Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi

About Palomino - Seattle

New American cuisine influenced by Southern Europe. Located 1 block from the 5th Avenue Theatre and 3 blocks from the Convention Center.

1420 5th Ave.
Seattle, WA 98101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Mediterranean, European

Hours of Operation:
WEDNESDAYS ALL DAY: Half-Price Bottled Wine! (bottles priced at $26 & above).
DINING ROOM:
Lunch: Daily: 11am-4pm
Dinner: Sunday-Thursday: 4pm-9:30pm, Friday & Saturday 4pm-10pm
LOUNGE:
Sunday-Thursday 11am-11pm, Friday & Saturday 11am-11pm

Cross Street:
6th & Union - 5th & Pike

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 623-1300

Website:
http://www.palomino.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary 2-hour parking with validation weekdays from 11am-2pm, and evenings when entering the parking garage after 5pm. Complimentary validated parking all day Saturday and Sunday. City Centre Parking garage only, entrance on Union between 5th and 6th Avenues.

Executive Chef:
Randy Barkhurst

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Palomino - Seattle Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Pre/post Theatre (70)
Great for Lunch (43)
Special Occasion (42)
See All
Business Meals (39)
Good for a Date (37)
Good for Birthdays (31)
Creative Cuisine (30)
Good for Anniversaries (28)
Casual (28)
Fun (26)
Good for Groups (25)
Bar Seating (20)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Happy Hour (19)
Comfort Food (18)
Gluten Free Options (16)
Vibrant Bar Scene (16)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Worth the Drive (15)
Romantic (14)
Authentic (13)
Local Ingredients (13)
Seasonal (12)
Cozy (11)
People Watching (11)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
Quick Bite (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Organic (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Scenic View (3)
Spicy (3)
Waterfront (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Great Beer (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Tapas (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
2911 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 2 days ago

This is a pretty typical Seattle restaurant with not much to recommend it except proximity to theaters and their willingness to ask if you are attending a show and serve you in a timely fashion. Otherwise, not really any signature food. On this night, I must rate the service as very poor as we had to wait 10 minutes beyond our reservation time while we observed others who arrived after us being seated. We faced an army of hosts, waiters, servers, bussers whose roles seemed muddled. Someone clearing our appetizers asked if we wanted to see a dessert menu. Someone we hadn't seen at all throughout the course of dinner brought us the bill. Etc.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value3

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined 4 days ago

Best meal I had in Seattle...had the North Pacific Snapper and it was excellently prepared. Our waiter was very helpful but didn't "hover". We ate at a much more expensive seafood restaurant the next night, and the food was much better at Palomino. Highly recommend it!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 4 days ago

Good but not great. Service was slow. We told the waiter we were attending the theater and would like to be done by 7 and that was done. Their is a discount at this restaurant and I forgot to ask but the server knew that’s what we were doing so it would have been nice if she asked if we were subscribers and therefore a small discount. A tip would have been larger. Food was tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 4 days ago

Great service. We went for our anniversary. They surprised us with a card signed by all the stuff and then with cream Brulé dessert after dinner. everyone was really nice and the food was great thank you

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 6 days ago

Good place for having cocktails and snacks. Not a good place for pasta.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 7 days ago

always enjoy this restaurant when I'm in Seattle and look forward to my next visit.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Palomino's gluten free pizzas are fabulous! They offer a nice selection of dishes made with GF ingredients. Highly recommend them.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Our server was truly exceptional. She gave us great advice. We opted to try more things and share them. She automatically split everything for us to make it easier to share. She also have us great ideas of add -ons to make some changes when we come back next time to make our entree even better.

Tags: Seasonal, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Occasion was a birthday. Palomino took great care of us. The service was impeccable. They were very thoughtful, brought out dessert with candles! The manager came over and see with us. They had a private party coming in so they offered to give us some other space to continue but we were wrapping up so it worked out well. Parking is validated. Overall experience was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 12, 2017

The food here was simply AMAZING! I had the SHORTRIBS!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Food was very good, service was good but kitchen was slow. We were a party of 3 arriving at 11:45 AM with a reservation, and we each ordered a lunch combo (Panini/salad/pasta), nothing custom or fancy. We were there for a full hour.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 10, 2017

The Palomino in downtown Seattle is my go to restaurant for dining with my husband, friend or by myself. The food and service is consistently excellent.
We live north of Seattle and I was downtown with a friend to see John Keister.
I also appreciate the free parking in the City Centre garage.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Tapas, Business Meals, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

So so so very nice, it was, not kidding, one of the best places I've ever been to. The service was to perfection, the food was delicious, the atmosphere was nice and quiet. Would definitely recommend to anyone!!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fun, Paleo Friendly, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Coffee, Happy Hour, Gluten Free Options, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Romantic, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Palomino is solid. Menu is simple but well presented and prepared. We had two appis that didn't disappoint and our entrees were well prepared and good value. We had the snapper and one of the dinner salads. Cooked to perfection. Only comment would be a little more flavor for the snapper with the parm coating. Perhaps a mango salsa or sauce would have added more depth. Overall a good experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 6, 2017

I'm currently on a very strict diet and frequently have trouble choosing something from restaurant menus that I can actually eat when on business lunches. Our waiter was AMAZING and went completely off menu providing me with the perfect meal. She was helpful, understanding and gracious. Such a wonderful experience!!!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Paleo Friendly, Healthy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (London)·Dined on September 6, 2017

Great food, easy to get to and very friendly staff

Tags: Business Meals, Cozy, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Visited for lunch and ordered the seafood louie. Moderate sized servings of delicious Dungeness crab and shrimp. Beatiful greens with crisp asparagus and perfectly cooked hard boiled egg. Dressing was thousand islandy and good; probably made there. If you like cocurtail sauce ask for it when you order. I asked for it after my food came and was told they would have to make it to order, 5-10 min wait so I said skip it. I bet it would have been good though.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Healthy, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 28, 2017

Great food and service, but a bit noisy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 28, 2017

As always, Palomino in Seattle doesn't disappoint. From remembering my seating preferences to calling me to let me know I left my rewards card there, they are consistently professional. The food is always good.

