Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 40 times today

Passionfish

4.7
3649 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Seafood
Top Tags:
  • Creative Cuisine
  • Local Ingredients
  • Special Occasion
Passionfish offers a unique California dining experience with serious food and wine in a fun and casual atmosphere. The ever-changing menu features the freshest, sustainable seafood, slow-cooked meats, organic greens and delectable desserts, all complemented by an award winning wine list priced nearly retail and well below what you've come to expect. Passionfish is owned and operated by Chef Ted Walter and his wife Cindy Walter. They are vocal advocates for sustainable seafood education and were the first officially certified 'Green' restaurant in Monterey County.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Seafood, American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation


Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00PM - 9:00PM
Friday - Saturday: 5:00PM - 9:00PM
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(831) 655-3311
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Ted Walter
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
Passionfish offers two rooms available for private dining. One room seats up to 30 persons and another up to 60 persons.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Cindy Walter: (831) 655-3311
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Congress Ave
Additional
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 12 hours ago

Fantastic experience overall. Wonderful.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 3 days ago

Everything was terrific - service, food, wine, and setting. Also I have a nightshade allergy and they were great in making sure my food was safe for me, customizing menu options. They even have alternate menus that show each dish and how it relates to different dietary concerns. The friend I was with is a real foodie and she couldn’t stop talking about the dinner. Thank you Passionfish for a great experience!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

Outstanding meal with unique flavours. Excellent wine list and very, very good service. Our server was extremely knowledgeable. We would definitely recommend Passionfish to anyone.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 5 days ago

All the food is sustainably sourced, fresh, and prepared with great attention to detail--both for taste and beauty. We chose two fish dishes (trout and Alaska Char), and they were excellent.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

Passion fish always has wonderful fish and we know it is sustainable. The fried calamari are outstanding and the wine list is exceptional. Service is good and not intrusive. The allergy menu is very helpful as we had several people with food allergies and intolerances at our table.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 5 days ago

Excellent fish dishes, but very bland atmosphere.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 6 days ago

I’m sad to say in my opinion Passionfish has slipped from where it was a decade ago. Then, it was truly superb in both food and ambiance. My dinner recently was not outstanding: lukewarm, bland halibut, cold nearly uncooked and unimaginative side. The ambiance was rowdy, casual, cell phone land. Not fine dining anymore, although prices are uniformly higher. This was my favorite restaurant years ago but no longer.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

Second time to Passionfish. It's a great restaurant with creative options, excellent drinks and wine list. Particularly notable that drinks and wine are very very reasonably priced. Food is excellent. Loved the spoonable lamb, a fantastic bourbon bread pudding with banana ice cream and insanely good scallops.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

Outstanding culinary delight. Imaginative menu with local ingredients. Service was top notch.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

Outstanding. Really great food. Attention to detail with great flavor. Best in Monterey

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 7 days ago

A very creative menu and the food was very good. Service was also very good. Tables are a little close together which gives you a crowded feeling.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

I love that they price their wines with only a reasonable mark-up. It makes the dining experience so much more enjoyable to try a new wine without knowing you are wasting tons of money. Great food to go with it.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 7 days ago

We expected more. On all facets. More flavor, more attention to detail, more customer care, more friendliness. With a special occasion reservation (granted, we made it “day of”), we expected a better-than average table. But upon arrival had to ask them to reseat us. This made us feel whiney - not how we want to kick off a several-hundred dollar evening. The sea bass crude was the most interesting thing out of the 8 items we ordered. Better than the halibut, the scallops, the fried calamari, everything. That’s too bad because it was tiny and we were all sampling it!

We ordered two bottles of wine and three or four cocktails and three desserts. We thought it was enough to warrant pleasantness. Sad. Oh well. People reco‘d it highly. Small area. Might have to try again.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 15, 2018

I was only moderately happy with the food. The first course of fried oysters was decent. I also had the crudo of sea bass which was very disappointing. It was almost tasteless. My wife had the scallops and loved them. The dessert of banana bread pudding was delicious.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 15, 2018

Consistently spectacular. Food is delicious, staff attentive and knowledgeable. Sustainably delicious seafood their specialty; and desserts are to die for.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 15, 2018

Overpriced. Portions too small. Acoustics bad. Too noisy. With tables in a row, its very annoying to constantly hear the next table's conversation. Good service. Wine recommendations were not satisfactory to our taste. Would rather a Bloody Mary with a
fish dinner than overpriced glass of wine.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 12, 2018

Very good food

Extremely well priced wines and exceptional service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 12, 2018

We came down to the Monterey area for an extended weekend. When coming to Monterey, we ALWAYS stop at Passionfish. Their selection is always varied both for entres and wines. We like their values and support them.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 12, 2018

We always love to eat here when we come down for the day. The fish is prepared amazing and the taste is great. Love it!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 11, 2018

Never a bad meal at this restaurant. Have been there at least 20 times. Great staff and great food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 10, 2018

The food was very fresh, tasty, and enjoyable. My husband and I started with a couple of biscuits, but we should have shared one. They are absolutely delicious- buttery and moist- but very heavy. The smoked trout tostaditas were a bit too spicy, which didn’t allow any of the smoked flavor from the trout to come through. In both of our mains (halibut special and albacore) the side dishes were much more flavorful than the fish, but the fish was cooked perfectly. We had the banana bread pudding for dessert, which was also cooked and flavored to perfection-a light, crispy crust and gooey flavorful middle. Perfect proportion of bourbon sauce and banana ice cream to go with it. We had a bottle of Massican Sauvignon, recommended by our server, which complemented our meals very well. Of course we loved and appreciated their pricing on the wine (they make a point not to mark up too much above retail). All in all, a very enjoyable evening with bites and sips that we will remember forever.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 10, 2018

Outstanding meal, as usual. Scallops were perfection in my opinion. Only small quibble with the experience is that the noise level is a bit high at peak dining hours (every table was full).

