About Palomino - Seattle

1420 5th Ave.
Seattle, WA 98101
View Larger Map

New American cuisine influenced by Southern Europe. Located 1 block from the 5th Avenue Theatre and 3 blocks from the Convention Center.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Mediterranean, European

Hours of Operation:
WEDNESDAYS ALL DAY: Half-Price Bottled Wine! (bottles priced at $26 & above).
DINING ROOM:
Lunch: Daily: 11am-4pm
Dinner: Sunday-Thursday: 4pm-10pm, Friday & Saturday 4pm-11pm
LOUNGE:
Sunday-Thursday 11am-11pm, Friday & Saturday 11am-midnight

Cross Street:
6th & Union - 5th & Pike

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 623-1300

Website:
http://www.palomino.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary 2-hour parking with validation weekdays from 11am-2pm, and evenings when entering the parking garage after 5pm. Complimentary validated parking all day Saturday and Sunday. City Centre Parking garage only, entrance on Union between 5th and 6th Avenues.

Executive Chef:
Randy Barkhurst

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Muffaletta Sandwich
Shrimp Louie Salad
Bloody Mary
Sicilian Meatballs
Burger
Bruschetta
Ginger Cooler
Grapes Of Wrath Cocktail
Truffle Deviled Eggs
Rotisserie Prime Rib & Garlic Shrimp
Ginger Pear Cosmo
Copper River S
Caprase Salad
Baked Pear Bread Pudding With Bourbon Sauce
Truffled Deviled Eggs
Sesame Crusted Salmon
Cranberry Mojito
Crisp Calamari
Sicilian Donuts
Candied Apple Drop
Incredible Pepperoni Pizza
pomegranate margarita
Lavender Splash
Pomegranate Lemonade
Cured Ham Mushroom Goat Cheese Flatbread
Uli's Italian Sausage And Mushroom Pizza
Sicilian Meatball Flatbread
Rotisserrie Chicken Flatbread
Pizza
Manhattan
Potatoes Gorgonzola
White Sangria
Potato Leak Soup
Crab And Artichoke Dip
crab cake
Meatball Sliders
Bread
Mussels
Créme Brulé
Ten Sage Martini
Romano Crusted Chicken, Rustic Tomato-Cream Sauce, Linguini, Shaved Asiago
Asiago-Almond Crusted Scallops
Tiramisu
Chicken Marsala
Rigatoni Bolognese
whisky sour
Brussel Sprouts With Bacon And Honey
French Onion Dip With Garlic Naan
Dungeness Crab Sliders
Dungeness crab and artichoke fondue
Molten Valhrona Chocolate Cake With Bittersweet Chocolate Sauce & Creme Fraiche Ice Cream
Blue Moon Beer

Palomino - Seattle Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (76)
Great for Lunch (71)
Good for Groups (62)
See All
Fit for Foodies (50)
Romantic (33)
Neighborhood Gem (26)
Vibrant Bar Scene (22)
Hot Spot (20)
Notable Wine List (16)
Late-night Find (14)
Kid-friendly (13)
Great for Brunch (11)
Casual (8)
Business Meals (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Scenic View (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Good for a Date (5)
Authentic (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Wood Oven (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Healthy (2)
Fun (2)
Cozy (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Tapas (1)
Vegan (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Fireplace (1)
Organic (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Live Sports (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Family Style (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2330 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our teen kids went to homecoming dinner ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 3 days ago

Our teen kids went to homecoming dinner here. The wait staff was excellent with all 16 of them. The food was great and they were in and out in a reasonable amount of time. Thanks so much.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Wood Oven, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was absolutely great and I now h ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined 5 days ago

Service was absolutely great and I now have a new wine to add to my favorite wines list! Food is a little pricey for the quality but the service and attention to our order made it worth it.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

My husband and I are on a bit of a diet, ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined 5 days ago

My husband and I are on a bit of a diet, focusing on low carb & high protein & veggies. Palomino had wonderful selections that fit in with our needs with wonderful flavor!

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Friendly staff, they allowed us to take ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined 5 days ago

Friendly staff, they allowed us to take our time. We all enjoyed drinks, salads, main dishes and dessert. Nice open feel. Enjoyable.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

This was a first-time meeting get-togeth ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined 7 days ago

This was a first-time meeting get-together for me with my new supervisor. My supervisor chose the restaurant. We consistently had to request of several different servers to bring my supervisor a refreshing of her beverage over the time period we visited. At one point, it became embarrassing because of the numerous times she was promised a refilling without follow-through.

