About Panorama

14 North Front Street
Philadelphia, PA 19106
View Larger Map

Executive Chef Matthew Gentile has revamped the Italian menu and interpreted Panorama’s stable of recipes, many of which had been in the Sena family for generations, and edited them with modern techniques, lighter ingredients and clean presentations. Chef Gentile adds a large selection of homemade pastas, large plates for sharing, and many lighter options that can be combined for a meal.Panorama was recognized with a Guinness World Record as the World’s Largest Wine Bar via an award bestowed on its custom-designed winekeeper/cruvinet, which offers 120 wines on tap..
The restaurant is hyper-focused on wine, with up to 150 wines by the glass available at any time. Try one of our signature Panoramic Flights — a personal wine tasting offering a sampling of five different wines within a select group - from a selection of over 2 dozen fun and provocative themes.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Wine Bar, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Mon -Thurs: 5pm - 10pm, Fri: 5pm- 11pm; Sat: 2pm - 11pm, Sun: 5pm - 9pm
Bar opens at 4:30 pm Mon- Fri

Cross Street:
Market Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 922-7800

Website:
http://www.panoramaristorante.com/

Entertainment:
No

Catering:
Allow our onsite planners to assist you with organizing your event, reserving blocks of rooms for wedding guests, or establishing catering menus. Our staff members can guide you through every step of the planning process, whether you are organizing a business meeting, formal dinner or reception.

Parking Details:
There is a public, non-affiliated lot adjacent to the building with entrances on Market Street & on Front Street.

Public Transit:
Bus Stop - Market & Front Street
Rail - 2nd & Market Street

Executive Chef:
Chef Matt Gentile

Private Party Facilities:
Our Philadelphia private dining areas include the elegant Stagione Room and our romantic Wine Cellar. The spaces are versatile enough to accommodate intimate sit-down dinners, banquets and everything in between.

Private Party Contact:
Erika Bertoi: 2159227800x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Wine Wednesday Every Week a featured Red and White Wine
Featured Wine of the Month
Happy Hour in the Wine Bar Everyday! Sun -Fri 5-7 pm & Sat 3-5 pm

Restaurant Photos

Panorama, Philadelphia, PA
Bluepoint Oysters - Panorama, Philadelphia, PA
Beet Salad - Panorama, Philadelphia, PA
Gnocchi - Panorama, Philadelphia, PA
Gnocci With Fontina Sauce - Panorama, Philadelphia, PA
Cheese Platter - Panorama, Philadelphia, PA
Cigar Espresso Pannacotta In a Brownie Ashtray - Panorama, Philadelphia, PA
Cigar Box Smoked Branzino Carpaccio - Panorama, Philadelphia, PA
Brachetto D'acqui Rosa Regale - Panorama, Philadelphia, PA
Sopperssata Homemade  - Panorama, Philadelphia, PA
Frittelle Di Aragosta- beer-battered Lobster & mascarpone cheese fritters - Panorama, Philadelphia, PA
Tortelini with Peas  - Panorama, Philadelphia, PA
Branzino with Eggplant Relish and Tomato Vinaigrette - Panorama, Philadelphia, PA
Seafood Sausage & topped With Braised  Cabbage - Panorama, Philadelphia, PA
Peanut Butter Mousse In A Cup Of Brownie With Peanut Brittle And Smoked Almond Anglaise - Panorama, Philadelphia, PA

Specials

Wine Wednesday

Wednesdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Book Your Holiday Party &Receive Special Room Rate

Special valid Oct 13, 2016 - Dec 24, 2016 all week from 12:00 PM - 11:00 PM

New Year's Eve

Saturday Dec 31, 2016 from 3:00 PM - 11:30 PM

Specials

Wine Wednesday

Wednesdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

Every Week for "Wine Wednesday" will be a featured Red and White Wine. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Sep 7, 2016 - Dec 28, 2016 on Wednesdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Book Your Holiday Party &Receive Special Room Rate

Special valid Oct 13, 2016 - Dec 24, 2016 all week from 12:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Details

Book Your Holiday Party & You and your guests will receive a special room rate of $89 at the Penn’s View Hotel. Valid the evening of your party only. Call us directly 215.922.7800 speak to Erika Bertoia or email erika@panoramaristorante.com. Excludes Tax and Tip. based on availability & cannot be combined with any other offer or promotion. Special valid Oct 13, 2016 - Dec 24, 2016 all week from 12:00 PM - 11:00 PM.

New Year's Eve

Saturday Dec 31, 2016 from 3:00 PM - 11:30 PM

Details

Bar Opens at 3 pm 3:30 - 4:00 pm or 6:30 pm Seatings: Offering 2 set menus - 3 Course Menu $60 pp & 3 Course Children’s Menu $30 pp (12 and under) 9:00 pm Seating: Offering 4 course Menu $95 pp Complimentary Sparkling Toast. Excludes Tax and Tip. Call for Reservations 215.922.7800. Special valid on Saturday Dec 31, 2016 from 3:00 PM - 11:30 PM.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Panorama Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (47)
Good for a Date (37)
Romantic (34)
See All
Special Occasion (27)
Creative Cuisine (21)
Bar Seating (19)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Authentic (15)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Cozy (12)
Modern Decor (12)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Business Meals (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Private Room (7)
Historic (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Fun (4)
Casual (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Scenic View (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Family Style (2)
Healthy (2)
Waterfront (2)
Tapas (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
People Watching (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Seasonal (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
S
1193 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The new decor is just right. We are deli ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 4 days ago

The new decor is just right. We are delighted to have such a fine restaurant choice nearby. Our last visit combined fine food with excellent service.

