About Pappas Bros. Steakhouse - Galleria

At Pappas Bros. Steakhouse, the focus is a total quality dining experience; in the food and wine the steakhouse offers and in the pristine service it provides. The steakhouse features USDA Prime, in-house dry-aged beef.

The award-winning wine list boasts over 3,500 selections and the cellars have an inventory totaling over 35,000 bottles from every major fine wine producing region in the world. Pappas Bros. received the coveted 2015 Grand Award, which is the highest distinction possible for wine selection by Wine Spectator. Pappas Bros. Houston Galleria has been a proud recipient of this prestigious award since 2010.

If you would like to join our mailing list, please visit our website at pappasbroshouston.com where you can also learn about upcoming wine dinners, tastings and special events.

5839 Westheimer Rd.
Houston, TX 77057
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Hours:
5 PM - 10 PM Monday - Thursday
5 PM - 11 PM Friday & Saturday
Our cocktail lounge opens at 4 PM daily.

Cross Street:
Between Chimney Rock & Fountain View

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 780-7352

Website:
http://www.pappasbros.com/

Entertainment:
Piano player in Bar from 7 PM to close

Catering:
Call Pappas Catering at 713-952-9782

Parking Details:
Valet

Executive Chef:
Michael Velardi

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cigar Room, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Sat 5:00PM - 5:30PM

Private Dining

For your private event, Pappas Bros. Steakhouse offers five different private rooms, including a wine room and fireplace lounge. Our classic, yet elegant atmosphere, paired with superior service, makes Pappas Bros. Steakhouse an excellent venue. We offer seating from 10 to 65 people.

Pappas Bros. Steakhouse - Galleria Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (126)
Good for Anniversaries (106)
Good for a Date (92)
See All
Good for Birthdays (89)
Business Meals (88)
Romantic (82)
Notable Wine List (74)
Worth the Drive (52)
Fit for Foodies (37)
Good for Groups (28)
Private Room (26)
People Watching (25)
Hot Spot (24)
Handcrafted Cocktails (24)
Cozy (23)
Open Kitchen (22)
Bar Seating (22)
Authentic (22)
Fun (19)
Vibrant Bar Scene (18)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Comfort Food (12)
Happy Hour (12)
Family Style (12)
Historic (11)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Tasting Menu (8)
Casual (8)
Live Music (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Modern Decor (5)
Seasonal (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Great Beer (3)
Healthy (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Tapas (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Scenic View (1)
Fireplace (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
4093 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

While I still think the menu is a littl ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 2 days ago

While I still think the menu is a little pricey I will say out of all the restaurants in Houston I absolutely love the management team love the wait staff they always have great personalities excellent customer service and leave you smiling at every turn. Truly give you hand and foot service absolutely can't speak enough about their amazing wine and scotch selection their stakes are always perfect and so is the service .. only complaint is that even with the reservation you may steal wait an additional 30 to 45 minutes but with the right company it's still worth the wait

Tags: Hot Spot, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Casual, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent food,drinks and service from t ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 2 days ago

Excellent food,drinks and service from the pappas' brothers as usual................

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a lovely late Valentine's/Birthda ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 2 days ago

It was a lovely late Valentine's/Birthday dinner, the staff couldn't have been more accommodating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Celebrated my daughter's birthday here o ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined 2 days ago

Celebrated my daughter's birthday here on sat with 6 diners August, our server, was wonderful. He answered all of our questions about the cuisine and made excellent suggestions. He also made her feel very special!

Food was amazing! lobster, steaks, appetizers were all terrific.

The restaurant was cold and we were sitting directly under the vent. They were very accommodating with the temperature and even had shawls available for our use which were greatly appreciated. I highly recommend enjoying a great dinner here! It will not disappoint.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The restaurant was super busy and had a ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined 2 days ago

The restaurant was super busy and had a few large parties Sat night. We were seated 45 mins after our 745 reservation which was a little frustrating. While in the bar/lounge area, it was very difficult to get a drink. I finally ordered an Old Fashion and French 75 from a cocktail waitress and both drinks were served without a cocktail napkin and the Old Fashion was overwhelmingly filled with ice, such that the large ice cubes were almost falling out of the glass.

