About Paris 66

6018 Centre Avenue
Pittsburgh, PA 15206
View Larger Map

Enter Paris 66 and you will immediately feel transported to a French Bistro down to the last detail. This upscale, award-winning haven is not only a "family affair" – exclusively owned & operated with love by doting duo Frederic and Lori Rongier – but it is also that rare combination of worlds - intimate and inviting, yet appropriate for both special occasions & casual get-togethers. We bring a menu of everyday French culinary classics by offering up the perfect marriage of local/organic sensibilities with French influences & techniques. A superb wine list invites and ensures you to find the most perfect wine to pair with the delicious flavors created in the open kitchen. Sip our signature cocktail from the sidewalk terrace in the warmer months or enjoy our perennially popular heated patio in the rear. And of course, no visit is complete without a taste of one of the artistically masterful and masterfully artistic delectable creations of Master Pastry Chef David Piquard. Bon Appétit!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 5:00pm; Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
S. Highland Ave.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 404-8166

Website:
http://www.paris66bistro.com/

Parking Details:
Street Parking and Discounted Private Lot In Rear. Complimentary Valet Parking Every Friday & Saturday Night From 5:00 PM - Close.

Public Transit:
Most major bus lines

Executive Chef:
Giuseppe Di Gristina

Private Party Facilities:
Paris 66 can accommodate private parties of up to 35 guests (options available for larger groups.) Our heated patio is a lovely setting for rehearsal dinners, baby showers, graduations, birthdays, and anniversaries. Food and beverage minimums apply; deposit required.

Private Party Contact:
Lori Rongier or Mark Towers: 4124048166

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

white asparagus - Paris 66, Pittsburgh, PA
Filet Mignon - Paris 66, Pittsburgh, PA
Plateau Campagnard - Paris 66, Pittsburgh, PA
Entrecote - Paris 66, Pittsburgh, PA
Macarons - Paris 66, Pittsburgh, PA
Chocolate Mousse - Paris 66, Pittsburgh, PA
La Marseillaise - Paris 66, Pittsburgh, PA
Roasted Chicken - Paris 66, Pittsburgh, PA
Savory Crepes - Paris 66, Pittsburgh, PA
Creme Brulee - Paris 66, Pittsburgh, PA
Quiche Lorraine - Paris 66, Pittsburgh, PA
La Paris 66 Buckwheat Crepe - Paris 66, Pittsburgh, PA
Shrimp Pasta - Paris 66, Pittsburgh, PA
Endive And Beet Salad - Paris 66, Pittsburgh, PA
Moules Frites - Paris 66, Pittsburgh, PA
Chicken Milanese - Paris 66, Pittsburgh, PA

Paris 66 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Pittsburgh
Best Service
Pittsburgh
Best Restaurants in Shadyside ›

Special Occasion (31)
Good for a Date (26)
Romantic (26)
See All
Authentic (25)
Fit for Foodies (24)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Cozy (19)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Great for Lunch (15)
Notable Wine List (13)
Great for Brunch (13)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Casual (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Open Kitchen (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Fun (5)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Healthy (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Business Meals (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Seasonal (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Family Style (2)
People Watching (2)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Great Beer (1)
Historic (1)
Late-night Find (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
855 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Smallish place, we went for brunch. Mim ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 3 days ago

Smallish place, we went for brunch. Mimosa pitchers were great, we called ahead and had a pitcher waiting on our table for us.

3 of us got the steak , egg, and fries but the steak was more like a prime hamburger patty, so it felt more like we ate hamburger meat and fries for brunch. We weren't impressed with the steak dish. The crepes were pretty good but I don't think enough to bring us back for brunch.

