About Paris Bistro - Chestnut Hill

8229 Germantown Ave., Building A
Philadelphia, PA 19118
View Larger Map

Located in the middle of Philadelphia's charming Chestnut Hill neighborhood, Paris Bistro has made quite a splash since it opened in late January 2014. The setting and food are authentic bistro - the crowd is lively and the menu is reminiscent of the many bistros that dot Paris' arrondissement. Downstairs, the jazz cafe features the area's best talent playing a mixture of standards, Great American Songbook classics and music from the Jazz Era of the early 1900's. Make an evening of it with reservations for dinner upstairs and a jazz set after (seating in the cafe is on a first-come, first-seated basis).

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Monday - Thursday & Sunday 5:00-10:00PM
Dinner Friday & Saturday 5:00-11:00PM
Lunch Monday-Friday 11:30AM-2:00PM
Sunday Brunch 10:30AM-2:00PM
Happy Hour Monday -Friday 4:00Pm-6:00PM

Cross Street:
Southampton Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 242-6200

Website:
http://www.parisbistro.net/

Entertainment:
Live Jazz Thursday through Sunday evenings.
Thursday, Friday, Saturday Open 6:00- Close 12:00 Midnight
Set times 7:00, 8:30 &10:00 PM
Open Sunday 5:00-11:00 PM
Set times 6:00, 7:30 & 9:00 PM
$5 entertainment charge (unless otherwise noted)
No reservations - first-come, first-seated in the cafe








Parking Details:
Complimentary parking provided in Chestnut Hill Hotel parking lot (access on Southampton Avenue).
Additional metered street parking available on Germantown Avenue and side streets.

Public Transit:
SEPTA Route 23 Bus

SEPTA Regional Rail Chestnut East or Chestnut Hill West lines

Executive Chef:
Chef Al Paris

Private Party Facilities:
Paris Bistro will transport you to another time and place with its 1920s style decor and authentic French bistro fare. Parties of 20-70 can be accommodated for lunch, dinner and weekend brunches. Live jazz is an option for those who wish to add that extra something to their private gathering.

Private Party Contact:
Lauren: 2152426200

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
3 Course Regional French Prix Fixe Menu Available Wednesday Nights $25
3 Course Prix Fixe Sunday Brunch $24.95

Restaurant Photos

  • Paris Bistro - Chestnut Hill
Paris Bistro - Chestnut Hill

Paris Bistro - Chestnut Hill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.1

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

French
Philadelphia
Best Restaurants in Chestnut Hill ›

Neighborhood Gem (117)
Fit for Foodies (93)
Special Occasion (84)
See All
Romantic (46)
Great for Lunch (43)
Great for Brunch (41)
Great for Outdoor Dining (35)
Notable Wine List (26)
Hot Spot (25)
Good for Groups (25)
Vibrant Bar Scene (19)
Late-night Find (15)
Scenic View (7)
Kid-friendly (4)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Authentic (2)
Live Music (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Cozy (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sort By:
Newest
743 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Good brunch on a beautiful Sunday in Che ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 3 days ago

Good brunch on a beautiful Sunday in Chestnut Hill. We sat outside and enjoyed the food and attentive service. My Tuna was cooked as I ordered it and my husband enjoyed his crepe with eggs, pork belly and veggies. Staff was friendly and made our first visit a good experience. We will be back on a weekend when we can enjoy the music.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We sat down stairs in the jazz bar. The ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 4 days ago

We sat down stairs in the jazz bar. The band was awesome and it felt like we were truly in a Parisian jazz cafe. The ambiance and the food made it a great experience. We'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

This is a great and intimate little rest ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 4 days ago

This is a great and intimate little restaurant with live jazz, amazing food, great wine excellent service. Perfect a date.

Tags: Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We sat outside on front porch on a beaut ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 4 days ago

We sat outside on front porch on a beautiful evening. The waitress was friendly and service was great. We each had a cocktail - specialty martini was awesome. We split the dinner salad and I had steak frites and my wife had the crab cakes. Fabulous food. No room for dessert.

Only complaint is that we were rushed. Could have taken time between salad and main course. Should slow it down to enjoy the food and ambience.

