Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi

About PAON Restaurant & Wine Bar

Paon restaurant offers California cuisine with French influences. Beautiful patio dining, elegant Art Deco in intimate dining setting. Private dining available in handsome club environment. Paon chef features seasonal, locally grown organic produce for the palates of fine food lovers from all over the world. Spotlighting organic prime meats, game and fish prepared with traditional French sophistication. Beautiful lounge with old Hollywood feel and relaxing patio in a Downtown Carlsbad Village atmosphere. Paon's knowledgeable and attentive staff looks forward to creating an exceptional experience.

2975 Roosevelt Street
Carlsbad, CA 92008
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Californian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Wednesday - Sunday 11:30am - 2pm
Dinner: Monday - Saturday 5:30pm - 10:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - 5:30-9pm
Monday & Tuesday: Dinner Only, 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Carlsbad Village Dr.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 729-7377

Website:
http://www.paoncarlsbad.com/

Parking Details:
Parking is available in front of the restaurant and also across the street, northeast corner of Roosevelt and Carlsbad Village Dr.

Public Transit:
Coaster rail station (Carlsbad) is one block from the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
David Gallardo

Private Party Facilities:
Please contact the restaurant for further details.

Private Party Contact:
Steve Barr: (760) 729-7377

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Great for anniversaries, birthdays, business meetings, or for those who just need a date night out.

PAON Restaurant & Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (26)
Special Occasion (25)
Romantic (25)
See All
Good for a Date (22)
Notable Wine List (17)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Cozy (13)
Great for Outdoor Dining (13)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Worth the Drive (11)
Authentic (8)
Business Meals (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Fun (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Healthy (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Seasonal (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Historic (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
People Watching (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Casual (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Fireplace (1)
Tapas (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
746 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 4 days ago

Have eaten here many times and never disappointed. Love the escargot, very few places serve it anymore. Service is always topnotch and everyone very friendly, but not too and what's really nice, is we are not greeted as Hi Guys, I hate that.

We'll be back for our 33rd anniversary on Sept 8.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Favorite restaurant in Carlsbad. Consistently good.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 21, 2017

We have lived in Carlsbad for years and finally went to Paon for dinner. We ate out on the front patio for a very relaxing meal. All the food items we ordered were fantastic. The Rib eye was a 10! Great Short ribs.. Even the burger they made me was outstanding with caramelized onions and Blu cheese. A little pricey but worth it.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Food is the best ever. Never have I experienced a bad meal always the best tasting and the meal looks like a piece of art ... service is always fabulous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Waiter was a bit impersonal. Starter tartar was without flavor. I find it ironic that salt and pepper was not on the table when it was definitely required for a few under-seasoned items. Sweetbreads were good. Overall, the food was mediocre. At these prices, I expect much more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We had a beautiful time at Paon celebrating Mother's Day! My family and I had a glorious meal in the outdoor patio. Everything we ordered- smoked ravioli, beer salad, seabass, scallops, duck, lamb, mint ice cream-were perfectly prepared and enjoyed down to the last morsel! Staff was friendly and professional. We were so pleased to have discovered this wonderful restaurant after over a decade of living in Carlsbad!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 13, 2017

A great place to take your special someone. Patio dining is very romantic and the service was excellent.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Green asparagus soup was delicious. Steak special was lovely. But the prosciutto in the special salad was rather rank. I should have sent it back. I left all of the prosciutto on the plate and was not asked about it when the plate was cleared.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 6, 2017

My husband and I chose PAON to celebrate our wedding anniversary and we couldn't have been happier with our choice. The food was excellent, as was the service. The pleasant background music didn't interfere with conversation. The inside of the restaurant is small so when a large party is coming, the rest of the guests are left with limited choices for seating inside. On a sunny day, the outside patio would be quite inviting.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Love this place. Great ambiance, service and good. Owners are on staff and down to earth people. Love it there!

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 5, 2017

This is my fourth visit to PAON and it never disappoints. We will certainly come back again.

Tags: Bar Seating, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 4, 2017

I could have just ordered Bread and Escargot! Delicious, I had Halibut, the portion was so large it could have served two. Husband had steak, which was perfectly prepared. Next time we will try the bar, it looked great, and serves a very similar menu. Not cheap, but food was great.

Tags: Romantic, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 24, 2017

A fabulous dining experience ... the service is amazingly fantastic and the food is like art a beautiful canvas of delicious food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 23, 2017

We had a wonderful dinner - the food was amazing, George our server was phenomenal and made sure we were taken care of from the moment we sat down to the moment we left the restaurant. Thank you paon for a wonderful experience with friends!

