About Park Tavern

1652 Stockton Avenue
San Francisco, CA 94133
View Larger Map

With an exciting mix of vintage fixtures, comfortable furnishings, and handsome textures, Park Tavern is an elegant spin on a North Beach neighborhood classic. Owner Anna Weinberg and designer Kendra Nicholas of Park Interiors collaborated to divide the room into unique, dedicated spaces -- the handsome marble bar, the terra cotta floored cafe with windows that open onto the patio facing Washington Park, the comfortable dining room with tufted leather banquettes, and an open kitchen with a chef’s counter.

Park Tavern will showcase Chef Partner Jennifer Puccio's talents with delicious American bistro classics and emphasize seafood from a wood burning oven. From raw to fried, expect boldly flavored dishes that you'll want to eat several times a week.

Serving up classic cocktails with the candor and character of an old friend, you won't find any overly fancy mixology here. But when it comes to wines, you find something for everyone!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
DINNER:
Sunday- Thursday : 5:30PM to 10:00PM
Friday & Saturday: 5:30PM to 11:00PM

LUNCH:
Friday: 11:30 to 2:30PM

BRUNCH:
Saturday & Sunday: 10:00AM to 2:30PM

BAR:
Tuesday - Friday: 5:00PM to 12:00AM
Saturday & Sunday: 11:00AM to 12:30AM

Cross Street:
Between Filbert St & Union St

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 989-7300

Website:
http://www.parktavernsf.com/

Executive Chef:
Jennifer Puccio

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Park Tavern
Park Tavern
Park Tavern
Deviled Eggs
Brussel Sprout Chips
Avocado Toast
Smoked Deviled Eggs
Ginger Cookie Ice Cream
Bloody Mary
Pork Chop
Crispy Polenta Cakes With Poached Eggs
Deviled Eggs With Bacon And Jalapenos
Poulet Noir (Roasted Chicken)
deviled egg
Corned Beef Hash
Marlowe Burger
Egg Porn!
Cruel Summer
Poulet Noir
Chorizo & Eggs
Jam Jelly & Marmalade
Egg Porn
Sourdough Bread
Double Isaac
Baked Lemon Chips with Buratta
Venison Carpaccio with angus beef tartare, capers & crispy bone marrow
Pickled Sardine Toast
Marlow Burger
Lobster Bisque
Angus Filet
Cosmo
(Raw) Local halibut/ avocado/ corn/ sea beans/ tomato
(Raw) Coho Salmon/ baby beets/ creme fraiche/ dill
Sourdough & Toppings
Smoked salmon
Brussels Sprouts Chips
Crispy brussels sprout chips
Chicken fried green tomato/ remoulade
Veal Schnitzel A La Holstein
Dungeness Crab Toasts
Country Ham Steak And Poached Eggs
Marlowe Burger/ 80-20 Niman Ranch Beef/ Niman Ranch Lamb/ Crisp Del Monte Bacon/ Tangy Sharp Cheddar/ Horseradish Aioli/  Cold Shredded Lettuce/ Carmelized Onions/ Acme Bun & Fries/ Fried in Rice Oil
California kiwi & blood orange, whipped coconut
Carrot Cake
Lemon & basil leaf/ burrata
Park Tavern “Poulet Rouge”, Bloomsdale spinach & Peewee potatoes
Extra Dry Hanger One Martini w/o Olives
Local halibut, avocado, corn, sea beans & tomato
Crispy Brussel Sprout Chips
Brussels Sprout Chips
Demons On Horseback
Grilled Pork Chop
Wild Mushroom Gnocchi
Poulet Rouge
NY Steak
Pan-Fried Corned Beef Hash
China Basin Cocktail
Smoked Salmon Benedict
Tcho Chocolate Creme Brulee
Cast Iron Eggs With Spinach, Prosciutto & Gruyere
Pork Belly Sandwich
Cast Iron Baked Farm Eggs
Challah Toast
pumpkin soup
Crab Fennel Spicy Harissa Toast
Creamy Poached Eggs On Crispy Polenta Cakes With Pork Belly
Coconut Birthday Cake
Halibut
Green Goddess & Pickled Peaches Salad
Banana Coconut Fritters
Green Goddess Salad With Pickled Peaches
Crispy Polenta Cakes
Creamy Poached Eggs On Crispy Polenta Cakes
Smoked Salmon Eggs Benedict
Chocolate Semifreddo Amuse Bouche
Wood Oven Roasted Whole "Poulet Rouge" Chicken
Wild Porcini Mushroom Soup
Petrale Sole
New York Strip Steak Frites
Mussels, Cockles, And Clams
Smoked Trout Dip W/ House Made Potato Chips
Pickle Plate
White Wine
“Demons On Horseback” Smoked Lardo-Wrapped Prawns, Scallion Remoulade & Cucumber
New England Clam Chowder
Comice Pear
Black Pepper Soft Shell Crab
Grilled Sea Scallops
Pt Fries With Truffle, Soft Boiled Egg And Caviar
Heirloom Tomato And Burrata Tart
Grapefruit Brûlée
Dungeness Crab Toast
Smoked Salmon Toast
Braised Beef Shortrib & Corned Beef Hash
Marlowe burger caramelized onions, cheddar, bacon, horseradish aioli & fries
Coffee Toffee Fig Ice Cream
steak tartare
Sweet Corn Soup
Ribeye
Smoked Salmon Club Sandwich

