About Paris 66

6018 Centre Avenue
Pittsburgh, PA 15206
View Larger Map

Enter Paris 66 and you will immediately feel transported to a French Bistro down to the last detail. This upscale, award-winning haven is not only a "family affair" – exclusively owned & operated with love by doting duo Frederic and Lori Rongier – but it is also that rare combination of worlds - intimate and inviting, yet appropriate for both special occasions & casual get-togethers. We bring a menu of everyday French culinary classics by offering up the perfect marriage of local/organic sensibilities with French influences & techniques. A superb wine list invites and ensures you to find the most perfect wine to pair with the delicious flavors created in the open kitchen. Sip our signature cocktail from the sidewalk terrace in the warmer months or enjoy our perennially popular heated patio in the rear. And of course, no visit is complete without a taste of one of the artistically masterful and masterfully artistic delectable creations of Master Pastry Chef David Piquard. Bon Appétit!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 5:00pm; Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
S. Highland Ave.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 404-8166

Website:
http://www.paris66bistro.com/

Parking Details:
Street Parking and Discounted Private Lot In Rear. Complimentary Valet Parking Every Friday & Saturday Night From 5:00 PM - Close.

Public Transit:
Most major bus lines

Executive Chef:
Giuseppe Di Gristina

Private Party Facilities:
Paris 66 can accommodate private parties of up to 35 guests (options available for larger groups.) Our heated patio is a lovely setting for rehearsal dinners, baby showers, graduations, birthdays, and anniversaries. Food and beverage minimums apply; deposit required.

Private Party Contact:
Lori Rongier or Mark Towers: (412) 404-8166

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Paris 66 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (50)
Authentic (45)
Special Occasion (37)
See All
Romantic (36)
Cozy (34)
Good for Anniversaries (31)
Fit for Foodies (31)
Neighborhood Gem (29)
Quiet Conversation (24)
Notable Wine List (24)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Great for Lunch (18)
Great for Brunch (14)
Sunday Lunch (13)
Worth the Drive (13)
Casual (12)
Local Ingredients (10)
Open Kitchen (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Fun (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Business Meals (6)
Seasonal (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Afternoon Coffee (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Healthy (4)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
People Watching (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Family Style (2)
Tapas (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Historic (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Vegan (1)
Private Room (1)
Great Beer (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
937 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 5 days ago

I took my girlfriend for dinner here . It's really nice for that kind of stuff.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Great Beer, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 6 days ago

Love Paris 66...one of our favorite restaurants in Pittsburgh...

can always count on friendly atmosphere and the best French

food ever...in our top 3 most favorite places to go .....

Tags: Casual, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 6 days ago

What a gem! Wonderful food in a neat cafe settung. We did the duck and rabbit and both were delectable. Definitely recommend the macaroons too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 6 days ago

The food was delicious and the service was outstanding. I had the filet with chanterelle sauce, my date had the pork, and we shared the pate. Our meals were excellent and I think we found our new favorite date restaurant.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options, Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 15, 2017

As always, outstanding food and service. We have made Paris 66 our regular for Valentine's Day. Authentic French atmosphere and food.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 14, 2017

This is the real deal.

I found the food very authentic French. The bread was amazing and brought me back to Paris :).

The server tried to speak French it was cute.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great Valentine's dinner. Not cheap, but it's a great experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Paris 66 is a favorite lunch spot as it is close to my workplace. Owners are wonderful. Provide great food and service with a French flair. Paris 66 is good for a weekday lunch because the service can be fast if desired.But have lingered for longer business lunches without feeling rushed. Quiche of the day is always excellent. Creme Brulée (sp) is excellent as well.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 14, 2017

It was Valentine's dinner for us so the evening was special. Our waiter, Renuard, was exceptional - loved his French accent. The portions were abundant and the quality was excellent. We ate around 5 o'clock so it was quiet and the atmosphere was very romantic. Highly recommended.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 13, 2017

As always, the French food at Paris 66 was excellent. So glad to have this restaurant in Pittsburgh serving consistently excellent food all the time, and it's not nearly as expensive as some of the other French restaurants in the city.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 11, 2017

My husband and I LOVE Paris 66!! There are so many awesome restaurants in Pittsburgh, and we love trying new restaurants, but we consider Paris 66 "our restaurant". The atmosphere is so warm and welcoming. It feels as though you're in a genuine Parisian cafe.

The food is always amazing! The escargot is so delicious and perfect for dipping. The foie gras is melt in your mouth. The duck is so flavorful and my usual go-to. I have never had rich, light mousse!! The quiche and French toast are my brunch favorites. Incould just go on and on about all of the delicious options!

