About Paloma Blanca Mexican Cuisine

5800 Broadway
San Antonio, TX 78209
View Larger Map

Since 1997, Paloma Blanca Mexican Cuisine has become well-known for offering much more than traditional "Tex-Mex" fare. Tempting offerings include items as varied as grilled snapper, enchiladas verdes, pozole soup, hand made flautas and tacos al pastor. For margaritas by a cool fountain, a relaxing dinner on the terrace or appetizers in our hacienda-style dining rooms, Paloma Blanca invites you to enjoy our autentico brand of Mexican cuisine and hospitality.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mexican

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Wednesday: 11:00am to 9:00pm
Thursday - Friday: 11:00am to 10:00pm
Saturday: 10:00am to 10:00pm
Sunday: 10:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Austin Highway

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 822-6151

Website:
http://www.palomablanca.net/

Entertainment:
Live music on Thursday, Friday and Saturday evenings from 6:30pm to 9:30pm, and for Sunday Brunch from 11am - 2pm.

Catering:
Paloma Blanca's full-service catering department is eager to help you host your event, whether it's in one of our beautiful private dining rooms, or in your own home. Plated and buffet menu packages as well as beverage, floral/decor, music and rental options are available. For more information visit the Event Planner in the "Catering" section of our website - www.palomablanca.net or simply call Nelly Mendoza Olsen at 210.822-6151.

Whether at our home or yours, we'll make your event special!

Parking Details:
Located in the Cambridge Center, Paloma Blanca provides a private open and free parking lot to patrons.

Private Party Facilities:
Paloma Blanca offers 2 unique private dining rooms which are perfect for most any occasion, from business meetings to rehearsal dinners to birthday parties - we've even hosted several weddings! Salon el Jardin is located adjacent to our cantina and offers the most privacy. It offers high ceilings, a beautiful slate wall treatment and two sets of French doors overlooking the landscaping. It can accomodate approximately 50 people for a seated event, or 75 people reception style. Salon la Fuente boasts a detailed brick and copper fountain wall as well as an adjacent patio area with fountain. It can accomodate approximately 100 people for a seated event, or 200 people in a reption style. For more information on our policies and to see pictures of the rooms please visit www.PalomaBlanca.net, or call us.

Private Party Contact:
Nelly Mendoza Olsen: 2108226151

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Botanas Platter - Paloma Blanca Mexican Cuisine, San Antonio, TX
Croquettas - Paloma Blanca Mexican Cuisine, San Antonio, TX
Ceviche Del Mar - Paloma Blanca Mexican Cuisine, San Antonio, TX
Pollo Asado - Paloma Blanca Mexican Cuisine, San Antonio, TX
Enchiladas '09 - Paloma Blanca Mexican Cuisine, San Antonio, TX
Enchilada Del Mar - Paloma Blanca Mexican Cuisine, San Antonio, TX
Tacos Al Pastor From The Trompo! - Paloma Blanca Mexican Cuisine, San Antonio, TX
Chips - Paloma Blanca Mexican Cuisine, San Antonio, TX
Al Pastor Taco - Paloma Blanca Mexican Cuisine, San Antonio, TX
Micheladay Michelada Mexicana - Paloma Blanca Mexican Cuisine, San Antonio, TX
Tacos de Pescado - Paloma Blanca Mexican Cuisine, San Antonio, TX
Desayunos Especial - Paloma Blanca Mexican Cuisine, San Antonio, TX
Guacamole - Paloma Blanca Mexican Cuisine, San Antonio, TX
Ensalada Esmerelda With Grilled Shrimp - Paloma Blanca Mexican Cuisine, San Antonio, TX
Enchiladas Verdes - Paloma Blanca Mexican Cuisine, San Antonio, TX
Ceviche - Paloma Blanca Mexican Cuisine, San Antonio, TX
Guacamole a la Molcajete - Paloma Blanca Mexican Cuisine, San Antonio, TX
Top Shelf Margarita - Paloma Blanca Mexican Cuisine, San Antonio, TX
Mary Tierra - Paloma Blanca Mexican Cuisine, San Antonio, TX
Enchiladas Tradicionales - Paloma Blanca Mexican Cuisine, San Antonio, TX
Gorditas - Paloma Blanca Mexican Cuisine, San Antonio, TX
Chile Poblano - Paloma Blanca Mexican Cuisine, San Antonio, TX

Paloma Blanca Mexican Cuisine Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Lunch (12)
Good for a Date (11)
Special Occasion (8)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Good for Groups (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Authentic (6)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Romantic (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Business Meals (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Family Style (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Fun (2)
Casual (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
People Watching (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Scenic View (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Private Room (2)
Healthy (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Live Music (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Fireplace (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Cozy (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
395 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Sunday lunch extraordinaire! Always en ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined 4 days ago

Sunday lunch extraordinaire! Always enjoy the individualized attention of the wait staff and crew. Food is top notch and quick to service. Busy time period efficiently mitigated by the reception and managerial team.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Sunday...Brunch or alacarte. Get th ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 4 days ago

Best Sunday...Brunch or alacarte. Get there early and make a reservation.

