About Parrot Cage - Washburne Culinary Institute

7059 South Shore Drive
Chicago, IL 60649
View Larger Map

The Parrot Cage Restaurant is a creation and operation of the highly acclaimed Washburne Culinary Institute, one of the nation’s best and oldest cooking schools.The elegantly appointed gourmet dining restaurant features an American Cuisine at affordable prices. It has received the industry's prestigious Zagat rating of "excellent or better" for three consecutive years and, its Sunday brunch has twice received the OpenTable Diners Top Choice award!

The Parrot Cage Restaurant is located in the South Shore Cultural Center -- a Chicago historic landmark and architectural treasure. It is positioned between Lake Michigan’s picturesque beach front and the lush greenery of the South Shore golf course.

Please note: the price for the Sunday Brunch is $25.00.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Spring Hours of Operation:

Dinner Service: Thursday - Saturday 5:00pm - 9:00pm Last seating 8:00pm

Brunch: Sunday 11:00am - 3:00pm last seating 2:00pm

Cross Street:
71st Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(773) 363-1902

Parking Details:
Parking must be paid at the meters

Public Transit:
Walking distance from the #6 and #71 cta bus and the Metra train(South Shore Stop).

Additional:
Banquet, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

  • Crab Crusted Catfish
Crab Crusted Catfish

Parrot Cage - Washburne Culinary Institute Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.8

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Chicago / Illinois
Neighborhood Gem
Chicago / Illinois
Scenic View
Chicago / Illinois
2 More
Neighborhood Gem
Chicago
Scenic View
Chicago
Best Restaurants in South Side ›

Neighborhood Gem (11)
Scenic View (10)
Great for Brunch (7)
See All
Special Occasion (5)
Good for Groups (4)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Romantic (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
595 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I was really impressed with the entire e ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

I was really impressed with the entire experience. The quality of the food was excellent. The servers were very attentive and professional. We came on a Sunday for the Sunday Brunch. My husband is a meat and potato man. He would have rather had heavy stuff like biscuits and gravy, etc. But Parrot Cage is the kind of cuisine I enjoy. I loved the ambiance. I also loved the paintings displayed in the dining room.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've enjoyed both visits to this restaur ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

I've enjoyed both visits to this restaurant. Each time was a special occasion.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

1funspot

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

This restaurant is in a very picturesque setting. The South Shore Cultural Center is a lovely spot and has been beautifully restored by the Park District. The food is provided by the Washburn Culinary School. The service was impeccable. The food was good.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Food is 5-star quality every time!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Delightful setting, looking out over golf course to the waterfront on Lake Michigan. An oasis in an otherwise congested part of Chicago. Food is incredible--top quality and appealing presentation. Service is good. That this is a student run enterprise makes the experience even more special! One day this fabulous chefs will graduate and you'll be paying triple to enjoy their culinary creations! Go now!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Dining Room

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

The door leading into the kitchen was in the dining room utilized on Easter day. As more and more people arrived and workers kept going in and out of the kitchen the dining room became very warm. People were using makeshift fans, myself included to cool themselves.

'That is my only negative The FOOD and SERVICE were great. I am looking forward to my next visit for Sunday brunch.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Fine dining at a very reasobable price

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

The quality of the food, its presentation and the often unique selection makes this place a true 'find'. There is no better place at these prices in all of Chicago. Its 5 star eating at a 2 star cost. Ever since I seen this place on Check Please a few years back, this has become my favorite 'go to' destination when I want something good to eat. AND, it's all for a good cause. If you haven't been here, you need to give it a try.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Parrott Cage

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

Excellent food preparation and presentation--all by students! Warm hospitality and comfortable seating with stunning lake front views. I have enjoyed dinner several times as well as brunch. I recommend this for a casual get-together or special occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Good food, magnificent view!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

My friend had never been there before so I thought she might like it. We had a very good time and the food was very good. My friend is a vegetarian and was able to eat quite well because of the variety. I've been there several times before and will certainly return.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

It was ok

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

Pros

- Was able to make an online reservation

-Arrived early and was able to be seated

-Server was courteous

-The bread, lemonade and blackened catfish were good

-The roasted tomatoes could have been served as a side on the menu, they were very good

Cons

-Doesn't serve alchohol/that should have been highlighted when making the reservation

- The room was chilly

- The host wasn't friendly

-Our server forgot the soup I ordered which meant he either didn't write it down or forgot to submit it

-The kale salad was awful-check out Bandera's kale salad for inspiration- Its delicious

-The chicken chili was good but a little salty, but worth ordering

-The blackened catfish didn't really look or taste blackened but was good still

-When the server seen that I hadn't eaten the salad, instead of inquiring if I was dissatisfied and offer to bring me something else, he just ignored it. But still added it when the check arrived which then was requested to be removed.

