About Panorama

14 North Front Street
Philadelphia, PA 19106
View Larger Map

Panorama offers authentic trattoria-style dining in the heart of Old City. The Northern region influences our Philadelphia Italian restaurant, featuring homemade pastas, authentic veal dishes, and fresh seafood specialties. A distinctive feature of Panorama is our unique wine bar, with its custom-built, 120-bottle wine dispensing unit, the current Guinness Book of World Records holder.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Wine Bar, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Summer Hours: (effective June 2)
Dinner: Mon - Thurs: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Fri: 5:00- 11pm; Sat: 2:00pm - 11:00pm, Sun: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Bar opens at 4:30 pm Mon- Fri

Cross Street:
Market Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 922-7800

Website:
http://www.panoramaristorante.com/

Entertainment:
No

Catering:
Allow our onsite planners to assist you with organizing your event, reserving blocks of rooms for wedding guests, or establishing catering menus. Our staff members can guide you through every step of the planning process, whether you are organizing a business meeting, formal dinner or reception.

Parking Details:
There is a public, non-affiliated lot adjacent to the building with entrances on Market Street & on Front Street. Panorama validates parking for lunch between noon and 2:30pm Monday through Friday in the lot adjacent to the building.

Public Transit:
Bus Stop - Market & Front Street
Rail - 2nd & Market Street

Executive Chef:
Chef Matt Gentile

Private Party Facilities:
Our Philadelphia private dining areas include the elegant Stagione Room and our romantic Wine Cellar. The spaces are versatile enough to accommodate intimate sit-down dinners, grand banquets and everything in between.

Private Party Contact:
William Eccleston: 2159227800x

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Wine Wednesday Every Week a featured Red and White Wine.
Featured Wine of the Month.
Happy Hour in the Wine Bar Everyday! Sun -Fri 5-7 pm & Sat 3-5 pm

Restaurant Photos

Bluepoint Oysters
Beet Salad
Gnocchi
Gnocci With Fontina Sauce
Cheese Platter
Cigar Espresso Pannacotta In a Brownie Ashtray
Cigar Box Smoked Branzino Carpaccio
Brachetto D'acqui Rosa Regale
Sopperssata Homemade
Frittelle Di Aragosta- beer-battered Lobster & mascarpone cheese fritters
Tortelini with Peas
Branzino with Eggplant Relish and Tomato Vinaigrette
Seafood Sausage & topped With Braised  Cabbage
Peanut Butter Mousse In A Cup Of Brownie With Peanut Brittle And Smoked Almond Anglaise

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 5:30PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri 5:00PM - 6:30PM

Sat 9:00PM - 10:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Panorama Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Philadelphia / New Jersey Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Old City ›

Notable Wine List (31)
Special Occasion (20)
Fit for Foodies (20)
See All
Romantic (19)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Good for Groups (10)
Late-night Find (3)
Scenic View (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Hot Spot (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1126 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

friendly staff, good atmosphere, food wa ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined 5 days ago

friendly staff, good atmosphere, food was just average.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Outstanding Professional Service that wi ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 5 days ago

Outstanding Professional Service that will impress for business.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

Had the seafood capellini and it was ver ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Had the seafood capellini and it was very tasty and nicely presented. One strange issue was the mussel shells. Many were broken and splintered. Made eating the dish a careful affair. Mentioned it to the waitress as we had never seen broken shells like this. May have been a one-time occurrence. Wait staff was attentive and professional. Nice atmosphere. Not crowded but there was a huge event going on in the park. Vast improvement from our last meal at Panorama some time ago. New chef and menu, will definitely return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very nice restaurant and great service. ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Very nice restaurant and great service. Food was mediocre at best. The lemonchello cheesecake was straight from the freeze and too hard to even cut. I ordered a crab and clam pasta with a white wine sauce (can't remember the name). Pasta was sitting for a while and dry, sauce was just butter/oil. The service was wonderful and it was a very upscale restaurant, just the food was bad.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent food and presentation. Food co ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Excellent food and presentation. Food cooked perfectly and great service. Will be back very soon.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant was great. The service wa ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The restaurant was great. The service was quick, and the server was awesome. Her name was Kit. The food was tasty. The options on the menu were good. The restaurant was quiet and not crowded. I would recommend this place to everyone.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food!! Veal was amazing!!

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Great food!! Veal was amazing!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We all got wine flights and then ordered ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We all got wine flights and then ordered a glass of our favorite from our flights, so the meal was expensive, but worth it. Food was excellent. The room is noisy when full but quieted down by the end of our meal. Service was attentive without being annoying. I was here 4 or 5 years ago and went back on a whim on Saturday night. Both times I had the same great experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Restaurant was recently renovated and th ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Restaurant was recently renovated and the warm ambiance is gone.

Very noisy now and the food was not as good as it has been in the past.

