About Pane Rustica

3225 S. MacDill Ave.
Tampa, FL 33629
View Larger Map

Pane Rustica is a Zagat-rated restaurant and artisan bakery featuring handcrafted baked goods, savory lunch items and enticing dinners. Lunch customers can choose from hearth-baked pizza, sandwiches and salads in a casual atmosphere. In the evening, the menu and service style elevate to fine dining, serving unique wood-fired entrees, appetizers and small plates. Our wine and drink menu offer delicious choices to pair with our menu items.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fusion / Eclectic, International

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday: 11:00am - 5:00pm; Wednesday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm, Sunday:11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Wednesday - Saturday: 500pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
South of MacDill and Bay to Bay

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(813) 902-8828

Website:
http://panerusticabakery.com/

Catering:
Pane Rustica offers an extensive menu to guarantee your satisfaction for any party or event - lunch or dinner.

Executive Chef:
Mike Chevalier

Private Party Facilities:
Pane Rustica is the ideal destination for parties and events. We offer detailed planning along with unique food and beverage options that will make your experience truly memorable. Our private rooms can accommodate up to 50 guests for a seated event and approximately 85 guests for a cocktail reception. For those that are adventurous, try our "Shut Up and Eat" catering; tell us the parameters of your function and we will take care of everything else.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Pane Rustica Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Tampa / Central Florida West
Best Overall
Tampa
Best Restaurants in Tampa ›

fit for foodies (43)
neighborhood gem (42)
great for lunch (32)
See All
special occasion (31)
good for groups (27)
hot spot (21)
romantic (17)
vibrant bar scene (16)
notable wine list (12)
great for brunch (11)
kid-friendly (10)
late-night find (9)
great for outdoor dining (2)
Sort By:
Newest
434 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Favorite

Dined on May 7, 2016

One of our family favorites for lunch or dinner. Service is always excellent with a great variety on the menu. My filet was tender with a nice crust, cooked to perfection. Espresso cookie sundae was a perfect ending.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Always amazing food!

vip
Dined on May 4, 2016

Always amazing food!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Favorite Tampa spot!

Dined on April 29, 2016

Service-Excellent Food-Scrumptious Aomosphere-Perfect Dining at PaneRustica-Priceless

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pane Rustica is my favorite restaurant i ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

Pane Rustica is my favorite restaurant in Tampa! It can sometimes be a little loud and hard to hear but overall, excellent!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Dinner was very good. I had the ravioli ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

Dinner was very good. I had the ravioli and chicken.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic Food & Service

Dined on April 9, 2016

My wife had lunch awhile back and suggested we try dinner. Our two different menu selections were delicious, we are planning a return visit to try two different menu items. Our server Lindsay was attentive, but not in our face, she knew the menu and had a great personality. The homemade bread was fresh, crunchy and almost a meal itself. I ordered a Caesar salad and did not like the bland Caesar dressing. My only complaint on what was a superb dining experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Service always exceeds expectations and ...

Dined on March 19, 2016

Service always exceeds expectations and daily specials always delight!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place!

Dined on March 4, 2016

Food is awesome. I recommend the short rib. Great spot for a date night or any special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We sat in the back.

Dined on March 4, 2016

The back of the restaurant reminded me of a small banquet room- it had potential to be nice but was unfinished. Food was very good- service was great but not the fun- cool place I had envisioned - that was upfront and around the bar area. Not a cheap evening with 4 drinks, 2 salads 2 entrees and 1 dessert it was 175.00 with tip. I would probably hit this place again with a friend after work and sit in the bar- there are better places for 4 people in our age group to have a nice dinner with a lot more atmosphere. When we left it was crazy loud and nothing left in the bakery. The red neck winestore next to it was fun to check out:)

Tags: special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Terrific food and service

vip
Dined on February 26, 2016

Our experience at Pane Rustica was fantastic. The fish was fresh and prepared with wonderful flavors. Everything was terrific!!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

No need to look for any other place!

Dined on February 26, 2016

We always looks for great restaurants. Each time that a new restaurant is tested, we always ask ourselves: "Why did we go anywhere other than Pane Rustica?!?"

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

1st time but not the last!

