About Paris Bistro - Chestnut Hill

8229 Germantown Ave., Building A
Philadelphia, PA 19118
View Larger Map

Located in the middle of Philadelphia's charming Chestnut Hill neighborhood, Paris Bistro has made quite a splash since it opened in late January 2014. The setting and food are authentic bistro - the crowd is lively and the menu is reminiscent of the many bistros that dot Paris' arrondissement. Downstairs, the jazz cafe features the area's best talent playing a mixture of standards, Great American Songbook classics and music from the Jazz Era of the early 1900's. Make an evening of it with reservations for dinner upstairs and a jazz set after (seating in the cafe is on a first-come, first-seated basis).

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Monday - Thursday & Sunday 5:00-10:00PM
Dinner Friday & Saturday 5:00-11:00PM
Lunch Monday-Friday 11:30AM-2:00PM
Sunday Brunch 10:30AM-2:00PM
Happy Hour Monday -Friday 4:00Pm-6:00PM

Cross Street:
Southampton Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 242-6200

Website:
http://www.parisbistro.net/

Entertainment:
Live Jazz Thursday through Sunday evenings.
Thursday, Friday, Saturday Open 6:00- Close 12:00 Midnight
Set times 7:00, 8:30 &10:00 PM
Open Sunday 5:00-11:00 PM
Set times 6:00, 7:30 & 9:00 PM
$5 entertainment charge (unless otherwise noted)
No reservations - first-come, first-seated in the cafe








Parking Details:
Complimentary parking provided in Chestnut Hill Hotel parking lot (access on Southampton Avenue).
Additional metered street parking available on Germantown Avenue and side streets.

Public Transit:
SEPTA Route 23 Bus

SEPTA Regional Rail Chestnut East or Chestnut Hill West lines

Executive Chef:
Chef Al Paris

Private Party Facilities:
Paris Bistro will transport you to another time and place with its 1920s style decor and authentic French bistro fare. Parties of 20-70 can be accommodated for lunch, dinner and weekend brunches. Live jazz is an option for those who wish to add that extra something to their private gathering.

Private Party Contact:
Lauren: 2152426200

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
3 Course Regional French Prix Fixe Menu Available Wednesday Nights $25
3 Course Prix Fixe Sunday Brunch $24.95

Restaurant Photos

Paris Bistro - Chestnut Hill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

neighborhood gem (133)
fit for foodies (110)
special occasion (77)
See All
great for brunch (57)
romantic (56)
great for lunch (44)
good for groups (37)
vibrant bar scene (35)
notable wine list (31)
hot spot (28)
late-night find (27)
great for outdoor dining (14)
kid-friendly (10)
scenic view (8)
 (2)
 (2)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
654 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

So Parisian

Dined 3 days ago

What a wonderful place to spend your birthday. Our server was a doll. I must say that the bread pudding was better than any I tasted in New Orleans. We have eaten at Paris many times especially and this restaurant is always accomdating.

Tags: great for brunch, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a delicious dinner in a new town.

Dined 4 days ago

We enjoyed dinner so much we went back for lunch the next day on our mini-vacation. The service was delightful. I would highly recommend this place.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a wonderful place to have a great meal

vip
Dined on May 23, 2016

Beautiful location with great service and delicious food. Highly recommended always!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

very gracious staff. one of our party wa ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

very gracious staff. one of our party was called onto work and they were very accomodating with doggie bags. the food was delicious, and i enjoyed a delicious glass of rose wine. will definitely return for an uninterrupted meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Another wonderful experience at Paris Bi ...

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

Another wonderful experience at Paris Bistro. The food was excellent and the music was outstanding, as usual. Other than the waiter spilling oyster juice all over my wife (with no reparations) the service was good too!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful meal !

Dined on May 21, 2016

My husband and I have been wanting to dine here for a very long time. We certainly were not disappointed . Our apps were amazing. The Escargot and crab and Avacado salad were prepared to perfection ! It was very busy , therefore a bit loud , however an amazing overall experience. We will be back !

