About Paris Bistro - Chestnut Hill

Located in the middle of Philadelphia's charming Chestnut Hill neighborhood, Paris Bistro has made quite a splash since it opened in late January 2014. The setting and food are authentic bistro - the crowd is lively and the menu is reminiscent of the many bistros that dot Paris' arrondissement. Classics like cassoulet, coq au vin, steak frites and escargot are joined by more modern bistro fare like a beet and goat cheese salad and mustard-herb crusted salmon. Classic cocktails and signature "bistro cocktails" include La Bardot and Le Martini de Triomphe. The 85 bottle wine list covers all the major wine producing areas of France at very reasonable prices. And what would the bistro experience be without classic chocolate mousse and creme brûlée? All are served with a genuine warmth and true hospitality. Downstairs live Jazz plays Thursday through Sunday evenings with reservations available through the Paris Bistro Jazz Cafe Open Table page.

8229 Germantown Ave., Building A
Philadelphia, PA 19118
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Monday - Thursday & Sunday 5:00-10:00PM
Dinner Friday & Saturday 5:00-11:00PM
Sunday Brunch 10:30AM-2:00PM
Happy Hour Monday -Friday 4:00PM-6:00PM

Cross Street:
Southampton Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 242-6200

Website:
http://www.parisbistro.net/

Entertainment:
Paris Bistro Jazz Cafe offers live Jazz Thursday through Sunday evenings.
The room opens nightly at 5:00PM. Reservations can be made online through our Paris Bistro Jazz Cafe Open Table page or by calling 215.242.6200.
$5-$15 entertainment charge (unless otherwise noted)








Catering:
Please call for information about our off-site catering company Bon Vivant.

Parking Details:
Complimentary parking provided in Chestnut Hill Hotel parking lot (access on Southampton Avenue).
Additional metered street parking available on Germantown Avenue and side streets.
Pay parking available at CHBD area parking facilities within 1-2 blocks of our restaurant.

Public Transit:
SEPTA Route 23 Bus

SEPTA Regional Rail Chestnut East or Chestnut Hill West lines

Executive Chef:
Chef Al Paris

Private Party Facilities:
Paris Bistro will transport you to another time and place with its 1920s style decor and authentic French bistro fare. Parties of 20-70 can be accommodated for lunch, dinner and weekend brunches. Live jazz is an option for those who wish to add that extra something to their private gathering.

Private Party Contact:
Lauren: (215) 242-6200

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Monday Night $1 Oysters "Le Buck a Shuck"
3 Course Regional French Prix Fixe Menu Available Wednesday Nights $32
Sunday Brunch

Paris Bistro - Chestnut Hill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (42)
Special Occasion (39)
Good for a Date (35)
See All
Romantic (33)
Authentic (32)
Fit for Foodies (26)
Cozy (25)
Live Music (24)
Good for Anniversaries (24)
Worth the Drive (23)
Bar Seating (23)
Great for Brunch (21)
Sunday Lunch (20)
Casual (20)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Fun (17)
Comfort Food (15)
Hot Spot (12)
Notable Wine List (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Great for Lunch (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Business Meals (8)
Outstanding Value (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Happy Hour (7)
People Watching (7)
Healthy (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Historic (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Family Style (3)
Seasonal (2)
Tapas (1)
Great Beer (1)
Scenic View (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Fireplace (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Organic (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
S
897 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

We were seated promptly but had to ask for a waiter 10 minutes later. Buck-a-chuck oysters were very good but entrees were quite a while later and cool on temp when they arrived. We've been here several times and this was by far the most mediocre experience. Will give Paris another shot, but if it isn't markedly better, we won't return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 4 days ago

great ambiance, good food, reliable and fun! went for buck-a-shuck and loved it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 days ago

Terrific Sunday brunch with neatly crafted French dishes and quiet live music in the background.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

Wishing a friend bon voyage

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

Great meal. Will be back soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

I dined with a former co-worker who brought his "young lady" (child, age 9 yrs) along. The ambiance, menu and service were appropriate for all. The environment was quiet enough for the adults to talk and the "young lady" received sufficient attention from the staff. The bar was busy but far enough away from our table not to be a distraction.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Historic, Notable Wine List, Kid-friendly, Healthy, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The taste of France Wednesdays is a delightful series of getting great food & wine at bargain prices. I hope they continue & that I can go often. The only drawback is the noise level but everything else is so good I will go there anyway. Our server is one of the best: friendly, conversational, helpful, but did not hover.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Fun, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I had mixed feeling from my latest dining experience at Paris. I did not like the fact that I had to give my credit card # to get the reservation. Will not do that again. I choose Paris because they always have trout on the menu. When we arrived we found out that that it was a fixed menu and my wife did not want any of the starters and were not thrilled with the entrees. Food was good and the service was great.

