About Pane Rustica

Pane Rustica is a Zagat-rated restaurant and artisan bakery featuring handcrafted baked goods, savory lunch items and enticing dinners. Lunch customers can choose from hearth-baked pizza, sandwiches and salads in a casual atmosphere. In the evening, the menu and service style elevate to fine dining, serving unique wood-fired entrees, appetizers and small plates. Our wine and drink menu offer delicious choices to pair with our menu items.

3225 S. MacDill Ave.
Tampa, FL 33629
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fusion / Eclectic, International

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday: 11:00am - 5:00pm; Wednesday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm, Sunday:11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Wednesday - Saturday: 500pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
South of MacDill and Bay to Bay

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(813) 902-8828

Website:
http://panerusticabakery.com/

Catering:
Pane Rustica offers an extensive menu to guarantee your satisfaction for any party or event - lunch or dinner.

Executive Chef:
Mike Chevalier

Private Party Facilities:
Pane Rustica is the ideal destination for parties and events. We offer detailed planning along with unique food and beverage options that will make your experience truly memorable. Our private rooms can accommodate up to 50 guests for a seated event and approximately 85 guests for a cocktail reception. For those that are adventurous, try our "Shut Up and Eat" catering; tell us the parameters of your function and we will take care of everything else.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Pane Rustica Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.5

Noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (18)
Good for a Date (16)
Creative Cuisine (15)
See All
Casual (15)
Good for Groups (9)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Special Occasion (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Fun (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Authentic (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Romantic (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Tapas (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Business Meals (3)
Cozy (2)
Healthy (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
People Watching (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Seasonal (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort by
S
622 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined 6 days ago

Warm and inviting lively atmosphere. We were seated immediately. Attentive service. Rotini pasta dish was excellent. Salad was a bit over-dressed for my liking. Good bread with hummus spread. Yummy peanut butter gelato for dessert.

Tags: Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 8, 2017

This is our favorite restaurant in South Tampa and has been for some time now. It never disappoints.

Tags: Quick Bite, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Afternoon Tea, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 6, 2017

A hidden gem. This doesn't look like much but a bakery from the street but it is much more. Pane Rustica serves an innovative specialty menu along with a very good selection on the regular menu most nights. They offer a variety of appetizers, small plates, salads, traditional favorites, pasta and pizzas. Just be aware that it can be loud. The best thing is to stop by the bakery for take out dessert on your way home. Highly recommend!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Seasonal, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 6, 2017

The food here is fantastic, our server was wonderful and very accommodating with food allergy issues, the wine list is widely varied and not overpriced, and all in all a super experience for everyone in the group!

Tags: Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Fun, Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 3, 2017

Very pricey for mediocre food quality and quantity. The pasta was overly salty . I really don’t understand what the hype is about . There are much better places for better food at that price

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

 
·Dined on December 2, 2017

Pasta dishes are excellent!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 2, 2017

Absolutely delicious! Waitstaff and attention exceptional. Ask for Anitra for special treatment. Our favorite!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 30, 2017

Pane Rustica is one of my favorites!! The menu choices are very creative and well prepared . I especially like the crab cakes and fresh salads. Also, the bar is tops- the cocktails are terrific!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 24, 2017

Service and food were good but not to the level that the rating suggests. Appears to be a neighborhood favorite that gets those high ratings from the folks that visit on a regular basis. Scallops were a bit over cooked and grit in two of the four. Cappuccino was not good. Overall not terrible but expected better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 19, 2017

If you want a meal that never disappointments this is your place!

Tags: Casual, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 17, 2017

We always expect a quality meal and always get it at Pane Rustica. The service is excellent as well although it gets very busy and sometimes you get a glitch. This is expected though management does control it well. Overall, this restaurant sets a high standard in the South Tampa.

Tags: Tapas, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 17, 2017

We love Pane Rustica, the food is always great, not crazy about the noise, but We can deal with it because of the food.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 11, 2017

The Truffle chips appetizer is amazing! I also Love the cucumber gimlet cocktail. It's a nice place for date night or couples night out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 5, 2017

Our 1st time there....service was great....our meal was okay...Would go back and try something else on the menu.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 3, 2017

We had our usual wonderful dinner with innovative dishes, great wine, and wonderful service. They always allow us to split salads or change up a side when necessary. We sat and visited for an extended period and were never rushed. We love it there!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 2, 2017

First time we went to Pane Rustica for dinner, even though we go there for lunch quite often, and we will definitely come back; the food is excellent, different and creative, definitely not your chain restaurant and the ambiance is great; good wines too ; the only negative is the lighting was a little dim in the area we were seated. Overall , quite a gem for South Tampa.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 28, 2017

Great service by our server, Anitra which contributed to a great evening dinner with good friends!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 28, 2017

I'm disappointed in our dining experience; however, I'd like to point out that the staff is always really attentive and wonderful. This is the last time I'll give Pane another try. The crispy duck was very fatty and not crispy at all. The filet mignon was ordered medium-rare and arrived medium-well. The flavor of both dishes was lackluster. The price per dish is steep, so my expectation is to have an excellent meal and unfortunately, this restaurant fell very flat and was a real disappointment; I will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value2

