About Pane Rustica

Pane Rustica is a Zagat-rated restaurant and artisan bakery featuring handcrafted baked goods, savory lunch items and enticing dinners. Lunch customers can choose from hearth-baked pizza, sandwiches and salads in a casual atmosphere. In the evening, the menu and service style elevate to fine dining, serving unique wood-fired entrees, appetizers and small plates. Our wine and drink menu offer delicious choices to pair with our menu items.

3225 S. MacDill Ave.
Tampa, FL 33629
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fusion / Eclectic, International

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday: 11:00am - 5:00pm; Wednesday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm, Sunday:11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Wednesday - Saturday: 500pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
South of MacDill and Bay to Bay

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(813) 902-8828

Website:
http://panerusticabakery.com/

Catering:
Pane Rustica offers an extensive menu to guarantee your satisfaction for any party or event - lunch or dinner.

Executive Chef:
Mike Chevalier

Private Party Facilities:
Pane Rustica is the ideal destination for parties and events. We offer detailed planning along with unique food and beverage options that will make your experience truly memorable. Our private rooms can accommodate up to 50 guests for a seated event and approximately 85 guests for a cocktail reception. For those that are adventurous, try our "Shut Up and Eat" catering; tell us the parameters of your function and we will take care of everything else.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Pane Rustica Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.5

value

4.6

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (28)
Casual (23)
Good for a Date (21)
See All
Fit for Foodies (21)
Special Occasion (18)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Great for Lunch (16)
Hot Spot (15)
Good for Groups (15)
Worth the Drive (14)
Bar Seating (12)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Romantic (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Authentic (11)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Happy Hour (10)
Fun (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Kid-friendly (9)
Comfort Food (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Business Meals (6)
People Watching (6)
Healthy (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Notable Wine List (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Seasonal (4)
Cozy (3)
Private Room (3)
Tapas (3)
Family Style (3)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Organic (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Sort By:
S
584 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined 5 days ago

Best food in the area, it was my fourth time there in the past three months.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

We loved this restaurant. Our server Alexis catered to my vegan diet and gave us a special treat for our first time visit. The good was fabulous and the low lighting added to the ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Had a great meal prior to catching a show at Amelie Arena. Service and food were excellent and they got us in and out quickly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Excellent neighborhood place. Incredible food and service.

Tags: Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Afternoon Coffee, Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 2, 2017

One of the best restaurants in Tampa. A little out of the way for the business crowd but worth the trip. Creative food, great bread and a good wine list.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 29, 2017

This was our first visit to Pane Rustica. We chose a spot in a separated from the bar for our quiet birthday celebration. Everything about our experience was first class. Our waiter was attentive, but not overbearing, and gave us an excellent overview of our menu options. We chose the Fresh Saffron Pappardelle, the Red wine braised boneless Meyer’s Short Rib, and the Orange lavender seared Scottish Salmon. All were perfectly prepared and delicious. We will definitely return to try more of their menu.

Tags: Tapas, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Our first visit was excellent and the food and service were first rate. We had the Divers Scallops and they were perfectly cooked with terrific sides. We would definitely go back.

Tags: People Watching, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Always outstanding ... food, service, wine are terrific ... and staff is inviting and welcoming ...

Tags: Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Local Ingredients, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Only complaint was noise level. The food and service is outstanding.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Coffee, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 8, 2017

We have been going to Pane for lunch for years. This is the first time I've been for dinner. It was wonderful. The food was very well prepared, just like all the lunches. Their daily menu is always nice with plenty of choices. To top it off, they have a great bakery!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Casual, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Great food! Service was spot on.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Have family living in the Tampa area--that's how we were introduced to this restaurant. We were attending a concert in Tampa. The dinner was delicious and the service excellent!!!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Romantic, Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 7, 2017

The food AND the concept are great. I just wish it wasn't so loud!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Never been disappointed with the food or service here. Always excellent.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Ask for the room behind the bar or else it is a bit noisy. The Cajun Chicken Flatbread, the house-made Chips and onion dip and the Rigatoni are our favorites. The Danish Blue Cheese salad is outstanding as well. Enjoy!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on June 24, 2017

This is such a good restaurant. The food is always outstanding, the staff is accommodating and helpful. I have lived in many big cities with really fine restaurants and the food that is served here is just as good if not better. I highly recommend Pane Rustica.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Jared ALWAYS delivers outstanding service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 17, 2017

I think the restaurant has five stars because all the staff family members leave five-star reviews. I was shocked how bad the food was. My husband's pasta was cold and my gnocchi was burned black color. What a shame. It had been a while since I had such a bad meal. I feel bad for the bartender.
Do not go there

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Food was excellent - salmon and halibut. Service was great. Seated us in back dining room which is much quieter than the main area - which was appreciated.

