About PAON Restaurant & Wine Bar

Paon restaurant offers California cuisine with French influences. Beautiful patio dining, elegant Art Deco in intimate dining setting. Private dining available in handsome club environment. Paon chef features seasonal, locally grown organic produce for the palates of fine food lovers from all over the world. Spotlighting organic prime meats, game and fish prepared with traditional French sophistication. Beautiful lounge with old Hollywood feel and relaxing patio in a Downtown Carlsbad Village atmosphere. Paon's knowledgeable and attentive staff looks forward to creating an exceptional experience.

2975 Roosevelt Street
Carlsbad, CA 92008
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Wednesday - Sunday 11:30am - 2pm Dinner: Daily: 5:30pm - 10:00PM

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 729-7377

Website:
http://www.paoncarlsbad.com/

Parking Details:
Parking is available in front of the restaurant and also across the street,northeast corner of Roosevelt and Carlsbad Village Dr.Coaster

Public Transit:
Coaster Rail station 100 yards from the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
David Gallardo

Private Party Facilities:
Please contact the restaurant for further details.

Private Party Contact:
Steve Barr: (760) 729-7377

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

PAON Restaurant & Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (27)
Good for Anniversaries (25)
Good for a Date (25)
See All
Special Occasion (23)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Fit for Foodies (22)
Worth the Drive (21)
Notable Wine List (21)
Quiet Conversation (18)
Great for Outdoor Dining (17)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Cozy (13)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Great for Lunch (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Local Ingredients (7)
Authentic (6)
Casual (5)
Business Meals (5)
Seasonal (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Healthy (4)
Fun (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Fireplace (2)
Tapas (2)
People Watching (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Organic (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Live Sports (1)
Vegan (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Spicy (1)
Live Music (1)
Great Beer (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Family Style (1)
Private Room (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Historic (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
712 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We enjoyed this restaurant but we didn't ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 5 days ago

We enjoyed this restaurant but we didn't find the main course amazing. Appetizers, salad and dessert were great.

I don't remember our servers name but he was amazing and recommend a great wine.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Historic, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

Absolutely outstanding. Cannot wait to ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 5 days ago

Absolutely outstanding. Cannot wait to return. From Toronto Canada.

Tags: Good for a Date, , Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience for my wife's birth ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 6 days ago

Wonderful experience for my wife's birthday. The food was fantastic, we had the venison and pheasant, great choices, excellent appetizer, salad, desserts . Enjoyed our waiter. Very glad we chose Paon for this special occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Just Great ! Defiantly worth a shot. The ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 6 days ago

Just Great ! Defiantly worth a shot. The menu has some easy choices and the food is very good.

Tags: Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was really good and the service was ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Food was really good and the service was perfect. We had a very nice experience at Paon.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything about this restaurant is wond ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Everything about this restaurant is wonderful. We return each time we are in the vicinity.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

PAON has been our special event restaura ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 4, 2017

PAON has been our special event restaurant for the last few years, i.e. It has to be a special occasion to justify the price. The food and wine are always superb. Last Friday, we went there to celebrate my birthday. I am also 8 months pregnant. It was disconcerting when the waiter came to take my empty dessert plate and made a comment about offering me a squeegee to get the last few drops. I think that he was trying to be funny but it just came off as rude, especially to a pregnant woman on her birthday. I expected a lot better of PAON and their staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1

Always great food, service and overall e ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Always great food, service and overall experience!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not a particularly warm or congenial sta ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Not a particularly warm or congenial staff, but pleasant enough. Our waiter (Ivon) was cool and controlled to the point of being distant and aloof (though it simply might be his eastern European personality). Atmosphere was comfortable and the food excellent. The price is not for faint of hearts or even a middle-size wallet; four drinks, three filet mignon's one split house salad and one escargot came to $275 plus tip. Not a big deal, but a birthday was noted in the comments section of our reservation but there was no acknowledgement.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great experience - first visit on a rain ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Great experience - first visit on a rainy and blustery night!!

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Christina is the best and very attentive ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Christina is the best and very attentive. Food always delicious. We feel very welcome there

Tags: Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

I was in town for business and as usual ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 19, 2017

I was in town for business and as usual used Open Table to find a good restaurant nearby. PAON didn't disappoint. The salad was excellent, the short rib was tender and tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

the food was below par - salmon, sweet b ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 19, 2017

the food was below par - salmon, sweet breads, beet salad was a total waste. the bass was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

We met friends there and had a fabulous ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We met friends there and had a fabulous meal. Stephen runs a great restaurant! Aaron took amazing care of us, his knowledge of wine and what to pair with each dish is amazing. The ambience is beautiful and the food is incredible!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Enjoyed a lovely evening indulging in so ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Enjoyed a lovely evening indulging in some great food. The tuna tartar starter was awesome followed by a lovely lamb dinner and chocolate-covered mint ice cream. The 2012 Cabernet Sauvignon, Tolosa, from Paso Robles was a wonderful complement.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Live Sports, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very Consistent food and service. We al ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Very Consistent food and service. We always enjoy being greeted by Steve and getting his recommendation for my wine.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is incredible! Just be ready to ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 7, 2017

The food is incredible! Just be ready to spend a lot.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had the most wonderful New Year's eve ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We had the most wonderful New Year's eve dinner here for five. Service was wonderful. We had fish dish and a steak dish. Atmosphere and music was perfect .

