About Paloma Blanca Mexican Cuisine

5800 Broadway
San Antonio, TX 78209
View Larger Map

Since 1997, Paloma Blanca Mexican Cuisine has become well-known for offering much more than traditional "Tex-Mex" fare. Tempting offerings include items as varied as grilled snapper, enchiladas verdes, pozole soup, hand made flautas and tacos al pastor. For margaritas by a cool fountain, a relaxing dinner on the terrace or appetizers in our hacienda-style dining rooms, Paloma Blanca invites you to enjoy our autentico brand of Mexican cuisine and hospitality.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mexican

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Wednesday: 11:00am to 9:00pm
Thursday - Friday: 11:00am to 10:00pm
Saturday: 10:00am to 10:00pm
Sunday: 10:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Austin Highway

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 822-6151

Website:
http://www.palomablanca.net/

Entertainment:
Live music on Thursday, Friday and Saturday evenings from 6:30pm to 9:30pm, and for Sunday Brunch from 11am - 2pm.

Catering:
Paloma Blanca's full-service catering department is eager to help you host your event, whether it's in one of our beautiful private dining rooms, or in your own home. Plated and buffet menu packages as well as beverage, floral/decor, music and rental options are available. For more information visit the Event Planner in the "Catering" section of our website - www.palomablanca.net or simply call Nelly Mendoza Olsen at 210.822-6151.

Whether at our home or yours, we'll make your event special!

Parking Details:
Located in the Cambridge Center, Paloma Blanca provides a private open and free parking lot to patrons.

Private Party Facilities:
Paloma Blanca offers 2 unique private dining rooms which are perfect for most any occasion, from business meetings to rehearsal dinners to birthday parties - we've even hosted several weddings! Salon el Jardin is located adjacent to our cantina and offers the most privacy. It offers high ceilings, a beautiful slate wall treatment and two sets of French doors overlooking the landscaping. It can accomodate approximately 50 people for a seated event, or 75 people reception style. Salon la Fuente boasts a detailed brick and copper fountain wall as well as an adjacent patio area with fountain. It can accomodate approximately 100 people for a seated event, or 200 people in a reption style. For more information on our policies and to see pictures of the rooms please visit www.PalomaBlanca.net, or call us.

Private Party Contact:
Nelly Mendoza Olsen: 2108226151

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Botanas Platter
Croquettas
Chile Poblano
Ceviche Del Mar
Pollo Asado
Enchiladas '09
Enchilada Del Mar
Tacos Al Pastor From The Trompo!
Chips
Al Pastor Taco
Micheladay Michelada Mexicana
Tacos de Pescado
Desayunos Especial
Guacamole
Ensalada Esmerelda With Grilled Shrimp
Enchiladas Verdes
Ceviche
Guacamole a la Molcajete
Top Shelf Margarita
Mary Tierra
Enchiladas Tradicionales
Gorditas

Paloma Blanca Mexican Cuisine Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.0

ambience

4.0

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Lunch
San Antonio
Neighborhood Gem
San Antonio
Outdoor Dining
San Antonio
3 More
Great for Lunch
San Antonio
Neighborhood Gem
San Antonio
Outdoor Dining
San Antonio
Best Restaurants in Alamo Heights ›

Great for Outdoor Dining (31)
Neighborhood Gem (29)
Good for Groups (23)
See All
Special Occasion (20)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Great for Lunch (18)
Romantic (15)
Great for Brunch (12)
Hot Spot (9)
Kid-friendly (7)
Scenic View (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Notable Wine List (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
372 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Was not pleased with the restaurant week ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

Was not pleased with the restaurant week lunch menu. The fish was not fresh and was overcooked. It almost tasted like rubber.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value1

Our waiter was extremely apathetic and w ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Our waiter was extremely apathetic and we were lucky to have our water refilled. The entrance of the restaurant is so nice. It would be great if they updated/decorated the other sections of the restaurant more.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

The evening was wonderful, especially of ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

The evening was wonderful, especially of note was our ever so gracious server, Federico.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Good food, attentive service. Overall, ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Good food, attentive service. Overall, a terrific evening

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Already sent. Failed to finish my privat ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Already sent. Failed to finish my private note to PB so I started over!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Made a reservation - still had to wait 2 ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Made a reservation - still had to wait 20 minutes. Waiter was not attentive. Food came, my order was wrong. Waiter said he could have it corrected in 10-15 minutes. I told him never mind I didn't want the rest of my party to wait to eat. So, I never got to eat anything so I don't know if the food was good. A manager never came over to check how everything was, and the waiter never offered to have a manager come. The rest of my party said their meal was very good. But I dot know. The service was terrible. I will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Very noisy but food was very good and se ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Very noisy but food was very good and service met expectations

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

The noise level was too high to carry on ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

The noise level was too high to carry on a conversation. But the food was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value4

Perfect in every way.

