About Parlor Market

Located in the heart of Jackson’s revitalized downtown area, Parlor Market specializes in Seasonal Southern cuisine, drawing inspiration and ingredients from local farmers, ranchers and deep rooted traditions. Parlor Market preserves the history of downtown Jackson with rich marble, original brick, and Antebellum wood dating back to 1858. Enjoy a pre-prohibition cocktail, a glass of Southern wine, or a beer from our extensive Southern beer list or fresh seafood from our marble topped oyster and ceviche bar. Let our team of award winning chefs inspire you with their creative dishes in our open kitchen. The Parlor Market ambiance, experience and service are unparalleled.

115 W. Capitol St.
Jackson, MS 39201
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Southern, American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Friday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm
Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Farish

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(601) 360-0090

Website:
http://www.parlormarket.com/

Catering:
We would love to cater your reception, wedding, cocktail party, birthday, business lunch or class reunion. We have an extensive choice of menu options to choose from. Let us wow you and your guests.

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet 5:30p-10:00p
Public Parking

Executive Chef:
Matthew Kajdan

Private Party Facilities:
Located just two doors down from Parlor Market’s private dining room is Albert's, a beautiful private event space with incredible handmade glass chandeliers, reclaimed wood floors and original brick walls. We can serve 100 for a seated dinner, or 200 for a cocktail reception.

Private Party Contact:
Katie Cochran: (601) 360-0090

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Parlor Market Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.4

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (20)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Good for a Date (15)
See All
Fit for Foodies (14)
Romantic (13)
Special Occasion (13)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Local Ingredients (12)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Business Meals (12)
Cozy (12)
Open Kitchen (12)
Bar Seating (10)
Tasting Menu (10)
Notable Wine List (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Authentic (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Fun (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Historic (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Healthy (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Great Beer (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Seasonal (3)
Private Room (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Tapas (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
People Watching (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Organic (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
645 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

An after Valentine's Day dinner with our ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined 5 days ago

An after Valentine's Day dinner with our wives. Everything was wonderful. The surprise went off without a hitch. The service and food were great. We had a terrific time together.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We loved our meal! Worth every penny. We ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 6 days ago

We loved our meal! Worth every penny. We will definitely be back!!

Tags: Romantic, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

A Valentine dinner. My wife and I eat o ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined 6 days ago

A Valentine dinner. My wife and I eat out often and selected Parlor Market based on past experiences. Overall, a very good dinner. The tuna appetizer was perhaps the best part of the meal Perfect! Their wedge salad is exceptional, too. The duck breast entree I had was good. Not the best I've had, but very good. My wife's filet was also very good. One thing I appreciate is an honest pour of wine - and you get that at Parlor Market. Dinner for two with a glass of wine, a cocktail, and tip was $170, so not inexpensive - but you get what you pay for. We'll be back.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

The best most creative food in Jackson b ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined 6 days ago

The best most creative food in Jackson by far. Every time we go we get the tasting menu. It allows us to try things we wouldn't normally pick for ourselves. It always exceeds my expectations.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our go-to spot for an always amazing mea ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined 6 days ago

Our go-to spot for an always amazing meal. Never disappoints. Stellar service!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The staff was obnoxious and inattentive ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The staff was obnoxious and inattentive and the food was not worth the price. We planned this dinner for our ten year anniversary and it will be unforgettable for the simple fact that we are still laughing at the unbelievable snobbery of the staff. Having a beautiful building and gorgeous bar seems to be it's only saving grace. The new owner would do well to remember that good southern manners go a long way and make a less than great meal a little easier to swallow. When we were asked by the staff at the Old Capitol Inn if we would recommend the Parlor Market to other guests, we were sure to tell them about our experience and the quality of the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

Went in for lunch and had the deviled eg ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Went in for lunch and had the deviled eggs with smoked catfish in the filling, followed by the fried oyster salad...both were winners. Dining partner had the duck gumbo and wanted more. We enjoyed it so much we went back that evening for the chefs tasting menu which was wonderful but portions were too large. We could not finish the last two courses.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Despite the fact that they cancelled my ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Despite the fact that they cancelled my open table reservations after I dined and left, it was an overall great experience. Wonderful food, great server, beautiful interior......overall great experience!

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Our server never came to refill our wine ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Our server never came to refill our wine glasses with the bottle we bought, he acted very rushed and when we told him we'd like the desert menu he brought us the check. The meat and cheese plate was good but my redfish had a terrible flavor and was over cooked so I wasn't able to eat more than a couple bites of it. My fiancé's scallops were okay, nothing impressive. Very disappointed and will not be back

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value1

We dined here both nights in Jackson. T ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We dined here both nights in Jackson. The first night it was outstanding. Our waiter ,Trevor, was on top of everything and helped us order...delicious food.

