Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi

About Passionfish

Passionfish offers a unique California dining experience with serious food and wine in a fun and casual atmosphere. The ever-changing menu features the freshest, sustainable seafood, slow-cooked meats, organic greens and delectable desserts, all complemented by an award winning wine list priced nearly retail and well below what you've come to expect. Passionfish is owned and operated by Chef Ted Walter and his wife Cindy Walter. They are vocal advocates for sustainable seafood education and were the first officially certified 'Green' restaurant in Monterey County.

701 Lighthouse Avenue
Pacific Grove, CA 93950
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00PM - 9:00PM
Friday - Saturday: 5:00PM - 9:00PM

Cross Street:
Congress Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 655-3311

Website:
http://www.passionfish.net/

Executive Chef:
Ted Walter

Private Party Facilities:
Passionfish offers two rooms available for private dining. One room seats up to 30 persons and another up to 60 persons.

Private Party Contact:
Cindy Walter: (831) 655-3311

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Passionfish Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.2

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (120)
Local Ingredients (110)
Creative Cuisine (106)
See All
Notable Wine List (103)
Good for a Date (96)
Special Occasion (95)
Neighborhood Gem (77)
Good for Anniversaries (70)
Worth the Drive (70)
Healthy (69)
Good for Birthdays (55)
Romantic (49)
Quiet Conversation (42)
Authentic (41)
Casual (37)
Seasonal (37)
Cozy (37)
Outstanding Value (28)
Modern Decor (27)
Organic (23)
Business Meals (20)
Good Vegetarian Options (16)
Hot Spot (12)
Good for Groups (12)
Comfort Food (11)
Gluten Free Options (10)
Fun (9)
Paleo Friendly (8)
Spicy (7)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Family Style (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Tapas (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Great Beer (1)
Vegan (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
People Watching (1)
Fireplace (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Scenic View (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Historic (1)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
S
2824 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 3 days ago

Our server was outstanding. She was patient and friendly as my dining companion tasted six different wines before selecting. Because we were sharing everything, she offered to course our dinner and then split plated them all for us, without even being asked. I love it when someone is REALLY good at their job and she was top notch. The food was excellent, as was the atmosphere. I'm grateful to be a local and get to return soon.

Tags: Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

Great food and great service. Everything was cooked to perfection and the flavors were incredible. Save room for dessert and get the bread pudding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 4 days ago

The menu was a bit odd and we didn't feel the food was anything special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 4 days ago

We are locals and have gone to Passionfish many times over the years. It never disappoints. The food and service are always excellent. It was a wonderful place to celebrate my husband's 75th birthday.

Tags: Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

We celebrated our 35th anniversary and the dinner couldn't have been more perfect. Our wait person was very knowledgeable of the menu and wine list. Her recommendations were spot on! A fabulous dinner.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 7 days ago

You can be assured that you are doing good things for your body and for the planet when you eat here. All the fish entrees are delicious. Don't miss getting a side order of biscuits.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Food is great, wine list is awesome, and wine prices (for a restaurant) cannot be beat! Cannot wait to go back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 16, 2017

This continues to be one of our favorites in the whole Monterey/Carmel area. The food is consistently delicious and creative, the service excellent, and the wine menu superior and the most reasonable in the area. We always reccomend Passion Fish to friends and out of the area visitors.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Our server was helpful with the wine list. Passionfish serves really delicious seafood and they profess a concern for sustainability. The sides were creative and the fish fresh!

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Wonderful in every way. The fish, the wine, the service. The folks in the kitchen are totally on top of the game.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 15, 2017

My wife and I came here while visiting from out of town for our one special dinner out. We were not disappointed. It started with a high quality wine list with many varied options and a knowledgeable server who was able to recommend some choices based on our personal tastes. This was all at an excellent price as well. We then shared a striped bass crudo that was fresh and delicious. My only recommendation would be to use less vinegar and more pomegranate in the granita sauce. After that we had a lovely crab salad that was beautiful and delicious. My wife's dinner was the scallops that were large and perfectly plump with excellent side flavors all around. I had the spoonable lamb breast that was wonderfully tender and served on a Meyer lemon tagine that I had hoped would be just a bit more lemony. Our dessert, though we certainly didn't need it, was a mint chip ice cream with chocolate sauce that was very naturally flavored and delicious. All in all, our meal and experience was very nice. It was a comfortable and unpretentious atmosphere. Any of the flavor deficits mentioned above were minor compared to the artistry and obvious care with which the food was prepared. I would recommend this place for dinner without reservation.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 13, 2017

We had a wonderful time at Passionfish in celebration of my boyfriend's birthday. The staff was attentive, welcoming, and they treated my boyfriend to a lovely complimentary dessert. The food was outstanding. Overall, a great experience!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 13, 2017

