About Passionfish

701 Lighthouse Avenue
Pacific Grove, CA 93950
View Larger Map

Passionfish offers a unique California dining experience with serious food and wine in a fun and casual atmosphere. The ever-changing menu features the freshest, sustainable seafood, slow-cooked meats, organic greens and delectable desserts, all complemented by an award winning wine list priced nearly retail and well below what you've come to expect. Passionfish is owned and operated by Chef Ted Walter and his wife Cindy Walter. They are vocal advocates for sustainable seafood education and were the first officially certified 'Green' restaurant in Monterey County.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00PM - 9:00PM
Friday - Saturday: 5:00PM - 9:00PM

Cross Street:
Congress Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 655-3311

Website:
http://www.passionfish.net/

Executive Chef:
Ted Walter

Private Party Facilities:
Passionfish offers two rooms available for private dining. One room seats up to 30 persons and another up to 60 persons.

Private Party Contact:
Cindy Walter: (831) 655-3311

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Chocolate Truffle Torte With Passionfruit Syrup - Passionfish, Pacific Grove, CA
Sturgeon - Passionfish, Pacific Grove, CA
Halibut - Passionfish, Pacific Grove, CA
Lemon Verbena Creme Brulee - Passionfish, Pacific Grove, CA
Spoonable 12 Hour Lamb Breast - Passionfish, Pacific Grove, CA
Dungeness Crab Cake - Passionfish, Pacific Grove, CA
Wagyu Ultra Prime Beef - Passionfish, Pacific Grove, CA
fried oysters - Passionfish, Pacific Grove, CA
Spicey Seafood Stew - Passionfish, Pacific Grove, CA
Breadpudding - Passionfish, Pacific Grove, CA
Asparagus Fries - Passionfish, Pacific Grove, CA
Straus Organic Mint And Espresso Mud Pie - Passionfish, Pacific Grove, CA
Bread - Passionfish, Pacific Grove, CA
Meyer Lemon Panna Cotta - Passionfish, Pacific Grove, CA
Sea Scallops, Tomato Truffle Butter, Savory Rice Custard - Passionfish, Pacific Grove, CA
Tilapia - Passionfish, Pacific Grove, CA
Serol Sparkling Rose of Gamay - Passionfish, Pacific Grove, CA
Crabcake Over Sweet Slaw - Passionfish, Pacific Grove, CA
Catfish - Passionfish, Pacific Grove, CA
Artic Char - Passionfish, Pacific Grove, CA
Short Rib-Foie Gras Tortellini - Passionfish, Pacific Grove, CA
Grenache Blend - Passionfish, Pacific Grove, CA
Arctic Char - Passionfish, Pacific Grove, CA
Fried Portobellos - Passionfish, Pacific Grove, CA
Seared Sea Scallps - Passionfish, Pacific Grove, CA
Fried Olives - Passionfish, Pacific Grove, CA
Tea - Passionfish, Pacific Grove, CA
French Red Wine - Passionfish, Pacific Grove, CA
Warm Chocolate Torte - Passionfish, Pacific Grove, CA
Striped Bass Crudo - Passionfish, Pacific Grove, CA
Dungeness Crab Salad - Passionfish, Pacific Grove, CA
Churros - Passionfish, Pacific Grove, CA
Monterey Bay Spot Prawns - Passionfish, Pacific Grove, CA
Evodia Grenache - Passionfish, Pacific Grove, CA
