About Palomino - Seattle

1420 5th Ave.
Seattle, WA 98101
View Larger Map

New American cuisine influenced by Southern Europe. Located 1 block from the 5th Avenue Theatre and 3 blocks from the Convention Center.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Mediterranean, European

Hours of Operation:
WEDNESDAYS ALL DAY: Half-Price Bottled Wine! (bottles priced at $26 & above).
DINING ROOM:
Lunch: Daily: 11am-4pm
Dinner: Sunday-Thursday: 4pm-9:30pm, Friday & Saturday 4pm-10pm
LOUNGE:
Sunday-Thursday 11am-11pm, Friday & Saturday 11am-11pm

Cross Street:
6th & Union - 5th & Pike

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 623-1300

Website:
http://www.palomino.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary 2-hour parking with validation weekdays from 11am-2pm, and evenings when entering the parking garage after 5pm. Complimentary validated parking all day Saturday and Sunday. City Centre Parking garage only, entrance on Union between 5th and 6th Avenues.

Executive Chef:
Randy Barkhurst

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Muffaletta Sandwich - Palomino - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Sicilian Meatballs - Palomino - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Shrimp Louie Salad - Palomino - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Bloody Mary - Palomino - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Burger - Palomino - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Bruschetta - Palomino - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Ginger Cooler - Palomino - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Grapes Of Wrath Cocktail - Palomino - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Truffle Deviled Eggs - Palomino - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Rotisserie Prime Rib & Garlic Shrimp - Palomino - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Ginger Pear Cosmo - Palomino - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Copper River S - Palomino - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Caprase Salad - Palomino - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Baked Pear Bread Pudding With Bourbon Sauce - Palomino - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Truffled Deviled Eggs - Palomino - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Sesame Crusted Salmon - Palomino - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Cranberry Mojito - Palomino - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Crisp Calamari - Palomino - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Sicilian Donuts - Palomino - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Candied Apple Drop - Palomino - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Incredible Pepperoni Pizza - Palomino - Seattle, Seattle, WA
pomegranate margarita - Palomino - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Lavender Splash - Palomino - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Pomegranate Lemonade - Palomino - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Cured Ham Mushroom Goat Cheese Flatbread - Palomino - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Uli's Italian Sausage And Mushroom Pizza - Palomino - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Sicilian Meatball Flatbread - Palomino - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Rotisserrie Chicken Flatbread - Palomino - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Pizza - Palomino - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Manhattan - Palomino - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Potatoes Gorgonzola - Palomino - Seattle, Seattle, WA
White Sangria - Palomino - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Potato Leak Soup - Palomino - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Crab And Artichoke Dip - Palomino - Seattle, Seattle, WA
crab cake - Palomino - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Meatball Sliders - Palomino - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Bread - Palomino - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Mussels - Palomino - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Créme Brulé - Palomino - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Ten Sage Martini - Palomino - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Romano Crusted Chicken, Rustic Tomato-Cream Sauce, Linguini, Shaved Asiago - Palomino - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Asiago-Almond Crusted Scallops - Palomino - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Tiramisu - Palomino - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Chicken Marsala - Palomino - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Rigatoni Bolognese - Palomino - Seattle, Seattle, WA
whisky sour - Palomino - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Brussel Sprouts With Bacon And Honey - Palomino - Seattle, Seattle, WA
French Onion Dip With Garlic Naan - Palomino - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Dungeness Crab Sliders - Palomino - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Dungeness crab and artichoke fondue - Palomino - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Molten Valhrona Chocolate Cake With Bittersweet Chocolate Sauce & Creme Fraiche Ice Cream - Palomino - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Blue Moon Beer - Palomino - Seattle, Seattle, WA

Palomino - Seattle Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Seattle / Eastern Washington
Most Booked
Seattle
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Pre/post Theatre (51)
Good for a Date (30)
Special Occasion (29)
See All
Good for Groups (26)
Fit for Foodies (23)
Casual (23)
Great for Lunch (22)
Business Meals (21)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Happy Hour (19)
Modern Decor (18)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Bar Seating (16)
Romantic (16)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Fun (15)
Comfort Food (13)
Notable Wine List (13)
Cozy (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Wood Oven (10)
Gluten Free Options (9)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Open Kitchen (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Quick Bite (8)
Authentic (8)
Family Style (8)
Healthy (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
People Watching (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Seasonal (4)
Scenic View (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Vegan (3)
Tapas (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Great Beer (2)
Live Sports (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Fireplace (1)
Dancing (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
2420 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We did a reservation, but took too long ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined 2 days ago

We did a reservation, but took too long to get our table while we waited at the bar.

We both ordered Filet Mignon, but server gave my medium cooked one to my wife. I got the medium well done

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

Had reservations at 7:30 and we were not ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined 2 days ago

Had reservations at 7:30 and we were not seated until 7:50

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

We had the greatest waiter. He was awes ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 2 days ago

We had the greatest waiter. He was awesome. Asked what we wanted in terms of service and we told him we wanted to have a drink and wait some time before ordering. He was awesome and really attentive and funny and perfect for our evening. He deserves recognition! Great job Chris!!

