About Paris Bistro - Chestnut Hill

8229 Germantown Ave., Building A
Philadelphia, PA 19118
View Larger Map

Located in the middle of Philadelphia's charming Chestnut Hill neighborhood, Paris Bistro has made quite a splash since it opened in late January 2014. The setting and food are authentic bistro - the crowd is lively and the menu is reminiscent of the many bistros that dot Paris' arrondissement. Downstairs, the jazz cafe features the area's best talent playing a mixture of standards, Great American Songbook classics and music from the Jazz Era of the early 1900's. Make an evening of it with reservations for dinner upstairs and a jazz set after (seating in the cafe is on a first-come, first-seated basis).

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Monday - Thursday & Sunday 5:00-10:00PM
Dinner Friday & Saturday 5:00-11:00PM
Lunch Monday-Friday 11:30AM-2:00PM
Sunday Brunch 10:30AM-2:00PM
Happy Hour Monday -Friday 4:00Pm-6:00PM

Cross Street:
Southampton Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 242-6200

Website:
http://www.parisbistro.net/

Entertainment:
Live Jazz Thursday through Sunday evenings.
Thursday, Friday, Saturday Open 6:00- Close 12:00 Midnight
Set times 7:00, 8:30 &10:00 PM
Open Sunday 5:00-11:00 PM
Set times 6:00, 7:30 & 9:00 PM
$5 entertainment charge (unless otherwise noted)
No reservations - first-come, first-seated in the cafe








Parking Details:
Complimentary parking provided in Chestnut Hill Hotel parking lot (access on Southampton Avenue).
Additional metered street parking available on Germantown Avenue and side streets.

Public Transit:
SEPTA Route 23 Bus

SEPTA Regional Rail Chestnut East or Chestnut Hill West lines

Executive Chef:
Chef Al Paris

Private Party Facilities:
Paris Bistro will transport you to another time and place with its 1920s style decor and authentic French bistro fare. Parties of 20-70 can be accommodated for lunch, dinner and weekend brunches. Live jazz is an option for those who wish to add that extra something to their private gathering.

Private Party Contact:
Lauren: 2152426200

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
3 Course Regional French Prix Fixe Menu Available Wednesday Nights $25
3 Course Prix Fixe Sunday Brunch $24.95

Restaurant Photos

  • Paris Bistro - Chestnut Hill
Paris Bistro - Chestnut Hill

Paris Bistro - Chestnut Hill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.1

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

French
Philadelphia
Best Restaurants in Chestnut Hill ›

neighborhood gem (130)
fit for foodies (108)
special occasion (83)
See All
romantic (53)
great for brunch (45)
great for lunch (40)
notable wine list (31)
good for groups (29)
vibrant bar scene (29)
hot spot (27)
great for outdoor dining (26)
late-night find (21)
scenic view (10)
kid-friendly (7)
Sort By:
Newest
682 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

This was our 2nd time to Paris Bistro. T ...

Dined 4 days ago

This was our 2nd time to Paris Bistro. The first time was in 2015 and we had an excellent experience - food, ambiance, etc. was all great so we thought we would go back this year to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Unfortunately I feel like this restaurant has changed significantly. Mostly the poor ratings are surrounding the food. I ordered a $25 steak and "frites" which came out maybe as a 5oz steak with soggy fries - hardly worth $25! Our coffee was $3.00 per cup and was luke warm at best and the dessert was $8 for a tiny sliver of cake. I just felt overall things have gone down hill, the prices do not match the end result and I probably will not return.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Has an authentic Parisian Bistro feel. ...

Dined 5 days ago

Has an authentic Parisian Bistro feel. The food was delicious. The service was perfect -typically French, never felt rushed. The servers gave the right amount of attention. I love the fact that if you have your French passport; you get a complimentary champagne. We had a great time and I would go back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Had a wonderful dinner for a late celebr ...

