About Panorama

1 Fine Arts Drive
St. Louis, MO 63110
View Larger Map

Located in the Saint Louis Art Museum’s new East Building designed by renowned British Architect David Chipperfield, Panorama offers full service dining in an elegant setting. With breathtaking Forest Park views from its floor-to-ceiling windows, Panorama offers regional contemporary cuisine showcasing local, sustainably produced ingredients. Menus change seasonally.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:

Tuesday–Thursday: 11:00–2:00, Friday: 11:00–2:00, 5:00-9:00
Saturday Brunch: 10:00–3:00
Sunday Brunch: 10:00–3:00

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 655-5490

Website:
http://www.slam.org/Visit/dining.php

Parking Details:
Parking garage available $15 regular price, discounted to $5 with restaurant receipt of $15 or more. Public parking lot is available and free of charge

Executive Chef:
Ivy Magruder

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Beer, Cafe, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Panorama Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Lunch
St. Louis
Contemporary American
Downtown
Best Restaurants in Forest Park ›

scenic view (86)
great for lunch (64)
special occasion (60)
See All
great for brunch (59)
fit for foodies (47)
romantic (34)
good for groups (29)
neighborhood gem (20)
kid-friendly (6)
hot spot (3)
notable wine list (3)
late-night find (2)
great for outdoor dining (2)
Sort By:
Newest
544 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience3
service1

Food was good , however, we have never e ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

Food was good , however, we have never experienced such terrible service at a restaurant. And it was not crowded.

food3
ambience5
service4
value3

This is a beautiful restaurant, with its ...

vip
Dined on May 18, 2016

This is a beautiful restaurant, with its enormous windows, but the food was average at best. I had the braised chicken. There wasn't much chicken and it was dry. I enjoyed the flavors of the cassoulet, but the chicken spoiled the experience. The other people I was with had similarly mediocre experiences. Not bad, just not something we would rush back for.

food1
ambience5
service4
value4

This the worst sandwich I have ever had. ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

This the worst sandwich I have ever had. It was dry, and the prosciutto was like out of some package at the grocery store and there was a tiny sliver of Brie. A friend had the Caesar salad and it was some leaves of lettuce laying on the pl,ate with a tiny amount of dressing and cheese and a dry chicken breast. I have eaten here in the past and it has always been good but they have changed the menu and probably chefs and they should go back

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Their menu appears to changes seasonally ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

Their menu appears to changes seasonally. Good use of farm to table options. You can't beat the view. I had the'adult grilled cheese" and friends had the quiche. Fabulous!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Atmoshere of Panorama

Dined on May 10, 2016

It is an enjoyable and relaxing atmosphere to be in. I would not mind to come here again and would definitely recommend here to my friends. I liked the servers, they were incredible.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view
food3
ambience4
service4

Went to Panorama for Mothers Day brunch. ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Went to Panorama for Mothers Day brunch...the food was good but not great; as it had been on previous visits. I thought it was overpriced for the experience. Would have thought at least the mimosas would have been included for the price.....they were if you were a mom. The dessert table had a nice variety, but you served yourself and as a result the pies looked disgusting after several patrons destroyed them in the process... But it is in a very nice space with a beautiful view; the staff were very nice and attentive.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Impressive experience for customers.

Dined on May 5, 2016

Took 3 customers for lunch. They were impressed by the food , service, atmosphere and chef. Received emails later that day about the phenomenal food and enjoyed that the chef came out to see how everything tasted.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Sunday Brunch

Dined on April 24, 2016

We had a nice table by the window. The food was creative and delicious and the waiter Derrick was very friendly and attentive, Looking forward to coming back.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

mostly great

Dined on April 17, 2016

unfortunately, one of the sandwiches seemed to be made using stale bread. We did not complain.. but probably should have. The shrimp and grits was wonderful

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great experience at the Art Museum