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Perfect in every way.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Great service, good portions, awesome at ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Great service, good portions, awesome atmosphere. Must eat spot in SA area!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were so disappointed when we tried Pa ...

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We were so disappointed when we tried Paloma Blanca for the first time in June 2016. The worst was our service. Our server was inattentive and we kept having to flag others down for things we needed. Even then, we ended up waiting a long time for basics - like silverware, water refills, empty plate to be removed from our table and our check. We had even asked a manager who was passing by for our check and he never returned with it. The food and drinks were disappointing as well - especially for the higher price point. Even the seating was quite uncomfortable. Such an overall poor experience for a tab that totaled nearly $70 (with tip) for just two of us. We had been so excited to dine here based on other ratings. We won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value2

The ceviché is delicious! My fajita-snob ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The ceviché is delicious! My fajita-snob husband loved his steak, shrimp, and chicken fajita combination. The mango chamborita was also delicious. Worth a return trip, even though we weren't immediately seated due to a "servers' meeting".

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Took 20 minutes after our reservation to ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Took 20 minutes after our reservation to get a table. Hostess said we needed to wait for shift change and then a staff meeting before they could seat us. Once seated it took another 10 mins before I stopped a staff person passing by to ask whom our waiter was and if we could get something to drink. Once we got a waiter he was nice and attentive. Good was good as usual. Dining tip: DO NOT make 5:00 reservations because you'll have to wait for shift change and a staff meeting before being seated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Went to dinner with 4 adults and an 18 m ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Went to dinner with 4 adults and an 18 month old, no problem for the staff. Reservations were ready for us, no waiting. Excellent waiter, margaritas were very good and well as the food. Always love eating there.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the atmosphere and beautiful facil ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Loved the atmosphere and beautiful facility. Saturday brunch with friends - good food and inexpensive mimosa!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Paloma Blanca is the unmatched spot for ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Paloma Blanca is the unmatched spot for mom and my weekly margarita date. Recently celebrated my birthday on the patio and couldn't have wished for a better restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good not great

vip
·Dined on May 30, 2016

If it wasn't for the hip decor, nice place to impress, wouldn't return. There are limited places in SA that offer Mexican, in a clean , indoor and outdoor picturesque setting.

Food not that special, esp for the high prices they ask. The tortilla chips are thick, cold and hard. They give you two sauces to dip, both extremes of spice., nothing in the middle. There was no personal dish to combine them either. I had to request small plates for three of us sharing. Would have been real messy but turned out no one cared for the free appetizer.

One major dislike was having a server that didn't seem trained or experienced. His English was definitely not his first language. He asked for drink orders and when I replied Ginger Ale, he looked at me as if I had 3 heads. Ater trying to explain it was a soft drink, I finally just told him to go ask someone else who worked there.

That experience isn't what I would expect for an Open Table restaurant.

May try them again, need time to forget .

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

Great food but a little pricey...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

The food here is great, especially the guacamole made table side; however, it's pretty expensive for what you get. We had a group of 6 and were given two tiny bowls of chips and two tiny bowls of salsa. After each person ate 3 chips we were out. That's a little annoying. Overall it's good and I love that you can make reservations.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Barbara

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

My son was in town for the day and wanted Mexican food , so 5 of us went for lunch. Food was good, but we were in a back room - no ambiance, by the kitchen, and it was very noisy. Hard to visit,

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

The food is amazing, I love the atmosphe ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

The food is amazing, I love the atmosphere

Best Mexican restraunt in San Antonio!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

The Enchiladas Verdes and Enchiladas Div ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

The Enchiladas Verdes and Enchiladas Divorciadas are delicious, as is the fresh salsa and warm tortilla chips!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Per usual, outstanding.

