About Passionfish

701 Lighthouse Avenue
Pacific Grove, CA 93950
View Larger Map

Passionfish offers a unique California dining experience with serious food and wine in a fun and casual atmosphere. The ever-changing menu features the freshest, sustainable seafood, slow-cooked meats, organic greens and delectable desserts, all complemented by an award winning wine list priced nearly retail and well below what you've come to expect. Passionfish is owned and operated by Chef Ted Walter and his wife Cindy Walter. They are vocal advocates for sustainable seafood education and were the first officially certified 'Green' restaurant in Monterey County.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00PM - 9:00PM
Friday - Saturday: 5:00PM - 9:00PM

Cross Street:
Congress Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 655-3311

Website:
http://www.passionfish.net/

Executive Chef:
Ted Walter

Private Party Facilities:
Passionfish offers two rooms available for private dining. One room seats up to 30 persons and another up to 60 persons.

Private Party Contact:
Cindy Walter: 8316553311x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Beer, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Dungeness Crab Cake
Asparagus Fries
Straus Organic Mint And Espresso Mud Pie
Bread
Crabcake Over Sweet Slaw
Meyer Lemon Panna Cotta
Sea Scallops, Tomato Truffle Butter, Savory Rice Custard
Tilapia
Halibut
Spoonable 12 Hour Lamb Breast
Serol Sparkling Rose of Gamay
Sea Scallops With Tomato-Truffle Butter And Savory Rice Pudding
Tilapia W/ Thyme Mashed Potatoes, Edamame & Balsamic Butter Sauce
Chocolate Truffle Torte With Passionfruit Syrup
Dungeness Crab And Avocado Salad
Duck Confit
Striped Bass Crudo
Wild King Salmon
Rockfish
Lobster Tail
Albacore Tuna
Warm Brussell Sprouts
Lemon Verbena Creme Brulee
Spätzle With Braised Wagyu Beef
Catfish
Artic Char
Short Rib-Foie Gras Tortellini
Grenache Blend
Arctic Char
Fried Portobellos
Seared Sea Scallps
Tea
Fried Olives
Warm Chocolate Torte
French Red Wine
Dungeness Crab Salad
Evodia Grenache
Monterey Bay Spot Prawns
Churros
Mint Mud Pie
lemon panna cotta
Baked Barramundi Fish
Seared Sea Scallops
chinese broccoli
Dungeness Crab Salad With Avocado
Catfish With Braised Vegetables, Pickled Celery Root And Smoked Potato
Scallop With Truffle Tomato Sauce And Risotto
Crab and Avocado Salad
Smoked Salmon Ceviche Tostadas
French Onion Soup
Scallops
Sablefish
Oysters
Dessert
Mussels In Spicy Broth
Prime Rib Eye Steak With Cabbage And Butternut Squash Bread Pudding
Brussels Sprouts, Grapes, And Ham Salad
Steamed Mussels
Sea Scallops
Smoked Trout Ceviche
Oysters With Carrot And Ginger Granata
Ricotta Gnocchi With Brown Butter
Alaskan Haibut, Summer Vegetables, Spicy Orange Tamarind Vinaigrette
Ratatouille Ravioli
Lamb Breast
Wagyu Brisket With Spritzel
Bacon Fritters
Sturgeon With White Bean
Shaved Brussel sprout salad
Sturgeon
Crispy Tilapia
Squid/Spicy Cilantro-Citrus Sauce/Mango
Buratta With Fried Squash Blossom
Seafood
Smoked Trout
Sweet Potato Fries w/ Aiolo Sauce
Mint Espresso Mud Pie
Spoonable 12 Hour Lamb Shank
Banana Walnut Bread Pudding W/Maple Nut Icecream & Spiced Caramel Sauce

Passionfish Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.2

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
California Central Coast
Fit for Foodies
California Central Coast
Notable Wine List
California Central Coast
12 More
Seafood
California Central Coast
Most Booked
California Central Coast
Best Overall
Monterey / Carmel
Best Food
Monterey / Carmel
Best Service
Monterey / Carmel
Best Value
Monterey / Carmel
Fit for Foodies
Monterey / Carmel
Neighborhood Gem
Monterey / Carmel
Notable Wine List
Monterey / Carmel
Special Occasion
Monterey / Carmel
Seafood
Monterey / Carmel
Most Booked
Monterey / Carmel
Best Restaurants in Pacific Grove ›

fit for foodies (296)
special occasion (230)
notable wine list (213)
See All
neighborhood gem (196)
romantic (107)
good for groups (49)
hot spot (35)
great for lunch (11)
kid-friendly (9)
late-night find (7)
scenic view (5)
great for brunch (3)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2303 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We love Passionfish, the food they serve ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined 3 days ago

We love Passionfish, the food they serve is always amazing. This time we were seated and promptly followed by two tables of children on our left and right. Would have been nice if they were spread out a bit as I got a bit noisy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Food was excellent! Perfect temperature ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 3 days ago

Food was excellent! Perfect temperature for the sea food dishes, presentation, pairing. Also was pleasantly surprised to see sturgeon on the menu. Not too many restaurants do that probably due to the cost of the fish.

