About Panorama

1 Fine Arts Drive
St. Louis, MO 63110
View Larger Map

Located in the Saint Louis Art Museum’s new East Building designed by renowned British Architect David Chipperfield, Panorama offers full service dining in an elegant setting. With breathtaking Forest Park views from its floor-to-ceiling windows, Panorama offers regional contemporary cuisine showcasing local, sustainably produced ingredients. Menus change seasonally.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:

Tuesday–Thursday: 11:00–2:00, Friday: 11:00–2:00, 5:00-9:00
Saturday Brunch: 10:00–3:00
Sunday Brunch: 10:00–3:00

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 655-5490

Website:
http://www.slam.org/Visit/dining.php

Parking Details:
Parking garage available $15 regular price, discounted to $5 with restaurant receipt of $15 or more. Public parking lot is available and free of charge

Executive Chef:
Ivy Magruder

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Beer, Cafe, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Panorama Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.2

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Lunch
St. Louis
Contemporary American
Downtown
Best Restaurants in Forest Park ›

scenic view (68)
great for lunch (59)
special occasion (48)
See All
great for brunch (43)
fit for foodies (34)
good for groups (23)
neighborhood gem (20)
romantic (14)
kid-friendly (5)
hot spot (3)
notable wine list (2)
Sort By:
Newest
555 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Had a lunch with cousin's family from ou ...

Dined 5 days ago

Had a lunch with cousin's family from out of State. Picked this restaurant primarily for the museum and "panorama" claim. The staff are very friendly and elegantly dressed. The restaurant is neat and well lighted. Found a few things disappointing: 1. Not that much of "panorama". The large glass wall faces a road and trees, not deep and wide enough to be claimed a "panorama"; 2. The food is in moderately small portion, plain in flavor, however beautifully displayed; 3. No restrooms in the restaurant, it takes a short walk to the museum restrooms, which is not painful but a little awkward. A fair restaurant but not state of art in the art museum. Miss the Wolfgang Puck restaurant that was here a few yrs ago.

food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Very nice restaurant in the St. Louis Ar ...

Dined 5 days ago

Very nice restaurant in the St. Louis Art Museum. Try it for lunch or brunch and then tour the museum.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband and I shared the soup of the ...

Dined on June 24, 2016

My husband and I shared the soup of the day (a crab bisque) and the artisan cheese sampler w/fig jam and tomato chutney. Both appetizers where utterly fantastic. The cheese sampler contained the best bleu cheese-type cheese I've ever had. The tomato chutney was indescribably delicious and I don't even like chutney. We both had the beef tenderloin and there was a lot more meat than I was anticipating. The beef was tender and delicious. It was plated on top of a red wine reduction sauce that my husband loved but I thought it was too sweet. The grilled asparagus and potatoes were also very delicious. We ended the meal with fantastic desserts. I had the peaches and cream cake and my husband had the gooey-butter cake bread pudding. The latter was divine! So rich and flavorful it's difficult to describe. The coffee was very high quality which I appreciated. Our server, named Kelvin, was an absolute delight! His humorous personality and attention to detail caused our wonderful meal to be an absolute perfect experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I am vegan they were very cooperative in ...

Dined on June 24, 2016

I am vegan they were very cooperative in making my meal perfectly!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Our server Derrick was very professional ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

Our server Derrick was very professional, knowledgeable and friendly. We would ask for him again! We appreciated the local products used to create our wonderful meals.

Tags: fit for foodies
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

The location of this restaurant in the A ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

The location of this restaurant in the Art Museum was the main feature of this restaurant. You could overlook Forest Park and the statue of Saint Louis. The service was fine, I d.dn't care for what I ordered. Prices were moderate.

Tags: great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and service were impeccable, an ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

The food and service were impeccable, and the view of Forest Park was impressive!

food4
ambience2
service4

Quiche and homemade brioche rolls with s ...

vip
Dined on June 15, 2016

Quiche and homemade brioche rolls with salt delicious. Service very good. Ambience lacking from cool north light coming from Windows and chilly air conditioning. Room needs plants and warm lighting.

food1
ambience4
service4
value4

Panorama is a a comfortable place to mee ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Panorama is a a comfortable place to meet if you are visiting the St. Louis Art Museum or Forest Park. Sadly, the food is mediocre at best. The chef tries to design upscale food at a moderate price. He would be better off serving simple sandwiches, soups, and salads.

food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Elegant place for lunch and fun to take ...

Dined on June 2, 2016

Elegant place for lunch and fun to take out-of-town guests, which we did.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and best service I've had in ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

Great food and best service I've had in a restaurant in a long while. Derek, our server, was WONDERFUL!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service1

Food was good , however, we have never e ...

