Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.43mi
  4. Distance: 0.52mi
  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.43mi
  4. Distance: 0.52mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.43mi
  4. Distance: 0.52mi
  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.43mi
  4. Distance: 0.52mi

About Paris Bistro - Chestnut Hill

Located in the middle of Philadelphia's charming Chestnut Hill neighborhood, Paris Bistro has made quite a splash since it opened in late January 2014. The setting and food are authentic bistro - the crowd is lively and the menu is reminiscent of the many bistros that dot Paris' arrondissement. Classics like cassoulet, coq au vin, steak frites and escargot are joined by more modern bistro fare like a beet and goat cheese salad and mustard-herb crusted salmon. Classic cocktails and signature "bistro cocktails" include La Bardot and Le Martini de Triomphe. The 85 bottle wine list covers all the major wine producing areas of France at very reasonable prices. And what would the bistro experience be without classic chocolate mousse and creme brûlée? All are served with a genuine warmth and true hospitality. Downstairs live Jazz plays Thursday through Sunday evenings with reservations available through the Paris Bistro Jazz Cafe Open Table page.

8229 Germantown Ave., Building A
Philadelphia, PA 19118
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Monday - Thursday & Sunday 5:00-10:00PM
Dinner Friday & Saturday 5:00-11:00PM
Sunday Brunch 10:30AM-2:00PM
Happy Hour Monday -Friday 4:00PM-6:00PM

Cross Street:
Southampton Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 242-6200

Website:
http://www.parisbistro.net/

Entertainment:
Paris Bistro Jazz Cafe offers live Jazz Thursday through Sunday evenings.
The room opens nightly at 5:00PM. Reservations can be made online through our Paris Bistro Jazz Cafe Open Table page or by calling 215.242.6200.
$5-$15 entertainment charge (unless otherwise noted)








Catering:
Please call for information about our off-site catering company Bon Vivant.

Parking Details:
Complimentary parking provided in Chestnut Hill Hotel parking lot (access on Southampton Avenue).
Additional metered street parking available on Germantown Avenue and side streets.
Pay parking available at CHBD area parking facilities within 1-2 blocks of our restaurant.

Public Transit:
SEPTA Route 23 Bus

SEPTA Regional Rail Chestnut East or Chestnut Hill West lines

Executive Chef:
Chef Al Paris

Private Party Facilities:
Paris Bistro will transport you to another time and place with its 1920s style decor and authentic French bistro fare. Parties of 20-70 can be accommodated for lunch, dinner and weekend brunches. Live jazz is an option for those who wish to add that extra something to their private gathering.

Private Party Contact:
Lauren: (215) 242-6200

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Monday Night $1 Oysters "Le Buck a Shuck"
3 Course Regional French Prix Fixe Menu Available Wednesday Nights $32
Sunday Brunch

Paris Bistro - Chestnut Hill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (61)
Special Occasion (61)
Good for a Date (53)
See All
Romantic (45)
Live Music (38)
Good for Anniversaries (38)
Great for Brunch (34)
Authentic (34)
Fit for Foodies (34)
Sunday Lunch (30)
Worth the Drive (29)
Cozy (28)
Good for Birthdays (27)
Casual (24)
Bar Seating (23)
Fun (22)
Creative Cuisine (18)
People Watching (16)
Great for Lunch (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Business Meals (14)
Hot Spot (12)
Notable Wine List (12)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Comfort Food (12)
Happy Hour (12)
Great for Outdoor Dining (12)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Good for Groups (10)
Outstanding Value (8)
Healthy (7)
Seasonal (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Afternoon Coffee (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Tasting Menu (3)
Family Style (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Historic (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Scenic View (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Private Room (1)
Waterfront (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
980 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 2 days ago

Paris Bistro is a place to have a bit of La Belle France when the spirit moves. Wait staff is friendly, food is both delicious and comforting, and what a nice gesture to allow BYOB on Sunday! This visit was an early dinner after a spring afternoon at Morris Arboretum; we have also dined there before a concert at The Kimmel Center. To the point, Paris Bistro pairs with experience, romance, or a night our with friends. We are lucky to have such a place in Germantown-Chestnut Hill!

