About Passionfish

701 Lighthouse Avenue
Pacific Grove, CA 93950
View Larger Map

Passionfish offers a unique California dining experience with serious food and wine in a fun and casual atmosphere. The ever-changing menu features the freshest, sustainable seafood, slow-cooked meats, organic greens and delectable desserts, all complemented by an award winning wine list priced nearly retail and well below what you've come to expect. Passionfish is owned and operated by Chef Ted Walter and his wife Cindy Walter. They are vocal advocates for sustainable seafood education and were the first officially certified 'Green' restaurant in Monterey County.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00PM - 9:00PM
Friday - Saturday: 5:00PM - 9:00PM

Cross Street:
Congress Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 655-3311

Website:
http://www.passionfish.net/

Executive Chef:
Ted Walter

Private Party Facilities:
Passionfish offers two rooms available for private dining. One room seats up to 30 persons and another up to 60 persons.

Private Party Contact:
Cindy Walter: 8316553311x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Beer, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Dungeness Crab Cake
Asparagus Fries
Straus Organic Mint And Espresso Mud Pie
Bread
Crabcake Over Sweet Slaw
Meyer Lemon Panna Cotta
Sea Scallops, Tomato Truffle Butter, Savory Rice Custard
Tilapia
Halibut
Spoonable 12 Hour Lamb Breast
Serol Sparkling Rose of Gamay
Sea Scallops With Tomato-Truffle Butter And Savory Rice Pudding
Tilapia W/ Thyme Mashed Potatoes, Edamame & Balsamic Butter Sauce
Chocolate Truffle Torte With Passionfruit Syrup
Dungeness Crab And Avocado Salad
Striped Bass Crudo
Wild King Salmon
Duck Confit
Rockfish
Lobster Tail
Albacore Tuna
Warm Brussell Sprouts
Lemon Verbena Creme Brulee
Spätzle With Braised Wagyu Beef
Catfish
Artic Char
Short Rib-Foie Gras Tortellini
Grenache Blend
Arctic Char
Fried Portobellos
Seared Sea Scallps
Tea
Fried Olives
Warm Chocolate Torte
French Red Wine
Dungeness Crab Salad
Evodia Grenache
Monterey Bay Spot Prawns
Churros
Mint Mud Pie
lemon panna cotta
Baked Barramundi Fish
Seared Sea Scallops
chinese broccoli
Dungeness Crab Salad With Avocado
Catfish With Braised Vegetables, Pickled Celery Root And Smoked Potato
Scallop With Truffle Tomato Sauce And Risotto
Crab and Avocado Salad
Smoked Salmon Ceviche Tostadas
French Onion Soup
Scallops
Sablefish
Oysters
Dessert
Mussels In Spicy Broth
Prime Rib Eye Steak With Cabbage And Butternut Squash Bread Pudding
Brussels Sprouts, Grapes, And Ham Salad
Steamed Mussels
Sea Scallops
Smoked Trout Ceviche
Oysters With Carrot And Ginger Granata
Ricotta Gnocchi With Brown Butter
Alaskan Haibut, Summer Vegetables, Spicy Orange Tamarind Vinaigrette
Ratatouille Ravioli
Lamb Breast
Wagyu Brisket With Spritzel
Bacon Fritters
Sturgeon With White Bean
Shaved Brussel sprout salad
Sturgeon
Crispy Tilapia
Squid/Spicy Cilantro-Citrus Sauce/Mango
Buratta With Fried Squash Blossom
Seafood
Smoked Trout
Sweet Potato Fries w/ Aiolo Sauce
Mint Espresso Mud Pie
Spoonable 12 Hour Lamb Shank
Banana Walnut Bread Pudding W/Maple Nut Icecream & Spiced Caramel Sauce

Passionfish Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
California Central Coast
Fit for Foodies
California Central Coast
Notable Wine List
California Central Coast
12 More
Seafood
California Central Coast
Most Booked
California Central Coast
Best Overall
Monterey / Carmel
Best Food
Monterey / Carmel
Best Service
Monterey / Carmel
Best Value
Monterey / Carmel
Fit for Foodies
Monterey / Carmel
Neighborhood Gem
Monterey / Carmel
Notable Wine List
Monterey / Carmel
Special Occasion
Monterey / Carmel
Seafood
Monterey / Carmel
Most Booked
Monterey / Carmel
Best Restaurants in Pacific Grove ›

fit for foodies (300)
notable wine list (225)
special occasion (225)
See All
neighborhood gem (186)
romantic (112)
good for groups (57)
hot spot (33)
kid-friendly (9)
great for lunch (9)
late-night find (8)
scenic view (5)
great for brunch (2)
Sort By:
Newest
2236 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was delicious. The scallops we ...

vip
Dined 3 days ago

The food was delicious. The scallops were perfect!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious, the service was ...

