Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.45mi
  2. Distance: 0.77mi
  3. Distance: 0.77mi
  4. Distance: 1.34mi
  1. Distance: 0.45mi
  2. Distance: 0.77mi
  3. Distance: 0.77mi
  4. Distance: 1.34mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.45mi
  2. Distance: 0.77mi
  3. Distance: 0.77mi
  4. Distance: 1.34mi
  1. Distance: 0.45mi
  2. Distance: 0.77mi
  3. Distance: 0.77mi
  4. Distance: 1.34mi

About Paloma Blanca Mexican Cuisine

Since 1997, Paloma Blanca Mexican Cuisine has become well-known for offering much more than traditional "Tex-Mex" fare. Tempting offerings include items as varied as grilled snapper, enchiladas verdes, pozole soup, hand made flautas and tacos al pastor. For margaritas by a cool fountain, a relaxing dinner on the terrace or appetizers in our hacienda-style dining rooms, Paloma Blanca invites you to enjoy our autentico brand of Mexican cuisine and hospitality.

5800 Broadway
San Antonio, TX 78209
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mexican

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Wednesday: 11:00am to 9:00pm
Thursday - Friday: 11:00am to 10:00pm
Saturday: 10:00am to 10:00pm
Sunday: 10:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Austin Highway

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 822-6151

Website:
http://www.palomablanca.net/

Entertainment:
Live music on Thursday, Friday and Saturday evenings from 6:30pm to 9:30pm, and for Sunday Brunch from 11am - 2pm.

Catering:
Paloma Blanca's full-service catering department is eager to help you host your event, whether it's in one of our beautiful private dining rooms, or in your own home. Plated and buffet menu packages as well as beverage, floral/decor, music and rental options are available. For more information visit the Event Planner in the "Catering" section of our website - www.palomablanca.net or simply call Nelly Mendoza Olsen at 210.822-6151.

Whether at our home or yours, we'll make your event special!

Parking Details:
Located in the Cambridge Center, Paloma Blanca provides a private open and free parking lot to patrons.

Private Party Facilities:
Paloma Blanca offers 2 unique private dining rooms which are perfect for most any occasion, from business meetings to rehearsal dinners to birthday parties - we've even hosted several weddings! Salon el Jardin is located adjacent to our cantina and offers the most privacy. It offers high ceilings, a beautiful slate wall treatment and two sets of French doors overlooking the landscaping. It can accomodate approximately 50 people for a seated event, or 75 people reception style. Salon la Fuente boasts a detailed brick and copper fountain wall as well as an adjacent patio area with fountain. It can accomodate approximately 100 people for a seated event, or 200 people in a reption style. For more information on our policies and to see pictures of the rooms please visit www.PalomaBlanca.net, or call us.

Private Party Contact:
Nelly Mendoza Olsen: (210) 822-6151

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Paloma Blanca Mexican Cuisine Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.0

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (12)
Authentic (10)
Good for Groups (7)
See All
Casual (7)
Good for a Date (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Special Occasion (7)
Kid-friendly (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Business Meals (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Hot Spot (3)
People Watching (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Family Style (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Healthy (2)
Fun (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Live Music (2)
Great Beer (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Tapas (1)
Spicy (1)
Romantic (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
492 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined 3 days ago

Enjoyed the food. Great Service. Would dine there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 15, 2017

The service was exceptional and we were seated promptly at our reservation time. The food was great and the drinks were phenomenal! Strong, but phenomenal. :)

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Very good! Great service, tasty food and delicious cocktails!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Music, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 11, 2017

On this visit, my first, it was immediately apparent that this is a special place. It must have been the understated but elegant decor, an inviting aroma and a perfect, prompt welcome and seating. Service, food, value...it's all there.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on June 27, 2017

The food was great like always...you can never go wrong at PB if you want great, fresh, Mexican food. The service was wonderful.... but the noise level was high. Maybe it was just the back room where we were bc I don't specifically remember the noise being a problem in past visits.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Service was extremely slow!!! We had a reservation, but when we arrived, they didn't seem to care, just seated us.

Tags: Hot Spot, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Hostesses did not know how to check us in on Open Table and became quite snippy when told that's how the restaurant website directs you to make reservations, so perhaps they should find out how. We did not get the points. She only pretended to check us in. Also, did not respond to our request to move to a different table due to a large party next to us. The food was okay, but not as presented on the web site. We are from California and were looking for a nice restaurant for a special night. This did not deliver.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Waited an hour and 15 minutes to finally be seated and did not get seated until we began walking out of the restaurant. Otherwise, very good food and great service. They did give us a discount, but it was still a long wait for a group of people with limited time to honor a special occasion

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Very noisy - too loud to talk. Really made the meal not fun. Never got water refills

Tags: Kid-friendly, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Friday night dinner that exceeded my expectations. With reservations we were seated on time. The food was excellent. We can hardly wait for our next visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on June 2, 2017

The whole experience was very good . The highlight were the margaritas (09, VIP and Jalapeno Margatini). The portions were very big and great value. Fresh ingredients and two choices of salsa and house tortilla chips were authentic!

