About Parlor Market

115 W. Capitol St.
Jackson, MS 39201
View Larger Map

Located in the heart of Jackson’s revitalized downtown area, Parlor Market specializes in Seasonal Southern cuisine, drawing inspiration and ingredients from local farmers, ranchers and deep rooted traditions. Parlor Market preserves the history of downtown Jackson with rich marble, original brick, and Antebellum wood dating back to 1858. Enjoy a pre-prohibition cocktail, a glass of Southern wine, or a beer from our extensive Southern beer list or fresh seafood from our marble topped oyster and ceviche bar. Let our team of award winning chefs inspire you with their creative dishes in our open kitchen. The Parlor Market ambiance, experience and service are unparalleled.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Southern, American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Friday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm
Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Farish

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(601) 360-0090

Website:
http://www.parlormarket.com/

Catering:
We would love to cater your reception, wedding, cocktail party, birthday, business lunch or class reunion. We have an extensive choice of menu options to choose from. Let us wow you and your guests.

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet 5:30p-10:00p
Public Parking

Executive Chef:
Matthew Kajdan

Private Party Facilities:
Located just two doors down from Parlor Market’s private dining room is Albert's, a beautiful private event space with incredible handmade glass chandeliers, reclaimed wood floors and original brick walls. We can serve 100 for a seated dinner, or 200 for a cocktail reception.

Private Party Contact:
Katie Cochran: 6013600090x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Parlor Market, Jackson, MS
duck sausage - Parlor Market, Jackson, MS
Smoked Duck Gumbo - Parlor Market, Jackson, MS
Red Snapper Over Quinoa - Parlor Market, Jackson, MS
Sweet Tea Chicken - Parlor Market, Jackson, MS
Oysters - Parlor Market, Jackson, MS
Southern Cheese Plate - Parlor Market, Jackson, MS
Hot and Cold Foie Gras - Parlor Market, Jackson, MS
Chocolate PeNut Cake - Parlor Market, Jackson, MS
Spicy Pork Rinds - Parlor Market, Jackson, MS
Peanuts Boilied  - Parlor Market, Jackson, MS
Duck Confit Salad with Duck Cracklin - Parlor Market, Jackson, MS
PM Burger - Parlor Market, Jackson, MS
Charcuterie plate - Parlor Market, Jackson, MS
Cornbread and Butter - Parlor Market, Jackson, MS
Fried Oyster Salad - Parlor Market, Jackson, MS
Corpse Reviver #2 - Parlor Market, Jackson, MS
Am Burger With Bacon, Egg, White Cheddar, Maple Syrup - Parlor Market, Jackson, MS
Seared Ahi Tuna Salad - Parlor Market, Jackson, MS
Daily Fish - Parlor Market, Jackson, MS
Seafood Platter - Parlor Market, Jackson, MS
Braised Beef Short Rib Stroganoff - Parlor Market, Jackson, MS
Spicy Pimiento Cheese - Parlor Market, Jackson, MS
Farmers Market Veggie Sandwich With Side Green Salad - Parlor Market, Jackson, MS
Walk Down Memory Lane - Parlor Market, Jackson, MS
Mississippi Rabbit Roll - Parlor Market, Jackson, MS
Grilled Pork Chop With Cauliflower Gratin - Parlor Market, Jackson, MS
Mussels And Matchsticks Captain style - Parlor Market, Jackson, MS

Parlor Market Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Mississippi
Best Food
Mississippi
Best Service
Mississippi
3 More
Best Ambiance
Mississippi
Best Value
Mississippi
Most Booked
Jackson
Best Restaurants in Jackson ›

Special Occasion (13)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Romantic (12)
See All
Good for a Date (10)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Hot Spot (9)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Cozy (5)
Tapas (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Authentic (5)
Business Meals (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Seasonal (4)
Fun (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Historic (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Healthy (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
People Watching (1)
Private Room (1)
Great Beer (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Casual (1)
Sort By:
S
591 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great place to celebrate an anniversary. ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Great place to celebrate an anniversary. Great food, attentive service, and relaxing atmosphere. Plan to return!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I was blown away by my experience at Par ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 6, 2016

