About Park Cafe

4403 Murphy Road
Nashville, TN 37209
View Larger Map

At Park Cafe, our philosophy is to create innovative cuisine using high-quality seasonal ingredients from the vine. Our culinary team is dedicated to serving market fresh cuisine featuring products from local farms, gardens and artisan producers. Simple preparations allow the quality of the ingredients to shine, while the rich, hearty flavors that characterize our cuisine are the mainstays of the menu.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:30pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
44th Ave North

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 383-4409

Website:
http://parkcafenashville.com/

Parking Details:
We offer complementary valet along with street parking if available.

Executive Chef:
Willy Thomas

Private Party Facilities:
We offer private dining for up to 60 guests. From rehearsal dinners to business meetings we cater to all types of special events.

Private Party Contact:
Andrea Sawall: 6153834409

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • mushroom risotto
  • Arugula And Radiccio
  • Brussell Sprouts Salad
mushroom risotto
Arugula And Radiccio
Brussell Sprouts Salad

Park Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Neighborhood Gem
Nashville
Neighborhood Gem
Nashville
Best Restaurants in Nashville ›

neighborhood gem (39)
special occasion (30)
fit for foodies (29)
See All
romantic (25)
good for groups (18)
notable wine list (12)
vibrant bar scene (11)
great for outdoor dining (8)
hot spot (6)
late-night find (4)
kid-friendly (1)
great for brunch (1)
great for lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
302 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is by far my favorite Nashville pla ...

Dined 7 days ago

This is by far my favorite Nashville place to eat. Awesome staff and awesome food

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was an AMAZING experience! My date ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

This was an AMAZING experience! My date and I were a overdressed, but the ambiance... Everything was perfect. The food... *wipes drool from bottom lip* Please try the chicken and spinich dumplings. I plan on becoming a regular!!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Had heard a lot of good things about Par ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Had heard a lot of good things about Park Cafe, and it lived up to its advance billing.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I haven't dined at Park Cafe since its e ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

I haven't dined at Park Cafe since its extensive renovation. It has returned to its roots as a chef driven, creative, local and sustainably sourced operation. The bar operation is first rate. Wine list is moderately priced and contains enough top flight labels. The food and service were superb. Unobtrusive yet attentive friendly service. Great menu offerings. Nice to go to a place that doesn't require an extensive specials list. We enjoyed tuna tartare, mongolian beef, and a crab stuffed avocado. The filet and pork chop were excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent restaurant. Remains a classic.

Dined on June 5, 2016

My wife and I returned from out of town to our favorite restaurant. It again did not disappoint. Our steak was amazing as we remember. The last time we were there was medical school 6 years ago. Perfect nostalgia. Gem of Nashville.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first visit to Park Cafe an ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

This was our first visit to Park Cafe and it was just outstanding! Lauren was a super waitress, helpful and very knowledgeable. All of the dishes were so so good. We will definitely be back. Oh and the valet parking was easy and nice to have.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We took some out of town friends to Park ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

We took some out of town friends to Park Cafe where I had never been. It's no wonder this place has lasted in Nashville so long. It was GREAT! I had the fish stew which was awesome. The crab stuffed avocado was also pretty spectacular. We had a great time and were treated very well from the valet, to the hostess, to the table service. Very nice place.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Service was great. But the food was disapointing

vip
Dined on May 4, 2016

The service is always great. The food is not consistent.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Date Night Go-To

Dined on May 3, 2016

Its our favorite place for a date night in Nashville- hands down! Best food, great service, fabulous cocktails. A glorious meal from start to finish!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never been there before but treated beautifully.

Dined on May 1, 2016

The food was terrific; if they are still serving the polenta, I highly recommend. The wait staff were quick and excellent, kind and unobtrusive. My husband and I don't get out much (due to having a 3 year old) and so we appreciate having a good experience on our one night out. My only regret was that I had no room for dessert.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

After Wedding Dinner

Dined on May 1, 2016

After a small wedding ceremony, we brought our wedding party to Park Cafe for what was the perfect dinner. Every plate was excellent, server was top notch, atmosphere the perfect compliment. Love this place!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and service!

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

Great food and service!

