About Parc

227 South 18th Street
Philadelphia, PA 19103
View Larger Map

Stephen Starr's stylish addition to Rittenhouse Square pays tribute to French cafe culture, serving breakfast, lunch and dinner seven days a week, ideal for a quick bite or a leisurely meal. Parc recalls the chic brasseries of Paris, serving classic French fare in a charming space. Red leather banquettes topped with frosted glass provide a sense of intimacy. Details such as well-worn wooden chairs, vintage framed paintings and photos and antique brass fixtures transport guests across the Atlantic. French doors spill onto a sidewalk terrace covered by a dark red awning perfect for dining "en plein air." Reservations are not accepted for outdoor tables.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday thru Friday: 7:30am - 11:00am Lunch: Monday thru Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm Brunch: Saturday and Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm L'Apres Midi: Every day: 3:00pm - 5:00pm Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 12:00am, Sunday and Monday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Corner of 18th and Locust Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 545-2262

Website:
http://www.parc-restaurant.com/

Catering:
With delectable cuisine and stellar service, Stephen STARR Events brings the experiences of the wildly successful STARR Restaurants to the world of catering. “Re-inventing” the traditional event, Stephen STARR Events prepares unique chef-driven creations as well as signature selections from the restaurants with menus tailored to each client. For more information on full-service catering for small and large private, social and corporate functions, as well as, quick-service options, please contact Stephen STARR Events at (215) 923-2675.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available. $24/car & $30/SUV’S starting at 3:00PM in front of the restaurant. Public lots are available on South Rittenhouse Square & Chancellor Street. Street parking is also available.

Executive Chef:
Anthony Goodwin

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Parc Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

French
Philadelphia / New Jersey Suburbs
Most Booked
Philadelphia / New Jersey Suburbs
French
Philadelphia
1 More
Most Booked
Philadelphia
Best Restaurants in Rittenhouse Square ›

great for outdoor dining (355)
fit for foodies (333)
neighborhood gem (312)
See All
great for brunch (307)
great for lunch (274)
special occasion (270)
scenic view (231)
hot spot (229)
good for groups (199)
romantic (196)
vibrant bar scene (127)
notable wine list (117)
kid-friendly (76)
late-night find (54)
Sunday lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
5830 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Everything was perfect. Food, service, a ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 3 days ago

Everything was perfect. Food, service, ambience, price...highly recommended place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love this restaurant! Have never had a b ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 4 days ago

Love this restaurant! Have never had a bad experience. Great service and the food is amazing!

Tags: great for brunch, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went for brunch and it was delightful ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

We went for brunch and it was delightful. The restaurant is much larger than I'd expected but we got a seat right by Rittenhouse Square and did some great people watching. I got the eggs with asparagus and it was satisfying and surprisingly tangy which I enjoyed. And the bread basket at the beginning was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was great. Service was very good. T ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

Food was great. Service was very good. The place got loud at times which made it hard to hear my date

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Enjoyed the evening and the staff was ve ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 4 days ago

Enjoyed the evening and the staff was very nice. A pleasant place to have dinner and people watch on Rittenhouse Square.

Tags: late-night find, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

My mother and I meet for dinner once a m ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 5 days ago

My mother and I meet for dinner once a month in Philly, and this month we went to Parc. It was my first time there, but not hers. I have heard countless, raving reviews from friends and online review sites.

We arrived at 5:30pm on a Saturday (we are both early birds), and we were one of the first parties arriving for dinner. The atmosphere and environment is exquisite; very 'French café' as the restaurant boasts.

The wine list is impressive and wonderful; as a wine lover, I was a kid in a candy store. We both ordered the Prime Rib a la Provençal. It was succulent, tender, and full of melt-in-your-mouth flavors (I apologize for the lack of depth for my flavor description, I only eat red meat once or twice a year). My point: it was to die for.

The service was the only caveat in our experience. Our waitress, whose name escapes me, was quite cold, cautious, and felt mildly judgmental. Nevertheless, over the course of the meal, she gradually warmed up. By the end of our meal, we were laughing and getting along swimmingly. It could have been a cultural or language barrier that we had to overcome (she was assuredly European); however, we very much enjoyed her by the end.

