About Pappas Bros. Steakhouse - Galleria

5839 Westheimer Rd.
Houston, TX 77057
View Larger Map

At Pappas Bros. Steakhouse, the focus is a total quality dining experience; in the food and wine the steakhouse offers and in the pristine service it provides. The steakhouse features USDA Prime, in-house dry-aged beef.

The award-winning wine list boasts over 3,500 selections and the cellars have an inventory totaling over 35,000 bottles from every major fine wine producing region in the world. Pappas Bros. received the coveted 2015 Grand Award, which is the highest distinction possible for wine selection by Wine Spectator. Pappas Bros. Houston Galleria has been a proud recipient of this prestigious award since 2010.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Hours:
5 PM - 10 PM Monday - Thursday
5 PM - 11 PM Friday & Saturday
Our cocktail lounge opens at 4 PM daily.

Cross Street:
Between Chimney Rock & Fountain View

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 780-7352

Website:
http://www.pappasbros.com/

Entertainment:
Piano player in Bar from 7 PM to close

Catering:
Call Pappas Catering at 713-952-9782

Parking Details:
Valet

Executive Chef:
Michael Velardi

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cigar Room, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Pappas Bros. Steakhouse - Galleria
Jumbo Lump Crab Mac N' Cheese
Bone-In Prime Ribeye
Au Gratin Potatoes
Creamed Spinach
6 Oz Sirloin & 8 Oz Lobster Tail Special
Turtle Gumbo
Steaks
Lemon Sorbet
8Oz Filet & Tiger Shrimp Special
Lime Sorbet
Seared Fois Gras
Bone-in Ribeye Steak
Lobster Mac&Cheese / Onion Rings
Chocolate Mousse
Milk Chocolate Mousse & Toasted Marshmallow
Bone In Ribeye
Maine Lobster
Crab Mac & Cheese And Mushrooms
Ribeye
Key Lime Pie
Filet Mignot 8 oz
Filet Duo

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon - Sat 5:00PM - 5:30PM

Private Dining

For your private event, Pappas Bros. Steakhouse offers five different private rooms, including a wine room and fireplace lounge. Our classic, yet elegant atmosphere, paired with superior service, makes Pappas Bros. Steakhouse an excellent venue. We offer seating from 10 to 65 people.

Pappas Bros. Steakhouse - Galleria Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Food
Houston
Steak
Houston
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Houston
3 More
Best Food
Houston
Steak
Houston
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Houston
Best Restaurants in Galleria / Uptown ›

Special Occasion (166)
Notable Wine List (117)
Romantic (112)
See All
Fit for Foodies (69)
Good for Groups (55)
Good for Anniversaries (41)
Good for a Date (38)
Neighborhood Gem (27)
Good for Birthdays (26)
Vibrant Bar Scene (25)
Business Meals (23)
Hot Spot (22)
Worth the Drive (16)
Authentic (11)
Late-night Find (10)
Cozy (9)
Private Room (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Outstanding Value (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Casual (5)
Fun (5)
Open Kitchen (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
People Watching (4)
Family Style (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Scenic View (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Historic (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Tapas (1)
Great Beer (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Live Music (1)
Sort By:
Newest
3552 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great steaks....even leftover is still g ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 3 days ago

Great steaks....even leftover is still good the next day!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really loved it. Wonderful service a ste ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

Really loved it. Wonderful service a steak place with wonderful food and character.

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great food and service - one of the best ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined 4 days ago

Great food and service - one of the best wine selections in Houston.

Highly recommend the Australian Lobster.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious food, Eddie the Bartender make ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 4 days ago

Delicious food, Eddie the Bartender makes the most delicious cocktail drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Date night with my husband.......one of ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 5 days ago

Date night with my husband.......one of our favorites........was craving the best wedge salad in town....

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Authentic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Papas has a great reputation, and deserv ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 7 days ago

Papas has a great reputation, and deserves it, everything about the restaurant is quality. The food, service, wine list, and oh yes,did I say the best steaks in town?

It is not your every day restaurant though, with pricing on the high end of the scale.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

One of the best steakhouses in the U.S. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

One of the best steakhouses in the U.S. Impeccable service and food. Highly recommend.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was Amazing! The only negative ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

The food was Amazing! The only negative thing I have to say is that the lighting was a little too dark for me. A few more lights would be great.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

As always, Pappas Steakhouse on Westheim ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

As always, Pappas Steakhouse on Westheimer did not disappoint! We had tried the one downtown and it is just not the same. Coming back to this location, we received the excellent service, quality of food and beverage and experience that we expected for my husband's birthday.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed a super night, super meal and a ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Enjoyed a super night, super meal and a super waiter. "Cody" was as good a waiter I've had in years!

