About Parlor Market

115 W. Capitol St.
Jackson, MS 39201
View Larger Map

Located in the heart of Jackson’s revitalized downtown area, Parlor Market specializes in Seasonal Southern cuisine, drawing inspiration and ingredients from local farmers, ranchers and deep rooted traditions. Parlor Market preserves the history of downtown Jackson with rich marble, original brick, and Antebellum wood dating back to 1858. Enjoy a pre-prohibition cocktail, a glass of Southern wine, or a beer from our extensive Southern beer list or fresh seafood from our marble topped oyster and ceviche bar. Let our team of award winning chefs inspire you with their creative dishes in our open kitchen. The Parlor Market ambiance, experience and service are unparalleled.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Southern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Friday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm
Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Farish

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(601) 360-0090

Website:
http://www.parlormarket.com/

Catering:
We would love to cater your reception, wedding, cocktail party, birthday, business lunch or class reunion. We have an extensive choice of menu options to choose from. Let us wow you and your guests.

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet 5:30p-10:00p
Public Parking

Executive Chef:
Matthew Kajdan

Private Party Facilities:
Located just two doors down from Parlor Market’s private dining room is Albert's, a beautiful private event space with incredible handmade glass chandeliers, reclaimed wood floors and original brick walls. We can serve 100 for a seated dinner, or 200 for a cocktail reception.

Private Party Contact:
Laura Hillman: 6013600090x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Red Snapper Over Quinoa
duck sausage
Smoked Duck Gumbo
Sweet Tea Chicken
Oysters
Southern Cheese Plate
Hot and Cold Foie Gras
Chocolate PeNut Cake
Spicy Pork Rinds
Peanuts Boilied
Duck Confit Salad with Duck Cracklin
PM Burger
Cornbread and Butter
Corpse Reviver #2
Charcuterie plate
Fried Oyster Salad
Am Burger With Bacon, Egg, White Cheddar, Maple Syrup
Seared Ahi Tuna Salad
Daily Fish
Seafood Platter
Spicy Pimiento Cheese
Walk Down Memory Lane
Braised Beef Short Rib Stroganoff
Grilled Pork Chop With Cauliflower Gratin
Mississippi Rabbit Roll
Mussels And Matchsticks Captain style
Farmers Market Veggie Sandwich With Side Green Salad

Parlor Market Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Mississippi
Best Food
Mississippi
Best Service
Mississippi
5 More
Best Ambiance
Mississippi
Best Value
Mississippi
Fit for Foodies
Mississippi
Neighborhood Gem
Mississippi
Most Booked
Jackson
Best Restaurants in Jackson ›

special occasion (41)
fit for foodies (39)
romantic (26)
See All
neighborhood gem (22)
notable wine list (21)
good for groups (20)
hot spot (14)
great for lunch (12)
vibrant bar scene (10)
late-night find (5)
scenic view (3)
great for brunch (3)
great for outdoor dining (3)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
559 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I would travel back to Jackson only beca ...

Dined 3 days ago

I would travel back to Jackson only because of this restaurant - I would classify the food as creative contemporary southern style where quality and preparation are comparable to high end restaurant in New York or Las Vegas.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our dining experience was wonderful. Th ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Our dining experience was wonderful. The food was awesome!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Allergy Friendly

Dined on June 9, 2016

Waygu steak Pittsburgh Style is Amazing. The duck & andouille gumbo complemented with their jambalaya was awesome too.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

Great food but

Dined on June 9, 2016

The food was first class and our waitress was excellent. There was another waiter that must have made 50 trips in front of our table and was very distracting. No privacy in seating. I felt like I was part of the conversation with the tables on either side of us. Love the food but for the price I will not be back.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

downtown fine dining

Dined on May 29, 2016

My girlfriend and I dined here as part of a weekend getaway. We'd read about Parlor Market in Garden & Gun and discovered that it was only steps from our downtown hotel. We enjoyed whisky cocktails before sharing appetizers and an entree. The oysters ("Rockefeller" style with pork belly) were tasty, and the chicken livers (with watermelon barbecue sauce and pimiento cheese) were even better. Pickled watermelon rinds were a smart complement to the livers. The trout-and-grits entree came split onto two plates. We weren't sure that the breading added much, but overall the dish was well prepared and delicious. The emphasis is clearly on fresh, local or regional ingredients, and they carry a decent selection of wines and craft beers. I would definitely recommend Parlor Market to others and would return myself for dinner, lunch, or a drink at the bar. Admittedly this section of downtown has seen better days, but other highlights within walking distance include the Mississippi Museum of Art and the Big Apple Inn.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

special restaurant

Dined on May 25, 2016

always love to go to parlor market; gives folks a great reason to go downtown; always a fun and different menu; loved our waitress Misti

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Food was excellent. We had duck and stea ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

Food was excellent. We had duck and steak. Both prepared appropriately. Bar was slow but drinks were good. Service was very good. We will be back.

food4
ambience4
service1
value4

Food great! Service not so much!