Dined on February 21, 2016

Great food, excellent service, very loud, but that won't stop us from returning to try additional menu items. Try a Woodford Old Fashioned and don't forget the apple dessert!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Sad to see a downhill slide

vip
Dined on February 20, 2016

Friday night dinner. Something we do every week. Arrived 20 mins pior to reservation so we could sit at the bar. The one bright spot for the night? The lovely blonde female bartender who could NOT have been nicer (well, after we sat for 10 mins waiting for someone on the bar staff to notice us...) But the dinner experience left much to be desired. 1-Service was spotty at best. We sat for another 10 mins before anyone came. 2-When we ordered dinner, our first courses never came (well, not for almost 15 mins--a bit absurd for soup and a salad) and when I inquired, the server's facial expression clearly said 'oops, I forgot to put those in.' 3-First courses were then rushed out and--of course--dinner came 2 mins after. And one dish was wildly oversalted while the other was undercooked. 4-Server did not check back until we were nearly done with dinner. And then 5-My biggest pet peeve---plates sat for another 10 mins before anyone removed them (and NOTHING is worse than when at least 5 different staffers walked by and actually LOOKED at our table---but did nothing). The only saving grace? Dessert was exceptional. But my beef is this: For a restaurant that has rather high price points, the service does NOT meet the expectations that price points set. For my $$, there are FAR better restaurants at Pane Rustica's price point--restaurants where the service is exceptional, attentive and engaging. Friday's experience relegated Pane Rustica to that bunch of restaurants that--for us--are best defined as 'Used to like going there, but now we don't have to go back for 4-6 months.' For the price:value equation and the spotty service, my advce is caveat emptor.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Kept Secret-topnotch food, atmosphere,service

Dined on February 14, 2016

It was our first visit but not our last, the food was exceptional but the atmosphere is very relaxing but yet classy, the server Alexandro, lets just say it was service should be all about. He checked on us through out our meal and took time to discuss our choices, make suggestions and recommendation. We never had to look for him once and to me food does get your there but the service makes you want to go back. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service3

I never have a bad meal there. However, ...

vip
Dined on February 13, 2016

I never have a bad meal there. However, I felt like I was being rushed by the manager who wants to put another patron at our table. I hope this doesn't happen again or I will stop going there.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great service

Dined on February 13, 2016

Can't recall out server's name, but she is blond, young and attractive. We were celebrating my mom's 91st birthday and our server was just lovely, a great personality while providing professional and informative service. She helped make the evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous!

vip
Dined on February 12, 2016

Our meals at Pane Rustica are always fabulous! The service and the food are wonderful. We go almost every Friday night.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Had a $17 flat bread that was just ok. ...

Dined on February 6, 2016

Had a $17 flat bread that was just ok. Don't feel the need to go back for dinner. Ambience and Server were great though.

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

cd8ed

vip
Dined on February 6, 2016

always good--one of our routine go to restaurants for Friday night.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service4

Have never been disappointed with menu, ...

Dined on January 29, 2016

Have never been disappointed with menu, great service.

food5
ambience4
service4

This place was delicious. The flourless ...

Dined on January 23, 2016

This place was delicious. The flourless chocolate cake is to die for. And the gnocchi isn't anything short of perfection.

food4
ambience2
service4

We were hoping for a nice date night. Th ...

vip
Dined on January 22, 2016

We were hoping for a nice date night. The table we were seated at was squeezed between two larger tables and neither my husband or I were comfortable. We asked for one of the two tops that were available and were told no. It was extremely noisy in the dining room. Not quite the night we hoped for, but the service and food were both very good.

food1
ambience1
service4
value2

Disappointing

Dined on January 22, 2016

I must say I was very disappointed with our visit to Pane Rustica. Although the server was very nice, the food was inedible. My friend and I both ordered grilled calamari which we had to send back because it was way undercooked. When it came back it was still undercooked and had a bad taste. We should have complained but we just didn't eat it. The person who cleaned the table did not comment that our calamari was still on our plates. My husband had pasta with chicken. It was very mediocre. We will not go there again. 😟 I will say that the gelato was good.

food5
ambience4
service4

Great Italian food and service!