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ingredients were of good quality, but pr ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Ingredients were of good quality, but preparation was nothing special. Lacked a "flight of fancy,' especially on New Year's eve. Restaurant itself is somewhat drab and dark.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

The New Year's Eve menu was prefix and t ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The New Year's Eve menu was prefix and the selections were abundant. It was very pricy but the quality was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went to the Paon specifically for the ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We went to the Paon specifically for the escargot's and the venison. Both were outstanding. We lived in Europe for 24 years and we have missed in particular escargot's in the shell with garlic butter. The news even venison chops were delicious. We will be returning for these two dishes among others.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Hands down great foot expertly prepared ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Hands down great foot expertly prepared and served. Spoiler alert: Best bread best service best wine list best everything. Worth the money, we only live once!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had another great experience at Paon. A ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Had another great experience at Paon. And based upon the crowd, others were enjoying the dining. Many appeared to be regulars as we have become over the last year. Love the food and the atmosphere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had short ribs, my wife had sea bass, ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 13, 2016

I had short ribs, my wife had sea bass, one of the specials that evening. The short ribs were good.The sea bass was very dry - not worth $36.00.

Overall the restaurant was ok. But I had expected something special and it wasn't.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

As always, a great dining experience for ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 10, 2016

As always, a great dining experience for special occasions. Enjoyed the evening very much!

Tags: Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time at the restauran ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 8, 2016

This was our first time at the restaurant and we were meeting friends from out of town. It turned out to be the perfect venue for our lunch date and we would go again with other friends.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice restaurant. Everything is goo ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Very nice restaurant. Everything is good, the food (very french), the service not too "heavy" but very present and helpful. We will be back one day I hope.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday dinner with friends (6 of us, 3 ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Birthday dinner with friends (6 of us, 3 birthdays). Our second visit, first time for our friends. We always find a special place for birthday dinner, and PAON filled the bill nicely! Everyone raved about their meals (pear salad, escargot, sea bass, scallops and braised short rib) and our server was kind enough to take the cake we brought and slice it and serve it beautifully with berries and mint garnish. What a nice touch! Will definitely return.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Waiter didn't speak loud enough, so neit ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Waiter didn't speak loud enough, so neither my date nor myself heard all that he had to say. He interrupted our conversation. It was a situation where he was rushing us to finish. It was not like we were taking long and tying up a table.

Tags: Fireplace, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Paon is one of my favorite Carlsbad rest ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Paon is one of my favorite Carlsbad restaurants. I usually eat in the bar area as it is fun and a bit less expensive. On this occasion, we double dated with first timers to Paon and sat in the restaurant. The wine, appetizers, salads, entrees and desserts were all well prepared, beautiful and delicious. A night at Paon is one to remember.

Thanks to Steve who always makes us feel like family. Can't wait to go again.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was our twenty-sixth anniversary and ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 3, 2016

It was our twenty-sixth anniversary and this was the place, we were in Paris two years ago, decided this year to stay local, but wanted the great cuisine like we had in Paris. This was the spot. Thank you for making the date special.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Paon never disappoints!

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Paon never disappoints!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We go to Paon for special occasions, giv ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 30, 2016

We go to Paon for special occasions, given the quality of the restaurant, which is well beyond that of most restaurants. Any guests we have invited to join us have been very impressed. Its food, its wine list, and its ambience are exceptional.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

As always Paon is an amazing place. The ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 29, 2016

As always Paon is an amazing place. The staff is always outstanding and the food is impeccable.

The wines are plentiful and lots to chose from.

This time we were waited on by an amazing young man (Jake), who was not only extremely well mannered but always attentive to our needs and knew his food and wine.

Thanks again for an amazing dining experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Pheasant was excellent. Wonderful se ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 29, 2016

The Pheasant was excellent. Wonderful selection of desserts, the onion soup was very good.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent food & service everytime! We l ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Excellent food & service everytime! We love this place...and we always take our out-of-town guests here :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always consistently delicious! Great ser ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Always consistently delicious! Great service ambiance and food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Really great for a special date night or ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Really great for a special date night or just to surprise your significant other.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Paon has a fantastic wine menu and clas ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Paon has a fantastic wine menu and classic french dished prepared perfectly.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is our second visit to Paon. This ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 14, 2016

This is our second visit to Paon. This is really a standout venue in all ways. The food is exceptionally well presented and delicious. the service is courteous and professional. WE will certainly hope to return on many occasions. Thank you!

Tags: Seasonal, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.