About Pamplona Tapas Bar and Restaurant

631 Jefferson Street
Lafayette, LA 70501
View Larger Map

Hemingway, bullfighting, and flamenco married with superior Spanish wines and luscious small bites fashion a sophisticated culinary oasis in Downtown Lafayette. By marrying chic urban elegance with rustic Spanish simplicity, Pamplona transports flavors from traditional Spain fused with international tastes, such as those from France, Italy, and North Africa.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Spanish, European

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:00am to 2:00pm
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday:2:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Main

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(337) 232-0070

Website:
http://pamplonatapas.com/

Catering:
We offer the full menu, as well as special accommodations for your specific catering needs. Specialties include traditional Spanish fare like suckling pig, House-cured charcuterie and cheeses, and our Award Winning Paella Valenciana.

Parking Details:
We have a parking lot caddy corner from us marked with a Pamplona Parking Only Sign.

Public Transit:
We are a short walk from the Rosa Parks Transportation Center in downtown Lafayette, which has both Rail and Bus services available.

Executive Chef:
David Harrower

Private Party Facilities:
The Oyster Bar section of our restaurant is the perfect place for your private function. It seats up to 40 people comfortably and offers a window into our All-star kitchen.

Private Party Contact:
Andrew Payne: (337) 298-2516

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Pamplona Tapas Bar and Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (12)
Tapas (11)
Special Occasion (11)
See All
Good for a Date (9)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Cozy (8)
Notable Wine List (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Authentic (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Romantic (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Historic (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Business Meals (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Fun (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
People Watching (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Family Style (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Great Beer (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Casual (2)
Seasonal (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Healthy (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
193 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I never imagined I'd be fired up about P ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 5 days ago

I never imagined I'd be fired up about Pamplona as I was about Chris's, the building's former incarnation, a favorite of mine. The po boys were great but even better were the bands for dancing on Friday nights after DTA. We did that for many years and were very sad to see that slice of life come to an end. However, over time the Pamplona experience has become a different thrill and we feel lucky to have it as an option. Pamplona is definitely a favorite!

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Historic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to Pamplona with a group of 4; a ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We went to Pamplona with a group of 4; and wow, what a night it was. Each course was perfectly prepared, and the wine paired to the T. We started the meal with wonderfully executed craft cocktails which set the tone for what was to come. I recommend sharing every course family style in true tapas fashion. The Rib eye and Duck Breast finished off the meal perfectly. Our server paired this with the Mauro 2012 from Castilla y Leon, and it was an incredible ending to a perfect meal experience. Thank You to the whole Pamplona team for providing such an unforgettable evening.

Tags: Bar Seating, Business Meals, Paleo Friendly, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, , Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Family Style, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Great Beer, Happy Hour, Historic, Romantic, Good for a Date, Tapas, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Casual, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pamplona is the perfect spot for a date ...

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Pamplona is the perfect spot for a date night or girls night. It has intimate seating and a unique menu that you simply can't get anywhere else.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My favorite hot place to eat in town! No ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 1, 2017

My favorite hot place to eat in town! Not only is the food amazing, but also the ambiance. Great service, great company, even better food! My happy place!

Tags: People Watching, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place! So fun to have such a g ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Love this place! So fun to have such a great variety of foods to sample and share! Service was well timed and the Filet was excellent. They were so kind to cut it for sharing.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Casual, Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thoroughly enjoyed the tapas and small p ...

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Thoroughly enjoyed the tapas and small plates selection. The turtle soup was excellent. My wife and I enjoyed the quiet atmosphere for this New Year's Eve night.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tapas, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food and unique as well. The d ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Delicious food and unique as well. The descriptions were slightly different than what was prepared. Otherwise, great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Excellent food, ambiance and drinks! Ve ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Excellent food, ambiance and drinks! Very quaint.....good for a date night or evening with friends.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great food, small portions so you can tr ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Great food, small portions so you can try many things. Always impressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Good food and drinks but was expensive. ...

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Good food and drinks but was expensive. Expect to spend around 60$ not including tip.

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The management is awesome!

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 17, 2016

The management is awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It's always been a fun & pleasing dining ...

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on December 1, 2016

It's always been a fun & pleasing dining experience when we visit Pamplona Tapas Bar & Restaurant. We especially love bringing friends & family that haven't been there before.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place will be back again the food ...

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Great place will be back again the food was amazing and the service outstanding!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Romantic, Great Beer, Tapas, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great food, drinks, and service. The typ ...

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Great food, drinks, and service. The type of place for a variety of different events or occasions.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, wonderful flavors, great dri ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Great food, wonderful flavors, great drinks too. Nice ambiance.

Tags: Late-night Find, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was good, but it is a very cram ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 1, 2016

The food was good, but it is a very cramped and loud atmosphere. The tables are so closely placed that we were nearly brushing elbows with the couple next to us. This is a "guys" or "Girls-nite-out" type of place. Not recommended for a date or what one would hope to be a quiet dinner.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

Great service and lovely atmosphere. On ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Great service and lovely atmosphere. On top of that the food was phenomenal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great atmosphere. The food was amazing w ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Great atmosphere. The food was amazing with a good variety to choose from. I will go back.

