About Palomino - Seattle

1420 5th Ave.
Seattle, WA 98101
View Larger Map

New American cuisine influenced by Southern Europe. Located 1 block from the 5th Avenue Theatre and 3 blocks from the Convention Center.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Mediterranean, European

Hours of Operation:
WEDNESDAYS ALL DAY: Half-Price Bottled Wine! (bottles priced at $26 & above).
DINING ROOM:
Lunch: Daily: 11am-4pm
Dinner: Sunday-Thursday: 4pm-10pm, Friday & Saturday 4pm-11pm
LOUNGE:
Sunday-Thursday 11am-11pm, Friday & Saturday 11am-midnight

Cross Street:
6th & Union - 5th & Pike

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 623-1300

Website:
http://www.palomino.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary 2-hour parking with validation weekdays from 11am-2pm, and evenings when entering the parking garage after 5pm. Complimentary validated parking all day Saturday and Sunday. City Centre Parking garage only, entrance on Union between 5th and 6th Avenues.

Executive Chef:
Randy Barkhurst

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Details
Celebrate Dad! Everyone dining on Father's Day Weekend - Saturday, June 18th and/or Sunday June 19th - will receive a special gift.

Palomino - Seattle Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

special occasion (100)
good for groups (94)
great for lunch (92)
See All
fit for foodies (78)
romantic (38)
vibrant bar scene (33)
neighborhood gem (33)
hot spot (29)
late-night find (23)
notable wine list (20)
great for brunch (18)
kid-friendly (17)
scenic view (7)
great for outdoor dining (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2247 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience3
service4

Great penne bolognese. The bread appetiz ...

vip
Dined 19 hours ago

Great penne bolognese. The bread appetizer good as usual.

food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Have eaten here many times and never bee ...

Dined 7 days ago

Have eaten here many times and never been disappointed. We had the salmon....fabulous to the very last bite.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food. Great service. Nice ambian ...

Dined 7 days ago

Great food. Great service. Nice ambiance, but can get noisy.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent with food allergies

Dined 7 days ago

We love eating at Palomino; the food is always exquisite and the chefs do a fantastic job of food allergy safety. It's our family's go-to place for special occasion dining.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food1
ambience4
service2
value2

Have been to Palomino for lunch several ...

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

Have been to Palomino for lunch several times and was happy with my meals. This time we went for dinner and were very surprised at the below average quality of the dishes. The salad seemed to be from a bag with little specks of goat cheese mixed in. My husband and I both had fish dishes. Both of the fish fillets were dry and overcooked and were accompanied by very lackluster sides with little color or flavor. I have had better food at a culinary training school. The manager was extremely apologetic and offered to prepare the fish again. We did receive a much better cooked fish. However, this time the fish was accompanied by undercooked asparagus and potatoes. The restaurant was emptying out. Did not look as busy as I have usually experienced it. As I said, I previously enjoyed the food at Palomino. This dinner was so inedible and in addition drawn out that I am not sure I want to try the restaurant again. The manager and server did try to make things right and I do appreciate the effort.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Super experience!

Dined on May 20, 2016

Service and attention to detail was outstanding, as was the food. We came for a special birthday lunch and the waitstaff went above and beyond with a special creme brulee for the 84th birthday girl, candle and all. The occasion couldn't have been more perfect! Thank you so much.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Never a disappointment:)

vip
Dined on May 18, 2016

Never a disappointment:)

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place prior to 5th Ave Theater

Dined on May 7, 2016

Food and service was great, and very convenient for the show at 5th Ave Theater,

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Great place!

Dined on May 5, 2016

Our meal at the Palomino was quite good! The service was great! The location is excellent, especially if you're going to a play or musical where timing is everything. It's located close to two of the best theaters in downtown Seattle. The servers always ask if this is a special occasion or are you going to the theater/event. Overall we were very happy with our dining experience.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Predictablely Good

Dined on May 4, 2016

Going to a show and need a spot for dinner beforehand? Predictable quality and value at Palomino. The regular menu always has options no matter who is joining you and the chef specials generally have a combination of flavors that are unique and tasty. Never disappointments and always welcoming. Thanks, Palomino.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great visit

Dined on May 2, 2016

My son and I enjoyed dinner before going to a show at the Paramount Theater. We had excellent service and our food was really good! Very enjoyable dinner and great value!

