About Park Avenue Grill - Skirvin Hilton

1 Park Avenue
Oklahoma City, OK 73102
View Larger Map

Park Avenue Grill is steeped in the heritage of Oklahoma City’s iconic Skirvin hotel. Through the restoration process of the restaurant we uncovered several elements of the original 1930 Skirvin Coffee Shop. This historical craftsmanship is why at Park Avenue Grill we pride ourselves on being different.
The roots of our cuisine lay in the food memories of our youth and the travels and experiences of our journey as cooks. We start with the best local, seasonal produce available, the purest farmed animals and the historic foodstuffs that have defined this local landscape for generations. We then look at all these ingredients and traditions through a lens that is global, technical and provocative
We welcome you to our modern southern table that provides a place to talk, share and laugh. It ensures that we have to take a moment to hear one another and that we are not alone in a fast and busy world or a slow and dreary one.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Southern, American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast -
Monday thru Friday, 6:30am to 11:00am, ala carte and buffet
Saturday and Sunday, 7:00am to 11:00am, ala carte and buffet

Lunch-
Monday thru Saturday, 11:00am to 2:00pm

Brunch-
Sunday, 11:00am to 2:00pm

Dinner-
Monday through Sunday, 5:00pm tp10:00pm

Cross Street:
Broadway

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(405) 702-8444

Website:
http://www.parkavegrill.com/

Entertainment:
Live Jazz entertainment is featured Tuesday through Saturday in our signature Red Piano Lounge. Listing found at www.redpianolounge.com

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet parking is available for all our dining guests.

Executive Chef:
Christopher Pope

Private Party Facilities:
Our Private Dining Room (PDR) is able to accommodate groups ranging from 5 to 24 people in an elegant board room setting. The PDR is great for a morning breakfast or lunch meeting and can accomodate light av use. For dinner it is the perfect locale for a multi course wine dinner or special occassion event.

Additionally, we have the east third of the Park Avenue Grill which can be a private location for groups from 30 to 55. Package menus as well as custom menus available to meet your taste and expectations.

Private Party Contact:
Paul White: 405-272-3040x5138

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The Park Avenue Grill additionally offers special holiday events throughout the year. These include Thanksgiving, Easter Sunday, Mothers Day, Valentines Day and New Years Eve. We are also open for dinner on both Christmas eve, and Christmas Day.

Restaurant Photos

  • Sriracha Honey Duck Wings
  • Charcuterie plate
  • Lasagnette With Shrimp, Asparagus, Cremini
  • Kale Caesar Salad
  • Edamame Falafel
  • Double Cut Pork Chop
  • crabcake
Sriracha Honey Duck Wings
Charcuterie plate
Lasagnette With Shrimp, Asparagus, Cremini
Kale Caesar Salad
Edamame Falafel
Double Cut Pork Chop
crabcake

Park Avenue Grill - Skirvin Hilton Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Contemporary American
Oklahoma City
Contemporary American
Oklahoma City
Best Restaurants in Oklahoma City ›

special occasion (6)
fit for foodies (5)
great for brunch (5)
See All
romantic (4)
good for groups (2)
hot spot (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
great for lunch (1)
notable wine list (1)
neighborhood gem (1)
Sort By:
Newest
513 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

A relaxed, quiet place for a quiet break ...

Dined 6 days ago

A relaxed, quiet place for a quiet breakfast. Service dedicated to making diners feel at ease.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5

Bison short ribs .. great dish!

Dined 7 days ago

Bison short ribs .. great dish!

food5
ambience5
service5

Very good food and service. A hidden gem ...

vip
Dined on May 23, 2016

Very good food and service. A hidden gem.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great!

