About Park Tavern

1652 Stockton Avenue
San Francisco, CA 94133
View Larger Map

With an exciting mix of vintage fixtures, comfortable furnishings, and handsome textures, Park Tavern is an elegant spin on a North Beach neighborhood classic. Owner Anna Weinberg and designer Kendra Nicholas of Park Interiors collaborated to divide the room into unique, dedicated spaces -- the handsome marble bar, the terra cotta floored cafe with windows that open onto the patio facing Washington Park, the comfortable dining room with tufted leather banquettes, and an open kitchen with a chef’s counter.

Park Tavern will showcase Chef Partner Jennifer Puccio's talents with delicious American bistro classics and emphasize seafood from a wood burning oven. From raw to fried, expect boldly flavored dishes that you'll want to eat several times a week.

Serving up classic cocktails with the candor and character of an old friend, you won't find any overly fancy mixology here. But when it comes to wines, you find something for everyone!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
DINNER:
Sunday- Thursday : 5:30PM to 10:00PM
Friday & Saturday: 5:30PM to 11:00PM

LUNCH:
Friday: 11:30 to 2:30PM

BRUNCH:
Saturday & Sunday: 10:00AM to 2:30PM

BAR:
Tuesday - Friday: 5:00PM to 12:00AM
Saturday & Sunday: 11:00AM to 12:30AM

Cross Street:
Between Filbert St & Union St

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 989-7300

Website:
http://www.parktavernsf.com/

Executive Chef:
Jennifer Puccio

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Park Tavern
Park Tavern
Park Tavern
Brussel Sprout Chips
Smoked Deviled Eggs
Deviled Eggs
Avocado Toast
Ginger Cookie Ice Cream
Pork Chop
Bloody Mary
Crispy Polenta Cakes With Poached Eggs
Deviled Eggs With Bacon And Jalapenos
Poulet Noir (Roasted Chicken)
deviled egg
Corned Beef Hash
Cruel Summer
Marlowe Burger
Egg Porn!
Jam Jelly & Marmalade
Chorizo & Eggs
Egg Porn
Sourdough Bread
Double Isaac
Lobster Bisque
Angus Filet
Cosmo
(Raw) Local halibut/ avocado/ corn/ sea beans/ tomato
(Raw) Coho Salmon/ baby beets/ creme fraiche/ dill
Sourdough & Toppings
Smoked salmon
Brussels Sprouts Chips
Chicken fried green tomato/ remoulade
Crispy brussels sprout chips
Veal Schnitzel A La Holstein
Country Ham Steak And Poached Eggs
Dungeness Crab Toasts
Marlowe Burger/ 80-20 Niman Ranch Beef/ Niman Ranch Lamb/ Crisp Del Monte Bacon/ Tangy Sharp Cheddar/ Horseradish Aioli/  Cold Shredded Lettuce/ Carmelized Onions/ Acme Bun & Fries/ Fried in Rice Oil
California kiwi & blood orange, whipped coconut
Carrot Cake
Lemon & basil leaf/ burrata
Park Tavern “Poulet Rouge”, Bloomsdale spinach & Peewee potatoes
Extra Dry Hanger One Martini w/o Olives
Local halibut, avocado, corn, sea beans & tomato
Crispy Brussel Sprout Chips
Brussels Sprout Chips
Demons On Horseback
Baked Lemon Chips with Buratta
Pickled Sardine Toast
Grilled Pork Chop
Wild Mushroom Gnocchi
NY Steak
Poulet Rouge
Pan-Fried Corned Beef Hash
China Basin Cocktail
Smoked Salmon Benedict
Tcho Chocolate Creme Brulee
Cast Iron Eggs With Spinach, Prosciutto & Gruyere
Pork Belly Sandwich
Challah Toast
pumpkin soup
Cast Iron Baked Farm Eggs
Crab Fennel Spicy Harissa Toast
Creamy Poached Eggs On Crispy Polenta Cakes With Pork Belly
Coconut Birthday Cake
Halibut
Green Goddess & Pickled Peaches Salad
Banana Coconut Fritters
Green Goddess Salad With Pickled Peaches
Crispy Polenta Cakes
Creamy Poached Eggs On Crispy Polenta Cakes
Venison Carpaccio with angus beef tartare, capers & crispy bone marrow
Smoked Salmon Eggs Benedict
Wood Oven Roasted Whole "Poulet Rouge" Chicken
Petrale Sole
Smoked Trout Dip W/ House Made Potato Chips
Wild Porcini Mushroom Soup
New York Strip Steak Frites
Chocolate Semifreddo Amuse Bouche
Pickle Plate
Mussels, Cockles, And Clams
White Wine
“Demons On Horseback” Smoked Lardo-Wrapped Prawns, Scallion Remoulade & Cucumber
New England Clam Chowder
Grilled Sea Scallops
Comice Pear
Black Pepper Soft Shell Crab
Poulet Noir
Pt Fries With Truffle, Soft Boiled Egg And Caviar
Heirloom Tomato And Burrata Tart
Dungeness Crab Toast
Grapefruit Brûlée
Smoked Salmon Toast
Braised Beef Shortrib & Corned Beef Hash
Marlowe burger caramelized onions, cheddar, bacon, horseradish aioli & fries
Coffee Toffee Fig Ice Cream
steak tartare
Sweet Corn Soup
Ribeye
Warm asparagus with soft boiled egg, prosciutto and parmesan chips
Smoked Salmon Club Sandwich

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Our Eden Room is the ideal setting for private gatherings of up to 50 seated guests or 80 for a stand-up reception. The space is perfect for small wedding celebrations, rehearsal dinners, birthdays, anniversary celebrations, as well as business luncheons and dinners.