lemon panna cotta - Passionfish, Pacific Grove, CA
Mint Mud Pie - Passionfish, Pacific Grove, CA
Sea Scallops With Tomato-Truffle Butter And Savory Rice Pudding - Passionfish, Pacific Grove, CA
Seared Sea Scallops - Passionfish, Pacific Grove, CA
chinese broccoli - Passionfish, Pacific Grove, CA
Baked Barramundi Fish - Passionfish, Pacific Grove, CA
Dungeness Crab Salad With Avocado - Passionfish, Pacific Grove, CA
Dungeness Crab And Avocado Salad - Passionfish, Pacific Grove, CA
Scallop With Truffle Tomato Sauce And Risotto - Passionfish, Pacific Grove, CA
Catfish With Braised Vegetables, Pickled Celery Root And Smoked Potato - Passionfish, Pacific Grove, CA
Crab and Avocado Salad - Passionfish, Pacific Grove, CA
Wild King Salmon - Passionfish, Pacific Grove, CA
Spätzle With Braised Wagyu Beef - Passionfish, Pacific Grove, CA
Smoked Salmon Ceviche Tostadas - Passionfish, Pacific Grove, CA
Sablefish - Passionfish, Pacific Grove, CA
Scallops - Passionfish, Pacific Grove, CA
Oysters - Passionfish, Pacific Grove, CA
Tilapia W/ Thyme Mashed Potatoes, Edamame & Balsamic Butter Sauce - Passionfish, Pacific Grove, CA
French Onion Soup - Passionfish, Pacific Grove, CA
Dessert - Passionfish, Pacific Grove, CA
Duck Confit - Passionfish, Pacific Grove, CA
Rockfish - Passionfish, Pacific Grove, CA
Mussels In Spicy Broth - Passionfish, Pacific Grove, CA
Brussels Sprouts, Grapes, And Ham Salad - Passionfish, Pacific Grove, CA
Prime Rib Eye Steak With Cabbage And Butternut Squash Bread Pudding - Passionfish, Pacific Grove, CA
Steamed Mussels - Passionfish, Pacific Grove, CA
Sea Scallops - Passionfish, Pacific Grove, CA
Smoked Trout Ceviche - Passionfish, Pacific Grove, CA
Oysters With Carrot And Ginger Granata - Passionfish, Pacific Grove, CA
Ricotta Gnocchi With Brown Butter - Passionfish, Pacific Grove, CA
Ratatouille Ravioli - Passionfish, Pacific Grove, CA
Alaskan Haibut, Summer Vegetables, Spicy Orange Tamarind Vinaigrette - Passionfish, Pacific Grove, CA
Lamb Breast - Passionfish, Pacific Grove, CA
Lobster Tail - Passionfish, Pacific Grove, CA
Bacon Fritters - Passionfish, Pacific Grove, CA
Wagyu Brisket With Spritzel - Passionfish, Pacific Grove, CA
Sturgeon With White Bean - Passionfish, Pacific Grove, CA
Shaved Brussel sprout salad - Passionfish, Pacific Grove, CA
Squid/Spicy Cilantro-Citrus Sauce/Mango - Passionfish, Pacific Grove, CA
Crispy Tilapia - Passionfish, Pacific Grove, CA
Buratta With Fried Squash Blossom - Passionfish, Pacific Grove, CA
Smoked Trout - Passionfish, Pacific Grove, CA
Seafood - Passionfish, Pacific Grove, CA
Sweet Potato Fries w/ Aiolo Sauce - Passionfish, Pacific Grove, CA
Albacore Tuna - Passionfish, Pacific Grove, CA
Warm Brussell Sprouts - Passionfish, Pacific Grove, CA
Spoonable 12 Hour Lamb Shank - Passionfish, Pacific Grove, CA
Mint Espresso Mud Pie - Passionfish, Pacific Grove, CA
Banana Walnut Bread Pudding W/Maple Nut Icecream & Spiced Caramel Sauce - Passionfish, Pacific Grove, CA