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Our Eden Room is the ideal setting for private gatherings of up to 50 seated guests or 80 for a stand-up reception. The space is perfect for small wedding celebrations, rehearsal dinners, birthdays, anniversary celebrations, as well as business luncheons and dinners.

Park Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

American
San Francisco
Best Restaurants in North Beach ›

fit for foodies (116)
neighborhood gem (83)
special occasion (72)
See All
hot spot (68)
great for brunch (65)
good for groups (64)
vibrant bar scene (62)
romantic (43)
notable wine list (34)
great for lunch (29)
great for outdoor dining (20)
scenic view (13)
kid-friendly (12)
late-night find (10)
Sort By:
Newest
1484 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service and quality of the food at P ...

Dined 3 days ago

The service and quality of the food at Park Tavern for brunch is absolutely amazing! Will definitely be returning to try more of the brunch cocktails and delicious plates.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

I was very disappointed in the food. My ...

Dined 4 days ago

I was very disappointed in the food. My steak was overdone and covered in sauce. Definitely not worth $40. The wine list only had a few options to buy by the glass. I would not recommend to anyone and will not be going back.

food4
ambience5
service2
value2

The bulk of my negative feedback is arou ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

The bulk of my negative feedback is around our table. We sat at a corner seat that looked lovely for a date, but in reality our legs did not fit under the table. I coulndt get my foot around the table's stand and had to sit 'side saddle' through our meal. I was unable to move the table back bc it was so close to the other table and would've locked my date in. Since was a second date, I was very discouraged to bring up the discomfort so I wouldn't come off as needy. I am not a needy person, but my experience was sub par. I have been to Park Tavern four times previously and did not have this experience and I like the place on the whole. You need to be aware of this for people over 5'10". I'm 6'2", 190lbs and did not fit. Lastly, this was the poorest service I have encountered. Our waiter was impatient and distracted when at our table. Our wine glasses sat empty for an extended amount of time before asked to refilling and he seemed unappreciative of our patronage with his attitude. - MW

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

not ideal for vegetarians, no to limited ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

not ideal for vegetarians, no to limited choice and veggie food was not great

food4
ambience1
service4
value3

I have dined at Park Tavern on a couple ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

I have dined at Park Tavern on a couple of occasions in the past and enjoyed it as I did for the most part this time. Food and service were quite good again. However, I must note that the rock and roll music blaring on the sound system destroys any ambiance that you might have. I love my rock and roll and go to concerts often at music venues with good sound systems. However, when spending ~$200 for dinner the background music that you are now providing does not work for me . Further I would not recommend the restaurant until this was changed in some way.

food4
ambience4
service4

Good brunch spot on a Saturday afternoon ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Good brunch spot on a Saturday afternoon near Washington Square. Limited menu but everything on it was excellent. Service was fine, although slow at points. Salmon Benedict, Berry Plate, and House Green Salad were all especially good. Would go back again.

food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Honestly I expected much more. The ambia ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Honestly I expected much more. The ambiance is great, good decoration, trendy fun place to have dinner. But food was not amazing, it was just ok. I had the burger (apparently is famous) and meat was a bit dry (OH NO!). The salad was also ok. The wine was great and the cheesecake too. But thats all. Many others in the area better than this.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed the dining experience (for my da ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Enjoyed the dining experience (for my daughter's 44th birthday). The birthday cake was complimentary. Only disappointment: the appetizer ("Demons on horseback") was too salty. Otherwise food was fine.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Great spot in North Beach to grab a bite ...

vip
Dined on June 17, 2016

Great spot in North Beach to grab a bite. Typical upscale tavern. Lively, nice, good food. Nothing special, but nothing to complain about ;)

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

Always an amazing meal and fun place to ...

vip
Dined on June 16, 2016

Always an amazing meal and fun place to go with friends!

