About Panorama

14 North Front Street
Philadelphia, PA 19106
View Larger Map

Panorama offers authentic trattoria-style dining in the heart of Old City. The Northern region influences our Philadelphia Italian restaurant, featuring homemade pastas, authentic veal dishes, and fresh seafood specialties. A distinctive feature of Panorama is our unique wine bar, with its custom-built, 120-bottle wine dispensing unit, the current Guinness Book of World Records holder.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Wine Bar, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Summer Hours: (effective June 2)
Dinner: Mon - Thurs: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Fri: 5:00- 11pm; Sat: 2:00pm - 11:00pm, Sun: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Bar opens at 4:30 pm Mon- Fri

Cross Street:
Market Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 922-7800

Website:
http://www.panoramaristorante.com/

Entertainment:
No

Catering:
Allow our onsite planners to assist you with organizing your event, reserving blocks of rooms for wedding guests, or establishing catering menus. Our staff members can guide you through every step of the planning process, whether you are organizing a business meeting, formal dinner or reception.

Parking Details:
There is a public, non-affiliated lot adjacent to the building with entrances on Market Street & on Front Street. Panorama validates parking for lunch between noon and 2:30pm Monday through Friday in the lot adjacent to the building.

Public Transit:
Bus Stop - Market & Front Street
Rail - 2nd & Market Street

Executive Chef:
Chef Matt Gentile

Private Party Facilities:
Our Philadelphia private dining areas include the elegant Stagione Room and our romantic Wine Cellar. The spaces are versatile enough to accommodate intimate sit-down dinners, grand banquets and everything in between.

Private Party Contact:
William Eccleston: 2159227800x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Wine Wednesday Every Week a featured Red and White Wine.
Featured Wine of the Month.
Happy Hour in the Wine Bar Everyday! Sun -Fri 5-7 pm & Sat 3-5 pm

Restaurant Photos

Panorama
Bluepoint Oysters
Beet Salad
Gnocchi
Gnocci With Fontina Sauce
Cheese Platter
Cigar Espresso Pannacotta In a Brownie Ashtray
Cigar Box Smoked Branzino Carpaccio
Brachetto D'acqui Rosa Regale
Sopperssata Homemade
Frittelle Di Aragosta- beer-battered Lobster & mascarpone cheese fritters
Tortelini with Peas
Branzino with Eggplant Relish and Tomato Vinaigrette
Seafood Sausage & topped With Braised  Cabbage
Peanut Butter Mousse In A Cup Of Brownie With Peanut Brittle And Smoked Almond Anglaise

Specials

Wine of the Month - Featured for September

Special valid Sep 7, 2016 - Sep 30, 2016 all week from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Wine Wednesday

Wednesdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

1,000-Point Tables

Specials

Wine of the Month - Featured for September

Special valid Sep 7, 2016 - Sep 30, 2016 all week from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Details

Pinot Grigio “Ramato XL~Venezia-Giulia” Scarbolo '13 14 (5oz) 70 (bottle). Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Sep 7, 2016 - Sep 30, 2016 all week from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM.

Wine Wednesday

Wednesdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

Every Week for "Wine Wednesday" will be a featured Red and White Wine. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Sep 7, 2016 - Dec 28, 2016 on Wednesdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 5:30PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri 5:00PM - 6:30PM

Sat 9:00PM - 10:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Panorama Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Philadelphia / New Jersey Suburbs
Notable Wine List
Philadelphia
Best Restaurants in Old City ›

Notable Wine List (40)
Special Occasion (27)
Romantic (24)
See All
Fit for Foodies (22)
Good for a Date (18)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Bar Seating (10)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Cozy (8)
Modern Decor (8)
Authentic (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Private Room (5)
Business Meals (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Worth the Drive (3)
Historic (3)
Scenic View (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Tapas (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Casual (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1151 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My friend and I had dinner here after a ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 2 days ago

My friend and I had dinner here after a day of exploring Old City. We started with wine flights and the bartender was extremely friendly and knowledgeable. Loved their own wine so much I bought a bottle! The food was also delicious, from the bread and pesto to start to the perfect half-orders of pasta. The decor, lighting, and seating was soft and fancy without being too pretentious. Can't wait to go back again!

Tags: Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great time at Panorama. Not much of a cr ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 3 days ago

Great time at Panorama. Not much of a crowd there anymore, but the food and service were great as ever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The 120 Bottles of wine on tap was incre ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 3 days ago

The 120 Bottles of wine on tap was incredible. The flights of wine for tasting were fabulous.

