Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi

About Passionfish

Passionfish offers a unique California dining experience with serious food and wine in a fun and casual atmosphere. The ever-changing menu features the freshest, sustainable seafood, slow-cooked meats, organic greens and delectable desserts, all complemented by an award winning wine list priced nearly retail and well below what you've come to expect. Passionfish is owned and operated by Chef Ted Walter and his wife Cindy Walter. They are vocal advocates for sustainable seafood education and were the first officially certified 'Green' restaurant in Monterey County.

701 Lighthouse Avenue
Pacific Grove, CA 93950
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00PM - 9:00PM
Friday - Saturday: 5:00PM - 9:00PM

Cross Street:
Congress Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 655-3311

Website:
http://www.passionfish.net/

Executive Chef:
Ted Walter

Private Party Facilities:
Passionfish offers two rooms available for private dining. One room seats up to 30 persons and another up to 60 persons.

Private Party Contact:
Cindy Walter: (831) 655-3311

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Passionfish Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.2

value

4.3

Noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (146)
Local Ingredients (139)
Fit for Foodies (137)
See All
Notable Wine List (123)
Special Occasion (117)
Good for a Date (110)
Neighborhood Gem (105)
Good for Anniversaries (100)
Healthy (91)
Worth the Drive (79)
Good for Birthdays (70)
Romantic (63)
Seasonal (55)
Casual (54)
Quiet Conversation (54)
Authentic (54)
Cozy (35)
Organic (34)
Good Vegetarian Options (25)
Business Meals (23)
Good for Groups (21)
Fun (16)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Hot Spot (13)
Tasting Menu (13)
People Watching (10)
Paleo Friendly (9)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Kid-friendly (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Spicy (4)
Vegan (4)
Great Beer (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Great for Brunch (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Scenic View (1)
Tapas (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
3199 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 2 days ago

Upon arriving, the hostess informed us we were 7 minutes early for our 7:15 reservation & that they had not yet begun seating for 7:00. We could stand in the passage-way & wait until they were ready to seat us. There is no appropriate waiting area; the restaurant had apparently overbooked the slots around 7 o’clock. We finally got our table at 7:40 & found both table service & food to be quite satisfactory. Unfortunately, the booking end needs work.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

This place exceeded our expectations for a lovely seafood dinner. Service was impeccable as was the food. Great experience at a reasonable price.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

Wouldn't visit the Monterey Bay area w/o dinner at Passionfish. Always (and in ALL WAYS) a pleasure.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

Another disappointing dinner at Passion Fish. I am a local and have eaten here many times. I know that many locals think this is a great restaurant. The best feature of the restaurant is the reasonably priced wine list. The fish is typical of fish in restaurants in the Monterey Bay: it was reasonably fresh, cooked properly, and relies on condiments and sauces to be of interest. It is not possible to get good fish at any restaurant locally. Occasionally, la Balena will actually have a fresh whole fish.

Fresh fish requires someone from the restaurant, preferably the chef, to go to the fish market, or in Monterey, one of the wharf or fishing boats, to select fish to serve that day. "Fresh fish" should be caught and served the same day. The fish then becomes the focus of the dish, not the glop that covers it or whatever is piled beneath it. Having recently been in Greece and Sicily, fresh fish relies on when the fish was caught more than how it is prepared.

Passion fish is no better or worse than any local restaurant serving fish. It is a sad commentary on the Monterey Peninsula, a large commercial fishing bay on the Pacific Ocean, that there are no restaurants that serve exceptional fish. I assume that the tourists and locals are satisfied with mediocrity. I suggest that they frequent the tourist restaurants on Cannary Row, less expensive, better views, and their fish is no better or worse than Passion Fish.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined 4 days ago

After not dining at Passionfish for many years, we were dissapointed. The halibut was overcooked and dry, and so was the duck. The waiter was not attentive, and never asked if the food was to our satisfaction. Will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent food! We would like to eat there again sometime!

