About Paris Bistro - Chestnut Hill

8229 Germantown Ave., Building A
Philadelphia, PA 19118
View Larger Map

Located in the middle of Philadelphia's charming Chestnut Hill neighborhood, Paris Bistro has made quite a splash since it opened in late January 2014. The setting and food are authentic bistro - the crowd is lively and the menu is reminiscent of the many bistros that dot Paris' arrondissement. Classics like cassoulet, coq au vin, steak frites and escargot are joined by more modern bistro fare like a beet and goat cheese salad and mustard-herb crusted salmon. Classic cocktails and signature "bistro cocktails" include La Bardot and Le Martini de Triomphe. The 85 bottle wine list covers all the major wine producing areas of France at very reasonable prices. And what would the bistro experience be without classic chocolate mousse and creme brûlée? All are served with a genuine warmth and true hospitality. Downstairs live Jazz plays Thursday through Sunday evenings with reservations available through the Paris Bistro Jazz Cafe Open Table page.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Monday - Thursday & Sunday 5:00-10:00PM
Dinner Friday & Saturday 5:00-11:00PM
Sunday Brunch 10:30AM-2:00PM
Happy Hour Monday -Friday 4:00PM-6:00PM

Cross Street:
Southampton Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 242-6200

Website:
http://www.parisbistro.net/

Entertainment:
Paris Bistro Jazz Cafe offers live Jazz Thursday through Sunday evenings.
The room opens nightly at 5:00PM. Reservations can be made online through our Paris Bistro Jazz Cafe Open Table page or by calling 215.242.6200.
$5-$15 entertainment charge (unless otherwise noted)








Catering:
Please call for information about our off-site catering company Bon Vivant.

Parking Details:
Complimentary parking provided in Chestnut Hill Hotel parking lot (access on Southampton Avenue).
Additional metered street parking available on Germantown Avenue and side streets.
Pay parking available at CHBD area parking facilities within 1-2 blocks of our restaurant.

Public Transit:
SEPTA Route 23 Bus

SEPTA Regional Rail Chestnut East or Chestnut Hill West lines

Executive Chef:
Chef Al Paris

Private Party Facilities:
Paris Bistro will transport you to another time and place with its 1920s style decor and authentic French bistro fare. Parties of 20-70 can be accommodated for lunch, dinner and weekend brunches. Live jazz is an option for those who wish to add that extra something to their private gathering.

Private Party Contact:
Lauren: 2152426200x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Monday Night $1 Oysters "Le Buck a Shuck"
3 Course Regional French Prix Fixe Menu Available Wednesday Nights $32
Sunday Brunch

Restaurant Photos

  • Paris Bistro - Chestnut Hill, Philadelphia, PA
  • Fresh Oysters - Paris Bistro - Chestnut Hill, Philadelphia, PA
  • Peach Tartlet - Paris Bistro - Chestnut Hill, Philadelphia, PA
  • Asparagus With Fried Egg & Hollandaise - Copy () - Paris Bistro - Chestnut Hill, Philadelphia, PA
  • Beet Trio Salad - Paris Bistro - Chestnut Hill, Philadelphia, PA
  • Oyster Beignets - Paris Bistro - Chestnut Hill, Philadelphia, PA
  • Selection Of  French Cheeses - Paris Bistro - Chestnut Hill, Philadelphia, PA
  • Kirs De Paris - Paris Bistro - Chestnut Hill, Philadelphia, PA
Paris Bistro - Chestnut Hill, Philadelphia, PA
Fresh Oysters - Paris Bistro - Chestnut Hill, Philadelphia, PA
Peach Tartlet - Paris Bistro - Chestnut Hill, Philadelphia, PA
Asparagus With Fried Egg & Hollandaise - Copy () - Paris Bistro - Chestnut Hill, Philadelphia, PA
Beet Trio Salad - Paris Bistro - Chestnut Hill, Philadelphia, PA
Oyster Beignets - Paris Bistro - Chestnut Hill, Philadelphia, PA
Selection Of  French Cheeses - Paris Bistro - Chestnut Hill, Philadelphia, PA
Kirs De Paris - Paris Bistro - Chestnut Hill, Philadelphia, PA

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Details

Join us for a traditional French Christmas Eve dinner. Three course prix fixe menu offered in addition to a la carte menu. Live entertainment in the Jazz Cafe by separate reservation.

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

Join us to ring in the new year with a fabulous 4-course French bistro dinner, with or without live jazz priced at $65-$85 per person. Early and late dinner seatings available.

