About Paris 66

6018 Centre Avenue
Pittsburgh, PA 15206
View Larger Map

Enter Paris 66 and you will immediately feel transported to a French Bistro down to the last detail. This upscale, award-winning haven is not only a "family affair" – exclusively owned & operated with love by doting duo Frederic and Lori Rongier – but it is also that rare combination of worlds - intimate and inviting, yet appropriate for both special occasions & casual get-togethers. We bring a menu of everyday French culinary classics by offering up the perfect marriage of local/organic sensibilities with French influences & techniques. A superb wine list invites and ensures you to find the most perfect wine to pair with the delicious flavors created in the open kitchen. Sip our signature cocktail from the sidewalk terrace in the warmer months or enjoy our perennially popular heated patio in the rear. And of course, no visit is complete without a taste of one of the artistically masterful and masterfully artistic delectable creations of Master Pastry Chef David Piquard. Bon Appétit!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 5:00pm; Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
S. Highland Ave.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 404-8166

Website:
http://www.paris66bistro.com/

Parking Details:
Street Parking and Discounted Private Lot In Rear. Complimentary Valet Parking Every Friday & Saturday Night From 5:00 PM - Close.

Public Transit:
Most major bus lines

Executive Chef:
Giuseppe Di Gristina

Private Party Facilities:
Paris 66 can accommodate private parties of up to 35 guests (options available for larger groups.) Our heated patio is a lovely setting for rehearsal dinners, baby showers, graduations, birthdays, and anniversaries. Food and beverage minimums apply; deposit required.

Private Party Contact:
Lori Rongier or Mark Towers: 4124048166

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

white asparagus
Plateau Campagnard
Filet Mignon
Entrecote
Macarons
Chocolate Mousse
La Marseillaise
Roasted Chicken
Savory Crepes
Creme Brulee
Quiche Lorraine
La Paris 66 Buckwheat Crepe
Shrimp Pasta
Endive And Beet Salad
Moules Frites
Chicken Milanese

Paris 66 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

special occasion (44)
fit for foodies (43)
neighborhood gem (42)
See All
romantic (39)
notable wine list (22)
great for lunch (20)
great for brunch (19)
great for outdoor dining (11)
good for groups (8)
late-night find (5)
hot spot (3)
kid-friendly (3)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
771 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a memorable evening! Great food -- ...

Dined 4 days ago

What a memorable evening! Great food -- and really nice wines. Server Renaud did an admirable job (and was very complimentary about my French!). Highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious, as usual, and ou ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

The food was delicious, as usual, and our server was very knowledgeable and accommodating for the person in our group who had some special requests. This is a great French restaurant!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We recently celebrated a friend's birthd ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

We recently celebrated a friend's birthday at Paris 66. Our waiter was polite, knowledgeable, and very accommodating. He surprised our birthday girl with a special dessert plate with a sparkler in the center. Made her day!!

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Will definitely return.

Dined on June 11, 2016

Will definitely return.

food5
ambience5
service5

What a delight!! We were a large group, ...

Dined on June 9, 2016

What a delight!! We were a large group, seated outdoors on a beautiful night. There was not much that we didn't try! Excellent calf liver, roast duck, and venison stew. The service was attentive and gracious but never fussy!

food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Pleasant

vip
Dined on June 8, 2016

Love the outdoor space, and overall ambiance. Excellent and attentive service. Mussel preps enjoyable. Arugula salad was plentiful but greens seemed a bit old and could have been refreshed with ice water. Only big bummer are the overpriced wines. Still, a fun place overall!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Might go back

Dined on June 7, 2016

I lived in France for two years so I truly enjoyed the décor and ambience of the restaurant--spot on. The food was very good. The service was quite poor. We were on the back deck which was nice but it was so quiet it was uncomfortable. I actually pulled out my iPhone and put French Café Music on which help to create a better atmosphere (recommend the restaurant consider music). I'll go back but if the service is as poor a second time, I will not recommend/return.

food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Great food for the most part.

Dined on June 7, 2016

Fine food, our second time there. Fois gras was a bit slow, and then a combo of parts were warm, and parts were cold. Server was wonderfully friendly, but forgot the espresso...Overall food was just fine for a birthday celebration. Big portions so server boxed our leftovers very nicely.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

The ambiance is perfect, creative and de ...