Dined 3 days ago

The food was delicious, the service was great. Our one complaint is that they no longer serve their home made bread.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great service and excellent food! We cam ...

Dined 3 days ago

Great service and excellent food! We came to Passionfish to celebrate my Dad's birthday. My Dad wanted a special cake so I brought one in that I made and they had no problem with that ($2.00/person cake cutting fee but that is standard). We also brought in some of our own wine since we had a $85 bottle we wanted to crack open for this special occasion (corkage $25). A lot of places would have turned their nose up at us for 'bringing our own' but they didn't. My husband and I like to try different things so we always split 3 or 4 dishes. For dinner, we started with the mussels and they were very good. My husband and I had the crab and avocado salad and the scallops. The vinaigrette mixed with the crab and avocado was delicious and perfect for us to share. The scallops were cooked to perfection and served with tomato truffle butter. Although the three scallops were a very big size, they were not enough to share so I would recommend a different dish if you are thinking about sharing. My mother ordered the Albacore tuna and my Dad ordered the Halibut and they were equally as delicious. The restaurant was very busy on the Saturday night that we were there - every table was full. However, even though we were in the midst of it and fairly close to our neighbor, it still felt private. I would definitely recommend this restaurant to a friend.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful meal - Passionfish did not dis ...

Dined 4 days ago

Wonderful meal - Passionfish did not disappoint! We were celebrating my husband's birthday, and at first were seated in a back room with a large party that was quite noisy. We requested to be moved, and the hostess graciously accommodated us, without fuss. The food here features sustainable seafood, and is prepared in a creative fashion. I had the Dungeness Crab and Avocado salad, one of my favorites and a generous portion, and a scallop appetizer for a main meal - so as to save room for a delicious dessert. The service was friendly, very knowledgeable, and prompt without being intrusive. We've eaten as Passionfish several times, and will continue to return!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Expertly Prepared Fish!!. The sauces wer ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

Expertly Prepared Fish!!. The sauces were fresh, devoid of fat and butter, vibrant with fresh herbs, stock and vegetable flavors. The fish dishes here are just wonderful. An explosion of well balanced flavors in every bite. Few do it better at any price.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Must try place for foodies. Food was ...

Dined 4 days ago

Must try place for foodies. Food was very special. Not to my taste.

Tags: fit for foodies
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Spectacular dinner. Two appetizers: crab ...

Dined 6 days ago

Spectacular dinner. Two appetizers: crab and avocado salad and fried oysters...both amazing. Biscuits to die for. Halibut for main course was huge portion to share. Service just outstanding. Ask for table in the corner as restaurant is noisy...we were happy when especially loud neighbors left. Special place.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Passionfish is a foodie's delight. We we ...

Dined 7 days ago

Passionfish is a foodie's delight. We went twice during vacation. (reservations each time) Different server and entree each visit and all was fantastic. Even our conversation with the sommelier, driven by a question on whether or not our champagne was good, was handled very well and a positive part of our evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was awesome! Our server Candace was ...

Dined 7 days ago

Food was awesome! Our server Candace was amazing!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Passion Fish provides an outstanding din ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

Passion Fish provides an outstanding dining experience. The chef is an artist who combines unique flavors and textures to create edible culinary masterpieces!!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely phenomenal. Such professional ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

Absolutely phenomenal. Such professional, no-frills service. That's so rare. And food and wine are incredible.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is our second visit. Although we d ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

This is our second visit. Although we don't live nearby we enjoyed the food on our first visit so much that we had to return to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Passion Fish delivered yet another great meal. They cook their fish well and the flavors were excellent. The bread pudding is a must to cap off the meal. We will be back! I hear that their duck confit is very good so I might try that next time if it's still on the menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Every dish was unique and a revelation. ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Every dish was unique and a revelation. Guilt free seafood prepared to perfection.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrated our 28th wedding anniversa ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

We celebrated our 28th wedding anniversary by dining at Passionfish on June 17th. To be succinct, we will not be waiting that long to return for our second dinner here. Our server, Sara, explained the restaurant's policy regarding sustainability and gratuity as well as its extensive wine list. She indicated that there would be some spice in the smoked trout tostaditos appetizer, which there was. Regardless, both the smoked trout and the fried oysters with its own kimchi (with ham...don't think about the ham, just enjoy it) were wonderful. Our entrees, scallops and ahi tuna were just as delicious. A splendid meal in a nice restaurant with a great staff, especially Sara. Thanks for the experience!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Passionfish has tremendously well execut ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Passionfish has tremendously well executed dishes. Our main dishes of Arctic char and sturgeon were superb. The wine list is one of the best I have seen in years with varietals often overlooked on most menus. Service was spot on with highly knowledgeable staff. A restaurant that would be a great addition to any locale. Lucky Pacific Grove.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

Outstanding!!!! Remarkable experience!