We had an early seating but were given the worst table in house next to the front door. I believe the reason was because we are old. There were plenty of available tables. This happens frequently. We may be old but we dine out a lot and we tip well. Your hosts need to be more considerate and not push the bad table to the first person they find.

Finally, I order a Jack Daniels on the rocks. The Jack was $8 which is moderate price but the rocks were $1.50 Never saw that before.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Excellent service and food. Great ambiance. Will come back again.

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Valentine's Day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I have been to Paris bistro a few times. Entrees are very nice. I loved the escargot and pasta appetizer too! The cheese plate is not worth it...for a French restaurant it should be on point. The wine selection is not that spectacular either. Service can be hit or miss. Some servers are not very knowledgeable unfortunately about what they are serving. Let key I said, entrees keep it in the 3 star range.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 11, 2017

So, the food is good. It's just lacking quality control and effort. We've been to Paris a few times and every time, it's just never quite right. But we keep trying because it's local.

To start, they were out of cheeseburgers. Who runs out of cheeseburgers? Then, they were out of rose. Both kinds of non-sparkling rose. So, I order a Chardonnay. The Chardonnay tasted like apple juice - like it had been sitting out for too long and/or watered down. The server did not charge us for it.

We both ordered the steak frites and asked for the truffle parm fries instead of the regular. We ordered the steaks medium rare. Mine was, my boyfriend's was not. It was very medium. No pink to be found. We've had the truffle Parmesan frites before and they're DELICIOUS. but these were missing the usual big parm slices and the truffle taste. It was barely noticeable. If we hadn't had the truffle frites multiple times before, I would not have been disappointed, but this time, it seemed like someone phoned it in. So, if you get them on a good night, I do recommend them! My steak was delicious. Bernaise was awesome.

Ok, last thing... the creme brulee. Clearly made ahead of time. The top was crispy, but not warm. The entire thing was cold... including the dish... clearly been sitting in the fridge for awhile. I've had tons of creme brûlée, I know a pre-made one sitting in the fridge when I taste and see one. I want my top freshly torched. And the "fresh berries" were pruney and stuck to the top causing the crispy top to not be so crispy anymore. Come on Paris, can't you torch it fresh?

The onion soup? Delicious.

I hate leaving reviews like this, but I know Paris can do better if they've got someone doing QC and they really need to know that. And after three "off" visits, it's time they know. I want to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Great food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Located in the heart of Chestnut Hill, Paris Bistro has good food and attentive servers. The food isn't great but it's good and consistent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We had excellent service and enjoyed our brunch choices.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Enjoyed a delicious meal with a friend, had the Saturday night special. My salmon, topped with 2 nicely sized shrimp, nestled on top of a risotto cake in a delicious seafood reduction was tasty but a tad over cooked, would have preferred a medium temperature on the fish. My dining partner thoroughly enjoyed her short rib entree with root vegetables, generous portion for a short rib. We had two small annoyances with our server, her hair should have been pulled back and someone needs to teach her how to use a wine key table side, other than that she was friendly and attentive. I would return and next time book a downstairs table to hear the jazz.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 2, 2017

We've been to the Paris Bisatro twice in the last month. We were pleased both times. YOu feel like you are in a bistro. There is a live acoustic jazz scene downstairs if you want to eat and listen to really good music. We were upstairs in the main dining room. We could talk in normal voice, just like at home! I find most restaurants these days as intolerably noisy. I make Coq au vin at home - I know how it should taste. The Paris Bistro's was excellent. A very tasty deep red wine sauce with lots of flavor and chicken. My husband's Beef Bourginon was equally good. My friend's crab galette was very crabby in a good way (as opposed to a crab galette that is mostly filler with some crab in it). All in all, great! I would go back...

