About Pamplona Tapas Bar and Restaurant

631 Jefferson Street
Lafayette, LA 70501
View Larger Map

Hemingway, bullfighting, and flamenco married with superior Spanish wines and luscious small bites fashion a sophisticated culinary oasis in Downtown Lafayette. By marrying chic urban elegance with rustic Spanish simplicity, Pamplona transports flavors from traditional Spain fused with international tastes, such as those from France, Italy, and North Africa.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Spanish, European

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:00am to 2:00pm
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday:2:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Main

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(337) 232-0070

Website:
http://pamplonatapas.com/

Catering:
We offer the full menu, as well as special accommodations for your specific catering needs. Specialties include traditional Spanish fare like suckling pig, House-cured charcuterie and cheeses, and our Award Winning Paella Valenciana.

Parking Details:
We have a parking lot caddy corner from us marked with a Pamplona Parking Only Sign.

Public Transit:
We are a short walk from the Rosa Parks Transportation Center in downtown Lafayette, which has both Rail and Bus services available.

Executive Chef:
David Harrower

Private Party Facilities:
The Oyster Bar section of our restaurant is the perfect place for your private function. It seats up to 40 people comfortably and offers a window into our All-star kitchen.

Private Party Contact:
Andrew Payne: 3372982516

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

carpaccio
Dates
Sardines
Charbroiled Oysters
Garlic Shrimp
Tiger's Milk
Paella Valenciana
Five Boroughs
Death In The Afternoon
Escargots
Chargrilled Oysters
Sous Vide Hanger Steak
Pork And Pepper Empanadas
Marinated Olives
Smoked Gouda Mac & Cheese
Arugula And Manchego Salad
Grilled Sirloin Steak Sandwich
Lamb Sliders
Jamon and Chese Sandwich with Duck Fat Fries
Lamb Osso Bucco

Pamplona Tapas Bar and Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
New Orleans / Louisiana
Fit for Foodies
New Orleans / Louisiana
Hot Spot
New Orleans / Louisiana
7 More
Notable Wine List
New Orleans / Louisiana
Best Overall
Lafayette
Best Food
Lafayette
Best Service
Lafayette
Best Ambiance
Lafayette
Special Occasion
Lafayette
Most Booked
Lafayette
Best Restaurants in Lafayette ›

fit for foodies (31)
special occasion (27)
romantic (22)
See All
hot spot (21)
good for groups (20)
notable wine list (19)
vibrant bar scene (16)
neighborhood gem (16)
great for lunch (8)
late-night find (7)
great for outdoor dining (6)
scenic view (5)
great for brunch (2)
kid-friendly (2)
Sort By:
Newest
160 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food, service & ambience were great!

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined 4 days ago

Food, service & ambience were great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Pamplona never disappoints! It has been ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 6 days ago

Pamplona never disappoints! It has been one of the most consistent restaurants in Lafayette, despite constantly changing their menu. Highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food and tasting options! Fun ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Excellent food and tasting options! Fun to share a meal with friends

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We are never disappointed when we dine h ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We are never disappointed when we dine here. Great cocktails and wine list!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good restaurant with great Menus of ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Very good restaurant with great

Menus of small meals called tapas

Good extensive wine list per glass

And a notable wine book with wines

From Spain and around the world

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Pamplonas is one of my favorite places ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Pamplonas is one of my favorite places to go eat out and have a nice glass of wine or even a bottle of your own. The atmosphere and location is perfect for you and your whole family. The menu has a little bit of everything. You can order one or two at a time and never fell rushed. A very layer back kind of place....

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Wonderful as always. The staff is the be ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Wonderful as always. The staff is the best. It is the gem of the Lafayette food scene. Thanks for a fantastic night!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have had better...at Pamplomas

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

I just feel like in the past two times I have been there, the sauce for the mushrooms keeps going down in quality. It has less flavor and more water. Since that is my favorite, it brings down the experience (even though the rest of the food was great), if the one thing I really wanted was just ..meh.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Hidden gem in Lafayette. Food is great ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

Hidden gem in Lafayette. Food is great and the drinks are even better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Just 2 of us this night ....usually go i ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Just 2 of us this night ....usually go in 4 or 6 group to share, but all was tasty. Bacon -wrapped dates to start, skipped the duck-fat fries & calamari (get every time & always good!) & tried a different salad - Roasted beet & Goat Cheese- loved it! Half a Hangar Steak for kind of main (i.e. Protein) meal ...also very good. 4 v e r y thinly sliced medallions - quite rare - ok with me but ordered as med rare, so be aware! Shared Mac n' Smoked Gouda (mmnnn, could eat that every day!!) w/sweetheart who had the Albondigas, spicy meatballs & he loved them! A good night despite torrential rain downpour as we left!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Pamplona