Will go back to listen to jazz in the club downstairs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Our 5th time here and it didn't disappoi ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 5 days ago

Our 5th time here and it didn't disappoint. We brought close friends for a celebration. Everyone was delighted with their choices--salmon, crab cakes, and steak. We shared an almond cake for dessert and it was scrumptious. This place can get noisy when it's full--but we were part of an early crowd at 6pm on a Friday night and it was busy, but not overly noisy so we could enjoy conversation across the table. This has become a favorite for a special dining experience in our neighborhood. Would even be worth the trip from further away.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great place to eat....good food and wond ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 5 days ago

Great place to eat....good food and wonderful ambiance

Tags: Historic, Fun, People Watching, Afternoon Coffee, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Oysters were very tasty. The main cours ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Oysters were very tasty. The main course for each (salmon and trout) of us was outstanding. The server was, at best, fair.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Another wonderful dinner at Paris Bistro ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Another wonderful dinner at Paris Bistro. Service started a little slow because our server had several large parties. All in all another great dining experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Paris Bistro is a lovely spot and whom e ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Paris Bistro is a lovely spot and whom

ever I recommend it to always enjoys it.This time we took my sister there and she gave it rave reviews .We thank you for such an enjoyable Sunday brunch ch.

Tags: Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

After speaking with the manager last wee ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

After speaking with the manager last week in reference to the changes in the brunch menu, she recommended mentioning our request in the comments of our reservation; we did this with 5 days notice and was not able to get choc. mousse, we thought 5 days notice would be enough. We were told there was none left over from the night before, however if they were put on the side for us for the following day, that may be a good idea. Your manager investigated our Open Table activity as 13, that does not include the number of non-reservations made and phone call reservations, we are there almost every Sunday, so one would think with enough notice to put a special request item on the side for a repeat customer is not a problem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

As much like a Lyonnaise bouchon as anyo ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

As much like a Lyonnaise bouchon as anyone could find around here - I just wish I had known about the Rhone theme back in June. Service started out a little slow, but picked up later and the good-natured friendliness of our server made up for the initial hiccup.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food, Cozy, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Loved every thing we had! The servers wo ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Loved every thing we had! The servers worked together and I was not overwhelmed by the menu.

Tags: Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

wonderful neighborhood restaurant!

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

wonderful neighborhood restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Solid French classics. Friendly but slow ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Solid French classics. Friendly but slow service. Attractive but loud room. Enjoyed the oysters, salads, duck, trout.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Over all the place was very nice. But on ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Over all the place was very nice. But one serious thing blew the experience for me. I travel to France frequently and one thing that can not be missed is the bread. The bread was not up to the level it could be, not even at all enjoyable. The Croissants seamed like there were something I could get at the grocery store, not a genuine French product. The baguette was not right either. A beautiful french croissant full size buttery flaky at least as good as I can get at the chain store au bon pain would be sufficient. It could be only the menu ala carte . But get a real french pastry chef to create something real would be just what the atomsphere deserves. Really people could be coming just for the bread. SO many wonderful bakers in Philly these products could be brought in . A typical french breakfast of bread and coffee ? Other cuisine was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

We go often and have enjoyed Paris since ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We go often and have enjoyed Paris since it first opened.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Our waiter Alexis was very charming & at ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Our waiter Alexis was very charming & attentive. He certainly couldn't have done any more to make our dining experience more pleasant. All of the other service staff were very friendly. Our entres were delicious, except that the duck was served extremely rare which made it quite chewy. The chef even made an appearance in the dining room to chat with dinner guests. Overall a nice evening out in Chestnut hill.

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Nice place celebrate my birthday. I'd li ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Nice place celebrate my birthday. I'd like to go back

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was excellent, unfortunately my cra ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Food was excellent, unfortunately my crab dinner was not hot or even warm. My friend's duck dish was very hot. I certainly would have enjoyed my dinner more had it been a better temperature. Didn't want to say anything to our waitress, didn't want to spoil our evening out.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Great dinner outdoors. Everyone enjoyed ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Great dinner outdoors. Everyone enjoyed everything ordered: lobster bisque, oysters , crab cakes , short ribs, steak frite, creme brûlée all perfectly prepared, every vegetable perfect also.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice restaurant! They noticed it wa ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Very nice restaurant!

They noticed it was our anniversary and pampered us! Great food and wine!

