About PAON Restaurant & Wine Bar

2975 Roosevelt Street
Carlsbad, CA 92008
View Larger Map

Paon restaurant offers California cuisine with French influences. Beautiful patio dining, elegant Art Deco in intimate dining setting. Private dining available in handsome club environment. Paon chef features seasonal, locally grown organic produce for the palates of fine food lovers from all over the world. Spotlighting organic prime meats, game and fish prepared with traditional French sophistication. Beautiful lounge with old Hollywood feel and relaxing patio in a Downtown Carlsbad Village atmosphere. Paon's knowledgeable and attentive staff looks forward to creating an exceptional experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Wednesday - Sunday 11:30am - 2pm Dinner: Daily: 5:30pm - 10:00PM

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 729-7377

Website:
http://www.paoncarlsbad.com/

Parking Details:
Parking is available in front of the restaurant and also across the street,northeast corner of Roosevelt and Carlsbad Village Dr.Coaster

Public Transit:
Coaster Rail station 100 yards from the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
David Gallardo

Private Party Facilities:
Please contact the restaurant for further details.

Private Party Contact:
Steve Barr: 7607297377

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • PAON Restaurant & Wine Bar, Carlsbad, CA
  • Red Pepper/Cilantro Soup - PAON Restaurant & Wine Bar, Carlsbad, CA
  • Brioche Bread Pudding - PAON Restaurant & Wine Bar, Carlsbad, CA
  • Rack of Lamb - PAON Restaurant & Wine Bar, Carlsbad, CA
  • Valrhona Chocolate Brownie - PAON Restaurant & Wine Bar, Carlsbad, CA
  • My Special Birthday Dessert - PAON Restaurant & Wine Bar, Carlsbad, CA
  • Halibut Special - PAON Restaurant & Wine Bar, Carlsbad, CA
  • Escargot - PAON Restaurant & Wine Bar, Carlsbad, CA
  • Pan Roasted Pheasant - PAON Restaurant & Wine Bar, Carlsbad, CA
PAON Restaurant & Wine Bar, Carlsbad, CA
Red Pepper/Cilantro Soup - PAON Restaurant & Wine Bar, Carlsbad, CA
Brioche Bread Pudding - PAON Restaurant & Wine Bar, Carlsbad, CA
Rack of Lamb - PAON Restaurant & Wine Bar, Carlsbad, CA
Valrhona Chocolate Brownie - PAON Restaurant & Wine Bar, Carlsbad, CA
My Special Birthday Dessert - PAON Restaurant & Wine Bar, Carlsbad, CA
Halibut Special - PAON Restaurant & Wine Bar, Carlsbad, CA
Escargot - PAON Restaurant & Wine Bar, Carlsbad, CA
Pan Roasted Pheasant - PAON Restaurant & Wine Bar, Carlsbad, CA

PAON Restaurant & Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
San Diego
Neighborhood Gem
San Diego
Special Occasion
San Diego
5 More
French
San Diego
Best Overall
North San Diego
Best Service
North San Diego
Best Ambiance
North San Diego
Special Occasion
North San Diego
Best Restaurants in Carlsbad ›

Special Occasion (34)
Neighborhood Gem (30)
Romantic (27)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (25)
Great for Outdoor Dining (23)
Good for a Date (23)
Notable Wine List (23)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Quiet Conversation (19)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Worth the Drive (13)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Cozy (11)
Casual (7)
Great for Lunch (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Business Meals (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Authentic (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Healthy (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Open Kitchen (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Fun (2)
Private Room (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Seasonal (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
People Watching (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Historic (1)
Fireplace (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
660 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Paon never disappoints!

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 4 days ago

Paon never disappoints!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We go to Paon for special occasions, giv ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 6 days ago

We go to Paon for special occasions, given the quality of the restaurant, which is well beyond that of most restaurants. Any guests we have invited to join us have been very impressed. Its food, its wine list, and its ambience are exceptional.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

As always Paon is an amazing place. The ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 7 days ago

As always Paon is an amazing place. The staff is always outstanding and the food is impeccable.

The wines are plentiful and lots to chose from.

This time we were waited on by an amazing young man (Jake), who was not only extremely well mannered but always attentive to our needs and knew his food and wine.

Thanks again for an amazing dining experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Pheasant was excellent. Wonderful se ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 7 days ago

The Pheasant was excellent. Wonderful selection of desserts, the onion soup was very good.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent food & service everytime! We l ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Excellent food & service everytime! We love this place...and we always take our out-of-town guests here :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always consistently delicious! Great ser ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Always consistently delicious! Great service ambiance and food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Really great for a special date night or ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Really great for a special date night or just to surprise your significant other.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Paon has a fantastic wine menu and clas ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Paon has a fantastic wine menu and classic french dished prepared perfectly.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is our second visit to Paon. This ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 14, 2016

This is our second visit to Paon. This is really a standout venue in all ways. The food is exceptionally well presented and delicious. the service is courteous and professional. WE will certainly hope to return on many occasions. Thank you!

