About Panorama

1 Fine Arts Drive
St. Louis, MO 63110
View Larger Map

Located in the Saint Louis Art Museum’s new East Building designed by renowned British Architect David Chipperfield, Panorama offers full service dining in an elegant setting. With breathtaking Forest Park views from its floor-to-ceiling windows, Panorama offers regional contemporary cuisine showcasing local, sustainably produced ingredients. Menus change seasonally.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:

Tuesday–Thursday: 11:00–2:00, Friday: 11:00–2:00, 5:00-9:00
Saturday Brunch: 10:00–3:00
Sunday Brunch: 10:00–3:00

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 655-5490

Website:
http://www.slam.org/Visit/dining.php

Parking Details:
Parking garage available $15 regular price, discounted to $5 with restaurant receipt of $15 or more. Public parking lot is available and free of charge

Executive Chef:
Ivy Magruder

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Panorama Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Lunch
St. Louis
Best Restaurants in Forest Park ›

Great for Lunch (51)
Scenic View (47)
Great for Brunch (34)
See All
Special Occasion (32)
Fit for Foodies (31)
Romantic (18)
Good for Groups (18)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Modern Decor (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Good for a Date (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Business Meals (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Healthy (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Casual (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Seasonal (2)
Fun (2)
Organic (2)
Cozy (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Historic (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Private Room (1)
Authentic (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
Newest
586 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Everything was great until Brandy got ou ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined 6 days ago

Everything was great until Brandy got our table confused with another and gave us an incorrect bill. We signed it without carefully examining it and it took approximately 20 minutes to sort it out when the other table called the error to her attention. This caused us to be very late for our next appointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Love the art museum and eating there wit ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined 6 days ago

Love the art museum and eating there with wonderful window seat the best. Highly recommend it. The staff is very kind and helpful. Thank you.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Panorama was very nice, with white table ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Panorama was very nice, with white tablecloths and fresh flowers on every table. Our waiter was great, the food was good and it was quiet and relaxing. I will definitely return.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a great restaurant, even if it w ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

This is a great restaurant, even if it weren't situated in the St. Louis Art Museum with a gorgeous view of the park. The menu offers variety, the food is beautifully presented, and the service is attentive. Did I mention that the chocolate ice cream is divine?

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great food. Wonderful view!

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Always great food. Wonderful view!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I loved the food, the ambiance, and the ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

I loved the food, the ambiance, and the view. The waiter didn't get to us very often, but to be fair he had several other tables and then a big group that came in.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Fun, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Afternoon Coffee, Scenic View, Disabled Access, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Comfort Food, Romantic, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Our server was Derrick and even though h ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Our server was Derrick and even though he is an Alabama fan, he was wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful Sunday brunch! Drinks were tas ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Wonderful Sunday brunch! Drinks were tasty, French onion soup delicious, the cheese plate was very good, and the shrimp and grits were outstanding. The service was excellent and the prices seemed moderate.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Organic, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Panorama has an excellent menu, great vi ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Panorama has an excellent menu, great view of Forest Park, delicious food (especially the rolls), and outstanding service. Kelvin was amazing-he anticipated our needs and was efficient and friendly. Highly recommend.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I was hostess for three friends with Aug ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

I was hostess for three friends with August birthdays. It was a perfect choice. The food was excellent and our waiter was there when needed but not intrusive.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We LOVED everything - It was a birthday ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

We LOVED everything - It was a birthday celebration and we all raved over the food, the service

It was a super experience. I'll be back soon

many thanks

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was friendly and attentive. W ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Our server was friendly and attentive. We enjoyed our salad and sandwich.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I have gone to Panorama a couple times s ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

I have gone to Panorama a couple times since it's opened and I have have had great experiences each time. The food is very good but the service is 5 star.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Lovely place. Good food well-served. Gre ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Lovely place. Good food well-served. Great price. All around a delight.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Make sure the hostess notes your arrival ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Make sure the hostess notes your arrival on open table. We were not listed as shown

Tags: Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

I'd like to have my lettuce cut up and t ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

I'd like to have my lettuce cut up and the chicken in slices at least. Its an awkward task at the table.

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The beautifully set tables, fabulous vie ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

The beautifully set tables, fabulous view, and impeccable service make Panorama a destination for lunch or dinner. The menu offered lots of choices and the food was excellent. And the Art Museum is just a few steps away.