Service, on the other hand, was somewhat pretentious. We spent a day in Monterey and didn't change from the casual attire. It felt like the hostess & our server were judging us despite the fact that people around us were dressed in business casual with an emphasis on the casual. For that type of attitude and expectations from the customers, the restaurant could have put some table cloth, yet there were none.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2

every thing was great, a wonderful meal ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 3 days ago

every thing was great, a wonderful meal and wine list. the staff was efficient and attentive.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very disappointed after reading all of t ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 4 days ago

Very disappointed after reading all of the reviews. Thought the food was mediocre and nothing special. The sturgeon dish was smothered in pesto sauce to the point that I could not eat it. The scallop appetizer is more rice cake than scallop and way too heavy. All of the dishes seemed to be buried in sauce or too much activity. Wine by the glass list is limited to about 7 choices.....wont go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

The service was excellent and friendly, ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined 4 days ago

The service was excellent and friendly, but the cost for both drinks and entrees was really too high for the amount of food provided. Although the quality was fine. For three people we paid $133 plus tip, which was more than I expected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

This was a fabulous dining experience. ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 5 days ago

This was a fabulous dining experience. Wish I lived closer -- I would go there all the time.

Tags: neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love, love, love Passionfish. Don't mi ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 5 days ago

I love, love, love Passionfish. Don't miss the extraordinary wine list and the fresh fish selections. Fried olives are to die for!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

Have not been here for three years and w ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined 5 days ago

Have not been here for three years and we weren't impressed this time. They have lost some of their luster. Our waitress had no knowledge about the wine list and the food was just mediocre. The wine pricing is not as good as it was in the past.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Dinner was excellent and the service was ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 5 days ago

Dinner was excellent and the service was attentive but not obtrusive.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I had a pleasant experience. ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined 7 days ago

My wife and I had a pleasant experience. The staff were kind, welcoming and the food was delicious.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

We always enjoy this restaurant when we ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 7 days ago

We always enjoy this restaurant when we visit Pacific Grove. The food and service are excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had heard rave reviews for Passionfis ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

We had heard rave reviews for Passionfish, but it did not live up to the hype. I had the lamb which was decent. My wife had the salmon which was very bland. A patron at a neighboring table had the tuna and was also disappointed. The restaurant is decent, but the whole Monterey Bay area is full of much better choices, especially at this price range.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

We always look forward to having a spec ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

We always look forward to having a special meal at Passionfish when we visit this area. This last time we had fresh salmon, fried oysters with kimchi and delectable spoonable lamb-. Everything was delicious and recommended. Very nice atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I ordered the salmon. The server said it ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

I ordered the salmon. The server said it comes medium rare. I asked him to please have it cooked all the way through. He said like medium well? I said yes.

When the salmon arrived, it was under done. I discovered that when I cut into the thicker parts of the fish. I relished and devoured the delicious corn purée that the fish was set on, as well as the elegant and delicious little salad that graced the side of the platter. My partner ate most of the underdone fish. By the time we were done, only a small piece of the fish remained.

My partner told the server that the fish was under done, not as a complaint so much as information for the chef. The server, very nice and attentive man, came back with the check, and had removed the salmon.

So overall, I guess I give this restaurant a mixed review, weighted on the positive side. The food was not cooked to order, but the restaurant handled it in a classy way. The service was excellent, the food beautifully presented, the wine list extensive and interesting and the mud pie delicious. It was a little noisey, though.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

The three of us were returning patrons t ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

The three of us were returning patrons to Passion Fish as we had such a great experience the first time and the second time did not disappoint. The staff, food and service were all exceptional and I will definitely return as well as recommend this restaurant to family and friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to Passionfish a few times, ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

We have been to Passionfish a few times, it always our choice for something special- Chef Ted is so talented!

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding meal. Every dish was excelle ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Outstanding meal. Every dish was excellent. Service was uneven as our waitress seemed distracted, perhaps by some personal business.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

We have dined at Passionfish twice and h ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We have dined at Passionfish twice and have loved everything we've ordered. The wine list is amazing (as are the wine prices).

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The sturgeon was AMAZING! Service friend ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The sturgeon was AMAZING! Service friendly and prompt.Don't miss the seasonal peach cobbler. Yum!