Tags: Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

One dish was to salty and they offered a ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 2 days ago

One dish was to salty and they offered a replacement and when that was refused, took the item of the bill. Everyone was very helpful and nice. Rest of the food was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Our server was very helpful in choosing ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 3 days ago

Our server was very helpful in choosing between a couple of dishes and very attentive without being intrusive. My medium rare steak was done to perfection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

The food was amazing. The waitress was V ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 3 days ago

The food was amazing. The waitress was VERY busy - not sure if she had too many tables or just always seems frazzled. She was very friendly and apologized every time she stopped by our table, which was only a few times. We were celebrating my sisters birthday and heading to a show after dinner. We ordered dessert but both got the wrong items - but at that point didn't have time to return them for the correct ones.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Dependable food and service, convenient ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 5 days ago

Dependable food and service, convenient parking, variety and fun. My sorority sisters and I routinely pick the Palomino for our birthday lunches because it is so conveniently located with accessible parking - we come from all over Puget Sound to meet. Our servers are consistently reliable and patient with our requests and the food is excellent.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Palomino is a reliable, quality restaura ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Palomino is a reliable, quality restaurant in a convenient downtown location. We frequently go there for gluten free options for my wife and , on Wednesdays, "wine down Wednesdays" where bottle are half price. Pair it with a trip to the Fifth Avenue theater about a block away and you have a great mid week date night.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

Wonderful dinner before 5th ave play! P ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 6 days ago

Wonderful dinner before 5th ave play! Parking validated and food excellent! Wonderful evening.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Sole Petrale was greasy, but also wa ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 7 days ago

The Sole Petrale was greasy, but also was not a good piece of fish. Many bones and not much fish (greasy fish) for a $21.00 lunch. I was disappointed and wish I could have had just a good bowl of soup.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Ate lunch before 5th Avenue show. Wonder ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Ate lunch before 5th Avenue show. Wonderful food, lovely holiday ambience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Enjoyed our dinner at Palomino. The dish ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Enjoyed our dinner at Palomino. The dishes (steelhead for me, scallops with chorizo & polenta for my date) were quite good, and the server was friendly, authentic, and energetic. We had to endure a few brief delays with drink refills because they were very busy, but regardless, it was a lovely evening. We would go back.

Tags: Fun, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We came here for a pre-theatre dinner, a ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We came here for a pre-theatre dinner, and our server did his best to make our meal a quick but not rushed experience. We had reservations, which helped! Friendly service. Decently priced. Rich food.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Great place for a good dinner in downtow ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Great place for a good dinner in downtown Seattle. Food is excellent, as is the wait staff. Highly recommend Palomino!

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a great late afternoon lunch at P ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We had a great late afternoon lunch at Palomino. The food and service were great. Palomino was a great holiday season spot, especially convenient due to the validated parking. Loved our holiday visit and family meal! We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

less than impressed. We have dined here ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 26, 2016

less than impressed. We have dined here several times. This was not up to par by any means. Our party of was seated at a table which consisted of two smaller tables pushed together - fine EXCEPT that the tables were different heights and the people in the middle had to juggle. We pointed this out to the hostess/server and she just shrugged and said "I don't know why they did it this way." No attempt to re-seat or make better.

Server did not take ladies' orders first. No attempt at social etiquette.

Dirty plates sat "forever" to get cleared. We finally had to ask.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

My family and I went here the day after ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 26, 2016

My family and I went here the day after Thanksgiving. We made a reservation on OpenTable two hours ahead of time. When we got there, they sat us right away, even though they were very busy on a Friday night. The food was amazing, our waiter unbelievably friendly and genuine and tons of wine and food options. Our glasses of wine took a little longer than normal to arrive to our table but the Manager came over and told us it was on them -- very thoughtful and great customer service. We will DEFINITELY be back.

Tags: Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Gluten Free Options, Outstanding Value, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience for our family. We were ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Great experience for our family. We were on our way to a play and wanted to eat close by. The service was excellent and the food was good. All in all, it met our expectations in an excellent fashion.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Came here for a much deserved respite fr ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Came here for a much deserved respite from Black Friday shopping. Unfortunately, so did a lot of people with small, noisy children. Now that I have teens this isn't the kind of place I'll go again. Our food was very average -- lots of salt and heavy sauces. If I came again I'd stick to pizza. Our server was fabulous. Next year we'll choose someplace else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

For years we have dined and enjoyed our ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 25, 2016

For years we have dined and enjoyed our meal at Palomino's in downtown Seattle the day after Thanksgiving. This time our meals were AWFUL. The pizza our daughter received was rubber! The Tomato Bisque soup was so spicy that it was not edible, I have no idea what the salad was served to me but it certainly was not as described as a Mediterranean salad and tasted horrible!

