Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi

About Palomino - Seattle

New American cuisine influenced by Southern Europe. Located 1 block from the 5th Avenue Theatre and 3 blocks from the Convention Center.

1420 5th Ave.
Seattle, WA 98101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Mediterranean, European

Hours of Operation:
WEDNESDAYS ALL DAY: Half-Price Bottled Wine! (bottles priced at $26 & above).
DINING ROOM:
Lunch: Daily: 11am-4pm
Dinner: Sunday-Thursday: 4pm-9:30pm, Friday & Saturday 4pm-10pm
LOUNGE:
Sunday-Thursday 11am-11pm, Friday & Saturday 11am-11pm

Cross Street:
6th & Union - 5th & Pike

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 623-1300

Website:
http://www.palomino.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary 2-hour parking with validation weekdays from 11am-2pm, and evenings when entering the parking garage after 5pm. Complimentary validated parking all day Saturday and Sunday. City Centre Parking garage only, entrance on Union between 5th and 6th Avenues.

Executive Chef:
Randy Barkhurst

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Palomino - Seattle Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Pre/post Theatre (64)
Special Occasion (58)
Good for a Date (57)
See All
Business Meals (54)
Great for Lunch (44)
Good for Anniversaries (39)
Modern Decor (39)
Casual (38)
Good for Birthdays (37)
Good for Groups (34)
Creative Cuisine (33)
Happy Hour (32)
Fit for Foodies (31)
Fun (30)
Local Ingredients (25)
Comfort Food (22)
Healthy (21)
People Watching (20)
Romantic (20)
Notable Wine List (16)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Vibrant Bar Scene (15)
Bar Seating (14)
Good Vegetarian Options (14)
Sunday Lunch (14)
Worth the Drive (14)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Authentic (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Wood Oven (13)
Cozy (13)
Gluten Free Options (12)
Open Kitchen (12)
Quick Bite (11)
Hot Spot (9)
Organic (6)
Seasonal (6)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Family Style (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Afternoon Coffee (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Scenic View (4)
Great Beer (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Vegan (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Tapas (2)
Historic (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
2776 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 2 days ago

Party of 6, one required gluten free. This was a perfect place for us to come. We were greeted and seating immediatly. We had reservations.
We enjoyed fresh bread. Even our gf guest had her own gf bread. There were lots of gf listed entrees and even more items could be made gf. We all very much enjoyed this place and even talked about coming back before our trip was completed. The food was outstanding and my pasta was so good. Kara provided great service and all her suggestions hit the mark for us. Unfortunately we were too full to eat dessert. Great food, great place. I think I could eat dinner here every night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 3 days ago

Enjoyed the food as well as the ambience and the service

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 4 days ago

We found a special place to celebrate my wife's 73rd birthday. The calamari was delicious, tasty Chardonnay, short ribs and chicken marsala excellent entrees, crème brule magnifico! We had a wonderful two hours together over a fine meal. The server Sydney was particularly friendly and helpful.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined 6 days ago

What draws me back - aside the food choices & attractive plating - is the crew: Always friendly, welcoming & cheerful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 21, 2017

The hostess (did not get her name) and the sever (Benjamin) customer centric focused. They represent your restaurant well.

Tags: Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 21, 2017

It was prom night so probably busier and noisier than usual. Good is always good

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Good food, great service. We had 5:45 reservations and were late because of traffic. We called ahead and they said that they could hold our table for 20 minutes. We got there at 6:05 and were seated right away.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Overall good. The food was pretty good, but the gluten free pizza was AWFUL. I've had celiac for 20+ years and tasted a lot of pizzas but haven't had one that bad in years. The cauliflower and gluten free bread were both great though!

