About Parallel 38

2055 Bond St.
Charlottesville, VA 22901
View Larger Map

Parallel 38 will be the first to create an atmosphere where all the iconic regions within this parallel will merge. It will not only be a place to relish great food, amazing wine and fantastic beverages, but will also serve as a destination to discover and share the pleasures of these unique regions. A contemporary yet casual environment will allow guests to explore the sometimes perplexing world of wine without pretension. Our wine program will offer over 70 wines by the glass, along with 100 bottles from handpicked boutique wineries with an assortment of over performing staples, exotic varietals and unexplored regions.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Lunch
Saturday & Sunday: 11:00 am to 3:00 pm

Happy Hour
Tuesday - Friday: 4:00 pm to 6:00 pm

Dinner
Tuesday & Wednesday: 4:00 pm to 10:00 pm
Thursday & Friday: 4:00 pm to 11:00 pm
Saturday: 3:00 pm to 11:00 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm to 10:00 pm

Closed Monday

Cross Street:
Stonfield Shopping Center. Corner of 29 and Hydraulic Road

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(434) 923-3838

Website:
http://p38cville.com/

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Parallel 38 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

3.8

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (30)
notable wine list (19)
good for groups (17)
See All
special occasion (15)
great for outdoor dining (13)
romantic (11)
neighborhood gem (8)
hot spot (6)
great for lunch (5)
late-night find (4)
vibrant bar scene (4)
great for brunch (1)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
197 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The restaurant was not crowded which was ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

The restaurant was not crowded which was good for our group. The service and the food were excellent. It was a bit pricey but if I wanted cheaper, I could have gone to MacDonalds !. The pork belly dish was a special favorite.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

There was nothing notable about the rest ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

There was nothing notable about the restaurant. The service wasn't that great, and it was slow. We went at 7pm on a Saturday and the place was basically empty. We've been here twice, and don't plan on coming back.

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Parallel 38 was what we had hoped for: ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Parallel 38 was what we had hoped for: nice ambiance; prompt, friendly service; and a variety of freshly prepared tapas/mezes. It was pleasant dining outside. I would recommend it to friends. My only criticism was the inside: the kitchen smoke hung in the air of the dining room. The dining area also felt rather cold and cavernous. Since we were able to sit outside, these drawbacks didn't impair our enjoyment of the evening. But they do merit some attention.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything we have tried here has been g ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Everything we have tried here has been great, with standout favorites being the asparagus and the pork belly.

food4
ambience1
service3
value3

Acoustics are a challenge in this high m ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Acoustics are a challenge in this high metal ceiling room with no fabric to soften and on this evening, not many people either. We were one of three tables occupied, none of whom resembled heavy metal enthusiasts. Nevertheless the hard driving music pummeled away and while the food was good and the service shy, but efficient, we finally requested a change of volume and suggested maybe even a change in genre in a desperate attempt to focus on our conversation. I could swear to you they turned it up. Won't go back.

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Good place to escape the kids

Dined on June 9, 2016

Went here for our 16th Anniversary; first time without kids since our last anniversary. The service was great, food was good, and I liked the look of the restaurant. Good wine list. Prices were comparable to the location. They gave us a free glass of Champaign because it was our anniversary, which was a nice touch.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious, quick, and fun!

Dined on June 4, 2016

I particularly recommend the artichokes, the sirloin steak, and the gnocchi. All delicious!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

Great restaurant. Excellent tapas, lots ...

vip
Dined on May 28, 2016

Great restaurant. Excellent tapas, lots of great options.

food5
ambience5
service5

Incredibly personalized service and atte ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

Incredibly personalized service and attention to detail. We were so full but could not stop tasting everything! Highly recommended!

food3
ambience2
service4

You'd expect better hummus at a Mediterr ...

vip
Dined on May 27, 2016

You'd expect better hummus at a Mediterranean location, really no flavor. All the other things we tried were average at best and way too salty. When sitting outside its weird because people are watching you eat as they wait in line to the movie theatre. Why not put up a fence or higher shrubs? Not going back since way too many better options in town.

food5
ambience5
service5

We had a terrific dinner at Parallel 38 ...

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

We had a terrific dinner at Parallel 38. The food is very fresh and everything tasted great. We order the manchego cheese, meatball flat bread, lamb skewers, mussels , hummus, olive pate and tzatziki. Loved it all! Wish they would open a restaurant in Dallas! Our waitress was great too- she was sure to bring us the pita bread when we ran low. Can't wIt to go back when we are in Cville.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very good tapas

Dined on May 21, 2016

The food was very good but know it was small plates. Was pretty loud, that kinda hurt the ability to a conversation.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wine from the Tap

Dined on May 7, 2016

This restaurant has wine from the tap! The wine appears to be of good quality however, the white wine comes to the table around room temperature. The Food is excellent. We have tried numerous dishes on the menu and have not been disappointed with the quality. Highly recommended. However, if you want white wine, get a bottle so it will be chilled.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place to stop while on vacation.

