Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.43mi
  4. Distance: 0.52mi
  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.43mi
  4. Distance: 0.52mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.43mi
  4. Distance: 0.52mi
  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.43mi
  4. Distance: 0.52mi

About Paris Bistro - Chestnut Hill

Located in the middle of Philadelphia's charming Chestnut Hill neighborhood, Paris Bistro has made quite a splash since it opened in late January 2014. The setting and food are authentic bistro - the crowd is lively and the menu is reminiscent of the many bistros that dot Paris' arrondissement. Classics like cassoulet, coq au vin, steak frites and escargot are joined by more modern bistro fare like a beet and goat cheese salad and mustard-herb crusted salmon. Classic cocktails and signature "bistro cocktails" include La Bardot and Le Martini de Triomphe. The 85 bottle wine list covers all the major wine producing areas of France at very reasonable prices. And what would the bistro experience be without classic chocolate mousse and creme brûlée? All are served with a genuine warmth and true hospitality. Downstairs live Jazz plays Thursday through Sunday evenings with reservations available through the Paris Bistro Jazz Cafe Open Table page.

8229 Germantown Ave., Building A
Philadelphia, PA 19118
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Monday - Thursday & Sunday 5:00-10:00PM
Dinner Friday & Saturday 5:00-11:00PM
Sunday Brunch 10:30AM-2:00PM
Happy Hour Monday -Friday 4:00PM-6:00PM

Cross Street:
Southampton Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 242-6200

Website:
http://www.parisbistro.net/

Entertainment:
Paris Bistro Jazz Cafe offers live Jazz Thursday through Sunday evenings.
The room opens nightly at 5:00PM. Reservations can be made online through our Paris Bistro Jazz Cafe Open Table page or by calling 215.242.6200.
$5-$15 entertainment charge (unless otherwise noted)








Catering:
Please call for information about our off-site catering company Bon Vivant.

Parking Details:
Complimentary parking provided in Chestnut Hill Hotel parking lot (access on Southampton Avenue).
Additional metered street parking available on Germantown Avenue and side streets.
Pay parking available at CHBD area parking facilities within 1-2 blocks of our restaurant.

Public Transit:
SEPTA Route 23 Bus

SEPTA Regional Rail Chestnut East or Chestnut Hill West lines

Executive Chef:
Chef Al Paris

Private Party Facilities:
Paris Bistro will transport you to another time and place with its 1920s style decor and authentic French bistro fare. Parties of 20-70 can be accommodated for lunch, dinner and weekend brunches. Live jazz is an option for those who wish to add that extra something to their private gathering.

Private Party Contact:
Lauren: (215) 242-6200

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Monday Night $1 Oysters "Le Buck a Shuck"
3 Course Regional French Prix Fixe Menu Available Wednesday Nights $32
Sunday Brunch

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Paris Bistro - Chestnut Hill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

Noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (61)
Neighborhood Gem (61)
Special Occasion (49)
See All
Creative Cuisine (43)
Live Music (42)
Good for Anniversaries (34)
Authentic (32)
Fit for Foodies (32)
Fun (30)
Great for Brunch (29)
Romantic (29)
Casual (26)
Good for Birthdays (26)
Worth the Drive (24)
Bar Seating (23)
Cozy (21)
Great for Outdoor Dining (20)
Handcrafted Cocktails (19)
People Watching (18)
Sunday Lunch (18)
Local Ingredients (17)
Notable Wine List (17)
Happy Hour (15)
Hot Spot (14)
Great for Lunch (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Business Meals (10)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Seasonal (8)
Healthy (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Scenic View (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Vegan (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
1124 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 4 days ago

The food was good - we recommend the coq au vin. The waitstaff seemed inexperienced. The waitress tried several times to clear our plates before we were finished with various courses. We were given our check without being asked if we wanted dessert, coffee or anything else.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

Music too loud, forcing everyone to talk louder, raising decibel level to that of a construction site, which is where I work (not eat dinner). Why have music playing at all? The seats are close enough, so you already hear your neighbors' conversations, which are themselves usually loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service5
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 11, 2017

The restaurant did not have several bottles of wine listed on the menu that we spent time deciding on, and they were out of the only rose wine listed by the glass. The lights seemed very bright in the restaurant, which made it seem more like a diner than fine dining in a French-inspired restaurant. Our server was pleasant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 9, 2017

There have been hitches in the past, but this time everything was perfect. The new menu is a bit less French, but very, very good items are on offer, especially the swordfish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 9, 2017

This is a great local find with great service and a jazz venue on some week and weekend days.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 8, 2017

