Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 24 times today
Special offers available. See details

Paris Bistro - Chestnut Hill

4.5
1253 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
French
Perfect For:
  • Good for a Date
  • Neighborhood Gem
  • Special Occasion
Located in the middle of Philadelphia's charming Chestnut Hill neighborhood, Paris Bistro has made quite a splash since it opened in late January 2014. The setting and food are authentic bistro - the crowd is lively and the menu is reminiscent of the many bistros that dot Paris' arrondissement. Classics like cassoulet, coq au vin, steak frites and escargot are joined by more modern bistro fare like a beet and goat cheese salad and mustard-herb crusted salmon. Classic cocktails and signature "bistro cocktails" include La Bardot and Le Martini de Triomphe. The 85 bottle wine list covers all the major wine producing areas of France at very reasonable prices. And what would the bistro experience be without classic chocolate mousse and creme brûlée? All are served with a genuine warmth and true hospitality. Downstairs live Jazz plays Thursday through Sunday evenings with reservations available through the Paris Bistro Jazz Cafe Open Table page.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
French
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner Monday - Thursday & Sunday 5:00-10:00PM
Dinner Friday & Saturday 5:00-11:00PM
Sunday Brunch 10:30AM-2:00PM
Happy Hour Monday -Friday 4:00PM-6:00PM
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(215) 242-6200
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Chef Al Paris
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
Paris Bistro will transport you to another time and place with its 1920s style decor and authentic French bistro fare. Parties of 20-70 can be accommodated for lunch, dinner and weekend brunches. Live jazz is an option for those who wish to add that extra something to their private gathering.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Lauren: (215) 242-6200
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Please call for information about our off-site catering company Bon Vivant.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Southampton Avenue
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Complimentary parking provided in Chestnut Hill Hotel parking lot (access on Southampton Avenue).
Additional metered street parking available on Germantown Avenue and side streets.
Pay parking available at CHBD area parking facilities within 1-2 blocks of our restaurant.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
SEPTA Route 23 Bus

SEPTA Regional Rail Chestnut East or Chestnut Hill West lines
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Paris Bistro Jazz Cafe offers live Jazz Thursday through Sunday evenings.
The room opens nightly at 5:00PM. Reservations can be made online through our Paris Bistro Jazz Cafe Open Table page or by calling 215.242.6200.
$5-$15 entertainment charge (unless otherwise noted)








icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Monday Night $1 Oysters "Le Buck a Shuck"
3 Course Regional French Prix Fixe Menu Available Wednesday Nights $32
Sunday Brunch
icon/ic_gift_cardCreated with Sketch.
Gift Card
Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Celebrate the special mothers in your life by bringing them to Paris! Mother's Day Brunch Buffet with live music and Dinner will be served on Sunday, May 13. We look forward to seeing you then.

Sunday, May 13, 2018

What 1253 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.4
service
4.4
ambience
4.1
value
Noise · Moderate
96% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
2.0Dined 2 days ago

We love Paris!! But our brunch last Sunday wasn’t very good The quiche was a size of a muffin.. salad, overdressed!! Our guests were hungry after .. went to CH Hotel for more food...

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 3 days ago

Had a great evening at this bistro. Especially loved the speak easy/ jazz club downstairs. I would highly recommend this for a date night or small gathering of friends.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

Excellent food and service. Nice to meet the chef.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 16, 2018

Good ambiance. Very good food. Good selection of wine at reasonable prices. However, service was TERRIBLE, almost to the point of no service at all. Servers jut carried food to the table. All were confused and disinterested. Management needs to spend more time on training or to hire more experienced staff. The kitchen deserves better, and so do the patrons.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 16, 2018

Great French food in a nicely redone restaurant. Very good and attentive service. The only negative was it got quite warm in the restaurant that evening and perhaps the air conditioner should have been started in our variable temperature ranges now.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Finally, a local bistro in Philly that hits the mark (without the pretense)! The food was excellent. I highly recommend trying the buttery escargot and pate. I had the seafood crepe following my waiter's suggestion. I was not disappointed. We finished our night with dessert and a bottle of wine. The ambience is lively without being overpowering; it's possible to have a conversation with company without disturbing other patrons! My hometown favorite.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 14, 2018

We sat in the bar area at a high top table and had a great waitress. The service was consistent and timely. The food had excellent flavor and portion size.

