About Parlor Market

115 W. Capitol St.
Jackson, MS 39201
View Larger Map

Located in the heart of Jackson’s revitalized downtown area, Parlor Market specializes in Seasonal Southern cuisine, drawing inspiration and ingredients from local farmers, ranchers and deep rooted traditions. Parlor Market preserves the history of downtown Jackson with rich marble, original brick, and Antebellum wood dating back to 1858. Enjoy a pre-prohibition cocktail, a glass of Southern wine, or a beer from our extensive Southern beer list or fresh seafood from our marble topped oyster and ceviche bar. Let our team of award winning chefs inspire you with their creative dishes in our open kitchen. The Parlor Market ambiance, experience and service are unparalleled.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Southern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Friday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm
Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Farish

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(601) 360-0090

Website:
http://www.parlormarket.com/

Catering:
We would love to cater your reception, wedding, cocktail party, birthday, business lunch or class reunion. We have an extensive choice of menu options to choose from. Let us wow you and your guests.

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet 5:30p-10:00p
Public Parking

Executive Chef:
Matthew Kajdan

Private Party Facilities:
Located just two doors down from Parlor Market’s private dining room is Albert's, a beautiful private event space with incredible handmade glass chandeliers, reclaimed wood floors and original brick walls. We can serve 100 for a seated dinner, or 200 for a cocktail reception.

Private Party Contact:
Laura Hillman: 6013600090x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Red Snapper Over Quinoa
duck sausage
Smoked Duck Gumbo
Sweet Tea Chicken
Oysters
Southern Cheese Plate
Hot and Cold Foie Gras
Chocolate PeNut Cake
Spicy Pork Rinds
Peanuts Boilied
Duck Confit Salad with Duck Cracklin
PM Burger
Cornbread and Butter
Corpse Reviver #2
Charcuterie plate
Fried Oyster Salad
Am Burger With Bacon, Egg, White Cheddar, Maple Syrup
Seared Ahi Tuna Salad
Daily Fish
Seafood Platter
Spicy Pimiento Cheese
Walk Down Memory Lane
Braised Beef Short Rib Stroganoff
Grilled Pork Chop With Cauliflower Gratin
Mississippi Rabbit Roll
Mussels And Matchsticks Captain style
Farmers Market Veggie Sandwich With Side Green Salad

Parlor Market Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Food
Mississippi
Best Value
Mississippi
Fit for Foodies
Mississippi
2 More
Notable Wine List
Mississippi
Most Booked
Jackson
Best Restaurants in Jackson ›

fit for foodies (34)
special occasion (32)
neighborhood gem (19)
See All
romantic (19)
notable wine list (17)
good for groups (16)
hot spot (12)
vibrant bar scene (9)
great for lunch (7)
great for brunch (3)
great for outdoor dining (3)
late-night find (2)
scenic view (2)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
567 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

While traveling through Jax to Louisiana ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 3 days ago

While traveling through Jax to Louisiana. Found The Parlor Market via open table. What a find! One of the best fried chicken dishes ever. The spicy honey was a great touch. The ginger carrots and Mac n cheese were decadent. The prices were incredibly reasonable for the portions.

Dana was a most attentive and accommodating server. He explained the history of the building and how the restaurant tied in the reclaimed wood and gorgeous marble. Dana provided directions to the Walter Payton rec center down the street, knowing I was from Chicago (go Bears!). He even provided an iced tea for the road!! What a nice person!

The owner/chef Matthew spent time talking about his local food source. Such personable service!

What a gem of a place! All you local professionals, make sure you support this establishment! If Matt opened The Parlor in Chicago , he'd make a mint!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The duck sausage and duck gumbo was phen ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined 4 days ago

The duck sausage and duck gumbo was phenomenal! I was not expecting to find this place in Jackson MS. The food was amazing along with the presentation and the service. It reminded me of my favorite restaurant in San Antonio "Bliss". We will come back when we are back in town again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place for date night! Will definit ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Great place for date night! Will definitely go again soon!!!

