Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.43mi
  4. Distance: 0.52mi
  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.43mi
  4. Distance: 0.52mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.43mi
  4. Distance: 0.52mi
  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.43mi
  4. Distance: 0.52mi

About Paris Bistro - Chestnut Hill

Located in the middle of Philadelphia's charming Chestnut Hill neighborhood, Paris Bistro has made quite a splash since it opened in late January 2014. The setting and food are authentic bistro - the crowd is lively and the menu is reminiscent of the many bistros that dot Paris' arrondissement. Classics like cassoulet, coq au vin, steak frites and escargot are joined by more modern bistro fare like a beet and goat cheese salad and mustard-herb crusted salmon. Classic cocktails and signature "bistro cocktails" include La Bardot and Le Martini de Triomphe. The 85 bottle wine list covers all the major wine producing areas of France at very reasonable prices. And what would the bistro experience be without classic chocolate mousse and creme brûlée? All are served with a genuine warmth and true hospitality. Downstairs live Jazz plays Thursday through Sunday evenings with reservations available through the Paris Bistro Jazz Cafe Open Table page.

8229 Germantown Ave., Building A
Philadelphia, PA 19118
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Monday - Thursday & Sunday 5:00-10:00PM
Dinner Friday & Saturday 5:00-11:00PM
Sunday Brunch 10:30AM-2:00PM
Happy Hour Monday -Friday 4:00PM-6:00PM

Cross Street:
Southampton Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 242-6200

Website:
http://www.parisbistro.net/

Entertainment:
Paris Bistro Jazz Cafe offers live Jazz Thursday through Sunday evenings.
The room opens nightly at 5:00PM. Reservations can be made online through our Paris Bistro Jazz Cafe Open Table page or by calling 215.242.6200.
$5-$15 entertainment charge (unless otherwise noted)








Catering:
Please call for information about our off-site catering company Bon Vivant.

Parking Details:
Complimentary parking provided in Chestnut Hill Hotel parking lot (access on Southampton Avenue).
Additional metered street parking available on Germantown Avenue and side streets.
Pay parking available at CHBD area parking facilities within 1-2 blocks of our restaurant.

Public Transit:
SEPTA Route 23 Bus

SEPTA Regional Rail Chestnut East or Chestnut Hill West lines

Executive Chef:
Chef Al Paris

Private Party Facilities:
Paris Bistro will transport you to another time and place with its 1920s style decor and authentic French bistro fare. Parties of 20-70 can be accommodated for lunch, dinner and weekend brunches. Live jazz is an option for those who wish to add that extra something to their private gathering.

Private Party Contact:
Lauren: (215) 242-6200

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Monday Night $1 Oysters "Le Buck a Shuck"
3 Course Regional French Prix Fixe Menu Available Wednesday Nights $32
Sunday Brunch

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Details

All day dining featuring brunch from 10:30A-3:00P and dinner starting at 4P. Three course menu all day. $35 per person. Enjoy brunch in the bistro dining room or Jazz brunch in our Jazz Cafe ($5 add'l).

Paris Bistro - Chestnut Hill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (54)
Good for a Date (51)
Special Occasion (50)
See All
Romantic (47)
Live Music (36)
Authentic (36)
Good for Anniversaries (36)
Fit for Foodies (31)
Great for Brunch (30)
Sunday Lunch (27)
Cozy (27)
Worth the Drive (26)
Bar Seating (25)
Casual (24)
Fun (23)
Good for Birthdays (23)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Comfort Food (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Great for Lunch (14)
Good for Groups (13)
Great for Outdoor Dining (12)
Notable Wine List (12)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Hot Spot (11)
People Watching (10)
Outstanding Value (10)
Happy Hour (9)
Business Meals (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Healthy (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Seasonal (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Historic (3)
Family Style (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Scenic View (2)
Tapas (1)
Fireplace (1)
Organic (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Waterfront (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
S
946 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 4 days ago

My wife and I both had the Eat France special (April / "Paris"). At $25 pp for 3 courses it is more affordable than the a la carte menu, but there are no substitutions.

