About Passionfish

701 Lighthouse Avenue
Pacific Grove, CA 93950
View Larger Map

Passionfish offers a unique California dining experience with serious food and wine in a fun and casual atmosphere. The ever-changing menu features the freshest, sustainable seafood, slow-cooked meats, organic greens and delectable desserts, all complemented by an award winning wine list priced nearly retail and well below what you've come to expect. Passionfish is owned and operated by Chef Ted Walter and his wife Cindy Walter. They are vocal advocates for sustainable seafood education and were the first officially certified 'Green' restaurant in Monterey County.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00PM - 9:00PM
Friday - Saturday: 5:00PM - 9:00PM

Cross Street:
Congress Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 655-3311

Website:
http://www.passionfish.net/

Executive Chef:
Ted Walter

Private Party Facilities:
Passionfish offers two rooms available for private dining. One room seats up to 30 persons and another up to 60 persons.

Private Party Contact:
Cindy Walter: 8316553311x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Beer, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Passionfish Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
California Central Coast
Notable Wine List
California Central Coast
Seafood
California Central Coast
10 More
Most Booked
California Central Coast
Best Overall
Monterey / Carmel
Best Food
Monterey / Carmel
Best Service
Monterey / Carmel
Best Value
Monterey / Carmel
Fit for Foodies
Monterey / Carmel
Neighborhood Gem
Monterey / Carmel
Notable Wine List
Monterey / Carmel
Seafood
Monterey / Carmel
Most Booked
Monterey / Carmel
Best Restaurants in Pacific Grove ›

fit for foodies (315)
notable wine list (243)
special occasion (230)
See All
neighborhood gem (195)
romantic (126)
good for groups (62)
hot spot (35)
great for lunch (14)
kid-friendly (9)
late-night find (5)
 (5)
scenic view (4)
great for brunch (3)
 (3)
 (2)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2193 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Always reliable

Dined 3 days ago

We eat at Passion Fish almost every time we are in the area. I've never been disappointed here. This time, we had a young Norwegian guest with us, and she told us she doesn't like fish (strange for a Norwegian). She ended up ordering two non-fish appetizers, both of which she loved. Because our portions were too large to finish, my husband and I put aside portions of our dishes for her to try, and she loved both of them , even though my husband had the scallops (she then admitted she'd never actually tasted them before). I had the 12 hour lamb tagine", which the three of us agreed was the very best dish of all. For dessert, we shared a lemon panna cotta, which was perfect. If you are looking for delicious food that's always great, just not stratospherically inventive, you'll find it at Passion Fish at a price that's quite reasonable for this mostly overpriced area. The service was efficient, friendly, and unpretentious. This is a great find.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

A good solid meal prepared with consider ...

Dined 3 days ago

A good solid meal prepared with considerable imagination. Trout was well-grilled and seasoned interestingly with basil, dessert well seasoned but not thoroughly enough baked. Overall, a nice night out and apparently popular among natives who were celebrating a patriarch's 94th birthday there.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A truly amazing seafood restaurant. The ...

Dined 5 days ago

A truly amazing seafood restaurant. The chef applies great skill to all of his dishes. Fresh and vibrant flavors. Eye-popping presentations. Sustainable catches, herbs grown on-site. Finally. a wine list that is amazing, and they mark wines up about 10%, instead of 100+% as they do at most restaurants! We drive 100 miles just to dine at Passion Fish!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Our server, Manuel was great. Very help ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

Our server, Manuel was great. Very helpful, friendly and just the right amount of attention to our table. Our meals were good (both dinners being fish) but I would have liked a few more choices from the fish meals that evening. Overall, a good dining experience and would recommend to others.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Outstanding Meal!!

Dined on May 22, 2016

The halibut is exceptional, second to none, also try the grilled asparagus salad. The meal was truly one of the best we've ever had. Two thumbs up!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service4

Food was artsy but not remarkable. Tuna ...

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

Food was artsy but not remarkable. Tuna was good but sides were not. Dessert bread pudding was good.

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The food was incredibly delicious. The ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

The food was incredibly delicious. The wine selection outstanding. Try it out you will wan to return!!

