Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi

About Passionfish

Passionfish offers a unique California dining experience with serious food and wine in a fun and casual atmosphere. The ever-changing menu features the freshest, sustainable seafood, slow-cooked meats, organic greens and delectable desserts, all complemented by an award winning wine list priced nearly retail and well below what you've come to expect. Passionfish is owned and operated by Chef Ted Walter and his wife Cindy Walter. They are vocal advocates for sustainable seafood education and were the first officially certified 'Green' restaurant in Monterey County.

701 Lighthouse Avenue
Pacific Grove, CA 93950
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00PM - 9:00PM
Friday - Saturday: 5:00PM - 9:00PM

Cross Street:
Congress Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 655-3311

Website:
http://www.passionfish.net/

Executive Chef:
Ted Walter

Private Party Facilities:
Passionfish offers two rooms available for private dining. One room seats up to 30 persons and another up to 60 persons.

Private Party Contact:
Cindy Walter: (831) 655-3311

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Passionfish Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.2

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (126)
Fit for Foodies (123)
Special Occasion (120)
See All
Local Ingredients (118)
Notable Wine List (115)
Good for a Date (103)
Good for Anniversaries (103)
Neighborhood Gem (95)
Worth the Drive (75)
Good for Birthdays (70)
Authentic (56)
Quiet Conversation (55)
Casual (53)
Seasonal (50)
Organic (49)
Romantic (45)
Cozy (41)
Business Meals (24)
Good Vegetarian Options (23)
Fun (22)
Good for Groups (17)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Hot Spot (13)
Paleo Friendly (12)
Tasting Menu (11)
Gluten Free Options (10)
Comfort Food (9)
People Watching (8)
Great for Lunch (7)
Spicy (6)
Modern Decor (5)
Vegan (5)
Great Beer (5)
Tapas (4)
Scenic View (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Family Style (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
3061 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 3 days ago

This restaurant came highly recommended by two friends and also had good Yelp reviews. I think my expectations were too high. The food was good but nothing really special. We were lucky to be seated in the main dining room and not in the very cramped seating off the entrance. With so many options in the Monterey area, I doubt it will be my first choice on my next visit. But if you drink wine and put a high importance on sustainable fish, this is definitely the place for you.

Tags: Seasonal, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent! This restaurant was recommended by a local(we were visiting the area for Monterey Car Week)...we could not have picked a more delightful spot for our last night in town! Everything was delicious...the lamb dish was exceptional!! We will definitely visit Passionfish again the next time we are in town!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined 3 days ago

Booking a table during Car Week was always going to mean a slightly frantic evening, so no surprises that we had to wait a while for our table. Sadly the frantic attitude came through in the food whereby my started soup was cold in places and scorching hot in others.........would they really have microwaved it..........maybe. The main course fish was cooked in fat that was too hot and therefore it was tainted with a burnt fat taste, which to be honest was the overwhelming smell when one walked into the restaurant. I was desperate for a shower when we got back home, to alleviate the smell.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

I've always enjoyed dining here. The food is excellent and the service is attentive but not intrusive. The only difficult part is deciding on what to eat from the enticing menu descriptions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Great food in Pacific Grove. The biscuits are phenomenal: order them! The duck confit was delicious but the lamb tagine was amazing. Great wine list.

Tags: Casual, Business Meals, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent restaurant with great wine list that is value priced

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined 5 days ago

Passionfish is an experience not to be missed. We love the crab and avocado salad with ginger dressing and the scallop entree. The sides are divine. And a visit is not complete without their upscale mud pie starring luscious coffee and mint chocolate chip ice creams. Our favorite dessert on the coast. Don't forget to get reservations as they are always booked. Unfortunately, beer and wine only.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 5 days ago

pashion fish never lets you down.
I eat here every year twice in august.quality stays high !

Tags: Casual, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Seating to narrow, Food outstanding, wines extraordinary

Tags: Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined 5 days ago

I love this restaurant's philosophy of supporting sustainable fishing.

Their desserts are to die for--especially the bread pudding and the chocolate torte.

The portions are generous.

