About Panorama

Located in the Saint Louis Art Museum’s new East Building designed by renowned British Architect David Chipperfield, Panorama offers full service dining in an elegant setting. With breathtaking Forest Park views from its floor-to-ceiling windows, Panorama offers regional contemporary cuisine showcasing local, sustainably produced ingredients. Menus change seasonally.

1 Fine Arts Drive
St. Louis, MO 63110
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:

Tuesday–Thursday: 11:00–2:00, Friday: 11:00–2:00, 5:00-9:00
Saturday Brunch: 10:00–3:00
Sunday Brunch: 10:00–3:00

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 655-5490

Website:
http://www.slam.org/Visit/dining.php

Parking Details:
Parking garage available $15 regular price, discounted to $5 with restaurant receipt of $15 or more. Public parking lot is available and free of charge

Executive Chef:
Ivy Magruder

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Panorama Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (37)
Great for Lunch (28)
Creative Cuisine (27)
See All
Quiet Conversation (26)
Modern Decor (26)
Great for Brunch (22)
Special Occasion (20)
Sunday Lunch (18)
Romantic (16)
Good for a Date (16)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Business Meals (12)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Historic (12)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Healthy (11)
Worth the Drive (10)
Casual (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Cozy (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Private Room (7)
Afternoon Coffee (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Seasonal (6)
Afternoon Tea (6)
Authentic (6)
Fun (5)
People Watching (5)
Quick Bite (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Organic (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Notable Wine List (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Waterfront (1)
Vegan (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
658 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Always enjoy dining at the Art Museum restaurant with friends and like the ability to reserve a table ahead of time. Much Appreciated.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Good meeting space. Servers were good. Assistant server needed to be reminded of bread and soup spoons, but responded quickly.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 14, 2017

What a delightful Valentine's Day lunch! Menu was outstanding as was the food. Service was impeccable. Will go again for sure.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I'm afraid I continue to be underwhelmed by the food there. I wish I felt differently.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I always enjoy the beauty of the museum and eating there adds to the experience. The restaurant staff are always very kind and sincere with everyone and I particularly like the receptionist (her name escapes me) I often see and both she and other hostess had lovely hats(sat.feb.11) in tune with the exhibit making it all seem connected. I am grateful to make online reservations ahead of time and often go with friends. Thank You.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 11, 2017

My first impression was that the service is slow as we sat there for 10 to 15 minutes before our server acknowledged our presence. From there it was better. The bread is fantastic and the salad, main course, and desert were pretty good too. My big disappointment is that there are only two or three tables for two and they are kind of back in the corner and that is where they have sat us every time we have been there. It would be nice to have a nice table by the window. Unless they improve on that point this will not be a regular place for me.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 10, 2017

terrific! We had a great time. Server was wonderful and attentive.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Excellent place to take a break in between admiring the works of art at our outstanding art museum. The service is very friendly and the food never disappoints. There is a semi-private room where one feels as if one's party is receiving special treatment. Highly recommended.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The view from the dining room was amazing and created the perfect setting for a lovely Sunday brunch. The service was great and entrees were very good.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The Panorama Restaurant has everything we look for in an upscale restaurant. The menu is very nice and prices are moderate, the food is delicious and the service is outstanding. We love the ambiance and enjoy walking thru a few galleries before eating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Great atmosphere! Perfect for a business lunch, charming enough for a date. Great food! Perfect tempature in the restaurant!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Had a very nice lunch. Food was good, nicely plated. Waiter was attentive - enjoyed our meal. Will return again.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Wonderful

The food was beautiful.

Each bite was savored. The rolls tasted fresh baked.

And could not beat the value.

Muchisimo fabulosa.

Tags: Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Waterfront, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We were there at 6:30 on a Friday night and it was almost empty. We let our server know we had theater tickets and he did a good job of serving us quickly. Otherwise, service was mediocre. Server was not knowledgeable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 27, 2017

The chef had created a new seafood special that was fabulous. The wait staff was attentive, helpful with the menu and personable.

Tags: Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Everything was lovely. Look forward to going back. The menu was thoughtful and creative.

