Panorama

4.4
916 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary American
Top Tags:
  • Great for Lunch
  • Scenic View
  • Great for Brunch
Located in the Saint Louis Art Museum’s new East Building designed by renowned British Architect David Chipperfield, Panorama offers full service dining in an elegant setting. With breathtaking Forest Park views from its floor-to-ceiling windows, Panorama offers regional contemporary cuisine showcasing local, sustainably produced ingredients. Menus change seasonally.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation

Tuesday–Friday: 11:00–2:00,
Saturday Brunch: 10:00–3:00
Sunday Brunch: 10:00–3:00
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(314) 655-5490
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Ivy Magruder
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Parking garage available $15 regular price, discounted to $5 with restaurant receipt of $15 or more. Public parking lot is available and free of charge
Additional
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 916 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4based on recent ratings
4.3
food
4.5
service
4.7
ambience
4.1
value
Noise · Quiet
91% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
1.0Dined 3 days ago

The Waldorf chicken salad was terrible-a thin dry chicken breast with some lettuce with a tiny amount of minced apple, 8 walnuts and 3 grapes with the faintest amount of dressing which all in all made for a tasteless meal. I used to love to eat here but no more.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Food and service were terrific. I had a slight problem with my fish entree, and brought it to my waiter's attention. My meal was removed from our bill, even though I still enjoyed the meal and had plenty to eat.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 6 days ago

Tasteless. Was a gift to my son in law for Father's Day ,no one,
2 adults 2 children enjoyed their food.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 6 days ago

Food had excellent flavor and was delivered very fast. Very reasonable. Nice opportunity for a special occasion lunch.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 16, 2018

Great setting. Interesting menu. Food is good. Quiet.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on June 15, 2018

Long waits, Cocktail list non existent for lunch, and under cook your fish. 12:30 reservation seated at 12:55 too long then another 1 hour before food was served!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 15, 2018

I had a polenta covered with various squashes,mushrooms, and kale, with a divine sauce. It was delicious and I would order it again.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on June 15, 2018

Having had lunch once previously at Panorama for its convenience in visiting the St. Louis Art Museum, this visit was extremely disappointing. Of our four diners, one had an edible choice of eggplant. One had the burger, which was charred beyond recognition, with extremely greasy fries. Two chose the quiche. While the side of spring mix salad was OK, the quiche was burned hard on the crust and top, ingredients were unidentifiable, and the egg custard was rubbery. Since quiche is a regular feature of the menu, it's difficult to imagine that this is the norm. We did not return our food or request different dishes, as we saw other diners do, because we had a scheduled entry for the special exhibit at SLAM. Later in the afternoon, we ate cupcakes at the cafe in the museum. It appeared that the food served in the cafe might have been fresher and more edible than Panorama. Despite the convenience, next time we eat at the museum, we'll just try the cafe.

Our servers were attentive and working hard. The restaurant filled while we were there, thus increasing the sound volume. It is an attractive venue and convenient for SLAM visits. Again, we couldn't imagine that this is the quality of food preparation normally served at Panorama.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 14, 2018

The room is lovely (especially since they've added some color with flowers on the tables), the service excellent, and it's nice and quiet.
But the food, sad to say, is not as good as it should be - or as it has been.
One member of our group told our waiter that her chicken was under-cooked, and they took it off her bill, which was gracious of them.
But given all of its other pluses, it's a shame the food doesn't measure up.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 13, 2018

Great view, great service and eclectic food.
Eggplant napoleon with goat cheese was A+.
As a side, not chips but caramelized cauliflower with toasted almonds and honey.
Seasonal and local offerings prepared by a clever Chef.
Reservations recommended, especially for dinner or Sunday brunch.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 6, 2018

We had a delicious lunch prior to seeing Sunken Treasures. Our waiter was attentive and pleasant. We will come again

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 3, 2018

Panorama is a great place to take a break before, after or between viewing exhibitions at the Saint Louis Art Museum. The food is delicious, the service is great, and the view of Forest Park is fabulous. The brioche rolls are not to be missed--and the restaurant shares the recipe on postcards at the reception desk!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 29, 2018

I was recommended the restaurant and was a little disappointed.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 27, 2018

I took my mom here for a birthday brunch. I highly recommend reservations as the wait would have been impossible without them. We were seated quickly, though I will say very very closely to other diners. If you are wanting privacy, this is not a good place for that.

We were there for brunch and had the Champagne Benedict with crabcakes. It was wonderful, good flavor, perfectly done eggs, and a nice amount of sauce.