I was blown away by my experience at Parlor Market. The service was INCREDIBLE- top notch, and the best I have ever experienced. The emphasis on locally sourced food was commendable. The meal was one of the best I have ever had.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Reliably delicious. If I could come ever ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Reliably delicious. If I could come every day I would!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our server was outstanding! Clear unders ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Our server was outstanding! Clear understanding of the food and drink menus, making great recommendations. He even went out of his way to make our anniversary special with a free dessert!

Tags: Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was incredible for the price. ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on October 16, 2016

The food was incredible for the price. I would have expected to pay closer to $80 per person for the quality of food and my bill with a fabulous tip for the amazing service was less than $45. I intended on having desert but left with out desert because the portions were very generous. I took my wife out for a long drive anniversary meal here and I would make the drive again! I can't say enough of how surprised I was by the quality and value.

Tags: Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our second visit to Parlor Mark ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on October 16, 2016

This was our second visit to Parlor Market and both have been outstanding. The Oysters Rockefeller were excellent. We opted for the Prixe Fixe and were not disappointed. 5 courses of heaven! And the paired wine selection was top notch as well. We will go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I took some relatives who ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 15, 2016

My husband and I took some relatives who were visiting from out of town to Parlor Market for a treat and the whole experience was lovely. The seating was cosy but not claustrophobic, the lighting was friendly and intimate, the restaurant design was inviting and our waitress was very helpful and considerate. We enjoyed the charcuterie platter, and I loved my duck tagliatelle, which I was so face-into that I barely noticed what everyone else was eating, rare for me. Oh, and the oysters on the half shell were divine. My little village of Clinton doesn't have anything in the way of fine dining, and until we do I will not mind one bit driving into downtown Jackson to eat at Parlor Market.

Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Waiter was a bit slow. Food was deliciou ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Waiter was a bit slow. Food was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We've been to Parlor Market many times, ...

vip
 (Mississippi)·Dined on September 17, 2016

We've been to Parlor Market many times, and the quality is always great. This time, we had Lloyd as our server-- he's our favorite. He really takes care of you. I mumbled that I was cold, not expecting any response, and the next thing you know he was telling us that he had adjusted the a/c a bit & to let me know if it was good. He doesn't make me pronounce the hard wine names- he finishes it for me right away, showing me he's on the same page. Everything about this place is excellent.

Tags: Romantic, Open Kitchen, Happy Hour, Tapas, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was delicious and the service was g ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Food was delicious and the service was great. Waiters knew the menu front and back and were very attentive. Loved the creative menu and the freshness of food. Even better that most all their food was local. Jaxn gem. Will be coming back again.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Wood Oven, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Creative and authentic southern cooking. ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 8, 2016

Creative and authentic southern cooking. They use local ingredients to create delicious and uncommon food.

Tags: Authentic, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value2

DON'T WASTE YOUR $! Incredibly disappoin ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on September 3, 2016