Dined on June 17, 2016

Outstanding!!!! Remarkable experience!

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Best sea food I've ever had and I love t ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Best sea food I've ever had and I love that it takes sustainability so serious.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience2
service2

Strange service ordered and 4 minutes la ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Strange service ordered and 4 minutes later food arrived. Female wait person when taking order seemed as though she didn't really want to answer our questions about how scallops were prepared or whether or not the tuna could be prepared slightly more done than the rare presentation the chef wished since she was not helpful we chose another option. Portions are very small but tasty. Only other strange service was dessert we ordered coffee and a chocolate dessert again our coffee was served immediately but after 10 minutes we had to ask where was dessert? Passion fish over all was good but strange service

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We had a wonderful assortment of seafood ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

We had a wonderful assortment of seafood items. The rockfish was excellent and we split the dish. Had some good Sicilian wine with the meal and enjoyed all of our Anniversary celebration with anther couple. It was a special treat for us!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've dined at PassionFish quite a few t ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

We've dined at PassionFish quite a few times over the past several years and have always been pleased with the creative, fresh preparations. Small but varied menu never disappoints. This time we split a seafood stew, then went for the halibut in mango coulis and ahi tuna crusted with panko and sesame. So delicious!

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Top notch food and service with simple, ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Top notch food and service with simple, elegant decor in DT Pacific Grove. Our competent & friendly waitress, Carmen, said she was an employee there for 10 years which speaks volumes.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

We had wine, blackbean & goatcheese frit ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

We had wine, blackbean & goatcheese fritter and striped sea bass starters; Rockfish and Duck confit entrees; bread pudding with Meyer lemon panna cotta. OMG - heaven on earth. Yes, everything!

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Our reservation was not on their book... ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Our reservation was not on their book...but they did accommodate us. They did not ask if we were celebrating a special occasion. But dinner was pleasant.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The consistency of the food and the insp ...

vip
Dined on June 14, 2016

The consistency of the food and the inspired menu along with the accommodating wait staff, and the pleasure of dining in an unpretentious environment keeps us returning to this restaurant whenever we are in the area.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I found Passion Fish rated h ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

My wife and I found Passion Fish rated highly on Open Table, which service we've used in the past and haven't been disappointed with. We reviewed Passion Fish's web site and were impressed with their video that explained the efforts and love the ownership puts forth in preparing their daily menu. We took a chance and were pleasantly pleased with our experience. The service was wonderful and the food was amazing. The outcome was exactly what their web site video represented. Thank you Passion Fish for a wonderful meal and evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My fiance and I went to Passionfish for ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

My fiance and I went to Passionfish for our anniversary, and boy did they not disappoint! We had great interactions with the friendly staff and owner (who receives you at the front desk). Even all of the patrons waiting to be seated were friendly and talkative - the environment is warm, inviting and vibrant. Tables settings are relaxed and close - but you're never too close to the next table. Casual, but not too casual. The food...THE FOOD. Everything that we tried was amazing. We especially liked the Dungeness crab salad with avocado/spicy ginger vinaigrette - THE best crab salad, ever. At the end of our meal, they gave us a special anniversary menu (that we ordered from all night), which was a very sweet and thoughtful touch. Thank you Passionfish! We WILL be back

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was delicious, the wine spot on ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

The food was delicious, the wine spot on, and our server was amazing. The entire table cleaned our plates and we had 3 desserts between the 4 of us. Our server was patient and very helpful when it came time for the wine selection (an incredible wine list) and her suggestion was perfect and not pricey. Everyone at the table enjoyed the evening and we all were still talking about the wonderful experience on our trip back home the next day, Thanks Passionfish for giving us such a memorable evening!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

good food and value. Atmosphere a littl ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

good food and value. Atmosphere a little hectic. They must overbook on weekends because there is always a half hour wait w/reservation. After dining there 3 times we plan to look around in PG for alternatives, fish centric.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

This restaurant is very popular with the ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

This restaurant is very popular with the locals, as well as with tourists (as we were). They take the notion of sustainability very seriously. The ingredients are fresh, the preparation is excellent, and so is the presentation. You will need a reservation most nights. Prices are in the moderate range and quite reasonable for the quality.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Terrific food, imaginative preparation, ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Terrific food, imaginative preparation, beautiful presentation. Not to be missed if you get the chance to visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

the staff were welcoming and lovely. the ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

the staff were welcoming and lovely. the rockfish I would have like more seasoning, otherwise everything was great

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

I wanted to eat the whole menu.

