About Park Tavern

1652 Stockton Avenue
San Francisco, CA 94133
View Larger Map

With an exciting mix of vintage fixtures, comfortable furnishings, and handsome textures, Park Tavern is an elegant spin on a North Beach neighborhood classic. Owner Anna Weinberg and designer Kendra Nicholas of Park Interiors collaborated to divide the room into unique, dedicated spaces -- the handsome marble bar, the terra cotta floored cafe with windows that open onto the patio facing Washington Park, the comfortable dining room with tufted leather banquettes, and an open kitchen with a chef’s counter.

Park Tavern will showcase Chef Partner Jennifer Puccio's talents with delicious American bistro classics and emphasize seafood from a wood burning oven. From raw to fried, expect boldly flavored dishes that you'll want to eat several times a week.

Serving up classic cocktails with the candor and character of an old friend, you won't find any overly fancy mixology here. But when it comes to wines, you find something for everyone!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
DINNER:
Sunday- Thursday : 5:30PM to 10:00PM
Friday & Saturday: 5:30PM to 11:00PM

LUNCH:
Friday: 11:30 to 2:30PM

BRUNCH:
Saturday & Sunday: 10:00AM to 2:30PM

BAR:
Tuesday - Friday: 5:00PM to 12:00AM
Saturday & Sunday: 11:00AM to 12:30AM

Cross Street:
Between Filbert St & Union St

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 989-7300

Website:
http://www.parktavernsf.com/

Executive Chef:
Jennifer Puccio

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Our Eden Room is the ideal setting for private gatherings of up to 50 seated guests or 80 for a stand-up reception. The space is perfect for small wedding celebrations, rehearsal dinners, birthdays, anniversary celebrations, as well as business luncheons and dinners.

Park Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

American
San Francisco
Best Restaurants in North Beach ›

fit for foodies (120)
neighborhood gem (95)
special occasion (78)
See All
hot spot (72)
vibrant bar scene (71)
good for groups (71)
great for brunch (71)
romantic (49)
notable wine list (33)
great for lunch (32)
great for outdoor dining (24)
kid-friendly (14)
late-night find (11)
scenic view (11)
Sort By:
Newest
1460 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Always great!!!

Dined 3 days ago

Always great!!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Get the crispy polenta cakes!

Dined 4 days ago

Brunch at Park Tavern is a unique experience that every San Franciscan must do at least once. Bring a significant other/date with you. The cocktails are top-notch. The ambience and environment is most-welcoming. However, the food is PHENOMENAL! The chefs use the finest fresh ingredients and the quality exceeds all expectations. For brunch, I had the crispy polenta cakes with poached eggs and arugula. Take my word for it, you won't be the slightest bit disappointed. The staff were very friendly and alert. I will definitely be coming back to Park Tavern more often.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Food and service were excellent. Unfort ...

Dined 5 days ago

Food and service were excellent. Unfortunately the restaurant was very noisy making it very difficult to have a conversation. There were tables of numerous women surrounding us and they were excessively loud.

Tags: great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service2

The food was good. Our favorite were the ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

The food was good. Our favorite were the Brussel Sprouts. We had to wait quite awhile for our entrees, and felt a bit forgotten with service. The ambiance is fun, and a great date night destination.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've dined at their sister restaurant, ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

We've dined at their sister restaurant, Marlowe, countless times and had high expectations for Park Tavern based on numerous suggestions from friends and co-workers. My husband and I had a 9pm reservation on a Friday: great atmosphere with a lively scene, the bar was packed, the service was personable and the staff was knowledgeable, the food was delicious!- especially loved the foie gras. And the price was great at just $200 for two with drinks, appetizers, and two entrees with sides. We will 100% be back!

Tags: hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5

Park Tavern remains one of my favorite r ...

vip
Dined on May 12, 2016

Park Tavern remains one of my favorite restaurants in the city. Took a client from out of town and it was a great experience.

food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding. I eat there every time I c ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Outstanding. I eat there every time I come to San Francisco. Great neighborhood.

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great spot in North Beach

vip
Dined on May 11, 2016

The food and drinks are great, wonderful service...Love this restaurant!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food3
ambience4
service3

Granted it was Mother's Day, but....orde ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Granted it was Mother's Day, but....orders got confused, food was fine but not exceptional, dessert even less exceptional, they ran out out of bellinis, out of entrees and heavens it was LOUD. All of this would be just fine, but it was pretty pricey, too. What happened to the fine days of Moose's?

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Can't Wait to Return!