Tags: Family Style, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was very nice as before.

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined 5 days ago

It was very nice as before.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything worked out great. They sat u ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Everything worked out great. They sat us (8) at a round table in a little secluded area. We ate and had our meeting without any problem! The waiter was excellent!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Poor service. 45 plus minutes to get our ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Poor service. 45 plus minutes to get our food from time order placed. Extremely loud. Marginal food. Over-rated. Too many good options in SA to tolerate such poor service and food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Only disappointment is when I made the r ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Only disappointment is when I made the reservations I expressed it would be my mothers 75th birthday. This notation was confirmed when I got a call day of verifying reaervation. Yet at dinner no mention of it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value4

The food is always good. Wait staff is ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 30, 2016

The food is always good. Wait staff is usually good. The hostess is usually awful, forgetting reservations, not crediting open table reservations. I have had to call and have this corrected more than once. When you call the restaurant the person who answers the phone does not state their name. When I asked to speak with a manager the response was "you're going to have to wait awhile".

I would probably spend my money here more often if the service were a little more friendly.

Also, I was told my small 7 pound service dog was not allowed to sit outside, although it was on the reservation. I wouldn't recommend anticipating excellent service at this restaurant, but remember...this is not the Northeast..it is, after all, San Antonio.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

I have eaten at Paloma Blanca several ti ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 26, 2016

I have eaten at Paloma Blanca several times, my husband is from Mexico and loves the cuisine. I was recently there last week "catchin up" with an old high school friend .....The atmostphere and food is sooo good, I'm still coming back!

Tags: Business Meals, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

Service is always so bad and slow here, ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Service is always so bad and slow here, good thing they make it up with great food. Would probably go more often if the service was better. Or order to go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Enjoyable meal with mixed results. The ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Enjoyable meal with mixed results. The magharita 09 was excellent and would recommend and so was the guacamole made at the table. Both are definite repeats. My husband had the chili relleno, baked and stuffed with chicken - wonderful taste and healthy choice. I had the enchiladas 09 - they were a disappointing as the sauces were a bit bland. Will definitely go again, but will choose chili relleno or another variety of enchiladas.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

My friend and I enjoyed a "catch up" lun ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 10, 2016

My friend and I enjoyed a "catch up" lunch at Paloma Blanca. They have several nice lunch specials and we had a grilled chicken breast with creamy poblano sauce, rice and fresh vegetables. They offer wonderful margaritas by the carafe and we spent a leisurely afternoon talking out on the patio. I look forward to going again soon.

Tags: Good for a Date, People Watching, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Took a friend here for her first Paloma ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Took a friend here for her first Paloma dining experience. She LOVED it. Incredible margaritas and service, per usual!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The staff was friendly, food was tasty a ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on September 27, 2016

The staff was friendly, food was tasty and fresh, we did not have to wait long. Great experience every time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service from Federico, and exc ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Excellent service from Federico, and excellent food.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The restaurant was extremely too loud. I ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 24, 2016

The restaurant was extremely too loud. It was my birthday and I reserved this place thinking it would be a nice atmosphere but we ended up yelling at each other for conversation.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

My mom and our friends enjoyed our get t ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 17, 2016

My mom and our friends enjoyed our get together. It was an amazing atmosphere, awsome service, great food! We will continue our get togethers at Paloma Blanca continuously.

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a great restaurant with an incre ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 16, 2016

This is a great restaurant with an incredible atmosphere and very delicious food. The alcoholic drinks were excellent as well. I would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone and everyone that is looking for a great mexican food restaurant.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Glad we decided to check reviews and giv ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 12, 2016

Glad we decided to check reviews and give this place a try rather than just going to the old usuals on the Riverwalk.

The 09 margarita is one of the best I've ever had.

The table side guacamole was good.

I had the carne asada tampiqueno and it was terrific! Very tender and perfectly cooked.

Saves room for tres leches cake, which was moist and delicious.

This is definitely on our places to return to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I found the restaurant by accident on go ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 10, 2016

I found the restaurant by accident on google and they had a coupon on their website, so I thought I would give it a try. The margaritas were strong and the food was delicious!