Tags: Private Room, Modern Decor, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Organic, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The Scallops Wellington and Bake Brie were delicious. Outstanding service from Kelvin, made for a very special birthday brunch. We'll be back soon!

Tags: Modern Decor, Great for Brunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Wonderful experience, great service, local food that was delicious. Highly recommended

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Creative food and pleasant ambiance. Great location for a noon lunch meeting with out of town business colleagues.

Tags: Romantic, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 12, 2017

I came here with 3 friends and we had lunch after spending 2 hours at the museum. It was a great place to relax after a lot of walking. The menu is fun and the food was very good with the exception of the pimento cheese sandwich which was very little cheese with a lot of mushrooms.

The Panorama burger was great and the bread pudding was exceptional. The view is lovely and should be even better in the summer.

Tags: Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 11, 2017

It was if I had made no reservation. They had to take down a table for six and prepare it for us, and of course there was no table by the window as I had requested. Otherwise, it was great.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Service was outstanding!

I ordered a pimento sandwich but not what I was expecting. Too spicy.

Otherwise it was perfect.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 8, 2017

My wife has been here and I never had so we went for brunch. The food was excellent and I had what I believe we're the best brussel sprouts I had ever eaten. They were incredible. I also opted for a burger, I always order a burger for my virgin voyage of any restaurant: if the burger is bad, I will never go back. Just ask the folks at the slider house. In this case, the burger was stunning. Yup, stunning and perfectly cooked to med rare and juicy and oozing with flavor. My wife had a frittata and that was amazing. Thanks service was excellent and the atmosphere is very, very nice. We will absolutely be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Group of 7 for New Year's Day. Lovely view and friendly waiter

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

My friend and I enjoyed a casual brunch. It was a great way to kick off an afternoon at the art museum. The garage parking is very convenient to the entry to the restaurant. Staff was polite. Food was well-prepared and tasty. I would go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Modern and historic describes the setting. Tables provide an expansive view of the grounds of the 1904 World's Fair. Contemporary, yet homey describes the food. All-in-all, dining at Panorama inside the St. Louis Art Museum is a feel-good treat. Dishes we enjoyed that were particularly tasty were the shrimp and grits and salmon burger with Brussels sprouts. Pair that burger with a Bloody Mary and you are good-to-go for a relaxing stroll through the museum or the grounds of Art Hill after dining.

Tags: Romantic, Modern Decor, Great for Brunch, Historic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Wonderful experience, with a beautiful view of Art Hill & Forest Park!

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Afternoon Coffee, Quick Bite, Business Meals, People Watching, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Art Museum atmosphere is inviting. Service was attentive. Sparkling Rose was delightful. We split a butternut squash and beer salad. One enter was pistachio encrusted halibut with green beans and potato. The other was lamb chops with green beans and potatoes. The desserts were excellent! Sweet potato tart and tiramisu cheesecake bites. It was a memorable dinner.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Great food, service, and view. A real gem!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Burger was one of the best we've had and cocktail prices were very reasonable. The soup and cauliflower side we got were good, but not outstanding like the bread & burger. Service was ideal. Lovely place. We will return.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 22, 2016

The atmosphere was awesome, the space is filled with the great energy from the gallery and the adjacent art museum. The attention to our meal didn't match the same level of detail as the restaurant's spectacular environment – spectacular view was overwhelming created great expectation. My salmon lacked the artistry of the waiters enthusiasm – It was dry. the presentation of the food was great. My guest enjoyed their meal. And the service staff made a great efforts to accommodate us.

Tags: Historic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Open Kitchen, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Every plate is a work of art that taste better then it looks. Outstanding staff and chef with a comfortable classy environment. Dinning here once will have you yearning to come back as soon as possible. Panorama might as well be a three star Michelin restaurant.

