
Prime Rib Eye Steak With Cabbage And Butternut Squash Bread Pudding
Steamed Mussels
Sea Scallops
Smoked Trout Ceviche
Oysters With Carrot And Ginger Granata
Ricotta Gnocchi With Brown Butter
Ratatouille Ravioli
Alaskan Haibut, Summer Vegetables, Spicy Orange Tamarind Vinaigrette
Lamb Breast
Bacon Fritters
Wagyu Brisket With Spritzel
Sturgeon With White Bean
Shaved Brussel sprout salad
Squid/Spicy Cilantro-Citrus Sauce/Mango
Crispy Tilapia
Buratta With Fried Squash Blossom
Smoked Trout
Seafood
Sweet Potato Fries w/ Aiolo Sauce
Spoonable 12 Hour Lamb Shank
Mint Espresso Mud Pie
Banana Walnut Bread Pudding W/Maple Nut Icecream & Spiced Caramel Sauce

Passionfish Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.1

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
California Central Coast
Notable Wine List
California Central Coast
Seafood
California Central Coast
11 More
Most Booked
California Central Coast
Best Overall
Monterey / Carmel
Best Food
Monterey / Carmel
Best Service
Monterey / Carmel
Best Value
Monterey / Carmel
Fit for Foodies
Monterey / Carmel
Neighborhood Gem
Monterey / Carmel
Notable Wine List
Monterey / Carmel
Special Occasion
Monterey / Carmel
Seafood
Monterey / Carmel
Most Booked
Monterey / Carmel
Best Restaurants in Pacific Grove ›

Fit for Foodies (228)
Special Occasion (191)
Notable Wine List (182)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (160)
Romantic (82)
Good for Groups (38)
Creative Cuisine (37)
Local Ingredients (37)
Good for a Date (33)
Healthy (26)
Hot Spot (25)
Good for Anniversaries (25)
Worth the Drive (25)
Organic (18)
Casual (15)
Seasonal (14)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Business Meals (13)
Authentic (13)
Modern Decor (13)
Great for Lunch (12)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Kid-friendly (10)
Outstanding Value (8)
Cozy (8)
Fun (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Comfort Food (3)
People Watching (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Great Beer (2)
Private Room (2)
Scenic View (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Family Style (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Spicy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2432 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Add us to the long list of people who lo ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined 4 days ago

Add us to the long list of people who love this place. It's a special seafood restaurant that if you get the chance don't hesitate to try Passionfish

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

They use sustainable sourced seafood and ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 5 days ago

They use sustainable sourced seafood and many local ingredients. The wine list is fantastic and varied with may wines from around the world. Most of their wines are quite affordable, you can get a good bottle of wine for $50 or less.

Tags: Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Organic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

My husband and I celebrated our first an ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined 5 days ago

My husband and I celebrated our first anniversary at Passionfish. They printed a specially anniversary message on our menus, brought us a free dessert and let us take home the empty wine bottle as a keepsake. I would highly recommend Passionfish to anyone!

Tags: Organic, Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Consistent farm to table fresh dishes an ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined 5 days ago

Consistent farm to table fresh dishes and excellent table service. Wine list is extensive and priced right!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had dined at Passion Fish a couple of ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined 6 days ago

I had dined at Passion Fish a couple of times before and was not overly excited about the food or the experience. This visit was outstanding and the food was enjoyable. I will be back.....

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

as always, we enjoyed our meal at Passio ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 6 days ago

as always, we enjoyed our meal at Passionfish (we've probably been 10 times over the years). Their scallops are my go-to--always a winner! Hubby had a delish duck... Desserts are fabulous. Would like to see more salads and veggie sides.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Wonderful fresh sustainable seafood and ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 22, 2016

Wonderful fresh sustainable seafood and fish. The salmon special with corn risotto was superb! The spicy seafood stew and salad were excllent starters. Our waiter was very knowledgeable and friendly. Definitely would go back when in the Monterey area.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The scallops were amazing! It would be a ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on September 22, 2016

The scallops were amazing! It would be amazing if they had a nicer building and location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Outstanding wine selection and an excell ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

Outstanding wine selection and an excellent (if a limited) list of entrees. Service was friendly without being "chummy". A delightful evening worth the seemingly heavy cost.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Perfect food and service. Order the Nanc ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

Perfect food and service. Order the Nancy's biscuits they are out of this world.The best fried oysters.All the food is excellent.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome meal, the service, ambiance and ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Awesome meal, the service, ambiance and food were incredible, we'll be going back soon

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

We always make sure to dine here wheneve ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

We always make sure to dine here whenever we are in the area. Food is always excellent, and atmosphere is nice. Very creative dishes - great flavors.

Tags: Organic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My fiancé and I took her parents there w ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

My fiancé and I took her parents there while we were down in Pacific Grove early for our wedding. My fiancé and I had been here before and loved it. We told my future in laws that the scallops were a must have dish. Don't let the 3 scallops fool you as they are exceptional and surprisingly filling. The biscuits were fantastic as well! We'll definitely be back over and over again

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Late-night Find, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great - server was very pleasan ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Food was great - server was very pleasant but got my order mixed up and the wrong thing was presented. I had to wait awhile for the new order to come and my husband was half way thru his dinner whentmine arrived. But we do enjoy Passionfish and will return.

Thank you,

Jill Roy

Tags: Organic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Very interesting preparations, especiall ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Very interesting preparations, especially fish and seafood. Outstanding wine list with minimal markup from retail. Comfortable atmosphere. Only "complaint" is I would like to see more selections on the menu as choices can be limited.

Tags: Modern Decor, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Exceptional for this area - hands down t ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Exceptional for this area - hands down the most creative , well prepared and most unique fare we have found consistently , each summer when we visit this Peninsula .