Dined on May 8, 2016

I have visited San Francisco a few times over the last year and a half always wanted to go the The Park Tavern. I finally got there! The atmosphere is energetic. We sat by the window overlooking Washington Square. The lemon chips appetizer with burrata and sorrel was innovative and fresh. Just delightful. The grilled asparagus salad was top notch. The shrimp appetizer we shared as a meal was so flavorful. Looking forward to returning on my next visit to wonderful SF!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Bring Earplugs and Order the Hamburger

Dined on May 7, 2016

I've had the hamburger at Park's sister restaurant, Marlowe Burger, and it was good to know that the burger at Park is just as good. They have some interesting twists on cocktails---a little jalapeño with your tequila shot, some extra bitters in your old fashioned. They work well. However, if you have not been schooled in American Sign Language you may be out of luck. The space gets extremely loud in the evenings.

Tags: fit for foodies
food2
ambience4
service5

Helpful server. Ordered the sole despite ...

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

Helpful server. Ordered the sole despite warnings by the server that it was a "modest" portion. Modest didn't begin to describe a 2 ounce piece of fish for $30. Left starving and furious. What a rip off.

food3
ambience5
service3

Beautiful place for brunch with really n ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

Beautiful place for brunch with really nice ambiance. We had a party of 6 and our waiter was friendly, but often missing when we needed something. We started with the huckleberry fritters which were outstanding! My friends had the avocado toast as well and enjoyed it. For my main course I ordered the pancakes which weren't memorable at all. 2 pancakes with a pat of butter and a very small bit of syrup. If I'm paying $12 for pancakes I expect them to be pretty good and these were just ok. A few friends ordered the French toast which looked yummy but they said was soggy by they time it got to the table. The shrimp and grits seemed to be well liked by my friend that ordered it.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Especially good

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

It takes a lot to really "wow" for brunch, but our brunch at Park Tavern was above and beyond good.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience4
service4

The bar steak was as tough as shoe leath ...

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

The bar steak was as tough as shoe leather - we will be back for the park tavern fries as a snack but won't be headed back for entrees anytime soon.

food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Bloody Mary is a MUST

Dined on April 24, 2016

Had a fantastic brunch here with friends. Possibly the best bloody mary in the city. The deviled eggs are great as well. I had a reservation, so I walked right in, but there are bar spots available too. Great atmosphere and yummy brunch dishes. It is fun watching the open kitchen as well.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, hot spot
food1
ambience3
service2

My husband had food poisoning and the ho ...

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

My husband had food poisoning and the host treated us poorly when we checked in.

food4
ambience5
service5
value3

So fun

Dined on April 23, 2016

We sat outside with a beautiful view of some park. We were asked to move seats (to adapt for a larger group next to us) and the waiter brought us avocado toast to thank us! Then he forgot to bring coffee, so it was free! I like that kind of service.

Tags: great for brunch
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Going down hill

Dined on April 23, 2016

Normally love this place but time previous to this wasn't as good and this time was probably the worst. Steak wasn't seasoned, burger was just good, not great. Deviled eggs are amazing. Slow service.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfection!

Dined on April 23, 2016

Absolutely love Park Tavern! The food is great and the wine list is top notch.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Good but not great

Dined on April 23, 2016

Minimalist menu. Good beef jerky but an odd item for dinner. Brussels sprouts were good flavor but a little too greasy. Tartar was good. Clams ok but needed more plain bread for dipping. Hard to get a reservation but many tables were empty...wanted a table for 4 but they said that was not available --- I saw plenty of tables avail.

Tags: great for brunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, great service, great experie ...

Dined on April 21, 2016

Great food, great service, great experience!! Perfect date spot or place to bring family/friends from out of town.

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great food, great ambiance, great server

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

We went to celebrate my mother's 50th birthday. The food and drinks were amazing. There seemed to be a little confusing from the host stand to the server. The server first asked if I was an employee's sister and then noted that she must have gotten the wrong notes. I had told the host that we were celebrating my mother's 50th, but that message didn't get to the server.. probably just a mix up, not a big deal and it was a busy night, so I understand. The food was great and the server was very gracious and had great product knowledge. I don't remember her name but it was a female. I always love Park Tavern and will come back of course!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

food was really good but portion not gr ...

Dined on April 10, 2016

food was really good but portion not great for someone hungry. Service was rather on top of you but we went late for brunch and i think the kitchen was closing. noise level was loud too.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tookpick There were 5 of us We loved it GO FOR IT

vip
Dined on April 10, 2016

THIS PLACE IS AWESOME. 5 OF US INCLUDING MY HARD TO PLEASE GRAND NIECE LOVED EVERYTHING. SHE TOOK ONE BITE OF HER PANCAKES AND SAID,"THESE ARE THE BEST PANCAKES I HAVE EVER HAD." OUR WAITER WAS SUPERB. HE WAS THE MOST GENTLE AND FRIENDLY SERVER I HAVE EVER EXPERIENCED. HE HAD MY NIECE WRAPPED AROUND HIS LITTLE FINGER. I HAD THE SHRIMP & GRITS, OH MY, DELICIOUS. KUDOS TO THE WAITER (CHRIS K) AND CHEF. PLEASE THANK CHRIS FROM THE 5 OF US. AND THANK YOU PARK TAVERN

