About Paris 66

6018 Centre Avenue
Pittsburgh, PA 15206
View Larger Map

Enter Paris 66 and you will immediately feel transported to a French Bistro down to the last detail. This upscale, award-winning haven is not only a "family affair" – exclusively owned & operated with love by doting duo Frederic and Lori Rongier – but it is also that rare combination of worlds - intimate and inviting, yet appropriate for both special occasions & casual get-togethers. We bring a menu of everyday French culinary classics by offering up the perfect marriage of local/organic sensibilities with French influences & techniques. A superb wine list invites and ensures you to find the most perfect wine to pair with the delicious flavors created in the open kitchen. Sip our signature cocktail from the sidewalk terrace in the warmer months or enjoy our perennially popular heated patio in the rear. And of course, no visit is complete without a taste of one of the artistically masterful and masterfully artistic delectable creations of Master Pastry Chef David Piquard. Bon Appétit!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 5:00pm; Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
S. Highland Ave.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 404-8166

Website:
http://www.paris66bistro.com/

Parking Details:
Street Parking and Discounted Private Lot In Rear. Complimentary Valet Parking Every Friday & Saturday Night From 5:00 PM - Close.

Public Transit:
Most major bus lines

Executive Chef:
Giuseppe Di Gristina

Private Party Facilities:
Paris 66 can accommodate private parties of up to 35 guests (options available for larger groups.) Our heated patio is a lovely setting for rehearsal dinners, baby showers, graduations, birthdays, and anniversaries. Food and beverage minimums apply; deposit required.

Private Party Contact:
Lori Rongier or Mark Towers: 4124048166

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

white asparagus
Filet Mignon
Plateau Campagnard
Entrecote
Macarons
Chocolate Mousse
La Marseillaise
Roasted Chicken
Savory Crepes
Creme Brulee
Quiche Lorraine
La Paris 66 Buckwheat Crepe
Shrimp Pasta
Endive And Beet Salad
Moules Frites
Chicken Milanese

Paris 66 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Pittsburgh
Best Restaurants in Shadyside ›

Special Occasion (50)
Romantic (47)
Fit for Foodies (44)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (42)
Great for Lunch (23)
Great for Brunch (23)
Notable Wine List (20)
Great for Outdoor Dining (16)
Good for Groups (9)
Late-night Find (8)
Kid-friendly (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Sort By:
Newest
801 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our server made the meal. She was conge ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 6 days ago

Our server made the meal. She was congenial, made great suggestions and her timing was perfect. The place is intimate - reminiscent of Paris or a great neighborhood NYC cafe. The foie gras left us wanting more. The cheese selection was excellent and the creme brulee was a standout. The food is very traditional French bistro fare. Try not to sit right beside the kitchen.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The best duck in Pittsburgh and beyond. ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

The best duck in Pittsburgh and beyond. Also , how waiter also has excellent wine suggestions. The food is always delicious and perfectly prepared.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Fantastic service and excellent food! We ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined 6 days ago

Fantastic service and excellent food! We went two days in a row (during Pittsburgh restaurant week), and the staff remembered us and even remembered what we ordered the first night when giving us recommendations on the second day.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service is always very special, as the s ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Service is always very special, as the servers are very knowledgeable and have a French background. Truly authentic. Food and wine are very good, but get your server's input to pick just the special items for you. Feel comfortable lingering, as it is such a comfortable environment.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Absolutely love this place! The service ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Absolutely love this place! The service staff is extremely friendly and helpful and the food is delicious- very authentic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always an amazing experience. We love ev ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Always an amazing experience. We love everything about this place. Nothing less than perfect

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely delicious! Small place. You ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Absolutely delicious! Small place. You sit right next to other people, so very little privacy. Ambiance feels like you are really in Paris, France. Accent included. Bit pricey, but worth the value.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The ambiance of this place was great, bu ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

The ambiance of this place was great, but the noise level was unblievable and the service was slow.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

It was sooooo good! It felt like I was i ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

It was sooooo good! It felt like I was in France! I can't wait to go back again :-)

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was perfect. Tasted so good

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The food was perfect. Tasted so good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband and I dined at Paris 66 to ce ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

My husband and I dined at Paris 66 to celebrate our first anniversary, and we loved it! I had a salad and shrimp with linguini and he had the filet. Both meals were excellent; his beer and my wine were also very good. The waitress was pleasant and everything was served in a timely manner. We also loved the bread that came with our meals. I would absolutely dine here again and recommend it to friends!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The waitress gave great customer service ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The waitress gave great customer service and attention to my table. She was very knowledgable of the food. This was the first time there for brunch. A very pleasant experience. Had dinner there before and will continue in the future. The waitress we had was excellent ar her craft. I look for service on all levels being an Executive HR professional!

Columbus C. Brooks

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Had a very lovely birthday date at Paris ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Had a very lovely birthday date at Paris 66. Fantastic service, delicious food, and a very nice atmosphere on the back patio.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Two friends and myself are headed to Par ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Two friends and myself are headed to Paris in September and wanted to try the cuisine ahead of time. Such an amazing dinner! Our server was amazing. Very friendly, French gentleman who gave us SO many pointers and recommendations for our trip. Very helpful and even gave us complimentary macarons to "give us something to look forward to." I am even more excited for my trip now all because of our dinner experience and our server! Merci!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was excellent, service also excelle ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Food was excellent, service also excellent, not the greatest ambiance but taste of the food makes up for lack of ambiance

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

I spend a lot of time in Paris and I am ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

I spend a lot of time in Paris and I am so happy that Pittsburgh has Paris 66. When I miss the City of Light, I go there for wonderful food and great ambience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

A lovely time. I was waiting for my frie ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

A lovely time.

