About Palomino - Seattle

1420 5th Ave.
Seattle, WA 98101
View Larger Map

New American cuisine influenced by Southern Europe. Located 1 block from the 5th Avenue Theatre and 3 blocks from the Convention Center.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Mediterranean, European

Hours of Operation:
WEDNESDAYS ALL DAY: Half-Price Bottled Wine! (bottles priced at $26 & above).
DINING ROOM:
Lunch: Daily: 11am-4pm
Dinner: Sunday-Thursday: 4pm-10pm, Friday & Saturday 4pm-11pm
LOUNGE:
Sunday-Thursday 11am-11pm, Friday & Saturday 11am-midnight

Cross Street:
6th & Union - 5th & Pike

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 623-1300

Website:
http://www.palomino.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary 2-hour parking with validation weekdays from 11am-2pm, and evenings when entering the parking garage after 5pm. Complimentary validated parking all day Saturday and Sunday. City Centre Parking garage only, entrance on Union between 5th and 6th Avenues.

Executive Chef:
Randy Barkhurst

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Muffaletta Sandwich
Shrimp Louie Salad
Bloody Mary
Sicilian Meatballs
Burger
Bruschetta
Ginger Cooler
Grapes Of Wrath Cocktail
Truffle Deviled Eggs
Ginger Pear Cosmo
Rotisserie Prime Rib & Garlic Shrimp
Caprase Salad
Copper River S
Baked Pear Bread Pudding With Bourbon Sauce
Truffled Deviled Eggs
Sesame Crusted Salmon
Cranberry Mojito
Crisp Calamari
Lavender Splash
Candied Apple Drop
Pomegranate Lemonade
Sicilian Meatball Flatbread
Rotisserrie Chicken Flatbread
Cured Ham Mushroom Goat Cheese Flatbread
pomegranate margarita
Uli's Italian Sausage And Mushroom Pizza
Sicilian Donuts
Incredible Pepperoni Pizza
Pizza
Potatoes Gorgonzola
Manhattan
White Sangria
Potato Leak Soup
Crab And Artichoke Dip
crab cake
Bread
Meatball Sliders
Mussels
Créme Brulé
Ten Sage Martini
Romano Crusted Chicken, Rustic Tomato-Cream Sauce, Linguini, Shaved Asiago
Asiago-Almond Crusted Scallops
Chicken Marsala
Tiramisu
Rigatoni Bolognese
whisky sour
French Onion Dip With Garlic Naan
Dungeness Crab Sliders
Brussel Sprouts With Bacon And Honey
Dungeness crab and artichoke fondue
Molten Valhrona Chocolate Cake With Bittersweet Chocolate Sauce & Creme Fraiche Ice Cream
Blue Moon Beer

Palomino - Seattle Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.5

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

special occasion (95)
good for groups (83)
great for lunch (77)
See All
fit for foodies (53)
romantic (34)
neighborhood gem (30)
vibrant bar scene (23)
hot spot (21)
late-night find (20)
great for brunch (17)
kid-friendly (13)
notable wine list (12)
scenic view (5)
great for outdoor dining (2)
Sort By:
Newest
2281 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We were impressed with the friendliness ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined 3 days ago

We were impressed with the friendliness and competence of the staff from the moment we entered the restaurant. The food was very good and we thought reasonably priced. We thought it was a bonus to get a nice bottle of wine at half-price because it was "Wine Down Wednesday."

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have going to Palomino for years and ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined 4 days ago

We have going to Palomino for years and find their menu much reduced, especially in the seafood area. And why don't the carry any sauvignon blanc wine?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

Went to carb up before a 200 mile bike r ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Went to carb up before a 200 mile bike ride (Seattle-to-Portland). Location was close to hotel, bright and open and menu looked varied and delicious. Tried the brand -new -to -the -menu seared ahi on pasta and it was a real winner. Also went with the tried-and-true paella - YUM. Service could have been a little more attentive, but the food was good enough that I would like them another chance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Staff was a little slow, but extremely f ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Staff was a little slow, but extremely friendly and helpful. Food was flavorful.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Their Mushroom Soup is a must try! Full ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Their Mushroom Soup is a must try! Full of chunks of mushrooms. The lamb shank was amazingly tender and full of deep and balanced flavors. Attentive service from the staff.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Our main focus for our reunion of former ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Our main focus for our reunion of former co-workers was to catch up with each other. Our server was very accommodating in getting us something we would enjoy eating or drinking, and left us to enjoy our conversation. I had the peach salmon which was very good and talked so much I had to take most of it home with me. Happily, it warmed up very nicely for lunch the next day.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