DON'T WASTE YOUR $! Incredibly disappointing

Went for a birthday, waited 15+ minutes to be greeted by waitress, then she took the drink menu, menus were bent, torn, and ratty, got the drink menu back - ordered something with berries - got some kind of orange flavored drink, ordered the chef's tasting menu w/ wine tasting ac, waitress was CLUELESS about the menu, she never introduced the course, said what was in it, how it was prepared, what was special about it, or why the chef put it on the "highlight" menu, same w/ the wine tasting - she didn't even tell us what it was or the name of it, why it was paired w/ the food, AND it wasn't even served with the course! the 1 dish came out - waited for wine but ended up just eating it before it got cold - she finally brought the wine when she was clearing the plates for the 2 course, she acted like she'd never tasted the food nor had any knowledge of the food whatsoever, same with the wine - pretty sure she had no idea if she was even serving the correct wine, the food was mediocre - uncommon ingredients w/ okay technique, & the 2, 3, and 4 courses were ALL HEAVY - very very poor planning on the chef's behalf & the portion sizes FAR too large - this was mostly a problem b/c the waitress waited for the whole dish to be eaten b4 she cleared the table & served the next dish - by the 3 course we were pretty full so we couldn't finish it so we waited at least 45 min b4 she finally got the hint causing 4 and 5 to be rushed b/c they wanted to close right at 10 pm, 5 (dessert) was supposed to have a candle for friend's B-day, but they couldn't even get that right, to finish this ~$300 meal off - they started cleaning and flipping the chairs around 9:30 pm for the entire restaurant - which for a Chili's or Applebees - but for a meal this expensive & supposed "fine dining" HOW TACKY! & valet pulled my car up b4 I could even pay bill

WOULD NEVER recommend!! Complete waste of $$ esp. considering other GREAT choices nearby!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Delicious meal! Pork belly appetizer, re ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Delicious meal! Pork belly appetizer, redfish, and tuna were cooked to perfection - each with perfect blends of flavor. One of the best meals we've had nationally or internationally. Waiter was engaging and made great suggestions and wine pairing. Restaurant was somewhat of a surprise in a rather deteriorating city.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I work downtown and this is my favorite ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on August 15, 2016

I work downtown and this is my favorite spot for lunch, the catfish tacos are amazing!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice,quaint and romantic ... outsta ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Very nice,quaint and romantic ... outstanding menu... its downtown, but worth the drive if in outlying Jackson

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful and unique. We will be back. I ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Wonderful and unique. We will be back. It is nice to see Jackson's downtown continued improvement.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our first visit to Parlor Market will de ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Our first visit to Parlor Market will definitely lead to another. The food was fantastic and the service was phenomenal. Thoroughly enjoyed our meal and the experience of dining in an old building.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Romantic, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and atmosphere! Pasta and sa ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 2, 2016

Great food and atmosphere! Pasta and sauces were fresh and the appetizers were amazing

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent, could not believe there was a ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 25, 2016

Excellent, could not believe there was a restaurant of this caliber in Jackson, Mississippi.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

This place is incredible! Service was o ...

vip
 (Mississippi)·Dined on July 24, 2016

This place is incredible! Service was outstanding! We will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Frozen fish!! The waiter should've taken ...

 
 (London)·Dined on July 23, 2016

Frozen fish!! The waiter should've taken it off the bill as it could not be eaten. Good ambiance at least.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

We have dined at Parlor Market a few tim ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 22, 2016

We have dined at Parlor Market a few times previously and had enjoyable experiences. Our service was great last Thursday evening, but the menu is tired. I am not sure that the offerings have changed over the last 4-5 years.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

Recommended by the hostess at our B&B (b ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 22, 2016

Recommended by the hostess at our B&B (best place in Jackson), we made last minute reservations for a Thursday night and were very pleased. Good food, best cheese plate we have had, and very enjoyable entrees.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

While traveling through Jax to Louisiana ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 20, 2016

While traveling through Jax to Louisiana. Found The Parlor Market via open table. What a find! One of the best fried chicken dishes ever. The spicy honey was a great touch. The ginger carrots and Mac n cheese were decadent. The prices were incredibly reasonable for the portions.

Dana was a most attentive and accommodating server. He explained the history of the building and how the restaurant tied in the reclaimed wood and gorgeous marble. Dana provided directions to the Walter Payton rec center down the street, knowing I was from Chicago (go Bears!). He even provided an iced tea for the road!! What a nice person!

The owner/chef Matthew spent time talking about his local food source. Such personable service!