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Nice ambience, great food. The crabcake ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Nice ambience, great food. The crabcakes were to die for. We took in the 10 pm jazz show after eating and really enjoyed it! Great live music in a nice, local venue. We will definitely come back!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

The menu is interesting and what we ate ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

The menu is interesting and what we ate was very good, but the service was spotty: waiting 40 minutes or so before receiving any food (we ordered an appetizer) should not be considered acceptable. eemed

Tags: fit for foodies
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

Agonizingly slow service and a noise lev ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

Agonizingly slow service and a noise level high enough to spoil the meal.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent

Dined on May 15, 2016

Brunch was fantastic. We enjoyed every course of the prix fixe brunch.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Paris Bistro is a great spot. The upstai ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Paris Bistro is a great spot. The upstairs is a bar/restaurant and the downstairs is a jazz club with two shows on the Sat. I went with a friend. The upstairs was a little noisy, but when I asked the hostess to put our name in for the next jazz show, they suggested we move downstairs to hear the early show. The downstairs and a cool vibe, had the feel of a throwback jazz club. Lots of interesting folks at the smaller downstairs bar, and there was a fun festive crowd that night. The act was great and the food was awesome. Our waiter Miles did a great job with explaining the history of the place (the owner is named Paris and is a longtime restaurateur. We had the crab cakes (they were excellent and were the same recipe George Perrier used at Le Bec Fin) and the sea bass. Both were tremendous. Solid wine list although be prepared to pay the customary markup and a little more for some bottles. Would definitely recommend this for foodies and for romantic special nights or just to hear some jazz in a cool setting. Will definitely return.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience4
service2

Indifferent service. Undercooked streak ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Indifferent service. Undercooked streak. Over salted some of the food. Did a poor job correcting issues. Did nicely in taking one dish off the bill in compensation.

food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Girlfriends birthday dinner

vip
Dined on May 11, 2016

Everyone was very happy with their meal. One person said it was the best salmon they every ate. The Wednesday night 3-course dinner was quite a good value. We definitely were not rushed.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

It was like stepping into an actual Pari ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

It was like stepping into an actual Paris bistro! So quaint!

food3
ambience5
service4
value3

A bit disappointed

Dined on May 9, 2016

I was a part of a 10 person luncheon, celebrating a BIRTHDAY. When I spoke to the person who answers the phone, I specifically asked about cake. I was informed that they have cake and would be happy to supply a candle for the traditional song. NO CAKE. I could have brought one if I only knew. Candle was put in a lemon "thing". Food and service were good. The table looked nice when we came in. Only problem, no cake.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

Cute spot with slow service

Dined on May 8, 2016

Came here for Mother's Day Brunch, special prix fixe menu. Food was outstanding. Service was slow even though the restaurant did not seem overly busy (2pm). We were seated for 20 min before anyone came to even offer a drink. Then another 20+ minutes before a basket of bread was offered. It is a cute spot with some outdoor seating, so I would still come back and try it again.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Good foo, great service.

Dined on May 7, 2016

The food was very good, but portions were medium in size. I expected a little more grub for the price. The service was outstanding. Great ambiance.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Great meal in a local French bistro. Enj ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Great meal in a local French bistro. Enjoy!!

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent find. We will be back!

vip
Dined on May 3, 2016

Excellent find. We will be back!

food5
ambience5
service5

Sunday brunch Was excellent Escargot. Lo ...

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

Sunday brunch Was excellent Escargot. Lobster bisque. Fresh fruit. Eggs Benedict with salmon. Everything on the pricefx menu was prepared fresh to order. Love guitar music just topped off the experience perfectly

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a Great Spot !

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

Excellent food with a menu with plenty of selections. Also a fun place. Our server was knowledgable and helpful. We were five people and had a great time.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary

Dined on April 30, 2016

Our choice for celebrating our anniversary. I would recommend this place over and over.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

Mixed review

Dined on April 29, 2016

Our server was very distracted. On 2 occasions he walked away from the table while we still were talking and had more questions. He seemed rushed and/or indifferent to our needs. The food was good, but not outstanding and therefore overpriced. There were 4 of us and we each tried each others meals. The steak frite was the best over the chicken and salmon. Nice ambiance and not too loud. Was able to have conversation with my group. I might return...would like to try downstairs with music.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Neighborhood Gem

Dined on April 29, 2016

Food was prepared by a skill culinary team. Service was notable. Ambiance was inviting. Staff was gracious and helpful.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

great food, great service

Dined on April 28, 2016

Really enjoyed the food here and had great service!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Service and food off a bit a recent lunch

vip
Dined on April 28, 2016

Waitstaff almost MIA at recent lunch. Had to flag them over for drink order, to get some bread for the table, etc. Niscoise also missing some ingredients. This is a nice spot for lunch and dinner but there needs to be better attending to service, etc. even at a mid-week lunch time.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Neighborhood Jem

Dined on April 27, 2016

We were fortunate enough to go on a Wednesday evening and take advantage of the prix fixe special. The entree was delicious and the appetizer and dessert basically for free was an added bonus.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Lively bistro with great food

Dined on April 24, 2016

The dining room has a lively bistro atmosphere. Our fish was absolutely fresh and deliciously prepared, and the special-of-the-day seafood crepe (there are a few specials to keep things from getting boring for regulars) was outstanding. Service was flawless, from "welcome" to "thank you".

