About Pamplona Tapas Bar and Restaurant

631 Jefferson Street
Lafayette, LA 70501
View Larger Map

Hemingway, bullfighting, and flamenco married with superior Spanish wines and luscious small bites fashion a sophisticated culinary oasis in Downtown Lafayette. By marrying chic urban elegance with rustic Spanish simplicity, Pamplona transports flavors from traditional Spain fused with international tastes, such as those from France, Italy, and North Africa.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Spanish, European

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:00am to 2:00pm
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday:2:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Main

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(337) 232-0070

Website:
http://pamplonatapas.com/

Catering:
We offer the full menu, as well as special accommodations for your specific catering needs. Specialties include traditional Spanish fare like suckling pig, House-cured charcuterie and cheeses, and our Award Winning Paella Valenciana.

Parking Details:
We have a parking lot caddy corner from us marked with a Pamplona Parking Only Sign.

Public Transit:
We are a short walk from the Rosa Parks Transportation Center in downtown Lafayette, which has both Rail and Bus services available.

Executive Chef:
David Harrower

Private Party Facilities:
The Oyster Bar section of our restaurant is the perfect place for your private function. It seats up to 40 people comfortably and offers a window into our All-star kitchen.

Private Party Contact:
Andrew Payne: 3372982516

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Charbroiled Oysters - Pamplona Tapas Bar and Restaurant, Lafayette, LA
Garlic Shrimp - Pamplona Tapas Bar and Restaurant, Lafayette, LA
Tiger's Milk - Pamplona Tapas Bar and Restaurant, Lafayette, LA
Paella Valenciana - Pamplona Tapas Bar and Restaurant, Lafayette, LA
Five Boroughs - Pamplona Tapas Bar and Restaurant, Lafayette, LA
Escargots - Pamplona Tapas Bar and Restaurant, Lafayette, LA
Death In The Afternoon - Pamplona Tapas Bar and Restaurant, Lafayette, LA
Chargrilled Oysters - Pamplona Tapas Bar and Restaurant, Lafayette, LA
Pork And Pepper Empanadas - Pamplona Tapas Bar and Restaurant, Lafayette, LA
Sous Vide Hanger Steak - Pamplona Tapas Bar and Restaurant, Lafayette, LA
Marinated Olives - Pamplona Tapas Bar and Restaurant, Lafayette, LA
Arugula And Manchego Salad - Pamplona Tapas Bar and Restaurant, Lafayette, LA
Smoked Gouda Mac & Cheese - Pamplona Tapas Bar and Restaurant, Lafayette, LA
Grilled Sirloin Steak Sandwich - Pamplona Tapas Bar and Restaurant, Lafayette, LA
Dates - Pamplona Tapas Bar and Restaurant, Lafayette, LA
carpaccio - Pamplona Tapas Bar and Restaurant, Lafayette, LA
Sardines - Pamplona Tapas Bar and Restaurant, Lafayette, LA
Lamb Sliders - Pamplona Tapas Bar and Restaurant, Lafayette, LA
Jamon and Chese Sandwich with Duck Fat Fries - Pamplona Tapas Bar and Restaurant, Lafayette, LA
Lamb Osso Bucco - Pamplona Tapas Bar and Restaurant, Lafayette, LA

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Pamplona Tapas Bar and Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Baton Rouge / Lafayette
Best Food
Baton Rouge / Lafayette
Best Service
Baton Rouge / Lafayette
7 More
Best Ambiance
Baton Rouge / Lafayette
Best Value
Baton Rouge / Lafayette
Best Overall
Lafayette
Best Food
Lafayette
Best Service
Lafayette
Best Ambiance
Lafayette
Most Booked
Lafayette
Best Restaurants in Lafayette ›

Tapas (11)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Good for a Date (8)
See All
Special Occasion (8)
Fun (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Cozy (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Romantic (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Authentic (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Seasonal (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Casual (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Private Room (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Healthy (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Historic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Family Style (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Great Beer (1)
Business Meals (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
S
174 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

It's always been a fun & pleasing dining ...

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on December 1, 2016

It's always been a fun & pleasing dining experience when we visit Pamplona Tapas Bar & Restaurant. We especially love bringing friends & family that haven't been there before.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place will be back again the food ...

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Great place will be back again the food was amazing and the service outstanding!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Romantic, Great Beer, Tapas, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great food, drinks, and service. The typ ...

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Great food, drinks, and service. The type of place for a variety of different events or occasions.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, wonderful flavors, great dri ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Great food, wonderful flavors, great drinks too. Nice ambiance.

