About Parallel 38

2055 Bond St.
Charlottesville, VA 22901
View Larger Map

Parallel 38 will be the first to create an atmosphere where all the iconic regions within this parallel will merge. It will not only be a place to relish great food, amazing wine and fantastic beverages, but will also serve as a destination to discover and share the pleasures of these unique regions. A contemporary yet casual environment will allow guests to explore the sometimes perplexing world of wine without pretension. Our wine program will offer over 70 wines by the glass, along with 100 bottles from handpicked boutique wineries with an assortment of over performing staples, exotic varietals and unexplored regions.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Lunch
Saturday & Sunday: 11:00 am to 3:00 pm

Happy Hour
Tuesday - Friday: 4:00 pm to 6:00 pm

Dinner
Tuesday & Wednesday: 4:00 pm to 10:00 pm
Thursday & Friday: 4:00 pm to 11:00 pm
Saturday: 3:00 pm to 11:00 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm to 10:00 pm

Closed Monday

Cross Street:
Stonfield Shopping Center. Corner of 29 and Hydraulic Road

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(434) 923-3838

Website:
http://p38cville.com/

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Parallel 38 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

3.9

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Central Virginia / Piedmont
Best Restaurants in Charlottesville ›

fit for foodies (30)
notable wine list (17)
special occasion (16)
See All
good for groups (14)
great for outdoor dining (12)
romantic (11)
neighborhood gem (8)
great for lunch (6)
vibrant bar scene (6)
hot spot (6)
late-night find (3)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
207 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

everything. presentation , flavor, ser ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined a day ago

everything. presentation , flavor, service and so much more...one of the 5 best meals I've had in central Va...worth the trip from anywhere...jf

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Simply amazing. Would recommend it at an ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Simply amazing. Would recommend it at any time. Servers are always courteous.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I have dined at Parallel 38 several time ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

I have dined at Parallel 38 several times, and the food is always superb. This is a tapas-style restaurant which offers small tastings of many eclectic dishes, making it easy for dining groups that have diverse culinary tastes. The only difficulty you will find with the menu is deciding when to stop ordering. My only complaint (and it is a minor one) is the background noise. This is another of those increasingly popular high-ceilinged places that reflects noise too well. If this is an issue for you, ask to sit outside, weather permitting. Great place!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Parallel 38 is one of our favorite resta ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Parallel 38 is one of our favorite restaurants in town. My husband has been a chef in Charlottesville for over 30 years and Parallel 38 is always our first choice. When we asked our 5 year old daughter where she wanted to go for her 5th birthday she said P38 without hesitation. The entire staff made our little chef's birthday a very special event. Thank you to the waitstaff, kitchen and mangers for making it a night to remember!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It is a fun restaurant with so many diff ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

It is a fun restaurant with so many different choices to make a delicious meal. The food was delicious. Our server was helpful and attentive. We plan to go again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A restaurant is only as good as the head ...

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

A restaurant is only as good as the head guy (or gal) in the kitchen and when a restaurant changes chefs things may change for the better or for the worse. Luckily with Johnny Garver now in the kitchen things may be getting better. Having worked closly with the proir chef he has hit the ground running. He had helped create one of the best items on the menu, the steelhead trout. This fish is more like mild Alaskan salmon and not to be missed. He has added a sauteed shrimp dish with tomato, garlic, fennel and feta. Another winner. The wine list is one of the best in town with a great selection of varities and prices. Service is always very good and our server, Madeline took great care of us.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My birthday dinner was celebrated here l ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

My birthday dinner was celebrated here last night. We took advantage of the Happy Hour drink and small plate prices at the bar before being seated at our table. We also visited on a Wednesday which was a buy one get one free small plate night. The food was generally good. My risotto was so so because the scallops (which we paid extra for) were so overdone that they were hard and dry. I would not order them again. The calamari was delicious and the best of the dishes we ordered. Because of the restaurant's location, those high ceilings without any noise buffer made it seem very noisy. We could not hear the music but heard much of the clanging in the kitchen. This was another negative point in our dining experience here. It was much quieter in the bar area. I finally heard the music while in the ladies room. So should we return we would probably opt to ear outdoors if it is not too humid. I would probably return only with friends who might enjoy the selections offered or just take advantage of the Happy Hour drink and dine on a much limited menu as that was the best deal with a much more conversation friendly atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Excellent food - lots of interesting opt ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Excellent food - lots of interesting options - all well priced. Good wine list too! Indoor and outdoor dining options. I will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Terribly disappointed. First experience ...