My meal was fine but I felt bad for her because she was impacted, recent car accident and couldn't get around well.

Tags: Comfort Food, Vegan, Modern Decor, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Fireplace, Casual, Wood Oven, Special Occasion, Organic, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Disabled Access, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

We used to have a Palomino in MN and I r ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

We used to have a Palomino in MN and I really liked it - so I was excited to see one right across the street from my hotel while in Seattle. Everything was top notch, right from the friendly host (who made excellent small talk while we were waiting for our party to collet), to the very accommodating waiter when my husband pulled up a drink recipe on his phone that wasn't on the menu, to the great food and ambience. I definitely recommend this for business meals, or a great date night!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good service , did not wait for a long t ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Good service , did not wait for a long time for food . Paid parking .

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Overall it was fine. Main beef is the ve ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Overall it was fine. Main beef is the veggies that came with the entrees.

Too buttery.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Group of friends trying to carb up befor ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Group of friends trying to carb up before our marathon on Sunday. All of us ended up eating fish which was fabulous but wish there were simpler choices of pasta. Still a good meal - the fish was grand.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

The server was not attentive. Had to tel ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

The server was not attentive. Had to tell him 5 times that we are waiting for bread, had to remind him 3 more times for bread refill, 2 reminders that we wanted pepper flakes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

Excellent restaurant, within walking dis ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Excellent restaurant, within walking distance of downtown hotels.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I first experience Palomino when it firs ...

vip
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

I first experience Palomino when it first opened...late 80's, me thinks. At that time, I thought it was grand, and followed them to their franchise In Dallas, palomino grill. I still enjoy tne Dallas restaurant, but, the Seattle "mother ship" has turned into a pizza joint in a grand setting. Still filled w/chihuilly grand pieces, and wonderful lighting .Service was very good; menu papa johns. I'm a dinasour. Why can't I have a great restaurant w/ great service without crying babies and nursing mothers ? DINO IN DALLAS

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value4

I like waiters who are efficient, not un ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

I like waiters who are efficient, not unctious. Chicken marbella is overpriced and noodles were cold. BUT, the classic mojito was delicious. And the second one was too.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Our family of 4 and were all disappointe ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Our family of 4 and were all disappointed. We waited 40 minutes after ordering before we received our food. The pizzas were not what we'd describe as Artisan Pizza at all. One of their pizza ovens was down that night and for some reason that translated to the restaurant only being able to offer 3 out of the 6 varieties of pizzas from their menu. We still don't understand what the lack of one pizza oven has anything to do with the ability to change toppings on a pizza?! We had all wanted pizza but with only the 3 most boring options for pizza available my husband and I ordered the braised short rib and chicken parmesan instead. Both of our dishes arrived barely warm. My dish came with a small portion of spaghetti which was dry and cold and stiff noodles like it had sat out far too long. My husbands short rib was also cold although he said the vegetables were good. We had waited far too long for our meal as it was so we ate what we could and just wanted to get out of there as it was also very noisy. Overall none of us would recommend this restaurant. Didn't realize at the time that this is part of a chain of Palomino restaurants.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value2

Enjoyed our dinner at Palamino. Nice, u ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Enjoyed our dinner at Palamino. Nice, unrushed, dining. An ecclectic group of diners which made people watching alot of fun. Appreciated the slight hints of healthy perspectives. The mashed cauliflower side dish was yummy with my salmon. Really nice dining venue.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

It was a really lovely lunch. The staff ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

It was a really lovely lunch. The staff was absolutely wonderful.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not impressed at all. This place boasts ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Not impressed at all. This place boasts a romantic ambience, but you can't escape that you're inside a mall. We asked to be seated in a nice, quiet part of the establishment and instead, we were placed up front in a relatively noisy area. So, the staff do not care about your requests or don't read them. The food was just ok and the waiter assumed we were done with our appetizer, didn't ask, just picked it up off the table as he was walking by. Then we ordered pizza which was undercooked and not good. Won't be back.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Excellent twists on Italian food. Our fr ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Excellent twists on Italian food. Our friends, who also are foodies, enjoyed the restaurant, food, service, and wine

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Brie was our server, and she was fantast ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Brie was our server, and she was fantastic! Helpful, friendly and thoroughly professional. The food was a good as we have come to expect. We have been going to Palomino for our anniversary for some years now, and we will happily continue this tradition.