food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Park Tavern is an upscale, neighborhood ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Park Tavern is an upscale, neighborhood "tavern" in San Francisco's North End. The appetizers are amazing. Entrees are delicious, and desserts are both beautiful and scrumptious. It's a little loud and kind of crowded, so be prepared if you go. And I hope you do. You won't be disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great atmosphere and a fun place to drin ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Great atmosphere and a fun place to drink and have dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Pleasant choice

vip
Dined on June 11, 2016

Menu is limited, but good. I had the brussel sprout fries and they were superb. Simply idea and great taste. I also had the pork chop which had a nice combination of flavors. Wines are a bit pricey. Service was very attentive and excellent.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great Food and Ambiance

Dined on June 10, 2016

All the food we ordered was terrific, but the deviled eggs (with bacon piece and salsa verde-like topping) were the standout. We ordered only two ($2.50 ea) since we ordered another appetizer (lemon chips with burrata - YUM!) and two sandwiches and we wanted to try dessert. Next time we plan to order 10 eggs and make our meal around the eggs, the Marlow burger (good-quality) and wine! We sat outside, which was very pleasant. The only downside was when the server dropped the check on our table and walked away without asking if we wanted dessert and coffee (I found this to be a pretty bad service faux pas). We called him back and let him know we were not done and he took our order. Dessert was creme brulee with biscotti and both were good. My capuccino was nicely made and my husband's plain cup of coffee was decently brewed (sizeable cup too). Highly recommend Park Tavern!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Kathy B

Dined on June 8, 2016

The service was impeccable and the staff gracious and warm. We were celebrating an engagement so they brought a complimentary appetizer with champagne. What a lovely gesture. I would recommend to all.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Park Tavern is one of my go-to restauran ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

Park Tavern is one of my go-to restaurants in SF. I took my mother

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Excellent food, great ambiance

Dined on June 2, 2016

We brought an out-of-town friend for dinner and enjoyed it very much. It is pricey but food was excellent, beautiful decor and ambiance. A bit noisy. We will definitely go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Front Of House

Dined on May 29, 2016

Hostess did not want to transfer bar bill to table. I've been in restaurant industry, it should not have been an issue. Hostess or manager looked at me like I was on plant 10 when I said I had a reservation. Zero charm from her. Basically rude to a group of people who like to spend a LOT of money at restaurants. Waiter very nice and funny. I would totally recommend this place if it weren't for front of the house staff. Total fail. Order a Corpse Reviver; the bartender nailed it.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Delicious Brunch

Dined on May 28, 2016

Four of us shared several brunch dishes - the deviled eggs, french toast, hash, polenta and the fritters (plus a slice of birthday cake at the end). We loved it all!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

The atmosphere is fun, but the food was ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

The atmosphere is fun, but the food was mediocre. The sole was dry, and most of the food was oversalted or undercooked (and I like salt!) We were there for a special occasion which they knew. But our service was slow (after quick appetizers the mains took forever) and there was no acknowledgement of our event. I picked them because they were on Michael Bauer's list of top 100 SF restaurants. Not sure I understand why ....

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was probably my fourth or fifth vis ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

This was probably my fourth or fifth visit to Park Tavern. It has always been consistently good. The food is outstanding and the scene is happening. It is a great place to bring out of town friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

underwhelming for a michelin

Dined on May 27, 2016

We walked in and was happily welcomed by the host. Park Tavern has a great ambiance, and what seemed to be a lively bar scene. The service was a little off. Our waiter acted like he wanted to be anywhere but work. I get it, its work, but is it too hard to do your job with a smile? It took an unreasonable amount of time for him to take our order. And I have to add he spilt (red) wine on my shoulder. As I looked up at him with the reaction of "ohhhhhhhhhhh" he ignored me and walked away from the table. Zero acknowledgement whatsoever. The deviled eggs were tasty. The Duck Terrine with foie gras was 90% duck with a very small amount of foie. We ordered 2 Marlow burgers which were inconsistent. One burger had 2 huge pieces of bacon, the other had one slice that was torn in half. Two of us also ordered the sole. The fish was very bland. Zero hints of garlic, salt or pepper. It was if they relied solely on the sunchoke puree to handle the small punch of flavor. We also ordered the birthday cake and milk chocolate cheesecake. The cake was delicious, probably the best thing we had the entire night. Milk chocolate cheesecake was good, but nothing spectacular. At the end of the day, this place is not worth the $400.00 plus dollars we spent. I have been wanting to dine at this establishment for about a year now. This place is "fit for foodies", but there are a dozen plus other places I would rather visit as well as recommend to others.

Tags: vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good addition on the Square

Dined on May 24, 2016

Came to SF few years back and this is a good new spot on the square. Good food, good vibe .

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely delightful meal. Great dishes ...

vip
Dined on May 23, 2016

Absolutely delightful meal. Great dishes, helpful service particularly in navigating the wine list, nice atmosphere. The only weak spot was the cocktails which were a bit too sweet and candylike for my taste - pay attention when ordering.

food5
ambience5
service5

Always great!!!