Once seated it took at least 10 mins to get water and slightly longer to get bread. The server was apologetic and did his best to make up for the slow start and couple of missteps. The filet and prime rib-eye were excellent as always, as was the wedge salad and sides.... but we didnt linger and order dessert and after dinner drinks bc we were so behind schedule. The food was excellent, but the overall experience was disappointing bc of the other issues.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

Our party of 3 had a medium rare prime r ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined 2 days ago

Our party of 3 had a medium rare prime ribeye, a rare porterhouse and crab cakes. They were perfectly cooked and seasoned. The side dishes, skillet potatoes and cream of spinach, were a tad salty but still very good. The warm loaf of bread provided at the beginning of our meal was absolutely divine. As for the service, our waitress was very nice and attentive. Overall, Pappas Bros is probably the best steakhouse in Houston. I highly recommend it for special occasion.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Best steakhouse in Houston. Steaks were ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 2 days ago

Best steakhouse in Houston. Steaks were cooked perfectly. Best wedge I've had among many. Salmon appetizer was the best App I've had. Wine list comprehensive. Desserts are top notch.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Cozy, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fab service. Ask for tall dark-headed Jo ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined 2 days ago

Fab service. Ask for tall dark-headed Josh. Food is absolutely delicious and their off-menu items are to die for!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

This was supposed to be my birthday cele ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined 3 days ago

This was supposed to be my birthday celebration dinner and it truly was a disappointment. My family of four could not eat our meal all together because they got the temperature of our steak incorrect. The menu did not specify certain ingredients, such as pork, added to augratin potatoes so we had to send those back to be prepared again. After sending our steak back for the temperature "under" we got it back "over". It was dry at tasteless. They replaced the steak in the end but by this time the dinner was already ruined. Definitely not worth the near $400 spent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Best restaurant in Houston hands down

 
 (Houston)·Dined 3 days ago

Best restaurant in Houston hands down

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food, while excellent overall, was extre ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined 3 days ago

Food, while excellent overall, was extremely salty even for restaurant food. Half hour of standing around with no attention from bar staff waiting for my reservation to be fulfilled was poor. Waitress seemed frazzled all night and messed up my drink orders, although they did comp me a drink as a result. Given the diversity of restaurant choices in this city I think we'll go elsewhere in the future. For the prices they charge the experience should be impeccable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

We arrived for our about five minutes ea ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined 3 days ago

We arrived for our about five minutes early for our 6:45 reservation, but were required to wait about half an hour for a table, in the lounge where there was no place to sit. Popular spot, presumably. Several other parties of two that arrived after us were seated before we were, which was annoying. I ultimately went back to the check-in, where I was informed that "your table is just being set." Right. We eventually were seated at a nice table, but could not help but note that several other tables and small booths were open. Wait staff were courteous and polite, but not exactly friendly. One waiter brought us some quite tasty bread and butter, but other waiters hovered nearby wanting to take the bread away. We ordered wine by the glass and then twice watched waiters arrive who took away our wine glasses and then brought back some that were exactly similar. The food was actually very good, but the overall experience was less than we hoped and below what we had experienced on a previous visit to Pappas, as well as below what is on offer from similar level steakhouses in Houston.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

After reading all the reviews about Papp ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 4 days ago

After reading all the reviews about Pappas Bros, I knew I had to come a give this place a try. The food, enviroment, and the hospitality really made this a wonderful experience. My fiance and I order the crab cakes, tomahawk steak, mash potatoes, and the crab mac and cheese. We both agreed that everything was delicious and we will be coming back. The bread was also delicious!!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Historic, People Watching, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What's the point of making reservations ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 4 days ago

What's the point of making reservations if you'll end up still standing around for an hour just to be seated? It was our anniversary dinner and was really looking forward to dining here, unfortunately i was disappointed on having to wait so long. With that being said, the food was great and would want to give it another try.

Tags: Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Valentines Day

 
 (Houston)·Dined 5 days ago

Valentines Day

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best steak house in Houston. The best be ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 5 days ago

Best steak house in Houston. The best beef and great sides and service.

Tags: Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food and service- Omar was wonde ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 6 days ago

Amazing food and service- Omar was wonderful and the A5 Japanese wagyu was quite the experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was fu c k ing amazing. Love'd eve ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Food was fu c k ing amazing.

Love'd every bit of it

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food from bread for starters all t ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 6 days ago

Great food from bread for starters all the way to the peach cobbler for dessert. Awesome service from our waiter throughout the entire night. It's was a little pricey but definitely worth it for a nice date.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Pappas Bros. Steakhouse remains one of t ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 6 days ago

Pappas Bros. Steakhouse remains one of the finest restaurants in Houston. The atmosphere is elegant, the food incredible, and the waiters professional. This is a perfect spot.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic, Business Meals, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome food & service. Delicious malbe ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined 7 days ago

Awesome food & service. Delicious malbecby the glass.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had a nice Valentine's day dinner. Servi ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 7 days ago

