About Pamplona Tapas Bar and Restaurant

631 Jefferson Street
Lafayette, LA 70501
View Larger Map

Hemingway, bullfighting, and flamenco married with superior Spanish wines and luscious small bites fashion a sophisticated culinary oasis in Downtown Lafayette. By marrying chic urban elegance with rustic Spanish simplicity, Pamplona transports flavors from traditional Spain fused with international tastes, such as those from France, Italy, and North Africa.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Spanish, European

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:00am to 2:00pm
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday:2:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Main

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(337) 232-0070

Website:
http://pamplonatapas.com/

Catering:
We offer the full menu, as well as special accommodations for your specific catering needs. Specialties include traditional Spanish fare like suckling pig, House-cured charcuterie and cheeses, and our Award Winning Paella Valenciana.

Parking Details:
We have a parking lot caddy corner from us marked with a Pamplona Parking Only Sign.

Public Transit:
We are a short walk from the Rosa Parks Transportation Center in downtown Lafayette, which has both Rail and Bus services available.

Executive Chef:
David Harrower

Private Party Facilities:
The Oyster Bar section of our restaurant is the perfect place for your private function. It seats up to 40 people comfortably and offers a window into our All-star kitchen.

Private Party Contact:
Andrew Payne: 3372982516

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Pamplona Tapas Bar and Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
New Orleans / Louisiana
Best Food
New Orleans / Louisiana
Best Service
New Orleans / Louisiana
12 More
Best Ambiance
New Orleans / Louisiana
Best Value
New Orleans / Louisiana
Fit for Foodies
New Orleans / Louisiana
Hot Spot
New Orleans / Louisiana
Notable Wine List
New Orleans / Louisiana
Vibrant Bar Scene
New Orleans / Louisiana
Best Overall
Lafayette
Best Food
Lafayette
Best Service
Lafayette
Best Ambiance
Lafayette
Special Occasion
Lafayette
Most Booked
Lafayette
Best Restaurants in Lafayette ›

fit for foodies (42)
special occasion (35)
romantic (34)
See All
notable wine list (32)
hot spot (26)
good for groups (24)
vibrant bar scene (21)
neighborhood gem (18)
late-night find (13)
great for lunch (10)
great for outdoor dining (8)
kid-friendly (2)
scenic view (2)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
150 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Pamplona

Dined 5 days ago

The food was horribly bland, there is a lack of salt and no depth of flavor at all. The portions were extremely small, which is to be expected for tapas but given the price the value just is not there. The drinks were great. The service was pretty slow, which seemed more a result of poor management than our actual server, she seemed to be overworked. There are too many other great places to eat in Lafayette than to waste any more time or money on this place.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I've found Lafayette to be somewhat of a ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

I've found Lafayette to be somewhat of a restaurant desert, unless you want fried seafood. Even the Cajun food served in most places can be mediocre (don't ever order anything except beer at Randol's-- just dance!). Pamplona was a very pleasant surprise. Every dish was well-executed, the ingredients were high-quality, and the service was top notch. We had all small plates-- an arugula salad with manchego cheese, Catalan spinach, Spanish vegetable stew, shrimp in a garlic broth, and hangar steak (perfectly timed and served in that order, without asking). We'll be back next time we're in Lafayette.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Worth it

Dined on May 13, 2016

Pamplona is a chill, quiet place with the best crabcakes I've ever had in Louisiana. They've got a good range of dishes from familiar, like duck-fat fries, to a bit more exotic, like grilled octopus.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious and pleasant!

Dined on May 7, 2016

We stuck with tapas and were delighted with selection and quality of all. Good selection on Spanish wines.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5

Got lots of small plates!!!!! Loved it ...

vip
Dined on May 3, 2016

Got lots of small plates!!!!! Loved it all

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Place for a great dinner!

Dined on May 1, 2016

The food is outstanding, does not matter what you order. My favorites are the crab cakes, mac and cheese, ciabatta loaf, and the duck fat fries!! Everything is excellent here. The service is one of a kind wonderful, in my opinion, the best in Lafayette.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Took two coworkers to my fave spot, for ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

Took two coworkers to my fave spot, for their first time experience my happy place! Pamplonas, as always did not disappoint.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great resteraunt!