Delightful!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Slow service.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 13, 2018

Everything was just so-so. Waiter was very gracious.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 11, 2018

We were celebrating a very special anniversary. I had been to Paris Bistro for brunch and was eager to try the dinner menu. The food was perfectly prepared. The onion soup may have been the best we've ever had.
The staff was exceptionally attentive at the right time.
We will DEFINITELY return.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

We had the most incredible waiter (Steve) and bartender (Daniel) that went the extra mile to make an already incredible restaurant even more special!
Great meal, best service - all around perfect place!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 8, 2018

A nice place for brunch, though not the most extensive menu. The noise level was extremely loud, until brunch started to taper off. Enjoyed the live music in the background.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 7, 2018

They are going through a transition with new owners so the wait staff was a little confused but nothing that had any effect on the meal.

We love this place and the new owners have done a great job making it even better.

the food was great. The menu is interesting. The wine list is very good.

So, highly recommend this restaurant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 6, 2018

Food was wonderful, the Steak Frittes was incredible as was the Trout Amandine, Chicken Liver Pate and French Onion soup. All of my party couldn't stop raving about the food and the service. Friendly and Helpful.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 4, 2018

Had a reservation made the day before. When we got there, we were offered the closest table to the door (WHY?) although there were several vacant tables further in. We opted not to sit near the drafty door and were seated next to (20-24" away) a two-top. I suppose we should have insisted on a place away from everyone else.

One of the two people we were seated next to had a voice like a railroad conductor, complete with sound effects. About halfway through our meal, a man dressed as a chef came out from the back and stood in the 20-24" space between our table and the two-top adjacent to ours and had a conversation with those two people WITH HIS BACK TO US.

There was ample space on the opposite side of the two-top for him to pull up a chair, sit and converse like a normal human being. But no, this chef-dressed person STOOD between our two tables to have his little talk, which lasted at least 20 minutes, seemed like double that. One of us eventually turned her chair away from this threesome and gave them her back.

One of the staff noticed how uncomfortable we were and expressed that to us as if apologizing for the rudeness of the man in the chef costume. By that time it was too late to change tables.

The food was very good. The service was OK. But we may never go back, although we agreed the food was very good. BTW, this was our fourth meal in this establishment but likely the last. Tant pis.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

We had such a nice and thoughtful waiter! And the food was great too. I particularly recommend the Petit Plateau and the raclette burger - marvelous!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Paris is always on point. Have dined many times and every time, the food, drinks and service are impeccable. I also enjoy the live music in the downstairs jazz cafe on weekends. I can not say enough good things about Paris! I would suggest reservations on weekends. The restaurasnt does get busy.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 30, 2018

Always delicious! French onion soup, short rib Bourguignon, pinot noir and creme brulee.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 28, 2018

We were celebrating our anniversary and a very memorable evening

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

Finally made it to this resplendent gem for Sunday brunch and cannot wait to return. Everything from the La Colombe coffee, diverse menu, friendly and service oriented staff was flawless and enjoyable. The extraordinary guitarist was a pleasant bonus!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

We were a party of 6 celebrating Dad’s birthday and Paris Bistro did not disappoint. Impeccable service, delicious food, perfect presentation, a candle on the almond cake, and “Happy Birthday” played by Mike the jazz guitarist was the piece de resistance! It wasn’t our first time and certainly not our last!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 23, 2018

It was an amazing experience, the service was great, so was the food. Will definitely go back there.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 20, 2018

We love the food here. Service was great. Found out yesterday that the people who own Campbell's bought the restaurant. Very excited since the food at Campbell's is consistently great and the owners are wonderful.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2018

Our server was very professional, she even had a French accent. The food was great.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2018

My daughter’s birthday celebration. She got a free desert. Waitress was so nice.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 18, 2018

