Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.48mi
  3. Distance: 0.57mi
  4. Distance: 0.64mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.48mi
  3. Distance: 0.57mi
  4. Distance: 0.64mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.48mi
  3. Distance: 0.57mi
  4. Distance: 0.64mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.48mi
  3. Distance: 0.57mi
  4. Distance: 0.64mi

About Panorama

Located in the Saint Louis Art Museum’s new East Building designed by renowned British Architect David Chipperfield, Panorama offers full service dining in an elegant setting. With breathtaking Forest Park views from its floor-to-ceiling windows, Panorama offers regional contemporary cuisine showcasing local, sustainably produced ingredients. Menus change seasonally.

1 Fine Arts Drive
St. Louis, MO 63110
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:

Tuesday–Friday: 11:00–2:00,
Saturday Brunch: 10:00–3:00
Sunday Brunch: 10:00–3:00

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 655-5490

Website:
http://www.slam.org/Visit/dining.php

Parking Details:
Parking garage available $15 regular price, discounted to $5 with restaurant receipt of $15 or more. Public parking lot is available and free of charge

Executive Chef:
Ivy Magruder

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Panorama Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (53)
Great for Lunch (46)
Great for Brunch (34)
See All
Special Occasion (31)
Creative Cuisine (29)
Good for Birthdays (24)
Modern Decor (23)
Quiet Conversation (21)
Sunday Lunch (20)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Good for a Date (17)
Fit for Foodies (16)
People Watching (15)
Worth the Drive (14)
Local Ingredients (14)
Good for Groups (13)
Romantic (13)
Good Vegetarian Options (12)
Fun (11)
Casual (11)
Business Meals (11)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Healthy (8)
Afternoon Tea (8)
Cozy (7)
Disabled Access (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Private Room (6)
Seasonal (5)
Historic (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Authentic (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Vegan (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Organic (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Family Style (1)
Waterfront (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
758 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

Everytime I eat at Panorama I think I should do this more often! Love the food and the ambiance. Would attribute many improvements to IV..:-)

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Healthy, Afternoon Tea, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 3 days ago

First time at Panorama and I was very pleased. I will definitely return!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 11, 2017

We celebrated my husband's birthday with lunch at Panorama. As usual, the service, food, and atmosphere were all wonderful. We were seated at a table close to the window that provided wonderful views of Forest Park.

Tags: Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 9, 2017

You should add "convenience " to your list of why one would eat at Panorama since that's the only reason I would eat there again. The food, which was highlighted as a chefs favorite, could be aptly described as "mushy glom." My friend agreed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Very nice cafe/bistro feel, family friendly and a wonderful complement to the art gallery. A first time visit and I found the food to be very good. If you don't like surprises simply ask a few questions about the presentation of the item you are considering. I made a reservation, the staff was courteous and we were seated early. A very good experience!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 27, 2017

White table clothes, a park view, good food and service made for a lovely lunch with a friend. The art museum restaurant lived up to recommendations by friends.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 24, 2017

For Saturday brunch, I had the shrimp and grits, and my date had the French toast-- we were both more than pleased with our choices. Even though we were late for our reservation (warning: traffic in Forest Park on the weekends is rough), the host and our waitress were both very friendly. The setting is beautiful, of course, being in the St. Louis Art Museum; the panoramic windows on one wall overlook Art Hill. I definitely plan to return!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 23, 2017

A lovely setting for a casual lunch after viewing this wonderful collection of art

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Lovely setting. Combine lunch here with a visit to the Art Museum and you are set for a wonderful day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 17, 2017

The champagne benedict was amazing, my Pimm's cup was perfect, and the desserts were absolutely delicious (and as big as our heads).

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Paleo Friendly, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Portions of the food were ridiculously small. My lamb portions were 2 Blow Pop size pieces. His steak was smaller than the palm of my hand. The pomme frites were like the shoestring potatoes in a can and tasted burnt. We will definitely not be going back. We had to go out to eat again a few hours later.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Beautiful setting overlooking Forest Park and the food is always imaginative and good but a bit pricey.

