Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.43mi
  4. Distance: 0.52mi
  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.43mi
  4. Distance: 0.52mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.43mi
  4. Distance: 0.52mi
  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.43mi
  4. Distance: 0.52mi

About Paris Bistro - Chestnut Hill

Located in the middle of Philadelphia's charming Chestnut Hill neighborhood, Paris Bistro has made quite a splash since it opened in late January 2014. The setting and food are authentic bistro - the crowd is lively and the menu is reminiscent of the many bistros that dot Paris' arrondissement. Classics like cassoulet, coq au vin, steak frites and escargot are joined by more modern bistro fare like a beet and goat cheese salad and mustard-herb crusted salmon. Classic cocktails and signature "bistro cocktails" include La Bardot and Le Martini de Triomphe. The 85 bottle wine list covers all the major wine producing areas of France at very reasonable prices. And what would the bistro experience be without classic chocolate mousse and creme brûlée? All are served with a genuine warmth and true hospitality. Downstairs live Jazz plays Thursday through Sunday evenings with reservations available through the Paris Bistro Jazz Cafe Open Table page.

8229 Germantown Ave., Building A
Philadelphia, PA 19118
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Monday - Thursday & Sunday 5:00-10:00PM
Dinner Friday & Saturday 5:00-11:00PM
Sunday Brunch 10:30AM-2:00PM
Happy Hour Monday -Friday 4:00PM-6:00PM

Cross Street:
Southampton Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 242-6200

Website:
http://www.parisbistro.net/

Entertainment:
Paris Bistro Jazz Cafe offers live Jazz Thursday through Sunday evenings.
The room opens nightly at 5:00PM. Reservations can be made online through our Paris Bistro Jazz Cafe Open Table page or by calling 215.242.6200.
$5-$15 entertainment charge (unless otherwise noted)








Catering:
Please call for information about our off-site catering company Bon Vivant.

Parking Details:
Complimentary parking provided in Chestnut Hill Hotel parking lot (access on Southampton Avenue).
Additional metered street parking available on Germantown Avenue and side streets.
Pay parking available at CHBD area parking facilities within 1-2 blocks of our restaurant.

Public Transit:
SEPTA Route 23 Bus

SEPTA Regional Rail Chestnut East or Chestnut Hill West lines

Executive Chef:
Chef Al Paris

Private Party Facilities:
Paris Bistro will transport you to another time and place with its 1920s style decor and authentic French bistro fare. Parties of 20-70 can be accommodated for lunch, dinner and weekend brunches. Live jazz is an option for those who wish to add that extra something to their private gathering.

Private Party Contact:
Lauren: (215) 242-6200

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Monday Night $1 Oysters "Le Buck a Shuck"
3 Course Regional French Prix Fixe Menu Available Wednesday Nights $32
Sunday Brunch

Paris Bistro - Chestnut Hill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (50)
Special Occasion (48)
Good for a Date (45)
See All
Romantic (41)
Good for Anniversaries (36)
Live Music (34)
Authentic (33)
Fit for Foodies (29)
Worth the Drive (28)
Great for Brunch (26)
Cozy (26)
Sunday Lunch (26)
Fun (24)
Bar Seating (23)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Casual (21)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Comfort Food (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Great for Lunch (13)
Notable Wine List (13)
Hot Spot (12)
Good for Groups (11)
Outstanding Value (10)
Business Meals (9)
People Watching (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Happy Hour (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Healthy (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Family Style (4)
Historic (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Seasonal (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Scenic View (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Great Beer (1)
Organic (1)
Fireplace (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Tapas (1)
Waterfront (1)
Private Room (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Sort By:
S
924 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 2 days ago

Wonderful place for a birthday celebration. It looked like we weren't the only ones with that idea. With the tin ceiling and close (but not uncomfortably so) quarters, it was a bit hard to hear each other at times, but the staff were personable and the food was wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

We've been here several times. It's always a lovely evening with good food. The elixir de vie drink was outstanding. Server was terrific. Only complaint was a little too salt in both of the main dishes, the seafood crepe and the salmon but still delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

Food was wonderful, traditional French influence but on the lighter side. Cocktails were excellent and our server was top-notch. We did have an awkward entrance after we came exactly on time for our reservation and they weren't ready for us. The hostess said they just had to set the table. There was nowhere comfortable to wait so we sat at the bar -- but we got the feeling the bartender didn't want us there. In the meantime another couple came in and were seated immediately. There was a hostess and a maitre d, but neither did anything to set the table. It was an awkward/uncomfortable 10 minutes. After that everything was great.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 19, 2017

The food was fabulous and the service was top notch. One of the best meals I've ever had. Cappuccino was delicious.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 19, 2017

The Paris Bistro experience is consistently wonderful- the service is pleasant and the meals are done to perfection.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Outstanding Value, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Paris is a delightful way to spend Sunday brunch with friends. The menu is truly a treasure, and the beverage list is perfect for an afternoon with friends. The live music adds to the ambience.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We went for dinner then enjoyed the Jazz bar which was amazing! Would go back again! It sure was an experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We absolutely enjoyed the ambiance and fabulously prepared meals. The service was excellent and the hosts and wait staff were very warm and welcoming.

