About Paloma Blanca Mexican Cuisine

5800 Broadway
San Antonio, TX 78209
View Larger Map

Since 1997, Paloma Blanca Mexican Cuisine has become well-known for offering much more than traditional "Tex-Mex" fare. Tempting offerings include items as varied as grilled snapper, enchiladas verdes, pozole soup, hand made flautas and tacos al pastor. For margaritas by a cool fountain, a relaxing dinner on the terrace or appetizers in our hacienda-style dining rooms, Paloma Blanca invites you to enjoy our autentico brand of Mexican cuisine and hospitality.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mexican

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Wednesday: 11:00am to 9:00pm
Thursday - Friday: 11:00am to 10:00pm
Saturday: 10:00am to 10:00pm
Sunday: 10:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Austin Highway

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 822-6151

Website:
http://www.palomablanca.net/

Entertainment:
Live music on Thursday, Friday and Saturday evenings from 6:30pm to 9:30pm, and for Sunday Brunch from 11am - 2pm.

Catering:
Paloma Blanca's full-service catering department is eager to help you host your event, whether it's in one of our beautiful private dining rooms, or in your own home. Plated and buffet menu packages as well as beverage, floral/decor, music and rental options are available. For more information visit the Event Planner in the "Catering" section of our website - www.palomablanca.net or simply call Nelly Mendoza Olsen at 210.822-6151.

Whether at our home or yours, we'll make your event special!

Parking Details:
Located in the Cambridge Center, Paloma Blanca provides a private open and free parking lot to patrons.

Private Party Facilities:
Paloma Blanca offers 2 unique private dining rooms which are perfect for most any occasion, from business meetings to rehearsal dinners to birthday parties - we've even hosted several weddings! Salon el Jardin is located adjacent to our cantina and offers the most privacy. It offers high ceilings, a beautiful slate wall treatment and two sets of French doors overlooking the landscaping. It can accomodate approximately 50 people for a seated event, or 75 people reception style. Salon la Fuente boasts a detailed brick and copper fountain wall as well as an adjacent patio area with fountain. It can accomodate approximately 100 people for a seated event, or 200 people in a reption style. For more information on our policies and to see pictures of the rooms please visit www.PalomaBlanca.net, or call us.

Private Party Contact:
Nelly Mendoza Olsen: 2108226151

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Botanas Platter
Croquettas
Chile Poblano
Ceviche Del Mar
Pollo Asado
Enchiladas '09
Tacos Al Pastor From The Trompo!
Enchilada Del Mar
Al Pastor Taco
Micheladay Michelada Mexicana
Chips
Tacos de Pescado
Desayunos Especial
Guacamole
Ensalada Esmerelda With Grilled Shrimp
Enchiladas Verdes
Ceviche
Top Shelf Margarita
Guacamole a la Molcajete
Mary Tierra
Enchiladas Tradicionales
Gorditas

Paloma Blanca Mexican Cuisine Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Lunch
San Antonio
Neighborhood Gem
San Antonio
Outdoor Dining
San Antonio
3 More
Great for Lunch
San Antonio
Neighborhood Gem
San Antonio
Outdoor Dining
San Antonio
Best Restaurants in Alamo Heights ›

great for outdoor dining (39)
neighborhood gem (35)
good for groups (34)
See All
special occasion (27)
great for lunch (27)
fit for foodies (24)
romantic (21)
great for brunch (16)
hot spot (13)
kid-friendly (9)
scenic view (6)
vibrant bar scene (4)
late-night find (3)
notable wine list (2)
Sort By:
Newest
364 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience5
service5

Perfect in every way.

Dined 3 days ago

Perfect in every way.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service, good portions, awesome at ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Great service, good portions, awesome atmosphere. Must eat spot in SA area!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic
food1
ambience3
service1
value2

We were so disappointed when we tried Pa ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

We were so disappointed when we tried Paloma Blanca for the first time in June 2016. The worst was our service. Our server was inattentive and we kept having to flag others down for things we needed. Even then, we ended up waiting a long time for basics - like silverware, water refills, empty plate to be removed from our table and our check. We had even asked a manager who was passing by for our check and he never returned with it. The food and drinks were disappointing as well - especially for the higher price point. Even the seating was quite uncomfortable. Such an overall poor experience for a tab that totaled nearly $70 (with tip) for just two of us. We had been so excited to dine here based on other ratings. We won't be back.

food4
ambience3
service3
value3

The ceviché is delicious! My fajita-snob ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

The ceviché is delicious! My fajita-snob husband loved his steak, shrimp, and chicken fajita combination. The mango chamborita was also delicious. Worth a return trip, even though we weren't immediately seated due to a "servers' meeting".