Tags: Good for Groups, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Perfect place for lunch when spending the day at the art museum!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Good food, although caesar salad could have used more dressing, and nice ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Classy place hosted by the esteemed chef, Ivy MacGruder.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Healthy, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Went for a birthday lunch with a friend. A nice relaxing afternoon after a day at the museum. Will definitely do it again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Afternoon Tea, People Watching, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Nice venue. Great food. Pleasant staff.
Parking is a disaster - only option at the weekend is the garage and the advertised $5 rate is a lie - restaurant blames it on the Art Museum, SLAM desk staff shrugs and blames it on the parking vendor.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 20, 2017

My sons steak was overcooked - his eggs/toast just so-so. Our grits were good, but not substantial enough to feel full after the meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Delicious and lovely setting for Mothers Day Brunch

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Amazing buffet for Mother's Day. Very delicious food with salads, seafood, prime rib, ham, omelets (with many extras) waffles with toppings, specialty foods, soups, and numerous desserts including pies, cakes, cookies and a doughnut "wall". Service was outstanding. Restaurant is beautiful. The chef greeted guests and servers gave every "mother" a potted plant and seed card.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's Day brunch was wonderful. Great food selections. Excellent service (Anthony). Complimentary mimosas. All the mothers received a succulent and herb seeds for their spring gardens. Food wasn't always hot (buffet), and a few choices seemed to have been frozen beforehand, but the overall experience was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We attended the mother's day brunch---third year we've been there. It's a lovely place and a fine meal. A family tradition hatched. Also, we wish to support the Art Museum, a STL treasure.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Panorama was an excellent dining experience. Our host showed chivalry by pulling our chairs out for us, and our waiter was very patient as we made our selections since it was our first experience there. The wait for the food wasn't long at all and our dishes were absolutely delicious. I am excited about returning for a second visit!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 11, 2017

The scallops and roasted cauliflower risotto were delicious. Anthony our server was very attentive and helpful when I asked him about several gluten-free options.

Tags: Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Vegan, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 9, 2017

This is excellent. Our service and food could not have been better.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Lovely brunch on a Sunday with friends. The food was quiet good and service a nice level.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Excellent food, and beautiful room! We had the best brunch!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Champagne hollandaise sauce and poached eggs were excellent; however, one single leaf of baby spinach and croissant was too small for dish. Three leaves of baby spinach under each egg and increase size of croissant by 50% in order to absorb all that wonderful sauce and you would have a perfect dish. Mixed fruit salad included melon that was not ripe to eat. If serving fresh fruit, it should be ripe. Wait staff was attentive and pleasant.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Overall, we found it to be a great value. We were sad to hear they will no longer be serving dinners (open seating) and will only be doing special events catering. Our server, Anthony was a lovely part of our dinner, full of humor and knowledge about the menu. He made our evening fun!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 5, 2017

This is the best museum restaurant experience I've ever had. The staff took wonderful care of us, the food was delicious, fresh, local, plated artistically and was just the right portion.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Scenic View, Fun, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Nice to pair an exhibition of Degas with a fine dinner at the Art Museum. Food was excellent with entrees of lamb crown and mahi-mahi, both tender and tasty. Only drawback is limited drink menu, but they worked hard to please us there too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Lovely ambiance topped by a great meal! Terrific, friendly service. Blueberry smash was a hit!

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Authentic, Fun, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Afternoon Tea, Comfort Food, Gluten Free Options, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 2, 2017

While usually excellent, I was trying to show off and on this occasion Panorama let me down. Highly recommended the cauliflower which came out roasted but not dressed with honey and almonds which made it taste like burnt cauliflower. Usually Panorama's standards are very high. Not this visit:-(

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 30, 2017

As always this restaurant was delightful! The service was great, food fabulous and the environment enjoyable.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Disabled Access, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 30, 2017

The Art Museum Restaurant has location, location, location...and a nice varied menu.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Romantic, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Good food in a wonderful atmosphere. Too bad it is not open for dinner anymore.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Our Open Table reservation did not appear on their computer. They were overbooked? But they seated us anyway.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 28, 2017

We always arrange to brunch or lunch at Panorama when we go to the Art Museum. It is consistently tasty with friendly and attentive service. The view into Forest Park is delightful.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 28, 2017

The courses were salty. Over salted! The creamy trout sandwich was dry and not well prepared. The Brussel sprout side was way too salty. The Walleye main was over salted. We eat at least once a month at Panorama, but we may not be going back based on our experience yesterday!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Overall, I would recommend this restaurant for the food and view. I will list the positive first. I took a friend for her 60th birthday. Our waiter was very hard to understand and not very knowledgeable of the menu. My friend loved her pasta and my salad was good, as well.
When it came to dessert, we ordered the cake, the waiter said nothing about my friend's birthday and it did not seem special at all! The cake was old and stale and cold (we think it was frozen and thawing in the back) Our neighbors ordered the bread pudding and said it was old and stale, as well. It looked awful.
In a restaurant that is such a "ladies" place. (we had been to the Degas hat exhibit) you have to have great desserts! We loved the view, just the service, lack of attention for a special birthday, and awful desserts give us pause to return....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.