About Pane Rustica

Pane Rustica is a Zagat-rated restaurant and artisan bakery featuring handcrafted baked goods, savory lunch items and enticing dinners. Lunch customers can choose from hearth-baked pizza, sandwiches and salads in a casual atmosphere. In the evening, the menu and service style elevate to fine dining, serving unique wood-fired entrees, appetizers and small plates. Our wine and drink menu offer delicious choices to pair with our menu items.

3225 S. MacDill Ave.
Tampa, FL 33629
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fusion / Eclectic, International

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday: 11:00am - 5:00pm; Wednesday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm, Sunday:11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Wednesday - Saturday: 500pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
South of MacDill and Bay to Bay

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(813) 902-8828

Website:
http://panerusticabakery.com/

Catering:
Pane Rustica offers an extensive menu to guarantee your satisfaction for any party or event - lunch or dinner.

Executive Chef:
Mike Chevalier

Private Party Facilities:
Pane Rustica is the ideal destination for parties and events. We offer detailed planning along with unique food and beverage options that will make your experience truly memorable. Our private rooms can accommodate up to 50 guests for a seated event and approximately 85 guests for a cocktail reception. For those that are adventurous, try our "Shut Up and Eat" catering; tell us the parameters of your function and we will take care of everything else.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Pane Rustica Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (18)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
See All
Casual (13)
Great for Lunch (10)
Special Occasion (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Authentic (9)
Happy Hour (8)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Business Meals (7)
Notable Wine List (6)
Romantic (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Afternoon Coffee (6)
Fun (6)
People Watching (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Open Kitchen (4)
Cozy (4)
Seasonal (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Wood Oven (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Private Room (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Great Beer (1)
Healthy (1)
Vegan (1)
Family Style (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Historic (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
531 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We are from out of town found the restau ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined 3 days ago

We are from out of town found the restaurant via OpenTable and had a wonderful experience. The service was excellent our server was tremendous and the food was dynamite. We would like a second location in orlando.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Ingredients but really small quant ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 3 days ago

Great Ingredients but really small quantities considering the price. $26 for grouper dinner that only had 4 small nuggets of fish was disappointing.

The pasta dishes were delicious and the ingredients were top notch.

But again, the amounts were minuscule compared to the price.

Service was beyond excellent. Hostess had our reservation, seated us right away and even had the high chair for the baby at the table. Marcus waited on us and he was terrific. There was a screw-up on an order but the manager fixed and gave us an extra dish for free. Very cool.

And the atmosphere was magnificent for a Saturday night dinner.

Bottom Line: Love your place, where's the beef?

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

If you like eating in a cave, and not be ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 5 days ago

If you like eating in a cave, and not being able to have a conversation without yelling, this is the place. I understand ambience, but it was to dark even to see a menu. Service was slow and unfriendly. I had the scallops, which were very good, my friend had what was supposed to be Grouper, but she thought different. Ceasar salad was over dressed and soggy with croutons that could cut your mouth. They were very large. Not a salad to eat on a date.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value4

Great food and service, relaxing atmosph ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great food and service, relaxing atmosphere - highly recommended.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Valentine's Day dinner. I had the Veal, ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Valentine's Day dinner. I had the Veal, she had the Short Ribs. Pate was our waiter, he made excellent recommendations and didn't try to upsell me when I inquired about the most expensive items on the menu. Great experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have had a few good lunches here but d ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I have had a few good lunches here but dinner was a disappointment. My pasta was anything but fresh. In fact, it was a little sticky. My bourbon cocktail was a little bland. I am not even sure how that is possible. Ambiance that works for lunch feels manic and just loud for dinner when the lights have been dimmed.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

We always have a great experience dining ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 9, 2017

We always have a great experience dining at this restaurant. It is family friendly with great tasting food for both adults and children.