All other service were great, too.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

My wife and I go to Pappas Steakhouse fo ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

My wife and I go to Pappas Steakhouse for most anniversaries ( in both Houston and Dallas) and often for birthdays. It is frequently our restaurant of choice for birthdays. The quality of food, ambience, service, wine selection and knowledge of the sommelier is far superior to other steakhouses in Houston or Dallas that aspire to be the best (e.g. Ruth's Chris, Mortons, Del Frisco, Three Forks, etc.).

From the maitre'd greeting us upon arrival all of the way through to our departure the staff made sure every aspect of our dining experience was exceptional.

As usual, our steaks were perfectly cooked and the sides and desserts were excellent.

As a business consultant, I've had the opportunity to eat at some very nice restaurants in almost every major city in the U.S. and Canada. By far, Pappas has got the other steakhouses beat.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful atmosphere , unique preparatio ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Beautiful atmosphere , unique preparation .Simple and delicious . Nice wine menu

Tags: Authentic, Business Meals, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, People Watching, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and wine were outstanding and the s ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Food and wine were outstanding and the service impeccable

Tags: Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I asked for a medium well, but they brou ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

I asked for a medium well, but they brought a well steak

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

Great service and wonderful food for the ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Great service and wonderful food for the most part. Their sour dough bread is just awesome....piping hot and homemade. My husband and I shared a crab cocktail and a shrimp cocktail. Super fresh and had a great cocktail sauce for dipping. Both entrees were disappointing and actually not up to Pappa's Streak House reputation. I had the 8 oz. filet mignon and my husband had the prime rib eye steak. Both were very flavorful, but not tender. Usually, my filet mignon is very easy to cut and have a velvety, tender texture. Not at all.......leads me to believe they may have changed meat purveyors. Baked potatoes were wonderful as always. For dessert we had the chocolate turtle pie. YUMMO!! I really hope Pappa's gets the steak quality situation back to the way it used to be.

Tags: Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Our dinner was outstanding as always. T ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Our dinner was outstanding as always. The team went out of their way to make us feel at home. This is my go to steak restaurant!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Outstanding Value, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Michael was our server and he was outsta ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Michael was our server and he was outstanding. Both of steaks were cooked to perfection. But the coup de grâce was Stephen McDonald. He is absolutely amazing. He's the most knowledgeable sommelier I've ever met. He is literally a walking encyclopedia of vino. He's always happy and energetic, and willing to share his vast knowledge of wines. We just love Pappa's Steakhouse and their amazing staff. We even had a visit from Meghan B, another server that we adore. What a wonderful birthday celebration. Thank you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were greeted immediately. The service ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

We were greeted immediately. The service was good. The steaks were great. The noise level was a little loud, but that isn't the restaurants fault. People were just talking loudly.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Our first time at Pappas Bros Steakhouse ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Our first time at Pappas Bros Steakhouse and it was for my husband's birthday. We made reservations and there was only a maybe 10 minute wait for a table. We just sat at the tables in the bar area next to the piano player and enjoyed the music. We liked that no one came by yelling your name or anything when the table was ready, they simply wrote your name on a hand-held board (similar to what they do at the airport when your chaffeur has arrived). The person passed by with our name, and showed us right to our table.

In some reviews, I've heard it was noisy in the dining area, and it was. However, we had a 2-top table in one of the smaller side rooms that weren't as noisy.

My husband ordered the ribeye and I had the seabass with lobster and we shared the crab mac & cheese. I'd requested my seabass to be well done and when it arrived, it was not, so it was sent back. My husband was pretty much finished with his steak, and I was quite hungry waiting for it to return. It took FOREVER for it to come back and for the inconvenience, they brought us out a fresh batch of mac&cheese(which we ended up taking to go!). The mac and cheese was delicious! The seabass was just "ok" when it finally arrived and the "lobster" that it came with, was really just two pieces from a claw sitting atop the fish. However, the crab mac & cheese was great and my husband enjoyed his steak.