Dined on April 16, 2016

I love having meetups with friends for lunch at the Museum restaurant. Love the view and furnishings as well as the food and presentation. Greatly appreciate the kind caring staff taking good care of everyone. Highly recommend dining at the museum amidst our magnificent art collection you can feel the creative energy abounding.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waiter

Dined on April 14, 2016

Our waiter was very nice and accommodating! When the hamburger was not cooked enough he was on top of it right away. She then enjoyed her hamburger and all of the 5 ladies with me enjoyed our meal and will definitely be back when we get a chance. Thank you so much for a lovely lunch for me and my lady friends.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Too noisy and slow service

Dined on April 10, 2016

The room is so loud with all the talking the person next to you cannot hear you speak. Very disappointed in that. Wait staff was very slow. Very Slow ! Asked for a glass of milk with our meal as soon as the plate was brought. we were done eating by the time he brought the milk. Everything was slow. we were there 2.5 hours. I should say, everything was slow except bringing the bill. Also very disappointed in the food ordered. biscuits and gravy. Terrible. the gravy was so greasy it was not editable. Had no taste. The eggs were very good thou. Not interested in going back. Have been there 3 times now in the last year. disappointed every time. Wont be back.

Tags: scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a lovely experience--good food and service.

Dined on April 10, 2016

It's a great place for conversation. And, they make a great Bloody Mary!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Not nearly as good as it should be.

Dined on April 9, 2016

The chicken I got was not good. My friends cheese sandwich was good tho, fresh greens included, healthy.

Tags: scenic view
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Service was BAD from start to finish. T ...

vip
Dined on April 8, 2016

Service was BAD from start to finish. There were only two of us, and we ordered identical and what should be very easy meals to prepare (grilled chicken Caesar salads), and after a ridiculous amount of time, they brought out ONE salad. Then it took another 15 minutes to deliver the second salad. We will not return for a business lunch again. 12:15 reservation and we finally got out of there at 2:10.

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great restaurant at Art Museum

Dined on April 1, 2016

Panorama at the St. Louis Art Museum is a beautiful spot and well worth a visit. The view over the park is outstanding, the menu offers excellent choices and the food is delicious.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Responsive management

Dined on April 1, 2016

This is agreat place for lunch or brunch. The setting is lovely, the sound level is good, the menu varied, and the food good. What makes it especially good, is the level of attention to detail by the manager- it pays off in a good experience that keeps you coming back.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Easter Brunch

Dined on March 27, 2016

I've been to Panorama several times for lunch. It always is great food with a fantastic, quiet atmosphere. I went for brunch for Easter 2016 and it far surpassed my expectations! We'll definitely return next year for Easter. $50pp included an elaborate carving station as well as stuffed french toast, lobster mac and cheese, etc. My whole family enjoyed the afternoon!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

Taste before you serve!

Dined on March 23, 2016

The soup was flavorless, the entree was tasteless and the dessert was so-so. Really disappointed!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Creative and Tasty

Dined on March 22, 2016

My mom, daughter and I had a wonderful lunch at Panorama! The large windows offer a fun and beautiful view of Forest Park. The food is creative and tasty. Everything that was ordered was very good. The service was great! The waitress was very attentive and helpful. It's a great place for a special meal with a friend, family member or a fun date. If you are having trouble finding a parking space, don't forget you can get $5 off of paid parking because you are dining at Panorama. I would highly recommend this restaurant!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very Enjoyable!

Dined on March 17, 2016

The whole lunch was enjoyable--view, atmosphere, food and food selection, treatment by waiter, company.