Park Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (89)
Neighborhood Gem (65)
Hot Spot (55)
See All
Good for Groups (54)
Vibrant Bar Scene (51)
Special Occasion (50)
Great for Brunch (48)
Notable Wine List (34)
Romantic (30)
Great for Lunch (20)
Great for Outdoor Dining (15)
Scenic View (9)
Late-night Find (8)
Kid-friendly (6)
Sort By:
Newest
1531 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Solid food. Nice ambiance. Service was a ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 3 days ago

Solid food. Nice ambiance. Service was a bit awkward, and I am always frustrated when servers try to push an up-sell. If someone declines a drink three times, take the hint. But still a nice spot -- worth a trip for the chicken dish and a walk around the park.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

The food at Park Tavern was really tasty ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 3 days ago

The food at Park Tavern was really tasty. They had interesting appetizers and a good selection and variety of entrees. The pork chop was a big hit on my table. The lemon chips and okra chips were also really good. It was an expensive meal and I probably wouldn't go back again, but it was nice to have gone and glad that I checked out the restaurant.

Tags: Family Style, Open Kitchen, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

This was my first time here. I wanted a ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 4 days ago

This was my first time here. I wanted a special place near the performance we were attending later. My guests included out of town foodies with experience working in high end restaurants. We were all happy with our food and our server was able to accommodate our different tastes and get us out in plenty of time for our next adventure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I'd been to Park Tavern for different oc ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 4 days ago

I'd been to Park Tavern for different occasions--family dinners, brunches with out of town visitors, etc., and have always enjoyed it. I'm sorry to say that I was disappointed with this last dinner with my out of town friends. Our waitperson was very sweet, friendly and attentive. The appetizers were great (deviled eggs and flash-fried lemons, yum!). The main dishes, not so great. My friend's salmon was medium rare; she'd ordered well done. The halibut I ordered was dry and flavorless--only the sauce and veggies made it palatable. Now, I'd not seen these friends in months, so we really wanted to enjoy our meal and talk. The staff kept trying to clear the table, when we weren't quite finished. We also had the misfortune of sitting next to a table for 4 young, loud, shrill-voiced women who made it difficult for us to carry on a conversation, because they were so loud and obnoxious. It seemed noisier overall than my previous experiences at this restaurant.

So overall, though I do like Park Tavern, I would recommend it but with caution.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Sunday Lunch, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value3

Outstanding night manager--Morgan!! Per ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Outstanding night manager--Morgan!! Personable and super friendly!

Our server, Heather was fun, helpful, and knowledgeable about the food and wine!

Our daughter lives close by and we look forward to coming back many times!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Just a lovely SF neighborhood experience ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Just a lovely SF neighborhood experience at a true professional restaurant. Food was good, creative and the staff acted as if they knew they were supporting actors in the great evening we wanted to have. Not inexpensive but a memorable experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Just a bit too loud and my wife found th ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Just a bit too loud and my wife found the metal chair to be uncomfortable. I enjoyed the variety of menu choices. i didn't try the Marlowe burger but will do so next time.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Lemon chips are delicious!

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Lemon chips are delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent brunch menu. Can't wait to ret ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Excellent brunch menu. Can't wait to return to try new options.

Tags: Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The corn chowder soup and tomato salad a ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The corn chowder soup and tomato salad as appetizers were outstanding. The corn chowder was sweet, with contrasting spice and salt, that alone would bring me back. My wife enjoyed the salmon entree. I didn't find the new york steak all that interesting, it was sliced and the texture was a little like thickly sliced warm roast beef and it lacked any real flavor although it was very tender. I'll try a different entree next time.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Park Tavern is a beautiful restaurant wi ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Park Tavern is a beautiful restaurant with a great ambience. We brought friends from out of town and we were just really disappointed with the food. Not great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4

Third time dining at The Park Tavern. T ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Third time dining at The Park Tavern. The food is exemplary, and certain items are even improved, for example the preparation of the poulet rouge (game hen). This is a dish you will not find elsewhere. The brussel sprout chips, deviled eggs, and demons on horseback are sublime. Our server, Heather S., could not have been more professional and attentive.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's as good as advertised. Pricey but w ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

It's as good as advertised. Pricey but well worth it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall, I really liked Park Tavern, but ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Overall, I really liked Park Tavern, but its TOO, TOO, TOO loud. If they can somehow work on that, it would be much more enjoyable as a whole.

