Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 12 times today

Paris Bistro - Chestnut Hill

4.3
1302 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
French
Top Tags:
  • Good for a Date
  • Authentic
  • Neighborhood Gem
Located in the middle of Philadelphia's charming Chestnut Hill neighborhood, Paris Bistro has made quite a splash since it opened in late January 2014. The setting and food are authentic bistro - the crowd is lively and the menu is reminiscent of the many bistros that dot Paris' arrondissement. Classics like cassoulet, coq au vin, steak frites and escargot are joined by more modern bistro fare like a beet and goat cheese salad and mustard-herb crusted salmon. Classic cocktails and signature "bistro cocktails" include La Bardot and Le Martini de Triomphe. The 85 bottle wine list covers all the major wine producing areas of France at very reasonable prices. And what would the bistro experience be without classic chocolate mousse and creme brûlée? All are served with a genuine warmth and true hospitality. Downstairs live Jazz plays Thursday through Sunday evenings with reservations available through the Paris Bistro Jazz Cafe Open Table page.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
French
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner Monday - Thursday & Sunday 5:00-10:00PM
Dinner Friday & Saturday 5:00-11:00PM
Sunday Brunch 10:30AM-2:00PM
Happy Hour Monday -Friday 4:00PM-6:00PM
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(215) 242-6200
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Chef Al Paris
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
Paris Bistro will transport you to another time and place with its 1920s style decor and authentic French bistro fare. Parties of 20-70 can be accommodated for lunch, dinner and weekend brunches. Live jazz is an option for those who wish to add that extra something to their private gathering.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Lauren: (215) 242-6200
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Please call for information about our off-site catering company Bon Vivant.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Southampton Avenue
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Complimentary parking provided in Chestnut Hill Hotel parking lot (access on Southampton Avenue).
Additional metered street parking available on Germantown Avenue and side streets.
Pay parking available at CHBD area parking facilities within 1-2 blocks of our restaurant.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
SEPTA Route 23 Bus

SEPTA Regional Rail Chestnut East or Chestnut Hill West lines
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Paris Bistro Jazz Cafe offers live Jazz Thursday through Sunday evenings.
The room opens nightly at 5:00PM. Reservations can be made online through our Paris Bistro Jazz Cafe Open Table page or by calling 215.242.6200.
$5-$15 entertainment charge (unless otherwise noted)








icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Monday Night $1 Oysters "Le Buck a Shuck"
3 Course Regional French Prix Fixe Menu Available Wednesday Nights $32
Sunday Brunch
icon/ic_gift_cardCreated with Sketch.
Gift Card
Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 1302 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.3based on recent ratings
4.3
food
4.2
service
4.4
ambience
3.9
value
Noise · Moderate
93% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
4.0Dined 5 days ago

We have been here quite a few times and always enjoy it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

Tried the Sunday brunch and was pleasantly surprised. I thought it would be choices from the menu, but was pleased to see it was buffet.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 6 days ago

The ambiance was good. The food could use more seasoning..

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

The entire experience at Paris Bistro was delightful. The food was wonderful, and the service very good. We were seated outside on a lovely summer evening. Could not have been nicer. Kudos!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 12, 2018

I have lost count how many times I have eaten here as it is convenient to work and to friends who live just north of the city. The food is (and was especially so this time) very good, The weak point has always been the service which varies from one extreme to another. The place was virtually empty, but our waiter was AWOL a great deal, and we waited a very, very long time to get a check. Also, for a place that is an excellent venue for jazz, the music was too loud--we asked three times to have it turned down--and just not very bistro like.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 10, 2018

This was a great place to have a Sunday brunch. The live music enhanced the experience. The food is above average. The only problem is that the acoustics are not the best and it is difficult to carry on a conversation. However, everything considered, I would definitely return!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 9, 2018

Nice dinner. Prices have keeps up. All a la carte
Tin ceiling reflects noise. Very lively fun atmosphere.
Salmon dish was quite good as was steak frites.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2018

Great place to meet friends and worth returning to again and again. Food, drinks, service, ambiance all good, like an authentic french bistro.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 6, 2018

Great time. Always a pleasure eating at Paris.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 4, 2018

We had a very good meal except for 2 important details. The Rabbit Paparadelle dish had way too much mustard... it was overwhelming in mustard taste. Considering the that French cuisine is known for nuance and subtle flavor, this dish was way too strong with one flavor.

We were at Paris last week and loved the Le Diable cocktail. We returned looking forward to another. When we ordered it, we were brought a completely different drink that we returned. The we found out that you did not have the ingredients to make what we had previously... 2 strikes... passing off a different drink and not having ingredients to serve what is listed on your menu.

