Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi

About Passionfish

Passionfish offers a unique California dining experience with serious food and wine in a fun and casual atmosphere. The ever-changing menu features the freshest, sustainable seafood, slow-cooked meats, organic greens and delectable desserts, all complemented by an award winning wine list priced nearly retail and well below what you've come to expect. Passionfish is owned and operated by Chef Ted Walter and his wife Cindy Walter. They are vocal advocates for sustainable seafood education and were the first officially certified 'Green' restaurant in Monterey County.

701 Lighthouse Avenue
Pacific Grove, CA 93950
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00PM - 9:00PM
Friday - Saturday: 5:00PM - 9:00PM

Cross Street:
Congress Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 655-3311

Website:
http://www.passionfish.net/

Executive Chef:
Ted Walter

Private Party Facilities:
Passionfish offers two rooms available for private dining. One room seats up to 30 persons and another up to 60 persons.

Private Party Contact:
Cindy Walter: (831) 655-3311

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Passionfish Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.3

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (106)
Fit for Foodies (105)
Local Ingredients (102)
See All
Notable Wine List (91)
Good for a Date (88)
Special Occasion (87)
Neighborhood Gem (66)
Healthy (65)
Good for Anniversaries (64)
Worth the Drive (60)
Romantic (51)
Good for Birthdays (50)
Quiet Conversation (42)
Authentic (36)
Seasonal (34)
Cozy (34)
Outstanding Value (31)
Casual (31)
Organic (24)
Modern Decor (23)
Good Vegetarian Options (15)
Business Meals (14)
Gluten Free Options (13)
Good for Groups (12)
Hot Spot (9)
Paleo Friendly (9)
Comfort Food (8)
Spicy (7)
Fun (7)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Family Style (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
People Watching (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Tapas (2)
Great Beer (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Fireplace (1)
Vegan (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Scenic View (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
2773 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 10 hours ago

Was a great experience accompanied by great and sustainable seafood!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 2 days ago

Wonderful place to dine. Special occasions or anytime. Well prepared flavorful food that wil have you coming back for more.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

I go to Monterey once a year and always go to Passionfish. The food is always wonderful. Whether it is seafood, duck confit, vegetarian fare, or whatever, the spicing is always intricate and wonderful, and the food pairings creative. Love the place. Service is knowledgeable and friendly. I benefited from their wine recommendations on my last trip.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 4 days ago

The squid was an epiphany! I eat calamari all the time, but this recipe is the best I ever had!! Bold, unexpected, truly delightful. If you do nothing else in Monterey, come here for this breathtaking dish!

Tags: Spicy, Organic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

my amateur chef, fish-loving mother is visiting from coastal mexico, and we couldn't think of a better place to take her. she loved everything!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Key West)·Dined 5 days ago

Fabulous service! Food for foodies! Laumann Family Estate wine Cambiata is extraordinary. We come to Passion Fish whenever we visit this area. Not to be missed.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

This meal was better than any we've had here before. Excellent trout tostaditas and fried squid to start. The Arctic char on a bed of Sobieski, and the Saltspring Island mussels were fabulous. A white Bandol went wonderfully with the meal. It was a very good value, but the Sauternes by the glass was total rip off. $10 for about two ounces. That would provide twelve pours from the bottle. This retails for abou $40 so the markup would be three times.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Uneven service holds back stronger recommendation
Appetizers timely however entres followed too long after
Waiter too long returning to table so we skipped second wine servings

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 19, 2017

I have eaten here several times now when I've been in town for a conference. I love that that wines are reasonably priced. The food is amazing. Everything my friends and I have tried is absolutely delicious. If you don't try the buttermilk biscuits you'll be sorry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Passionfish exceeded our expectations. We thoroughly enjoyed our dining experience and will return again soon. I trust we have an opportunity to recommend this restaurant to friends.

Tags: Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Always a wonderful place to eat when anywhere near Monterey.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Everything was exquisite, perfectly cooked, right temperature, and unique flavors. And those biscuits are to die for! We enjoy Passionfish whenever we visit Monterey.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Recommended by a very good friend as the very best place to eat in the Monterrey Bay area. We completely concur. The sustainable ethics of the menu, the superb service and the outstanding, make–your– taste– buds– stand– on– end– food. was just outstanding! We'll be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 18, 2017

The duck confit is delicious, despite what you may think about ordered poultry at a seafood restaurant!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 17, 2017

This upscale restaurant is in an unassuming space (a former pancake house) on Lighthouse Avenue, the main street of Pacific Grove. The food was beautifully prepared and tasty, if a bit pricey. The service was excellent.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 17, 2017

I had a great table, and my server was Samantha. For my first course, I had the Dungeness crab salad. For my entree, I had the Maine lobster tail. For dessert, I had the bread pudding. Yum! I always have a good meal here. Bravo!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 16, 2017

My wife and I recently enjoyed an exceptional meal at Passionfish. The menu is broad and includes many interesting preparations. We shared black bean & goat cheese fritters and a warm Brussel sprouts salad with ham. Our entrees were arctic char with a red curry vinaigrette and albacore tuna with wilted greens and bacon gremolata. Each dish was flawless. The wine list is very reasonably priced. We received good guidance from our waiter and enjoyed a local pinot noir. It coast in the mid50s and I later noticed that it retails in the low 40s. Our waiter was great- knowledgeable, attentive, but unintrusive.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Outstanding as always! Must do when you're on the Monterey Peninsula.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Excellent and creative seafood dishes with many choices. Nice ambience, great service and good wine selection. The wines are not marked up as much as other restaurants allowing us to taste better wines than we're accustomed to drinking. We've been here 3 times and will certainly come back on future visits from our home in Boston. Passionfish's pricing its well conceived, hand-crafted and delicious food is a great value.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Good, but not great. We were a little disappointed that it wasn't as good as last time we came. But would still recommend it

