About Palomino - Seattle

1420 5th Ave.
Seattle, WA 98101
View Larger Map

New American cuisine influenced by Southern Europe. Located 1 block from the 5th Avenue Theatre and 3 blocks from the Convention Center.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Mediterranean, European

Hours of Operation:
WEDNESDAYS ALL DAY: Half-Price Bottled Wine! (bottles priced at $26 & above).
DINING ROOM:
Lunch: Daily: 11am-4pm
Dinner: Sunday-Thursday: 4pm-9:30pm, Friday & Saturday 4pm-10pm
LOUNGE:
Sunday-Thursday 11am-11pm, Friday & Saturday 11am-11pm

Cross Street:
6th & Union - 5th & Pike

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 623-1300

Website:
http://www.palomino.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary 2-hour parking with validation weekdays from 11am-2pm, and evenings when entering the parking garage after 5pm. Complimentary validated parking all day Saturday and Sunday. City Centre Parking garage only, entrance on Union between 5th and 6th Avenues.

Executive Chef:
Randy Barkhurst

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Muffaletta Sandwich - Palomino - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Sicilian Meatballs - Palomino - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Shrimp Louie Salad - Palomino - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Bloody Mary - Palomino - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Bruschetta - Palomino - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Ginger Cooler - Palomino - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Grapes Of Wrath Cocktail - Palomino - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Truffle Deviled Eggs - Palomino - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Rotisserie Prime Rib & Garlic Shrimp - Palomino - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Ginger Pear Cosmo - Palomino - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Copper River S - Palomino - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Caprase Salad - Palomino - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Burger - Palomino - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Baked Pear Bread Pudding With Bourbon Sauce - Palomino - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Truffled Deviled Eggs - Palomino - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Sesame Crusted Salmon - Palomino - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Cranberry Mojito - Palomino - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Crisp Calamari - Palomino - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Sicilian Donuts - Palomino - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Candied Apple Drop - Palomino - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Incredible Pepperoni Pizza - Palomino - Seattle, Seattle, WA
pomegranate margarita - Palomino - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Lavender Splash - Palomino - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Pomegranate Lemonade - Palomino - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Cured Ham Mushroom Goat Cheese Flatbread - Palomino - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Uli's Italian Sausage And Mushroom Pizza - Palomino - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Sicilian Meatball Flatbread - Palomino - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Rotisserrie Chicken Flatbread - Palomino - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Pizza - Palomino - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Manhattan - Palomino - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Potatoes Gorgonzola - Palomino - Seattle, Seattle, WA
White Sangria - Palomino - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Potato Leak Soup - Palomino - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Crab And Artichoke Dip - Palomino - Seattle, Seattle, WA
crab cake - Palomino - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Meatball Sliders - Palomino - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Bread - Palomino - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Mussels - Palomino - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Créme Brulé - Palomino - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Ten Sage Martini - Palomino - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Romano Crusted Chicken, Rustic Tomato-Cream Sauce, Linguini, Shaved Asiago - Palomino - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Asiago-Almond Crusted Scallops - Palomino - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Tiramisu - Palomino - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Chicken Marsala - Palomino - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Rigatoni Bolognese - Palomino - Seattle, Seattle, WA
whisky sour - Palomino - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Brussel Sprouts With Bacon And Honey - Palomino - Seattle, Seattle, WA
French Onion Dip With Garlic Naan - Palomino - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Dungeness Crab Sliders - Palomino - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Dungeness crab and artichoke fondue - Palomino - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Molten Valhrona Chocolate Cake With Bittersweet Chocolate Sauce & Creme Fraiche Ice Cream - Palomino - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Blue Moon Beer - Palomino - Seattle, Seattle, WA

Palomino - Seattle Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Pre/post Theatre (65)
Good for a Date (54)
Special Occasion (42)
See All
Good for Groups (32)
Business Meals (31)
Casual (31)
Good for Birthdays (31)
Creative Cuisine (29)
Fun (28)
Great for Lunch (27)
Happy Hour (25)
Good for Anniversaries (24)
Modern Decor (23)
Cozy (22)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Comfort Food (20)
Romantic (20)
Bar Seating (17)
Open Kitchen (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Sunday Lunch (14)
Hot Spot (14)
Gluten Free Options (13)
People Watching (12)
Notable Wine List (12)
Wood Oven (11)
Authentic (11)
Kid-friendly (11)
Quick Bite (10)
Family Style (10)
Healthy (10)
Outstanding Value (9)
Seasonal (9)
Local Ingredients (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Worth the Drive (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Scenic View (4)
Tapas (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Vegan (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Great Beer (2)
Fireplace (1)
Spicy (1)
Dancing (1)
Sort By:
S
2613 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We had a reservation, and were sat at ou ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined a day ago

We had a reservation, and were sat at our table on time. This was a business lunch, so our party all ordered fairly quickly. 50 min later we were served FROZEN bread and another 20-30 min later were served our entree's, waiting about an hour and a half for food.

