About PAON Restaurant & Wine Bar

2975 Roosevelt Street
Carlsbad, CA 92008
View Larger Map

Paon restaurant offers California cuisine with French influences. Beautiful patio dining, elegant Art Deco in intimate dining setting. Private dining available in handsome club environment. Paon chef features seasonal, locally grown organic produce for the palates of fine food lovers from all over the world. Spotlighting organic prime meats, game and fish prepared with traditional French sophistication. Beautiful lounge with old Hollywood feel and relaxing patio in a Downtown Carlsbad Village atmosphere. Paon's knowledgeable and attentive staff looks forward to creating an exceptional experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Wednesday - Sunday 11:30am - 2pm Dinner: Daily: 5:30pm - 10:00PM

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 729-7377

Website:
http://www.paoncarlsbad.com/

Parking Details:
Parking is available in front of the restaurant and also across the street,northeast corner of Roosevelt and Carlsbad Village Dr.Coaster

Public Transit:
Coaster Rail station 100 yards from the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
David Gallardo

Private Party Facilities:
Please contact the restaurant for further details.

Private Party Contact:
Steve Barr: 7607297377

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area (patio only), View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

  • PAON Restaurant & Wine Bar
  • Red Pepper/Cilantro Soup
  • Brioche Bread Pudding
  • Rack of Lamb
  • Valrhona Chocolate Brownie
  • My Special Birthday Dessert
  • Halibut Special
  • Escargot
  • Pan Roasted Pheasant
PAON Restaurant & Wine Bar
Red Pepper/Cilantro Soup
Brioche Bread Pudding
Rack of Lamb
Valrhona Chocolate Brownie
My Special Birthday Dessert
Halibut Special
Escargot
Pan Roasted Pheasant

PAON Restaurant & Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
San Diego
French
San Diego
Best Overall
North San Diego
6 More
Best Food
North San Diego
Best Service
North San Diego
Best Ambiance
North San Diego
Fit for Foodies
North San Diego
Notable Wine List
North San Diego
Outdoor Dining
North San Diego
Best Restaurants in Carlsbad ›

special occasion (50)
great for outdoor dining (48)
fit for foodies (46)
See All
notable wine list (38)
romantic (36)
neighborhood gem (29)
good for groups (12)
great for lunch (10)
great for brunch (6)
vibrant bar scene (4)
hot spot (3)
late-night find (3)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
582 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been there a few times before, a ...

Dined 4 days ago

We have been there a few times before, and they always have been gracious and attentive and wonderful. They remembered us as being gluten-free. Every time is been an enjoyable experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I found this restaurant o ...

Dined 5 days ago

My husband and I found this restaurant online. The service and food were outstanding.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service was excellent. One ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

The food and service was excellent. One of the best restaurants that I have been to in SD.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

My main course (Diver Scallops) and my h ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

My main course (Diver Scallops) and my husband's salad (scallop/apple) were very good but the New York steak special my husband ordered was over cooked and very fatty. My escargots were extremely over cooked and tasted like rubber bands. We will not return. Service was excellent.

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Our times at the Paon have been very enj ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Our times at the Paon have been very enjoyable and meals expertly prepared. Service has always been friendly, knowledgeable, and accommodating. Highly recommended for the special occasion and group occasions. :)

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I LOVE Paon!

Dined on May 30, 2016

We eat here frequently, and each time it is such a treat. Very pleasant and peaceful atmosphere, even when crowded. Attentive but not annoying service. Wonderful food: creative and delicious (but not precious), with appropriate portion size and many choices. They have an excellent wine list, as well.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best restaurants in Carlsbad!

Dined on May 25, 2016

We met our friends here again for lunch and once again, we enjoyed a fabulous lunch with great food and service. The salmon salad over beets is just simply the most delicious dish imaginable. The short ribs are incredible. We seem to stick with the same menu items but we all love them so much that we just want to continue to order them and enjoy them. The service is always fabulous, the restaurant is beautiful and it has to be one of my favorite restaurants in all of Carlsbad.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The grilled chicken is so good, the wine ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

The grilled chicken is so good, the wine is great, the service was awesome and I really enjoy the location.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

A nice little French touch and a lot of ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

A nice little French touch and a lot of California influence. The 2- preparation duck is excellent. I would also highly recommend the lamb salad. The vine selection is Ok (a little limited by the glass, but good range by the bottle).

