About Party Downtown

55 W Broadway
Eugene, OR 97401
View Larger Map

Mark & Tiffany opened Party Cart back in April of 2011 with the goal of serving local, mostly organic, cart made & creative food for a reasonable price. The menu changed at least every week for nearly 2 years until they decided they needed a brick and mortar to realize their vision. Party Downtown opened it's doors in May of 2013 and were voted best new restaurant in the Eugene Weekly later in the year. Party Downtown features a full bar, an extensive local wine list and cuisine based upon farmer's market availability.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Organic, Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Tuesdy - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm;

Cross Street:
on the backside of the buiding

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(541) 345-8228

Website:
http://partyeugene.com/downtown.html

Catering:
We offer catering of all sorts, nothing is too big or too small. On site or in the restaurant. Menus for all budgets

Parking Details:
We validate the US Bank parking lot on 8th

Executive Chef:
Tiffany Norton and Mark Kosmicki

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Tiki Dinner with Belly Restaurant November 17

Party Downtown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.1

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Portland / Oregon
Neighborhood Gem
Portland / Oregon
Notable Wine List
Portland / Oregon
2 More
Special Occasion
Portland / Oregon
Contemporary American
Portland / Oregon
Best Restaurants in Eugene ›

Fit for Foodies (11)
Special Occasion (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
See All
Creative Cuisine (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Notable Wine List (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Good for a Date (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Romantic (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Tapas (2)
Casual (2)
Seasonal (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Organic (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Authentic (1)
Healthy (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Sort By:
S
58 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We allowed 1.5 hours to eat dinner prior ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We allowed 1.5 hours to eat dinner prior to an event at the Hult Center. Our order finally arrived with 15 minutes left to wolf it down and rush out the door. Incredibly slow service back in the kitchen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Great food, very creative. Ate many thi ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Great food, very creative. Ate many things i would have never dreamed of combining in one dish. We all loved the Black Cod and kale salad!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Organic, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Party Downtown made a 15 year old boy lo ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Party Downtown made a 15 year old boy love Brussels Sprouts for the first time ever and his mother love onions (which she has always detested). Miracles occur with the food there. I have never been disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Although the menu looks innovative and i ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Although the menu looks innovative and interesting, the execution was generally poor, with unattractive plating, under seasoning, and an over-reliance on deep frying and sweet sauces. Both the food and the service were amateurish. The servers seemed disorganized; we were given only beverage menus at first and no one asked us about how the food was. Overall, we had a very disappointing experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Delicious, fun, surprising! I went with ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Delicious, fun, surprising! I went with a friend and neither of us know anything about the place beforehand. It was an unexpected treat to discover Party Downtown and it's a place I will definitely visit again. We loved the creative use of herbs and sauces and unconventional choices....fried green tomatoes, goat, son in law eggs. Everything was made with fresh and I believe local ingredients and was so tasty!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We loved it! Great food and service in a ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 14, 2016

We loved it! Great food and service in a simple environment.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The menu had something for everyone in o ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 12, 2016

The menu had something for everyone in our group (nine of us) with a wide variety of dietary limitations. Great cocktail offerings. Affordable small plates, lots of variety, large plates were a good value. The broccoli tart was divine, I found the gnocchis on the salty side but our group ate every last one and had two orders on the table. Tuna tartare was excellent, prepared to perfection.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food! I loved that they had a ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 10, 2016

Delicious food! I loved that they had a kichen's choice option so that we could experience an overview of the food they offer. Perfect for our first time dining there! And our server was wonderful!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our meal was outstanding in every way. ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 3, 2016

Our meal was outstanding in every way. I highly recommend the Chef's Choice menu. I tend to be a picky eater and would never have ordered most of the items we received as part of the tasting. However, we were up for an adventure and did not leave a morsel behind. Each of the eight dishes we received were perfectly balanced and just scrumptious. We discussed for hours and days afterwards which dish was the best. Its a four way tie between the seared ahi in pastrami spices, the salmon, the lamb, and the cognac truffle/warm snickerdoodle dessert. Even the kale salad was special and surprising. Mint dressing on kale with blueberries, cucumbers and gouda sounds unappetizing, but was quite the opposite. The waiter and chef each brought dishes and beverage pairings, and each was pleasant and willing to answer our questions. The gin and green tea drink was the best drink I have ever tasted.

My dining partners and I have decided to make this a regular event . . . we would go more often if we had the budget . . . but will have to settle for two or three times a year. It is sad to think that we won't be able to try these same dishes again since the menu changes so often, but have complete faith in the chefs at Party Downtown to make any dining experience memorable and delightful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Great dining experience. Thoroughly enj ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 28, 2016

Great dining experience. Thoroughly enjoyed it all, and plan to visit again for the chef's option when we don't have a time constraint. What a unique place!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had the most enjoyable meal. The staf ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 24, 2016

We had the most enjoyable meal. The staff was very nice & we had great service. We had a girls night out & ordered the sampler dinner which was so delicious! The food is really fresh & extremely creative. We will definitely return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant was hard to find because ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on June 17, 2016

The restaurant was hard to find because it was in the alley rather than on the street suggested by the address. The decor is very spare. Hard surfaces make it louder than it should be. The menu contains mostly modern dishes that may not work well together, but if you like adventurous cooking and willing to accept a failed experiment now and then this is your place.

