About Paris Bistro - Chestnut Hill

Located in the middle of Philadelphia's charming Chestnut Hill neighborhood, Paris Bistro has made quite a splash since it opened in late January 2014. The setting and food are authentic bistro - the crowd is lively and the menu is reminiscent of the many bistros that dot Paris' arrondissement. Classics like cassoulet, coq au vin, steak frites and escargot are joined by more modern bistro fare like a beet and goat cheese salad and mustard-herb crusted salmon. Classic cocktails and signature "bistro cocktails" include La Bardot and Le Martini de Triomphe. The 85 bottle wine list covers all the major wine producing areas of France at very reasonable prices. And what would the bistro experience be without classic chocolate mousse and creme brûlée? All are served with a genuine warmth and true hospitality. Downstairs live Jazz plays Thursday through Sunday evenings with reservations available through the Paris Bistro Jazz Cafe Open Table page.

8229 Germantown Ave., Building A
Philadelphia, PA 19118
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Monday - Thursday & Sunday 5:00-10:00PM
Dinner Friday & Saturday 5:00-11:00PM
Sunday Brunch 10:30AM-2:00PM
Happy Hour Monday -Friday 4:00PM-6:00PM

Cross Street:
Southampton Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 242-6200

Website:
http://www.parisbistro.net/

Entertainment:
Paris Bistro Jazz Cafe offers live Jazz Thursday through Sunday evenings.
The room opens nightly at 5:00PM. Reservations can be made online through our Paris Bistro Jazz Cafe Open Table page or by calling 215.242.6200.
$5-$15 entertainment charge (unless otherwise noted)








Catering:
Please call for information about our off-site catering company Bon Vivant.

Parking Details:
Complimentary parking provided in Chestnut Hill Hotel parking lot (access on Southampton Avenue).
Additional metered street parking available on Germantown Avenue and side streets.
Pay parking available at CHBD area parking facilities within 1-2 blocks of our restaurant.

Public Transit:
SEPTA Route 23 Bus

SEPTA Regional Rail Chestnut East or Chestnut Hill West lines

Executive Chef:
Chef Al Paris

Private Party Facilities:
Paris Bistro will transport you to another time and place with its 1920s style decor and authentic French bistro fare. Parties of 20-70 can be accommodated for lunch, dinner and weekend brunches. Live jazz is an option for those who wish to add that extra something to their private gathering.

Private Party Contact:
Lauren: (215) 242-6200

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Monday Night $1 Oysters "Le Buck a Shuck"
3 Course Regional French Prix Fixe Menu Available Wednesday Nights $32
Sunday Brunch

Restaurant Photos

  • Paris Bistro - Chestnut Hill, Philadelphia, PA
  • Fresh Oysters - Paris Bistro - Chestnut Hill, Philadelphia, PA
  • Peach Tartlet - Paris Bistro - Chestnut Hill, Philadelphia, PA
  • Asparagus With Fried Egg & Hollandaise - Copy () - Paris Bistro - Chestnut Hill, Philadelphia, PA
  • Beet Trio Salad - Paris Bistro - Chestnut Hill, Philadelphia, PA
  • Oyster Beignets - Paris Bistro - Chestnut Hill, Philadelphia, PA
  • Selection Of  French Cheeses - Paris Bistro - Chestnut Hill, Philadelphia, PA
  • Kirs De Paris - Paris Bistro - Chestnut Hill, Philadelphia, PA

Report a photo problem

Fresh Oysters - Paris Bistro - Chestnut Hill, Philadelphia, PA
Peach Tartlet - Paris Bistro - Chestnut Hill, Philadelphia, PA
Asparagus With Fried Egg & Hollandaise - Copy () - Paris Bistro - Chestnut Hill, Philadelphia, PA
Beet Trio Salad - Paris Bistro - Chestnut Hill, Philadelphia, PA
Oyster Beignets - Paris Bistro - Chestnut Hill, Philadelphia, PA
Selection Of  French Cheeses - Paris Bistro - Chestnut Hill, Philadelphia, PA
Kirs De Paris - Paris Bistro - Chestnut Hill, Philadelphia, PA

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

3-Course Prix Fixe Menu $55 ($65 in the Jazz Cafe) featuring oyster bisque, raspberry cured salmon, duck confit ravioli, short rib Rossini, Amish chicken, vegetarian items available, optional wine flight and cocktail specials available. Seating from 5-10PM. Live music in our Jazz Cafe only!