Thanks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value4

If your looking for something "extra spe ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

If your looking for something "extra special " for brunch on the weekend , this is an amazing hot spot to meet with friends or for a special occasion . It's on the pricy side but well worth it! Ambiance is great and food unique and delicious!! I can't wait to try it for dinner!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service outstanding. Our waiter was abs ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Service outstanding. Our waiter was absolutely perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Has a great layout, decor and vibe. Ser ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Has a great layout, decor and vibe. Service was very good as were our appetizers. However, the steak I had was terrible and tasted burnt with zero flavor. Probably won't be going back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value1

Food is fantastic. Best Manhattan (cou ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Food is fantastic. Best Manhattan (country lawyer).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I don't think it has great value. Very ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

I don't think it has great value. Very expensive for what is offered. Probably will not return. The wine was especially expensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Great experience. Wonderful drinks. Amaz ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Great experience. Wonderful drinks. Amazing service. Yummy eats.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter did not know the menu or wine ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Our waiter did not know the menu or wine list well when we asked him about it. Good food but average service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

A British friend of mine was in town for ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

A British friend of mine was in town for only a short while so I took him here, right off the plane. We both enjoyed our meal. Notable are the Brussels sprout chips. Good wine list as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Went for Sunday brunch and sat outside. ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Went for Sunday brunch and sat outside. Service was slow from beverage to ordering to food delivery. The waiter apologized and indicated that the kitchen was backed up. Meals presented with egg yolks "hard" when they should have been "soft". This was clearly a terrible day for them - 25min for beverage, 1hr 25 min for meal! This is not what I know to be there level of service in the past.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Small but delicious menu with an attenti ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Small but delicious menu with an attentive staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I went for brunch on Saturday. All the f ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

I went for brunch on Saturday. All the food was delicious, but portion sizes were small and the prices were high. My friend and I shared a coffee cake to start, but for $6 I expected more than a standard muffin-size piece. The avocado toast came on one slice of thin wheat bread with probably half an avocado for $10. I could make that at home for less than $1. At least give me a sizable piece of bread. And coffee for $4. Really? While all the food was delicious, I left with an empty wallet and my stomach still grumbling.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

It's hard to believe this is in the same ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

It's hard to believe this is in the same restaurant group as the Marlowe, the food does not even come close. Although the appetizers were reliable, the same brussel sprout chips as Marlowe and a slightly different take on the deviled egg were both good. But all the entrees were a huge disappointment, mine in particular was a disaster, I had the lamb chops, there were only two tiny chops grossly undercooked (and I like rare), they were accompanied by a roll of sausage that was barely edible and a few charred pieces of broccoli, it was so little food that was actually edible, I was starving. My husband had the pork chop and it was cut into small pieces, not the delicious giant chop they serve at the Marlowe. I will say the desserts were great, we got the ice cream sandwich and the birthday cake, both very good. But overall, not worth money for quantity and quality of the food that was served.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

I only had a drink and appetizer at the ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

I only had a drink and appetizer at the bar but it was top notch. I love burrata and this was served with delicious lemon chips. Wasn't in love with the herbs since the main one was parsley, which I loathe, but all else was awesome.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Distinguished place with an excellent me ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Distinguished place with an excellent menu and experience. Highly recommended

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We waited an hour from ordering to good ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

We waited an hour from ordering to good delivery. Good was mediocre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1

Went here brunch with a girlfriend - gre ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Went here brunch with a girlfriend - great service, and mimosas! Definitely make a reservation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really disappointed with almost everythi ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Really disappointed with almost everything except the great location and the design of the restaurant. The food was mediocre, they forgot to bring the soup that we ordered and ended up bringing it at the end, and they kept switching servers on us. We went for my wife's birthday hoping for something great. This definitely was not it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Birthday dinner! Lemon chips - pork cho ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Birthday dinner! Lemon chips - pork chop - birthday cake. Absolutely perfect!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was hit and miss. Roast chicken a ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Food was hit and miss. Roast chicken and deviled eggs were very good. Steak tartar, Clams and birthday desert were quite average. The steak tartar was especially bland and. disappointing. The noise level made it impossible to carry on a conversation.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

Thomas at the bar...outstanding in every ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Thomas at the bar...outstanding in every category.

Food previewing was particularly impressive

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Nice place but food didn't really impres ...

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Nice place but food didn't really impress us....a bit on the eclectic side for us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

We really liked the ambiance; it was dim ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We really liked the ambiance; it was dimly lit so it felt romantic. It was busy and loud but I think that means it's a popular place. The food was really good, from start to finish.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Yummy brunch.

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Yummy brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Off the charts fantastic brunch!! Wonder ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Off the charts fantastic brunch!! Wonderful place to spend a beautiful Sunday in North Beach. Great atmosphere and service. The food is out of this world delicious. Compliments to the chef!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great menu - different options from your ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Great menu - different options from your everyday norm

Good atmosphere

Attentive staff

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The Demonson Horseback was a wonderful t ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

The Demonson Horseback was a wonderful tasting. Steak plates was right temperature and just the right quantity. The lamb chops were mouth watering from the first bite through the last. Have a bottle of the french Pinot noir ( Maison Loirre?) with dinner. It was fantastic! Finish with ice cream sandwiches, cheese platter and one of the whiskies, and BAM! A memorable meal!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.