Dined on April 30, 2016

We wish we lived closer as we would be here all the time.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

loved it

Dined on April 30, 2016

food was exquisite and Olivia served very well. Justin introduced himself and made it even more special.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Great Food - Service started very slow

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

We did a cmplete tasting of the menu (we were really hungry). Service was very slow to start - sat down and didnt have a visit from our waitress for 10 mins. Finally we asked another waitress to assist - which she gladly did. Hummus and Tapanade were off the charts good- Naan bread was legitamately baked on prem. Swordfish was incredibly tender and succulent. MUST GET THE CAULIFLOWER- wow still cant figure out the spices but really good. Also - la,b skewers ....amazing - juicy done perfectly , not dry at all. Space is bug and echoey... So be prepared to speak loudly. But overall great... And amazing wine list!!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Nice Place for a Special Occasion

Dined on April 19, 2016

Food was excellent and service was very good. Parallel 38 is a bit pricey but worth it for special occasions.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Absolutely delicious! Server was very kn ...

Dined on April 15, 2016

Absolutely delicious! Server was very knowledgeable about menu and wine list. We will definitely be going back soon.

food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Parallel 38, Great all around

Dined on April 7, 2016

Parallel 38 definitely competes with the best tapas spot (mas tapas) with its wide selection of Italian, mediterranean and middle eastern inspired small plates. Set in the Stonefield development, which is kind of a bummer because I feel it belongs in a cool neighborhood like Belmont, Parallel 38 definitely impressed. The best things I had were the MTO flatbread, the Lime Gimlet, and the chorizo pasta dish. Service was fine. Really like the decor and vibe. Since its tapas and there are a couple dishes per person, it can get a little pricy as each plate is around $10. Looking forward to a return trip soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Okay, but the service and HVAC need work

Dined on April 1, 2016

The food is good though Mas is WAY better for tapas. When we sat down, my wife actually thought there was a helicopter landing on the building. It turns out it is the HVAC system buffeting that they "can't do anything about" which, of course, means, "we don't want to spend the money to fix it". They agreed to move us and the sound improved but it could still be heard. My cocktail was excellent and the highlight of the meal, for 14$ it better be. The tapas were okay, but just good enough to leave you wondering what they could be. Our server was good until she disappeared at the end of the meal not even offering us dessert. We heventually had to flag down another server to get our check.

food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Small portions at an expensive price

Dined on March 26, 2016

The waitress was nice, service was good. A la carte menu. Do not go there hungry. Have to order multiple items for a substantial meal. Had to ask for more pita bread just to quench appetitie and use for portions. More for an expensive date if you want ambiance, not a family. Very difficult to hear the waitress because of the echoing environment and music.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Good food but noisy...

Dined on March 19, 2016

We like this place and have been there two times. The service and food is good but it's not a place to go for intimate quiet dining. The place is quite noisy because of the layout and lack of carpet or walls to absorb sound.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Consistent quality across the board with ...

Dined on March 13, 2016

Consistent quality across the board with a few stand out dishes such as the grilled asparagus to wow the palate.

food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Always a good time

Dined on March 6, 2016

Food is very different. Portions are respectable and the favors and diversity of spices are top-notch. Parking can get a bit rough. Never enough at Stonefields but not restaurants fault. Eclectic wines paired w different dishes can make for a fun evening. Definitely recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, notable wine list
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

It was a nice place to eat. Food was goo ...

Dined on March 5, 2016

It was a nice place to eat. Food was good but slow getting to the table. It's a very noisy place making it hard to hear people talking even at our own table. Staff was friendly.

Tags: good for groups
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

Good food- small portions and overpriced

Dined on March 5, 2016

We ordered a cheese plate and barely had enough for each of us to taste each one but that is it. Also they brought out and poured the wrong wine. The food was very tasty but not worth the high prices. Go here if you have a company expense account and don't care how much you pay.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

parallel38

Dined on March 3, 2016

We made reservations for a post-movie dinner. We were seated immediately, and offered to check our bulky coats. We were pleased to find out that on Wednesday, they have buy one get one specials. We were served quickly and efficiently, although they could have spread out the timing of the small plates a bit better. The restaurant has high ceilings and little to absorb noise, so it did get a bit loud as the evening wore on. We prefer to go here in Spring and Summer when we can sit outside.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Fun evening out

