About Palomino - Seattle

1420 5th Ave.
Seattle, WA 98101
View Larger Map

New American cuisine influenced by Southern Europe. Located 1 block from the 5th Avenue Theatre and 3 blocks from the Convention Center.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Mediterranean, European

Hours of Operation:
WEDNESDAYS ALL DAY: Half-Price Bottled Wine! (bottles priced at $26 & above).
DINING ROOM:
Lunch: Daily: 11am-4pm
Dinner: Sunday-Thursday: 4pm-10pm, Friday & Saturday 4pm-11pm
LOUNGE:
Sunday-Thursday 11am-11pm, Friday & Saturday 11am-midnight

Cross Street:
6th & Union - 5th & Pike

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 623-1300

Website:
http://www.palomino.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary 2-hour parking with validation weekdays from 11am-2pm, and evenings when entering the parking garage after 5pm. Complimentary validated parking all day Saturday and Sunday. City Centre Parking garage only, entrance on Union between 5th and 6th Avenues.

Executive Chef:
Randy Barkhurst

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Muffaletta Sandwich
Shrimp Louie Salad
Bloody Mary
Sicilian Meatballs
Burger
Bruschetta
Ginger Cooler
Grapes Of Wrath Cocktail
Truffle Deviled Eggs
Ginger Pear Cosmo
Rotisserie Prime Rib & Garlic Shrimp
Caprase Salad
Copper River S
Baked Pear Bread Pudding With Bourbon Sauce
Truffled Deviled Eggs
Sesame Crusted Salmon
Cranberry Mojito
Crisp Calamari
Lavender Splash
Candied Apple Drop
Pomegranate Lemonade
Sicilian Meatball Flatbread
Rotisserrie Chicken Flatbread
Cured Ham Mushroom Goat Cheese Flatbread
pomegranate margarita
Uli's Italian Sausage And Mushroom Pizza
Sicilian Donuts
Incredible Pepperoni Pizza
Pizza
Potatoes Gorgonzola
Manhattan
White Sangria
Potato Leak Soup
Crab And Artichoke Dip
crab cake
Bread
Meatball Sliders
Mussels
Créme Brulé
Ten Sage Martini
Romano Crusted Chicken, Rustic Tomato-Cream Sauce, Linguini, Shaved Asiago
Asiago-Almond Crusted Scallops
Chicken Marsala
Tiramisu
Rigatoni Bolognese
whisky sour
French Onion Dip With Garlic Naan
Dungeness Crab Sliders
Brussel Sprouts With Bacon And Honey
Dungeness crab and artichoke fondue
Molten Valhrona Chocolate Cake With Bittersweet Chocolate Sauce & Creme Fraiche Ice Cream
Blue Moon Beer

Palomino - Seattle Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

special occasion (102)
good for groups (96)
great for lunch (88)
See All
fit for foodies (66)
romantic (38)
neighborhood gem (30)
vibrant bar scene (27)
hot spot (25)
late-night find (19)
great for brunch (17)
kid-friendly (15)
notable wine list (11)
scenic view (6)
great for outdoor dining (2)
Sort By:
Newest
2266 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food and service. Inventive Italia ...

Dined 5 days ago

Great food and service. Inventive Italian dishes, including some nice new ones.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Hostess and servers were super nice and ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

Hostess and servers were super nice and helpful. We arrived early and were seated right away and in a good spot. Our server was prompt and friendly. Food and drinks were spendy but good.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Very good. Easy to park, easy to get a ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

Very good. Easy to park, easy to get a table. Right downtown.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Artichoke crab dip gave my wife and I in ...

Dined 5 days ago

Artichoke crab dip gave my wife and I indigestion. Second time in a row. We were burping up crab dip 5 hours afterward. Chicken parm was too spicey. That led to upset stomachs for both my wife and I all night long. In the future, we will look for someplace that has better food that does not upset our stomachs. Kids in baseball hats on backwards and tee shirts were a distraction. Is this upscale or just a glorified McDonalds with high prices?

food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Server spaced out on bringing my guest t ...

Dined 5 days ago

Server spaced out on bringing my guest the iced tea he ordered. First World problems!

food3
ambience4
service4
value3

I am a long-time fan and diner & lunch e ...