We celebrated a significant birthday with brunch for twelve at Paris. We love the atmosphere and the food is interesting and sometimes extra delicious.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Romantic, Fun, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

Our first visit to Paris Bistro was for Sunday Brunch. It was a served brunch with a wide variety of choices, including appetizers! All four diners were delighted with their choices! The server was attentive and friendly. The ambience casual and relaxing. We will make the hour-long trip again for lunch or dinner, saving time to browse the many inviting shops along Germantown Avenue. Chestnut Hill is a very unique neighborhood with a lot of history!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Great French press coffee, French toast and omelette. Service was fast, efficient and friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Wonderful food and atmosphere. Service was a little slow, but still a wonderful experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Overall it was fun. We sat in the main dining area, outdoor table wasn't available. The atmosphere was lively and pleasant. Although other tables were very close, it didn't bother us.
Service was excellent - attentive and prompt. We didn't wait too long for anything, and were done with the meal in 90 minutes from start to finish. Liked the kids menu options.
Chicken liver appetizer was delicious. Our entrees of trout and braised lamb shank were both underwhelming and we wouldn't order them again. Lamb shank was cooked perfectly, and tender, but it's sauce was way too sweet. Desserts were delicious, they run small, not big enough for sharing.
I would come back for the jazz cafe side, and would stick to appetizers, drinks and desserts.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Live Music, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Excellent service and atmosphere. Like moderate portions. Menu limited healthy selections.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 3, 2017

Exceptional Bistro with talented staff and selections. The Oysters are the best I have ever had, anywhere!

Tags: Live Music, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Coffee, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 2, 2017

Friendly service and delicious meal. A well prepared traditional onion soup and then a seafood crepe with an exquisite sauce and huge and savory shrimps. Enough to skip dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 2, 2017

great food, great service, and great oysters great ambience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Quick Bite, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

Unfortunately the restaurant had run out of a few food items, and even Perrier! Other than that it was very nice thank you

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 23, 2017

We had not been to Paris Bistro before, but the reviews were generally very good and the menu looked enticing. Our appetizers (liver pate and escargot) were both very good. We also had the duck confit salad and the seafood crepe, and each was quite good. Our service, however, left something to be desired. Not sure if our server was new, or just had too many tables, but she was unable to answer a basic question regarding the drink menu, and took a very long time getting the answer. We saw her serving other tables while we were still waiting on our answer before we could even place a drink order. She was, however, very pleasant, so it was hard to be too annoyed. Only toward the end of our entrees were we were asked if we'd like another drink, and one of us said yes. Given that we were nearly done with the meal before being told that the drink would be forthcoming soon, we just cancelled that drink request. It was also oddly noisy in the large open main dining area, but it did quiet down. We would consider going back, but would definitely try other local French restaurants before returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 23, 2017

We enjoyed a lovely dinner with great service! Menu is not very extensive but everything our party ordered was absolutely delicious!! We enjoyed the cheese selection to start, a variety of entree choices, and dessert. You can't go wrong ordering anything there! Will definitely return on another visit to the Philadelphia area!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Had dinner last night at Paris Bistro. Was a pleasant night so we sat on outdoor patio. Waiter took our order and was at first very attentive. The appetizers arrived and were very good. Dishes were cleared while we awaited delivery of our main course. We noticed other tables were given bread baskets but not us. No big deal. After waiting for over 30 minutes our waiter stopped by and asked us if we wished to have dessert. We informed him we hadn't had our entrees yet. He then claimed the kitchen was crazy busy tonight preparing food for a private party at the hotel next door. No excuse! Shouldn't your first concern be to the restaurant patrons! Finally after about 10 more minutes the dinners arrived. By this time our ire didn't allow us to really enjoy the food and we decided the food was good but certainly nothing out of the ordinary. We were then asked if we cared for dessert. We decided we would share that evening's special dessert. After another 20 minute wait we were told it would be coming out shortly. After another 10 minute wait we gave up. Told the waiter to cancel the desert and just bring the check. This is certainly no way to run a business or treat a customer.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Paris is a lovely venue for fine dining. The service was great. We were seated immediately. Our food was tasty but it was not hot. It was luke warm. Sent back the fries. Got back hot crispy ones. Our seafood Crepes were delicious but not hot. The drinks were good. Our only issue came when there was a weird $1.50 charge for "rocks" for one of the drinks. Our servers explanation was odd. So we asked for a manager, and a young woman came to the table and was so exasperated by our inquiry she went to find another manager. This woman came to the table and explained the weird $1.50 charge. It was an absurd situation and eventually she just removed the $1.50. The experience was so ridiculous. The meal cost almost $200 for a party of 4. The $1.50 issue was on principal. Personally, it should not have taken 2 managers and one server to solve the issue.
But, in the end, the restaurant is nice, the food is good, the neighborhood great so people skills can be improved. Customers willing to spend $200 for dinner should not be hassled over $1.50. It was simply ridiculous .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 22, 2017

It is a charming space, attractive and with a good vibe. The service was excellent. The food, however, was not. We had the duck confit (dry and overcooked), and the trout, (well seasoned but overcooked). An order of frites had to be sent back because they were not at all hot. I will say that this was done very willingly and quickly. Our wait person was efficient and friendly.