The service is always spot on , and the dishes are expertly prepared.

Would highly recommend !

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Waiter checked on us only once because h ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Waiter checked on us only once because he was busy catering to the couple that bought a bottle of wine and after dinner drink with their meals. Very disappointed in service and atmosphere. Meal was just okay.....

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

We have enjoyed the restaurant before wh ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

We have enjoyed the restaurant before when we celebrated a special family birthday. I very much enjoyed my dinner. My husband was less pleased . But we definitely would return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Fabulous quality inventive food. Don't s ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Fabulous quality inventive food. Don't skip the biscuits or dessert(lemon pan actors was phenomenal).

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Have been coming to passion fish for yea ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Have been coming to passion fish for years with friends and relatives,and it is always a winner.One of the first places that come to mind to dine out.Nice choices with different interesting food selections offered on the menu.Also a great wine list as affordable.So fortunate we have such a fine place to go for wining and dining, with a nice atmosphere ,and friendly servers....Well appreciated!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fun, People Watching, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great table, and our server was ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

We had a great table, and our server was Amanda. My friend had the trout ceviche tostadas, goat cheese salad, salmon entree, and truffle torte dessert. I had the scallop appetizer, Dungeness crab salad, scallops entree, and banana bread pudding dessert a la mode. Bravo! Yum!

Tags: Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our service was very good. The food left ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Our service was very good. The food left something to be desired. The tostada appetizer toppings were good, but the chip was thick and not the most delicious. The salads were what we enjoyed the most. We had lamb and scallops for entrees. The main food was good, but the sides that came with the meal did not complement the dish well. The sides with the lamb were too rich and the starch served with the scallops was a gooey polenta like creation that was overly salty. For dessert we had peach cobbler and the peaches did not taste fresh but canned. For the price of the food we felt the meal was not worth it and would not return to this restaurant.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

Expert server, biscuits like we've never ...

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Expert server, biscuits like we've never had anywhere (fantastic), a very tasty jicama-mint-cashew-red cabbage-grapefruit salad that I want to recreate at home, and a great cab from Clesi in Paso Robles.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time diners! Apps... Dinner... Des ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

First time diners! Apps... Dinner... Dessert.. Wait staff.. Amazing!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I enjoyed our dinner at Passionfish very ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

I enjoyed our dinner at Passionfish very much. The salad was fresh and the deep fried olives a tasty surprise. The Halibut was cooked to a perfect sear and the bed of vegetables fresh and crunchy. I topped off my meal with a peach cobbler special and coffee. What a gem. We will be back often whenever we are in town. The seating is narrow and you will be cozy - but the food!!!! Oh my goodness!!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Eat the biscuits! Our date night was pe ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Eat the biscuits! Our date night was perfect with fabulous food. Fresh, sustainable, impeccably prepared food... And the service was awesome.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wine list is good and priced very modera ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Wine list is good and priced very moderately- Food quality very good. Atmosphere exterior below avg but interior above avg

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

The appetizers were excellent--black bea ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

The appetizers were excellent--black bean and goat cheese croquettes and the scallop with artichoke risotto were excellent. Biscuits were a winner. My dates vegetable stew and salad were fresh, seasoned and delist. I had the grilled sturgeon with a cilantro (?) pesto on a bed of vegetables. Wine was fairly priced with a small but excellent selection. So full no room for dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved it. Top-notch seafood.

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Loved it. Top-notch seafood.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The special peach cobbler was to die for ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

The special peach cobbler was to die for!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

One of the best dinners I have ever had. ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

One of the best dinners I have ever had. The beet salad was terrific the scallops were the best I have ever had and the dessert was great. The service was outstanding and the wine selection and prices were amazing.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food. We will make this our ne ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Wonderful food. We will make this our new favorite

Tags: Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The appetizers were Excellent and we had ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

The appetizers were Excellent and we had high hope for our halibut that was good but a bit overlooked and not to the level of the 2 appetizers (crab cake and scallops)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Great food, wonderful wine, beautiful ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Great food, wonderful wine, beautiful atmosphere, and exceptional service. They have a salad with fried olives that is really unusual and tasty, in fact, I would order just a plate of those olives if I could. The slow cooked lamb breast was amazing - so tender that you could eat it with a spoon and cooked in a delicious, earthy broth. We also had two specials that should not be missed if you can find them on the menu - the buttery buttermilk biscuits and the peach cobbler.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a favorite when heading to the Ce ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Always a favorite when heading to the Central Coast. Excellent food, service, and very accommodating when a child was in our party this time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The best restaurant in Pacific Grove. An ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

The best restaurant in Pacific Grove. And the best seafood restaurant on the Monterey Penisula.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

An absolutely wonderful dinner in every ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

An absolutely wonderful dinner in every respect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is our favorite restaurant in Carme ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

This is our favorite restaurant in Carmel, every dish we've had were excellent with clean flavor, and fresh ingredients. The staff there from the hostess to the wait staff made us feel welcome and special on my birthday. We would come back there every time we visit!

Tags: Organic, Creative Cuisine, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing spicy seafood chowder and halibu ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Amazing spicy seafood chowder and halibut.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

WHENEVER IN PENINSULA AREA, ALWAYS HAVE ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

WHENEVER IN PENINSULA AREA, ALWAYS HAVE AT LEAST ONE IF NOT MORE, MEALS AT PASSIONFISH! IT HAS BEEN A FAVORITE FOR OVER 20 YEARS. LOVE THE STAFF, FOOD, WINE, CHEF!!!! WILL RETURN NEXT TIME IN MONTEREY.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Organic, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Modern Decor, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.