Passionfish Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.2

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (105)
Fit for Foodies (97)
Notable Wine List (93)
See All
Local Ingredients (91)
Good for a Date (76)
Special Occasion (76)
Good for Anniversaries (65)
Neighborhood Gem (64)
Healthy (62)
Worth the Drive (56)
Romantic (54)
Quiet Conversation (45)
Authentic (40)
Cozy (38)
Organic (37)
Seasonal (35)
Good for Birthdays (32)
Casual (27)
Modern Decor (25)
Outstanding Value (21)
Good Vegetarian Options (14)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Good for Groups (10)
Business Meals (9)
Comfort Food (9)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Spicy (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Family Style (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Fun (4)
People Watching (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Vegan (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Fireplace (1)
Private Room (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great Beer (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
2659 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Well-prepared fish and delicious appetiz ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 2 days ago

Well-prepared fish and delicious appetizers. Thank you, Jeanette, for excellent service.

Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Our first visit to this restaurant. Wai ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined 2 days ago

Our first visit to this restaurant. Wait staff very good and made thoughtful recommendations. Menus choices are nice and provided opportunities not easily available at other restaurants nearby. Good wine list. Nice evening.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was amazing and service outstanding ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 5 days ago

Food was amazing and service outstanding!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Corkage fee too high ($25), price per sc ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Corkage fee too high ($25), price per scallop too high ($9), and the rockfish was dry and lukewarm. Desserts great, but would not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

Passionfish is our all time favorite res ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 6 days ago

Passionfish is our all time favorite restaurant on the Monterey Peninsula and time and again they never disappoint. Always surprising new additions to the menu seasonally like their hot brussel sprout mustard salad, standards like their Wagu beef, and always beautiful fish--delicate and refined and tasting like heaven!!! And even better...It's SUSTAINABLE!!! We love that they support Seafod Watch. The service is beyond reproach--very helpful and accommodating. The parking is on the street but usually fairly good. Incredible wine list, focusing on European whites. They have been a little light in the dessert department but this time we tried the mint mud pie and it was pretty good==rich and gooey!! Oh, and last but not least--try the fried olives--FAB appetizer!! Oh yeah, and the biscuits!! Oh yeah, and.......just everything!!!!!!!!!!!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Organic, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Good for a Date, Romantic, Authentic, Hot Spot, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We are foodies spoiled by many really ni ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

We are foodies spoiled by many really nice restaurants in CA and beyond. And having said that we are really enjoyed our dinner, complements to the chef! Great nicely balanced courses with tasteful presentation. Definitely a keeper!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Our first time here even though we are l ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 6 days ago

Our first time here even though we are longtime locals and have heard much praise. We made reservations the night before for 5:30 and dined with my 6mo old niece for my Birthday dinner. Kid friendly. Things start to get busy around 7PM. Everything we ordered was delicious and had a distinct flavor palate. Fresh, local, sustainable, well seasoned, well priced, and accommodating to vegetarians as well. Between 3 adults, we shared two of the appetizers (fritters & brussel sprouts), 2 biscuits, 2 entrees (spoonable lamb, rainbow trout) and a dessert (banana bread pudding). The portions were perfectly sized, and our server was happy to give us extra plates to eat family style, and we left feeling comfortably full. All of us were very impressed. My mother is a Carmel local, my sister from the NYC expensive and trendy cuisine scene, and I am a person who rarely dines out because I am usually disappointed when I go out because I often find I can make more tasty, healthy and affordable dishes at home. Nothing on the menu was bland or uninspired, and you know they are using locally and seasonally sourced quality ingredients. Definitely will return and recommend making reservations if you plan to go later than 6:30.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Paleo Friendly, Kid-friendly, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Spicy, Family Style, Organic, Seasonal, Authentic, Gluten Free Options, , Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Business Meals, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellently prepared and presented local ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined 7 days ago

Excellently prepared and presented local seafood with an outstanding wine selection at very reasonable prices.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding evening. I am not a fan of ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 7 days ago

Outstanding evening. I am not a fan of tables quite so close together- my only less than 5 star rating. However, despite the close tables, intimate conversation at my table was easy.

Tags: , Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I am very disappointed dining at Passion ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 7 days ago

I am very disappointed dining at Passionfish this time. Passionfish used to be the restaurant we go to every time we went Monterey. Compare to last year, the restaurant had became very noise. We felt that more seats were added in and too close together. The food was good but the dining ambiance was very poor. We felt very compressed and hard to relax to enjoy our meals. Real missed the old Passionfish that was very elegant and exclusive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

"Forget the Mains" Sorry to Pun on "Re ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 7 days ago

"Forget the Mains" Sorry to Pun on "Remember the Maine", but it seems applicable here. We totally enjoyed Passionfish last spring (2016) and found it to be one of the very best restaurants in the entire Monterey Bay area. This past week our experience wasn't so good. Maybe something has changed in the kitchen? In any event, we recommend that diners choose a great bottle from their sensational wine list, and also enjoy a splendid appetizer (which are as creative as they are delicious). Then go straight to dessert, which is also amazing. Forget the "mains" (entrees), as we both found our respective dishes to be nearly inedible.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Just very good and interesting food, don ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 7 days ago

Just very good and interesting food, done to perfection.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food and service at a reasonable p ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 7 days ago

Great food and service at a reasonable price since the wines are reasonably priced

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, , Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellently prepared fish sustainably so ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 7 days ago

Excellently prepared fish sustainably sourced. Very fine wine list and service.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food tantalizes your tongue from the ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The food tantalizes your tongue from the first to the last bite! Great ambience. We drove 11hours from Las Vegas, got turned around 50 miles away by a landslide and made to the restaurant minutes before it closed and the entire staff was wonderful about us taking our time to enjoy everything. Highly recommended!

