About Palomino - Seattle

1420 5th Ave.
Seattle, WA 98101
View Larger Map

New American cuisine influenced by Southern Europe. Located 1 block from the 5th Avenue Theatre and 3 blocks from the Convention Center.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Mediterranean, European

Hours of Operation:
WEDNESDAYS ALL DAY: Half-Price Bottled Wine! (bottles priced at $26 & above).
DINING ROOM:
Lunch: Daily: 11am-4pm
Dinner: Sunday-Thursday: 4pm-9:30pm, Friday & Saturday 4pm-10pm
LOUNGE:
Sunday-Thursday 11am-11pm, Friday & Saturday 11am-11pm

Cross Street:
6th & Union - 5th & Pike

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 623-1300

Website:
http://www.palomino.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary 2-hour parking with validation weekdays from 11am-2pm, and evenings when entering the parking garage after 5pm. Complimentary validated parking all day Saturday and Sunday. City Centre Parking garage only, entrance on Union between 5th and 6th Avenues.

Executive Chef:
Randy Barkhurst

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Palomino - Seattle Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Pre/post Theatre (62)
Good for a Date (59)
Special Occasion (54)
See All
Business Meals (41)
Good for Birthdays (34)
Creative Cuisine (31)
Good for Groups (31)
Modern Decor (30)
Good for Anniversaries (29)
Casual (28)
Great for Lunch (28)
Fun (25)
Fit for Foodies (23)
Cozy (22)
Comfort Food (21)
Happy Hour (20)
Romantic (20)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Open Kitchen (14)
Kid-friendly (13)
Sunday Lunch (13)
Gluten Free Options (13)
Hot Spot (13)
People Watching (13)
Bar Seating (13)
Local Ingredients (12)
Good Vegetarian Options (11)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Seasonal (11)
Notable Wine List (11)
Outstanding Value (10)
Healthy (10)
Authentic (10)
Quick Bite (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Wood Oven (8)
Late-night Find (7)
Family Style (7)
Vegan (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Scenic View (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Great Beer (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Fireplace (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Tapas (1)
Spicy (1)
Organic (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
2657 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We were able to split the Seafood Louie ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 2 days ago

We were able to split the Seafood Louie and Crispy Caprese appetizer. Both were wonderful. We especially enjoyed the Crispy Caprese with the pesto, tomato jam, and breaded mozzarella. It was a wonderfulrful blend of flavors. For dessert we chose the Limoncello Cake and Sugar Donuts. Both were to die for. The donuts were made to order and the warm Nutella and raspberry sauce made it a very decadent dessert. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our wait person was great - very informa ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 2 days ago

Our wait person was great - very informative and had good suggestions. The spaciousness and decor is fantastic.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our server was exceptional. We loved the ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 3 days ago

Our server was exceptional. We loved the fresh snapper which was cooked to perfection and the side brussel sprouts. This is a wonderful restaurant to dine at before a play at the Fifth Avenue.

Tags: Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great booth seats, excellent service, ta ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 3 days ago

Great booth seats, excellent service, tasty food! The calamari appetizer was very good. The bread with marinara was excellent as always and so hard not to eat all of it! My scallop entree with risotto was also very tasty. The bar was packed and reservations were necessary. Great pre-theater dinner.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved it! The wine was great and the foo ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 3 days ago

Loved it! The wine was great and the food was even better!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect for a dinner before a show at th ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 5 days ago

Perfect for a dinner before a show at the 5th. Service was prompt and food was good.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We enjoyed the atmosphere, loved the foo ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 5 days ago

We enjoyed the atmosphere, loved the food and service. We will be back!

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, People Watching, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service is always excellent at Palom ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 5 days ago

The service is always excellent at Palomino Seattle. They have changed their menu and do not offer any wild fish. I'm a veggie who eats fish so there were almost no options with protein. To maintain their reputation as a quality restaurant, I recommend they add a wild fish and tofu dish to the menu.

We were a party of 4. In the past, they have been generous with their bread and dipping sauce. Not any more, they didn't provide bread until we requested it and then they only brought out a partial loaf containing 4 small pieces, same size given to a table of 2.

I still gave Palomino Seattle a great rating because they are a high quality restaurant and hopefully our next visit will be better.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The service is excellent, the food I so ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

The service is excellent, the food I so good and the Valeo for it is food. Nice place good ambientation.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great restaurant for a first Valentine's ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 6 days ago

Great restaurant for a first Valentine's Day dinner. Thank you.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had dinner on Valentine's Day. Resta ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 6 days ago

We had dinner on Valentine's Day. Restaurant was very busy, but the service was excellent and our food was well prepared. Even with a full restaurant and bar my wife and I could carry on a pleasant conversation.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was very good overall. The ste ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 6 days ago

The food was very good overall. The steak was spectacular and the chicken dish was as expected. What stands out above all else was the great service. This was our first time dining at Palomino's but it will not be our last. A bit pricey for a normal dining experience but perfect for special occasions.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was very tasty but squash ravioli c ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 6 days ago

Food was very tasty but squash ravioli cold. Waiter returned it to kitchen but received it back with bowl very hot, but ravioli still cool.

Bar service slow. "Glass of Wine with dinner" arrived when dinner almost gone after reminding waiter and hostess.

