Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.43mi
  4. Distance: 0.52mi
  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.43mi
  4. Distance: 0.52mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.43mi
  4. Distance: 0.52mi
  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.43mi
  4. Distance: 0.52mi

About Paris Bistro - Chestnut Hill

Located in the middle of Philadelphia's charming Chestnut Hill neighborhood, Paris Bistro has made quite a splash since it opened in late January 2014. The setting and food are authentic bistro - the crowd is lively and the menu is reminiscent of the many bistros that dot Paris' arrondissement. Classics like cassoulet, coq au vin, steak frites and escargot are joined by more modern bistro fare like a beet and goat cheese salad and mustard-herb crusted salmon. Classic cocktails and signature "bistro cocktails" include La Bardot and Le Martini de Triomphe. The 85 bottle wine list covers all the major wine producing areas of France at very reasonable prices. And what would the bistro experience be without classic chocolate mousse and creme brûlée? All are served with a genuine warmth and true hospitality. Downstairs live Jazz plays Thursday through Sunday evenings with reservations available through the Paris Bistro Jazz Cafe Open Table page.

8229 Germantown Ave., Building A
Philadelphia, PA 19118
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Monday - Thursday & Sunday 5:00-10:00PM
Dinner Friday & Saturday 5:00-11:00PM
Sunday Brunch 10:30AM-2:00PM
Happy Hour Monday -Friday 4:00PM-6:00PM

Cross Street:
Southampton Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 242-6200

Website:
http://www.parisbistro.net/

Entertainment:
Paris Bistro Jazz Cafe offers live Jazz Thursday through Sunday evenings.
The room opens nightly at 5:00PM. Reservations can be made online through our Paris Bistro Jazz Cafe Open Table page or by calling 215.242.6200.
$5-$15 entertainment charge (unless otherwise noted)








Catering:
Please call for information about our off-site catering company Bon Vivant.

Parking Details:
Complimentary parking provided in Chestnut Hill Hotel parking lot (access on Southampton Avenue).
Additional metered street parking available on Germantown Avenue and side streets.
Pay parking available at CHBD area parking facilities within 1-2 blocks of our restaurant.

Public Transit:
SEPTA Route 23 Bus

SEPTA Regional Rail Chestnut East or Chestnut Hill West lines

Executive Chef:
Chef Al Paris

Private Party Facilities:
Paris Bistro will transport you to another time and place with its 1920s style decor and authentic French bistro fare. Parties of 20-70 can be accommodated for lunch, dinner and weekend brunches. Live jazz is an option for those who wish to add that extra something to their private gathering.

Private Party Contact:
Lauren: (215) 242-6200

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Monday Night $1 Oysters "Le Buck a Shuck"
3 Course Regional French Prix Fixe Menu Available Wednesday Nights $32
Sunday Brunch

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Paris Bistro - Chestnut Hill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (59)
Special Occasion (58)
Good for a Date (49)
See All
Live Music (40)
Creative Cuisine (40)
Good for Anniversaries (40)
Fit for Foodies (36)
Authentic (35)
Good for Birthdays (32)
Romantic (30)
Great for Brunch (30)
Casual (30)
Fun (26)
Worth the Drive (25)
Great for Outdoor Dining (19)
Bar Seating (19)
Sunday Lunch (19)
People Watching (19)
Hot Spot (18)
Handcrafted Cocktails (17)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Notable Wine List (14)
Happy Hour (13)
Cozy (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Business Meals (10)
Late-night Find (10)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Great for Lunch (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Local Ingredients (9)
Comfort Food (9)
Seasonal (9)
Healthy (6)
Kid-friendly (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Vegan (2)
Organic (1)
Scenic View (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
1067 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 2 days ago

We dined on the patio as two couples. The food keeps getting better and the service was attentive. Great location for people watching in Chestnut Hill.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 4 days ago

Not the best place to go during restaurant week. Service was really slow and we got attitude from the waitstaff when we complained. The restaurant week food was sub par and mass produced

Tags: Hot Spot, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 4 days ago

The setting made you feel like you were sitting outside a restaurant in Europe. Our waiter was extremely helpful and included suggestions that were spot on to our likes.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Have been here before just a few times and decided to try again for Restaurant Week. While it probably was more crowded than on a typical Tuesday night, the service was mediocre despite the fact that there seemed to be two managers wandering around who appeared to have nothing else to do but enhance service. Perhaps this made the server less attentive but we spent far too much time with empty dirty plates and empty wine glasses on the table and had to hail the staff for help and attention at just about every turn. The food is great as is the atmosphere, but the service needs work.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Fantastic food, professional service. Great spot for a high end experience.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 11, 2017