The sweetbread salad with toasted walnuts was a big hit with both of us. The portion of sweet bread on top was quite small and batter fried, so only a faint taste. Arctic char is an interesting cross between salmon and trout- a fairly delicate fish made more interesting by the lemon olive dressing. It would have been nice if they had thrown in a little rice or potatoes with the entree, but at least our waiter obligingly refilled the bread basket. The hazelnut chocolate crepe cake with banana chantilly was quite tasty but extremely rich and sweet. In might have comprised half the calories of the whole meal. In retrospect we wish we had asked for one to go as we both felt a little ill after eating an entire portion each.

The house white is a chardonnay by the glass is fairly heavy and oaky. The muscadet was typically light and citrusy. We enjoyed both, but the muscadet probably went better with the entree.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Went for my mother's birthday which was also Easter Sunday. The waiter was very helpful and saw to our every need and the food was wonderful. The atmosphere is really nicer me they have Jazz in the basement. I would recommend to anyone.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Had a delicious Easter Sunday brunch. Enjoyed the food and cocktail. Loved the live guitar music. Will definitely go back for the live jazz on a Sunday when you can bring your own wine.

Tags: Authentic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Brunch on Easter was fantastic. Had the omelet Parisienne, which was both light and filling. Very fresh flavors. Food, ambience, service, drinks were all outstanding, as is always my experience at Paris Bistro. Can sometimes get a bit noisy, so ask for a table in the back corners if possible.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Great dinner but service was slow because the weather was so beautiful they had a lot of outdoor diners but not enough staff. It was 15-20 minutes before we even got water or a drink order taken, after we hailed waitstaff. But, in fairness, once we were noticed, things went smoothly and it was an enjoyable and delicious dinner. We had a reservation but other than getting a table when we arrived we had to sit and wait. All's well that ends well, and it did.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 14, 2017

The only real problem I found was that the speed at which our food was brought was sub-par. Otherwise, I thought it was an incredible establishment.

Tags: Healthy, Fun, Casual, Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Paris Bistro is a neighborhood favorite for a fancy meal. Service and food are always great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 10, 2017

I love coming to Paris Bistro - their staff is always friendly and accomadating and made sure their customers are leaving satisfied and happy. I made a happy hour reservation for 6 (not knowing if I needed to for HH) and made a note asking if we could get outside seats. You usually cannot make reservations for outside seating (esp for HH) but they saved it for us anyhow bc it was a first time mistake and wanted to made sure that we were accommodated.
Their food was also great - we had the Monday Buck a Shuck oysters and they were fresh and good. Their Parmesan truffle fries (which are my favorite) were excellent.
All my past experiences at Paris Bistro have been great and this too was an excellent (and nice after-work happy hour) time for me and my 5 friends too. I would 100% recommend this restaurant to everyone. Great food, excellent staff, awesome specials daily, a true neighborhood gem!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 9, 2017

I was having a craving for escargot. Wasn't up to going to parc last so we found Paris bistro and haven't been there before so we thought it would be fun.

Upon walking in it looked really nice the decor was spot on. Was greeted with a warm welcome and seated promptly. The server was very helpful and attentive.

We ordered the escargot. We had said we would both have the escargot but they only sent out one dish. Thankfully because they came out cold and with a pile of what seemed liked steam onions and peppers with super thin portobello mushrooms.(in my opinion should never be thin sliced ruins the mushroom) The garlic butter sauce was scarce and bland.


For dinner we ordered the duck Pappardella pasta and crab gallete.

The duck was okay and for it being the Sunday special it should blow your socks off. The egg noodles were not seasoned and the duck was kinda scarce and just on the plate.

The crab gallete were okay nothing to write home about.