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

Just average

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

The place was OK but just that. I order calamari which was fried until it was like leather. They happily replaced it was a salad which was OK. For an entree I ordered a rib eye off the specials menu. Again, it was OK. Nothing to complain about but nothing special either. I tried to order a shot of tequila but the select was so poor I settled for Jameson which was OK. Overall the place was simply OK, nothing made it stand out and nothing made me want to come back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant is a wonderful place to ...

Dined on April 28, 2016

This restaurant is a wonderful place to go before attending a movie or theatre performance in downtown Seattle. We get consistently great service, and the food is always excellent. Free parking with validation as well! It's a very lively, vibrant place.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5

The spaghetti bolognese keeps us coming ...

Dined on April 26, 2016

The spaghetti bolognese keeps us coming back!

food2
ambience4
service4
value2

chop chop salad

Dined on April 25, 2016

Two of our party had this salad because it's what we always have since it's so wonderful. Yesterday it wasn't wonderful. There was too much greenery which was kind of limp and all the good things you used to put in the salad weren't there. We both were greatly disappointed. I brought part of mine home as I always do and I didn't eat it as it there was nothing in it but limper (to be expected and usually not a problem for me) and there was nothing else there. We were both sorry we ordered it!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5

We had a terrific server and wonderful f ...

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

We had a terrific server and wonderful food. A real favorite for us.

food4
ambience4
service4

Palamino just became favorite restaurant ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

Palamino just became favorite restaurant of ours. The pork loin was amazing!!! The paella was good but didn't have enough crab. It was fixed when the waitress brought more. Service was great as always and will be back to try more entrees.

food5
ambience4
service5

All dishes excellent and as described

vip
Dined on April 14, 2016

All dishes excellent and as described

food3
ambience3
service4

A decent enough place for a meal but a v ...

Dined on April 13, 2016

A decent enough place for a meal but a very good place to go before a show at the 5th Avenue, convenient, will validate parking and even offer a discount on dinner with your show tickets. For that reason I would recommend it. Much better places in the area for just a meal however.

food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Great Service but Food Was Rushed...

Dined on April 10, 2016

Lovely restaurant, awesome service, but Food was not up to par. The" Caramelized " Brussel Sprouts were hard, barely cooked, and bitter. The Paella was a bland and watery. However the Steak Frites was cooked perfectly medium. To be fair they did stop by to ask how our meal was and we did not point these issues out. I'm sure they would of remade them as the staff was very nice.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was delicious, server was great, wi ...

Dined on April 8, 2016

Food was delicious, server was great, will definitely come back next time we're here

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Always delicious

Dined on April 5, 2016

Palomino's food is always, always delicious. The menu selections are a good variety (including things for vegetarians) they're well-prepared. The presentation on the plate is artistic. I've gone to Palomino for more than 25 years and will always go back for more.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Palomino is our go-to restaurant

Dined on April 3, 2016

As usual Palomino was excellent! We dine here when downtown to see a show/symphony.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

beautiful setting

Dined on April 3, 2016

Palomino is a gem, in a lovely building and space, with so many pieces of glass art that it feels like a special museum. The food was nothing to write home about and service ebbed and flowed as the restaurant filled up and emptied out but we felt we were well treated by the beautiful setting.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fun

Dined on April 2, 2016

Fun restaurant with a great menu. Highly recommend for food and value.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Unique menu

vip
Dined on April 2, 2016

Great for pre-theater (Paramount only 1-1/2 blocks away. Make a meal of varied appetizers (e.g. Caramelized cauliflower, hummus & greek yogurt dip, sicilian meatballs, deviled eggs, roasted brussel sprouts, bruschetta, pesto). Salads also excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great pre-show dinner spot

Dined on April 1, 2016

We had reservations for the 5th Ave Theater show starting at 8 pm. We found a parking garage nearby and had an easy 2 block walk to the Palomino. We were a few minutes late for our 6:30 reservations but were seated quickly. Nice dinner menu options with most prices between $20-$35. Service was good, maybe a little slow, about average. I had the maple chicken salad and mushroom soup, both were delicious. My wife had a small chop salad and Italian wedding soup. The small salad was just enough, the soup was good but a little spicy for her taste (but she ate it all!). We had a relaxing dinner and got to the theater in plenty of time for the show. We often go to the Elephant and Castle right across the street from Palomino. Good to find a new place we like close by.