The summer menu change was great. Had the gnocchi dish which and the seafood dish both were excellent. Wait staff was exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Palate-pleasing cuisine! Worth the trek to Chestnut Hill (free parking if you can find a spot in the lot, or on street after 6:30). Food carefully prepared, great flavors and textures. Service warm and charming. We were squeezed in like sardines--that was the only downside, but we were happy to see a good crowd.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 8, 2017

We've dined here numerous times since Paris Bistro opened. Really loved it at first. Took everyone we knew there. We've gradually started going there less and less. The crab/avocado salad has stayed consistently delicious except the amount of salad dressing has increased exponentially. This time there was a puddle of dressing on the plate. No bread was offered with our starters. I've never seen a thinner piece of trout. The frittes were soggy.
But most of all the waiter was too, too casual. Friendly is great, but making too much conversation and telling us what he likes best isn't appropriate or necessary.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 6, 2017

The food and waitstaff were lovely! The menu was reasonably priced with, a good variety of bistro food. Will definitely eat here again.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Jazz Cafe is a wonderful venue for listening and enjoying the artists.

Tags: Authentic, Live Music, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Again we had a wonderful time here. The wait staff is professional and gracious and kind. The food was delicious. Sitting outside was great for conversation. We will be back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Paris Bistro is one of my favorite restaurants. Al Paris always comes out to talk to the customers and he always remembers us! You don't see that all the time is rare . That makes him extra special and establishes a bond with people. The food is great !!! This is a gem is Chestnut Hill for sure!!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

I took my handicapped 91 year old mother & a friend. They accommodated us with the handicapped access & a table close to that entrance. Service was good & the food was excellent. I've been before & everything I or others had was top notch, but the avocado & crab cocktail is in a class of its own - incredible every time.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 3, 2017

Great time at the Bistro Cafe featuring live Latin music.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Live Music, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 31, 2017

We go often to Paris Bistro because the food is good and it's nearby, which is important to us at the end of a long day. We enjoy oysters, particularly when they are buck-a-shuck, as is the case on Mondays. The variety offered varies, but in the past they have always been fresh, tasty, and ordering them has been straightforward. But this past week Paris featured buck-a-shuck oysters, and also other oysters at a premium price. We didn't grasp the difference, ordered the expensive oysters, realized our mistake, and the management kindly straightened things out. Unfortunately, and for the first time, the quality of the oysters was disappointing. Our conclusion: offering oysters as the evening's special should be just that. There should not be a two-tier offering that can lead to confusion, disappointment, or embarrassment on the part of either patron or management.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 31, 2017

This is a very nice neighborhood spot on Germantown Avenue. Parking is easy - free and right behind the restaurant. Staff is quite friendly and welcoming. We ate at the bar and had excellent service, drink and food suggestions from both bartenders (Steve and ?) Will definitely return. Thanks!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

We've been to Paris before, and this visit was disappointing because of our server. We arrived at 1:00 for Sunday brunch and he paid little or no attention to our party. He began clearing plates before everyone was finished eating--huge faux pas in our book--and then he brought the check without asking if we were interested in coffee or dessert. When we told him we'd like to order coffee/dessert, he appeared visibly annoyed. Just goes to show how much service affects an experience. Sunday, July 30th, 2017. Party of five.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Brunch was wonderful! Service and food were excellent. Will return soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

I'll sum up my dinning experience last night in one word. Amazing! Awesome place with a genuine caring staff who know their stuff. I'll be back very soon!

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 28, 2017

I arrived on time for a 6:00 reservation. My dining partner was a bit late. I asked the hostess to direct my friend to my table when she arrived. Twenty minutes passed. I didn't have my phone on because I didn't want to disturb other diners. I asked my waiter (who, by the way, was wonderful) to check whether the hostess had heard from my friend. He did, but the hostess told him that no one asking for me had come in. Finally, I checked my phone, to find that my friend had been sitting at the bar since 6:15 (it was now 6:50); I learned that she, of course, had asked the hostess if I was in the restaurant, but was informed that I was not. Obviously, the hostess didn't do her job and my friend and I unfortunately didn't spend the amount of time with each other that we had anticipated. While I absolutely love the food at Paris, it's not the first time that service has been shoddy. A couple of weeks ago I had dinner with my girlfriend and her 91 year old mother at Parc on a really humid evening. Water began to drip on the table and our party. A waiter periodically came by to wipe off the pipe. Of course, the dripping continued. I was annoyed, especially since the fire alarm began to sound intermittently and several (and I mean several) minutes passed before that situation was resolved. We WERE moved to another table, though we noticed that other folks were inexplicably seated at our vacated table and, you guessed it, the drips began again! And so did the alarm! No comps for our inconvenience--somewhat bush league.Given the quality of the food, I really do wish management would get its act together. We felt particularly sorry for my girlfriend's mom, who had ASKED to go to Paris because she is of French origin and it was Bastille Day. Turns out that we encountered fireworks of the wrong kind. There are so many good restaurants in Chestnut Hill. I think next time we'll pass on Paris.