Tags: Business Meals, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Cozy, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (London)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Perfect bistro experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 31, 2017

We drove an hour in iffy weather to visit this restaurant and it was so well worthy it. It is in a lovely town and has parking behind the building. The food is wonderful. The mixed drinks are tasty. The staff is great and also kind and friendly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 29, 2017

I love Bistros and Paris provided a nice Sunday brunch. Some sweet entrees. Some savory. Some guitar. A very pleasant afternoon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Fantastic food and service. We keep coming back to this place.

Tags: Live Music, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Romantic, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 29, 2017

With a reservation for Sunday brunch, still worth the 20 minute wait, although a bit in the way of the servers. Very pleasant acoustic guitar throughout the meal, where they did not rush us at all. Server was a bit overwhelmed due to the full crowd and missed a bit but was very willing to make amends and so many positives at Paris Bistro to insure we will return. Food was creative and well prepared with lots of choices.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Fun, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Paris Bistro was recommended by a friend of my wife who happens to be a foodie. After insisting that we go, (because my wife's friend and her have the same pallet), I can say without question that this was a grest pick. Everyone from the hosts, waitresses and managers were friendly and accommodating. My wife is pregnant so she can be ( not difficult, just different :) ). Anyways the food was delicious and the ambience was warm. Portion sizes were great too.

We went with my sister and her fiancee and we all agreed to invite some of our family and friends to dine and possibly check out the jazz cafe.

Jazz Bistro gets 2 thumbs up, a snap, a clap and a bag of Georgie Woods! Will definitely be back

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We came here for my birthday. Jasmine was our server and she was wonderful, very helpful and attentive. The food was incredible! Coq au vin was unbelievable! We will absolutely be back!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Live Music, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Overall good, but not great. Great food. Timing was off, and server was clumsy with not knowing the wine list enough to process what we ordered. Entrees came on top of apps. Maitre'd had no clue about strategic seating when tried to squeeze a two top between two others with dining room empty. Bartender with lots of tattoos was awesome. Would give it another try for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on January 24, 2017

If you're staying in the Chestnut Hill Hotel and the weather is cold and dreary, what could be better than dining in house in such a pleasant atmosphere? And no walk home! But even if you're not in the hotel, this is well worth a visit. Ambiance is calm French bistro, food is well-prepared. The escargots with fresh green and white pasta is so good, it should be a main course as well as a starter. On our 2nd visit I was craving something simpler than the offerings on the menu. When I asked if the chef could make a simple roast chicken, the answer was of course!' And it was well prepared, tender and juicy, and served with a homey tangle of fresh pappardelle tossed with garlicky tomatoes and tiny whole onions. My partner's classic steak frites was also perfectly executed.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Love the place. Great location and food. Fun for sure.

Tags: Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Live Music, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Food was absolutely delicious!! I've been thinking about the mussels ever since!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The salmon shrimp special with risotto cake was really tasty, as was the classic trout almondine. Beat salad and lobster bisque to start were also hits. We enjoyed the almond cake for dessert. The service was perfect. Right amount of attention at the right times. This has become one of our fave places on the Hill for date night dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Enjoyed eating here once again. The food is consistently well prepared. The portions are quite ample. Next time we will order less food, although we enjoyed the leftovers for lunch the next day!

The waitress was knowledgeable about the food and wines and recommended an excellent chardonnay to accompany the crepe chicken special.

We look forward to returning to listen to jazz and eat.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Paris Bistro does not disappoint! I dine there occasionally with friends and we love trying something new each visit. This time it was Thursday eve "Scallops L'Orange' as the special; and it was superb! We tried their Mussels for appetizers...it was alright. However the Crab salad app was really great. We love trying the different coctails...this time- The Silver Mote?...fantastic. And the beef here is always delicious. Make a reservation so you will not be disappointed. Our server Chris was terrific!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 19, 2017

I don't think anyone's minding the store. Clueless hostess. Inexperienced servers. Dropped plates/silverware. Knocked over glass of wine on a patron. Ran out of Eat France special. Medium rare request came medium to well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 16, 2017

We went here for my wife's birthday. It was so-so. Service was on par with a touristy high volume restaurant (they have at max 25-30 tables). That was what first made me not like my experience. Food was just OK for French Bistro fare (there is more to Cassoulet than just bread crumbs and duck fat). It was good food (on paper) executed with mediocrity. Good ingredients but lack of skill and imagination in the kitchen. Wasn't upset by the bill amount versus the experience, but was hoping for a lot more overall. We dined here on a Sunday evening where one would have thought that they would have had time and chops to ensure a quality dining experience. We just didn't see it from service or product. Won't go again for a special occasion, will try again for brunch as a second chance.

