About Parallel 38

2055 Bond St.
Charlottesville, VA 22901
View Larger Map

Parallel 38 will be the first to create an atmosphere where all the iconic regions within this parallel will merge. It will not only be a place to relish great food, amazing wine and fantastic beverages, but will also serve as a destination to discover and share the pleasures of these unique regions. A contemporary yet casual environment will allow guests to explore the sometimes perplexing world of wine without pretension. Our wine program will offer over 70 wines by the glass, along with 100 bottles from handpicked boutique wineries with an assortment of over performing staples, exotic varietals and unexplored regions.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Lunch
Saturday & Sunday: 11:00 am to 3:00 pm

Happy Hour
Tuesday - Friday: 4:00 pm to 6:00 pm

Dinner
Tuesday & Wednesday: 4:00 pm to 10:00 pm
Thursday & Friday: 4:00 pm to 11:00 pm
Saturday: 3:00 pm to 11:00 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm to 10:00 pm

Closed Monday

Cross Street:
Stonfield Shopping Center. Corner of 29 and Hydraulic Road

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(434) 923-3838

Website:
http://p38cville.com/

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Parallel 38 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.1

ambience

3.7

value

3.4

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Virginia
Fit for Foodies
Charlottesville
Best Restaurants in Charlottesville ›

Fit for Foodies (6)
Tapas (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Good for a Date (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Good for Groups (3)
Casual (3)
Fun (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Healthy (3)
Notable Wine List (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Spicy (1)
Authentic (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
People Watching (1)
Business Meals (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Great Beer (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Family Style (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Romantic (1)
Sort By:
S
225 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was delicious and the restauran ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The food was delicious and the restaurant was very accommodating to our dietary needs. Really nice place.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was honesty, NOT good. Risotto ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 21, 2016

The food was honesty, NOT good. Risotto was mushy and cold, kabobs, ordered medium rare, were well done. Gnocchi was friend in a not very good sauce. We were three, a family party, and we all thought it was terrible. Don't go here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

The food was pretty good, ambiance was ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 15, 2016

The food was pretty good, ambiance was nice--great decor with modern flair, not so loud that you can't hear your friends talking but enough of a buzz that you don't feel self conscious. We were in no hurry but food service was disturbingly slow, our drinks took forever to come out, our waters were never refilled (until I got up to find a hostess), and one item wasn't served until we were literally walking out the door. It was asparagus. Asparagus does not take 2 hours to cook. My husband and I have both waited tables and it's not easy to get less than a 20% tip from us (at the very least!) but this was not a great experience. I should add, everyone was quite pleasant--it's just that we were largely ignored.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

We've been to Parallel 38 many times. Th ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 14, 2016

We've been to Parallel 38 many times. The quality of our food recently is not up to the standards we've come to expect there. Lamb skewer was overcooked and tough. The steelhead trout serving was smaller and not as tasty. And the restaurant is always too noisy for us, something we've been willing to overlook for the good food and service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

I visited Parallel 38 on October 7 arou ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 8, 2016

I visited Parallel 38 on October 7 around 7pm with my husband and another couple. The place was about 3/4 full and the noise level was unreal. We moved to the bar area hoping that the wall divider would cut down on the din, but we could not hear each other talk. We ordered two appetizers, 3 glasses of wine and a cocktail. The bill was $67.00. Our waiter was really nice but harried -- it took about 20-25 minutes to get our drinks, but the food came within 10. We left and went to dinner elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value1

Service was very slow even though the re ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Service was very slow even though the restaurant was nearly empty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

My friends thoroughly enjoyed trying Par ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 1, 2016

My friends thoroughly enjoyed trying Parallel 38....I had been one time before and was excited to return. It did not disappoint and the Risotto was outstanding as the first time I had it!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Local Ingredients, Family Style, Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food and service were excellent, but enj ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Food and service were excellent, but enjoyment of the dinner was marred by offensive, blaring, head banging "music".

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Live this place

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 5, 2016

Live this place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Wednesdays are two for one and a great v ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 10, 2016

Wednesdays are two for one and a great value. Tasty tapas, good reasonably priced wines.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

Service was great! I will definitely di ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Service was great! I will definitely dine there again and highly recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food, service, was great. We did feel l ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 29, 2016

Food, service, was great. We did feel like it was expensive for the portions that we got. Even tapas style. Portions should be bigger or prices should be reduced (our bill was $180 for 4, without tip)... but nice restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

This was my third time dining here. I e ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 29, 2016

This was my third time dining here. I enjoy the selection and the smaller size plates- you can order one item or multiple, share or not share.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was great. The service was okay ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 24, 2016

The food was great. The service was okay -- it was a bit slow given how few people were there. It seems a little bit like the space here is too big. There's a lot of empty space between tables (which is not, in itself, a bad thing) and there were a number of empty tables at 7:30 on a Friday night.

