About Parizade

2200 W. Main Street
Durham, NC 27705
View Larger Map

Parizade is Mediterranean inspired culinary creations. A vast open kitchen spans the length of the restaurant. Surreal art by Henryk Fantazos adorns the walls and ceiling. Parizade is truly the crowning jewel of Giorgios Hospitality Group. *Large parties, please call the restaurant at 919-286-9712*

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mediterranean, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 286-9712

Website:
http://parizadedurham.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music every Thursday night!

Catering:
They offer small and large catering options, from deliveries to full off-site catering services.

Parking Details:
Parking garage also around the corner!

Executive Chef:
Robert Adams

Private Party Facilities:
Parizade has one of the most elegant event spaces in the Triangle, where we serve only the most exquisite food and drink. We have the facilities, staff and experience to pull off every kind of private event, from corporate dinner parties to refined wedding receptions.

Private Party Contact:
Joshua Weaver: 9192869712x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Parizade
Parizade
Parizade
Parizade
Parizade
Parizade
Parizade
Parizade
Parizade
Parizade
country greek salad
Banana Napoleon
Seafood Paella

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Parizade Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Durham
Special Occasion
Durham
Most Booked
Durham
Best Restaurants in Durham ›

special occasion (118)
fit for foodies (83)
good for groups (77)
See All
romantic (69)
neighborhood gem (49)
great for outdoor dining (41)
great for lunch (40)
notable wine list (34)
great for brunch (28)
hot spot (17)
late-night find (10)
vibrant bar scene (6)
kid-friendly (4)
scenic view (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1447 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

You can always get a good meal at Pariza ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

You can always get a good meal at Parizade, and their fixed price lunch menu is a good value. I have been coming here for years. Highly recommended.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

The food was very good: grilled octopus ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

The food was very good: grilled octopus appetizer was especially good, just enough to share with two people. I had the pork tenderloin with kale and polenta, which was excellent, and I couldn't finish it. Our server kindly let us share appetizers and helped our friends share the bouillabaisse. Three of us had the $5 martini special, though it was disconcerting to be told, first, that I could choose my gin, and then that the $5 special included only the house gin.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was they for Father's Day dinner. Excell ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Was they for Father's Day dinner. Excellent choices,delicious food,great cocktails and deserts. Our server was extremely knowledgeable on menu,very attentive and we didn't feel rushed. I am a vergiarian and the eggplant parm was excellent! Everything was perfect from the bread basket to desert.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Good food but VERY expensive. Other res ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Good food but VERY expensive. Other restaurants in town are just as good and far more reasonably priced.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was good except the hostess d ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Everything was good except the hostess directed my date to the bar when she knew I was in the courtyard, and she had assured me that she would direct him to the courtyard when he arrived

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic
food3
ambience4
service3

Went in for restaurant week as we had pe ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

Went in for restaurant week as we had people in from out of town and wanted them to experience Parizade. First off, I had to ask for the restaurant week menu. The waiter was meh about it and was also training a girl who just stood by and watched us. It was very disconcerting as she appeared to have very little personality. In looking around the restaurant none of the staff were smiling and everyone appeared to be in edge. I observed a hostess and a waiter having words... Getting to the food. My meal flavor was very bland. The seafood risotto was completely without flavor. The salad and dessert were good though. I have eaten here one other time and it was great - this time between the weird service and meh food it was not as impressive... Maybe next time ...

food5
ambience5
service3

Our Restaurant Week reservation was hono ...

vip
Dined on June 9, 2016

Our Restaurant Week reservation was honored immediately and we were seated at a very nice table for four. Initial approach by our server was a little slow and wine/drinks were a little slow coming to the table, but after that service was OK. Restaurant Week menu was quite good and we enjoyed pork tenderloin, salmon and shrimp dishes. Complimentary bread and olive oil was a nice accompaniment. Both choices for dessert, Napoleon and Torte we good. We will return.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great local restaurant

Dined on June 8, 2016

Delicious dinner, locally sourced. Great atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful restaurant week lunch, perfect ...

Dined on June 8, 2016

Wonderful restaurant week lunch, perfect day for al fresco dining. Always enjoy dining here.

food5
ambience4
service3
value4

What a gem!! An epicurean dream!!!

Dined on June 7, 2016

The hanger steak with fingerling potatoes was excellent! The gnocchi in mushroom gravy appetizer was terrific!! The chocolate torte was out if the world!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

5 stars in every category

Dined on June 7, 2016

We were impressed with the art deco, service, and especially the most flavorful lunch I have ever tasted. Their presentation was all that. Egore was all about perfection as I watched him monitor his staff. I will definitely tell others about this classy but tasty spot.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our retired teacher group went to Parazade again!