Tags: Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 19, 2017

AWESOME FOOD AND SERVICE... I have not been here in a few years and it was just as terrific as I remembered!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fun, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Very much enjoyed the food and the extra mile staff went to bring flowers for a very special friend. Thank you so much.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Fun, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 17, 2017

We've been to their happy hour hour a lot, but the bar food does not do justice to the food in the main dining room, which was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 14, 2017

My husband and I went for dinner prior to going to a theatre production. Our server (Chris) was excellent - pleasure to speak with and perfectly attentive while not hovering. However our food was disappointing. We both had shrimp scampi; and we found the pasta very thick and all stuck together such that we had to cut it up to eat it - otherwise it would have all lifted up off the plate in one clump. We also found the pasta to have little flavor. We ordered the doughnuts for dessert and unfortunately had to wait quite a while for them to arrive as they had apparently run out of them back in the kitchen and had to prepare more of them in order to serve us. We should note that we were rewarded insofar as the doughnuts were warm when they arrived and they were very, very good. Ordinarily the wait for them would have been no problem for us, but we were running out of time in order to be on time for the play we were attending and thus had to rush through our dessert.

I would like to add that both my husband and I have gone to the Palomino often over the last 20 years and have enjoyed being there and eating there. We do not consider the food that we had this last time to be typical; and this is why we are responding to this request for feedback.

Tags: Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 14, 2017

This is consistently a fabulous restaurant, great food and very good value.

Tags: Casual, Healthy, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Wood Oven, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Chris our waiter was wonderful. We were a little disappointed there was no bread served for a pasta meal. Food and drinks were great.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We went there for mother's day brunch, expecting a full brunch menu. Well, they don't regularly do brunch or any breakfast normally, so all they had were a few egg dishes. My husband ordered a 3 egg omelet, which looked like maybe 2 eggs and it was not an omelet. It was scrambled eggs with some parmesan on top. My kids had paninis, which were good, but everyone else's food was terrible. The waiter was wonderful. No service problems but very disappointed in the food. And don't advertise a brunch if you don't offer a brunch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Food was ok, location is why chosen. Service was bare minimum. Took a while to take drink orders, brought back fairly quick and took our food order, someone else brought out food, then didn't see anyone again until it was time for the check. Was not that busy and can see across the restaurant. Almost like he went on break...

Tags: Bar Seating, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Very enjoyable dinner. There were many groups (prom groups, bachelorette party), and service was quite busy with the groups.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The food was excellent and good value for the cost. Welcoming atmosphere and good service

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Love meeting friends at Palomino. Nice restaurant; great location and food. Always enjoy myself when I eat there.

Tags: Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 12, 2017

I have been coming to Palomino for quite some time now and always with great experiences. The food is awesome and tasty with enough selection and variety. The service is great with just the right attention from the staff without too hovering. This place is on my "to go" place in Seattle.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Great as usual!

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Delicious food and friendly staff-the menu had some different style of bruschetta than we've had before and the salads were excellent. Great selection of wine by the glass.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 11, 2017

It's great having outstanding food and fantastic service. This is exactly what we experienced at Palomino. Everyone was on point with teamwork being demonstrated from the first to the last encounter.

We were seated on an upper level with marble table and my wife noticed the tables below had linen table cloths. She asked about the difference and soon discovered there were distinctions between the two areas. In hearing her observation, we soon were graced with a linen table cloth that created an additional ambiance for our dinner. Needless to say, we were all pleasantly surprised and very much impressed by this minor detail with multiple people coming over to move items and place the linen.

The food was tasty and well prepared with a beautiful presentation. We had the crab artichoke dip appetizer, Salmon, Scallops and the SPAGHETTI AMATRICIANA . The food was delicious and very enjoyable.

The manager made sure that we were members of the club and I received my points with the affiliated restaurant. Again, this was service with a smile and intentionality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 8, 2017

We visited this restaurant pretty early in the day--around 5:30. It was quiet and service was great. Only complaint is that they don't serve a Chianti, which my wife would have liked with her meal. Otherwise great experience.

