Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.45mi
  2. Distance: 0.77mi
  3. Distance: 0.77mi
  4. Distance: 1.34mi
  1. Distance: 0.45mi
  2. Distance: 0.77mi
  3. Distance: 0.77mi
  4. Distance: 1.34mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.45mi
  2. Distance: 0.77mi
  3. Distance: 0.77mi
  4. Distance: 1.34mi
  1. Distance: 0.45mi
  2. Distance: 0.77mi
  3. Distance: 0.77mi
  4. Distance: 1.34mi

About Paloma Blanca Mexican Cuisine

Since 1997, Paloma Blanca Mexican Cuisine has become well-known for offering much more than traditional "Tex-Mex" fare. Tempting offerings include items as varied as grilled snapper, enchiladas verdes, pozole soup, hand made flautas and tacos al pastor. For margaritas by a cool fountain, a relaxing dinner on the terrace or appetizers in our hacienda-style dining rooms, Paloma Blanca invites you to enjoy our autentico brand of Mexican cuisine and hospitality.

5800 Broadway
San Antonio, TX 78209
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mexican

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Wednesday: 11:00am to 9:00pm
Thursday - Friday: 11:00am to 10:00pm
Saturday: 10:00am to 10:00pm
Sunday: 10:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Austin Highway

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 822-6151

Website:
http://www.palomablanca.net/

Entertainment:
Live music on Thursday, Friday and Saturday evenings from 6:30pm to 9:30pm, and for Sunday Brunch from 11am - 2pm.

Catering:
Paloma Blanca's full-service catering department is eager to help you host your event, whether it's in one of our beautiful private dining rooms, or in your own home. Plated and buffet menu packages as well as beverage, floral/decor, music and rental options are available. For more information visit the Event Planner in the "Catering" section of our website - www.palomablanca.net or simply call Nelly Mendoza Olsen at 210.822-6151.

Whether at our home or yours, we'll make your event special!

Parking Details:
Located in the Cambridge Center, Paloma Blanca provides a private open and free parking lot to patrons.

Private Party Facilities:
Paloma Blanca offers 2 unique private dining rooms which are perfect for most any occasion, from business meetings to rehearsal dinners to birthday parties - we've even hosted several weddings! Salon el Jardin is located adjacent to our cantina and offers the most privacy. It offers high ceilings, a beautiful slate wall treatment and two sets of French doors overlooking the landscaping. It can accomodate approximately 50 people for a seated event, or 75 people reception style. Salon la Fuente boasts a detailed brick and copper fountain wall as well as an adjacent patio area with fountain. It can accomodate approximately 100 people for a seated event, or 200 people in a reption style. For more information on our policies and to see pictures of the rooms please visit www.PalomaBlanca.net, or call us.

Private Party Contact:
Nelly Mendoza Olsen: (210) 822-6151

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Paloma Blanca Mexican Cuisine Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (19)
Authentic (17)
Great for Outdoor Dining (17)
See All
Good for a Date (15)
Special Occasion (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Great for Lunch (12)
Good for Groups (11)
Worth the Drive (9)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Happy Hour (8)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Great for Brunch (7)
Business Meals (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Spicy (6)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Fun (5)
Creative Cuisine (4)
People Watching (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Live Music (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Romantic (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Scenic View (2)
Great Beer (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Vegan (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
520 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined 3 days ago

We had a lovely lunch, our waitress was excellent, was able to enjoy a tequila with sangrita to start out, awesome botanas, and the main dishes were all strong, including the seasonal speciality commemorating Mexican independence. And tasty desert. We took our daughter, a college student. For her, a little pricey, but good parents weekend visit lunch or dinner place.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Fun, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined 3 days ago

As always, Paloma delivers. We brought out-of-towners here and they got a fabulous San Antonio experience and we all got a stellar meal!

Tags: Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Happy Hour, Romantic, Fun, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Order guacamole, Queso, and Botano Grande, With Sangria ...Make reservation. It is that good place don't let the big line be a problem 🔥 For brunch it's memorable .

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

Para mi es un restaurante buenísimo, me encanta su servicio y ma comida fabulosa.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

Excellent food, service and prompt seating (with reservation); surprise that there was attention to gluten free and vegan options; noise level was way too loud but we were seated in a booth which made it easier for my friend (with hearing aids) to hear me. Overall, excellent!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Gluten Free Options, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 10, 2017

The food was excellent, and we always love the patio seating - including the "No Pets" policy. But we were disappointed that our appetizer order was not exactly what we ordered. Also, when we requested a substitute for refried beans, the waiter forgot to bring the substitute.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Had not been to Paloma Blanca in some time. The food was very good as was the service. I had the beef taquitos and they were wonderful. Everyone else liked their food as well. Only food complaint was with the chips which were over cooked, almost burned. That was disappointing. We requested a quiet table and they put the five of us around their large round table which was a little quieter but still hard to hear. This is not a good restaurant for those wishing to converse to more than the adjacent person. Terrible acoustics but sadly most restaurants are these days.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

Great place, we've been going here for years! Absolutely love it. The hostess might have been in a bad mood. Very snappy amd unpleasant. She did not say one word to us. Nonetheless, good food as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Per us, Paloma hit it out of the park. My grandfather and I had a dinner date and were seated immediately. Our waiter was INCREDIBLY personable and attentive, listening to all my specific dietary requests. I ordered the '09 Margarita to drink(HEAVENLY) had the Paleo Chicken Fajitas and we ordered a tableside guacamole (DIVINE). After dozens of visits, I am still always impressed with my dining experience at Paloma Blanca.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Healthy, Authentic, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on August 22, 2017

A couple that lives in Castroville joined us for a late lunch. Meal was great, and service excellent. I would recommend this restaurant for lunch, especially a late lunch; it was very quiet.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

Food was very good. Beef fajitas were very tender. Abel our server was very friendly and efficient.

