About PAON Restaurant & Wine Bar

2975 Roosevelt Street
Carlsbad, CA 92008
View Larger Map

Paon restaurant offers California cuisine with French influences. Beautiful patio dining, elegant Art Deco in intimate dining setting. Private dining available in handsome club environment. Paon chef features seasonal, locally grown organic produce for the palates of fine food lovers from all over the world. Spotlighting organic prime meats, game and fish prepared with traditional French sophistication. Beautiful lounge with old Hollywood feel and relaxing patio in a Downtown Carlsbad Village atmosphere. Paon's knowledgeable and attentive staff looks forward to creating an exceptional experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Wednesday - Sunday 11:30am - 2pm Dinner: Daily: 5:30pm - 10:00PM

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 729-7377

Website:
http://www.paoncarlsbad.com/

Parking Details:
Parking is available in front of the restaurant and also across the street,northeast corner of Roosevelt and Carlsbad Village Dr.Coaster

Public Transit:
Coaster Rail station 100 yards from the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
David Gallardo

Private Party Facilities:
Please contact the restaurant for further details.

Private Party Contact:
Steve Barr: 7607297377

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area (patio only), View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

  • PAON Restaurant & Wine Bar
  • Red Pepper/Cilantro Soup
  • Brioche Bread Pudding
  • Rack of Lamb
  • Valrhona Chocolate Brownie
  • My Special Birthday Dessert
  • Halibut Special
  • Escargot
  • Pan Roasted Pheasant
PAON Restaurant & Wine Bar
Red Pepper/Cilantro Soup
Brioche Bread Pudding
Rack of Lamb
Valrhona Chocolate Brownie
My Special Birthday Dessert
Halibut Special
Escargot
Pan Roasted Pheasant

PAON Restaurant & Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
San Diego
French
San Diego
Best Overall
North San Diego
6 More
Best Food
North San Diego
Best Service
North San Diego
Fit for Foodies
North San Diego
Notable Wine List
North San Diego
Outdoor Dining
North San Diego
Romantic
North San Diego
Best Restaurants in Carlsbad ›

great for outdoor dining (50)
special occasion (48)
fit for foodies (45)
See All
notable wine list (38)
neighborhood gem (34)
romantic (34)
good for groups (14)
great for lunch (12)
great for brunch (5)
vibrant bar scene (3)
late-night find (3)
hot spot (2)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
596 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was great and our server Aaron ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The food was great and our server Aaron was amazing with attention to detail. Very impressed by the over experience. Thank you

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely dinner, romantic setting in the s ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Lovely dinner, romantic setting in the seat for two in the garden, good food and service.

Tags: child friendly, fit for foodies, outdoor eating, romance, special occasions, lunch, neighbourhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Paon is the place I take my best friend ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Paon is the place I take my best friend out for her Bday. We always enjoy the food, the wine and the atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We celebrated our 30th Annuversary there ...

 
 (México)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

We celebrated our 30th Annuversary there. Paon is 1of our fav spots to dine when we come to this area because the food & service are AMAZIN. They have a wine bar in back & an outdoor patio which are very nice. Check out their menu in line -specials aldo most nights.

Go there if you are in the area.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

All around fabulous. Have been here be ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

All around fabulous. Have been here before but each time I return it is better than the time before! If there are any dietary restrictions, the are more than happy to accomadate if possible. Truly beyond fabulous.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was excellent. Aaron was terrif ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Service was excellent. Aaron was terrific. Expensive restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

When we want to go to a restaurant for a ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

When we want to go to a restaurant for a special occasion, Paon is usually among the top tier of choices. The attention to detail in all ways is extremely impressive. The overall ambience and food is exceptional, and the waiters are very attentive.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Beautiful restaurant. Amazing wine selec ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Beautiful restaurant. Amazing wine selection. Food was delicious and the service was flawless. I'm very much a fan and can't wait to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding . My fevered restaurant in n ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Outstanding . My fevered restaurant in north county.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food, excellent service. Woul ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Excellent food, excellent service. Would go back anytime when I'm in Carlsbad.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The staff were exceptionally friendly an ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

The staff were exceptionally friendly and the meal presentation and flavor, amazing!

We had the pheasant and the fish special - Halibut (unbelievable).

Started with the goats cheese/honey but could easily fill up on that and the delicious bread!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have been there a few times before, a ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

We have been there a few times before, and they always have been gracious and attentive and wonderful. They remembered us as being gluten-free. Every time is been an enjoyable experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I found this restaurant o ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

My husband and I found this restaurant online. The service and food were outstanding.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Design and atmosphere of outdoor seating ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Design and atmosphere of outdoor seating area is superb...covered, lovely water fountain (add to relaxing sound), hanging plants, hanging lamps...Super cute outdoor eating and relatively quiet. Server very nice, bread was dangerously delicious, lunch salad great. The en croute crust on cobbler dessert a little doughy and filling bit underwhelming.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Best restaurant in North County !

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Best restaurant in North County !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and service was excellent. One ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The food and service was excellent. One of the best restaurants that I have been to in SD.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My main course (Diver Scallops) and my h ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

My main course (Diver Scallops) and my husband's salad (scallop/apple) were very good but the New York steak special my husband ordered was over cooked and very fatty. My escargots were extremely over cooked and tasted like rubber bands. We will not return. Service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

Our times at the Paon have been very enj ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Our times at the Paon have been very enjoyable and meals expertly prepared. Service has always been friendly, knowledgeable, and accommodating. Highly recommended for the special occasion and group occasions. :)

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

I LOVE Paon!