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, cocktails and wine list. Wh ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

Great food, cocktails and wine list. What's not to love?

food4
ambience4
service4

Food was perfectly prepared and deliciou ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

Food was perfectly prepared and delicious. We went for brunch, and there were some standard brunch items, and some slightly more unusual, but not weird or fussy. Service was efficient and relatively prompt, but not overly friendly (which is fine with me).

food2
ambience4
service4
value4

Disappointed

Dined on April 1, 2016

The biggest let down with this restaurant is the menu which is extremely limited and dull. Brunch is non existent and the lunch menu was simply burgers and sandwiches. Very disappointing. The mimosas were great.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the Park Tavern!

Dined on March 30, 2016

Always a good time at this North Beach classic. We loved the dynamic scene, the classic American food selection with a San Francisco flair and the vibrant energy of the place. Will be back soon and often!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Fun night

Dined on March 28, 2016

We were celebrating a major birthday and we had great food, good service, and they gave our birthday girl a wonderful birthday cake with candle that we all shared. Fun evening and a good celebration!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I wish I could give 6 stars for the service!

vip
Dined on March 26, 2016

We celebrated a Birthday and they brought out pancakes with a candle in them. The waiter was extremely kind, attentive and really delivered six star service. Will definitely be returning again and again. Also my favorite burger and fries combo in SF.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Deviled eggs, truffle fries, and roast chicken yum

Dined on March 25, 2016

Park Tavern was great! Ordered some notables - deviled eggs, truffle fries, and the enormous roast chicken. All were tremendous. The roast chicken is probably fit for two, with a lighter dish on the side, or fit for a BIG eater. It was tremendous - one of the better roast chickens I've ever had! The deviled eggs were great - not your mother's recipe, and for the better!

Tags: fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Deviled eggs and fried chicken sandwich ...

Dined on March 20, 2016

Deviled eggs and fried chicken sandwich are a favorite. Amazing staff and great ambiance. Can't go wrong

food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Brunch at Park Tavern

Dined on March 20, 2016

My friend and I had brunch at Park Tavern in March and enjoyed a good meal. My friend was running late so I was seated and waited at the table for about 20 minutes before she arrived. It took about 15 of those minutes before the server came to me to see if I wanted anything while I was waiting. Perhaps this was because they had just opened, but really that shouldn't happen. Overall, though, we had good drinks, good food and good conversation.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pre-Theatre Dinner

Dined on March 20, 2016

The plan was dinner at Park Tavern before we hit a show at 8p. We were all set with 6p reservations. Until we hit traffic. Ending up arrive after 630p. Paid for the valet parking (good deal) and told the server we had to catch a show. She was on it the whole night. We had amazing food and got out it time without feeling rushed. We ended up taking an Uber to and from the show, which saved us a lot of time. We're eager to come to eat...and take our time. Also, beautiful ambiance and good drinks!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Always enjoy this restaurant! Food and ...

Dined on March 19, 2016

Always enjoy this restaurant! Food and atmosphere is great with a professional staff!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent!

Dined on March 19, 2016

This place is so great. Lovely atmosphere, great service, exceptional food. We had cocktails and bites. I highly recommend: Citrus Salad, Truffle Fries, Brussel Chips, Lemon with Barrata and the jerky. Mezcal cocktail was also so yummy.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Love the restaurant and amazing food!

Dined on March 15, 2016

I was recommended this place by a colleague and totally understand why! Place is amazing. This was my second time coming to the restaurant and the experience was lovely. I brought a friend from Spain and he was blown away by how good the food was. A couple of things that we didn't like: 1) We had 3 different servers and nobody told us when they were switching. So seemed like we were a table nobody cared about. 2) We did the full chicken platter and the stuffing was way too salty. They chicken itself was amazing, but was so sad the stuffing was close to inedible from how salty it was. Overall, food was still delicious and the horseback appetizer is to die for! Get it!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4

Our server seemed disinterested but othe ...

vip
Dined on March 13, 2016

Our server seemed disinterested but otherwise the whole experience was wonderful. I love the space and the wine selection was great. Super happy we tried it out!!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Just as good on our return

Dined on March 6, 2016

This is the second time we have had brunch at Park Tavern and it was simply put exquisite! Huckleberry Fritters were wonderfully sinful. I had the corned beef hash - delightfully packed with corned beef! Larry, our waiter advised us on a bottle of rose syrah which perfectly matched our meal. I am sure we will be back a third, fourth, fifth etc. time.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.