Paris Bistro - Chestnut Hill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (44)
Good for a Date (44)
Special Occasion (34)
See All
Authentic (28)
Romantic (27)
Fit for Foodies (25)
Good for Anniversaries (25)
Live Music (22)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Worth the Drive (20)
Cozy (19)
Great for Brunch (19)
Sunday Lunch (18)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Fun (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Comfort Food (14)
Casual (14)
Bar Seating (13)
Notable Wine List (13)
Hot Spot (13)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Outstanding Value (9)
Great for Lunch (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Happy Hour (7)
Business Meals (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Historic (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Family Style (4)
People Watching (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Healthy (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Seasonal (1)
Great Beer (1)
Scenic View (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
863 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I don't think anyone's minding the store ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 2 days ago

I don't think anyone's minding the store. Clueless hostess. Inexperienced servers. Dropped plates/silverware. Knocked over glass of wine on a patron. Ran out of Eat France special. Medium rare request came medium to well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

We went here for my wife's birthday. It ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 days ago

We went here for my wife's birthday. It was so-so. Service was on par with a touristy high volume restaurant (they have at max 25-30 tables). That was what first made me not like my experience. Food was just OK for French Bistro fare (there is more to Cassoulet than just bread crumbs and duck fat). It was good food (on paper) executed with mediocrity. Good ingredients but lack of skill and imagination in the kitchen. Wasn't upset by the bill amount versus the experience, but was hoping for a lot more overall. We dined here on a Sunday evening where one would have thought that they would have had time and chops to ensure a quality dining experience. We just didn't see it from service or product. Won't go again for a special occasion, will try again for brunch as a second chance.

Tags: Quick Bite, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Paris Bistro is so close. I have dined i ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

Paris Bistro is so close. I have dined in the real Paris on many occasions, and the food here is sometimes close to native. I had the steak frites, and the steak was as good as I could have imagined. It was billed as "flank steak," but I have never had flank steak that was as tender. The sauce was superb. Another diner in our party had the moules-frites. Mussels are pretty hard to mess up, and Paris Bistro did a nice job of them. I was perplexed, however, that the frites were served on top of the moules. This meant that many of them fell down into the sauce, becoming soggy. I have always seen them served on the side on a separate plate. Really curious way to present the dish, making me think that someone in the kitchen was not thinking this through very well. Our serve had a wonderful French accent, which made it nice. The restaurant attracts a varied crowd, with many families with small children. I would definitly return and would like to try the dinner menu (this was Sunday brunch).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We were seated in a very awkward table f ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 days ago

We were seated in a very awkward table for our party of six where and it really took away from the occasion (birthday brunch). The food was spot on and no complaints but we were so crammed into this table that would normally seat four that we ended up being very annoyed.

Also, they barely tea and no English breakfast tea or the Paris blend. They no longer provide the little basket with scones and bread to start with anymore.

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Thoroughly enjoyed our brunch. From the ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 5 days ago

Thoroughly enjoyed our brunch. From the onion soup to the moules frites to the creme brulee, the food was excellent. Also can highly recommend the Strawberry Splash with lemon and mint.

Tags: Casual, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Paris Bistro is always one of my favorit ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Paris Bistro is always one of my favorites.