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Terribly disappointed. First experience was amazing this time it was terrible. My server checked on me 1 time in a 45 minute period. Didn't get one dish I ordered. My drink was terrible. Very disappointing.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

The restaurant was not crowded which was ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The restaurant was not crowded which was good for our group. The service and the food were excellent. It was a bit pricey but if I wanted cheaper, I could have gone to MacDonalds !.

The pork belly dish was a special favorite.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

There was nothing notable about the rest ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

There was nothing notable about the restaurant. The service wasn't that great, and it was slow. We went at 7pm on a Saturday and the place was basically empty. We've been here twice, and don't plan on coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Parallel 38 was what we had hoped for: ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Parallel 38 was what we had hoped for: nice ambiance; prompt, friendly service; and a variety of freshly prepared tapas/mezes. It was pleasant dining outside. I would recommend it to friends.

My only criticism was the inside: the kitchen smoke hung in the air of the dining room. The dining area also felt rather cold and cavernous. Since we were able to sit outside, these drawbacks didn't impair our enjoyment of the evening. But they do merit some attention.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Everything we have tried here has been g ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Everything we have tried here has been great, with standout favorites being the asparagus and the pork belly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Acoustics are a challenge in this high m ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Acoustics are a challenge in this high metal ceiling room with no fabric to soften and on this evening, not many people either. We were one of three tables occupied, none of whom resembled heavy metal enthusiasts. Nevertheless the hard driving music pummeled away and while the food was good and the service shy, but efficient, we finally requested a change of volume and suggested maybe even a change in genre in a desperate attempt to focus on our conversation. I could swear to you they turned it up. Won't go back.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value3

Good place to escape the kids

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Went here for our 16th Anniversary; first time without kids since our last anniversary. The service was great, food was good, and I liked the look of the restaurant. Good wine list. Prices were comparable to the location. They gave us a free glass of Champaign because it was our anniversary, which was a nice touch.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Delicious, quick, and fun!

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

I particularly recommend the artichokes, the sirloin steak, and the gnocchi. All delicious!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great restaurant. Excellent tapas, lots ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Great restaurant. Excellent tapas, lots of great options.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Incredibly personalized service and atte ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Incredibly personalized service and attention to detail. We were so full but could not stop tasting everything! Highly recommended!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

You'd expect better hummus at a Mediterr ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

You'd expect better hummus at a Mediterranean location, really no flavor. All the other things we tried were average at best and way too salty. When sitting outside its weird because people are watching you eat as they wait in line to the movie theatre. Why not put up a fence or higher shrubs? Not going back since way too many better options in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4

We had a terrific dinner at Parallel 38 ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

We had a terrific dinner at Parallel 38. The food is very fresh and everything tasted great. We order the manchego cheese, meatball flat bread, lamb skewers, mussels , hummus, olive pate and tzatziki. Loved it all! Wish they would open a restaurant in Dallas! Our waitress was great too- she was sure to bring us the pita bread when we ran low. Can't wIt to go back when we are in Cville.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very good tapas

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

The food was very good but know it was small plates. Was pretty loud, that kinda hurt the ability to a conversation.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wine from the Tap

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

This restaurant has wine from the tap! The wine appears to be of good quality however, the white wine comes to the table around room temperature.

The Food is excellent. We have tried numerous dishes on the menu and have not been disappointed with the quality.

Highly recommended. However, if you want white wine, get a bottle so it will be chilled.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great place to stop while on vacation.

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

We wish we lived closer as we would be here all the time.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

loved it

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

food was exquisite and Olivia served very well. Justin introduced himself and made it even more special.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food - Service started very slow

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

We did a cmplete tasting of the menu (we were really hungry). Service was very slow to start - sat down and didnt have a visit from our waitress for 10 mins. Finally we asked another waitress to assist - which she gladly did. Hummus and Tapanade were off the charts good- Naan bread was legitamately baked on prem. Swordfish was incredibly tender and succulent. MUST GET THE CAULIFLOWER- wow still cant figure out the spices but really good. Also - la,b skewers ....amazing - juicy done perfectly , not dry at all. Space is bug and echoey... So be prepared to speak loudly. But overall great... And amazing wine list!!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Nice Place for a Special Occasion