You have a potentially great resturant that suffers from inconsistency.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on June 2, 2018

There were not that many tables and for more water, bread etc we have to find a waiter it seemed everyone was in the kitchen but certainly not on the floor!
The salad of crabmeat and avocado was good but needed to be in a bed of lettuce or something more for it to be filling good for lunch!
The hamburger was over cooked. We have had that at dinner and there was no comparison as to cook and taste!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 1, 2018

Great service, nice setting, authentic French offering escargots c’est bon

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 1, 2018

Excellent food and drinks. My only disappointment was dessert. Although the presentation was beautiful, the chocolate ganache had none, and the beautiful wine reduction was too sweet.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 27, 2018

Paris Bistro accomplishes the feel of an authenic French Bistro in the quaint Chestnut Hill neighborhood of Philadelphia. The sevice has been excellent on our visits. The menu offers a ample albeit small variety of French dishes which are mostly quite tasty. There is a down stairs (cellar) jazz club offering food and drinks. The tin ceilings and hard floors add to the visual appeal but do indeed create an issue with noise levels (bouncing sound). There is al fresco dinning options and ample shared parking next which does fill early. I would describe prices as medium high but consistant with this level restaurant in a Chestnut Hill location. Dress ranges from (nice) business casual to very casual.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 25, 2018

Paris Bistro was a very good experience! The salmon was delicious as well as the Trout Amondine. And, the Rosemary Old Fashioned cocktail was perfection! I had more than one! We sat next to one another with the bench seat behind us and it was so very comfortable. Our waiter was excellent. Looking forward to going back to try the Jazz Cafe or just for a cocktail with a friend at the bar. And most especially for dinner again!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 24, 2018

Terrible experience! I have been here many times before and it has always been enjoyable. I took a friend that was visiting from out of town, the waitress wasn’t friendly. The bread was cold and it took forever to get drinks, which we ended up sending back anyway. The entrees came and they were cold...we sent them back and they just heated up the same old entrees and brought them back out. The manager Told us they were fresh entrees but they had our bites taken out of them. We told her to just to take them off the tab. The manager comped us nothing, just took off the drink and entrees that we sent back. It cost us $90 for a apps and a few drinks. I will never be back!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 23, 2018

Good food, attentive service, space between tables good for conversation. Music was too loud for the dinner hour.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 20, 2018

Service was absolutely terrible! Server did not know menu, waited 20 minutes for bread that was soft, not crispy like a baguette should be. I asked about daily oysters, and cheeses when they were dropped in front of us. Server had no clue, bathrooms looked like they were not serviced all day. I was very disappointed.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 20, 2018

Underwhelming in all aspects! Tiny portions and way over seasoned. Service was just meh. Would not recommend nor go back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 20, 2018

We had a late Mother's Day brunch with pur 8 year old son. He had the nutella crepe which he loved and a side of delicious bacon. I had the Parisenne omelet which was good but a tad dry. My husband has the croque monsieur which was delicious. We finished with almond cake and sorbet, again delicious. The portions are good too...not too little or too much. There was also a guitarist there who was wonderful. One of our favorite restaurants.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 20, 2018

We have had brunch at Paris Bistro before. The 1st time we went a couple of years ago we received a little basket of breads and cakes. They no longer do that. It was a nice touch. Last time was okay but we thought we would give it another chance. Our food was not hot when it came out. Our server did not come back to check on us or refill our beverages. My husband would have loved a 2nd cup of coffee. When we received the bill we were charged $8.00 for 2 orders of bacon. The bacon was included in our entrée. When I asked our server he said it is not included. I told him look at the menu which he did and said he was sorry. By the way, it was not busy.

I think this was a last time.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 17, 2018

I had the trout amandine, which was delicious. Great bread, crisp string beans. I also had a Rosemary Old Fashioned, an interesting twist on a standard drink.
My friend had the French onion soup and escargot -- the onion soup was wonderful, classic with cheese oozing everywhere. Dessert was a lemon curd stuffed crepe with blueberries and whipped cream. Such a nice combination.
Service was quick to get food to us, but not rushing to get us out. Nice.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 15, 2018

Good food
Great ambiance
Service needs improvement especially for the price

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 15, 2018

Amazing French vibe, beautiful space and our server was fabulous. The food was just so so, very disappointing. Maybe it was just an off night. Food is usually pretty solid here.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

