About Paris Bistro - Chestnut Hill

8229 Germantown Ave., Building A
Philadelphia, PA 19118
View Larger Map

Located in the middle of Philadelphia's charming Chestnut Hill neighborhood, Paris Bistro has made quite a splash since it opened in late January 2014. The setting and food are authentic bistro - the crowd is lively and the menu is reminiscent of the many bistros that dot Paris' arrondissement. Downstairs, the jazz cafe features the area's best talent playing a mixture of standards, Great American Songbook classics and music from the Jazz Era of the early 1900's. Make an evening of it with reservations for dinner upstairs and a jazz set after (seating in the cafe is on a first-come, first-seated basis).

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Monday - Thursday & Sunday 5:00-10:00PM
Dinner Friday & Saturday 5:00-11:00PM
Lunch Monday-Friday 11:30AM-2:00PM
Sunday Brunch 10:30AM-2:00PM
Happy Hour Monday -Friday 4:00Pm-6:00PM

Cross Street:
Southampton Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 242-6200

Website:
http://www.parisbistro.net/

Entertainment:
Live Jazz Thursday through Sunday evenings.
Thursday, Friday, Saturday Open 6:00- Close 12:00 Midnight
Set times 7:00, 8:30 &10:00 PM
Open Sunday 5:00-11:00 PM
Set times 6:00, 7:30 & 9:00 PM
$5 entertainment charge (unless otherwise noted)
No reservations - first-come, first-seated in the cafe








Parking Details:
Complimentary parking provided in Chestnut Hill Hotel parking lot (access on Southampton Avenue).
Additional metered street parking available on Germantown Avenue and side streets.

Public Transit:
SEPTA Route 23 Bus

SEPTA Regional Rail Chestnut East or Chestnut Hill West lines

Executive Chef:
Chef Al Paris

Private Party Facilities:
Paris Bistro will transport you to another time and place with its 1920s style decor and authentic French bistro fare. Parties of 20-70 can be accommodated for lunch, dinner and weekend brunches. Live jazz is an option for those who wish to add that extra something to their private gathering.

Private Party Contact:
Lauren: 2152426200

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
3 Course Regional French Prix Fixe Menu Available Wednesday Nights $25
3 Course Prix Fixe Sunday Brunch $24.95

Restaurant Photos

  • Paris Bistro - Chestnut Hill
Paris Bistro - Chestnut Hill

Paris Bistro - Chestnut Hill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.1

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

neighborhood gem (129)
fit for foodies (107)
special occasion (80)
See All
romantic (47)
great for brunch (44)
great for lunch (43)
good for groups (33)
notable wine list (32)
great for outdoor dining (29)
vibrant bar scene (27)
hot spot (23)
late-night find (17)
scenic view (7)
kid-friendly (6)
Sort By:
Newest
702 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was delicious. The French onion ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 4 days ago

The food was delicious. The French onion soup, escargot, crepe of the day & frisee salad standout. Everything passing by the table was great. Wish we had been served sooner & told of the downstairs as we came for music, but didn't know why we weren't seeing any.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

I've eaten at Paris on several occasions ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 5 days ago

I've eaten at Paris on several occasions. It's a great little spot in my neighborhood where I can meet friends for dinner. The food is really delicious and I really like that the chef makes up a special menu each month so that a traditional French bistro experience can be enjoyed. The desserts are over the top!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

A very enjoyable experience. Chef was e ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 6 days ago

A very enjoyable experience. Chef was extremely accommodating.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was excellent and Alexis was aw ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

The food was excellent and Alexis was awesome waiter,would definitely recommend this restaraunt!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a lovely Sunday brunch With frien ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We had a lovely Sunday brunch

With friends, would definitely go back

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

It was Bastille Day so it was crowded a ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

It was Bastille Day so it was crowded and as a result service was poor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

My husband and I have been here many tim ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

My husband and I have been here many times and decided to bring my mother-in-law while she was visiting Philadelphia. This was the worst experience we've had in Chestnut Hill. We were seated at 7, it took the server forever to even bring water and he forgot my husband's diet coke. He was completely overwhelmed, had too many tables, finally took our food order around 7:30 and our food didn't arrive until 8:25. The food was well cooked and tasty, but it took so long to get there by the time we were eating we were all ready to be done. I was so excited to take my m-i-l to Paris Bistro and it was embarrassingly disappointing.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

I came the previous week for the first t ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

I came the previous week for the first time and had the cassoulet, which was outstanding. Came back the next week for lunch on Bastille Day. I live 1/2 hour drive away, but will probably return in the not too distant future.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The selection for lunch was very good, a ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

The selection for lunch was very good, a nice variety. Our server was helpful. Several of our group were so pleased with their selection that they ordered more to take home.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We had the French Manhattan cocktail, p ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We had the French Manhattan cocktail, potatoe leek soup, the salmon, and veg. ratatouille entrees. All were excellent. Very attentive service without being intrusive. Will plan on returning