OK if it's close to where you are or need to be, but otherwise nothing special.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Palomino continues to impress me with su ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 7 days ago

Palomino continues to impress me with such a welcoming and knowledgeable staff. The service has been exceptional and prompt. The food is delightful both in quantity and quality. The atmosphere and location make it a "go to" from our offices, only two blocks away.

Tags: Vegan, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Organic, Hot Spot, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My husband and I had an early Valentine' ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 13, 2017

My husband and I had an early Valentine's Day dinner here and really enjoyed it. All of the food was delicious and the portions were just right.

Tags: Business Meals, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Delightful experience. Especially enjoy ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Delightful experience. Especially enjoyed the well-presented and delicious dinner served with respect for the romantic occasion. Appreciated the menu, overall, as we could have chosen any number of attractively prepared and reasonably priced entrées.

We look forward to our return.

Tags: Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food took a long time to get and we were ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Food took a long time to get and we were on a time crunch

Tags: Quick Bite, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Our waitress was wonderful and helpful w ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Our waitress was wonderful and helpful with deciding on what to get and portions. She was very attentive also. The seafood Louie salad was fresh and delicious.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was only fair for the price. Filet ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Food was only fair for the price. Filet Mignon only average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

On The way to the5th

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 11, 2017

On The way to the5th

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I enjoy this restaurant for business lun ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I enjoy this restaurant for business lunches or after work gatherings. Not so much Saturday lunch, unless they add the option of quiche or added eggs on top of a couple of their standard dishes. Other restaurants have more brunch-type options on the weekend.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Great place! Love the Ragu de Carne - m ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Great place! Love the Ragu de Carne - my new favorite!

Tags: Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great and the service was o ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 10, 2017

The food was great and the service was ok! Having said that they were quite busy though. We would definitely return for a casual dinner!

Tags: Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Business Meals, Quick Bite, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Incredible experience! I planned dinner ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Incredible experience! I planned dinner for a group of my colleagues and this turned out to be the perfect setting. It was lively yet private, making for the perfect conversation environment. The acorn squash risotto is most likely my favorite meal I've had in Seattle. 10/10 would recommend

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Seasonal, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and delicious food! Loved ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Great service and delicious food! Loved the lobster & shrimp ravioli

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious. Excellent service. Had the ta ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Delicious. Excellent service. Had the tasting menu, and they cheerfully made adjustments to my taste. Dessert was amazing as well. Three kinds of creme brulee?!? Wow. Yum.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Showed up and it was closed because of s ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Showed up and it was closed because of storm they did not let us know

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

We love Palomino in San Francisco. Altho ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 3, 2017

We love Palomino in San Francisco. Although the Seattle restaurant is on a mall, it was the same delicious food. We are before our show at the Paramount Theatre.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

My wife and I went to the Palomino for d ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 29, 2017

My wife and I went to the Palomino for dinner before seeing a show. One of the first questions our server (Chris) asked us was whether or not we were seeing a show and if so, what time we would like to leave. He was very responsive and made sure we stayed on schedule to leave at the time requested. Food was good, my steak was cooked perfectly, and the drinks were great too. What really set this dinning experience apart though, was the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The short ribs were so dry and tough on ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The short ribs were so dry and tough one could hardly eat them. Like a fool I didn't say anything. Based on this experience I would never eat there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

Great food, great service! We loved our ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great food, great service! We loved our veggie pasta dish, salad and wine!!

Tags: Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had the seafood louie. Prawns were oka ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 29, 2017

I had the seafood louie. Prawns were okay sized but totally overcooked. Calamata olives did not go well with a louie dressing. Crab was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

The service was very attentive and great ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The service was very attentive and great. The choice of food, wine and cocktails were extensive. What we chose fit the occasion and was tasty. We enjoyed our time there.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Tasting Menu, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

We got in and out in less than an hour w ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We got in and out in less than an hour which helped us to easily get to the King & I. The food was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Took our 12-year-old granddaughter for a ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Took our 12-year-old granddaughter for a dinner out before the Symphony and it was just perfect! She is something of a picky eater but tried bites of everything we ordered and loved it all, especially her pasta with alfredo sauce and a bruschetta appetizer--I know, kids and carbs! In her defense, the Brussels sprouts and kale with mushrooms went over well too. Eric provided fantastic service and we would feel lucky to be seated at one of his tables in the future. Everyone was friendly, the big booth was comfortable, and we could carry on a conversation without shouting. We've never had a bad experience at Palomino and now it's also on our list of good places to take the kids for a special treat.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The chef's pairing was excellent in ever ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 27, 2017

The chef's pairing was excellent in every category. Good food at a good price.

Service was excellent and waiter was concerned about each patrons time schedule as most patrons were headed off too one of several shows.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This is a very nice, very comfortable re ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 26, 2017

This is a very nice, very comfortable restaurant serving outstanding food with exceptional, non-intrusive service.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fun, Romantic, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, People Watching, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had good service & delicious food. G ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 25, 2017

We had good service & delicious food. Great experience.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Great food, fast service and quiet enoug ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Great food, fast service and quiet enough to have a business meeting with a client.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Warm environment, friendly servers, open ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Warm environment, friendly servers, open & spacious, inviting ambiance, food local and well presented. Been here before for dinner & happy hour. Will return again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.