The French onion soup was delicious though, we'd go back to try their dinner some time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Paris 66 is a very cute restaurant with ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 4 days ago

Paris 66 is a very cute restaurant with a nice ambiance. The wait staff are friendly and attentive. However, the meal was not impressive. We had the mussels and frites as an appetizer. The mussels were good but the white wine sauce was not terribly flavorful. We regularly get this dish at another restaurant and we fight over every last drop of the broth. Not this time, sadly. My husband had the duck and he felt that it was a bit overcooked and dry. I had the pasta with shrimp and it was fine but again, not terribly flavorful. I have friends who rave about this place, so maybe it was just an off night. It was a shame because we were really looking forward to celebrating our anniversary there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

After a long interval, we've now been to ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 4 days ago

After a long interval, we've now been to Paris 66 twice within a month. As noted regarding our previous visit, the food and service were first-rate. The ambience is apt for bistro dining, but the seating seemed more crowded than it had been and the room temperature seemed a bit on the high side of comfortable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Simply a great night of tremendous food, ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Simply a great night of tremendous food, great service, excellent food, all with a quaint atmosphere. Will be back...soon!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of the only places in Pittsburgh tha ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 24, 2016

One of the only places in Pittsburgh that does true French cuisine. We had delicious escargot, a lovely salade vignerons, frogs legs and mussels. Other restaurants here have good mussels, but not the other items.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food as always. Duck and Filet ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Excellent food as always. Duck and Filet mignon were terrific. Chocolate mousse made for great desert to share. Becoming my favorite restaurant in Pittsburgh!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food was quite good , but not all pe ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The food was quite good , but not all people's dinners were hot.

It is a leisurely evening.... not advised for those in a hurry.

great desserts

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Wife's birthday. Parfait! We dined at 5: ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Wife's birthday. Parfait! We dined at 5:30, before the place filled up. "She" had roast duck a l'orange - nicely crisp, with specially cooked potatoes and carrots. I had pheasant, a special that night, with cream-enhanced mashed potatoes and fresh green beans. Our French waitress recommended a wonderful Bordeaux that blended beautifully with both dishes. My wife KNOWS her crème brulee, after several trips to Chartres, at the Serpente Café, which has the "best in the world." She said Paris 66 absolutely nailed it last night. My galette with bananas and Nutella + ice cream was fine, but not unique. This is truly an authentic French restaurant including the service, the ambience, the wine and the sauces-cuisine-fresh vegetables - been here before, and coming back whenever the occasion is very special.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Paris 66 feels like a Parisian local spo ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Paris 66 feels like a Parisian local spot. You are "bonjour"ed when you arrive, "mercie" ed and "bon apetit"ed deliberately and repeatedly, in the friendliest way, and "au revoir"ed by a waitress who seems to be saying cheerfully, "We're all anglopnones trying to be francophones tonight. Let's enjoy it!" And enjoy we did. The meals were excellent, and I congratulate Paris 66 for concocting the best mushroom soup I have ever tasted mostly because it was barely salted - a risk few restaurants will take. My half-pheasant was moist and wonderfully gamey, and half as big as a goose for godsake! It was a pleasant French evening and the view from our window could have been any back street in Paris.

Tags: Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Have been living in Barcelona for the pa ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Have been living in Barcelona for the past seven years and was recently relocated to the Pittsburgh area. We've been here seven months and this is the first restaurant that takes us back to the amazing European style of food. Well prepared, healthy, not greasy or overloaded with salt, quality, good portion sizes. We walked in and were immediately greeted in French which we both speak and the entire night the waiters spoke to us in French and just made the experience that much more authentic. Had two entrees, two glasses of wine, a dessert and an espresso which totaled up to $100 so definitely not an economical option but would prefer to not eat out a couple times and go eat here once instead! Superb.

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Business Meals, Romantic, Special Occasion, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Well-handled traditional French food, fr ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Well-handled traditional French food, from, e.g., onion soup to duck a l'orange to boeuf tartare, to profiteroles and creme brûlée at the end. Service is cheerful, with some of the waitstaff native Francophones, which makes it more fun if you like to practice the language. The wine list is somewhat limited. Only flaw we found was that the food was not always as hot as it should have been when it got to the table.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Recommended by friends. Lovely interior ...