Dined 5 days ago

I am a long-time fan and diner & lunch eater. I'd not been in a while lately. Server informed us the menu had just recently changed. It had a few of our old time faves, others were missing. The new items looked good, some creative. I LOVE their thin crust pizzas, but the variety has changed again. None really suited my tastes. I almost wish they would offer a "create your own" option with a list of the toppings offered, I love their ingredients and feel anyone could make a perfect "match" to their tastes, with the toppings offered now, just in the combos individuals would create!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service4

New in house sausage is excellent as is ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

New in house sausage is excellent as is the steelhead!

food4
ambience4
service3
value2

Restaurant is good. Menu is Okay. House ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

Restaurant is good. Menu is Okay. House Specialties Price never mentioned during the conversation neither on the special menu. Appreciate if the menu and pricing is available upfront to choose the perfect option.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

It was my first time there. I took my hu ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

It was my first time there. I took my husband for Father's Day and the best Bruschetta's ever, the main entrée had also a great presentation and taste. The waiter was friendly and service was great. A great experience overall and you definitely won me as a customer because I will be back for sure.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Our waiter, Michael did a wonderful job ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Our waiter, Michael did a wonderful job of making us feel welcome and answering our questions about the menu. We wanted a relaxed dinner without being rushed yet, things being served on time so we were on time for the theatre. He was very pleasant and made sure everything happened perfectly. We would request him to serve us in the future. Great job!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

My sister and I dine here often, as it i ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

My sister and I dine here often, as it is convenient to the 5th ave theater. and downtown events. One of the best parts of our evening that night was actually having a chance to talk to a previous restaurant manager, Paul, who was there with a another group . That guy is uber friendly and he does a lot to make everyone feel comfortable and happy. All the wait staff and hosts are terrific and do their best to provide a high level of service.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Great spot. Go there often before the th ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Great spot. Go there often before the theater. Was very noisy this trip - very hard for older guests to hear on this trip. The food is always excellent.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We dine here before every show we attend ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

We dine here before every show we attend at the 5th Avenue Theatre. The food is consistently good and the service is excellent. We progress from appetizers to dessert and are always finished with the bill paid by show time.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We frequently dine at Palomino before at ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

We frequently dine at Palomino before attending shows at the Fifth Avenue Theatre. There are always good selections for reasonable prices. The service is super, and there are many interesting wine varieties available. Looking forward to seeing what the new menu brings. I hope it is more of the same.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

I normally like the food at Palomino. Bu ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

I normally like the food at Palomino. But 2 of the last 3 times I've eaten here, I've eaten Pork Chops. Overcooked, tough and cold. I guess, don't order the pork!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love those lavender cosmos. Palomino is ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Love those lavender cosmos. Palomino is a perfect spot to eat before going to one of the theatres, Paramount or 5th Avenue.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love this restaurant!

Dined on June 9, 2016

The food and service are always excellent! We love coming here!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food2
ambience2
service5
value1

Usually great, but fell far short this time.

Dined on June 6, 2016

They were out of shrimp, a key component of several entrees, including the enticing special we both had our eyes on. Our alternate entrees were not only disappointing, they also had sand in the muscles and clams. Even the air conditioning was lackluster on this supremely steamy afternoon. Further adding to our dismay, the wine list was completely devoid of roses, our go-go vino on a hot day.

food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Service was great! I gave "Ambiance" on ...

Dined on June 1, 2016

Service was great! I gave "Ambiance" only 3 stars because the restaurant was too warm. There were only a few patrons, but the open kitchen plan allowed too much heat to escape into the dining spaces.

food4
ambience3
service4

Great penne bolognese. The bread appetiz ...

vip
Dined on May 28, 2016

Great penne bolognese. The bread appetizer good as usual.

food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Have eaten here many times and never bee ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Have eaten here many times and never been disappointed. We had the salmon....fabulous to the very last bite.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food. Great service. Nice ambian ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Great food. Great service. Nice ambiance, but can get noisy.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent with food allergies

Dined on May 21, 2016

We love eating at Palomino; the food is always exquisite and the chefs do a fantastic job of food allergy safety. It's our family's go-to place for special occasion dining.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food1
ambience4
service2
value2

Have been to Palomino for lunch several ...