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 13, 2017

So I'm not prone to being overly complimentary, but in this case I have no choice. We've been here before on a previous trip and it was every bit as good and probably better. I had tuna and my wife had scallops and we split a goat cheese/black been fritter which is not what is is called....but....everything was absolutely delicious, our server was very professional and attentive and a very nice bottle of wine about $7 over retail. My only regret, truthfully, is that we don't live closer. This was a Monday night dinner, not a night that people necessarily venture out, but the restaurant was crowded. It is not posh by any measure, but defies have anything but a good experience.

Tags: Family Style, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Great seafood and comfort food spot. Innovative preparations. Good wine list at reasonable prices.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Appetizer of smoked trout tostadita, goat cheese salad, & scallop appetizer all good but mains were below average. Lobster tail undercooked with underseasoned potato purée. Other main of spoonable lamb was far from spoonable & underseasoned

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 12, 2017

I was recommended Passion Fish from a coworker. My boyfriend and I went to Montery for the weekend and made reservations there on a Saturday night.

We were running late and called. They told us not a problem. We arrived and they seated us right away. We were seated at a small two person table. We are one of those couples who enjoy sitting side by side. We asked the hostess if we'd be abale to move to a table to sit side by side. She responded, "yes, thanks for letting me know." How nice is that?!

We both started off by sharing the amazing crab salad on the appetizer menu and two glasses of "bubbly". Awesome way to start off the meal. (FYI, beer and wine here only).

They have an extension wine list as well. We ordered a bottle of Zin "ridge" from Paso Robles. It was delicious!

For dinner my boyfriend orders the Atlantic char and I had the scallops. Best scallops I have ever had! He really enjoyed his entree as well. We also ordered two homemade biscuits....holy cow!!! Best biscuits ever.

For dessert we had a dessert trio, it was a perfect way to end the night.

We will definitely be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (West Sussex)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Amazing food with unusual flavours that really worked. Every dish worked with layering of flavours and textures and were all beautifully presented. The wine list was extensive and very well priced. The atmosphere was energetic and lively but it was possible to have a conversation and not feel like the table next door could hear every word. We absolutely loved it - it was the perfect end to our San Fran / Monterey trip.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Casual, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Delicious food and excellent service. Always inventive. Best seafood restaurant!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Healthy, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 12, 2017

It was our anniversary and overall it was great but a complimentary drink or appetizer/dessert would have been nice given that they knew it was such a special occasion.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Excellent food. Beatuiful service. Worth the drive. Maybe the parking needs some work. Can't find any space any where

Tags: Romantic, Seasonal, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Amazing food! Everything from the appetizers to the dessert was fantastic. My favorite restaurant in the area.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Not the bargain it once was (I have been coming here since they opened); the sustainable seafood really is pristine and superbly prepared, but the rising cost of all that comes from the sea has led to smaller portions in the main dishes.
The wine list is eclectic, well priced, and inspires one to "try something new." We will continue to enjoy this neighborhood gem when in the Monterey area.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Great meal at Passion Fish. Consistant as always. One of the most eclectic wine lists in the area.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Excellent meal, great and accomodating service. Pricey but cannot beat the combination of flavors, creativity, and sustainability.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 10, 2017

We've spend the evening at Passionfish for our wedding anniversary. It was absolutely fantastic, the food, the service, the choice for wines; everything. They even had a menu for us with a special "anniversary" printed on top.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Have been here a few times. The food is so fresh, sustainably fished, seasonal and creative w/ a lot of local seafood dishes. Have had the slow cooked lamb, the tapas sea bass, the scallops, the passion fruit pannacotta dessert and very reasonably priced wine. The service is very attentive and friendly and efficient!

Tags: Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Outstanding Value, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Organic, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Great calamari appetizer. Brussel sprouts always delicious,

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 8, 2017

wonderful....... consistent, creative and sustainable. The menu is seasonal and the food prepared to perfection

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 7, 2017

We shared plates so we had the scallop starter, the crab salad, a biscuit, and the trout entree. Everything was delicious. The service was excellent. The meal was timed exceptionally well. Food was delivered without delay...AND not too soon. I would definitely go again and recommend this place HIGHLY.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Another delicious meal at passionfish. A great daily menu selection with an emphasis on sustainable fish harvesting. One experience at Passionfish is a changing menu so always a chance to be adventurous in your meal choice. A very good and varied wine list and the staff is very friendly and helpful with any questions you might have regarding the menu. We go to the Monterey/PG/Carmel area every year for our anniversary and Passionfish is always on our list of restaurants to visit. Once again they did not disappoint.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Great meal. Everything was great ( except a bit overpowering cheese in the artichoke risotto cake). Presentation ( esp. for the bread pudding dessert) could use some work. Taste was A+ though. Only thing that put us off a little was little kids, age 3 maybe, at a neighbor table who whined a lot. Not the kids fault I wasn't to say...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The service was amazing- knowledgeable about sustainment and passionate about fare.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fireplace, Healthy, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.