Paris Bistro - Chestnut Hill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Neighborhood Gem
Philadelphia
Best Restaurants in Chestnut Hill ›

Neighborhood Gem (60)
Good for a Date (45)
Special Occasion (44)
See All
Fit for Foodies (35)
Romantic (34)
Creative Cuisine (24)
Authentic (24)
Live Music (23)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Great for Brunch (20)
Worth the Drive (18)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Cozy (16)
Fun (16)
Great for Lunch (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Casual (14)
Bar Seating (14)
Sunday Lunch (13)
Great for Outdoor Dining (13)
Notable Wine List (12)
Hot Spot (12)
Comfort Food (10)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Outstanding Value (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Historic (6)
People Watching (6)
Business Meals (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Seasonal (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Family Style (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Healthy (1)
Scenic View (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
822 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great spot. Creative menu, attentive ser ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 days ago

Great spot. Creative menu, attentive servers, cool ambiance. Easy to make reservations. Jazz is a unique extra. Just love it!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Just a very nice and elegant restuarant. ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

Just a very nice and elegant restuarant. Atmosphere is wonderful. Bartenders and wait staff are great.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious and to top it off ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 7 days ago

The food was delicious and to top it off we were seated at a nice table.

Tags: Historic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Delightful staff and truly pleasant plac ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Delightful staff and truly pleasant place to dine. Food is excellent. Wish menu would change a bit more often.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Solid food and service. A bit noisy. Goo ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Solid food and service. A bit noisy. Good neighborhood option

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent food and service. Would defini ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Excellent food and service. Would definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding in every sense, from cocktai ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Outstanding in every sense, from cocktails, to oysters, to entrees, to dessert, to service, to ambiance. Wonderful!

Tags: Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If you want an amazing Parisienne-like e ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 20, 2016

If you want an amazing Parisienne-like experience in the heart of Chestnut Hill complete with beautiful decor, live jazz, wonderful and friendly waitstaff and amazing food, then Paris Bistro is for you!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our table was ready upon our arrival. T ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Our table was ready upon our arrival. The wine was wonderful. Our waiter was a great combination of friendly and professional. And our food - start to finish - was fantastic. The atmosphere was exactly as we had hoped it would be: casually elegant.

We felt very welcome and comfortable. We will, no doubt, be returning in the next month or two.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was my third time at Paris...I cann ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 19, 2016

This was my third time at Paris...I cannot say enough about the service and friendly staff, my daughter and beau were in from London and as recent Chestnut Hill residents we knew that if we took them to this establishment all would be well...it was. I have not had a bad meal yet....the staff is attentive without being overbearing and the clientele is diverse. It may say Paris but it reflects the best of America!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This bistro has a lot going for it - goo ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 19, 2016

This bistro has a lot going for it - good food, service and a very pleasant atmosphere. If I lived closer, I would be a regular. Have eaten there twice and have nothing negative to say about it!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Really a special place. The food was ver ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Really a special place. The food was very very good. Probably the best French onion soup in the city (I know. But really). Coq au vin was also really good. Ken (Manager? Host? Not sure of his job) is the nicest person in the whole world and my new friend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We went to Paris Bistro for a date night ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 18, 2016

We went to Paris Bistro for a date night. Our server was great, very friendly and tried to give as much information about the preparation of the food we were interested in ordering. All the food was amazing. It was like eating at a little bistro in Paris! My husband had the duck and I had the crab cakes. Everything was delicious!

After dinner our server suggested she escort us downstairs to have dessert at the Jazz Bar. It was a totally different atmosphere, but a great spot to listen to some live music, have a glass of wine and dessert. We had a great night!

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Live Music, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was perfect. The place has go ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Everything was perfect. The place has gotten its act together.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pleasant enough. Waitress was not as ass ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Pleasant enough. Waitress was not as asset to the place. But the oysters were. Take your wallet. You'll need it. Beef bourguignon was the evening's winner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

French Bistro with classic bistro food - ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 9, 2016

French Bistro with classic bistro food - coq au vin, crepes, and the like. Well executed. Nothing crazy, crazy good, but well done and good comfort food. Pretty room. Very nice service. Noisy.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Enjoyed a delicious dinner in a lovely s ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Enjoyed a delicious dinner in a lovely setting celebrating my husband's birthday!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Brunch at the Paris Bistro was quite enj ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Brunch at the Paris Bistro was quite enjoyable. The brunch menu was small and had several thoughtfully composed entrees. We enjoyed the salmon and noodle dish quite a bit! The amount of crab meat with the crab and avocado was very generous. We loved the bread pudding. The service was wonderful. Our waiter did not rush us when they were out of blueberry beignets he offered us three mini chocolate croissants. I would definitely come back!

Tags: Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Live Music, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The service was friendly both times I ha ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 6, 2016

The service was friendly both times I have eaten at this location. Both meals were delicious. Having just moved from Center City Philadelphia we have been looking for a lively restaurant with good food. This is a great spot.

Tags: Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wow! Great food, great jazz and great f ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Wow! Great food, great jazz and great fun! We had such a nice evening.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Romantic, Good for a Date, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We arrived for our 6:30 reservation, and ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 4, 2016

We arrived for our 6:30 reservation, and the Bistro was less than 1/2 full. As time passed, and other patrons arrived, I thought it was odd that I could distinctly hear conversations several tables away, while I had difficulty hearing my wife directly across from me. By the time we finished our meal, I had a headache and couldn't wait to leave, the noise was so intense.