Tags: romantic, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dining experience! Our waitress Mi ...

vip
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Great dining experience! Our waitress Misty was knowledgeable and very pleasant. Enjoyed it so much. We'll be back soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food! Every bite beyond flavorf ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Amazing food! Every bite beyond flavorful. Husband and I in town for a weekend, found them online. Waitress was beyond helpful, menu offers something for everyone. We had a wonderful dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We did the 5 course Pre Fixe menu with t ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

We did the 5 course Pre Fixe menu with the wine pairing. The food was amazing. The wine pairing was just as good. Can't wait to do it again!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had the chef's tasting menu and it wa ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

We had the chef's tasting menu and it was everything. Dan our server was excellent and the chef came out to thank us for ordering the menu and ensure we enjoyed it. I would go back again and again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I would travel back to Jackson only beca ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

I would travel back to Jackson only because of this restaurant - I would classify the food as creative contemporary southern style where quality and preparation are comparable to high end restaurant in New York or Las Vegas.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I eat here every time I am in Jackson.

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

I eat here every time I am in Jackson.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our dining experience was wonderful. Th ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Our dining experience was wonderful. The food was awesome!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Allergy Friendly

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Waygu steak Pittsburgh Style is Amazing. The duck & andouille gumbo complemented with their jambalaya was awesome too.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food but

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

The food was first class and our waitress was excellent. There was another waiter that must have made 50 trips in front of our table and was very distracting. No privacy in seating. I felt like I was part of the conversation with the tables on either side of us. Love the food but for the price I will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

downtown fine dining

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

My girlfriend and I dined here as part of a weekend getaway. We'd read about Parlor Market in Garden & Gun and discovered that it was only steps from our downtown hotel. We enjoyed whisky cocktails before sharing appetizers and an entree. The oysters ("Rockefeller" style with pork belly) were tasty, and the chicken livers (with watermelon barbecue sauce and pimiento cheese) were even better. Pickled watermelon rinds were a smart complement to the livers. The trout-and-grits entree came split onto two plates. We weren't sure that the breading added much, but overall the dish was well prepared and delicious. The emphasis is clearly on fresh, local or regional ingredients, and they carry a decent selection of wines and craft beers. I would definitely recommend Parlor Market to others and would return myself for dinner, lunch, or a drink at the bar. Admittedly this section of downtown has seen better days, but other highlights within walking distance include the Mississippi Museum of Art and the Big Apple Inn.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

special restaurant

 
·Dined on May 25, 2016

always love to go to parlor market; gives folks a great reason to go downtown; always a fun and different menu; loved our waitress Misti

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Food was excellent. We had duck and stea ...

vip
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Food was excellent. We had duck and steak. Both prepared appropriately. Bar was slow but drinks were good. Service was very good. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Food great! Service not so much!

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We were a party of ten, and the waiter was disinterested. At first we thought they must add an automatic tip for a large party, but they did not. So we were baffled why he seemed so indifferent. We saw him when he took our order, and from that point on he was no where to be seen. He never asked if we wanted another drink or refill. The filet was outstanding! I would go to this restaurant if you are a foodie but if you are looking for attentive service, go elsewhere.

Tags: fit for foodies
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

Great entree and dessert

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Great entree and dessert

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

The first time was great but ont Saturday night.

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

I've been there twice and the first time was really good. Saturday night the food wasn't good at all and very expensive. It was very disappointing.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

Fabulous Food!

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

I love this place! Live in Collierville, TN, in Jackson, MS for a wedding. HAD TO come her for dinner. I have never had scallops that were cook to total perfection! The duck sausage Raviolo were unusual and wonderful. Loved every bite of everything!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Parlor market never disappoints. The fri ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

Parlor market never disappoints. The fried oyster salad and the sashimi tuna salads as well as the entree fish special were delicious. Their oysters Rockefeller are wonderful. They are now making a blueberry cobbler topped with ice cream which is a must. The staff are very attentive, courteous and professional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good meal for clients

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

Brought to dinner clients from Belgium and Spain who travel much. They enjoyed the atmosphere and food. They said their reddish and salmon were flavorful along with the LuckyTown beer. They had not had deviled eggs before but had seconds . They hesitantely ordered creme breulea for desert knowing what real creme breulea tastes like. But were pleasantly suprised. Good time.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Dinner out in Jackson

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

I've looked at this restaurant a couple of times while in Jackson visiting college student son and this was the first time to go. It was all very good, but the duck gumbo was outstanding! I likely could've eaten a gallon or so. The redfish as delicious as well. And the craft cocktails were a hit with our group.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Overall not worth the 4+ stars at all. ...

