Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi

About Parlor Market

Located in the heart of Jackson’s revitalized downtown area, Parlor Market specializes in Seasonal Southern cuisine, drawing inspiration and ingredients from local farmers, ranchers and deep rooted traditions. Parlor Market preserves the history of downtown Jackson with rich marble, original brick, and Antebellum wood dating back to 1858. Enjoy a pre-prohibition cocktail, a glass of Southern wine, or a beer from our extensive Southern beer list or fresh seafood from our marble topped oyster and ceviche bar. Let our team of award winning chefs inspire you with their creative dishes in our open kitchen. The Parlor Market ambiance, experience and service are unparalleled.

115 W. Capitol St.
Jackson, MS 39201
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Southern, American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Friday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm
Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Farish

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(601) 360-0090

Website:
http://www.parlormarket.com/

Catering:
We would love to cater your reception, wedding, cocktail party, birthday, business lunch or class reunion. We have an extensive choice of menu options to choose from. Let us wow you and your guests.

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet 5:30p-10:00p
Public Parking

Executive Chef:
Matthew Kajdan

Private Party Facilities:
Located just two doors down from Parlor Market’s private dining room is Albert's, a beautiful private event space with incredible handmade glass chandeliers, reclaimed wood floors and original brick walls. We can serve 100 for a seated dinner, or 200 for a cocktail reception.

Private Party Contact:
Katie Cochran: (601) 360-0090

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Parlor Market Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (24)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Good for a Date (17)
See All
Local Ingredients (16)
Business Meals (14)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Cozy (13)
Romantic (13)
Special Occasion (13)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Open Kitchen (12)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Fun (10)
Tasting Menu (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Notable Wine List (9)
Authentic (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Great for Lunch (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Historic (4)
Healthy (4)
Seasonal (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Great Beer (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Tapas (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Private Room (1)
Organic (1)
People Watching (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
651 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined 4 days ago

We had a great date at Parlor Market. This is our second visit, and both times we really enjoyed the entire experience. The food was great and so was the service. Our wait staff was professional and personable and on top of everything.

Thanks!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Business Meals, Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined 6 days ago

One of the worst waiter experiences I have ever had. I eat out a lot, and all over the country. Lack of attention. Screwed up my credit card charge. Took 30 minutes to clear up, and it still was not correct. Food was good except for the burger being red/pink and we ordered it medium well. Not even close to medium well, but didn't have time to cook more as we were trying to make a concert. Very disappointed in our experience. Too many other good choices for restaurants to have to wrestle with this.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined 6 days ago

Great menu. Wonderful ambiance. Really enjoyed my meal

Tags: Quick Bite, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Parlor market was great. Food was delicious and different. We had duck 2 different ways and the steak was delicious. All the small plates were good. We went there right after they opened and weren't impressed. The 2 times we have been since our initial trip were excellent. They have really got their act together now. One of the best meals I've had in Jackson!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Fantastic meal, will for sure visit again the next time I am in Jackson.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on February 16, 2017

An after Valentine's Day dinner with our wives. Everything was wonderful. The surprise went off without a hitch. The service and food were great. We had a terrific time together.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We loved our meal! Worth every penny. We will definitely be back!!

Tags: Romantic, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on February 15, 2017