Was not seasoned well for 10/11 items ordered, worst red wines ever, and overcooked seafood and tiniest oysters that i have ever seen. Unfortunately because it is a beautiful spot and nice waiter-but be prepared to wait an extensive amount of time. We wont be back.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 17, 2018

We used to go regularly and enjoy the food and location, but a few months ago there were major changes in personnel and management all has changed for the worse and we stopped going. We tried again recently and it seems to get back to quality food and attentive service. We like the liver pate, onion soup and the steak frites and selection of wine and beers. I hope they stay the course as chestnut hill has many restaurant options.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 16, 2018

Amazing experience! The staff was attentive, food impeccable, and ambiance perfect.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 11, 2018

Great Brunch! With Spanish guitar ambient and amazing eggs benedict. We will repeat for sure!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 11, 2018

Service was slow and was asked multiple times about orders

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 6, 2018

We have eaten here any number of times, but this was the best meal yet. The food seems to have improved significantly from when they first opened. On the other hand, the waiter was inattentive and the service was glacial. The meal took so long that we had to skip dessert.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 3, 2018

Enjoyed Paris Bistro for the second time in 7 days and found the service to be prompt and knowledgeable. Loved the ambiance and menu selections. Meals were prepared well and seasoned well. My first visit was just for late night jazz and drinks in the downstairs jazz room. It was very intimate so I returned with friends to have dinner in the ground floor dining area. Will return again!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 2, 2018

We hadn't been to Paris Bistro in a few years and almost didn't make it because of the snowstorm, but the restaurant was very accommodating in changing our reservations. Our waitress was absolutely wonderful! Attentive but not invasive. VERY professional.

We chose our meals from the Restaurant Week menu which was quite good. My salad was fresh and my husband's warm vichyssoise, delicious. The bread was good quality, fresh and crusty, the way a real french baguette should be. Our main courses were both delicious and generous. My husband had the gnocchi and had leftovers to take home. I had the chicken which was very well prepared. Desserts were excellent - a citron tart and white chocolate bread pudding.

Although I didn't dislike our previous meals at Paris several years ago, I have to say that the food at this last outing was much better and the portions more generous. Thanks, Paris!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 26, 2018

Excellent meal, enjoyed the warm cauliflower soup!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 25, 2018

Excellent "bistro French" food. The short ribs were delicious! It was nice to be allowed to BYOB on Sundays. Everything was very good. We will return!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 25, 2018

We enjoyed our dinner very much. I was a little disappointed that we weren't seated in the dining room. We were in the bar at a high top table, too small for four senior citizens!! Food was excellent and I know that we will consider coming back, we will request more appropriate seating

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 18, 2018

Awesome food and great atmosphere! The service was wonderful.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 18, 2018

My acid test (being of French descent) for any french restaurant is the bread and pommes frites. They passed on all accounts! Great, attentive service. Delicious food all around. My only complaint is it's too loud. Would definitely go back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 17, 2018

Very good food; excellent quality and nicely prepared. Staff is very friendly and attentive, although our server seemed new and did forget to place the drink order. But he immediately took care of it when reminded. Tin roof makes this place a little loud, but otherwise a very nice restaurant for either a special occasion or date night.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 17, 2018

Very very nice restaurant! The food was delicious. I had the escargot and it was one of the best I’ve had in the city. My friend had the pate and that was great too.
We shared a roasted beet salad that was nice. The bread was fresh, though not warm. Their specialty cocktail martini was delightful!!
The menu, and entrees in particular, looked really good.
I will definitely be back to try them out.

Ambiance was nice. It’s a small restaurant. The decor is pleasing and the bar is comfortable.

The staff was really great.
I’d like to note that I had a snafu and was long delayed and they were very very nice
They held a spot at the bar for me and my guest even though it was a Saturday night and they were fully booked. And they truly went beyond when they graciously gave me all the OT points (I had reserved during an “extra points” hour) even though we arrived late.

I will be back!!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
32

Tweets by Paris Bistro - Chestnut Hill