About Pane Rustica

Pane Rustica is a Zagat-rated restaurant and artisan bakery featuring handcrafted baked goods, savory lunch items and enticing dinners. Lunch customers can choose from hearth-baked pizza, sandwiches and salads in a casual atmosphere. In the evening, the menu and service style elevate to fine dining, serving unique wood-fired entrees, appetizers and small plates. Our wine and drink menu offer delicious choices to pair with our menu items.

3225 S. MacDill Ave.
Tampa, FL 33629
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fusion / Eclectic, International

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday: 11:00am - 5:00pm; Wednesday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm, Sunday:11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Wednesday - Saturday: 500pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
South of MacDill and Bay to Bay

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(813) 902-8828

Website:
http://panerusticabakery.com/

Catering:
Pane Rustica offers an extensive menu to guarantee your satisfaction for any party or event - lunch or dinner.

Executive Chef:
Mike Chevalier

Private Party Facilities:
Pane Rustica is the ideal destination for parties and events. We offer detailed planning along with unique food and beverage options that will make your experience truly memorable. Our private rooms can accommodate up to 50 guests for a seated event and approximately 85 guests for a cocktail reception. For those that are adventurous, try our "Shut Up and Eat" catering; tell us the parameters of your function and we will take care of everything else.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Pane Rustica Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.5

Noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (18)
Good for a Date (18)
Casual (16)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Hot Spot (13)
Good for Groups (11)
Great for Lunch (11)
Special Occasion (11)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Worth the Drive (9)
Kid-friendly (8)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Authentic (6)
Business Meals (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Fun (5)
Healthy (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
People Watching (3)
Romantic (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Seasonal (2)
Tapas (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Cozy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
600 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined 4 days ago

Good food. Loud. Visiting from out of town for large group special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

Don't let the outside fool you (it's in a strip center). This is an upscale classy place. Perfect for any special occasion! The food was fantastic, the ambiance was great,
the hostess, bartenders, servers and everyone on staff were on point! You won't be disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 5, 2017

A wonderful evening, Bill was considerate of my vegan choices , and I will be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Brian went above and beyond to accommodate our large group on a busy night. Jared was fantastic, both with the adults and the kids! PR never disappoints!

Tags: Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Healthy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Awesome as always. Every time we go the food is awesome. We really like that you change up the burger and offer up many other specials. They drinks are wonderful too.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

We love Pane Rustica and eat there often. One of our go to places for breakfast, lunch, or dinner. They have their regular menu but specials that are fantastic. Love the shut up and eat it for lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Always a great dining experience at Pane Rustica. Food was delicious, service was excellent. Love supporting this business.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

Excellent dining experience, with friendly and accommodating service. Extremely dependable. One of our favorite restaurants in Tampa.

Tags: Healthy, Great for Brunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 2, 2017

It's the best everytime you go

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Wonderful. Food great! Scallops cooked perfectly. Waitress did great job!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 1, 2017

great service, excellent food and the specials offered were outstanding. also found the wine list to be pretty good and reasonable. Bread and hummus for the table nice touch. the truffle chips simply amazing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Outstanding food, creatuve menu that changes, good service, great for dinner. Our party of four was impressed by the variety of choices. The seared scallops were fantastic, the bbq chicken flatbread was awesome. Known for it's freash baked breads and Itslian dishes, this place has one of the best burgers in town

Tags: Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 26, 2017

We sat at a booth in the bar so that's probably why service was a little slow. Our waiter was also the bartender. Food was great! Loooove the truffle chips with the dip!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

The food was creative. The salmon dish was very good with distinct flavors. The truffle oil potato chip appetizer with onion dip was good but I think it could have used a little more truffle flavor and a more creative flavored dip. I didn't recognize any of the wines on the wine list but the lower priced Chardonnay buy the glass ($10) was very nice, as was the Pinot. Our waiter Oscar was EXCELLENT!!! The chocolate expresso cookie was REALLY good. We had to get an extra to take home as proof. :-)