I also have to mention how much I adore the wait staff. They recognize us and make us feel welcomed and extremely grateful for our business. It's always a pleasure and a delight to dine at Paris 66!

Tags: Family Style, People Watching, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 10, 2017

If you are looking for French food in Pittsburgh this is the place. Food good flavor but not spectacular. Good to try once but won't keep us coming back.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Outstanding food and atmosphere. Try the creme brûlée. Look forward to returning soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Excellent service, delicious food will go back and reccomend to others.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Authentic, Private Room, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 7, 2017

A very different experience. Never been to Paris but felt like I might be there when dinning here. Service was great and was nice to see the waitress present in French and English so you could experience a bit of foreign culture, yet understand what is being presented and at the same time learning how to translate a French menu. Food was great. Shared entrees with companion, found a bit much of a vinegar taste in sauces, otherwise it was superb. Price is a little high but I'll go back. A better value would bring me back a lot more often.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Nice atmosphere! Great food! Great service! My fiancee and I had a great time having late lunch here!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Lovely restaurant with a wonderful menu. Staff is just fabulous. A true French feel!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Coffee, Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Disappointing visit. The dirty silverware, cracked mug, and unapologetic staff did not help. We had loved our last visits here, but will not be returning. A $50 bill for onion soup, french fries, an omelet, coffee, and one non-alcoholic drink is a very poor value. No free coffee refill and they also never refilled our water. Sorry to drop Paris 66 from our list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Food was just ok. Expected better for prices. Slow service

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Best onion soup ever!!!!

Pear almond tart was outstanding.

My friend was disappointed in her soup. It was called cauliflower, brocolli, potato soup.

Sounded wonderful, but it came pureed. Not what we expected

Beautiful little French restaurant.

Would go again!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Excellent brunch - like being in Paris! Love the menu and our server - all of them speak French! Will return soon!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Great French experience. Our group of 4 had been there before and were happy to return. Better than average wine list of good French wines. We experimented with a Sancerre Rouge Pinot Noir- a bit light for me but well received by the others. We moved on to a Pomerantz with more body. The Mussels in a curry sauce with pomme frites were terrific. 3 had an incredible filet special and I had the duck. All very good. Desserts and espressos followed along with some coffee drinks. Parking is a bit tough but the walk is well worth it.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Fantastic french food! Appetizers, main course and of course desserts all outstanding! Excellent service as well. Highly recommended!

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 14, 2017

This place had so much character. I felt I was in PARIS.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 14, 2017

It's so noisy yesterday. A lot of customers come in, eat lunch and have a chat, so those waiters and waitresses cannot reply and help us as soon as possible. I think this kind of delay is due to restaurant week and lower price.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Service was great. Food was outstanding. I will definitely eat there again.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Our food experiences varied. Three of the 4 of us had the selections from the Pittsburgh Restaurant week menu, which saved us maybe about 3 or 4 dollars than if we had ordered the same menu from the regular menu. The onion soup was excellent, not so much due to the broth but to the quality and quantity of the cheese. My friends enjoyed the veal stew, though the portion was small; my mussels were okay and I didn't finish them. The dessert choice was unimaginative (chocolate mousse and flan) but tasty.My spouse ordered the duck off of the regular menu and not only did it take him twice as long to eat as the rest of us, but he really enjoyed it ($33 plus a side salad for which he paid in addition). So he's the one who was happiest about the meal. Service was poor; we were there for 2.5 hours which was okay in that we enjoyed our friends' company but could have been frustrating and it was at least 30 min before we saw the (uninspired) bread at our table. Perhaps this was due to the required 20% tip for customers who order one of the 2 restaurant week meals. Also, don't bet on a private meal; tables are pretty close together.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Great service with legitimate expertise in french culture. Fantastic French food. The foie gras is as good as you find in Paris. Nice wine selection as well. The deserts are just as authentic.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Having never been before, I was unsure what to expect. The restaurant is quaint and has a definite European feel and ambiance; from the french accent of the waitress to the delicious and authentic quiche. Hands down the best French Onion soup I have ever tasted.

