About PAON Restaurant & Wine Bar

2975 Roosevelt Street
Carlsbad, CA 92008
View Larger Map

Paon restaurant offers California cuisine with French influences. Beautiful patio dining, elegant Art Deco in intimate dining setting. Private dining available in handsome club environment. Paon chef features seasonal, locally grown organic produce for the palates of fine food lovers from all over the world. Spotlighting organic prime meats, game and fish prepared with traditional French sophistication. Beautiful lounge with old Hollywood feel and relaxing patio in a Downtown Carlsbad Village atmosphere. Paon's knowledgeable and attentive staff looks forward to creating an exceptional experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Wednesday - Sunday 11:30am - 2pm Dinner: Daily: 5:30pm - 10:00PM

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 729-7377

Website:
http://www.paoncarlsbad.com/

Parking Details:
Parking is available in front of the restaurant and also across the street,northeast corner of Roosevelt and Carlsbad Village Dr.Coaster

Public Transit:
Coaster Rail station 100 yards from the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
David Gallardo

Private Party Facilities:
Please contact the restaurant for further details.

Private Party Contact:
Steve Barr: 7607297377

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • PAON Restaurant & Wine Bar
  • Red Pepper/Cilantro Soup
  • Brioche Bread Pudding
  • Rack of Lamb
  • Valrhona Chocolate Brownie
  • My Special Birthday Dessert
  • Halibut Special
  • Escargot
  • Pan Roasted Pheasant
PAON Restaurant & Wine Bar
Red Pepper/Cilantro Soup
Brioche Bread Pudding
Rack of Lamb
Valrhona Chocolate Brownie
My Special Birthday Dessert
Halibut Special
Escargot
Pan Roasted Pheasant

PAON Restaurant & Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
San Diego
Best Service
San Diego
Notable Wine List
San Diego
12 More
Outdoor Dining
San Diego
Special Occasion
San Diego
French
San Diego
Best Overall
North San Diego
Best Food
North San Diego
Best Service
North San Diego
Best Ambiance
North San Diego
Fit for Foodies
North San Diego
Notable Wine List
North San Diego
Outdoor Dining
North San Diego
Romantic
North San Diego
Special Occasion
North San Diego
Best Restaurants in Carlsbad ›

Special Occasion (50)
Great for Outdoor Dining (45)
Romantic (42)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (41)
Notable Wine List (36)
Fit for Foodies (31)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Good for a Date (11)
Great for Lunch (10)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Good for Groups (8)
Cozy (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Modern Decor (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Casual (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Business Meals (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Authentic (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Healthy (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Private Room (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Fun (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Seasonal (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sort By:
Newest
630 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Had our 42nd anniversary dinner at PAON. ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 22, 2016

Had our 42nd anniversary dinner at PAON. We were very pleased. The food was real good and they had a very interesting selection. I look forward to being able to return to try some of the other selections.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Our experience was disappointing, especi ...

vip
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

Our experience was disappointing, especially after the restaurant was rated so highly for the area.

The food was good but certainly not what one would expect at these prices

Our waiter was not pleasant, very distant and cold. All of us dine out often and know, and appreciate, good service and a fun waiter. Very unusual to have this experience at a fine-dining restaurant.

Don't waste your money!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

I do not understand why this restaurant ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

I do not understand why this restaurant is rated as highly as it is. The food was okay but nothing special. We ordered the ribeye, the Mediterranean sea bass, and the fig salad. The salad was the best of the bunch, but everything was way overpriced. I'm willing to pay the prices PAON charges, but only if the food is outstanding. The menu seemed to be aimed at the age 60 and over crowd. This may be confirmed by the fact that they had three pairs of reading glasses available for people to use in looking at the menu. The outdoor dining area was nice, but I would not recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

We always enjoy going here for lunch. We ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We always enjoy going here for lunch. We enjoy the patio. Nice portions nice quality menu.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Disabled Access, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We had an amazing experience at PAON! My ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We had an amazing experience at PAON! My husband and I were in town for a kid free getaway, and I wanted somewhere great for dinner. PAON was perfect. The ambiance was beautiful (sit on the patio), they had an extensive wine list, the food was delicious, and the service impeccable. We weren't starving so we decided to share an appetizer, salad, entree and dessert. The seared tuna was the best I've ever had. I definitely recommend PAON!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

GREAT FOOD!!! We ordered escargot, cold ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

GREAT FOOD!!! We ordered escargot, cold soup with 2 flavors, lobster salad, duck and new york strip, and cannoli as dessert. Portion is not huge so we were able to finish everything (2 ppl). LOVED EVERYTHING about this restaurant! The flavor is so balanced and perfect. Lobster with avocado and pineapple is very refreshing and the sides don't cover the flavor of the lobster. The duck duo with duck confit and breast are so different and so tasty at the same time. A hint of orange zest was added in the sauce and i thought it was the highlight of the dish. Will definitely recommend it to any foodie and will surely come back again!