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service3

For the prices this restaurant charges, ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

For the prices this restaurant charges, the food should be excellent. This is my second time eating here and I have to say it was just average. Our server kept coming to our table trying to get us to order, but we wanted to chat and enjoy each others company, so we finally had to tell him we would flag him down when we were ready so he wouldn't rush us anymore. Fine dining shouldn't be rushed. Also, our plates for our table of 5 did not all come out together as they should have. This is also something you would expect from a fine dining establishment, better sequence of food delivery. I've heard this restaurant does a good job in their bar area, so maybe I will give that a shot. But I don't think I will be returning to dine in the restaurant here.

food5
ambience5
service1
value4

The evening was perfect with the excepti ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

The evening was perfect with the exception of the waiter who was just weird, a bit intrusive and pushy with a strange "nose up on the air" snooty attitude. The food was excellent!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

All in all a nice experience. The food ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

All in all a nice experience. The food was of very sound quality and the wine list very good. We were well looked after by our waiter who also had good insights into the menu and wine pairings. The ambiance was very nice-we sat outside and had a late dinner so it was very quaint and not at all noisy. However, the prices are a tad steep. If they could do an across-the- board slashing of about 20-25% the place would go from a try once to a repeat destination.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Solid French

Dined on May 10, 2016

This is a very good French restaurant. Preparation and plating were spot on. Defintely pricey, but well worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love Paon

Dined on May 6, 2016

My husband and I truly enjoyed our experience at Paon. The food was exceptional! The service was over the top. We will be back very soon.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The quality of the food, it's preparatio ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

The quality of the food, it's preparation and presentation are as good as any restaurant where I have eaten. Service is excellent.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent restaurant!

Dined on April 14, 2016

We loved everything about this restaurant! We were given a friendly and warm greeting, the service was excellent, the Salmon and Fish Special were outstanding, and the ambience was relaxed and romantic. We highly recommend this place!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent Annivesary dinner

Dined on April 10, 2016

The service was perfect; our waiter James is both very professional and very funny! His recommendations were right on, and he even changed one of the specials to a different sauce, and even the head chef thought it was great. Very good sized portions of perfectly cooked Ahi and sea bass, and we had an appetizer, soup and a salad. Overall, fantastic!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My Favorite

Dined on April 9, 2016

Our visit to Carlsbad would not be complete without dinner at Paon. Never disappointed, the ambiance, the service and the food are a delight. The Colorado lamb was a piece of heaven this last trip. Succulent, tender and cooked to perfection. The atmosphere with soft jazz in the background and the beauty of the restaurant make it a lovely experience. Paon remains my favorite restaurant ever.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our favorite restaurants

Dined on March 24, 2016

We went to Paon for our 25th Wedding Anniversary. Food was delicious , wine selection was extensive. I like everything on the menu and the service was superb. I started with the asparagus soup which was creamy and laced with asparagus tips. I had the diver scallops, they were tender and sweet served on top of a vegetable ragout with lobster. My wife had the filet and it was tender and smokey. We finished with the flour-less chocolate cake Everything was paired with a Stolpman Estate Syrah. A wonderful evening and a great dining experience.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

Fantastic food

Dined on March 20, 2016

Really liked Paon and would definitely return. Food was fabulous just as I had heard. Try the gnocchi for sure! Star of the show was the pheasant..superb!! Server was a bit snooty, not very personable, other wait staff were excellent and friendly. You have to try Paon!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great, personal service, food was excell ...

Dined on March 17, 2016

Great, personal service, food was excellent.

food5
ambience5
service5

Nice ambiance. Friendly and helpful staf ...

Dined on March 15, 2016

Nice ambiance. Friendly and helpful staff. Excellent chef who knows how to design a beautiful plate that tastes as good as it looks. Now a favorite in Carlsbad.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First visit

Dined on March 12, 2016

I had date night at Paon and both of us were very impressed. Great atmosphere , service and food. We will be back.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Service is either wonderful or annoying ...

Dined on March 6, 2016

Service is either wonderful or annoying depending on who you get, most good one annoying

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Dependable French cuisine

Dined on February 27, 2016

Always consistently good French food. Nice knowlegable wait staff and good variety of main courses and wine. Of special note was their short ribs and beet salad with goat cheese.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

disappointed

Dined on February 27, 2016

Been here many times but this time I was really disappointed. The appetizer was great (goat cheese) but the pear salad was not so good due to the pear slices were not ripe enough and were bitter. Had lamb chops as the main course and was not pleased due to the grizzle that was there. This is the first time I was unhappy with Paon. Did they get a new chef or are they getting cheaper cuts of meat?