Dined 6 days ago

Had a wonderful dinner for a late celebration of Fathers Day. Hub, daughter and I started with a cheese board and followed that up with steak frites (hub and daughter) and sole meunière for me. As always our dinners were excellent! Hub and Daughter had creme brûlée and I had a cappuccino for dessert. The pace of the meal was perfect for a Thursday evening and our servers were very attentive!

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great atmosphere. It is quite loud becau ...

Dined 6 days ago

Great atmosphere. It is quite loud because it is a small quaint space but it is a great setting. I wouldn't recommend for business meetings where you need to really dialogue but if you are just going out for an evening this is a great spot.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Memorial dinner for family members. Outs ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

Memorial dinner for family members. Outstanding selection of French favorites. Outstanding fresh seafood. Great selection of fine French and Alsace wines. Great bar service. Age group 25 through 84. All were thrilled with the experience. Stayed next door at Chesnut Hill Hotel. Also 5 stars.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

My friend and I were celebrating our bir ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

My friend and I were celebrating our birthdays and were surprised with a complimentary dessert - complete with a birthday candle. It was a nice touch after a lovely meal. The onion soup is the best and the mussels with fries were delicious. Very generous portions too. I was happy to take half my entree home in very nice containers. Thanks for making our celebration very memorable. A class act!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This great neighborhood restaurant can b ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

This great neighborhood restaurant can be noisy. I requested a table in the back and they accommodated us. The food was delicious. My husband had a steak that was cooked perfectly and I had the crab cakes that I thoroughly enjoyed. The staff was pleasant and efficient. We have been here on numerous occasions and have never had a bad meal. Their Sunday brunch is also well worth a visit.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Paris is a fun place, however there were ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Paris is a fun place, however there were a few things that we less than perfect. The french bread should be amazing - crusty and chewy, but was soft and crumbly. The truffle fries were fries with a cold lump of truffle butter sitting on top. My duck a l'orange was room temp. I didn't complain about any of this because we were the to celebrate Father's Day and I didn't want to take away from the celebration. The mixed drinks were very good. There were some menu items that weren't available and that was also a shame. My husband and daughter were both happy with their main courses.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience3
service3
value2

We were surprised to see all drinks were ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

We were surprised to see all drinks were not included with the $24.95 brunch menu and Paris Bistro no longer offers a complimentary champagne or bloody mary to start. We ordered tea and once again this used to be included with the price . It took us 1.45 hours to eat and even though we were not in a hurry and celebrating our anniversary, we felt kind of negleted at times due to what appeared as a lack of adequate service help. In addition, I was brought the wrong third course (dessert), but figured it would be too much hassle to get it fixed. We also heard a waitress tell other tables they were running out of items and this was barely after 12:30-1:00pm timeframe. We've been here 4-5 times for brunch and now its not really at the top of our list going forward because its not worth the price and its not much of a unique experience anymore.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

I really wanted to love Paris -- the foo ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

I really wanted to love Paris -- the food was fantastic and the ambiance/location was fun for Father's Day. Unfortunately, the service was abysmal that I would never go back -- the worst I have had in a long time. I enjoy a lingering brunch, but it really should not take three hours. And, I unfortunately overheard the hostess lie snarkily to incoming patrons who were confused about why their reserved table would not be ready for another 20 - 30 minutes. Instead of admitting that tables were turning over slowly due to their slower-than-molasses-service, she lied and blamed it on "customers who were (eye roll and huffy sigh) who were taking too long to finish eating." Nice.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Paris Bistro is an amazing restaurant, w ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Paris Bistro is an amazing restaurant, with top notch service and great food. Its always packed for a reason.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

My wife and I had dinner last Saturday n ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