Dined on May 6, 2016

This wasn't our first visit and it will not be the last! The steak was outstanding!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Edgar Cruz was playing acoustic guitar. ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

Edgar Cruz was playing acoustic guitar. Very well I might add. It was a very lovely brunch

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Had to repeatedly ask waiter to bring th ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

Had to repeatedly ask waiter to bring things for table. Restaurant was not very busy to have to provide so many reminders.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service1
value2

Wife's birthday dinner at the Park Ave Grill

Dined on March 26, 2016

Very disappointed in service and attentiveness of staff. We were a party of 14 and for awhile the only only people in the restaurant. extremely slow...what should have been 1 1/2 hour dinner, took 2 1/2 hours. Food was lukewarm, dinner rolls were hard and cold, coffee was cold, entrees were brought out very staggered and slowly, and pork chops were over cooked on 3 out of 5 of them ordered. only 1 waiter who just could not service well and keep up. exceedingly disappointed for what is touted as a high end downtown restaurant.

food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Disappointing Service

Dined on March 25, 2016

Food was good but service fair. When we told the waiter that the rolls were hard as if they had been microwaved too long he said there wasn't anything he could do that's just the way they are. We saw him speak to a person who I believe was the manager That person never addressed us. Waiter slow on service. Nice but not experienced enough to be working as a waiter in what is suppose to be an upscale hotel.

food5
ambience5
service5

Must try the pecan bourbon bread pudding ...

Dined on March 17, 2016

Must try the pecan bourbon bread pudding!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Service & Lovely Details

Dined on February 27, 2016

The service was attentive without being obtrusive, and the presentation of everything was lovely - from the actual restaurant to the place settings to the food. And the food was delicious! They were also very gracious when our party went from ten people planned to five people in actuality, and they would have been equally gracious had that been reversed. Will definitely dine here again, and am looking forward to a Sunday Brunch soon!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service5

We always really enjoy our brunches at t ...

vip
Dined on February 21, 2016

We always really enjoy our brunches at the Park Avenue Grill! We do the $30 option and just keep eating. The drinks are fun, the food is great! Edgar Cruz is there playing the guitar often, man that guy can play! So overall fair price, good food, great atmosphere and you can't go wrong.

food1
ambience4
service4
value1

disappointed

Dined on February 14, 2016

came here 3 or 4 years ago on Vday and loved it. was worth every penny. Vday 2016, we hardly ate any of the courses. 1st course) poached lobster was undercooked. 2nd) artichokes were tiny and dry, asparagus was raw, as in, directly from walmart to plate. treviso (Radicchio) has bitterness to it, but this was beyond bitter. My spouse and I watched other tables as they got this salad. we had a good laugh at watching every tables reaction upon first bite. Not one table took more than once bite of it. lol (I felt bad for the servers) 3rd/main) we had pork tenderloin & Ribeye. Both dishes were basically just a plate of meat with 2-3 garnishes.(carrots/onions/mushrooms). It reminded me of how my dog eats. 4th course/dessert) best thing of the night!!! really good cookie/wafer with whipped cream. It was the highlight. When my wife asked what blush wines they carried, she didnt think they carried blush. It turned out the server didnt know the type of wine "blush" is. Was not worth the $150 or even half of that unfortunately. I was so sad since we loved this place a couple years ago.

food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Not fitting for your sweetheart.

Dined on February 14, 2016

My wife and I had the fixed price Valentine's Day dinner menu. I had higher expectations as the Skirvin is a nice hotel and we've been here previously for Thanksgiving lunch. Our food was cold, the steak was overdone, the décor was old, the floor tiles were coming up, it was all in all a decidedly unromantic scene.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food and service were good and expedisous

Dined on January 16, 2016

We had a play time limit that was respected by our waiter. Good food and service.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Very disappointing

vip
Dined on December 24, 2015

Not my first time at Park Ave Grille but it may be my last. Our server obviously had never worked in an upscale restaurant. She had no idea how to uncork and serve wine. Some training for her and the shift manger will definitely benefit them and the restaurant. The prime rib was dry and cold. The potatoes were luke warm. We had to request bread.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

historically serine

Dined on December 23, 2015

From the grand entrance to the welcoming smiles to the warm greetings, it's all a foretaste to an incredible dinner. Our annivesary dinner was without pause or complaint. My wife's salmon thrilled her, and my grilled flat iron steak was perfect! And with a staff that went above and beyond, it was a perfect evening. Thanks to park ave grill!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Lovely dinner

Dined on December 20, 2015

We celebrated our anniversary at the Park Avenue Grill. I enjoyed the pork chop dinner while my husband had the salmon...which he said was the best he has had. Lovely and relaxing place to enjoy a delicious dinner.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Thanksgiving dinner. Food was good, some ...

vip
Dined on November 26, 2015

Thanksgiving dinner. Food was good, somewhat imaginative. Service excellent.

food5
ambience5
service4

Food was unique, ambience was good, but ...