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our second visit. We rarely com ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

This was our second visit. We rarely come to Chestnut Hill, but were there for a concert. We enjoy traditional "bistro " fare and the Paris Bistro does not disappoint and is a good value. I expect we will be back whenever we go to CH for an event.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Slow service, then meal brought out ston ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Slow service, then meal brought out stone cold, they claimed they remade the entree because first one was not right yet this was not edible, waitress was very nice but so slow. Other diners came and went and we did not get our mealls, she avoided us entirely during this time. She comped the dessert but the food was way below average, the service was abominable and for 200 bucks for 2 people, it was was too expensive for what we got

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value1

Been here dozens of times. This time...r ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Been here dozens of times. This time...really exceptional our server Chelsea added her spectacular personality and foodie descriptions and the kitchen did her proud.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Your restaurant takes me back to Paris F ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Your restaurant takes me back to Paris France. Wonderful food and great ambience.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointed with last two experiences a ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Disappointed with last two experiences at what had been our favorite local place. On Mothers Day we waited over two hours for our food. This past Saturday, our friend's steak frites was over cooked and the fries were soggy. My husband's and my roasted pork was overdone and bland. My other friend's coq au vin was great, but the waiter unfortunately spilled part of it on her white jacket and coat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

I've dined here several times and the fo ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

I've dined here several times and the food is consistently exceptional. This visit was no exception. The mushroom tartlet ( a special) was worth the trip by itself. Coq au vin and short ribs were both delicious and recommended entrees. Really everything on the menu will please. This visit the service was poor, very slow, poorly paced and drinks ordered never came. Manager said it was new servers. Suggestion- train new people better before letting them solo, tell the diners that they have a new server, or get good servers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Great experience ! Delicious ! Excell ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Great experience ! Delicious ! Excellent service. !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A jewel in Chestnut Hill. Thanks, Tif ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

A jewel in Chestnut Hill.

Thanks, Tiffany and team, for a delightful afternoon, al fresco. See you and the team downstairs soon for hot jazz, et al. We stopped by the market after for fresh figs! Paris Bistro is fab 🍷

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our 2nd time to Paris Bistro. T ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

This was our 2nd time to Paris Bistro. The first time was in 2015 and we had an excellent experience - food, ambiance, etc. was all great so we thought we would go back this year to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Unfortunately I feel like this restaurant has changed significantly. Mostly the poor ratings are surrounding the food. I ordered a $25 steak and "frites" which came out maybe as a 5oz steak with soggy fries - hardly worth $25! Our coffee was $3.00 per cup and was luke warm at best and the dessert was $8 for a tiny sliver of cake. I just felt overall things have gone down hill, the prices do not match the end result and I probably will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

Has an authentic Parisian Bistro feel. ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Has an authentic Parisian Bistro feel. The food was delicious. The service was perfect -typically French, never felt rushed. The servers gave the right amount of attention. I love the fact that if you have your French passport; you get a complimentary champagne. We had a great time and I would go back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a wonderful dinner for a late celebr ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Had a wonderful dinner for a late celebration of Fathers Day. Hub, daughter and I started with a cheese board and followed that up with steak frites (hub and daughter) and sole meunière for me. As always our dinners were excellent! Hub and Daughter had creme brûlée and I had a cappuccino for dessert. The pace of the meal was perfect for a Thursday evening and our servers were very attentive!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great atmosphere. It is quite loud becau ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Great atmosphere. It is quite loud because it is a small quaint space but it is a great setting. I wouldn't recommend for business meetings where you need to really dialogue but if you are just going out for an evening this is a great spot.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Memorial dinner for family members. Outs ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Memorial dinner for family members.

Outstanding selection of French favorites.

Outstanding fresh seafood.

Great selection of fine French and Alsace wines.

Great bar service.

Age group 25 through 84. All were thrilled with the experience. Stayed next door at Chesnut Hill Hotel. Also 5 stars.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My friend and I were celebrating our bir ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

My friend and I were celebrating our birthdays and were surprised with a complimentary dessert - complete with a birthday candle. It was a nice touch after a lovely meal. The onion soup is the best and the mussels with fries were delicious. Very generous portions too. I was happy to take half my entree home in very nice containers.