 
 (Edinburgh)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Recommended by friends. Lovely interior of warm woods and 'old' prints. Very friendly staff. Nice selection of appetizers and entrees. Supports local purveyors. Advised by staff that if there was ever anything we really wanted we could call and order in advance from chef (we like cassoulet). Both enjoyed our dinners and appetizers. The shared crepe for dessert was the perfect ending. We will definitely go back!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, Afternoon Coffee, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

My favorite restaurant in Pittsburgh! I' ...

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 6, 2016

My favorite restaurant in Pittsburgh! I'm almost afraid to say how great this place is for fear that it will get too popular and then I won't be able to get a table. Lol. We've been trying different entrees every time we go and all of them have been great. When we get through the menu then we'll decide which dish to try again. The one thing we've ordered almost every visit...it's the almond pear tart. It's amazing! And then the french bread is also hoard worthy. But beyond the great food and the quaint atmosphere, the service provided by Mary Elise is what makes the visits truly authentic. We feel like we are transported back to our trips to France and she makes us forget for a couple hours we are in Pittsburgh.

Tags: Authentic, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My partner and I stopped in on a whim an ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on November 5, 2016

My partner and I stopped in on a whim and we are so glad we did! Paris 66 exceeded our expectations and we cannot wait to go back.

Tags: Romantic, Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is the third time in recent months ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 30, 2016

This is the third time in recent months I've been to the café for brunch. Food was served quickly and was delicious.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Family Style, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I took my wife and daughter to Paris 66 ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 29, 2016

I took my wife and daughter to Paris 66 for a fun outing. We all appreciate good food, and I like to pair the food with good wine. The restaurant serves a good variety of French bistro style food, nothing overly fancy, but all well prepared. The wine list is a good selection of French wines, reasonably priced. The service was good and attentive. One of the things I especially liked was that the server took time to make sure that our wine was served with meal courses, not after we had finished with them. I would certainly return.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

My partner and I decided to have dinner ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 28, 2016

My partner and I decided to have dinner at Paris66 for our anniversary, and it was the perfect choice. From the moment you walk in the door, the waitstaff creates a very welcoming atmosphere, and the food made me finally understand Julia Child's claim that food can be a truly "spiritual experience." We ordered foie gras and escargots for our appetizers, and a pork shank special and canard a l'orange (duck in an orange sauce) for our main courses. I asked our server for a glass of wine that would pair well with my duck, and her selection was spot-on. Everything was delicious - we could barely talk to each other during the meal, given our efforts to eat everything in sight! A very wonderful experience!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Cozy, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service and wonderful meal. O ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Excellent service and wonderful meal. On our budget Paris66 is definitely a special occasion restaurant, but one I sincerely recommend. Two appetizers and all four entrees were superlative. The filet mignon was hands down the best steak I've ever eaten.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for lunch spur of the moment.- in t ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Went for lunch spur of the moment.- in town for a steelers game. Incredible!! Best onion soup we've ever had- same with the steak frites. Will be on our list from now on! Oh and super friendly service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went for Saturday dinner ...it was so ...

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 23, 2016

We went for Saturday dinner ...it was so good... we went back for Sunday Brunch the next day and it was even better!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very genuine French cuisine at reasonabl ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Very genuine French cuisine at reasonable prices, warm atmosphere and friendly/knowledgeable service. One of our favorite Pittsburgh restaurants. Everyone we take there always leaves happy !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Authentic French menu, well prepared. A ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Authentic French menu, well prepared. Attentive wait staff.

Tags: Casual, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious French cuisine. Wait staff is ...

 
 (Raum Düsseldorf)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Delicious French cuisine. Wait staff is french, which is an added charm. Delicious pastries.

