Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi

About PAON Restaurant & Wine Bar

Paon restaurant offers California cuisine with French influences. Beautiful patio dining, elegant Art Deco in intimate dining setting. Private dining available in handsome club environment. Paon chef features seasonal, locally grown organic produce for the palates of fine food lovers from all over the world. Spotlighting organic prime meats, game and fish prepared with traditional French sophistication. Beautiful lounge with old Hollywood feel and relaxing patio in a Downtown Carlsbad Village atmosphere. Paon's knowledgeable and attentive staff looks forward to creating an exceptional experience.

2975 Roosevelt Street
Carlsbad, CA 92008
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Californian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Wednesday - Sunday 11:30am - 2pm
Dinner: Monday - Saturday 5:30pm - 10:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - 5:30-9pm
Monday & Tuesday: Dinner Only, 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Carlsbad Village Dr.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 729-7377

Website:
http://www.paoncarlsbad.com/

Parking Details:
Parking is available in front of the restaurant and also across the street, northeast corner of Roosevelt and Carlsbad Village Dr.

Public Transit:
Coaster rail station (Carlsbad) is one block from the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
David Gallardo

Private Party Facilities:
Please contact the restaurant for further details.

Private Party Contact:
Steve Barr: (760) 729-7377

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Great for anniversaries, birthdays, business meetings, or for those who just need a date night out.

PAON Restaurant & Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (28)
Romantic (27)
Good for a Date (26)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Great for Outdoor Dining (19)
Notable Wine List (17)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Worth the Drive (14)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Bar Seating (9)
Cozy (7)
Business Meals (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Great for Lunch (6)
Authentic (6)
Healthy (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Fun (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Casual (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Hot Spot (2)
People Watching (2)
Seasonal (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Modern Decor (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Organic (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
S
769 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

We chose Paon to celebrate our engagement ! Worth it all the way! Great service and menu and the champagne was divine ! Their wine list is very nice! And the food out of this world! Thank you!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Disabled Access, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Organic, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Charming atmosphere on the patio and delicious food. James the owner gave us special attention and our server followed through beautifully. It is a bit pricey but ample portions. Even though it is a 40 minute ride for us, it's worth it! Looking forward to our next trip there!

Tags: Seasonal, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Exquisite Service and delicious food in a beautiful outdoor or indoor setting. Very nice wine list and very friendly service!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 9, 2017

This was a very nice evening for my family. I would recommend this as a high end dining experience. We sat inside and it was not crowded. We saw as we were leaving that the outside patio was filling up. I think the food and presentation is outstanding but I feel it would be busier if the meals were 20% lower in cost. just a suggestion.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 8, 2017

I enjoy Paon, although their meal prices are now excessive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Excellent in every regard!

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 3, 2017

We dined on the patio which was a delightful experience, and I would highly recommend everyone try once.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 29, 2017

We enjoyed a delightful birthday lunch on the patio here. My smoked salmon salad was delicious with the beets complimenting the salmon. Our other entree, the burger with fries, was the best burger my husband ever tasted. The glass of Pinot Noir that I ordered to accompany the salad was a good pairing. The patio setting is perfect for quiet conversation. Our server was very cordial and anxious to please.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Outstanding from the moment we entered. Time to enjoy cocktails and study the menu. The specials of the day were perfectly described.we enjoyed the two we ordered, as well as an entree from the menu. A beautiful supper and evening for our anniversary.

Tags: Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Our server was so attentive. The 4 star for service was for the fact that we got sat way back by the kitchen by the owner, despite the fact that it was a Friday night and there were plenty of empty tables throughout the restaurant. Why we were sat in the back nearest the kitchen is beyond me (we were dressed very nicely). Food was pricey, yet delicious. We brought our own bottle of wine and they were happy to uncork it for us. Overall, I would recommend for a nice date night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Good food and excellent service. A bit pricy for Carlsbad. Big line list but few bottles.under $100.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 22, 2017

My husband and I finally got out for a date night and sat in the front patio, as it was a lovely evening. Our food was wonderful, from the fresh Gazpacho (both red and green tomatillo side-by-side in the bowl with a scoop of lobster and avocado in the middle - the traditional Gazpacho was the best) to the perfectly cooked Chilean Sea Bass w/Meyer Lemon buerre blanc. And service was excellent from start to finish. The only down side was a large delivery truck that sat in the middle of the road idling right in front of the restaurant for at least 20 minutes. The noise was annoying but that is not the fault of the restaurant.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 20, 2017

The best French restaurant for miles and miles. Friendly.
The best escargot ever.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Hot Spot, People Watching, Business Meals, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 17, 2017

One of our favorite restaurants in North County SD. Always an innovative, well prepared menu that never disappoints. Good wine list too, and exceptional service. Highly recommend!