What a gem of a place! All you local professionals, make sure you support this establishment! If Matt opened The Parlor in Chicago , he'd make a mint!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The duck sausage and duck gumbo was phen ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 20, 2016

The duck sausage and duck gumbo was phenomenal! I was not expecting to find this place in Jackson MS. The food was amazing along with the presentation and the service. It reminded me of my favorite restaurant in San Antonio "Bliss". We will come back when we are back in town again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place for date night! Will definit ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on July 15, 2016

Great place for date night! Will definitely go again soon!!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dining experience! Our waitress Mi ...

vip
 (Mississippi)·Dined on July 15, 2016

Great dining experience! Our waitress Misty was knowledgeable and very pleasant. Enjoyed it so much. We'll be back soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food! Every bite beyond flavorf ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on July 3, 2016

Amazing food! Every bite beyond flavorful. Husband and I in town for a weekend, found them online. Waitress was beyond helpful, menu offers something for everyone. We had a wonderful dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We did the 5 course Pre Fixe menu with t ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on June 30, 2016

We did the 5 course Pre Fixe menu with the wine pairing. The food was amazing. The wine pairing was just as good. Can't wait to do it again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had the chef's tasting menu and it wa ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 24, 2016

We had the chef's tasting menu and it was everything. Dan our server was excellent and the chef came out to thank us for ordering the menu and ensure we enjoyed it. I would go back again and again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I would travel back to Jackson only beca ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 22, 2016

I would travel back to Jackson only because of this restaurant - I would classify the food as creative contemporary southern style where quality and preparation are comparable to high end restaurant in New York or Las Vegas.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I eat here every time I am in Jackson.

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 15, 2016

I eat here every time I am in Jackson.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our dining experience was wonderful. Th ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on June 12, 2016

Our dining experience was wonderful. The food was awesome!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Allergy Friendly

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 9, 2016

Waygu steak Pittsburgh Style is Amazing. The duck & andouille gumbo complemented with their jambalaya was awesome too.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food but

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on June 9, 2016

The food was first class and our waitress was excellent. There was another waiter that must have made 50 trips in front of our table and was very distracting. No privacy in seating. I felt like I was part of the conversation with the tables on either side of us. Love the food but for the price I will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

downtown fine dining

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 29, 2016

My girlfriend and I dined here as part of a weekend getaway. We'd read about Parlor Market in Garden & Gun and discovered that it was only steps from our downtown hotel. We enjoyed whisky cocktails before sharing appetizers and an entree. The oysters ("Rockefeller" style with pork belly) were tasty, and the chicken livers (with watermelon barbecue sauce and pimiento cheese) were even better. Pickled watermelon rinds were a smart complement to the livers. The trout-and-grits entree came split onto two plates. We weren't sure that the breading added much, but overall the dish was well prepared and delicious. The emphasis is clearly on fresh, local or regional ingredients, and they carry a decent selection of wines and craft beers. I would definitely recommend Parlor Market to others and would return myself for dinner, lunch, or a drink at the bar. Admittedly this section of downtown has seen better days, but other highlights within walking distance include the Mississippi Museum of Art and the Big Apple Inn.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

special restaurant

 
·Dined on May 25, 2016

always love to go to parlor market; gives folks a great reason to go downtown; always a fun and different menu; loved our waitress Misti

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Food was excellent. We had duck and stea ...

vip
 (Mississippi)·Dined on May 15, 2016

Food was excellent. We had duck and steak. Both prepared appropriately. Bar was slow but drinks were good. Service was very good. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Food great! Service not so much!

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 8, 2016

We were a party of ten, and the waiter was disinterested. At first we thought they must add an automatic tip for a large party, but they did not. So we were baffled why he seemed so indifferent. We saw him when he took our order, and from that point on he was no where to be seen. He never asked if we wanted another drink or refill. The filet was outstanding! I would go to this restaurant if you are a foodie but if you are looking for attentive service, go elsewhere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

Great entree and dessert

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 7, 2016

Great entree and dessert

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.