We did not have dessert because we were so disappointed in the meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 20, 2017

It was Training Day for the wait staff, but the floor manager more than made up for it. Get the daily special. Regular menu is somewhat unbalanced. Lovely room.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Live Music, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Server never served the appetizer bread untill soup came out and we asked. And the server never serve the nife that it was not at the table since I sitting on the table. Also when she bring up the appetizer bread to us, bread smells perfume so we could not eat at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Fun, lively atmosphere, good service, delicious steak frites. Recommend for date night or any night for a taste of Paris.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Excellent mussels-would return just for those
Salmon at bit overdone
Very slow service
Lovely ambiance

Tags: Cozy, Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Paris is one of our favorite nice dinner spots in Chestnut Hill. We love the downstairs jazz club but also really enjoy the food, service and ambiance upstairs. Only issue - portions quite small for the price, esp since it's competing with BYOs in the area and the dishes, while quite good, aren't amazing culinary experiences.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Authentic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 16, 2017

I now understand why a taste of perfect French sole meunière launched Julia Child on her quest to perfect French cooking. That's what I had at Paris Bistro on my first visit and it was heavenly. In fact, everything was heavenly, from my French mojito to my lemon tart. There were four of us. We all ordered different dishes and had the same experience--outstanding food and a lovely place. We'll be back.

Tags: Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Delicious food, excellent service. Can't wait to dine there again!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Great find in Chestnut Hill. Part of the growing Jazz scene in Philadelphia and the Burbs. The bar, food, and ambiance are terrific and the group, Lynn Riley, was as usual fun, lively and enjoyable. Must for foodies and jazz buffs.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Live Music, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 15, 2017

My husband and I had a pre-theater dinner date here on a Friday night. The waitress was wonderful about getting our cocktails and meal out in a timely fashion. She was really good about modifying one of their signature drinks to my liking and offering to bring back my husband's steak when he noticed that it was a little too bloody for him. Great server! Noticed that there was a nice bar scene happening and would like to visit again for cocktails!

Tags: Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Fun, Notable Wine List, Live Music, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Our favorite restaurant in the world! Excellent food and a perfectly lovely atmosphere!

Tags: People Watching, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 13, 2017

It was our 37th anniversary and we were seeking a different dining experience. We ordered the Trout with Haricot Vert & Almonds and one of three-course specials. We ordered an additional side of mushrooms but somehow that confused our waiter. We wished the server was a little more attentive and courteous. However, the food was tasty; well seasoned. We may give it another chance, we're undecided at this moment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
·Dined on September 11, 2017

The food and drinks were fabulous, but our server really made our birthday celebration special because she was so nice and so attentive.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 10, 2017

My experience of the Bistro for dinner is a good one, and I love this place because its food and the friendly and good service in the evenings; that said, I will not recommend the Bistro for brunch on Sundays. This is the second time that I choose to take some friends for brunch there and experience embarrassment: The service was poor, two of the dishes incredibly salty, and had to be returned, when the mussels were served no additional plate was provided and the waitress never got around to provide one, the waitress was very unfriendly and when she brought the check she had included the returned dishes and took her unusual time to resolved the situation.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

Had a delicious catch up brunch with friend.. sat at the bar and the device could not have been better!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 9, 2017

From the great drinks at the bar, to delicious apps and a wonderful Tuna entre our evening was perfect.
My wife also had a great sole special which was wonderful.
It was just a really really good meal and night out in Chestnut Hill.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 9, 2017

The waiter was sick with flue like symptoms. It's against health code to report to work in food industry with flue like symptoms

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Would go back for the food. Service was just okay, waitstaff seemed distracted and inexperienced.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 6, 2017

I have eaten here several dozen times. The food is always wonderful, and the mixed drinks are well mixed. The service can be spotty, but on this visit everything was just fine.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 2, 2017

A nice place with a bistro feel. The French bistro menu is a pleasant change from the typical neighborhood Italian and Chinese restaurants. Our waitress was exceptional.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Service was great (Devin). Food was not quite as good as our last time there. Would go again, however.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.