The service was slow as well. We spent a lot of time just waiting

Overall, I would only return here if I was attending an event here and didn't want to leave to go elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Our favorite special occasion spot

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

The Parrot Cage has become our favorite special occasion restaurant. It's convenient for us South Siders and we're always happy to support Washburne Institute. Thank you for an excellent level of service and culinary delights.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

No Communication, No Service

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 23, 2015

My party and I never made it to the Parrot Cage restaurant because the restaurant never returned my calls regarding my reservation. I had a reservation for Sunday brunch, for which I had some simple questions. I called several times during business hours over the course of several days, leaving messages asking to be contacted. But nobody ever picked up the phone; and nobody ever returned my calls and messages. So I figured, if the communication is this bad in just making a reservation, what must the service be like at the restaurant? Needless to say, my party and I decided not to visit the Parrot Cage.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Love the setting

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 2, 2015

The setting in the old South Shore Country Club is remarkable. The service was good, if a bit slow when we split the check. The food was so-so, with good variety,but with waffles that were floppy and not firm, and rather tasteless sausage and bacon.

We ate dinner at the Parrot Cage several years ago, and it was better.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

a neighborhood gem

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 2, 2015

The parrot cage is an absolute gem in South Shore. Set in the South shore Cultural center right on the lakefront, it is quite lovely. The food was awesome. We have eaten here in the past and it has always been good. However, we had no idea that the kitchen closed so early. On a Saturday night we were informed at about 8 p.m. that the kitchen was closing soon and we should get our dessert order in. This was quite a disappointment as we had not even arrived until 7:15. If we come again, I guess we will have to make an earlier reservation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

very disappointed !!!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 1, 2015

I have dined at the Parrot Cage many time before throughout the years. I was extremely disappointed with my last visit. I made the reservations online and at that time I checked the menu which was to my liking, Upon arrival I was informed that they has a pre fixe menu which was not to my liking, this should have been on their website. Also one of the main reason for choosing the Parrot Cage was that we thought we would be able to dine outside (there is a great view that overlooks the lake) outside dining was not available . This visit I was just disappointed all the way around which is unfortunate because it was a good local spot with good ambiance . Please get it together Washburn!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

GREAT EXPERIENCE

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 7, 2014

I LOVE THIS PLACE. THE ONLY PROBLEM I HAVE HAD, IS THAT THEY NEVER RETURN PHONE CALLS. IT IS EASY TO MAKE A RESERVATION ONLINE, BUT IF YOU HAVE QUESTIONS, THEY DON;T RETURN CALLS. ALSO, HAD A BIG EVENT PLANNED THERE & I GOT A CALL THE WEEK BEFORE TELLING ME THEY WERE CLOSED THAT DAY FOR A SPECIAL EVENT. ALSO THEY DO NOT SERVE LIQUOR ANYMORE, SO I MISSED THE PARROT MARTINI.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Parrot Cage / South Shore Golf Club

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 28, 2014

We were both real pleased with both the Parrot Cage and the South Shore Golf Club. Very scenic, convenient. The BYOB policy is a good idea. DSignage along highway was very helpful. We will be back. Everyone was helpful and friendly. Thanks.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Best dinner in a long time.

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 22, 2014

I was more than pleasantly surprised. I have hit many hot spots in the city. But I haven't felt as comfortable or been as fulfilled as I was here.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

1funspot

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 10, 2014

I've eaten at the Parrot Cage several times, always for dinner. The food has always been great. I invited a friend to join me for the highly rated jazz brunch. She had never been. The first disappointment was that the jazz is not there during the summer months (we were told this information is on the website). The next disappointment was that it is BYOB (we were told this information is on the website). The food was good. The best item was the peach cobbler made with fresh peaches.

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

Cultural Center is beautiful. Parrot Cag ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 19, 2014

Cultural Center is beautiful. Parrot Cage not as good as my last visit.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2

Dinner in past has been very good, but b ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 22, 2014

Dinner in past has been very good, but brunch was just ok and overpriced. The omelet was runny, the bacon was overcooked and the waffles were too dense. The service was friendly and very good.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4

What a hidden gem!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 21, 2014

We had such a pleasurable night out and felt pampered in a low key gardeny setting right on the lake within a gorgeous historic building. Within the South Shore Cultural center which is a fantasticly decadent relic of the past is this resaurant opperated by students. The restaurant has the feel of a grand country club tea room with enormous windows overlooking the park and lake. Great food, great price and very pleasant atmosphere. Service with a personable southern touch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

The food, wait staff and the ambience wa ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 15, 2014

The food, wait staff and the ambience was great. One of our favorite places.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful setting, good brunch

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 20, 2014

The Parrot Cage is a great location! The South Shore Cultural Center is beautiful and there is outdoor seating with views to the park and lake. The brunch was good, a lot of options for the whole family. Service was friendly and accommodating.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