In any event, the meat skewers were fantastic. Probably could've used a bit more pita with the spreads but that was no big deal. My beer was good; my date's watermelon margarita was too sweet.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Restaurant is so-so. I ordered the crisp ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 23, 2016

Restaurant is so-so. I ordered the crispy cauliflower and beef tartare, the crispy cauliflower portion size was good and the cauliflower was flavorful. However, the portion of beef tartare was ridiculously small and the bulgur wheat mixed with it was undercooked. Furthermore, for a restaurant that puts emphasis on local ingredients, its wine and beer list included no local spirits. Starr Hill beers and Bold Rock ciders were both excluded from the beer list, and notable local wineries like Barboursville, Ducard Vineyards, and Trump Winery were also all missing from the list! Charlottesville and most of Piedmont VA has a vibrant beer and wine scene so there really isn't any excuse for this. Also, my beef tartare had oxidized, indicating it wasn't freshly prepared. The gnocchi that my boyfriend and mother ordered was quite good, although the risotto my friend ordered was slightly overdone. The building is very nice, and the location is convenient for going to movies or weekend shopping. However, for $110 for five people, you'd expect to not leave feeling hungry.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

everything. presentation , flavor, ser ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 23, 2016

everything. presentation , flavor, service and so much more...one of the 5 best meals I've had in central Va...worth the trip from anywhere...jf

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Simply amazing. Would recommend it at an ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 17, 2016

Simply amazing. Would recommend it at any time. Servers are always courteous.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I have dined at Parallel 38 several time ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 16, 2016

I have dined at Parallel 38 several times, and the food is always superb. This is a tapas-style restaurant which offers small tastings of many eclectic dishes, making it easy for dining groups that have diverse culinary tastes. The only difficulty you will find with the menu is deciding when to stop ordering. My only complaint (and it is a minor one) is the background noise. This is another of those increasingly popular high-ceilinged places that reflects noise too well. If this is an issue for you, ask to sit outside, weather permitting. Great place!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Parallel 38 is one of our favorite resta ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 16, 2016

Parallel 38 is one of our favorite restaurants in town. My husband has been a chef in Charlottesville for over 30 years and Parallel 38 is always our first choice. When we asked our 5 year old daughter where she wanted to go for her 5th birthday she said P38 without hesitation. The entire staff made our little chef's birthday a very special event. Thank you to the waitstaff, kitchen and mangers for making it a night to remember!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It is a fun restaurant with so many diff ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 15, 2016

It is a fun restaurant with so many different choices to make a delicious meal. The food was delicious. Our server was helpful and attentive. We plan to go again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A restaurant is only as good as the head ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 14, 2016

A restaurant is only as good as the head guy (or gal) in the kitchen and when a restaurant changes chefs things may change for the better or for the worse. Luckily with Johnny Garver now in the kitchen things may be getting better. Having worked closly with the proir chef he has hit the ground running. He had helped create one of the best items on the menu, the steelhead trout. This fish is more like mild Alaskan salmon and not to be missed. He has added a sauteed shrimp dish with tomato, garlic, fennel and feta. Another winner. The wine list is one of the best in town with a great selection of varities and prices. Service is always very good and our server, Madeline took great care of us.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Parellel 38 offers delicious fresh food ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 14, 2016

Parellel 38 offers delicious fresh food on small plates. This is not a place you want to go to if you are hungry and looking for a hearty meal. I do not recommend the restaurant for families with young children. This is perfect for foodies who want to dry different dishes and for couples who want to grab something small and leave room for dessert. Speaking of dessert, the Lemon Olive Oil cake is delicious. I recommend it with the french press coffee.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My birthday dinner was celebrated here l ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 13, 2016