Tags: Historic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Food was cold! If I am paying 35-40 for an entree-I at least expect it to be warm. Husband dinner was over cooked. Service was intermittent. Only had 2 servers which seemed a little ridiculous for whole restaurant. Had to call server over to get some coffee after dinner which is annoying.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 11, 2017

My husband and I celebrated my birthday here, and had the most enjoyable evening. The menu is wonderful (try the escargot!), but the service is what takes this spot over the top. Our waitress was French, and guided us to authentic choices that we loved. She made my birthday dinner as special as it could be, including singing "bon anniversaire" to me. Truly a night to remember.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Had a great evening checking out the restaurant week menu. The French martini is fabulous and so was the creme brûlée! Service was fabulous as well and the whole experience reminded me of our trip to Paris earlier this year. Worth a stop!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Best French Onion soup ever! Authentic French food.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Took advantage of restaurant week to try this one out. With a monthly meeting within walking distance, we will be back. Authentic French cuisine and a fair number of French-speaking patrons

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Soups, sides & desserts were the standouts!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on January 7, 2017

My partner and I have been to Paris66 three times now, and each time we've left completely satisfied with our experience, our food, and the atmosphere of the restaurant. We love Paris66 and would not hesitate to recommend it to friends and colleagues.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 1, 2017

A fabulous dinner for New Years Eve! The place embodies the feel of a Paris bistro, and our French waiter was so accommodating and gracious. Food was delicious and beautifully prepared, with a superb wine list as well. No wonder it has been voted Best French Restaurant in Pittsburgh for several years!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We went to Paris 66 for the first time this New Year's Eve for dinner. We dine regularly in Pittsburgh's top 25-30 restaurants (according to Pittsburgh Magazine) and somehow didn't come across this restaurant until that evening. From the classic bistro decor to the wonderful service to the delicious food, this was definitely the most memorable New Year's Eve dining in the last several years. Will definitely return.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 31, 2016

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed New Year's Eve at Paris 66. Considering the holiday and fully booked, the restaurant staff was pleasant and caring.

Food was delicious and wine was great.

Will plan to return to Paris 66 soon!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Wow! Love 66!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We went to Paris 66 to celebrate the New Year, one day ahead, so it would not be very crowded. The service was very slow, even though it was not filled to capacity. However, we had a good time while waiting, drinking wine and eating two baskets of French bread. It took more than 30 minutes for the appetizer to arrive, which was enjoyed when it finally came. Then another 15-20 minutes for the entrees. The entrees were delightful, as usual. Although the service is slow, this is how the French eat, very slowly. They like to linger over the food and conversation, so it very authentic French. This restaurant is truly a gem in our neighborhood.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Food was delicious, there were 6 in our party and each of us were beyond pleased with our lunch choice. Our waitress was very helpful explained dishes and gave great suggestions. Highly recommend this lovey gem of a restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 27, 2016

We love this restaurant-but were so disappointed when- as we were about to order- were told they were out of mussels. Which is why we came. My daughter from California had been craving theirs. But the pasta with shrimp was delicious-as were the escargots. The cocktails were great too.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Wonderful meal! The best authentic French food in the Burgh. Terrific service. Can't say enough about it. The best meal I've had all year.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Excellent for the occasion. Menu included authentic French cuisine for the holiday (Christmas Eve). Staff were very attentive without being intrusive. If you speak French (even just a little), the staff can converse with you without feeling pressured to speak the language. Excellent food, great drinks, overall expensive but good for a special occasion or a romantic date night. My wife and I have been here before and we will go back again.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 24, 2016

I bring my son to Paris 66 for their annual prix fixe Christmas Eve dinner. The menu choices are good and the food is always excellent.

Tags: Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 24, 2016

This is probably my favorite Pittsburgh restaurant...I feel happy to be there from the minute I walk in...the wait staff is especially nice here...the decor is charming...I had a delicious Sancerre rose as an aperitif, followed by pork roast stuffed with prunes and some fine Oregon Pinot we brought in and the piece de resistance, perfect crime brûlée! Such a nice place for a lovely holiday meal...I can't wait to go again!

Tags: Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Fun, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 23, 2016

This has been one of the best French restaurants I have been to since living in France for four months. It had authentic food and great staff that was not afraid to give recommendations on the food or wine. Next time we are in the Pittsburgh, we will have to come back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 22, 2016

What a great French restaurant. Not only was the food excellent, but I also got to practice my French.

Had the onion soup and it was excellent! Haven't had onion soup this good since the last time I was in Paris. The steak salad was perfect...ordered the steak rare and low and behold it was rare, just the way I like it.

The creme brule was one of the best...perhaps the best in Pittsburgh.

What a great french restaurant! Highly recommended

Tags: Good for Groups, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 22, 2016

We love Paris 66 - a real sense of a true French bistro

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.