The vinaigrette salad was excellent with fresh from the farmers' market vegetables and a well made dressing. The strange cheese curds could have been left off for me, but I understand many like completely flavorless cheese.

Fortunately, I asked and the waiter complied with serving the horseradish sauce on the side with my hamburger. Without the much too spicy sauce the hamburger was great! Wonderful butter lettuce and fantastic sweet pickles on a brioche bun with high quality beef. I had to remove most of the lettuce to get the hamburger to the size I could eat, but the lettuce was delicious by itself. I think the spicy sauce would have seriously clashed with the other ingredients, but others will decide for themselves. My companion had the rabbit or the duck, I forget which, and enjoyed the dish which appeared to be well prepared.

The very thinly spiral cut potatoes were another matter. They were mostly cooked in oil and arrived on the plate in a mass that was difficult to separate to eat. I think now it might have worked to simply cut them rather than trying to remove strands with a fork like a plate of pasta. I hope the restaurant will try something else for the potatoes.

The restaurant has an extensive wine list. The wine by the glass I had was good and went well with the food. Our waiter was attentive, polite and knowledgeable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

Menu varies. A great foodie place!

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 12, 2016

Menu varies. A great foodie place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5

Party Downtown is our favorite date plac ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 12, 2016

Party Downtown is our favorite date place. We've gone there ~5 times so far. Their cocktails are dynamite. They have a great selection of ciders for my wife. We love the Kitchen's Choice option -- it's so fun and adventurous -- and they even accommodate our unusual food preferences (no "4-legged" meat). Each course had something to rave and gush about. The price is a steal for the quality of the dishes. The service is extremely gracious, friendly, and hospitable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was creative and amazingly good ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 15, 2016

The food was creative and amazingly good. We will recommend this restaurant to our friends and family. The Mexican clam chowder was interesting, but had too much hominy and not enough clams in our opinion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Highly Recommend

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 5, 2016

We read good things about Party Downtown so on our Oregon road trip we made it a point to have dinner there. We enjoyed it and both agreed that it was one of the best meals of many. Outstanding cheese plate, soup of the day a smokey chicken broth with potatoes, the carrots with hazelnuts , the fried chicken with biscuit and a drink cocktail for dessert. The server/owner was friendly and enthusiastic and recommended some more places to eat on our travels. His recommendations for Florence and Northeast Portland were spot on. Eating at Party Downtown lives up to its name....

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

The food was terrific. We had the chef s ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 1, 2016

The food was terrific. We had the chef selection and let them decide. Great date night experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Ten courses -great service

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 23, 2016

My group arrived on time, but somebody, (me) forgot to change our reservation from four to six diners. The wait staff was flexible, we were seated even though the place was packed. We ordered the Kitchen's Choice. The staff brought out every dish and explained, with obvious pride, what they were and how they were prepared. My daughter, the birthday girl, requested a drink of the bartender's choosing. The only specification was to make it without gin. The bartender personally delivered a special drink, artistic and delicious.

It was a bit loud to start, but toward the end, the crowd cleared out. We spent more than two hours enjoying the food, the service, and the company.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fun and refreshing

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 4, 2016

We were a little skeptical due to the local sourcing and not sure what the menu would be this time of year. Amazingly surprised! Everything was excellent. Next time I want our group to do the pairing courses, think it would be fun.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

creative, delicious food combos

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 19, 2016

A completely lovely experience with interesting, wonderful food explained and served by pleasant staff. The parsnip appetizer is superb, as is the cheese dessert. Both times I've been, everyone enjoys sharing the small plates. Love the intimacy of the middle room.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I love lamb and it had a staring role on the menu.

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 6, 2016

The lamb was perfectly cooked and delicious I had a Beet Salad-with smoked beets. Interesting and tasty. Perfect meal before seeing a show at the Hult Center. Really enjoyed the meal!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food and presentation - don't ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 28, 2016

Wonderful food and presentation - don't let the name put you off. The 'Chef's Choice' is a great way to experience all the interesting items the changing menu has to offer. The delicious plates kept coming. Definitely the best way to just enjoy the conversation with your table mates and know that you won't be running out of interesting, yummy food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food with locally-sourced ingredients

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 14, 2016

Seriously good food, reasonably priced. Excellent salads. Outstanding appetizer of stuffed squid. Two of us had a great ling cod dish with potatoes and veggies. Another had a burger-- one of the best made in town -- and frites. They have a very friendly no corkage fee policy for a special bottle from one's cellar that is not on their wine list. For all these reasons, it's a place we keep coming back to.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Chef's Choice!

