Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi

About PAON Restaurant & Wine Bar

Paon restaurant offers California cuisine with French influences. Beautiful patio dining, elegant Art Deco in intimate dining setting. Private dining available in handsome club environment. Paon chef features seasonal, locally grown organic produce for the palates of fine food lovers from all over the world. Spotlighting organic prime meats, game and fish prepared with traditional French sophistication. Beautiful lounge with old Hollywood feel and relaxing patio in a Downtown Carlsbad Village atmosphere. Paon's knowledgeable and attentive staff looks forward to creating an exceptional experience.

2975 Roosevelt Street
Carlsbad, CA 92008
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Wednesday - Sunday 11:30am - 2pm Dinner: Daily: 5:30pm - 10:00PM

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 729-7377

Website:
http://www.paoncarlsbad.com/

Parking Details:
Parking is available in front of the restaurant and also across the street,northeast corner of Roosevelt and Carlsbad Village Dr.Coaster

Public Transit:
Coaster Rail station 100 yards from the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
David Gallardo

Private Party Facilities:
Please contact the restaurant for further details.

Private Party Contact:
Steve Barr: (760) 729-7377

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

PAON Restaurant & Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (28)
Special Occasion (24)
Romantic (23)
See All
Good for a Date (23)
Notable Wine List (21)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Worth the Drive (17)
Cozy (14)
Great for Outdoor Dining (14)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Bar Seating (8)
Authentic (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Local Ingredients (6)
Business Meals (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Casual (5)
Seasonal (5)
Fun (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Tapas (3)
Healthy (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Fireplace (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Spicy (1)
Live Music (1)
Great Beer (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Live Sports (1)
Family Style (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Vegan (1)
People Watching (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Historic (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
S
724 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 19, 2017

We love Paon and would definitely recommend it to anyone. The venison with cherry sauce was remarkable!
Jake gave us superb service!

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 19, 2017

The food and service were excellent. Our server gave us wonderful recommendations. We will definitely go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Great food , outdoor seating , outstanding service!!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 14, 2017

2nd visit to Paon and the second was even better than the first. The food is excellent. Well
paired and the ingredients taste like they are of the finest quality including the meats. The menu features a nice but different variety of choices.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 12, 2017

My third visit to Paon, this time for an anniversary dinner. The waiter advised us to sit outside as there were too noisy groups in the dining room. We'd have much preferred to be inside as, despite the heaters, the night air was rather too cool. I ordered the scallops which, at $39 were somewhat pricy, and I found the flavor overwhelmed by the tomato in the ragout. My husband said his onion soup and chicken entre were both enjoyable but not outstanding. I'd still recommend this restaurant but perhaps not on a busy Saturday night.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Hadn't been there is a while and won't wait so long next time! Service very attentive, food simply outstanding (as always in our experience) and well presented. Wine by the glass options extensive and easy to "pair". Highlights were my pear salad and rib eye steak and my wife's sea bass from the daily special.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Paon is a lovely restaurant in downtown Carlsbad. The service was exceptional and the atmos phere is lovely with seating inside and out. My friends and I each had an appetizer and a salad. The fois gras was very tasty and my friends enjoyed the French onion soup and we all enjoyed different salads. Will definitely come back whenever I return to Carlsbad.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We were there with our Son who is going to school in the area. He was wanting French cuisine so we decided on lunch. The lunch menu didn't have some of the items that were on the dinner menu and our son was wanting (craving) Escargot, so we asked our server if it was possible to get both the Escargot and Sweetbreads as an appetizer. So this place does have a secrete menu and the will serve certain items not on the menu. This Restaurant certainly made our day by serving us the items we were wanting. Service & the food as well as the location was over the top. Great place for a special occasion, we will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The atmosphere was perfect and the service was outstanding. The only issue was my wife and I both had the pheasant and it was particularly dry. . But other than that I'll give 5 out of 5.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Delicious! PAON never disappoints. Highly, highly recommend!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We enjoyed this restaurant but we didn't find the main course amazing. Appetizers, salad and dessert were great.
I don't remember our servers name but he was amazing and recommend a great wine.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Historic, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Absolutely outstanding. Cannot wait to return. From Toronto Canada.

Tags: Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Wonderful experience for my wife's birthday. The food was fantastic, we had the venison and pheasant, great choices, excellent appetizer, salad, desserts . Enjoyed our waiter. Very glad we chose Paon for this special occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Just Great ! Defiantly worth a shot. The menu has some easy choices and the food is very good.