My favorite is the spicy fish stew. It's fun to share food at PF and talk about it.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Mediocre food. Overpriced. Pretentious. Skip it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 12, 2017

No privacy - tables too close together. I listened to everything being said on both sides.
I ordered the duck. It was so overcooked it was brittle around the edges and very dry and tasteless.
The asparagus was hard. Totally undercooked.
The cucumber salad was minced! Terrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Always a great experience with good service and great food.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Passion fish is our favorite restaurant in the area. We always have our "special dinner" here when we visit once a year from the Bay Area. My wife loves the buttermilk biscuits. Wine selection is extensive and so well priced. Sustainable fish dishs are all delectable. You have to eat here!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 10, 2017

It was my 70th birthday, and the night began with a surprise menu wishing me Happy Birthday at the top of the menu! Sea bass crudo was excellent and do not pass up on the biscuits! Dinner was beautifully presented, halibut bouillabaisse duck confit delicious! And dessert finished the meal. A perfect place to celebrate that totally fulfilled my expectations!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Fourth time here, always a treat. Had a perfectly prepared whole trout, which is no small feat since it is so easy to overcook. Cannot say enough about the Panna Cotta, sinply amazing to get that many flavor layers on the plate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Passion fish has been rated as one of the best restaurants in the area over and over, and they deserve this rating. Food was excellent, including seafood and meat selections we tried. Appetizers and dessert were very good, and obviously received same attention and care as the rest of the menu. Noise level enabled easy conversation. Definitely worth repeating and recommending to others. You won't be disappointed.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 9, 2017

The menu was outstanding , providing variety with a small number of excellent choices, and the service was very attentive with the waiter providing good suggestions when asked. We especially loved the grilled asparagus and the curried salads.

Our seafood entrees were fresh and original with mashed creamy rice as the accompaniment to the beautifully presented seafood.

And we all could not get enough of the mouth watering lemon dessert.

Can't wait to return.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Lovely evening at passion fish!! Great food and great service!!

Tags: Late-night Find, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Wonderful. Squid perfectly oil-free, scallops perfectly prepared, duck superb. Service fist rate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Very tasty creative cuisine. A bit spicy for kids. A great find during a vacation to the Monterrey area. The service was very good. Our server was very patient to all tastes and sensitivities.

Tags: Late-night Find, Spicy, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 6, 2017

We love the 'Passionfish' restaurant. The food is always fresh and served with beautiful style. The service is excellent - attentive but not bothersome. Their menu has become a tad more spicy so if you are more of the 'don't spice up my food' type of eater, you will have trouble finding more than a couple of dishes here. The spices are not overdone but are spicy and complement the food well. The fish is outstanding!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Spicy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Service was good. Interior of the restaurant is tired. Food was good but not exceptional. I'd much rather go to any number of other restaurants, and that didn't used to be the case. I was disappointed.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 6, 2017

All the different flavors

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Always great--they had a special calamari salad this time with perfect, moist calamari.

Tags: Organic, Healthy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 5, 2017

We visit Pacific Grove a few times a year, and always visit passionfish when we do. The menu is creative, extravagantly presented and consistently delicious. Actually - what's best about this place is most certainly it's consistency: the food, service and ambiance are 100% exceptional every time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Delightful place with interesting food and fabulous wines. A perfect blend of casual and elegant dining in a quiet Pacific Grove neighborhood.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Great food and a wonderful wine list. Our server help to pair the wine with our food selection. What a treat.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 3, 2017

We visited here on a trip up the coast 2 years ago and happened to come back to town for a wedding. The great memory of passionfish was not wrong, it was just as good as we remembered! The crab salad and scallops were amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Fish was very bland and VERY overpriced. Not worth it at all. Look elsewhere for seafood.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 2, 2017

This was my third visit. Each time I have been very impresssed by the friendly and knowledgeable wait staff. The food is great and the wine list is first rate. Make sure you try the biscuits!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Celebrating 40th wedding anniversary... printed a personal Menu for us! Great food... great service!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Casual, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Wife's graduation celebration with family. Excellent food and unique beverages.

Tags: Casual, Historic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Passionfish always delivers innovative food and superb service. The servers know their products, both the dishes and the many, many wines available. They speak knowledgeably about both and are eager to guide the diner.

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Aspargus appetizer - wonderful. My main course Alaskan Halibut perfectly cooked. Husband had spicy fish soup - spicy and flavorful, wonderful broth. Friend had trout which she loved. If you love fish, this is a great place. Could offer a little more apps for non-fish eaters. Our server, Samantha, was exceptional

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Thought food and preparation was original and delicious. Found restaurant from Trip Advisor as I was visiting the area. Can't wait to have excuse to return to Pacific Grove and visit Passionfish again! Highly recommend!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.