Tags: Business Meals, Live Sports, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Wood Oven, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Brought two young kids, and although thi ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Brought two young kids, and although this restaurant is a bit more fancy, it was also very kid-friendly! Had a great time sitting and overlooking the art in the foyer. The food was reasonably priced and the service was outstanding. Would highly recommend!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Good food and and service. Primary reaso ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Good food and and service. Primary reason for choice was gluten free dining options.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great location close to The Paramount fo ...

 
 (Naples)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Great location close to The Paramount for a pre-show meal. My fiancé and I enjoyed some refreshing cocktails (Moscow Mule and a very special aged Old Fashioned) and devoured the apps (crispy and light calamari and burrata with prosciutto and asparagus that was delightful). Great service and wonderful mains (we both had the chicken parmesan as we were in need of Italian comfort food). Ran out of room for dessert but we'll be back!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Noisy, difficult to have a business conv ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Noisy, difficult to have a business conversation during lunch with out shouting at on another.

Tags: Great for Lunch
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

The artisan pizza is excellent with a ve ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

The artisan pizza is excellent with a very thin crust. Recommend ordering one for two people and you may want an extra salad. The seafood Louie could have included more of a variety of seafood, although it was very good and filling.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love this restaurant. Great food and fri ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Love this restaurant. Great food and friendly staff every time!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had dinner for my wife's 50th and got a ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Had dinner for my wife's 50th and got a great table. Service was stellar as well as the food. Staff went out of their way to make us feel at home. Great experience. Thanks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Palomino is always on point with their f ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Palomino is always on point with their food, I have never been disappointed. The service wasn't exceptional, but the bartender was fairly attentive... For only having two of us sitting in the entire bar area.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Tiny food portion on pasta

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Tiny food portion on pasta

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3

Our food was delicious! We had the steak ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Our food was delicious! We had the steak and frites and the rotisserie pork chop with rosemary mashed potatoes and asparagus.. Doughnuts for dessert to dip in Nutella or mascarpone... So good! Our server was so sweet!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

food and service were very good; hadn't ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

food and service were very good; hadn't been there in a long time; will go back

Tags: Great for Lunch
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

A steady B+ in every category. Great fo ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

A steady B+ in every category. Great for pre-ACT dining or between work and evening shopping. Bar is an option after theater, but restaurant closes too early.

Tags: Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Went to Palomino for lunch on a Friday. ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Went to Palomino for lunch on a Friday. Food was great as always and our server was very attentive. Love their lunch combo!

Tags: Great for Lunch
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The scallops were over cooked and the br ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

The scallops were over cooked and the breading was awful. My Lavender Cosmo was not great nor was the Rose Wine that was on the special sheet. My husbands steak frites and beer was fine. The Creme Brulle was the best part of the meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Phillip was outstanding server. I let hi ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Phillip was outstanding server. I let him make my dinner choice. He brought me the Mahi that was on the special menu. Good choice Phillip.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Our experience was excellent. We arrive ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Our experience was excellent. We arrived a bit early but they seated us immediately. The waiter did a good job describing the specials and offering hints to make everything better and stopping by to see if we needed anything else but not often enough to be a pest. I had the cheese rotini with added Dungeness crab. It was spectacular. Two of us had the scallops. They were cooked to perfection- not to well to get rubbery or too little to be squishy. The bit of breading was a nice extra. One had the salmon which melted in you mouth. The sorbet was good too. Not too filling, just the right accent after as meal.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

My friends and I had an enjoyable lunch ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

My friends and I had an enjoyable lunch before a 5th Ave matinee.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

My organic rotisserie chicken with garli ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

My organic rotisserie chicken with garlic beans and cauliflower mashed potatoes was the best healthy food meal I've had it at a business lunch in a long time

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overall experience was good. Would have ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Overall experience was good. Would have liked for the server to check on drinks a bit more often.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Palomino is one of my "go to" lunch plac ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Palomino is one of my "go to" lunch places in downtown Seattle. A nice variety of salads and they have one of the California Cabernet Sauvigons I enjoy. It's rather restful if you go mid-afternoon and I never feel like they want me to hurry up. Relaxing and tasty.

Tags: Great for Lunch
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Always a wonderful spot for a pre-theat ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Always a wonderful spot for a pre-theater lunch or dinner before the 5Th Avenue! Love the menu choices for a lunch/brunch!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.