Dined on June 11, 2016

I wanted to eat the whole menu.

food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Excellent food

Dined on June 5, 2016

My husband and I dined at Passionfish in celebration of his birthday. We had an excellent time tasting the delicious food(the scallops are to die for), but the only complaint I have is how close the tables are to each other. We were expecting a romantic date night to enjoy each others company, but there was a table directly next to us who was very loud and irritating. We couldn't even focus on our conversation! We would love to come to Passionfish again someday-we'll just make sure we request to sit in an area that is a bit quieter.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Disappointed.

Dined on June 5, 2016

I ordered 3 starters for my main dinner, and my husband had one main course. The waitress knew that, but after 2 of my starters were served, she stopped by the table and said that she'd start my husbands dinner. Thus, he had to wait an extra long time for his meal. The folks who sat next to us, after we arrived, were finished with their dinner by that time. The food tasted very good, but the service was very disappointing. We ordered the biscuits along with the meal, but they were completely forgotten until we asked another server for them, and this was after I'd consumed my 2 starters. The person serving water never came by and checked to see how we were doing with that, and we needed refills. So, this restaurant is great for many people, but we won't be going back.

food3
ambience2
service3
value1

Small portions

Dined on June 4, 2016

The food was tasty and the atmosphere is decent but the portions are pretty small. I ordered the scallops. The plate arrived with three small to medium size scallops and a dollop of rice for about $30. I order scallops often at restaurants and this was by far the smallest portion I have ever received. Disappointing. $150 for the two of us and walked out hungry. Not worth it.

food5
ambience5
service5

Delightful. Food and service wonderful.

vip
Dined on June 2, 2016

Delightful. Food and service wonderful.

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Exceptional!

Dined on June 1, 2016

Our waitress was extremely helpful and help make our experience memorable. Food was over the top! We had the Tuna Tartar, Asparagus Salad and Lamb Breast and would not change a thing. Enjoyed a half bottle of Pinot Noir followed by a half bottle of Cabernet. Thank you for a wonderful night!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Excellent food

Dined on May 30, 2016

We had a terrific meal. The menu was inventive, and included some less-frequently seen options (e.g., sturgeon), but didn't privilege novelty over taste. Crab and avocado salad had a really nice ponzu-based sauce that neatly balanced the richness of the salad. Fried oysters were a little bland on slaw that was a bit spicier than expected, though easy (it too had an Asian dressing--really nice.) Superb pepper-and-sesame crusted seared albacore with mashed potato and parsnips and greens with bacon (great combo of flavors!) and sturgeon on a bed of white beans and root veggies. We couldn't fit in dessert, but neighboring tables told us the peach cobbler was excellent. Only sustainable seafood was served. Service was excellent, too. The room is fine, if less elegant than the food. We'll go there again!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Enjoyable dinner

Dined on May 29, 2016

Four of us were in Pacific Grove for the weekend and dined here on a Saturday night. Our server was very good, scallops were excellent, but the breast of lamb was fatty and disappointing. Also nice to have a great dining experience without having to drive far.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Fantastic, perhaps BEST place in Pacific Grove

Dined on May 29, 2016

First, I should say I've been in the industry for over 20 years now. Mostly in fine-dining and wine sales. I am a very conservative reviewer.......I've eaten at PassionFish a few times now. This place is absolutely fantastic. The ambiance is nice but really laid back. It has a clean, modern feel to it. The staff here really shines. I've worked as a sommelier and I can attest to the difficulty every restaurant has of fielding a consistently friendly and knowledgable staff. A+ on those efforts here. PassionFish is unfortunately in the minority of restaurants that are doing their wine list CORRECTLY. Specifically, their pricing is exceedingly fair within the context of what so many others are doing. The longstanding practice of charging three times retail, should've been abandoned by the restaurant industry years ago. PassionFish is doing their part to see that practice end. I don't think I saw a single bottle more than 150-160% of retail. (Except maybe on the really low end.) Great food should be accompanied by great wine. We shouldn't be gouged for it. A+ on those efforts too. The wine selection is also very good. They have some of the very best unheralded wines in the country. Sandhi, would be one example. I selfishly don't want anyone to catch on to those wines, but the fact that they made room on their list for this winery tells you something about their wine buyer: He/She really knows wine. The food here is great. I came here with family this time and we had three different menu items. All of them excellent. I think the duck-confit is one of their rock stars. I gave the food 4 stars this time because both the duck and the short-ribs were just a little dry. Still highly enjoyable, and on previous occasions, just right. I am merely being critical here. Save room for dessert. WOW. Close your eyes and just pick one. Again, WOW...... Overall this place might just be my favorite place on the peninsula. Completely unpretentious. Excellent on all fronts.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.