^6-10 of us have been here many times. ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

^6-10 of us have been here many times. Everyone orders something different. We all enjoy our meals here. The wait staff us very friendly and very helpful. We usually go before we go the theater and they make sure we get out in time to make our theater performance.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great location! Was disappointed that th ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Great location! Was disappointed that the restaurant ran out of copper river by 6:00 but all seven enjoyed their choices! And the deserts were excellent too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Nice place for a business lunch. Someth ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Nice place for a business lunch. Something on the menu for everyone.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Asked for quiet table; entered to a ver ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Asked for quiet table; entered to a very loud bar din. Realized restaurant was L-shaped: short arm and angle were bar and loud imbibers; long arm was much more quiet and conducive to a good dining experience. Excellent service and food.

Once again, recommend you include in your Noise Level choices something on the order of "Too Darned Loud!"

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

We had been told that Palomino was a hot ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We had been told that Palomino was a hot-spot and would be very busy so we made early reservations for dinner. When we arrived, and throughout our meal, we were one of only a handful of diners so the atmosphere wasn't what we were expecting. But the room was lovely and the food was great and the server was friendly and attentive, until nearing the end of our meal. We were apparently a challenge as we asked for one bill and then split it ourselves, returning the payment notes to him with our cards/cash. Normally we would expect the server to roll with it, but he made a point of explaining how difficult we were being and that he would be taking quite a bit of time to process the payments.

We asked if the host could please call us a cab (we were from out of the country so didn't have the ability to call for ourselves on cell phones). We were told to walk to the nearest hotel.

A great meal, but the end of the evening has coloured our overall impressions of the restaurant.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Consistently good food with healthy opti ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Consistently good food with healthy options and indulgent choices too. Palomino is one of those gem restaurants i tend to forget about, and when I do remember and go back I'm always glad i did!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

There was a line at the check in table a ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

There was a line at the check in table and no one seemed to know what they were doing. Finally got seated, we ordered and it took forever to get our lunch. Everyone else around was fed long before us. I think they lost the order to be honest. Food was ok once delivered.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

We were greeted warmly and seated at a w ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

We were greeted warmly and seated at a window table, as requested. Waiter was pleasant, but slow to take our order and to bring the bill. Otherwise, we had a wonderful lunch. The ambiance is always fun and perfect for out of town guests.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

I ordered Shrimp Scampi and it was way t ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

I ordered Shrimp Scampi and it was way too spicy. Nothing was offered in place of it. My husband enjoyed his dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great food and service. Inventive Italia ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Great food and service. Inventive Italian dishes, including some nice new ones.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Hostess and servers were super nice and ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Hostess and servers were super nice and helpful. We arrived early and were seated right away and in a good spot. Our server was prompt and friendly. Food and drinks were spendy but good.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Very good. Easy to park, easy to get a ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Very good. Easy to park, easy to get a table. Right downtown.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Artichoke crab dip gave my wife and I in ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Artichoke crab dip gave my wife and I indigestion. Second time in a row. We were burping up crab dip 5 hours afterward. Chicken parm was too spicey. That led to upset stomachs for both my wife and I all night long. In the future, we will look for someplace that has better food that does not upset our stomachs. Kids in baseball hats on backwards and tee shirts were a distraction. Is this upscale or just a glorified McDonalds with high prices?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Server spaced out on bringing my guest t ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Server spaced out on bringing my guest the iced tea he ordered. First World problems!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

I am a long-time fan and diner & lunch e ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

I am a long-time fan and diner & lunch eater. I'd not been in a while lately. Server informed us the menu had just recently changed. It had a few of our old time faves, others were missing.

