About Pane Rustica

Pane Rustica is a Zagat-rated restaurant and artisan bakery featuring handcrafted baked goods, savory lunch items and enticing dinners. Lunch customers can choose from hearth-baked pizza, sandwiches and salads in a casual atmosphere. In the evening, the menu and service style elevate to fine dining, serving unique wood-fired entrees, appetizers and small plates. Our wine and drink menu offer delicious choices to pair with our menu items.

3225 S. MacDill Ave.
Tampa, FL 33629
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fusion / Eclectic, International

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday: 11:00am - 5:00pm; Wednesday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm, Sunday:11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Wednesday - Saturday: 500pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
South of MacDill and Bay to Bay

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(813) 902-8828

Website:
http://panerusticabakery.com/

Catering:
Pane Rustica offers an extensive menu to guarantee your satisfaction for any party or event - lunch or dinner.

Executive Chef:
Mike Chevalier

Private Party Facilities:
Pane Rustica is the ideal destination for parties and events. We offer detailed planning along with unique food and beverage options that will make your experience truly memorable. Our private rooms can accommodate up to 50 guests for a seated event and approximately 85 guests for a cocktail reception. For those that are adventurous, try our "Shut Up and Eat" catering; tell us the parameters of your function and we will take care of everything else.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Pane Rustica Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.5

value

4.6

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (26)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Good for a Date (20)
See All
Creative Cuisine (18)
Special Occasion (15)
Hot Spot (15)
Casual (15)
Great for Lunch (14)
Good for Groups (14)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Romantic (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
Bar Seating (12)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Fun (10)
Happy Hour (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Authentic (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Business Meals (7)
Seasonal (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Private Room (6)
Family Style (6)
Healthy (6)
People Watching (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Cozy (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Tapas (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Organic (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Spicy (1)
Great Beer (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Sort By:
S
568 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined a day ago

Jared ALWAYS delivers outstanding service!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 17, 2017

I think the restaurant has five stars because all the staff family members leave five-star reviews. I was shocked how bad the food was. My husband's pasta was cold and my gnocchi was burned black color. What a shame. It had been a while since I had such a bad meal. I feel bad for the bartender.
Do not go there

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Food was excellent - salmon and halibut. Service was great. Seated us in back dining room which is much quieter than the main area - which was appreciated.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Business Meals, Casual, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 16, 2017

We have never been disappointed The food and service are always stellar!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 9, 2017

This place never disappoints. They do wonders with fish. I had the halibut Friday night and it was outstanding. My bride had the shrimp flat bread, but it was a little bit overpowered by the spec. But still very good as usual.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 27, 2017

The cocktails & food were incredible & so was Jared!!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 27, 2017

My Dad was visiting from Illinois, and he loves any type of seafood. Red snapper was one of the specials that evening, and it was fantastic--(all 3 of us ordered this).
We ate in the bar area in a booth which is the best seating in the house. Our bar waiter was on point, and we had a great experience.
We go there often for lunch, but it can be very loud for dinner and makes it difficult to carry on a conversation.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for Groups, Organic, Bar Seating, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great food and atmosphere. Been going for years and food is always consistently great. Recommend for lunch and dinner.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 13, 2017

It starts with the complimentary bread (which is excellent) and the accompanying hummus dip with roasted red peppers. The salads are delicious and the Danish blue cheese salad is incredible. My wife and I always share the rosemary roasted mushroom flatbread pizza which is wonderful. The wait staff is very pleasant and professional and do not rush us through a meal- a fact that we greatly appreciate. We never have been here and NOT had a great meal. I think this is the best restaurant in Tampa Bay, being better than a famous Tampa Italian restaurant where our dinner cost three times as much as what we paid at Pane Rustica but couldn't really compare.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 12, 2017

We both had the halibut special. It was fresh from Alaska and VERY good. The bread was excellent as always. If it were closer for me I would eat there more frequently.

Since we wanted to talk, they seated us in the quieter of the two dining rooms. Overall, a great experience and I will return soon.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 10, 2017

If wanting it to be quiet, make a reservation for the back room. Much quieter than the front.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Recommended come her by friends. My husband and I both absolutely loved our food. We also had a great waiter. A great experience overall. We will be coming back.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 6, 2017

My favorite place in South Tampa! Great service and outstanding food- EVERY single time! Must go.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 6, 2017

awesome food

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Very good food with nice variety on menu. We all enjoyed our entrees and wine.
We would definitely return.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Another great dinner at my favorite spot in South Tampa. We are always able to share, meat is always perfectly cooked and we always feel welcome.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, People Watching, Disabled Access, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Afternoon Coffee, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 4, 2017

We came here for our wedding anniversary after it was recommended to us by several people. It was a modest but nice restaurant with outstanding cocktails and food. Our dessert was given to us for our special evening by our server who was very attentive and helpful.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 30, 2017

