Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.48mi
  3. Distance: 0.57mi
  4. Distance: 0.64mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.48mi
  3. Distance: 0.57mi
  4. Distance: 0.64mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.48mi
  3. Distance: 0.57mi
  4. Distance: 0.64mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.48mi
  3. Distance: 0.57mi
  4. Distance: 0.64mi

About Panorama

Located in the Saint Louis Art Museum’s new East Building designed by renowned British Architect David Chipperfield, Panorama offers full service dining in an elegant setting. With breathtaking Forest Park views from its floor-to-ceiling windows, Panorama offers regional contemporary cuisine showcasing local, sustainably produced ingredients. Menus change seasonally.

1 Fine Arts Drive
St. Louis, MO 63110
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:

Tuesday–Thursday: 11:00–2:00, Friday: 11:00–2:00, 5:00-9:00
Saturday Brunch: 10:00–3:00
Sunday Brunch: 10:00–3:00

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 655-5490

Website:
http://www.slam.org/Visit/dining.php

Parking Details:
Parking garage available $15 regular price, discounted to $5 with restaurant receipt of $15 or more. Public parking lot is available and free of charge

Executive Chef:
Ivy Magruder

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Panorama Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (65)
Great for Lunch (56)
Modern Decor (41)
See All
Special Occasion (38)
Creative Cuisine (37)
Great for Brunch (33)
Sunday Lunch (31)
Fit for Foodies (27)
Quiet Conversation (26)
Good for Birthdays (25)
Good for Anniversaries (23)
Romantic (20)
Good for a Date (20)
Worth the Drive (17)
Casual (15)
Local Ingredients (15)
People Watching (14)
Business Meals (13)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Fun (13)
Afternoon Tea (12)
Healthy (12)
Historic (12)
Afternoon Coffee (12)
Good Vegetarian Options (11)
Good for Groups (10)
Authentic (9)
Seasonal (9)
Cozy (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Outstanding Value (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Private Room (5)
Organic (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Vegan (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Waterfront (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
S
715 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 2 days ago

The menu was so full of appetizing choices that it was hard to make a decision. The food was great.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined 2 days ago

Brunch at Panorama is pretty spectacular. You better make a reservation on a Saturday, though. It fills up quickly. I really can't think of a better place to spend a rainy day in St. Louis than at the Art Museum with lunch or brunch at Panorama.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 2 days ago

We went to see the Impressionist exhibit and wanted a nice, relaxed lunch. Panorama filled the bill! Great food and great art. A perfect Saturday afternoon.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Tea, Afternoon Coffee, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 2 days ago

Great food, lovely ambiance and excellent service. We had a lovely brunch and we will come back again.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Modern Decor, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 3 days ago

This visit was a bit disappointing; the service was horrible, the food (quiche) was just ok- I wanted to take my out-of-town friend for a special lunch- hoping this was just an off day. One bright note-the young woman who seated us was welcoming and wonderful!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 6 days ago

Great museum

Tags: Scenic View, Disabled Access, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Lovely setting with attentive service and good food!
Made for a nice Easter brunch. Thank you!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We went to Panorama for Easter Brunch. It was quite pricy ($55/adults; $27/children), but the food was very appetizing. I especially enjoyed the seafood options (shrimp & grits, chilled shrimp, crab claws, etc.) and creative sides (carmelized cauliflower). They also had all the "usuals" for a brunch buffet, including made-to-order omelettes and a carving station. The service was good, and we loved looking out over Art Hill & the Grand Basin. I would definitely return, but I would not recommend for kids due to the price. My daughter is 8 and only ate a couple pieces of bacon, a biscuit, and a donut...certainly not worth $27.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Very poor communication. I made the reservations for Easter a couple of months ago, expecting it to be sold out. I always hear good things about it and the menu sounded good.At no time was there any mention of a buffet. It wasn't mentioned on the website which I looked at prior to making the reservation, a month ago, when I got the call confirming our reservations last week, or even on look at the website on the drive in to Forrest Park.

However, when we waled up tot he hostess, the first thing she asked is if we knew it was buffet only? And that the cost was $55 adults and $27 children?

