About Pane Rustica

Pane Rustica is a Zagat-rated restaurant and artisan bakery featuring handcrafted baked goods, savory lunch items and enticing dinners. Lunch customers can choose from hearth-baked pizza, sandwiches and salads in a casual atmosphere. In the evening, the menu and service style elevate to fine dining, serving unique wood-fired entrees, appetizers and small plates. Our wine and drink menu offer delicious choices to pair with our menu items.

3225 S. MacDill Ave.
Tampa, FL 33629
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fusion / Eclectic, International

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday: 11:00am - 5:00pm; Wednesday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm, Sunday:11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Wednesday - Saturday: 500pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
South of MacDill and Bay to Bay

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(813) 902-8828

Website:
http://panerusticabakery.com/

Catering:
Pane Rustica offers an extensive menu to guarantee your satisfaction for any party or event - lunch or dinner.

Executive Chef:
Mike Chevalier

Private Party Facilities:
Pane Rustica is the ideal destination for parties and events. We offer detailed planning along with unique food and beverage options that will make your experience truly memorable. Our private rooms can accommodate up to 50 guests for a seated event and approximately 85 guests for a cocktail reception. For those that are adventurous, try our "Shut Up and Eat" catering; tell us the parameters of your function and we will take care of everything else.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Pane Rustica Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.5

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (23)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Creative Cuisine (17)
See All
Great for Lunch (12)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Casual (12)
Hot Spot (11)
Business Meals (10)
Authentic (10)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Bar Seating (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Local Ingredients (9)
Special Occasion (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Fun (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Notable Wine List (7)
Private Room (7)
Seasonal (7)
Happy Hour (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Comfort Food (6)
People Watching (6)
Romantic (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Cozy (5)
Family Style (5)
Afternoon Coffee (5)
Open Kitchen (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Healthy (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Tapas (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Organic (1)
Historic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Great Beer (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
548 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 4 days ago

Went to Pane Rustica for our anniversary. We arrived early and were seated right away. Took our time ordering, as we wanted to enjoy the evening. The bread and hummus were excellent, we split a nice sized salad but hadn't time to finish it before our meals arrived, barely 15 minutes after we ordered! There wasn't room on our tiny table for our plates, so I scraped the salad onto my entre plate. The dinners were lovely; pork tenderloin and short ribs. Brussels sprouts were tough but had good flavor.
It was a nice evening, but next time I will ask for a corner spot and specify that they not put in our dinner order until we finish our salad. Too rushed!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 4 days ago

From the time we walked in the door until we walked out, the service and food was fantastic!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Our first visit for dinner and we throughly enjoy our evening. The food was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Amazing food & phenomenal service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 1, 2017

The best restaurant in Tampa, it never disappoints. Great from start to finish

Tags: Open Kitchen, Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Wood Oven, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Loved the daily special menu and wine list. Server was the best! First time visitor, will go back!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Spicy, Pre/post Theatre, Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Business Meals, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 25, 2017

We have eaten here many times and every meal was great! Whenever we are in St Pete or Tampa area we make a point to eat here!

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Private Room, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 25, 2017

My husband and I came here for date night and we were overly pleased with the service for starters, Marcus was AMAZING!! Everyone was polite and attentive to our needs. The food was delicious and the seasoning was spot on. It was a cozy restaurant and we had a wonderful time. We will definitely come back and will recommend it to our family and friends.

Tags: Late-night Find, Cozy, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Never disappointed at Pané Rustica! The handcrafted cocktails are second to none and the food is fabulous!

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Third visit in two months. Will return. Love the food. Noise level is a bit high during peak times.

Tags: Great for Lunch, People Watching, Disabled Access, Family Style, Private Room, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Our food was delicious and there was quite a variety. Our server, Geryn, was awesome!! Friendly, efficient and knowledgeable about the menu. She really added to our experience.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Romantic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Pane is always outstanding. The food is outstanding, and service is impeccable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Always excellent. Pane Rustica is a classy, fun dining or bar experience. Also great for lunch. Food is fresh and creative. Good cocktails.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Family Style, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 26, 2017

I love this restaurant. Food is always great for lunch and dinner.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Wonderful Dinner With my wife at Pane Rustica..Red Wine Braised Boneless Short Ribs..out of this World! Definitely a must! Our server Bill was great! 😄😄#panerustica Capt. Mark Gore

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Excellent service, food and drinks!

Tags: Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Molecular Gastronomy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Best restaurant in Tampa, hands down!! From fresh baked goods and breads and pizza to amazing entrees. Great for lunch, dinner and weekend brunch.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Casual, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Afternoon Coffee, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We are from out of town found the restaurant via OpenTable and had a wonderful experience. The service was excellent our server was tremendous and the food was dynamite. We would like a second location in orlando.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Great Ingredients but really small quantities considering the price. $26 for grouper dinner that only had 4 small nuggets of fish was disappointing.

The pasta dishes were delicious and the ingredients were top notch.

But again, the amounts were minuscule compared to the price.