Tags: Cozy, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Tapas, Comfort Food, Afternoon Coffee, Good for a Date, Healthy, Romantic, Casual, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is always amazing here. The new ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 16, 2016

The food is always amazing here. The new crab croquettes are phenomenal.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

This was a wonderful find! The food was ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 27, 2016

This was a wonderful find! The food was excellent, and the service just as good! We highly recommend this. Tried some new tastes, and thoroughly enjoyed it.

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Fun, Tapas, Fit for Foodies,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding service!!! Great food. I w ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 18, 2016

Outstanding service!!! Great food. I would recommend the small plate mushrooms as they were he best ever!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food quality is GREAT! Service is always ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 5, 2016

Food quality is GREAT! Service is always 1st class.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

OUTSTANDING!! One of our friends said i ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 4, 2016

OUTSTANDING!! One of our friends said it was the best calamari he has ever tasted. I personally loved the hanger steak. Steak frites are always a win. The lamb sliders....well, let's just say we ordered 3 plates for 4 people. And everything else was just as delicious. One of our favorite places to go for date night or with friends. Will definitely be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food & Service. Waitress was q ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Excellent food & Service. Waitress was quite attentive with the Friday night crowd although we did not feel rushed.

Wine paring enhanced the meal with perfect balance

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food, service & ambience were great!

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 24, 2016

Food, service & ambience were great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Pamplona never disappoints! It has been ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 21, 2016

Pamplona never disappoints! It has been one of the most consistent restaurants in Lafayette, despite constantly changing their menu. Highly recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food and tasting options! Fun ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 17, 2016

Excellent food and tasting options! Fun to share a meal with friends

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We are never disappointed when we dine h ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 10, 2016

We are never disappointed when we dine here. Great cocktails and wine list!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good restaurant with great Menus of ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 2, 2016

Very good restaurant with great

Menus of small meals called tapas

Good extensive wine list per glass

And a notable wine book with wines

From Spain and around the world

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Pamplonas is one of my favorite places ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 1, 2016

Pamplonas is one of my favorite places to go eat out and have a nice glass of wine or even a bottle of your own. The atmosphere and location is perfect for you and your whole family. The menu has a little bit of everything. You can order one or two at a time and never fell rushed. A very layer back kind of place....

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Assuming by accident, restaurant submitt ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on June 25, 2016

Assuming by accident, restaurant submitted that I was a no show for reservation. One call and everyone was so polite and corrected it. Great place, wonderful food and drinks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful as always. The staff is the be ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Wonderful as always. The staff is the best. It is the gem of the Lafayette food scene. Thanks for a fantastic night!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I drove from Houston to take my dad out ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 19, 2016

I drove from Houston to take my dad out for Fathers day (saturday) who lives 4 blocks away from the restaurant. Easy to make a reservation. Extremely loud. I could not hear my family at my very table. I suggest furniture, curtains, rugs and so forth that can absorb sound. A lot of wood will only bounce sound. Installing wall sound treatments would help a lot. Call Tim at 281-900-9886 for install. Owner of Houston HiDef. The staff were stiff, never asked if we it was our first time, never asked if we were celebrating something special. Just took the order and brought the food.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value4

I have had better...at Pamplomas

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 11, 2016

I just feel like in the past two times I have been there, the sauce for the mushrooms keeps going down in quality. It has less flavor and more water. Since that is my favorite, it brings down the experience (even though the rest of the food was great), if the one thing I really wanted was just ..meh.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Hidden gem in Lafayette. Food is great ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 1, 2016

Hidden gem in Lafayette. Food is great and the drinks are even better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Just 2 of us this night ....usually go i ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 28, 2016

Just 2 of us this night ....usually go in 4 or 6 group to share, but all was tasty. Bacon -wrapped dates to start, skipped the duck-fat fries & calamari (get every time & always good!) & tried a different salad - Roasted beet & Goat Cheese- loved it! Half a Hangar Steak for kind of main (i.e. Protein) meal ...also very good. 4 v e r y thinly sliced medallions - quite rare - ok with me but ordered as med rare, so be aware! Shared Mac n' Smoked Gouda (mmnnn, could eat that every day!!) w/sweetheart who had the Albondigas, spicy meatballs & he loved them! A good night despite torrential rain downpour as we left!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Pamplona

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 22, 2016

The food was horribly bland, there is a lack of salt and no depth of flavor at all. The portions were extremely small, which is to be expected for tapas but given the price the value just is not there. The drinks were great. The service was pretty slow, which seemed more a result of poor management than our actual server, she seemed to be overworked. There are too many other great places to eat in Lafayette than to waste any more time or money on this place.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

I've found Lafayette to be somewhat of a ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 14, 2016

I've found Lafayette to be somewhat of a restaurant desert, unless you want fried seafood. Even the Cajun food served in most places can be mediocre (don't ever order anything except beer at Randol's-- just dance!). Pamplona was a very pleasant surprise. Every dish was well-executed, the ingredients were high-quality, and the service was top notch. We had all small plates-- an arugula salad with manchego cheese, Catalan spinach, Spanish vegetable stew, shrimp in a garlic broth, and hangar steak (perfectly timed and served in that order, without asking). We'll be back next time we're in Lafayette.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Worth it

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 13, 2016

Pamplona is a chill, quiet place with the best crabcakes I've ever had in Louisiana. They've got a good range of dishes from familiar, like duck-fat fries, to a bit more exotic, like grilled octopus.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious and pleasant!

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 7, 2016

We stuck with tapas and were delighted with selection and quality of all. Good selection on Spanish wines.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.