The atmosphere is friendly, authentic and the food never dissapoints.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bland crab cakes covered in bland white ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Bland crab cakes covered in bland white sauce. Bland mussels with one bad tasting one. Undercooked rubbery chicken coq au vin. Crepe Suzette swimming in sauce. Overrated and overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

We had a wonderful meal and enjoyed grea ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We had a wonderful meal and enjoyed great service - definitely will go again!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had dinner there on a snowy icy cold Sat ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Had dinner there on a snowy icy cold Saturday, but the moment we walked in the nasty weather was forgotten and the warmth and charm of Paris took charge. Our waiter was excellent and had a good sense of humor which added to the fun of the evening. My husband had the short ribs and he said they were excellent. My son said the same about his ratatouille and ravioli. I had the salmon mustard herb crusted salmon, and while the "crust" was out of this world, the salmon was a tiny bit overdone. Paris is a gem. It's first class food and service in a cozy neighborhood setting.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

Love Paris Bistro. Great food. Nice pe ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Love Paris Bistro. Great food. Nice people. Convenient. Very reasonable.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, , Handcrafted Cocktails, Quick Bite, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Very upbeat resturant! Good food and go ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Very upbeat resturant! Good food and good service

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The steak frites is always perfect. Wi ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 7, 2017

The steak frites is always perfect. Wine selection good. And it has a great bistro feel. One of Chestnut HILL's best places to eat.

Tags: Fun, Notable Wine List, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Probably as close as you can get in the ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Probably as close as you can get in the states to an authentic french bistro with a varied menu of french treats and an atmosphere of Parisian bon mot. Excellent service with a french accent and attention. Always a treat!

Tags: Live Music, Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

We have been to Paris many times but thi ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We have been to Paris many times but this was the first time I was disappointed in the food. The 4-course $65 fixed price dinner for New Year's Eve was not up to the usual delicious standards, perhaps because the dishes were prepared ahead of time or in larger quantities. First two courses of veal fricassee in croute and tuna crudo were very small portions and not particularly tasty. (Tuna was 4 small pieces, dry and bland) I ordered the braised filet mignon which was barely edible--dry, tough grey meat on a tiny slab of something mushy and white, perhaps potato or another liquefied white vegetable. I think this was just a "one-off" due to the New Year's Eve occasion, as usually the food is well-prepared and very good. I have to say that my husband had the duck and was pleased with his selection.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

We were there for New Years Eve - Midnig ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We were there for New Years Eve - Midnight in Paris. Fixed price 3 courses plus dessert @ $65 per person. Wonderful selections for each of the courses. All expertly prepared and elegantly served.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Paris Bistro in the Chestnut Hill ne ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The Paris Bistro in the Chestnut Hill neighborhood of Philadelphia is a unique dining find. The French food menu is creative and authentic, and offers a sophisticated and comfortable experience. Special events are celebrated with style and imaginative selections. The service is very professional and European, and there is an elegant bar area. Highly recommended.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Magnificent. It made our New Year's Eve ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Magnificent. It made our New Year's Eve very special. Food was perfection and service is always top notch. Our server was Samira.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful New Years Eve dinner ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We had a wonderful New Years Eve dinner at Paris. We went to an early dinner with our 1 year old daughter and they were VERY accommodating to my husband and I. We were able to get some different items for her to enjoy during our dinner. LOVE Paris and will continue to go back again and again! :)

Tags: Great for Lunch, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fun, Bar Seating, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Just perfect

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Just perfect

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Charming French café vibe, attentive ser ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Charming French café vibe, attentive service and wonderful food. Absolutely authentic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

OMG!!! We loved it!!! Can't wait to go ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 30, 2016

OMG!!! We loved it!!! Can't wait to go back & sit downstairs & listen to jazz. Thank you for a great time!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We arrived on time for our reservation a ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We arrived on time for our reservation and our table was waiting for us. My husband had the steak and I had the short ribs. Everything was delicious. The service was excellent. We never felt rushed or ignored.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Kitchen was short staffed, so service wa ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Kitchen was short staffed, so service was slow. Food was good, although my steak was a bit tough. Beet salad was excellent as was cauliflower and cheese side. Waiter was very polite, friendly and attentive.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

I have eaten here 4 times and each time ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 29, 2016