Tags: Seasonal, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nothing was really bad, but nothing was ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Nothing was really bad, but nothing was outstanding. I had the duck and the breast was tough. The leg was nice with the candied orange peel. We cook duck at home and my husband's was far better. My husband had the braised beef, which he thought was tasteless. It was extremely tender, though. I liked the taste, but will admit it was a super light taste. If you want superb French cuisine, go to Wine Sellar and Brassiere. If you want great food that doesn't have to be French, go to Solterra Kitchen and Winery or Avant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Wow! Found while researching restaurants ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Wow! Found while researching restaurants in Carlsbad/San Diego. Chose because of the consistent reviews over the last several years. Did not disappoint. Flawless in all respects, food, wine, service, ambiance.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great, enjoyed the outside seat ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Food was great, enjoyed the outside seating, waiter was very professional and friendly. Brought our own wine which they were happy to cork ($20 fee) and enjoyed, a few appetizers and salad then split our dinner. They served it on 2 plates nicely and no split fee. Dined there a couple times before, food was great and nice ambiance, this time was no exception. Inside or outside can't go wrong.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Small but creative lunch menu. Have had ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Small but creative lunch menu. Have had excellent soups here, as well the butternut squash ravioli. Pleasant atmosphere sitting outside, close to street but protected. Attentive and personable staff.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice outside seating, fine service, grea ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Nice outside seating, fine service, great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Food delicious and great presentation; s ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Food delicious and great presentation; service the best.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The service is exceptional as well as th ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 6, 2016

The service is exceptional as well as the food and ambiance. We can always count on Paon's going above and beyond! Our favorite!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was the best meal we have had in a ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 5, 2016

This was the best meal we have had in a long time. Everything we were looking for in an Anniversary Dinner (44 Years). The food was impeccable and beautifully served.

We had the Salmon & Yellow Tail Tartar to start, a Pear salad and then for our entree our taste buds were treated to the most divine Venison, to finish we had a mouth watering Flourless chocolate cake with chocolate mouse atop.

What a treat for our 44th Anniversary.

We would recommend this to anyone desiring a special experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I got the Pan seared pheasantButternut s ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 1, 2016

I got the Pan seared pheasantButternut squash soup and veal sweet meats, and a glass of Syrah, with a tawny port for desert. All excellent and the staff was very friendly and helpful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had an enjoyable Friday night dinner. ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We had an enjoyable Friday night dinner. The service was very attentive and the wine list was excellent. We sat on the patio which has a lovely ambiance. The food was good but not exceptional, but would still go there again and maybe try something different.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

It is a terrific restaurant. The food is ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 29, 2016

It is a terrific restaurant. The food is outstanding and the it's nice to have a table that is not on top of your other patrons. Plenty of space to relax and enjoy a great meal.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to PAON several times befor ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 27, 2016

We have been to PAON several times before and it seems to have slipped a little. Everything was OK, but not excellent. Still moderately expensive, as in the past, but not as much worth it, as we had felt before.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Absolutely Loved our meal!!! Amazing din ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Absolutely Loved our meal!!! Amazing dinner of short ribs for my husband and the scallops for me. Our 30th wedding anniversary and the meal did not disappoint. In my opinion you won't find anything better anywhere in the world. And we love to travel as well as fine dining.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superb as always. Excellent food. Servi ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Superb as always. Excellent food. Service is that of a family restaurant but of the highest level. Best martini ever

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely for anniversary! I had enjoyed a ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Lovely for anniversary! I had enjoyed a wonderful meal at PAON for my birthday with a friend, and took my husband for our anniversary. It was everything we hoped.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Paon is a favorite of ours especially fo ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Paon is a favorite of ours especially for a special dinner out. This time we were entertaining out of town house guests. Paon is always fabulous food attentive service and a treat. It never disappoints!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent restaurant, food was fantastic ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Excellent restaurant, food was fantastic, service wonderful. Perfect for a special occasion or just treating yourself to a special night out. Will definitely go back and want to try the wine bar in the back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Everything about the restaurant was top ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Everything about the restaurant was top of the line. We went on a Sunday night, and there was only one other table filled on the inside of the restaurant which made for a delightfully quiet evening. (Debate night could have been the cause of the low attendance.) The chicken was cooked to perfection, and both soups were unique and tasty. Splendid restaurant!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very accommodating . Pleasant and food i ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Very accommodating . Pleasant and food is always wonderful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our favorite restaurant- always superb f ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Our favorite restaurant- always superb food and service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The table shared a bowl of the 'last of ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 5, 2016

The table shared a bowl of the 'last of the summer' gazpacho which included avocado and lobster; and I ordered the Angus Short Rib w/ Wild Mushrooms, Spinach and Potato Purée + a glass of bubbles. Lunch was SO yum!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Had our 42nd anniversary dinner at PAON. ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Had our 42nd anniversary dinner at PAON. We were very pleased. The food was real good and they had a very interesting selection. I look forward to being able to return to try some of the other selections.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Our experience was disappointing, especi ...