The acoustics are terrible in the Paris Bistro, without a doubt. It's a shame, because the food was pretty good, and the service was prompt and gracious. I would have enjoyed the experience if it weren't for the din.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

This is one of our favorite local places ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 2, 2016

This is one of our favorite local places and never disappoints. We went on an unseasonably warm late fall day hoping to dine outside, but they had taken down the umbrellas already and weren't serving outdoors so they seated us in a window seat in front off of the bar. It was a lovely quiet space and we had a nice breeze from an open window. The food was delicious as usual. We had happy hour cocktails and wine with dinner. Lobster bisque, beet salad, trout, filet, cauliflower au gratin. We had the dessert special.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went for dinner during the week and had ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Went for dinner during the week and had a nice time though service was a little hovery at times. We ordered a bottle of wine and it wasn't poured until our appetizers were served which was odd and then we had to wait to enjoy our food until the server was finished fussing with the wine. Finally, while the food was very tasty the sheer amount of raw, diced garlic was completely overwhelming.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

You will feel you are in a Paris bistro ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 30, 2016

You will feel you are in a Paris bistro here. The ambience is authentic, and the food well prepared and served by friendly, helpful staff. We've eaten here several times and enjoy the experience each time. We will be back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Modern Decor, Authentic, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great atmosphere, nice menu, good food a ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Great atmosphere, nice menu, good food and service. Added bonus of guitarist/vocalist - all around nice brunch.

Tags: Authentic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Another enjoyable experience at Paris Bi ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Another enjoyable experience at Paris Bistro. Food and service are excellent. The downstairs jazz venue is one of the best in the city - cozy & intimate with great ambience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I was a bit disappointed with the food. ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 29, 2016

I was a bit disappointed with the food. We ordered some classic French dishes, which were clearly prepared "with a twist" that was not always successful. My husband ordered escargot and saved some bread for dipping. Instead of the typical presentation, the escargot were on a plate with a mound of pasta which sopped up all the juices. A bit weird to have pasta at a French restaurant, but it tasted OK. I ordered steak frites, expecting the usual very thin cut potatoes. Instead, there were pretty standard fries, that were extremely salty. The steak was just OK, not very juicy, but cooked to medium rare. My husband had a seafood dish with salmon and shrimp, and had no complaint. He ordered a dessert special, a brie tart, that looked appealing. I ordered crepe suzette, and received crepes on a cold plate that were filled with a pastry cream, topped with a cold sauce, and a few strawberries. Because the plate was so cold (for a dish traditionally served flambéed), I assume the crepes were prepared ahead of time, brought out from the frig and just topped with a cold sauce. The texture was a bit off from the temperature. A gentleman at the next table ordered the same thing, and brought these deficiencies to the attention of the waitress. The wine by the glass was a little overpriced, I might return for brunch sometime, but probably not for dinner.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value4

the steak and escargot were tough, the r ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 29, 2016

the steak and escargot were tough, the ratatouille was great, as was the trout. Desserts were super. it is pricey.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great place. Went for my wife's birthday ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Great place. Went for my wife's birthday and everyone was great. Wait staff is top of the charts and the food is really really good. We are defiantly going back.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went here because we had just visited ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 26, 2016

We went here because we had just visited Paris France this past summer. It's close to our experience. The food was good and the "Eat France" menu was a great bargain at $28 pp.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

This was our second visit. Both have be ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 23, 2016

This was our second visit. Both have been after a concert, and both were pleasant dates for this old married couple. The room is a little noisy, but that and the space between tables keep your conversation private.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We loved this restaurant, and the jazz c ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 22, 2016

We loved this restaurant, and the jazz cafe below it! The food, the decor/ambiance, and the music were all terrific. Even though it's a 50 minute drive for us, we'll be back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great staff

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Great staff

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Food was good, service was excellent. I ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Food was good, service was excellent. I can recommend Paris Bistro to anyone who wants to sample convincing French cuisine.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

A favorite. Love the ambience , the drin ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 21, 2016

A favorite. Love the ambience , the drinks and the food is wonderful. Gabriel was our server and we were very well taken care of.

Tags: Happy Hour, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service with very friendly sta ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Excellent service with very friendly staff. Good recommendations on what to order. Food came quickly and was delicious. Wonderful presentation. Price is reasonable. We ate outside and were checked in on regularly by our wonderful waitress.

Tags: People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was cooked perfectly. The sauce ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 21, 2016

The food was cooked perfectly. The sauces were amazing. Service was attentive without being intrusive. Thoroughly, an enjoyable experience for a married couple who are quite capable in the kitchen. We were schooled. In a good way.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Live Music, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

very good food, attentive service, great ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 18, 2016

very good food, attentive service, great ambiance. styled like a French bistro...charming.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We loved the place. We enjoyed dinner u ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 14, 2016

We loved the place. We enjoyed dinner upstairs and then went downstairs for the nice jazz music and had dessert. The staff are great. I wish that they had more non-red-meat options.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Brought center city out to the wilds of ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Brought center city out to the wilds of Chestnut Hill and had dinner at Paris. They loved the food. Thought the crab cakes were the best they have eaten. Presentation terrific, very attentive service. Ambiance awfully pleasant. They said they would return without us. Good recommendation.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.