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

Have been to Palomino for lunch several times and was happy with my meals. This time we went for dinner and were very surprised at the below average quality of the dishes. The salad seemed to be from a bag with little specks of goat cheese mixed in. My husband and I both had fish dishes. Both of the fish fillets were dry and overcooked and were accompanied by very lackluster sides with little color or flavor. I have had better food at a culinary training school. The manager was extremely apologetic and offered to prepare the fish again. We did receive a much better cooked fish. However, this time the fish was accompanied by undercooked asparagus and potatoes. The restaurant was emptying out. Did not look as busy as I have usually experienced it. As I said, I previously enjoyed the food at Palomino. This dinner was so inedible and in addition drawn out that I am not sure I want to try the restaurant again. The manager and server did try to make things right and I do appreciate the effort.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Super experience!

Dined on May 20, 2016

Service and attention to detail was outstanding, as was the food. We came for a special birthday lunch and the waitstaff went above and beyond with a special creme brulee for the 84th birthday girl, candle and all. The occasion couldn't have been more perfect! Thank you so much.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Never a disappointment:)

vip
Dined on May 18, 2016

Never a disappointment:)

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place prior to 5th Ave Theater

Dined on May 7, 2016

Food and service was great, and very convenient for the show at 5th Ave Theater,

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Great place!

Dined on May 5, 2016

Our meal at the Palomino was quite good! The service was great! The location is excellent, especially if you're going to a play or musical where timing is everything. It's located close to two of the best theaters in downtown Seattle. The servers always ask if this is a special occasion or are you going to the theater/event. Overall we were very happy with our dining experience.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Predictablely Good

Dined on May 4, 2016

Going to a show and need a spot for dinner beforehand? Predictable quality and value at Palomino. The regular menu always has options no matter who is joining you and the chef specials generally have a combination of flavors that are unique and tasty. Never disappointments and always welcoming. Thanks, Palomino.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great visit

Dined on May 2, 2016

My son and I enjoyed dinner before going to a show at the Paramount Theater. We had excellent service and our food was really good! Very enjoyable dinner and great value!

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

Just average

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

The place was OK but just that. I order calamari which was fried until it was like leather. They happily replaced it was a salad which was OK. For an entree I ordered a rib eye off the specials menu. Again, it was OK. Nothing to complain about but nothing special either. I tried to order a shot of tequila but the select was so poor I settled for Jameson which was OK. Overall the place was simply OK, nothing made it stand out and nothing made me want to come back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant is a wonderful place to ...

Dined on April 28, 2016

This restaurant is a wonderful place to go before attending a movie or theatre performance in downtown Seattle. We get consistently great service, and the food is always excellent. Free parking with validation as well! It's a very lively, vibrant place.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5

The spaghetti bolognese keeps us coming ...

Dined on April 26, 2016

The spaghetti bolognese keeps us coming back!

food2
ambience4
service4
value2

chop chop salad

Dined on April 25, 2016

Two of our party had this salad because it's what we always have since it's so wonderful. Yesterday it wasn't wonderful. There was too much greenery which was kind of limp and all the good things you used to put in the salad weren't there. We both were greatly disappointed. I brought part of mine home as I always do and I didn't eat it as it there was nothing in it but limper (to be expected and usually not a problem for me) and there was nothing else there. We were both sorry we ordered it!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5

We had a terrific server and wonderful f ...

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

We had a terrific server and wonderful food. A real favorite for us.

food4
ambience4
service4

Palamino just became favorite restaurant ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

Palamino just became favorite restaurant of ours. The pork loin was amazing!!! The paella was good but didn't have enough crab. It was fixed when the waitress brought more. Service was great as always and will be back to try more entrees.

food5
ambience4
service5

All dishes excellent and as described

vip
Dined on April 14, 2016

All dishes excellent and as described

food3
ambience3
service4

A decent enough place for a meal but a v ...

Dined on April 13, 2016

A decent enough place for a meal but a very good place to go before a show at the 5th Avenue, convenient, will validate parking and even offer a discount on dinner with your show tickets. For that reason I would recommend it. Much better places in the area for just a meal however.

food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Great Service but Food Was Rushed...

Dined on April 10, 2016

Lovely restaurant, awesome service, but Food was not up to par. The" Caramelized " Brussel Sprouts were hard, barely cooked, and bitter. The Paella was a bland and watery. However the Steak Frites was cooked perfectly medium. To be fair they did stop by to ask how our meal was and we did not point these issues out. I'm sure they would of remade them as the staff was very nice.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was delicious, server was great, wi ...

Dined on April 8, 2016

Food was delicious, server was great, will definitely come back next time we're here

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.