About Panorama

1 Fine Arts Drive
St. Louis, MO 63110
View Larger Map

Located in the Saint Louis Art Museum’s new East Building designed by renowned British Architect David Chipperfield, Panorama offers full service dining in an elegant setting. With breathtaking Forest Park views from its floor-to-ceiling windows, Panorama offers regional contemporary cuisine showcasing local, sustainably produced ingredients. Menus change seasonally.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:

Tuesday–Thursday: 11:00–2:00, Friday: 11:00–2:00, 5:00-9:00
Saturday Brunch: 10:00–3:00
Sunday Brunch: 10:00–3:00

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 655-5490

Website:
http://www.slam.org/Visit/dining.php

Parking Details:
Parking garage available $15 regular price, discounted to $5 with restaurant receipt of $15 or more. Public parking lot is available and free of charge

Executive Chef:
Ivy Magruder

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Beer, Cafe, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Panorama Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.2

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
St. Louis
Great for Lunch
St. Louis
Best Restaurants in Forest Park ›

scenic view (66)
great for lunch (62)
special occasion (46)
See All
great for brunch (42)
fit for foodies (33)
good for groups (26)
romantic (18)
neighborhood gem (17)
hot spot (5)
kid-friendly (5)
notable wine list (2)
Sort By:
Newest
566 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Usually love Panorama but the food and s ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined 2 days ago

Usually love Panorama but the food and service were way off on this visit. Brussels sprouts were bitter, cauliflower was just ok and portion was tiny - about a tablespoon. Burger was average. Smoked trout was outstanding! Service was not attentive, short changed but they corrected. Very disappointing especially since it was a birthday celebration.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

A nice place to relax while at the art m ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined 5 days ago

A nice place to relax while at the art museum, with great service and atmosphere.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The Caesar Salad was a disappointment-- ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined 6 days ago

The Caesar Salad was a disappointment-- the lettuce was very bitter, and I expected more from a $9 salad. The steak and the pork were great, as was the dessert selection. The servers rarely came by to refill drinks, even though the restaurant was nearly empty. Great environment and very pretty views.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

Always enjoy sitting with friends by the ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Always enjoy sitting with friends by the window enjoying the panorama of our beloved park as we talk and enjoy the good food.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I eat here often. The menu is interesti ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

I eat here often. The menu is interesting. Prices are very compatible with other similar restaurants. I am a contributing member of the Art Museum so there is a 10% discount for food. It is one of my favorite places. Service is interesting. It is either unbelievebaly good or as slow as molasses. Either way, I enjoy being there.

Tags: great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Very nice meal - Tenderloin was excellen ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Very nice meal - Tenderloin was excellent, asparagus as well. Potatoes disappointing. Our friends were reasonably pleased with their meals.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

My friends and I love to meet at the Sai ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

My friends and I love to meet at the Saint Louis Art Museum and have lunch at Panorama. It makes our time together feel even more special ^_^

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the top 2 beef tenderloins I've e ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

One of the top 2 beef tenderloins I've ever tasted. Exquisitely prepared. Very friendly staff, nice views, and nice comfortable dining room. Not an overly large dining area so Reservations are a good idea.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The location is great with a lovely view ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

The location is great with a lovely view of Forest Park. However, while the service is very friendly it is extremely slow. For me the menu could be more creative and offer more seasonal items.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value2

The Ladies and I really enjoyed ourselve ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

The Ladies and I really enjoyed ourselves! Thanks to all of you at the Panorama Restaurant / St. Louis Art Museum. Delicious and nice atmosphere . . . we'll be back !!! Excellent service too . . .

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Glad I choose it and a definite place to ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Glad I choose it and a definite place to go to again. Very Intimate (the size is quite nice).

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had a lunch with cousin's family from ou ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Had a lunch with cousin's family from out of State. Picked this restaurant primarily for the museum and "panorama" claim.

The staff are very friendly and elegantly dressed. The restaurant is neat and well lighted.

Found a few things disappointing: 1. Not that much of "panorama". The large glass wall faces a road and trees, not deep and wide enough to be claimed a "panorama"; 2. The food is in moderately small portion, plain in flavor, however beautifully displayed; 3. No restrooms in the restaurant, it takes a short walk to the museum restrooms, which is not painful but a little awkward.

A fair restaurant but not state of art in the art museum. Miss the Wolfgang Puck restaurant that was here a few yrs ago.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Very nice restaurant in the St. Louis Ar ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Very nice restaurant in the St. Louis Art Museum. Try it for lunch or brunch and then tour the museum.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

My husband and I shared the soup of the ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

My husband and I shared the soup of the day (a crab bisque) and the artisan cheese sampler w/fig jam and tomato chutney. Both appetizers where utterly fantastic. The cheese sampler contained the best bleu cheese-type cheese I've ever had. The tomato chutney was indescribably delicious and I don't even like chutney. We both had the beef tenderloin and there was a lot more meat than I was anticipating. The beef was tender and delicious. It was plated on top of a red wine reduction sauce that my husband loved but I thought it was too sweet. The grilled asparagus and potatoes were also very delicious. We ended the meal with fantastic desserts. I had the peaches and cream cake and my husband had the gooey-butter cake bread pudding. The latter was divine! So rich and flavorful it's difficult to describe. The coffee was very high quality which I appreciated. Our server, named Kelvin, was an absolute delight! His humorous personality and attention to detail caused our wonderful meal to be an absolute perfect experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I am vegan they were very cooperative in ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

I am vegan they were very cooperative in making my meal perfectly!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our server Derrick was very professional ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Our server Derrick was very professional, knowledgeable and friendly. We would ask for him again! We appreciated the local products used to create our wonderful meals.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The location of this restaurant in the A ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

The location of this restaurant in the Art Museum was the main feature of this restaurant. You could overlook Forest Park and the statue of Saint Louis. The service was fine, I d.dn't care for what I ordered. Prices were moderate.