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were very well treated for a birthday ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 10, 2017

We were very well treated for a birthday. Service was friendly and very competent. Impressive wine list, well priced. Our dinner was interesting and delicious. Focus on local and/or sustainable, especially the seafood. Would gladly go there often.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Passionfish remains a great restaurant f ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Passionfish remains a great restaurant for sea food. Combined with a very nice wine list and prices, good friendly service, and reasonable prices, this is truly an outstanding restaurant.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Casual, Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I had a great table, and my server was J ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 10, 2017

I had a great table, and my server was John. I enjoyed the Mohua Sauvignon Blanc, the scallop appetizer, the Dungeness Crab salad, the Mussels, the scallops entree, and for dessert, the banana bread pudding a la mode. Bravo!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful evening. Celebrating a 38th a ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Wonderful evening. Celebrating a 38th anniversary. Couldn't have been better. Great food, wonderful service, charming rainy evening in Pacific Grove. One of the most creative, innovative menus we have experienced in a long time. Strong sea food influence of course, but options for those inclined to other choices. Great wine selection. The epitome of the Monterey culinary experience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Healthy, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I thought the prices were reasonable con ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 7, 2017

I thought the prices were reasonable considering the caliber of the food, and the food was Amazing. Loved every dish we had. The Fried oysters with house made Kimchi were amazing. Our server was also very well versed with the wine list. We will be back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I enjoy high end dining and have eaten a ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 7, 2017

I enjoy high end dining and have eaten at Passionfish a few times now. It is located in the same town I live in and I like the lively, yet comfortable atmosphere. The service is always good and so is the lighting.

That said, the savory dishes consistently lack flavor. Just to be clear, I am not talking about salt and pepper. My last visit, I had the 12 hour lamb which was tender and mild but very plain. My friend had the chickpea stew. It was bland. He did not enjoy it but did not complain.

I am a fan of the desserts. The creme brulee and bread puddings are my favorites. I appreciate new dishes and twists on classics. The creme brulee dish I had recently was was updated and described as "deconstructed". This is misleading. There are three distinctly different dishes in place of the one and should instead be called a "sampler", or something of the like. I really like the passion fruit syrup with the panna cotta. So much flavor and complexity. Nice touch!

Tags: Organic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

A favorite we keep returning to, year af ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 7, 2017

A favorite we keep returning to, year after year. Sustainable seafood, creatively prepared, although the entree menu includes other options for meat-eaters . Dessert is not to be missed. Service is excellent, wine list is extensive. It's a must-visit in Pacific Grove.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My boyfriend and I had the most wonderfu ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 7, 2017

My boyfriend and I had the most wonderful time at this restaurant. The restaurant was beautifully decorated and had a great ambience. The staff were very friendly and provided excellent service.

We started off with Nancy's buttermilk biscuits and the spicy fish stew. The biscuits were served right out of the oven, warm and flakey. The stew was pretty spicy, but so good!

Before going to the restaurant, we read that a lot of people enjoyed the Dungeness crab salad, so we ordered it and it definitely lived up to the hype. The Albacore tuna was a seared tuna served with greens and a cauliflower puree. The tuna melted in your mouth and went well with the cauliflower puree.

For dessert we ordered the Maple-banana bread pudding with bourbon caramel sauce and vanilla ice cream. This was one of the best bread puddings I've ever had and paired perfectly with the suggested tangerine tea.

The next time we're in Monterey we'll be sure to come back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My overall rating 3.5 stars This was my ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 6, 2017

My overall rating 3.5 stars

This was my first visit to Passionfish in Pacific Grove, CA. Nice corner location, easy to find and parking was not an issue. I had a 7:00pm reservation on a Thursday night. Decor and seating were very comfortable. Wait staff well informed about menu and products, kept glasses full and very attentive. I liked the practice of providing sustainable foods from local vendors/purveyors.

I was disappointed in the dishes we ordered. We had two appetizers: the spicy fish stew was overly spiced with black pepper. The broth was one dimensional, peppery, without notes of chilis or herbs that would excite the palate. the fried oysters were outstanding. For entrees: My rockfish was fine, the fish cooked just right; My husband's seafood dish was lacking in complex flavor, the sauce was a mess of bland. Dessert: banana bread pudding was terrific!

Perhaps I expected too much from this restaurant which receives many great reviews. I think the food is of unexceptional quality but like the concept of serving sustainable fare.