The wine list is awesome.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 6 days ago

Always a favorite, this trip to Passionfish honored a neighbor who has helped us repeatedly as our home is rebuilt after a fire. Her favorite dish, the crab and avocado salad, was her choice as a main course and was pronounced scrumptious. My spouse and I had several of the seasonal seafood entrees with creative side dishes. And we all finished with awesome peach cobbler, better than Grandma used to make. Make a reservation in advance and take your time with the menu and specials plus the full wine list. Lots of excellence by the glass as well as by the bottle can be had.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 16, 2017

We eat at Passion Fish every time we come to the Monterey area. The food, the ambiance, the service is stellar! We took friends there for the first time this trip and they lived it! The only drawback for some is that they serve only beer and wine - no cocktails.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 16, 2017

The food was good, the service very good. The prices were too high. I was fortunate to be a guest, otherwise I could not afford to eat there again.
I also felt the menu was very limited.

Tags: Healthy, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Friendly and efficient service. We dined early and the place fills up for dinner. Creative fish dishes that are delicious. Excellent wine list.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 15, 2017

Always a great meal. Food is excellent. Love the creative fresh dishes. Staff is super!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on August 15, 2017

We live in Southern California and eat at Passionfish each time we are on the Monterey Peninsula. This time we were with friends from the Central Coast. As usual, everything about the experience was wonderful - food (Rockfish, Halibut, Salmon and Albacore), wine (Domaine Eden Pinot) and service by the knowledgeable and delightful Amanda. We found out why Nancy's Buttermilk Biscuits were so delicious when we looked up the recipe and saw how much butter they contained! Well, we were eating fish, so it balanced - right? We will be back again and again and may stop recommending you to friends for fear we won't be able to get a reservation. Anyway, bravo and kudos!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

Passionfish is always on my itinerary when I come to Pacific Grove. This visit was to celebrate the 60th bday of my friend. The menu had a birthday greeting scrolled across the top which set the mood for a delightful evening of fine dining. The food was delicious, including one of the appetizers, Smoked Trout Ceviche Tostaditas, which were outstanding. Our waitress (sorry I can't complement her by name, I forgot!) was extremely knowledgeable about the wine list and really zeroed in on an excellent selection to complement our meal. Our shared dessert also came out with a candle lit, without my having asked the waitstaff to do so. All in all, another great visit to Passionfish.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 13, 2017

The food as always was amazing. My only problem with Passionfish is that many times they do not honor the reservation time. I think this is due to the fact that they do not rush customers and like guests to enjoy the meal - so this is truly not a bad thing if you know ahead of time that you may still have a wait with a reservation. A local favorite and a place I will go back to when I want to entertain special friends. Loud, however as tables are very close together but our town is friendly so it is always enjoyable.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Paleo Friendly, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Service was good. I appreciated the Birthday acknowledgement on the menu, that was a nice touch. The wine list was fine, I'd love more offerings by the glass. We like the fact that it's not marked up that much. The food was fine, we were a little underwhelmed. From the calamari, to the halibut, and the lamb breast - it wasn't anything special. I didn't see any front of the house management.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Everything we tried was incredibly flavorful and delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

Excellent fish menu, with a long list of wines with an affordable price. I highly suggest it!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Passionfish won us over with the black bean and goat cheese fritters. The deal was sealed with the pork shank - very different spice rub from what I typically see on a shank and quite an accomplishment for a restaurant specializing in seafood. Tender moist and packed with rich earthy flavors. Scallops were perfectly cooked and well seasoned but sorry, they cannot compare to that shank!

The downfall was the biscuit. Sorry - it ain't a biscuit but more like pie dough. Too heavy and sweet to be a biscuit . And it was the only bread they had. Comfortable dining room, we will go back and simply avoid the biscuit.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Passion Fish was our best meal in Monterrey during our one week stay. If this were closer to home, we would be regulars. Wine list is very good, as it should be in this part of the state. The really nice surprise was that the wine bottles (and available splits) were very close to retail pricing. The quality of the food was outstanding, well prepared and flavorful without being over dressed or sauced. The restaurant staff were terrific in serving our meals and dealing with our, sometimes fidgety, five year old. I would classify this as a do not miss meal if you are in Monterrey.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Passionfish always has beautiful, delicious, inventive, and fresh food!