I would highly recommend Parc. Steven Starr has yet to disappoint, and Parc traverses the extra mile to provide a truly authentic-feeling French café. I feel obligated to note: the price is moderate to moderate-high; my prime rib was $40, but worth the money for a special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We came for dinner. The salads were exc ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 5 days ago

We came for dinner. The salads were excellent very fresh with an awesome light dressing. I ordered the bolubaise and for $31 there wasn't enough sea food and I was starving. I ended up eating 4 pcs. of bread to make up for the lack of food. I was very disappointed in the size of the portion. I am 120 pounds and 5 '3 and not a big person. If I thought it wasn't enough food, I can't imagine what a man would have thought. You couldn't find the fish, it was about the size of a quarter. I wouldn't return for dinner but maybe lunch. Wait staff was pleasant and attentive.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Great food!! Tables were so tightly cram ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 5 days ago

Great food!! Tables were so tightly crammed together that the waiter had to lean over my fiancé in order to talk to the table next to us. It was very uncomfortable. Our elbows were practically touching the people next to us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4

The food is always pleasing--the best Fr ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 6 days ago

The food is always pleasing--the best French onion soup around. This visit our waiter was also exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

I hit the jackpot with a Plum / Tomato G ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 6 days ago

I hit the jackpot with a Plum / Tomato Gazpacho that exploded with flavor on the first bite, followed by a lovely, flaky tomato/chevre tart. Brilliant.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Food was outstanding (we had sea bass an ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 6 days ago

Food was outstanding (we had sea bass and trout) but very expensive. Nice atmosphere-we ate in the main dining room near an open window so it was fairly loud, but you could probably request quieter seats in the rear rooms. Would recommend Parc to friends but warn them about prices.

Tags: hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

The steak tartare and escargot are incre ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

The steak tartare and escargot are incredible. Not a big fan of the new duck entree. Older one was better

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Our group enjoyed the dining experience. ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 7 days ago

Our group enjoyed the dining experience. Brought one of the diners, who formerly lived in Brussels, fondly back to his days of French dining.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value4

I dined with my husband and another coup ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 7 days ago

I dined with my husband and another couple prior to a concert at Verizon Hall. I had a beet salad and an appetizer tarte, which was an ample dinner, with the excellent bread brought to the table. My husband had escargot for an appetizer and mussels and fries for an entree, which was a huge portion. I sample some fries, and they were excellent. Our friends also had appetizers and entrees, and everything looked good. We shared two carafes of house red. None of us had room for dessert. The tab averaged just over $50 a head, which was reasonable for the quality and quantity of food.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I had an amazing gastronomical experien ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

I had an amazing gastronomical experience. The food was fantastic. I had the Halibut which was easily the best that I had ever had. The Vietnamese Coffee was strong and sweet, having an almost dessert like quality French Onion Soup was truly delicious., as was the best salad.

My waiter was friendly and very knowledgeable about the food. Everything that he recommended was great. The restaurant was crowded and busy at 9:30PM! Definitely will stop in if I am in the area. Great place to unwind after work.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Remains one our favorite restaurants any ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Remains one our favorite restaurants anywhere in the US. Consistently exceptional food and service. Loved the Barnstable Oysters, Tomato Gazpacho, Trout Almandine, and Fig Galette. Our server Daniel was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Parc has nice food and atmosphere. Thei ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Parc has nice food and atmosphere. Their system for seating outside is terrible. I made a reservation many days in advanced, requesting seating outside, only to find out at arrival that outside can't be reserved. Wound up in a corner of the restaurant that didn't say much. Considering that the best value Parc has, to me, is the ability to sit outside, it wasn't a good deal. The food isn't bad, but it's not that you go to Parc for the food....

Tags: hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Great food, great service. Pretty pricy ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Great food, great service. Pretty pricy especially for the small portion sizes, although you should expect that at a fancy French restaurant in Rittenhouse. They were great though because it was my wife's and mine wedding anniversary and they gave us complimentary champagne and macarons.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

A must every time I visit Philadelphia! ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

A must every time I visit Philadelphia! Love the ambiance and never disappointed with the food!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Thank heavens for Parc! It is an answer ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Thank heavens for Parc! It is an answer to all my prayers! It is perfect for a business lunch. It is lovely for a ladies lunch. It is a delight for dinner with friends. It is perfect to drop in for a drink and a nibble late on the weekends. The ambiance is an unbelievably accurate reproduction of a Parisian restaurant (I lived there for four years, so I can say that with confidence). However, there has never been a wobble in the quality of the food, the bread is phenomenal and the bartenders are very skilled. This is absolutely my FAVORITE restaurant in Philadelphia because it suits all my dining needs and delivers outstanding food and service every time. LOVE IT!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was an great experience! My date and ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

It was an great experience! My date and myself really enjoyed everything about Parc!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food good --- just way too loud to reall ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Food good --- just way too loud to really enjoy a conversation. People literally have to shout at each other -- which is a problem. They do make a great burger. And the drink and wine list is excellent.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Limited options and over priced

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Limited options and over priced

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5

This was our 5 or 6th time eating at Par ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

This was our 5 or 6th time eating at Parc.