Tags: Late-night Find, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was good, but it is a very cram ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 1, 2016

The food was good, but it is a very cramped and loud atmosphere. The tables are so closely placed that we were nearly brushing elbows with the couple next to us. This is a "guys" or "Girls-nite-out" type of place. Not recommended for a date or what one would hope to be a quiet dinner.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

Great service and lovely atmosphere. On ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Great service and lovely atmosphere. On top of that the food was phenomenal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great atmosphere. The food was amazing w ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Great atmosphere. The food was amazing with a good variety to choose from. I will go back.

Tags: Cozy, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Tapas, Comfort Food, Afternoon Coffee, Good for a Date, Healthy, Romantic, Casual, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is always amazing here. The new ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 16, 2016

The food is always amazing here. The new crab croquettes are phenomenal.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

This was a wonderful find! The food was ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 27, 2016

This was a wonderful find! The food was excellent, and the service just as good! We highly recommend this. Tried some new tastes, and thoroughly enjoyed it.

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Fun, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding service!!! Great food. I w ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 18, 2016

Outstanding service!!! Great food. I would recommend the small plate mushrooms as they were he best ever!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food quality is GREAT! Service is always ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 5, 2016

Food quality is GREAT! Service is always 1st class.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

OUTSTANDING!! One of our friends said i ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 4, 2016

OUTSTANDING!! One of our friends said it was the best calamari he has ever tasted. I personally loved the hanger steak. Steak frites are always a win. The lamb sliders....well, let's just say we ordered 3 plates for 4 people. And everything else was just as delicious. One of our favorite places to go for date night or with friends. Will definitely be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food & Service. Waitress was q ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Excellent food & Service. Waitress was quite attentive with the Friday night crowd although we did not feel rushed.

Wine paring enhanced the meal with perfect balance

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food, service & ambience were great!

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 24, 2016

Food, service & ambience were great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Pamplona never disappoints! It has been ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 21, 2016

Pamplona never disappoints! It has been one of the most consistent restaurants in Lafayette, despite constantly changing their menu. Highly recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food and tasting options! Fun ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 17, 2016

Excellent food and tasting options! Fun to share a meal with friends

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We are never disappointed when we dine h ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 10, 2016

We are never disappointed when we dine here. Great cocktails and wine list!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good restaurant with great Menus of ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 2, 2016

Very good restaurant with great

Menus of small meals called tapas

Good extensive wine list per glass

And a notable wine book with wines

From Spain and around the world

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Pamplonas is one of my favorite places ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 1, 2016

Pamplonas is one of my favorite places to go eat out and have a nice glass of wine or even a bottle of your own. The atmosphere and location is perfect for you and your whole family. The menu has a little bit of everything. You can order one or two at a time and never fell rushed. A very layer back kind of place....

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Wonderful as always. The staff is the be ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Wonderful as always. The staff is the best. It is the gem of the Lafayette food scene. Thanks for a fantastic night!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I drove from Houston to take my dad out ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 19, 2016

I drove from Houston to take my dad out for Fathers day (saturday) who lives 4 blocks away from the restaurant. Easy to make a reservation. Extremely loud. I could not hear my family at my very table. I suggest furniture, curtains, rugs and so forth that can absorb sound. A lot of wood will only bounce sound. Installing wall sound treatments would help a lot. Call Tim at 281-900-9886 for install. Owner of Houston HiDef. The staff were stiff, never asked if we it was our first time, never asked if we were celebrating something special. Just took the order and brought the food.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value4

I have had better...at Pamplomas

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 11, 2016

I just feel like in the past two times I have been there, the sauce for the mushrooms keeps going down in quality. It has less flavor and more water. Since that is my favorite, it brings down the experience (even though the rest of the food was great), if the one thing I really wanted was just ..meh.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Hidden gem in Lafayette. Food is great ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 1, 2016

Hidden gem in Lafayette. Food is great and the drinks are even better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Just 2 of us this night ....usually go i ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 28, 2016

Just 2 of us this night ....usually go in 4 or 6 group to share, but all was tasty. Bacon -wrapped dates to start, skipped the duck-fat fries & calamari (get every time & always good!) & tried a different salad - Roasted beet & Goat Cheese- loved it! Half a Hangar Steak for kind of main (i.e. Protein) meal ...also very good. 4 v e r y thinly sliced medallions - quite rare - ok with me but ordered as med rare, so be aware! Shared Mac n' Smoked Gouda (mmnnn, could eat that every day!!) w/sweetheart who had the Albondigas, spicy meatballs & he loved them! A good night despite torrential rain downpour as we left!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Pamplona