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

Food was good , however, we have never experienced such terrible service at a restaurant. And it was not crowded.

food3
ambience5
service4
value3

This is a beautiful restaurant, with its ...

vip
Dined on May 18, 2016

This is a beautiful restaurant, with its enormous windows, but the food was average at best. I had the braised chicken. There wasn't much chicken and it was dry. I enjoyed the flavors of the cassoulet, but the chicken spoiled the experience. The other people I was with had similarly mediocre experiences. Not bad, just not something we would rush back for.

food1
ambience5
service4
value4

This the worst sandwich I have ever had. ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

This the worst sandwich I have ever had. It was dry, and the prosciutto was like out of some package at the grocery store and there was a tiny sliver of Brie. A friend had the Caesar salad and it was some leaves of lettuce laying on the pl,ate with a tiny amount of dressing and cheese and a dry chicken breast. I have eaten here in the past and it has always been good but they have changed the menu and probably chefs and they should go back

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Their menu appears to changes seasonally ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

Their menu appears to changes seasonally. Good use of farm to table options. You can't beat the view. I had the'adult grilled cheese" and friends had the quiche. Fabulous!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Atmoshere of Panorama

Dined on May 10, 2016

It is an enjoyable and relaxing atmosphere to be in. I would not mind to come here again and would definitely recommend here to my friends. I liked the servers, they were incredible.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view
food3
ambience4
service4

Went to Panorama for Mothers Day brunch. ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Went to Panorama for Mothers Day brunch...the food was good but not great; as it had been on previous visits. I thought it was overpriced for the experience. Would have thought at least the mimosas would have been included for the price.....they were if you were a mom. The dessert table had a nice variety, but you served yourself and as a result the pies looked disgusting after several patrons destroyed them in the process... But it is in a very nice space with a beautiful view; the staff were very nice and attentive.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Impressive experience for customers.

Dined on May 5, 2016

Took 3 customers for lunch. They were impressed by the food , service, atmosphere and chef. Received emails later that day about the phenomenal food and enjoyed that the chef came out to see how everything tasted.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Sunday Brunch

Dined on April 24, 2016

We had a nice table by the window. The food was creative and delicious and the waiter Derrick was very friendly and attentive, Looking forward to coming back.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

mostly great

Dined on April 17, 2016

unfortunately, one of the sandwiches seemed to be made using stale bread. We did not complain.. but probably should have. The shrimp and grits was wonderful

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great experience at the Art Museum

Dined on April 16, 2016

I love having meetups with friends for lunch at the Museum restaurant. Love the view and furnishings as well as the food and presentation. Greatly appreciate the kind caring staff taking good care of everyone. Highly recommend dining at the museum amidst our magnificent art collection you can feel the creative energy abounding.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waiter

Dined on April 14, 2016

Our waiter was very nice and accommodating! When the hamburger was not cooked enough he was on top of it right away. She then enjoyed her hamburger and all of the 5 ladies with me enjoyed our meal and will definitely be back when we get a chance. Thank you so much for a lovely lunch for me and my lady friends.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Too noisy and slow service

Dined on April 10, 2016

The room is so loud with all the talking the person next to you cannot hear you speak. Very disappointed in that. Wait staff was very slow. Very Slow ! Asked for a glass of milk with our meal as soon as the plate was brought. we were done eating by the time he brought the milk. Everything was slow. we were there 2.5 hours. I should say, everything was slow except bringing the bill. Also very disappointed in the food ordered. biscuits and gravy. Terrible. the gravy was so greasy it was not editable. Had no taste. The eggs were very good thou. Not interested in going back. Have been there 3 times now in the last year. disappointed every time. Wont be back.

Tags: scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a lovely experience--good food and service.

Dined on April 10, 2016

It's a great place for conversation. And, they make a great Bloody Mary!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Not nearly as good as it should be.

Dined on April 9, 2016

The chicken I got was not good. My friends cheese sandwich was good tho, fresh greens included, healthy.

Tags: scenic view
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Service was BAD from start to finish. T ...

vip
Dined on April 8, 2016

Service was BAD from start to finish. There were only two of us, and we ordered identical and what should be very easy meals to prepare (grilled chicken Caesar salads), and after a ridiculous amount of time, they brought out ONE salad. Then it took another 15 minutes to deliver the second salad. We will not return for a business lunch again. 12:15 reservation and we finally got out of there at 2:10.

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great restaurant at Art Museum

Dined on April 1, 2016

Panorama at the St. Louis Art Museum is a beautiful spot and well worth a visit. The view over the park is outstanding, the menu offers excellent choices and the food is delicious.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Responsive management

Dined on April 1, 2016

This is agreat place for lunch or brunch. The setting is lovely, the sound level is good, the menu varied, and the food good. What makes it especially good, is the level of attention to detail by the manager- it pays off in a good experience that keeps you coming back.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Easter Brunch

Dined on March 27, 2016

I've been to Panorama several times for lunch. It always is great food with a fantastic, quiet atmosphere. I went for brunch for Easter 2016 and it far surpassed my expectations! We'll definitely return next year for Easter. $50pp included an elaborate carving station as well as stuffed french toast, lobster mac and cheese, etc. My whole family enjoyed the afternoon!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

Taste before you serve!