Dined on November 26, 2015

Food was unique, ambience was good, but service was not what I expected

food4
ambience5
service4

Happy Thanksgiving Meal

Dined on November 26, 2015

The atmosphere and the food was great. Enjoyed the whole dining experience and I would recommend this establishment to others.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food2
ambience1
service2

Sadly, they've changed too much.

vip
Dined on November 18, 2015

Used to love taking business guests to the Park Avenue Grill but I won't any longer. While the food is quite pretty...it doesn't deliver in taste. My salad had huge chunks of cauliflower and half carrots. Too hard to cut and certainly awkward to eat. Comments around the table were the same - pretty, but average in taste. Pie dessert...which we were splitting among 2 of us, came out with three bites of pie on a bed of toasted meringue. Again, pretty, but three bites...really? They've taken some things off the menu because they claim to have locally sourced food now. Salmon and shrimp in Oklahoma? I don't think so. Blue jeans and checked shirts do not do this historic hotel justice. Go back to white tablecloths and good food...not just pretty food. I just won't go back.

food4
ambience4
service4

Great dinner before a show.

Dined on November 15, 2015

My wife and I had dinner at Park Avenue Grill before a show at the Civic Center. Very quiet but it was Sunday night. Our dinner and service was great and close to the Civic Center.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5

Great Surprise

Dined on November 10, 2015

I'm one to leave a hotel to find decent food and atmosphere. But I was tired and needed speed. This place really surprised me in service and cuisine - both top notch. Excellent soup and Scottish salmon cooked perfectly. Fair pricing for quality.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

It is our second time to go to this Sund ...

Dined on October 25, 2015

It is our second time to go to this Sunday Brunch and we were not and never will be disappointed. It is fantastic with Edgar Cruz entertainment and a wonderful brunch concept. Remember to get reservations! Top notch

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Fun for the morning after a late night!

Dined on October 25, 2015

It was the best watermelon I have ever had. That was exactly what I needed after a late night birthday celebration with my sweetheart. Best brunch ever, all of the food had special flavor detail I hadn't had before. This place also had live music so it was pretty relaxing.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot
food2
ambience5
service4

Lacking in Menu items

Dined on October 18, 2015

This was once a great place and the location and ambiance still is. However, the food is really lacking.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4

The food was amazing, the service starte ...

Dined on October 4, 2015

The food was amazing, the service started out a little rocky, but got better towards the end. All together, a wonderful place.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Place was great! And service was amazing ...

Dined on September 19, 2015

Place was great! And service was amazing!

food5
ambience4
service5

An excellent brunch

Dined on September 13, 2015

I have eaten brunch at The Park Ave. Grill at the Skirvin two times. Both times it was very tasty, with a varied choice of dishes and good service. I prefer seated service to a buffet, which makes people overeat. With the $30. option you can have as many servings as you want, but it is delivered one selection at a time, freshly cooked. It also comes with two cocktails which makes it a decent deal. There was music by Edgar Cruze, and the atmosphere is happy and relaxed.

Tags: great for brunch
food4
ambience4
service4

Puzzling

vip
Dined on August 22, 2015

Food, service and ambiance were all very good. My wife had the Buffalo Short Ribs, I had the Salmon. Food was well prepared and presented. The Chess Pie dessert was delicious and interestingly presented. We'd go back anytime. The only puzzle to the entire night was that we were the only diners in the place! Not another soul came in between 6 & 7pm on a Saturday night. I just don't understand it given the quality of the service and food. Maybe someone else can shed some light on this?

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4

Excellent brunch, at affordable prices! ...

Dined on August 16, 2015

Excellent brunch, at affordable prices! Great food, great service, and great atmosphere!! The wait staff was very helpful and knowledge, and the musician added the extra touch. Will definitely be going back for brunch!!!

food3
ambience2
service2

Our first time here. There was literall ...

Dined on July 24, 2015

Our first time here. There was literally no one in the restaurant for most of our meal. Its very open and cold feeling. Not a warm atmosphere at all. Our food was only okay. We both ordered the special. For desert they server recommended a popcorn icecream with carmel. The icecream was just nasty and the carmel was frozen solid. Server was inattentive and the manager wouldnt leave us alone. Very odd place.

food1
ambience1
service3

Food is as very disappointing and overpriced.