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

We eat here frequently, and each time it is such a treat. Very pleasant and peaceful atmosphere, even when crowded. Attentive but not annoying service. Wonderful food: creative and delicious (but not precious), with appropriate portion size and many choices. They have an excellent wine list, as well.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best restaurants in Carlsbad!

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

We met our friends here again for lunch and once again, we enjoyed a fabulous lunch with great food and service. The salmon salad over beets is just simply the most delicious dish imaginable. The short ribs are incredible. We seem to stick with the same menu items but we all love them so much that we just want to continue to order them and enjoy them. The service is always fabulous, the restaurant is beautiful and it has to be one of my favorite restaurants in all of Carlsbad.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The grilled chicken is so good, the wine ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

The grilled chicken is so good, the wine is great, the service was awesome and I really enjoy the location.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A nice little French touch and a lot of ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

A nice little French touch and a lot of California influence. The 2- preparation duck is excellent. I would also highly recommend the lamb salad. The vine selection is Ok (a little limited by the glass, but good range by the bottle).

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

For the prices this restaurant charges, ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

For the prices this restaurant charges, the food should be excellent. This is my second time eating here and I have to say it was just average. Our server kept coming to our table trying to get us to order, but we wanted to chat and enjoy each others company, so we finally had to tell him we would flag him down when we were ready so he wouldn't rush us anymore. Fine dining shouldn't be rushed. Also, our plates for our table of 5 did not all come out together as they should have. This is also something you would expect from a fine dining establishment, better sequence of food delivery.

I've heard this restaurant does a good job in their bar area, so maybe I will give that a shot. But I don't think I will be returning to dine in the restaurant here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

The evening was perfect with the excepti ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

The evening was perfect with the exception of the waiter who was just weird, a bit intrusive and pushy with a strange "nose up on the air" snooty attitude. The food was excellent!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

All in all a nice experience. The food ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

All in all a nice experience. The food was of very sound quality and the wine list very good. We were well looked after by our waiter who also had good insights into the menu and wine pairings. The ambiance was very nice-we sat outside and had a late dinner so it was very quaint and not at all noisy. However, the prices are a tad steep. If they could do an across-the- board slashing of about 20-25% the place would go from a try once to a repeat destination.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Loved our experience at Paon - it's just ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

Loved our experience at Paon - it's just lovely to see some old time favorites making a come back on the menus - if you like French food and you like a quiet atmosphere that you can hear your table friends talk and some lovely wine, this is the place ...

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Solid French

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

This is a very good French restaurant. Preparation and plating were spot on. Defintely pricey, but well worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Love Paon

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

My husband and I truly enjoyed our experience at Paon. The food was exceptional! The service was over the top. We will be back very soon.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The quality of the food, it's preparatio ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

The quality of the food, it's preparation and presentation are as good as any restaurant where I have eaten. Service is excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent restaurant!

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on April 14, 2016

We loved everything about this restaurant! We were given a friendly and warm greeting, the service was excellent, the Salmon and Fish Special were outstanding, and the ambience was relaxed and romantic. We highly recommend this place!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Annivesary dinner

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

The service was perfect; our waiter James is both very professional and very funny! His recommendations were right on, and he even changed one of the specials to a different sauce, and even the head chef thought it was great.

Very good sized portions of perfectly cooked Ahi and sea bass, and we had an appetizer, soup and a salad.

Overall, fantastic!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

My Favorite

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

Our visit to Carlsbad would not be complete without dinner at Paon. Never disappointed, the ambiance, the service and the food are a delight. The Colorado lamb was a piece of heaven this last trip. Succulent, tender and cooked to perfection. The atmosphere with soft jazz in the background and the beauty of the restaurant make it a lovely experience.

Paon remains my favorite restaurant ever.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our favorite restaurants

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on March 24, 2016

We went to Paon for our 25th Wedding Anniversary. Food was delicious , wine selection was extensive. I like everything on the menu and the service was superb. I started with the asparagus soup which was creamy and laced with asparagus tips. I had the diver scallops, they were tender and sweet served on top of a vegetable ragout with lobster. My wife had the filet and it was tender and smokey. We finished with the flour-less chocolate cake Everything was paired with a Stolpman Estate Syrah. A wonderful evening and a great dining experience.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

Really liked Paon and would definitely return. Food was fabulous just as I had heard. Try the gnocchi for sure! Star of the show was the pheasant..superb!!

Server was a bit snooty, not very personable, other wait staff were excellent and friendly. You have to try Paon!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

Great, personal service, food was excell ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on March 17, 2016

Great, personal service, food was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice ambiance. Friendly and helpful staf ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on March 15, 2016

Nice ambiance. Friendly and helpful staff. Excellent chef who knows how to design a beautiful plate that tastes as good as it looks. Now a favorite in Carlsbad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First visit

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

I had date night at Paon and both of us were very impressed.

Great atmosphere , service and food. We will be back.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service is either wonderful or annoying ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

Service is either wonderful or annoying depending on who you get, most good one annoying

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Dependable French cuisine

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

Always consistently good French food. Nice knowlegable wait staff and good variety of main courses and wine. Of special note was their short ribs and beet salad with goat cheese.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

disappointed

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

Been here many times but this time I was really disappointed. The appetizer was great (goat cheese) but the pear salad was not so good due to the pear slices were not ripe enough and were bitter. Had lamb chops as the main course and was not pleased due to the grizzle that was there. This is the first time I was unhappy with Paon. Did they get a new chef or are they getting cheaper cuts of meat?

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.