Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.48mi
  3. Distance: 0.57mi
  4. Distance: 0.64mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.48mi
  3. Distance: 0.57mi
  4. Distance: 0.64mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.48mi
  3. Distance: 0.57mi
  4. Distance: 0.64mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.48mi
  3. Distance: 0.57mi
  4. Distance: 0.64mi

About Panorama

Located in the Saint Louis Art Museum’s new East Building designed by renowned British Architect David Chipperfield, Panorama offers full service dining in an elegant setting. With breathtaking Forest Park views from its floor-to-ceiling windows, Panorama offers regional contemporary cuisine showcasing local, sustainably produced ingredients. Menus change seasonally.

1 Fine Arts Drive
St. Louis, MO 63110
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:

Tuesday–Friday: 11:00–2:00,
Saturday Brunch: 10:00–3:00
Sunday Brunch: 10:00–3:00

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 655-5490

Website:
http://www.slam.org/Visit/dining.php

Parking Details:
Parking garage available $15 regular price, discounted to $5 with restaurant receipt of $15 or more. Public parking lot is available and free of charge

Executive Chef:
Ivy Magruder

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Panorama Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (66)
Great for Lunch (65)
Modern Decor (45)
See All
Special Occasion (44)
Creative Cuisine (42)
Great for Brunch (36)
Sunday Lunch (34)
Good for Birthdays (29)
Quiet Conversation (28)
Good for Anniversaries (28)
Fit for Foodies (24)
Good for a Date (23)
Worth the Drive (22)
Romantic (20)
Casual (18)
People Watching (18)
Local Ingredients (17)
Fun (15)
Good for Groups (14)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Business Meals (13)
Healthy (13)
Good Vegetarian Options (12)
Afternoon Coffee (11)
Historic (11)
Afternoon Tea (11)
Seasonal (10)
Authentic (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Private Room (8)
Cozy (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Vegan (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Organic (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Waterfront (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
S
740 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 4 days ago

Nice venue. Great food. Pleasant staff.
Parking is a disaster - only option at the weekend is the garage and the advertised $5 rate is a lie - restaurant blames it on the Art Museum, SLAM desk staff shrugs and blames it on the parking vendor.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 5 days ago

My sons steak was overcooked - his eggs/toast just so-so. Our grits were good, but not substantial enough to feel full after the meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Delicious and lovely setting for Mothers Day Brunch

Tags: Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Amazing buffet for Mother's Day. Very delicious food with salads, seafood, prime rib, ham, omelets (with many extras) waffles with toppings, specialty foods, soups, and numerous desserts including pies, cakes, cookies and a doughnut "wall". Service was outstanding. Restaurant is beautiful. The chef greeted guests and servers gave every "mother" a potted plant and seed card.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We attended the mother's day brunch---third year we've been there. It's a lovely place and a fine meal. A family tradition hatched. Also, we wish to support the Art Museum, a STL treasure.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Panorama was an excellent dining experience. Our host showed chivalry by pulling our chairs out for us, and our waiter was very patient as we made our selections since it was our first experience there. The wait for the food wasn't long at all and our dishes were absolutely delicious. I am excited about returning for a second visit!

Tags: Family Style, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 11, 2017

The scallops and roasted cauliflower risotto were delicious. Anthony our server was very attentive and helpful when I asked him about several gluten-free options.

Tags: Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Vegan, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 9, 2017

This is excellent. Our service and food could not have been better.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Lovely brunch on a Sunday with friends. The food was quiet good and service a nice level.

Tags: Modern Decor, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Excellent food, and beautiful room! We had the best brunch!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Champagne hollandaise sauce and poached eggs were excellent; however, one single leaf of baby spinach and croissant was too small for dish. Three leaves of baby spinach under each egg and increase size of croissant by 50% in order to absorb all that wonderful sauce and you would have a perfect dish. Mixed fruit salad included melon that was not ripe to eat. If serving fresh fruit, it should be ripe. Wait staff was attentive and pleasant.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Overall, we found it to be a great value. We were sad to hear they will no longer be serving dinners (open seating) and will only be doing special events catering. Our server, Anthony was a lovely part of our dinner, full of humor and knowledge about the menu. He made our evening fun!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 6, 2017

This is the best museum restaurant experience I've ever had. The staff took wonderful care of us, the food was delicious, fresh, local, plated artistically and was just the right portion.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Scenic View, Fun, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Nice to pair an exhibition of Degas with a fine dinner at the Art Museum. Food was excellent with entrees of lamb crown and mahi-mahi, both tender and tasty. Only drawback is limited drink menu, but they worked hard to please us there too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Lovely ambiance topped by a great meal! Terrific, friendly service. Blueberry smash was a hit!