Service was beyond excellent. Hostess had our reservation, seated us right away and even had the high chair for the baby at the table. Marcus waited on us and he was terrific. There was a screw-up on an order but the manager fixed and gave us an extra dish for free. Very cool.

And the atmosphere was magnificent for a Saturday night dinner.

Bottom Line: Love your place, where's the beef?

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 16, 2017

If you like eating in a cave, and not being able to have a conversation without yelling, this is the place. I understand ambience, but it was to dark even to see a menu. Service was slow and unfriendly. I had the scallops, which were very good, my friend had what was supposed to be Grouper, but she thought different. Ceasar salad was over dressed and soggy with croutons that could cut your mouth. They were very large. Not a salad to eat on a date.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great food and service, relaxing atmosphere - highly recommended.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Valentine's Day dinner. I had the Veal, she had the Short Ribs. Pate was our waiter, he made excellent recommendations and didn't try to upsell me when I inquired about the most expensive items on the menu. Great experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I have had a few good lunches here but dinner was a disappointment. My pasta was anything but fresh. In fact, it was a little sticky. My bourbon cocktail was a little bland. I am not even sure how that is possible. Ambiance that works for lunch feels manic and just loud for dinner when the lights have been dimmed.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 9, 2017

We always have a great experience dining at this restaurant. It is family friendly with great tasting food for both adults and children.

Tags: Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Private Room, Wood Oven, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Excellent food! Overall, a very positive dining experience. The dessert Expresso Sundae was amazing. Our waiter Oscar listened to my request for a cucumber cocktail and it came out perfect. The calamari was grilled perfectly. It was very busy and that is to be expected on a Saturday evening.

Tags: Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Quick Bite, Creative Cuisine, Afternoon Coffee, Authentic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Always a good experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 21, 2017

As usual, they did not disappoint. Had a surprise party for a friend and the service was tremendous. Food is always top rate- try the short ribs- they are melt in your mouth.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Good for Birthdays
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Pane Rustica remains one of my favorite places to dine, despite the incredibly loud atmosphere. Luckily, a back dining room solved that issue for us!! The service was quite good with knowledgeable staff. Our server really paid attention as we enjoyed our cocktails. He was nice enough to ask when we wanted our food- no rushing here!!

Everyone enjoyed their meals, and left quite satisfied with their dining experiences. I especially enjoy the wonderful, creative salads and the crab cakes are fantastic !! It won't be long before I return !

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fun, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 14, 2017

I frequent this restaurant and it never disappoints!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Afternoon Coffee, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Food is great! Casual , family friendly, prices a little high. The tables are close to each other - conversations not private .

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 14, 2017

I have enjoyed Pane Rustica in the past, but this visit was disappointing. It is always noisy, but usually the food is excellent. Unfortunately, not the case this time. Although my scallops were cooked perfectly, they were cold in the center. I couldn't eat them. The other food on the plate was nothing special. I had this same meal about a month ago and it was exceptionally good. Our service was generally good, although our server asked "is everything delicious" without waiting for a response. Perhaps she knew and didn't want to hear it.

Tags: Casual
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Excellent permanent menu and extensive daily specials. Everything was fresh, well prepared and delicious.

Tags: Business Meals, Casual, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 1, 2017

food was very bland and tasteless. we went on new years eve, so maybe they were overwhelmed, but not good. the bread that came with the mussels was so burnt it looked like it was left over from a fire. the server didn't think that was a problem. we did.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Eddie was outstanding. It was very busy but he still was attentive and accommodating to our needs. Such a great dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 21, 2016

We were very disappointed. Three of us had fish, it was over cooked. I noticed that one of our party had the gnocchi and only ate half of his meal. The sides were blah, nothing special. We were seated near the doors on a cool night and had the night air blowing on us. It was an expensive night . We would have had a better meal at Applebee's.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Great food, drinks and ambiance. Truly a great dinner and so happy we tried this place out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Great food, great service, great drinks! The salmon is always excellent and the braised short ribs were fall off the bone tender! Love the watermelon salad. The calamari was a pleasant surprise, but be aware it is not fried, it is tender and tasty. The only downside is the restaurant is located in a strip mall-like location but I still love this place! Better food than Ulele's.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Pane Rustica is always excellent. The drinks are good, the homemade bread with their own hummus is additive, and the menu is always good. We had a super flatbread for an appetizer, then crab cakes, and then pasta. We had linguine with perfectly prepared seafood and gnocci with braised beef and mushrooms. Both were excellent. We did not have room for dessert, which was a disappointment since their deserts are also great.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Great south Tampa staple .. good drinks & good food .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Still a favorite. Amazing diver scallops, great steaks and pastas. Love the Rustica salad with polenta croutons. Very good if not extensive wine list. The one down side is the noise level. On a busy weekend, it can be impossible to hold a conversation. We went on a Weds. night, so not as crowded or loud. Oddly, I find the bar to be quieter and more conducive to conversation than the main dining room. Otherwise, this is consistently one of Tampa's four or five great restaurants. Highly recommended.

Tags: People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.