Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi

About Parlor Market

Located in the heart of Jackson’s revitalized downtown area, Parlor Market specializes in modern Italian cuisine with Southern influences, drawing inspiration and ingredients from local farmers, ranchers and deep rooted traditions. Parlor Market preserves the history of downtown Jackson with rich marble, original brick, and Antebellum wood dating back to 1858. Locally owned by a team of award winning chefs, let us inspire you with our daily made fresh pasta and creative dishes in our open kitchen. The Parlor Market ambiance, experience and service are unparalleled.

115 W. Capitol St.
Jackson, MS 39201
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Saturday 5:00-until
Take-out and Catering available

Cross Street:
Farish

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(601) 360-0090

Website:
http://www.parlormarket.com/

Catering:
We would love to cater your reception, wedding, cocktail party, birthday, business lunch or class reunion. We have an extensive choice of menu options to choose from. Let us wow you and your guests.

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet 5:30p-10:00p
Public Parking

Executive Chef:
Matthew Kajdan

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Parlor Market Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (19)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Local Ingredients (10)
See All
Fit for Foodies (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Special Occasion (8)
Business Meals (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Fun (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Casual (4)
Cozy (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Romantic (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Authentic (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Organic (1)
Seasonal (1)
Tapas (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
695 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

There are only two critiques-1. The table was a little too close to the kitchen and it was warm for half the table, in Mississippi, in September. 2. The bartender was a little too slow getting cocktails or basic bottles of beer out/made. The bar was not busy, but when I went to the bar and changed a friends cocktail it was delivered right after I sat back down. So I don’t know if it’s the waiter/tress or bartender. It was fantastic, great for the large groups we dine with. It was a first time for the group and everyone was very impressed with our recommendations!

Tags: Seasonal, Healthy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined 3 days ago

I have always liked Parlor Market. I have been told it recently changed owners which is probably why the menu is somewhat changed. However, my favorite dish the fried oyster salad is still on the menu & I rather like the expanded selections. Nevertheless, we did have a bit of a problem with slow service. We didn't think it was the waiter but instead a slow kitchen. We were almost late for a MSO performance. And we alerted our waiter in advance that we needed to leave at a certain time. We still enjoyed our visit and the delicious food. One great advantage of PM is the valet service! It is Awesome!

.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 4 days ago

Congratulations, Open Table!
Parlor Market has a new owner and chef(s) along with a new Italian themed menu.

Of every Googled entry (including one titled "PM-new menu") only Open Table had the new menu and the backstory about the new Chef owner(s).

The food was excellent as at all of Derek's venues. Don't miss this one!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined 4 days ago

This was my first time to PM and I definitely was not disappointed! I chose this restaurant to celebrate a birthday lunch with my niece. Lunch was incredible starting with our Fried Bread and Butter house pickles with house made ranch and smoky comeback. We enjoyed the Shrimp Primavera and ordered a side salad. The entree was wonderful with lots of fresh ingredients and incredible tasting shrimp. We went with the house citrus vinaigrette with our salad. It was by far the tastiest dressing to complement the salad. It did not clash with the Spy Valley wine we had. Next came our finale, the salted caramel cake of which we got the next to the last piece.

I cannot say enough about this restaurant from the decor and how well they have preserved a piece of history in Jackson - to the excellence in ingredients which is shown in all of their food. While parking is a little bit of a challenge if you are driving in for lunch - it is well made up for in your meal. Dinner however has valet parking which is a plus.

If you have not experienced this restaurant go see what you are missing out on!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Had an early dinner before a concert. Shared an heirloom tomato/mozzarella salad that was very good and plenty to share. My wife had the Carbonara pasta and I had the Lamb Bolognese pasta. Both were somewhat disappointing. Best course was dessert, olive oil cake. Delicious!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 9, 2017

We are a big fan of other restaurants operated by the same folks, so we tried Parlor Market for the first time since new ownership. Food and service was not up to par yet with their other restaurants. We will give it one more shot some time in the future hopeful of improvement.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Acoustics could be improved to dampen noise level a bit, especially in this historic repurposed building.

But food and attentiveness of staff were excellent. Desserts were particularly tasty.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 18, 2017

The young man Vincent he was very helpful. Very knowledgeable able the foods that was being offered. He was very friendly . I will most defiantly be returning for weekday lunch .

