About Panorama

1 Fine Arts Drive
St. Louis, MO 63110
View Larger Map

Located in the Saint Louis Art Museum’s new East Building designed by renowned British Architect David Chipperfield, Panorama offers full service dining in an elegant setting. With breathtaking Forest Park views from its floor-to-ceiling windows, Panorama offers regional contemporary cuisine showcasing local, sustainably produced ingredients. Menus change seasonally.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:

Tuesday–Thursday: 11:00–2:00, Friday: 11:00–2:00, 5:00-9:00
Saturday Brunch: 10:00–3:00
Sunday Brunch: 10:00–3:00

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 655-5490

Website:
http://www.slam.org/Visit/dining.php

Parking Details:
Parking garage available $15 regular price, discounted to $5 with restaurant receipt of $15 or more. Public parking lot is available and free of charge

Executive Chef:
Ivy Magruder

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Panorama Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.8

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (38)
Great for Lunch (32)
Quiet Conversation (28)
See All
Creative Cuisine (25)
Great for Brunch (24)
Modern Decor (22)
Special Occasion (21)
Sunday Lunch (19)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Good for a Date (15)
Historic (15)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Local Ingredients (11)
Romantic (11)
Cozy (10)
Business Meals (10)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Casual (8)
People Watching (7)
Seasonal (7)
Healthy (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Authentic (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Private Room (6)
Quick Bite (5)
Afternoon Tea (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Afternoon Coffee (5)
Fun (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Organic (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
638 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I came here with 3 friends and we had lu ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 4 days ago

I came here with 3 friends and we had lunch after spending 2 hours at the museum. It was a great place to relax after a lot of walking. The menu is fun and the food was very good with the exception of the pimento cheese sandwich which was very little cheese with a lot of mushrooms.

The Panorama burger was great and the bread pudding was exceptional. The view is lovely and should be even better in the summer.

Tags: Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

It was if I had made no reservation. Th ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 5 days ago

It was if I had made no reservation. They had to take down a table for six and prepare it for us, and of course there was no table by the window as I had requested. Otherwise, it was great.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was outstanding! I ordered a ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 5 days ago

Service was outstanding!

I ordered a pimento sandwich but not what I was expecting. Too spicy.

Otherwise it was perfect.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife has been here and I never had so ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 8, 2017

My wife has been here and I never had so we went for brunch. The food was excellent and I had what I believe we're the best brussel sprouts I had ever eaten. They were incredible. I also opted for a burger, I always order a burger for my virgin voyage of any restaurant: if the burger is bad, I will never go back. Just ask the folks at the slider house. In this case, the burger was stunning. Yup, stunning and perfectly cooked to med rare and juicy and oozing with flavor. My wife had a frittata and that was amazing. Thanks service was excellent and the atmosphere is very, very nice. We will absolutely be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Group of 7 for New Year's Day. Lovely vi ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Group of 7 for New Year's Day. Lovely view and friendly waiter

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Modern and historic describes the settin ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Modern and historic describes the setting. Tables provide an expansive view of the grounds of the 1904 World's Fair. Contemporary, yet homey describes the food. All-in-all, dining at Panorama inside the St. Louis Art Museum is a feel-good treat. Dishes we enjoyed that were particularly tasty were the shrimp and grits and salmon burger with Brussels sprouts. Pair that burger with a Bloody Mary and you are good-to-go for a relaxing stroll through the museum or the grounds of Art Hill after dining.

Tags: Romantic, Modern Decor, Great for Brunch, Historic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Wonderful experience, with a beautiful v ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Wonderful experience, with a beautiful view of Art Hill & Forest Park!