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on April 19, 2016

Food was excellent and service was very good. Parallel 38 is a bit pricey but worth it for special occasions.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Absolutely delicious! Server was very kn ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

Absolutely delicious! Server was very knowledgeable about menu and wine list. We will definitely be going back soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Parallel 38, Great all around

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on April 7, 2016

Parallel 38 definitely competes with the best tapas spot (mas tapas) with its wide selection of Italian, mediterranean and middle eastern inspired small plates. Set in the Stonefield development, which is kind of a bummer because I feel it belongs in a cool neighborhood like Belmont, Parallel 38 definitely impressed. The best things I had were the MTO flatbread, the Lime Gimlet, and the chorizo pasta dish. Service was fine. Really like the decor and vibe. Since its tapas and there are a couple dishes per person, it can get a little pricy as each plate is around $10. Looking forward to a return trip soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Okay, but the service and HVAC need work

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

The food is good though Mas is WAY better for tapas. When we sat down, my wife actually thought there was a helicopter landing on the building. It turns out it is the HVAC system buffeting that they "can't do anything about" which, of course, means, "we don't want to spend the money to fix it". They agreed to move us and the sound improved but it could still be heard.

My cocktail was excellent and the highlight of the meal, for 14$ it better be. The tapas were okay, but just good enough to leave you wondering what they could be.

Our server was good until she disappeared at the end of the meal not even offering us dessert. We heventually had to flag down another server to get our check.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Small portions at an expensive price

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

The waitress was nice, service was good. A la carte menu. Do not go there hungry. Have to order multiple items for a substantial meal. Had to ask for more pita bread just to quench appetitie and use for portions. More for an expensive date if you want ambiance, not a family. Very difficult to hear the waitress because of the echoing environment and music.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Good food but noisy...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

We like this place and have been there two times. The service and food is good but it's not a place to go for intimate quiet dining. The place is quite noisy because of the layout and lack of carpet or walls to absorb sound.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Consistent quality across the board with ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

Consistent quality across the board with a few stand out dishes such as the grilled asparagus to wow the palate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a good time

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

Food is very different. Portions are respectable and the favors and diversity of spices are top-notch. Parking can get a bit rough. Never enough at Stonefields but not restaurants fault.

Eclectic wines paired w different dishes can make for a fun evening. Definitely recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

It was a nice place to eat. Food was goo ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

It was a nice place to eat. Food was good but slow getting to the table. It's a very noisy place making it hard to hear people talking even at our own table. Staff was friendly.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Good food- small portions and overpriced

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

We ordered a cheese plate and barely had enough for each of us to taste each one but that is it. Also they brought out and poured the wrong wine.

The food was very tasty but not worth the high prices. Go here if you have a company expense account and don't care how much you pay.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

parallel38

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on March 3, 2016

We made reservations for a post-movie dinner. We were seated immediately, and offered to check our bulky coats. We were pleased to find out that on Wednesday, they have buy one get one specials. We were served quickly and efficiently, although they could have spread out the timing of the small plates a bit better.

The restaurant has high ceilings and little to absorb noise, so it did get a bit loud as the evening wore on.

We prefer to go here in Spring and Summer when we can sit outside.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Fun evening out

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on February 26, 2016

I like Parallel, but I don't love it. Our service was excellent (and our server in particular was incredibly kind and thoughtful), so zero complaints there—I'm just not a huge fan of the food. I feel like it's high quality, but portions seem to be all over the map and the larger items that are meant to fill you up a bit, like the pizzas, don't wow me. More pros: Parallel is incredibly accommodating for larger parties and their drink selection is impeccable. Draft wine! Awesome beer selection (though very few on tap)! Excellent cocktails! I think this may be a personal preference rather than any issue of the restaurant's. We had a lovely evening and appreciated every aspect of the service.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Lunch on a rainy day

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

Can only comment on lunch. Food was good , not as creative as I expected but could have been our selections. Our waitress was very sweet and helpful. It was a rainy Saturday and the restaurant was almost empty. Pleasant enough to sit and chat over lunch. Just don't think I can give a real assessment. Would like to try for dinner.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

tapas

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

Interesting mediterranean-oriented restaurant with great choices like veggies, skewers, pasta, etc. We had a variety of dishes and everyone was tasty and nicely prepared. The service was excellent. I found it a bit pricey for small plates as we only had two drinks and the bill was around $50 pp. However we would return

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent place-food, wine, the service! ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Excellent place-food, wine, the service! We always like coming here!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.