Dined on June 6, 2016

The ambiance is perfect, creative and delicious cuisine, and the service is exactly as you'd want it to be - not too much so we weren't bothered, but always had what we needed. A gem!

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Quality Dining

Dined on June 4, 2016

It is difficult to impress Mediterraneans, but the food was delicious. Good ingredients. Surprisingly large portions, too. The waiter was a hoot with tons of personality who forced us to practice our 8th grade French. Great meal overall.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Very attentive/entertaining wait staff

Dined on June 1, 2016

Went there for dinner with a 13 and 8 year old. Food was wonderful and the waiter was a great educator of the French language. Very entertaining throughout. Save space for the outstanding desserts!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Again and again

Dined on May 31, 2016

Have been here often, usually for lunch. My prior reviews have always said that I consider it a neighborhood gem. The best part is that they are reliably consistent. I've often brought people for the first time and they have ALWAYS left with the desire to return!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We dined early to ensure a quiet meal. ...

Dined on May 30, 2016

We dined early to ensure a quiet meal. It was perfect. The food was excellent and the server was very pleasant and helpful. I will return.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Dining Experience

Dined on May 21, 2016

Paris 66 is an authentic French bistro. The menu offers a variety of dishes for any pallet and they are all wonderfully prepared. Most of the wait staff are French so if you need to practice your French language skills have at it. My wife speaks the language and had a great time conversing with our waitress. (They all speak fluent English for us language challenged individuals) They create a wonderful ambiance to the restaurant which enhances the dining experience. This is the second time I have dined at Paris 66 and both times the food and overall dining experience were excellent.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was so amazing - large portions ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

The food was so amazing - large portions too! Our waitress was very friendly and always anticipated our needs. I can't wait to go back!

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great brunch spot and great service.

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

Great brunch spot and great service.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Memorable geniality accompanied by effic ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Memorable geniality accompanied by efficient service made our late-night meal the best evening during our visit to Pittsburgh. Classic dishes--Blanquette de Veau, shrimp bisque, steak frites, and crepes--were EXACTLY what they should be. Next time we're in town, shall reserve at least one night at Paris 66.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

One our our favorite restaurants to visi ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

One our our favorite restaurants to visit in Pittsburgh. Get there three to four times a year and always try to find time in the schedule for a meal at Paris 66.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Just a nice anniversary out. Food was t ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Just a nice anniversary out. Food was traditional French. We had Savory and sweet crepes, veal stew, duck al'orange, meat and cheese tray. Server was a french speaking manager (we think). Table of octagenarians next to us had a long conversation (read 'complaint) about too many potatoes in the veal stew. She handled them with grace and professionalism. I would have picked up their check and told them never to return. Go when it's warm so you can sit outside. The Kronenbourg and Sauvignon Blance were yummy too.

Tags: neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Some of the menu items should have a bet ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Some of the menu items should have a better description. Our friends did not understand the item they ordered and were disapp.ointed in its preparation

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Incroyable!!

Dined on May 13, 2016

Paris 66 is the only restaurant in the city that transports you to the heart of France. The menu, the ambiance, the service...everything is perfect. We've been regulars for a long time and don't plan on stopping anytime soon. In fact, we already have reservations for this Sunday night's Pays de la Loire event, and can't wait. Oh...and thank you as always Renaud, for making each visit a special one.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Très bien

Dined on May 8, 2016

Excellent Mothers' Day brunch. Everything was very fresh and flavorful.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Mother's Day success

Dined on May 8, 2016

Although I usually avoid going out Mothers' Day because of crowded venues and rushed meals, I did to Paris 66 because of a family gathering of cousins from LA, Buffalo, Erie and Pittsburgh and because I had had a terrific dinner in December 2015. We 11 (with reservations) had a relaxed brunch and fine wine. MarieElise was just as efficient as in December-same waitress. Superb food-quiches, crepes, bakery items. An all around good time.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our second time here and it liv ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

This was our second time here and it lived up to my memory. We will be back again!

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

One of my go to places

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

I have always enjoyed the food here. seems authentic to me, but I'm not an expert.