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

On my last visit I proposed to my now fi ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 15, 2016

On my last visit I proposed to my now fiancee. I spoke with the wait staff on the day prior and they were thrilled about it. They made sure we had one of the more secluded tables and even arranged it so that they could discretely take a video/photos of the proposal. The food is always wonderful and the staff are incredible. I would recommend this to anyone hoping for an authentic french dining experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Outstanding Value, Fun, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, People Watching, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent pork tenderloin and sea bass! ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Excellent pork tenderloin and sea bass! Desserts were outstanding. Loved the pear almond tart and ice cream filled profiteroles.

An absolute "MUST" if you love French cuisine and ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Great food, great service, super bistro ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Great food, great service, super bistro ambience, wine knowledgeable. Should be on everyone's must visit list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It had been a fee years since my husban ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 14, 2016

It had been a fee years since my husband and I had eaten at Paris 66. This time we were seated inside, which I prefer. The preparations for the food have become more complex, with richer flavors and more stylish presentations. The "bistro" is trending toward upscale. Service for our party of five was efficient for our first hour, but slowed somewhat during our second hour as more diners began to fill the space, and added almost thirty minutes to our wait for our check. I'm sure we will be back, ready for another nice dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

I love the ambiance at Paris 66. The lun ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 14, 2016

I love the ambiance at Paris 66. The lunch menu had a variety of options. I ordered soup and quiche of the day; both were creamy and flavorful. My only regret is that I didn't have room for the crème brûlée which I know (from past visits) is awesome. I will make another trip here soon just to have dessert.

Tags: Fun, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Our waitress was delightful and the food ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Our waitress was delightful and the food was outstanding! Everyone was thrilled, and we are a picky group!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, attentive and helpful servic ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Great food, attentive and helpful service, wonderful feel of a bistro in France. will return again and again!

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Romantic, Afternoon Coffee, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

As great as any meal we have ever had in ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 5, 2016

As great as any meal we have ever had in France. Wonderful service, fresh and delicious courses. The crepe with flaming Grand Marnier and whipped cream for the finish topped it all off.

We can not wait to return.

And this was just lunch!!

Ou la la.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service, as always was exceptional!

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 4, 2016

The service, as always was exceptional!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Above and beyond service. Wonderful rest ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Above and beyond service. Wonderful restaurant location with amazing food

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

we got worst table in joint. entrance t ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 1, 2016

we got worst table in joint. entrance to deck, staff and guests bumped us as they went past. good food (beef burgundy). They lost it with a cup of luke warm coffee.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Paris 66 remains of my favorite dining s ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Paris 66 remains of my favorite dining spots in the city. The ambiance is cozy and food is authentic - the restaurant is run and owned by French. I have been always pleased with choices of meals and drinks: mussels, escargot, and crispy duck leg are definitely a hit. Cocktail are eclectic and well thought out. However, I found fish dishes consistently underwhelming. Last visit - my friend ordered sea bass, and it was disappointing. The dish lacked taste and its texture was off... We were offered a replacement meal but graciously declined - as we were already full after eating appetizers and sharing couple of small plates.

Desserts are not to be missed! Try pear tart with espresso. Its heavenly!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved it The food is tasty and the atm ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Loved it

The food is tasty and the atmosphere is cozy. The element of people this venue attracts are clearly thie with educated palates

Our waiter was a real Frenchman. Made me feel like I flew to Oaris for dinner

Highly recommend

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of my favorite places for food, serv ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 22, 2016

One of my favorite places for food, service and atmosphere.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Disabled Access, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The server was delightful! She was so kn ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 22, 2016

The server was delightful! She was so knowledgable about the menu and the service was great! The food was fabulous! Desserts were beautiful and tasted amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely atmosphere Excellent service De ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 19, 2016

Lovely atmosphere

Excellent service

Delicious and interesting menu

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Relaxing late tradition French dinner... ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Relaxing late tradition French dinner... Superb meals pared with an affordable very good wine..we needed this dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.