A Valentine dinner. My wife and I eat out often and selected Parlor Market based on past experiences. Overall, a very good dinner. The tuna appetizer was perhaps the best part of the meal Perfect! Their wedge salad is exceptional, too. The duck breast entree I had was good. Not the best I've had, but very good. My wife's filet was also very good. One thing I appreciate is an honest pour of wine - and you get that at Parlor Market. Dinner for two with a glass of wine, a cocktail, and tip was $170, so not inexpensive - but you get what you pay for. We'll be back.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The best most creative food in Jackson by far. Every time we go we get the tasting menu. It allows us to try things we wouldn't normally pick for ourselves. It always exceeds my expectations.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Our go-to spot for an always amazing meal. Never disappoints. Stellar service!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The staff was obnoxious and inattentive and the food was not worth the price. We planned this dinner for our ten year anniversary and it will be unforgettable for the simple fact that we are still laughing at the unbelievable snobbery of the staff. Having a beautiful building and gorgeous bar seems to be it's only saving grace. The new owner would do well to remember that good southern manners go a long way and make a less than great meal a little easier to swallow. When we were asked by the staff at the Old Capitol Inn if we would recommend the Parlor Market to other guests, we were sure to tell them about our experience and the quality of the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Went in for lunch and had the deviled eggs with smoked catfish in the filling, followed by the fried oyster salad...both were winners. Dining partner had the duck gumbo and wanted more. We enjoyed it so much we went back that evening for the chefs tasting menu which was wonderful but portions were too large. We could not finish the last two courses.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Dubai)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Food overall was fantastic! The yakamen was a bit salty but the wagyu rib was falling off the bone tender. The oysters Rockefeller were creamy and just so succulent. The duck sausage barely had any fat on it and paired perfectly with the garnish. The pork cheeks were just amazing. Crispy on the outside and so tender and moist on the inside. Just spectacular. I'd go back to Jackson just to stop by Parlor Market!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Despite the fact that they cancelled my open table reservations after I dined and left, it was an overall great experience. Wonderful food, great server, beautiful interior......overall great experience!

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Our server never came to refill our wine glasses with the bottle we bought, he acted very rushed and when we told him we'd like the desert menu he brought us the check. The meat and cheese plate was good but my redfish had a terrible flavor and was over cooked so I wasn't able to eat more than a couple bites of it. My fiancé's scallops were okay, nothing impressive. Very disappointed and will not be back

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value1

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We dined here both nights in Jackson. The first night it was outstanding. Our waiter ,Trevor, was on top of everything and helped us order...delicious food.

The second night, the food was delicious but the service went down. From the hostess to the bartender to the waiter...all over booked and not able to keep up
But the food was still an A!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Went there for the first time on New Years Eve. Very nice and relaxing atmosphere. Bar was very comfortable before we were seated. Once seating, we were greeted by a great, upbeat server. Told us about the specials and gave some suggestions. We were given ample time to decide. The food was fantastic. One of the best meals and experiences I've had since coming to Jackson 3 years ago. Parlor Market will be on the top of my list next time I'm looking for a great dinner.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Historic, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Parlor Market has been excellent every time I've been and Friday was no exception. The food is always delicious and the staff polite and helpful. Would recommend 100%

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Fun, Special Occasion, Authentic, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Cozy, Private Room, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 22, 2016

The food was outstanding, we started with the small plates of General Tso and chicken livers and finished with lamb bolognese and duck carbonara. Would highly recommend to anyone, especially out of towners wanting to try something unique.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on December 20, 2016

In a city where restaurants and eating establishments are everywhere, Parlor Market is one that truly stands out. Matthew Kajdan, the executive chef and owner does a fantastic job with a creative menu and his selection of local food items when available.

Friends who have dined with us many times at different restaurants in the Jackson metro area all agree that Parlor Market is one of their favorite restaurants.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Fun, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 18, 2016

You can't beat this restaurant for fresh creative dishes. Fabulous!

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Great place to celebrate an anniversary. Great food, attentive service, and relaxing atmosphere. Plan to return!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 6, 2016

I was blown away by my experience at Parlor Market. The service was INCREDIBLE- top notch, and the best I have ever experienced. The emphasis on locally sourced food was commendable. The meal was one of the best I have ever had.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Reliably delicious. If I could come every day I would!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Our server was outstanding! Clear understanding of the food and drink menus, making great recommendations. He even went out of his way to make our anniversary special with a free dessert!

Tags: Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on October 16, 2016

This was our second visit to Parlor Market and both have been outstanding. The Oysters Rockefeller were excellent. We opted for the Prixe Fixe and were not disappointed. 5 courses of heaven! And the paired wine selection was top notch as well. We will go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on October 16, 2016

The food was incredible for the price. I would have expected to pay closer to $80 per person for the quality of food and my bill with a fabulous tip for the amazing service was less than $45. I intended on having desert but left with out desert because the portions were very generous. I took my wife out for a long drive anniversary meal here and I would make the drive again! I can't say enough of how surprised I was by the quality and value.