Had a nice Valentine's day dinner. Service was impeccable as the waiter was knowledgeable, polite, and attentive enough to get us something every time we needed it without being a nuisance. The food was amazing. Very expensive but amazing.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing service. Amazing food. 10/10 wou ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 7 days ago

Amazing service. Amazing food. 10/10 would recommend.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was AMAZING! A little pricey bu ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 7 days ago

The food was AMAZING! A little pricey but the food is worth it!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service was great. Waiter was s ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 7 days ago

Food and service was great. Waiter was superb and gave my wife and I great service. But be ready to spend some money but it's well worth it

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went there for Early Valentine!!! Eve ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We went there for Early Valentine!!! Everything is wonderful! We definitely will go back again for special occasions!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed an early Valentine's dinner. Se ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Enjoyed an early Valentine's dinner. Service was outstanding and personable. Food was great.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Truly enjoyed our Pre-Valentine's Day di ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Truly enjoyed our Pre-Valentine's Day dinner date. Pappas Bros. Steakhouse has just become our favorite steakhouse and I am not big on steaks!!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We really enjoyed eating here for his bi ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 13, 2017

We really enjoyed eating here for his birthday dinner.

Food was delicious and atmosphere was great!! We had a blast!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Blown away by the experience as this was ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Blown away by the experience as this was my first visit. Came for an early Valentine's Day celebration and could not have left happier. From the knowledge from the staff to the quality of the food and drinks, everything was perfect. Well done.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was absolutely delicious.

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The food was absolutely delicious.

Tags: Romantic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The ambience reminded me of more traditi ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The ambience reminded me of more traditional steakhouses, dark wood and clubby. My wife and I split the 40 oz Porterhouse steak and it was one of the best piece of meat I've eaten.

The lobster reveled eggs were a real treat.

Our server was very attentive and never very far away.

We'll definitely be back.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Just what you would expect. Simply grea ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Just what you would expect. Simply great food, wonderful bone-in ribeye. Veggies done perfectly. The Pappas experience is choreographed to perfection. Yes it is noisy. Yes it is expensive. Yes you would go everyday but when you do go, you are in for a great food night. Let's not forget one of the great restaurant wine lists with wonderfully knowledgeable sommeliers.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Private Room, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Be weary- your reservation time may not ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Be weary- your reservation time may not be real. Upon checking in, I was told we were probably going to wait 30 minutes because there were 4 parties ahead of us. There was no place to sit at the bar, so we stood up. When I asked to speak to a manager, about the wait, they comped us appetizers and dessert, and promised an acceleration of our wait. Once we sat down, we were near a table of 6 people that were so loud and obnoxious we could barely hear each other speak.

The service was excellent and so was the food, but the noise level killed the ambiance and left us irritated.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The food at Pappas is always amazing but ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The food at Pappas is always amazing but what I'm happy to pay for is the impeccable service. Was out to dinner with my wife while kids were at the inlaws and my wife commented that we were greeted by no less than 4 people before we even had water. The sommelier was great and recommended a good bottle in the price range we were willing to spend. Would definitely recommend to anyone, just be prepared to spend $100-150pp if you plan to drink wine, as there aren't any sub $50 bottles on the menu.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a very nice steakhouse with some ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 12, 2017

This is a very nice steakhouse with some of the best steaks in Houston. We ate in the semi-private wine room in the back and enjoyed both the privacy and the ambiance. The wine list was great. Unfortunately, it is very light on half bottles. The servers were very nice and made some great recommendations for for some of the wines. This is becoming our go to steakhouse in Houston.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Have been here twice now and always had ...

 
 (Tulsa)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Have been here twice now and always had amazing food and service! Best steakhouse in town!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We absolutely loved the food. We got the ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We absolutely loved the food. We got the Salmon appetizer and there was so much we couldn't finish it even though we wanted to! The steaks practically melted in the mouth and were so simple but so very tasty. The creme brulee was also perfection. This is just the food. The service was also amazing. He was very attentive even to a random remark that my date didn't enjoy garlic or onions. He made sure it wasn't an allergy and then still offered to make sure there were none in our dishes! I will definitely be going back and will recommend to whomever I can!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Molecular Gastronomy, Romantic, , Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My family and I had a great time. We enj ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 11, 2017

My family and I had a great time. We enjoyed our steaks and drinks.. We'll defitnely coming back.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Family Style, Romantic, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Best steakhouse in Houston. Steaks were ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Best steakhouse in Houston. Steaks were cooked to perfection. Vegetables were fresh and prepared to proper temperature. Potato serving was enormous--enough for 4 people. Only negative was prices of wine. Wines that I buy direct from winery were priced 5 times my cost. That's overreaching.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.