Tags: Comfort Food, Family Style, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Business Meals, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 17, 2017

What an amazing meal. I had salmon shrimp pistour, my wife had seafood crepes. EVERYTHING we ate was flawlessly prepared and delicious. Service was outstanding too. Can't wait to go back, and we live an hour away.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We have dined at Paris many times. The food is always delicious. We have always had great service until our most recent visit for brunch. My husband and 3 kids dined with my mom for her birthday. We waited a half hour for drinks (and had to ask a different waitress to follow up) and then had to request to put in the food order. We had a 1:30 reservation. The restaurant was emptying out and we still waited another 30+ minutes for our food. Very disappointed in the service!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 12, 2017

excellent meal, nice atmosphere, enjoyed the music in the background at a perfect volume, greater waiter

Tags: Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Beautiful restaurant with wonderful guitar playing in the background. Wish I could say it for the food. I ordered the eggs Benedict and have never seen such a small amount of smoked salmon on a plate. One thin slice of salmon that could hardly been seen or tasted. They should be ashamed to serve it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 12, 2017

The attention to detail of the dining experience was fantastic. Michael the waiter was phenomenal. Michael was there at every moment without every having to wave him down. If I could rate Michael higher than 10 I would give him a 20.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Afternoon Coffee, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Growing up on French cuisine (parents from France), I was disappointed with the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 5, 2017

As I specified in my OpenTable reservation, it was a special occasion- our wedding anniversary dinner, but the staff did not seem to notice or give us any more of a romantic table. Instead, we were sat at the table by the cold entrance, the hot heater along the windows, and the hostess stand where newcomers wait for a table. I asked for another table but they said there were none. Our server, Devon, was extremely pleasant but his menu knowledge could be improved. We ordered the roasted lamb loin and the salmon and shrimp risotto. Both dishes came out looking small just as French food should, but very filling and satisfying. The flavor combinations used by the chef are not amateur, they are practiced and perfected. The only complaint is that the amount of fat on the lamb was slightly higher than I would have liked. The old fashioned on their cocktail list was high in liquor content but did not taste like it which is how you know the craft was not just thrown together, it was extremely smooth. I ordered a champagne, which I appreciate Devon coming back out to refill my glass when it was getting low. He always had an eye on his tables but did not bombard us with questions or constantly asking if we needed anything. For dessert, we had the Parisian almond cake with strawberry compote since the creme brulee that was raved about online was sold out. We stayed for about 2.5 hours and did not feel rushed. Our check was exactly what we expected so no surprises there. Overall, everything was wonderful and I was excited to try a new restaurant with the love of my life. Can't wait to go back to sit downstairs in the jazz cafe.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Second time at Paris Bistro. Very enjoyable. Service and food solid. Four of us. A surprising stand out was the green salad. One of the best, simple, fresh salads I've had. Oysters were perfectly shucked. Could have been colder, though. Trout, salmon, confit and Bourguignon were our entrees. All very good. Tarte tatin was very tasty. Coffee arrived cold. Server fixed quickly. Great value, atmosphere and noise level was perfect- felt the energy but could easily converse. Will return!

Tags: Hot Spot, Fun, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Never had a bad meal or experience at Paris bistro. .
Staff provide great service experience every time.
Chef/Owner Ted is fabulous, meals are fresh,
prepared to perfection and ambiance is fun and alive.
Jazz cafe is unique and talent performing there is first-rate,
perfect for an intimate date night, or get together with music -loving friends.