Dined on June 7, 2016

Great lunch during Restaurant Week! Or waiter was wonderful and very attentative. The entire staff was friendly and welcoming!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Consistently excellent.

Dined on June 6, 2016

Very nice place to eat and one of our favorites in the Triangle. Had the 3 course prix fixe dinner which was a very good value. Creative menu but the recent deletion of a favorite flounder recipe was a disappointment.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Very attentive service! Great selection ...

Dined on May 30, 2016

Very attentive service! Great selection of wines by the glass too. Eggplant dish was beautifully seasoned and delectable. Whole Branzino was a little on the bland side, but a perfect accompaniment with the eggplant entrée., as we shared our meals.The calamari and homemade vegetable soup were excellent. The Caramell cheesecake was not too sweet and a perfect portion. Will definitely return next time we are in town.

food1
ambience1
service1

Excellent dinner. Food was delicious a ...

vip
Dined on May 30, 2016

Excellent dinner. Food was delicious and ambiance was very nice. Superb meal.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always feels like a special occasion

Dined on May 28, 2016

Whenever we eat at Parizade it feels like a special occasion whether it is with friends, visitors from out of town or family it feels special. The food has always been excellent. Most of the visit I have trouble not ordering everything on the menu since it all sounds so delicious. However what ever I do order is delicious but probably so was everything else.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5

We had an excellent anniversary meal. Th ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

We had an excellent anniversary meal. They really put in the little extra touches that made a huge difference, like having flower petals on the table and a sparkler in dessert. We hadn't been here in ages and were really happy with everything. They made my partner a delicious mocktail that was more than just cranberry juice and bubbly water, which she very much appreciated. The chilled asparagus app with truffle vinaigrette was light and delicious; cooked perfectly with still a bit of texture to it vs. being limp and wilted. My scallops were great, though the accompanying risotto was over-salted. But I got the dish for the scallops, not the accompaniments, so I was still happy. She was in heaven with her filet. Very classic and simple in presentation but delicious in flavor. We both remarked that where Parizade excels is that they don't mess with a good thing; they don't need 1465478 ingredients on the plate to make it wonderful. Save room for dessert. The banana Napoleon was outstanding. It wasn't bogged down by too much pastry and let the banana and pastry cream sing. Perfect finish. Service was good. He was very nice and clearly knew the food. He was training someone and had a large table (years in the restaurant biz makes me notice things like that) and did a good job juggling all those tasks while still making us feel special. The live music was nice too. Not overwhelming and evoked a very comfy vibe in the restaurant. Thanks Parizade! You made our anniversary night perfect.

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

We went to Parizade as a group of 6 adul ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

We went to Parizade as a group of 6 adults with varied dietary restrictions and preferences. So across our group, we ordered a fairly wide selection of dishes. Despite the potential challenges of pleasing everyone, Parizade got an endorsement from each person in our group at the end of the meal. We were seated at a large circular table, and the restaurant was quiet enough to have conversations across the table rather than only with the person next to you. Our meal and conversation stretched out to three hours, and we never felt any pressure to leave. Our waiter was excellent, and went beyond the usual level of service when he learned that one member of our party was planning to travel to a city in which he had previously lived -- he came back with a written list of restaurant and entertainment suggestions for her! The total bill was high, but did include two bottles of wine, starters and entrees for each of us, and desserts.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

comparison

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

the stuffed roast chicken breast is much better at Bleu Olive

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very Special

Dined on May 21, 2016

My wife and I were celebrating our 44th wedding anniversary. Parizade fit the need to a tee! This will go down as one of best ever dining experiences of our lives! Our hostess Miranda seated us in a very nice location outside. The restaurant had a bottle of champagne on ice for us as their gift! I had flowers delivered and my wife was thrilled. Our waitress Brice was top of the line! I can't say enough about the whole experience. Perizade also provided the dessert! We will be going back for lunch and dinner!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a pleasure to dine at Parizade. ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Always a pleasure to dine at Parizade. The food is wonderful, the service outstanding. We have been coming here for many years and always return with our expectations fulfilled.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service1
value5

Terrific food The waiter kept rushing us ...

vip
Dined on May 16, 2016

Terrific food The waiter kept rushing us even though wee made it clear we were trying to have leisurely meal Removed dishes before we were done Wine glasses still partially full Very unpleasant This is so atypical They are usually awesome

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Good food, good service..All good!

Dined on May 15, 2016

Went for graduation weekend. Steamlined menu but had something for everyone. Service was great and food was very good. My only 1 issue was that I felt rushed. Entrees came right after appetizers. I understand it was graduation weekend but I would have liked to linger a bit longer after each course. I did tell the waiter after dinner that I wanted to "digest" before dessert but still seemed rushed.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

A Surprise?