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

My friend and I had a great experience

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

My friend and I had a great experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Chef Al Paris' food is outstanding. The ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Chef Al Paris' food is outstanding. The last time we went it for for le buck a shuck which is an excellent value. The only issue I have with Paris Cafe is that the device is uneven, in our last three visits the service has ranged from poor to excellent to OK. I'm hoping that they get the control of this issue so that I can keep enjoying the great neighborhood gem and Chef Al's fox.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Dined in for Sunday brunch. Loved the a ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Dined in for Sunday brunch. Loved the ambience and the guitar player. Food was good and service was attentive. Great dining experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

Met a friend for brunch. It looked nice ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Met a friend for brunch. It looked nice outside but it was quite warm and we opted to sit inside the pretty dining room. There was a guitarist playing. The server was warm and friendly and we told her we were having a bit of a reunion and may take a while. We got our drinks quickly and ordered a bit later. Food arrived nicely prepared. The server was attentive without hovering. The inside dining area was not crowded, but I believe there were several diners outside. We ended up being there for 3 hours and never once felt rushed or as if they wanted us to leave. The check did not appear until it was clear we were ready to leave. I would most definitely go to Paris Bistro again, and I'd like to try dinner. Good experience.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Always enjoy Paris Bistro. Great custome ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Always enjoy Paris Bistro. Great customer service. Food presentation is excellent.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I took my husband here for his pre-birth ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

I took my husband here for his pre-birthday dinner and we were not disappointed. The food and service were exceptional. I can't wait to return to this gem.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our First visit...waited awhile for firs ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Our First visit...waited awhile for first drink at upstairs bar..when finally received .glass smelled dirty ..like dirty dishwater....so bartender redid drink for me and kindly apologized .. dinner was very good had oysters and escargot dish over pasta .. waitress and service and food delicious at table restaurant could use a little cosmetic upgrading but loved the French feel ..we never were told by any staff to go enjoy music downstairs after but we knew to check out from friend who dines there so glad we did...listened to great jazz group...fun end to evening however also took long time to get a drink downstairs something about computer being a problem all in all was fun different night like to return for more french cooking and jazz

Tags: Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

We had a wonderful meal at the Paris Bis ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

We had a wonderful meal at the Paris Bistro. There were plenty of selections to choose from and we both enjoyed our entrees and our main courses. We did not leave enough room to try dessert, but the selections were intriguing. We cannot wait to go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good food, location, and staff. Not sur ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Good food, location, and staff. Not sure if it was quite worth the cost, but had a good time nonetheless and am glad I tried it.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The only flaw is the noise level which i ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

The only flaw is the noise level which is annoying

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

After missing a special dinner in Paris, ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

After missing a special dinner in Paris, France, we scheduled this dinner. It was special, delicious, and our evening was delightful.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful meal at Paris Bistro ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We had a wonderful meal at Paris Bistro on my birthday. Our party of eight were thrilled with the food and the atmosphere. Our waitress was very nice and did a good job taking care of us all.

We are already planning our next trip to Chestnut Hill and it will definitely include a trip to Paris Bistro.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Spentalmost3 hours calling just gota res ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Spentalmost3 hours calling just gota reservation. No live personnel answered phone. Re-directed(via voicemail)to reserve vis Paris Bistro website. Website not working properly. Going forward, while diningwe requestedto speak to the Manager ( female). I explainedall the inconvenience of the need for it to take almost 3 hrs to SIMPLY make a dinner reservation. Manager was PATRONIZING which we didn't appreciate... Further, therr was never an offer or gesture of discounting our meal.....norANY offer whatsoever. We will not be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2
value1

The cozy yet sophisticated atmosphere of ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

The cozy yet sophisticated atmosphere of Paris added to the superb quality of the dinner-not to mention the exquisite food. Paris is great for both lunch and dinner!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chestnut Hill needs adult restaurants, a ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Chestnut Hill needs adult restaurants, and this is one of the few. The service can be a bit spotty. It was much better this time than the last time I went when the server disappeared at lunch. It I a genuine bistro, and a good place to eat.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Great food at reasonable price.

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Great food at reasonable price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

On a Wednesday evening the place was cro ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

On a Wednesday evening the place was crowded and extremely noisy. The food was quite good and portions were ample. Our waiter was apparently still in training and/or had been assigned to too many tables; we had to ask for bread after receiving our first glass of wine. After the initial pour, our bottle of wine was taken to a back room (too crowded for tableside wine buckets), so we later asked that it be left on our table so we could pour at our own pace. The decor was apparently designed to reflect rather than absorb noise, and the choice and loudness of music was annoying.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Service was attentive without being intr ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Service was attentive without being intrusive, allowing us to visit over an excellent meal without feeling pressured or guilty of lingering. Handsome room and good food -- and news of jazz nights -- will entice us again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We had planned to eat indoors, which I h ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We had planned to eat indoors, which I have done there in the past satisfactorily, but the weird music on the main level combined with other normal restaurant sounds rendered the interior unbearable and we opted to eat outside. Food good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.