Tags: Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We chose this restaurant for my older daughters birthday, she is a foodie. We were well taken care of by the server and the staff there. The food was good, plenty to chose from on the menu for my family. Good specials were offered and we even tired some. The restaurant had a nice relaxing and inviting atmosphere. It is a great place to celebrate a birthday or a nice night out. We will visit again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Food was really good and the service was perfect. We had a very nice experience at Paon.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Everything about this restaurant is wonderful. We return each time we are in the vicinity.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 4, 2017

PAON has been our special event restaurant for the last few years, i.e. It has to be a special occasion to justify the price. The food and wine are always superb. Last Friday, we went there to celebrate my birthday. I am also 8 months pregnant. It was disconcerting when the waiter came to take my empty dessert plate and made a comment about offering me a squeegee to get the last few drops. I think that he was trying to be funny but it just came off as rude, especially to a pregnant woman on her birthday. I expected a lot better of PAON and their staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Always great food, service and overall experience!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Not a particularly warm or congenial staff, but pleasant enough. Our waiter (Ivon) was cool and controlled to the point of being distant and aloof (though it simply might be his eastern European personality). Atmosphere was comfortable and the food excellent. The price is not for faint of hearts or even a middle-size wallet; four drinks, three filet mignon's one split house salad and one escargot came to $275 plus tip. Not a big deal, but a birthday was noted in the comments section of our reservation but there was no acknowledgement.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Great experience - first visit on a rainy and blustery night!!

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Christina is the best and very attentive. Food always delicious. We feel very welcome there

Tags: Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 19, 2017

I was in town for business and as usual used Open Table to find a good restaurant nearby. PAON didn't disappoint. The salad was excellent, the short rib was tender and tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 19, 2017

the food was below par - salmon, sweet breads, beet salad was a total waste. the bass was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We met friends there and had a fabulous meal. Stephen runs a great restaurant! Aaron took amazing care of us, his knowledge of wine and what to pair with each dish is amazing. The ambience is beautiful and the food is incredible!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Enjoyed a lovely evening indulging in some great food. The tuna tartar starter was awesome followed by a lovely lamb dinner and chocolate-covered mint ice cream. The 2012 Cabernet Sauvignon, Tolosa, from Paso Robles was a wonderful complement.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Live Sports, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Very Consistent food and service. We always enjoy being greeted by Steve and getting his recommendation for my wine.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 7, 2017

The food is incredible! Just be ready to spend a lot.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We had the most wonderful New Year's eve dinner here for five. Service was wonderful. We had fish dish and a steak dish. Atmosphere and music was perfect .

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Ingredients were of good quality, but preparation was nothing special. Lacked a "flight of fancy,' especially on New Year's eve. Restaurant itself is somewhat drab and dark.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The New Year's Eve menu was prefix and the selections were abundant. It was very pricy but the quality was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We went to the Paon specifically for the escargot's and the venison. Both were outstanding. We lived in Europe for 24 years and we have missed in particular escargot's in the shell with garlic butter. The news even venison chops were delicious. We will be returning for these two dishes among others.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Hands down great foot expertly prepared and served. Spoiler alert: Best bread best service best wine list best everything. Worth the money, we only live once!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Had another great experience at Paon. And based upon the crowd, others were enjoying the dining. Many appeared to be regulars as we have become over the last year. Love the food and the atmosphere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 13, 2016

I had short ribs, my wife had sea bass, one of the specials that evening. The short ribs were good.The sea bass was very dry - not worth $36.00.
Overall the restaurant was ok. But I had expected something special and it wasn't.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 10, 2016

As always, a great dining experience for special occasions. Enjoyed the evening very much!

Tags: Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 8, 2016

This was our first time at the restaurant and we were meeting friends from out of town. It turned out to be the perfect venue for our lunch date and we would go again with other friends.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Very nice restaurant. Everything is good, the food (very french), the service not too "heavy" but very present and helpful. We will be back one day I hope.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Birthday dinner with friends (6 of us, 3 birthdays). Our second visit, first time for our friends. We always find a special place for birthday dinner, and PAON filled the bill nicely! Everyone raved about their meals (pear salad, escargot, sea bass, scallops and braised short rib) and our server was kind enough to take the cake we brought and slice it and serve it beautifully with berries and mint garnish. What a nice touch! Will definitely return.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Waiter didn't speak loud enough, so neither my date nor myself heard all that he had to say. He interrupted our conversation. It was a situation where he was rushing us to finish. It was not like we were taking long and tying up a table.

Tags: Fireplace, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.