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Afternoon Coffee, Quick Bite, Business Meals, People Watching, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Art Museum atmosphere is inviting. Servi ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Art Museum atmosphere is inviting. Service was attentive. Sparkling Rose was delightful. We split a butternut squash and beer salad. One enter was pistachio encrusted halibut with green beans and potato. The other was lamb chops with green beans and potatoes. The desserts were excellent! Sweet potato tart and tiramisu cheesecake bites. It was a memorable dinner.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, service, and view. A real g ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Great food, service, and view. A real gem!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Burger was one of the best we've had and ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Burger was one of the best we've had and cocktail prices were very reasonable. The soup and cauliflower side we got were good, but not outstanding like the bread & burger. Service was ideal. Lovely place. We will return.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The atmosphere was awesome, the space is ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 22, 2016

The atmosphere was awesome, the space is filled with the great energy from the gallery and the adjacent art museum. The attention to our meal didn't match the same level of detail as the restaurant's spectacular environment – spectacular view was overwhelming created great expectation. My salmon lacked the artistry of the waiters enthusiasm – It was dry. the presentation of the food was great. My guest enjoyed their meal. And the service staff made a great efforts to accommodate us.

Tags: Historic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Open Kitchen, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Every plate is a work of art that taste ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Every plate is a work of art that taste better then it looks. Outstanding staff and chef with a comfortable classy environment. Dinning here once will have you yearning to come back as soon as possible. Panorama might as well be a three star Michelin restaurant.

Tags: Casual, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Authentic, Afternoon Coffee, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Afternoon Tea, Romantic, People Watching, Organic, Modern Decor, Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Private Room, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love the feel of this restaurant as mu ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 21, 2016

I love the feel of this restaurant as much as the food. There is something about being surrounded by beautiful art and architecture that primes the palate. I recently visited this spot on a date, with my husband of 35 years, and everything was terrific. Our waiter was engaging, which made it fun. We shared a bottle of wine, devoured our beef tenderloin entrées, and shared a yummy chocolate truffle desert--and then headed off to visit the European Masters. What more can I say? Perfect date lunch on a cool and blustery day before the holidays.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

An excellent restaurant. The food is del ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 20, 2016

An excellent restaurant. The food is delicious and the services is great.

We went for a special biz lunch. Everyone (all 5 of us) enjoyed their meal.

I highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Historic, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Brunch: Pleasant but certainly not impr ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Brunch: Pleasant but certainly not impressive. Nice soup, potatoes that were delicious and well-seasoned, but basil cream cheese scrambled eggs should have more than just a thread of basil. The promised bacon was nowhere to be found.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

I had the halibut and it was phenomenal! ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 16, 2016

I had the halibut and it was phenomenal!!!!!!!!!!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The menu is esoteric for a lunch restaur ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 14, 2016

The menu is esoteric for a lunch restaurant. No normal sandwiches or salads. Sandwiches include burger with an egg, Turkey BLT on croissant. Ice Cream dessert included bacon. Normal lunch food would help. Service is excellent as is ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value3

My book club wanted to get together for ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 9, 2016

My book club wanted to get together for a nice lunch and discuss our book. It was a delightful place to be. We could carry on our discussion privately while we had a delicious lunch. Everyone was pleased with their choice of food and the service was good without being overbearing.

Tags: Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was excellent but grandson's sandwi ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Food was excellent but grandson's sandwich with an egg on top...was difficult to eat.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Scenic View, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Sophisticated menu and view in the St. L ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Sophisticated menu and view in the St. Louis Art Museum with eclectic menu and fine service. An ideal location for a casual lunch or a special occasion. Loved it and will be back soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Good food and special view from the muse ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Good food and special view from the museum and Art hill

Tags: Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This was my first visit to Panorama in s ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 20, 2016

This was my first visit to Panorama in spite of visiting the Art Museum often. It has limited hours but I regret not having experienced a meal there much sooner. The view of Forest Park is spectacular. The entrees are creative and very well executed and the cocktails are excellent and generous. Service was prompt, professional and friendly. I will definitely return.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Afternoon Coffee, Quick Bite, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Scenic View, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Disabled Access, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good service and good food. Lovely view! ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Good service and good food. Lovely view! A special place to take friends or family for a treat.

Tags: Modern Decor, Quick Bite, Sunday Lunch, Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was my 6th or so visit to Panorama, ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 20, 2016

This was my 6th or so visit to Panorama, and it is always great. The dining room is so nice, with such a great view of Forest Park and Art Hill, and the food is wonderful. The menu offers a wide selection, there is something for everyone. Everything I have ordered has been delicious, and the servers are always friendly, knowledgeable, and fast.