Tags: Happy Hour, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Average food. Poor service. Table is rarely ready when you arrive for your reservation. Noisy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Service was warm and friendly without being overwhelming. Great Sunday brunch

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, Paleo Friendly, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Indifferent service, so-so food. No reason to return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Great food, easy location and popular with the locals.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Delicious food, margaritas and excellent service! Always a favorite spot!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Very very disappointed with the whole experience. From the time we walked in and were made to wait 15 minutes for our table, even though we had reservations. Then we had to wait an additional 10 minutes once we were seated before our server showed up. Then it was just poor service the whole evening, not refilling up my tea, disappearing and never checking with our table to see if we needed anything.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 17, 2017

The food service was slow; don't know if this was due to the waiter's assignment or the kitchen.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Had a great dinner for our business meeting. The food is very good. Our waiter was very attentive and orders were timely processed. Would go here anytime.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 12, 2017

I've been here several times and this was by far my worst experience. We waited over 30 min for our order to be taken and we had been there for at least 1 hour by the time our appetizers were brought out. We considered telling them never mind on our entrees, but decided to wait it out. We finally got our food at 9:00pm (we got there at 7:30). I understand that they were busy, but I've never waited that long or have had to ask for our server that many times. Unfortunately, the 30 min drive from my house won't be worth returning for in the future.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Arrived a few minutes early for our reservation but were able to be seated right away despite the crowd. Hostess and waitstaff were very friendly and courteous. Service and the food were excellent as always.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 20, 2017

We made reservations, and our booth was reserved and we were seated immediately. What
upset me was that we told our waiter that we wanted the "guacamole olmeca" as an
appetizer. We gave him our order and he came out with our dinner order but NO appetizer.
We told him we wanted our appetizer. He gave us a "deer in the headlights look." Honestly,
I wanted to tell him to take our dinner back & serve us the appetizer FIRST. He apologized but
acted like he really didn't want to serve us the guacamole olmeca. I'm sorry, but it was almost
$12.00 and it was NOT worth it. He was tipped, but personally, I don't think he deserved it.
It was our anniversary, celebrated with friends from California. We wanted to impress them,
but it was a let down. It will be awhile before we return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 14, 2017

It was chilly in the restaurant--bring a sweater. Food was good. Description needs to be a little bit more clear. Waiters constantly busy very hard to get their attention. And took a while for drinks to come to the table, even for a refill.
No military discount which is very unfortunate.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Ceviche and puntas de puerto are great-my favorites. Good Margaritas. The best chips and salsa.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 5, 2017

3 of us split the wonderful guacamole made before our eyes. The sangria was fruity and delicious. The sauces chipotle and cilantro flavors on chicken were excellent as well as the sauce with mushrooms. No room for dessert, but coffee was perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Food was great. Wait staff a little slow and the ambiance was ok. I say ok because it was extremely loud and it this establishment has no dress code. In addition, parking is horrible and no valet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value4

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 24, 2017

We were there on a busy Friday night for a nice family dinner. Our table was ready, the service was fantastic, recommendations were spot on, and the food was very good - from appetizers to dessert! Margaritas were even better! The place was pretty crowded but it was a lot of fun and didn't spoil the atmosphere. The waiters maneuver between the tables with precision, providing excellent service.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Love this place. It's always great!!! Love taking out of town guests....

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We phoned ahead because we were running 30 minutes late for a 1p Saturday reservation (bad traffic from Austin delayed me). They kept the reservation. We asked to change tables from inside to outside but were told there would be a wait, though there were empty tables visible on the patio.

We were seated between a patio window and a table of 14, who were celebrating a birthday and noisy. The food was good. We shared the ceviche clasico, then she had chilequiles and I had mole chicken enchiladas. The service was adequate and cordial.

It was an okay but not stellar experience...something that we had to be inventive to make the most of. Had I been the host, I would have sized us up as a couple and mentioned that the only table available was next to a big party rather than seat us right away. I don't think anyone did anything wrong, but it's one of those experiences that seems careless rather than thoughtful.

If I had it to do over, I would wait for an outside table or ask to be switched.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Fantastic margaritas with a lovely atmosphere. It's family friendly and just a comfortable place all around.

Only slight let down was that the salsa and the guacamole appetizers were a little bland.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 13, 2017

We chose PB for my mom's 50th party and did not disappoint! For our group of 16, our two servers made us feel completely attended to. My only complaint would have been some personal service in helping us make the occasion more special by allowing us to reserve a section of the restaurant. Seeing as it was a Monday and I had made our reservation weeks prior, I feel Paloma could have been more accommodating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Great Table-side Guacamole, Enchiladas and Shrimp Fajitas!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Waited over 10 mins before getting up to ask a hostess for drinks as a server had not come to our table. Also had to wait a while for chips & tea refills. It was not a good first time experience!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 22, 2017

The food was excellent and so was our waitress, Anna. I will come again next time I visit San Antonio

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Loved the romantic ambience. The lighting was perfect, as well as the music level. The service was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Excellent date night restaurant. We ordered from the Paleo menu. Food was fresh and tasty. Loved the cerviche. Since we ordered Paleo, we were offered plantain chips which were thin and crispy. Good portion sizes. We both had leftovers.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Was a very enjoyable experience. Will definitely go again.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Great authentic Mexican cuisine. Lovely outdoor seating, great ambience. Parking is hard to find during busy hours. Pozole is fantastic.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Good looking with the flavors to back up the looks!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Upscale Mexican. Lovely patio. Warm fireplace. Great marguerita with choice of tequila. First time I had mole and it was great. The fajitas were standard. But the quacamole made at the table was delicious. Great ambience if you are looking for more than a quick Mexican meal.

Tags: People Watching, Casual, Good for Groups, Spicy, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.