Tags: Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Ambiance was good and food excellent. We had a lovely Saturday "girls" lunch and enjoyed the shaded patio. Good wine list. Service was excellent.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Wonderful food and service. Probably the best seared tuna I have ever had. Special gazpacho was special but at $17, too pricey. I would recommend that servers announce the price as they enumerate the specials. I would definitely go back, but only for a special occasion.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 9, 2017

We always love Paon when choosing a place to celebrate or when we want a really great dinner with fabulous service. Is seems almost magical when you walk into Paon with twinkling lights and water fountain outside and classy but not stuffy interior. It doesn't stop there! The food selections are creative, delicious and incredibly, better than described on the menu or by the best servers around. The style of food is French inspired with a decidedly California twist and fresh, local ingredients. It is beautiful food to behold, you eat with your eyes first, and meets your expectation on the first bite. Not possible you think? Give Paon a try and when you do, I hope their gazpacho soup is on the menu. I would go again today just for that!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Very enjoyable restaurant. Second time there. Dined on patio both times. Great atmosphere with some different menu items. Glad I found it. Worth the drive from Poway just to go there.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Have eaten here many times and never disappointed. Love the escargot, very few places serve it anymore. Service is always topnotch and everyone very friendly, but not too and what's really nice, is we are not greeted as Hi Guys, I hate that.

We'll be back for our 33rd anniversary on Sept 8.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Favorite restaurant in Carlsbad. Consistently good.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 20, 2017

We have lived in Carlsbad for years and finally went to Paon for dinner. We ate out on the front patio for a very relaxing meal. All the food items we ordered were fantastic. The Rib eye was a 10! Great Short ribs.. Even the burger they made me was outstanding with caramelized onions and Blu cheese. A little pricey but worth it.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Food is the best ever. Never have I experienced a bad meal always the best tasting and the meal looks like a piece of art ... service is always fabulous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Nice ambiance, elegant.
Great French cuisine and presentation
Award winning wine selection.
Excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Waiter was a bit impersonal. Starter tartar was without flavor. I find it ironic that salt and pepper was not on the table when it was definitely required for a few under-seasoned items. Sweetbreads were good. Overall, the food was mediocre. At these prices, I expect much more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We had a beautiful time at Paon celebrating Mother's Day! My family and I had a glorious meal in the outdoor patio. Everything we ordered- smoked ravioli, beer salad, seabass, scallops, duck, lamb, mint ice cream-were perfectly prepared and enjoyed down to the last morsel! Staff was friendly and professional. We were so pleased to have discovered this wonderful restaurant after over a decade of living in Carlsbad!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 14, 2017

This was my second visit, and it did not disappoint. Excellent food and service. It made my Mothers Day memorable.

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 12, 2017

A great place to take your special someone. Patio dining is very romantic and the service was excellent.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Perfect for our anniversary date night. Food was excellent. Our waiter (we think his name was George--from Lake Tahoe) made a great dining experience even better. Greeter and first server could have been a bit more friendly but the rest of the experience overrode the initial impression.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Green asparagus soup was delicious. Steak special was lovely. But the prosciutto in the special salad was rather rank. I should have sent it back. I left all of the prosciutto on the plate and was not asked about it when the plate was cleared.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 6, 2017

My husband and I chose PAON to celebrate our wedding anniversary and we couldn't have been happier with our choice. The food was excellent, as was the service. The pleasant background music didn't interfere with conversation. The inside of the restaurant is small so when a large party is coming, the rest of the guests are left with limited choices for seating inside. On a sunny day, the outside patio would be quite inviting.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Love this place. Great ambiance, service and good. Owners are on staff and down to earth people. Love it there!

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 4, 2017

This is my fourth visit to PAON and it never disappoints. We will certainly come back again.

Tags: Bar Seating, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 3, 2017

I could have just ordered Bread and Escargot! Delicious, I had Halibut, the portion was so large it could have served two. Husband had steak, which was perfectly prepared. Next time we will try the bar, it looked great, and serves a very similar menu. Not cheap, but food was great.

Tags: Romantic, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 24, 2017

AWFUL.

Booking a celebration/group event/business dinner? Expect them to screw it up.

Arranged a double birthday party, made a reservation, arranged for champagne, caviar, special table requests. Spoke to owner Steve on phone, confirmed everything, gave my credit card number, blah blah blah.

Get to restaurant, *nothing* is arranged. Out of multiple champagnes, didn't honor table requests, etc. No messages were conveyed. Food was mediocre as well.

Biggest waste of $1k in my life.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 23, 2017

A fabulous dining experience ... the service is amazingly fantastic and the food is like art a beautiful canvas of delicious food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We had a wonderful dinner - the food was amazing, George our server was phenomenal and made sure we were taken care of from the moment we sat down to the moment we left the restaurant. Thank you paon for a wonderful experience with friends!

Tags: Fun, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Paleo Friendly, Healthy, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 21, 2017

The place has a good feel (inside and out). My wife and I sat inside. We had an early dinner so the place was not crowded yet. We were served well. The food was very good. My wife totally enjoyed the specials [steak with Blue cheese mashed potatoes and double (red/green) Gazpacho ]. My food was very good but missed minute things for my taste.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Wait staff were excellent. Food was average. Noise level was excessive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Service and ambiance good. Food was just OK. Duck two ways, confit was good, breast was gristly. Special salad of greens, prosciutto and burata was good but one salad had gristly prosciutto. Special NY steak was OK was not up to $45 charged.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Wonderful restaurant..... Everything about it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.