Dined on May 15, 2016

Parizade was probably as good a choice as any on a college graduation weekend. I chose it because they could handle our group of 8 at the last minute. Their a la carte menu provided a good range of choice, even though at a slightly higher price point. Our surprise came when being seated we were presented with a prix-fixe menu at $70 per person, plus beverage and at least a 20% gratuity. Fear not. Our waitress fully understood the look on my face and "arranged " for us to order from the full menu. When our food arrived it was nicely presented and tasty. Our waitress went out of her way to treat us very well, and she was properly rewarded at the end. This is not the first time that a restaurant has tried to foist an un-announced prix-fixe menu on their customers on a special event. Beware and always ask.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

This is a great restaurant but our serve ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

This is a great restaurant but our server must have been new. When asked about preferences and dishes on the menu he really didn't know much about any of it. Typically the service is great so I think he just either wasn't a good waiter or had just started.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The interior design is very unique, fun, ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

The interior design is very unique, fun, inviting, subdued. The wine list is awesome, the food is fantastic.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Mother's Day brunch offered an excellent ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Mother's Day brunch offered an excellent variety of delicious choices. Even though it was busy, the buffet lines were not a problem. The dessert choices were exceptional. The service was top notch.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mother's day was magnificent

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

We had a celebration for two mothers and everything was perfect. We sat in the courtyard and the temperature was comfortable. The food selection and quality was top drawer.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

It was a Mother's Day brunch and the buf ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

It was a Mother's Day brunch and the buffet food was delicious with lots of choices. It was do delicious our waistlines suffered. The downside were the desserts, which were ordinary, but we would still go back for the wonderful salads, roast beef, pork loin, and so much more. Lots of choices if you did not meat and they equally delicious. Service was friendly and excellent.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great Experience

Dined on May 7, 2016

My husband and I, with another couple, were lucky to find an agreeable time for a reservation at Parizade, which none of us had ever heard of. However, we are always up for something new. The decor is wonderful creating a fun ambience. Service was very good and the food was delicious. I had the braised short ribs which were the best I've ever eaten. The men had peppardelle with bolognese sauce which they thoroughly enjoyed. And the final meal was flounder which was also fabulous. We arrived early for our reservation and sat at the bar relaxing with a drink until we were called to our table. It's a small bar, but very upscale. Would recommend this restaurant!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

A must go! Delicious

vip
Dined on May 2, 2016

A must go! Delicious

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our "go to" restaurant

Dined on April 30, 2016

We go to Parizade for special occasions, and it never disappoints. Our cocktails were perfect. The filet mignon and vegetable pasta were superb. The waiter could not have been more attentive. And the atmosphere is, well, Parizade! A great meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Salmon not to your taste? Too bad.

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

My wife's salmon was overcooked and served on a base of cold noodles which, in turn, made the salmon cold and to my wife, inedible. Our server recommended a hot plate of spinach. What? She expressed her sympathy that the salmon was "not to your taste" but the $25 plate remained on the bill. Avoid this place.

food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding choice and quality of food a ...

vip
Dined on April 27, 2016

Outstanding choice and quality of food and wine. A bit noisy. Octopus appetizer was a bit heavy on the potatoes and a bit light on the octopus itself.

food5
ambience4
service4

Food was excellent! Black Grouper was a ...

Dined on April 25, 2016

Food was excellent! Black Grouper was a real treat.

food5
ambience4
service5

Chef was very accommodating to requests ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

Chef was very accommodating to requests for minor changes to dishes. Four of us each enjoyed our choices.

food2
ambience4
service2
value4

Lots of potential

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

This is an older restaurant, but it has a good vibe. The menu is well-conceived, but not always executed very well. Food can be average, and this place demands better than that. It's owned by a top chef from the area. I think they take for granted vibrant traffic from the nearby university. Service really depends on the server, and it should not be that way. Our server said he'd been there for nearly 30 years, which is admirable, but he didn't seem to care anymore. Anyway, I'll go back, just not very often -- once or twice a year.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Poor service overall

Dined on April 22, 2016

Poor service overall. The waiter didn't even ask how we liked our dishes. Manager was unprofessional...Probably won't be back or recommend due to poor service staff.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were in the courtyard while Alex Grod ...

Dined on April 21, 2016

We were in the courtyard while Alex Grodezsky played guitar. OUTSTANDING COMBO. Thursday nights with Alex. A great idea for a romantic evening

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

Disappointed at best

Dined on April 21, 2016

We went for a BD celebration. Had three of the five from out of town. Ordered Scottish salmon, chicken risotto, stuffed chicken, shrimp, and veggie dish unfortunately every dish lacked flavor and only warm . it is unfortunate as we picked this restaurant for our out of town guests who we had a poor experience. Service was good

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.