Tags: Family Style, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Excellent meal and great service on our ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Excellent meal and great service on our last visit for a weekend lunch. I always have a hard time picking from the menu - everything is so good there!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just wonderful Mexican/Tex Mex/Street Ta ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Just wonderful Mexican/Tex Mex/Street Taco menu. Great service, nice atmosphere, all around very nice!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Outstanding Value, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, service, setting, and drinks ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Great food, service, setting, and drinks. We will be back on a regular basis!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding per usual!

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Outstanding per usual!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Was not pleased with the restaurant week ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Was not pleased with the restaurant week lunch menu. The fish was not fresh and was overcooked. It almost tasted like rubber.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value1

Our waiter was extremely apathetic and w ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Our waiter was extremely apathetic and we were lucky to have our water refilled. The entrance of the restaurant is so nice. It would be great if they updated/decorated the other sections of the restaurant more.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

The evening was wonderful, especially of ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 1, 2016

The evening was wonderful, especially of note was our ever so gracious server, Federico.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Good food, attentive service. Overall, ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 29, 2016

Good food, attentive service. Overall, a terrific evening

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Already sent. Failed to finish my privat ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 19, 2016

Already sent. Failed to finish my private note to PB so I started over!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Made a reservation - still had to wait 2 ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 2, 2016

Made a reservation - still had to wait 20 minutes. Waiter was not attentive. Food came, my order was wrong. Waiter said he could have it corrected in 10-15 minutes. I told him never mind I didn't want the rest of my party to wait to eat. So, I never got to eat anything so I don't know if the food was good. A manager never came over to check how everything was, and the waiter never offered to have a manager come. The rest of my party said their meal was very good. But I dot know. The service was terrible. I will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Very noisy but food was very good and se ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on June 30, 2016

Very noisy but food was very good and service met expectations

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

The noise level was too high to carry on ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on June 30, 2016

The noise level was too high to carry on a conversation. But the food was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value4

Perfect in every way.

 
 (Austin)·Dined on June 28, 2016

Perfect in every way.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Great service, good portions, awesome at ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Great service, good portions, awesome atmosphere. Must eat spot in SA area!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were so disappointed when we tried Pa ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on June 18, 2016

We were so disappointed when we tried Paloma Blanca for the first time in June 2016. The worst was our service. Our server was inattentive and we kept having to flag others down for things we needed. Even then, we ended up waiting a long time for basics - like silverware, water refills, empty plate to be removed from our table and our check. We had even asked a manager who was passing by for our check and he never returned with it. The food and drinks were disappointing as well - especially for the higher price point. Even the seating was quite uncomfortable. Such an overall poor experience for a tab that totaled nearly $70 (with tip) for just two of us. We had been so excited to dine here based on other ratings. We won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value2

The ceviché is delicious! My fajita-snob ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on June 18, 2016

The ceviché is delicious! My fajita-snob husband loved his steak, shrimp, and chicken fajita combination. The mango chamborita was also delicious. Worth a return trip, even though we weren't immediately seated due to a "servers' meeting".

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Took 20 minutes after our reservation to ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on June 18, 2016

Took 20 minutes after our reservation to get a table. Hostess said we needed to wait for shift change and then a staff meeting before they could seat us. Once seated it took another 10 mins before I stopped a staff person passing by to ask whom our waiter was and if we could get something to drink. Once we got a waiter he was nice and attentive. Good was good as usual. Dining tip: DO NOT make 5:00 reservations because you'll have to wait for shift change and a staff meeting before being seated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Went to dinner with 4 adults and an 18 m ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on June 18, 2016

Went to dinner with 4 adults and an 18 month old, no problem for the staff. Reservations were ready for us, no waiting. Excellent waiter, margaritas were very good and well as the food. Always love eating there.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the atmosphere and beautiful facil ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 11, 2016

Loved the atmosphere and beautiful facility. Saturday brunch with friends - good food and inexpensive mimosa!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Paloma Blanca is the unmatched spot for ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on June 8, 2016

Paloma Blanca is the unmatched spot for mom and my weekly margarita date. Recently celebrated my birthday on the patio and couldn't have wished for a better restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good not great

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on May 30, 2016

If it wasn't for the hip decor, nice place to impress, wouldn't return. There are limited places in SA that offer Mexican, in a clean , indoor and outdoor picturesque setting.

Food not that special, esp for the high prices they ask. The tortilla chips are thick, cold and hard. They give you two sauces to dip, both extremes of spice., nothing in the middle. There was no personal dish to combine them either. I had to request small plates for three of us sharing. Would have been real messy but turned out no one cared for the free appetizer.

One major dislike was having a server that didn't seem trained or experienced. His English was definitely not his first language. He asked for drink orders and when I replied Ginger Ale, he looked at me as if I had 3 heads. Ater trying to explain it was a soft drink, I finally just told him to go ask someone else who worked there.

That experience isn't what I would expect for an Open Table restaurant.

May try them again, need time to forget .

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.