We were presented a Portobello soup as a replacement for the Tomato Bisque, but it too was

awful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

They were wonderful. Proposed to my part ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 25, 2016

They were wonderful. Proposed to my partner and they padr the experience unforgettable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing way to spend my thanksgiving .. ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Amazing way to spend my thanksgiving .. I really liked the phone call prior to ask if I want to be in a child free zone. Its awesome to have the option. I arrived a little early but staff worked to get me a romantic table by the window without me requesting. Staff was excellent and kind.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went for Thanksgiving and it was wond ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 25, 2016

We went for Thanksgiving and it was wonderful. We'll be back next year!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife, brother and I had a wonderful T ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 25, 2016

My wife, brother and I had a wonderful Thanksgiving dinner at the Palomino. Prompt, friendly service and excellent food for a reasonable price. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves, and I would heartily recommend to my friends.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great solid restaurant in the downtown c ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Great solid restaurant in the downtown city center of Seattle. I will have to go back another time to get a better sense of the full menu and I'm sure it will be most excellent.

Tags: Seasonal, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I have eaten here several times and alwa ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 25, 2016

I have eaten here several times and always pleased with food and wine and excellent service. This visit was for Thanksgiving dinner and was a moderately priced option and outstanding service. I was offered a child free seating but opted for the regular dining room upon arrival--I did not realize the child free area was the bar area and the kitchen which we did not want. But, we were immediately seated in the regular dining room without a problem. I also like the free parking after 5PM which can't be found elsewhere.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Disabled Access, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Went for thanksgiving dinner. Portion w ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Went for thanksgiving dinner. Portion was small and our server didnt quite know the menu of the day. Also mix d up our bills with other table :(

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Good Food, great service! My brother was ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Good Food, great service! My brother was visiting from another country and this was his first thanksgiving meal and thanksgiving experience! He will visit again in maybe 2 years and I know where to take him for good food. Thanks Palomino!

Tags: Business Meals, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Casual, Local Ingredients, Family Style, Vegan, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service were outstanding!

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 24, 2016

The food and service were outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

All of the food was unusually salty. We ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 24, 2016

All of the food was unusually salty. We did have the prime rib which was salt encrusted and so we expected it to be salty. I would not order prime rib prepared that way in the future. My family said the pasta dish and the artichoke dip seemed too salty as well. We were looking forward to eating out for Thanksgiving. The service was so fast, which is great in some ways, but on a special occasion, it seemed too fast. We joked that we could have eaten at fast food in the same amount of time. It lacked some graciousness for a special occasion, but I understand the desire to move as many people as possible through. At least we didn't have dishes to clean up. We still enjoyed being there. It's a lovely place and the service is very nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Always a favorite but our server this ti ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Always a favorite but our server this time was the best!!! Never a disappointment and we had 3 kids under 10 with us and EVERYONE had an amazing time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was good but the service was te ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The food was good but the service was terrible. There was literally one other person in the restaurant and it took almost 45 minutes to get our food. Our waiter was not attentive, kept disappearing for long time periods (Seahawk game was on) and another waitress going by took care of several missing items. Very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value1

Visiting from out of town with 2 friends ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Visiting from out of town with 2 friends we were all very pleased with our meals, wine selection, friendly service and felt the cost was very reasonable. Convenient downtown location. Will definitely recommend to friends and return!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's been awhile since I've dined at Pal ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 20, 2016

It's been awhile since I've dined at Palomino, and I was really looking forward to it. Sadly, my meal was not quite as good as I experienced many times in the past. My maple chicken salad was over-dressed, as was one of my friends' prawns and quinoa bowl. Each had a puddle of dressing in the bottom. Perhaps it was just a busy Saturday evening, but we didn't get the attention from our server I've experienced in the past either. We had to flag another server down to ask for more bread for the table. While on the whole, we enjoyed most of our meal, I can't say that it was the 5-star experience I've come to expect at Palomino.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

It was wonderful. I had a fun time durin ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 19, 2016

It was wonderful. I had a fun time during my DECA trip.

Tags: Quick Bite, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Gluten Free Options, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

When we booked the reservation, we reque ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 19, 2016

When we booked the reservation, we requested a quieter table. And we got it. When we were seated, I mentioned my Aunt's birthday. The hostess promptly delivered a nice card. Jordan V, our server was great about splitting one of our meals. The sausage and mushroom pizza was hit, as was the chicken and pasta. Jordan was right on top of our needs and provided great service. After our plates were cleared, he served my aunt a delicious Crème Brule. It was a wonderful evening, with great food and fantastic service.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Casual, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

So disappointed because I have been to P ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 17, 2016

So disappointed because I have been to Palominos several times and it has always been good. My lunch was very salty and I had a touch of food poisoning within 4 1/2 hours. Wish it weren't so but it was and my friend from out of town also found her panini salty and the mushroom soup not very tasty. I was a bit embarrassed since I had recommended Plaominos for our meeting after 5 years:(

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value3

Great as always.

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Great as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our go to place for a meal before a show ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Our go to place for a meal before a show. Service is excellent. The food is good and the right size portion wise. We love any of the pastas. As for desert? You have to have the doughnuts, holes actually. Don't shy away because they are gluten free. Taste great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Uninspired menu - don't order the steak. ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Uninspired menu - don't order the steak. The decor is exactly the same as it was the last time I was there 20 years ago. Waitstaff seemed efficient for the most part.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.