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Love the museum energy in dining and gre ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Love the museum energy in dining and great view. Always like the convenience of making reservations ahead of time and the ease of dining at the Panorama.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious quiche and salad. Only downsid ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Delicious quiche and salad. Only downside to Panarama is the busy street view

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Love the restaurant for lunch and magnif ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Love the restaurant for lunch and magnificent view of park out windows.L

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Usually love Panorama but the food and s ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Usually love Panorama but the food and service were way off on this visit. Brussels sprouts were bitter, cauliflower was just ok and portion was tiny - about a tablespoon. Burger was average. Smoked trout was outstanding! Service was not attentive, short changed but they corrected. Very disappointing especially since it was a birthday celebration.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

A nice place to relax while at the art m ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

A nice place to relax while at the art museum, with great service and atmosphere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The Caesar Salad was a disappointment-- ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The Caesar Salad was a disappointment-- the lettuce was very bitter, and I expected more from a $9 salad. The steak and the pork were great, as was the dessert selection. The servers rarely came by to refill drinks, even though the restaurant was nearly empty. Great environment and very pretty views.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

Always enjoy sitting with friends by the ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Always enjoy sitting with friends by the window enjoying the panorama of our beloved park as we talk and enjoy the good food.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I eat here often. The menu is interesti ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

I eat here often. The menu is interesting. Prices are very compatible with other similar restaurants. I am a contributing member of the Art Museum so there is a 10% discount for food. It is one of my favorite places. Service is interesting. It is either unbelievebaly good or as slow as molasses. Either way, I enjoy being there.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Very nice meal - Tenderloin was excellen ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Very nice meal - Tenderloin was excellent, asparagus as well. Potatoes disappointing. Our friends were reasonably pleased with their meals.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

My friends and I love to meet at the Sai ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

My friends and I love to meet at the Saint Louis Art Museum and have lunch at Panorama. It makes our time together feel even more special ^_^

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the top 2 beef tenderloins I've e ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

One of the top 2 beef tenderloins I've ever tasted. Exquisitely prepared. Very friendly staff, nice views, and nice comfortable dining room. Not an overly large dining area so Reservations are a good idea.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The location is great with a lovely view ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

The location is great with a lovely view of Forest Park. However, while the service is very friendly it is extremely slow. For me the menu could be more creative and offer more seasonal items.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value2

The Ladies and I really enjoyed ourselve ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

The Ladies and I really enjoyed ourselves! Thanks to all of you at the Panorama Restaurant / St. Louis Art Museum. Delicious and nice atmosphere . . . we'll be back !!! Excellent service too . . .

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Glad I choose it and a definite place to ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Glad I choose it and a definite place to go to again. Very Intimate (the size is quite nice).

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had a lunch with cousin's family from ou ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Had a lunch with cousin's family from out of State. Picked this restaurant primarily for the museum and "panorama" claim.

The staff are very friendly and elegantly dressed. The restaurant is neat and well lighted.

Found a few things disappointing: 1. Not that much of "panorama". The large glass wall faces a road and trees, not deep and wide enough to be claimed a "panorama"; 2. The food is in moderately small portion, plain in flavor, however beautifully displayed; 3. No restrooms in the restaurant, it takes a short walk to the museum restrooms, which is not painful but a little awkward.

A fair restaurant but not state of art in the art museum. Miss the Wolfgang Puck restaurant that was here a few yrs ago.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Very nice restaurant in the St. Louis Ar ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Very nice restaurant in the St. Louis Art Museum. Try it for lunch or brunch and then tour the museum.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

My husband and I shared the soup of the ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

My husband and I shared the soup of the day (a crab bisque) and the artisan cheese sampler w/fig jam and tomato chutney. Both appetizers where utterly fantastic. The cheese sampler contained the best bleu cheese-type cheese I've ever had. The tomato chutney was indescribably delicious and I don't even like chutney. We both had the beef tenderloin and there was a lot more meat than I was anticipating. The beef was tender and delicious. It was plated on top of a red wine reduction sauce that my husband loved but I thought it was too sweet. The grilled asparagus and potatoes were also very delicious. We ended the meal with fantastic desserts. I had the peaches and cream cake and my husband had the gooey-butter cake bread pudding. The latter was divine! So rich and flavorful it's difficult to describe. The coffee was very high quality which I appreciated. Our server, named Kelvin, was an absolute delight! His humorous personality and attention to detail caused our wonderful meal to be an absolute perfect experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I am vegan they were very cooperative in ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

I am vegan they were very cooperative in making my meal perfectly!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our server Derrick was very professional ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Our server Derrick was very professional, knowledgeable and friendly. We would ask for him again! We appreciated the local products used to create our wonderful meals.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The location of this restaurant in the A ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

The location of this restaurant in the Art Museum was the main feature of this restaurant. You could overlook Forest Park and the statue of Saint Louis. The service was fine, I d.dn't care for what I ordered. Prices were moderate.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

The food and service were impeccable, an ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

The food and service were impeccable, and the view of Forest Park was impressive!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Quiche and homemade brioche rolls with s ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Quiche and homemade brioche rolls with salt delicious. Service very good. Ambience lacking from cool north light coming from Windows and chilly air conditioning. Room needs plants and warm lighting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

Panorama is a a comfortable place to mee ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Panorama is a a comfortable place to meet if you are visiting the St. Louis Art Museum or Forest Park. Sadly, the food is mediocre at best. The chef tries to design upscale food at a moderate price. He would be better off serving simple sandwiches, soups, and salads.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.