Dined on March 23, 2016

The soup was flavorless, the entree was tasteless and the dessert was so-so. Really disappointed!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Creative and Tasty

Dined on March 22, 2016

My mom, daughter and I had a wonderful lunch at Panorama! The large windows offer a fun and beautiful view of Forest Park. The food is creative and tasty. Everything that was ordered was very good. The service was great! The waitress was very attentive and helpful. It's a great place for a special meal with a friend, family member or a fun date. If you are having trouble finding a parking space, don't forget you can get $5 off of paid parking because you are dining at Panorama. I would highly recommend this restaurant!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very Enjoyable!

Dined on March 17, 2016

The whole lunch was enjoyable--view, atmosphere, food and food selection, treatment by waiter, company.

Tags: great for lunch, scenic view
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Buffet Brunch

Dined on March 13, 2016

I have eaten many times at Panorama and have never been disappointed until this last visit. I booked online and it was not clear that only the buffet brunch was available last Sunday March 13. My reservation was for 2:45 but I was kindly allowed in earlier since there were vacant tables. The buffet brunch consisted of three potentially interesting sections: salads, soups, and sandwiches, but I would have chosen something from the regular menu if that had been available. The salads were ok but the soups that were supposed to be hot were lukewarm. The sandwiches, admittedly, at the latish hour of 2pm, were rather dry, and strangely unappealing although their described ingredients sounded good. I actually remember when Panorama was first launched, and the salads and other dishes on the menu were so beautifully presented and fabulous to taste. And just back last October I had lunch there with some friends, and the soups (a lemon artichoke and a lemon mussel) were innovative and breathtakingly memorable. Perhaps last Sunday was a fluke; I did not feel that brunch was worth the set price of $20. I cannot complain about the service and the restaurant layout itself, which is full of light and a pleasure to dine in. I do hope the former creativity in offerings and ingredients continues to be pursued in future.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

New find

vip
Dined on March 12, 2016

I tried Panorama based on the positive Open Table recommendations, and the fact that it's very close to our house. While the service was uneven, the servers were very respectful and engaging. The food was very high quality (we loved the cheese plate), and the setting is really terrific, with a view over the park. I was glad to find it.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Very nice meal after visiting the Art Museum.

Dined on March 12, 2016

The white tablecloths and the attractive environment were a great touch. The French Onion soup was wonderful, and all four people dining here truly enjoyed the meals. The food is just unique enough to be a welcome change, but it was not so different that it was unrecognizable. The prices of the items were reasonable as well. If you are visiting the Art Museum, then I recommend that you finish off your trip by eating here.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Date night delight

Dined on March 12, 2016

We had a gift card to spend this time, but we'll definitely go back! Husband had the $35 prix fixe dinner with soup, entrée and dessert (the dessert was big enough to share with me). I had a different appetizer and entrée, and we were both very pleased with every course we had. Everything was delicious and the portions were sizable. Even with a bottle of wine, the bill was just under $100. I wouldn't have balked at $150 for the quality, quantity and the unique setting (we were there for the Art in Bloom exhibit, which was also fabulous). The waiter brought us generous glasses of the wine we ordered from an open bottle while they found an unopened bottle that was fully chilled. This was a nice touch with the all-around good service.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

Art in Bloom

Dined on March 12, 2016

We joined the crowds at Panorama following our time viewing the amazing floral interpretations. Our server was delightful and attentive and I know she had been there ALL DAY! The Brie appetizer is lovely and our wine and cocktails just what we ordered. The salads however were quite disappointing with a lot of old tired lettuce and very little or no fresh greens. The halibut was prepared well with a creative sauce. If, at the Art Museum it is an ok place to have a meal.

Tags: great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Must visit!

Dined on March 11, 2016

We dined at Panarama on a Friday evening - the opening day of the "Art in Bloom" exhibit at the museum. The museum was very crowded, and though we had booked reservations, there was a back up getting into the restaurant. Despite reservations, we had a 30 min. wait. The wait was worth it! The food was beautifully plated, deliciously prepared and hot! Days later, I am still basking in the glow of that meal! I had the braised chicken, which was so flavorful and fell off the bone. My husband's Halibut was flaky and well seasoned. We both were very pleased. The wait staff was a bit slow (it was a very busy night), but very pleasant and we wanted for nothing. We are regulars at Panarama, and this was just one of many delightful experiences we've had there! I highly recommend it!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food in a beautiful setting

Dined on March 3, 2016

We couldn't believe how good the food was. After all, it's a museum cafe. I had the smoked trout sandwich with a side of snap peas and pickled onions--excellent. I was seated facing Forest Park. My friend could see the reflection in the glass wall behind me. She had the soup and an endive salad, both of which she said were excellent. It was such a treat.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Soiled table cloth

Dined on March 2, 2016

The food was delicious with an excellent presentation. Excellent lunch vegan option. The only negative was that at my place the cloth table cloth had a number of spots (? oil), as though the previous diner had spilled and the cloth was not changed. It felt like the cloth was soiled and detracted quite a bit from my enjoyment of the meal

Tags: great for lunch

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.