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Pleasant & fun après concert dinner

Dined on April 24, 2016

My wife and I went to a late afternoon concert in Chestnut Hill, and after scouring Google Maps from Manayunk to Conshohocken, picked Paris Bistro when we saw it is BYO on Sunday evening. We had reservations for 7:00, but when we arrived at 6:15, expecting to wait a while at the bar, they seated us right away. We started with one of our favorite appetizers, Moules (Mussels) Marinières. The special part of this dish is the sauce of mussel juice, wine, herbs, and cream. We could have made a meal sopping up the delicious stuff with baguette, but we took some home to add to my wife's current batch of seafood chowder. I had a nice soup, but as it was billed as Lobster Bisque, I wished it had had more lobster and less Old Bay. My wife had the Cauliflower & Comté Custard, which is a mild, pleasant custard with interesting bits of curried cauliflower garnish. We both like duck, so we had the Duck a L'Orange. The duck breast was like a tenderloin, juicy, tender, and mouthfilling; it wasn't overwhelmed by the orange sauce, but it wasn't very . . . um . . . ducky tasting. My wife enjoyed the Parisian Almond Cake for dessert, and I had a good cup of decaf coffee (the espresso machine was out of order). The ambiance is pleasant and relaxing but not boring. There was background music, but the overall noise level allowed a normal conversation, and the tables are far enough apart to provide reasonable privacy. The service was excellent. Our server was attentive without hovering, and the service staff as they moved continually and briskly among the tables enlivened the setting. The waiters were dressed in traditional bistro style—white shirt, apron, and bow tie—while the waitresses' style was individual and expressive, from simply attractive to almost exotic. In sum, we had a pleasant evening and will be returning, but we have to say that the food is good and well prepared, but the recipes often lack a special zing that makes one really take notice.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Staff

Dined on April 24, 2016

Staff was friendly & attentive. Had a pleasant experience.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Paris in Philadelphia

Dined on April 24, 2016

Having been to Paris, France, twice in the past 5 years, I can say with some authority that the atmosphere , ambience, decor are all reminiscent of the real Paris. The service was excellent, the 3 course prix fixe a great value, and with my wife and I each ordering different things, I can say that all six items were excellent. As Philly residents we will definitely be back.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

When you are in the mood for French Food

vip
Dined on April 22, 2016

Wonderful service, lots of Classic French dishes that hit the spot: the dishes are quite good, not great or transcendent, and actually pretty well priced. No kids menu but they can offer many desirable options for youngish children. Comfortable and pretty and noise levels moderate; you can converse without screaming.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Authentically French

Dined on April 21, 2016

This deliciously delightful experience transports one to the cafes of Paris for an evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Food, atmosphere and service GREAT!

Dined on April 17, 2016

I wish I could remember our servers name. She was fantastic! She was attentive but not overly so. Friendly and knowledgable. Prices were a little high but we were celebrating so we got drinks, salads, cheese platter ,our meal and dessert and coffee so I guess it was going to add up. We will return. Had a great time.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

Slow and inattentive service. Two of us ...

Dined on April 10, 2016

Slow and inattentive service. Two of us had the same entree..one hot ( and over cooked),the other almost cold. Nothing memorable about the food. Best part of the dinner was the wine and the oysters..bits of shell and all. Won't be returning.

food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Seemless Excellence

Dined on April 9, 2016

My wife and I have now dined at Paris Bistro twice. On both occasions, our experience was first rate, from service to ambience to wine selection to appetizers to entrees, without a sour note anywhere along the way. We will be returning soon!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Nice Find!

Dined on April 8, 2016

The food was fantastic! Have eaten @ Paris several times and it never disappoints!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Monday night out

Dined on April 4, 2016

We went on a Monday night to enjoy buck a shuck oysters and and dinner. The drinks were generous, and the Cape May oysters were delicious, as was the roast pork crepe of the day.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Bistro

vip
Dined on April 1, 2016

Have eaten there many times an it always lives up to very high expectations . Have not tried brunch but plan to soon We continue to recommend Paris Bistro

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Salmon dinner is a must

Dined on April 1, 2016

The salmon dinner was the best I ever had. The taste was just right along with the veggies. Foodies - this plate is straight from master chief.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.