Tags: Disabled Access, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 19, 2017

It was a pleasant experience, the restaurant was full on a week night which is a good sign of an established restaurant. However we were placed in a former bar/party room area that seems quite detached from the restaurant. We arrived 15 minutes prior to our reservation and were not able to get seated, nice that there were bartenders offering service during our wait. Aside from that the food was good.

Tags: Casual, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on August 18, 2017

The only downside we were seated in what become very obvious a parent with small kids or family area and on the noisy side, not really the ideal or an area we would have elected to sit in. Would definitely not be willing to sit in that room again.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 17, 2017

The food was great. This is the second time i have been to Paloma Blanca and it is becoming a favorite! I will return soon. The flan was plate-lickin' good (I did not lick the plate, but I really wanted to!)

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Food was dry and not great - only thing worth coming for is guac.
Service was really good, and they comped one of our dishes bc i it was so dry.
Will not be back, at least not until there is improvement on food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Went for restaurant week, the featured dish was delicious, the drinks were good and the service was excelkent! We will be back!

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Authentic, Paleo Friendly, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Went to Paloma Blanca for the lunch for the SA Restaurant. The price of $10 for a three course meal was a GREAT value. I received the Sopa Azteca, grilled tilapia with side salad and rice, and ended with coffee flan. The soap was ok, seemed like vegetable broth with tortilla strips and avocado, and the grilled tilapia was minimally seasoned. The rice was more tasty than the fish. Best part was the flan and my additional Chamoy margarita. The best part was the service. The waiter was prompt and very nice. Would i go back? Probably. But i would have to try more dishes. Good Mexican food but not the best I've had. But try it out to support local SA businesses. Thanks.

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Love this place, absolutely one of my favorites!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Chicken was dry and the mole Tate like spaghetti sauce

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 5, 2017

The area where our table was located, was very noisy. I asked them to changed us the table because I could not hear anything of our conversation and they did not wanted. I was very disappointed because there were a couple of empty tables on a better location and they told me those tables were already reserved. By the way, I did a reservation as well and it looks that they did not care at all.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Casual, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Food was good as usual. Might not be the greatest, might be predictable, but you get what you were hoping for, a nice meal.

What is less predictable is service. One time it is good, next visit it can be terrible. For this visit is was fabulous. Hopefully it will continue.

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Our family group enjoyed our meal together. Everyone tried something different on the menu after we had tableside guacamole that was excellent. Our waiter was attentive but did not rush us. The margaritas were great-big selection of tequilas. Other than it being rather loud the ambience was nice. Definitely a keeper.

Tags: Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Our second time in together. Always worth it! Gluten free menu is great! Don't get me wrong the regular menu is amazing! But this time we both went gluten free. You can tell a good Mexican restaurant by their chips and salsa and their rice. Both amazing! And two types of salsa to start! Margaritas also on point!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Our second visit and again food was wonderful, beautifully presented on the plate. Margaritas were great. We highly recommend this restaurant

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Noise levels from nearby tables disruptive and irritating.

Service slow, partly because Table seemed too small for the dishes three guests had ordered.

The noise level convinced me to dine at other restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Don't miss the guacamole olmeca - it's the best in town.
Out door dining is great if its not 100 deg.!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

I would recommend this restaurant to a friend. The tableside guacamole and the pozole were quite good. The rest of the meal was just average. The ambiance had potential, unfortunately we were in a room with a large birthday party group who were very loud.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 20, 2017

Enjoyed the food. Great Service. Would dine there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Great food! We loved the guacamole. Strong margaritas too. We would highly recommend the restaurant.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 15, 2017

The service was exceptional and we were seated promptly at our reservation time. The food was great and the drinks were phenomenal! Strong, but phenomenal. :)

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Very good! Great service, tasty food and delicious cocktails!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Music, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 11, 2017

On this visit, my first, it was immediately apparent that this is a special place. It must have been the understated but elegant decor, an inviting aroma and a perfect, prompt welcome and seating. Service, food, value...it's all there.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on June 27, 2017

The food was great like always...you can never go wrong at PB if you want great, fresh, Mexican food. The service was wonderful.... but the noise level was high. Maybe it was just the back room where we were bc I don't specifically remember the noise being a problem in past visits.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Service was extremely slow!!! We had a reservation, but when we arrived, they didn't seem to care, just seated us.

Tags: Hot Spot, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Hostesses did not know how to check us in on Open Table and became quite snippy when told that's how the restaurant website directs you to make reservations, so perhaps they should find out how. We did not get the points. She only pretended to check us in. Also, did not respond to our request to move to a different table due to a large party next to us. The food was okay, but not as presented on the web site. We are from California and were looking for a nice restaurant for a special night. This did not deliver.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Waited an hour and 15 minutes to finally be seated and did not get seated until we began walking out of the restaurant. Otherwise, very good food and great service. They did give us a discount, but it was still a long wait for a group of people with limited time to honor a special occasion

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Very noisy - too loud to talk. Really made the meal not fun. Never got water refills

Tags: Kid-friendly, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Friday night dinner that exceeded my expectations. With reservations we were seated on time. The food was excellent. We can hardly wait for our next visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on June 2, 2017

The whole experience was very good . The highlight were the margaritas (09, VIP and Jalapeno Margatini). The portions were very big and great value. Fresh ingredients and two choices of salsa and house tortilla chips were authentic!

Tags: Happy Hour, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Average food. Poor service. Table is rarely ready when you arrive for your reservation. Noisy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.