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Food, attentive staff and good sel ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Great Food, attentive staff and good selection. This is place to enjoy food and conversation.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I don't know why it has taken me so long ...

vip
Dined on May 19, 2016

I don't know why it has taken me so long to get here. The food was fabulous. The fish was fresh and the spices were intriguing and enhanced both fish and vegetable sides.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasions, neighbourhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic. The gnocchi with pollen were ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Fantastic. The gnocchi with pollen were out of this world. Will definitely be back.

food5
ambience3
service2
value5

Poor service

Dined on May 15, 2016

We were seated promptly. Wine was ordered promptly,,but it was probably 20-25 minutes before we were able to order food. Had to request help as we seemed to be forgotten. Once we ordered, it arrived promptly. Good food,,but the service was really poor. We just were forgotten and there was no apology when , eventually he arrived. Sad, as this is a great restaurant and very affordable.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

My second visit to Passionfish was even ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

My second visit to Passionfish was even better than my first. The menu is well conceived and the food well prepared and very fresh. Service is great without being obtrusive. Excellent wine list at reasonable prices. The best restaurant in the area by far!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Another great experience

Dined on May 15, 2016

This is the third or fourth time we have been to Passionfish and its always great. The food is delicious, the wine list is interesting, extensive and affordably priced and the service is friendly and professional. Though there are many good restaurants in the Pacific Grove and Monterey area this place remains my favorite.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, with some of the best fish around.

Dined on May 15, 2016

Passion fish is one of our favorite restaurants on the peninsular. The food is excellent, the fish perfectly prepared, and the wine list is both excellent and very reasonably priced. The place is light and airy, and the wait staff attentive and pleasant. Very highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We try to eat here every time we are in ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

We try to eat here every time we are in the area. I really appreciate the creative flavor forward food. Wines are reasonably priced. Server, as usual, did an excellent job and was very knowledgeable about that night's menu. My husband was especially pleased with the basil stuffed trout. We greatly enjoyed everything we ordered. I was less pleased with our table squeezed in a corner but then again I did make a last minute reservation.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best meals I've had in my lif ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

One of the best meals I've had in my life! Each plate was something very special. Wonderful flavors and presentation. The shrimp with pozole was spectacular and the bread pudding was amazing! Cannot wait to go back again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent!!

Dined on May 13, 2016

My wife and I celebrated our 15 year wedding anniversary at Passionfish last week. We walked in to find customized menu's printed wishing us a Happy 15 year anniversary across the top!:). The food, service, and ambiance were all top notch and we could not have been happier with our choice of venues for this special occasion! We will definitely be back on our next trip to Pacific Grove!

food4
ambience3
service4
value2

As usual, fish fresh and cooked perfectl ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

As usual, fish fresh and cooked perfectly. Carefully selected sides to enhance the experience. As usual, also, very pricey appetizers (we had to skip). Our salad was tasty, but the amount of baked gorgonzola on it was miniscule. The only notable annoyance was the absence of a good bread to enjoy with our wine. We had to buy biscuits (hard and dry), which were a poor substitute.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Don't get the duck

Dined on May 11, 2016

I ordered the Duck Confit and it was dry and not very good. I did not eat all of it because of this. Later that night and into the following morning I had a headache and a bit of nausea. Not certain that it was because of the duck, but that's the most likely since my wife ate something else and was fine. The service we received was good.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Passion fish has great food. Best of all ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Passion fish has great food. Best of all their Gluten Free menu contains many wonderful choices. The waitress was very attentive to our needs. Kudos!!! We will definitely be returning .

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great choice on the peninsula!

Dined on May 10, 2016

This was our second tripto Passionfish. It was excellent. The food is first rate. We shared the sea bass crude appetizer. Perfect sashimi of sea bass with pomegranate gratinee and seaweed. Our fish was excellent as well. And, the pricing on the wine is the most reasonable I have seen in any restaurant. We'll be back next time we visit

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

We had a lovely anniversay dinnerand can ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

We had a lovely anniversay dinnerand can't wait to visit again. The shrimp and lamb dishes were wonderful and we appreciate their wine list pricing.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing food and service!

Dined on May 9, 2016

Amazing food and service! Rock fish entree was delicious. Wine pairing suggestion was spot on. Dessert was delightfully unique - lemon creme brûlée. Yum!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food And wine

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

We go to passion fish every time we're in Pacific Grove and love it each visit

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Too much noise, good food

Dined on May 8, 2016

Good food, but they have a real issue with noise in the restaurant in particular the back rooms of the restaurant where sound reflects loudly within the rooms due to the hard walls and ceiling heights. I understand that they are working with acoustic tiles to try and improve. 2nd time at the restaurant and appreciate the food, but were overwhelmed by the noise so couldn't really enjoy the meal or talk to others at the table without using a loud voice. Hopefully this can be rectified as the food is very enjoyable and the restaurant is nice, as are the people.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I loved my Trout, but my husband hated h ...