Tags: Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 15, 2016

My husband and I took some relatives who were visiting from out of town to Parlor Market for a treat and the whole experience was lovely. The seating was cosy but not claustrophobic, the lighting was friendly and intimate, the restaurant design was inviting and our waitress was very helpful and considerate. We enjoyed the charcuterie platter, and I loved my duck tagliatelle, which I was so face-into that I barely noticed what everyone else was eating, rare for me. Oh, and the oysters on the half shell were divine. My little village of Clinton doesn't have anything in the way of fine dining, and until we do I will not mind one bit driving into downtown Jackson to eat at Parlor Market.

Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Waiter was a bit slow. Food was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Mississippi)·Dined on September 17, 2016

We've been to Parlor Market many times, and the quality is always great. This time, we had Lloyd as our server-- he's our favorite. He really takes care of you. I mumbled that I was cold, not expecting any response, and the next thing you know he was telling us that he had adjusted the a/c a bit & to let me know if it was good. He doesn't make me pronounce the hard wine names- he finishes it for me right away, showing me he's on the same page. Everything about this place is excellent.

Tags: Romantic, Open Kitchen, Happy Hour, Tapas, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Food was delicious and the service was great. Waiters knew the menu front and back and were very attentive. Loved the creative menu and the freshness of food. Even better that most all their food was local. Jaxn gem. Will be coming back again.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Wood Oven, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 8, 2016

Creative and authentic southern cooking. They use local ingredients to create delicious and uncommon food.

Tags: Authentic, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on September 3, 2016

DON'T WASTE YOUR $! Incredibly disappointing

Went for a birthday, waited 15+ minutes to be greeted by waitress, then she took the drink menu, menus were bent, torn, and ratty, got the drink menu back - ordered something with berries - got some kind of orange flavored drink, ordered the chef's tasting menu w/ wine tasting ac, waitress was CLUELESS about the menu, she never introduced the course, said what was in it, how it was prepared, what was special about it, or why the chef put it on the "highlight" menu, same w/ the wine tasting - she didn't even tell us what it was or the name of it, why it was paired w/ the food, AND it wasn't even served with the course! the 1 dish came out - waited for wine but ended up just eating it before it got cold - she finally brought the wine when she was clearing the plates for the 2 course, she acted like she'd never tasted the food nor had any knowledge of the food whatsoever, same with the wine - pretty sure she had no idea if she was even serving the correct wine, the food was mediocre - uncommon ingredients w/ okay technique, & the 2, 3, and 4 courses were ALL HEAVY - very very poor planning on the chef's behalf & the portion sizes FAR too large - this was mostly a problem b/c the waitress waited for the whole dish to be eaten b4 she cleared the table & served the next dish - by the 3 course we were pretty full so we couldn't finish it so we waited at least 45 min b4 she finally got the hint causing 4 and 5 to be rushed b/c they wanted to close right at 10 pm, 5 (dessert) was supposed to have a candle for friend's B-day, but they couldn't even get that right, to finish this ~$300 meal off - they started cleaning and flipping the chairs around 9:30 pm for the entire restaurant - which for a Chili's or Applebees - but for a meal this expensive & supposed "fine dining" HOW TACKY! & valet pulled my car up b4 I could even pay bill

WOULD NEVER recommend!! Complete waste of $$ esp. considering other GREAT choices nearby!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Delicious meal! Pork belly appetizer, redfish, and tuna were cooked to perfection - each with perfect blends of flavor. One of the best meals we've had nationally or internationally. Waiter was engaging and made great suggestions and wine pairing. Restaurant was somewhat of a surprise in a rather deteriorating city.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on August 15, 2016

I work downtown and this is my favorite spot for lunch, the catfish tacos are amazing!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Very nice,quaint and romantic ... outstanding menu... its downtown, but worth the drive if in outlying Jackson

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Wonderful and unique. We will be back. It is nice to see Jackson's downtown continued improvement.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Our first visit to Parlor Market will definitely lead to another. The food was fantastic and the service was phenomenal. Thoroughly enjoyed our meal and the experience of dining in an old building.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Romantic, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 2, 2016

Great food and atmosphere! Pasta and sauces were fresh and the appetizers were amazing

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 25, 2016

Excellent, could not believe there was a restaurant of this caliber in Jackson, Mississippi.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.