Dined on May 8, 2016

We were a party of ten, and the waiter was disinterested. At first we thought they must add an automatic tip for a large party, but they did not. So we were baffled why he seemed so indifferent. We saw him when he took our order, and from that point on he was no where to be seen. He never asked if we wanted another drink or refill. The filet was outstanding! I would go to this restaurant if you are a foodie but if you are looking for attentive service, go elsewhere.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service3

Great entree and dessert

Dined on May 7, 2016

Great entree and dessert

food1
ambience4
service4
value2

The first time was great but ont Saturday night.

Dined on May 1, 2016

I've been there twice and the first time was really good. Saturday night the food wasn't good at all and very expensive. It was very disappointing.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Fabulous Food!

Dined on April 30, 2016

I love this place! Live in Collierville, TN, in Jackson, MS for a wedding. HAD TO come her for dinner. I have never had scallops that were cook to total perfection! The duck sausage Raviolo were unusual and wonderful. Loved every bite of everything!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Parlor market never disappoints. The fri ...

Dined on April 28, 2016

Parlor market never disappoints. The fried oyster salad and the sashimi tuna salads as well as the entree fish special were delicious. Their oysters Rockefeller are wonderful. They are now making a blueberry cobbler topped with ice cream which is a must. The staff are very attentive, courteous and professional.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good meal for clients

Dined on April 28, 2016

Brought to dinner clients from Belgium and Spain who travel much. They enjoyed the atmosphere and food. They said their reddish and salmon were flavorful along with the LuckyTown beer. They had not had deviled eggs before but had seconds . They hesitantely ordered creme breulea for desert knowing what real creme breulea tastes like. But were pleasantly suprised. Good time.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Dinner out in Jackson

Dined on April 24, 2016

I've looked at this restaurant a couple of times while in Jackson visiting college student son and this was the first time to go. It was all very good, but the duck gumbo was outstanding! I likely could've eaten a gallon or so. The redfish as delicious as well. And the craft cocktails were a hit with our group.

Tags: fit for foodies
food3
ambience4
service2

Overall not worth the 4+ stars at all. ...

Dined on April 20, 2016

Overall not worth the 4+ stars at all. Service was friendly but it took 1.25 hours before we had our full meal. 45 minutes after ordering, and not a crowded Tuesday night, before our main service began. Overall the food was healthy and tasty but the shrimp and grits was too fishy smelling and runny. Bartender and drinks were the highlight along with ambience. Hopefully this was their "off" night but I'd not recommend it again unfortunately

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Family Dinner Saturday Night

Dined on March 27, 2016

I was visiting family over Easter Weekend and we had a terrific dinner at Parlor Market. It is a grown up's restaurant - pretty, interesting menu, informed yet casual service. Our food was outstanding. It's not inexpensive but worth the pennies.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience3
service4

The pork cheeks small plate was amazing! ...

Dined on March 26, 2016

The pork cheeks small plate was amazing!!! Everything was wonderful with the exception of the bottle of red wine we ordered was very cold, unfortunately. Nothing a little elbow grease (rubbing the bottle between my hands) wouldn't fix. Overall great experience.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pure Goodness

Dined on March 20, 2016

Food was superb! They had an alternative menu for St. Paddy's Day, but they called to make sure I was aware and to see if I still wanted the reservation. Great service!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious, charming, friendly

vip
Dined on March 15, 2016

While traveling for work I had a solo early lunch at Parlor. The service was warm and attentive and the food (BBQ pork po' boy special with a side of greens) was amazingly tasty. My server, Colton, recommended a local gin and, when I liked it, checked to see if the distillery was open for tours so I could swing by after lunch. He even offered me an iced tea to go, which was unnecessary but very kind. I'll definitely be going back next time I'm in Jackson.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect celebration

Dined on March 13, 2016

Once again we were delighted with all aspects of our dining experience. Our table of six started with fresh gulf oysters that were salty & cold & a seared blue fin tuna that was perfection. The redfish special was delicious s well as the ribeye steak special. Wine pairings were excellent & we shared a couple of our favorite desserts- the Creme Brûlée & the chocolate brownie with coffee ice cream Our waiter Lloyd was as always a pleasure. A great celebratory night

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome!!

Dined on February 28, 2016

Great food and romantic scene!! Great for date night!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

Food was amazing, the service was good

Dined on February 27, 2016

Food was amazing, the service was good

food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and service as usual. Wait st ...

Dined on February 27, 2016

Great food and service as usual. Wait staff and bar tenders are always top notch and never had a bad meal prepared.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Choose to dine at the lovely bar- the po ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

Choose to dine at the lovely bar- the pork chop entree was amazing!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Elegant and classy! Great staff, wonderf ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Elegant and classy! Great staff, wonderful food.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Eat and Show

Dined on February 12, 2016

Went to Parlor prior to the show. Loyd was very helpful and personal. So was the hostess. Food and wine was very good with the exception of the burger being too salty.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful dinner. The food was great. ...

vip
Dined on February 7, 2016

Wonderful dinner. The food was great. Our server, Dana, was incredible. He made us feel right at home and made the night special.

food5
ambience5
service5

This place cannot be missed while in Jac ...