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

I loved my Trout, but my husband hated his tuna. he wanted it cooked all the way through and they served it rare. He wouldn't let me say anything.

food5
ambience4
service4

Creative menu (gnocchi was wonderful), f ...

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

Creative menu (gnocchi was wonderful), fish is fresh and well presented, reasonably priced wine list.

food4
ambience5
service4

Creative dishes with clarity in texture ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Creative dishes with clarity in texture and flavor - wonderful. The spicy fish stew appetizer was outstanding.

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

95 Points

Dined on May 6, 2016

Great service in both friendliness and knowledge about the food and wine. Best wine list in the county. Duck Confit - incredible biscuits - a bottle of 2010 Cabernet I can not even pronounce lest remember and a mud pie for dessert

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Lovely, imaginative dinner

Dined on May 4, 2016

We had an excellent dinner here -- fresh and delightfully flavored food served beautifully. My date had a delicious curry-scented salad, I started with the beet salad which was yummy but a bit heavy and vinegary -- too much beet matter and not enough salad matter. We had the scallops that everyone recommended… indeed very good but there were only 3 scallops. We also had the fried oyster appetizer which came with a wonderful spicy kimchi-ish slaw. Our server recommended the perfect wine. I would definitely come back next time I'm in town -- everything on the menu looked great.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Our fourth time dining at Passionfish... ...

Dined on May 2, 2016

Our fourth time dining at Passionfish...the food and service are consistently first rate!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was wonderful.

Dined on May 2, 2016

We loved it so much, we cancelled all other reservations. This allowed two evening dinners at Passion fish.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Can't wait to dine here again!

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

We were visiting from out of town and so glad we found Passionfish for special birthday dinner. The food was amazing, great wine list, and love that everything is sustainably sourced, and that the wine list is priced at retail. The service was excellent as well. Can't wait to come back here the next time we are in town!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic choice in Pacific Grove....

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

Passionfish is one of the best in my recent experience... An exceptional kitchen and talented chef who makes magic with fresh creations that delight, bite after bite. The smoked trout tostaditas were full of flavour with just the right amount of spice, the spoonable lamb was luscious, the half bottle choices on the wine list made for a great split between a rich chardonnay and a great 2012 Gigondas... Will definitely be back for more!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Still great

Dined on May 1, 2016

We have been going to Passion Fish over the past 10 years . The food, service and wine is still exceptional and the price reasonable for the Peninsula. When friends visit the area I always recommend this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Their food was good not great. TOO expensive!

Dined on May 1, 2016

The service was great! Food was good but not quite as advertised for the price. It is still a great place to eat. Wine was good but only came in 1/2 bottles or full, pricey.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great but???

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

We have come here visiting from So Cal 2-3 times per year for the last 3 years. Always great, and neat to try new wines at good value, but...... Do they EVER change their menu other than specials. Almost monotonously good. Maybe not much of a complaint, but makes me think twice before booking there now.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

inventive fresh tasty and sustainable seafood

vip
Dined on April 27, 2016

inventive fresh tasty and sustainable seafood. Passionfish is well named - their passion for fish is obvious in every morsel. Last visit we had rockfish crudo, mussels, spicy stew and sturgeon. All were wonderful and the spicy stew was spectacular.

Tags: fit for foodies
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Just OK

Dined on April 27, 2016

Just OK, boring ambiance, plain menu. Everything from service to food was satisfactory but not impressive. Nothing went wrong, no plates sent back, just blah. I would recommend asking about everything if you have any sort of sensitivities or food allergies because they do use unique ingredients in their dishes. Would go back if someone really wanted to but wouldn't be my recommendation or first choice.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We really enjoyed our dinner at Passionf ...

Dined on April 27, 2016

We really enjoyed our dinner at Passionfish. The food was excellent. Every bite had a great combination of flavors and the meals were creative and delicious. It's also nice to know that the restaurant focuses on the sustainable - even the wine list noted which wines came from providers that focused on the sustainable.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.