HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 17 times today
Special offers available. See details

Paris Bistro - Chestnut Hill

4.3
1216 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
French
Top Tags:
  • Good for a Date (37)
  • Romantic (32)
  • Special Occasion (30)
Located in the middle of Philadelphia's charming Chestnut Hill neighborhood, Paris Bistro has made quite a splash since it opened in late January 2014. The setting and food are authentic bistro - the crowd is lively and the menu is reminiscent of the many bistros that dot Paris' arrondissement. Classics like cassoulet, coq au vin, steak frites and escargot are joined by more modern bistro fare like a beet and goat cheese salad and mustard-herb crusted salmon. Classic cocktails and signature "bistro cocktails" include La Bardot and Le Martini de Triomphe. The 85 bottle wine list covers all the major wine producing areas of France at very reasonable prices. And what would the bistro experience be without classic chocolate mousse and creme brûlée? All are served with a genuine warmth and true hospitality. Downstairs live Jazz plays Thursday through Sunday evenings with reservations available through the Paris Bistro Jazz Cafe Open Table page.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
French
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner Monday - Thursday & Sunday 5:00-10:00PM
Dinner Friday & Saturday 5:00-11:00PM
Sunday Brunch 10:30AM-2:00PM
Happy Hour Monday -Friday 4:00PM-6:00PM
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(215) 242-6200
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Chef Al Paris
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
Paris Bistro will transport you to another time and place with its 1920s style decor and authentic French bistro fare. Parties of 20-70 can be accommodated for lunch, dinner and weekend brunches. Live jazz is an option for those who wish to add that extra something to their private gathering.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Lauren: (215) 242-6200
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Please call for information about our off-site catering company Bon Vivant.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Southampton Avenue
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Complimentary parking provided in Chestnut Hill Hotel parking lot (access on Southampton Avenue).
Additional metered street parking available on Germantown Avenue and side streets.
Pay parking available at CHBD area parking facilities within 1-2 blocks of our restaurant.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
SEPTA Route 23 Bus

SEPTA Regional Rail Chestnut East or Chestnut Hill West lines
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Paris Bistro Jazz Cafe offers live Jazz Thursday through Sunday evenings.
The room opens nightly at 5:00PM. Reservations can be made online through our Paris Bistro Jazz Cafe Open Table page or by calling 215.242.6200.
$5-$15 entertainment charge (unless otherwise noted)








icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Monday Night $1 Oysters "Le Buck a Shuck"
3 Course Regional French Prix Fixe Menu Available Wednesday Nights $32
Sunday Brunch
icon/ic_gift_cardCreated with Sketch.
Gift Card
Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Sun - Thu 5:00PM - 5:30PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM
Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 5:00PM 9:15PM - 11:00PM

What 1216 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.3  based on recent ratings
4.3
food
4.4
service
4.4
ambience
4.1
value
Noise · Moderate
92% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
KatelynS 
5.0  Dined 4 days ago

Awesome food and great atmosphere! The service was wonderful.

Report
Helpful
BrusselsSprout (Philadelphia)
5.0  Dined 5 days ago

My acid test (being of French descent) for any french restaurant is the bread and pommes frites. They passed on all accounts! Great, attentive service. Delicious food all around. My only complaint is it's too loud. Would definitely go back.

Report
Helpful
vipName (Philadelphia)
5.0  Dined 5 days ago

Very good food; excellent quality and nicely prepared. Staff is very friendly and attentive, although our server seemed new and did forget to place the drink order. But he immediately took care of it when reminded. Tin roof makes this place a little loud, but otherwise a very nice restaurant for either a special occasion or date night.

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (Philadelphia)
4.0  Dined 5 days ago

Very very nice restaurant! The food was delicious. I had the escargot and it was one of the best I’ve had in the city. My friend had the pate and that was great too.
We shared a roasted beet salad that was nice. The bread was fresh, though not warm. Their specialty cocktail martini was delightful!!
The menu, and entrees in particular, looked really good.
I will definitely be back to try them out.