The reason I gave a second star is for the waitress being friendly and helpful and the parking lot in the back. I won't be going back sad to say because I like the chestnut hill area and I have only heard good things about it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Found this restaurant disappointing for brunch. Limited menu and food was lukewarm. Server was Pratt and hung around waiting for us to pay the bill did not feel a relaxed experience. Might try the Jazz cafe part but not the restaurant

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Waited 25 min for table after reservation. Seemed very disorganized. Kept telling us it'd just be a minute.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Good drinks but rubber seaweed decoration in the oysters and lukewarm crab salad were not favorable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 8, 2017

The only mishap we had was the drink my fiancé ordered which was completely watered down. We would not order that next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 6, 2017

it seemed as though it was too busy and a bit unorganized. a complimentary dessert was given
we are frequent patrons and this is not usually the norm and always enjoy our visit and the food is divine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 3, 2017

First, our appetizers took almost an hour to come out and we had to chase down the waiter to get information and a push for timing. Second, I t was my husband's birthday and I brought a special cake. They brought the cake out in slices, not as a whole to the table. Then they sliced the remainder of the cake and gave everyone doggy bags without even asking me. We live in the area and go to Paris Bistro frequently and I cannot even tell you how disappointing the entire experience was! It will be a LONG time before we go back, if we do. Very poor experience!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 2, 2017

LOVE! LOVE! LOVE this restaurant! The food is amazing! The wait staff is so attentive and the atmosphere is great! I recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for a very fabulous and different place to eat!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 31, 2017

We had a lovely evening. Love the decor and food upstairs. Service was excellent. Nice jazz bar downstairs.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Live Music, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Casual, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 29, 2017

The shrimp cocktail had a perfume-esque flavor, so I didn't like it. The sauteed mushroom were too heavily sauteed in butter or oil. My friend's seafood crepe though was amazing.

Tags: Live Music, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Annivetsary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Bonjour,
If you love France and can't get there as often as you would like then come to Paris.
It serves all the classics in a wonderful atmosphere. If you have never been to Paris, France, then try Paris in Chestnut Hill. It's the next best thing. It's easy to get to and, believe me ,you won't be disappointed.
Every night they have a special on the menu. On Monday oysters are a dollar a piece and on Sunday night you can bring your own wine. Yes, it's BYOB on Sunday night. You can't beat that.
Au revoir!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Wonderful place for a birthday celebration. It looked like we weren't the only ones with that idea. With the tin ceiling and close (but not uncomfortably so) quarters, it was a bit hard to hear each other at times, but the staff were personable and the food was wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 24, 2017

We've been here several times. It's always a lovely evening with good food. The elixir de vie drink was outstanding. Server was terrific. Only complaint was a little too salt in both of the main dishes, the seafood crepe and the salmon but still delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Food was wonderful, traditional French influence but on the lighter side. Cocktails were excellent and our server was top-notch. We did have an awkward entrance after we came exactly on time for our reservation and they weren't ready for us. The hostess said they just had to set the table. There was nowhere comfortable to wait so we sat at the bar -- but we got the feeling the bartender didn't want us there. In the meantime another couple came in and were seated immediately. There was a hostess and a maitre d, but neither did anything to set the table. It was an awkward/uncomfortable 10 minutes. After that everything was great.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 19, 2017

The food was fabulous and the service was top notch. One of the best meals I've ever had. Cappuccino was delicious.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 19, 2017

The Paris Bistro experience is consistently wonderful- the service is pleasant and the meals are done to perfection.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Outstanding Value, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Paris is a delightful way to spend Sunday brunch with friends. The menu is truly a treasure, and the beverage list is perfect for an afternoon with friends. The live music adds to the ambience.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We went for dinner then enjoyed the Jazz bar which was amazing! Would go back again! It sure was an experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We absolutely enjoyed the ambiance and fabulously prepared meals. The service was excellent and the hosts and wait staff were very warm and welcoming.