Dined on January 16, 2016

Great Italian food and service!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great spot

Dined on January 14, 2016

Had an overall really great experience at Pane Rustica. It has a romantic ambiance with a great wine selection and food options. Loved the appetizers and pasta and everything tasted amazing! Great waiter that was very attentive and kind.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This will be a regular haunt

Dined on January 10, 2016

After being (repeatedly) how good this place is, my wife and I finally went there for dinner. I was surprised to see it was in a strip mall, but once inside it looked nothing like a strip mall establishment. The cocktails were delicious. I've been told--but can not confirm first hand--that the bar is very good and that at least one bartender is ready to create custom cocktails for the adventurous drinker. Dinner was great. The menu changes daily and we both went with an entrée off the nightly menu. The lattes were also good and the espresso cookies were to die for. We will go back...often I'd guess.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4

This is a wonderful place in South Tampa ...

vip
Dined on January 9, 2016

This is a wonderful place in South Tampa. The food is always yummy and the bar scene is dynamic. The burgers are great - but my husband's was a little soggy. Don't leave without eating the potato chips and dip -- Yummy. Oh and the risotto is a can't miss. During the day this place is great for lunch with a full service bakery. At night it turns into a fun hot spot.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and service! Recently moved t ...

Dined on January 2, 2016

Great food and service! Recently moved to the area and have been in search of quality restaurants. Very happy with this establishment. Don't be fooled by the strip mall location, this is a fabulous place to get a great meal in a casual atmosphere. The bar area was also hopping and looked like it would be a lot of fun to hang out in.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Don't think we'll be returning.

Dined on January 1, 2016

Maybe New Year's eve was not the time to try this restaurant. It was extremely loud and the food was just okay. There were 6 of us and 2 were happy with our meals. The Rustica salad that was raved about on Yelp had too much dressing and just wasn't very good. A little disappointing since we have heard good things about this place. Not sure if I would return.

food5
ambience1
service5
value2

Comfort

Dined on December 16, 2015

Everything was great except the tables were way too small. We had a full dinner and the small round table surface was very crowded and uncomfortable.

Tags: great for brunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I took a former buyer who was celebratin ...

Dined on December 10, 2015

I took a former buyer who was celebrating his birthday and a lady who used to be in the same office as I am to celebrate Chris' birthday It was the perfect evening I think the waiter made it amazingly special He went out of his way to make our night a fun event. The food is always outstanding and you can never go wrong with the specials I love this place and the night was excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Hip, hip, hooray but...

Dined on December 6, 2015

I love Pane Rustica and have had a lot of great meals there. I ordered the squid the other night though, for the first time, and I wish the chef would spend some time in Greece. Supposedly the squid was grilled, but there was no sign of grilling in the flavor or texture. It was a bunch of white, bland rings. When I've had grilled squid in the Mediterranean, it always includes some pink parts and tastes and looks grilled. I also thought that whatever sauce accompanied the squid was too acidic. Also, as usual, I ordered the Rustica salad. This time the greens were a bit too damp. The others in my party of four were quite happy with their food. We all loved the fruit cobbler.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food3
ambience4
service5

Ok, but nothing special

Dined on December 4, 2015

We have been sampling the "special restaurants" around Tampa Bay. We drove a long way to get there. We wouldn't do it again. The prices are toward the higher range but the product just wasn't there. We had pork cheeks and pasta. Pork cheeks were good, not great. Pasta was reported as OK. Service was very good and the pizzas looked great. If this was located 10 minutes from home, we would try again, but after a drive, no thanks.

food3
ambience3
service4

Need to step it up

vip
Dined on November 21, 2015

Everything was good not great. Considering price it was really just ok. Nice bar scene. Had to send my dish back as rice was cold. Wine Special of the day, a Pinot Noir was average at best. Need to step up.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5

Delicious as always

Dined on November 19, 2015

Pane Rustica never disappoints. You can always count on a good meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Consistently great food!

Dined on November 18, 2015

Consistently great food!

food5
ambience4
service4

great south tampa spot

Dined on November 15, 2015

Have been repeated dinners for both lunch and dinner. Always great choices and wide selection. Nice option for vegetarians too

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5

Pane Rustica is 1 of the Best in the Tampa Area

Dined on November 14, 2015

A never a bad meal or bad service. You can count on a very nice evening all the way around! Brought friends from NY who have moved in the Tampa area and they loved everything about the experience!! They always have a fabulous special menu and we had the Pompano, which was perfect. Great job and Great service.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Heard of the place and have had dessert ...

vip
Dined on November 8, 2015

Heard of the place and have had dessert but never dinner. Food was very good, drinks were well made and desserts are yummy.

food5
ambience5
service5

Always the best

Dined on October 29, 2015

We are never disappointed with the quality and ingenuity of food. Our favorite restaurant in all of Tampa Bay.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.