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent food and service
And waitstaff surprised us with a small cake for my birthday -very thoughtful

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent restaurant in Chestnut Hill. I loved the decor and dining room seating arrangements and felt very comfortable. However, half way thru our meal the dining room was completing full, and thus if became very noisy and made it difficult to hear my dinner partners' conversations.
There were 4 of us for dinner, and everyone one raved about our meal. In fact, my niece had the fish entree and wanted to some of it home with her, but when I noticed she was finishing her meal I said to her "I thought you wanted to take some of it back home". She responded "I do, but it so delicious I can't stop eating it!"

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Disabled Access, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

Great appetizers and entrees. Waitress was exceptional. Jazz club is a must. Cannot wait to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

Our server, Jordan, was excellent - great service, great recommendations, just the right touch. The appetizers, cocktails, and wine by the glass were all great. Dinner was authentic French bistro style. A great time!

Tags: Live Music, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 days ago

Awesome ambiance and delicious food and great cocktails!🍽🍸

Tags: Hot Spot, Happy Hour, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

I love the atmosphere and look of Paris Bistro--a lively French middle-level restaurant, with a good wine selection and good cocktails. The trick is that the food can be uneven--from mediocre to very good. We hit mediocre last week on one of their Wednesday specials, this one featuring Loire valley wine and food. The appetizer was great--a kind of pate made from shredded pork looking like a pate, with toast and a nice apricot and vinegar side sauce. But the main dish of trout over lentils and beets was way off the mark. The lentils were saturated in lemon juice and so sour as to be almost inedible. Both of us left most of ours. The fish itself was plentiful (good) but quite ordinary and a little overcooked. Edible but not really delicious. The golden beets were ok but nothing to write home about, and I thought they were an odd pairing with the other two ingredients. Dessert was a deconstructed affair of slightly poached pears, walnuts, and a kind of cream cheese. It's not really pear season, and that made a difference for the worse, although the sweet sauce was good. The cheese was blah and the walnuts a kind of afterthought.
I thought they were offering a flight of Loire valley wines (which can be great and less expensive than better known ones), but they just had regular glasses on sale (albeit from the Loire valley), one a chardonnay, one a pinot noir. They were ok, if expensive at 10 bucks a glass.
All in all it was fun to be there but disappointing in the quality of the food. We expect better from French cooking!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Live Music, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Excellent French bistro food. The bouillabaisse was the best I have ever had.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Sadly the kitchen could not keep up with Mother's Day demands. Our reservation was at noon, we were seated at 12:30, ordered immediately but did not get our first course until almost 1:15. Excellent food for patient people with no time constraints.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Beautiful place, fabulous ambiance. Great for regular dining or special occasions. Live music available. Moderately priced.

Tags: Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Food was pretty good. Steak was a bit too tough and fatty, but the Salmon and Cheese were excellent. Service was very slow unfortunately. Took a very long time to get drinks and our appetizer. Overall however, we would return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Everything we ate was phenomenal. I highly recommend the seafood crepe-I wanted to lick my plate. Perfect onion soup and delicious side dishes. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Overall, the food was very good. My husband got the mushroom tartlet. The sauce was wonderfully delicious, but the tartlet shell was hard and had no taste, like something you would buy frozen at Costco. I enjoyed the duck cassoulet, but we have had much better. Cooking the duck in the white bean mixture would have given it more flavor, and the beans were mushy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 10, 2017

We have been to Paris several times and the food is good and the Wednesday fixed menu is great. Surprisingly the service was lacking and slow and some of the dishes came cold and had to be returned. To their credit the manager removed the cost of one of the dishes. Good overall with a few glitches this time.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Very Pleased - We are foodies and Francophiles and we were very pleased with the creativity and quality of the food. Very well paired, prepared and presented. Hats off to the chef. We will definitely be back even though it is a 45 minute drive for us.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 8, 2017

We went for buck a shuck oyster night. Enjoyed Puget Sound Skookum oysters -- delicious! And then we had chicken liver pate, onion soup, and house salad. A lovely dinner. Great service and drinks too!