Tags: Family Style, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was bland and overpriced for what i ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Food was bland and overpriced for what it was. We left and went out for dinner AGAIN.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4

Panorama was bustling on this past Satur ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Panorama was bustling on this past Saturday night and had a full house, not in part due to their outstanding selections that were wonderfully executed! I felt that such upscale gourmet food should have more upscale surroundings but fellow patrons were nice and also engrossed with the wonderful cuisine. Try the mushrooms, the homemade pasta, the amazing selection of wine!

Tags: Good for a Date, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

We have been there several times and thi ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 3, 2016

We have been there several times and this occasion was not good. Food was not delivered to entire table of 6 at the same time. One meal (evening special) was not described correctly and the server never came back choosing to deliver something else without telling us.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

We were celebrating our son and daughter ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 29, 2016

We were celebrating our son and daughter's 23rd wedding anniversary. It was a Tuesday night so it was wonderfully quiet. We were served a glass of persecko first which set a nice tone for the evening. The bread was delicious, a kind of foccocio with pesto. Our children each had a flight of wine which I had never seen before and can't wait to have when I go back. The rest of the food was great. We couldn't stay for dessert because we had theater tickets at the Arden just steps away. We all said we would be back soon.

Tags: Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Romantic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic is an Understatement! Flights ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Fantastic is an Understatement!

Flights of great wines to try. (120 on tap!)

Unlike any other gourmet menu, you will want to try everything!

And based on everything we had, you should!

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wow! We were surprised how quiet it was ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Wow! We were surprised how quiet it was here for a Saturday; although we were there early. Food was off the charts. Everything was fresh homemade pasta, and our server was great!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was excellent. Even with main ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Everything was excellent. Even with main room closed for privet party, food and service were perfect. We enjoyed it a lot.

Tags: Special Occasion, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Authentic, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to Panorama many times and ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 25, 2016

We have been to Panorama many times and always enjoyed but the newly renovated dining area and the menu were a wonderful surprise. The food was great as always (I love being able to by 1/2 portions of pasta) but now with a more modern approach. The ambience a little more subdued and yet inviting. The service was great as usual and the wine selection as always is second to none!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Excellent atmosphere and friendly servic ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Excellent atmosphere and friendly service. Food was creative, fresh and outstanding!

Tags: Family Style, Seasonal, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Poor service. Went on a Tuesday night. ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Poor service. Went on a Tuesday night. Restaurant was not busy. Service was terrible. Waited one hour for food, which when it came out was lukewarm. Restaurant manager was very attentive and comped the dinner.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

The service was exemplary. Our server wa ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 23, 2016

The service was exemplary. Our server was very knowledgeable about the wines and menu options. We felt treated like VIPs by the manager and server. The food was fantastic and included a wagyu beef meatball and perfectly prepared duck breast as well as fresh pasta. We had a wonderful dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

went for the food and wine experience bu ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 20, 2016

went for the food and wine experience but was disappointed with the food. The menu has changed since the last visit and I must say not for the better. I think they are trying to hard to be something that they are not. Their Italian before was great and the food this visit was only acceptable but could have been much better

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

This is my 2nd time at Panorama. I cann ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 20, 2016

This is my 2nd time at Panorama. I cannot wait to go back. The flights of wine are so well put together and include a flight of sparkling. I let the server choose my entree and it was perfection. My next trip to Philly will include a stop at Panorama.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding as always! Thank you so muc ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Outstanding as always! Thank you so much!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautifully redecorated. Food and wine g ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Beautifully redecorated. Food and wine great as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Amazing. The food, service and ambiance ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Amazing. The food, service and ambiance were spectacular. My boyfriend and I went for his birthday and it was truly a special night. I HIGHLY recommend it!!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The ambiance was really good. However, t ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The ambiance was really good. However, the price of the food was too much- considering the food was too bland and very small portions.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

This has been a longtime sure bet in Old ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 12, 2016

This has been a longtime sure bet in Olde City Philadelphia. The owner Luca is an authentic Italian that will make you and your guests feel welcomed. Atmosphere is great, owner is great, food is great, wine selection superb (even by the glass). Some of the staff could use some polishing. But that is the case in most restaurants these days. Hostess and Waiters are no longer career choices as it once was.