Tags: Comfort Food, Family Style, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Business Meals, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 17, 2017

What an amazing meal. I had salmon shrimp pistour, my wife had seafood crepes. EVERYTHING we ate was flawlessly prepared and delicious. Service was outstanding too. Can't wait to go back, and we live an hour away.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We have dined at Paris many times. The food is always delicious. We have always had great service until our most recent visit for brunch. My husband and 3 kids dined with my mom for her birthday. We waited a half hour for drinks (and had to ask a different waitress to follow up) and then had to request to put in the food order. We had a 1:30 reservation. The restaurant was emptying out and we still waited another 30+ minutes for our food. Very disappointed in the service!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 12, 2017

excellent meal, nice atmosphere, enjoyed the music in the background at a perfect volume, greater waiter

Tags: Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Beautiful restaurant with wonderful guitar playing in the background. Wish I could say it for the food. I ordered the eggs Benedict and have never seen such a small amount of smoked salmon on a plate. One thin slice of salmon that could hardly been seen or tasted. They should be ashamed to serve it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 12, 2017

The attention to detail of the dining experience was fantastic. Michael the waiter was phenomenal. Michael was there at every moment without every having to wave him down. If I could rate Michael higher than 10 I would give him a 20.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Afternoon Coffee, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Growing up on French cuisine (parents from France), I was disappointed with the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 5, 2017

As I specified in my OpenTable reservation, it was a special occasion- our wedding anniversary dinner, but the staff did not seem to notice or give us any more of a romantic table. Instead, we were sat at the table by the cold entrance, the hot heater along the windows, and the hostess stand where newcomers wait for a table. I asked for another table but they said there were none. Our server, Devon, was extremely pleasant but his menu knowledge could be improved. We ordered the roasted lamb loin and the salmon and shrimp risotto. Both dishes came out looking small just as French food should, but very filling and satisfying. The flavor combinations used by the chef are not amateur, they are practiced and perfected. The only complaint is that the amount of fat on the lamb was slightly higher than I would have liked. The old fashioned on their cocktail list was high in liquor content but did not taste like it which is how you know the craft was not just thrown together, it was extremely smooth. I ordered a champagne, which I appreciate Devon coming back out to refill my glass when it was getting low. He always had an eye on his tables but did not bombard us with questions or constantly asking if we needed anything. For dessert, we had the Parisian almond cake with strawberry compote since the creme brulee that was raved about online was sold out. We stayed for about 2.5 hours and did not feel rushed. Our check was exactly what we expected so no surprises there. Overall, everything was wonderful and I was excited to try a new restaurant with the love of my life. Can't wait to go back to sit downstairs in the jazz cafe.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Second time at Paris Bistro. Very enjoyable. Service and food solid. Four of us. A surprising stand out was the green salad. One of the best, simple, fresh salads I've had. Oysters were perfectly shucked. Could have been colder, though. Trout, salmon, confit and Bourguignon were our entrees. All very good. Tarte tatin was very tasty. Coffee arrived cold. Server fixed quickly. Great value, atmosphere and noise level was perfect- felt the energy but could easily converse. Will return!

Tags: Hot Spot, Fun, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Never had a bad meal or experience at Paris bistro. .
Staff provide great service experience every time.
Chef/Owner Ted is fabulous, meals are fresh,
prepared to perfection and ambiance is fun and alive.
Jazz cafe is unique and talent performing there is first-rate,
perfect for an intimate date night, or get together with music -loving friends.

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Fun, Bar Seating, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We just discovered this neighborhood gem!
Great food and ambiance
Jazz club in basement
Check it out; you won't regret it

We will go back soon!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 3, 2017

We love this place! We've been there twice, and the service is consistently excellent. The food is superb. The staff is friendly and knowledgeable. We can't recommend it enough. Make your reservation! Thank you!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Food is consistently wonderful and the staff very attentive and accommodating

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Afternoon Tea, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.