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 10, 2016

I've been here twice: first, when it looked like a cafeteria and the second time after it had been done up like a proper restaurant. Both times we ordered the chef's choice and both times the food was fantastic! The chef's choice is a good route to go because of the variety of foods you get to try, which inevitably means you stumble upon some gems. Really though, every single dish we had was very good, and many of them were great. I'll definitely be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Party in my mouth

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 5, 2015

"There was a fire fight" for my taste buds. Loved it all. Tried so many new things I would've never gone close to. I truly can say this experience expanded my palate.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

UGH

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 14, 2015

It took my husband 1/2 hour to get a shot of bourbon. The waiter argued with him that pasta was supposed to be eaten cold. It took me an hour to get a burger. They wouldn't give me a tomato because tomatoes don't grow in Oregon at this time of year.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1

Good Food and Service

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 5, 2015

Our first time at Party Downtown. We enjoyed the drinks, food and service. They provide a voucher to park in the adjacent parking lot.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Tasting menu was a little light for two. ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 30, 2015

Tasting menu was a little light for two. We were a bit hungry when we left. Otherwise good experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

A Culinary Experience

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 30, 2015

If you're looking for a "daring" meal, you will enjoy. Was a fun time... Dessert was the best part. When isn't it?

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

Creative cooking

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 8, 2015

Creative cooking and serious attention to use of locally-sourced ingredients. A great spot near Oregon Contemporary Theater, the Jazz Station, and Bijou Metro. Very good lists of wine and craft beers, and generous policy of no corkage fee.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Unique Menu

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 20, 2015

This is a great find for unique menu items, displayed beautifully. The lack of good service was overlooked once the food arrived, as the presentation and taste were superb. We had the roasted carrots with pumpkin seed butter, the fattoush salad and the salmon with yams. All delicious!

For a Saturday night, the restaurant was surprisingly quiet, less than half of the tables were full, yet the service was incredibly slow. Ice water arrived quickly. Wine, on the other hand, didn't arrive until after the first course. We waited quite some time for this first course, which would have been more tolerable if the wine was served immediately.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

Imaginative menu, but they fall very sho ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on September 19, 2015

Imaginative menu, but they fall very short on the execution of what they offer. Food is simply mediocre.

Service is probably the worst in Eugene. You guys can't just stand around and not clear plates or fill water. Show some professionalism, and beef up you lousy service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

The menu seemed promising - unfortunatel ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 5, 2015

The menu seemed promising - unfortunately the execution was lacking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

date night

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 27, 2015

We were hoping for a romantic date night but due to the two noisy groups near our table, we couldn't hear each other talk! We were planning on ordering the Chef's menu but cut our visit short and stopped after a drink and an appetizer. Unfortunately it was just too loud to enjoy ourselves :(

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4

Delicious, Fresh, Creative Food!

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 23, 2015

We chose to do the Kitchens Choice for dinner - it's where you pay a set amount and then the kitchen decides what dishes to prepare for you. We got about 6 different dishes plus a desert at the end. It makes it fun because each dish is a surprise! The food is delicious, fresh, and creative. They make a lot of neat different cocktails as well. Great place!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Creative cooking

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 23, 2015

Seriously good cooking in downtown Eugene with locally-sourced ingredients. A place we often visit before events at the Jazz Station or Oregon Contemporary Theater -- or just because it's easy to feel at home here. Attentive service. Ample wine list and excellent local craft beers. And, can you believe it, no corkage fee if you choose to bring a special bottle.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Fun Place

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on August 15, 2015

Really interesting menu items made with the freshest of local ingredients. Not in any way fancy or dress up, you're here for the food which is among the best in any Eugene restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

I love Tiffany and Mark's creativity in ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 28, 2015

I love Tiffany and Mark's creativity in the kitchen. Every time I return to find something unexpected and delightful. We selected the Chef's choice, which is always and interesting house selection to share. It had something for everyone, including mussels for myself and chicken friend chicken livers for my mother. It was fun to see her step out of her comfort zone (definitely Midwestern meat and potatoes type gal) in order to experience some fantastic NW cuisine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was fantastic but Chef's Choice ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 20, 2015

Service was fantastic but Chef's Choice option was less than desirable. Other then the Beet salad all plates were less than a bite. $120 for two and left hungry, luckily Red Wagon was close.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

Surprise in Eugene

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 15, 2015

As out of towners, we were turned off by the sound of the name. We were in town for graduation and this was literally the only place we could make a reservation. Don't be fooled...excellent food and excellent service. On top of that, the wine we were recommended was a well price local Pinot that hit the spot. Don't hesitate to book this place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.