Tags: Healthy, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Always dependable; excellent food; first rate staff; wonderful wine list; comfortable unfussy environment. Highly recommend.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Food was fabulous and service was excellent. The banana bread pudding was beyond delicious. Only down side was the noise level.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 10, 2017

Passionfish always lives up to its reputation as one of the best seafood restaurants. Have had as good, but not better, in San Francisco. Not cheap, but so worth it. Wish I lived closer!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 9, 2017

We really enjoyed Passionfish. Loved the subdued atmosphere and escaping from touristy Monterey. Great wine list. Spouse had the lamb breast, which he described as tasty but odd. His fault for ordering lamb in a place with "fish" in its name. I had the halibut special. The fish was great but the accompanying snap peas, corn, and tomatoes were even better- a knockout of fabulous, memorable flavor. They were out of the peach cobbler by the time we were done with dinner- the diner at the next table interrupted us to tell us how fantastic it was and not to be missed. Next time. . .

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Spent several days on the Monterey Peninsula and enjoyed several nice restaurants of which this was our favorite. Great food, fantastic wine list with unbelievably low markup, very nice service. Only disappointment was that the highly recommended peach cobbler was only okay... Everything else was spot on.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 8, 2017

We went here while staying nearby for 3 days-loved it and cancelled another reservation in order to return a second time. Everything we ordered was delicious including the melt in your mouth buttery biscuits ( order by the piece as an appetizer), salad special, halibut special with fresh vegetables, rockfish and scallops. The only disappointment was that the peach cobbler special was all gone by the time we finished, though we still managed to enjoy the banana bread pudding with banana ice cream! Everything was amazing including the very knowledgeable staff.

Tags: Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Seated promptly. Well prepared.,great flavored meals from salads to entrees. Reasonable wine list. Service was attentive , not rushed. Would return

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on August 7, 2017

This is a lovely restaurant with food that is prepared with care and passion. Wait staff are welcoming and pleasant.

We were on holiday and read good reviews. Try the scallops as they are truly delicious!

Tags: Healthy, Authentic, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Everything was Delicious and an extensive wine list. So the recommended Italian wine was perfect for both my husband and myself (we each have different tastes for wine choice)! Thank you Passionfish for a wonderful evening!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Organic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Fantastic !!!! Great Food, Great Service, Fantastic Wines

Tags: Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 6, 2017

The food is outstanding and the service is impeccable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 5, 2017

We read the reviews of the restaurant, and we were excited to eat there on our trip to Monterey. Unfortunately, we were disappointed. First, we were seated at a small table next to the busing station and in front of the kitchen. Every time the kitchen door opened, one of us had a breeze on the neck, and the other, a full view of the kitchen. The scallop appetizer was good, but the fried squid were mushy and flavorless. -We also found that the flavors of the main dishes and the sides were fine in themselves but in conflict with one another on the plate, to the extent that the side dishes completely overwhelmed the fish (we had the expensive halibut special and the rockfish). The wine suggested by our server, although nicely priced at retail, was also unremarkable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

 
·Dined on August 3, 2017

We were up in Pacific Grove from Long Beach and came to the restaurant with friends, who knew the place well. They had told us how fabulous it was, and we were prepared to be disappointed. Happily, we were not!! The food was all terrific, and the service was perfect. I would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone who wants a calm, beautiful, delicious meal.

Tags: Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 3, 2017

We enjoyed it so much, we went twice. Happy to have found this place. Was the cherry on top of our visit to Monterey!

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Great restaurant . Unique dishes and wonderful service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 3, 2017

Exceptional, interesting, unusual flavors applied to fish, for me, vegetarian, for my wife. Bread pudding desert was also quite different, and worked well. They did their best to move noisy, crying kids to a far corner, but noise travels. Wines were uneven, but good ones can be found on their list.

Tags: Casual, Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.