Tags: Business Meals, Casual, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 16, 2017

We have never been disappointed The food and service are always stellar!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 9, 2017

This place never disappoints. They do wonders with fish. I had the halibut Friday night and it was outstanding. My bride had the shrimp flat bread, but it was a little bit overpowered by the spec. But still very good as usual.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 27, 2017

The cocktails & food were incredible & so was Jared!!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 26, 2017

My Dad was visiting from Illinois, and he loves any type of seafood. Red snapper was one of the specials that evening, and it was fantastic--(all 3 of us ordered this).
We ate in the bar area in a booth which is the best seating in the house. Our bar waiter was on point, and we had a great experience.
We go there often for lunch, but it can be very loud for dinner and makes it difficult to carry on a conversation.

Tags: Good for Groups, Organic, Bar Seating, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great food and atmosphere. Been going for years and food is always consistently great. Recommend for lunch and dinner.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 13, 2017

It starts with the complimentary bread (which is excellent) and the accompanying hummus dip with roasted red peppers. The salads are delicious and the Danish blue cheese salad is incredible. My wife and I always share the rosemary roasted mushroom flatbread pizza which is wonderful. The wait staff is very pleasant and professional and do not rush us through a meal- a fact that we greatly appreciate. We never have been here and NOT had a great meal. I think this is the best restaurant in Tampa Bay, being better than a famous Tampa Italian restaurant where our dinner cost three times as much as what we paid at Pane Rustica but couldn't really compare.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 12, 2017

We both had the halibut special. It was fresh from Alaska and VERY good. The bread was excellent as always. If it were closer for me I would eat there more frequently.

Since we wanted to talk, they seated us in the quieter of the two dining rooms. Overall, a great experience and I will return soon.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 10, 2017

If wanting it to be quiet, make a reservation for the back room. Much quieter than the front.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Recommended come her by friends. My husband and I both absolutely loved our food. We also had a great waiter. A great experience overall. We will be coming back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 5, 2017

My favorite place in South Tampa! Great service and outstanding food- EVERY single time! Must go.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 5, 2017

awesome food

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Very good food with nice variety on menu. We all enjoyed our entrees and wine.
We would definitely return.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Another great dinner at my favorite spot in South Tampa. We are always able to share, meat is always perfectly cooked and we always feel welcome.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, People Watching, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Afternoon Coffee, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 4, 2017

We came here for our wedding anniversary after it was recommended to us by several people. It was a modest but nice restaurant with outstanding cocktails and food. Our dessert was given to us for our special evening by our server who was very attentive and helpful.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The watermelon salad is phenomenal And for a starter salad is much larger than what I thought it was going to be. Perfect for a meal entrée

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Dined on a Saturday evening. Our server, Derek, was great ! He answered questions about portion size and was very engaged and attentive. I had questions about a wine with which I was unfamiliar and he brought the manager over to help. The wine was terrific, as were all the creative courses made with the freshest of ingredients. My husband loved his usual Caesar salad and duck breast with chorizo potatoes; I had grilled octopus and crab cakes. Flavors pop and presentation always rocks at Pane Rustica. Desserts are to die for! We chose the apple tart and espresso cookies with gelato...a chocolate lover's dream. We sat in the back which was a blessing because the noise level is very high...open layout with hard surfaces and BUSY bar. Not a place for quiet conversation, but oh...the dining experience is worth it! It's a long drive for us, but we'll definitely be back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Jared our server was amazing, Karen the owner outdid herself it was our first experience at Pane Rustica and we will be going back for the rest of our lives.... wow🌹🌹🌹🌹🌹🌹🌹🌹🌹🌹🌹

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Went to Pane Rustica for our anniversary. We arrived early and were seated right away. Took our time ordering, as we wanted to enjoy the evening. The bread and hummus were excellent, we split a nice sized salad but hadn't time to finish it before our meals arrived, barely 15 minutes after we ordered! There wasn't room on our tiny table for our plates, so I scraped the salad onto my entre plate. The dinners were lovely; pork tenderloin and short ribs. Brussels sprouts were tough but had good flavor.
It was a nice evening, but next time I will ask for a corner spot and specify that they not put in our dinner order until we finish our salad. Too rushed!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 22, 2017

From the time we walked in the door until we walked out, the service and food was fantastic!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Our first visit for dinner and we throughly enjoy our evening. The food was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Amazing food & phenomenal service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.