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dinner and fabulous service

Dined on February 24, 2016

I highly recommend the scallops. Everyone else loved their dinners as well. Our server was wonderful and attentive. I will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

The scallops were prepared perfectly and ...

Dined on February 21, 2016

The scallops were prepared perfectly and presented beautifully. The service was superb. We will definitely be back.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Paon is superb

Dined on February 21, 2016

Outstanding food and service-----pricey but great for special occasion

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Jason Adams

Dined on February 19, 2016

Perfect anniversary celebration for my wife and I. Food was wonderful and service top notch. A bit pricey but well worth it. The mint ice cream (house made) was exceptional. Very cozy and the ambiance was very romantic. Outdoor seating and fire pit was very cool.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent experience

Dined on February 19, 2016

Food and service was absolutely wonderful! Not inexpensive but worth every penny!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

BEST upscale restaurant in Carlsbad!!

Dined on February 15, 2016

BEST upscale restaurant in Carlsbad!!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and good wine list

Dined on February 15, 2016

Refined dishes and good ambience. Portions of good size.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Made Valentine's Day Special

Dined on February 14, 2016

My wife and I dined at Paon in Carlsbad, CA for Valentine's Day at lunchtime. The service was superb. For the upper end cost of the food, I would say that it was not cooked to perfection. For example, my salmon was overcooked considerably. Still we enjoyed a great date. I had dinner there previously and the pheasant was superb!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Just right for Valentine's Day

Dined on February 14, 2016

Chose this restaurant based on reviews for Valentine's Day dinner and it didn't disappoint. If you want to impress that special someone this is the place to do it. It's also the place to try food dishes that you would struggle to find anywhere else. Escargot, Pheasant, home-made gnocchi, duck all cooked to perfection.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent

Dined on February 7, 2016

I was beyond impressed with Paon. I was able to experience the wine bar as well as the restaurant. Top notch and classy. Excellent food and wine. Highly recommended for special occasion or romantic night out.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Perfect for a Celebration or Romantic Evening

Dined on February 7, 2016

I selected PAON from reading reviews of the restaurant, since I wasn't from the area. I was taking my husband to dinner to celebrate his Birthday. I did include in my reservation that we were celebrating a birthday, but they didn't bring any dessert with a candle or anything. The restaurant is very nice, beautiful ambiance and the outside dining is really pretty too...it was just a little too chilly for me to sit out there the night we went. Our server was very friendly and knowledgeable about the menu and specials. The one thing I didn't like is that I felt rushed. The food was pushed through very quickly, ie, the minute the appetizer was done, a salad was dropped and the minute that was done, dinner was dropped. I felt like I was being rushed through the meal. We started with the french escargot and it was delicious. There was less than a nibble of meat in each shell, but the sauce was so good. We used it to dip the most awesome bread in. You'll eat so much of the warm bread they make, it's wonderful. We shared a green salad.. For dinner, I ordered the beef short rib. This was the most delicious dish. I ate every last bite of the dish...shared a little with my hubby, but WOW! I would highly suggest this dish. My husband ordered a dinner special. It was lamb osso bucco. He was surely disappointed in the food. Said the meat wasn't tender and that he could cook lamb better than they did. I was not happy about this because it was his special dinner, so I don't advice getting this dish. Maybe it was a "special" for a reason. Ugh! For dessert, we got the brownie. OMG!!! It's to die for. It's like no brownie ever. It's more like a molten lava chocolate thing...wow, so rich and so yummy. I would highly suggest this restaurant and I would go there again myself. Was a nice evening!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

We visit Carlsbad every year and always ...

Dined on February 5, 2016

We visit Carlsbad every year and always go to Paon, however, the waiter we've had the past two years is terrible. He won't give any information about the menu or specials and acts like he's mad that he has to wait on us. If he's there next year, we will walk out.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent

Dined on February 2, 2016

Overall quite excellent! Food was delicious overall but lacking some flavor at times that night, excellent preparation aside from that. Wine was great, well served and service was wonderful.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was outstanding. I had lamb d ...

Dined on January 30, 2016

Everything was outstanding. I had lamb duo, wife had short ribs and son had salmon. Desserts were also yummy!

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.