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Authentic, Fun, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Private Room, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Afternoon Tea, Comfort Food, Gluten Free Options, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 2, 2017

While usually excellent, I was trying to show off and on this occasion Panorama let me down. Highly recommended the cauliflower which came out roasted but not dressed with honey and almonds which made it taste like burnt cauliflower. Usually Panorama's standards are very high. Not this visit:-(

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 30, 2017

As always this restaurant was delightful! The service was great, food fabulous and the environment enjoyable.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Private Room, Disabled Access, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 30, 2017

The Art Museum Restaurant has location, location, location...and a nice varied menu.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Romantic, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Our Open Table reservation did not appear on their computer. They were overbooked? But they seated us anyway.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 28, 2017

We always arrange to brunch or lunch at Panorama when we go to the Art Museum. It is consistently tasty with friendly and attentive service. The view into Forest Park is delightful.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 28, 2017

The courses were salty. Over salted! The creamy trout sandwich was dry and not well prepared. The Brussel sprout side was way too salty. The Walleye main was over salted. We eat at least once a month at Panorama, but we may not be going back based on our experience yesterday!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Overall, I would recommend this restaurant for the food and view. I will list the positive first. I took a friend for her 60th birthday. Our waiter was very hard to understand and not very knowledgeable of the menu. My friend loved her pasta and my salad was good, as well.
When it came to dessert, we ordered the cake, the waiter said nothing about my friend's birthday and it did not seem special at all! The cake was old and stale and cold (we think it was frozen and thawing in the back) Our neighbors ordered the bread pudding and said it was old and stale, as well. It looked awful.
In a restaurant that is such a "ladies" place. (we had been to the Degas hat exhibit) you have to have great desserts! We loved the view, just the service, lack of attention for a special birthday, and awful desserts give us pause to return....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Panorama is an excellent restaurant. I have dined there many times and will continue to do so. However, I have a major beef with OpenTable - for the third time this month, I have made restaurant reservations through OpenTable. I received confirmation each time, but, when I showed up at the restaurant did not have my reservation. I think I shall stop using OpenTable and recommend that my friends and family do the same.

Terry Marshall
t_marshall@me.om
314-609-1435

Tags: Scenic View, Good Vegetarian Options, Modern Decor, People Watching, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Always delicious and a great place to unite with friends.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 22, 2017

The menu was so full of appetizing choices that it was hard to make a decision. The food was great.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Brunch at Panorama is pretty spectacular. You better make a reservation on a Saturday, though. It fills up quickly. I really can't think of a better place to spend a rainy day in St. Louis than at the Art Museum with lunch or brunch at Panorama.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We went to see the Impressionist exhibit and wanted a nice, relaxed lunch. Panorama filled the bill! Great food and great art. A perfect Saturday afternoon.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Tea, Afternoon Coffee, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Great food, lovely ambiance and excellent service. We had a lovely brunch and we will come back again.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Modern Decor, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 21, 2017

This visit was a bit disappointing; the service was horrible, the food (quiche) was just ok- I wanted to take my out-of-town friend for a special lunch- hoping this was just an off day. One bright note-the young woman who seated us was welcoming and wonderful!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Great museum

Tags: Scenic View, Disabled Access, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Lovely setting with attentive service and good food!
Made for a nice Easter brunch. Thank you!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We went to Panorama for Easter Brunch. It was quite pricy ($55/adults; $27/children), but the food was very appetizing. I especially enjoyed the seafood options (shrimp & grits, chilled shrimp, crab claws, etc.) and creative sides (carmelized cauliflower). They also had all the "usuals" for a brunch buffet, including made-to-order omelettes and a carving station. The service was good, and we loved looking out over Art Hill & the Grand Basin. I would definitely return, but I would not recommend for kids due to the price. My daughter is 8 and only ate a couple pieces of bacon, a biscuit, and a donut...certainly not worth $27.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Very poor communication. I made the reservations for Easter a couple of months ago, expecting it to be sold out. I always hear good things about it and the menu sounded good.At no time was there any mention of a buffet. It wasn't mentioned on the website which I looked at prior to making the reservation, a month ago, when I got the call confirming our reservations last week, or even on look at the website on the drive in to Forrest Park.