Tags: great for lunch, scenic view
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Buffet Brunch

Dined on March 13, 2016

I have eaten many times at Panorama and have never been disappointed until this last visit. I booked online and it was not clear that only the buffet brunch was available last Sunday March 13. My reservation was for 2:45 but I was kindly allowed in earlier since there were vacant tables. The buffet brunch consisted of three potentially interesting sections: salads, soups, and sandwiches, but I would have chosen something from the regular menu if that had been available. The salads were ok but the soups that were supposed to be hot were lukewarm. The sandwiches, admittedly, at the latish hour of 2pm, were rather dry, and strangely unappealing although their described ingredients sounded good. I actually remember when Panorama was first launched, and the salads and other dishes on the menu were so beautifully presented and fabulous to taste. And just back last October I had lunch there with some friends, and the soups (a lemon artichoke and a lemon mussel) were innovative and breathtakingly memorable. Perhaps last Sunday was a fluke; I did not feel that brunch was worth the set price of $20. I cannot complain about the service and the restaurant layout itself, which is full of light and a pleasure to dine in. I do hope the former creativity in offerings and ingredients continues to be pursued in future.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

New find

vip
Dined on March 12, 2016

I tried Panorama based on the positive Open Table recommendations, and the fact that it's very close to our house. While the service was uneven, the servers were very respectful and engaging. The food was very high quality (we loved the cheese plate), and the setting is really terrific, with a view over the park. I was glad to find it.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Very nice meal after visiting the Art Museum.

Dined on March 12, 2016

The white tablecloths and the attractive environment were a great touch. The French Onion soup was wonderful, and all four people dining here truly enjoyed the meals. The food is just unique enough to be a welcome change, but it was not so different that it was unrecognizable. The prices of the items were reasonable as well. If you are visiting the Art Museum, then I recommend that you finish off your trip by eating here.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Date night delight

Dined on March 12, 2016

We had a gift card to spend this time, but we'll definitely go back! Husband had the $35 prix fixe dinner with soup, entrée and dessert (the dessert was big enough to share with me). I had a different appetizer and entrée, and we were both very pleased with every course we had. Everything was delicious and the portions were sizable. Even with a bottle of wine, the bill was just under $100. I wouldn't have balked at $150 for the quality, quantity and the unique setting (we were there for the Art in Bloom exhibit, which was also fabulous). The waiter brought us generous glasses of the wine we ordered from an open bottle while they found an unopened bottle that was fully chilled. This was a nice touch with the all-around good service.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

Art in Bloom

Dined on March 12, 2016

We joined the crowds at Panorama following our time viewing the amazing floral interpretations. Our server was delightful and attentive and I know she had been there ALL DAY! The Brie appetizer is lovely and our wine and cocktails just what we ordered. The salads however were quite disappointing with a lot of old tired lettuce and very little or no fresh greens. The halibut was prepared well with a creative sauce. If, at the Art Museum it is an ok place to have a meal.

Tags: great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Must visit!

Dined on March 11, 2016

We dined at Panarama on a Friday evening - the opening day of the "Art in Bloom" exhibit at the museum. The museum was very crowded, and though we had booked reservations, there was a back up getting into the restaurant. Despite reservations, we had a 30 min. wait. The wait was worth it! The food was beautifully plated, deliciously prepared and hot! Days later, I am still basking in the glow of that meal! I had the braised chicken, which was so flavorful and fell off the bone. My husband's Halibut was flaky and well seasoned. We both were very pleased. The wait staff was a bit slow (it was a very busy night), but very pleasant and we wanted for nothing. We are regulars at Panarama, and this was just one of many delightful experiences we've had there! I highly recommend it!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food in a beautiful setting

Dined on March 3, 2016

We couldn't believe how good the food was. After all, it's a museum cafe. I had the smoked trout sandwich with a side of snap peas and pickled onions--excellent. I was seated facing Forest Park. My friend could see the reflection in the glass wall behind me. She had the soup and an endive salad, both of which she said were excellent. It was such a treat.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Soiled table cloth

Dined on March 2, 2016

The food was delicious with an excellent presentation. Excellent lunch vegan option. The only negative was that at my place the cloth table cloth had a number of spots (? oil), as though the previous diner had spilled and the cloth was not changed. It felt like the cloth was soiled and detracted quite a bit from my enjoyment of the meal