Ambiance was nice. It’s a small restaurant. The decor is pleasing and the bar is comfortable.

The staff was really great.
I’d like to note that I had a snafu and was long delayed and they were very very nice
They held a spot at the bar for me and my guest even though it was a Saturday night and they were fully booked. And they truly went beyond when they graciously gave me all the OT points (I had reserved during an “extra points” hour) even though we arrived late.

I will be back!!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Philadelphia)
5.0  Dined 6 days ago

I loved it. The food, service & ambiance.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Philadelphia)
4.0  Dined 6 days ago

My husband and I wanted to go to this restaurant for some time. We decided to just drive to the restaurant and see if we could get a seat in a reasonable amount of time. I went in and there was only one couple in front of me and a few tables open, so I figured we lucked out. The couple in front of me was told they would get a table ready and I was told there was an hour wait. I left disappointed, but thought that didn’t seem right. My husband told me to check Open Table and see if we could get in and the woman lied to me. Sure enough, I was able to make a reservation on Open Table with just a 20 minute wait. I was so angry, but we still decided to eat there. The food and drinks were fantastic and our server was nice and did a fine job. It’s a shame that my first interaction with the restaurant was not a positive one. My husband and I go out to eat all the time and I’ve never experienced anything like this. I’d love to recommend this restaurant to others, but I’m hesitant because I’d hate for my experience to be their experience.

Report
Helpful
molarman (Philadelphia)
5.0  Dined on February 14, 2018

Valentine's Day. Limited menu. Crowded, so a little hectic and noisy. Food very tasty, portion size a little skimpy. Will definitely return.

Report
Helpful
vipDebra (Philadelphia)
5.0  Dined on February 14, 2018

Our server, Kelly, was fantastic. The food was delicious and we did not feel rushed, even though it was valentine’s day. We have dined here previously and will definitely be back again soon.

Report
Helpful
vipDessieH (New England)
2.0  Dined on February 13, 2018

Second time around. Picked different meals, still not happy. I love French cuisine but not this one. Service was very good though. That’s about it.

Report
Helpful
SimonAshley (Philadelphia)
5.0  Dined on February 12, 2018

We came in for a rare date night / early Valentine's dinner and were blown away! Our server was attentive and personable, the cheese plate, escargot, Duck Cassoulet and Trout Amandine were amazing, and the drinks were perfect. The trout practically melts in your mouth--so buttery and tender. This was our first visit, and it wont be the last.

Report
Helpful
happydiner (Philadelphia)
5.0  Dined on February 10, 2018

A little taste of Paris right in Chestnut Hill. This little bistro feels very authentic and offers bar or restaurant dining on main floor and dinner w jazz Thurs - Saturday on floor below. In nice weather, there’s also an outdoor option. Menu and food were great and service was excellent. A must try!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Philadelphia)
5.0  Dined on February 9, 2018

Excellence drinks, food, and service! The best Chardonnay I’ve ever had and the cheese plate was amazing! Hope I get back there again soon. So worth every penny.

Report
Helpful
micheler (Philadelphia)
5.0  Dined on February 7, 2018

Wonderful as always! Great service- great drinks and food 😍😍😍😍😍

Report
Helpful
Hikerdave (Philadelphia)
5.0  Dined on January 31, 2018

Our waitress Kelly made food and beverage recommendations that were terrific. It was also an outstanding value.

Report
Helpful
vipDrRon (Philadelphia)
5.0  Dined on January 29, 2018

Absolutely awesome and a wonderful touch of Paris. We had great service, outstanding food and beverage, and the decor is beautiful and feels comfortable.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Philadelphia)
4.0  Dined on January 28, 2018

Service at our table with Cory was great. Service at the bar was not great. Bartender didn't seem to know anything about basic drinks and wine and did not check back on us. Ambiance was good in the dining room, cozy on a rainy day. Crab and Avocado salad was so delicious, escargot were ok. Steak in Steak Frite done perfectly.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Philadelphia)
5.0  Dined on January 27, 2018

It exceeded expectations across the board. Classic French cuisine, updated enough to satisfy my modern sensibilities, while remaining totally recognizable for what it was -- excellent French fare.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Philadelphia)
5.0  Dined on January 24, 2018

I love Paris Bistro so much. Elegant appetizers, entrees, and dessert. Our server Madeline is a gem.