Tags: Quick Bite, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 28, 2017

Everything was wonderful. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 28, 2017

Food was excellent and service was outstanding! I would recommend friends eat there anytime...

Tags: Kid-friendly, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Great food and excellant service. We enjoyed our dinner so much we returned again the next day for a late evening snack.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on August 20, 2017

I wanted a nice restaurant to take my grandchildren to (aged 9) for our special night in Seattle. Our hotel recommended Palomino. I had ruled it out because the reviews did not indicate kid friendly but the kids menu was fabulous and the wait staff were perfect. I had the asiago crusted scallops and they were delicious. My granddaughter declared her pizza crust was the best she had ever eaten (she liked the whole pizza but especially the crust). Both grandkids loved the sundae which came with their meal.
The restaurant is elegant without being stuffy and and I cannot say enough nice things about their staff.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Nice "china" with predictable food. Good stuff. Try.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (London)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Delicious food and very friendly service, a highlight of our trip to Seattle

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Positive reviews in food and ambience were negated by polite incompetence on the service side. Clueless? New on the job? Overwhelmed? High? Not sure, but will not be back as a result.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 14, 2017

It was okay. Very good fresh greens salad made me hopeful. My filet mignon was fine. Not amazing nor tough. Just okay. My daughters pasta & chicken dish was okay chicken and mediocre pasta. I wouldn't go back. I was there several months ago and left thinking meh. My recent trip confirmed that.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Appetizers were horrible and lack seasoning: calamari was overcooked with too many soggy vegetables and the brussels sprouts were burnt with hard overcooked pancetta

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Food was good. Service was great. They have some good classic standbys on the menu.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 8, 2017

I like Palomino in general - the menu is great. We also love Happy Hour. The one downside is that it's so noisy. We had a group of six people and couldn't talk to each other - so for a business lunch/dinner will not book a group again . I think we'll just stick to Palomino's as a Happy Hour location.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 7, 2017

We eat at Palomino several times a year and it is always adequate when it could so easily be great. The location is great for downtown work and evening events. The ambience is good and the wait staff is consistently great. And the food is consistently mediocre. The cauliflower appetizer -- a common staple in Seattle -- was the worst I have had -- undercooked and burnt at the same time, with no flavor. The filet was tender, but so salty that the meat had no taste other than salt -- a sad thing for a good piece of meat. The risotto cake was yummy and well prepared. The vegetable side was roasted mushrooms -- ok, but my local pub does a better job. One of their specialties is seafood. Unfortunately, I am allergic to lemon and from past experience have come to the conclusion that although my allergy requires actual lemon in the dish to trigger, the kitchen is unable to provide a lemon-free seafood dish. So I stick to the chicken and beef selections. Maybe the seafood is better, but the seafood bar for "great" is quite high in Seattle. Go for the ambience not for the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 5, 2017

It was delicious, however our apps were brought wrong. Service was good. Food was good, but not as highly rated that we expected. Didn't exactly meet out expectations

Tags: Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

The fish dish was not edible ( sea bass I believe ). The waiter who was very nice took the item off the bill. We have eaten at the Palomino in Minneapolis years ago and was very impressed with there food but not here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

Very attentive staff. The meals were good for the price. We had the evening special cocktails which were really tasty. Complimentary bread with tomato chutney very good.

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 31, 2017

I went there with my teenage boys for dinner as an alternative to eating at our hotel restaurant. Nice ambiance, spacious. I had a gluten free pizza, which was pretty good. My sons also had pizza and pasta, both of which were delicious. The menu is not extensive, but interesting offerings. A bit pricey but still less expensive than our hotel. Overall a great experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Gluten Free Options, Bar Seating, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

This has long been a favorite restaurant when in the Seattle area. Both my guests enjoyed their
dinners. I ordered the gluten free pizza, the sauce and toppings were very good, the crust however was LAME. Big disappointment. No flavor, texture was, well there was none. I have lived in a gluten free world for about 30 years not by choice I might add. That said options have
improved greatly in just the past few years and I'm grateful. Here in Oregon Bob's Red Mills packaged goods for gluten free are a very reliable choice. Our evening was very enjoyable our waiter Robert, took pretty good care of us. I wouldn't hesitate to come again next time we visit
Seattle.
StephanieP

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Healthy, Cozy, Fun, Casual, Gluten Free Options, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (London)·Dined on July 30, 2017

The server was outstanding! He was very attentive but not overbearing.

Tags: Fun, Local Ingredients, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Outstanding service and great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Overall, it was decent. I loved my waiter. But. my pasta was a bit over cooked. I liked the appetizer and the drinks. I think I would come back for the happy hour if I was in the neighborhood. It was also a great location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Had Dinner before a show at the 5th. The service was quick and friendly, and the food was delicious.

Tags: Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Quick Bite, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.