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 22, 2016

The food was horribly bland, there is a lack of salt and no depth of flavor at all. The portions were extremely small, which is to be expected for tapas but given the price the value just is not there. The drinks were great. The service was pretty slow, which seemed more a result of poor management than our actual server, she seemed to be overworked. There are too many other great places to eat in Lafayette than to waste any more time or money on this place.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

I've found Lafayette to be somewhat of a ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 14, 2016

I've found Lafayette to be somewhat of a restaurant desert, unless you want fried seafood. Even the Cajun food served in most places can be mediocre (don't ever order anything except beer at Randol's-- just dance!). Pamplona was a very pleasant surprise. Every dish was well-executed, the ingredients were high-quality, and the service was top notch. We had all small plates-- an arugula salad with manchego cheese, Catalan spinach, Spanish vegetable stew, shrimp in a garlic broth, and hangar steak (perfectly timed and served in that order, without asking). We'll be back next time we're in Lafayette.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Worth it

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 13, 2016

Pamplona is a chill, quiet place with the best crabcakes I've ever had in Louisiana. They've got a good range of dishes from familiar, like duck-fat fries, to a bit more exotic, like grilled octopus.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious and pleasant!

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 7, 2016

We stuck with tapas and were delighted with selection and quality of all. Good selection on Spanish wines.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Got lots of small plates!!!!! Loved it ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 3, 2016

Got lots of small plates!!!!! Loved it all

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Place for a great dinner!

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 1, 2016

The food is outstanding, does not matter what you order. My favorites are the crab cakes, mac and cheese, ciabatta loaf, and the duck fat fries!! Everything is excellent here. The service is one of a kind wonderful, in my opinion, the best in Lafayette.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Took two coworkers to my fave spot, for ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 30, 2016

Took two coworkers to my fave spot, for their first time experience my happy place! Pamplonas, as always did not disappoint.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great resteraunt!

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 15, 2016

We went out just for a little friend date and had a lot of fun!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Bullish Bistro

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 10, 2016

Pamplona captures the spirit of its Iberian peninsula inspiration well. And it fits comfortably in its Cajun home in downtown Lafayette, where the spirit of Spain is more historically apropos than some might assume. Wonderful selection of exotic small plates; accessible, full-bodied wines; decorated in an earthy, terra cotta style — all of it serving to transport you to another time and place, deliciously. You'll leave as full as a bull racing down the cobblestone streets of the Pyrenees, but magically not overstuffed and ready to romp into the night. Highly recommended tapas: Andalucian lamb sliders, Catalan spinach, roasted beet and smoked goat cheese salad. Slightly disappointing: Duck confit flatbread. Will be going back for the Paella Valenciana — it requires one-hour advance cook time. (Reservations essential on weekend nights.)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Will Be Back For More

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 9, 2016

Pamplona Tapas Bar and Restaurant is a go-to restaurant for any special occasion. My boyfriend and I went for our one month anniversary date night and it was very romantic and elegant. The service and atmosphere was extraordinary. The food was exquisite [and I'm sure the wine list is as well - we had water]. I will most definitely be back for more!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding food, service, and ambiance ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 25, 2016

Outstanding food, service, and ambiance , with the art of mixology taken to a new level in Lafayette. A 5 star jewel!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Never disappointed

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 10, 2016

As usual the food and wine were amazing. The service is always excellent but on this visit even more so. We were two so they seated us at a two top even though it was early and they were not busy. That is my only complaint. We ran out of room on the table for the tapas and small plates.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful nite at this gem

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 28, 2016

We had a great bottle of Spanish wine and it paired well with the tapas

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great as Usual!

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 19, 2016

Delicious! It was a good vibe that evening! Everything was great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Well worth it!

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 15, 2016

Jen was amazing and her attention to detail was phenomenal . We had a wonderful time, wish the tables weren't so close together, but the passionfruit/fudge log/olive oil bread dessert completely made our night!! Highly recommend everything about this place!!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Valentine's Day

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 14, 2016

This was our first experience. We sampled many of the tapas and small plates. My favorites were the crab cakes, fried quail eggs on black boudin, and the ceviche. Our waiter was very informed and made suggestions. He was very attentive and professional even though it was Valentine's Day and he had multiple tables. The overall atmosphere is romantic and European influenced. We definitely will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.