Tags: great for brunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

Outstanding

food5
ambience5
service5

We love this place! Our French waiter is ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

We love this place! Our French waiter is so great...very knowledgeable and entertaining.

food3
ambience5
service5

Some food was delicious, some was medioc ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

Some food was delicious, some was mediocre. The escargot was great, as was the cheese and meat appetizer. I'm no expert on French cuisine, but to me the filet was incredibly bland. The sauce was OK, but maybe that's how filet is prepared in France. That being said, the potato and cauliflower gratin was tasty, and the green beans were cooked perfectly. The wait staff was very friendly. When my mom, who was visiting, told the server she didn't like the skate, they took it off the bill and gave her gazpacho instead. I thought that was totally awesome of them!

food5
ambience5
service5

Parking was easy, using the garage behin ...

Dined on April 21, 2016

Parking was easy, using the garage behind the restaurant for a flat $5. We were immediately greeted when we entered and were offered our choice of seats. The staff was excellent and was genuinely excited to share a French experience with you, gladly answering any and all questions. The food was absolutely delicious! The neighborhood was pleasant and we enjoyed a nice walk afterward. I heartily recommend Paris 66 to anyone interested in French cuisine or simply a special evening.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Real food, real service.

Dined on April 16, 2016

It was a treat to have french speaking staff at the restaurant. The tables by the restrooms lack that cozy feeling, but I guess someone has to sit there. It's a small place. Make your reservation early.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A Very Good and friendly Bistro

Dined on April 16, 2016

We like Paris 66 a lot and our visit last Saturday generally very good. Our only problem was that the couple at the table next to ours were visited by friends and both couples stood and chatted for about almost ten minutes. Since the tables on the porch are so close together, they might as well have been sitting at our table and it got to be annoying. The behavior of these folks was certainly not a fault of the restaurant and when finally I politely asked them lower their voice, they did and moved on. What otherwise would have been delightful dinner for two was somewhat spoiled by this incident. So, if you want a quiet intimate dinner, I suggest getting seated inside where there is a bit more space around the tables, rather than on the porch. All that said, the food and service were, as always, excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We really enjoyed our experience here. I ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

We really enjoyed our experience here. I loved our waiter; he provided the perfect amount of unobtrusive attention.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Disappointed

vip
Dined on April 8, 2016

Somehow, the concept of Paris 66, that of a Parisian bistro serving traditional "country" French fare, is better than the actual experience. I've had good meals there and I've had so-so meals there, and last night was so-so. Cassoulet should be a signature dish for this bistro. I've had it many times, in many places, even France, and this cassoulet was memorable for its blandness. Dry, tasteless sausage and duck leg, and the beans, far from being creamy and tasty, seemed undercooked and bland. Maybe a little more time cooking and a little less time under a heat lamp? This was definitely not worth $39. My wife ordered the entre-cote, and we ordered a Sancerre, a red Pinot Noir. Out came a white. The server was unaware there was such a thing as a red Sancerre. C'mon Paris 66! You can do better than that!

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

A Little of France in Pittsburgh

Dined on April 8, 2016

This is one of our favorite restaurants in the Pittsburgh area. It has a true French flavor to it. Our server was French and very charming. Like most French restaurants it is a place to relax and to take the time to enjoy the food and the wine. The food is excellent and the desserts are wonderful. A must try!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Very accommodating.

Dined on April 1, 2016

We had a large party of 12 and the restaurant was very accommodating about giving us separate checks. We had only one waitress (with a trainee in tow) who was also responsible for many other tables, but she gave superb service. She never wrote down our orders for drinks or food, but she got everything right! She was very knowledgeable about the menu and answered all questions very capably. Food quality was very good and all in our party were very pleased with what they had ordered.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

French gem

Dined on March 27, 2016

The food was excellent. The service was great. I am looking forward to going again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food. Great wine. Great service. O ...

Dined on March 26, 2016

Great food. Great wine. Great service. Our server Renaud was exceptional.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Delighted

Dined on March 22, 2016

I was simply delighted to visit "Paris 66" for the first time. I ordered the "special" of the evening, not to be disappointed. The food was cooked brilliantly. I ordered the filet mignon, it was cooked so well, and the sauce paired with the protein was DELICIOUS. I would strongly recommend making a visit to "Paris 66" in the near future.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We have been to Paris France and enjoyed ...

Dined on March 19, 2016

We have been to Paris France and enjoyed the food immensely. Paris 66 reminded us of that experience. Loved the food,staff and atmosphere. Would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

We love this place - each and every visi ...

Dined on March 18, 2016

We love this place - each and every visit is a pleasant escape and Renaud is the most attentive waiter we've ever had anywhere in the city , always makes us feel at home and even takes the time to hep us practice our French!

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.