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Fun, Bar Seating, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We just discovered this neighborhood gem!
Great food and ambiance
Jazz club in basement
Check it out; you won't regret it

We will go back soon!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 3, 2017

We love this place! We've been there twice, and the service is consistently excellent. The food is superb. The staff is friendly and knowledgeable. We can't recommend it enough. Make your reservation! Thank you!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Food is consistently wonderful and the staff very attentive and accommodating

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Afternoon Tea, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We had a lovely, delicious dinner to celebrate our daughter- in-law's 25th birthday.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Have eaten dinner here numerouis times, food was very good. First time for brunch and would recommend it as well

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 26, 2017

I have eaten here before snd food is usually good. Today the food was mediocre at best. The brioche was hard, the potatoes were uneven: either soft it too crispy,( still feel a scratch on my throat from it.)
The service was great and very accommodating.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Food was great ? the staff was so friendly and professional

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Friends recommended for a great dinner and good drinks. I made reservations for a Friday evening and sat elbow to elbow with other diners. Food was mediocre and it was $90 for two entrees with two drinks, expected more. Server was very attentive but overall not impressed especially with all the other options in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 21, 2017

We were seated promptly but had to ask for a waiter 10 minutes later. Buck-a-chuck oysters were very good but entrees were quite a while later and cool on temp when they arrived. We've been here several times and this was by far the most mediocre experience. Will give Paris another shot, but if it isn't markedly better, we won't return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 19, 2017

great ambiance, good food, reliable and fun! went for buck-a-shuck and loved it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Terrific Sunday brunch with neatly crafted French dishes and quiet live music in the background.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Wishing a friend bon voyage

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Great meal. Will be back soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 17, 2017

I dined with a former co-worker who brought his "young lady" (child, age 9 yrs) along. The ambiance, menu and service were appropriate for all. The environment was quiet enough for the adults to talk and the "young lady" received sufficient attention from the staff. The bar was busy but far enough away from our table not to be a distraction.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Historic, Notable Wine List, Kid-friendly, Healthy, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The taste of France Wednesdays is a delightful series of getting great food & wine at bargain prices. I hope they continue & that I can go often. The only drawback is the noise level but everything else is so good I will go there anyway. Our server is one of the best: friendly, conversational, helpful, but did not hover.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Fun, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I had mixed feeling from my latest dining experience at Paris. I did not like the fact that I had to give my credit card # to get the reservation. Will not do that again. I choose Paris because they always have trout on the menu. When we arrived we found out that that it was a fixed menu and my wife did not want any of the starters and were not thrilled with the entrees. Food was good and the service was great.
We had an early seating but were given the worst table in house next to the front door. I believe the reason was because we are old. There were plenty of available tables. This happens frequently. We may be old but we dine out a lot and we tip well. Your hosts need to be more considerate and not push the bad table to the first person they find.
Finally, I order a Jack Daniels on the rocks. The Jack was $8 which is moderate price but the rocks were $1.50 Never saw that before.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Excellent service and food. Great ambiance. Will come back again.

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Valentine's Day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I have been to Paris bistro a few times. Entrees are very nice. I loved the escargot and pasta appetizer too! The cheese plate is not worth it...for a French restaurant it should be on point. The wine selection is not that spectacular either. Service can be hit or miss. Some servers are not very knowledgeable unfortunately about what they are serving. Let key I said, entrees keep it in the 3 star range.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 11, 2017

So, the food is good. It's just lacking quality control and effort. We've been to Paris a few times and every time, it's just never quite right. But we keep trying because it's local.

To start, they were out of cheeseburgers. Who runs out of cheeseburgers? Then, they were out of rose. Both kinds of non-sparkling rose. So, I order a Chardonnay. The Chardonnay tasted like apple juice - like it had been sitting out for too long and/or watered down. The server did not charge us for it.

We both ordered the steak frites and asked for the truffle parm fries instead of the regular. We ordered the steaks medium rare. Mine was, my boyfriend's was not. It was very medium. No pink to be found. We've had the truffle Parmesan frites before and they're DELICIOUS. but these were missing the usual big parm slices and the truffle taste. It was barely noticeable. If we hadn't had the truffle frites multiple times before, I would not have been disappointed, but this time, it seemed like someone phoned it in. So, if you get them on a good night, I do recommend them! My steak was delicious. Bernaise was awesome.

Ok, last thing... the creme brulee. Clearly made ahead of time. The top was crispy, but not warm. The entire thing was cold... including the dish... clearly been sitting in the fridge for awhile. I've had tons of creme brûlée, I know a pre-made one sitting in the fridge when I taste and see one. I want my top freshly torched. And the "fresh berries" were pruney and stuck to the top causing the crispy top to not be so crispy anymore. Come on Paris, can't you torch it fresh?

The onion soup? Delicious.

I hate leaving reviews like this, but I know Paris can do better if they've got someone doing QC and they really need to know that. And after three "off" visits, it's time they know. I want to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Great food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Located in the heart of Chestnut Hill, Paris Bistro has good food and attentive servers. The food isn't great but it's good and consistent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We had excellent service and enjoyed our brunch choices.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.