About PAON Restaurant & Wine Bar

Paon restaurant offers California cuisine with French influences. Beautiful patio dining, elegant Art Deco in intimate dining setting. Private dining available in handsome club environment. Paon chef features seasonal, locally grown organic produce for the palates of fine food lovers from all over the world. Spotlighting organic prime meats, game and fish prepared with traditional French sophistication. Beautiful lounge with old Hollywood feel and relaxing patio in a Downtown Carlsbad Village atmosphere. Paon's knowledgeable and attentive staff looks forward to creating an exceptional experience.

2975 Roosevelt Street
Carlsbad, CA 92008
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Wednesday - Sunday 11:30am - 2pm Dinner: Daily: 5:30pm - 10:00PM

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 729-7377

Website:
http://www.paoncarlsbad.com/

Parking Details:
Parking is available in front of the restaurant and also across the street,northeast corner of Roosevelt and Carlsbad Village Dr.Coaster

Public Transit:
Coaster Rail station 100 yards from the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
David Gallardo

Private Party Facilities:
Please contact the restaurant for further details.

Private Party Contact:
Steve Barr: (760) 729-7377

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • PAON Restaurant & Wine Bar, Carlsbad, CA
  • Red Pepper/Cilantro Soup - PAON Restaurant & Wine Bar, Carlsbad, CA
  • Brioche Bread Pudding - PAON Restaurant & Wine Bar, Carlsbad, CA
  • Rack of Lamb - PAON Restaurant & Wine Bar, Carlsbad, CA
  • Valrhona Chocolate Brownie - PAON Restaurant & Wine Bar, Carlsbad, CA
  • My Special Birthday Dessert - PAON Restaurant & Wine Bar, Carlsbad, CA
  • Halibut Special - PAON Restaurant & Wine Bar, Carlsbad, CA
  • Escargot - PAON Restaurant & Wine Bar, Carlsbad, CA
  • Pan Roasted Pheasant - PAON Restaurant & Wine Bar, Carlsbad, CA

Report a photo problem

Red Pepper/Cilantro Soup - PAON Restaurant & Wine Bar, Carlsbad, CA
Brioche Bread Pudding - PAON Restaurant & Wine Bar, Carlsbad, CA
Rack of Lamb - PAON Restaurant & Wine Bar, Carlsbad, CA
Valrhona Chocolate Brownie - PAON Restaurant & Wine Bar, Carlsbad, CA
My Special Birthday Dessert - PAON Restaurant & Wine Bar, Carlsbad, CA
Halibut Special - PAON Restaurant & Wine Bar, Carlsbad, CA
Escargot - PAON Restaurant & Wine Bar, Carlsbad, CA
Pan Roasted Pheasant - PAON Restaurant & Wine Bar, Carlsbad, CA

PAON Restaurant & Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (23)
Fit for Foodies (22)
Special Occasion (22)
See All
Good for a Date (21)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Romantic (20)
Notable Wine List (20)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Great for Outdoor Dining (15)
Worth the Drive (15)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Cozy (9)
Great for Lunch (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Authentic (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Casual (5)
Business Meals (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Seasonal (4)
Fun (3)
Tapas (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Healthy (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
People Watching (2)
Fireplace (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Vegan (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Historic (1)
Live Sports (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Spicy (1)
Live Music (1)
Great Beer (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
S
698 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We met friends there and had a fabulous ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined 7 days ago

We met friends there and had a fabulous meal. Stephen runs a great restaurant! Aaron took amazing care of us, his knowledge of wine and what to pair with each dish is amazing. The ambience is beautiful and the food is incredible!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Enjoyed a lovely evening indulging in so ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Enjoyed a lovely evening indulging in some great food. The tuna tartar starter was awesome followed by a lovely lamb dinner and chocolate-covered mint ice cream. The 2012 Cabernet Sauvignon, Tolosa, from Paso Robles was a wonderful complement.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Live Sports, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very Consistent food and service. We al ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Very Consistent food and service. We always enjoy being greeted by Steve and getting his recommendation for my wine.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is incredible! Just be ready to ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 7, 2017

The food is incredible! Just be ready to spend a lot.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had the most wonderful New Year's eve ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We had the most wonderful New Year's eve dinner here for five. Service was wonderful. We had fish dish and a steak dish. Atmosphere and music was perfect .