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

Always great!!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Get the crispy polenta cakes!

Dined on May 21, 2016

Brunch at Park Tavern is a unique experience that every San Franciscan must do at least once. Bring a significant other/date with you. The cocktails are top-notch. The ambience and environment is most-welcoming. However, the food is PHENOMENAL! The chefs use the finest fresh ingredients and the quality exceeds all expectations. For brunch, I had the crispy polenta cakes with poached eggs and arugula. Take my word for it, you won't be the slightest bit disappointed. The staff were very friendly and alert. I will definitely be coming back to Park Tavern more often.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Food and service were excellent. Unfort ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Food and service were excellent. Unfortunately the restaurant was very noisy making it very difficult to have a conversation. There were tables of numerous women surrounding us and they were excessively loud.

Tags: great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service2

The food was good. Our favorite were the ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

The food was good. Our favorite were the Brussel Sprouts. We had to wait quite awhile for our entrees, and felt a bit forgotten with service. The ambiance is fun, and a great date night destination.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've dined at their sister restaurant, ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

We've dined at their sister restaurant, Marlowe, countless times and had high expectations for Park Tavern based on numerous suggestions from friends and co-workers. My husband and I had a 9pm reservation on a Friday: great atmosphere with a lively scene, the bar was packed, the service was personable and the staff was knowledgeable, the food was delicious!- especially loved the foie gras. And the price was great at just $200 for two with drinks, appetizers, and two entrees with sides. We will 100% be back!

Tags: hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5

Park Tavern remains one of my favorite r ...

vip
Dined on May 12, 2016

Park Tavern remains one of my favorite restaurants in the city. Took a client from out of town and it was a great experience.

food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding. I eat there every time I c ...

vip
Dined on May 11, 2016

Outstanding. I eat there every time I come to San Francisco. Great neighborhood.

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great spot in North Beach

vip
Dined on May 11, 2016

The food and drinks are great, wonderful service...Love this restaurant!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food3
ambience4
service3

Granted it was Mother's Day, but....orde ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Granted it was Mother's Day, but....orders got confused, food was fine but not exceptional, dessert even less exceptional, they ran out out of bellinis, out of entrees and heavens it was LOUD. All of this would be just fine, but it was pretty pricey, too. What happened to the fine days of Moose's?

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Can't Wait to Return!

Dined on May 8, 2016

I have visited San Francisco a few times over the last year and a half always wanted to go the The Park Tavern. I finally got there! The atmosphere is energetic. We sat by the window overlooking Washington Square. The lemon chips appetizer with burrata and sorrel was innovative and fresh. Just delightful. The grilled asparagus salad was top notch. The shrimp appetizer we shared as a meal was so flavorful. Looking forward to returning on my next visit to wonderful SF!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Bring Earplugs and Order the Hamburger

Dined on May 7, 2016

I've had the hamburger at Park's sister restaurant, Marlowe Burger, and it was good to know that the burger at Park is just as good. They have some interesting twists on cocktails---a little jalapeño with your tequila shot, some extra bitters in your old fashioned. They work well. However, if you have not been schooled in American Sign Language you may be out of luck. The space gets extremely loud in the evenings.

Tags: fit for foodies
food2
ambience4
service5

Helpful server. Ordered the sole despite ...

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

Helpful server. Ordered the sole despite warnings by the server that it was a "modest" portion. Modest didn't begin to describe a 2 ounce piece of fish for $30. Left starving and furious. What a rip off.

food3
ambience5
service3

Beautiful place for brunch with really n ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

Beautiful place for brunch with really nice ambiance. We had a party of 6 and our waiter was friendly, but often missing when we needed something. We started with the huckleberry fritters which were outstanding! My friends had the avocado toast as well and enjoyed it. For my main course I ordered the pancakes which weren't memorable at all. 2 pancakes with a pat of butter and a very small bit of syrup. If I'm paying $12 for pancakes I expect them to be pretty good and these were just ok. A few friends ordered the French toast which looked yummy but they said was soggy by they time it got to the table. The shrimp and grits seemed to be well liked by my friend that ordered it.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Especially good

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

It takes a lot to really "wow" for brunch, but our brunch at Park Tavern was above and beyond good.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience4
service4

The bar steak was as tough as shoe leath ...

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

The bar steak was as tough as shoe leather - we will be back for the park tavern fries as a snack but won't be headed back for entrees anytime soon.

food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Bloody Mary is a MUST

Dined on April 24, 2016

Had a fantastic brunch here with friends. Possibly the best bloody mary in the city. The deviled eggs are great as well. I had a reservation, so I walked right in, but there are bar spots available too. Great atmosphere and yummy brunch dishes. It is fun watching the open kitchen as well.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, hot spot

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.