Tags: special occasion
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

Ordered the pork chop, taste was fine bu ...

Dined on March 31, 2016

Ordered the pork chop, taste was fine but the outer portion was very tough and could hardly be cut with a knife, meat was a bit dry. My debit card was used for another tables bill as well as my own.

food5
ambience5
service5

First time here. Everything was great in ...

Dined on March 28, 2016

First time here. Everything was great including service. The whole menu looked great and they were very accommodating since I do not eat onions. Ambience was very nice as well. We will return.

food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Nice dinner after a show

Dined on March 27, 2016

Close to the theater, good food, server was pleasant, but untrained

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

What's not to love?

Dined on March 27, 2016

We always enjoy Palomino, downtown. Great atmosphere, generously warm greetings, and consistently yummy food. Considerate of our time frame, be it slow, with enough time to linger and enjoy one's dining dining partner(s), or time-efficient, so you can get to the theater on time. On this particular afternoon, my party had the most amazing server. She was attentive, thoughtful, and seriously polite. Reminded me of a time when every other word was not "awesome!" Thank you Jessica! Yes, I complimented her, and the manager before leaving. Of course we will go back. It's a delightful place to dine!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our favorites

Dined on March 27, 2016

Palomino-Seattle is one of our favorite restaurants and we visit at least once a month. Sometimes we sit in the bar and take advantage of the fabulous happy hour menu and sometimes we eat in the restaurant itself. The food is always wonderful, the quality is consistent and whether we order an all time favorite (Pasta Bolognese) or a new-to-us menu item (Paella) we are always happy with our choice.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

good as usual

vip
Dined on March 27, 2016

good food, good service, good ambience - good choice especially pre-symphony/play/musical

food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Tasty!

Dined on March 26, 2016

Enjoyed pizza and salad, service was quick and friendly. Cocktail was disappointing.

Tags: neighbourhood gem
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Okay

Dined on March 26, 2016

Our recent visit to Palomino was pre-5th Avenue Theater. We told the waiter that we needed to be out in a certain amount of time and he accommodated that (we had 2 hours, so no huge rush). The food was good; not the best I've ever had or anything to write home about, but good. The wait staff was almost too fussy -- trying to take away plates before we were finished with them. This may have been because they were being considerate of our theater start time, but it seemed invasive. I thought that the food was a bit overpriced for what we ordered (Seafood Louie salad for $24?). I haven't been to Palomino for a while, but used to go quite often. It wasn't as good as I remembered.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A gluten-free person's haven!

Dined on March 26, 2016

My wife and I were in town from Fargo for a conference and we ate here after hearing people with celiac disease had good luck with it. We ended up eating here three more times during the week after that first great experience. Despite being very busy the 4 times we ate there, we never worried about cross-contamination like we normally do. The servers and staff were well-educated on all things gluten-free and were super friendly and helpful. We especially loved the GF Salsiccia Fresca pizza and Rigatoni Bolognese pasta. The drink menu was excellent as well! Our favorite drinks were the Dark & Stormy, Corpse Reviver, and Moscow Mule. Wish we had a Palomino in Fargo!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Variety of flavors and pairings. Always ...

Dined on March 26, 2016

Variety of flavors and pairings. Always like to get the recommended wine.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent family celebration

Dined on March 25, 2016

Palomino was a great place for a family celebration. Great food selection, creative preparations, but not excessively priced

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service3

We ordered seafood and pizza from season ...

Dined on March 19, 2016

We ordered seafood and pizza from seasonal menu. Seafood dish was good and pizza was crispy and studded which my wife liked it. Recommend to try chef soup.

food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Always good

Dined on March 18, 2016

Palamino in Seattle never fails to impress. Food is always good and the service if warm, friendly and unobtrusive. Pricey wine by the glass.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.