About Paloma Blanca Mexican Cuisine

Since 1997, Paloma Blanca Mexican Cuisine has become well-known for offering much more than traditional "Tex-Mex" fare. Tempting offerings include items as varied as grilled snapper, enchiladas verdes, pozole soup, hand made flautas and tacos al pastor. For margaritas by a cool fountain, a relaxing dinner on the terrace or appetizers in our hacienda-style dining rooms, Paloma Blanca invites you to enjoy our autentico brand of Mexican cuisine and hospitality.

5800 Broadway
San Antonio, TX 78209
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mexican

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Wednesday: 11:00am to 9:00pm
Thursday - Friday: 11:00am to 10:00pm
Saturday: 10:00am to 10:00pm
Sunday: 10:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Austin Highway

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 822-6151

Website:
http://www.palomablanca.net/

Entertainment:
Live music on Thursday, Friday and Saturday evenings from 6:30pm to 9:30pm, and for Sunday Brunch from 11am - 2pm.

Catering:
Paloma Blanca's full-service catering department is eager to help you host your event, whether it's in one of our beautiful private dining rooms, or in your own home. Plated and buffet menu packages as well as beverage, floral/decor, music and rental options are available. For more information visit the Event Planner in the "Catering" section of our website - www.palomablanca.net or simply call Nelly Mendoza Olsen at 210.822-6151.

Whether at our home or yours, we'll make your event special!

Parking Details:
Located in the Cambridge Center, Paloma Blanca provides a private open and free parking lot to patrons.

Private Party Facilities:
Paloma Blanca offers 2 unique private dining rooms which are perfect for most any occasion, from business meetings to rehearsal dinners to birthday parties - we've even hosted several weddings! Salon el Jardin is located adjacent to our cantina and offers the most privacy. It offers high ceilings, a beautiful slate wall treatment and two sets of French doors overlooking the landscaping. It can accomodate approximately 50 people for a seated event, or 75 people reception style. Salon la Fuente boasts a detailed brick and copper fountain wall as well as an adjacent patio area with fountain. It can accomodate approximately 100 people for a seated event, or 200 people in a reption style. For more information on our policies and to see pictures of the rooms please visit www.PalomaBlanca.net, or call us.

Private Party Contact:
Nelly Mendoza Olsen: (210) 822-6151

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Botanas Platter - Paloma Blanca Mexican Cuisine, San Antonio, TX
Croquettas - Paloma Blanca Mexican Cuisine, San Antonio, TX
Ceviche Del Mar - Paloma Blanca Mexican Cuisine, San Antonio, TX
Pollo Asado - Paloma Blanca Mexican Cuisine, San Antonio, TX
Enchiladas '09 - Paloma Blanca Mexican Cuisine, San Antonio, TX
Enchilada Del Mar - Paloma Blanca Mexican Cuisine, San Antonio, TX
Tacos Al Pastor From The Trompo! - Paloma Blanca Mexican Cuisine, San Antonio, TX
Chips - Paloma Blanca Mexican Cuisine, San Antonio, TX
Al Pastor Taco - Paloma Blanca Mexican Cuisine, San Antonio, TX
Micheladay Michelada Mexicana - Paloma Blanca Mexican Cuisine, San Antonio, TX
Tacos de Pescado - Paloma Blanca Mexican Cuisine, San Antonio, TX
Desayunos Especial - Paloma Blanca Mexican Cuisine, San Antonio, TX
Guacamole - Paloma Blanca Mexican Cuisine, San Antonio, TX
Ensalada Esmerelda With Grilled Shrimp - Paloma Blanca Mexican Cuisine, San Antonio, TX
Enchiladas Verdes - Paloma Blanca Mexican Cuisine, San Antonio, TX
Ceviche - Paloma Blanca Mexican Cuisine, San Antonio, TX
Guacamole a la Molcajete - Paloma Blanca Mexican Cuisine, San Antonio, TX
Top Shelf Margarita - Paloma Blanca Mexican Cuisine, San Antonio, TX
Mary Tierra - Paloma Blanca Mexican Cuisine, San Antonio, TX
Enchiladas Tradicionales - Paloma Blanca Mexican Cuisine, San Antonio, TX
Gorditas - Paloma Blanca Mexican Cuisine, San Antonio, TX
Chile Poblano - Paloma Blanca Mexican Cuisine, San Antonio, TX