Tags: Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Private Room, Wood Oven, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food! Overall, a very positive ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Excellent food! Overall, a very positive dining experience. The dessert Expresso Sundae was amazing. Our waiter Oscar listened to my request for a cucumber cocktail and it came out perfect. The calamari was grilled perfectly. It was very busy and that is to be expected on a Saturday evening.

Tags: Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Quick Bite, Creative Cuisine, Afternoon Coffee, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Always a good experience!

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Always a good experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As usual, they did not disappoint. Had a ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 21, 2017

As usual, they did not disappoint. Had a surprise party for a friend and the service was tremendous. Food is always top rate- try the short ribs- they are melt in your mouth.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pane Rustica remains one of my favorite ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Pane Rustica remains one of my favorite places to dine, despite the incredibly loud atmosphere. Luckily, a back dining room solved that issue for us!! The service was quite good with knowledgeable staff. Our server really paid attention as we enjoyed our cocktails. He was nice enough to ask when we wanted our food- no rushing here!!

Everyone enjoyed their meals, and left quite satisfied with their dining experiences. I especially enjoy the wonderful, creative salads and the crab cakes are fantastic !! It won't be long before I return !

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fun, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

I frequent this restaurant and it never ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 14, 2017

I frequent this restaurant and it never disappoints!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Afternoon Coffee, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is great! Casual , family friendly, ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Food is great! Casual , family friendly, prices a little high. The tables are close to each other - conversations not private .

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I have enjoyed Pane Rustica in the past, ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 14, 2017

I have enjoyed Pane Rustica in the past, but this visit was disappointing. It is always noisy, but usually the food is excellent. Unfortunately, not the case this time. Although my scallops were cooked perfectly, they were cold in the center. I couldn't eat them. The other food on the plate was nothing special. I had this same meal about a month ago and it was exceptionally good. Our service was generally good, although our server asked "is everything delicious" without waiting for a response. Perhaps she knew and didn't want to hear it.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

Excellent permanent menu and extensive d ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Excellent permanent menu and extensive daily specials. Everything was fresh, well prepared and delicious.

Tags: Business Meals, Casual, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

food was very bland and tasteless. we w ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 1, 2017

food was very bland and tasteless. we went on new years eve, so maybe they were overwhelmed, but not good. the bread that came with the mussels was so burnt it looked like it was left over from a fire. the server didn't think that was a problem. we did.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Eddie was outstanding. It was very busy ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Eddie was outstanding. It was very busy but he still was attentive and accommodating to our needs. Such a great dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were very disappointed. Three of us h ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 21, 2016

We were very disappointed. Three of us had fish, it was over cooked. I noticed that one of our party had the gnocchi and only ate half of his meal. The sides were blah, nothing special. We were seated near the doors on a cool night and had the night air blowing on us. It was an expensive night . We would have had a better meal at Applebee's.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

Great food, drinks and ambiance. Truly a ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Great food, drinks and ambiance. Truly a great dinner and so happy we tried this place out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great service, great drinks! ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Great food, great service, great drinks! The salmon is always excellent and the braised short ribs were fall off the bone tender! Love the watermelon salad. The calamari was a pleasant surprise, but be aware it is not fried, it is tender and tasty. The only downside is the restaurant is located in a strip mall-like location but I still love this place! Better food than Ulele's.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Pane Rustica is always excellent. The d ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Pane Rustica is always excellent. The drinks are good, the homemade bread with their own hummus is additive, and the menu is always good. We had a super flatbread for an appetizer, then crab cakes, and then pasta. We had linguine with perfectly prepared seafood and gnocci with braised beef and mushrooms. Both were excellent. We did not have room for dessert, which was a disappointment since their deserts are also great.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great south Tampa staple .. good drinks ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Great south Tampa staple .. good drinks & good food .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Still a favorite. Amazing diver scallops ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Still a favorite. Amazing diver scallops, great steaks and pastas. Love the Rustica salad with polenta croutons. Very good if not extensive wine list. The one down side is the noise level. On a busy weekend, it can be impossible to hold a conversation. We went on a Weds. night, so not as crowded or loud. Oddly, I find the bar to be quieter and more conducive to conversation than the main dining room. Otherwise, this is consistently one of Tampa's four or five great restaurants. Highly recommended.