I was waiting for my friend and I had to ask for water and a glass of wine.

The waitress who is lovely said she was waiting for my friend to arrive.

We both had the L'Ocean salad which was beautifully presented and delicious.

The remaining service was excellent- friendly, knowledgeable and she helped me with my terrible French.

Ambiance is charming.

You are walking into A Paris bistro.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

The food was excellent. We started with ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The food was excellent. We started with a buckwheat crepe and followed this with the rabbit and steak. We finished with a chocolate mouse. We ate on the back deck which had a lovely breeze but was a tad too brightly lit. Our service was prompt but not pushy. Truly a lovely meal in an oasis on center avenue.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Went with friends to celebrate anniversa ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Went with friends to celebrate anniversary. Very good food. Nice atmosphere. Quiet, maybe could have used some music. Our waiter was very good...friendly, attentive, helpful. Enjoyable evening.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Impeccable service and excellent food, a ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Impeccable service and excellent food, as usual! The best place to celebrate Jour de la Bastille!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great evening spent celebrating Bastille ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Great evening spent celebrating Bastille Day and a wedding anniversary. Loved the special menu and the great service by the wait staff.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

As always an exquisite meal and ambience ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

As always an exquisite meal and ambience that takes me back to my trips to France and becomes a very sensory experience. The aromas, tastes, quiet sounds, lovely decor and the anticipation of each bite satisfies the soul.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful little French bistro in Pittsb ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Wonderful little French bistro in Pittsburgh. The wait staff was wonderful and speak French if you do, and if not, English is fine. The food was among the best I ever have had.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I really enjoyed this restaurant . I hop ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

I really enjoyed this restaurant . I hope they keep the quality up.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fairly authentic French dining. Outstand ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Fairly authentic French dining. Outstanding food. More casual than most French restaurants in the US.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We used to dine here a lot, and this was ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

We used to dine here a lot, and this was our first visit back in a couple of years. The food was mediocre, and the service, although attentive and friendly, was pretty slow. I would return for appetizers and maybe desert, but not a full meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

I had my heart set on escargots. They w ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

I had my heart set on escargots. They were good, but not exceptional - needed a bit more salt and garlic for me. The lapin a la moutard was very salty and overcooked, a bit disappointing as I expected it to be brighter. Others with me enjoyed their dinners, and I looked with envy at the shrimp and linguini dish of another. We did not have have dessert or wines, so no comment on those. Nice place. I am not sure but I am not sure I would repeat it. We sat on the patio and had a pleasant evening out together.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

Dining at Paris 66 made me feel like I'd ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Dining at Paris 66 made me feel like I'd taken an effortless trip to France--well, except for the exceptionally outgoing and friendly staff. Dinner was very tasty and the atmosphere was appealing too.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Liver was slathered with an undesirable ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Liver was slathered with an undesirable sauce. Steak was not good. Portion of potato gratin was too small. Mousse was cold. Onion soup was not bad but was odd. Whipped potatoes were nothing special. For great whipped potatoes call Original Joe's in San Francisco for their recipe.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

One of the best meals I have ever eaten. ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

One of the best meals I have ever eaten. The service was outstanding: attentive without being intrusive, clear answers to our questions, and our server did not blanche when I attempted, very poorly, to speak French. I highly recommend this truly French gem!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

What a memorable evening! Great food -- ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

What a memorable evening! Great food -- and really nice wines. Server Renaud did an admirable job (and was very complimentary about my French!). Highly recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious, as usual, and ou ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

The food was delicious, as usual, and our server was very knowledgeable and accommodating for the person in our group who had some special requests.

This is a great French restaurant!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We recently celebrated a friend's birthd ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

We recently celebrated a friend's birthday at Paris 66. Our waiter was polite, knowledgeable,

and very accommodating. He surprised our birthday girl with a special dessert plate with a sparkler in the center. Made her day!!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Will definitely return.

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

What a delight!! We were a large group, ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

What a delight!! We were a large group, seated outdoors on a beautiful night. There was not much that we didn't try! Excellent calf liver, roast duck, and venison stew.

The service was attentive and gracious but never fussy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Pleasant

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Love the outdoor space, and overall ambiance. Excellent and attentive service. Mussel preps enjoyable. Arugula salad was plentiful but greens seemed a bit old and could have been refreshed with ice water. Only big bummer are the overpriced wines. Still, a fun place overall!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Might go back

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

I lived in France for two years so I truly enjoyed the décor and ambience of the restaurant--spot on. The food was very good. The service was quite poor. We were on the back deck which was nice but it was so quiet it was uncomfortable. I actually pulled out my iPhone and put French Café Music on which help to create a better atmosphere (recommend the restaurant consider music). I'll go back but if the service is as poor a second time, I will not recommend/return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Great food for the most part.

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

Fine food, our second time there. Fois gras was a bit slow, and then a combo of parts were warm, and parts were cold. Server was wonderfully friendly, but forgot the espresso...Overall food was just fine for a birthday celebration. Big portions so server boxed our leftovers very nicely.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

The ambiance is perfect, creative and de ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

The ambiance is perfect, creative and delicious cuisine, and the service is exactly as you'd want it to be - not too much so we weren't bothered, but always had what we needed. A gem!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Quality Dining

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

It is difficult to impress Mediterraneans, but the food was delicious. Good ingredients. Surprisingly large portions, too. The waiter was a hoot with tons of personality who forced us to practice our 8th grade French. Great meal overall.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.