About Parizade

2200 W. Main Street
Durham, NC 27705
View Larger Map

Parizade is Mediterranean inspired culinary creations. A vast open kitchen spans the length of the restaurant. Surreal art by Henryk Fantazos adorns the walls and ceiling. Parizade is truly the crowning jewel of Giorgios Hospitality Group. *Large parties, please call the restaurant at 919-286-9712*

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mediterranean, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 286-9712

Website:
http://parizadedurham.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music every Thursday night!

Catering:
They offer small and large catering options, from deliveries to full off-site catering services.

Parking Details:
Parking garage also around the corner!

Executive Chef:
Robert Adams

Private Party Facilities:
Parizade has one of the most elegant event spaces in the Triangle, where we serve only the most exquisite food and drink. We have the facilities, staff and experience to pull off every kind of private event, from corporate dinner parties to refined wedding receptions.

Private Party Contact:
Joshua Weaver: 9192869712x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Parizade Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Durham
Romantic
Durham
Special Occasion
Durham
Best Restaurants in Durham ›

special occasion (124)
fit for foodies (88)
good for groups (84)
See All
romantic (74)
neighborhood gem (42)
great for lunch (38)
great for outdoor dining (34)
notable wine list (33)
great for brunch (18)
hot spot (16)
late-night find (12)
vibrant bar scene (7)
kid-friendly (5)
 (3)
 (3)
scenic view (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1431 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food1
ambience1
service1

Excellent dinner. Food was delicious a ...

vip
Dined 6 hours ago

Excellent dinner. Food was delicious and ambiance was very nice. Superb meal.

food4
ambience5
service5

We had an excellent anniversary meal. Th ...

Dined 4 days ago

We had an excellent anniversary meal. They really put in the little extra touches that made a huge difference, like having flower petals on the table and a sparkler in dessert. We hadn't been here in ages and were really happy with everything. They made my partner a delicious mocktail that was more than just cranberry juice and bubbly water, which she very much appreciated. The chilled asparagus app with truffle vinaigrette was light and delicious; cooked perfectly with still a bit of texture to it vs. being limp and wilted. My scallops were great, though the accompanying risotto was over-salted. But I got the dish for the scallops, not the accompaniments, so I was still happy. She was in heaven with her filet. Very classic and simple in presentation but delicious in flavor. We both remarked that where Parizade excels is that they don't mess with a good thing; they don't need 1465478 ingredients on the plate to make it wonderful. Save room for dessert. The banana Napoleon was outstanding. It wasn't bogged down by too much pastry and let the banana and pastry cream sing. Perfect finish. Service was good. He was very nice and clearly knew the food. He was training someone and had a large table (years in the restaurant biz makes me notice things like that) and did a good job juggling all those tasks while still making us feel special. The live music was nice too. Not overwhelming and evoked a very comfy vibe in the restaurant. Thanks Parizade! You made our anniversary night perfect.

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

We went to Parizade as a group of 6 adul ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

We went to Parizade as a group of 6 adults with varied dietary restrictions and preferences. So across our group, we ordered a fairly wide selection of dishes. Despite the potential challenges of pleasing everyone, Parizade got an endorsement from each person in our group at the end of the meal. We were seated at a large circular table, and the restaurant was quiet enough to have conversations across the table rather than only with the person next to you. Our meal and conversation stretched out to three hours, and we never felt any pressure to leave. Our waiter was excellent, and went beyond the usual level of service when he learned that one member of our party was planning to travel to a city in which he had previously lived -- he came back with a written list of restaurant and entertainment suggestions for her! The total bill was high, but did include two bottles of wine, starters and entrees for each of us, and desserts.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

comparison

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

the stuffed roast chicken breast is much better at Bleu Olive

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very Special

Dined on May 21, 2016

My wife and I were celebrating our 44th wedding anniversary. Parizade fit the need to a tee! This will go down as one of best ever dining experiences of our lives! Our hostess Miranda seated us in a very nice location outside. The restaurant had a bottle of champagne on ice for us as their gift! I had flowers delivered and my wife was thrilled. Our waitress Brice was top of the line! I can't say enough about the whole experience. Perizade also provided the dessert! We will be going back for lunch and dinner!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a pleasure to dine at Parizade. ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Always a pleasure to dine at Parizade. The food is wonderful, the service outstanding. We have been coming here for many years and always return with our expectations fulfilled.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service1
value5

Terrific food The waiter kept rushing us ...

vip
Dined on May 16, 2016

Terrific food The waiter kept rushing us even though wee made it clear we were trying to have leisurely meal Removed dishes before we were done Wine glasses still partially full Very unpleasant This is so atypical They are usually awesome

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Good food, good service..All good!