My wife and I had dinner last Saturday night at Paris Bistro. We had high hopes that conditions had improved since our previous experiences and were joined by two friends on their first visit. Unfortunately, we ended up being disappointed once again as the service continues to be abysmal - three and a half hours for dinner is unacceptable. We watched as several parties arrived AFTER us and left BEFORE us. When our food finally arrived, my dinner was lukewarm and a side dish came late. I had to ask our waitress three times for a refill of my drink and the two desserts took over 20 minutes to arrive. I finally got up and asked if there was a problem in the kitchen. Only then did our desserts arrive, one steaming hot and the other cold. I would like to say this was an isolated incident but my wife and I have experienced similar problems during each of our three previous visits. We expect service to be commensurate with the cost of dining and it is extremely disappointing to find that is not the case at Paris Bistro. We and our friends enjoy fine dining but as a result of our experiences have decided to cross this establishment off our list.

food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Love the food and atmosphere. The place ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Love the food and atmosphere. The place was much better than I thought

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was my brother's birthday and the foo ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

It was my brother's birthday and the food and service and atmosphere was great!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Perfect for lunch outside on a Spring Da ...

vip
Dined on June 17, 2016

Perfect for lunch outside on a Spring Day, though our waitress did disappear after being attentive initially.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service3

I had the daily special - salad, chicken ...

vip
Dined on June 15, 2016

I had the daily special - salad, chicken with morels and a crepe dessert for $25. The salad and chicken was good. The scalloped potatoes were not appealing - kind of gooey looking. I prefer my asparagus spears peeled. The crepes were tepid and tasteless. Waited too long for dessert. We are outside. It was a beautiful evening and enjoyed the fresh air.

food5
ambience4
service3

All seven diners' plays were immaculate ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

All seven diners' plays were immaculate when removed after each course. Personally, I can attest to the excellence of trout amandine. Mussels mariniere got a double thumbs up from my mussels addicted hubby.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Menu is unique and tasty. Outdoor seat ...

vip
Dined on June 12, 2016

Menu is unique and tasty. Outdoor seating great for a warm evening.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

OpenTable Today at 1:09 PM S ...

vip
Dined on June 11, 2016

OpenTable Today at 1:09 PM Such a delightful place and wonderful food that it is sad I can never return again because the noise level is so deafening that all I could do was read lips. The din was incredibly loud. This was on a Saturday night so I am hoping some kind person will save me by telling me that a Tuesday, Wednesday or Thursday is a different ballgame. (But I don't think so!) Too bad.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great food that took too long to arrive

Dined on June 10, 2016

I don't really want to spend 2.5 hrs in any restaurant. And while I've been here several times, with varying degrees of satisfaction, this would have been a 5-star evening if hadn't taken so long to be served - each one of our 3 courses.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

GREAT LOCAL RESTAURANT

Dined on June 9, 2016

6th time and never been disappointed. Our goto with family and friends.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Service was sloooow for lunch :(

Dined on June 9, 2016

Nice spot, good food, slow service. Waitress seemed so distracted or had too many tables I was afraid to pay with card because we needed to leave.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It was very nice and served the occasion well.

Dined on June 5, 2016

We had a lovely cheese plate and two small appetizers. I think the restaurant presumes that you know the cheeses to order properly. I really appreciated the BYOB Sunday as well. I would highly recommend Paris Bistro for a nice get together with friends who want to sit and chat.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Just okay

Dined on June 5, 2016

I want to love Paris. I have been there a bunch of times because it's in the neighborhood (Chestnut Hill) and it is so pretty. However, the service is spotty and the food is just okay. My omelette was overcooked and there were a number of errors in what we asked for versus what we got. I would still recommend it for the festive atmosphere, though I would not have high expectations.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Nice Sunday brunch

Dined on June 5, 2016

Arrive hungry! The 3 course prix fixe brunch consists of a number of breakfast and lunch items. The herbed omelette was buttery and delicious. Normally I would have been too full to try the chocolate mousse, but I'm glad it was part of the meal--yum. There was live music the day we went and the ambiance was very pleasant. Service was prompt and attentive.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great food and service, don't miss the jazz cafe!