Dined on February 26, 2016

I like Parallel, but I don't love it. Our service was excellent (and our server in particular was incredibly kind and thoughtful), so zero complaints there—I'm just not a huge fan of the food. I feel like it's high quality, but portions seem to be all over the map and the larger items that are meant to fill you up a bit, like the pizzas, don't wow me. More pros: Parallel is incredibly accommodating for larger parties and their drink selection is impeccable. Draft wine! Awesome beer selection (though very few on tap)! Excellent cocktails! I think this may be a personal preference rather than any issue of the restaurant's. We had a lovely evening and appreciated every aspect of the service.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Lunch on a rainy day

Dined on February 21, 2016

Can only comment on lunch. Food was good , not as creative as I expected but could have been our selections. Our waitress was very sweet and helpful. It was a rainy Saturday and the restaurant was almost empty. Pleasant enough to sit and chat over lunch. Just don't think I can give a real assessment. Would like to try for dinner.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

tapas

vip
Dined on February 20, 2016

Interesting mediterranean-oriented restaurant with great choices like veggies, skewers, pasta, etc. We had a variety of dishes and everyone was tasty and nicely prepared. The service was excellent. I found it a bit pricey for small plates as we only had two drinks and the bill was around $50 pp. However we would return

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent place-food, wine, the service! ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Excellent place-food, wine, the service! We always like coming here!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Yummy

Dined on February 14, 2016

Loved sampling the tapas with my husband for Valentine's Day. The chorizo and shrimp with fennel was the best thing I have eaten in a long time.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Enjoyable experience.

Dined on January 30, 2016

Great service, knowledgeable staff, very good food. The server was pleasant and helpful, attentive, but not too much. Fun atmosphere. Will go again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Food was good, not fantastic.

Dined on January 29, 2016

It has a cool atmosphere and I love the decor. Food was good, not fantastic but the servers were nice. Whiskey sour was delicious and the gnocchi was awesome. I would probably not bring my kids here and I'm not sure how often we will actually be back just because of the price point.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Good food, great service

Dined on January 18, 2016

Had a great time at Parallel 38. Good food, but a touch overpriced. Excellent service.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Very Good Mediterranean Food

vip
Dined on January 17, 2016

We had a great meal at Parallel 38 while vacationing in the area. Our waitress recommended 2-3 plates per person. Since we were pretty hungry, we opted for 3 each, and ended up taking home a lot of food. The pita and dips were excellent, as were the brussel sprouts, and the citrus potatoes. The flatbread was not at all what we expected, but still pretty tasty. The only miss of the night was the gnocchi. Parallel 38 also has a really nice wine list. Overall it was a really tasty meal, and not too expensive. Would definitely recommend it.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Highly recommended

vip
Dined on January 15, 2016

When this restaurant first opened, we felt like we ordered a bunch of food but still left hungry. Not anymore; we have now been back twice in the last two weeks and had great experiences both times! The menu has been expanded and includes diverse dishes to satisfy any palate, even picky eaters like our daughter. We had hummus, labneh, meatballs, brussels sprouts, meatball flatbread, pork belly (the best!), and chocolate panna cotta. I would order them all again. Our son is now a big fan of pork belly; it was his first time to try it. They also were kind enough to bring extra pita bread and olive oil for our daughter, who only otherwise ate the hummus, brussels, and meatball flatbread. I can't wait to go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous

Dined on December 27, 2015

Best I have been to in Charlottesville in YEARS YEARS I TELL YOU Our waitress was amazing FOOD All great time!! Thank you

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always Something New

vip
Dined on December 24, 2015

My wife and I had a pre Christmas dinner at P38 with our visiting daughter from Santa Monica and our son from Charlotte. Both thought the food was amazing especially the risotto, the spicy tuna and the skirt steak. Both commented that the portion sizes were larger than what they were used to at their local tapas restaurants and the prices were much more reasonable than what they normally encounter. I agree with them and can't understand when a reviewer complains about P38's portions or prices. One of the great aspects of P38 is the constantly changing menu. It's fun to try new things. A highlight of the evening for me was when I asked our server Olivia (who did a great job of taking care of us) for a good port in lieu of dessert. Justin Ross, the Owner/Manager, showed up with a fortified wine he suggested I try. Forget the ports or sauternes this wine was truly spectacular. I believe it is called a Mistelle from the Cognac Region. It is a blend of grape must and Grand Champagne Cognac and aged thirty years. This wine defines complexity and is really worth trying. My only problem is now I need to find a supplier for home consumption.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

foodsnob

Dined on December 19, 2015

I do not know about all the listed categories but we always enjoy the food, service and ambiance at Parallel 38. The format is small plates and we have always found them to be interesting and delicious. The decor is chic and while the atmosphere is lively, you can converse comfortably.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.