Dined on May 15, 2016

Went for graduation weekend. Steamlined menu but had something for everyone. Service was great and food was very good. My only 1 issue was that I felt rushed. Entrees came right after appetizers. I understand it was graduation weekend but I would have liked to linger a bit longer after each course. I did tell the waiter after dinner that I wanted to "digest" before dessert but still seemed rushed.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

A Surprise?

Dined on May 15, 2016

Parizade was probably as good a choice as any on a college graduation weekend. I chose it because they could handle our group of 8 at the last minute. Their a la carte menu provided a good range of choice, even though at a slightly higher price point. Our surprise came when being seated we were presented with a prix-fixe menu at $70 per person, plus beverage and at least a 20% gratuity. Fear not. Our waitress fully understood the look on my face and "arranged " for us to order from the full menu. When our food arrived it was nicely presented and tasty. Our waitress went out of her way to treat us very well, and she was properly rewarded at the end. This is not the first time that a restaurant has tried to foist an un-announced prix-fixe menu on their customers on a special event. Beware and always ask.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

This is a great restaurant but our serve ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

This is a great restaurant but our server must have been new. When asked about preferences and dishes on the menu he really didn't know much about any of it. Typically the service is great so I think he just either wasn't a good waiter or had just started.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The interior design is very unique, fun, ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

The interior design is very unique, fun, inviting, subdued. The wine list is awesome, the food is fantastic.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Mother's Day brunch offered an excellent ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Mother's Day brunch offered an excellent variety of delicious choices. Even though it was busy, the buffet lines were not a problem. The dessert choices were exceptional. The service was top notch.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mother's day was magnificent

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

We had a celebration for two mothers and everything was perfect. We sat in the courtyard and the temperature was comfortable. The food selection and quality was top drawer.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

It was a Mother's Day brunch and the buf ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

It was a Mother's Day brunch and the buffet food was delicious with lots of choices. It was do delicious our waistlines suffered. The downside were the desserts, which were ordinary, but we would still go back for the wonderful salads, roast beef, pork loin, and so much more. Lots of choices if you did not meat and they equally delicious. Service was friendly and excellent.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great Experience

Dined on May 7, 2016

My husband and I, with another couple, were lucky to find an agreeable time for a reservation at Parizade, which none of us had ever heard of. However, we are always up for something new. The decor is wonderful creating a fun ambience. Service was very good and the food was delicious. I had the braised short ribs which were the best I've ever eaten. The men had peppardelle with bolognese sauce which they thoroughly enjoyed. And the final meal was flounder which was also fabulous. We arrived early for our reservation and sat at the bar relaxing with a drink until we were called to our table. It's a small bar, but very upscale. Would recommend this restaurant!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our "go to" restaurant

Dined on April 30, 2016

We go to Parizade for special occasions, and it never disappoints. Our cocktails were perfect. The filet mignon and vegetable pasta were superb. The waiter could not have been more attentive. And the atmosphere is, well, Parizade! A great meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Salmon not to your taste? Too bad.

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

My wife's salmon was overcooked and served on a base of cold noodles which, in turn, made the salmon cold and to my wife, inedible. Our server recommended a hot plate of spinach. What? She expressed her sympathy that the salmon was "not to your taste" but the $25 plate remained on the bill. Avoid this place.

food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding choice and quality of food a ...

vip
Dined on April 27, 2016

Outstanding choice and quality of food and wine. A bit noisy. Octopus appetizer was a bit heavy on the potatoes and a bit light on the octopus itself.

food5
ambience4
service4

Food was excellent! Black Grouper was a ...

Dined on April 25, 2016

Food was excellent! Black Grouper was a real treat.

food5
ambience4
service5

Chef was very accommodating to requests ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

Chef was very accommodating to requests for minor changes to dishes. Four of us each enjoyed our choices.

food2
ambience4
service2
value4

Lots of potential

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

This is an older restaurant, but it has a good vibe. The menu is well-conceived, but not always executed very well. Food can be average, and this place demands better than that. It's owned by a top chef from the area. I think they take for granted vibrant traffic from the nearby university. Service really depends on the server, and it should not be that way. Our server said he'd been there for nearly 30 years, which is admirable, but he didn't seem to care anymore. Anyway, I'll go back, just not very often -- once or twice a year.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Poor service overall

Dined on April 22, 2016

Poor service overall. The waiter didn't even ask how we liked our dishes. Manager was unprofessional...Probably won't be back or recommend due to poor service staff.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were in the courtyard while Alex Grod ...