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Took 20 minutes after our reservation to ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Took 20 minutes after our reservation to get a table. Hostess said we needed to wait for shift change and then a staff meeting before they could seat us. Once seated it took another 10 mins before I stopped a staff person passing by to ask whom our waiter was and if we could get something to drink. Once we got a waiter he was nice and attentive. Good was good as usual. Dining tip: DO NOT make 5:00 reservations because you'll have to wait for shift change and a staff meeting before being seated.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went to dinner with 4 adults and an 18 m ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Went to dinner with 4 adults and an 18 month old, no problem for the staff. Reservations were ready for us, no waiting. Excellent waiter, margaritas were very good and well as the food. Always love eating there.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Loved the atmosphere and beautiful facil ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Loved the atmosphere and beautiful facility. Saturday brunch with friends - good food and inexpensive mimosa!

food5
ambience5
service5

Paloma Blanca is the unmatched spot for ...

Dined on June 8, 2016

Paloma Blanca is the unmatched spot for mom and my weekly margarita date. Recently celebrated my birthday on the patio and couldn't have wished for a better restaurant!

food3
ambience5
service3
value2

Good not great

vip
Dined on May 30, 2016

If it wasn't for the hip decor, nice place to impress, wouldn't return. There are limited places in SA that offer Mexican, in a clean , indoor and outdoor picturesque setting. Food not that special, esp for the high prices they ask. The tortilla chips are thick, cold and hard. They give you two sauces to dip, both extremes of spice., nothing in the middle. There was no personal dish to combine them either. I had to request small plates for three of us sharing. Would have been real messy but turned out no one cared for the free appetizer. One major dislike was having a server that didn't seem trained or experienced. His English was definitely not his first language. He asked for drink orders and when I replied Ginger Ale, he looked at me as if I had 3 heads. Ater trying to explain it was a soft drink, I finally just told him to go ask someone else who worked there. That experience isn't what I would expect for an Open Table restaurant. May try them again, need time to forget .

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great food but a little pricey...

Dined on May 29, 2016

The food here is great, especially the guacamole made table side; however, it's pretty expensive for what you get. We had a group of 6 and were given two tiny bowls of chips and two tiny bowls of salsa. After each person ate 3 chips we were out. That's a little annoying. Overall it's good and I love that you can make reservations.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Barbara

Dined on May 22, 2016

My son was in town for the day and wanted Mexican food , so 5 of us went for lunch. Food was good, but we were in a back room - no ambiance, by the kitchen, and it was very noisy. Hard to visit,

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

The food is amazing, I love the atmosphe ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

The food is amazing, I love the atmosphere Best Mexican restraunt in San Antonio!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic
food5
ambience4
service4

The Enchiladas Verdes and Enchiladas Div ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

The Enchiladas Verdes and Enchiladas Divorciadas are delicious, as is the fresh salsa and warm tortilla chips!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Per usual, outstanding.

Dined on May 20, 2016

Our waiter, Sharok, made the evening top-knotch, catering to our difficult dietary needs + special drink requests. This has become my mom and my go-to, margs-on-the-patio spot. Will be back next week!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience3
service1

The food here is spectacular - extremely ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

The food here is spectacular - extremely good value for the price. I wish the service had lived up to the quality of the food. When we were seated our waiter yelled at the hostess and refused to serve us (albeit in Spanish, but he should probably realize that most people speak enough Spanish to understand him when he says stuff like that) so we were served by the bus boy, who obviously lacked training and left us for long periods of time without drinks and waiting for the bill. While we were waiting for the bill, the waiter who refused to serve us closed down the section and put all the chairs up on the tables while we were still sitting there - talk about not feeling welcome. Even with the wonderful food, to say we were happy to get out of there after we were done is an understatement.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Local Mexican Restaurant with Great Happy Hour

Dined on May 13, 2016

This was the second time I've been to Paloma Blanca and my friends and I were not disappointed. We decided to go to check out their great happy hour menu. The $3.50 margaritas are really tasty. They are nice and tart and not watered down at all. The appetizers did not disappoint either. We loved the tacos al pastor and the nachos. One of the best happy hours in town. We were so pleased with the experience that we are talking about going back next week.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

Great food and service. Will definitely ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Great food and service. Will definitely go back.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and great looking place.

Dined on May 8, 2016

Great food and great looking place.

food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Reservations are a must for evenings eve ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

Reservations are a must for evenings even during the week! Service was okay - a bit slow on drink refills but it was very busy so overall good. The food was very good and we will return.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Perfect Anniversary

Dined on May 5, 2016

Just moved from MI and wanted to make our 4th anniversary special. We looked up reviews online and Paloma blanca did not disappoint.The margaritas were delicious and the shrimp fajitas were superb!The only thing negative would be thathat there were small children playing in the fountain and attracting blackbirds with chips.Since their parents were not controlling them,we thought one of the employees should have.one of those children could have slipped and been seriously injured.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Best Ever

Dined on May 5, 2016

According to my wife, The Works Fajitas was the best she had ever eaten in her life. Not Texas. Not San Antonio. But her entire life.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

good for a more special Mexican dinner

Dined on April 26, 2016

Food above average, excellent service, very nice environment

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

As always, the menu was superb and the s ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

As always, the menu was superb and the service exceptional.