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 days ago

My husband and I dined here while on vacation. The staff of the restaurant were friendly. The ambience is nothing exceptional but the food was delicious. Definitely worth it and would return again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

I've been to Passionfish on several occasions, and every time I have had a good experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 5 days ago

Had another outstanding meal at Passionfish. Been coming here for many years, and it is consistently excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 6 days ago

Perfect, even for dining alone. Order the Meyer Lemon panna cotta; it's divine.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 6 days ago

A wonderful dinner. Everything delicious and beautifully presented. The Dungeness crab salad was a standout as was the triple dessert. Our server was helpful and attentive. The noise level detracted a bit from the fine dining ambiance that the restaurant deserves, but it wasn't so loud as to prevent conversation, just a bit annoying.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined 6 days ago

We absolutely love this place. The food is inventive and clearly prepared with care and intentionality. We eat very strictly and cleanly at home, and consequently it can be hard to find restaurants for special occasions. Ingredients here are meticulously sourced and most (maybe all?) are local. From the wine, to the greens in the salads, to the seafood, to the coffee for dessert, it's companies I respect, presented in a way that is certainly worth the drive for us (from Santa Cruz).

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined 7 days ago

We had reservations and were seated promptly. Service was excellent as was the fresh fish. People next to us were celebrating a birthday and restaurant did a nice presentation.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Kid-friendly, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 16, 2017

Great seafood restaurant that actually has delicious food and is not just another Monterey tourist trap.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 16, 2017

Traveled to Monterey, CA and went to this restaurant on a Saturday but it was a long wait...made reservations for the next day and it was worth the wait. Small restaurant so I suggest reservations. Absolutely devine😬

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 16, 2017

Been here a couple of times now. Creative dishes without being gimmicky. Menu adjusts to the season.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 16, 2017

Food and service were great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 16, 2017

One of our favorite restaurants. we try to include in all trips to Monterey Bay.
Food is always first-class, as is the professional and friendly service. We are very comfortable, and never been disappointed at this restaurant. We'll keep going back to
Passionfish.

Tags: Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 16, 2017

After being in business 20 years, they must be doing a lot of things right, and they are! Excellent dinner. Food was fresh and interesting: we had black bean fritters, trout ceviche, bisquits (suggest serving honey butter or preserves, good classic recipe but bland), beat salad special was outstanding, halibut special, arctic char, and a very good bread pudding.
Large wine list. Good service considering they were full.
Suggest reservations because this place gets busy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 16, 2017

Passionfish is consistently a wonderful experience, with great food and service in a quiet, comfortable setting.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Healthy, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 15, 2017

Food is outstanding and the best wine list in the country. Unbelievable pricing that you can’t just have one bottle.

Tags: Romantic, Casual, Good for Groups, Organic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 15, 2017

A great find! The menu is primarily fish, but you could not go wrong with any choice. Very attentive service and outstanding food.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 15, 2017

Every time I am in Pacific Grove I will always try to work a meal in at Passionfish, delicious food, attentive service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 15, 2017

This is just an outstanding restaurant. The food had elements to it that were the best we've ever had. But the whole dinner was excellent. And we had Josh as our server for the 2nd time. He does a great job. And let's not forget the ambience. Wonderful. Just a great place to eat.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 14, 2017

A group of friends getting together

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 14, 2017

Excellent sustainable seafood with fantastic and affordable wines.

Tags: Healthy, Organic, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 14, 2017

This is one of the best restaurants on the Monterey Peninsula!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 11, 2017

The biscuits are to die for. Scallops with truffle are a favorite. Always a wonderful meal.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 11, 2017

We discovered Passionfish several years ago and was very impressed at that time. Each time we come down from the SF Bay Area, we make it a point to dine here. We've never been disappointed. We are an retired older couple but we dine out a lot. Passionfish is one of those rare places that is special because they manage to hit all the important factors of a great meal.