Thanks for making our celebration very memorable. A class act!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

This great neighborhood restaurant can b ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

This great neighborhood restaurant can be noisy. I requested a table in the back and they accommodated us. The food was delicious. My husband had a steak that was cooked perfectly and I had the crab cakes that I thoroughly enjoyed. The staff was pleasant and efficient. We have been here on numerous occasions and have never had a bad meal. Their Sunday brunch is also well worth a visit.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Paris is a fun place, however there were ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Paris is a fun place, however there were a few things that we less than perfect. The french bread should be amazing - crusty and chewy, but was soft and crumbly. The truffle fries were fries with a cold lump of truffle butter sitting on top. My duck a l'orange was room temp. I didn't complain about any of this because we were the to celebrate Father's Day and I didn't want to take away from the celebration. The mixed drinks were very good. There were some menu items that weren't available and that was also a shame. My husband and daughter were both happy with their main courses.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We were surprised to see all drinks were ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We were surprised to see all drinks were not included with the $24.95 brunch menu and Paris Bistro no longer offers a complimentary champagne or bloody mary to start. We ordered tea and once again this used to be included with the price . It took us 1.45 hours to eat and even though we were not in a hurry and celebrating our anniversary, we felt kind of negleted at times due to what appeared as a lack of adequate service help. In addition, I was brought the wrong third course (dessert), but figured it would be too much hassle to get it fixed. We also heard a waitress tell other tables they were running out of items and this was barely after 12:30-1:00pm timeframe. We've been here 4-5 times for brunch and now its not really at the top of our list going forward because its not worth the price and its not much of a unique experience anymore.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value2

I really wanted to love Paris -- the foo ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

I really wanted to love Paris -- the food was fantastic and the ambiance/location was fun for Father's Day. Unfortunately, the service was abysmal that I would never go back -- the worst I have had in a long time. I enjoy a lingering brunch, but it really should not take three hours. And, I unfortunately overheard the hostess lie snarkily to incoming patrons who were confused about why their reserved table would not be ready for another 20 - 30 minutes. Instead of admitting that tables were turning over slowly due to their slower-than-molasses-service, she lied and blamed it on "customers who were (eye roll and huffy sigh) who were taking too long to finish eating." Nice.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

Paris Bistro is an amazing restaurant, w ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Paris Bistro is an amazing restaurant, with top notch service and great food. Its always packed for a reason.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I had dinner last Saturday n ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

My wife and I had dinner last Saturday night at Paris Bistro. We had high hopes that conditions had improved since our previous experiences and were joined by two friends on their first visit.

Unfortunately, we ended up being disappointed once again as the service continues to be abysmal - three and a half hours for dinner is unacceptable. We watched as several parties arrived AFTER us and left BEFORE us. When our food finally arrived, my dinner was lukewarm and a side dish came late. I had to ask our waitress three times for a refill of my drink and the two desserts took over 20 minutes to arrive. I finally got up and asked if there was a problem in the kitchen. Only then did our desserts arrive, one steaming hot and the other cold.

I would like to say this was an isolated incident but my wife and I have experienced similar problems during each of our three previous visits. We expect service to be commensurate with the cost of dining and it is extremely disappointing to find that is not the case at Paris Bistro. We and our friends enjoy fine dining but as a result of our experiences have decided to cross this establishment off our list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

Love the food and atmosphere. The place ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Love the food and atmosphere. The place was much better than I thought

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

It was my brother's birthday and the foo ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

It was my brother's birthday and the food and service and atmosphere was great!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect for lunch outside on a Spring Da ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Perfect for lunch outside on a Spring Day, though our waitress did disappear after being attentive initially.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

I had the daily special - salad, chicken ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

I had the daily special - salad, chicken with morels and a crepe dessert for $25. The salad and chicken was good. The scalloped potatoes were not appealing - kind of gooey looking. I prefer my asparagus spears peeled. The crepes were tepid and tasteless. Waited too long for dessert.

We are outside. It was a beautiful evening and enjoyed the fresh air.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

All seven diners' plays were immaculate ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

All seven diners' plays were immaculate when removed after each course. Personally, I can attest to the excellence of trout amandine. Mussels mariniere got a double thumbs up from my mussels addicted hubby.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Menu is unique and tasty. Outdoor seat ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Menu is unique and tasty. Outdoor seating great for a warm evening.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Crab cake - Recipe from La Bec Fin, Fabu ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Crab cake - Recipe from La Bec Fin, Fabulous

Great food, service.

Jazz downstairs.

What Chestnut HIll has needed.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

OpenTable Today at 1:09 PM S ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

OpenTable

Today at 1:09 PM

Such a delightful place and wonderful food that it is sad I can never return again because the noise level is so deafening that all I could do was read lips. The din was incredibly loud.

This was on a Saturday night so I am hoping some kind person will save me by telling me that a Tuesday, Wednesday or Thursday is a different ballgame. (But I don't think so!)

Too bad.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Great food that took too long to arrive

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

I don't really want to spend 2.5 hrs in any restaurant. And while I've been here several times, with varying degrees of satisfaction, this would have been a 5-star evening if hadn't taken so long to be served - each one of our 3 courses.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

GREAT LOCAL RESTAURANT

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

6th time and never been disappointed. Our goto with family and friends.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.