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had heard about this place for years a ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

I had heard about this place for years and was excited to finally try it out. My date and I sat outside in the evening and it was delightful. The host was very welcoming. After that, the experience went downhill. We ordered a lobster tail appetizer that sat on pineapple, avocado and a blood orange sauce. It was pretty but completely underwhelming. It had very little flavor seasoning. I had to send back 2 different specialty cocktails for being too strong with very little taste beyond liquor.

Next to me sat a bread plate with a butter knife. They never brought any so I finally asked for some. They brought it finally and I kid you not, they sat 1 slice on the plate between my date and I, we had to cut it in half and SHARE it.

My lamb was perfect, the seasoning and the cook time was exactly as I had hoped. The ratatouille it sat upon was fine. The mashed potatoes served in the corner were hard and tasted like powdered from a box. My date had pheasant and it was ok but not memorable. The Risotta it sat on wasn't the best I've had, too hard, but flavor was fine.

I got the chocolate cake instead of the browns because I was interested in the extra elements in the plate. It was nice and would have been even better to have an added scoop of vanilla ice cream.

Overall, for a bill of $232 I expected way more.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

The duck confit was rather dry and the d ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

The duck confit was rather dry and the duck breast was very sinewy. Was anticipating better quality French food given the price. In-law ordered the bronzino and it was fantastic. Braised short ribs were lackluster to say the least. I would have expected tablecloths as well but they didn't have those either.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Both casual and dressy crowd, and lively ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Both casual and dressy crowd, and lively until the kitchen closed at 10PM. I'd recommend just appetizers and drinks - great bartender and spot-on with her craft. Entres are pricey, but if it's a big occasion go ahead and splurge. We were well taken care of by Steve (manager?), and appreciate his style of keeping us happy - we're definitely going back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

One of the most amazing meals we have ha ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

One of the most amazing meals we have had in a long time. We were visiting Carlsbad and wanted to celebrate our anniversary in a special way. I googled to find out the most romantic restaurant in Carlsbad, CA and found Paeon. We were not disappointed. Escargot, made the traditional way (lots of butter and garlic in their shells) was outstanding. I haven't had any escargot this way this good in soooo long. Then I had a special - lobster salad. Both were appetizers, but I wanted them instead of a main course. For dessert, I had a chocolate brownie, which was absolutely fantastic. The wine was amazing, too. We will be back again next time we are in Carlsbad.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our first time there and it was wonderfu ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Our first time there and it was wonderful. The service was informative, helpful, friendly and professional. The food was creative and exceptional.

We will return and bring friends.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great experience from the time we entere ...

 
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Great experience from the time we entered until the time we left. We will be back soon!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Although the lemon/caper chicken I order ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Although the lemon/caper chicken I ordered was excellent, the fresh veggies were slightly underdone - even a knife could not cut through some of them. Service and ambiance were first class.

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

A Disappointing Meal - we had been looki ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

A Disappointing Meal - we had been looking forward to my birthday dinner here. Sat outside at a lovely table. Server was great. Food was disappointing. My spare ribs were very salty. So much so I could not eat most of them. My husband's pork was good but the spätzle was over heated and actually hard. Something has happened to the kitchen here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value2

Good and not too costly wines by the gla ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Good and not too costly wines by the glass. We shared the scallops which were fresh and served with a date puree. A very interesting delicious starter. My wife had the duck and I had the fish special halibut both excellent. Service was excellent. Not cheap but we have paid more for lesser quality. We will return.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious and enjoyed the dining experie ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Delicious and enjoyed the dining experience. This should be on all must have dining restaurants

Tags: Fun, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

One of my favorite restaurants in Carlsb ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

One of my favorite restaurants in Carlsbad

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I loved how quickly we were greeted and ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

I loved how quickly we were greeted and seated even though we arrived 10 minutes ahead of our reservation. Our waiter was delightful and patient with us as we considered and questioned him about the specials. He remained very attentive all evening. The food was delicious and even though my filet mignon was cooked a bit longer than I had desired, it was flavorful, moist and delicious causing me not to even consider refusing it. All in all, another wonderful experience there as always.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

First time to Paon and surprisingly a ve ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