The waitress offered no apology, discount or explanation.

Horrible experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Well, we were seated very quickly which ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined a day ago

Well, we were seated very quickly which is always grand during the lunch hour, but after we were given are drink order, no one came to take our order. My friend finally was able to flag someone down just to take our lunch order! Now this was at 12:41pm! And we were seated at noon! So by the time we got our food, we couldn't eat it because we had to be back at work. So over all, I don't think I will go there again, because that was outrageous!! And even though the food we had to get to go, was delicious, forty minutes and no one comes to your table is mind blowing!

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Good for Anniversaries, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

When you have a complicated order and yo ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 8, 2017

When you have a complicated order and your server doesn't take notes, it's a red flag. When your order is delivered and it's not what you asked for, it's a problem. When your order is finally delivered and you don't like it, your server should go out of their way to take care of it - ie. you shouldn't have to pay for it. Sadly, poor service and poor food seals the deal for Palomino. There are plenty of dining options downtown with better food, better service and better prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

I had the Fettuccine Frutti De Mare, whi ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 2, 2017

I had the Fettuccine Frutti De Mare, which tasted good, but I expected more seafood than 3 prawns, 1 scallop and barely a forkful of smoked salmon. Another person in our party had the lamb special and was not particularly impressed.

On the other hand, our waiter was attentive and the ambiance of Palomino almost made up for a somewhat disappointing meal.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

We ate there on New Year's Eve and the s ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We ate there on New Year's Eve and the service , dinner and ambience were excellent!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Hot Spot, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great food and service was very g ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Always great food and service was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice New Year's Eve. A limited menu ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Very nice New Year's Eve. A limited menu but something for everyone. Our server was great, very efficient and accommodating. Will be returning for their full menu.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This visit, like our others, was very ni ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 1, 2017

This visit, like our others, was very nice. We were seated quickly and the Staff was very friendly and courteous. The food was excellent as was the Wine selection. We will return here whenever we are out in the City.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We went on New Year's Eve and were not d ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We went on New Year's Eve and were not disappointed. I had an amazing Prime rib and my wife thoroughly enjoyed the Scallops. The view of the city below decorated for the holidays was magical.

Tags: Special Occasion, People Watching, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I am a fan of RUI facilities. I like tha ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I am a fan of RUI facilities. I like that they offer a wide range of choices and generally have comfortable and cozy environments. This night was New Year's eve. I should have assumed there would be a abbreviated menu, but I didn't and was left with choosing between a couple items I wouldn't normally order. The food was OK, but not holiday fare. I will go back because I like what they normally have on their menu. The place was not busy, but the service was on and off. Overall good experience.

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Not my favorite for New Year's Eve (spec ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Not my favorite for New Year's Eve (special, small menu) but otherwise one of my favorites!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

The food was good. The wait was not too ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The food was good. The wait was not too long this time compared to our last work lunch. My co-worker ordered a pasta and she received it with peas. She does not like peas and she asked the waiter if the menu listed peas under the item and he said yes. She let it go thinking it was her fault but on her way out she checked the menu and it did not say that the dish had peas. She spent the entire hour picking peas out of her dish because she really does NOT like them. We were disappointed that the waiter would just lie and not double check the menu before making her feel like she did not fully review the menu. Other than that, everything was ok. We just wished that we knew the peas were not listed so she could fully enjoy her meal like we could.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Great food and quick service! Super con ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Great food and quick service! Super convenient to 5th Ave Theatre. We will be back!

Tags: Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience, totally enjoyed oursel ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Great experience, totally enjoyed ourselves. Quick seating , attentive waiter and yummy food and dessert.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hardly any vegan offerings

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Hardly any vegan offerings

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

The staff was able to accommodate a larg ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 28, 2016

The staff was able to accommodate a larger group with little notice. Great good, atmosphere.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Authentic, Good for a Date, Casual,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner before theatre

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Dinner before theatre

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Poor quality fish preparation. Inedible. ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Poor quality fish preparation. Inedible. Not good value for money. Overpriced for quality of food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

The entrees were okay. The salad and do ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 27, 2016

The entrees were okay. The salad and donuts were very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

It took awhile for our food to come. We ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 27, 2016