Tags: great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

The food and service were impeccable, an ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

The food and service were impeccable, and the view of Forest Park was impressive!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Quiche and homemade brioche rolls with s ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Quiche and homemade brioche rolls with salt delicious. Service very good. Ambience lacking from cool north light coming from Windows and chilly air conditioning. Room needs plants and warm lighting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

Panorama is a a comfortable place to mee ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Panorama is a a comfortable place to meet if you are visiting the St. Louis Art Museum or Forest Park. Sadly, the food is mediocre at best. The chef tries to design upscale food at a moderate price. He would be better off serving simple sandwiches, soups, and salads.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value4

Elegant place for lunch and fun to take ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

Elegant place for lunch and fun to take out-of-town guests, which we did.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Great food and best service I've had in ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Great food and best service I've had in a restaurant in a long while. Derek, our server, was WONDERFUL!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was good , however, we have never e ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Food was good , however, we have never experienced such terrible service at a restaurant. And it was not crowded.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

This is a beautiful restaurant, with its ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

This is a beautiful restaurant, with its enormous windows, but the food was average at best. I had the braised chicken. There wasn't much chicken and it was dry. I enjoyed the flavors of the cassoulet, but the chicken spoiled the experience. The other people I was with had similarly mediocre experiences. Not bad, just not something we would rush back for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

This the worst sandwich I have ever had. ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

This the worst sandwich I have ever had. It was dry, and the prosciutto was like out of some package at the grocery store and there was a tiny sliver of Brie. A friend had the Caesar salad and it was some leaves of lettuce laying on the pl,ate with a tiny amount of dressing and cheese and a dry chicken breast. I have eaten here in the past and it has always been good but they have changed the menu and probably chefs and they should go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value4

Their menu appears to changes seasonally ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

Their menu appears to changes seasonally. Good use of farm to table options. You can't beat the view. I had the'adult grilled cheese" and friends had the quiche. Fabulous!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Atmoshere of Panorama

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

It is an enjoyable and relaxing atmosphere to be in. I would not mind to come here again and would definitely recommend here to my friends. I liked the servers, they were incredible.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Went to Panorama for Mothers Day brunch. ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Went to Panorama for Mothers Day brunch...the food was good but not great; as it had been on previous visits. I thought it was overpriced for the experience. Would have thought at least the mimosas would have been included for the price.....they were if you were a mom. The dessert table had a nice variety, but you served yourself and as a result the pies looked disgusting after several patrons destroyed them in the process...

But it is in a very nice space with a beautiful view; the staff were very nice and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Impressive experience for customers.

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

Took 3 customers for lunch. They were impressed by the food , service, atmosphere and chef. Received emails later that day about the phenomenal food and enjoyed that the chef came out to see how everything tasted.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sunday Brunch

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

We had a nice table by the window. The food was creative and delicious and the waiter Derrick was very friendly and attentive, Looking forward to coming back.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

mostly great

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

unfortunately, one of the sandwiches seemed to be made using stale bread. We did not complain.. but probably should have. The shrimp and grits was wonderful

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great experience at the Art Museum

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

I love having meetups with friends for lunch at the Museum restaurant. Love the view and furnishings as well as the food and presentation. Greatly appreciate the kind caring staff taking good care of everyone. Highly recommend dining at the museum amidst our magnificent art collection you can feel the creative energy abounding.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waiter

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on April 14, 2016

Our waiter was very nice and accommodating! When the hamburger was not cooked enough he was on top of it right away. She then enjoyed her hamburger and all of the 5 ladies with me enjoyed our meal and will definitely be back when we get a chance. Thank you so much for a lovely lunch for me and my lady friends.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Too noisy and slow service

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

The room is so loud with all the talking the person next to you cannot hear you speak. Very disappointed in that.

Wait staff was very slow. Very Slow ! Asked for a glass of milk with our meal as soon as the plate was brought. we were done eating by the time he brought the milk. Everything was slow. we were there 2.5 hours. I should say, everything was slow except bringing the bill.

Also very disappointed in the food ordered. biscuits and gravy. Terrible. the gravy was so greasy it was not editable. Had no taste. The eggs were very good thou.

Not interested in going back. Have been there 3 times now in the last year. disappointed every time.

Wont be back.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

It was a lovely experience--good food and service.

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

It's a great place for conversation. And, they make a great Bloody Mary!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Not nearly as good as it should be.

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

The chicken I got was not good. My friends cheese sandwich was good tho, fresh greens

included, healthy.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Service was BAD from start to finish. T ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

Service was BAD from start to finish. There were only two of us, and we ordered identical and what should be very easy meals to prepare (grilled chicken Caesar salads), and after a ridiculous amount of time, they brought out ONE salad. Then it took another 15 minutes to deliver the second salad. We will not return for a business lunch again. 12:15 reservation and we finally got out of there at 2:10.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Great restaurant at Art Museum

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

Panorama at the St. Louis Art Museum is a beautiful spot and well worth a visit. The view over the park is outstanding, the menu offers excellent choices and the food is delicious.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Responsive management

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

This is agreat place for lunch or brunch. The setting is lovely, the sound level is good, the menu varied, and the food good. What makes it especially good, is the level of attention to detail by the manager- it pays off in a good experience that keeps you coming back.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Easter Brunch

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

I've been to Panorama several times for lunch. It always is great food with a fantastic, quiet atmosphere. I went for brunch for Easter 2016 and it far surpassed my expectations! We'll definitely return next year for Easter. $50pp included an elaborate carving station as well as stuffed french toast, lobster mac and cheese, etc. My whole family enjoyed the afternoon!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.