Paloma Blanca Mexican Cuisine Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.1

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (12)
Special Occasion (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
See All
Authentic (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Romantic (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Business Meals (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Private Room (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
People Watching (2)
Fireplace (2)
Family Style (2)
Healthy (2)
Fun (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Casual (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Bar Seating (1)
Scenic View (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Live Music (1)
Cozy (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Spicy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Sort By:
S
444 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our waiter Jose, provided excellent serv ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined 4 days ago

Our waiter Jose, provided excellent service. When we arrived I shared that we had a reservation and the hostess showed us to our table with little response. Obviously a reservation is not required during lunch. Food was good but nothing extraordinary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Delicious as ever. Service was very goo ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined 6 days ago

Delicious as ever. Service was very good. It was a bit noisy, but not bad for a Saturday night. I can't wait to go back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

We've never been disappointed with our d ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We've never been disappointed with our dining experience here. Food and ambiance make it a special place.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Paleo Friendly, Fun, Worth the Drive, Spicy, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Decent restaurant, nothing special

vip
 (London)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Decent restaurant, nothing special

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Had a great server by the name of Carlos ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Had a great server by the name of Carlos. Very attentive and very respectful.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Private Room, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Christmas Eve brunch with family. Fun an ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Christmas Eve brunch with family. Fun and relaxing!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were seated at a table with direct su ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 21, 2016

We were seated at a table with direct sun in eyes. Hostess didn't seem to care. Food good as always but server was no where to be seen for a long time when we were going to ask for the check. Patron next to us was also annoyed by long wait. We will be back though. Love the food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

One of the two best Mex good restaurants ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 18, 2016

One of the two best Mex good restaurants in San Antonio.

Tags: Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was delicious! Especially it being ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Food was delicious! Especially it being gluten free

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Healthy, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great get together with friends; good fo ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Great get together with friends; good food, quiet; excellent service!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Met a group of friends for a reunion lun ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Met a group of friends for a reunion luncheon. Everything was great - food, service and atmosphere. Definitely will return.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Sunday lunch extraordinaire! Always en ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Sunday lunch extraordinaire! Always enjoy the individualized attention of the wait staff and crew. Food is top notch and quick to service. Busy time period efficiently mitigated by the reception and managerial team.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Sunday...Brunch or alacarte. Get th ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Best Sunday...Brunch or alacarte. Get there early and make a reservation.

Tags: Family Style, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was very nice as before.

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 3, 2016

It was very nice as before.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything worked out great. They sat u ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Everything worked out great. They sat us (8) at a round table in a little secluded area. We ate and had our meeting without any problem! The waiter was excellent!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Poor service. 45 plus minutes to get our ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Poor service. 45 plus minutes to get our food from time order placed. Extremely loud. Marginal food. Over-rated. Too many good options in SA to tolerate such poor service and food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Only disappointment is when I made the r ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Only disappointment is when I made the reservations I expressed it would be my mothers 75th birthday. This notation was confirmed when I got a call day of verifying reaervation. Yet at dinner no mention of it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value4

The food is always good. Wait staff is ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 30, 2016

The food is always good. Wait staff is usually good. The hostess is usually awful, forgetting reservations, not crediting open table reservations. I have had to call and have this corrected more than once. When you call the restaurant the person who answers the phone does not state their name. When I asked to speak with a manager the response was "you're going to have to wait awhile".

I would probably spend my money here more often if the service were a little more friendly.

Also, I was told my small 7 pound service dog was not allowed to sit outside, although it was on the reservation. I wouldn't recommend anticipating excellent service at this restaurant, but remember...this is not the Northeast..it is, after all, San Antonio.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

I have eaten at Paloma Blanca several ti ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 26, 2016

I have eaten at Paloma Blanca several times, my husband is from Mexico and loves the cuisine. I was recently there last week "catchin up" with an old high school friend .....The atmostphere and food is sooo good, I'm still coming back!

