Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi

About Passionfish

Passionfish offers a unique California dining experience with serious food and wine in a fun and casual atmosphere. The ever-changing menu features the freshest, sustainable seafood, slow-cooked meats, organic greens and delectable desserts, all complemented by an award winning wine list priced nearly retail and well below what you've come to expect. Passionfish is owned and operated by Chef Ted Walter and his wife Cindy Walter. They are vocal advocates for sustainable seafood education and were the first officially certified 'Green' restaurant in Monterey County.

701 Lighthouse Avenue
Pacific Grove, CA 93950
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00PM - 9:00PM
Friday - Saturday: 5:00PM - 9:00PM

Cross Street:
Congress Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 655-3311

Website:
http://www.passionfish.net/

Executive Chef:
Ted Walter

Private Party Facilities:
Passionfish offers two rooms available for private dining. One room seats up to 30 persons and another up to 60 persons.

Private Party Contact:
Cindy Walter: (831) 655-3311

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Passionfish Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.2

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (134)
Local Ingredients (118)
Notable Wine List (115)
See All
Creative Cuisine (112)
Special Occasion (107)
Good for a Date (104)
Neighborhood Gem (92)
Good for Anniversaries (87)
Healthy (76)
Worth the Drive (75)
Good for Birthdays (66)
Quiet Conversation (54)
Casual (53)
Authentic (47)
Romantic (45)
Seasonal (45)
Cozy (44)
Organic (43)
Business Meals (28)
Good Vegetarian Options (20)
Modern Decor (20)
Fun (19)
Hot Spot (14)
Gluten Free Options (12)
Outstanding Value (12)
Good for Groups (11)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Paleo Friendly (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
Spicy (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Molecular Gastronomy (6)
People Watching (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Tapas (4)
Scenic View (4)
Family Style (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Vegan (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Fireplace (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Historic (1)
Great Beer (1)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
S
2930 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

PassionFish is a lovely little restaurant with great food and really nice people.
And when I say really, I mean REAL people, because sometimes in America people sound OVERnice, but they just sound... in fact they don't care.
I had great time and great food!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients, Organic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

We had a great experience dining here for dinner. First we ordered a bottle of wine, and our server was very helpful by providing the tasting comments for a couple bottles we were considering. I should note that the wine list is immense! We ended up choosing a viognier and it was delicious.

We ordered the arctic char and two small plates - the goat cheese black bean fritters and the fried oysters - for our entrees. All were cooked perfectly and incredibly delicious. The pickled onions were a very nice touch with the arctic char, and I could have easily eaten five plates of the goat cheese black bean fritters!

Overall a very delicious meal and great service.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 5 days ago

I've dined at Passion Fish twice before and both times we great! This last time was not so great, unfortunately. The service was great, our waitress was amazing. The salads were good, the spicy soup was out of Thai world, the ceviche app was tasty, and the biscuits were good too. The main entrees however, left me and my party completely unsatisfied. We were very disappointed because we were looking forward to a great meal. We hope that our next trip to Passion Fish will be better.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

PassionFish lived up to the great reviews. Fish dishes we had were excellent and wine choice was superb. Service was outstanding and friendly.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 7 days ago

Living around the area, always pick Passionfish to enjoy great food ,and wine as to have a fun time.Will go there again and again.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 7 days ago

ambiance would be better if the tables were better spaced. Looks like you're trying to pack em in for more money. The albacore was good, the rockfish not so much. Red house across street had better food and not as pricey.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 15, 2017

This was the best tasting food: from the zesty salad to the delicately complex entrée and the wow desserts - I wanted to lick the plates! They even printed special menus with a birthday greeting for my husband.

Our server was attentive without being too much of a presence. Although every table was filled, we were able to hold a normal conversation, enjoying our company without having to shout over crowds.

The simple ambiance was highlighted with David Campbell's unique underwater photography exhibit.