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Love this place, always have an excellent meal, Chef Al frequently comes out to welcome you and chat, and just like the bright vibe.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Live Music, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on July 24, 2017

I always enjoy Paris Bistro. It is a neighborhood favorite and it never disappoints.
Food is excellent and ambiance is terrific......

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 24, 2017

went with some girlfriends for a ladies night out. Food was very good. Very consistent French. Had nice wine menu and cocktails.

Tags: Romantic, Live Music, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 24, 2017

Had a wonderful time. Will go there again!!!! Will definitely recommend to friends.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Casual, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

Delicious brunch items, Excellent service and wonderful value. We have been here for dinner and loved it so we thought we would try brunch. We highly recommend it to everyone

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Tried Paris for the first time this week (after many months of meaning to.) The food was superb--everything was cooked to perfection and delicious. The staff was also extremely attentive. Drinks were excellent and arrived quickly. The only ding I'd give it is for noise. We were warned it was a little loud and that rang true (no pun intended), but not to the point of not hearing each other. Overall, an excellent meal and a new Chestnut Hill favorite.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 22, 2017

We loved our first time visit to Paris Bistro
For dining in the main dining room. We had previously been downstairs to hear jazz performers.
All 6 of us enjoyed our meals and the waiter was outstanding and so courteous. We even got to say hello to chef and owner Albert Paris. He made us all feel very much at home.
All 6 of us diners would definitely comeback soon.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Romantic, Late-night Find, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 22, 2017

We loved the new menu. Crab meat and avocado, the fillet, were all great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 22, 2017

My wife and I went for our 5 year anniversary and requested to sit downstairs as we're both fans of live jazz. The quartet and singer were outstanding followed by a melt in your mouth steak frites with truffle butter - outstanding! We were very pleased - great find.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy, Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Our server Alexandria was courteous , attentive and efficient- the manager Colette deserves a shout out- she is consistently looking out to make the diner's experience a wonderful one- wonderfully accommodating - she provides a personal , welcoming presence. The food was perfect- Kudos to the chef! The gazpacho was incredible, the tuna was done to perfection... and to the Oyster shuckers- WOW! Well done! Thank you all for the lovely experience! Eagerly looking forward to dining at Paris again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Very French brunch choices. We had eggs, French toast and soup. All were good selections.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 16, 2017

I had a wonderful time at the Paris Bistro Cafe! The food was delicious, the service was attentive, the music was enjoyable, and the price was reasonable. I would highly recommend.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Wonderful food and service. Makes me feel that I am back in Paris. My only complaint is that it is a bit too noisy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Love Paris Bistro. Second time there. Will go back. Highly recommend it.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 14, 2017

The seafood crepe was great. It would have been excellent if it was a little less cooked. The sauce was light and outstanding. Cheese board was excellent.

Tags: Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 14, 2017

My party dined at Paris Bistro to enjoy Bastille Day celebrations on 7/14/17. While the food and service were terrific, our dining experience was made less pleasant by two problems the restaurant was having that evening. The fire and/or smoke alarm system kept going off repeatedly during the evening and the resulting sound was ear-splitting through the entire restaurant. Patrons had to cover their ears to get any sort of relief. The second problem was with an overworked air conditioning system. Condensation was dripping down onto our table from the tubing system overhead, which had the staff periodically climbing up on chairs to wipe up the excess moisture. After the droplets fell repeatedly on the guest of honor of our party visiting from South Carolina and we complained that it was unacceptable, the staff finally relocated us to another table to complete our meal. I would be hesitant to be seated in that location in the future. Aside from these technical difficulties, we enjoyed the rest of our meal.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Bastille Day was maybe not the best time to dine at Paris Bistro.
Fire alarm went off 5 times, there wasn't a fire.
Server was busy, too busy to take our drink order (someone else eventually came) and too busy to ask about our meal. My food was undercooked. Obviously. Overall very poor performance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 11, 2017

We love this restaurant - wish there were one in Washington DC where we live

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on July 10, 2017

The $1 oysters are a tremendous value and very fresh. Our meal was very enjoyable and the service was excellent. Will return again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 9, 2017

The venue is great; we came for a reunion of friends who'd been together in Paris. However the service was negligent and my tuna steak unforgivably over cooked. Never mind that the first table we were taken to was far too small and I had to lobby for one of appropriate size. Very disappointing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.