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 10, 2018

Excellent dining experience at Passionfish. Excellent service from Eugenia.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 10, 2018

I have never had a bad experience at Passionfish. My favorite restaurant in the area.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 10, 2018

It was a perfect anniversary dinner. Our waitress knew her wines which is a big plus for us. She was also warm and efficient. The ambiance is casual but gave us the feeling that this was a special night. A great evening. The best restaurant in Monterey in our opinion.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 10, 2018

Our waitress was great and we enjoyed sharing the exwith our good friends from Washington

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2018

When ever we are in the Central Coast, we dine at Passionfish. It has become a bit of a destination. The service is great, confident and friendly. The food is fantastic. Every entree is paired with a thoughtful, delicious side that completely complements the main course. The wine is local and also pairs with the menu. It is too hard to turn down dessert, so we don't. A wonderful ending to a wonderful meal. Thank you for a wonderful dining experience.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on June 9, 2018

The amount of food you get and quality it certainly isn’t worth the price . Been there several years ago and received more food and better tasting.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2018

All of the positive reviews were well deserved and we were grateful for them as this meal was a special treat. Everything served was excellent so kudos to the chef and culinary staff! Out waitperson was very professional, efficient and knowledgeable as the wine list had an incredible number of choices, so her ability to make a great pairing recommendation was much appreciated.

The only negative? the noise level increased exponentially as the dining room filled up, Had to resort to sign language.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2018

Excellent food, fantastic wait staff, pricey but you get what you pay for.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 8, 2018

Went to restaurant based on reviews. Food was good but certainly not a standout in terms of portion, presentation or flavors. Focus on sustainable sources is a plus. Good wine selection. My wife had the artic char and I had the halibut special. Tried the buttermilk biscuit which people raved about which was good, not great and the signature banana bread pudding dessert which was also good not great. All in all, a decent meal but overpriced.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 7, 2018

We always plan to visit Passionfish when in the Pacific Grove area, in fact we plan around it! This week we visited twice and we have never been disappointed. The food is outstanding, the service is fantastic and the value is great. We have been visiting Passionfish every time we are in the area and will continue to do so. Can't say enough how much we enjoy dining there.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 6, 2018

Passionfish remains my favorite restaurant for out-of-town guests. The food is fresh and flavorful, and the servers are quite knowledgeable about the food and wine. Always a wonderful experience!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 6, 2018

Service was excellent. Server was very attentive and polite. The food was delicious. So happy we tried this restaurant to celebrate our 25th anniversary. Will definitely be back before our next anniversary.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 4, 2018

We have eaten here many times but are finding it somewhat inconsistent lately. We have had fabulous meals with everything perfectly cooked but we have had some bad meals here too, including the last one. My husband's rockfish was over cooked and rubbery. The waitress warned I might get a couple of bones in my sturgeon - but there were more bones than fish and it was so bad she didn't charge us for it when she saw how many there were. Don't know what to think, maybe the chefs changed, maybe just an off night. I hope it gets back its former glory because it can be fabulous.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 4, 2018

The menu changes daily. Fish is great and vegetables are carefully ptepared.
Real cooking not just what is popular.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 4, 2018

They had the best trout I've ever tasted! The dessert was unbelievable. They could do something with the ambiance. It feels very sterile and cold.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 2, 2018

On a road trip with the family and stopped in Monterey on, what happened to be, my son’s birthday. Booked Passionfish on the strength of trip advisor reviews and their own, self proclaimed, ethos hoping for a special meal (good food seems hard to find in California).

We weren't disappointed. Welcoming and polite without being over formal and a nice clean, yet laid back atmosphere. Janice, the waitress, was lovely and clearly knowledgable and passionate about both the food and the wine.

The meal was lovely and the wine was excellent- and reasonably priced. The biscuit that came with the soup was to die for - as good, or better, than any English scone I’ve tasted.

All in all a fab experience and exactly what we were hoping for. Thank you.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 2, 2018

I liked it overall. The food was good and the ambiance was great. I loved their tea selection!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 2, 2018

Unfortunately Passionfish did not live up to the hype for us. We ordered ahi tuna and didn't feel the pairing with bacon did it justice, two very distinct flavors that didn't complement each other. Our waiter was great but clearly stretched thin. Even though he had help filling water glasses and bringing food, we felt abandoned at times, never got asked about a second glass of wine and water glasses were empty. Could tell though that this was not because he was lazy, he was very busy with other customers. We had been given a coupon for a free appetizer from the Visitor's Center and it was never honored, even though we brought it up three times. Is it a big deal in the big scheme of things and cost of overall meal? No. But don't advertise this if you're not going to honor it. We won't be back.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
92

Tweets by Passionfish