Walking out into the charming streets of Pacific Grove, after such a satisfying experience, was the "icing on the cake."

We'll done- we'll be back!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Casual, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Scenic View, Romantic, Organic, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Absolutely fabulous... loved the service ... loved the food ... wine was wonderful ...
Made reservations for next month when we will return to the area...

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 15, 2017

It was easy to see why Passionfish has been voted best restaurant many times. The chef creates flavor combinations that are unexpected and delicious. Overall much better than other highly touted resturants in the area.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 13, 2017

We visited Passionfish a few days before and missed some specials so we returned to an earlier time. It was worth the return, we have always had great meals here and return whenever possible.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Seasonal, Authentic, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 12, 2017

It was our first time back in over 6 years and we were thrilled to see it was as amazing as ever. They have an allergen menu that has all the common allergens for each dish listed and any in parentheses are able to be removed from the dish. There wine list is amazing and they don't mark the prices up like most restaurants. To top it all off the food is phenomenal and the wait staff really knows there stuff.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Authentic, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 11, 2017

when visiting the central coast, always visit Passionfish, sometimes more than once! The specials sounded great but our reservation was later, so we missed out on some of the menu items. Always look forward to a great meal with great service.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Casual, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 11, 2017

This is our very favorite restaurant! We've been going there for years when we visit in Monterey and now that we live there, we enjoyed going just as much. The food is perfect the staff is unbelievably wonderful

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Fun, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Always great great food , that has a lot of obvious thought put
Into It's selection and preparation.
Only thing missing (like most restaurants in PG/carmel)is a little fresh air making it into the dining room.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 11, 2017

I had the sea scallops and they were fantastic. Yes i will return when im back in the area

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 10, 2017

I have been to this restaurant now five times, and everytime I get to the Carmel area, I want to eat at Passion Fish. Everything on the menu is unique and absolutely delicious. They must have an excellent chef. I had the crab and avocado salad, and it is not your mother's crab salad recipe. So creative and such wonderful flavors. What a joy. The restaurant is quite expensive but worth it for a special occasion. One starter for two, two crab salads and two main courses - no bread (which is extra), no desert and one $10.00 glass of wine for two and the total including tip was $150.00. The "by the glass" wine list is very limited. In order to get a glass of pino you need to get at least one-half bottle - which I saw prices like $55.00/half bottle. I'm glad I'm not a big drinker. I will eat here every time I am in that area because the food is so delicious I will remember the experience until I'm there again.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Really liked the food. A superior restaurant in the Monterey/Carmel/Pacific Grove area. Very well priced for the quality of the food. Highly recommended.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 9, 2017

After reading so many positive reviews, our expectations were realized on our first visit. While the decor isn't fancy and the food menu very limited (the wine menu is extensive), Passionfish delivers on its sustainable fish approach. The food is excellent. As long as you can find something to your liking, you will thoroughly enjoy the experience. My wife had a salad and an appetizer -- a scallop on a risotto cake that was one of the best bites we've ever had. I had duck confit, which was two crispy legs in a honey reduction with a child smoked potato cake and asparagus. We knew desserts were excellent, so we tried the mud pie. OMG. Two kinds of ice cream on a chocolate wafer, all covered in chocolate sauce. A great finish to an excellent meal. While their single glasses of wine are limited (usually just three for each varietal), the Domaine Eden chardonnay was perfect with our meal and fairly priced, as are all their wines. If you are anywhere near Pacific Grove, this is a must stop.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 7, 2017

We dine here whenever we are in town. It is always delicious and well served. The wine list, as well known, is a treat to peruse.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Passionfish continues to be creative, delicious and a wonderful place to have a delightful dinner.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 6, 2017

This is the 5th time I have eaten at Passion Fish. It is our go to place when we are in the area.