Wondered if the restaurant had been sold recently.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

i was disappointed ti find out that ther ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

i was disappointed ti find out that there was on going construction and renovations that I was not made aware of.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

William was awesome!! And the food is al ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

William was awesome!! And the food is always great I go there when I am in town!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and wine was delicious.. Atmosphere ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Food and wine was delicious.. Atmosphere not that great

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

Everything was perfect. The food was o ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Everything was perfect. The food was outstanding!!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lived in Philly all our lives but never ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Lived in Philly all our lives but never ate here. Very pleasant surprise

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Worst waiter ever

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

We often dine here because of the great food and amazing wine list. They are doing renovations, which we were not informed of prior to dining. This left us in a cold room without the normal ambience. The food, as always, was terrific but where did they get this waiter? The service is usually impeccable but this guy was rude, slow, screwed up our wine order and was just, generally, unpleasant. People were requesting the manager and some people actually got up and left. It doesn't matter how good the food is, if I have another unpleasant experience with the waitstaff I won't return. There is no shortage of good places to eat in Philly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value3

Super Lunch for my Mom

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

My family took my mom out for a special lunch before we saw a play at the Arden. We could not have asked for a better time. The food was absolutely fabulous! The service was wonderful, and the ambiance was perfect. My mom remarked that she thought it was the best lunch she had ever had. We were not rushed at all, and we really felt like we were all special that day. My husband and I had been there before for Valentine's and anniversaries, but it had been a while since our last visit. We both said on our way out that we have to come back to Panorama more often...it was a super experience all around!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wine flights!!

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Wonderful service! The wine flight menu was impressive !!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful food. The service was wonderfu ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Wonderful food. The service was wonderful.Loved the beauty of the room. I definitely would dine there again. Hope to dine in your beautiful restaurant on my next trip to Philly.I have not had lunch there but hope to do so in the future.Loved the service,our waitress was just lovely.Thank you.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great special occasion venue -- had a lo ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Great special occasion venue -- had a lovely dinner on a rainy night in May. Service was wonderful and the food was incredible. If you haven't been there you must check it out at least once.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience. The wine selection and ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Great experience. The wine selection and actual bar is awesome. Loved that they have a Saturday happy hour- makes it very reasonable for pricing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everyone's meal was excellent. The beet ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

Everyone's meal was excellent. The beet salad, and the tomato pie with burrata were especially good. Well worth a visit. All the wines on tap was fun.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overall very good. Excellent service. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Overall very good. Excellent service. Food was generally very good. Calamari were outstading. Appetizers and pasta portions a bit small for what you pay for. Nice atmosphere but a little bit loud. Good place to host a group meal.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Went there for my wife birth day dinner. ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Went there for my wife birth day dinner. Service was outstanding. Had the full size Agnolotti and wife had the Fettucine, both dinner were excellent. Had the mojito for drinks it's the best mojito I had in Old City. Only problem we order the starter 15 minute before our dinner and was serve dinner 1st. In the middle of our dinner they brought out the Starter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

They are in a boutique hotel. It is quai ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

They are in a boutique hotel. It is quaint and nicely done. We were there for Burch. Good pre fixe menu at a price I would expect. Service and food were good. The crab Benedict was very good and I would recommend it. I understand they have a great wine selection but I did not drink on this visit as I was driving out of town. The ladies liked it and overall it was a winner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

The menu has recently been changed. Fewe ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

The menu has recently been changed. Fewer selections than on the previous menu and the food for the most part was rather bland. I've eaten here on a few occasions and this is the first time the dining experience wasn't enjoyable.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Eggplant and braciole were outstanding. ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on April 25, 2016

Eggplant and braciole were outstanding. Premium wine by the glass . The restuarant is confortable in old school decor .

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

Extremely quiet, unusual interior, great food. Had expected a view considering the name but this was interior dining

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Panorama review 4-2016

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 20, 2016

This resturant is located near Penn's landing close to the water. We were attracted becaue of the wine flats and italian menu. We ordered the eggplant appetizer which was a very generous portion for an apetizer and excellent. Our group ordered 3 different veal dishes- the flank which was grilled but not particualry flavorful- not a redo, the scallopine- a unqiue presentation but good and the bracciole- which appeared to be the best . The Italian wine- barbera- was not great- which is regretable since the wine menu is very extensive- perhaps it was my choice. All in all the resturant was goodd but not great

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Return Customer

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

We went to Panorama before and had such a wonderful experience, we wanted to return. Our experience this time was just as wonderful. The staff is attentive without lingering. The only small disappointment I had was that they did not have the short rib dinner available the evening we were there. However the chicken I ordered was delicious. I highly reccomend the resaturant. My husband and I love the flights of wine and the environment and the curtious and attentive staff.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and wine were great. We had a ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

The food and wine were great. We had a great meal and every dish we tried was quite delicious. It was worth the price point. The restaurant itself is a bit odd. Based on other reviews, we expected a bit slower experience. Glad we read that ahead of time so we expected a bit of wait. It took us almost 2.5 hours to have a full meal. There seemed to be plenty of staff but only a couple waitresses. To wait to put in drink/food order and to get the food/drinks is way too long. we almost finished out flights of wine before getting some bread... Basically food and wine is great, the rest doesn’t match the price of $200 dinner for two.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2

All the food was great.. Dinner took 30 ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

All the food was great.. Dinner took 30 minutes to come out after the appetizers were cleared, waiter was apologetic. Aside from that everything was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

A Definite Must DO!