Tags: Business Meals, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

Service is always so bad and slow here, ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Service is always so bad and slow here, good thing they make it up with great food. Would probably go more often if the service was better. Or order to go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Enjoyable meal with mixed results. The ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Enjoyable meal with mixed results. The magharita 09 was excellent and would recommend and so was the guacamole made at the table. Both are definite repeats. My husband had the chili relleno, baked and stuffed with chicken - wonderful taste and healthy choice. I had the enchiladas 09 - they were a disappointing as the sauces were a bit bland. Will definitely go again, but will choose chili relleno or another variety of enchiladas.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

My friend and I enjoyed a "catch up" lun ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 10, 2016

My friend and I enjoyed a "catch up" lunch at Paloma Blanca. They have several nice lunch specials and we had a grilled chicken breast with creamy poblano sauce, rice and fresh vegetables. They offer wonderful margaritas by the carafe and we spent a leisurely afternoon talking out on the patio. I look forward to going again soon.

Tags: Good for a Date, People Watching, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Took a friend here for her first Paloma ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Took a friend here for her first Paloma dining experience. She LOVED it. Incredible margaritas and service, per usual!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The staff was friendly, food was tasty a ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on September 27, 2016

The staff was friendly, food was tasty and fresh, we did not have to wait long. Great experience every time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service from Federico, and exc ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Excellent service from Federico, and excellent food.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The restaurant was extremely too loud. I ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 24, 2016

The restaurant was extremely too loud. It was my birthday and I reserved this place thinking it would be a nice atmosphere but we ended up yelling at each other for conversation.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

It is a must visit for San Antonio Mexic ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 17, 2016

It is a must visit for San Antonio Mexican food. Great food, the Ceviche and the Shrimp Cocktail appetizer are great. Tex mex food is very good and a great set of Margarita's for any taste.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Historic, Comfort Food, Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

My mom and our friends enjoyed our get t ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 17, 2016

My mom and our friends enjoyed our get together. It was an amazing atmosphere, awsome service, great food! We will continue our get togethers at Paloma Blanca continuously.

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a great restaurant with an incre ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 16, 2016

This is a great restaurant with an incredible atmosphere and very delicious food. The alcoholic drinks were excellent as well. I would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone and everyone that is looking for a great mexican food restaurant.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Glad we decided to check reviews and giv ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 12, 2016

Glad we decided to check reviews and give this place a try rather than just going to the old usuals on the Riverwalk.

The 09 margarita is one of the best I've ever had.

The table side guacamole was good.

I had the carne asada tampiqueno and it was terrific! Very tender and perfectly cooked.

Saves room for tres leches cake, which was moist and delicious.

This is definitely on our places to return to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I found the restaurant by accident on go ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 10, 2016

I found the restaurant by accident on google and they had a coupon on their website, so I thought I would give it a try. The margaritas were strong and the food was delicious!

Tags: Family Style, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Excellent meal and great service on our ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Excellent meal and great service on our last visit for a weekend lunch. I always have a hard time picking from the menu - everything is so good there!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just wonderful Mexican/Tex Mex/Street Ta ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Just wonderful Mexican/Tex Mex/Street Taco menu. Great service, nice atmosphere, all around very nice!

Tags: Great for Lunch, , Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, service, setting, and drinks ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Great food, service, setting, and drinks. We will be back on a regular basis!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding per usual!

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Outstanding per usual!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Was not pleased with the restaurant week ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Was not pleased with the restaurant week lunch menu. The fish was not fresh and was overcooked. It almost tasted like rubber.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value1

Our waiter was extremely apathetic and w ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Our waiter was extremely apathetic and we were lucky to have our water refilled. The entrance of the restaurant is so nice. It would be great if they updated/decorated the other sections of the restaurant more.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

The evening was wonderful, especially of ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 1, 2016

The evening was wonderful, especially of note was our ever so gracious server, Federico.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Good food, attentive service. Overall, ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 29, 2016

Good food, attentive service. Overall, a terrific evening

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Already sent. Failed to finish my privat ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 19, 2016

Already sent. Failed to finish my private note to PB so I started over!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.