I dine here fairly regularly

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on April 4, 2014

I dine here fairly regularly but to my surprise the menu had completely changed. They added new dishes and brought back one old stand by. It was a good experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Hidden Gem on Chicago's South Shore

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 23, 2014

Lovely setting on the shore of Lake Michigan, really nice facility - beautifully restored. Went for Sunday brunch, lots of well prepared food...oddly southern in theme with fried chicken, grits, peach cobbler. Very tasty, as much as you wanted to eat...great bargain. Service was a bit slow, but this is a culinary instructional program with students learning how to work in a commercial restaurant environment so that was understandable. What they lacked in attentiveness they made up for in enthusiasm.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Best mac-n-cheese I've ever

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 22, 2014

Best mac-n-cheese I've ever had! All the food was very tasty, portions were large, and service was great. Only issue we had was they were out of two of the wines we tried to order, but the back ups were good eoungh that it didn't affect the dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Neighborhood Gem

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 16, 2014

This is fresh experience in a new interesting location that also offers other interesting things: concerts etc.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

I have enjoyed dinner here

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 16, 2014

I have enjoyed dinner here often and, though the kitchen is usually slow, the food is very good and the staff attentive. However, my party was very disappointed with Sunday Brunch. Buffet is served from 1 to 3 p.m. and by 1:30 many dishes were low or empty and staff had to be notified. Omelets were made at another table so we placed orders while awaiting restocking of buffet table. Food was bland and mediocre and did not warrant the $20 per person set price. I love the ambience of this intimate room and will return for dinner but not lunch.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3

Enjoying the Parrot Cage

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 14, 2014

This has become our go-to spot for many occasions. We have celebrated birthdays, anniversaries, etc. and are always pleased. Very nice to have a good eating location on the Southeast side.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Celebrate

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 14, 2014

I brought a dear friend here to celebrate her. I asked the staff to bring out her dessert with a candle and sing a silly friendship song to her. The Waitress did and it was so cool. I always bring my friends and husband here and tell everyone about it because I LOVE the food, the decor and the Staff. I hope you expand!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Dinner Date

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 8, 2014

The services was very good and the wait staff was very attentive. The food was very delicious with the exception of the side dishes. We ordered the roasted potatoes and dirty rice. The potatoes were not hot and a little hard and the dirty rice had very little flavor. Our appetizers, salads, and entrees were very delicious. Overall, the dining experience was excellent. The Parrot Cage is a hidden gem of the south shore area.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Great food, good service,

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 28, 2014

Great food, good service, and a spectacular enviornment.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Historic/Fabulous View

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 23, 2014

This was my 5th visit. Twice for brunch, the remainder for dinners. The ambiance is outstanding. The food is usually very good. One "not so great" experience with brunch. Everyone is entitled to one "not so good" day. Would certainly give it another try.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2

Nice and Smooth

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 16, 2014

In the small setting the colors and service was great. Me and my wife came in for Brunch to cap off our Anniversary week-end; and could not have chosen a better setting. Thanks so much the great service and wonderful food.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Elegant, Hidden Gem

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 16, 2014

This place if off the beaten path, which probably explains why it's seldom crowded. It's worth the trip from wherever, though. We've been going there since 2008. A great restaurant in an elegant setting run by nice people.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good dining experience

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 15, 2014

Took companion there for Valentine's Day. Food was very good and waitress was nice and respectable. Salmon was not overcooked and seasoned perfectly. Peach Cobbler dessert was very tasty as well.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Valentine's day special

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 15, 2014

We had 7:30 p.m. reservations for two and were seated immediately. The service was good and the food was decent. Since this is a teaching restaurant, I noticed that the available food items were a bit limited and light--in my opinion--on portions. If you are into the neuveau cuisine approach to dining, this is the place for you.

Personally, I prefer large portions of food when dining out. With that being said, all courses were well arranged and the food, what there was of it, was very tasty.

Next time I will try the standard menu instead of the special (in this case, Valentine's Day special) menu and maybe I will get more of the well prepared meal this place serves.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Valentine's Day Dinner

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 15, 2014

This was he third time we've been to the Parrot Cage. There was a special Valentine's Day menu, which was creative and well prepared. The service was good.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Kind of unique

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 14, 2014

The settings are most unusual: a small hall nested in a majestic, impressive old building with a sense of past grandeur. The service provided by the culinary school people, is attentive, caring and polite. The food is very good and well presented.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

OUTSTANDING MEAL

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 14, 2014

Six of us went to dinner at the Parrot Cage for a GREAT night out. The steaks and Pork Chops were divine--melted like butter tender! The crab cakes, soup--chowder, sides, particularly the asparagus, were tasty, well-seasoned and appropriate temperature. The dessert offerings varied from a healthier fair to the truly decadent. An adequate wine list that was reasonably priced. Culinary students run this place? Really? Bon Appetite!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.