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

Wine selection is second to none (I recommend the flights) and the food is outstanding

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A nice reunion

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

We had gone to Panorama several times a few years ago but not recently. We were pleasantly surprised to find the food even better than we remembered, the wine list super and the specialty cocktails excellent. The service was a little slow at first but improved as time passed. We asked for a quiet table and got one. The pasta is to die for.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Things Changed

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

I am sorry to say that we were very disappointed with our meal.

First thing is they don't open the main dining room up for diner.

We were seated in the bar area. Our last time here was on a Monday and we thought there wasn't enough reservations to open the main room.

But a Saturday night sitting in a bar area with all the noise doesn't make for a quiet peaceful night.

Now for the food, all four of us said it just wasn't the same.

My appetizer was small and tasteless. The veal I ate was hard around the sides, like it was over cooked. On top was a very bitter green that did nothing for it.

Well I am not going to go through all four meals but none of us were happy.

Again I say I am sorry because we really liked it there.

When the only thing I can compliment is the gelato dessert that is bad.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value2

Go for the wine flights

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

I went here with my boyfriend by recommendation of a wine loving family member. Our main purpose for going was to try their wine flights as we were excited to experience new varieties. The flights were great, generously poured, all were delicious. We also ordered some small plates and the food was very good, but a little pricey. The restaurant was surprisingly quite for a Saturday night and we were by far the youngest people (we are almost 30). But this wasn't necessarily bad, we could enjoy a conversation across the table without shouting. I would definitely go back and try more of the wine and have already invited friends to join us.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Service was not good. Asked twice for so ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on March 4, 2016

Service was not good. Asked twice for some sort of birthday acknowledgement it was a birthday dinner..Nothing. Were seated at a small table by the bar having a cocktail, hostess would not seat us at our dinner table until we paid the bill.. Bartender said that was redidulous of course we could take our drinks to the table.. Embarrassing since I taking someone who had never been there before. Food very pricey and only fair.. Would not go back. I have been there many times in the past, will not be going back. To many other restaurants

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

On my return trip!

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

This was my second experience at this restaurant in the past month. It was so good when I went (solo) the first time; we came from NY to Philly, and I brought my family the second time. The hostess honored a reservation for a later time when we arrived a bit early. The service is very good and the food was delicious; with the small exception of the gnocchi being a little too sweet for two out of three diners (I have Gluten allergy, and could not attest.) We ordered the Melanzane (Eggplant) and it was just as good as the first time! My niece devoured the Salmon (pan roasted with spaghetti squash, kale, and red pepper-almond sugo) and my nephew and I cleared our plates of the Tagliatelle (butternut squash-parmesan sugo smoked ricotta,) and I of my gluten-free pasta (Spaghetti on the menu) with cured duck breast, and creamy sauce made with parmiggiano, duck egg, and green onion. We also ordered dessert: the Pera (soaked in Moscato with mascarpone) and the Orange-cello semi-freddo that was sandwiched in traditional Pizzelle. Delicious. A tasteful ending to a lovely trip.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Valentine Special

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

I surprised my wife with a night at the hotel (Penns View) and dinner at the restaurant. There was a four course special. The first was common for both people and included sliced meats, cheeses, and pickled vegetables. A very good start. The next three courses involved individual choices; for our second course I ordered the ravioli, my wife the hand rolled pasta. Both were excellent. My third course was veal flank steak, my wife the scallops. Again both were excellent and cooked to perfection. My wife ordered the flour-less torte for desert which was very light and delicious, which sometimes is difficult in these type of tortes. Overall an excellent time with great food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Dined on Valentine Day

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Chose to dine at Panorama for Valentine's Day for the pre-selected menu. We shared the antipasta, foer on llowed by oysters for hubby and warm baby romaine caesar salad for me, which were good. We both ordered the veal flank steak that came with a bit of mashed potato. While the entree was good, it didn't wow us, perhaps because it was served lukewarm, which I pointed out to the waiter at the end of the meal. For dessert we had soppresseto(sp?) which we liked. We had wine with dinner and after dinner drinks with dessert and coffee. The wine list is impressive. I'm not sure if we were to return in the future our impression of Panorama would change for the better. Perhaps we'll give it a try just to see if it does.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

To be honest I've work at a restaurant a ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

To be honest I've work at a restaurant and I understand what it takes to work at one. The hostess took my name and I told her I was early for my reservation for 8:30 so around 8:15 we sat at the bar and had a drink. Not until 9:30 did the hostess walk by us in disbelief that she must have for got about us. Then we sit down and it took me to say something to the man who poured up water in of glasses 20 minutes later that we have yet to see our server. From that point on the service and the rest of our meal and night went better. The server was nice and professional. Over all I wouldn't be upset for our experience if the place was busy. But it was not in the slightest.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.