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ingredients were of good quality, but pr ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Ingredients were of good quality, but preparation was nothing special. Lacked a "flight of fancy,' especially on New Year's eve. Restaurant itself is somewhat drab and dark.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

The New Year's Eve menu was prefix and t ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The New Year's Eve menu was prefix and the selections were abundant. It was very pricy but the quality was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went to the Paon specifically for the ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We went to the Paon specifically for the escargot's and the venison. Both were outstanding. We lived in Europe for 24 years and we have missed in particular escargot's in the shell with garlic butter. The news even venison chops were delicious. We will be returning for these two dishes among others.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Had another great experience at Paon. A ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Had another great experience at Paon. And based upon the crowd, others were enjoying the dining. Many appeared to be regulars as we have become over the last year. Love the food and the atmosphere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had short ribs, my wife had sea bass, ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 13, 2016

I had short ribs, my wife had sea bass, one of the specials that evening. The short ribs were good.The sea bass was very dry - not worth $36.00.

Overall the restaurant was ok. But I had expected something special and it wasn't.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

As always, a great dining experience for ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 10, 2016

As always, a great dining experience for special occasions. Enjoyed the evening very much!

Tags: Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time at the restauran ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 8, 2016

This was our first time at the restaurant and we were meeting friends from out of town. It turned out to be the perfect venue for our lunch date and we would go again with other friends.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice restaurant. Everything is goo ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Very nice restaurant. Everything is good, the food (very french), the service not too "heavy" but very present and helpful. We will be back one day I hope.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waiter didn't speak loud enough, so neit ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Waiter didn't speak loud enough, so neither my date nor myself heard all that he had to say. He interrupted our conversation. It was a situation where he was rushing us to finish. It was not like we were taking long and tying up a table.

Tags: Fireplace, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Birthday dinner with friends (6 of us, 3 ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Birthday dinner with friends (6 of us, 3 birthdays). Our second visit, first time for our friends. We always find a special place for birthday dinner, and PAON filled the bill nicely! Everyone raved about their meals (pear salad, escargot, sea bass, scallops and braised short rib) and our server was kind enough to take the cake we brought and slice it and serve it beautifully with berries and mint garnish. What a nice touch! Will definitely return.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Paon is one of my favorite Carlsbad rest ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Paon is one of my favorite Carlsbad restaurants. I usually eat in the bar area as it is fun and a bit less expensive. On this occasion, we double dated with first timers to Paon and sat in the restaurant. The wine, appetizers, salads, entrees and desserts were all well prepared, beautiful and delicious. A night at Paon is one to remember.

Thanks to Steve who always makes us feel like family. Can't wait to go again.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was our twenty-sixth anniversary and ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 3, 2016

It was our twenty-sixth anniversary and this was the place, we were in Paris two years ago, decided this year to stay local, but wanted the great cuisine like we had in Paris. This was the spot. Thank you for making the date special.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Paon never disappoints!

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Paon never disappoints!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We go to Paon for special occasions, giv ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 30, 2016

We go to Paon for special occasions, given the quality of the restaurant, which is well beyond that of most restaurants. Any guests we have invited to join us have been very impressed. Its food, its wine list, and its ambience are exceptional.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

As always Paon is an amazing place. The ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 29, 2016

As always Paon is an amazing place. The staff is always outstanding and the food is impeccable.

The wines are plentiful and lots to chose from.

This time we were waited on by an amazing young man (Jake), who was not only extremely well mannered but always attentive to our needs and knew his food and wine.