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Park Cafe/anniversary dinner

Dined on April 9, 2016

We had a great meal starting with the fig and goat cheese pizza and the chorizo filled dates. I had the steak which was amazing and perfectly cooked and my husband had the pork which was good but a little dry. The wine, beer and cocktail list was extensive. They ran out of the strawberry shortcake which was a huge disappointment considering we had 6:30 reservations. I can't imagine they had that many people eating it that night already. We had the flourless chocolate cake instead which was good. AS far as the ambiance goes, it was nice however, I could do without all the flat screen tvs. All in all it was a good experience with great food.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great dining experience!

vip
Dined on March 20, 2016

I have discovered Park Cafe and will be returning often. The breadth of the menu is impressive and the quality of the food is outstanding. Service was attentive without being intrusive, and the ambiance was a nice blend of relaxation and energy. The feel of this restaurant is that of a neighborhood bar and grille with first class fare.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Will try again

Dined on March 16, 2016

Excellent service and ambiance, but sadly, I'd give an average for food and drink. I ordered a mule cocktail that was very weak, and small plates (peppadews, oysters) that waned in presentation flair and flavor. The entrees (fish, polenta) though I liked the selections - were not spectacular. I am a cook myself and wanted to make some suggestions! I will definitely go back - for the ambiance - it may be one of the last pleasant, unobnoxious/non-hipster places in Nashville. However, I will be more particular about what I order, or go with lower expectations and just appreciate the place and good service.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Great environment for a private evening

Dined on February 16, 2016

Quiet and dim environment that is broken up in to separate rooms to provide a more private dining experience. A reasonably sized bar and table area if dropping in for a drink is more your style. I didn't feel that the quality of the food was quite on par with the price for the entrees but it was still a fun dining experience to try not having been there prior.

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Overall great, questionable Pommes Frites

Dined on February 14, 2016

We ate at Park Cafe on Valentine's Day. Overall the experience was pleasant. The earlier courses were better than the mains, with one major stand out. Our first two courses came out quickly and then we waited for an exceptionally long time to get our mains. The "Pommes Frites" that accompanied my meal were so much like McDonald's french fries that I couldn't get over it for the rest of the night. Literally, they looked, tasted, smelled, and resembled McDonald's fries in every way. We laughed that maybe there was some sort of potato emergency in the kitchen and the panicked chef sent someone out on a french fry run. We looked around at other tables--anyone with the Pommes Frites had them pushed mournfully to the side. All the other food was wonderful...but the french fry thing really got me. For approximately $200...I expected more.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience2
service4

This place is always a favorite. Great f ...

Dined on February 6, 2016

This place is always a favorite. Great food, good drinks, friendly service. Always consistent!

food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Wrong meal served cold

Dined on February 2, 2016

I was served the wrong meal, it was cold, they charged me anyway!!

food3
ambience2
service4

Good local restaurant. The appetizers we ...

vip
Dined on January 30, 2016

Good local restaurant. The appetizers were delicious, better than the entrees, which were ok but not outstanding by any means. My husband and I shared the chicken and spinach dumplings and the Mongolian beef. We agreed we would both order these again. They were out of the stuffed peppadews unfortunately! For our main course, I had the springer mountain chicken breast with the Brussels sprouts and chile Mac n cheese. The flavors were good but the chicken was slightly dry while the Brussels sprouts were undercooked in my opinion and cold by the time they got to the table. My husband had the salmon with the Szechuan green beans. Again, good flavors but the fish was over cooked as were the beans. We probably had the worst table in the house, tucked in a tiny back room. The lighting was bad- like being in your great grandmothers home if she only uses 20 watt bulbs... A lamp and more pictures on the wall, maybe some plants could really help that small desolate space. The rest of the restaurant appeared much more appealing! We had a great bottle of wine and we will definitely try this restaurant again as its so close to our home.

food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Happy hour fun!

vip
Dined on January 27, 2016

Went to the cafe to meet up with friends for happy hour. Had a few glasses of wine, wonderful goat cheese pizza, and share burger and fries...all for $40 per couple including tip! Marissa was our server and she was wonderful!

Tags: neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Love this place. Great food!

Dined on January 13, 2016

Love this place. Great food!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Experience

Dined on January 10, 2016

Had been a while since we've eaten here ... the service was fantastic, the food was amazing, the new renovations look great, and we'll be back again soon!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I need to eat at Park Cafe more often

vip
Dined on January 7, 2016

Wow! I had the rainbow trout and it was magic in my mouth. The chef nailed the texture of the fish with the skin being crispy while the flesh was tender and moist. The cauliflower puree was seasoned perfectly but the surprise was the roasted cauliflower that rested beside it which brought more texture. Then the pine nut gremolata on top brought color to my plate with more flavors and textures. I came with a party of 12 which the staff handled like pros. Only compliments for the food and service from my group.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Appetizer 10, Entrees 3

vip
Dined on January 3, 2016

That could be a football score or a 1 - 10 rating of our food. The artisan cheese tray was outstanding (a 10). The filet mignon and the sirloin on noodles were not good (both were 3's). They were way overcooked - not very good flavor overall - and the vegetables were not very good either. I have eaten at the Park a number of times and have always been pleased [ that's why I go back ] but this past Saturday was really not good at all. I was surprised and disappointed - especially since it was intended to be a nice night out with my family. There are so many great options in Nashville these days, I'm not sure I'll be going back to the Park.

food4
ambience4
service4

A lot of unique dishes, with some staple ...