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

The food was horribly bland, there is a lack of salt and no depth of flavor at all. The portions were extremely small, which is to be expected for tapas but given the price the value just is not there. The drinks were great. The service was pretty slow, which seemed more a result of poor management than our actual server, she seemed to be overworked. There are too many other great places to eat in Lafayette than to waste any more time or money on this place.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

I've found Lafayette to be somewhat of a ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

I've found Lafayette to be somewhat of a restaurant desert, unless you want fried seafood. Even the Cajun food served in most places can be mediocre (don't ever order anything except beer at Randol's-- just dance!). Pamplona was a very pleasant surprise. Every dish was well-executed, the ingredients were high-quality, and the service was top notch. We had all small plates-- an arugula salad with manchego cheese, Catalan spinach, Spanish vegetable stew, shrimp in a garlic broth, and hangar steak (perfectly timed and served in that order, without asking). We'll be back next time we're in Lafayette.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Worth it

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Pamplona is a chill, quiet place with the best crabcakes I've ever had in Louisiana. They've got a good range of dishes from familiar, like duck-fat fries, to a bit more exotic, like grilled octopus.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious and pleasant!

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

We stuck with tapas and were delighted with selection and quality of all. Good selection on Spanish wines.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Got lots of small plates!!!!! Loved it ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 3, 2016

Got lots of small plates!!!!! Loved it all

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Place for a great dinner!

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

The food is outstanding, does not matter what you order. My favorites are the crab cakes, mac and cheese, ciabatta loaf, and the duck fat fries!! Everything is excellent here. The service is one of a kind wonderful, in my opinion, the best in Lafayette.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Took two coworkers to my fave spot, for ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Took two coworkers to my fave spot, for their first time experience my happy place! Pamplonas, as always did not disappoint.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great resteraunt!

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

We went out just for a little friend date and had a lot of fun!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Bullish Bistro

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

Pamplona captures the spirit of its Iberian peninsula inspiration well. And it fits comfortably in its Cajun home in downtown Lafayette, where the spirit of Spain is more historically apropos than some might assume. Wonderful selection of exotic small plates; accessible, full-bodied wines; decorated in an earthy, terra cotta style — all of it serving to transport you to another time and place, deliciously. You'll leave as full as a bull racing down the cobblestone streets of the Pyrenees, but magically not overstuffed and ready to romp into the night. Highly recommended tapas: Andalucian lamb sliders, Catalan spinach, roasted beet and smoked goat cheese salad. Slightly disappointing: Duck confit flatbread. Will be going back for the Paella Valenciana — it requires one-hour advance cook time. (Reservations essential on weekend nights.)

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Will Be Back For More

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

Pamplona Tapas Bar and Restaurant is a go-to restaurant for any special occasion. My boyfriend and I went for our one month anniversary date night and it was very romantic and elegant. The service and atmosphere was extraordinary. The food was exquisite [and I'm sure the wine list is as well - we had water]. I will most definitely be back for more!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding food, service, and ambiance ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

Outstanding food, service, and ambiance , with the art of mixology taken to a new level in Lafayette. A 5 star jewel!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Never disappointed

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on March 10, 2016

As usual the food and wine were amazing. The service is always excellent but on this visit even more so. We were two so they seated us at a two top even though it was early and they were not busy. That is my only complaint. We ran out of room on the table for the tapas and small plates.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful nite at this gem

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

We had a great bottle of Spanish wine and it paired well with the tapas

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great as Usual!

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on February 19, 2016

Delicious! It was a good vibe that evening! Everything was great.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Well worth it!