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 23, 2017

A weeknight dinner for 4--last moment decision to venture out in the rain. Pane Rustica is always a roll of the dice as it typically proves to be hit or miss (and either 'really a hit' or 'really a miss'). Our food was OK--flatbreads, a burger, a pasta dish. Solid food to have casual conversation over. BUT...Pane Rustica is NOT cheap and--as a result--value expectations are higher for patrons. Therefore, when our round of 4 Old Fashioneds came to the table and they were the palest shade of tan, our eyebrows went up. And honestly? Those 4 drinks were (1) so watered down with club soda; (2) so overly sweet with simple syrup; and (3) so packed with ice that it was insulting. We ordered a second round and I specifically said to the waitress 'tell the bar that we do NOT want any soda in our drinks (since, among other things, a classic Old Fashioned does NOT have soda in it!). What did we get? The same Old Fashioneds but with....water. Seriously Pane Rustica? For the price points you charge and the quality you allege, these were like bad drinks on a cheap Carnival Cruise where the bar waters everything down to save money. And it ruined the mood and the meal. But it accomplished a few key things for us as consumers: (1) it lowered the image of Pane Rustica for all of us--dropping them several notches into the 'expensive restaurants that are run by apparently cheap people' category; (2) it eliminated any need for us to return any time soon; and (3) it totally eliminated any chance that our foursome will refer or speak highly of Pane Rustica should anyone ask. In a business where revenue is based on guest satisfaction and the guest's willingness to return and recommend the brand, Pane Rustica failed. And while it seems a strong word, 'insulted' is the most appropriate term. Think twice about dining here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Austin)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Best food in the area, it was my fourth time there in the past three months.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

We loved this restaurant. Our server Alexis catered to my vegan diet and gave us a special treat for our first time visit. The good was fabulous and the low lighting added to the ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

Had a great meal prior to catching a show at Amelie Arena. Service and food were excellent and they got us in and out quickly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Excellent neighborhood place. Incredible food and service.

Tags: Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Afternoon Coffee, Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 2, 2017

One of the best restaurants in Tampa. A little out of the way for the business crowd but worth the trip. Creative food, great bread and a good wine list.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 29, 2017

This was our first visit to Pane Rustica. We chose a spot in a separated from the bar for our quiet birthday celebration. Everything about our experience was first class. Our waiter was attentive, but not overbearing, and gave us an excellent overview of our menu options. We chose the Fresh Saffron Pappardelle, the Red wine braised boneless Meyer’s Short Rib, and the Orange lavender seared Scottish Salmon. All were perfectly prepared and delicious. We will definitely return to try more of their menu.

Tags: Tapas, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Our first visit was excellent and the food and service were first rate. We had the Divers Scallops and they were perfectly cooked with terrific sides. We would definitely go back.

Tags: People Watching, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Awesome spot!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Always outstanding ... food, service, wine are terrific ... and staff is inviting and welcoming ...

Tags: Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Local Ingredients, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Only complaint was noise level. The food and service is outstanding.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Coffee, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 8, 2017

We have been going to Pane for lunch for years. This is the first time I've been for dinner. It was wonderful. The food was very well prepared, just like all the lunches. Their daily menu is always nice with plenty of choices. To top it off, they have a great bakery!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Casual, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Great food! Service was spot on.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Have family living in the Tampa area--that's how we were introduced to this restaurant. We were attending a concert in Tampa. The dinner was delicious and the service excellent!!!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Romantic, Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 7, 2017

The food AND the concept are great. I just wish it wasn't so loud!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Never been disappointed with the food or service here. Always excellent.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Ask for the room behind the bar or else it is a bit noisy. The Cajun Chicken Flatbread, the house-made Chips and onion dip and the Rigatoni are our favorites. The Danish Blue Cheese salad is outstanding as well. Enjoy!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on June 24, 2017

This is such a good restaurant. The food is always outstanding, the staff is accommodating and helpful. I have lived in many big cities with really fine restaurants and the food that is served here is just as good if not better. I highly recommend Pane Rustica.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Jared ALWAYS delivers outstanding service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 17, 2017

I think the restaurant has five stars because all the staff family members leave five-star reviews. I was shocked how bad the food was. My husband's pasta was cold and my gnocchi was burned black color. What a shame. It had been a while since I had such a bad meal. I feel bad for the bartender.
Do not go there

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Food was excellent - salmon and halibut. Service was great. Seated us in back dining room which is much quieter than the main area - which was appreciated.

Tags: Business Meals, Casual, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 16, 2017

We have never been disappointed The food and service are always stellar!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 9, 2017

This place never disappoints. They do wonders with fish. I had the halibut Friday night and it was outstanding. My bride had the shrimp flat bread, but it was a little bit overpowered by the spec. But still very good as usual.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 27, 2017

The cocktails & food were incredible & so was Jared!!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 26, 2017

My Dad was visiting from Illinois, and he loves any type of seafood. Red snapper was one of the specials that evening, and it was fantastic--(all 3 of us ordered this).
We ate in the bar area in a booth which is the best seating in the house. Our bar waiter was on point, and we had a great experience.
We go there often for lunch, but it can be very loud for dinner and makes it difficult to carry on a conversation.

Tags: Good for Groups, Organic, Bar Seating, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great food and atmosphere. Been going for years and food is always consistently great. Recommend for lunch and dinner.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.