The second night, the food was delicious but the service went down. From the hostess to the bartender to the waiter...all over booked and not able to keep up

But the food was still an A!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Went there for the first time on New Yea ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Went there for the first time on New Years Eve. Very nice and relaxing atmosphere. Bar was very comfortable before we were seated. Once seating, we were greeted by a great, upbeat server. Told us about the specials and gave some suggestions. We were given ample time to decide. The food was fantastic. One of the best meals and experiences I've had since coming to Jackson 3 years ago. Parlor Market will be on the top of my list next time I'm looking for a great dinner.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Historic, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Parlor Market has been excellent every t ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Parlor Market has been excellent every time I've been and Friday was no exception. The food is always delicious and the staff polite and helpful. Would recommend 100%

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Fun, Special Occasion, Authentic, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Cozy, Private Room, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The food was outstanding, we started wit ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 22, 2016

The food was outstanding, we started with the small plates of General Tso and chicken livers and finished with lamb bolognese and duck carbonara. Would highly recommend to anyone, especially out of towners wanting to try something unique.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

In a city where restaurants and eating e ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on December 20, 2016

In a city where restaurants and eating establishments are everywhere, Parlor Market is one that truly stands out. Matthew Kajdan, the executive chef and owner does a fantastic job with a creative menu and his selection of local food items when available.

Friends who have dined with us many times at different restaurants in the Jackson metro area all agree that Parlor Market is one of their favorite restaurants.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Fun, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

You can't beat this restaurant for fresh ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 18, 2016

You can't beat this restaurant for fresh creative dishes. Fabulous!

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Great place to celebrate an anniversary. ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Great place to celebrate an anniversary. Great food, attentive service, and relaxing atmosphere. Plan to return!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I was blown away by my experience at Par ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 6, 2016

I was blown away by my experience at Parlor Market. The service was INCREDIBLE- top notch, and the best I have ever experienced. The emphasis on locally sourced food was commendable. The meal was one of the best I have ever had.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Reliably delicious. If I could come ever ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Reliably delicious. If I could come every day I would!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our server was outstanding! Clear unders ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Our server was outstanding! Clear understanding of the food and drink menus, making great recommendations. He even went out of his way to make our anniversary special with a free dessert!

Tags: Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our second visit to Parlor Mark ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on October 16, 2016

This was our second visit to Parlor Market and both have been outstanding. The Oysters Rockefeller were excellent. We opted for the Prixe Fixe and were not disappointed. 5 courses of heaven! And the paired wine selection was top notch as well. We will go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was incredible for the price. ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on October 16, 2016

The food was incredible for the price. I would have expected to pay closer to $80 per person for the quality of food and my bill with a fabulous tip for the amazing service was less than $45. I intended on having desert but left with out desert because the portions were very generous. I took my wife out for a long drive anniversary meal here and I would make the drive again! I can't say enough of how surprised I was by the quality and value.

Tags: Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, , Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I took some relatives who ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 15, 2016

My husband and I took some relatives who were visiting from out of town to Parlor Market for a treat and the whole experience was lovely. The seating was cosy but not claustrophobic, the lighting was friendly and intimate, the restaurant design was inviting and our waitress was very helpful and considerate. We enjoyed the charcuterie platter, and I loved my duck tagliatelle, which I was so face-into that I barely noticed what everyone else was eating, rare for me. Oh, and the oysters on the half shell were divine. My little village of Clinton doesn't have anything in the way of fine dining, and until we do I will not mind one bit driving into downtown Jackson to eat at Parlor Market.

Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Waiter was a bit slow. Food was deliciou ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Waiter was a bit slow. Food was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We've been to Parlor Market many times, ...

vip
 (Mississippi)·Dined on September 17, 2016

We've been to Parlor Market many times, and the quality is always great. This time, we had Lloyd as our server-- he's our favorite. He really takes care of you. I mumbled that I was cold, not expecting any response, and the next thing you know he was telling us that he had adjusted the a/c a bit & to let me know if it was good. He doesn't make me pronounce the hard wine names- he finishes it for me right away, showing me he's on the same page. Everything about this place is excellent.

Tags: Romantic, Open Kitchen, Happy Hour, Tapas, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was delicious and the service was g ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Food was delicious and the service was great. Waiters knew the menu front and back and were very attentive. Loved the creative menu and the freshness of food. Even better that most all their food was local. Jaxn gem. Will be coming back again.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Wood Oven, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Creative and authentic southern cooking. ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 8, 2016

Creative and authentic southern cooking. They use local ingredients to create delicious and uncommon food.

