Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi

About PAON Restaurant & Wine Bar

Paon restaurant offers California cuisine with French influences. Beautiful patio dining, elegant Art Deco in intimate dining setting. Private dining available in handsome club environment. Paon chef features seasonal, locally grown organic produce for the palates of fine food lovers from all over the world. Spotlighting organic prime meats, game and fish prepared with traditional French sophistication. Beautiful lounge with old Hollywood feel and relaxing patio in a Downtown Carlsbad Village atmosphere. Paon's knowledgeable and attentive staff looks forward to creating an exceptional experience.

2975 Roosevelt Street
Carlsbad, CA 92008
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Californian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Wednesday - Sunday 11:30am - 2pm
Dinner: Monday - Saturday 5:30pm - 10:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - 5:30-9pm
Monday & Tuesday: Dinner Only, 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Carlsbad Village Dr.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 729-7377

Website:
http://www.paoncarlsbad.com/

Parking Details:
Parking is available in front of the restaurant and also across the street, northeast corner of Roosevelt and Carlsbad Village Dr.

Public Transit:
Coaster rail station (Carlsbad) is one block from the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
David Gallardo

Private Party Facilities:
Please contact the restaurant for further details.

Private Party Contact:
Steve Barr: (760) 729-7377

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Great for anniversaries, birthdays, business meetings, or for those who just need a date night out.

PAON Restaurant & Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Quiet

98% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (32)
Good for a Date (30)
Great for Outdoor Dining (30)
See All
Romantic (25)
Good for Anniversaries (24)
Fit for Foodies (22)
Creative Cuisine (21)
Notable Wine List (20)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Worth the Drive (16)
Bar Seating (11)
Cozy (10)
Local Ingredients (9)
Authentic (8)
Business Meals (7)
Casual (5)
Healthy (5)
People Watching (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Organic (3)
Seasonal (3)
Fun (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
812 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

We have been to Paon many times and have enjoyed every experience. Service is always outstanding and food never disappoints!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Good for Groups, Cozy, Kid-friendly, Quick Bite, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Authentic, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 13, 2017

Had a steak but the knife could hardly cut it it was so dull. Either sharpen your knifes or get new flat wear!

Tags: Bar Seating, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Paon was a very pleasant discovery for us! Our server Aaron, was outstanding with an excellent knowledge of wine to go along with their great selection. He provided us with extraordinary service all evening along with some great food suggestions. The food was perfectly cooked with a great presentation and nice flavors. Would HIGHLY recommend Paon and especially Aaron!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 6, 2017

The food were very good. My wife loved the scallops. I loved my lamb chops. The wines were expensive.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 6, 2017

Such a wonderful experience. The team is amazing. Love Gino. Amazing wines and food. Thanks !!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Happy Hour, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 4, 2017

As ususal the food met or exceeded expectations. Service was good as well!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Wow! Words will defy this restaurant. I had a lobster salad special and the wife had the ravioli. Simply AMAZING! So good, so fresh! Best in Carlsbad we've had so far!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Very delicious food, polite and friendly service, great wine list (restaurant is also connected to wine bar), indoor and outdoor seating with nice ambiance. My friend and I both ordered an appetizer (lobster salad and king salmon/tuna tartare) and shared an entree (short ribs with potatoes, spinach and mushrooms). It was a birthday dinner, and the restaurant served us a sweet little birthday treat on the house. Love Paon restaurant, have already been several times and will most definitely come back!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 2, 2017

This is a beautiful restaurant with high quality food and wine. The staff is friendly and knowledgeable. Everything we tasted was fantastic! Very romantic setting outside, had a very European feel. I loved it!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Excellent food and service. Everything we enjoyed was prepared exceptionally. Our waiter James was attentive, provided excellent suggestions, but his was not over baring or hovering.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 31, 2017

Food was very, very good. Presented extremely well. Service was A+. Very impressed and will be back

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (London)·Dined on August 29, 2017

The food was amazing and we had a great server!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Nice quiet restaurant filled w locals in the know. Great service combined the professional with the personable. Portions were very large. Nice wine list. Outdoor seating a bonus.

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Terrific spot. Great food, service and ambiance. Excellent drinks and wine service. Everything excellent. A winner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Paon was great. Diverse menu and food was well prepared. Everything tasted great. Good wine list. Desert was great. Service was excellent. Overall a great experience!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Great food and wine list! Paon is nice and quiet with a super menu. We had the duck two ways and the Rack of Lamb. Everything was outstanding.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 25, 2017

We really enjoyed Paon, as usual! We bought a bottle of wine from the wine shop, a Leonetti cab, and also had a Rombauer chardonnay from the menu. Both paired well with what everyone in our party ordered. The gazpacho was excellent. I could have (and should have) made a meal out of that -- and the escargot, or course. The short ribs were also good. The vegetables were a little unmemorable, but other than that, a great meal and a great time.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Always pleasant. Lovely to sit on patio. Good service. Nice menu. Food is always good. Favorite place for birthday lunches

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 23, 2017

My go to restaurant for all occasions. Plating is a work of art. Food never disappoints. Service impeccable. Steve Barr partner seems to be there to always greet you and is very hands on and friendly as he visits each table. I dine in France often due to work and I could close my eyes with each bite--the flavor takes me to Paris.