For me, based on my overall experience, I would say Passionfish is a try-once restaurant. There are many more area restaurants serving better food with competitive pricing.

Try The Fish House in Monterey or Max's Grill in Pacific Grove.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Passion Fish as always delivered a great ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Passion Fish as always delivered a great - the warm Brussels sprout salad - Dungeness crab salad and spoonable lamb breast as always were absolutely delicious - my only wish would be they add some new items and maybe selectively alternate their menu by season.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dungeness Crab Salad was great Duck Conf ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Dungeness Crab Salad was great

Duck Confit perfect -had it twice in a row

biscuits great but they are very butter laden

Sea scallop perfectly prepared

Fish stew great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I hadn't been here for quite a while an ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 3, 2017

I hadn't been here for quite a while and now I wonder why I stayed away so long. The food is delicious and the attention to details and to sustainable fish sources are admirable. I won't wait so long to enjoy Passionfish again.

Tags: Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service usually very good on previous 10 ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Service usually very good on previous 10 plus visits; however, waited 45 minutes for main course and saw others who orderd after us receiving theirs. When course arrived asked for explanation and was hurriedly told "printer wasn't working." Had to ask what that meant and was told the cooks had not received the order. End of explanation. No apology forthcoming.

Disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

I love this restaurant. We come here ev ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 3, 2017

I love this restaurant. We come here every time we are in the Monterey area. The risotto cake under the sea scallop is incredible and the sea scallop is perfect, the duck is perfect. The banana bread pudding was great. The biscuits are to die for--and likely are filled with butter.

I've enjoyed everything I've had there every time I've been there. I wish they had a few more wines by the glass. That's my only negative.

Tags: Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic fresh seafood, amazingly exten ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Fantastic fresh seafood, amazingly extensive and well-curated wine list (with refreshingly modest pricing), and a nice ambiance with fairly attentive service. Hard to go wrong at Passion Fish - an upscale dining experience for Bay Area mid-level prices

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

My wife and I have eaten at this restaur ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 2, 2017

My wife and I have eaten at this restaurant several times, and this last time to celebrate our 20th anniversary we essentially drove for 1 1/2 hours to get there. Every dish we've ever had has been outstanding. Try the warm Brussels sprouts salad.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Service was excellent. We had an expire ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Service was excellent. We had an expired gift certificate from a non-profit auction, which they honored. Food was exceptional, creative and delicious, and full of vegetables, which we appreciated. The fish was perfectly cooked. This is a solid A restaurant, not cheap, but a great place for an anniversary, visitors from out of town, or any special celebration. Delicious and friendly.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and service. Excellent wine ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great food and service. Excellent wine list with great prices. The albacore was wonderfully prepared. I would return for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This place is always excellent. The food ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 1, 2017

This place is always excellent. The food is great, wine is reasonable and the service is the best

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

We ate at Passionfish based on a recomme ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We ate at Passionfish based on a recommendation from a friend who is a local and we were not disappointed. Our food was incredible, so much so, we went again the next evening. The seating is a little tight and both nights we were seated next to loud groups of 4 but I can't blame the restaurant for that. The food was wonderful and I will definitely go again when back in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The best butter milk biscuits in the wor ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The best butter milk biscuits in the world. One of my favorite places to eat seafood. Everyone who works there is so nice.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A long-time favorite when visiting the M ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 29, 2016

A long-time favorite when visiting the Monterey/Carmel/Pacific Grove region, Passionfish continues to excel in the variety and quality of the food, exceptional wine selections, especially in half-bottles, and service that is most professional yet, friendly. Listening to our waiter describe the dishes, it felt like dining with a host who is a close friend, informative and conversational.

Tags: Seasonal, Romantic, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always exceeds my expectations!

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Always exceeds my expectations!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have been to 'Passionfish' many times ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 28, 2016

We have been to 'Passionfish' many times throughout the past several years..We are never disappointed and look forward to our next visit!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have read about Passionfish for years ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We have read about Passionfish for years. I believe Michael Bauer of the San Francisco Chronical has written about it several times. I want you to know our Christmas Eve dinner experience was totally delightful! The ambience, food, wine and service were excellent. If I could request anything, it would be for the brussels sprouts salad recipe! We are looking forward to our next visit to Passionfish when in your area again. Thank you very much for a great holiday getaway!

Doug Lorimer, Sonora, Ca

Tags: Healthy, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.