Well, it was 11:30 am on Easter Sunday. did we have a choice to go find another place for brunch? SO we were seated. But here was no extension of an apology or offer to off set the ridiculous cost. I would never have paid such extortion if I had somewhere else to take my family at such a late notice. $55 per person would be fine if it were a Michelin 5-star restaurant and you were served fresh to order food at your table. It may have been a bargain at that price.

Service was great. The staff was excellent. Warm, friendly, mostly attentive. And the buffet selection appeared to be their full menu plus a few extras. Some things were great, others were weak. The lamb was over cooked and tough from sitting in a steam table. It should have been sliced to order and served medium rare. The stuffed, roll pork roast was over seasoned and dry. The prime rib pedestrian.

The better dishes were the Shrimp & Grits, Corn Chowder, and their play on eggs benedict would have been been awesome if cooked to order, rather than left to die in a stem table. Oddly the grilled pimento cheese and tomato basil soup were a hit.

In short, I felt like I was robbed at gunpoint. I am sure the restaurant's food would be wonderful, and fairly priced had it been table service as advertised and expected. However in this case they owe my family an apology at the VERY least.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Highly recommended! I definitely want to go back. Top notch all the way

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 13, 2017

The food was excellant and the service was very good.

Tags: Casual, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 12, 2017

I have only one gripe about Panorama -- it closes too early. I've been there for dinner on Friday night, and it's lovely. But dinner on other nights? Late lunch? Coffee and dessert in the afternoon? Not an option. I love this place and want to patronize them more.

I wasn't crazy about the chicken waldorf salad -- too much chicken, not enough fruit, and a few pieces of the lettuce were nasty. But it was the only thing I've ever had at Panorama that wasn't terrific. Even their coffee is excellent. I especially recommend their soups. Superb.

I recommend asking for a window table, especially the table quiet corner at the end of the windows.

Tags: People Watching, Business Meals, Fun, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 7, 2017

We went to dinner before attending a lecture at the Art Museum later in the evening. Atmosphere was relaxed. Service was great. Food was outstanding. And they offer a good price range with salads and sandwiches in the $12 range and entrees around $24. Will definitely go again!

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 4, 2017

We had what I thought were lunch salads...grilled beets and turnips salad for $9. The turnips were barely cooked and there was very little beets on my plate. It was the worse beet salad I have ever had...mostly lettuce and I thought maybe the cranberry drsg would have a few cranberries..but no. The rolls were amazing though and the server gave us an extra one since that is what we filled up on. The service and view were both very nice.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Panorama at the St. Louis Art Museum is a great spot for a delicious meal, especially in good weather when you can look out over the St. Louis statue and Art Hill. Excellent brunch menu on Saturdays and Sundays. Very attentive wait staff. Really yummy food using locally-sourced specialties. We started our brunch on the early side (10:30 am) and the restaurant wasn't very crowded, but by 11:30 it was hopping with every table filled. We will definitely return!

One word of caution: Beware the heavy zoo traffic near the Hampton/St. Louis Zoo entrance in nice weather on the weekends. If you can enter the park elsewhere, you'll get to the art museum faster. Also, if you park in the parking garage underneath the museum, take your parking ticket and your paid restaurant bill to the Art Museum desk and they'll validate it to lower your parking rate to $5.

Tags: Romantic, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Menu seemed amazing but all of the food ordered was just average and not worth the higher price. Best part was the dinner rolls which we are only given one of each. Their drinks and wine selection was pretty good though. The large windows were nice but the high traffic in the area led to the cars being more distracting and taking away from the small view of the park, that was mainly just parking lot. Restaurant was not even half full but took a while to get a server to us when needed, Food and even just the dessert slice of cake seemed to take way longer then necessary. Not worth the price or as much of a special occasion place as I was hoping it would be.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Wonderful lunch with friends. Great service, beautiful setting, great food. We will come again.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on March 31, 2017

Excellent food. For some unknown reason the dessert (chocolate bread pudding) which was part of the pre-fix menu was so late in being served that we had to take it to go. We waited for just this dessert for at least 20 minutes and gave two reminders to our server. This wasn't being made on the spot so we did not understand the delay.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Modern Decor, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 30, 2017

We find this restaurant to be hit and miss. We've had excellent food here but often it's a miss and since it is not inexpensive those times make you question your choice. We don't mind the prices if the food is well prepared.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Western KY)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Excellent all around. A wonderful lunch surpassed only by the view! Do not pass this up!