I miss the table clothes. This is one of the few restaurants that I feel is still worthy to be using a table cloth but they don't.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic, Historic, Casual, Worth the Drive, Private Room, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We had such an amazing meal. The renovat ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We had such an amazing meal. The renovated space is beautiful while still keeping some of the original charm. Good great! Def going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was excellent and it was so fun ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 6, 2016

The food was excellent and it was so fun trying different wine flights. Definitely recommend!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was better than we had expected ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The food was better than we had expected in the newly renovated space. Delicious and nice sized portions. Service was attentive and the surprise bottle of Prosecco for my daughter's birthday was lovely. Unfortunately her Kobe beef was overcooked so she set it back and had to wait 10 minutes for her meal. The server and manager were apologetic, but it did put a damper on an otherwise nice experience

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was good - wine flights were fun an ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Food was good - wine flights were fun and creative. Met the owner Dawn -- hardworking and concerned about every a detail. Will be back again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Amazing food. I'd compare it to Lilia or ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Amazing food. I'd compare it to Lilia or restaurants in Italy. I'd drive hours just for the burrata.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

In researching where to eat in Philadelp ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on October 29, 2016

In researching where to eat in Philadelphia, there are many Italian restaurants. I found Panorama which turned out to be a great choice. Located in the ground floor of a small hotel in the Old City section of Philadelphia, my party was greeted by the host. Our server was friendly and attentive. We began with drinks, ordered a first course and then entree's. My daughter loves gnocchi but did not want the sauce on the menu, they gladly substituted a fresh tomato sauce. My pasta was home made, with a created top of tomato and lamb pancetta. It was very tasty and very different.

We skipped desert but our server brought us a complimentary portion of tiramisu. It was very good, light and tasty.

I highly recommend this restaurant if you'd like great food, great service and a great wine list.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The wine selection is incredible and the ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The wine selection is incredible and the food is exquisite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This restaurant is a perfect spot for a ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 28, 2016

This restaurant is a perfect spot for a meal when visiting Old City events or Art Galleries. Because it is a bit off the beaten track and associated with a small hotel, I think it goes unnoticed. The service was excellent and accommodating for a pre-theater meal. We enjoyed everything we ate and I would happily return again for quality Italian cooking.

Tags: Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We dined here for my gf's birthday and h ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 28, 2016

We dined here for my gf's birthday and had a good time. We went for the huge selection of wine and the wine flights were a fun way to experience a variety of types. The food was tasty but the portions sizes were on the small side even the pastas. We would likely return to sit at the bar and do more wine tastings but probably not eat unless it was another special occasion.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The new décor is very attractive and the ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 27, 2016

The new décor is very attractive and the food as good as ever. Our server, Ellen, was excellent and was a very good sport when she was told we were going to a play so weren't intending to eat or drink very heavily. The eggplant lasagna dish is still one of the best around, the service well timed and the managers both very professional. My husband's dish wasn't served hot enough, and they didn't just zap it in the microwave but served him a completely new order even though he had taken a bite of it. It's a favorite of ours and we have never come away disappointed.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Authentic, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Came for our wedding anniversary. Amazin ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Came for our wedding anniversary. Amazing wine and beer list! Lovely atmosphere and service was very good. Would definitely go again!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

It was a lovely restaurant inside the Pe ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 15, 2016

It was a lovely restaurant inside the Penns View Hotel. It was filled with ambience. There was a rather large wine list and dinner menu. The waiter explained a few of the specials. The food was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We enjoyed our dinner. The flight of win ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 14, 2016

We enjoyed our dinner. The flight of wine was really good.

The food was good and the staff were pleasant however, it took a long while for the food to be prepared. It was delicious. Will revisit again.

Tags: Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

love their wine flights. the food is go ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 9, 2016

love their wine flights. the food is good too! decor is beautiful.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We went to Panorama on a recent visit to ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 7, 2016

We went to Panorama on a recent visit to Philadelphia and I am glad we did. The wine list is truly amazing. We started simply with an arugula salad and the eggplant appetizer. The eggplant appetizer was AMAZING. It was like eggplant parmesan without the breading and frying. The eggplant was sliced so thin and the spice mixture was perfect. They should truly consider turning it into an entree. We followed with the braciola and the lamb pancetta amatriciana. The braciola was the better of the two. The portion size was perfect.The amatriciana was good, but would have been better if the pancetta was cut into bigger pieces. We skipped dessert, but they looked and sounded amazing... Next time.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Authentic, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Alex was an amazing bartender and waiter ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Alex was an amazing bartender and waiter. Had a delicious dinner and happy hour in the newly renovated bar area. Food and wines were fabulous and the ambiance was terrific. Great happy hour specials on wine flights and antipasti food. Do yourself a favor and visit Panorama for a fun night out!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We first ate at Panorama when it opened ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 4, 2016

We first ate at Panorama when it opened 26 years ago and have continued over the years. The new decor and menu are wonderful. It remains a neighborhood gem.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was amazing. The service was excell ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Food was amazing. The service was excellent and the ambiance was perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The wife and I keep Panorama in our spec ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 1, 2016

The wife and I keep Panorama in our special ocassion rotation. Love the wine flights and dining options.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was fantastic. Tons of wine options ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Food was fantastic. Tons of wine options. Great fun.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The pasta was undercooked... and in gene ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 30, 2016

The pasta was undercooked... and in general the food was a bit disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.