Tags: Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Overall, Paris Bistro is a great restaurant with great food and we will definitely return. I also recommend this restaurant.

I gave low scores to Food and Value for this visit for the following reasons.

My wife ordered the crab galettes, and they were well cooked and very tasty, however were served very lukewarm. Not sure if they sat waiting for my dish to be ready, but they were definitely not up to serving temperature. I'm sure this was an anomaly and not indicative of the quality of food overall. I had the cassoulet and it was amazing (and piping hot.)

For value, I give a low score because of the price. At $161 for dinner (not including tip,) I feel this restaurant is overpriced. It's definitely a restaurant that commands a premium price, but my wife and I often eat in Philly at restaurants of this class, but at a lower price point. Usually around $12-130 for two. We also had drinks at the Jazz club downstairs after dinner and the total for four drinks was $62 (not including tip.)

Again, definitely recommend this restaurant, just know ahead of time that it's high priced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Tasty food, but quite rich. But still, reasonably inventive and well done. Good presentation. Service was great. Mediocre bread.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Paris Bistro continues to be wonderful. When you walk in, you feel like you have just walked into Paris, France. The food is terrific and the ambience is lovely. The steak frites were perfect as were the rest of our dishes. Our favorite dish this time was the mushroom tartlet. It was so good we ordered another!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Our waiter Michael was very friendly and helpful as well as attractive! We enjoyed our meal as well. Thanks!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Great attentive but not intrusive service. Friendly staff and terrific food.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 1, 2017

After reading the reviews we were all looking forward to dinner. What a disappointment! Mushroom appetizer would have served better as a soup. The tart was swimming in a rich mushroom "soup" but since no spoon was given it wasn't soup. One person got crab galette and she didn't even finish them because they had no taste. The supposed flat iron steak was not a flat iron steak. The trout was nothing great. Passable but nothing special. The only saving point was the escargot and mushroom appetizer. That was very good. Skip going here!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Best brunch in town!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Paris Bistro has a great atmosphere and is an ideal local choice in Chestnut Hill. Service needs to be more professional, at least on my last dinner there. Most of the time the service has been fine, but we ordered wine by the glass which didn't come for about 25 min after the appetizers in fact, and the wine level per glass was pretty skimpy. Then the waiter cleared one of our wines with wine still left. Given that I live in Chestnut Hill I will certainly go back but it was a little disappointing last time.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 28, 2017

For reasons I don't understand the service keeps getting worse over time at Paris Bistro. My husband and I like the food, and the atmosphere is fine, but the service is slow. Not leisurely but slow. 20+ minutes to get that first glass of wine. 30+ minutes to get bread and order food. Your 2nd glass of wine arriving after you've already eaten half your entree. We go to Paris Bistro about once per month - because we like the food and the choice of restaurants is pretty limited in northwest Philadelphia - but gosh if isn't a frustrating experience overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 28, 2017

As always, the food was very good and it is a fun place , but it wasn't very busy for Friday night and the service was rather disorganized . It worked out however since we were in a rush ......

Tags: Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Went here with hubby for date night! Food was delicious and service was emmmacable. We did not eat in the Jazz lounge we will try that next time. The crab avocado was to die for!!! Looking forward to dinning there again. Oh, I almost forgot free parking.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Attentive service, great cocktails and the chicken liver pate is heavenly

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 26, 2017

The food and service was amazing...just would've been nice to have the words (Calf's Trak) in parenthesis on the menu next to the description..."Sweet bread".