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food was very good. Howeve the seare ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The food was very good. Howeve the seared tuna could have had less black pepper. The cod appetizer could eliminate the dark seaweed.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

WE have been going to Passionfish for a ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

WE have been going to Passionfish for a number of years - more than I can recall - and it remains one of my favorite stops in Pacific Grove. The food remains excellent, the decor possibly getting a bit tired - I don't think it has changed much over time, but the quality of the food remains a highlight of the experience followed by the knowledgeable and gracious servers. One of my go to restaurants when in the area.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Started with the trout tostaditas, nice ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Started with the trout tostaditas, nice spice to them. Then enjoyed the Rockfish entree for the main course. Fish was flavorful as well as the complimentary sides. Would recommend this place. 2nd time at this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

A extraordinarily quiet yet energetic se ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

A extraordinarily quiet yet energetic setting. The menu offered a varied range of unexpected options. Rock fish and halibut with unique side dishes most satisfying. Black bean appetizer as well. Wine list is extensive and waitress well-versed and able to recommend. So enjoyably quiet yet busy as we lingered into the evening. Recommended by top wine/spirit merchant in Mill Valley, CA as well as my physician who's been enjoying Passionfish for a very long time.

Noticed dress was casual to dress-casual.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent seafood from sustainable sourc ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Excellent seafood from sustainable sources. The rainbow trout and rockfish both were well prepared. Food, wine and beer are all reasonably priced.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We were on vacation and wanted to have o ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

We were on vacation and wanted to have one very special, memorable dinner. Passionfish was a very good choice for that. Fantastic food, excellent service, understated yet tasteful decor/ambience. Food portion was just right, thoughtfully prepared and beautifully presented. I took one star off in the "value" category, because dining here is a splurge. But was it worth it? For us, the answer is yes.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The place was AWESOME. Manuel our serve ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The place was AWESOME. Manuel our server did a great job informing us of the choices on the menu and the food was outstanding. Will definitely visit when we are in Pacific Grove again!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Request your table... seated at the one ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Request your table...

seated at the one table with a lovely view of the wait station even though other tables were open then was neglected throughout the evening

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Made reservation using Open Table. We n ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Made reservation using Open Table. We needed table for 6 and the management was very accommodating to our needs. Food and service was very good. However, I can't believe that bread was not included with dinner. Buttermilk biscuits were offered at an additional cost. Kind of cheap on their part. Good wine list but some varieties very expensive and not many "blends" from which to choose.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We had a great experience. Food was ter ...

vip
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We had a great experience. Food was terrific and the staff friendly and attentive. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Nice place, tables pretty close so not m ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Nice place, tables pretty close so not much privacy for conversations - a bit over priced especially on the ahi tuna dinner. Rock fish is excellent. Not very kid friendly.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Fabulous!! Sara our server was friendly ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Fabulous!! Sara our server was friendly, knowledgeable. Just great!

I had sturgeon my partner had lamb. Both were wonderful.

The only less than perfect thing, was that we missed having bread available.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Salmon special was "off the hook"...terr ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Salmon special was "off the hook"...terrific and the albacore tuna was excellent. Good job Passion Fish!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Sustainable fish- centric menu. Staff we ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Sustainable fish- centric menu. Staff were welcoming, friendly and attentive. Food with high quality ingredients well treated and presented. Half bottles of wine available. An informal, yet elegant vibe to the place.. Very enjoyable dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Always excellent. The spicy fish stew i ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Always excellent. The spicy fish stew is superb, and is one of the few dishes in the area that is actually spicy. Everything else was excellent. The service is always professional. It isn't cheap, but it is fairly priced and much more affordable than other restaurants of the same level in the area.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food at Passionfish is outstanding. ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

The food at Passionfish is outstanding. The Black Bean Fritters are a great starter. If you're planning to share know that a single order is 3 fritters. For the main course we had sea scallops and albacore tuna. Both were excellent and filling. The portions appear small, but you'll find they are more than enough and a great value for the money. They have an extensive wine list at a wide range of prices. The tables are pretty close together, so don't expect a private, romantic dinner. We dined on a Thursday night and the restaurant was full. Reservations are recommended, especially on a Friday or Saturday. Overall it lived up to its reputation and is a place where I will gladly dine again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

You think that some of the food combinat ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

You think that some of the food combinations cannot possibly taste good, but everything was so wonderfully prepared that it was an experience in delicious taste.

A great place to dine for any occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointed. The $34 Atlantic Salmon my ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Disappointed. The $34 Atlantic Salmon my wife ordered was pretty much tasteless, no flavor at all. My sturgeon was good, mostly due to the spicy sauce it came with. The salad was good as well. But after reading all the great reviews about this place and having had good salmon elsewhere, mostly at much lower prices, it's doubtful we'll return.

In addition, the seating is very tight, so forget private conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Great food. Local. Upscale dining.

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Great food. Local. Upscale dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

acknowledged immediately, we were seated ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

acknowledged immediately, we were seated right away; server was friendly and knowledgeable; we shared a greek salad (delicious) entrees were halibut and sturgeon, both were excellent; ordered a buttery chardonnay, server recommended Tessarosa, perfect! shared the bred pudding dessert(yummy) coffee was perfect.

A bit pricey, but would definitely return and highly recommend!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Have never had a bad meal, service or ex ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Have never had a bad meal, service or experience at Passionfish!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.