Dined on April 21, 2016

We were in the courtyard while Alex Grodezsky played guitar. OUTSTANDING COMBO. Thursday nights with Alex. A great idea for a romantic evening

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

Disappointed at best

Dined on April 21, 2016

We went for a BD celebration. Had three of the five from out of town. Ordered Scottish salmon, chicken risotto, stuffed chicken, shrimp, and veggie dish unfortunately every dish lacked flavor and only warm . it is unfortunate as we picked this restaurant for our out of town guests who we had a poor experience. Service was good

food5
ambience5
service5

ALWAYS a fantastic dining experience her ...

vip
Dined on April 21, 2016

ALWAYS a fantastic dining experience here!

food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Go-to for peaceful lunch

Dined on April 14, 2016

We just love Parizade for salad and glass of wine as an oasis during a busy day. Yummy light meals in quiet space for a good price.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Favorite restaurant in the triangle

Dined on April 12, 2016

This is a fabulous restaurant. Every aspect - food, service, ambiance, noise lever, etc. was superb.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great find!

Dined on April 12, 2016

I really enjoy this restaurant! Eclectic environment, great food and service. This was my third visit and I'll be back.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Unique and Authentic

Dined on April 10, 2016

An out-of-the-ordinary eclectic atmosphere with excellent flounder and chocolate dessert! Also want to mention the mushroom wine sauce on the fish -- exceptional! We will return the next time we are in Durham.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and service, as always.

Dined on April 8, 2016

Excellent food and service, as always.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Dining Experience

Dined on April 2, 2016

There were 3 of us. We shared a Greek Salad which we thoroughly enjoyed. The kitchen was kind enough to divide it for us. My husband and friend both ordered the short ribs with mashed potatoes. The ribs were tender and flavorful and the mashed potatoes were very nicely seasoned. I had the lamb with oven baked lemon flavored potatoes. Both were delicious. The service and our server were very, very good.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Suprise-Pleasant

Dined on April 1, 2016

Did not expect the high quality entrees. Had whole red snapper which was huge and perfectly prepared. Best fish I've had in a NC restaurant. Wine list was select and had many wonderful Italian reds. Very pretty layout.Service which was friendly but somewhat inconsistent. Easy to find, easy parking, Will be back soon.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of my favorite restaurants in Durham

vip
Dined on April 1, 2016

This is one of my favorite restaurants in Durham because you always know there will be great menu and wine selections and friendly, knowledgeable service. I had the duck tangine which was exotically spiced and luscious and my friend had the incomparable lamb chops - you can never go wrong with Parizade's lamb chops!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food

vip
Dined on March 29, 2016

I've enjoyed lunch and dinner here many times and everything is always great. My husband and I dine out with friends most Friday nights and we've tried many restaurants in Cary/Durham and Raleigh. IMO Parizade is consistently one of the best all around.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

new waiter issue?

Dined on March 26, 2016

We love Parizade. The food is consistently good and the portion sizes are reasonable. However, this is the first time I asked a waiter if I could make an appetizer portion into a dinner portion and he said "no" with no explanation. It was quite odd and I have never had this inflexible a response from wait staff there before. He was also pretty inattentive. Towards the end of the evening he got a bit better but I was initially very disappointed for the first time at Parizade. I think he was new??

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

Parizade isn't a consistently good resta ...

vip
Dined on March 25, 2016

Parizade isn't a consistently good restaurant where you can always count on very good food and excellent service. Tonight, we particularly enjoyed the red snapper and the seafood risotto. Would definitely recommend.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Farewell Luncheon

Dined on March 22, 2016

The food was excellent and at a reasonable price. They offered a lunch choice that was chosen by most of the group. The portions were great.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A consistent winner

Dined on March 19, 2016

We dine at Parizade several times a year. The food is always quite good and the wait staff is attentive. It never disappoints.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Find

Dined on March 19, 2016

I am not a big fan of Mediterranean food, but this was fabulous. We would go back in heartbeat. We ate fairly early, prior to an 8pm show at DPAC. it was just starting to get busy. The staff was very attentive and the food was excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Group Fun

Dined on March 12, 2016

We introduced some of our friends to Parizade last Saturday. The repeatedly stated they now knew why this was our favorite restaurant in Durham

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.