For dessert we received a complimentary slice of cheesecake for my husband's birthday! They also wrote happy birthday on the plate and lit a candle for him. The cheesecake was ridiculously huge and delicious as well! One of the waitstaff said it weighed an entire pound!! It was a very thick slice and we ate off of it the entire weekend!

I will say, if you don't eat steak - like myself- there wasn't much else to choose from on the menu. There was seabass, lobster, salmon, and iced king crab - that was about it. I only picked the place because my husband loves steak.

All in all it was pricey but good!

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Outstanding in every way!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Outstanding in every way!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Simply the best steakhouse in the United ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Simply the best steakhouse in the United States. Best service, food, wine list and ambiance.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best meals I have ever had. ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

One of the best meals I have ever had. The steaks were perfectly cooked, our waiter was superb, and the over all experience was terrific.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have dined at this location several t ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

We have dined at this location several times in the past year with no complaints. The main issue is the steaks were tough - certainly not what we'd expect from Pappas.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Always a great experience and environmen ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Always a great experience and environment at Pappas. I highly recommend the 12 oz Filet. All of their sides are done to Perfection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our waiter's name was Erick & he was gre ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Our waiter's name was Erick & he was great!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Tags: Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Papa's is a great asset to Houston. if y ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Papa's is a great asset to Houston. if your serious about food has I am , then you will enjoy an excellent well prepared meal, that is a complete! Treat, when you are in attendance to pappas bros steak house. Ribs , seafood, dessert Great!! There pricey , but they are worth every dollar! please go enjoy a meal today!! My wife and I will be talking about that meal for a long time. cant wait to return to Houston, tx.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always go to Pappas for special occas ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

We always go to Pappas for special occasions. On this occasion, our table was so close to the door that the wait staff kept bumping the chair of our friend. There was a bug in my baked potato, but the manager did bring me another one and apologized profusely. I didn't think my steak was as good as on past visits, but the others thought theirs was fine. The desserts were excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

we arrived at 5:35pm for a 6pm reservati ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

we arrived at 5:35pm for a 6pm reservation, waited less than 5 minutes in the bar before being taken to the very back of the resturant, which was empty, to a small table tucked away. I assume they did this because our 4 yr old daughter was with us but she was very well behaved and dressed for the occasion. It was unfortunate that they didn't give my daughter a chance and seat us in the regular dinning area because we might have been more willing to return but after the subpar seating we won't be back. If you don't want kids then don't post kids menus online and say family atmosphere !!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

Always an amazing time. Great food, grea ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Always an amazing time. Great food, great service. Five stars all the way.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service. Took our 13 yea ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Great food and service. Took our 13 year old grandson for his Birthday. They presented him a special desert.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time to visit & we w ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

This was our first time to visit & we will definitely be back. Had an Outstanding waiter!!!

We were celebrating my husbands birthday.

Food, service, & ambience was "The Best"!!!!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Tapas, Wood Oven, Good for a Date, Family Style, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best service in Houston...Best Steaks in ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Best service in Houston...Best Steaks in Houston...Used to be much more reasonable from a price standpoint.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were celebrating our 3rd year anniver ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

We were celebrating our 3rd year anniversary. We had an amazing time like we always too. We celebrate our anniversary every year with your company. This is where we got engaged.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The noise level in this restaurant is th ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

The noise level in this restaurant is the only problem.…and it's significant. I would hesitate to reccommend the restaurant for a business meeting or a date because of the noise.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Worth a splurge now and then. Steaks we ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Worth a splurge now and then. Steaks were superior. Table as requested. Very nice service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Always a great experience. Best bread an ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Always a great experience. Best bread and asparagus ever

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I consider this the best Steak and Seafo ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

I consider this the best Steak and Seafood Restr. in the state of Texas. It is a class act and suggest your party get to the rest. between 5 and 6 in the evening. It's kind of fun watching the people come in from all parts of the world.

The presentation of food is so important to me.I wouldn't change a thing.

Martin Clemmons

Tags: Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Arrived early seated late (it was a Satu ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Arrived early seated late (it was a Saturday) but after dinner the Manager stopped by and more than made up for the inconvenience.

My first visit and it lived up to it's expectations.

Go, see for yourself!

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen, Authentic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service. Absolutely l ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Excellent food and service. Absolutely loved the lobster deviled eggs and of course the steak!!

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The service was terrible. My wife and I ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

The service was terrible. My wife and I were not given the specials and were largely ignored by the staff.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.