Thanks again for an amazing dining experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Pheasant was excellent. Wonderful se ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 29, 2016

The Pheasant was excellent. Wonderful selection of desserts, the onion soup was very good.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent food & service everytime! We l ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Excellent food & service everytime! We love this place...and we always take our out-of-town guests here :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always consistently delicious! Great ser ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Always consistently delicious! Great service ambiance and food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Really great for a special date night or ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Really great for a special date night or just to surprise your significant other.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Paon has a fantastic wine menu and clas ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Paon has a fantastic wine menu and classic french dished prepared perfectly.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is our second visit to Paon. This ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 14, 2016

This is our second visit to Paon. This is really a standout venue in all ways. The food is exceptionally well presented and delicious. the service is courteous and professional. WE will certainly hope to return on many occasions. Thank you!

Tags: Seasonal, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nothing was really bad, but nothing was ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Nothing was really bad, but nothing was outstanding. I had the duck and the breast was tough. The leg was nice with the candied orange peel. We cook duck at home and my husband's was far better. My husband had the braised beef, which he thought was tasteless. It was extremely tender, though. I liked the taste, but will admit it was a super light taste. If you want superb French cuisine, go to Wine Sellar and Brassiere. If you want great food that doesn't have to be French, go to Solterra Kitchen and Winery or Avant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Wow! Found while researching restaurants ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Wow! Found while researching restaurants in Carlsbad/San Diego. Chose because of the consistent reviews over the last several years. Did not disappoint. Flawless in all respects, food, wine, service, ambiance.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great, enjoyed the outside seat ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Food was great, enjoyed the outside seating, waiter was very professional and friendly. Brought our own wine which they were happy to cork ($20 fee) and enjoyed, a few appetizers and salad then split our dinner. They served it on 2 plates nicely and no split fee. Dined there a couple times before, food was great and nice ambiance, this time was no exception. Inside or outside can't go wrong.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Small but creative lunch menu. Have had ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Small but creative lunch menu. Have had excellent soups here, as well the butternut squash ravioli. Pleasant atmosphere sitting outside, close to street but protected. Attentive and personable staff.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice outside seating, fine service, grea ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Nice outside seating, fine service, great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Food delicious and great presentation; s ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Food delicious and great presentation; service the best.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The service is exceptional as well as th ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 6, 2016

The service is exceptional as well as the food and ambiance. We can always count on Paon's going above and beyond! Our favorite!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was the best meal we have had in a ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 5, 2016

This was the best meal we have had in a long time. Everything we were looking for in an Anniversary Dinner (44 Years). The food was impeccable and beautifully served.

We had the Salmon & Yellow Tail Tartar to start, a Pear salad and then for our entree our taste buds were treated to the most divine Venison, to finish we had a mouth watering Flourless chocolate cake with chocolate mouse atop.

What a treat for our 44th Anniversary.

We would recommend this to anyone desiring a special experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I got the Pan seared pheasantButternut s ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 1, 2016

I got the Pan seared pheasantButternut squash soup and veal sweet meats, and a glass of Syrah, with a tawny port for desert. All excellent and the staff was very friendly and helpful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had an enjoyable Friday night dinner. ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We had an enjoyable Friday night dinner. The service was very attentive and the wine list was excellent. We sat on the patio which has a lovely ambiance. The food was good but not exceptional, but would still go there again and maybe try something different.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

It is a terrific restaurant. The food is ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 29, 2016

It is a terrific restaurant. The food is outstanding and the it's nice to have a table that is not on top of your other patrons. Plenty of space to relax and enjoy a great meal.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to PAON several times befor ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 27, 2016

We have been to PAON several times before and it seems to have slipped a little. Everything was OK, but not excellent. Still moderately expensive, as in the past, but not as much worth it, as we had felt before.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Absolutely Loved our meal!!! Amazing din ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Absolutely Loved our meal!!! Amazing dinner of short ribs for my husband and the scallops for me. Our 30th wedding anniversary and the meal did not disappoint. In my opinion you won't find anything better anywhere in the world. And we love to travel as well as fine dining.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superb as always. Excellent food. Servi ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Superb as always. Excellent food. Service is that of a family restaurant but of the highest level. Best martini ever

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.