Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.45mi
  2. Distance: 0.77mi
  3. Distance: 0.77mi
  4. Distance: 1.34mi
  1. Distance: 0.45mi
  2. Distance: 0.77mi
  3. Distance: 0.77mi
  4. Distance: 1.34mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.45mi
  2. Distance: 0.77mi
  3. Distance: 0.77mi
  4. Distance: 1.34mi
  1. Distance: 0.45mi
  2. Distance: 0.77mi
  3. Distance: 0.77mi
  4. Distance: 1.34mi

About Paloma Blanca Mexican Cuisine

Since 1997, Paloma Blanca Mexican Cuisine has become well-known for offering much more than traditional "Tex-Mex" fare. Tempting offerings include items as varied as grilled snapper, enchiladas verdes, pozole soup, hand made flautas and tacos al pastor. For margaritas by a cool fountain, a relaxing dinner on the terrace or appetizers in our hacienda-style dining rooms, Paloma Blanca invites you to enjoy our autentico brand of Mexican cuisine and hospitality.

5800 Broadway
San Antonio, TX 78209
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mexican

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Wednesday: 11:00am to 9:00pm
Thursday - Friday: 11:00am to 10:00pm
Saturday: 10:00am to 10:00pm
Sunday: 10:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Austin Highway

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 822-6151

Website:
http://www.palomablanca.net/

Entertainment:
Live music on Thursday, Friday and Saturday evenings from 6:30pm to 9:30pm, and for Sunday Brunch from 11am - 2pm.

Catering:
Paloma Blanca's full-service catering department is eager to help you host your event, whether it's in one of our beautiful private dining rooms, or in your own home. Plated and buffet menu packages as well as beverage, floral/decor, music and rental options are available. For more information visit the Event Planner in the "Catering" section of our website - www.palomablanca.net or simply call Nelly Mendoza Olsen at 210.822-6151.

Whether at our home or yours, we'll make your event special!

Parking Details:
Located in the Cambridge Center, Paloma Blanca provides a private open and free parking lot to patrons.

Private Party Facilities:
Paloma Blanca offers 2 unique private dining rooms which are perfect for most any occasion, from business meetings to rehearsal dinners to birthday parties - we've even hosted several weddings! Salon el Jardin is located adjacent to our cantina and offers the most privacy. It offers high ceilings, a beautiful slate wall treatment and two sets of French doors overlooking the landscaping. It can accomodate approximately 50 people for a seated event, or 75 people reception style. Salon la Fuente boasts a detailed brick and copper fountain wall as well as an adjacent patio area with fountain. It can accomodate approximately 100 people for a seated event, or 200 people in a reption style. For more information on our policies and to see pictures of the rooms please visit www.PalomaBlanca.net, or call us.

Private Party Contact:
Nelly Mendoza Olsen: (210) 822-6151

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Paloma Blanca Mexican Cuisine Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.1

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (11)
Great for Outdoor Dining (11)
Authentic (8)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Great for Lunch (7)
Casual (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Fun (5)
Spicy (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Business Meals (4)
Family Style (4)
Great Beer (4)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Fireplace (3)
Special Occasion (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
People Watching (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Romantic (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Scenic View (1)
Cozy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Private Room (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Seasonal (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Tapas (1)
Live Music (1)
Sort By:
S
469 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined 4 days ago

We made reservations, and our booth was reserved and we were seated immediately. What
upset me was that we told our waiter that we wanted the "guacamole olmeca" as an
appetizer. We gave him our order and he came out with our dinner order but NO appetizer.
We told him we wanted our appetizer. He gave us a "deer in the headlights look." Honestly,
I wanted to tell him to take our dinner back & serve us the appetizer FIRST. He apologized but
acted like he really didn't want to serve us the guacamole olmeca. I'm sorry, but it was almost
$12.00 and it was NOT worth it. He was tipped, but personally, I don't think he deserved it.
It was our anniversary, celebrated with friends from California. We wanted to impress them,
but it was a let down. It will be awhile before we return.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Ceviche and puntas de puerto are great-my favorites. Good Margaritas. The best chips and salsa.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 15, 2017

It was chilly in the restaurant--bring a sweater. Food was good. Description needs to be a little bit more clear. Waiters constantly busy very hard to get their attention. And took a while for drinks to come to the table, even for a refill.
No military discount which is very unfortunate.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 5, 2017

3 of us split the wonderful guacamole made before our eyes. The sangria was fruity and delicious. The sauces chipotle and cilantro flavors on chicken were excellent as well as the sauce with mushrooms. No room for dessert, but coffee was perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Food was great. Wait staff a little slow and the ambiance was ok. I say ok because it was extremely loud and it this establishment has no dress code. In addition, parking is horrible and no valet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value4

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Love this place. It's always great!!! Love taking out of town guests....

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We phoned ahead because we were running 30 minutes late for a 1p Saturday reservation (bad traffic from Austin delayed me). They kept the reservation. We asked to change tables from inside to outside but were told there would be a wait, though there were empty tables visible on the patio.

We were seated between a patio window and a table of 14, who were celebrating a birthday and noisy. The food was good. We shared the ceviche clasico, then she had chilequiles and I had mole chicken enchiladas. The service was adequate and cordial.