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Oysters Rockefeller were exquisite. Fish dish and veal were delicious. Service great.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 16, 2017

The only reason I didn't give them 5 stars is because the table had so much gunk on it everything stuck to it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 15, 2017

First time in Jackson and we stumbled on this amazing restaurant. Top-notch food and great service. This would be in my regular rotation if I lived anywhere near Jackson. Loved the fried oyster salad with comeback sauce. Super yummy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Springfield)·Dined on August 12, 2017

The food was amazing. We had small bites of beef carpaccio, short rib gnocchi both were some of the best ever! The wedge salad was delicious. Kids loved the Pasta Carbonara with bacon and peas and Spaghetti and Meatballs. Wonderful atmosphere! Great service. We would highly recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Atmosphere great, excellent service, food was delicious. Highly recommend

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Organic, Casual, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Great atmosphere, which is rare in downtown Jackson. Meatballs were excellent!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

So fun and delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Always wonderful, great food and service. Great dinner out.

Tags: Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Mississippi)·Dined on July 26, 2017

exceptional dinner as usual- the tomato & mozzarella salad was excellent & the beef carpaccio is so yummy- we had Lloyd as our waiter, he's one of our favorites & took great care of us

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

So great! Dinner and drinks were fantastic

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on July 14, 2017

All the same charm as when it opened, Derek Emerson has worked to keep PM faithful to Craig's vision. It is the same ambience and great staff, with a completely updated menu. While original and

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Mississippi)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Jennifer and Derek are amazing in their newest venture!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Ate twice while in town. Both meals were delicious.

Tags: Authentic, Bar Seating, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 12, 2017

I travel to Jackson at least once a month and The Parlor Market is ALWAYS on my go-to list places to eat each trip! I get the duck breast with butternut squash puree and Brussels sprouts w/candied bacon and savor every bite! All of the wait staff are good but I prefer to sit at one of Dana's tables.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on June 5, 2017

The only knock on the restaurant was the wood, smoky smell. I have been to Parlor Market several times before and the smell was not that overwhelming. I could imagine the smell would bother someone who had sinus issues.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Food is a highly creative set of variations on southern classics with a strong adherence to being locavore. Oysters on half shell were plump with just the right blend of sweet and briny. Cocktails well done. My pork chop was the juiciest I have ever had. The fried oyster salad featured a half head of romaine lettuce grilled with the oysters and their comeback sauce

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 30, 2017

First time for lunch. Dining area was smoky so returning to work was tough. Nothing like sitting in meetings smelling like a grill. Food was good but the place was loud for not having very many people in there. The tables are very close to each other so if it is packed, it may be a bit uncomfortable. I will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Service, food and ambience was excellent ! We will definitely return so.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Wonderful food and service. Loved it!

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Excellent seafood and the chef was very accommodating.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Cocktails great. Food great. Hostess great. Waitress not very friendly.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

vip
 (Mississippi)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Great, great experience with one of the South's true gems.

Tags: Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Our meal was delicious start to finish. This was our second time dinning at Parlor Market and it remains our favorite place in Jackson for fine dinning. Love their use of seasonal local ingredients.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Authentic, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on May 2, 2017

For some reason this was our least favorite experience from a service standpoint. Maybe he was overwhelmed, maybe he prejudged us as being too young to afford the restaurant? We have eaten here 10+ times over the last year and will continue to return but may ask for a different server.

Tags: Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Fun, Quick Bite, Romantic, Business Meals, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on April 29, 2017

We've been to parlor Market before and loved it!! This time not so much. Our food was just ok. We had the lamb bolagnese. It was sweet tasting -just ok. I had the red fish which smelled fishy. The restaurant itself is gorgeous. Service was good. Overall just ok. We certainly didn't leave there feeling we had to rush back anytime soon!!

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Outstanding service and food located in Downtown Jackson. Most ingredients are purchased locally. Complimentary valet parking is a great benefit.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Authentic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The ambiance was delightful. We had had a cozy table for two couples. Our waitress was attentive and informed about the menu and specials. Our drinks, appetizers and entres all arrived in a timely fashion. The food was delicious. The only downside is that Parlor Market is pricy.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Love the food and the atmosphere. We had prime ribeye and the pork chops and the portion sizes were well worth the prices. We had enough to eat an additional meal the next day! Great new date night spot for us :)

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Great place to entertain guests on my birthday when I had to postpone my celebratory jazz brunch due to extenuating circumstances. Good food, excellent service, comfortable and welcoming atmosphere.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on April 25, 2017

A great venue with inviting atmosphere. A fun place to go in a downtown that is trying to revitalize itself. Great local raised food.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Healthy, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Organic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Outstanding late night dinner with attentive and knowledgeable service from Reed. We will definitely return next time we are in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Excellent meat! Great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.