I'm going to visit Paris Bistro more frequently. It's a dining experience!

Report
Helpful
Luckylisa (Philadelphia)
5.0  Dined on January 21, 2018

Food is really delicious! Sunday brunch is no exception!

Report
Helpful
vipHappy2help (Philadelphia)
5.0  Dined on January 20, 2018

Last minute reservation on a Saturday night. A great night out -
We were both pleased with our choices, and our server couldn’t have been more pleasant.
.....I guess that’s why we keep going back.

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (New York Area)
1.0  Dined on January 15, 2018

Dined with family on a Monday night. Service was horribly slow. 30 minutes to get drinks, 2 of which were wrong but we kept them knowing it would be an endless wait. An hour until food arrived. One entree brought before appetizer. The waiter seemed so confused that we felt sorry for him. Needed an extra drink order because we were there 2 hours and they were not delivered until dinner was finished. Spoke to manager, Colette, upon exit who apologized by saying she’s not feeling well and is aware of the service issues. She offered to mail a gift certificate, which was never sent, not surprisingly. Just as well, though.

Report
Helpful
vipgutron (Philadelphia)
5.0  Dined on January 13, 2018

A UNIQUE FEEL/AMBIANCE; NOT OVERPRICED; FEELS SPECIAL

Report
Helpful
Sammi (Philadelphia)
5.0  Dined on January 13, 2018

Really enjoyable experience-staff, food, and environmental ambience transported me on a journey through my senses I will not soon forget.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Philadelphia)
2.0  Dined on January 1, 2018

Food took way to long for brunch:) kids were starving we had to ask for bread like 3 times:)

Report
Helpful
Loveeatingout (Philadelphia)
5.0  Dined on December 31, 2017

New Year’s Eve. Bustling, happy crowd. Delicious food.

Report
Helpful
FattyRoo (Philadelphia)
2.0  Dined on December 31, 2017

My boyfriend and I reserved to have dinner here on NYE. I probably should've done a little bit more research because when we were seated at our table, their menus hadn't been printed yet? And our "neighbor" tables were also reporting that they had to look at the menu online or that they weren't aware that there was a set menu being served for a set price (we weren't aware of this either).

A lack of organization was the main issue we had. Nonetheless, the food was great and would probably go back when it isn't a holiday.

Report
Helpful
vipSlugger (Chicago)
4.0  Dined on December 30, 2017

We had planned to dine at a table but sat at the bar and enjoyed the setting and food as well as service.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Philadelphia)
3.0  Dined on December 30, 2017

Arrived promptly, but were told we would have to wait 15 mins. for our table. The bar was packed so there was no comfortable place for waiting except to just stand off to the side.

Service was excellent. Wait person was sensitive enough to not clear away dishes until everyone was finished with their meal. High points in this regard.

Menu has gotten boring. Seems like nothing has changed in more than two years. Not likely to go back anytime soon.

Report
Helpful
JLP987654321 (Philadelphia)
4.0  Dined on December 30, 2017

Paris was available for taking an unexpected house guest out to an informal dinner. The service was just a little on the slow side, considering its brasserie style and the trout was slightly more cooked than my guests thought it should have been. Maybe that is explained by the few minutes' delay in our main courses arriving at the table.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Philadelphia)
4.0  Dined on December 29, 2017

The experience overall was good. We did feel a little rushed by our server at the time to get the bill. We were going to get dessert and some more drinks but our server made us feel like we had to get up when we got the check and hadn’t asked for it yet.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
41