We started with a gorgeous Dungeness Crab Salad. It had a beautifully balanced vinaigrette - one of the best renditions of a seafood salad we've ever had. I had a 'cup' of Spicy Seafood Stew. It was big - big enough to qualify as a bowl. But, more importantly, it was terrific. It was a tomato/cilantro broth and loaded with all kinds of seafood. I had an excellent Duck Confit (2 thighs) and my wife had the Sea Scallops. She was equally impressed with her perfectly cooked scallops with a truffle/tomato/butter sauce! And we finished with a Maple Banana Bread Pudding. We each had a glass of wine.

The food is just outstanding. The dishes are creative and prepared with love and a passion to do wonderful things with fresh, superior ingredients. The service is totally professional. All the servers know the menu and preparation of the dishes very well. And, they all seem to share a similar passion for good food. This feeling of dedication to good food is not limited to just the server. We were impressed by the busboy and hostess as well. All seem genuinely interested in giving the customer a fine dining experience.

The ambiance is wonderfully warm and cozy. It is one of the few places that seems to have done something to manage the noise factor. There are what appears to be acoustic pads placed strategically above the tables in the dining room in an attempt to absorb and mute some of the noise.

All the above contributes to an outstanding dining experience for us!

Jim

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 10, 2017

Amazing food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 9, 2017

I would go back for the spicy seafood stew. My entree though delicious arrived a little cool. Great service! Great ambience!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Spicy, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 9, 2017

Wonderful food, knowledgeable wait staff. Was able to provide excellent wine suggestions. Helpful and attentive while not being overbearing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Wonderful experience - we ordered the fig special and had the scallops and spoonful for entrees. Scallops were delicious; the truffle butter was a mouth watering touch. Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

What a great find! Passionfish was recommended by a couple of different people so we had to try it. The staff are attentive. The wine list is fantastic, if a tad overwhelming. The food is outstanding and the environment is friendly. We noticed that diners were both dressed up and also very casual, which we liked - it says "come as you are" it's about the food. Pricey, but I've paid more for a much less wonderful dining experience.

Tags: Healthy, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

We always dine at Passion Fish when we're in the area, and this is the first time we've ever been less than thrilled. I love lamb, but I found the preparation to be a little "gamey" and not as "fabulous!" as my choices have always been there in the past. Otherwise, everything else was delicious as usual.
Debbi Reinschmiedt

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Loved the ambiance. Our waiter was cold & aloof. Could be because we brought our own bottle of wine? The corkage fee was $26. It was a very special bottle of wine that I had saved for this dinner. Another thing was the Bus Boy. He literaly "threw" the butter dish and bread on our table. Maybe he and the waiter had something going on....

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Wonderful food.....so good it was a real treat! This is so nice for any special occasion. And if you're wondering why there is buscuits on the menu.....order one! So dense and rich buttermilk with real butter- we ordered two to go and had them with butter and jam the next morning!😀

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 8, 2017

It was delicious but too noisy. The biscuits were heavenly. Can't wait to have them again.

Tags: Local Ingredients, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

An excellent choice! We ate here while on our first trip to Monterey Bay. Picked it based on reviews and the menu, and we were not disappointed!! The food was multidimensional, creatively crafted, and downright delicious. I especially enjoyed the calamari with spicy micro greens—when was the last time any micro green set your world on fire? Well, these will...
And I don’t know who Karen is, but her biscuits will make you praise the Lord for their crispy-yet fluffy buttery glutinous goodness. And the duck? Delightful.
Definitely the best meal we had on the peninsula all weekend. Atmosphere was quiet, softly lit, straightforward, and no bar(wine list was solid though) so expect to come and let the meal be your entertainment.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Easily one of the best meals I have ever bad. The problem I had was that portion sizes were quite unpredictable. We ordered an appetizer that was absolutely fabulous but very, very small. For the entrees, I ordered scallops and got three on a small plate with a few pieces of something green and a spoonful of something mashed. My date ordered trout and got a huge plate of food she couldn't finish. All of it was to die for but afterwards I was back at the hotel scarfing chips out of the mini bar.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.