Tags: Good for Groups, People Watching, Outstanding Value, Good Vegetarian Options, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 28, 2017

We celebrated our daughter-in-law's birthday with her family from Seattle. As usual Chef Magruder and his team delivered a sumptuous meal from cocktails to dessert. Each bit added to a memorable celebration of family. Of course, any meal at Panorama is a celebration!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Historic, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Private Room, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 26, 2017

The BASIL-CREAM CHEESE SCRAMBLED EGGS entree was delicious, a full meal and a good value. the eggs were pleasantly creamy and the bacon delicious.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Service was excellent. Food was terrible. We both had the chicken blt and the lavender mayo overpowered everything. The chicken was also a bit slimy as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Creative and varied menu in a delightful setting with attentive, professional service. Can't wait to dine there again.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Casual, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Wonderful Brunch, although the menu is a bit limited.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Our server was polite, professional, friendly, and accommodating-

Tags: Private Room, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Brunch is wonderful. Plenty of meal options and a great selection of wine and cocktails.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We visited the Art Museum and it was just as lovely as the exhibits. Very attentive service. Great food!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Beautiful scenery, exceptional service, spent 4 hours visiting with a friend for 4 hour without anyone pushing to leave and still giving refills on drinks.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Afternoon Tea, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Very attractive restaurant with lovely view of the park. Very comfortable but contemporary atmosphere with the most comfortable restaurant chairs. Tables are well-spaced and have plenty of room. Overall impression of the room is fairly elegant. The menu is great with lots of options and a wide price range. Sandwiches to mains are fairly priced allowing an inexpensive meal or a moderately pricey meal. Food was very good except the Cesar Salad. The interpretation of a large leaf with cheese on the side did not work - go back to the traditional Cesar.

Tags: Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Healthy, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 17, 2017

We love Panorama! We had tickets to the Degas exhibit at 2 PM, so having lunch at Panorama was a no brainer. We started with sparkling wine, then my wife had the veggie sandwich and I, the walleye special. What a view!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 17, 2017

A great venue for a memorable meal! Refreshingly different menu options, knowledgeable staff, attention to detail and delicious food, pleasingly presented. 'Art on a plate' is indeed an apt description.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Paleo Friendly, Great for Lunch, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Makes for such a nice afternoon - lunch and the museum!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 16, 2017

The baked Brie with stone fruit was excellent, as was the beet salad. The rocky road ice cream was a good ending. I have never had a meal here I didn't like, but we ordered the sea bass and it was undercooked. The restaurant gave us one of The entries at half price.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Panorama is convenient for visitors to the museum. The menu is eccentric for a lunch menu, which make ordering difficult. I ordered the quiche, which was dry, overlooked. There were no normal sandwiches. The hamburger, for example, ls topped with a fried egg, which is literally overkill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Min girlfriend md I do a brunch every month and we have been to Panorama before. This time we were going to go to the Degas exhibit after brunch. The seafood frittata was wonderful as was the view from the restaurant. Finally the citrus cheesecake - which we shared- was more than perfect. A great meal to set the mood for our visit to the exhibit. I will go again.

Tags: Scenic View, People Watching, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We love the St.Louis Art Museum and whenever we go there,we make sure to have a lunch,breakfast or dinner at this wonderful place.

Tags: Cozy, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Great roll, nice view, terrible food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Had a great Lenten lunch of delicious Sea Bass. It was delicious! Great service and absolutely beautiful venue.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Vegan, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Excellent service from our waiter. Choices for sides included candied cauliflower or Brussel sprouts . I told him that I loved both so he brought me both and they were very good! Had grilled chicken on croissant with bacon and cheese. It was delicious, but not a pick up sandwich (at least for me).

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.