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Too Noisy

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

I love Paloma Blanca. It is one of my go to places for Mexican food however I always find it to be so noisy. Can't carry on a conversation when parties in the surrounding tables are so loud! Don't want to ruin their fun but is there any way to dampen the sound in the dining rooms? The food is fabulous, service is excellent but unless it is a patio weather day, I hesitate to go.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice place

Dined on April 10, 2016

Alicia was our waitperson - efficient & very helpful as 2 people did not like spicey food! Patio dining is always nice - just wish the view were other than a parking lot. Perhaps high bushes?

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Pleasant dining

Dined on April 7, 2016

Great place to dine with a lovely outdoor patio to enjoy delicious Mexican cuisine.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Great outdoor experience - efficient wai ...

Dined on April 5, 2016

Great outdoor experience - efficient wait staff and excellent food. Thanks!

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved it!

vip
Dined on March 30, 2016

We were visiting San Antonio for Spring Break, and had researched the local Mexican restaurants. Based on reviews, one of the restaurants we chose was Paloma Blanca. First, the decor of the restaurant is beautiful and very welcoming! The service was very good. Our food had really good flavor, but could have been hotter in temperature when it was served. My stepson ordered fajitas, and there was no sizzle when served - which even Chili's manages. The food, though not hot, was very tasty, and beautifully served.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service2

I love the ambiance and the food. It is ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

I love the ambiance and the food. It is always so good. However, the service seems to be lacking when I go. The servers seem like their sections are too big or something because they're hardly around. Just be prepared for that when you go. The margaritas are good and I haven't had anything on the menu I disliked. Sit outside of you can. The patio is fun.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Cannot quite vocalize how much I appreci ...

Dined on March 25, 2016

Cannot quite vocalize how much I appreciate Paloma Blanca providing a menu that allows people like me, with gluten-intolerances and a health-foodie, to dine out comfortably, enjoyably and delectably. The drinks, the food, fajitas, fabulous!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Best!

Dined on March 17, 2016

I've eaten here many times and never been disappointed. The staff is so courteous and the food is always superb! It is a go to place when out of town company comes!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
food2
ambience5
service2
value3

Not for those with dietary restrictions

Dined on March 17, 2016

Beautiful restaurant with authentic ambiance, just not recommended for individuals with dietary restrictions. We were visiting San Antonio from out of town and one of my daughters has severe food sensitivities, including cumin. After my wife called the restaurant, we felt comfortable booking a reservation and we're excited at the prospect of cumin-free Mexican food options. Unfortunately, we were disappointed after talking with a waiter who was "pretty sure" my daughter's food order would be ok with her diet. We simply could not risk the remainder of our vacation on a "pretty sure."

food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Fabulous Margaritas and food

Dined on March 15, 2016

We had family from out-of-town and our party of 6 enjoyed a range of excellent dishes, starting with sublime margaritas (especially the 09), queso and made-at-the-table guacamole. Our hostess and our server were exceptional. Wish the terrace didn't look over a parking lot, but this is a very good restaurant. We look forward to returning!

food4
ambience5
service2
value5

Indoor seating was a little noisy for a ...

Dined on March 14, 2016

Indoor seating was a little noisy for a group of 6+. Our waiter was very nice however the service was very slow and we were there on a Monday night with about half the restaurant full. It took us 2 hours from start to finish to have drinks, an appetizer and our meal.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Have dined here on numerous occasions an ...

vip
Dined on March 12, 2016

Have dined here on numerous occasions and consistently enjoyed great meals. A favorite of mine and my husband's. I was so happy to host a few coworkers and it was such a nice lunch on the patio- good service, good food, good weather!

food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Local Mexican

vip
Dined on February 13, 2016

If you're looking for the Mexican Restaurant where the locals of Alamo Heights go, search no farther. Always energetic, great bartenders, quality ingredients. Outside dining is superb.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Always good

Dined on January 26, 2016

Paloma Blanca is a beautiful restaurant--the ambience is lovely. It has great appetizers, a wide range of choices, and is an upscale Mexican place--not gourmet, but quite good. Great drinks (try the Heights Margarita), with both a small, decent wine and beer selection.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful and elegant restaurant

Dined on January 10, 2016

I went there with a small group to discuss a book. We sat inside and it was fairly quiet for a little while because we went early. I thought the food was incredible. It was very good. The waiter was extremely polite and attentive to our group. I liked the Spanish guitar music that was playing. We will visit this location again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Mexican Food & Great Family environment

Dined on December 31, 2015

We have been going to Paloma Blanca since 2010 and it is our favorite spot for a nice Sunday afternoon lunch with the best Mexican food in this area. Service and attention from all the staff is great, from the minute you walk to the reception counter they make you feel at home. The Menu has a good and extensive selection of Mexican plates (real Mexican), and the taste for each one of our selection has always been spectacular. We wholeheartedly recommend Paloma Blanca as the best in its class for its great family environment.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service4

Consistently good food and service. Lov ...

vip
Dined on December 30, 2015

Consistently good food and service. Love the menu and the ambience. In a great part of town, will continue to visit.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.