It was an okay but not stellar experience...something that we had to be inventive to make the most of. Had I been the host, I would have sized us up as a couple and mentioned that the only table available was next to a big party rather than seat us right away. I don't think anyone did anything wrong, but it's one of those experiences that seems careless rather than thoughtful.

If I had it to do over, I would wait for an outside table or ask to be switched.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Fantastic margaritas with a lovely atmosphere. It's family friendly and just a comfortable place all around.

Only slight let down was that the salsa and the guacamole appetizers were a little bland.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 13, 2017

We chose PB for my mom's 50th party and did not disappoint! For our group of 16, our two servers made us feel completely attended to. My only complaint would have been some personal service in helping us make the occasion more special by allowing us to reserve a section of the restaurant. Seeing as it was a Monday and I had made our reservation weeks prior, I feel Paloma could have been more accommodating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Great Table-side Guacamole, Enchiladas and Shrimp Fajitas!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Waited over 10 mins before getting up to ask a hostess for drinks as a server had not come to our table. Also had to wait a while for chips & tea refills. It was not a good first time experience!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 23, 2017

The food was excellent and so was our waitress, Anna. I will come again next time I visit San Antonio

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Loved the romantic ambience. The lighting was perfect, as well as the music level. The service was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Excellent date night restaurant. We ordered from the Paleo menu. Food was fresh and tasty. Loved the cerviche. Since we ordered Paleo, we were offered plantain chips which were thin and crispy. Good portion sizes. We both had leftovers.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Was a very enjoyable experience. Will definitely go again.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Great authentic Mexican cuisine. Lovely outdoor seating, great ambience. Parking is hard to find during busy hours. Pozole is fantastic.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Good looking with the flavors to back up the looks!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Upscale Mexican. Lovely patio. Warm fireplace. Great marguerita with choice of tequila. First time I had mole and it was great. The fajitas were standard. But the quacamole made at the table was delicious. Great ambience if you are looking for more than a quick Mexican meal.

Tags: People Watching, Casual, Good for Groups, Spicy, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 30, 2017

As always, food was top notch - like eating at a great restaurant in Mexico City. Can get a little noisy if - as during our visit - there is a rowdy table nearby - but otherwise very nice environment.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Loved the Mole at Paloma Blanca. Friendly staff and great ambiance.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Spicy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 30, 2017

The service was premium, food and drinks were great. I enjoyed the atmosphere. Ill be back

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Paleo Friendly, Family Style, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Dining at Paloma Blanca is always a nice experience; this visit was no exception. The food is reliably delicious and the cocktails are well prepared. My only quibble about this most recent visit was the service: it was unusually slow and verging on inattentive (this is not to imply our waiter wasn't friendly -- quite the contrary: he was cheery). Otherwise, a terrific lunch at a budget-friendly price.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Our waiter Jose, provided excellent service. When we arrived I shared that we had a reservation and the hostess showed us to our table with little response. Obviously a reservation is not required during lunch. Food was good but nothing extraordinary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Delicious as ever. Service was very good. It was a bit noisy, but not bad for a Saturday night. I can't wait to go back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We've never been disappointed with our dining experience here. Food and ambiance make it a special place.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Paleo Friendly, Fun, Worth the Drive, Spicy, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (London)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Decent restaurant, nothing special

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Had a great server by the name of Carlos. Very attentive and very respectful.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Private Room, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Christmas Eve brunch with family. Fun and relaxing!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 21, 2016

We were seated at a table with direct sun in eyes. Hostess didn't seem to care. Food good as always but server was no where to be seen for a long time when we were going to ask for the check. Patron next to us was also annoyed by long wait. We will be back though. Love the food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 18, 2016

One of the two best Mex good restaurants in San Antonio.

Tags: Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Food was delicious! Especially it being gluten free

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Healthy, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Great get together with friends; good food, quiet; excellent service!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Met a group of friends for a reunion luncheon. Everything was great - food, service and atmosphere. Definitely will return.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Sunday lunch extraordinaire! Always enjoy the individualized attention of the wait staff and crew. Food is top notch and quick to service. Busy time period efficiently mitigated by the reception and managerial team.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Best Sunday...Brunch or alacarte. Get there early and make a reservation.

Tags: Family Style, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 3, 2016

It was very nice as before.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Everything worked out great. They sat us (8) at a round table in a little secluded area. We ate and had our meeting without any problem! The waiter was excellent!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Poor service. 45 plus minutes to get our food from time order placed. Extremely loud. Marginal food. Over-rated. Too many good options in SA to tolerate such poor service and food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Only disappointment is when I made the reservations I expressed it would be my mothers 75th birthday. This notation was confirmed when I got a call day of verifying reaervation. Yet at dinner no mention of it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 30, 2016

The food is always good. Wait staff is usually good. The hostess is usually awful, forgetting reservations, not crediting open table reservations. I have had to call and have this corrected more than once. When you call the restaurant the person who answers the phone does not state their name. When I asked to speak with a manager the response was "you're going to have to wait awhile".
I would probably spend my money here more often if the service were a little more friendly.
Also, I was told my small 7 pound service dog was not allowed to sit outside, although it was on the reservation. I wouldn't recommend anticipating excellent service at this restaurant, but remember...this is not the Northeast..it is, after all, San Antonio.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.