The food was great too.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Happy Hour, Cozy, Romantic, Bar Seating, Tapas, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and a place with over 100 win ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 4 days ago

Great food and a place with over 100 wines by the glass to sample!!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Private Room, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food, ambience and service. Right a ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 5 days ago

Good food, ambience and service. Right around the corner from the Arden Theater.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Had 3 course lunch menu during restauran ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 5 days ago

Had 3 course lunch menu during restaurant week. Full size portions, nice selection of options from menu, tiramisu excellent!

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had eaten at Panorama twice before a c ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 6 days ago

I had eaten at Panorama twice before a couple of years ago and was eager to eat there again.

This time the food was terrible (ranging from overlooked gnocchi with unappetizing pesto sauce to super al dente pasta). Service was uninspired and forgettable.

Newly redecorated, it lost its old charm. It could be a restaurant in any suburban mall. I won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Waiter was spot on with the recommendati ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 6 days ago

Waiter was spot on with the recommendations but service was a little slow. Absolutely love the wine flights!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

The venue is beautiful, but the food was ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 6 days ago

The venue is beautiful, but the food was unimpressive and expensive. I would not recommend this establishment to a friend because I did not enjoy the size of the portions or the flavors of the food. The wine flight is a unique feature offered here. I would consider coming back for only wine. The restaurant week menu left me wanting more quantity of food and better flavoring of the food.

Tags: Tapas, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Panorama proved prefect for a pre-theate ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 6 days ago

Panorama proved prefect for a pre-theater dinner. Starters of grilled shrimp, & pasta with clams & crab were fresh & tasty. Mains of veal loin & a pasta with wild boar ragu were fabulous. Pear with wine graced the meal's end. Generous portions, & very fair prices - perhaps due to Restaurant Week. Panorama has a huge, wonderful wine list & all are available by the glass. We had not dined here for many years, but will be back soon.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Waited an hour for main dish. When it c ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

Waited an hour for main dish. When it came out, one of the meals had to be returned. Not a great experience at all. Maitre'd tried to make up for it by offering free glasses of wine which I turned down. Ten bucks for a bottle of water. Waitress was pleasant and nice, although I told her I was hungry and she nonetheless recommended the lamb which turned out to be four little dollops of meat, each the size of silver dollar, for $35. Not worth it. I will never go back

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

Always outstanding. Excellent wine list ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

Always outstanding. Excellent wine list. Excellent service

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The new decor is just stunning. We all ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

The new decor is just stunning. We all loved the food it was outstanding . The service is very attentive. The wine list impressive

I can't wait to go back.

Tags: Private Room, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Romantic, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The service was perfect and the restaura ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

The service was perfect and the restaurant was beautiful. The calamari were amazing, and we ordered two different pasta dishes and Lamb loin. Beautiful presentation and pretty delish. So many wines to choose from. The food been larger portions. Thebserving were what you see at a high end restaurant. It feel like a cozy Italian spot. One thing I hateddddd was the music. It was like modern music. I wouldve loved some Italian music to add to the ambiance.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We have savored Panorama for many years ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

We have savored Panorama for many years now on Restaurant Week. We do not dine in Center City unless it is Restaurant Week because of the parking and traffic. Panorama is amazing. Our dinners were fabulous. Some of us had the zucchini tarte and I tried to make a similar one at home. It was absolutely my favorite. I also had the flank steak. The portion was huge which I shared with my friends. Others had the swordfish and a veal dish. My husband was not happy with that dish but our friend loved it so it is truly a matter of taste. Our service was impeccable.

We will return year after year.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Located in the historic Penns View Hotel ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Located in the historic Penns View Hotel, this beautiful restaurant has ambiance and delicious food. Best of all, there are 120 wines on tap (and over 150 available by the glass). Wine flights are a must. Perfect place for a date night: grab a seat at the bar, order a few plates to share, and have fun picking a few of their many expertly selected wine flights. You can't go wrong! Make it a long weekend with reservations at the Penns View Hotel. Both the restaurant and the hotel were recently renovated to update the decor.