Dined on July 13, 2015

I had GI problems for 24 hours after eating there. I had the omelet and soup for lunch.

food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing atmosphere!

Dined on June 21, 2015

My husband and I had a great time for his Father's Day brunch. The breakfast menu was great and the portions were perfect. Our service was well timed and very friendly. What made the atmosphere nice was having music in the background. We loved it!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4

Overall not too bad

Dined on May 9, 2015

Food was great! Service was very decent. The only hiccups I saw were the desserts. Our group of 8 wasn't very fond of the dessert at all but everything else was very smoothe.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food2
ambience3
service4

The service was good. The salad was goo ...

Dined on April 17, 2015

The service was good. The salad was good. It's a nice place. I ordered my martini with a twist of lemon and got a wedge of lemon. That's ok, though, the vodka was top-shelf. The pasta and shrimp entree my wife and I had was ok but was heavily laden with salt. It could definitely have benefitted from more herbs and less salt. You're going to serve a pasta dish that's $25 and use salt as the primary seasoning? Not right. I've eaten here several times before, usually for a work event, and the food quality has always been mediocre when I've been here. I just couldn't get a reservation at the other restaurants in the area. My wife and I were going to a concert and staying down the street. It was here or Chelino's or Zio's. Zio's would have been just as good and a lot less expensive.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service4

Great High Class/Quality Brunch in downtown OKC

Dined on March 29, 2015

After lots of research on TripAdvisor, I found this place and made a reservation on OpenTable. (best to do on a busy Sunday morning) I arrived 40 minutes early and got to meet many of the Notre Dame women's players, former players, one grandmother, one assistant coach, and more plus I got to see Muffet, my favorite coach. As a ND alum, this was an great treat. I knew that they were staying there, but I never imagined seeing so many of them and a 10 minute visit with the probable national player of the year and her parents! As far as the Sunday brunch, there are two choices-a limited one for $25 and one with many more choices for $30. I skipped on the 2 included drinks and just had several glasses of unsweetened tea. I got one choice from the starter list and had a crab and cheese quiche with some salad. I dug the "goodies" out and didn't eat the crust as I am watching my bad carbs currently. For my 1st course from the unlimited main menu choices, I had the country ham, eggs, and red eye gravy and passed on the biscuit. My next course and my 4th course were steak (rare) and eggs (2 over medium). Again, I skipped any potato or bread choice. For my 3rd course, I had the short rib benny and had the English muffin left off. There was a guy singing and playing the guitar. I was right next to him. He played some good music and wasn't too loud so it made brunch even better. Service was slow at first, but they had been swamped by the breakfast crowd, including the ND players, coaches, and staff, before 11 am. Kat was my server and took good care of me. I highly recommend this if you want to eat a lot for brunch. good food, good service, good musical entertainment, comfortable setting, decent price, etc. A person of quality and class should enjoy this Sunday brunch experience!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Great brunch.

Dined on March 8, 2015

The brunch is wonderful, best in the city. For $30 you get two champagne cocktails a first course and unlimited second courses. All five of us loved what we ordered, I suggest the quail with two small waffles.

Tags: great for brunch, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service4

Happy Chef

Dined on February 21, 2015

The omelet chef was awesome. His attitude was infectiously pleasant and happy. I wish I could start every day having breakfast in his presence. The rest of my weekend dining experience was not as memorable. (I'm trying still to forget the dessert from dinner...see private message).

Tags: great for brunch
food1
ambience3
service1

SO many problems

Dined on February 15, 2015

If you want to order anything a la carte, you are out of luck. If you want your waiter to be rude to you, however, you are definitely in luck. It was honestly the worst experience I have ever had in Oklahoma City. When my friends arrived before I did, they were told it was a 45 minute wait because they didn't have a reservation. The restaurant was empty. The menu is designed as a package deal in which you have to spend $25-35 dollars per person. They will not let you split a meal or change anything... which is a problem for me bc I have a serious gluten allergy. To make matters worse, the waiters rolled his eyes at us, one of our meals only came out after the person at our table went to ask for it from a different waiter (the other plates had been at the table for over 10 minutes at that point), and the music was so loud that we could only talk while the musician was on breaks. For a brunch scenario, they failed miserably. I will never go back.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.