It took awhile for our food to come. We had several different waitstaff, so not really sure who was in charge of our table. Did not get refills on our drinks. It was crowded due to the theatre business and extremely loud.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Our food and service was excellent! Our ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Our food and service was excellent! Our waiter Chriss was excellent in catering to all of our needs in a very timely fashion. Service has improved significantly since our last visit to this restaurant and the food is much better. I would highly recommend this establishment to anyone who is seeking a place for fine dining.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Please make note of holiday menus. I wo ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Please make note of holiday menus. I would not have chosen Palomino -- too many options missing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

It is our family tradition to have Chris ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 24, 2016

It is our family tradition to have Christmas Eve lunch here. We order a bottle of champagne to share and as always it was a fabulous meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A great Italian getaway. We love the foo ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 24, 2016

A great Italian getaway. We love the food and wine but a lot of deserts.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Palomino always does a nice job with the ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Palomino always does a nice job with their service and food. You can always count on having a delicious salad, pizza or seafood dish. A great place to meet with friends or family.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

We have eaten at Palomino's many times ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 22, 2016

We have eaten at Palomino's many times and it was wonderful, but on this particular days they were way too busy so serves was slow and the food took a long time to get to the table. But the food was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

I love Palomino! The menu is simple and ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 21, 2016

I love Palomino! The menu is simple and everything is delicious! Tried one of the new antioxidant refreshers, excellent! Our waitress was fantastic - Brianna!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great rotini cheese pasta dish and truff ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Great rotini cheese pasta dish and truffle pizza was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

It took 15 min to have the waiter acknow ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 21, 2016

It took 15 min to have the waiter acknowledge us, it took 45 min for our food which was cold and the only dish that was hot was the one they forgot to make. This was my 3 visit within a week. Thank God the 1st two were great, because the last was absolutely terrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

The guy at the front who assigns tables ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 20, 2016

The guy at the front who assigns tables does not seem to know what he is doing. While we had reservation for two made days in advance he seated us at possibly the worst table in the dark corner next to the coat rack with people bumping into us, while for another couple with no reservation he cleared a large booth that normally seats four.

Tags: Comfort Food, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Normally the experience here is excellen ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Normally the experience here is excellent; however, this experience the waiter forgot about us and it took forever to get our meal. The food is always good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

The food atmosphere and service was top ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 18, 2016

The food atmosphere and service was top notch. enjoyed the filet mignon.

Tags: Fun, Gluten Free Options, Quick Bite, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was OK. It took too long to get se ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Food was OK. It took too long to get served. From the time we ordered until it came to the table was over half an hour. Some of the pasta was dry. Didn't get bread when we ordered. It showed up after we had been seated for 25 minutes. Should have been delivered sooner, especially with the delay in getting dinner served.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

This was a quick walk and great place fo ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 18, 2016

This was a quick walk and great place for late night dinner after a play at ACT theatre. All entrees were very good and not too pricey. The Crab-artichoke dip was fresh and tasty. Fun atmosphere--not too casual, not too stuffy. I would go again for sure.

Tags: Fun, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

The food was not good. The service was s ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 18, 2016

The food was not good. The service was slow. She was kind, but not attentive. The drinks from the bar were not drinkable. We told her how bad the calamari was and she comped it, which was nice. I will not be back. My kids age 7 and 9 did not like it either.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

I took my 7 year old Granddaughter befor ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 18, 2016

I took my 7 year old Granddaughter before seeing Little Mermaid and the server was so kind to her and answered all of her questions. It was wonderful!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My family has eaten at the Palomino for ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 18, 2016

My family has eaten at the Palomino for years. This was a special birthday celebration for my grandson, there were eight of us. We picked this restaurant because it was close to the 5th Avenue where we were going and had a good selection for our 4 and 7 year old as well as adults. Our servicer was not attentive, we waited a long time for service, our food was cold and I returned my because it was cold and not good. No one got hot food. We gave ourselves plenty of time for dinner but didn't have time for coffee because service was so slow. I hate to say it but I can't recommend this restaurant and doubt we will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

The food was delicious. Went with two fr ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 18, 2016

The food was delicious. Went with two friends. We had different appetizers, meals, and desserts and shared. So very tasty. Plus gorgeous and delicious drinks as well.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It was overall good, but we did not get ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 18, 2016

It was overall good, but we did not get a good table like I had requested for my finace's birthday dinner and no one even mentioned a thing. So, disappointed about that.

Tags: Happy Hour, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

I am a long time fan of Palomino but thi ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 17, 2016

I am a long time fan of Palomino but this lunch was not up to the standard I am used to. I ordered something from the special sheet, polenta, shrimp and chorizo and it tasted like it had been sitting under a heat lamp drying out. My daughter had a kids meal hamburger that was very very well done. A disappointing lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.