We have never had a bad meal and the service is always excellent. We especially appreciate the wine prices besides the excellent choices.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Spicy, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Took way too long in between salad and entrées; waiter tried to be helpful but knew nothing about wines

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Passionately delicious and beautifully plated. The wait servers were friendly, informed and genuinely interested in how we liked the dishes. Atmosphere was relaxed and calming.
Such a lovely restaurant. We will be back!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Healthy, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Excellent rockfish and trout entrees, with very fine vegetable sides. A wonderful hybrid Grenache wine (orange [!] in color and very tasty). The venison meatball starters were nicely spiced, although for a party of two four of them instead of three would have been welcome. Quiet but lively room done in tasteful modernist style. Pleasant staff and prompt service. Excellent value for the money.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Worth the Drive, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 3, 2017

When we ordered three glasses of the sparkling wine, Samantha could have suggested we order a bottle..
Years ago a signature item on the menu was sweet potato fries, disappointed they were no longer offered.
Are the servers trained and required to take tests as in years ago? We really appreciated the knowledge, training and professionalism we experienced on our last visit years ago.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Amazing gem in Pacific Grove. Fantastic value for money wines!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Passion Fish is a great restaurant. We had never been before, we were celebrating our 44th wedding anniversary. It all worked, great food, great wine list, great service, attractive environment, a little pricey. But a great dining experience.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Organic, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Rec from home. Fish done right. Simple menu mostly fish, don't get the fritters. Great service. Remainder of meal was a home run.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 2, 2017

I had a great table, and my server was Mimi. I enjoyed the Mohua Sauvignon Blanc and the Dungeness Crab Salad. Yum! Bravo! I always have a fabulous meal at Passionfish.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Healthy, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 31, 2017

Frisch und mit kochkunst zubereitet. Ausgezeichnet und erst noch moderat im preis.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Excellent food and service. Will return on this trip.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Absolutely Fantastic! Great food & wine! Terrific staff!!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Romantic, Fun, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 29, 2017

This is my second time as PassionFish & I could not be more excited about the experience.

Every time it is delicious food mixed with an assortment of different people dinning. The food is always on point with great flavor and presentation. I would always suggest going with the fish as its sustainable and fresh.

If you want to eat during a normal hour make sure to make a reservation or else you will be stuck waiting....but it is well worth it!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 28, 2017

We loved Passionfish! Our server gave great recommendations, especially with the wine. She recommended local wines that were not only great, but very reasonably priced. Would go back if in the area again!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 28, 2017

This restaurant never disappoints. We've been fortunate enough to have had the pleasure of dining here many times, and it's always an absolutely wonderful experience. Seafood is perfectly prepared, salads are flavorful and prepared according to which fruits/vegetables are in season, soups and desserts are flawless. Fabulous, well priced, wine list is the icing on the cake! Servers and waitstaff are well trained and seem to enjoy working at Passion Fish. Already planning our next visit!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Of all the restaurants on the Central Coast, I would say Passionfish is the best, most consistent seafood restaurant we know of. Second would be Galley in San Luis Obispo and Paso Terra in Paso Robles. You just cannot go wrong at Passionfish.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Paleo Friendly, Casual, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Amazing food and exceptional wine list. Also, if you have any allergies it was the most accommodation restaurant I have ever seen.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Excellent food in good portion sizes. Fresh, seasonal ingredients creatively used. Pleasen service that was appropriately attentive and not intrusive. The Deserts our party tried were unuformally delicious and a perfect way to close a meal.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Excellent seafood not too busy for a Friday evening

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Here for 50 Birthday for our son and daughter in law. Server was excellent personable attentive. They had even printed Happy Birthday 50 on our menus. A nice personal touch. Hubby and I had overcooked rockfish. Disappointing. The sauce under it was smooth and tasty. DIL loved her scallops. Loved. Birthday boy liked the dungeness crab salad. Huge red wine selection was surprising given all the fish on the menu. I liked the tea service of loose leaf teas I know it takes several pieces of equipment and they did it right. Probably won't return because of the overlooked rockfish even though we liked everything else

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.