Service was stellar, and the gentleman who waited on us, brought my mom a delicious cake for her special day. We'll be back.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 27, 2018

I've eaten here many times because it's convenient and attractive, although the food is always disappointing. I couldn't even eat it this time - the frittata was overcooked, dry and tasteless. It also took forever to arrive. I won't be back unless major changes are made.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 27, 2018

I always enjoy having brunch/lunch at Panorama. The food is good, and it's a lovely restaurant. Best of all, you can carry on a conversation without shouting. It's hard to find a restaurant these days that isn't very noisy. Our waiter was great.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 23, 2018

Within the St. Louis Art Museum, fine dining atmosphere, yet priced fairly and plated appealingly. Good food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 22, 2018

As usual, LA was a superb host and Kelvin a terrific server! We love coming here as the service and food are always splendid! We keep coming back for more!

And Derrick came over to our table to personally greet us. A nice extra touch. We are treated like family.

Chef Ivy comes up with wonderful new meals. Yea, Ivy!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 17, 2018

So great. Attentive server and great prices for magnificent food!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 16, 2018

Imaginative menu; very tasty and service was very good!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 16, 2018

Our group of 7 really enjoyed the food and ambiance of Panorama. It is a perfect place to go when touring the Art Museum.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Perfect for Mother’s Day! Great service! Great food!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Took mother for Mother's Day--she had a wonderful time and the service and front of the house staff were so kind to her! Made it very special

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

We went for the Mother's Day brunch. Phenomenal. The food was fantastic and the service was excellent. We were even luckier and got a table by the window with an excellent view . Everyone in out party thoroughly enjoyed the experience. I would highly recommend Panorama.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Great place for lunch when visiting Art Museum. Food good, noise level acceptable, service unobtrusive, ambiance very attractive, including view of park, prices reasonable. I make this a mandatory stop when visiting museum

Peter

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 11, 2018

We had an excellent lunch here. Nice room with good views and comfortable seating. The bread and butter were delicious and a preview of what was to come. We loved the bone-in chicken breast with orzo and the smoked salmon on croissant with carmelized cauliflower. Everything was very tasty. Reasonably priced glasses of wine. We’ll be back the next time we visit the museum.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 9, 2018

Best museum restaurant I have seen. Good food, good service and friendly staff.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 9, 2018

very good service staff. manager was very attentive to our groups needs. it was a wonderful experience for our 18 folks who were out on a group outing for the special exhibit.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 6, 2018

One plate was delivered late then incorrectly but dessert was offered complimentary because of oversight.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

The food was excellent and the service by Kelvin even better. This was our second time to Panorama and we will return!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 2, 2018

Indifferent service, diners next to us permitted to use table as office space with computers and loud phone calls, some food okay but other items dried out and obviously old, expensive for the fare. It was scheduled through you as a birthday lunch and the restaurant couldn't care less. Won't return. Very disappointed.

Open Table worked fine - I rather wish it hadn't and we had ended up eating elsewhere.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 1, 2018

We enjoyed our birthday lunch immensely. Great food and beautiful view of the park!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 29, 2018

When we walked in, we were greeted politely and timely. We were seated in a timely manner. The dining room was beautifully set up and the view was outstanding.
We were not greeted by a server for almost ten minutes, we ordered immediately once we were greeted.
The pimms cup was well made and tasty.
The frittata was generally tasteless, although the vinaigrette on the mixed greens was very tasty.
The Waldorf salad was not bad, although I did find a hair in the dish under the salad.
The appetizer we ordered was a fried potato or vegetable pancake, it was terrible - I ate only two bites.
Our server did check in to make sure the food was delivered, but never checked back to see if we were enjoying our dishes. Eventually my wife flagged down the gentleman who had seated us and asked for the check. I also informed him that we didn’t like the appetizer and he removed it from the bill.
Overall, the food was not good and the service even worse, I would not recommend this restaurant to anybody.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

I have been to Panorama half-dozen times or so and it has gotten much better over the years. It was a real mess when it opened, but I think the chef/management have changed and now it is a very pleasant place for lunch or brunch. We had brunch there before viewing the Egyptian exhibit and it was also wonderful.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

Went with friends for brunch and then the aegyptian sunken cities exhibit.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

Panorama is our favorite Forest Park dining location. Phenomenal service (Derrick), amazing food, wonderful service. Every time is better than the last! Specials change almost daily; chef preference but we love the Prix Fixe is our favorite. The french toast comes in a close second and the Beignets are fresh and tasty. Looking out over forest park/fountains and people watching make this a great location.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 27, 2018

Mediocre food and service on the day we stopped by the art museum. The duck entree for lunch was appetizer-sized and underwhelming on presentation and flavor. Water glasses were never re-filled.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 27, 2018

For our friends birthday the waiter brought her a nice piece of tiramisu which was large enough to share.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 24, 2018

This was a delightful experience. We were there to see the Sunken Cities exhibit so it was extra busy. The food was really good. We always enjoy our meal.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2018

We all enjoyed ourselves and the food was wonderful with great service and a very kind hostess. We are excited to go back for another meal! Thank you!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
23