Tags: Quick Bite, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Casual
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Paris Bistro is so close. I have dined in the real Paris on many occasions, and the food here is sometimes close to native. I had the steak frites, and the steak was as good as I could have imagined. It was billed as "flank steak," but I have never had flank steak that was as tender. The sauce was superb. Another diner in our party had the moules-frites. Mussels are pretty hard to mess up, and Paris Bistro did a nice job of them. I was perplexed, however, that the frites were served on top of the moules. This meant that many of them fell down into the sauce, becoming soggy. I have always seen them served on the side on a separate plate. Really curious way to present the dish, making me think that someone in the kitchen was not thinking this through very well. Our serve had a wonderful French accent, which made it nice. The restaurant attracts a varied crowd, with many families with small children. I would definitly return and would like to try the dinner menu (this was Sunday brunch).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We were seated in a very awkward table for our party of six where and it really took away from the occasion (birthday brunch). The food was spot on and no complaints but we were so crammed into this table that would normally seat four that we ended up being very annoyed.

Also, they barely tea and no English breakfast tea or the Paris blend. They no longer provide the little basket with scones and bread to start with anymore.

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Thoroughly enjoyed our brunch. From the onion soup to the moules frites to the creme brulee, the food was excellent. Also can highly recommend the Strawberry Splash with lemon and mint.

Tags: Casual, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Paris Bistro is always one of my favorites.

The atmosphere is friendly, authentic and the food never dissapoints.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Bland crab cakes covered in bland white sauce. Bland mussels with one bad tasting one. Undercooked rubbery chicken coq au vin. Crepe Suzette swimming in sauce. Overrated and overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We had a wonderful meal and enjoyed great service - definitely will go again!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Had dinner there on a snowy icy cold Saturday, but the moment we walked in the nasty weather was forgotten and the warmth and charm of Paris took charge. Our waiter was excellent and had a good sense of humor which added to the fun of the evening. My husband had the short ribs and he said they were excellent. My son said the same about his ratatouille and ravioli. I had the salmon mustard herb crusted salmon, and while the "crust" was out of this world, the salmon was a tiny bit overdone. Paris is a gem. It's first class food and service in a cozy neighborhood setting.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Love Paris Bistro. Great food. Nice people. Convenient. Very reasonable.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Outstanding Value, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quick Bite, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Very upbeat resturant! Good food and good service

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 7, 2017

The steak frites is always perfect. Wine selection good. And it has a great bistro feel. One of Chestnut HILL's best places to eat.

Tags: Fun, Notable Wine List, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Probably as close as you can get in the states to an authentic french bistro with a varied menu of french treats and an atmosphere of Parisian bon mot. Excellent service with a french accent and attention. Always a treat!

Tags: Live Music, Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We have been to Paris many times but this was the first time I was disappointed in the food. The 4-course $65 fixed price dinner for New Year's Eve was not up to the usual delicious standards, perhaps because the dishes were prepared ahead of time or in larger quantities. First two courses of veal fricassee in croute and tuna crudo were very small portions and not particularly tasty. (Tuna was 4 small pieces, dry and bland) I ordered the braised filet mignon which was barely edible--dry, tough grey meat on a tiny slab of something mushy and white, perhaps potato or another liquefied white vegetable. I think this was just a "one-off" due to the New Year's Eve occasion, as usually the food is well-prepared and very good. I have to say that my husband had the duck and was pleased with his selection.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We were there for New Years Eve - Midnight in Paris. Fixed price 3 courses plus dessert @ $65 per person. Wonderful selections for each of the courses. All expertly prepared and elegantly served.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The Paris Bistro in the Chestnut Hill neighborhood of Philadelphia is a unique dining find. The French food menu is creative and authentic, and offers a sophisticated and comfortable experience. Special events are celebrated with style and imaginative selections. The service is very professional and European, and there is an elegant bar area. Highly recommended.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Magnificent. It made our New Year's Eve very special. Food was perfection and service is always top notch. Our server was Samira.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We had a wonderful New Years Eve dinner at Paris. We went to an early dinner with our 1 year old daughter and they were VERY accommodating to my husband and I. We were able to get some different items for her to enjoy during our dinner. LOVE Paris and will continue to go back again and again! :)

Tags: Great for Lunch, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fun, Bar Seating, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Just perfect

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.