 
·Dined on April 20, 2016

Overall not worth the 4+ stars at all. Service was friendly but it took 1.25 hours before we had our full meal. 45 minutes after ordering, and not a crowded Tuesday night, before our main service began. Overall the food was healthy and tasty but the shrimp and grits was too fishy smelling and runny. Bartender and drinks were the highlight along with ambience. Hopefully this was their "off" night but I'd not recommend it again unfortunately

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

Family Dinner Saturday Night

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

I was visiting family over Easter Weekend and we had a terrific dinner at Parlor Market. It is a grown up's restaurant - pretty, interesting menu, informed yet casual service. Our food was outstanding. It's not inexpensive but worth the pennies.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The pork cheeks small plate was amazing! ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

The pork cheeks small plate was amazing!!! Everything was wonderful with the exception of the bottle of red wine we ordered was very cold, unfortunately. Nothing a little elbow grease (rubbing the bottle between my hands) wouldn't fix. Overall great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Pure Goodness

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

Food was superb! They had an alternative menu for St. Paddy's Day, but they called to make sure I was aware and to see if I still wanted the reservation. Great service!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious, charming, friendly

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on March 15, 2016

While traveling for work I had a solo early lunch at Parlor. The service was warm and attentive and the food (BBQ pork po' boy special with a side of greens) was amazingly tasty. My server, Colton, recommended a local gin and, when I liked it, checked to see if the distillery was open for tours so I could swing by after lunch. He even offered me an iced tea to go, which was unnecessary but very kind. I'll definitely be going back next time I'm in Jackson.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect celebration

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

Once again we were delighted with all aspects of our dining experience. Our table of six started with fresh gulf oysters that were salty & cold & a seared blue fin tuna that was perfection. The redfish special was delicious s well as the ribeye steak special. Wine pairings were excellent & we shared a couple of our favorite desserts- the Creme Brûlée & the chocolate brownie with coffee ice cream Our waiter Lloyd was as always a pleasure. A great celebratory night

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome!!

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

Great food and romantic scene!! Great for date night!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was amazing, the service was good

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

Food was amazing, the service was good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great food and service as usual. Wait st ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

Great food and service as usual. Wait staff and bar tenders are always top notch and never had a bad meal prepared.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Choose to dine at the lovely bar- the po ...

 
 (Little Rock)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Choose to dine at the lovely bar- the pork chop entree was amazing!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Elegant and classy! Great staff, wonderf ...

 
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Elegant and classy! Great staff, wonderful food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Eat and Show

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on February 12, 2016

Went to Parlor prior to the show. Loyd was very helpful and personal. So was the hostess.

Food and wine was very good with the exception of the burger being too salty.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful dinner. The food was great. ...

vip
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

Wonderful dinner. The food was great. Our server, Dana, was incredible. He made us feel right at home and made the night special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This place cannot be missed while in Jac ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on February 3, 2016

This place cannot be missed while in Jackson , amazing food and very classy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Before a play

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on February 1, 2016

Went there before a play for an early dinner. Food was great, service was wonderful and got out in time for the play.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great experience

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on January 27, 2016

I was on a business dinner with 2 important clients and could not have asked for a better dining experience. The food was excellent and atmosphere cosmopolitan. Service was great with knowledgeable waiter who knew the menu and the drink menu which was extensive. Everyone was impressed with the food and I like the variety of food - everything from rabbit to filet.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Probably will not be back

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 24, 2016

quality of food good though portions on small side, especially given the cost. No drinks, shared appetizers, and main dish was about $35-40 pp before gratuity. Seating about 1/3 of the way into the restaurant from the door so each time door was open, got hit with cold air. Service OK.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

The appetizers were fantastic, the food ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on January 21, 2016

The appetizers were fantastic, the food was great. Very friendly staff. Everyone enjoyed it will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.