Tags: Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We were there for our granddaughter's seventh birthday. From the birthday card on the table, to the comped cream brûlée, her preference over the ice cream sundae, we were treated to a fantastic evening. Everything was cooked perfectly and the chef even came to the table to make sure all was as ordered. We had a memorable event with our girl. Thank you, Palomino!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Even though they appeared under staffed today, they were still attentive, positive and prompt.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We waited longer than I would have thought to receive our order

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Palomino was amazing in all ways. We arrived very late for a reservation due to bad traffic, and they held the table and expedited our order so we didn't miss the lecture we were attending. When our waiter was busy initially, the manager came and took our order to make sure we got our food in time. Service was extraordinary!! The food was delicious, (sausage mushroom pizza and their house green salad), wine they recommended was perfect, and we were well taken care of. All in all a fantastic experience!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Wood Oven, Paleo Friendly, Organic, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Quick Bite, Happy Hour, Gluten Free Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Business Meals, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Our waiter was new and you could tell it. He brought the wine my husband had ordered but he gave it to me to taste. We also had to remind him to add the cost of the wine to our bill. The restaurant is very convenient to 5th Avenue Theater. They always seem to have a table no matter how busy they are and whether we have reservations or not. We had a nice chat with the manager after dinner.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 4, 2017

When I called the restaurant to change the reservation from 2 to 3, they had no record of the Open Table reservation. They were able to seat us earlier than the on-line time, which was great because we had tickets for a 1:30 theater performance. The staff were aware of our plans and made sure we were finished in time to get to the theater. Lunch was 3 difference awesome salads, and, of course, some trademark Palomino Bruschetta to start. It was a great way to start off our trip to the theater.

Tags: Quick Bite, Great for Lunch, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 4, 2017

I have special dietary needs. After I described themy the waiter made some fine recommendations. The food met my needs & was delicious! Yay!

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Kid-friendly, Disabled Access, Worth the Drive, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Our server gave great advice and was very pleasant. Steered us to food that he thought was appropriate - not too large for small appetites, for example and made good suggestions when specific questions was asked regarding a choice. And most importantly, the food was good.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Casual, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Noise level is very loud. Service was terrible from our waitress. She took our order and never came back until she brought the check. No drink refills. Even though the food was good we won't be back

Tags: Modern Decor, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 4, 2017

I've always loved Palomino and hadn't been there in several years. Unfortunately the food just wasn't up to par. We had the chicken parmesan and chicken marsala along with the chop chop salad. The chicken dishes were very bland and the salad was average (not how I remembered it from years past). The service, on the other hand, was top notch. Our waitress, Brie, was perfectly attentive and very friendly. We'd come back just because of the great staff!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Before theatre dinner. We had pizza and chop salad. Pizza has thin crust (would have liked it crispier) and tasty toppings. Service was great. We have eaten here before an event in the past and they had trouble getting us out in time, but they were fast and we will be back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 4, 2017

The food was marvelous, and was only a couple of minutes of walking to the 5th Ave. Theater.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 3, 2017

I have dined at Palomino many times and they never disappoint. The room is warm and lovely - we enjoyed our table overlooking the building atrium. The food was excellent, the service friendly and attentive and the prices are surprisingly reasonable for a fairly upscale restaurant.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 1, 2017

We went for lunch before a movie. I ordered the chicken and spinach pizza. It arrived without the chicken. When I managed to attract the waiter's attention, he agreed that a mistake had been made. He offered a half-hearted apology (sorry 'bout that) and there was no apology from the manager. Since we were headed for a movie, there wasn't time for me to wait for a replacement. So I got no lunch, the waiter got no tip, and I'll never go back to Palomino.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Very attentive wait staff, not intrusive, stayed on top of the timing for the meal with regards to the theater time. Very informed on both the food and wine, good recommendations.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 1, 2017

An awkward dining situation. The service was not on point in the least (they tried to give us another table's drink order literally 2 minutes after we sat). The poor said table's entrees were brought to our table as well. Weird. Our food was forgettable except for the burnt pizza which the manager said he would take off the bill (he did not). Oh well, good company was on hand and we were heading to the theater so the meal was not the focus point of the evening. Just wish it had been a little more organized.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.