Tags: Authentic, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value2

DON'T WASTE YOUR $! Incredibly disappoin ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on September 3, 2016

DON'T WASTE YOUR $! Incredibly disappointing

Went for a birthday, waited 15+ minutes to be greeted by waitress, then she took the drink menu, menus were bent, torn, and ratty, got the drink menu back - ordered something with berries - got some kind of orange flavored drink, ordered the chef's tasting menu w/ wine tasting ac, waitress was CLUELESS about the menu, she never introduced the course, said what was in it, how it was prepared, what was special about it, or why the chef put it on the "highlight" menu, same w/ the wine tasting - she didn't even tell us what it was or the name of it, why it was paired w/ the food, AND it wasn't even served with the course! the 1 dish came out - waited for wine but ended up just eating it before it got cold - she finally brought the wine when she was clearing the plates for the 2 course, she acted like she'd never tasted the food nor had any knowledge of the food whatsoever, same with the wine - pretty sure she had no idea if she was even serving the correct wine, the food was mediocre - uncommon ingredients w/ okay technique, & the 2, 3, and 4 courses were ALL HEAVY - very very poor planning on the chef's behalf & the portion sizes FAR too large - this was mostly a problem b/c the waitress waited for the whole dish to be eaten b4 she cleared the table & served the next dish - by the 3 course we were pretty full so we couldn't finish it so we waited at least 45 min b4 she finally got the hint causing 4 and 5 to be rushed b/c they wanted to close right at 10 pm, 5 (dessert) was supposed to have a candle for friend's B-day, but they couldn't even get that right, to finish this ~$300 meal off - they started cleaning and flipping the chairs around 9:30 pm for the entire restaurant - which for a Chili's or Applebees - but for a meal this expensive & supposed "fine dining" HOW TACKY! & valet pulled my car up b4 I could even pay bill

WOULD NEVER recommend!! Complete waste of $$ esp. considering other GREAT choices nearby!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Delicious meal! Pork belly appetizer, re ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Delicious meal! Pork belly appetizer, redfish, and tuna were cooked to perfection - each with perfect blends of flavor. One of the best meals we've had nationally or internationally. Waiter was engaging and made great suggestions and wine pairing. Restaurant was somewhat of a surprise in a rather deteriorating city.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I work downtown and this is my favorite ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on August 15, 2016

I work downtown and this is my favorite spot for lunch, the catfish tacos are amazing!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice,quaint and romantic ... outsta ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Very nice,quaint and romantic ... outstanding menu... its downtown, but worth the drive if in outlying Jackson

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful and unique. We will be back. I ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Wonderful and unique. We will be back. It is nice to see Jackson's downtown continued improvement.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our first visit to Parlor Market will de ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Our first visit to Parlor Market will definitely lead to another. The food was fantastic and the service was phenomenal. Thoroughly enjoyed our meal and the experience of dining in an old building.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Romantic, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and atmosphere! Pasta and sa ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 2, 2016

Great food and atmosphere! Pasta and sauces were fresh and the appetizers were amazing

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent, could not believe there was a ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 25, 2016

Excellent, could not believe there was a restaurant of this caliber in Jackson, Mississippi.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

This place is incredible! Service was o ...

vip
 (Mississippi)·Dined on July 24, 2016

This place is incredible! Service was outstanding! We will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Frozen fish!! The waiter should've taken ...

 
 (London)·Dined on July 23, 2016

Frozen fish!! The waiter should've taken it off the bill as it could not be eaten. Good ambiance at least.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

We have dined at Parlor Market a few tim ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 22, 2016

We have dined at Parlor Market a few times previously and had enjoyable experiences. Our service was great last Thursday evening, but the menu is tired. I am not sure that the offerings have changed over the last 4-5 years.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

Recommended by the hostess at our B&B (b ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 22, 2016

Recommended by the hostess at our B&B (best place in Jackson), we made last minute reservations for a Thursday night and were very pleased. Good food, best cheese plate we have had, and very enjoyable entrees.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

While traveling through Jax to Louisiana ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 20, 2016

While traveling through Jax to Louisiana. Found The Parlor Market via open table. What a find! One of the best fried chicken dishes ever. The spicy honey was a great touch. The ginger carrots and Mac n cheese were decadent. The prices were incredibly reasonable for the portions.

Dana was a most attentive and accommodating server. He explained the history of the building and how the restaurant tied in the reclaimed wood and gorgeous marble. Dana provided directions to the Walter Payton rec center down the street, knowing I was from Chicago (go Bears!). He even provided an iced tea for the road!! What a nice person!

The owner/chef Matthew spent time talking about his local food source. Such personable service!

What a gem of a place! All you local professionals, make sure you support this establishment! If Matt opened The Parlor in Chicago , he'd make a mint!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The duck sausage and duck gumbo was phen ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 20, 2016

The duck sausage and duck gumbo was phenomenal! I was not expecting to find this place in Jackson MS. The food was amazing along with the presentation and the service. It reminded me of my favorite restaurant in San Antonio "Bliss". We will come back when we are back in town again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.