Dined on April 15, 2016

We went out just for a little friend date and had a lot of fun!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Bullish Bistro

Dined on April 10, 2016

Pamplona captures the spirit of its Iberian peninsula inspiration well. And it fits comfortably in its Cajun home in downtown Lafayette, where the spirit of Spain is more historically apropos than some might assume. Wonderful selection of exotic small plates; accessible, full-bodied wines; decorated in an earthy, terra cotta style — all of it serving to transport you to another time and place, deliciously. You'll leave as full as a bull racing down the cobblestone streets of the Pyrenees, but magically not overstuffed and ready to romp into the night. Highly recommended tapas: Andalucian lamb sliders, Catalan spinach, roasted beet and smoked goat cheese salad. Slightly disappointing: Duck confit flatbread. Will be going back for the Paella Valenciana — it requires one-hour advance cook time. (Reservations essential on weekend nights.)

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Will Be Back For More

Dined on April 9, 2016

Pamplona Tapas Bar and Restaurant is a go-to restaurant for any special occasion. My boyfriend and I went for our one month anniversary date night and it was very romantic and elegant. The service and atmosphere was extraordinary. The food was exquisite [and I'm sure the wine list is as well - we had water]. I will most definitely be back for more!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service4

Outstanding food, service, and ambiance ...

Dined on March 25, 2016

Outstanding food, service, and ambiance , with the art of mixology taken to a new level in Lafayette. A 5 star jewel!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never disappointed

Dined on March 10, 2016

As usual the food and wine were amazing. The service is always excellent but on this visit even more so. We were two so they seated us at a two top even though it was early and they were not busy. That is my only complaint. We ran out of room on the table for the tapas and small plates.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Wonderful nite at this gem

Dined on February 28, 2016

We had a great bottle of Spanish wine and it paired well with the tapas

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great as Usual!

Dined on February 19, 2016

Delicious! It was a good vibe that evening! Everything was great.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Well worth it!

Dined on February 15, 2016

Jen was amazing and her attention to detail was phenomenal . We had a wonderful time, wish the tables weren't so close together, but the passionfruit/fudge log/olive oil bread dessert completely made our night!! Highly recommend everything about this place!!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Valentine's Day

Dined on February 14, 2016

This was our first experience. We sampled many of the tapas and small plates. My favorites were the crab cakes, fried quail eggs on black boudin, and the ceviche. Our waiter was very informed and made suggestions. He was very attentive and professional even though it was Valentine's Day and he had multiple tables. The overall atmosphere is romantic and European influenced. We definitely will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

likin' it

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

My wife and I had a quick pre-symphony meal on Valentine's day and only wish we had more time to order the specials and be more leisurely. The salads were outstanding ( as they should be for 10 each). The half a hangar and crab cakes were unusually delicious as was the cabernet. The only criticism is that the server didn't check on us to see if we wanted more wine (which we did) until it was time for us to go.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My Place

Dined on February 14, 2016

I went here with family for a fun dinner and fell in love. It's a different scene than most restaurants in the area and that is the reason that I love it! They have a very cool cocktail menu, the inside is nice and swanky without being pretentious and the same can be said for the menu and waitstaff. All around amazing place. I could go here for lunch, to hang out at the bar, or for dinner whether it's with my best friend, family, or for a date. The food is unique and delicious and the menu is sophisticated without being overrated and overvalued. It's rare that I find a place that gets 5 stars on everything and all items on the menu are amazing but I've finally found my place and I intend on being a lifelong regular.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service2

Went for Valentines Day Weekend, restaur ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Went for Valentines Day Weekend, restaurant was busy but waiter seemed overwhelmed. After getting initial drinks at least 30 mins went by till he was seen again. When food came the accompanying sauces were not brought with some of the dishes. After pointing this out the sauces were not brought until the dish was cold or gone. My wife and I usually have a good experience here but this may not be the place to go if their overly busy.

food5
ambience5
service5

I may be a little biased because this is ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

I may be a little biased because this is my favorite restaurant but Pamplonas is absolutely wonderful. The food is very fresh and the chief always has new specials with local food. The atmosphere is very laid back and the service is exceptional. I love the tapas menu, and if you go and don't order the duck fat fries you are missing out!! And the crab cakes...and the duck flat bread...and the sausage and peppers...and the Mac-n-Gouda...and the hanger steak. I think you get the point They also have an extensive absinthe bar, not really my thing but I know people who like it.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing

Dined on February 6, 2016

This place is awesome. Amazing food and service. Make sure to get the Gouda mac & cheese and also the crab cakes! YUM!! My newest favorite restaurant!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great restaurant for groups or a date night

Dined on February 6, 2016

Me, my wife and a couple of friends ate here the other night and we found the staff to be really friendly and helpful, The food was amazing and they have some seriously great cocktails. Also as a bonus there is plenty of parking close by. This is now in my top five restaurant list for lafayette.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've never had a bad time at Pamplona.