The watermelon salad is phenomenal And for a starter salad is much larger than what I thought it was going to be. Perfect for a meal entrée

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Dined on a Saturday evening. Our server, Derek, was great ! He answered questions about portion size and was very engaged and attentive. I had questions about a wine with which I was unfamiliar and he brought the manager over to help. The wine was terrific, as were all the creative courses made with the freshest of ingredients. My husband loved his usual Caesar salad and duck breast with chorizo potatoes; I had grilled octopus and crab cakes. Flavors pop and presentation always rocks at Pane Rustica. Desserts are to die for! We chose the apple tart and espresso cookies with gelato...a chocolate lover's dream. We sat in the back which was a blessing because the noise level is very high...open layout with hard surfaces and BUSY bar. Not a place for quiet conversation, but oh...the dining experience is worth it! It's a long drive for us, but we'll definitely be back.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Jared our server was amazing, Karen the owner outdid herself it was our first experience at Pane Rustica and we will be going back for the rest of our lives.... wow🌹🌹🌹🌹🌹🌹🌹🌹🌹🌹🌹

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Went to Pane Rustica for our anniversary. We arrived early and were seated right away. Took our time ordering, as we wanted to enjoy the evening. The bread and hummus were excellent, we split a nice sized salad but hadn't time to finish it before our meals arrived, barely 15 minutes after we ordered! There wasn't room on our tiny table for our plates, so I scraped the salad onto my entre plate. The dinners were lovely; pork tenderloin and short ribs. Brussels sprouts were tough but had good flavor.
It was a nice evening, but next time I will ask for a corner spot and specify that they not put in our dinner order until we finish our salad. Too rushed!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 22, 2017

From the time we walked in the door until we walked out, the service and food was fantastic!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Our first visit for dinner and we throughly enjoy our evening. The food was delicious.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Amazing food & phenomenal service.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 1, 2017

The best restaurant in Tampa, it never disappoints. Great from start to finish

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Open Kitchen, Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Wood Oven, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Loved the daily special menu and wine list. Server was the best! First time visitor, will go back!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Spicy, Pre/post Theatre, Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Business Meals, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 25, 2017

We have eaten here many times and every meal was great! Whenever we are in St Pete or Tampa area we make a point to eat here!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Private Room, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 25, 2017

My husband and I came here for date night and we were overly pleased with the service for starters, Marcus was AMAZING!! Everyone was polite and attentive to our needs. The food was delicious and the seasoning was spot on. It was a cozy restaurant and we had a wonderful time. We will definitely come back and will recommend it to our family and friends.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Late-night Find, Cozy, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Never disappointed at Pané Rustica! The handcrafted cocktails are second to none and the food is fabulous!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Third visit in two months. Will return. Love the food. Noise level is a bit high during peak times.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Great for Lunch, People Watching, Disabled Access, Family Style, Private Room, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Our food was delicious and there was quite a variety. Our server, Geryn, was awesome!! Friendly, efficient and knowledgeable about the menu. She really added to our experience.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Romantic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Pane is always outstanding. The food is outstanding, and service is impeccable.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Always excellent. Pane Rustica is a classy, fun dining or bar experience. Also great for lunch. Food is fresh and creative. Good cocktails.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Family Style, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 26, 2017

I love this restaurant. Food is always great for lunch and dinner.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Wonderful Dinner With my wife at Pane Rustica..Red Wine Braised Boneless Short Ribs..out of this World! Definitely a must! Our server Bill was great! 😄😄#panerustica Capt. Mark Gore

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Excellent service, food and drinks!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Molecular Gastronomy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Best restaurant in Tampa, hands down!! From fresh baked goods and breads and pizza to amazing entrees. Great for lunch, dinner and weekend brunch.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Casual, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Afternoon Coffee, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We are from out of town found the restaurant via OpenTable and had a wonderful experience. The service was excellent our server was tremendous and the food was dynamite. We would like a second location in orlando.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Great Ingredients but really small quantities considering the price. $26 for grouper dinner that only had 4 small nuggets of fish was disappointing.

The pasta dishes were delicious and the ingredients were top notch.

But again, the amounts were minuscule compared to the price.

Service was beyond excellent. Hostess had our reservation, seated us right away and even had the high chair for the baby at the table. Marcus waited on us and he was terrific. There was a screw-up on an order but the manager fixed and gave us an extra dish for free. Very cool.

And the atmosphere was magnificent for a Saturday night dinner.

Bottom Line: Love your place, where's the beef?

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 16, 2017

If you like eating in a cave, and not being able to have a conversation without yelling, this is the place. I understand ambience, but it was to dark even to see a menu. Service was slow and unfriendly. I had the scallops, which were very good, my friend had what was supposed to be Grouper, but she thought different. Ceasar salad was over dressed and soggy with croutons that could cut your mouth. They were very large. Not a salad to eat on a date.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.