Dined on February 3, 2016

This place cannot be missed while in Jackson , amazing food and very classy

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Before a play

Dined on February 1, 2016

Went there before a play for an early dinner. Food was great, service was wonderful and got out in time for the play.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great experience

Dined on January 27, 2016

I was on a business dinner with 2 important clients and could not have asked for a better dining experience. The food was excellent and atmosphere cosmopolitan. Service was great with knowledgeable waiter who knew the menu and the drink menu which was extensive. Everyone was impressed with the food and I like the variety of food - everything from rabbit to filet.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Probably will not be back

Dined on January 24, 2016

quality of food good though portions on small side, especially given the cost. No drinks, shared appetizers, and main dish was about $35-40 pp before gratuity. Seating about 1/3 of the way into the restaurant from the door so each time door was open, got hit with cold air. Service OK.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5

The appetizers were fantastic, the food ...

Dined on January 21, 2016

The appetizers were fantastic, the food was great. Very friendly staff. Everyone enjoyed it will be back.

food5
ambience4
service4
value5

I had the chicken liver appetizer and it ...

Dined on January 16, 2016

I had the chicken liver appetizer and it was wonderful. It's very hard to get chicken livers right and these were tender and not over cooked. My husband had the duck gumbo and said it was very good. My entree was the fried oyster salad, which was excellent. We will defiantly return.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

We never ate

vip
Dined on January 9, 2016

Even though I made reservations for a party of four several days in advance and arrived in time, we seated at the worse possible table. Specifically, we were given a table just a few feet from the front door. So, every time the door opened, a cold breeze would enter . We asked for another table, but was told the other tables were reserved. The wife's were cold, so, we left without eating. We had no way of knowing thst specific tables could be reserved. Sounds a little suspicious.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food in downtown Jackson, MS!

Dined on January 9, 2016

We enjoyed our dinner at Parlor Market! It was a great recommendation from a friend who is from the area. The menu has a variety of small and large plates to choose from. There is a nice wine selection as well. It is a bit noisy, as it seems like a popular spot for downtown.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fantastic Southern Food!

Dined on January 1, 2016

Terrific Southern food with a gourmet flair. The Redfish was superb. The small plate pork cheeks had wonderful components - I fell in love with the green kimchi! I can certainly see why this is a top rated restaurant in Jackson.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Holiday Dinner

Dined on December 19, 2015

Wonderful restaurant. We had our firm's Holiday dinner here and it was tremendous. I got there early and had a few cocktails. The bar tender was attentive and the drinks divine. Very good Manhattans. They seated us when the rest arrived and we had a smattering of appetizers - chicken livers, oysters rockefeller, and the pork cheeks. Livers were lightly fried and devoured. The oysters were topped with flash fried onion straws and were destroyed in a jiffy. The pork cheeks were demolished and you would have had to be careful not to draw back a nub if you left your hand out there too long. On to the main course, filets, duck breasts, fish - all wonderfully prepared, shared and gone. Wonderful. On to Deserts, creme brulee - light and creamy and prepared correctly, the "trip down memory lane" - rice crispy treats, whoopie pies, push pops and assorted treats from when you were 8-13 years old, all delightfully served in a tin lunch box. Finale of after dinner drinks. Ambiance was nice light and airy. Open floor plan with a nice energy. Active but not loud on a Friday night. Hopping bar scene and great mixologists. Very accommodating waitstaff, seriously, we had split entrees, split salads, shared apps, shared desserts and multiple drinks with nary an error, mistake or "we can't do that." Very very accommodating, polite and knowledgeable about the menu. The kitchen was also very skilled in presentation and taste. All 8 of us were thrilled and stuffed by the end of the night. Highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Hard to beat Parlor Market

Dined on December 18, 2015

First off, my wife and I were there to celebrate our wedding anniversary and we were greeted with a complimentary glass of champagne. Our waitress, Misty, was very good and capable of taking care of our needs throughout the entire time there. Our appetizer and our entree's were delicious. Our waitress recommended a desert of which we split. While eating the desert, the head chef spent a few minutes at our table and wanted to know if we had any problems of which we did not. He was courteous, friendly and he truly seemed to care about us in our conversation. Also we took advantage of the valet parking at no cost. The young man did deserve a gratuity also as he was very courteous, and assisted my wife into the car. I would surely recommend Parlor Market to anyone for a nice evening of food, beverage, and atmosphere. This was our third or fourth visit there in the last year or year and one half. We shall return.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Work week wind down

Dined on December 10, 2015

I have said it before, and I will say it again. Parlor Market is the epitome of fine dining... No. not fine dining, Remarkable dining! The ambiance, the staff, and the food are what make Parlor Market so great.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Anniversary Dinner

Dined on November 25, 2015

My girlfriend and I went here for our 4 year anniversary, and it was fantastic. Couldn't have been better. The service was great and the food was outstanding. We got the General Tso's Pork Cheeks as our appetizer and that was phenomenal. We both got duck entrees that were cooked to perfection.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.