Tags: great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Forest Park gem

Dined on February 27, 2016

Fantastic to be able to dine in Forest Park before touring the museum. Will definitely be back to try the brunch menu. We went for date night before SLAM underground and were able to find a parking spot before the crowd arrived. Local fair with vegetarian option. I didn't see many vegan options but you may be able to ask or order off the appetizer menu. As it was dark, there was no view to enjoy but I'm sure it's a wonderful feature. Service was superb!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Perfect for Birthday Brunch

Dined on February 21, 2016

Our group of six was delighted with Panorama! The menu was extensive and intriguing, our server, Carlos, was charming, and the food was really good. All-in-all a lovely experience.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The view is wonderful and the food is innovative

Dined on February 19, 2016

The view is wonderful and the innovative menu is always enjoyed. The service is very good.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service4

Delicious three course meal for Valentin ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

Delicious three course meal for Valentine's Day. The food was well prepared. Good crowd. Worth the price.

food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Not as good as expected, but the staff w ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

Not as good as expected, but the staff was accommodating to the problems.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A truly first class experience

Dined on February 15, 2016

This was one of the best meal experiences I have had. The food, service, and atmosphere were impeccable. This was a special Valentines menu, but did not suffer from limited the choices. The wild mushroom appetizer was truly amazing, as was the lobster orzo. The smoked duck breast salad and steak were also very well prepared. The service was friendly and attentive without being intrusive. I was worried this would be just about the fancy setting, but those fears were certainly put to rest.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Panorama for Valentines Dinner

Dined on February 14, 2016

Overall, it was a good dinner experience. We did the Valentines Dinner with the wine pairings. This was the first time my gf and I went to Panorama to eat. The food was great but we felt rushed, especially in the early parts of dinner. We got our main meal before we were finished with our salad and first wine. Also, we were asked to order 3 times in the first 5 minutes of being there. It basically took just a little over an hour to eat three courses and have three wine glasses. For a dinner, let alone Valentines Dinner, it was just too rushed for the money. However, the steak tenderloin was fantastic and it was a good view. I would try it for brunch before dinner if I went again. Maybe the normal dinner experience will be better.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Like watching art being created

Dined on February 14, 2016

This was our first visit to the Art Museum's restaurant since the renovation. The new space is great, with a view overlooking Art Hill. Because we were there at dusk, the panorama before us was constantly changing as the light changed, as darkness set in, as the lights of the houses north of the park came on, and as the low overcast skies began to glow with reflected light. The effect was romantic, perfect for our Valentine's Day date. Then there was the food. It was a fixed menu for the holiday, with three choices for an appetizer, three for the entree, and three for the dessert. I chose the wild mushrooms cooked in butter and topped with a poached egg. My wife had a mix of greens with slices of duck. Both were delicious and whet our appetites. For the entree, I chose the beef tenderloin with whipped Yukon potatoes and asparagus. The beef melted in my mouth. My wife had maple-smoked salmon with roasted artichoke leaves, which were exquisite in taste and texture. For dessert, she had a coffee and chocolate mousse and I had a vanilla panna cotta with a honey sauce. Both were a perfect ending. The meal had a paired wine option, which we opted for. The pairings, especially for the entrees, were near-perfect. We can't say enough about the service. Our waitress and her helpers were attentive and cheerful.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great

Dined on February 14, 2016

I had a great time here. The food was great, and it had a very peaceful vibe to it. I love it.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, scenic view
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely but needs to step up their brunch game

Dined on February 14, 2016

The service was so nice! And the view was lovely. I have heard good things about dinner there but decided to try brunch. I just felt that my meal was average and the taste didn't match the beauty of the view or quality of the service.

Tags: romantic, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome Experience

Dined on February 13, 2016

My wife and I really enjoyed the food and the atmosphere.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.