My two adult sons treated me and my sister to dinner for Mothers Day. The ambiance felt like one of those corner bistros all over Paris - a welcoming place to relax and enjoy great food. Our server Alex had been on duty since 9 am but you'd never know - she was fun, helpful, energetic but best of all - I lamented I wanted trout but I loved the accompainments offered for the salmon. So, she said well how about you order the trout and I'll tell them to use the salmon extras! I don't think that has ever happened to me before, so kudos to her and the chef for indulging a customer and customizing a dish like that. The result was heavenly and totally satisfying. We ordered mussels for the table and they were among the tastiest and tenderest I have ever had. The sauce was fabulous, with plenty of garlic and either celery root or fennel and cherry tomatoes. We've already made plans to come back with the guys" girlfriends, have mussels and then visit the jazz room upstairs. I loved this place and highly recommendit.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Great place. My number one choice for my important occassions. Chef Al is the best.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

What a delightful restaurant. I can't tell you how much we enjoyed the special Mother's Day Brunch. Everything on the buffet was delicious, and that usually isn't the case with the average brunch buffet. Not only was the buffet beautiful, but there was such a nice variety "quality" food. Even my niece, who is gluten free had many options to choose from, unlike other buffets. We not only enjoyed the food, but the ambiance of Paris Bistro seemed very authentic. If I didn't know that I was in Chestnut Hill, I would have thought I was in France. And finally, the staff at Paris Bistro were welcoming and helpful. Overall, this was one of the best Sunday Brunches I have ever had. Probably the best. This was my first time to Paris Bistro, but it won't be the last.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Great ambiance and very good quality food! The restaurant is very classy as well.
My only minor criticism is that some food was lukewarm but it is very hard to maintain heat on brunch buffets. For the price, some drinks (coffee, juice, bottled water) should be also included.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Awesome place,we have a great meal everytime

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Mother’s Day

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

We celebrated mother’s day on sat for evening dinner. Each of our meals were equally delicious as we tried each other’s. Appetizers were excellent. I recommend the crab and avocado. We had a great evening and great service. Pam

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 7, 2018

We were never that fond of the food at Paris Bistro, but became fans when they established a buck a shuck night on Mondays. We then discovered their outstanding hamburger and frites. I told people about this amazing, perfect hamburger and looked forward to enjoying it again last Monday. My taste buds were worked up for this wonderful burger. What a letdown when we discovered that they had taken it off the menu. Evidently the chef decided that he didn't like making burgers. What a shame since that was the best thing on the menu. Bye bye Paris.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 6, 2018

My rabbit was so so, but the evening was lovely. Others enjoyed their meals. Plus pork was lacking. Worth trying.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

We visited for Sunday brunch. Although it was a somewhat limited menu, all options were appealing. I had the croque monsieur, and my dining companions had the brunch burger and the french toast. We also ordered the smoked salmon and pate appetizers and finished our meal with the chocolate terrine and french almond cake. All the food was presented beautifully and tasted absolutely delicious. Everyone was happy with their orders. Our server left us alone and let us visit. I would have preferred she check on us a little more often for coffee refills, but she was very sweet and professional and knowledgeable about the menu. There was a guitarist playing music in the back of the restaurant, which added atmosphere. The diners were a mixture of locals, couples, & families. All in all, this was a great dining experience. I would be happy to return here!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

simply amazing food!!! great service. I do love this place!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

We love this very authentic French restaurant in Chestnut Hill in Philadelphia. The food is as good as eating in Paris and the bistro atmosphere is lots of fun and romantic. The quality of the food is always high and delicious (the bouaiibaisse was outstanding) and the service is always so attentive. You cannot go wrong here and it is worth making a special trip to eat here.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Wonderful food and great neighborhood.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

We love this place. We come probably once every month or so. The service is always excellent, as is the food. Thanks for a lovely evening!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 4, 2018

We dined outdoors for a friend’s birthday. There was a bit of rain, but the table umbrellas kept us and food from getting wet for the most part. We had the option of moving indoors. Our waitress, Alex, was perfect. Just the right amount of attention. Everyone enjoyed their meal. We always love the frites with truffle butter. Recommended: the French Martini. A blend of vodka, pineapple juice, Chambord and sparkling rose with sinfully macerated cherry.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 3, 2018

This is my second time here. The service and atmosphere is great. People who run the place go exceptionally out of their way to make you feel relaxed and cared for. My only slightly negative note is around the vegetarian offerings and some of the appetizers. The person who was vegetarian noted that there were not many offerings, and the one she picked (carrot steak) was not very interesting. The appetizer (crab salad) was somehow not the same as she remembered the first time she tried it. Perhaps a few more vegetarian ideas? Otherwise, the rest of the food was very good.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
33

Tweets by Paris Bistro - Chestnut Hill