 
·Dined on October 25, 2017

I love Pane Rustica. I had the special with steak and ravioli and it was amazing!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 21, 2017

The only thing usual about this gem is the phenomenal food & service, world class every visit! Jared delivers a personable experience for a date night or a large party. The variety of daily specials will bring you in often & the filet is the best in town!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 20, 2017

First time experience was fantastic! Pan seared calamari with peanut sauce was delicious aling with an entree of jumbo sea scallops topped with an amazing espresso cookie sundae... and our server, Jared, was impeccable and engaging.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on October 14, 2017

Good food. Loud. Visiting from out of town for large group special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

Don't let the outside fool you (it's in a strip center). This is an upscale classy place. Perfect for any special occasion! The food was fantastic, the ambiance was great,
the hostess, bartenders, servers and everyone on staff were on point! You won't be disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 5, 2017

A wonderful evening, Bill was considerate of my vegan choices , and I will be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Brian went above and beyond to accommodate our large group on a busy night. Jared was fantastic, both with the adults and the kids! PR never disappoints!

Tags: Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Healthy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Awesome as always. Every time we go the food is awesome. We really like that you change up the burger and offer up many other specials. They drinks are wonderful too.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 28, 2017

Food was delicious!!! Must try!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

We love Pane Rustica and eat there often. One of our go to places for breakfast, lunch, or dinner. They have their regular menu but specials that are fantastic. Love the shut up and eat it for lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Always a great dining experience at Pane Rustica. Food was delicious, service was excellent. Love supporting this business.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

Excellent dining experience, with friendly and accommodating service. Extremely dependable. One of our favorite restaurants in Tampa.

Tags: Healthy, Great for Brunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 2, 2017

It's the best everytime you go

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Wonderful. Food great! Scallops cooked perfectly. Waitress did great job!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 1, 2017

great service, excellent food and the specials offered were outstanding. also found the wine list to be pretty good and reasonable. Bread and hummus for the table nice touch. the truffle chips simply amazing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Outstanding food, creatuve menu that changes, good service, great for dinner. Our party of four was impressed by the variety of choices. The seared scallops were fantastic, the bbq chicken flatbread was awesome. Known for it's freash baked breads and Itslian dishes, this place has one of the best burgers in town

Tags: Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 26, 2017

We sat at a booth in the bar so that's probably why service was a little slow. Our waiter was also the bartender. Food was great! Loooove the truffle chips with the dip!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

The food was creative. The salmon dish was very good with distinct flavors. The truffle oil potato chip appetizer with onion dip was good but I think it could have used a little more truffle flavor and a more creative flavored dip. I didn't recognize any of the wines on the wine list but the lower priced Chardonnay buy the glass ($10) was very nice, as was the Pinot. Our waiter Oscar was EXCELLENT!!! The chocolate expresso cookie was REALLY good. We had to get an extra to take home as proof. :-)

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 23, 2017

A weeknight dinner for 4--last moment decision to venture out in the rain. Pane Rustica is always a roll of the dice as it typically proves to be hit or miss (and either 'really a hit' or 'really a miss'). Our food was OK--flatbreads, a burger, a pasta dish. Solid food to have casual conversation over. BUT...Pane Rustica is NOT cheap and--as a result--value expectations are higher for patrons. Therefore, when our round of 4 Old Fashioneds came to the table and they were the palest shade of tan, our eyebrows went up. And honestly? Those 4 drinks were (1) so watered down with club soda; (2) so overly sweet with simple syrup; and (3) so packed with ice that it was insulting. We ordered a second round and I specifically said to the waitress 'tell the bar that we do NOT want any soda in our drinks (since, among other things, a classic Old Fashioned does NOT have soda in it!). What did we get? The same Old Fashioneds but with....water. Seriously Pane Rustica? For the price points you charge and the quality you allege, these were like bad drinks on a cheap Carnival Cruise where the bar waters everything down to save money. And it ruined the mood and the meal. But it accomplished a few key things for us as consumers: (1) it lowered the image of Pane Rustica for all of us--dropping them several notches into the 'expensive restaurants that are run by apparently cheap people' category; (2) it eliminated any need for us to return any time soon; and (3) it totally eliminated any chance that our foursome will refer or speak highly of Pane Rustica should anyone ask. In a business where revenue is based on guest satisfaction and the guest's willingness to return and recommend the brand, Pane Rustica failed. And while it seems a strong word, 'insulted' is the most appropriate term. Think twice about dining here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Austin)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Best food in the area, it was my fourth time there in the past three months.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

We loved this restaurant. Our server Alexis catered to my vegan diet and gave us a special treat for our first time visit. The good was fabulous and the low lighting added to the ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

Had a great meal prior to catching a show at Amelie Arena. Service and food were excellent and they got us in and out quickly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.