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on September 20, 2016

Our experience was disappointing, especially after the restaurant was rated so highly for the area.

The food was good but certainly not what one would expect at these prices

Our waiter was not pleasant, very distant and cold. All of us dine out often and know, and appreciate, good service and a fun waiter. Very unusual to have this experience at a fine-dining restaurant.

Don't waste your money!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

I do not understand why this restaurant ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 19, 2016

I do not understand why this restaurant is rated as highly as it is. The food was okay but nothing special. We ordered the ribeye, the Mediterranean sea bass, and the fig salad. The salad was the best of the bunch, but everything was way overpriced. I'm willing to pay the prices PAON charges, but only if the food is outstanding. The menu seemed to be aimed at the age 60 and over crowd. This may be confirmed by the fact that they had three pairs of reading glasses available for people to use in looking at the menu. The outdoor dining area was nice, but I would not recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

We always enjoy going here for lunch. We ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 17, 2016

We always enjoy going here for lunch. We enjoy the patio. Nice portions nice quality menu.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Disabled Access, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We had an amazing experience at PAON! My ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 17, 2016

We had an amazing experience at PAON! My husband and I were in town for a kid free getaway, and I wanted somewhere great for dinner. PAON was perfect. The ambiance was beautiful (sit on the patio), they had an extensive wine list, the food was delicious, and the service impeccable. We weren't starving so we decided to share an appetizer, salad, entree and dessert. The seared tuna was the best I've ever had. I definitely recommend PAON!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

GREAT FOOD!!! We ordered escargot, cold ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 17, 2016

GREAT FOOD!!! We ordered escargot, cold soup with 2 flavors, lobster salad, duck and new york strip, and cannoli as dessert. Portion is not huge so we were able to finish everything (2 ppl). LOVED EVERYTHING about this restaurant! The flavor is so balanced and perfect. Lobster with avocado and pineapple is very refreshing and the sides don't cover the flavor of the lobster. The duck duo with duck confit and breast are so different and so tasty at the same time. A hint of orange zest was added in the sauce and i thought it was the highlight of the dish. Will definitely recommend it to any foodie and will surely come back again!

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had heard about this place for years a ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 12, 2016

I had heard about this place for years and was excited to finally try it out. My date and I sat outside in the evening and it was delightful. The host was very welcoming. After that, the experience went downhill. We ordered a lobster tail appetizer that sat on pineapple, avocado and a blood orange sauce. It was pretty but completely underwhelming. It had very little flavor seasoning. I had to send back 2 different specialty cocktails for being too strong with very little taste beyond liquor.

Next to me sat a bread plate with a butter knife. They never brought any so I finally asked for some. They brought it finally and I kid you not, they sat 1 slice on the plate between my date and I, we had to cut it in half and SHARE it.

My lamb was perfect, the seasoning and the cook time was exactly as I had hoped. The ratatouille it sat upon was fine. The mashed potatoes served in the corner were hard and tasted like powdered from a box. My date had pheasant and it was ok but not memorable. The Risotta it sat on wasn't the best I've had, too hard, but flavor was fine.

I got the chocolate cake instead of the browns because I was interested in the extra elements in the plate. It was nice and would have been even better to have an added scoop of vanilla ice cream.

Overall, for a bill of $232 I expected way more.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

The duck confit was rather dry and the d ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 11, 2016

The duck confit was rather dry and the duck breast was very sinewy. Was anticipating better quality French food given the price. In-law ordered the bronzino and it was fantastic. Braised short ribs were lackluster to say the least. I would have expected tablecloths as well but they didn't have those either.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Both casual and dressy crowd, and lively ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Both casual and dressy crowd, and lively until the kitchen closed at 10PM. I'd recommend just appetizers and drinks - great bartender and spot-on with her craft. Entres are pricey, but if it's a big occasion go ahead and splurge. We were well taken care of by Steve (manager?), and appreciate his style of keeping us happy - we're definitely going back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

One of the most amazing meals we have ha ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 10, 2016

One of the most amazing meals we have had in a long time. We were visiting Carlsbad and wanted to celebrate our anniversary in a special way. I googled to find out the most romantic restaurant in Carlsbad, CA and found Paeon. We were not disappointed. Escargot, made the traditional way (lots of butter and garlic in their shells) was outstanding. I haven't had any escargot this way this good in soooo long. Then I had a special - lobster salad. Both were appetizers, but I wanted them instead of a main course. For dessert, I had a chocolate brownie, which was absolutely fantastic. The wine was amazing, too. We will be back again next time we are in Carlsbad.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.