I have eaten here 4 times and each time the food and atmosphere was great.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, , Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

A festive feeling of commaraderie. Mussl ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 27, 2016

A festive feeling of commaraderie. Mussles and lobster bisque were delicious. Mustard salmon and steak also excellent. Bouche de Noel dessert was like a chocolate baked alaska, yummy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Excellent meal, atmosphere and service. ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Excellent meal, atmosphere and service. Only issue was salmon was a bit over cooked.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

A gem of a restaurant. The crab galette ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 25, 2016

A gem of a restaurant. The crab galette and the escargots were spectacular!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went to restaurant for Christmas Eve Din ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Went to restaurant for Christmas Eve Dinner. Knew there was a prix fixe dinner from website, but our server did not mention nor were we given the menu for it. Our server did inform us that it was his first night(what a way to start) but were very satisfied with him. Both my wife and I did enjoy the food and would recommend. However, one thing that disturbed me was there was a charge of $ 1.50 for " rocks " added to my drink. I have never seen this on a bill and have emailed the restaurant regarding it. Seemed very odd !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Paris Bistro was a last-minute decision ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Paris Bistro was a last-minute decision and we were lucky to get a table. Good food, moderately priced, but somewhat noisy for older patrons with hearing issues. Despite how crowded it was, we did not feel rushed by the servers.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

The chicken crepe was tasteless. The bou ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 23, 2016

The chicken crepe was tasteless. The boullebaise was decent.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Great service ! Great job!

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Great service ! Great job!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Pate, cassoulet, and salmon was excellen ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Pate, cassoulet, and salmon was excellent. Service was friendly and efficient. Table slightly cramped - couldn't help but listen to others' conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

For a mid priced restaurant the service ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 19, 2016

For a mid priced restaurant the service was poor. We waited several minutes to put in our initial drink orders, which then were not delivered for a period I am guessing ten minutes but noticeable longer than at good restaurants. Our server when she appeared after we got our drinks informed us the Sunday special was out and there was not much duck left. She left us to our choices, returned and the first request from the first person she asked was for shortribs. She said they were also out, and immediately said she would give us five minutes more to consider and left. Were we to wait five minutes choose something else, be told that was out wait five more minutes etc until midnight or does she stand there take our orders for what was in stock and put in the orders? I suggest the latter. Also the server twice interrupted conversations to ask how things were and then a manager did the same thing

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

Delicious food, excellent service, pleas ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Delicious food, excellent service, pleasant French-style interior, fairly noisy. The beef bouguignon was very tender and had a delicious sauce. The crepe of the day was delicious l, substantial, and amply filled. The sautéed mushrooms and Parmesan frites side dishes were also excellent. The Crepe Suzette had a delicious orange syrup but was not flambeed. The server was attentive, knowledgeable, and courteous. Only negative was the butter, which was salted, when I think unsalted butter is routine for French food. Prices were not cheap but not excessive. We will go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The onion soup was excellent as usual. ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 17, 2016

The onion soup was excellent as usual. As was the steak fritz. Ordered the crepe du jour which was chicken. I was surprised at the price when I got the bill so the next time I will ask the mp before ordering. Yes, I thought it over priced especially since it was not that great. Live and learn.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Food was delicious but service terrible. ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Food was delicious but service terrible. Waiter never came to check on our table and food took forever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

The food is always very good. The servi ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 15, 2016

The food is always very good. The service was just fine--in the past, it has been spotty, but things seem to be better organized. The place was packed, as it was Christmas shopping time, but staff stayed on top of things.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Great spot. Creative menu, attentive ser ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Great spot. Creative menu, attentive servers, cool ambiance. Easy to make reservations. Jazz is a unique extra. Just love it!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Just a very nice and elegant restuarant. ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Just a very nice and elegant restuarant. Atmosphere is wonderful. Bartenders and wait staff are great.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious and to top it off ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 2, 2016

The food was delicious and to top it off we were seated at a nice table.

Tags: Historic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.