Dined on January 3, 2016

A lot of unique dishes, with some staples as well. I enjoyed the chicken dish with red pepper jelly along with Brussels sprouts +green chile Mac and cheese. The jelly was sweeter than I was anticipating, so the heat on the Mac and cheese gave me the spice I was looking for! Will definitely be back to try other options

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great food and service but a party next ...

vip
Dined on January 3, 2016

Great food and service but a party next to us, one woman in particular, was so loud and talked non stop. The more she drank, the louder she got. We were in the small side room with tin ceiling tiles so that could have contributed.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Easily one of the best restaurants in Nashville.

Dined on January 1, 2016

Love this place. Love a rotating menu. Have never had anything bad here.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Park Cafe

Dined on January 1, 2016

We had dinner with friends here on New Years Eve and the dinner was exceptional! The only problem we had was that there was nobody at reception that greeted us and we had to wait quite awhile before someone appeared. Also, the valet was terrible. You would think on a cold wintry night that the guy could at least open the car door for the women! Overall, we had a good experience and will return.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service2

Had New Year's Eve dinner. We were abou ...

Dined on January 1, 2016

Had New Year's Eve dinner. We were about 2 minutes early for our reservation. Table was not ready for another 20-25 minutes. Duck was good. Pasta dishes lacked flavor. Service really lacked.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Perfect

Dined on January 1, 2016

Perfect fine dining experience without feeling stuffy. Great food and staff.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience2
service5

great neighborhood restaurant

vip
Dined on November 28, 2015

service was good. food always good. not enamored with new dining area where we were seated outside of bar area in the interior. felt like we were in a diner area. i much prefer other parts of the restaurant including outside (when available) or near windows in front.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service. Wonderful place for a dat ...

vip
Dined on November 21, 2015

Great service. Wonderful place for a date night. Delicious meal. Get the Brussel sprouts to start -- you'll be glad you did.

food2
ambience2
service1

Disappointing.

Dined on November 14, 2015

Service was sub-par. Our water was only refilled once over a 2 hour span, and I had to get up from the table to find our server to ask if we could get another round of drinks because he didn't check on our table for at least 30+ minutes. Food was okay. My steak came out over cooked (ordered at medium and it was almost cooked well done), and it was also barely warm when they brought it to the table. It made me think that it was sitting in the kitchen for a while because our server forgot about us.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service4

Two entree's ?

Dined on October 16, 2015

We love having a classy restaurant in our neighborhood and have enjoyed the food previously to this visit. The salmon and pizza were excellent, however one guest compared his grits and shrimp to a Shoney's plate. He has had it in several other venues and thought yours was not up to par. As for the lamb, a guest from Germany, said it is "eatable". Your wine list is top-rate along with the service. Yes we shall return - two out of five won't deter us from the great ambiance, menu and service.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service3

bacon, salt, and bad combinations

Dined on August 30, 2015

Small plates were served with layered sauces, weak flavors and frequently on top of another sauce without distinction. Salty pork bits, bacon raw or overcooked in most of the plates, hardly anything you would want to eat twice. Sysco's finest with bad lipstick.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service5

We miss the way it was before...

Dined on July 27, 2015

This was always my husband's favorite restaurant but he says we probably won't be returning. He missed the way it was before they did the redecorating and the now added small plates menu...we missed the old menu with the large selection of regular menu items. Wedge salad was wonderful but we did not like the pork belly which was highly recommended by our server. Too fatty and dry. Crab cakes were good our friends said. Service was excellent.

food4
ambience4
service5

The new decor looks great and food is ex ...

vip
Dined on July 25, 2015

The new decor looks great and food is excellent

food5
ambience3
service2

Can We Get Some Service?

vip
Dined on July 21, 2015

After an enticing writeup in The Scene (Burger Week), we decided to check out the Burgers here at Park Cafe. After waiting 15 minutes for service and watching a later seated table of 6 be served, I went up to the Bar and asked for a server to come to our table.

food5
ambience5
service5

High class right in the neighborhood

vip
Dined on July 21, 2015

This local restaurant has high-classed small plates and appetizers. The entrees are a little pricey but the other menu items are very reasonable and each one is very special and tasty. I especially recommend the stuffed dates. The salads are light and refreshing and good size to accompany other small plates. The hamburgers are to die for. Good Beer and Wine list, too. And those are reasonably priced too. Great week night treat.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.