My friend and I are still in shock that we ate it, and although the salad was a hit...I would never order it again with the so called "Sweet bread" on top.

Feeling decieved...

Tags: Special Occasion, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 23, 2017

My wife and I shared the liver pate appetizer. For our entrees, she had the seafood crepe and I had the duck papperdelle. All were very good. Our guest is a vegetarian, but she will eat white fish. The only entree on the menu that appealed to her was the trout dish which she ordered. Unfortunately, the restaurant ran out of trout after she placed her order. She did not like the vegetables in the vegetarian entree on the menu. Therefore, she was forced to order the beet salad and an order of green beans (not much of a meal). We did go on Sunday BYOW night which is a plus.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Paris Bistro was extremely busy on Sunday evening. It was amazing to witness how the staff pulled together to attend to the diners and assure everyone was served in a timely manner. The professionalism and courtesy of the staff was outstanding! KUDOS for a job well done!

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Our party of 4 ordered 2 drinks apiece. I gave both of my cocktails away because I couldn't reconcile their taste versus their descriptions. The old fashioned was watered down, so we made sure to order the rest straight.
We ordered 3 bourginons and one pork (I think) Saturday special. The bourginon was decent. We decided for meat that had been cooked for 6 hours, there wasn't a depth of flavor or a complexity that we've had in the same dish at other restaurants. It wasn't bad at all, just not the greatest.
Given the drinks and food though, I wouldn't recommend this to others. The value was missing.
Wait staff was amazing. Incredibly attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 19, 2017

My wife and I both had the Eat France special (April / "Paris"). At $25 pp for 3 courses it is more affordable than the a la carte menu, but there are no substitutions.

The sweetbread salad with toasted walnuts was a big hit with both of us. The portion of sweet bread on top was quite small and batter fried, so only a faint taste. Arctic char is an interesting cross between salmon and trout- a fairly delicate fish made more interesting by the lemon olive dressing. It would have been nice if they had thrown in a little rice or potatoes with the entree, but at least our waiter obligingly refilled the bread basket. The hazelnut chocolate crepe cake with banana chantilly was quite tasty but extremely rich and sweet. In might have comprised half the calories of the whole meal. In retrospect we wish we had asked for one to go as we both felt a little ill after eating an entire portion each.

The house white is a chardonnay by the glass is fairly heavy and oaky. The muscadet was typically light and citrusy. We enjoyed both, but the muscadet probably went better with the entree.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Went for my mother's birthday which was also Easter Sunday. The waiter was very helpful and saw to our every need and the food was wonderful. The atmosphere is really nicer me they have Jazz in the basement. I would recommend to anyone.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Had a delicious Easter Sunday brunch. Enjoyed the food and cocktail. Loved the live guitar music. Will definitely go back for the live jazz on a Sunday when you can bring your own wine.

Tags: Authentic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Brunch on Easter was fantastic. Had the omelet Parisienne, which was both light and filling. Very fresh flavors. Food, ambience, service, drinks were all outstanding, as is always my experience at Paris Bistro. Can sometimes get a bit noisy, so ask for a table in the back corners if possible.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Paris Bistro is our go-to place when we are craving Steak Frites. I keep saying that the next time we go, I'll get something else, but never do. It's hard to resist...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We have seen the Parc Bistro get better & better over the past several years. One of our favorite restaurants for sure !!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Great dinner but service was slow because the weather was so beautiful they had a lot of outdoor diners but not enough staff. It was 15-20 minutes before we even got water or a drink order taken, after we hailed waitstaff. But, in fairness, once we were noticed, things went smoothly and it was an enjoyable and delicious dinner. We had a reservation but other than getting a table when we arrived we had to sit and wait. All's well that ends well, and it did.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 14, 2017

The only real problem I found was that the speed at which our food was brought was sub-par. Otherwise, I thought it was an incredible establishment.

Tags: Healthy, Fun, Casual, Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.