Tags: Healthy, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Save your money ...go some place else. Food was so so. Try Cicciotti's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Excellent food! Excellent service! Can't wait to go back! In Southern California on vacation.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 21, 2017

Service by Jorge was friendly and relaxed but thorough. We loved the wine he suggested and the food was delicious -steak perfectly prepared, snails were big, corn soup really yummy. A couple small knocks (small stuff counts)- My oldfashioned had a cheap maraschino cherry and an orange wedge instead of a rind curl. And the music sucked- low end sushi bar smooth jazz. Should be acoustic jazz, Nat King Cole, etc. But overall we had a really nice meal.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 20, 2017

The pheasant was amazing. The outdoor patio is perfect in the summer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 20, 2017

A friend/colleague of mine highly recommend this restaurant to us for our 5th year wedding anniversary, she said that the food was wonderful and that the service was great! The food and the wine were most wonderful!!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Delightful, charming, and friendly, a neighborhood gem. Fit for foodies!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 17, 2017

My wife and I were very impressed. The food was excellent and our server gave us excellent suggestions. The patio was beautiful and since we went mid-week, it was not very crowded. We split a gazpacho which was actually two different gazpachos (one green tomatillo based and one traditional). We then had a perfectly seared yellowtail which had roasted butternut squash and a parsnip puree. We finished with a yummy flourless chocolate cake.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 16, 2017

Overall Paon was a very well put together fine dining experience.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 14, 2017

We had wonderful food and wine and the wait staff and management were attentive. I always go to Paon and the Wine Bar while I am in Carlsbad. It is one of the experiences not to miss.

Tags: Fun, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Great restaurant with great food and very fine wine list

Tags: Good for a Date, People Watching, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Cozy, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 11, 2017

It was an all afternoon lunch. The food and wine were great. Our host Steve is the best and waiter son is a sweetheart and great waiter

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 6, 2017

From the moment we entered PAON, we were greeted by the owner, Steve who sat us at a very nice table. Steve was very outgoing and a pleasure!
Our waiter was great! He was very attentive but not too attentive and took care of all of our questions and requests. The menu had a little something of many very creative french dishes, prepared very well. We were very glad to see the hot portions were hot and the cold were cold. Perfect! The wine selection was very good. In fact, they have wines that are harder to find where we had a great recommendation from our standard "go to" wines. Again, perfect! The food as mentioned was very good and a bit on the "rich" side as you would expect from a french restaurant. Maybe not for every day but certainly there were selections not as "rich" too. The entire experience (for my wife's birthday) was wonderful and could not have asked for a more pleasant time at Paon. BTW, Steve, the owner dropped by during dinner to ask how everything was and on the way out we spoke again. I have to say seeing an owner that really cares about his "guests" certainly makes me want to come back again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Bar Seating, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 6, 2017

I really don't get the hype of this place. The ordering process was rushed, rushed, rushed. We had the menu maybe three minutes and the waiter wanted to take our order. We were barley seated and just had one sip of our refreshing adult beverages when the waiter asked for our order. This went on for the the next ten minuets in increments for three minutes. The food is drenched in garlic-above and beyond. I don't mind garlic, however, not at this level.
I ordered the diver scallops which sounded and at first glance looked good, however, they were full of sand. GAG. Combined with the over the top garlic, uneatable. My fellow diners ordered lamb and sea bass which they enjoyed.

Also, they automatically add an 18 percent tip onto the bill. Well, they really just screwed themselves as we always tip twenty percent. We were a party of four, so, this seemed rather strange? I know when there is a party of ten or even eight or more it's additional tip..but four persons? I'll have to check the website and see it this is mentioned on their menu.
Lastly, the mixed drinks were awful. We switched to wine. My brother ordered a vodka martini, however, it arrived with gin. However, the waiter insisted they're was no gin in the drink. I think a vodka martini drinker knows when there is gin mixed in the drink. Whatever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Great Time sitting at the Bar and enjoying Carlsbad Oysters ! Followed by a Great Dinner at the Bar !

Service by the Bar Tender was so enjoyable and all of his Recommendations were Outstanding !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Great Californian and French fusion restaurant with seasonal menu and service to boot. Extensive wine list with professional waiters really shows the class of this place and makes the experience a night to remember. The gazpacho soup and tuna were highlight even though the dessert were a slight disappointment (profiteroles should not be re-invented using puff pastry!). Nonetheless one of the top choice restaurants in Carlsbad.

Tags: Local Ingredients, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for a Date, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Consistent quality.
Nice and quiet dinning space.
Plenty of wine choices.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 24, 2017

Great place for French-oriented fare as they Are not many places like this in North County

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Excellent service; friendly greeting at the door, seated quickly, great server, excellent food. Pricey, but worth it for our special occasion.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on July 22, 2017

One of the best meals we've had! We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Excellent food and wine served in an elegant and professional manner. This is a classic "fine restaurant" where you'll find fabulous food served by knowledgeable waiters that attend to your every need without hovering or intruding. The three members of our group ordered entrees ranging from pheasant on polenta, to a delicate fresh sea bass on a bed of freshly steamed Bok Choy to a divinely rich vegetarian Gnocchi dish and each of the entrees was outstanding.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Always have a wonderful experience at Paon. It is my go to restaurant for a special occasion in North County. They always have my favorite wine by the glass. Even though I can't finish the main course I always save room for the delicious desserts Especially love the profiteroles.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.