Tags: Casual, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Authentic, Afternoon Coffee, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Afternoon Tea, Romantic, People Watching, Organic, Modern Decor, Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Private Room, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 21, 2016

I love the feel of this restaurant as much as the food. There is something about being surrounded by beautiful art and architecture that primes the palate. I recently visited this spot on a date, with my husband of 35 years, and everything was terrific. Our waiter was engaging, which made it fun. We shared a bottle of wine, devoured our beef tenderloin entrées, and shared a yummy chocolate truffle desert--and then headed off to visit the European Masters. What more can I say? Perfect date lunch on a cool and blustery day before the holidays.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 20, 2016

An excellent restaurant. The food is delicious and the services is great.

We went for a special biz lunch. Everyone (all 5 of us) enjoyed their meal.

I highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Historic, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Brunch: Pleasant but certainly not impressive. Nice soup, potatoes that were delicious and well-seasoned, but basil cream cheese scrambled eggs should have more than just a thread of basil. The promised bacon was nowhere to be found.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 16, 2016

I had the halibut and it was phenomenal!!!!!!!!!!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 14, 2016

The menu is esoteric for a lunch restaurant. No normal sandwiches or salads. Sandwiches include burger with an egg, Turkey BLT on croissant. Ice Cream dessert included bacon. Normal lunch food would help. Service is excellent as is ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 9, 2016

My book club wanted to get together for a nice lunch and discuss our book. It was a delightful place to be. We could carry on our discussion privately while we had a delicious lunch. Everyone was pleased with their choice of food and the service was good without being overbearing.

Tags: Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Food was excellent but grandson's sandwich with an egg on top...was difficult to eat.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Scenic View, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Sophisticated menu and view in the St. Louis Art Museum with eclectic menu and fine service. An ideal location for a casual lunch or a special occasion. Loved it and will be back soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Good food and special view from the museum and Art hill

Tags: Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 20, 2016

This was my first visit to Panorama in spite of visiting the Art Museum often. It has limited hours but I regret not having experienced a meal there much sooner. The view of Forest Park is spectacular. The entrees are creative and very well executed and the cocktails are excellent and generous. Service was prompt, professional and friendly. I will definitely return.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Afternoon Coffee, Quick Bite, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Scenic View, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Disabled Access, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Good service and good food. Lovely view! A special place to take friends or family for a treat.

Tags: Modern Decor, Quick Bite, Sunday Lunch, Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 20, 2016

This was my 6th or so visit to Panorama, and it is always great. The dining room is so nice, with such a great view of Forest Park and Art Hill, and the food is wonderful. The menu offers a wide selection, there is something for everyone. Everything I have ordered has been delicious, and the servers are always friendly, knowledgeable, and fast.

Tags: Historic, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Romantic, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Perfect dinner spot after viewing museum's special exhibit.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Casual, Seasonal, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The Panorama is a hidden gem of an upscale restaurant in a very classy setting. The wait staff are really professional, and it is refreshing. Our waiter, Kelvin, was outstanding and made our night feel special. The food was elegantly prepared and a great value compared to other restaurants in St. Louis.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Food was excellent, good service and a beautiful view

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Beautiful restaurant with floor to ceiling windows! Wonderful ambience and delicious food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Dinner is only available on Friday night when the museum is open later than usual. The restaurant is a good choice when planning to go to the museum on Friday. The location is pleasant, sound levels are quiet to moderate, service is very good. We had a limited but interesting choice of entrees and the wine list was similar. We enjoyed a very nice vouvray at a reasonable price and the vegetarian entree was excellent. We had one appetizer (baked brie with pear) which was average. I have also enjoyed lunch at Panorama.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 2, 2016

The best things about eating at Panorama seems to be the extraordinary view AND the opportunity to stroll along the path (With Benches!) at the top of Art Hill! We most recently were there on a spectacular Fall day in the 70's with enough breeze to see kites flying... it was A-M-A-Z-I-N-G! Panorama and the Art Museum are truly neighborhood gems! We're so spoiled!

And another thing we appreciated was the lack of noisiness! That's so important when what you really want to do over lunch is chat. Most restaurants don't allow patrons to converse!!!

Food was so-so:I loved the side dish of slaw, but the salmon burger was dry, the bread was too much and too soft for my taste, the salad was mostly greens with almost no dressing and my friend was too nice to ask for more additions. But we didn't come for the food.

Service was pretty good.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.