Tags: Fun, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Paleo Friendly, Healthy, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 22, 2017

The place has a good feel (inside and out). My wife and I sat inside. We had an early dinner so the place was not crowded yet. We were served well. The food was very good. My wife totally enjoyed the specials [steak with Blue cheese mashed potatoes and double (red/green) Gazpacho ]. My food was very good but missed minute things for my taste.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Wait staff were excellent. Food was average. Noise level was excessive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Service and ambiance good. Food was just OK. Duck two ways, confit was good, breast was gristly. Special salad of greens, prosciutto and burata was good but one salad had gristly prosciutto. Special NY steak was OK was not up to $45 charged.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Wonderful restaurant..... Everything about it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 9, 2017

This restaurant never disappoints. The food is wonderful, service is superb, and best of all the ambience Is outstanding. Paon is a great special occasion restaurant but it is even better when you go there Just because you want to treat yourself to a great evening!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Historic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 8, 2017

I can't say enough good things about Paon. Absolutely perfect every time.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 5, 2017

The restaurant was empty save six other guests. This should have been the first clue. The patio area, while pleasant, is nothing special. Our server was very attentive and professional. Unfortunately the food was forgettable, or would have been had I not thrown up the whole meal a few hours later.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Had a great birthday celebration here with friends in the bar with the full menu. Had the most lovely waitress....Christina? Great evening. Thanks so much!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 19, 2017

We love Paon and would definitely recommend it to anyone. The venison with cherry sauce was remarkable!
Jake gave us superb service!

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 19, 2017

The food and service were excellent. Our server gave us wonderful recommendations. We will definitely go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Great food , outdoor seating , outstanding service!!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 14, 2017

2nd visit to Paon and the second was even better than the first. The food is excellent. Well
paired and the ingredients taste like they are of the finest quality including the meats. The menu features a nice but different variety of choices.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 12, 2017

My third visit to Paon, this time for an anniversary dinner. The waiter advised us to sit outside as there were too noisy groups in the dining room. We'd have much preferred to be inside as, despite the heaters, the night air was rather too cool. I ordered the scallops which, at $39 were somewhat pricy, and I found the flavor overwhelmed by the tomato in the ragout. My husband said his onion soup and chicken entre were both enjoyable but not outstanding. I'd still recommend this restaurant but perhaps not on a busy Saturday night.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Hadn't been there is a while and won't wait so long next time! Service very attentive, food simply outstanding (as always in our experience) and well presented. Wine by the glass options extensive and easy to "pair". Highlights were my pear salad and rib eye steak and my wife's sea bass from the daily special.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Paon is a lovely restaurant in downtown Carlsbad. The service was exceptional and the atmos phere is lovely with seating inside and out. My friends and I each had an appetizer and a salad. The fois gras was very tasty and my friends enjoyed the French onion soup and we all enjoyed different salads. Will definitely come back whenever I return to Carlsbad.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We were there with our Son who is going to school in the area. He was wanting French cuisine so we decided on lunch. The lunch menu didn't have some of the items that were on the dinner menu and our son was wanting (craving) Escargot, so we asked our server if it was possible to get both the Escargot and Sweetbreads as an appetizer. So this place does have a secrete menu and the will serve certain items not on the menu. This Restaurant certainly made our day by serving us the items we were wanting. Service & the food as well as the location was over the top. Great place for a special occasion, we will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The atmosphere was perfect and the service was outstanding. The only issue was my wife and I both had the pheasant and it was particularly dry. . But other than that I'll give 5 out of 5.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Delicious! PAON never disappoints. Highly, highly recommend!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We enjoyed this restaurant but we didn't find the main course amazing. Appetizers, salad and dessert were great.
I don't remember our servers name but he was amazing and recommend a great wine.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Historic, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Absolutely outstanding. Cannot wait to return. From Toronto Canada.

Tags: Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Wonderful experience for my wife's birthday. The food was fantastic, we had the venison and pheasant, great choices, excellent appetizer, salad, desserts . Enjoyed our waiter. Very glad we chose Paon for this special occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Just Great ! Defiantly worth a shot. The menu has some easy choices and the food is very good.

Tags: Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We chose this restaurant for my older daughters birthday, she is a foodie. We were well taken care of by the server and the staff there. The food was good, plenty to chose from on the menu for my family. Good specials were offered and we even tired some. The restaurant had a nice relaxing and inviting atmosphere. It is a great place to celebrate a birthday or a nice night out. We will visit again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Food was really good and the service was perfect. We had a very nice experience at Paon.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Everything about this restaurant is wonderful. We return each time we are in the vicinity.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 4, 2017

PAON has been our special event restaurant for the last few years, i.e. It has to be a special occasion to justify the price. The food and wine are always superb. Last Friday, we went there to celebrate my birthday. I am also 8 months pregnant. It was disconcerting when the waiter came to take my empty dessert plate and made a comment about offering me a squeegee to get the last few drops. I think that he was trying to be funny but it just came off as rude, especially to a pregnant woman on her birthday. I expected a lot better of PAON and their staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.