Tags: Cozy, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Historic, Casual, Happy Hour, Romantic, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for Restaurant Week lunch which ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

We went for Restaurant Week lunch which was a real bargain and got us to return. All the food was superb and the service top notch. This is not an inexpensive restaurant for dinner - and I don't think they serve lunch when it's not Restaurant Week so my comments above are based on the higher priced dinner menu. But I'm sure we'll go back for special occasions. They are known to probably the largest wine list in the country and they do "flights" of wine.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Visited during resturant week. After sea ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Visited during resturant week. After searching many menus, we decided to go with Panorama. It was the best decisions that we made. The food was delicious. For the resturants participating in restaurant week, Panorama was one that gave you the most options

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Panorama's claim to fame is its bar with ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Panorama's claim to fame is its bar with wine flights as the star of the show. The food is totally neglected...clearly, the management is following the money. What a huge disappointment, especially since I anticipated delicious Italian fare for a special evening. Seafood pasta was barely possible, a salad was drowned in what appeared to be bottled balsamic dressing, etc. The staff was friendly and competent but they are not well served by the chef. Very disappointing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

Appetizers were very good. Entrees were ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Appetizers were very good. Entrees were mediocre. Appetizers were very good. Entrees were mediocre. Sorry for the repetition, but there is a requirement that reviews be at least 50 characters.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Everything was great, impressive wine co ...

 
 (Caribbean)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Everything was great, impressive wine collection. Pastas are really good. Food portions could be just a little bigger, but taste really makes up for that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Service and wine menu outstanding..food ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Service and wine menu outstanding..food could have been a bit hotter.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Poor disabled access. I use a walker an ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Poor disabled access. I use a walker and needed assistance.

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good but not great. We haven't been to ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Good but not great.

We haven't been to Panorama for a few years. They have remodeled the dining room which is now light and airy. The food was as good as always, but the service was very slow. Good wine list as well, but even the drinks took forever to come out.

We will go back eventually, but maybe for happy hour.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

friendly staff, good atmosphere, food wa ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

friendly staff, good atmosphere, food was just average.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Outstanding Professional Service that wi ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Outstanding Professional Service that will impress for business.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

The service was fabulous - I mentioned o ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

The service was fabulous - I mentioned on my reservation that we were celebrating my husband's birthday and when we were seated, they politely seated us in a small alcove where we felt happily separate from other diners. The host brought complimentary prosecco in honor of my husband's birthday, which was thoughtful. The meal was delightful - the food was so good and I would love to return to try more of the wines!

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had the seafood capellini and it was ver ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Had the seafood capellini and it was very tasty and nicely presented. One strange issue was the mussel shells. Many were broken and splintered. Made eating the dish a careful affair. Mentioned it to the waitress as we had never seen broken shells like this. May have been a one-time occurrence. Wait staff was attentive and professional. Nice atmosphere. Not crowded but there was a huge event going on in the park. Vast improvement from our last meal at Panorama some time ago. New chef and menu, will definitely return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very nice restaurant and great service. ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Very nice restaurant and great service. Food was mediocre at best. The lemonchello cheesecake was straight from the freeze and too hard to even cut. I ordered a crab and clam pasta with a white wine sauce (can't remember the name). Pasta was sitting for a while and dry, sauce was just butter/oil. The service was wonderful and it was a very upscale restaurant, just the food was bad.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent food and presentation. Food co ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Excellent food and presentation. Food cooked perfectly and great service. Will be back very soon.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant was great. The service wa ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The restaurant was great. The service was quick, and the server was awesome. Her name was Kit. The food was tasty. The options on the menu were good. The restaurant was quiet and not crowded. I would recommend this place to everyone.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food!! Veal was amazing!!

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Great food!! Veal was amazing!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We all got wine flights and then ordered ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We all got wine flights and then ordered a glass of our favorite from our flights, so the meal was expensive, but worth it. Food was excellent. The room is noisy when full but quieted down by the end of our meal. Service was attentive without being annoying. I was here 4 or 5 years ago and went back on a whim on Saturday night. Both times I had the same great experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Restaurant was recently renovated and th ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Restaurant was recently renovated and the warm ambiance is gone.

Very noisy now and the food was not as good as it has been in the past.

Wondered if the restaurant had been sold recently.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

i was disappointed ti find out that ther ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

i was disappointed ti find out that there was on going construction and renovations that I was not made aware of.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

William was awesome!! And the food is al ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

William was awesome!! And the food is always great I go there when I am in town!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and wine was delicious.. Atmosphere ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Food and wine was delicious.. Atmosphere not that great

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

Everything was perfect. The food was o ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Everything was perfect. The food was outstanding!!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lived in Philly all our lives but never ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Lived in Philly all our lives but never ate here. Very pleasant surprise

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Worst waiter ever

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

We often dine here because of the great food and amazing wine list. They are doing renovations, which we were not informed of prior to dining. This left us in a cold room without the normal ambience. The food, as always, was terrific but where did they get this waiter? The service is usually impeccable but this guy was rude, slow, screwed up our wine order and was just, generally, unpleasant. People were requesting the manager and some people actually got up and left. It doesn't matter how good the food is, if I have another unpleasant experience with the waitstaff I won't return. There is no shortage of good places to eat in Philly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.