We had a great time. Mitchell found us a nice table in the back by the widow.

The food was good and the service was outstanding and Amen our waiter was excellent.

Mitchell and Amen really helped to make this a wonderful experience.

We will be back again...

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

A great restaurant with terrific views o ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

A great restaurant with terrific views of Rittenhouse Square for people watching. This is a lively place with a lot going on around you. At times it was difficult to hear my date (deafened by her beauty?). The food is excellent and the wait staff was the perfect amount of allusive. I am not one who needs someone to pour me more sparkling water. I got it. My date and I did not order drinks so I always expect the waiter to ease up on the service. That was thankfully not the case. The trout was terrific as he recommended as was the duck she had. We did share a dessert. I tipped based on the expected full amount not on the actual bill. I've worked in restaurants so I know how it is. The bill was only $75. Left a $40 tip. Still less than if we ordered drinks, apps and more. Valet was awesome too!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

the food was outstanding and the staff w ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

the food was outstanding and the staff was very friendly.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

The food was very average. Chicken under ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The food was very average. Chicken undercooked. They took it off my bill but that's not the issue. Didn't go there for a free plate of undercooked chicken. Not sure I'll go back. Been there before... Feels like it's slipping. Servers are working and pleasant. Just beginning to miss the mark...

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value3

This was our first time to Parc and alre ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

This was our first time to Parc and already look forward to going again. The restaurant and outdoor seating are much bigger than it seems initially but still feels like a Parisian bistro. We would have loved to sit outside facing 18th Street, but the tables were all taken and with good reason no one looked like they were leaving anytime soon. The outdoor seating on Locust Street is not as nice, so we opted to dine indoors which was very nice. The food and service were excellent. My husband had the steak au poivre which he said was amazing along with the garlic spinach. I had perfect prepared halibut with a delicious cream sauce that was light and more of a condiment to the fish. I wish the tables were not as quite as close together inside, but that too is part of the Parisian dining experience! Highly recommend this bistro restaurant!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent services, delicious food. High ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Excellent services, delicious food. Highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great cocktails-window or outside seatin ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Great cocktails-window or outside seating is the best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Part is always an amazing time! Thank yo ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Part is always an amazing time! Thank you for making sure that my wrong day scheduled didn't ruin my friends day of celebration.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Deviled eggs; best in Philly!

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Deviled eggs; best in Philly!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very much enjoyed the French food and sc ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Very much enjoyed the French food and scenic view of Rittenhouse. A bit pricey but service is great.

Tags: romantic, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Parc was/is a great place to have w Fren ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Parc was/is a great place to have w French meal. I've been there 2 times now and both were fantastic! The servers were very nice and the food was delicious. I will definitely be back!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent, server was very atte ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Food was excellent, server was very attentive but front of house staff could use some training on the basics. Arrived about 12 minutes early for a 7:15 reservation and were told to come back "when it was our appointed time". It felt like being chastised by your second grade teacher. There were plenty of tables open and ready, but we we were actually sent away to wait on the street where it was a hot and humid Philly evening way into the 90 degree range - no invitation to wait at bar or in another area. Restaurant was very loud and conversation with friends was difficult at best. Overall, an OK experience but no pressing need to return anytime soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

PARC is always a pleasure. A reliable c ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

PARC is always a pleasure. A reliable choice for most occasions.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Dependable as always - still feels like ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Dependable as always - still feels like walking into a Paris bistro.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Parc may be on the decline. The hamburge ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Parc may be on the decline. The hamburger, which once was quite good, was mediocre this time. Carpet at entrance was frayed.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Fabulous dinner - accompanied by a great ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Fabulous dinner - accompanied by a great waiter! I 100% recommend the Warm Shrimp Salad. It was a great meal to share with my family.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Typical Parisian brasserie food. Good, ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Typical Parisian brasserie food. Good, nothing special. Very loud, very big. Service was poor. Mistakes, mistakes, mistakes. Bill came out wrong. Point it out to server who agreed to fix it. Had another server drop it after CC swipe. Still wrong. Wont be back.

Tags: kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.