First time to Paon and surprisingly a very creative menu that had me excited to try a number of dishes. My wife had the halibut, and I had the beet salad and venison. Both were outstanding meals. We even took home their beef short ribs for the next day, and it was melt in your mouth food! Can't wait to go again, even though it is a long drive for us. Also, excellent value for their wines by the glass or bottle. I think they are a Wine Spectator (2 Glass) restaurant for 2016.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Best food we've had in Carlsbad. Service ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Best food we've had in Carlsbad. Service was incredible. Our server was knowledgeable about the food & what beverages would complement the menu items. Thanks you PAON for a very pleasant anniversary dinner!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We really like this place. The food is a ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

We really like this place. The food is always good. This night we ate outside and the night was perfect. The owner spent some time talking with us which was nice. The service was excellent. The wine list is quite good, and sometimes they have some special wines you don't find at other restaurants. Overall a very enjoyable dining experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Paon is a great restaurant. Menu is var ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Paon is a great restaurant. Menu is varied and interesting; food is excellent. We were greeted by the personable owner of the restaurant and he stopped by our table periodically to make sure that we were enjoying our meals. Among the things that we enjoyed about Paon is that the environment in the restaurant actually allows guests to talk with the other members of their party without the need to shout in order to be heard - this is refreshingly different from many restaurants where the vibe is loud and challenging for conversation! This restaurant is a solid choice for everything that is pleasant about dining out.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This restaurant is an attractive setting ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

This restaurant is an attractive setting for special occasions. They have an excellent range in price and a nice variety of wines by the glass and full bottles. The food was not flawless on this visit. The fig salad was fine, but would have been tastier with more figs. My husband said the Baseball Cut New York Steak was properly cooked (medium rare) and acceptable if you don't mind tough meat. On the other hand, the "medium rare" lamb chops I ordered were great quality but two of them were almost raw. I know they would have graciously cooked them a bit more, but I didn't feel like dealing with it. They were good for lunch when I reheated them.

We wouldn't refuse to try it again, but probably wouldn't invite friends who are experienced foodies.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Wonderful specials, attentive bar tender ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Wonderful specials, attentive bar tender and patient server. Great all around!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

PAON never disappoints, always a fantast ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

PAON never disappoints, always a fantastic dining experience, great food, and great service. Our party of 6 arrived early for our reservation, but we were graciously offered the option to be accommodated immediately inside, or wait for our set time on the patio. We opted to dine immediately and enjoyed everything, particularly the wine, fish special, and the house-made mint ice cream for dessert!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always an excellent meal and service is ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Always an excellent meal and service is fabulous the best one of our favorite places to eat. Very relaxing atmosphere never rushed.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a great place to take a date. I ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

This is a great place to take a date. I celebrated my 1 yr anniversary here and my girlfriend loved it as well.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service and food was great. Lobster Man ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Service and food was great. Lobster Mango salad was delicious.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful, wonderful dinner. Everyone's ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Wonderful, wonderful dinner. Everyone's food was excellent and displayed beautifully. We ate outside, which got a little loud because there was a large group. If you are looking for more romantic and quiet, eat inside. It's beautiful.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were celebrating our anniversary and ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

We were celebrating our anniversary and enjoyed our evening with our server, Christina. She was very knowledgeable and helpful with all our questions. We enjoyed wine pairings with each course. The food was well prepared and met or exceeded our expectations.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great service, great food, lovely settin ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Great service, great food, lovely setting

Will be back again

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a delight - incredible flavors, w ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Always a delight - incredible flavors, wonderful experience each time we dine at paon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I am so happy we finally remembered to r ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

I am so happy we finally remembered to ry Paon after years of driving by and saying we will stop. The food is awesome, the staff is amazing and the drinks are delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We hadn't been recently, I think the men ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

We hadn't been recently, I think the menu is better, loved everything including our waiter and host. Can't wait to return. Alcohol is a bit pricey.

Patricia

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The food was great and our server Aaron ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The food was great and our server Aaron was amazing with attention to detail. Very impressed by the over experience. Thank you

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely dinner, romantic setting in the s ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Lovely dinner, romantic setting in the seat for two in the garden, good food and service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Paon is the place I take my best friend ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Paon is the place I take my best friend out for her Bday. We always enjoy the food, the wine and the atmosphere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We celebrated our 30th Annuversary there ...

 
 (México)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

We celebrated our 30th Annuversary there. Paon is 1of our fav spots to dine when we come to this area because the food & service are AMAZIN. They have a wine bar in back & an outdoor patio which are very nice. Check out their menu in line -specials aldo most nights.

Go there if you are in the area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

All around fabulous. Have been here be ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

All around fabulous. Have been here before but each time I return it is better than the time before! If there are any dietary restrictions, the are more than happy to accomadate if possible. Truly beyond fabulous.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was excellent. Aaron was terrif ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Service was excellent. Aaron was terrific. Expensive restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.