Dined on January 30, 2016

The option to book a reservation online is fantastic. I looked 45 minutes before I wanted to be there, ON A FRIDAY NIGHT, and I got a spot. Absolutely fabulous.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Docs review

Dined on January 16, 2016

Good food and service Like the vibes and notable wines by the glass

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent as always especially with our ...

Dined on January 16, 2016

Excellent as always especially with our favorite and requested server - Jen!!! Sat on the front patio for a perfect and quiet evening.

food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Best of Lafayette

Dined on December 27, 2015

I ate here with my family and boyfriend for my birthday. We had a blast. It is easily one of my favorite restaurants in Lafayette. Great atmosphere and food. We had the duck fat fries to start off. I love half a hanger steak with the Gouda mac and cheese. The apple bread pudding with cinnamon gelato is to die for. Best bread pudding I have ever had.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Our waitress Jen is the best waitress we ...

Dined on December 20, 2015

Our waitress Jen is the best waitress we have had anywhere. She took care of us last time and we were so glad to see her again. She made an already wonderful evening that much better

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic place to eat!

Dined on December 16, 2015

The food was delicious and the service was excellent! The servers were knowledgeable and extremely helpful. This is one of my favorite spots in Downtown Lafayette.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent Dining as Always

Dined on November 29, 2015

Every visit to Pamplona is an excellent experience, with phenomenal food and service. This experience was impressive even in comparison to other visits; I couldn't believe we spent as much time there as we did, as it passed so quickly and pleasantly. We will continue to dine at Pamplona whenever we can, as it has more than earned its place as our favorite restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

As Good If Not Better Than I Remembered

Dined on November 28, 2015

I chose Pamplona b/c it was within walking distance of where I was staying for Thanksgiving. I remember eating there over 8 years ago (before I moved) and it was delicious then. I hoped it wouldn't disappoint and it didn't. When we asked to sit outside b/c the weather was nice, our hostess obliged but then realized how many mosquitoes were outside and suggested a quiet table inside in the corner. What great service is THAT?? Our server was Chase. He was helpful, professional and very knowledgeable about the wine. He made sure that not only were our water glasses always full, but made sure to keep the table clear of utensils, and our wine glasses always "topped off." My only complaint is that the tables are very close together so if you are on a date, request a table in the corner or even a 4-top.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Never disappointed

Dined on November 7, 2015

Always great food and service! Love getting the small plates from the menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Love this place

vip
Dined on October 30, 2015

Food and wine were delicious and the server, Jen was wonderful.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5

Spain in Lafayette?

Dined on October 17, 2015

Not quite but pretty close and by far the best tapas place in the state. Great atmosphere, really good wine list and a great system. Staff are good, friendly and know what they are doing. Prices are not too bad. Could do with a few more specials or more frequent variation to the menu. All in all, my favourite place in Lafayette.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4

Service was great!

Dined on October 10, 2015

Service was great!

food5
ambience5
service5

consistently delicious...

Dined on September 26, 2015

fun upbeat dining for foodies... the menu creator has a knack for combining which makes for really interesting eats.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic
food4
ambience5
service4

Enjoyable experience

Dined on September 17, 2015

Delicious small plates including mushrooms and duck fat fries. Excellent filet.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

great find for a stop for nice dinner

Dined on September 5, 2015

Food was great except for the spinach dish with spices which were quite evident and made it taste grainy. They would have been great otherwise. The waitress even kindly comped it since we didn't finish it! Everything else was de-lish! We had the bread, shrimp, crab cakes, calamari, gouda mac, hanger, and the aforementioned spinach. Dang...No wonder I was full!! calamari was a huge serving for two. Everything else was perfect. Quaint spot, dimly lit, cute part of town that I would've loved to explore had we had more time but we were just passing through.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Bring back the seared Foie Gras please!!!!

Dined on September 5, 2015

Love this restaurant! We enjoy the menu change-up. But, please bring back the seared Foie!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience1
service2

I love Pamlona but it was not a good round.

Dined on August 23, 2015

I love Pamplona but you guys should give people a heads up when you have a 40 person party going on in the smallest room. Or just shut that room down for the party. It was just way to much. I usually spend around 200 bucks there but we got our appetizers and split this time.

food5
ambience5
service5

Nice Treat

Dined on August 21, 2015

We always enjoy this special place. The tapas are just fantastic. You have so many choices that you don't have to spend a lot of money to get a good meal. I would recommend Pamplona's to anyone.

Tags: romantic, hot spot

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.