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Jen was amazing and her attention to detail was phenomenal . We had a wonderful time, wish the tables weren't so close together, but the passionfruit/fudge log/olive oil bread dessert completely made our night!! Highly recommend everything about this place!!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Valentine's Day

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

This was our first experience. We sampled many of the tapas and small plates. My favorites were the crab cakes, fried quail eggs on black boudin, and the ceviche. Our waiter was very informed and made suggestions. He was very attentive and professional even though it was Valentine's Day and he had multiple tables. The overall atmosphere is romantic and European influenced. We definitely will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

likin' it

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

My wife and I had a quick pre-symphony meal on Valentine's day and only wish we had more time to order the specials and be more leisurely. The salads were outstanding ( as they should be for 10 each). The half a hangar and crab cakes were unusually delicious as was the cabernet. The only criticism is that the server didn't check on us to see if we wanted more wine (which we did) until it was time for us to go.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

My Place

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

I went here with family for a fun dinner and fell in love. It's a different scene than most restaurants in the area and that is the reason that I love it! They have a very cool cocktail menu, the inside is nice and swanky without being pretentious and the same can be said for the menu and waitstaff. All around amazing place. I could go here for lunch, to hang out at the bar, or for dinner whether it's with my best friend, family, or for a date. The food is unique and delicious and the menu is sophisticated without being overrated and overvalued. It's rare that I find a place that gets 5 stars on everything and all items on the menu are amazing but I've finally found my place and I intend on being a lifelong regular.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for Valentines Day Weekend, restaur ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Went for Valentines Day Weekend, restaurant was busy but waiter seemed overwhelmed. After getting initial drinks at least 30 mins went by till he was seen again. When food came the accompanying sauces were not brought with some of the dishes. After pointing this out the sauces were not brought until the dish was cold or gone. My wife and I usually have a good experience here but this may not be the place to go if their overly busy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

I may be a little biased because this is ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

I may be a little biased because this is my favorite restaurant but Pamplonas is absolutely wonderful. The food is very fresh and the chief always has new specials with local food. The atmosphere is very laid back and the service is exceptional. I love the tapas menu, and if you go and don't order the duck fat fries you are missing out!! And the crab cakes...and the duck flat bread...and the sausage and peppers...and the Mac-n-Gouda...and the hanger steak. I think you get the point They also have an extensive absinthe bar, not really my thing but I know people who like it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

This place is awesome. Amazing food and service. Make sure to get the Gouda mac & cheese and also the crab cakes! YUM!! My newest favorite restaurant!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant for groups or a date night

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

Me, my wife and a couple of friends ate here the other night and we found the staff to be really friendly and helpful, The food was amazing and they have some seriously great cocktails. Also as a bonus there is plenty of parking close by. This is now in my top five restaurant list for lafayette.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I've never had a bad time at Pamplona.

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on January 30, 2016

The option to book a reservation online is fantastic. I looked 45 minutes before I wanted to be there, ON A FRIDAY NIGHT, and I got a spot. Absolutely fabulous.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Docs review

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on January 16, 2016

Good food and service

Like the vibes and notable wines by the glass

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent as always especially with our ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on January 16, 2016

Excellent as always especially with our favorite and requested server - Jen!!! Sat on the front patio for a perfect and quiet evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best of Lafayette

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on December 27, 2015

I ate here with my family and boyfriend for my birthday. We had a blast. It is easily one of my favorite restaurants in Lafayette. Great atmosphere and food. We had the duck fat fries to start off. I love half a hanger steak with the Gouda mac and cheese. The apple bread pudding with cinnamon gelato is to die for. Best bread pudding I have ever had.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Our waitress Jen is the best waitress we ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on December 20, 2015

Our waitress Jen is the best waitress we have had anywhere. She took care of us last time and we were so glad to see her again. She made an already wonderful evening that much better

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic place to eat!

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on December 16, 2015

The food was delicious and the service was excellent! The servers were knowledgeable and extremely helpful. This is one of my favorite spots in Downtown Lafayette.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Dining as Always

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on November 29, 2015

Every visit to Pamplona is an excellent experience, with phenomenal food and service. This experience was impressive even in comparison to other visits; I couldn't believe we spent as much time there as we did, as it passed so quickly and pleasantly. We will continue to dine at Pamplona whenever we can, as it has more than earned its place as our favorite restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As Good If Not Better Than I Remembered

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on November 28, 2015

I chose Pamplona b/c it was within walking distance of where I was staying for Thanksgiving. I remember eating there over 8 years ago (before I moved) and it was delicious then. I hoped it wouldn't disappoint and it didn't.

When we asked to sit outside b/c the weather was nice, our hostess obliged but then realized how many mosquitoes were outside and suggested a quiet table inside in the corner. What great service is THAT??

Our server was Chase. He was helpful, professional and very knowledgeable about the wine. He made sure that not only were our water glasses always full, but made sure to keep the table clear of utensils, and our wine glasses always "topped off."

My only complaint is that the tables are very close together so if you are on a date, request a table in the corner or even a 4-top.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.