My birthday dinner was celebrated here last night. We took advantage of the Happy Hour drink and small plate prices at the bar before being seated at our table. We also visited on a Wednesday which was a buy one get one free small plate night. The food was generally good. My risotto was so so because the scallops (which we paid extra for) were so overdone that they were hard and dry. I would not order them again. The calamari was delicious and the best of the dishes we ordered. Because of the restaurant's location, those high ceilings without any noise buffer made it seem very noisy. We could not hear the music but heard much of the clanging in the kitchen. This was another negative point in our dining experience here. It was much quieter in the bar area. I finally heard the music while in the ladies room. So should we return we would probably opt to ear outdoors if it is not too humid. I would probably return only with friends who might enjoy the selections offered or just take advantage of the Happy Hour drink and dine on a much limited menu as that was the best deal with a much more conversation friendly atmosphere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Excellent food - lots of interesting opt ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 28, 2016

Excellent food - lots of interesting options - all well priced. Good wine list too! Indoor and outdoor dining options. I will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Terribly disappointed. First experience ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 28, 2016

Terribly disappointed. First experience was amazing this time it was terrible. My server checked on me 1 time in a 45 minute period. Didn't get one dish I ordered. My drink was terrible. Very disappointing.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

The restaurant was not crowded which was ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on June 19, 2016

The restaurant was not crowded which was good for our group. The service and the food were excellent. It was a bit pricey but if I wanted cheaper, I could have gone to MacDonalds !.

The pork belly dish was a special favorite.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

There was nothing notable about the rest ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 18, 2016

There was nothing notable about the restaurant. The service wasn't that great, and it was slow. We went at 7pm on a Saturday and the place was basically empty. We've been here twice, and don't plan on coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Parallel 38 was what we had hoped for: ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 17, 2016

Parallel 38 was what we had hoped for: nice ambiance; prompt, friendly service; and a variety of freshly prepared tapas/mezes. It was pleasant dining outside. I would recommend it to friends.

My only criticism was the inside: the kitchen smoke hung in the air of the dining room. The dining area also felt rather cold and cavernous. Since we were able to sit outside, these drawbacks didn't impair our enjoyment of the evening. But they do merit some attention.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Everything we have tried here has been g ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 16, 2016

Everything we have tried here has been great, with standout favorites being the asparagus and the pork belly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Acoustics are a challenge in this high m ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 12, 2016

Acoustics are a challenge in this high metal ceiling room with no fabric to soften and on this evening, not many people either. We were one of three tables occupied, none of whom resembled heavy metal enthusiasts. Nevertheless the hard driving music pummeled away and while the food was good and the service shy, but efficient, we finally requested a change of volume and suggested maybe even a change in genre in a desperate attempt to focus on our conversation. I could swear to you they turned it up. Won't go back.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value3

Good place to escape the kids

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 9, 2016

Went here for our 16th Anniversary; first time without kids since our last anniversary. The service was great, food was good, and I liked the look of the restaurant. Good wine list. Prices were comparable to the location. They gave us a free glass of Champaign because it was our anniversary, which was a nice touch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Delicious, quick, and fun!

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 4, 2016

I particularly recommend the artichokes, the sirloin steak, and the gnocchi. All delicious!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great restaurant. Excellent tapas, lots ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on May 28, 2016

Great restaurant. Excellent tapas, lots of great options.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Incredibly personalized service and atte ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 28, 2016

Incredibly personalized service and attention to detail. We were so full but could not stop tasting everything! Highly recommended!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

You'd expect better hummus at a Mediterr ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 27, 2016

You'd expect better hummus at a Mediterranean location, really no flavor. All the other things we tried were average at best and way too salty. When sitting outside its weird because people are watching you eat as they wait in line to the movie theatre. Why not put up a fence or higher shrubs? Not going back since way too many better options in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4

Great unique restaurant

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 22, 2016

Great unique restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a terrific dinner at Parallel 38 ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 22, 2016

We had a terrific dinner at Parallel 38. The food is very fresh and everything tasted great. We order the manchego cheese, meatball flat bread, lamb skewers, mussels , hummus, olive pate and tzatziki. Loved it all! Wish they would open a restaurant in Dallas! Our waitress was great too- she was sure to bring us the pita bread when we ran low. Can't wIt to go back when we are in Cville.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very good tapas

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 21, 2016

The food was very good but know it was small plates. Was pretty loud, that kinda hurt the ability to a conversation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wine from the Tap

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 7, 2016

This restaurant has wine from the tap! The wine appears to be of good quality however, the white wine comes to the table around room temperature.

The Food is excellent. We have tried numerous dishes on the menu and have not been disappointed with the quality.

Highly recommended. However, if you want white wine, get a bottle so it will be chilled.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great place to stop while on vacation.

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 30, 2016

We wish we lived closer as we would be here all the time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.