Dined on June 5, 2016

We went for our anniversary and had a wonderful time. We ate dinner upstairs and then had coffee and dessert in the jazz cafe in the basement. My steak frites was very good and her bass was exceptional, really amazing flavor. The way that the staff works together to make sure that a table has what it needs shows how well-run the restaurant is. Our only complaint was the noise level in the dining room on a busy Saturday night, although it wasn't the worst I've ever experienced and I suspect that many people wouldn't be bothered. We absolutely recommend Paris Bistro and we will be back soon!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

tres bon

Dined on May 27, 2016

We really enjoyed this restaurant. Feels like you are in France except for all those pesky Americans in there (includes us of course!). Good food, attentive wait staff.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

So Parisian

Dined on May 27, 2016

What a wonderful place to spend your birthday. Our server was a doll. I must say that the bread pudding was better than any I tasted in New Orleans. We have eaten at Paris many times especially and this restaurant is always accomdating.

Tags: great for brunch, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a delicious dinner in a new town.

Dined on May 26, 2016

We enjoyed dinner so much we went back for lunch the next day on our mini-vacation. The service was delightful. I would highly recommend this place.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a wonderful place to have a great meal

vip
Dined on May 23, 2016

Beautiful location with great service and delicious food. Highly recommended always!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

very gracious staff. one of our party wa ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

very gracious staff. one of our party was called onto work and they were very accomodating with doggie bags. the food was delicious, and i enjoyed a delicious glass of rose wine. will definitely return for an uninterrupted meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Another wonderful experience at Paris Bi ...

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

Another wonderful experience at Paris Bistro. The food was excellent and the music was outstanding, as usual. Other than the waiter spilling oyster juice all over my wife (with no reparations) the service was good too!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful meal !

Dined on May 21, 2016

My husband and I have been wanting to dine here for a very long time. We certainly were not disappointed . Our apps were amazing. The Escargot and crab and Avacado salad were prepared to perfection ! It was very busy , therefore a bit loud , however an amazing overall experience. We will be back !

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Nice ambience, great food. The crabcake ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Nice ambience, great food. The crabcakes were to die for. We took in the 10 pm jazz show after eating and really enjoyed it! Great live music in a nice, local venue. We will definitely come back!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

The menu is interesting and what we ate ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

The menu is interesting and what we ate was very good, but the service was spotty: waiting 40 minutes or so before receiving any food (we ordered an appetizer) should not be considered acceptable. eemed

Tags: fit for foodies
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

Agonizingly slow service and a noise lev ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

Agonizingly slow service and a noise level high enough to spoil the meal.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent

Dined on May 15, 2016

Brunch was fantastic. We enjoyed every course of the prix fixe brunch.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Paris Bistro is a great spot. The upstai ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Paris Bistro is a great spot. The upstairs is a bar/restaurant and the downstairs is a jazz club with two shows on the Sat. I went with a friend. The upstairs was a little noisy, but when I asked the hostess to put our name in for the next jazz show, they suggested we move downstairs to hear the early show. The downstairs and a cool vibe, had the feel of a throwback jazz club. Lots of interesting folks at the smaller downstairs bar, and there was a fun festive crowd that night. The act was great and the food was awesome. Our waiter Miles did a great job with explaining the history of the place (the owner is named Paris and is a longtime restaurateur. We had the crab cakes (they were excellent and were the same recipe George Perrier used at Le Bec Fin) and the sea bass. Both were tremendous. Solid wine list although be prepared to pay the customary markup and a little more for some bottles. Would definitely recommend this for foodies and for romantic special nights or just to hear some jazz in a cool setting. Will definitely return.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience4
service2

Indifferent service. Undercooked streak ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

Indifferent service. Undercooked streak. Over salted some of the food. Did a poor job correcting issues. Did nicely in taking one dish off the bill in compensation.

food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Girlfriends birthday dinner

vip
Dined on May 11, 2016

Everyone was very happy with their meal. One person said it was the best salmon they every ate. The Wednesday night 3-course dinner was quite a good value. We definitely were not rushed.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.