However, when we waled up tot he hostess, the first thing she asked is if we knew it was buffet only? And that the cost was $55 adults and $27 children?

Well, it was 11:30 am on Easter Sunday. did we have a choice to go find another place for brunch? SO we were seated. But here was no extension of an apology or offer to off set the ridiculous cost. I would never have paid such extortion if I had somewhere else to take my family at such a late notice. $55 per person would be fine if it were a Michelin 5-star restaurant and you were served fresh to order food at your table. It may have been a bargain at that price.

Service was great. The staff was excellent. Warm, friendly, mostly attentive. And the buffet selection appeared to be their full menu plus a few extras. Some things were great, others were weak. The lamb was over cooked and tough from sitting in a steam table. It should have been sliced to order and served medium rare. The stuffed, roll pork roast was over seasoned and dry. The prime rib pedestrian.

The better dishes were the Shrimp & Grits, Corn Chowder, and their play on eggs benedict would have been been awesome if cooked to order, rather than left to die in a stem table. Oddly the grilled pimento cheese and tomato basil soup were a hit.

In short, I felt like I was robbed at gunpoint. I am sure the restaurant's food would be wonderful, and fairly priced had it been table service as advertised and expected. However in this case they owe my family an apology at the VERY least.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Highly recommended! I definitely want to go back. Top notch all the way

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 13, 2017

The food was excellant and the service was very good.

Tags: Casual, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 12, 2017

I have only one gripe about Panorama -- it closes too early. I've been there for dinner on Friday night, and it's lovely. But dinner on other nights? Late lunch? Coffee and dessert in the afternoon? Not an option. I love this place and want to patronize them more.

I wasn't crazy about the chicken waldorf salad -- too much chicken, not enough fruit, and a few pieces of the lettuce were nasty. But it was the only thing I've ever had at Panorama that wasn't terrific. Even their coffee is excellent. I especially recommend their soups. Superb.

I recommend asking for a window table, especially the table quiet corner at the end of the windows.

Tags: People Watching, Business Meals, Fun, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 7, 2017

We went to dinner before attending a lecture at the Art Museum later in the evening. Atmosphere was relaxed. Service was great. Food was outstanding. And they offer a good price range with salads and sandwiches in the $12 range and entrees around $24. Will definitely go again!

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 4, 2017

We had what I thought were lunch salads...grilled beets and turnips salad for $9. The turnips were barely cooked and there was very little beets on my plate. It was the worse beet salad I have ever had...mostly lettuce and I thought maybe the cranberry drsg would have a few cranberries..but no. The rolls were amazing though and the server gave us an extra one since that is what we filled up on. The service and view were both very nice.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Panorama at the St. Louis Art Museum is a great spot for a delicious meal, especially in good weather when you can look out over the St. Louis statue and Art Hill. Excellent brunch menu on Saturdays and Sundays. Very attentive wait staff. Really yummy food using locally-sourced specialties. We started our brunch on the early side (10:30 am) and the restaurant wasn't very crowded, but by 11:30 it was hopping with every table filled. We will definitely return!

One word of caution: Beware the heavy zoo traffic near the Hampton/St. Louis Zoo entrance in nice weather on the weekends. If you can enter the park elsewhere, you'll get to the art museum faster. Also, if you park in the parking garage underneath the museum, take your parking ticket and your paid restaurant bill to the Art Museum desk and they'll validate it to lower your parking rate to $5.

Tags: Romantic, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Menu seemed amazing but all of the food ordered was just average and not worth the higher price. Best part was the dinner rolls which we are only given one of each. Their drinks and wine selection was pretty good though. The large windows were nice but the high traffic in the area led to the cars being more distracting and taking away from the small view of the park, that was mainly just parking lot. Restaurant was not even half full but took a while to get a server to us when needed, Food and even just the dessert slice of cake seemed to take way longer then necessary. Not worth the price or as much of a special occasion place as I was hoping it would be.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.