The new items looked good, some creative. I LOVE their thin crust pizzas, but the variety has changed again. None really suited my tastes. I almost wish they would offer a "create your own" option with a list of the toppings offered, I love their ingredients and feel anyone could make a perfect "match" to their tastes, with the toppings offered now, just in the combos individuals would create!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

New in house sausage is excellent as is ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

New in house sausage is excellent as is the steelhead!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Restaurant is good. Menu is Okay. House ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Restaurant is good. Menu is Okay. House Specialties Price never mentioned during the conversation neither on the special menu. Appreciate if the menu and pricing is available upfront to choose the perfect option.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

It was my first time there. I took my hu ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

It was my first time there. I took my husband for Father's Day and the best Bruschetta's ever, the main entrée had also a great presentation and taste. The waiter was friendly and service was great. A great experience overall and you definitely won me as a customer because I will be back for sure.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter, Michael did a wonderful job ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Our waiter, Michael did a wonderful job of making us feel welcome and answering our questions about the menu. We wanted a relaxed dinner without being rushed yet, things being served on time so we were on time for the theatre. He was very pleasant and made sure everything happened perfectly. We would request him to serve us in the future. Great job!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

My sister and I dine here often, as it i ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

My sister and I dine here often, as it is convenient to the 5th ave theater. and downtown events. One of the best parts of our evening that night was actually having a chance to talk to a previous restaurant manager, Paul, who was there with a another group . That guy is uber friendly and he does a lot to make everyone feel comfortable and happy. All the wait staff and hosts are terrific and do their best to provide a high level of service.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great spot. Go there often before the th ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Great spot. Go there often before the theater. Was very noisy this trip - very hard for older guests to hear on this trip. The food is always excellent.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

We dine here before every show we attend ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

We dine here before every show we attend at the 5th Avenue Theatre. The food is consistently good and the service is excellent. We progress from appetizers to dessert and are always finished with the bill paid by show time.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We frequently dine at Palomino before at ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

We frequently dine at Palomino before attending shows at the Fifth Avenue Theatre. There are always good selections for reasonable prices. The service is super, and there are many interesting wine varieties available. Looking forward to seeing what the new menu brings. I hope it is more of the same.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I normally like the food at Palomino. Bu ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

I normally like the food at Palomino. But 2 of the last 3 times I've eaten here, I've eaten Pork Chops. Overcooked, tough and cold. I guess, don't order the pork!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Love those lavender cosmos. Palomino is ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Love those lavender cosmos. Palomino is a perfect spot to eat before going to one of the theatres, Paramount or 5th Avenue.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love this restaurant!

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

The food and service are always excellent! We love coming here!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Usually great, but fell far short this time.

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

They were out of shrimp, a key component of several entrees, including the enticing special we both had our eyes on. Our alternate entrees were not only disappointing, they also had sand in the muscles and clams. Even the air conditioning was lackluster on this supremely steamy afternoon. Further adding to our dismay, the wine list was completely devoid of roses, our go-go vino on a hot day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value1

Service was great! I gave "Ambiance" on ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

Service was great! I gave "Ambiance" only 3 stars because the restaurant was too warm. There were only a few patrons, but the open kitchen plan allowed too much heat to escape into the dining spaces.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Great penne bolognese. The bread appetiz ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Great penne bolognese. The bread appetizer good as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Have eaten here many times and never bee ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Have eaten here many times and never been disappointed. We had the salmon....fabulous to the very last bite.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Great food. Great service. Nice ambian ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Great food. Great service. Nice ambiance, but can get noisy.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent with food allergies

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

We love eating at Palomino; the food is always exquisite and the chefs do a fantastic job of food allergy safety. It's our family's go-to place for special occasion dining.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have been to Palomino for lunch several ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Have been to Palomino for lunch several times and was happy with my meals. This time we went for dinner and were very surprised at the below average quality of the dishes. The salad seemed to be from a bag with little specks of goat cheese mixed in. My husband and I both had fish dishes. Both of the fish fillets were dry and overcooked and were accompanied by very lackluster sides with little color or flavor. I have had better food at a culinary training school.

The manager was extremely apologetic and offered to prepare the fish again. We did receive a much better cooked fish. However, this time the fish was accompanied by undercooked asparagus and potatoes. The restaurant was emptying out. Did not look as busy as I have usually experienced it. As I said, I previously enjoyed the food at Palomino. This dinner was so inedible and in addition drawn out that I am not sure I want to try the restaurant again. The manager and server did try to make things right and I do appreciate the effort.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value2

Super experience!

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Service and attention to detail was outstanding, as was the food. We came for a special birthday lunch and the waitstaff went above and beyond with a special creme brulee for the 84th birthday girl, candle and all. The occasion couldn't have been more perfect! Thank you so much.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.