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Our waiter, Sharok, made the evening top-knotch, catering to our difficult dietary needs + special drink requests. This has become my mom and my go-to, margs-on-the-patio spot. Will be back next week!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food here is spectacular - extremely ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 16, 2016

The food here is spectacular - extremely good value for the price. I wish the service had lived up to the quality of the food. When we were seated our waiter yelled at the hostess and refused to serve us (albeit in Spanish, but he should probably realize that most people speak enough Spanish to understand him when he says stuff like that) so we were served by the bus boy, who obviously lacked training and left us for long periods of time without drinks and waiting for the bill. While we were waiting for the bill, the waiter who refused to serve us closed down the section and put all the chairs up on the tables while we were still sitting there - talk about not feeling welcome. Even with the wonderful food, to say we were happy to get out of there after we were done is an understatement.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1

Local Mexican Restaurant with Great Happy Hour

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

This was the second time I've been to Paloma Blanca and my friends and I were not disappointed. We decided to go to check out their great happy hour menu. The $3.50 margaritas are really tasty. They are nice and tart and not watered down at all. The appetizers did not disappoint either. We loved the tacos al pastor and the nachos. One of the best happy hours in town. We were so pleased with the experience that we are talking about going back next week.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service. Will definitely ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Great food and service. Will definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great food and great looking place.

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Great food and great looking place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Reservations are a must for evenings eve ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Reservations are a must for evenings even during the week! Service was okay - a bit slow on drink refills but it was very busy so overall good. The food was very good and we will return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Perfect Anniversary

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

Just moved from MI and wanted to make our 4th anniversary special. We looked up reviews online and Paloma blanca did not disappoint.The margaritas were delicious and the shrimp fajitas were superb!The only thing negative would be thathat there were small children playing in the fountain and attracting blackbirds with chips.Since their parents were not controlling them,we thought one of the employees should have.one of those children could have slipped and been seriously injured.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The Best Ever

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

According to my wife, The Works Fajitas was the best she had ever eaten in her life. Not Texas. Not San Antonio. But her entire life.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

good for a more special Mexican dinner

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 26, 2016

Food above average, excellent service, very nice environment

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

As always, the menu was superb and the s ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

As always, the menu was superb and the service exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Too Noisy

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

I love Paloma Blanca. It is one of my go to places for Mexican food however I always find it to be so noisy. Can't carry on a conversation when parties in the surrounding tables are so loud! Don't want to ruin their fun but is there any way to dampen the sound in the dining rooms? The food is fabulous, service is excellent but unless it is a patio weather day, I hesitate to go.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Nice place

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

Alicia was our waitperson - efficient & very helpful as 2 people did not like spicey food! Patio dining is always nice - just wish the view were other than a parking lot. Perhaps high bushes?

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Pleasant dining

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on April 7, 2016

Great place to dine with a lovely outdoor patio to enjoy delicious Mexican cuisine.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great outdoor experience - efficient wai ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on April 5, 2016

Great outdoor experience - efficient wait staff and excellent food. Thanks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved it!

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on March 30, 2016

We were visiting San Antonio for Spring Break, and had researched the local Mexican restaurants. Based on reviews, one of the restaurants we chose was Paloma Blanca. First, the decor of the restaurant is beautiful and very welcoming! The service was very good. Our food had really good flavor, but could have been hotter in temperature when it was served. My stepson ordered fajitas, and there was no sizzle when served - which even Chili's manages. The food, though not hot, was very tasty, and beautifully served.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I love the ambiance and the food. It is ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

I love the ambiance and the food. It is always so good. However, the service seems to be lacking when I go. The servers seem like their sections are too big or something because they're hardly around. Just be prepared for that when you go.

The margaritas are good and I haven't had anything on the menu I disliked. Sit outside of you can. The patio is fun.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

Cannot quite vocalize how much I appreci ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

Cannot quite vocalize how much I appreciate Paloma Blanca providing a menu that allows people like me, with gluten-intolerances and a health-foodie, to dine out comfortably, enjoyably and delectably.

The drinks, the food, fajitas, fabulous!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The Best!

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on March 17, 2016

I've eaten here many times and never been disappointed. The staff is so courteous and the food is always superb! It is a go to place when out of town company comes!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not for those with dietary restrictions

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on March 17, 2016

Beautiful restaurant with authentic ambiance, just not recommended for individuals with dietary restrictions.

We were visiting San Antonio from out of town and one of my daughters has severe food sensitivities, including cumin. After my wife called the restaurant, we felt comfortable booking a reservation and we're excited at the prospect of cumin-free Mexican food options. Unfortunately, we were disappointed after talking with a waiter who was "pretty sure" my daughter's food order would be ok with her diet. We simply could not risk the remainder of our vacation on a "pretty sure."

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.