Tags: People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was wunderful . Best food in St. Pe ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Food was wunderful . Best food in St. Pete.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Pane Rustica is known as the best lunch ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Pane Rustica is known as the best lunch spot in Tampa but it is also a terrific dinner destination. Excellent scallops, salmon, pasta and a number of other tasty entrees. Pane Rustica has superb salads and sandwiches and thin crust pizza. It started as a bakery and has wonderful bread and pastries that are baked on site. There is a great and large bar area .

Tags: Quick Bite, Casual, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Delicious as always! Love Pane Rustica-- ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Delicious as always! Love Pane Rustica--great food, just the right noise level and wonderful cocktails.

Tags: Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I have eaten here only 3 times in the pa ...

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on November 20, 2016

I have eaten here only 3 times in the past 4 years because every time I go there at least one car in the parking lot has its headlights shining directly into glass door and windows in the front of the restaurant.

The only thing I ever remember about my visits is that the entire table was blinded by someone's headlights at some point.

This time I even asked to be far away from the windows and a car still somehow managed to shine its headlights all the way from the parking lot through the entire restaurant to blind our table.

How hard is it to buy curtains for the glass door and windows?

I know this is not the first time a customer has complained about the cars in the parking lot shining their headlights into the restaurant.

And it isn't the car drivers' fault - they need to have their lights on to move their cars at night.

Tags: Business Meals, Vegan, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value4

Always outstanding. Fantastic seasonal ...

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Always outstanding. Fantastic seasonal dishes, fresh ingredients, intriguing combinations. Yum

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We love this place The food is always c ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We love this place

The food is always consistent

The decor is good

Too

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We love this place!! Unusual (sometimes ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 11, 2016

We love this place!! Unusual (sometimes) pairings of ingredients. Varied menu. If you want to hear each other talk, ask for the back room! However, the fun atmosphere in the bar or front room makes for a happy dinner........

Tags: Fun, Great Beer, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

We have had many lunches and dinners at ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We have had many lunches and dinners at Pane Rustica.

The food is always made from the best ingredients and never disappoints.

We recommend it for special occasions.

Also recommended for just any time you are looking for a great meal.

The wait staff are well trained and helpful.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My dish, a daily special was served acci ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 16, 2016

My dish, a daily special was served accidentally cold, but the kitchen quickly corrected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Really enjoyed our evening. Food was ex ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Really enjoyed our evening. Food was excellent as usual. Server was very pleasant and knowledgeable.

Tags: Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Open Kitchen, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful ambiance and dinner. The calam ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Wonderful ambiance and dinner. The calamari was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Must go- always fabulous. Fresh and crea ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 5, 2016

Must go- always fabulous. Fresh and creative dishes. Friendly, courteous staff. Great cocktails. Whenever I come to town I have to go.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Wood Oven, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Private Room, Open Kitchen, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always have and always will love Pane Ru ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Always have and always will love Pane Rustica!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and I went to Pane Rustica for d ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 24, 2016

My wife and I went to Pane Rustica for dinner for her birthday Saturday. i had the smoked pork shank and she had the sea scallops. i enjoyed the smoky flavor of the pork and she said the scallops were great. Our server was wonderful - perfect amount of attention. This was our 3rd trip there. We will continue to vista regularly.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We drive 50 miles RT to eat here, always ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 24, 2016

We drive 50 miles RT to eat here, always good, something always different on the menu, friendly staff nice ambiance ........we will be back!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Late-night Find, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Eddie Pearce is the best, took great car ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Eddie Pearce is the best, took great care of my family and I that night. The whole staff at the restaurant does a fantastic job whenever I come there. This is always my go to when family or friends are in town.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anitra is the best server in Tampa alway ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 21, 2016

Anitra is the best server in Tampa always a pleasure dining with her.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.