Tags: Historic, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Romantic, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Perfect dinner spot after viewing museum ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Perfect dinner spot after viewing museum's special exhibit.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Casual, Seasonal, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The Panorama is a hidden gem of an upsca ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The Panorama is a hidden gem of an upscale restaurant in a very classy setting. The wait staff are really professional, and it is refreshing. Our waiter, Kelvin, was outstanding and made our night feel special. The food was elegantly prepared and a great value compared to other restaurants in St. Louis.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was excellent, good service and a b ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Food was excellent, good service and a beautiful view

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Beautiful restaurant with floor to ceili ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Beautiful restaurant with floor to ceiling windows! Wonderful ambience and delicious food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Dinner is only available on Friday night ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Dinner is only available on Friday night when the museum is open later than usual. The restaurant is a good choice when planning to go to the museum on Friday. The location is pleasant, sound levels are quiet to moderate, service is very good. We had a limited but interesting choice of entrees and the wine list was similar. We enjoyed a very nice vouvray at a reasonable price and the vegetarian entree was excellent. We had one appetizer (baked brie with pear) which was average. I have also enjoyed lunch at Panorama.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The best things about eating at Panorama ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 2, 2016

The best things about eating at Panorama seems to be the extraordinary view AND the opportunity to stroll along the path (With Benches!) at the top of Art Hill! We most recently were there on a spectacular Fall day in the 70's with enough breeze to see kites flying... it was A-M-A-Z-I-N-G! Panorama and the Art Museum are truly neighborhood gems! We're so spoiled!

And another thing we appreciated was the lack of noisiness! That's so important when what you really want to do over lunch is chat. Most restaurants don't allow patrons to converse!!!

Food was so-so:I loved the side dish of slaw, but the salmon burger was dry, the bread was too much and too soft for my taste, the salad was mostly greens with almost no dressing and my friend was too nice to ask for more additions. But we didn't come for the food.

Service was pretty good.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

Great for my friend's baby shower! Every ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Great for my friend's baby shower! Everything was wonderful.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Private Room, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Panorama may be suffering from initial b ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Panorama may be suffering from initial bad reviews. We were very happy with our soup and salad for a pre-concert dinner on a Friday evening. Unfortunately, there were only a couple of other occupied tables in the restaurant. I hope this was an anomaly because the restaurant is definitely worth visiting.

Tags: Business Meals, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We enjoyed the perfect lunch prepared by ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 25, 2016

We enjoyed the perfect lunch prepared by Chef Ivy Magruder and served by the best waiter,Kelvin. The menu is very innovative and each selection was enjoyed. To complete this special luncheon, we were seated near a window where we could enjoy the beautiful fall views from Panorama.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ms.Julie made great arrangements. A deli ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Ms.Julie made great arrangements. A delight in dealings. Table ready and elegant.

Waiter, Mr. Kelvin,was fabulous.

Room was beautiful.Noise level, OK.

This is the StL Museum of Art

No other reason to go there. Ever.

Expensive, poor quality, cold food.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Panorama has become a favorite place for ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Panorama has become a favorite place for our Sunday lunch. Beautiful room and view.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The food, the view, & service was excell ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 8, 2016

The food, the view, & service was excellent as always. Thank you, Kelvin, and all the staff!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

"Quiet, relaxed place to have lunch. I ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 4, 2016

"Quiet, relaxed place to have lunch. I ordered the price-fixe meal which included a salad and a lovely veal scalloping served with veggies. The bread-pudding with strawberries was delicious but too large to eat. Very nice service."

Tags: Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Disabled Access, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a great place to take out-of-tow ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 2, 2016

This is a great place to take out-of-town visitors. The food here and the Art Museum are both very impressive. The bread pudding was the best ever!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great view and outstanding service. We ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Great view and outstanding service. We will be back!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

My first lunch in St Louis after flying ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 28, 2016

My first lunch in St Louis after flying over a day from overseas. Food was delicious & service was great. It is transquil. This is my go to place every time I visit St Louis for both great art & great food. Not every museum or art gallery has both at the same time. Looking forward to future visits!

Tags: Quick Bite, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.